# Opposition Brief — Colwell v. Suffolk County Police Department

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1173%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1018

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
,y ££ ti Ep
FEB 18 1999
No. 98-1164
CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

coetnenenttteseatnnntaniinnnieninns

ROBERT N. COLWELL, CHARLES R. ELLINGER
ne and RICHARD H. ABRAMS, JR

A Pana 12
Petitione?

SUFFOLK COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMEN|]!
and THE COUNTY OF SUFFOLK,

Re sponde ni

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
rO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUTII

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ROBERT J. CIMINO

Suffolk County Attorne\
RANDY BERLER*

Assistant County Alttorne)
FHEODORE D. SKLAR

Assistant County Altorne\
Attorneys for Respondents

H. Lee Dennison Building

100 Veterans Memonal Highway

P.O. Box 6100

Hauppauge, NY 11787-0099

* Counsel of Record (516) 853-4049

@J Counsel Press LLC

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Have the Petitioners established that “compelling reasons”
exist for this Court to grant the writ where the gravamen of the
Petition is that the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit erred when it concluded that there was insufficient
evidence to support the jury’s finding that the Petitioners were
disabled within the meaning of the Americans with Disabilities
Act?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented ...........-- eee ee erect eeeees

Table of ComtemlS ....ccsccecceeeese esse eeneeee

Table of Cited Authorities .............-ceeeeeees

Statement of the Case .......-scccccccvcceseevess

Perceived Misstatements Made in the Petition .......

Reasons for Denying the Writ ..........-02+-++0+5

4

II.

If.

IV.

Petitioners Have Failed To Establish Jurisdiction
For Review Of The Order Appealed From As
Required By Rule 10 Of This Court. ........

The Second Circuit Applied The Proper Standard
Of Review In Determining That The Petitioners
Had Not Produced Sufficient Evidence Of A
Disability Under The A.D.A. ...........-.--

A Police Officer’s Assignment To Long Term
Light Duty Is Not Evidence Of A Record Of
Disability Under The A.D.A. ..........+-.+---

This Court’s Decision In School Board Of Nassau
County v. Arline Did Not Establish That A
Temporary Period Of Hospitalization Creates A
Per Se Record Of Disability Under The A.D.A.

a a a a ee ee ae ee ee ee se ee ee ee

Petitioners Failed To Produce Any Evidence That
The Suffolk County Police Department Perceived
Them As Substantially Limited In Performing
Any Major Life Activities. .......-.es+eee-

Conclusion .....0cseseeesse0e eee eee

10

15

17

19

23
25

lil

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Boyce v. New York City Mission Society, 963 F. Supp.
Ce . SNe cis h esse ed beeees eave ewe?s 22
Bradway v. Gonzales, 26 F.3d 313 (2d Cir. 1994) .... 15
Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 118 S. Ct. 2196, 141
ee | eee ere ree 12, 13, 14
Braxton v. United States, 500 U.S. 344, 111 S. Ct. 1854,
SP RUUOD ocescceceveveovecendees i0
Burch v. Coca-Cola, Co., 119 F.3d 305 (Sth Cir. 1997),
cert.denied, _U.S.__, 118 S. Ct. 871, 139 L. Ed. 2d
IRS ee rene ee re ry 19, 20
Colwell v. Suffolk County Police Dept., 158 F.3d 635 (2d
| 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23
David Curran v. All Waste Systems, Inc., 1997 U.S. Dist.
LEXIS 22110 (S.D.N.Y. 1997), aff'd, 133 F.3d 906
ee Lo ae Wak b va .e sa o> 00a <4 22
Foreman v. The Babcock & Wilcox Co., et al., 117 F.3d
800 (Sth Cir. 1997), cert. denied, U.S. __, 1185S.
cy seen, 140 L. Bd. 246 113 (1998) ............. 24

Francis v. City of Meriden, 129 F.3d 281 (2d Cir. 1997)

lv
Cited Authorities
Graaf v. North Shore University Hospital, | F. Supp. 2d
tie) 88 ee. | rrr ere ee

Halperin v. Abacus Technology Corp., 128 F.3d 191 (4th
‘¢ 2,3) ae ee reer ee eee

Heilweil v. Mount Sinai Hospital, 32 F.3d 718 (2d Cir.
1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1147, 115 S. Ct. 1095,
130 L.. Ed. 26 1063 (1995) .. 2... cnceevcecess:

Joyce v. Suffolk County, 911 F. Supp. 92 (E.D.N.Y. 1996)

eee es eee ea Oe ee oe ee ee oe ee ee ee er i ile

Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261
U.S. 387, 43 S. Ct. 422, 67 L. Ed. 712 (1923) .....

Reeves v. Johnson Controls World Services, Inc., 140 F.3d
COG CROW. TORR yo 5 on soccer ccevcerneueses

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, 349 U.S.
70, 75 S. Ct. 614, 99 L. Ed. 897 (1955) ..........

Richard F. Murray v. Sysco Corp., 1998 U.S. Dist LEXIS
SSCS CM TEW.Y.. 19GB) onc enc ccc ccc cweesenonens

Ryan v. Grae & Rybicki, P.C., 135 F.3d 867 (2d Cir. 1998)

ES ERMEN ERED ARE MERE GONE es Ned Deen eee 12, 13,

Sanders v. Arneson Products, 91 F.3d 1351 (9th Cir.
1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1116, 117 S. Ct. 1247,
hye Me Re. 00 yy eee

Page

22

22

17, 18

23

10, 11

12

10

22

16, 17

22

—

FAD ba 18 RI Ee os

Cited Authorities

Page
School Board of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273,
107 S. Ct. 1123, 94 L. Ed. 2d 307 (1987) .... 19, 20, 21, 22

Tudyman vy. United Airlines, 608 F. Supp. 739 (C.D. Ca.

