# Opposition Brief — Winters v. Diamond Shamrock Chemical Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1151%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1034

## Text

Supreme Court, US.
FILE D
|
51999 |
No.98-1140 FEB 16 19 |
CLERK
In the Supreme Court of the United States

OcToOBER TERM, 1998

JOHN WINTERS, SR., INDIVIDUALLY AND AS THI
REPRESENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OI!
MARGARET WINTERS, DECEASED

Petitione -

VS

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CHEMICAL COMPANY
MONSANTO COMPANY; UNIROYAL INCORPORATED
HERCULES INC.; THOMPSON-HAYWARD CHEMICAL COMPANY
also known as Thompson Chemical Corporation; TH AGRICULTURI
& NUTRITION COMPANY, IN¢

Responde AES

On Petition For a Writ of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals For the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENTS' JOINT BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Steven Brock* Michael M. G
RIVKIN, RADLER & KREMER CADWALADEK
EAB Plaza WICKERSHAM &
Uniondale, New York 11556 OO Maiden Lar
(S516) 357-3000 New York, N
“Cou '

Attor

Virgil Mountain, Inc. (212) 779-4046

“RORY IESG 2 HEH

Nm

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the courts below erred in finding—on the unique
factual record developed in Agent Orange product liability
litigation—that Respondent Agent Orange manufacturers
acted pursuant to federal officers’ directions and that a
causal nexus existed between Respondents’ action under
color of federal office and Petitioner’s claims of injury due
to Agent Orange for purposes of federal jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1) based on findings of jurisdictional
facts that, inter alia: (1) Respondents were “compelled to
deliver Agent Orange to the government under threat of
criminal sanctions”; (2) federal officers mandated “detailed
specifications” for Agent Orange and Respondents
complied with those specifications; and (3) the alleged
harmful design feature of Agent Orange was “expressly
considered and mandated” by the government.

Whether the court of appeals correctly ruled that the district
court did not abuse its “broad discretion” under Parklane
Hosiery by denying offensive collateral! estoppel effect to a
prior district court ruling that was, among other
limitations, tentative and unreviewable on appeal.

Whether a corporation is a “person” entitled to remove
under § 1442 in circumstances where a private individua:!
would be so entitled.

INTERESTED PARTIES

John Winters, Sr., Individually and
as Representative of the Estate of

Margaret Winters Petitioner
Fr. Martin Winters Petitioner
Charles Winters Petitioner
Diamond Shamrock Chemicals Company Respondent
The Dow Chemical Company Respondent
Monsanto Company Respondent
Uniroyal, Inc. Respondent
Hercules, Incorporated Respondent
Thompson-Hayward Chemical Company Respondent
T.H. Agriculture & Nutrition Company, Inc. Respondent
ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

In accordance with Rule 29.1 of the Supreme Court Rules,
respondents hereby state:

i. Diamond Shamrock Chemicals Company

In 1986, Occidental Chemical Corporation, an indirect,
wholly-owned subsidiary of Occidental Petroleum
Corporation, became the successor by merger of Diamond
Shamrock Chemicals Company. Occidental Petroleum
Corporation has the following non-wholly owned subsidiary:
Canadian Occidental Petroleum Ltd.

2. The Dow Chemical Company

The Dow Chemical Company is a_ publicly traded
company. It has no parent company. Upon information and
belief, The Dow Chemical Company owns five percent or
more of the shares issued to the public by Astropower, Inc.

3. Hercules Incorporated

Hercules Incorporated is a publicly held corporation
whose shares are traded on the New York Stock Exchange. It
has no parent company. Upon information and_ belief,
Hercules Incorporated has the following subsidiaries:

Abieta Chemie GmbH

Algas Marinas S.A.

Alliance Technical Products
Aqualon Company

Aqualon France BV

Citrus Colloids Braspectina S.A.
Copenhagen Pectin A/S
Copenhagen Pectin S.A.

lil

Curtis Bay Insurance Co., Ltd.

East Bay Realty Services, Inc.
FiberVisions A.G.

Fiber Visions A/S

FiberVisions Argentina S.A.
FiberVisions (China) A/S
FiberVisions (China) Textile Products, Ltd.
FiberVisions GmbH

Fiber Visions Incorporated
FiberVisions L.L.C.

FiberVisions de Mexico, S.A. de C.V.
FiberVisions Products, Inc.
FiberVisions Products de Mexico, S.A. de C.V.
Franchem AG

Genu Philippines, Inc.

Genu Products Canada Ltd.

Hechem BC

Hercofina

Hercules AB

Hercules BV

Hercules Belgium N.V.

Hercules Canada Inc.

Hercules Chemical Corporation
Hercules China Limited

Hercules Country Club, Inc.

Hercules Credit, Inc.

Hercules CZ S.R.O.

Hercules de Mexico, S.A. de C.V.
Hercules do Brasil Produtos Quimicos Ltda.
Hercules Deutschland GmbH

Hercules Eastern Europe BV

Hercules Europe N.V.

Hercules Finance Company

Hercules Flavor, Inc.

Hercules GmbH

Hercules International Limited

Hercules International Trade Corporation Limited
Hercules (UK) Investments Finance Ltd.
Hercules Investments PLC
Hercules Investments Global Ltd.
Hercules (UK) Investments Limited
Hercules Investments L.L.C.
Hercules Investments P.L.C.
Hercules Islands Corporation
Hercules Italia S.p.A.

Hercules Japan Ltd.

Hercules Korea Chemical Co. Ltd
Hercules Limited

Hercules Nederland BV

Hercules Overseas Corporation
Hercules Polska Sp.Z.0.0.
Hercules Quimica, S.A

Hercules S.A.

Hercules-Sanyo, Inc.

Hercules Singapore Pte Lid.
Hercules Trading Corporation
Hercules Ultramarine, Inc.
HISPAN Corporation HUK Trustee Company Limited
Inversiones Alfa S.A.

Little H Pty Limited

Organa Trust Reg., in Schaan

Oy Hercofinn AB

Pakistan Gum Industries Limited
Patex-Chemie GmbH

Pesquera Punta Rieles Ltda.
Pomosin GmbH

PRAF Limited

P.T. Hercules Mas Indonesia
Quimica Hercules de Colombia S.A.
Quimica Hercules, S.A. de C.V.
Quimproc, S.A. de C.V.
Rika-Hercules Inc

St. Croix Petrochemical Corp.

Servi Q, S.A. de C.V.

Shanghai Hercules Chemicals Company, Ltd.
Taiwan Hercules Chemicals, Incorporated
Taloquimia, S.A. de C.V.

WSP, Inc.

ZANEA Seaweed Company Limited

Hercules Incorporated merged with BetzDearborn in
October, 1998. Upon information and belief, BetzDearborn
has the following subsidiaries:

BetzDearborn Argentina
BetzDearborn Australia Pry Limited
BetzDearborn Ges.mbH
BetzDearborn N.V.

