# Reply Brief — City of Los Angeles v. Ali

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_0950%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 827

## Text

Supreme Cvart, U.S.
FILED
2. )
~A AUG 15 2000
No. 99-2084
CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

+

THE CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

Petitioner,

SYED MOUZZAM ALI,
Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The California Court Of Appeal

¢

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

¢

James K. Haun, City Attorney
CraupiA McGee Henry,
Senior Assistant City Attorney
Counsel of Record
MICHAEL L. KLEKNER,
Deputy City Attorney
1800 City Hall East
200 N. Main Street
Los Angeles, California 9001
(213) 485-5419

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

1
I

THE RECORD IN THIS CASE SHOWS THAT THE
PRESENT FEDERAL ISSUES WERE DECIDED BY THE
CALIFORNIA COURTS

Despite Respondent’s argument to the contrary, juris-
diction is conferred upon the United States Supreme
Court to review the federal questions presented in the
within Petition for Writ of Certiorari pursuant to 28
U.S.C.A. § 1257(a).

In the present case, it is eminently clear that the
California Court of Appeal decided a federal question in
determining that there had been a temporary regulatory
taking for which just compensation must be paid.

Citing decisions of this court, the trial judge, Califor-
nia Superior Court Judge Crispo, found that there had
been a regulatory taking for which just compensation
must be paid. He ruled as follows:

“A taking of property occurs when a govern-
ment regulation eliminates the economic via-
bility of property to its owner. Lucas v. South
Carolina Coastal Council (1992), 505 U.S. 1003... .
When a taking occurs, the government must pay

just compensation to the property owner. U.S.

Const., Amend V. Just compensation is required

even if the taking is a temporary one. First

English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v.

County of Los Angeles (1987) 482 U.S. 304.” (App.

30)

The California Superior Court Judge Crispo further
explained the basis of his finding of a regulatory taking
by writing:

“Regulatory taking: The denial of Ali’s applica-

tion for a demolition permit pursuant to the

City’s Rent Stabilization Ordinance (“RSO”)

constituted a regulatory taking. A regulatory

taking occurs when an ordinance ‘does not sub-
stantially advance legitimate state interests or

2

denies an owner economically viable use of his .
land.’ Agins v. City of Tiburon (1980) 447 U.S. 255,
260.

The City’s initial designation of the Ferraro
as an SRO was erroneous. The SRO ordinance
prevented the immediate demolition of the Fer-
raro.” (App. 31)

The City appealed this decision to the California
Court of Appeal. (App. 119-123). The Court of Appeal
rejected the City’s arguments. The California Court of
Appeal made it clear that its decision would be based on
its understanding of this Court’s decisions by stating:

“In First Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles County
(1987) 482 U.S. 304, (hereafter First English) the
Supreme Court indicated that a governmental
regulation which deprives a landowner of all
economically viable use of the land may consti-
tute a regulatory taking of property which
requires just compensation under federal consti-
tutional law. (Id. at pp. 312-313.) This is consis-
tent with the United States Supreme Court's
pronouncements both before and after First
English. (See Agins v. City of Tiburon (1980) 447
U.S. 255, 260, (citation)... ” (App. 6)
The California Court of Appeal then explained its
understanding of First English by stating as follows:
The court in First English indicated two circum-
stances in which such a temporary denial of all
use of the property would not require compen-
sation: (1) the denial of use was required for
public safety reasons (citation), or (2) the tempo-
rary deprivation was merely a normal delay in
the permissible regulation of development.
(citation.)” (App. 6-7)

After discussing this precedent and cases applying it,
the California Court of Appeal held that:

“(T]he delay in demolition caused by the erro-
neous enforcement of the SRO ordinance despite

3

the prohibitions of the Ellis Act was not a “nor-
mal” delay in the development process. Because
the delay temporarily deprived Ali of all use of
his property and was not a normal delay in the
development process, it was a temporary regu-
latory taking which required compensation
under First English. Judge Crispo correctly
awarded a judgment in favor of Ali in inverse
condemnation.” (App. 14)

A petition for review was filed with the California
Supreme Court. App. J. The City’s Petition for Review to
the California Supreme Court explicitly tendered the fol-
lowing questions:

“Is a landowner entitled to damages for a regu--
latory taking based on a non-final decision
reversed by the government agency through its
own development approval process?

May a landowner pursue damages for a regula-

tory taking without first succeeding in setting

aside the government agency’s decision through

a judicial determination in a mandamus pro-

ceeding?

Can an action of a government agency that

exceeds its statutory authority be a compensable

taking?” (App. 56-57)

The order of the California Supreme Court denying
the Petition for Review was entered on March 29, 2000.
(App. F)

Although worded differently the questions now
before the Court raised the same federal issue, i.e., has
there been a temporary regulatory taking for which just
compensation must be paid?

4
Il

JUDGE CRISPO’S FINDINGS OF FACT ARE RELE-
VANT TO RESPONDENT’S REGULATORY TAKINGS
THEORY

It is undisputed by the parties that there was a delay
in the issuance of a demolition permit between January
1989 and August 1990. The development approval pro-
cess in this case centered around a dispute over the
correct classification of the Ferraro Hotel. Once Ali dem-
onstrated that there had been a misclassification by
exhausting his administrative remedies, the City gave
him the requested permit.

At trial, Judge Crispo, as the trier of fact, found as an
historical fact that this delay was due to a misclassifica-
tion of the property. Judge Crispo based his finding of a
regulatory taking solely on the fact that the City had
mistakenly misclassified the hotel. Judge Crispo, in ruling
on Ali’s cause of action for inverse condemnation found
that: “The City’s initial designation of the Ferraro as an
SRO was erroneous. The SRO ordinance prevented the
immediate demolition of the Ferraro... .” (App. 31).

He did not criticize the City for acting in bad faith or
in an arbitrary manner. Indeed, Judge Crispo made the
following findings about the character of the City’s
actions:

“(T]he City’s actions were not oppressive nor do
they shock the conscience. While the actions of
the City’s employees were negligently per-
formed, there is no credible evidence that they
deliberately sought to deprive Mr. Ali of his due
process rights. On the contrary, the court finds
that they acted in good faith. Finally, the City’s
action, though misguided, was an attempt to
further legitimate interests in protecting both its
zoning integrity and the public.” (App. 24-25)
Despite these findings of fact the California Court of
Appeal held that “ . . . the position taken by the City was

5

so unreasonable from a legal standpoint as to be arbi-
trary, not in furtherance of any legitimate governmental
objective, and for no other purpose than to delay any
development other than for an SRO hotel. Therefore the
delay in demolition of the hotel was a temporary regula-
tory taking requiring compensation.” (internal quotes
omitted) (App. 13)

This finding is in direct conflict with that of the trier
of fact. It appears to be the view of the California Court
of Appeal that the obligation to provide just compensa-
tion can be triggered by governmental error even in the
absence of any due process violations. Judge Crispo
expressly found that the City acted in good faith in an
attempt to protect both its zoning integrity and the pub-
lic. Neither policy nor precedent support a finding that
just compensation must be paid under such circum-
stances.

CONCLUSION

For these and all the above reasons the petition for a
writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

James K. Hann, City Attorney
Craupia McGee Henry,

Sr. Assistant City Attorney
MiIcHAEL L. KLEKNER,

Deputy City Attorney

Attorneys for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_0950%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
