# Amicus Curiae Brief — Alexandria Historical Restoration & Preservation Commission v. Federal Highway Administration

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_0824%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 820

## Text

Ce
No. 99-1947

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

S

ALEXANDRIA HISTORICAL RESTORATION AND
PRESERVATION COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

V.

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION, ET AL.,

Respondents.
+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeal

For The District Of Columbia Circuit
*

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE COMMONWEALTH
OF VIRGINIA IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION
¢

Mark L. Eartey
Attorney General of Virginia

WriiuraM H. Hurp*
Solicitor General

JuprrH WituiaMs JAGDMANN
Deputy Attorney General

RicHARD L. WALTON, Jr.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

SUZANNE T. ELLISON
ANTHONY P. MEREDITH
VaceriE L. Myers

Assistant Attorneys General

Office of the Attorney General
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2436

“Counsel of Record

Z\pe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE................. 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 2
IE ss nso viva nasi ccavinenccsdaseetartuscdeas acs 2

I. THE PETITION IS BASED ON A THEORY CON-
TRARY TO THE LAW AND UNSUPPORTED BY

SE ES a RA RAT Bs RS EASASSERER SADR EOE 3

A. Congress Has Mandated a Twelve-Lane
SOME ha SU caculs Seek eR Oe eis eadasaKeN aia: 3

B. A Ten-Lane Bridge is Both Inferior and Inad-
CEPT RTT? TET rere Teer er ee sie 4
eR Ter Tee 4
RE OTe eee COLTER TCL ETT EE 5
2. - SPORES Levels Bh BORD . on wea cvscscicowees 6
4. Environmental Impact.................. 9

II. THE DECISION BELOW DOES NOT CREATE A
gti oe Be ffs ee errr rere 11

A. The Decision Below Is Consistent With The
I ec eae ek ies 12

B. The Decision Below Is Consistent With The
I en a e cen ewe's 15

CAPER Snchas ware anneh £64504 Kean d Knanseesas 17

li

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Citizens Against Burlington v. Busey, 938 F.2d 190

(OL). Co BORE). os ci Vinnie ekeeieaeeesett 14, 15
City of Alexandria v. Rodney Slater, 198 F.3d 862

Cia4,.. CA Ss s ss kknsaaeuenuevan hee caeeee passim
North Buckhead Civic Ass‘n v. Skinner, 903 F.2d 1533

(23Ge Cie, TONG. cei cecnsnss siete ii, 36, 16
Simmons v. United States Army Corps of Eng’rs, 120 ~

RSe 666 (Un Cie: BPR) s «sc ssvannseinaeneee 14, 32, 15
Van Abbema v. Fornell, 807 F.2d 633 (7th Cir.

SIBB) vo oss inn eke ch ewe anag tenes 11, 12, 14
FEDERAL STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
40 CER. § 1902.36 ...56553.81 eee eee 11
43 USC. § GOORIN) ni oie etxicke ce ee ee 11
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (42

U.S.C. § 4522 ot e006)... cscccvcscssGiceebaeenee 3
National Highway System Designation Act of

1995, Pub. L. No. 104-59 § 402, 109 Stat. 568

(1996) 20s ccc cstacddees cast seewew eee eeaeae eas 7
Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century,

Pub. L. No. 150-107 § 1116(a)(2), 112 Stat. 107

(T99G) 2... sss cdwe ccseesdssd0eknk cena eae 3

emcee Se TO a A

INTERESTS OF AMICUS CURIAE,
THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

This case involves a dispute over the replacement of
the Woodrow Wilson Bridge across the Potomac River.
The bridge is a major crossing between Virginia and
Maryland and a vital link in the Interstate highway sys-
tem along the East Coast. Built forty years ago, the bridge
is steadily deteriorating beneath traffic that far exceeds
what it was designed to accommodate. Indeed, the bridge
is weakening so rapidly that, four years from now, it will
be structurally unsound. Everyone agrees that a new
bridge is needed. Replacement plans have been studied
and discussed for more than a decade. But there is still a
dispute: should the new bridge have twelve lanes, as the
Federal Highway Administration has decided? Or, should
it have only ten, as petitioners would prefer?