BetzDearborn Brasil LTDA.
BetzDearborn Canada, Inc.
BetzDearborn de Chile Ltda.
BetzDearborn Colombia S.A.
BetzDearborn Denmark A/S
BetzDearborn de Ecuador S.A.
BetzDearborn OY

BetzDearborn S.A.

BetzDearborn GmbH
BetzDearborn China, Ltd.
BetzDearborn India Private Limited
PT BetzDearborn Persada
BetzDearborn Ireland Limited
BetzDearborn S.p.A.. Nippon BetzDearborn K.K
BetzDearborn Korea Ltd.

Betz (Malaysia) Sdn. BHD
BetzDearborn de Mexico S.A. de C.V.
BetzDearborn B.V.

BetzDearborn Norge A/S
BetzDearborn del Peru S.A.

V1

BetzDearborn Portuguesa, Lda.
BetzDearborn Pta. Ltd.
BetzDearborn South Africa (Pry) Ltd.
BetzDearborn Iberica S.A.
BetzDearborn AB

BetzDearborn Taiwan Limited
BetzDearborn (Thailand) Co. Ltd.
BetzDearborn Limited

BetzDearborn de Uruguay S.A.
BetzDearborn Venezuela C.A.

4. Monsanto Company

Monsanto company is a publicly traded company. It has
no parent. Upon information and belief, Monsanto Company
is affiliated with DeKalb Genetics Corporation.

5. T.H. Agriculture & Nutrition Co., Inc.

T.H. Agriculture & Nutrition Co., Inc. (now known as
T.H. Agriculture & Nutrition L.L.C.), formerly known as
Thompson-Hayward Chemical Company and also sued herein
as Thompson Chemical Corporation, is a wholly-owned
subsidiary of Philips Electronics North America Corporation,
formerly known as North American Philips Corporation.
Philips Electronics North America Corporation is an indirect
wholly-owned subsidiary of Koninklijke Philips Electronic
N.V., a publicly held corporation based in the Netherlands.

6. Uniroyal, Inc. =

Uniroyal, Inc., whose common and preferred shares were
formerly publicly held, having disposed of substantially all of
its assets and businesses transferred its net assets to the sole
shareholder of its common stock, CDU Holding, Inc., a
privately owned company.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SPN a MINI ca2- cucu hodacvccasenneecedtevesstiastectslan:
EE SI acon nec save scdavetstrse cutecvedoosdaceteuestanes i
CORDOIENE TNSCODGUS SUMMPIINCIE o.o. ooo oc cance crececscccevncvevess i]
ee Recah inner lho susconte cceeoks vamohaacn Soa
ES EAT AEDT PERS ee Sere LAL Bry XI
eK Sn en ens ei
Fay De PIO CE DON sic cnceniser bcc bestcedicness exe |
B. The Winters Agent Orange Action ....................... 3

I. Filing in Texas, Removal to Federal
Court, and Transfer to MDL-381................. 2

2. Judge Weinstein Declines to Rule on

Petitioner’s Motion to Remand and

Transfers the Case Back to Judge Cobb
WP Pia sdirecucticerscsenjatickins enw tecares chess 3

3. Judge Cobb Finds Federal Removal
Jurisdiction Under § 1442. .............ccceeecese 4

4 Judge Cobb Dismisses on Statute of
Limitations And Denies Reargument. ............ 7

5S. The Fifth Circuit Affirms § 1442
Jurisdiction And Dismissal.................22000.. 7

6. Judge Weinstein Indicates He Will
Follow The Fifth Circuit’s Ruling.............. 10

Vill

hallenges Only The Re SUT Be '

Principles Applicable To
.)

“

Jurisdictior
A Matter Of No General Importance

I f
Light nique Jurisdictional

| f
gent Orange Litigatior
Petitionel Admit []

inat The (¢
\pplied The I

Orrect Legal Standard AI
DD. . P f he a [ 4 . cy
i oposes Unly 1 ractdDound Uuestion |
Kevie 9

I }

A. ¥

A! i
i I} \
yi '

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

Il. Review Of The Denial Of Offensive Collateral
Estoppel Is Not Warranted Because Petitioner Only
Challenges The Result Below, Not The Controlling
Parklane Hosiery Legal Standard, And The Court
Below Plainly Did Not Abuse Its “Broad Discretion”
Under That SatMteed ...s lbs sesedsrccasesuvevavascheereehens Is

lil. Certiorari Is Not Warranted Because The Lower
Courts Are In General Agreement That § 1442
Provides For Removal By Corporations As Well As
Individuals And That Removal By Corporations
Furthers The Policies Underlying Section 1442 ......... 21

tl
to)

CO ea re ee eek dae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pag

Appendix A:

Docket Entry in /n Re “Agent Orange” Product

Liability Litigation, MDL No. 381, Dated

Se v RAI
Appendix B:

Excerpt of Transcript of Proceedings in Miller, et

al. v. Diamond Shamrock Co., et al., No. CY

95-4865 (E.D.N.Y. Jan. 29, 1999).............. RA2
Appendix C:

Docket Entry in Jn Re “Agent Orange” Product

Liability Litigation, MDL No. 381; Miller, et al

v. Diamond Shamrock Co., et al., No. CV 95

4865 (E.D.N.Y.), Dated January 29, 1999...... RAS
Appendix D:

Handwritten Ruling on Motion For Remand,

Miller, et al. v. Diamond Shamrock Co., et al.,

No. CV 95-4865 (E.D.N.Y.), Dated January 29,

rae divsresccveesccccscee. oy RA
Appendix E:

Handwritten Order in In Re “Agent Orange”

Product Liability Litigation, MDL No. 381;

Miller, et al. v. Diamond Shamrock Co., et al.,

No. CV 95-4865 (E.D.N.Y.), Dated February 2,

Tee cre ycsycecesscccccerccecs ... RA7

x1

2 a ' .
i j
j i} ; ; rT 1 1
i j . ’ 4 4 4 f , / if
j ”) ( f t | 8, l
r
; f f

( ases

r}

Cited:
tational Primate Protection League

Administrators of the Tulane Edu ational Funa
S00 U.S. 72 (1991)

Dollar, 330 U.S. 731 (1947)

j yope Vo. 1), 270 U.S. 9 { 0)

AC and S, In S38 | Supp 1099 (D. Me
1993), rec. denied. 857 } Supp. 26 (D. M
1994)

AT, Hosier ( | Shores 4 j | \

(1979) ( )

Vil \ Blue Cross Blue Shi ld OT Le a ‘
ae (Sth ( iT.) ceri denied . 7) l

} aS 5)

Vational Bank of Commerce of Sa)
Antonio, 290 F.2d 229 (Sth Cir.). cert le?

