# Amicus Curiae Brief — Time Warner Entertainment Co. v. Byers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1109%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1005

## Text

No. 98-1091 |

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States ae

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

TIME WARNER ENTERTAINMENT CO., L.P., ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.
PATSY ANN BYERS, E7 AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
Court Of Appeal Of Louisiana, First Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

WALTER E. DELLINGER
(COUNSEL OF RECORD)
CRYSTAL NIX

O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP
555 13th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 383-5300

ROBERT C. VANDERET
O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP
400 South Hope Street

Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 430-6000

Counsel for Amici*

HENRY L. BAUMANN
STEVEN A. BOOKSHESTER
1771 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 429-5430

Counsel for the National
Association of Broadcasters

DANIEL ROBBINS

15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436

(818) 995-6600

Counsel for the Motion Picture
Association of America, Inc.

ANNE H. EGERTON
PATRICIA DUNCAN

3000 W. Alameda Avenue
Burbank, CA 91523

(818) 840-3508

Counsel for National
Broadcasting Company, Inc.

DANIEL L. BRENNER

NEAL M. GOLDBERG

1724 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 775-3664

Counsel for the National

Cable Television Association

* Amici listed on inside of cover ¢

Amici:

ABC, Inc.

American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression
American Filming Marketing Association
American Society of Journalists and Authors
Association of American Publishers, Inc.
Authors Guild

California Broadcasters Association

CBS Broadcasting Inc.

Comic Book Lega! Defense Fund

Directors Guild of America, Inc.

Fox Broadcasting Company

Freedom to Read Foundation

Independent Producers Association
International Periodical Distributors Association
Los Angeles County Bar

Motion Picture Association of America, Inc.
National Association of Broadcasters

National Association of College Stores

National Broadcasting Company

National Cable Television Association
Periodical and Book Association of America
Producers Guild of America

The Publishers Marketing Association
Recording Industry Association of America, Inc.
Software and Information Industry Association
Video Software Dealers Association

Writers Guild of America, West, Inc.

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE o.0...ccccccecccsesccececsecesscecseeeeeees
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ..........ccccccccccsesessecscsececeeceseese.
ROPE Saliciislissiiteictdactapsectecrachessemmnsabnplaeaisomenasee cco 3

I. SUMMARY DISPOSITION IS WARRANTED
BECAUSE THE COURT EGREGIOUSLY MISAPPLIED
SETTLED FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL LAW ccsccsoe 3

A. Plaintiffs’ Complaint Failed To Set Forth
The Necessary Allegations Required By
SP NINIIPEE denlatiichesenlecotsctssedeatddadisenctpocenecccicesmcs 4

|. The Complaint Must Allege Immediacy .... 5

2. The Complaint Must Allege An
Inducement To Particular And
Identifiable Viewers ............ccccccccccccoceees--. 10

B. Plaintiffs’ Complaint Failed To Allege That
Lawless Actions Was A Likely And
Foreseeable Outcome Of Defendants’
RINE diiherccssetaiantnseridenisaniticaisseicissndctenusene 1]

C. The Court Of Appeal Ignored The
Heightened Pleading Burden For Claims

Implicating The First Amendment ................... 14
Il. THIS COURT SHOULD SUMMARILY
REVERSE THE DECISION BELOW. ................... 16

A. Summary Reversal Is Consistent With The
Court’s Previous Application Of Rule 16.1 ..... 16

B. Summary Reversal Is Necessary To
Safeguard Important Constitutional Rights ..... 18

nano tad EATS: ae TON 20

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Brandenburg v. Ohio,

395 OS. B06 LUGODY crecscssesccecn eee

Catholic War Veterans of the United
States, Inc. v. City of New York,

576 F. Supp. 71 (S.D.N.Y. 1983) ccsscsccsssseeessses

Chappelle v. Greater Baton Rouge
Airport Dist.,

BSE UD. TSP UIGT 1) sececccsicntathinerincpcesnain

Cohen v. California,

BOS UB. TS LEFT | ) evversccvtsemvinsneetibennbibatemeniets

Craig v. Harney,

SIE UB FET CIDCT) cnvvnisnnsrinnvernmtjuintecnamanneen

Davidson v. Time Warner, Inc.,
No. V-94-006, 1997 WL 405907

(SDD. FOU. WERE Diy TRV E) scccresvecsevnittehanicavieeesin

Davis v. City of Portsmouth,
579 F. Supp. 1205 (E.D. Va. 1983),

aff'd, 742 F.2d 1448 (4th Cir. 1984) .o.eesccsssseee

Eaton v. City of Tulsa,

415. US, GT CEG FS) cccevicnicssoinevenmvesmnaabviasmtens

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc.,

416 UG. SES (USPS) cccccoveevcesccnvecvsenrviabeentedinal

Page(s)

passim

ill
Hess v. Indiana,
I I 4,7, 8,10
Jackson v. Nelson,
A Pe Pe Gee BDI ccececcesrscsecesorcuccccssecniecseteces 15

Kottle v. Northwest Kidney Crrs.,
146 F.3d 1056 (9th Cir. 1998), per.
for cert. filed, 67 U.S.L.W. 3364
(U.S. Nov. 17, 1998) (No. 98-810)... init 14

Lewis v. Columbia Pictures, Inc.,
No. E011948, 1994 WL 75866

CURE. CE, Aap. Nov. ©, 1996) on. ncecccccncccccoceccesoceevessecorees 12
Landmark Communications, Inc. v.
Virginia,

EP Pees TY CEP UUD ccvictiscicsnctidesesnsnsaroccucecoccereriseseccessceces 12

McCollum v. CBS,
249 Cal. Rptr. 187 (Ct. App. 1988) oc e. 8,12, 13

Miller v. Warner Bros., Inc.,
No. 96vs117599-F (Fulton Cty Ga.
EE RN AI NE 1]

Moore v. Arizona,
ESET gt IE 5 a 17

National Bank of N. Am. v. Associates of
Obstetrics & Female Surgery, Inc.,
a epesescncetdesoninaens 17

National Bowl-O-Mat Corp. v. Brunswick
Corp.,
264 F. Supp. 221 (D.N.J. 1967) ..........ccccccccsscsscesececeseseees 14

iv

National Org. for Women v. Scheidler,
SIO UES, Bee Cle verreensncestvinsinitisvninnrionsmniaglan 14

Noto v. United States,
Fe ee Ce Dy picensictinicicniniitiaceiabatianbicesihianstaoclpahadieatins 7

Olden v. Kentucky,
Ge hae EET CEO intcstnndomecissticabipitclecseiiinminedbieein 16

Pease v. Hansen,
a i Be ED iiartthcminseistcesestcitintanicnilaesinbinaaubentttan 17

Pennsylvania v. Bruder,
Be OE erteceenericbdiisbvaitcicvadieinlenapledabentietn 16

People v. Mighty,
535 N.Y.S.2d 944 (Rochester City
OR Se ehaienttatseiesaciasipesactionsconcsinsadcichartetellesamensibeehiniiekeaiion 12