Virginia is keenly interested in making sure that the
bridge is replaced by a modern structure designed to
accommodate foreseeable increases in traffic. Moreover, it
is extremely important to Virginia for replacement to
occur in time to avoid the calamity of bridge closure, or
the expense and additional congestion of extensive repair.
These objectives can be achieved if construction of a new,
twelve-lane bridge can begin promptly. But, they will not
be achieved if only ten lanes are built, or if bridge plan-
ners are required to delay construction until yet another
round of studies can be completed. For these reasons, the
Commonwealth of Virginia is vitally affected by the out-
come of this case and urges the Court to deny the petition
for writ of certiorari.

- oe eee eer me

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
Summary

When this litigation began, the lead plaintiff was the
City of Alexandria and an array of issues were raised.
Now, the City has resolved its claims by settlement and,
for the plaintiffs who remain, only one issue is left -
whether their preference for a ten-lane bridge is entitled
to more study. It is an issue without merit.

The petition is based on two fundamental errors.
First, the petition is based on the theory that a ten-lane
bridge would be just as good as one with twelve lanes,
and that, consequently, more time should be spent study-
ing a ten-lane option. The theory is faulty. It is contrary to
the law and unsupported by the record. Congress has
mandated a twelve-lane bridge. Even without such a
mandate, it is clear from the record that a ten-lane bridge
is both inferior and inadequate. Such a structure could
not accommodate the increased volume of rush hour
traffic projected for 2020, only a few years after comple-
tion of construction.

Second, petitioners perceive a split in the circuits
where there is none. No circuit has required an agency to
_ study options that do not satisfy the objectives with |
which it has been tasked. No circuit would regard delib-
erate obsolescence as a reasonable option, especially for a
project that will cost well over a billion dollars and that,
if designed right, should last for decades. The petition
does not present an issue worthy of certiorari.

*

eS...”

I. THE PETITION IS BASED ON A THEORY CON-
TRARY TO THE LAW AND UNSUPPORTED BY
THE RECORD.

A. Congress Has Mandated A Twelve-Lane Bridge.

Congress has determined that the twelve-lane alter-
native selected by the Federal Highway Administration
(“the Administration”) shall be constructed. In 1998, Con-
gress amended the Woodrow Wilson Memorial Bridge
Authority Act of 1995. In so doing, it deleted earlier
language regarding determination of alternatives for this
project and explicitly defined the “project” to be “the
selected alternative described in the record of decision
executed by the Secretary [of Transportation] in compli-
ance with the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969
(42 U.S.C. § 4321 et seq.).” Transportation Equity Act for
the 21st Century, Pub. L. No. 105-178, § 1116(a)(2), 112
Stat. 107, 158 (1998). The alternative described by the
Secretary is the twelve-lane bridge. Thus, Congress has
now made the determination that the twelve lane alterna-
tive is the one to be constructed.

This congressional decision is also reflected in parts
of the same legislation providing for an agreement
between the federal government and the affected States:
“[The agreement shall] require that - the Project include
not more than 12 traffic lanes, including 8 general pur-
pose lanes, 2 merging/diverging lanes, and 2 high occu-
pancy vehicle, express bus, or rail lanes.” Id. at
§ 1116(c)(2)(C)(i), 112 Stat. at 159. Considered in isolation,
the reference to “not more than 12 traffic lanes” could be
read as leaving open the option of a smaller bridge; but,
by specifying exactly how many lanes of each type are to

be built, Congress foreclosed that option. Added together,
the various lanes total twelve. Congress has plainly man-
dated a bridge of twelve lanes, no more and no less. The
Court need go no further.

B. A Ten-Lane Bridge Is Both Inferior And Inade-
quate.

Even if Congress had not so acted, the petition would
still rest on a faulty theory. In pressing their case for a
ten-lane bridge, Petitioners make four claims. They say
that “a ten-lane crossing would [1] eliminate structural
concerns about the existing bridge, [2] sharply reduce the
safety problems, [3] remove the current bottleneck, and
substantially deal with projected traffic levels even
twenty years hence, while [4] having far fewer adverse
environmental effects.” Pet. at 12. All of these claims are
either wrong or irrelevant.

