# Opposition Brief — Foreman v. AS Mid-America, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1031%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1017

## Text

Shh
ria i

preme Court of the Unit

In The

October Term, 1998

ted

Petition For Writ Of Certiora

lo The Nebraska Supreme Court

+

IPPPOSTTION TO PETITION FOR
OF CERTIORARI

yv i

AN Iter ES

$25

eae ha ipa et 5 A I BRR
Ta) * "

—~ rc
m4
+
— d

Bi

ims breach of

,eturn t

ny s alleged promises of permanent e

| i] ase \VOILVII {
ro ) > ) r y m+ rit
1 appl i1t110n OF federal preemption |
PI t
' aad
irtes petitioners (collectively, “Plaintiff
:
) ] ] A
ploye of Respondent AS Mid-Amer:
;
1l-America or the ‘(¢ ompany no wor
pany during a strike in 1993. They filed
AAsA Am ri : ol cy "oy * rt + +} {
VI1G LITLE TICaA SCCKINS recovery rO! eat:

,

1 fallure to protect them from

Dy returning strikers. Their la
rth five separate claims for relief. The firs
ion asserts a breach of Plaintiffs’ third part)

i
rights under a strike settlement agreement
0 Work Resolution.” The

SECC ond

rts a breach of an oral contract based on

issment-free workplace The thir

fan implied unilateral
nt based on AS Mid-Americ:;

1s Rules Or

iffs’ fourth and fifth causes of a

| , }
‘7 sai + ror "or %et y ’ )
frauduient misrepresentation na intent
] |
f emotional distress respectively. |]
( ror tost r ¢ ] ( rut
l lal aistre
\ ‘
Vlid Amer’! f ]
fr Flaintiff Claims, on ti round that
\ | ) =
reempte 1 by the National Labor Relat
DA 2 Cans : ) ‘ T } N
NI NRA i and by YC CTIOI \ of the Labor Mar
; ’ A rn A
elations Act (“Section 30 \S Mid-Ameri
17 1 +} Tt Pp] wrtitt | } } , r ‘ .
, iu til ili titi ( | I ) ate

IITION FOR CERTIO

narassmen

he tT
ciple
ire rorn
In

ed fé
ult a i]
( np I

nt directe

wsult

t cause

vy benef
alled tl
Of | t}
the (

ment I

|

f
+
nt

through the grievance and arbitration procedure and

referred to an arbitrator. In one instance, discipline
imposed by the Company was upheld, and in three

instances the discipline was overturned.

Plaintiffs were all either strike replacements or cross-
overs (13 strike replacements; 1 crossover). Twelve of the
fourteen Plaintiffs resigned their employment sometime
after May 13, one was terminated for poor performance,
and one was laid off. Plaintiffs filed no grievances pro-
testing the Company’s alleged failure to shield them from
harassment. Nor did they file any unfair labor practice
charges with the National Labor Relations Board
(“NLRB”) protesting the alleged harassment by the
returning strikers or the Company’s alleged “ratification”

of that harassment.

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

I. The Nebraska Supreme Court’s Holding That Plain-
tiffs’ Oral Contract Claims Are Preempted Under
The Garmon Doctrine Does Not Warrant Review By
This Court

The first issue presented for review “is a variant of a
familiar theme.” San Diego Building Trades Council v. Gar-
mon, 359 U.S. 236, 239 (1959). Under what is commonly
referred to as the Garmon preemption doctrine, this Court

forbids state and local regulation of activities that are
“protected by § 7 of the [National Labor Relations Act], or
constitute an unfair labor practice under § 8.” Id. at 244.
See also 29 U.S.C. §§ 157, 158. The rationale behind Gar-

mon preemption is straightforward: allowing the states to

regulate conduct within “the central aim of federal regu-
lation involves too great a danger of conflict between
power asserted by Congress and requirements imposed
by state law.” Garmon, 359 U.S. at 244. “[T]he Garmon rule
prevents states not only from setting standards of con-
duct inconsistent with the substantive requirements of
the NLRA, but also from providing their own regulatory
or judicial remedies for conduct prohibited or arguably
prohibited by the Act.” Building & Trades Council v. Assoct
ated Builders, 507 U.S. 218, 225 (1993) (citing Wisconsin
Dept. of Industry v. Gould, Inc., 475 U.S. 282, 286 (1986))