Rice v. Paladin Enters., Inc.,
128 F.3d 233 (4th Cir. 1997, cert.
I, Be Gets Bae CEE cirsceeneterctnntniotrniccns 9, 10, 20

Ryan v. Scoggin,
Be Fl FO IR GR, FBG) crccccernearecciviitiinascsnninpianiomnite 15

State v. Blythe,
he ee te NS BES) cconcctansttebiciiataitnsitintltinennets 6

Sutton v. Eastern Viavi Co.,
Fe ce Fe CH Gee BOD ieiicicinietctsttecehcartionns 15

Waller v. Osborne,
763 F. Supp. 1144 (M.D. Ga. 1991),
aff'd, 958 F.2d 1084 (11th Cir. 1992) woo. eee eeeeeeeeeees 10

Watts v. United States,

Vv

SPO US, FOS CCID siiicichdbnk dace es 17
Whitney v. California,

oF Gt. +; TAAMAEE ERR Rak VOR aS Rca 5,6
Winters v. New York,

BAe es SET GRUP ininhctntcicncbenlatidarnieeibedasabai tect os 20
RULES
ie Gia CUEE. ituentstiindéedemehuuedineueee ines ee passim
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Thomas Irwin Emerson, The System of
Freedom of Expression (1970) .....ccccccccccccscssssssseceesecseeeeees 6

Charles Fried, The Oliver Wendell Holmes
Devise Lecture: Perfect Freedom,
Perfect Justice, 78 B.U. L. Rev. 717
POU crsclilehiecatasoiisttessteckcliguiers Mates ther ciaicpisctniiucltdinadaees 5,6

Kent Greenawalt, Speech and Crime,
Am. B. Found. Res. J. 645 (1980) .o..c.cccceccececceccecceeees 6,7

Arthur D. Hellman, Error Correction,
Lawmaking, and the Supreme Court's
Exercise of Discretionary Review, 44
Fs ee Meee PIU gc 16, 17

Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary,
See TITIES ciinsdetidieonsabddiguneeiinicceacsodousantoeancedneatiten 9

E. Barrett Prettyman, Jr. & Lisa A.
Hook, The Control of Media-Related
Imitative Violence, 38 Fed. Comm.
ee ki. yg BORER! 1271 3 ee 6, 7, 13

Vi

Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme Court

PPM LODO) ccvsiissterstancnineticnniemusinnaiiaeianannite

Lawrence Tribe, American Constitutional
EP GE OE, TI ccicctscccorcinnintanlcedetliations

Warren, The Proposed New ‘National
Court of Appeals,’ 28 Rec. A.B. City

FOE ET GEO TET coscscidsncanvdininincintcistnnblaninnneciadinetiinteieie

Charles Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller,
Federal Practice & Procedure (2d ed.
FD snccccusvscintaceinisanscaicianeniaidianonanaanienlcbadigviautclduiies

Vil

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

Amici curiae include the following organizations and
entities with a direct interest in the outcome of these
proceedings:

A. ABC, Inc., CBS Broadcasting Inc., Fox Broadcasting
Company, and National Broadcasting Company own and
operate television stations across the country and produce and
broadcast television shows and movies that are seen throughout
the United States, including Louisiana.

B. The American Booksellers Foundation for Free
Expression (“ABFFE”) was organized in 1990. The purpose of
ABFFE is to inform booksellers and other members of the book
industry about the dangers of censorship and to promote and
protect the free expression of ideas. particularly freedom in the
choice of reading materials.

C. The American Filming Marketing Association
(“AFMA”) is a non-profit organization whose members
produce and license the international rights to independent
English-language films. Comprised of 130 members, AFMA
members generate international revenues in excess of $1.6
billion annually.

D. The American Society of Journalists and Authors is
the national organization of independent non-fiction writers. Its
1000-plus members have an abiding interest in protecting the
First Amendment. Many of them also have a particular interest
in this case and believe that the magazine articles and books
that they write, sometimes detailing violent events, and often
optioned and produced as television or theatrical films, are put
at risk by the decision below.

E. The Association of American Publishers, Inc.
(“AAP”) is the national trade association of the U.S. book
publishing industry. AAP members include most of the major
commercial book publishers in the United States, as well as
smaller and non-profit publishers, university presses, and

Vill

scholarly societies. Defending freedom of expression is one of
the association’s top priorities.

F. The Author’s Guild, founded in 1912, is a national
for-profit association of more than 7,700 professional published
writers of all genres. The Guild counts journalists, historians,
biographers, and other writers of nonfiction and fiction as
members. Guild members have won many awards, including
the Pulitzer and Nobel Prizes and National Book awards. Their
works are valuable contributions to the creative and intellectual
fabric of our society. The Author’s Guild works to promote
the professional interests of authors in various areas, including
freedom of expression. The Author’s Guild views this case,
and all cases that threaten free expression, as bearing directly
on the ability of authors to carry on their business of writing as
a livelihood.

G. The California Broadcasters Association (“CBA”)
represents the 101 television and 629 radio stations of
California. For the past 50 years, the CBA has worked to
ensure the viability and strength of California’s free, over-the-
air broadcasting system. The Association acts as a technical
and educational resource for the industry, advocates on
legislative and regulatory matters, and organizes ongoing public
information campaigns. The CBA believes Californians are
best served by a broadcasting system that provides
programming free of government intervention reflecting local
interests and audience choice.

H. The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund (““CBLDF”) is
a non-profit organization dedicated to defending the First
Amendment rights of the American comic book industry.
CBLDF represents artists, publishers, and distributors, as well
as the broader community of specialty retailers and readers.

I. The Directors Guild of America, Inc. (“DGA”) is a
non-profit corporation duly organized and existing pursuant to
the laws of the State of California. DGA is the duly recognized
labor organization and exclusive representative for the purposes
of collective bargaining of, inter alia, directors, assistant

1X

directors, and unit production managers of theatrical and
television motion pictures.

J. The Freedom to Read Foundation is an organization
established in 1969 by the American Library Association to
promote and defend First Amendment rights, support the rights
of libraries to include in their collections and make available to
the public any work they may legally acquire, and help shape
legal precedent for the freedom to read on behalf of all citizens.

K. The Independent Producer’s Association is a non-
profit trade association representing independent (non-studio)
motion picture and television production companies. The
members of the IPA are actively involved in producing
entertainment programming for both the United States and the
world markets. During 1998, IPA member companies
produced more than 100 feature-length motion pictures.

L. The International Periodical Distributors Association
is the trade association for the principal national periodical
distributors engaged in the business of distributing or arranging
for the distribution of paperback books and periodicals to
wholesalers throughout the United States for ultimate
distribution to retailers and the public.

M. The Los Angeles County Bar was formed in 1878 and
incorporated as a mutual benefit non-profit corporation in 1953.
It is the largest local voluntary bar in the country, with 85
committees and sections, 22, 844 members, and annual revenue
and expenses of more than $10,000,000 and 108 employees. It
is dedicated to improving the administration of justice,
advancing the interest of the profession and serving the public
in law-related ways.