1 IAPR eater amir rae tae Parry any canara try ALE eye > 23
Wernick v. Federal Reserve Bank of New York, 91 F.3d

ye gt .& Ae. | Ep er ee ey ern 18
Williams v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS

6366, aff'd, 110 F.3d 74 (10th Cir. 1997) ........ 18
Statutes:
hth OY oe Br |. A ner eka mares. 3 |
G2 UBS BTR) kn 66a a aenannaeeeav ees 17
N.Y. Exec. L. § 835(7) (McKinney 1996) .......... 18

N.Y. General Municipal Law § 207-c (McKinney 1986)

) edd ewe erieanes ts be UE RES ee l
N.Y. General Municipal Law § 207-c(1) (McKinney

PODS). « 6acdccsesesnewes eae ee 23
N.Y. General Municipal Law § 207-c(3) (McKinney

ee er er rey RAT 23

vi

Cited Authorities

Rules:

| Re mS Brrr rr rere et
® Re & S| PPererrerrerr rrr ee
Dod. Btw: FSR vce cc dtcovcecicoteeeeverie
J @ Ge A A, PPro re ee
Supreme Court Rule 10 ..........- eee eee ences
Supreme Court Rule Rule 10(c) ...........---.-5--
Supreme Court Rule 15.2 ...........-- eee eee eeee.

Other Authorities:

29CER. & IO) oo.) eset eee
29 CER. § 1600) oo ss ccc evcdvceaeeeee |
29 C.F.R. § 1630, App. § 1630.2(j) .........-2.005-
29 C.F.R. § 1630, App. § 1630.2(k) .........2.006.

21

18

|
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioners in this case are three veteran police officers,
two sergeants and one lieutenant, who are employed by the
County of Suffolk, New York. They claimed that they were
denied promotions to higher ranks in February 1993, as a result
of unlawful discrimination under the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. § 12101, et seq. (hereinafter
referred to as the “A.D.A.”). Each police officer spent a
substantial part of his career assigned to “limited” or “light”
duty under N.Y. General Municipal Law § 207-c (McKinney
1986) as a result of injuries sustained while performing his
duties. Two of the officers complained of back pain. The third
was afraid of stressful situations even though he had long since
recovered from a subarachnoid hemorrhage sustained in 1984.
In fact, this officer had been found fit for full duty in 1992 by
Dr. Leonard Weitzman, a physician for the Respondent Suffolk
County Police Department (hereinafter referred to as the
“County” or the “SCPD”). Despite their alleged maladies, each
of the police officers got up, got dressed and went to work every
day. Each officer failed to present any evidence that he suffered
from a condition which substantially limited one or more of
the major activities of life.

The extent of the evidence of Petitioner Robert N. Colwell’s
(hereinafter referred to as “Colwell”) physical limitations
consisted of an inability: to stand around the mall while his
wife tries on dresses; to work on his daughter’s car; to golf or
ski; to sit for two days (during the course of the trial) without
discomfort; to stand at attention (military style) for a long period
of time and to drive for more than a couple of hours without
stretching.

Petitioner Charles R. Ellinger (hereinafter referred to as
“Ellinger”) described his physical limitations by stating that

2

he needs to do heavy work, like digging and planting in the
summer time, at a slow pace, and that he needs to wear hats
and avoid physical exercise in the winter time. The only other
evidence of physical limitations that Ellinger produced
consisted ofa letter from Dr. Steven Friedling dated December
1, 1992, which stated that Ellinger needed to avoid stress,
confrontation, late tours and rotating shifts. Dr. Friedling’s letter
indicated that Ellinger was capable of working indoors and days
as well as overtime between the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Petitioner Richard H. Abrams, Jr. (hereinafter referred to
as “Abrams’) testified that his physical limitations amounted
to an inability: to do tune-ups, brake jobs and mechanical work
on his automobiles; to bend over for long periods; to
continuously reach up when painting or plastering; to lift heavy
objects; and to move furniture. He also testified that he has
trouble doing yard work, like raking, and that he cannot drive,
sit or stand in one position for long periods of time without
stretching.

Abrams was the only Petitioner to offer testimony of a
treating physician. Dr. Donald Holzer, a neurologist, testified
merely that Abrams was capable of doing sedentary work and
that:

[hje can certainly infrequently reach over his
shoulder, bend, twist, he can lift objects maybe ten
to twenty pounds infrequently. He can stand and
walk for short periods of time, maybe a half an hour
to an hour-at a time. He certainly is capable of
working an 8 hour day with limitations.

Despite this glaring lack of proof, the police officers were
able to persuade the jury, and the District Court, that they were
disabled. Essentially, each police officer successfully parlayed

Ne ————eE=

2

his light duty status, and the fact he was not promoted, into a
finding of discrimination under the A.D.A. There was, however,
no evidence that the conditions which sometimes prevented the
Petitioners from performing the full duties of a police officer,
also substantially limited them from performing one or more
of the major activities of life.

Upon the close of Petitioners’ case, the County moved for
judgment as a matter of law pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(a).
On March 18, 1997, following submission of the case to the
jury, a verdict was returned in favor of the Petitioners.

On June 26, 1997, the District Court issued a memorandum
and order which denied the County’s Rule 50(a) motion. The
District Court entered judgment on June 27, 1997.

On August 4, 1997, the District Court issued a memorandum
and order which denied the County’s motion pursuant to Fed. R.
Civ. P. 50(b), for judgment notwithstanding the verdict or for a
new trial pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 59.