68 U.S. 832 (1961)
Villingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402 (1969)
nv. Dow Chemical Co., et al., 781 | Sul
934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992), leave to appeal denied

No. 92-8008 (2d Cir. May 8,
lismissed.

1992 ), appeai

(2d

>.4 7

92-74

1]

» 4
NO e) Cir. June 16
: ’ +
YYZ), ceri denied. »

599 | 199?)

No. 98-1140

In the United States Supreme Court

OcrToBerR TERM, 1998

JOHN WINTERS, SR., INDIVIDUALLY
AND AS THE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE
ESTATE OF MARGARET WINTERS,
DECEASED,
Petitioner,
—VS.—

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CHEMICAL COMPANY:
MONSANTO COMPANY; UNIROYAL INCORPORATED:
HERCULES INC.; THOMPSON-HA YWARD CHEMICAL

COMPANY, also known as Thompson Chemical

Corporation; TH AGRICULTURE & NUTRITION

COMPANY, INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition For a Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ JOINT BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The “Agent Orange Saga”

As the court below noted, this action is “part of the Agent
Orange saga” and must be considered in terms of the history
of that litigation. Pet. App. 39. Agent Orange was a herbicide
used by the United States military in Vietnam to protect

American soldiers by defoliating jungle vegetation which
provided cover for opposing forces. Respondents had
manufactured Agent Orange for the military according to
military specifications. Beginning in 1979, hundreds of suits
alleging injury due to exposure to Agent Orange were filed in
the Eastern District of New York and elsewhere against
Respondents and others. All these cases were consolidated for
pretrial proceedings by the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict
Litigation before Judge Jack B. Weinstein in the Eastern
District of New York as MDL No. 381.

One of those cases, a national class action of veterans and

family members, was settled in 1984. Judge Weinstein
approved the fairness of the class action settlement and ruled
that Respondents were entitled to summary judgment on
various grounds in the other pending suits by civilians and by
veteran plaintiffs who opted out of the class action. These
lings were affirmed by the Second Circuit in a series of
opinions in 1987. In re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Lit.,
S18 F.2d 145, 148 (2d Cir. 1987) (overview and summary of
rulings), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1234 (1988). Numerous
petitions for certiorari were filed, and all were denied by this
Court.

Other Agent Orange actions filed thereafter have continued
to be transferred to MDL-381. See, e.g., In re “Agent Orange”
Product Liability Lit., 996 F.2d 1425 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
510 U.S. 1140 (1994) (overview of Agent Orange litigation
history) (finding federal jurisdiction over claims of veteran
plaintiffs and dismissing those claims as barred by the 1984
class action settlement).

5

B. The Winters Agent Orange Action

l. Filing in Texas, Removal to Federal Court,
and Transfer to MDL-381.

Margaret Winters filed the present action in Texas state
court on February 5, 1993, alleging injury due to exposure to
Agent Orange. Winters worked as a civilian nurse for the
United States Agency for International Development in
Vietnam from August 1966 to October 1967. Pet. App. 24.
Because she was a civilian, she was not bound by the 1984
veteran Class action settlement agreement and thus not barred
by that agreement from filing this action. Respondents
removed this action to the Eastern District of Texas pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), where it was assigned to Judge
Howell Cobb. Petitioner filed a motion to remand, which
remained pending when the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict
Litigation transferred the action to Judge Weinstein in the
Eastern District of New York.

2. Judge Weinstein Declines to Rule on Petitioner’s
Motion to Remand and Transfers the Case Back to
Judge Cobb in Texas.

Before Judge Weinstein, Petitioner sought remand based
on an earlier ruling by Judge Weinstein in another Agent
Orange case. See Ryan v. Dow Chemical Co., et al., 781
F. Supp. 934 (E.D.N.Y. 1992), leave to appeal denied, No.
92-8008 (2d Cir. May 8, 1992), appeal dismissed, No. 92-
7487 (2d Cir. June 16, 1992), cert. denied, 113 S.Ct. 599
(1992) (“Ryan”). In that opinion, Judge Weinstein, while
finding lack of removal jurisdiction under § 1442, stated that
the issue presented a “close question” and sua sponte certified
the issue for interlocutory appeal. 781 F.Supp. at 950.
However, Ryan was not reviewed on the merits, as the

4
Me

appeals were denied for lack of appellate jurisdiction to review
a remand order. See 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d).

As it happened, Judge Cobb had recently upheld removal
under § 1442 in another case involving toxic tort claims
against a military contractor. See Akin v. Big Three
Industries, Inc., 851 F. Supp. 819 (E.D. Tex. 1994), aff'd,
156 F.3d 1030 (10th Cir. 1998). Respondents argued before
Judge Weinstein that Akin reflected the clear weight of recent
authority and, moreover, that it would be unfair for MDL
transfer from Judge Cobb to Judge Weinstein to change the
result on federal jurisdiction, particularly given the tentative
nature of the Ryan decision. Judge Weinstein decided not to
deny remand based on his earlier ruling in Ryan. Instead, on
April 13, 1995, he sua sponte ordered the case transferred
back to Judge Cobb, “professing a lack of expertise with
Texas substantive law.” Pet. App. 41.

3. Judge Cobb Finds Federal Removal Jurisdiction
Under §$ 1442.

On August 2, 1995, Judge Cobb denied remand, finding
that defendants had properly removed the case under 28
U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), which provides for removal of actions
against “any [federal] officer (or any person acting under that
officer)... for any act under color of such office.” The
statute protects federal officers and those acting under them
“from being brought to trial in State courts for acts performed
under the authority of the Federal Government.” Pet. App. 5-
6. The court found that Respondents, as corporations, were
“person[s]” entitled to remove under § 1442 because
corporations, like private individuals, engage in activities
under federal direction which the statute is intended to protect.
Pet. App. 4.

The court found that this Court’s rulings on § 1442
required Respondents to demonstrate a “causal
connection” —1.e., “that plaintiff’s state court action is derived
from activities performed pursuant to’ federal direction” —and
assert a “colorable federal defense.” Pet. App. 6-7. The court
found the requisite causal connection based on a finding that
Respondents “were compelled under threat of criminal
sanctions to deliver Agent Orange to the Defense Department.”
Pet. App. 7. Respondents’ contracts were “DO-rated” under
the Defense Production Act of 1950. U.S.C.A. App. §2061 et
seq., which “required companies to accept and fill
governmental orders regardless of existing contracts or
orders.” Pet. App. 8. The court found that, due to a shortage
of Agent Orange, the government required Respondents to
divert their entire production capacity to Agent Orange instead
of civilian herbicides. /d. See R 554-62.