1. Structural Concerns. Any new bridge - if built in
time - would remedy the structural problems that plague
the existing bridge. But, that is not an argument in favor
of ten lanes any more than it would be an argument in
favor of six or eight lanes. Moreover, structural problems
with the existing bridge argue against granting the peti-
tion. This is so for at least two reasons. First, there is the
concern about timeliness. As petitioners apparently rec-
ognize, the existing bridge cannot last much longer with-
out major repairs that would further snarl traffic and cost
millions of dollars. While such repairs would be unavoid-
able, the money to pay for them would be largely wasted
since a new bridge — of whatever size - would presuma-
bly replace the old one just a few years after the repairs

were made. Such adverse consequences weigh heavily
against granting certiorari in this case.

Second, Virginia is concerned about structural prob-
lems arising in the new bridge if it is built too small.
Much of the structural inadequacy of the existing bridge
can be traced to the fact that the bridge has been forced to
carry far more traffic than it was designed to accommo-
date. Completed in 1961, the design capacity of the
bridge is 75,000 vehicles per day, a volume that was
surpassed in the early 1970’s and that is only a fraction of
today’s traffic count, 200,000 vehicles per day. As a result,
the bridge wore out far sooner than expected. Building a
new bridge that is inadequate to meet projected volumes
invites a repetition of this problem. Moreover, building
twelve lanes rather than ten will allow two lanes to be
dedicated to high occupancy vehicles (known in beltway
parlance as “HOV’s”) or mass transit, thereby encourag-
ing a reduction in the total number of vehicles crossing
the bridge.1 Fewer vehicles mean less structural stress
and consequently less damage. In short, structural con-
cerns argue for a twelve-lane bridge and against granting
certiorari.

2. Safety. The arguments about safety mirror those
about structural concerns. Any new bridge - if built in
time — would remedy the safety problems that plague the
existing bridge. But, that is not an argument in favor of

1 Federal Highway Administration, U.S. Dep’t of Transp.,
et al., Woodrow Wilson Bridge Improvement Study, Final
Environmental Impact Statement (“Final EIS”), § 4(f)
Evaluation. DC005053:2. References in this brief to “DC” and
“SA” refer to the administrative record.

ten lanes. Indeed, safety problems with the existing
bridge argue against granting the petition. First, the
longer a new bridge is delayed, the longer motorists will
be exposed to the traffic hazards of the overcrowded
bridge they now must use. Those hazards would increase
with the increased congestion that repairs to the existing
bridge would cause. Second, as the court of appeals rec-
ognized, a twelve-lane bridge would be safer than one
with only ten lanes. City of Alexandria v. Rodney Slater, 198
F.3d 862, 868 (D.C. Cir. 1999) (Pet. App. 9a-10a) (“accident
rates would also be markedly higher on a ten-lane struc-
ture”). This decision supports the Administration’s deci-
sion to eliminate a ten-lane option. As its study showed,
such a bridge would be “insufficient from a functional,
safety, and operational standpoint.” Final EIS, § 4(f) Eval-
uation; Vol. 1, p. 2-43 (emphasis added).?

3. Traffic Levels in 2020. Petitioners claim - incor-
rectly — that a ten-lane bridge would “substantially” deal

2 The accident rate on the existing bridge is 153.5 accidents
per million vehicle miles (“mvm”). DC003296:5-31. This is
double the rate of other area highways. DC005052.3-3 to 3-32. 1
Twelve lanes would reduce this rate to fewer than 100 accidents
per mvm, while the accident rate for ten lanes would be
between 125 to 150 per mvm. DC003296:5-31. Moreover, a !
twelve-lane bridge would allow the separation of local traffic
from express traffic in a way that ensures that no vehicle would
ever be more than one lane away from a shoulder. This increases
safety for motorists, DC005053:2-27, and improves response
time for emergency vehicles. DC003296:5-29. These benefits
would be lost with a ten-lane bridge, since separation of local
and express traffic would not be feasible.