The County appealed the District Court’s denial of
judgment as a matter of law to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit (hereinafter referred to as the
“Second Circuit”). The Second Circuit, by decision dated
October 15, 1998, held that “there was insufficient evidence to
support the jury’s finding that the officers were disabled within
the meaning of the A.D.A.” This Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
ensued.

PERCEIVED MISSTATEMENTS
MADE IN THE PETITION

Colwell, Ellinger and Abrams have mischaracterized the
evidence that was adduced at trial in many significant respects.
In accordance with Supreme Court Rule 15.2, the following

4

represents a list of the perceived misstatements and
mischaracterizations in the order that they appear in the Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari.

Colwell, Ellinger and Abrams claim that each suffered from
“chronic debilitating impairments”, that each “had a long record
of disability” and that each of them was “perceived by Respondents
as being disabled.” See Petition for a Writ of Certiorari at page r
These conclusory allegations are unsupported by the record. In
fact, the medical documentation offered at trial by Colwell, Ellinger
and Abrams did not der..onstrate that any of them was substantially
limited in the performance of one or more major life activities.
The only records produced by Colwell, Ellinger and Abrams
consisted of forms of the SCPD’s Medical Evaluation Unit, the
Suffolk County Department of Health Services and the Office of
Employee Medical Review. Those forms reflected the fact that
each of the Petitioners’ had been placed on light duty status with
the following limitations: no confrontation, no heavy lifting, no
rotating shifts, no strenuous exertion, day shifts and desk work
(plaintiffs’ exhibits “29” (R. 1267)’, “58-8” (S.A. 23)°, “58-9”
(S.A. 24), “58-10” (S.A. 25), “58-11” (S.A. 26), “58-12” (S.A.
27), “58-13” (S.A. 28), “58-18” (S.A. 30), “58-18.2” (S.A. 31),
“58-18.3” (S.A. 32), “58-18.4” (S.A. 33), “58-20” (S.A. 34), “59-
11” (S.A. 42), “59-18” (S.A. 43), “60-8” (S.A. 46), “60-10” (S.A.
47), “60-13” (S.A. 49), “60-14” (S.A. 50), “60-15” (S.A. 51), “60-
18” (S.A. 53), “60-19” (S.A. 54), “60-20” (S.A. 20), “60-21” (S.A.
56), “60-22” (S.A. 57), “60-22” (S.A. 58), “60-23” (S.A. 59), “60-
24” (S.A. 60), “60-25” (S.A. 61), “60-26” (S.A. 62), “60-27” (S.A.
63), “60-28” (S.A. 64), “60-29” (S.A. 65), “60-30” (S.A. 66), “60-

|. Hereinafter references to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari will
be referred to as “Petition”.

2. References preceded by “R.” are to pages in the Joint Appendix
filed with the Second Circuit Court of Appeals.

3. References preceded by “S.A.” are to pages in the Supplemental
Appendix filed with the Second Circuit Court of Appeals.

5

31” (S.A. 67), “60-32” (S.A. 68), “60-33” (S.A. 69), “60-34” (S.A.
70), “60-35” (S.A. 71), “60-36” (S.A. 72), “60-37” (S.A. 73), “60-
38” (S.A. 74), “60-39” (S.A. 75), “60-42” (S.A. 76)].

The only other record of limitations produced were forms
from the Suffolk County Department of Health Services, Office
of Employee Medical Review. According to those forms, Abrams
was restricted from “bending” and “prolonged sitting or standing”
[plaintiffs’ exhibit “59-22” (S.A. 44)], and Colwell was restricted

from “bending”, “prolonged driving”, and “prolonged sitting”
[plaintiffs’ exhibit “59-22” (S.A. 44), “60-11” (S.A. 48)].

None of the documentary evidence cited above demonstrated
that any of the Petitioners suffered from an impairment that
substantially limited them in the performance of any major life
activities. That evidence, and the testimony at trial, simply showed
that each of the Petitioners, at one time or another, was restricted
from performing the full duties of a police officer.

An»ther example of Petitioners’ embellishment of the record
is the description of Ellinger’s hospital stay for a cerebral
he aorrhage he sustained in 1984. According to the Petition, “He
[Ellinger] was rushed to the hospital by ambulance and was
confined to an intensive care unit for approximately 30 days.”
See Petition at page 2. While Ellinger testified that he was
hospitalized for approximately thirty days following his cerebral
hemorrhage, the only reference to “the intensive care unit”
appeared in an injured employee report submitted by Sergeant
John Byrnes, dated October 12, 1984 [plaintiffs’ exhibit “58-17”
(S.A. 29)]. This report indicated that Ellinger was in the intensive
care unit of St. John’s Episcopal Hospital on October 12, 1984,
three days after the hemorrhage.

6

Similarly, Ellinger’s description of the six month period
following his temporary hospital stay also mischaracterizes the
evidence. According to the Petition, “After leaving the hospital
he [Ellinger] was treated by his family physician, a neurologist
and neurosurgeon, and confined to six months of bed rest.”
See Petition at page 2. Although Ellinger testified that he was
out of work for approximately six months, he did not offer any
evidence that he was confined to bed for six months or that any
of his doctors had recommended bed rest for six months.

Ellinger states that “Although his [Ellinger’s] physical
condition stabilized, it continued to be debilitating and chronic
and he always had to compensate for it.” See Petition at page
2. Ellinger, however, fails to describe the evidence that showed
how he compensated for this so called “debilitating” condition.
According to Ellinger’s testimony, he did heavy work, like
digging and planting in the summertime, at a slow pace, he
wore hats and avoided physical exercise in the wintertime
(R. 377), and in stressful situations, he practiced “thinking good
thoughts” (R. 377) and “picturing the sun coming through the
clouds to erase all [his] fears.” (R. 381).