N. The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc.
(“MPAA”) is a not-for-profit trade association founded in 1922
to promote the interests of the motion picture industry in the
United States. The MPAA’s members include many of the
largest production companies and distributors of filmed
entertainment for theatrical, television and home video

xX

distribution. _MPAA members distribute motion pictures
throughout the United States, including Louisiana, and in some
80 countries around the world. MPAA promotes the interests
of the motion picture industry by serving as the advocate for the
major production companies and distributors of motion
pictures, television programs and home video.

O. The National Association of Broadcasters (“NAB”),
founded in 1922, is a non-profit trade association that serves
and represents television and radio stations and broadcast
networks. NAB acts to protect and enhance the ability of its
members to freely disseminate news, public affairs,
entertainment and other programming to the American people.

P. The National Association of College Stores
(“NACS”) is a trade association composed of approximately
3,000 college stores located throughout the United States.
NACS fears that, if the decision below stands, its members may
be subject to similar lawsuits for literary or non-fiction
materials sold by them.

Q. The National Cable Television Association is the
principal trade association of the cable television industry in the
United States, representing the interests of owners and
operators of cable television systems serving over 90 percent of
the nation’s cable households and over 100 cable program
networks.

R. The Periodical and Book Association of America, Inc.
is an association of magazine and paperback book publishers
who distribute their wares through independent national
distributors, wholesalers, and retailers, many of whom conduct
business over the Internet.

S. The Producers Guild of America (“PGA”) is a non-
profit organization that has been in existence since 1950. It
represents the interests of a substantial number of individual
producers as career professionals in the motion picture and
television industries. These are the career professionals who,
on an individual basis, initiate, coordinate, supervise and

Xi

control, either on their own behalf (entrepreneur producer), or
on behalf of an employer (employee producer), all aspects of
the motion picture and/or television production process,
creative, financial, technological or administrative, throughout
all phases from inception to completion, including
coordination, supervision and control of all other talents and
crafts, subject to the provisions of their collective bargaining
agreements and personal services contracts. The PGA bylaws
impose an obligation “to cooperate, when necessary, with other
groups or organizations having objectives or interests in
common with this corporation.”

T. The Publishers Marketing Association (“PMA”) is a
trade association representing more than 3,000 publishers
across the United States and Canada. Many of PMA’s
members are small, independent publishers who publish a
variety of works, including many controversial topics or
involving experimental approaches to writing, which more
mainstream publishers have not acquired. They are concerned
about the potential financial impact of the decision below as the
result of possibly having to defend baseless claims.

U. The Recording Industry Association of America, Inc.
(“RIAA”) is a trade association whose member companies
produce, manufacture and distrisue over 90% of the sound
recordings sold in the United States. The RIAA is committed
to protecting the free expression rights of its member
companies.

V. The Software and Information Industry Association
represents approximately 1,400 companies in the software and
information industries. The computer software companies are
leaders in the creation of enabling technologies for the
production and distribution of content, whereas the information
companies create, disseminate and facilitate the use of a wide
variety of content. The Association’s membership thrives in
great part because of the wide latitude of expression afforded
by the First Amendment of the United States Constitution. Any

X11

undue narrowing of this latitude would have a direct impact on
their activities.

W. The Video Software Dealers Association (“VSDA”)
is the trade association for the home video industry,
representing more than 3,500 member companies in North
America and 22 countries worldwide, including small
independently owned video retailers, large video chains and
other associated businesses that comprise the home video
industry. VSDA vigorously defends the constitutional and
legal rights of its members.

X. The Writers Guild of America, West, Inc. (“WGA”)
is a labor organization representing approximately 8,500
professional authors of stories and screenplays for theatrical
and television motion pictures and interactive technologies.
The WGA also represents news writers for radio and television.
Writers represented by the WGA perform writing services
throughout the United States. As an organization of
professional authors, the WGA has dedicated itself to the
protection of First Amendment freedom of expression
unfettered by intrusive government regulation. The WGA has a
significant interest in the vigorous and uniform enforcement of
First’ Amendment rights throughout the nation, and in
preventing non-meritorious and costly litigation that would
chill creative expression.

]

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

This brief is submitted on behalf of a broad cross-section
of media-related organizations, including many of the largest
production companies and distributors of filmed entertainment.
broadcast, cable and print news organizations, publishing
companies, associations of working journalists and book
publishers, and businesses, non-profit organizations and guilds
involved in the dissemination of ideas.’ Amici have a
significant interest in this matter because they rely on First
Amendment protections to preserve the broadest possible scope
for creative and nonfiction content that may at times address
violent and disturbing issues. In particular, they believe that the
decision below not only violates established Supreme Court
precedent but impairs vital First Amendment freedoms in ways
that will have a chilling effect on a wide range of
constitutionally protected expression. Amici, therefore. submit
this brief in support of the petition for certiorari. Amici agree
with petitioner that plenary review is warranted in light of the
magnitude of the court’s errors, and the substantial burdens the
decision imposes on First Amendment freedoms. Because
amici also believe that summary disposition is appropriate in
view of the court’s manifest deviation from this Court’s
precedents, amici set forth, in the alternative. why the Court
should consider summary reversal under Supreme Court Rule
16.1.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision below that a plaintiff may survive a motion to
dismiss merely by alleging that the creators of a mass

' Written consent of both parties has been filed with the Clerk of the
Court. Counsel for amici authored the entire brief. and no party other
than amici has made a monetary contribution to the brief

* This provision provides that “[a}fter considering the document:
distributed under Rule 15, the Court will enter an appropriate order. The
order may be a summary disposition on the merits.”

2

distribution motion picture had a subjective intent to incite
viewers to violence grossly distorts the extremely narrow
exception to full First Amendment protection carved out in
Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1969). No court
heretofore has held that the mere subjective intent to incite
imminent lawless conduct is actionable. Instead, Brandenburg
consistently has been held to require direct advocacy, the
objective circumstances of which demonstrate both an intent to
incite imminent lawless conduct and a likelihood that such
conduct will immediately ensue. Plaintiffs’ complaint made no
attempt to meet this stringent standard and thus should have
been dismissed.

If left intact, the decision will have three pernicious effects
— each of which warrants summary reversal of the decision.
First, the decision significantly broadens the narrow exception
to full First Amendment protection established in Brandenburg
and erodes the heightened pleading burden litigants must meet
to state a claim implicating constitutionally protected
expression. Second, the decision undermines the primacy and
uniformity of federal constitutional law and creates perverse
incentives for litigants to “forum shop” in jurisdictions applying
laxer First Amendment standards. Finally, by requiring
plaintiffs merely to plead subjective intent, the decision opens
the door to a flood of “copy cat” lawsuits based upon facile
assertions of intent, which inevitably will prompt self-
censorship by content providers. These ramifications will be
felt not only by studios but also by a variety of providers of
both creative and non-fiction expression. Under the court of
appeal’s standard, a myriad of entities — from book publishers
to newspapers, literary and news magazines to web sites and
trade associations — would be exposed to onerous litigation and
potential tort liability for discussing or dramatizing violence.
This potential damage to fundamental First Amendment values
compels amici to support the petition for certiorari.