——oEOEOE

with traffic in 2020.3 Repeating the error of the district
court, they fail to focus on the demands of rush hour. As
the court of appeals recognized, the district court

ignored this data, instead focusing exclusively
on an Administration study showing that a ten-
lane bridge would be able to accommodate up to
295,000 vehicles per day, a number only slightly
smaller than the projected daily traffic flow on
the bridge in 2020. But that study apparently
assumed an even flow of traffic throughout the
day (which, of course, is unrealistic). Whatever
the total number of vehicles that will cross in a 24
hour period, the relevant question is how long dur-
ing peak commuting hours it will take to cross the
bridge.

Alexandria, 198 F.3d at 868 (Pet. App. 11a) (emphasis
added).4

3 The relevance of the year 2020 arises, not only from the
fact that it is now just a few years away, but also from the fact
that Congress has made findings of fact about traffic problems
at the bridge, focusing on the year 2020:

“4

. the volume of traffic in the metropolitan
Washington, D.C., area is expected to increase by
more than 70 percent between 1990 and 2020 [and] the
deterioration of the Woodrow Wilson Memorial
Bridge and the growing population of the
metropolitan Washington, D.C., area contribute
significantly to traffic congestion .. . ”

National Highway System Designation Act Of 1995, Pub. L. No.
104-59, § 402, 109 Stat. 568, 627 (1995).

4 The Administration later refined its projected daily
traffic flow for 2020, reducing the number down to 295,000 from
an earlier figure that was somewhat higher.

Petitioners nonetheless cling to this inappropriate
focus on 295,000 cars, hoping to downplay the great
advantages that a twelve-lane bridge would have at rush
hour. Pet. at 13. These advantages are shown by the
following:

e With twelve lanes, rush hour would last a
few hours twice a day; with ten lanes, rush
hour in each direction could persist for up to
fourteen hours. DC005053:figs.3-5,
DC003296:figs. 4-7 and 4-8.

e With twelve lanes, the queues to enter the
Beltway from Route 1 would be backed up
for two lane miles; with ten lanes, the queues
at Route 1 during evening rush hour would
honeycomb through Old Town Alexandria
for thirty-five lane miles. S5A002869;
DC003718.

e With twelve lanes, express lanes would be
free flowing even during rush hour while the
back-up in the local lanes would be two to
three miles long. With ten lanes, there would
be no express lanes and the rush hour queue
would extend from three to six miles on the
average weekday and several miles longer
on days with accidents or breakdowns.
DC003718; DC003291; DC003296:5-32 and
4-25.

e With twelve lanes, the total daytime delay
would be 5,800 vehicle hours per day; with
ten lanes, the delay would range from 9,500
to 10,700 vehicle hours per day. DC003718;
DC003296:5-32.

e With twelve lanes, a vehicle in the express
lanes during rush hour could travel through

9

a five-mile corridor in only six minutes (an
average speed of about 50 m.p.h.). In the
local lanes, it would take 10 - 15 minutes
(averaging 20 to 30 m.p.h.). DC003718;
DC005053:4-16. By contrast, with ten lanes, it
would take all traffic over twenty minutes to
travel through that same five-mile corridor
(an average of only about 15 m.p.h.).
DC003718; DC003296:5-30; DC005053:4-143.

In sum, as the D.C. Circuit concluded, “[t]he Admin-
istration’s studies show that [Petitioner’s] preferred
design (a ten-lane configuration without an HOV lane)
would be able to accommodate less than half of the per hour
capacity of the Administration’s preferred alternative,
causing peak-hour traffic queues of significantly greater
length and extended duration ...” Alexandria, 198 F.3d at
868 (Pet. App. lla). While these concerns would not
become acute until 2020, that day is not far away. Indeed,
it would be, at most, only sixteen years after the comple-
tion of new construction. To build a major bridge so
forseeably obsolete is poor stewardship of the public
trust and not a “reasonable alternative” to the twelve-
lane structure that petitioners seek to block.