Additionally, Ellinger’s various complaints of pain which
appear in the Petition, are not in the trial record. Ellinger alleges
that “he used biofeedback techniques to try to calm down to
control the pressure and pain.” See Petition at page 3. Ellinger
testified at trial that he used biofeedback for a “sensation that
would begin at the top of my head and spread out towards the
back and the front.” (R. 377). He did not mention any pressure
or pain when he testified before the jury.

Another example of Ellinger’s mischaracterization of the
trial record is his claim that “he could not do any type of heavy
physical work” and “if he had to do something physical, he
would have to do it very slowly to avoid the pain in his head.”

7

See Petition at page 3. Ellinger actually testified at trial that,
“If | were going to do heavy work, either I wouldn't do it, or |
would do it very slowly.” (R. 378). Once again, he did not testify
about any pain in his head or about a complete inability to do
heavy work.

Still another example of Ellinger’s reference to pain not
found in the record is his allegation that “[e]xposure to the
elements, such as cold in the winter, could also cause him to
react with pain.” See Petition at page 3. Although Ellinger
testified that he needed to wear hats in the winter time, he did
not testify that this was done in reaction to pain (R. 377).

Although Ellinger states that he “was only able to work
within the light duty parameters established by the
Respondents” (see Petition at page 3), this is misleading because
the evidence shows that Dr. Weitzman, a physician employed
by the SCPD, found Ellinger fit for full-duty on December 1,
1992 (R. 338). The record shows that Ellinger chose to ignore
the police surgeon and decided instead that he would follow
the restrictions that were recommended by his personal
physician (R. 380).

The following excerpt is among the most glaring examples
of Ellinger’s unfair depiction of his alleged limitations:

Sergeant Ellinger is substantially limited in
performing manual tasks and can tolerate very little
exertion compared to the average person of the
general population.

See Petition at page 3.

Ellinger’s limitations with respect to manual tasks were
previously addressed herein and amounted to: doing heavy

work, like digging or planting in the summer time, at a slow
pace and wearing hats and avoiding physical exercise in the
winter time (R. 377). The only other limitation that Ellinger
testified to with respect to a manual task was shoveling snow;
“If I was to shovel a driveway in the snow, if I was to push, I
would feel it.” (R. 377).

Not only does Ellinger omit material facts contained in
the record, but he also adds facts not in evidence when he claims
that, “{t]he original cerebral hemorrhage was very severe; and
its residual effects will be of life time duration.” See Petition
at page 3. There was no evidence produced at trial regarding
the severity of Ellinger’s subarachnoid hemorrhage or any
prognosis. In fact, the only medical evidence submitted by
Ellinger was that of the SCPD’s physician, Dr. Weitzman, who
found that Ellinger’s hypertension was under control and that
he was fit for full duty status (R. 339).

Like Ellinger, Colwell also omits pertinent details in his
statement of the case. Colwell states in the Petition that “he is
only able to drive for short periods of time and is limited in the
type of manual task that he can perform.” See Petition at page
4. Colwell fails to explain, however, that his definition of a
short period of time was, “If I’m going for a two or three or
four hour drive, I have to stop and stretch my legs and walk
around...” (R. 255).

While Colwell states in the Petition that he cannot do
general work around the house (see Petition at page 4), he
testified at trial that he does basic chores (R. 255) and that he
has no problem with normal, everyday activities (R. 302).

Although Colwell claims that he is limited in “his ability
to lecture for any length of time” (see Petition at page 4), he
testified specifically that “it becomes a problem in instructing

9

for more than an hour at a time.” (R. 257). Colwell’s purported
difficulty with shopping and going on vacation (see Petition at
page 4), were qualified in his trial testimony as “I can’t go
shopping in the mall and stand around while [my wife] tries on
dresses”, (R. 257) and “I have a hard time again going on a
vacation in driving situations.” (R. 257).

Additionally, Colwell claims that he had difficulty doing
“any of the things which he did prior to his disability.”
See Petition at page 4. The only other activities, however, that
Colwell testified to at trial and that were not mentioned in the
Petition were his inability to ski or golf (R. 257). Colwell also
asserts in the Petition that his doctors prohibited him from
performing “the manual tasks he once performed.” See Petition
at page 4. The only evidence of any limitations placed upon
Colwell by any medical professional were the light duty
limitations on confrontation, heavy lifting, prolonged sitting,
prolonged standing, prolonged bending and prolonged driving,
which were recommended by the physicians employed by the
SCPD.

Abrams has also embellished the record. Abrams claims
that he cannot do yard work. See Petition at page 6. He testified,
however, that he has trouble with yard work (R. 535). Abrams
also claims that he cannot reach up. See, Petition at page 6.
Abrams testified that, “If I spend any time reaching up as far
as painting or plastering or anything like that, then it affects
me.” (R. 535). Abrams states that he has difficulty with driving.
See Petition at page 6. At trial he simply explained that he had
to “stop and get out and walk around and stretch out a little
bit” when driving for periods of time (R. 536).

SL Sa oe ee, Oe ee eee

10
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I.

PETITIONERS HAVE FAILED TO ESTABLISH
JURISDICTION FOR REVIEW OF THE ORDER
APPEALED FROM AS REQUIRED BY
RULE 10 OF THIS COURT.