“Garmon preemption prohibits regulation even of
activities that the NLRA only arguably protects or pro-
hibits.” Building & Construction Trades Council, 507 U.S. at
225 (emphasis in original). Thus, if the same facts sup-
porting a breach of an employment contract or tort claim
would arguably constitute an unfair labor practice under
the NLRA, state court jurisdiction must yield to the
NLRB. See Caterpillar v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 397-98
(1987). The critical inquiry in deciding whether a matter
is Garmon pre-empted is “whether the controversy pre-
sented to the state court is identical to... or different
from .. . that which could have been, but was not,
presented to the Labor Board.” Sears, Roebuck and Co. v.
San Diego County District Council of Carpenters, 436 U.S.
180, 197 (1978); accord Belknap, Inc. v. Hale, 463 U.S. 491,
510 (1983). Where the controversies are identical, as they
are here, state court jurisdiction is prohibited. Sears, 436
U.S. at 197

A. The Nebraska Supreme Court’s Garmon Pre-
emption Analysis Is Ill-Suited For Supreme
Court Review.

Over a span of ten pages, the Nebraska Supreme
Court carefully and thoroughly analyzed Garmon and its
progeny. (App. 12-22). In particular, the court found
guidance” from this Court’s decision in Belknap. (App.
14). As Plaintiffs concede, the court “examined the facts
of Belknap in detail.” (Pet. at 13). Based on its interpreta-
tion of Belknap, the Nebraska Supreme Court found that
Plaintiffs’ oral contract claims were preempted by the
NLRA. (App. 20)

Plaintiffs claim that the Nebraska Supreme Court’s
holding “is contrary to United States Supreme Court
precedent and policy on the preemption of replacement
workers’ state law claims by the National Labor Relations
Act” (Pet. at 8). A petition for writ of certiorari, however,
‘is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of
erroneous factual findings or the misapplication of a
properly stated rule of law.” S. Ct. R. 10. Yet, the
Nebraska Supreme Court’s purported misapplication of a
properly stated rule of law — namely, this Court’s Garmon
preemption rule as set forth in Belknap — is exactly what
Plaintiffs ask this Court to review. Supreme Court Rule 10
explicitly declares Plaintiffs’ claim to be inappropriate for

review by this Court.

B. The Nebraska Supreme Court’s Holding Faith-
fully Adhered To This Court’s Garmon Preemp-
tion Principles

Even if Plaintiffs’ oral contract claim was appropriate
for review, it is clear that the Nebraska Supreme Court
correctly applied this Court’s preemption doctrine to con-
clude that the NLRA preempted that claim. Section 7 of
the NLRA provides employees with the right to “refrain’
from union or concerted activities, including the right to
refuse to engage in a strike. See 29 U.S.C. § 157; Pattern
Makers’ League of North America v. NLRB, 473 U.S. 95, 101
(1985) (“[W]hen employee members of a union refuse to
support a strike ..., they are refraining from ‘concerted
activity “). Section 8(a)(1) in turn prohibits an employer
from interfering with an employee’s right to refrain from
engaging in such protected activities. See 29 U.S.C
§ 158(a)(1).7 That prohibition includes placing an affirma-
tive duty on an employer not to acquiesce in the subjuga

tion of one group of employees’ rights by another:

[t]he [NLRA] imposes an affirmative duty upon
an employer to insure that his obligations to
maintain discipline in the plant and to provide
his employees with the opportunity to work
without interference from their co-workers is
not delegated or surrendered to any union or

See also Oklahoma Allied Telephone Co., 210 N.L.R.B. 916,
921 (1974) (“[t}he statute means that the right to refrain from
union or concerted activities is as important as the right to
engage in union or concerted activities. For an employer
to interfere with the exercise of either right is equally
objectionable”).

iti-union group, and an employer who acqui

esces in the exclusion of employees from his

plant by such a group will be regarded as
having discriminated against the excluded
employees in violation of Section 8(a)(3)
Bond, 145
N.L.R.B. 99, 127 (1963), enf'd, 361 F.2d 8 (5th Cir. 1966),

|
|
i

ni A Division of Judy

ert. dented, 385 U.S. 842 (1966); see also Newport News

pbuilding, 236 N.L.R.B. 1499, 1509-09 (1978) (holding
that the employer violated Section 8(a)(2) of the Act by
acquiescing in, condoning, ratifying and failing to resist

the illegal acts and conduct of [union members]”).