The court found further causal connection because the
government “expressly contracted for a specific mix of
chemicals.” Pet. App. 12. The government required that Agent
Orange consist of a 50/50 mix of the n-butyl esters of 2,4-
dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (“2,4-D”) and 2,4,5-
trichlorophenoxyacetic acid (“2,4,5-T”) conforming to detailed
and specific military specifications. /d. The court rejected
Petitioner’s argument that the government did not specifically
consider and require the alleged harmful design feature—the
presence of extremely small quantities of dioxin in some Agent
Orange. The court found “that the government expressly
considered the design feature in question, exercised direction
and control over the substances used in the production of
Agent Orange, and that defendants provided the substances in
conformity with those specifications.”! Pet. App. 12. See R
516-20.

| The court’s findings were supported by extensive record evidence of the
knowledge of federal officers involved with the development and
requisitioning of Agent Orange with respect to military herbicides, the

Turning to the second element of jurisdiction under
§ 1442, the district court found that defendants had asserted
two colorable federal defenses: the government contract
defense and immunity under the Defense Production Act. Pet.
App. 17-18. The court noted that this Court found that federal
procurement interests required recognition of the government
contract defense in Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 487,
U.S. 500 (1988), and that Respondents had been granted
summary judgment on the government contract defense in
earlier Agent Orange litigation. The court found these defenses
demonstrated a federal interest in the matter and were
sufficient for jurisdiction under § 1442.

Finally, the court rejected Petitioner’s request for offensive
collateral estoppel-based on the district court ruling in Ryan.
Pet. App. 20. The district court noted its “broad discretion”
under Parklane Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322 (1979),
to determine whether estoppel would be unfair in a particular
case. Pet. App. 19. The court determined that estoppel was
unwarranted for several reasons, including the failure of the
Second Circuit to decide jurisdiction under § 1442 in Ryan,
and the limited precedential value of Ryan. Pet. App. 20.

Agent Orange manufacturing process, and dioxin’s possible presence in
Agent Orange and its possible health effects. For example, faced with a
shortage of Agent Orange, federal officers undertook in 1967-68 to build a
government Agent Orange manufacturing plant at Weldon Spring,
Missouri. The documentation of that government plant demonstrates that
federal officers understood factors which affected the creation of dioxin in
the Agent Orange manufacturing process and included a section titled
‘DIOXIN” in the draft manual for operations of the plant. See R 554-62;
In re Agent Orange, 597 F. Supp. 740, 798 (E.D.N.Y. 1984); In re Agent
Orange, 818 F.2d at 1748 (“the government had as much knowledge as
defendants of the dangers of dioxin”); Jn re Agent Orange, 818 F.2d 187
(2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1234 (1988) (affirming summary
judgment for Respondents on the government contract defense); R 516-70.

6

4. Judge Cobb Dismisses on Statute of Limitations
And Denies Reargument.

On September 25, 1996, the district court, applying Texas
State law, ruled that Petitioner’s suit was barred by the statute
of limitations. Pet. App. 23. While Petitioner did not file suit
until 1993, her cause of action accrued by the mid 1980’s at
the latest, when her illness had been diagnosed and there had
been extensive media coverage regarding alleged links
between Agent Orange and her illness. Pet. App. 30-33. On
October 7, 1996, plaintiff moved for a “new trial and
rehearing” and for reargument on the denial of remand. Pet.
App. 81. On December 13, 1996, after due deliberation on the
full record at that time, the district court denied the motion and
dismissed the case.

5S. The Fifth Circuit Affirms § 1442 Jurisdiction And
Dismissal.

On appeal, the Fifth Circuit affirmed federal jurisdiction
under § 1442, noting that the statute should be given “a broad
reading so as not to frustrate the statue’s underlying rationale.”
149 F.3d at 398, citing Arizona v. Manypenny, 451 U.S.
232, 242 (1981); Willingham v. Morgan, 395 U.S. 402, 407
(1969). Pet. App. 62-63. The court found that Respondents
were “persons” entitled to remove under § 1442 and that they
had asserted colorable federal defenses showing a federal
interest in the matter: the government contract defense and
immunity under the Defense Production Act. Pet. App. 61,

ZF

The court of appeals, like the district court, found the
requisite Causal connection in the government’s “compulsion”
of Respondents and its precise specifications for Agent

Orange:

We are convinced that the government’s
detailed specifications concerning the make-up,
packaging, and delivery of Agent Orange, the
compulsion to provide the product to the
government's specifications, and the on-going
supervision the government exercised over the
formulation, packaging, and delivery of Agent
Orange is all quite sufficient to demonstrate that
the defendants acted pursuant to federal
direction and that a direct causal nexus exists
between the defendants’ actions taken under
color of federal office and Winter’s claims.

Pet. App. 66-67. The court of appeals rejected Petitioner’s
claim that Agent Orange was an “off-the-shelf” product. While
raw materials used to manufacture Agent Orange were also
used by Respondents at other times to manufacture civilian
herbicides, Agent Orange was never used as a civilian
herbicide and differed in important respects from. civilian
herbicides. Pet. App. 64-66. The court of appeals further
noted that the government prohibited Respondents from
placing any warnings on Agent Orange. Pet. App. 65. This
prohibition provided an additional causal nexus with
Petitioner’s failure to warn claims.

Regarding offensive collateral estoppel, the court of
appeals explained at some length that “it would seem
appropriate to hold as a matter of law that collateral estoppel
may not be applied offensively to a jurisdictional
decision—such as one granting a motion to remand—that is
not capable of being subjected to appellate review.” Pet. App.
55. But the Fifth Circuit did not so hold, concluding that “the
restraining hand of precedent .. . arguably limits our

ruling” and that this case could easily be decided under the
abuse of discretion standard without reaching the issue. Pet.
App. 56. Thus, the court of appeals “decide[d] simply
whether the district court abused its discretion when it declined
to estop defendants” from claiming jurisdiction under § 1442.
Pet. App. 57.

The court summarily noted a variety of circumstances in
this case which supported the district court’s discretion in
denying estoppel. First and foremost was the unavailability of
appellate review, which the court plainly viewed as sufficient
to support the district court’s exercise of discretion in and of
itself. Pet. App. 55. In addition, the Ryan court had found
jurisdiction under § 1442 to present a “close question” and
had suggested certification of the issue for interlocutory appeal
sua sponte. Pet. App. 57. Finally, the court noted that it was
not fair to bind a defendant to a decision that had been
affirmed on unrelated alternative grounds. Pet. App. 57. As
the district court below noted, there were two Ryan appeals to
the Second Circuit involving jurisdiction under § 1442, one
denying appellate jurisdiction to review the order remanding
two civilian plaintiffs and a second affirming federal
jurisdiction over the veteran plaintiffs in Ryan on other
grounds and declining to reach the issue of § 1442
jurisdiction. See In re “Agent Orange,” 996 F.2d at 1430-32.
Thus, the court below concluded that “[c]onsiderations of
fairness then, as set out in Parklane, dictate that collateral
estoppel should not be applied to the Ryan Court’s decision.”
Pet. App. 57-58.