In Braxton v. United States, 500 U.S. 344, 347, 111 S. Ct.
1854, 1857, 114 L. Ed. 2d 385, _ (1991), this Court stated that:

[a] principal purpose for which we use our certiorari
jurisdiction . . . is to resolve conflicts among the United
States Courts of Appeals and state courts concerning
the meaning of provisions of federal law.

In Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, 349 U.S. 70, 74.
75S. Ct. 614, 616, 99 L. Ed. 897, _ (1955), this Court, in
considering the meaning of the phrase “special and important
reasons” within the context of the former version of Rule 10 of
the Supreme Court Rules, noted that it does not sit for the “benefit
of the particular litigants”, and declared that the issue presented
must involve “a problem beyond the academic or the episodic.”
The Court stressed that:

it is very important that we be consistent in not granting
the writ of certiorari except in cases involving
principles the settlement of which is of importance to
the public, as distinguished from that of the parties,
and in cases where there is a real and embarrassing
conflict of opinion and authority between Circuit
Courts of Appeals.

Id. at 79, 75S. Ct. at 620,99 L. Ed. at__, quoting Layne & Bowler
Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387, 393, 43 S. Ct.

1]

422, 423, 67 L. Ed. 712 (1923). Under Rule 10, “[a] petition fora
writ of certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted error consists
of erroneous factual findings or the misapplication of a properly
stated rule of law.”

None of the considerations specified in Rule 10 are in any
way legitimately implicated by the issues presented in this Petition.
In tacit recognition of this obstacle to the granting of the writ, the
Petitioners argue instead that juries, and not the Courts, should
have plenary power to decide what impairments do or do not
“substantially limit one or more major life activities”. See Petition
at page 8. This proposition, however, ignores the authority of the
federal courts under Fed. R. Civ. P. 50 to protect a party from a
verdict that has no legally sufficient evidentiary basis. Moreover,
the Petition advances no authority for the unique propositions that
the federal courts are without authority to determine what evidence
is Or is not legally sufficient to demonstrate the existence of an
impairment that “substantially limits a major life activity” and
that juries should be left to arbitrarily decide that question as they
see fit.

The Petitioners also argue, without any authority, that
Congress’ intent to enact remedial legislation has been thwarted
by the Second Circuit and by other Courts of Appeals who have
refused to allow every impairment, no matter how insubstantial,
to lead to a plaintiff's verdict. The Petitioners do not argue in any
inciteful manner that the Second Circuit in this case, or any of the
other Courts of Appeals in the cited cases, applied an erroneous
standard when reviewing A.D.A. cases in which the phrase
“substantially limits” was at issue. Moreover, the Petitioners do
not suggest what the governing rule of law should be. Instead, the
Petitioners’ only solution to the alleged problem is, again, a ruling
from this Court that the phrase “substantially limits” means
whatever a jury decides that it should mean. It is respectfully
submitted that certiorari should not be granted for this purpose.

12

The Petitioners also claim that the decision of the Second
Circuit, and of the other Courts of Appeals, “goes against the
spirit of the Court’s holding in the recent case of Bragdon v.
Abbott, _ U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 2196 (1998).” See Petition at
page 10. By the use of the undefined and uncited “spirit”
standard, the Petitioners attempt to evade the need to address
and to meet the standard for granting review on certiorari set
forth in Rule 10(c) of the Rules of the Supreme Court: “... a
United States court of appeals ... has decided an important
federal question in a way that conflicts with relevant decisions
of this Court.” (emphasis added). In fact, the Second Circuit
carefully and correctly applied Bragdon in its decision in this
case.

In Bragdon, the respondent suffered from asymptomatic
HIV infection. After an analysis of the dangers and risks
associated with transmission of the disease to a partner or an
offspring, this Court held that respondent was substantially
limited in the major life activity of reproduction, Bragdon,
supra, 524 U.S. at__, 118 S. Ct. at 2202-2207, 141 L. Ed. 2d
at _. Petitioners fail to point out any conflict between this
Court’s decision in Bragdon and the Second Circuit’s decision
in the case at bar. The Second Circuit relied on Bragdon in
finding that the evidence failed to show that the Petitioners
were substantially limited in the performance of one or more
major life activities. The Second Circuit held that:

[t]he third step in the Bragdon analysis is to
determine whether the plaintiff's impairment
“substantially limits” the major life activities that
are properly deemed major. This inquiry is
individualized and fact-specific.

Colwell v. Suffolk County Police Dept., 158 F.3d 635, 643
(2d Cir. 1998), citing Reeves v. Johnson Controls World
Services, Inc., 140 F.3d 144, 152 (2d Cir. 1998); Ryan v. Grae

13

& Rybicki, 135 F.3d 867, 872 (2d Cir. 1998); see also Bragdon,
1188S. Ct. at 2206; (A. 13a)*. The Second Circuit then carefully
reviewed the evidence adduced by each of the Petitioners,
[Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 639-647; (A. 15a-17a)] and
concluded “that each of the [Petitioners] failed to advance
evidence sufficient to show that the limitation he suffered with
respect to a major life activity was substantial.” Co/well, 158
F.3d at 645; (A. 17a). The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
should be denied because its primary purpose is to simply have
this Court review the sufficiency of the evidence determinations
made by the Second Circuit.

This Court, in finding that the Respondent in Bragdon was
substantially limited in the major life activity of reproduction,
commented that “[t]he Act addresses substantial limitations of
major life activities, not utter inabilities.” Bragdon, supra, 524
U.S. at ___, 118 S. Ct. at 2206, 141 L. Ed. 2d at _.. The
Petitioners grasp onto this one line, in an attempt to show that
the Second Circuit applied a stricter standard for establishing a
disability than the standard applied by this Court in Bragdon.