Here, Plaintiffs claim that AS Mid-America failed to

protect them from the harassment and interference o

+

their co-workers, which resulted from Plaintiffs’ exercise
of their Section 7 right not to participate in the strike. As
the Board recognized in Newport News and Brewton Fash
ms, Section 8(a)(1) places an affirmative duty on the
Company not to acquiesce in the subjugation of Plaintiffs’

Section 7 rights by their co-workers.* Thus, the Nebraska

+ Plaintiffs’ attempts to distinguish Newport News and
I B

Brewton Fashions are unpersuasive. That neither case discussed
preemption or involved employees bringing state law claims
against their employer (PI. Pet. at 14-15) is hardly surprising, as
the NLRB does not hear state law claims. If anything, Plaintiffs’
observations merely confirm that their claims seek to impinge
on “the exclusive jurisdiction of the Board over matters
arguably within the reach of the Act.” Local 926, International
Union of Operating Engineers v. Jones, 460 U.S. 669, 680 (1983).
Moreover, while Plaintiffs argue that Newport News and Brewton

ashion merely address “controversies between competing
unions and their employer” (Pet. at 14), no such limitation is

ipparent from either of the Board’s holdings. Further, implying

Supreme Court correctly concluded that AS Mid-Amer
s “fail » to fulfill these pr Ss | -harassment|]
5 Talure to fulfill these promises |of non-harassment|]
1
i

ind/or the condonation of the acts committed by union

\

ficials is actually or arguably prohibited by the NLRA

[he Nebraska Supreme Court then addressed the

ritical inquiry: whether Plaintiffs’ claims are identical to
those that could have been presented to the NLRB. Sear

$36 U.S. at 197; Belknap, 463 U.S. at 510. As the Court
noted, AS Mid-America’s alleged failure to protect Plain
tiffs from harassment would, if proved, not only consti
tute a breach of an oral agreement, but also a violation of
federal labor law. (App. 22). See also Newport News, 2

NLRB at 1506-07; 29 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1). Moreover, “the

6

focus of the state law breach of contract action and NLRB
determinations would be the same whether AS Mid
America acted or failed to act such that its replacement
workers were subjected to harassment.” (App. 22). Where
the controversies are identical, as they are here, state
court jurisdiction must yield. Sears, 436 U.S. at 197
Belknap, 463 U.S. at 510. Thus, the Nebraska Supreme
Court’s conclusion that the NLRA preempted Plaintiffs’
oral contract claims is faithful to the analysis set forth in

Garmon and its progeny.

such a limitation would run counter to the language of the
NLRA, which makes it an unfair labor practice for an employer
‘to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in the exercise”
of rights protected under Section 7 of the Act. 29 U.S.¢

§ 158(a)(1)

XQ

( [The Nebraska Supreme Court Properly Con-
cluded Belknap Is Inapplicable On Its Facts

Despite this straightforward analvsis, Plaintiffs main
tain that the Nebraska Supreme Court disregarded this
Court’s holding in Belknap. To the contrary, the Nebraska
supreme Court found “guidance” from Belknap. (App
14). As even Plaintiffs grudgingly concede, the Nebraska
Supreme Court “examined the facts of Belknap in detail.”
(Pet. at 13). In Belkna

p, the employer promised its strike

eplacement workers that they would be retained beyond
the conclusion of the strike. Belknap, 463 U.S. at 494-95.
Indeed, strike replacements signed documents confirm-
ing that they we:2 permanently replacing striking
workers. Id. When the strike concluded, however, the
employer reneged on its commitment to the strike
replacements and laid them off in favor of the returning
strikers. Id. at 496. The laid off replacements sued for
breach of contract and misrepresentation.

In analyzing whether the replacement workers’
claims were preempted by Garmon, this Court reiterated
that the critical inquiry is “whether the controversy pre-
sented to the state court is identical with that which could
be presented to the [NLRB].” Belknap, 463 U.S. at 510.
Under the facts in Belknap, the focus of any NLRB pro-
ceeding would be whether the offer of permanent
employment to the replacements violated the Section 7
rights of the strikers to be reinstated at the conclusion of
an unfair labor practice strike. 463 U.S. at 509-10. Indeed,
the NLRA precludes the permanent replacement of unfair
labor practice strikers. See NLRB v. Mackay Radio & Tel.