Even if the defendants’ rights could be vindicated by a
summary judgment or after a full trial, this possibility —

a ee ee ee ee

*
P

lessened by the erroneous test the court will be forced to apply
— is no reason to leave the decision undisturbed. Rule 16.]
provides for the efficient correction of “palpably clear cases of
constitutional error,” Eaton v. City of Tulsa, 415 U.S. 697, 707
(1974) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting), in order to preserve
important constitutional safeguards and the Court’s inherent
authority. Amici thus respectfully request that the Court grant
the petition and summarily reverse the decision below.

ARGUMENT

L SUMMARY DISPOSITION IS WARRANTED BECAUSE
THE COURT EGREGIOUSLY MISAPPLIED SETTLED
FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL LAW.

The decision of the Louisiana court of appeal is patently
erroneous. To survive a motion to dismiss, the court held, a
complaint need only allege a single claim: that the defendants
“intended to incite viewers of the film to begin, shortly after
viewing the film, crime sprees such as the one that led to the
shooting of Patsy Byers.” (Appendix To Petition For A Writ
Of Certiorari (“App.”) at 15a.) Once that allegation is accepted
as true, “the film “Natural Born Killers’ would fall into the
unprotected category of speech directed to inciting or producing
imminent lawless action and which is likely to incite or produce
such action.” (Jd.) This holding should be overturned.

In permitting the plaintiffs to proceed based only on a
conclusory allegation that the defendants had a subjective intent
to incite violence without satisfying the other requirements of
Brandenburg — that (1) defendants directly intended for viewers
to commit such violence at once; (2) the utterance was directed
at particular and identifiable viewers; and (3) immediate
violence was a foreseeable and _ likely consequence of
defendants’ expression — the court applied a weaker standard
than virtually every other court in the land.

In Brandenburg, the Supreme Court overturned the
conviction of a Ku Klux Klan leader under Ohio’s criminal

4

syndicalism statute because the statute was not limited to
advocacy “directed to inciting or producing imminent lawless
action and likely to incite or produce such action.” 395 U.S. at
447. In Hess v. Indiana, 414 U.S. 105 (1973), a majority of the
Burger Court clarified the narrow scope of Brandenburg’s
incitement to violence exception in reversing a criminal
conviction based on the defendant’s loud statement that “We'll
take the f-----g street later (or again)” as the police tried to
disperse antiwar demonstrators from a public street. The
defendant’s expression did not fall within Brandenburg, the
Court held, because the speech was “not directed to any person
or group of persons” and thus it “cannot be said that [the
speaker] was advocating, in the normal sense, any action.”
Hess, 414 at 108-09. Second, the expression was “at worst. . .
nothing more than advocacy of illegal action at some indefinite
future time” and thus was not directed at, and was unlikely to
cause, imminent lawless conduct. Jd. at 108. In the absence of
such a showing, the Court held, Hess’ statement could not be
construed as “intend[ing] to incite further lawless action on the
part of the crowd in the vicinity of the appellant and [as] likely
to produce such action.” Jd. In short, under Brandenburg and
Hess, for speech to be denied full First Amendment protection,
it must constitute a direct exhortation to an identifiable person
or persons to commit violent illegal action at or about the time
of the stated expression, with a clear likelihood that such
violence will quickly occur. This standard necessarily requires
an objective showing of both imminence and the likelihood of
immediate lawless action, notwithstanding a _ speaker’s
subjective intent. A complaint devoid of such allegations
cannot survive First Amendment challenge.

A. Plaintiffs’ Complaint Failed To Set Forth The
Necessary Allegations Required By Brandenburg.

While the court of appeal purported to apply Brandenburg,
it upheld a complaint that, on its face, did not satisfy a central
feature: “imminent” incitement to lawless action. The
complaint contained neither (1) an allegation of a close

eee nee ee

fan oe

5

temporal proximity between the speech in question and the
subsequent illegal act, nor (2) a claim that the speech was
directed at particular and identifiable viewers.

1. The Complaint Must Allege Immediacy.

Brandenburg’s imminence requirement is premised on the
view that advocacy is sanctionable only if the speaker
effectively “participates” in the violence by directing or
instigating it. As Justice Brandeis has stated: “There must be
reasonable ground to believe that the danger apprehended is
imminent. . . . [E]ven advocacy of violation, however
reprehensible morally, is not a justification for denying free
speech where the advocacy falls short of incitement and there is
nothing to indicate that the advocacy would be immediately
acted on.” Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357, 376 (1927)
(Brandeis, J., concurring).

The requirement of immediacy serves two crucial
purposes, both of which were undermined by the court of
appeal’s ruling. First, it provides an important mechanism for
distinguishing between, on the one hand, assertions of values
and facts that because of their expressive nature are part of the
deliberative process and thus entitled to full First Amendment
protection, and, on the other hand, utterances that, because of
their urgent, instrumental or concrete nature, are intended to
and deliberately provoke immediate violent response. In the
latter circumstance, the speaker’s expression blends conduct
and speech in such a way that both speaker and hearer
participate in concerted illegal activity outside the scope of
First Amendment protection, with the speaker in effect the
“aider and abettor” of the illicit actions carried out by the
hearer. Such expression — tantamount to “an instrumental
communication as part of a course of action” — may be
“constitutionally punished only when the communication is so

> Charles Fried, The Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise Lecture:
Perfect Freedom, Perfect Justice, 78 B.U. L. Rev. 717. 746 n.35 (1998).

6

close, direct, effective, and instantaneous in its impact that it is
part of the action.”* As one commentator has stated: “[W]hen
words are used to join a conspiracy, to give orders, or to supply
instructions in furtherance of some criminal scheme. . . . the
law has understood that the words are not being used to express
an idea or an attitude so much as they serve as signals and
actions.”°

The second purpose of Brandenburg’s immediacy
requirement is to separate expression that merely advocates
violent action from expression that is so imperative and
concrete as to deny listeners the opportunity for a reasoned
deliberative response; only the latter category, which by its
urgent nature overwhelms rationality, presents a credibie threat
to public order. See Whitney, 274 U.S. at 376 (Brandeis, J.,
concurring) (“If there be time to expose through discussion the
falsehood and fallacies, to avert the evil by the processes of
education, the remedy to be applied is more speech, not
enforced silence.”).°

* Kent Greenawalt, Speech and Crime, Am. B. Found. Res. J. 645,
751 (1980) (quoting Thomas Irwin Emerson, The System of Freedom of
Expression 404 (1970)).

* Fried, supra, at 717. For instance, modern penal law traditionally
has punished certain utterances without implicating First Amendment
values such as specific inducements, threats and orders to commit crimes;
agreements and conspiracies to commit crimes; offers to commit criminal
acts; and specific training in criminal acts. See Greenawalt, supra, at
742-47. As the lowa Supreme Court stated in response to defendants’
claim that their conviction for conspiring to fix prices violated
Brandenburg: “entering into an agreement to fix prices may hardly be
said to be speech, symbolic speech or expression under the ambit of
Amendment 1.” Greenawalt, supra, at 743 (quoting State v. Blyth, 226
N.W.2d 250, 265 (Iowa 1975)).