2 The Fifth Circuit noted that some cases involving mutual estoppel or
res judicata arguably rejected an absolute rule against preclusion where
appellate review was unavailable, but distinguished those cases because
the rules of offensive collateral estoppel are “more restrictive” than where
an estoppel is mutual to achieve finality. Pet. App. 56 & n.11.

9

Having found federal jurisdiction, the Fifth Circuit then
affirmed the dismissal of Petitioner’s suit based on Texas state
law of limitations. Pet. App. 71.

6. Judge Weinstein Indicates He Will Follow The
Fifth Circuit’s Ruling

Judge Weinstein entered the opinion of the court of
appeals in this case on the docket in MDL-381 shortly after it
issued. RA1. Then, during a January 29, 1999 hearing in
another civilian Agent Orange case, Judge Weinstein indicated
that he would follow the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case
rather than his prior decision in Ryan. When counsel for
Respondents requested supplemental briefing on a motion to
remand filed prior to the Fifth Circuit’s denial of remand in
Winters, Judge Weinstein stated as follows:

THE COURT: Hasn’t there been a_ case
subsequent to my remand
analysis, indicating that remand
was not required in these cases?

MR. SABETTA: That’s correct, Your Honor.
THE COURT: Follow that decision.

MR. SCHWARTZ: _ [ argues for remand |

THE COURT: I’m not going to remand it to

the state court.
RA 3-4.3

3 The docket entry for the hearing states that that the motion to remand
was denied and that the case was ordered transferred to the Southern
District of Texas. RA 5-6. However, in a subsequent handwritten order
accompanying the signed transfer order, Judge Weinstein, indicating that
he did not intend to foreclose action by the transferee court as it might
deem appropriate, stated that the motion to remand had not been decided
and that further discovery could take place in Texas. RA7.

10

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

Petitioner Challenges Only The Result Below—Not
The Legal Principles Applicable To Jurisdiction
Under § 1442—A Matter Of No General
Importance In Light Of The Unique Jurisdictional
Facts Presented In Agent Orange Litigation.

A. Petitioner Admits That The Courts Below Applied
The Correct Legal Standard And Proposes Only A
Factbound Question Unsuitable For Review

The first question proposed by Petitioner for review is
whether defendants in fact satisfy the requirements for
removal under 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), i.e., whether there
was “sufficient causal connection between what the defendants
did under asserted official authority and what they were being
sued for in the state court,” and whether the federal control
over defendants was sufficiently “detailed.” Pet.1-2 (emphasis
added). Petitioner raises no objection to the legal standard for
jurisdiction under § 1442 applied by the court below and
concedes that the court “did articulate the test essentially
correctly.” Pet. 17.

Petitioner’s factbound question plainly does not warrant
certiorari and would be ill-suited for resolution in this Court in
any event. Considering whether the causal connection
established in the record was “sufficient” and whether the
federal control was sufficiently “detailed” would involve
analysis of the unique, complex, and voluminous factual!
record of historical, technical and scientific documents and
testimony developed in Agent Orange litigation. Any opinion
by the Court would provide little guidance to the lower courts
as to any matters other than Agent Orange cases because of the

11

atypical factual record on which it would be based. The
granting of certiorari in such circumstances would be
inefficient and unproductive given the extensive factual record,
the alternative findings of the courts below each sufficient to
Support jurisdiction under § 1442, and the deferential review
accorded such findings of jurisdictional facts. See Land v.
Dollar, 330 U.S. 731, 735 n.4 ( 1947) (deferential review).

B. There Remains No Substantial Conflict Of Any
Sort Among Any Federal Courts As To
Jurisdiction Under § 1442 In Agent Orange

Cases.

Both the Fifth Circuit in this case and the Tenth Circujt In
Ain v. Ashland Chemical Co., 156 F.3d 1030 (10th Cir.
1998), have upheld § 1442 removal of toxic tort claims against
esovernment contractors claiming to have acted under federal
direction. Petitioner seeks certiorari based on mere difference
in result between the Fifth Circuit’s ruling upholding
jurisdiction under § 1442 in this case and an earlier district
court ruling to the contrary in Ryan, another Agent Orange
case. Petitioner claims no conflict between decisions of the
courts of appeals. Conflicts between rulings of a district court
and a court of appeals are generally inappropriate for
certiorari, as they are often resolved without developing into a
contlict between courts of appeals. That is what has happened
here. While the district court in Ryan initially ruled against
urisdiction under § 1442, it found the issue a “close
question” at that time and has recently stated that it will follow
the ruling of the Fifth Circuit in this case. Thus. there remains
no substantial conflict among the decisions of any courts of
appeals or district courts—either as to the governing legal
principles or the proper result on the facts of this case.

Petitioner discusses several trial court rulings concerning

§ 1442 jurisdiction over suits against government contractors

in various different factua! circumstances, suggesting that
these trial court rulings are in conflict and that some are
extending § 1442 to the “furthest extreme.” Pet. 15. The
handful of trial court rulings cited involving § 1442 removal
by government contractors during the last decade hardly
supports Petitioner’s hyperbole. In actuality, the rulings have
been fairly equally divided between those finding and those
denying jurisdiction under § 1442. as is to be expected
considering the quite diverse factual records in those cases.
There have been few appellate rulings in such cases to date.
and there is relatively little disagreement as to the applicable
legal rules governing § 1442 jurisdiction even at the trial court
level. The situation as a whole indicates that the trial courts are
handling these cases without difficulty using settled general
principles of § 1442 jurisdiction, with little need of review or
supervision by the courts of appeals, much less this Court.

C. The Fifth Circuit Ruling Fully And Properly
Resolves The Narrow Question Of § 1442
Jurisdiction On The Unique Factual Record
Regarding Agent Orange, Rendering Any Ruling
By This Court Unnecessary And Of No General
Importance.

Petitioner concedes that the Fifth Circuit correctly stated
the controlling legal standard: jurisdiction under § 1442
requires: “a finding that the defendants acted pursuant to a
federal officer’s directions and that a causal nexus exists
between the defendants’ actions under color of federal office
and the plaintiff’s claims,” citing Willingham v. Morgan, 395
U.S. 402, 409 (1969), citing Maryland v. Soper (No. 1), 270)
U.S. 9, 33 (1926). Pet. App. 62, Pet. 17-18. Unable to
challenge the legal rules applied by the court below or point to
any conflict in the courts of appeals, Petitioner argues at length
simply that the Fifth Circuit is “wrong” and the district court
ruling in Ryan was “eminently correct.” Pet. 20. Petitioner’s

13

arguments misstate or ignore much of the extensive record and
factual findings by the courts below establishing Respondents’
actions at the direction of federal officers and the requisite
causal connection between those actions and Petitioner’s
claims.