Co., 304 U.S. 333 (1938). Conversely, the controversy

brought before the state court focused on whether the
discharge of the replacements at the end of the strike
violated the rights of the replacements. Thus, the contro
versies were very different, one focusing on the propriety
of hiring the replacements, and one focusing on the pro
priety of firing them. Significantly, the employer never
contended that the act of discharging the replacements
was an unfair labor practice. Accordingly, the Supreme
Court refused to apply the Garmon doctrine under those

racts.

The Nebraska Supreme Court correctly concluded
that the facts in Belknap are “distinguishable from those in
the case at bar.” (App. 20). Here, Plaintiffs were not
discharged or laid off at the conclusion of the strike as
occurred in Belknap. Moreover, the nature of the alleged
promise was different: “[i]n Belknap, Inc., the employer
promised the replacement workers nothing more than
permanent employment. In the instant case, AS Mid-
America promised the replacement workers not only per-
manent employment, but also protection from harass-
ment, discrimination and intimidation.” (App. 20).
Indeed, the gist of Plaintiffs’ complaint is that the Com-
pany allowed union employees to “conduct a campaign
of harassment and intimidation against permanent

replacement and cross-over workers.” (Pet. at 3-4).

Thus, unlike in Belknap, resolution of the “critical
inquiry” mandates preemption, because “the conduct at
issue or the controversy presented was identical to that
which could be presented to the NLRB.” (App. 19). See
also Belknap, 463 U.S. at 510. As the Nebraska Supreme

Court concluded:

The conduct attributed by ap} ellants to AS Mid

America the failure to protect its employees

from harassment — would be, if proved, both a
breach of the putative oral contract and a viola-
tion of federal labor law. Therefore, the focus of
the state law breach of contract action and
NLRB determinations would be the same
whether AS Mid-America acted or failed to act
such that its replacement workers were sub
jected to harassment. (App. 21-22).
In short, far from being in direct conflict with Belknap,
the Nebraska Supreme Court carefully distinguished
Belknap’s facts and applied Belknap’s holding to conclude

that the NLRA preempted Plaintiffs’ claims in this case.°

D. The Nebraska Supreme Court’s Preemption
Analysis Is Not Out-Dated

Citing to a footnote in Chief Justice Rehnquist's dis-
sent in Local 926, Int'l Union of Operating Engineers
Jones, 460 U.S. 669 (1983), Plaintiffs next argue that the
Nebraska Supreme Court’s preemption analysis is “out-
dated.” (Pet. at 15). That argument is entirely without
merit. In his Jones dissent, Chief Justice Rehnquist merely

observed that the preemption analysis set forth in Iron

> Indeed, the Nebraska Supreme Court concluded that
Plaintiffs’ fraudulent misrepresentation claim was not pre-
empted under Belknap because, unlike the breach of contract
claim, “maintaining a misrepresentation action would not
interfere with the NLRB’s determination of matters within its
jurisdiction and ...such an action is of no more than peripheral
concern to the NLRB and the federal labor law.” (App. 32).

hy

TA rT) ’ iake. |

Workers v. Perko, 373 U.S. 701 (1963), was no longer dis-
positive, because in Perko, “the mere fact that a state law
claim was based upon arguably prohibited conduct dic-
tated the conclusion that the state law claim was pre-
empted.” Jones, 460 U.S. at 685 n.2 (Rehnquist, J. dissent-
ing). Since then, the Court has emphasized that the criti-
cal inquiry in applying the Garmon rule “is whether the
controversy presented by the state court is identical with
that which could be presented to the Board.” Belknap, 463
U.S. at 510.

That is the exact analysis that the Nebraska Supreme
Court applied in this case to hold Plaintiffs’ claims pre-
empted. See App. 21-22 (“the conduct at issue and the
controversy presented is identical to that which would be
presented to the NLRB”). In fact, the Nebraska Supreme
Court does not even mention Perko in its decision. In
short, the court’s analysis is entirely consistent with cur-

rent Garmon preemption doctrine.