° See also E. Barrett Prettyman, Jr. & Lisa A. Hook, The Control Of
Media-Related Imitative Violence, 38 Fed. Comm. L.J. 317, 376 (1987)
(“Prettyman & Hook’) (“Where sufficient time exists for rebuttal and

(Cont. ...)

7

Brandenburg’s immediacy requirement thus serves as an
important gatekeeper of First Amendment freedoms, ensuring
that only advocacy that provokes immediate illegal acts is
subject to governmental sanction. This standard recognizes that
“the mere abstract teaching . . . of the moral proprietary or even
moral necessity for a resort to force and violence, is not the
same as preparing a group for violent action and steeling it to
such action.” Noto v. United States, 367 U.S. 290, 297-98
(1961).

In this case, plaintiffs’ conclusory allegation that
defendants intended viewers to commit crime sprees “shortly
after repeatedly viewing” the movie was insufficient on its face
to satisfy Brandenburg's immediacy test. This is clear both
from the case law and the facts alleged. Indeed, according to
the plaintiffs’ own recitation of the facts, the perpetrators did
not commit the crime in question until after “travelling cross-
country to Louisiana” — a joy ride that necessarily involved
considerable delay. (App. at 33a.) But, as indicated above, see
supra at 5-7, the immediacy requirement mandates virtually
contemporaneous lawless action. See Prettyman & Hook,
supra, at 377 (“Brandenburg requires the advocacy to be so
closely related to the harmful action that more speech could not
have prevented the harm.”). For instance, in Hess, the Court
accepted the state court’s view that the defendant’s use of the
word “later” meant that the taking of the street could be
performed not immediately but at some subsequent time. As
one commentator has noted, “if Hess really did mean to urge
illegal action, common sense tells us that ‘later’ must have
meant later during the day of the demonstration; so the opinion
seems to mean that in that setting at least, illegal action some
hours hence is not imminent.” Greenawalt, supra, at 651.
“Even if ‘imminent’ contains some degree of flexibility, the

consideration, the Supreme Court has long assumed that additional
speech will prevent the harm.”).

8

term connotes and is used by the Court to suggest a very short
time span between an incitement and the hoped-for action.” Jd.
Like “later,” “shortly after repeatedly viewing” does not
connote an immediate inducement to lawless action, as the
perpetrators’ delayed response confirms.

Moreover, plaintiffs’ attempt to add a new gloss on the
imminence test by focusing on the impact of repetition finds no
support in the case law. In essence, the complaint alleges that
defendants intended viewers to watch the movie repeatedly and
that this repetition provoked violent imitative crime from its
viewers. On this basis alone, the complaint should have been
dismissed. Advocacy that does not on its own provoke
immediate response without repeated viewing does not
constitute the kind of expression that is so concrete and
imperative as to pose an immediate threat of lawless action.
To the contrary, the very need for repetitive viewing implies
that the expression is too abstract to induce immediate action
and that there is sufficient delay between movie viewings and
deed to allow for considered response.

Plaintiffs’ further allegation that the perpetrators viewed
the movie “sometimes under the influence of mind-altering
drugs,” (App. at 33a), underscores the deficiency of their
pleading, since there was no allegation that the advocacy itself
— without the distortions caused by “mind-altering drugs” —
induced an immediate violent response. “Merely because art
may evoke a mood of depression as it figuratively depicts the
darker side of human nature does not mean that it constitutes a
direct ‘incitement to imminent violence.”” McCollum v. CBS,
249 Cal. Rptr. 187, 194 (Ct. App. 1988).

Plaintiffs’ claim that the movie “glorifi[ed] . . . violent
acts” by depicting criminals as “celebrities and heroes,” (App.
at 3a, 5a), also failed to meet Brandenburg’s objective
requirement of a direct inducement to lawless action since, by
definition, glorification is an indirect, non-instructive means of

a a ee

9

conveying a particular viewpoint. Indeed, the plain meaning of
“glorification” is to “bestow[] honor, praise or admiration” —
hardly the kind of direct, inducement to immediate lawless
action Brandenburg requires.

The court’s reliance on Rice v. Paladin Enterprises, Inc.,
128 F.3d 233 (4th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 1515
(1998), was misplaced. Paladin only confirms that plaintiffs’
claims are barred by the First Amendment. In Paladin, the
defendant had stipulated that “it actually intended to provide
assistance to murderers and would-be murderers which would
be used . . . ‘upon receipt’” of the defendant’s books “Hit Man:
A Technical Manual for Independent Contractors” and “How to
Make a Disposable Silencer.” 128 F.3d at 242. Because of the
stipulated instrumental nature of defendant’s “expression,” the
court held that it did not involve pure speech but fell within the
“speech-act doctrine [that had] long been invoked to sustain
convictions for aiding and abetting the commission of criminal
offenses.” Jd. at 244. The defendant’s books concededly
“aided and abetted the murders at issue through the
quintessential speech act of providing step-by-step instructions
for murder . . . so comprehensive and detailed... as if the
instructor were literally present with the would-be murderer.”
Id. at 249.

In this case, however, plaintiffs have not alleged, and
indeed cannot allege, that the defendants provided the sort of
detailed assistance and counseling in how to commit violence
present in Paladin. The fact that a film may “glamorize[] and
thereby indirectly promote[] such conduct,” id. at 266, does not _
bring it within © > “speech-act” doctrine. As the court in
Paladin itself noted, “‘{i]n only the rarest case, as here where
the publisher has stipulated in almost taunting defiance that it
intended to assist murderers and other criminals, will there be
evidence extraneous to the speech itself which would support a

” Merriam Webster's C. ollegiate Dictionary (10th ed. 1995).

10

finding of the requisite intent.” Jd. at 265. Plaintiffs’ complaint
clearly did not meet this standard.

2. The Complaint Must Allege An Inducement
To Particular And Identifiable Viewers.

Plaintiffs’ complaint also failed to satisfy the imminence
requirement because there was no allegation that the expression
was directed at particular viewers. Speech directed toward
everyone in general and no one in particular is not the sort of
incitement to imminent illegal action contemplated by
Brandenburg because the speaker, by definition, has no specific
hearers he or she is attempting to compel to action. See Hess v.
Indiana, 414 U.S. 105, 108 (1975). See also Lawrence Tribe,
American Constitutional Law 848 n.57 (2d ed. 1988).

Because plaintiffs could not credibly allege that a major
motion picture company intended to prompt any particular
viewer or every single viewer to leave the theater and
immediately attack someone in sight, the best they could do
was allege that “persons such as Edmonson and Darrus” were
intended to commit violence. But this group is too broad and
amorphous to be the intended subjects of a real and immediate
provocation to action. Since the movie was broadly released to
millions of viewers around the world — all unknown and
unidentifiable to defendants — there is no basis to establish the
link between utterer and viewer necessary to satisfy the strict
requirements of Brandenburg.