The Second Circuit did not require the Petitioners to show
“utter inabilities” in the performance of major life activities,
but rather it correctly utilized the definition of “substantially
limits” as set forth by the EEOC:

«.) Unable to perform a major life activity that the
average person in the general population can
perform; or is

(11) Significantly restricted as to the condition
manner or duration under which an individual

4. References preceded by “A” are to the appendix of the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari.

14

can perform a particular major life activity as
compared to the condition, manner, or duration
under which the average person in the general
population can perform that same major life
activity. 29 C.F.R. §1630.2G)(1).

Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 643, (A. 13a-14a).

The Second Circuit also properly utilized the following
factors recommended by the regulations in its determination
that the Petitioners were not substantially limited in a major
life activity:

(i) the nature and severity of the impairment;

(ii) the duration or expected duration of the
impairment; and

(iii) the permanent or long term impact or the
expected permanent or long term impact of or
resulting from the impairment. 29 C.F.R.

§ 1630(j)(2).

Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 643; (A. 14a).

For these reasons, the Petitioners’ argument that the Second
Circuit somehow ran afoul of this Court’s decision in Bragdon
is without merit. Accordingly, the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

15
Il.

THE SECOND CIRCUIT APPLIED THE PROPER

STANDARD OF REVIEW IN DETERMINING THAT THE

PETITIONERS HAD NOT PRODUCED SUFFICIENT
EVIDENCE OF A DISABILITY UNDER THE A.D.A.

Petitioners also contend that the Second Circuit improperly
substituted its judgment for that of the trier of fact and the trial
judge. See Petition ai pages 10-16. This contention is not
supported by the record or by legal precedent.

The Second Circuit applied the proper standard for review
when it reversed the District Court’s denial of Respondents’
motion for judgment as a matter of law:

In reviewing the denial of judgment as a matter of
law, we view the evidence in the light most favorable
to the nonmoving party and will reverse “only if
[we] can conclude that, with credibility assessments
made against the moving party and all inferences
drawn against the moving party, a reasonable juror
would have been compelled to accept the view of
the moving party.”

Colwell, 158 F.3d at 641, citing Bradway v. Gonzales, 26 F.3d
313, 317 (2d Cir. 1994); (A. 7a-8a).

Colwell and Abrams claim that the Second Circuit departed
from the above standard and improperly assessed their
credibility when the Court found that their descriptions of their
limitations were “marked throughout by hedging and a studied
vagueness” and were “carefully qualified” and that Dr. Holzer’s
testimony was “vague and qualified.” See Petition at pages 14

16

and 16. By using that terminology, the Second Circuit was
merely articulating its evaluation of the sufficiency of the
evidence as revealed by the transcript of the Petitioners’ and
Dr. Holzer’s testimony. This is a far cry from rejecting
testimony that is legally sufficient on its face, but is nevertheless
rejected because it is not credible. Therefore, Petitioners’
contention that the Second Circuit improperly assessed their
credibility is erroneous.

Petitioners, in further support of their argument that the
Second Circuit substituted its judgment for that of the District
Court, state that the District Court credited the medical
testimony of Dr. Robert Reiss, a police surgeon, as
“corroborating Colwell’s claims and supporting ‘the jury's
conclusion that Colwell was disabled at the time he was not
promoted.’ ” See Petition at page 14. On appeal to the Second
Circuit, Respondents pointed out that at trial, the District Court
specifically instructed the jury not to consider the testimony of
Dr. Reiss as evidence of Colwell’s physical condition because ©
Dr. Reiss did not conduct any medical examinations of his own
(R. 466). Clearly, the District Court erred in crediting Dr. Reiss’
testimony as evidence of a disability when it had instructed the
jury to disregard that same testimony. Therefore, no reasonable
juror could have found that Dr. Reiss’ testimony supported
Colwell’s claim of disability.

Ellinger also claims that the Second Circuit usurped the
findings of the judge and jury when it held that there was
insufficient evidence to find that he was substantially limited
in the major life activity of work. Ellinger argues that the
restrictions on his work schedule could apply to “any position”
and “[(t]herefore there was no need for specific evidence about
‘the kinds of jobs from which an impaired individual is
disqualified.’ ” See Petition at page 15. The case law, however,
unequivocally holds to the contrary. Ryan v. Grae & Rybicki,

17

P.C., 135 F.3d 867, 872 (2d Cir. 1998); Heilweil v. Mount Sinai
Hospital, 32 F.3d 718, 723-724 (2d Cir. 1994), cert. denied,
513 U.S. 1147, 115 S. Ct. 1095, 130 L. Ed. 2d 1063 (1995).

The Second Circuit correctly held that neither Colwell,
Ellinger nor Abrams were substantially limited in the major
life activity of work. Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 643-645;
(A. 14a-15a). In so finding, the Second Circuit applied the
proper standard of review and rendered a decision that was
supported by the evidence of record and was entirely consistent
with the A.D.A. and the case law. Accordingly, the Petition for
a Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Il.

A POLICE OFFICER’S ASSIGNMENT TO LONG TERM
LIGHT DUTY IS NOT EVIDENCE OF A RECORD OF
DISABILITY UNDER THE A.D.A.

In an effort to invoke this Court’s jurisdiction, Petitioners
argue that their “long term” assignment to light duty created a
record of disability under the A.D.A. See Petition at pages 16-
18. The Second Circuit, however, did not err in its decision on
this issue either. In fact, the Second Circuit noted that it would
be anomalous to find that an employer, like the County, that
“accedes to minor and potentially debatable accommodations”,
like the assignment of a police officer to light duty, “thereby
stipulate[s] to the employee’s record of a chronic and endless
disability.” Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 646; (A. 21a).