Plaintiffs also claim that the Nebraska Supreme

Court ignored the “overwhelming exceptions” to the Gar-

fon rule set forth in Sears and Farmer v. Carpenters, 430
U.S. 290 (1977). (Pet. at 16). That argument fundamentally
misconstrues the scope of Garmon preemption. The excep-
tions to the Garmon rule “serve only as more precise
demarcations of the scope of Garmon preemption. They
have not redefined the nature of that preemption in any
way.” International Longshoremen’s Association, AFL-CIO v.
Davis, 476 U.S. 380, 381 (1986) (emphasis added) (noting
that the rule is “[s]ubject to exception only in limited
circumstances,” Id. at 392-93); see also Brown v. Hotel &

Restaurant Employees & Bartenders Int'l Union Local 54, 468

U.S. 491, 502 (1984) (“a presumption of federal preemp-

tion applies even when the state law regulates conduct
only arguably protected by federal law” and that this
presumption “properly admits to exception when
unusually ‘deeply rooted’ local interests are at stake”)

(emphasis added).

Moreover, both Sears and Farmer are inapposite. In
Sears, “the state court action was for trespass. It chal-
lenged only the location of the Union picketing. The
unfair labor practice charge, however, would have
focused on whether the picketing had recognitional or
work reassignment objectives, issues ‘completely unre-
lated to the simple question whether a trespass had
Jones, 460 U.S. at 682-83 (citing to Sears, 436

yw

occurred
U.S. at 198).

Similarly, in Farmer, a union member brought an
action for intentional infliction of emotional distress
against the union and its officers, claiming that he was
subjected to a campaign of personal abuse and harass-
ment in addition to continued discrimination in referrals
from the hiring hall. 430 U.S. at 292. This Court held that
the NLRA did not preempt the intentional infliction
claim, because the focus of any unfair labor practice
proceeding “would be on whether the statements or con-
duct on the part of Union officials discriminated or
threatened discrimination against him in employment
referrals for reasons other than failure to pay Union
dues.” Id. at 304. By contrast, whether the union officers’
statements or conduct also caused the plaintiff emotional

distress and physical injury “would play no role in the

Board’s disposition of the case, and the Board could not

award [plaintiff] damages for pain, suffering, or medical
expenses.” I[d.°

[hus, in both Sears and Farmer, the controversies
were not identical, and preemption was unnecessary. By
contrast, as the Nebraska Supreme Court observed here,
“the focus of the state law breach of contract action and
NLRB determinations would be the same - whether AS
Mid-America acted or failed to act such that its replace-
ment workers were subjected to harassment.” (App. 22).
[herefore, the threat of creating inconsistent obligations
under state and federal law is very real. In their com-
plaints, Plaintiffs specifically contend that the Company
breached a contract and acted tortiously by, among other
things, allowing union members “to come to work wear-
ing union T-shirts,” affix union bumper stickers to their
(the union members) cars, etc. Plaintiffs seek to have a
state court jury award them damages based on these
allegedly wrongful acts. In fact, AS Mid-America would
have clearly violated federal labor law had it forbidden
or disciplined union members for wearing union T-shirts
or placing union bumper stickers on their cars. See
Escanaba Paper Co., 314 N.L.R.B. 732, 733 (1994) (employ-
ees wearing I[-shirts or buttons stating “No Scabs” pro-
tected by Section 7 of the NLRA). Avoiding this exact
type of situation is precisely the reason the Garmon doc-
trine was recognized by the United States Supreme Court,
and requires the dismissal of Plaintiffs’ claims. Therefore,

6 Significantly, the Nebraska Supreme Court did not
conclude that Plaintiffs’ intentional infliction claims in this case
were preempted, but instead held that they failed to state a

cognizable claim under state law. (App. 32-33).

lS

unlike in Sears and Farmer, the danger of creating state
law obligations which conflict with the federal scheme is
overriding, and placing the controversy solely within the

jurisdiction of the NLRB is necessary.’