Courts across the county consistently have reached the
same conclusion. For instance, in Waller v. Osborne, 763 F.
Supp. 1144, 1150 (M.D. Ga. 1991), aff'd, 958 F.2d 1084 (11th
Cir. 1992), the court rejected a claim that a teenager committed
suicide after repeated exposure to the music of Ozzy Osbourne.
Despite the court’s belief that it was iikely “irresponsible and
callous for a musician with a large teenage following . . . to
portray suicide in any manner other than a tragic occurrence,”
the court held that “[t]here is no indication whatsoever that
defendants’ music was directed toward any particular person or

11

group of persons.” 763 F. Supp. at 1151. Likewise, in Catholic
War Veterans of the United Sates, Inc. v. City of New York, 576
F. Supp. 71 (S.D.N.Y. 1983), the court dismissed in part on
First Amendment grounds a complaint alleging in conclusory
terms that the constitutional and civil rights of plaintiffs would
be violated by the holding of a “Gay Pride Parade.” The court
found that the plaintiffs’ conclusory allegations that the parade
should be blocked “based on the possibility that an unidentified
handful of participants may engage in unlawful conduct” could
not survive First Amendment scrutiny, warranting dismissal of
the complaint. 576 F. Supp. at 76 (emphasis added).

In sum, because plaintiffs’ complaint failed to allege an
inducement to immediate lawless action to an identifiable set of
viewers, it could not overcome the insuperable First
Amendment bar to tort liability. In a virtually identical lawsuit,
a Georgia court reached this very conclusion, as did the trial
court in this case.* The court below should have done the same.

B. Plaintifis’ Complaint Failed To Allege That Lawless Action
Was A Likely And Foreseeable Outcome Of Defendants’
Expression.

In addition to its failure to apply faithfully Brandenburg’ s
imminence test, the court also ignored another fatal deficiency
in plaintiffs’ pleading: its omission of any allegation that
violence was the likely and foreseeable result of defendants’
expression. Brandenburg’s “likelihood” test requires an
objective showing that the likely outcome of particular
expression was lawless action; without such a likelihood, there
can be no immediate threat to public order sufficient to
withhold First Amendment protection. As this Court has

® See Miller vy. Warner Bros., Inc., No. 96vs117599-F (Fulton Cty.
Ga. Dec. 3, 1996) (“the lawsuit, as a matter of law, cannot meet the
requiremenis found in Brandenburg v. Ohio . . ., which protects
statements except direct incitement to imminent unlawful action.”)
(included at Appendix 1a).

a ae ee

12

recognized, the “degree of imminence [must be] extremely
high before utterances can be _ punished.” Landmark
Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829, 845 (1978).
See also Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S. 367, 376 (1947) (“the
danger must not be remote or even probable; it must
immediately imperil”); Tribe, supra, at 848 n.57 (because there
was no evidence in Hess that the defendant’s remarks “were
likely to produce any imminent disorder . . . Brandenburg’s
second test was not met’).

In this case, plaintiffs’ complaint failed to include any
allegation that violence was a foreseeable and likely outcome of
defendants’ expression. See People v. Mighty, 535 N.Y.S.2d
944, 947 (Rochester City Ct. 1988) (dismissing information
charging defendant with inciting to riot because the activity
alleged did not create a “clear and present danger of riotous
conduct, or intended . . . riot”); Davidson v. Time Warner, Inc.,
No. V-94-006, 1997 WL 405907, at *21 (S.D. Tex. Mar. 31,
1997) (rejecting plaintiff's claims that defendant’s rap music
had provoked imitative violent acts because there was no
showing that “the illegal conduct . . . would imminently occur
after listening to the album”); Lewis v. Columbia Pictures, Inc.,
No. E011948, 1994 WL 75866, at *3 (Cal Ct. App. Nov. 8,
1994) (dismissing plaintiffs claim that defendant's
advertisement for “Boyz ’n the Hood” was actionable since
“{s]peech directed to action at some indefinite time in the future
is not imminent incitement.”).

Indeed, because the expression at issue was disseminated
impersonally on a mass basis, it is doubtful that plaintiffs in
good faith could have made allegations that met such a
standard. To date, virtually every reported case that has found
imminent incitement under Brandenburg has involved live,
direct incitement, which is far more likely than inanimate
expression through books, films and television programs to
foment a crowd to violence and overcome rational deliberation.
See McCollum v. CBS, Inc., 249 Cal. Rptr. 187, 194 (Ct. App.
1988) (neither common sense nor the First Amendment permit

13

a “rational person” to “mistake musical lyrics and poetry for
literal commands or directives to immediate action”).

This Court should adhere to the longstanding principle
that the fact that a few aberrant individuals may react violently
to certain expression does not mean that imminent lawless
action is a “likely” outcome as a matter of law. This is
particularly true where, as here, the expression at issue is
indirect. For instance, in Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15
(1971), the Court recognized that “[t]here may be some persons
about with such lawless and violent proclivities, but that is an
insufficient base upon which to erect, consistently with
constitutional values, a governmental power to force persons
who wish to ventilate their dissident views into avoiding
particular forms of expression.” 403 U.S. at 23.

To adopt a weaker standard would force content providers
to tailor their works to accommodate the most vulnerable and
unstable persons in society — an impermissible result in a
society constitutionally committed to giving the widest possible
breathing space to freedom of expression. See McCollum, 249
Cal. Rptr. at 197 (“[I]t is simply not acceptable to a free and
democratic society to impose a duty on performing artists to
limit and restrict their creativity in order to avoid the
dissemination of ideas in artistic speech which may adversely
affect emotionally troubled individuals.”); Davidson, 1997 WL
405907, at *22 (“broadcasters . . . would be chilled into
producing only the most mundane, least emotional material”).?

” As one commentator stated:

The result of imposing upon television and movie producers the
duty of avoiding any scene that could possibly trigger violent
reaction in a few individuals would be a timidity and blandness in
programming that few of us would be prepared to accept.

Prettyman & Hook, supra, at 379.

14

C. The Court Of Appeal Ignored The Heightened
Pleading Burden For Claims Implicating The First
Amendment.

The decision below, which permitted plaintiffs’ suit to
proceed based upon a conclusory allegation directed to only
one element of the Brandenburg test, contravened the standards
for evaluating motions to dismiss, particularly those involving
important First Amendment rights. Causes of action that
implicate First Amendment values require plaintiffs to meet a
higher pleading burden in order to safeguard constitutional
rights. As the Ninth Circuit has noted, “the danger that the
mere pendency of the action will chill the exercise of First
Amendment rights requires more specific allegations than
would otherwise be required.” Kottle v. Northwest Kidney Ctrs.,
146 F.3d 1056, 1063 (9th Cir. 1998), pet. for cert. filed, 67
U.S.L.W. 3364 (U.S. Nov. 17, 1998) (No. 98-810). See also
National Org. for Women, Inc. v. Scheidler, 510 U.S. 249, 264-
65 (1994) (Souter, J., with whom Kennedy, J., joins,
concurring) (citing with approval a case applying a higher
pleading standard for claims involving presumptively protected
First Amendment expression).