In order for Colwell, Ellinger and Abrams to have
established a disability under the A.D.A. by demonstrating a
record of impairment, each of them was required to prove “a
record of a physical or mental impairment that substantially
limits one or more major life activities.” 42 U.S.C. § 12102(2);

18

Williams v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 6366,
aff'd, 110 F.3d 74 (10th Cir. 1997); 29 C.F.R. Part 1630
Appendix, Section 1630.2(k).

Colwell, Ellinger and Abrams point to their personnel files,
performance reports and duty assignments in an attempt to claim
that they established evidence of a disability through a record
of an impairment. As addressed in Point I above, they failed to
produce any specific record or document which indicated that
any of them was substantially limited in the performance of
one or more major life activities. All of the evidence
demonstrated that Colwell, Ellinger and Abrams were able to
work light-duty assignments on a full-time basis.

Petitioners further claim that “evidence of a record of a
substantial limitation for an extensive period is independently
probative of whether the Petitioners were disabled within the
meaning of the A.D.A.” See Petition at page 17. Petitioners,
however, were unable to establish any record of a substantial
limitation of a major life activity, let alone a record of a long
term substantial limitation of a major life activity.

While work is a “major life activity” under the A.D.A.,
“an impairment that disqualifies a person from only a narrow
range of jobs is not considered a substantially limiting one.”
Heilweil, supra, 32 F.3d at 723 (2d Cir. 1994); Wernick v.
Federal Reserve Bank of New York, 91 F.3d 379, 383-384 (2d
Cir. 1996). It necessarily follows that the inability to perform
all of the duties of a police officer in the State of New York,
and in the County of Suffolk [see N.Y. Exec. L.
§ 835[7] (McKinney 1996)], does not mean that a police officer
who is on light duty assignment has an impairment that
substantially limits the major life activity of working. A history
of injuries which resulted in minor impairments and the

19

assignment of a police officer to light duty, as here, is simply
not a history of a disability as defined by the A.D.A. The
Petitioners have failed to demonstrate how the Second Circuit’s
decision on this issue implicates any of the considerations
governing review on certiorari. Accordingly, the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

IV.

THIS COURT’S DECISION IN SCHOOL BOARD OF
NASSAU COUNTY v. ARLINE DID NOT ESTABLISH THAT
A TEMPORARY PERIOD OF HOSPITALIZATION
CREATES A PER SE RECORD OF DISABILITY
UNDER THE A.D.A.

Ellinger misconstrues this Court’s decision in School Board
of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 107 S. Ct. 1123,
94 L. Ed. 2d 307 (1987), when he claims that his temporary
hospitalization for the cerebral hemorrhage that he sustained
in 1984 established a “record of impairment” under the A.D.A.

In Burch v. Coca-Cola, Co., 119 F.3d 305 (Sth Cir. 1997),
cert. denied, _ U.S. _, 118 S. Ct. 871, 139 L. Ed. 2d 768
(1998), the Fifth Circuit rejected an identical argument in which
the plaintiff relied on School Board of Nassau County v. Arline,
supra, to allege that his alcoholism, which resulted in his
eventual hospitalization, amounted to a substantial limitation
of major life activities.

The Second Circuit cited the Fifth Circuit’s decision in
Burch which held that:

The quoted language from Arline cannot be
construed to obviate the requirements, explicit in
the A.D.A. and its implementing regulations, that
purported conditions be examined to ascertain

20

whether a specific condition substantially limited a
major life activity. The A.D.A. requires an
individualized inquiry beyond the mere existence of
a hospital stay.

(Emphasis added). Burch, supra, 119 F.3d at 317; Colwell,
supra, 158 F.3d at 645-646, (A. 19a-20a). The Fifth Circuit
further explained that:

(a]lthough the court in Arline noted that the
plaintiff's hospitalization established a record of
impairment, the defendant had conceded that
[plaintiff's] acute tuberculosis had been
substantially limiting.

Burch, 119 F.3d at 317; Colwell, 158 F.3d at 646; (A. 19a-20a).

As the Second Circuit found in the instant case, Ellinger
failed to show any substantially limiting condition and the
County does not and did not concede that he suffered from such
a condition. Accordingly, Ellinger’s attenuated hospitalization
back in 1984 did not establish a record of impairment that
substantially limited a major life activity.

Arline is also distinguishable from the instant case. The
Petitioner in Arline argued that the respondent was discharged
from employment because of the danger posed to others by a
possible relapse of her tuberculosis, and not because of any
record of disability. Hence, this Court’s focus in Arline was on
the effect of public perception on an individual’s ability to work
when that individual has suffered from a contagious disease.

[A]n impairment might not diminish a person’s
physical or mental capabilities, but could
nevertheless substantially limit that person’s ability

21

to work as a result of the negative reactions of others
to the impairment.

Arline, supra, 480 U.S. at 283, 107 S. Ct. at 1128-1129, 94
L. Ed. 2dat__.

Few aspects of a handicap give rise to the same level
of public fear and misapprehension as
contagiousness.

Arline, 480 U.S. at 284, 107 S. Ct. at 1129, 94.L. Ed. 2dat__.

Ellinger did not suffer from a contagious disease nor was
there any evidence that the SCPD perceived that Ellinger was
substantially limited in the major life activity of work.

The Second Circuit recognized that Arline could not be
construed to mean that a temporary hospitalization creates a
per se disability under the A.D.A. The Second Circuit correctly
held that such a reading “would work a presumption that any
condition requiring temporary hospitalization is disabling -- a
presumption that runs counter to the very goal of the A.D.A.”
Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 646; (A. 20a).