Finally, Plaintiffs claim that they seek “monetary
damages which the Board cannot provide.” (Pet. at 19). In
fact, however, the Board is entitled to provide employees
with back pay relief, the very kind of monetary damages
that Plaintiffs could obtain in their breach of contract
claim. See generally 29 U.S.C. § 160. Regardless, “since
remedies form an ingredient of any integrated scheme of
regulation, to allow the State to grant a remedy here
which has been withheld from the National Labor Rela-
tions Board only accentuates the danger of conflict.” Gar
mon, 359 U.S. at 247, 79 S. Ct. at 781. See also Jones, 460
U.S. at 684, 103 S. Ct. at 1463 (rejecting plaintiff’s argu-
ment that he should be permitted to go forward in the
state court because he could be awarded punitive dam-
ages and attorneys’ fees, whereas he would be limited to
backpay if his complaint had gone forward before the
Board). Moreover, Plaintiffs had the option of seeking

broader remedies by filing suit against those they claim

7 Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers of America, Local 114,
383 U.S. 53 (1966), has no bearing on this case. In Linn, this
Court held that a state action for malicious libel in the course of
a labor dispute was not preempted, because the malicious
publication of libelous statements does not in and of itself
constitute an unfair labor practice. Id. at 63. Moreover, while
such statements arguably could constitute a violation of Section
8 of the NLRA, the Board would look only to the coercive or
misleading nature of the statements rather than their
defamatory quality. Jd. Thus, unlike here, the focus of the state
and Board proceedings would not be the same.

19

perpetrated acts of violence and intimidation against
them. Their decision to forego such suits does not exempt
them from the application of the Garmon preemption
doctrine in the lawsuit they chose to file against their

former employer.

Il. The Nebraska Supreme Court’s Conclusion That
Section 301 Pre-Empts Plaintiffs’ Third Party Bene-
ficiary Claim Is Unremarkable And In Accord With
Longstanding Supreme Court Precedent

As a second reason for granting the writ, Plaintiffs
argue that whether their breach of contract claims survive
preemption under Section 301 “is an issue which has not
yet been decided by this Court.” (Pet. at 21). To the
contrary, this Court has long held that Section 301 pre-
empts breach of contract claims arising out of a strike
settlement agreement, such as the Return to Work Resolu-
tion in this case.

Section 301 specifically vests the federal courts with
subject matter jurisdiction over “[s]uits for violation of
contracts between an employer and a labor organization
representing employees in an industry affecting com-
merce...” 29 U.S.C. § 185. To avoid the potential for
creating inconsistent obligations under state and federal
law, federal law must be applied to suits involving con-
tracts covered by Section 301. See Textile Workers Union v.
Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 456 (1957) (“[T]he substantive
law to apply in suits under Section 301 is federal law,
which the courts must fashion from the policy of our

national labor laws.”)

~ ; } , ~ 40 | My es rT
{ : i j ‘ : j
t ( ourt heid that strike ettlement agreement I
rntr + het PPT nemplover! ma ; lahor { reanizat
i to 4 ¥ it it Ait i y Ai’ 4 cat << | aa: i
7 ‘ 4 y J }
tnin the 1eaning of Section 301. In LUry ( tne
mpiovyer na its union negotiated a Strike settleme
reement which ntained non-discrimination pr
, | 1 rhitrat . rT n nererninog ] m11t
on and an arDitration provision concerning dispu
| 4] , '
n inder the strike settlement agreement
¢ ) { A > 7 } ee | . 4
>. at 20 n.4 . dispute arose under the strike settle
: eer ioe Uae ae ee | ee
ent agreement and the parties arbitrated that disput
a } a A 10 }
it 23. Subsequently, the employer refused to abide |
ie arbitration award and the union filed suit under:
2()1 ld ] . , . ha tr; t
ection 301. Id. The union argued that the strike settle
— . . : 7. . ‘ . -
nent agreement constituted a contract for purposes
section 1. Conversely, the employer argued that «
tain t é I yntract collective bargainin I
P| f ‘ ‘ ‘ ECT - 4 ‘ ar
} 4 ] f |
Ve find, then, fron read f the wi
te latior 1 in cor
,] ‘ A } ] ’ } ’ - , lor
[ ii¢ sla it¢ ‘ Oi ( i l i ¢ Cel
1} | Tt rrye Te. | pased IDOI thy ¢ (
‘ { 4 a ott - ent
: f

NI

Furthermore, the statute’s purpose would be
defeated by excluding such contracts from
“contracts” cognizable under § 301(a). If this
kind of strike settlement were not enforceable in
§ 301(a), responsibie and stable labor relations
would suffer, and the attainment of the labor
policy objective of minimizing disruption of
interstate commerce would be made more diffi-
cult. It is no answer that in a particular case the
agreement might be enforceable in state courts
a main goal of § 301 was precisely to end
‘checkerboard jurisdiction.’