For this reason, unlike pleadings in other contexts, no
liberal construction generally is accorded complaints
implicating the First Amendment. See 5 Charles Alan Wright
& Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure § 1245, at
302 (2d ed. 1990) (“[T]he standard for successfully pleading
defamation tends to be more stringent than ordinary civil suits
because of the unfavored nature of this type of action and the
desire to discourage what some believe to be basically
vexatious litigation.”). For instance, in National Bowl-O-Mat
Corp. v. Brunswick Corp., 264 F. Supp. 221 (D.N.J. 1967), the
court dismissed a defamation counterclaim in part because the
defendant failed “to set out the alleged defamatory statements
with sufficient particularity to allow the court to determine if
they would support the action.” 5A Wright & Miller, supra, §
1357, at 359. “If the court had applied the usual liberal

15

standard for construing a complaint, it probably would have
assumed, for purposes of the motion, that the Statements were
defamatory. ...” Jd

In this case, the court’s failure to apply a heightened
pleading burden and a narrow construction to plaintiffs’
complaint trampled impermissibly on First Amendment values.
The court blithely accepted plaintiffs’ conclusory allegations
and “footless conclusions of law,” Ryan v. Scoggin, 245 F.2d
54, 57 (10th Cir. 1957), when the proper disposition was
dismissal. By concluding that plaintiffs’ woefully deficient
allegations survived defendant’s motion to dismiss, the court of
appeal not only failed to give any weight to defendant’s First
Amendment interests but also subverted the traditional pleading
requirement that claims for relief must be supported by factual
allegations and not mere conclusory assertions. Even outside of
the First Amendment context, courts consistently have
dismissed pleadings that failed to plead factual allegations
necessary to support a cognizable claim. See, e.g., Jackson v.
Nelson, 405 F.2d 872 (9th Cir. 1968) (dismissing a civil rights
complaint for failure to state a claim when the complaint
contained conclusory statements); Sutton v. Eastern Viavi Co..,
138 F.2d 959, 960 (7th Cir. 1943) (“No claim for relief is stated
if the complaint pleads facts insufficient to show that a legal
wrong has been committed. . . .”); Davis y. City of Portsmouth,
579 F. Supp. 1205, 1210 (E.D. Va. 1983) (“[MlJore detail often
is required than the bold statement by plaintiff that he has a
valid claim of some type against defendant.”), aff'd, 742 F.2d
1448 (4th Cir. 1984). See also SA Wright & Miller, supra, §
1357, at 319-20 (“[T]he court will not accept conclusory
allegations concerning the legal effect of the events plaintiff has
set out if these allegations do not reasonably follow from his
description of what happened, or if these allegations are
contradicted by the description itself."). The same disposition
was compelled here.

16

IL THIS COURT SHOULD SUMMARILY REVERSE
THE DECISION BELOW.

As indicated above, amici believe that plenary review is
warranted because of the failure of the court of appeal to apply
settled federal constitutional law and the harmful effects this
decision will have. As an alternative to full briefing and oral
argument on the merits, however, amici urge the Court to
consider summary reversal of the decision under Rule 16.1.

A. Summary Reversal Is Consistent With The Court’s
Previous Application of Rule 16.1.

Where, as here, a lower court clearly has misapplied
established Supreme Court precedent, this Court frequently has
granted a petition for purposes of summary disposition without
a full hearing on the merits. See, e.g., Olden v. Kentucky, 488
U.S. 227 (1988); Pennsylvania v. Bruder, 488 U.S. 9 (1988);
Chappelle v. Greater Baton Rouge Airport Dist., 431 U.S. 159
(1977). As one former Chief Justice has stated: “There are
many instances where the Court, without granting plenary
review, has summarily reversed, remanded or taken other direct
action to achieve what the Justices conceived to be essential
justice.”"° See also Robert L. Stern et. al., Supreme Court
Practice 247 (1993) (“This kind of reversal order usually
reflects the feeling of a majority of the Court that the lower
court result is so clearly erroneous, particularly if there is a
controlling Supreme Court precedent to the contrary, that full
briefing and argument” is unnecessary.).

Summary disposition is particularly appropriate where a
state court has misunderstood or disregarded federal law since
“the Supreme Court is the only tribunal with power to oversee

'° Warren, The Proposed New ‘National Court of Appeals,’ 28 Rec.
A.B. City N.Y. 627, 640-41 (1973), cited in Arthur D. Hellman, Error
Correction, Lawmaking, and the Supreme Court's Exercise of
Discretionary Review, 44 U. Pitt. L. Rev. 795, 801 (1983).

17

compliance by state courts with the dictates of the federal
Constitution and laws.”'' “If the Court, by failing to correct
error when it has the opportunity to do so, allows state courts to
deny federal rights, the supremacy clause could easily become
little more than an exhortation.”'? Such a concern is most acute
where fundamental rights are at stake.

This Court’s per curiam decision in Watts v. United States,
394 U.S. 705 (1969), is instructive. In Watts, during a public
rally at the Washington Monument, the speaker, in protesting
the draft, stated that “[i]f they ever make me carry a rifle, the
first man I want to get in my sights is L.B.J.” 394 U'S. at 706.
Agreeing with the defendant that the statement was nothing
more than “a kind of very crude offensive method of Stating a
political opposition to the President,” id. at 707, the Court
summarily reversed the conviction. As in this case, the Court
noted that “[w]hat is a threat must be distinguished from what
is constitutionally protected speech.” Jd.

Likewise, in Moore v. Arizona, 414 U.S. 25 (1973), the
Supreme Court summarily disposed of a decision of the
Arizona Supreme Court affirming a denial of a pretrial writ of
habeas corpus to a defendant alleging a speedy trial violation.
The Court granted the petition and vacated the judgment on the
ground that the court improperly had held that prejudice was
the “sole touchstone” for proving a speedy trial violation in
contravention of previous precedents. 414 U.S. at 26. Moore
is perfectly analogous to this case, in which the Louisiana court

'' Hellman, supra, at 801 n.34.

? Id. See also National Bank of N. Am. v. Associates of Obstetrics
& Female Surgery, Inc., 425 U.S. 460 ( 1976) (summarily reversing a
state court decision holding that the venue provision of the National
Bank Act were permissive rather than exclusive in contravention to
Supreme Court precedent); Pease v. Hansen, 404 U.S. 70 (1971)
(summarily reversing a state court decision improperly applying an equal
protection precedent).

18

of appeal improperly held that an allegation of subjective intent
was the “sole touchstone” for satisfying Brandenburg.

B. Summary Reversal Is Necessary To Safeguard Important
Constitutional Rights.

In addition to being consistent with previous applications
of Rule 16.1, summary reversal is necessary to preserve vital
First Amendment rights. If left undisturbed, the decision will
cause three significant constitutional harms. First, in eroding
the heightened pleading requirements litigants must meet to fit
within Brandenburg, the decision impermissibly subjects
previously fully protected expression to governmental sanction.
In so doing, the decision recasts Brandenburg as no longer a
narrow, rarely satisfied exception, but rather a general, easily
invoked principle — the “exception” that swallows the rule.
Such a result significantly reduces the scope of constitutional
protection for expressive content, causing a chilling effect on
the free and full dissemination of ideas.