Ellinger further argues that his temporary hospitalization,
coupled with his six month absence following his cerebral
hemorrhage, should be factored into the determination of
whether the limited restrictions to his work schedule constitute
a disability under the A.D.A. See Petition at page 19. Although
Ellinger’s hospitalization may have temporarily impaired his
ability to work, an impairment that is “transitory or temporary
does not constitute a substantially limiting condition under the
A.D.A.” 29 C.F.R. § 1630, App. § 1630.2()).

[cJourts within this circuit and the vast majority of
courts elsewhere which have considered the question

22

have held that temporary disabilities do not trigger
the protections of the A.D.A. because individuals
with temporary injuries are not disabled persons
within the meaning of the act.

Graaf v. North Shore University Hospital, | F. Supp. 2d 318,
321 (S.D.N.Y. 1998), citing Boyce v. New York City Mission
Society, 963 F. Supp. 290, 296-297 (S.D.N.Y. 1997);
see Richard F. Murray v. Sysco Corp., 1998 U.S. Dist LEXIS
4503, *19 (N.D.N.Y. 1998); David Curran v. All Waste Systems,
Inc., 1997 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22110, *15 (S.D.N.Y. 1997), aff'd,
133 F.3d 906 (2d Cir. 1997).

The Second Circuit was in accordance with other circuits
when it held that:

[A] seven-month impairment of [Ellinger’s] ability
to work, with the non-particularized and unspecific
residual limitations described on his police work,
is of too short a duration and too vague an extent to
be “substantially limiting.”

Colwell, supra, 158 F.3d at 646, citing Sanders v. Arneson
Products, 91 F.3d 1351, 1354 (9th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520
U.S. 1116, 117 S. Ct. 1247, 137 L. Ed. 2d 329 (1997); Halperin v.
Abacus Technology Corp., 128 F.3d 191, 200 (4th Cir. 1997);
(A. 20a-21a).

There is no support in the A.D.A. or in Arline, supra, for
the proposition that a temporary period of hospitalization
constitutes a per se disability under the A.D.A. In fact, the
federal courts have consistently and correctly held that
temporary impairments are not substantial limitations. For these
reasons, the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

23
i

PETITIONERS FAILED TO PRODUCE ANY EVIDENCE

THAT THE SUFFOLK COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMENT

PERCEIVED THEM AS SUBSTANTIALLY LIMITED IN
PERFORMING ANY MAJOR LIFE ACTIVITIES.

Petitioners also argue that a perception of disability was
established by the SCPD’s knowledge of their “long term” light-
duty status. See Petition at pages 22-25. The Second Circuit
correctly disposed of that argument by noting that in order to
establish the element of disability under a perception theory,
the employer must perceive the employee as having an
impairment which substantially limits the performance of major
life activities within the meaning of the A.D.A. Colwell, supra,
158 F.3d at 646, citing Francis v. City of Meriden, 129 F.3d
281 (2d Cir. 1997); (A. 21a). The Second Circuit then analyzed
the record and correctly concluded that the evidence adduced
by the Petitioners was “insufficient to permit the inference that
the County perceived the officers as having impairments that
substantially limited them in one or more major life activities.”
Colwell, supra, 128 F.3d at 647; (A. 22a).

General Municipal Law § 207-c(3) (McKinney 1986)
specifies the right of the SCPD to place police officers injured
in the line of duty on light-duty status at full salary, if they are
deemed capable of performing light-duty by municipal health
authorities. Additionally, General Municipal Law § 207-c(1)
(McKinney 1986) specifies that a police officer who is injured
in the line of duty and who is deemed unfit for light-duty
assignment, is entitled to receive full salary. See Joyce v. Suffolk
County, 911 F. Supp. 92, 95 (E.D.N.Y. 1996) (“Being declared
unsuitable for the particular position of police officer is not a
substantial limitation of a major life activity.”); Tudyman v.
United Airlines, 608 F. Supp. 739, 746 (C.D. Ca. 1984) (“[F]or

24

the same reason that failure to qualify for a single job does not
constitute a limitation on a major life activity, refusal to hire
someone for a single job does not in and of itself constitute
perceiving the plaintiffas a handicapped individual.”),; Foreman
y. The Babcock & Wilcox Co., et al., 117 F.3d 800, 806 (Sth
Cir. 1997), cert. denied, __ U.S. _, 118 S. Ct. 1050, 140 L.
Ed. 2d 113 (1998), (“[A]n employer does not necessarily regard
an employee as having a substantially limiting impairment
simply because it believes that she is incapable of performing
a particular job... .”).

On this final point, as on the previous points, the ultimate
purpose of the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari is to have this
Court review the Second Circuit’s findings on the sufficiency
of the evidence under Fed. R. Civ. P. 50. Again, it is respectfully

submitted that the Petition should not be granted for that
purpose.

25
CONCLUSION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
correctly found upon its review of the record that there was
insufficient evidence to support the jury’s finding that the
Petitioners were disabled within the meaning of the A.D.A.
A writ of certiorari should not be granted for the purpose of
reviewing that determination. Petitioners have failed to show
any compelling reasons for granting the Petition based upon
the considerations governing review on certiorari. For all the
reasons set forth above, it is respectfully requested that the
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari from the Order of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, dated October
15, 1998, be denied in its entirety.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT J. CIMINO
Suffolk County Attorney
RANDY BERLER*
Assistant County Attorney
THEODORE D. SKLAR
Assistant County Attorney
Attorneys for Respondents
H. Lee Dennison Building
100 Veterans Memorial Highway
P.O. Box 6100

Hauppauge, NY 11787-0099
(516) 853-4049

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1173%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