at 27 (internal citations omitted)

Therefore, the Nebraska Supreme Court’s conclusion
that Section 301 preempted Plaintiffs’ third party bene
ficiary claims under the Return to Work Resolution
merely constituted a straightforward application of Lion

ry Goods’ holding:

In the instant case, as in Lion Dry Goods, a labo
strike ensued and a mutual agreement was
reached, intending to return working conditions
to normal. As in Lion Dry Goods, the return to
work resolution was a mutual agreement that
AS Mid-America and union members negotiated
and agreed upon, which essentiaily ended the
strike and returned working conditions to nor-
mal. Just as in Lion Dry Goods, the return to
work resolution addressed several issues signifi
cant to reestablishing and maintaining indus
trial peace, such as seniority, job classification,
and job placement. The return to work resolu-
tion also provided mechanisms for resolving

number of other issues, such as layoffs, over
]

lesa
lures, and snl

time, vacations, grievance proces

umping. (App. 25-26)

> / , J o/ ”
, ; = a +~ ° x — > , ,
r he > . ee 4 ——-.. -
. e . ~ a — ~ . “ c me = > ;
. - > b - = fy oie 2
‘ - : ~ , 4} J 4 ,
+ 7. P ae a —~ i I ;
P - 2 “ - U - S 3 is
~ 4 , ~ r
+ _—~ e ie ve ra -
— § . — ~~ Ss v aioe ae
" . - f , - p ~~ =
me J J , >
+ iJ 1 — 4 - 4 Aut + f ~ 1 -
/ : J Pa J ' , 4 oo >
; 7 - > - . ‘ > n 4 - f ¥ J “ z .
“ - —_ , U 1 J +- ev eo" c
> - = ™ a b ~ ~ — -
J - r -- — “ Sf “ > aa A 1
> © > = a - + r s
_ , < - ) , .
> _ - < . / . 5 ‘ 4
,

Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107 (1994), they contend that
Section 301’s preemption principles are limited to thi

policy of preserving the effectiveness of arbitratior

>

1uses in collective bargaining agreements. (Pet t
1-25). Thus, they argue, because they are “nonunion
mplovee vho were not parties t llecti t Tall
mpioyees who were Not partieS TO a COLleCctlvVe \arvall
igreement, their state law claims are not arbitrable
’ } ) } | "
1 snoulad be resolved undet tate law Pet {
1 } , : ,
Plaintiffs fundamentally misunderstand the pri

ples behind Section 301 preemption. Nothing in Liva
limits the scope of Section 301 preemption to enforcemen
of arbitration provisions. Rather, Livadas re affirmed th
the preemption rule applies to assure that state laws di
not determine “questions relating to what the parties t

bor agreement agreed and what legal consequence

, ' ’ ,
{ ‘ ee '
ere intended to tlow from breaches of that agreeme!
. ee Ee ¢ Bb. » } ; 1+
das, 512 U.S. at 12. , (internal citations omiutte
: , , ’ + '
us, Plaintiff status aS NONUNION MembDerss 1S Iirrels I
, th NMreemption analveis< ther t j th , } ,
( itt preeir} CLON anal VSIS ratiiel l iS Lilé i Kul
; } { | . yh t +} ;
claim, as ‘independent’ of rights under the collect
, ;,
¥ . , |
raining agreement that decides whether
|
e of action ma\ oO forward
{ mnh \aded ' bene bt
. ¢ i | ‘ if i t
] = +, tf . rn ’ } ] +}
| ] |
endant nad willfully failed to p ner [ mpt l
ince, in violation of California State iw. ins ( urt {
' ;
it there wa 1ispute over the amount of the penalt t
th ry ntiftf Id kh intitle s+ 7 Tt retor
‘ he pialn I lid De en eda i } I nere
d the« >in ple 1eed to reter t¢ I irgained-for Vare r te
1 1?
mt boy c thy< ryé rif tne | + é r ro ' T ‘ } é rie
+ + +} ‘ YY + +} 7 , ' , ;

¥ »'
C |
Ly
ist Mo
1]

(

ON (¢

LUSION

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_1031%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