Second, the anomalous decision, if left intact, will
undermine the uniformity of federal law and permit a state
court to trample upon well-established constitutional norms.
The deviation of lower courts from fundamental constitutional!
principles will create uncertainty as to the reach of First
Amendment protection and generate perverse incentives for
litigants to forum shop in jurisdictions applying less stringent
standards.

Finally, by allowing plaintiffs to subject defendants to the
continued burdens and costs of litigation, with the attendant
likelihood of self-censorship, the decision denies defendants the
very protections the First Amendment is designed to provide;
continued litigation is itself a reduction in First Amendment
freedoms. Defending against an action that survives a motion
to dismiss or for judgment on the pleadings is onerous. The
escalating expenses — financial and otherwise — of discovery
and pre-trial procedures are enormous and create a significant
incentive to avoid further litigation, either by settling

19

constitutionally meritless claims, or by avoiding potentially
controversial expression in the first instance. The First
Amendment does not countenance either result. The
Constitution requires courts to protect expression not only
against judicial penalization of the speech but equally against
legal proceedings that constrict unfettered expression by
inducing self-censorship. If plaintiffs unable to meet the
stringent Brandenburg test can nonetheless impose the costs of
litigation on content providers, the protections guaranteed by
the First Amendment are by that very fact significantly
diminished.

indeed, such a result will have ramifications not only for
motion picture and television companies, but for a variety of
other providers of creative and non-fictional material including
book publishers, cable companies, newspapers and magazines,
web sites and trade and non-profit organizations involved in the
dissemination of ideas and information. Under the court of
appeal’s standard, a variety of works would be subjected to
continued litigation and the risk of tort liability. Many such
works contain and even arguably glamorize often violent
suicides, murders and other brutalities: Shakespearean drama
contains 16 suicides; the lead character in Anna Karenina.
concluding that suicide was the only solution, throws herself
under a train; Arthur Miller’s Pulitzer prize-winning play,
Death of a Salesman, depicts suicide as a courageous
achievement; and the operas of Puccini, Mannotti and Verdi all
contain self-inflicted death. In addition, a variety of seminal
movies and television epics -- including Amistad, The Deer
Hunter, Roots, Apocalypse Now, Taxi Driver and Schindler's
ist -- all contain depictions of violence. Yet, if after
dissemination of such works, imitative violence occurred, under
the court’s standard, these content providers would face legal
exposure. Such a result would eviscerate traditional First
Amendment protections accorded even pernicious or offensive
expression. See, e.g., Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 US.
323, 339-40 (1974) (“However pernicious an opinion may seem
we depend for its correction not on the conscience of judges

20

and juries but on the competition of other ideas.”); Winters v.
New York, 333 U.S. 507, 510 (1948) (“Though we can see
nothing of any possible value to society in these magazines
[stories of “bloodshed and lust”], they are as much entitled to
the protection of free speech as the best of ‘literature.””’).

Even if, as expected, the defendants in this case ultimately
prevail on surnmary judgment or at trial, they will be unable to
secure review by this Court of the state appellate court’s ruling.
That ruling will thus stand, creating a continued source of
confusion about the meaning and proper application of this
Court’s precedents and encouraging “copy cat” suits involving
protected expression. Ironically, the Louisiana court of
appeal’s willingness to permit plaintiffs’ case to proceed is
exactly the result that the Fourth Circuit in Paladin confidently
predicted would not occur since “[iJn the ‘copy cat context,’ it
will presumably never be the case that the broadcaster or
publisher actually intends, through its description or depiction,
to assist another or others in the commission of violent crime.”
Rice v. Paladin Enters., Inc., 128 F.2d 233, 265 (4th Cir. 1997).

This case poignantly demonstrates why the stringent
standards of Brandenburg must be vigilantly guarded; a door,
once cracked, easily can be pushed wide open. It would be a
sad day indeed if the creators of important artistic works with
profound impact on American thought and culture were forced
to expend considerable time and resources in court defending
lawsuits merely because a few aberrant individuals mimicked
the powerful scenes depicted. It would be sadder still if, due to
fear of tort liability, the most challenging, provocative and
dramatic parts of such works were left on the cutting room
floor.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, amici respectfully request
that the Court grant the petition on the merits or for purposes of
summarily reversing the Louisiana court of appeal’s decision.

Respectfully submitted,

WALTER E. DELLINGER
(COUNSEL OF REC ORD)
CRYSTAL NIX

O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP
555 13th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 383-5300

ROBERT C. VANDERET
O'MELVENY & MYERS LLP
400 South Hope Street

Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 430-6000

Counsel for Amici

HENRY L. BAUMANN
STEVEN A. BOOKSHESTER
1771 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 429-5430

Counsel for the National
Association of Broadcasters

February 5, 1999

DANIEL ROBBINS

15503 Ventura Boulevard
Encino, CA 91436

(818) 995-6600

Counsel for the Motion Picture
Association of America, Inc.

ANNE H. EGERTON
PATRICIA DUNCAN

3000 W. Alameda Avenue
Burbank, CA 91523

(818) 840-3508

Counsel for National
Broadcasting Company, Inc.

DANIEL L. BRENNER

NEAL M. GOLDBERG

1724 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 775-3664

Counsel for the National

Cable Television Association

APPENDIX

IN THE STATE COURT OF FULTON COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

MARGO MILLER, Individually,
and as Administratrix of the
Estate of Olin Miller.

Plaintiff, CIVIL ACTION
\ File No. 96vs!117599-}

WARNER BROTHERS, IN¢
TIME WARNER ENTER-
TAINMENT, L.P., TIME
WARNER, INC., WARNER
HOME VIDEO, INC., REGENC\
ENTERPRISES, INC.. IXTLAS
COPORATION, INC.. J.D
PRODUCTIONS, INC., ALCOR
FILMS, OLIVER STONE, RONNIE
BEASLEY AND ANGELA
CROSBY.

Defendants

ORDER

[his matter came before the Court for oral argument
on the motion to dismiss filed by Defendant Time Warner

» on its behalf and also on behalf

Entertainment Company, L.f
of Defendants Warner Home Video and Warner Brothers.

Having heard oral argument. considered the briefs and

2a

reviewed the file. the Motion is GRANTED and the case is
dismissed on the pleadings as to the above-named Defendants.

This lawsuit, as a matter of law, cannot meet the
requirements found in Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444
(1969). which protects statements except direct incitement to
imminent unlawful action. See Walt Disney Productions, Inc.,
v. Shannon, 247 Ga. 402 (1981).

Also, Plaintiff's allegations of subliminal flash frame
stimuli claim only that Defendants used them to intentionally
entice individuals to view the movie more than once so as to be
more profitable and to increase the effect of the movie's
message. Neither of these results, even if proven at trial, is
motionable. particularly in Georgia where the state constitution
is even broader than the First Amendment and where lawsuits
seeking to impose liability on speech are disfavored.

SO ORDERED, this 3rd day of December, 1996.

MELVIN K. WESTMORELAND, JUDGE
STATE COURT OF FULTON COUNTY

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1109%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