The following brief discussion of some of those
misstatements and omissions makes clear both the soundness
of the ruling below and the uncertworthiness of the petition.
Petitioner’s arguments are heavily factbound, and involve a
unique and complex factual record. The jurisdictional facts
found below squarely support § 1442 jurisdiction and would
be reviewed deferentially, only for clear error.

a. Federal Compulsion of Respondents

First and foremost, Petitioner seeks to ignore and avoid a
critical fact found by the courts below: Respondents were
“compelled to deliver Agent Orange to the government under
threat of criminal sanctions.” Pet. App. 7-8, 63. Using their
emergency war powers under the Defense Production Act
federal officers effectively seized the entire domestic
manufacturing capacity for 2,4,5-T, the limiting raw material
in the manufacturing of Agent Orange. Had Respondents
refused to supply the chemicals specified by the military,
federal officers could have prosecuted company officials and
seized the manufacturing facilities. This was the first and, as
lar aS we are aware, the only occasion in which the entire
domestic production capacity of a chemical has been taken for
military use. The evidence establishing these facts is extensive
and undisputed. Judge Weinstein in Ryan also recognized that
Respondents were “compelled under threat of criminal
sanction to deliver Agent Orange produced according to
government specifications to the Defense Department.” 781 F.
Supp. at 950.

14

The singular fact of compulsion sets this case apart from
other cases in which government contractors have sought
removal under § 1442, making it a clear-cut example of a case
removable under § 1442 rather than an extreme extension as
Petitioner suggests. The Defense Production Act has been
repealed, and the military has long discontinued the use Agent
Orange. It is unlikely that any significant number of cases
involving government contractors acting under such extreme
federal compulsion will come before the courts in the future.
The presence of such atypical and highly significant facts
counsels strongly against a grant of certiorari in this case. Any
ruling by the Court against such a factual background would
necessarily be narrow and of little guidance in future cases.
For the same reason, the Fifth Circuit’s ruling in this respect
will have little precedential impact outside of other Agent
Orange litigation, and so does not warrant further review.

b. Agent Orange Was Not An “Off the Shelf”
Commercial Product.

Petitioner’s other arguments fare no better, as they also
turn on the unique details of the Agent Orange factual record
and would be of minimal importance outside of Agent Orange
litigation. For example, Petitioner’s “off the shelf” argument
runs as follows: (1) the government was merely a naive
customer that asked Respondents for an “off-the-shelf”
generic weedkiller, (2) Respondents decided to send the
government a commercial herbicide contaminated with dioxin
and concealed that fact from the government, (3) thus there
was no Causal connection between Respondents’ actions under
federal direction and Petitioner’s claims of injury due to dioxin
in Agent Orange. Pet. 17-18.4

4 Petitioner’s argument is a transparent attempt to interject issues going
to the merits into the threshold determination of jurisdiction. But the
purpose of § 1442 is to allow defenses of federal authority to be heard in
federal court, and, as the court below noted. Respondents “need not win

—

15

The Fifth Circuit quoted and discussed some of the
extensive record facts demonstrating that Agent Orange was
not an off-the-shelf commercial product. Pet. App. 64-66. The
court found that federal officers—not respondents—specified
the precise chemical composition of Agent Orange, and that
Respondents were acting under detailed federal direction by
manufacturing Agent Orange conforming to the military’s
specifications. Pet. App. 65-67. The district court had also
rejected Petitioner's “off the shelf’ argument as
“inconsequential” for those reasons. Pet. App. 12.

The Fifth Circuit understood that “the gist of this action
centers around the trace elements of dioxin contained in Agent
Orange.” Pet. App. 66. The court found a “direct causal
nexus” between Petitioner’s claim of injury due to dioxin in
Agent Orange and the “government’s detailed specifications”
of the makeup of Agent Orange. The government—fully
knowledgeable regarding the possible presence and _ health
effects of dioxin in 2,4,5-T—mandated the use of 2,4,5-T in
Agent Orange—not any of dozens of other herbicides which
Respondents might have elected to supply. Pet. App. 65-67; R
516-70. The district court similarly found a causal connection
between the government-mandated specifications that Agent
Orange be made using 2,4,5-T and Petitioner’s claims because
“the government expressly considered the design feature in
question.” Pet. App. 12.

Petitioner severely misstates the Fifth Circuit’s conclusion,
asserting that it is based on an “astounding” and unsupported
belief that some “synergistic” effect resulted from combining
2,4-D and 2,4,5-T in Agent Orange. Pet. 18-19. In fact, the
Court was plainly stating a causal connection between
Petitioner’s claims and Respondents’ actions under federal

[their] case before [they] can have it removed.” Pet. App. 68, quoting
Willingham, 395 U.S. at 407.

16

direction: “the alleged deadly properties of Agent Orange result
from the particular mixture of the component chemicals that
the government dictated.” Pet. App. 71.

D. Considerations of Federalism Do Not Support
Certiorari.

The Petition concludes with two flatly contradictory
invocations of principles of federalism. First, Petitioner argues
that federalism requires that this suit be remanded to state court
because it involves only state law claims and federal interests
are minimal. Pet. 26. Then, on the next page, Petitioner avers
that “important questions of federal procurement policy
suggest the need for intervention by this Court.” Pet. 27.

While § 1442 involves important federal interests, the
rulings of the courts below properly protect those interests.
The general lack of conflict in the rulings of the lower courts
indicates that the competing federal and state interests affected
by § 1442 are being accommodated in accordance with the
principles of federalism. Accordingly, there is no need for
review in this Court.

The courts below concluded that § 1442 removal by
government contractors does involve important federal
interests regarding procurement of military supplies. This
Court in Boyle v. United Technologies, 487 U.S. 500, 512
(1988), found such federal procurement interests sufficiently
important to override substantive state product liability law. It
would seem self-evident in light of Boyle that those federal
interests would also be sufficient to support removal to a
federal forum, a far less drastic intrusion on a State’s
sovereignty than the overriding of its substantive tort law.

In sum, Petitioner raises no legal issue or conflict in
decisions meriting review. Petitioner’s request for certiorari is

17

essentially a challenge to the findings of jurisdictional facts
made by the courts below. Those findings are solidly
supported in the record and would be deferentially reviewed.
Any opinion by this Court would be of little general
importance because of the unusual factual circumstances,

which are now long past.

Il.

Review Of The Denial Of Offensive Collateral
Estoppel Is Not Warranted Because Petitioner Only
Challenges The Result Below, Not The Controlling
Parklane Hosiery Legal Standard, And The Court
Below Plainly Did Not Abuse Its “Broad
Discretion” Under That Standard.

Petitioner asks this Court to review whether the doctrine of
offensive, non-mutual collateral estoppel requires that the
ruling of the Fifth Circuit affirming federal jurisdiction under
§ 1442 be reversed due to a prior district court ruling in a
different Agent Orange case—even though that district court
ruling was tentative and the district court has now indicated
that it is persuaded by and will follow the ruling of the Fifth
Circuit in other Agent Orange litigation before it in MDL-381.

As with § 1442, Petitioner does not dispute the applicable
legal standard: the elements of offensive collateral estoppel as
established in Parklane Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322
(1979). Pet. 28. Under Parklane Hosiery, a district court
possesses “broad discretion” in determining whether fairness
permits the use of offensive collateral estoppel in the
circumstances of a particular case, and appellate review of the
exercise of that discretion is deferential. 439 U.S. at 331.
Petitioner's proposed question for review regarding collateral
estoppel, like the question involving § 1442, simply asks
whether the ruling on the facts of this particular case is correct.

18

Petitioner does not pose any substantial legal issue at all, much
less an issue of general importance involving conflicting
appellate rulings which might be appropriate for review. A
ruling by the Court in these circumstances would be of interest
only to the parties. Review for possible abuse of the district
court’s “broad discretion” would be particularly wasteful of
judicial resources in this case given the numerous alternative
factors supporting the lower courts’ discretionary denial of
estoppel

In an attempt to fashion a conflict, Petitioner attacks a
purported ruling that the Fifth Circuit explicitly declined to
make. Petitioner claims that the court below “essentially held
that a remand order, or any order from which the usual right
of appeal does not exist, can never have preclusive effect.”
Pet. 34. While the court of appeals did discuss whether
Petitioner’s argument for offensive collateral estoppel was so
weak given the unavailability of an appeal from Ryan that it
Should be denied as a matter of law, the court expressly
declined to decide the issue on that basis. Pet. App. 56.
Petitioner’s extended discussion regarding this issue is beside
the point for purposes of certiorari.

The court below made clear that the issue it decided was
“simply whether the district court abused its discretion when it
declined to estop defendants” from claiming jurisdiction under
§ 1442. Pet. App. 57. Given the deferential review granted to
a district court’s exercise of its “broad discretion” as to
whether offensive collateral estoppel is fair in a particular case,
Petitioner has little to say in support of certiorari for the actual
holding below.

Petitioner does complain that the Fifth Circuit “reached out
to a purported ground for ‘unfairness’ not mentioned nor
discussed in Parklane.” Pet. 29. There is obviously no merit
to Petitioner’s complaint. Parklane Hosiery adopted the

19

following “general rule” to guide trial courts in the exercise of
their “broad discretion”:

where, either for the reasons discussed above
or for other reasons, the application of
offensive estoppel would be unfair to a
defendant, a trial judge should not allow the
use of offensive collateral estoppel.

439 U.S. at 331 (emphasis added). The reference to “other
reasons” clearly indicates this Court’s intention that trial courts
should consider all relevant reasoning bearing on the question
of fairness or unfairness of preclusion in a particular case.

The various grounds discussed by the courts below are
each widely recognized by the courts and commentators as
appropriate factors for trial courts to consider when
determining whether to apply offensive collateral estoppel, as
the citation and discussion in the opinions below makes clear.
Petitioner has failed to identified any legal or policy issues in
the Fifth Circuit’s actual holding of any substantial
significance, much less issues of general importance which
might divide the lower courts and call for resolution by this
Court.

Petitioner ignores the fact that Judge Weinstein found the
jurisdiction issue to be a “close question” and certified it for
appeal, but that appellate review was barred. Petitioner urges
this Court to grant review and apply offensive collateral
estoppel to overturn the Fifth Circuit’s ruling, reinstate Judge
Weinstein’s tentative ruling in Ryan, and require all other
courts to follow Ryan rather than the Fifth Circuit’s
ruling—even though Judge Weinstein himself did not apply
Ryan when this case was transferred for a time to his court
and has indicated that he will follow the Fifth Circuit’s ruling.
Such a result would turn the requirement of fairness

20

|
|

Eg

underlying offensive collateral estoppel on its head and do
great violence to the principles of trial court discretion in the
application of offensive collateral estoppel established in
Parklane Hosiery.

Certiorari Is Not Warranted Because The Lower
Courts Are In General Agreement That § 1442
Provides For Removal By Corporations As Well As
Individuals And That Removal By Corporations
Furthers The Policies Underlying Section 1442.

Petitioner also requests—with minimal explanation—that
the Court grant review to rule that a corporation is not a
“person” for purposes of § 1442 and can never remove cases
under that statute, even when compelled to act under the
direction of federal officers pursuant to federal authority. Pet.
36-37. Petitioner is unable to cite any rulings in the courts of
appeals supporting its position—only two older district court
cases involving removals by the American Red Cross. Pet. 16
n. 6, 36-37. The courts below found that a corporation should
be considered a “person” potentially entitled to remove under
§$ 1442 because corporations may act under the direction of
federal officers to implement federal policy in the same manner
as individuals. Pet. App. 4; 61-62. Numerous courts of
appeals and district courts have upheld removal by
corporations under § 1442. See. e.g., Akin v. Big Three
Industries, 851 F. Supp. 819 (E.D. Tex. 1994), aff'd, Akin
v. Ashland Chemical Co., 156 F.3d 1030 (10th Cir. 1998):
Camacho v. Authoridad de Telephonos de Puerto Rico, 868
F.2d 482 (1st Cir. 1989); Peterson v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield,
S08 F.2d 55 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 422 U.S. 1043 (1975);
Texas v. National Bank of Commerce of San Antonio, 290
F.2d 229, 231 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 832 (1961);
Crocker v. Borden, Inc., 852 F. Supp. 1322 (E.D. La. 1994):

21

~

Pack v. AC and S, Inc., 838 F. Supp. 1099 (D. Md. 1993),
rec. denied, 857 F. Supp. 26 (D. Md. 1994); Fung v. Abex
Corp., 816 F. Supp. 569, 572 (N.D. Cal. 1992); See Wright,
Miller & Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure § 3727
(“Courts generally allow a corporation to be considered a
person” for Section 1442 purposes.”). In view of this general
consensus, there is no conflict among the courts of appeals or
other courts meriting review
Aware of the absence of conflict, Petitioner suggests that
the rulings of the courts below and the other courts cited above
are somehow inconsistent with “a reasonable extension” of
International Primate Protection League v. Administrators of
the Tulane Educational Fund, 500 U.S. 72 (1991). Pet. 37
Petitioner stubbornly ignores the fact that Congress
subsequently amended § 1442 to legislatively reverse the
decision in Primate Protection, even though this was pointed
out by the court of appeals in its opinion below. Pet. App. 59
Petitioner’s request for an “extension” of a ruling that has been
legislatively reversed obviously does not merit review
Moreover, Primate Protection focussed on whether the term
federal “officer” in § 1442 could be read to include a federal
‘agency, a linguistically difficult reading for which there was
little support in other uses of “officer” in federal statutes. This
case involves the interpretation of “person” to include
corporations, which is commonplace in federal law where the
federal policies underlying the law apply to corporations a

well as individuals

;
i
i
I

Dated:

* Counsel of Record

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Uniondale, New York
February 16, 1999

Respectfully submitted,

, a
liner reef
Steven Brock*
RIVKIN, RADLER & KREMER
Attorneys for Respondent

The Dow Chemical Company
EAB Plaza
Uniondale, New York
(516) 357-3000

11556

Michael M. Gordon
CADWALADER,

WICKERSHAM & TAFT
Attorneys for Respondent Diamond
Shamrock Chemicals Company

100 Maiden Lane
New York, New York
(212) 504-6000

10038

William Krohley

KELLEY, DRYE & WARREN

Attorneys for Respondent
Hercules Incorporated

101 Park Avenue

New York, New York

(212) 808-7800

10178

i)
ee)

John C. Sabetta

SEYFARTH, SHAW,
FAIRWEATHER & GERALDSON

Attorneys for Respondent
Monsanto Company

1270 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

(212) 218-5500

Myron Kalish

PARKER, DURYEE,
ROSOFF & HAF]

Attorneys for Respondent
Uniroyal, Inc.

$29 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 878-1790

lawrence D’Aloise

CLARK, GAGLIARDI & MILLER

Attorneys for Respondent T. H
Agriculture & Nutrition Co., In

The Inns of Court

99 Court Street

White Plains, New York 1060]

(914) 946-8900

APPENDIX A

Docket Entry in In Re “Agent Orange” Product
Liability Litigation, MDL No. 381,
Dated October 6, 1998

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

IN RE “AGENT ORANGE”
PRODUCT LIABILITY LITIGATION MDL No. 38]

DOCKET ENTRY

Sub# Date Description ——__
16547 = 10/6/98 Opinion Margaret Winters C of A

Fifth Circuit (ri)

RAI

APPENDIX B

Excerpt from Transcript of Proceedings in
Miller, et al. v. Diamond Shamrock Co., et al.,
No. CV 95-4865 (E.D.N.Y. Jan. 29, 1999)

NITED STATES DISCTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
RODNEY MILLER, et al. CV 95-4865
Plaintiffs,

DIAMOND SHAMROCK CO., et al..

Defendants

. 7. ( bh
lited States Courthouse

he
a
: a
a oe
<
i
4

PRANSCRIPT OF STATUS CONFERENCE
;EFORE THE HONORABLE JACK B. WEINSTEIN
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGI

At NCES
i VA | IN Qi HW \ R i / t (
by (

Diamond Shamrock MICHAEL M. GORDON. ESO
T)

Monsanto Cs Sevfarth Shaw Fairweat!

& Geraldson

RA2

1610 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10620
BY: JOHN SABETTA, ESO.

For Defendant
T. H. Agriculture LAWRENCE T. D’ALOISE,
& Nutrition: JR., ESO.

For Defendant Hercules: WILLIAM KROHLEY. ESQ.

Court Reporter: Anthony M. Mancuso
225 Cadman Plaza East
Brooklyn, New York 11201
(718) 254-7226

Proceedings recorded by mechanical Stenography, transcript
produced by CAT.

MR. SABETTA: There is pending in this case a motion
to remand, which was filed when the case was in federal
district court in Texas, came up to your Honor. We submitted
Opposition papers when the case first became part of your
Honor’s docket, and that motion has not been resolved. It will
need to be resolved at some point.

We would like, in connection with that motion, to
submit supplemental papers, because there’s been a fair
amount that’s happened since the motion was first filed.

THE COURT: Hasn’t there been a case subsequent to
my remand analysis, indicating that remand was not required
in these cases?

MR. SABETTA: That’s correct, your Honor.

THE COURT: Follow that decision.

RA3

MR. SCHWARTZ: I’m remaining silent and not

nterrupting
On that point, the identical state court case that was
removed was remanded, by Judge Janice Graham Jack,
leral judge in Corpus Christi, to the state court. And all but

thirteen of the ninety-four have settled. One or two of these
lefendants may have a related defendant who was or still is in

fhe ><
Hic CdaSCs.

Ihe issues are not identical. Besides the normal remand.

hey raised the question that it was a complex — that this, being

1 federal complex, was a basis for independent federal court
jurisdiction. She denied those, and, of course, that was not
ippealable. It isn’t appealable in the Fifth Circuit.

fTHE COURT: I’m not going to remand it to the st

‘ t<

rt

I'm going to transfer it back to Texas.

MR. SCHWARTZ: Very well. your Honor

APPENDIX C

Docket Entry in In Re “Agent Orange” Product
Liability Litigation, MDL No. 381; Miller, et al. y.
Diamond Shamrock Co., et al., No. CV 95-4865
(E.D.N.Y.), Dated January 29, 1999

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

IN RE “AGENT ORANGE”
PRODUCT LIABILITY LITIGATION MDL No. 381

RODNEY A. MILLER, ET AL..
Plaintiffs,
-against- 95-CV-4865
DIAMOND SHAMROCK
CHEMICALS COMPANY, ET AL..
Defendants

DOCKET ENTRY

1/29/99 23 Calendar entry: before Judge Weinstein—Civil
Cause for Motion hearing. Case called.
Counsel for all sides present. Motion argued
Motion Denied. Case is ordered transferred
back to the District Court, Southern District of

Texas. (sg)

(Entry date 01/03/99)

" 7
liller,

ee

APPENDIX D

et al. v. Diamond Shamrock Co..,
95-4865 (E.D.N.Y.), Dated January
sj
vv I NS i i N 1 / ; \ A
R MANCUSO MAG

Handwritten Ruling on Motion For Remand,

et al.,

No.

29, 1999

APPENDIX E

Handwritten Order in In Re “Agent Orange”
Product Liability Litigation, MDL No. 381; Miller.
et al. v. Diamond Shamrock Co., et al., No.
CV 95-4865 (E.D.N.Y.), Dated February 2, 1999

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

IN RE “AGENT ORANGE”
PRODUCT LIABILITY LITIGATION MDL No. 381

RODNEY A. MILLER, ET AI

Plaintiffs

igainst »
AMOND SHAMROCK
EMICALS COMPANY, ET AI
Defendants
ORDER’
Notify parties: The Court makes no decision [regarding? |
motion to remand. Further discovery can mor

“Handwritten Order endorsed on a letter from John C. Sabetta
to Hon. Jack B. Weinstein, dated February 2, 1999

RA7

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1151%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