4. Environmental Impact. Petitioners also claim
that a ten-lane bridge would have “far fewer adverse
environmental effects.” Pet. at 12. This is also incorrect. A
twelve-lane bridge would, of course, be larger than one
with ten lanes, but any additional impact from the struc-
ture’s size would be minimal. The footprint of a twelve-
lane structure would be only sixty feet wider.
DC005053:fig. 2-19. This would result in an aerial ease-
ment over Jones Point Park/Alexandria Historic District
of only 1.3 more acres, and taking only .3 more acres of

10

the future Queen Anne’s Park in Prince George’s County.
Similarly, twelve lanes would affect only 3.4 more acres of
wetlands and 7.9 more acres of floodplain than ten lanes.
There are an equal number of parks and historic sites that
would be affected, an equal number of business displace-
ments, equal air quality impacts, and equal hazardous
material site impacts. DC005053:4-146 to 149.

In sum, a twelve-lane bridge would be superior to a
ten-lane bridge in the areas of structural integrity, safety
enhancement, carrying capacity, and decreased rush hour
congestion, with differences in environmental impact
being minimal. Indeed, a ten-lane bridge would be not
only inferior, but inadequate. Given these facts, the the-
ory on which the petition is based - that a ten-lane bridge
would be just as good as one with twelve lanes - is faulty.
Indeed, the Administration has already looked at a ten-
lane option. The Final EIS discussed the environmental
‘savings of the ten-lane alternative over the twelve-lane
and showed that any savings were insubstantial and were
offset by the transportation and safety benefits of twelve
lanes. DC005053:2-47. No further study is required. As
the court of appeals observed,

[W]ere [the Federal Highway Administration] to
build a ten-lane bridge, no one else would step
in and alleviate the congestion that would
result. In this context, it is simply a non sequitur
to call a proposal that does not “offer a complete
solution to the problem” a “reasonable alterna-
tive.”

Alexandria, 198 F.3d at 869 (Pet. App. 13a). The petition
should be denied.

11

II. THE DECISION BELOW DOES NOT CREATE A
SPLIT IN THE CIRCUITS.

Petitioners discern a split in the circuits where none
exists. They argue that the decision below represents a
departure from the approach taken by Seventh and Elev-
enth Circuits in similar cases. See Pet. at 8-13, discussing
Simmons v. United States Army Corps of Eng’rs, 120 F.3d 664
(7th Cir. 1997); Van Abbema v. Fornell, 807 F.2d 633 (7th
Cir. 1986); North Buckhead Civic Ass'n v. Skinner, 903 F.2d
1533 (11th Cir. 1990). In reality, the D.C. Circuit's
approach parallels the course taken by those other cir-
cuits. Although those circuits have not always ruled for
the federal agency, they have followed a similar pattern
of analysis. There is no split.

Under the National Environmental Policy Act
(“NEPA”), federal agencies must prepare an environmen-
tal impact statement for all “major federal actions
significantly affecting the quality of the human environ-
ment. ...” 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). This statement must
discuss “all reasonable alternatives” for pursuing a pro-
ject. 40 C.F.R. § 1502.14. When deciding whether a federal
agency has validly excluded a proposal from its discus-
sion of “all reasonable alternatives,” the circuits have
followed a two-step approach. First, they have deter-
mined whether the agency’s goals are reasonable. Then,
they have judged the reasonableness of proposed alterna-
tives by the goal of the project. This is the approach that
was taken by the Seventh and Eleventh Circuits when
dealing with the cases cited by petitioners. No split exists
because this is the same approach followed by the court
of appeals here.

12

A. The Decision Below Is Consistent With The
Seventh Circuit.

Contrary to petitioners’ assertions, the court of
appeals’ decision does not contravene the Seventh Cir-
cuit’s opinion in Simmons, or its opinion in Van Abbema. In
Simmons, the Seventh Circuit considered whether the |
Corps of Engineers had complied with NEPA when the
Corps prepared an environmental impact statement for a |
project to bring water to a city and a neighboring water |
district. The court concluded that the Corps had not |
complied with NEPA because the goal of the project was |
too narrowly defined. Simmons, 120 F.3d at 669. The

- Corps defined the objective in a way that actually dic-
tated the means or method for achieving the goal - it
stated that water must be obtained via a single source. Id.
The Seventh Circuit held that the defined objective was
unduly narrow because it precluded any alternative
methods for obtaining water. Id.

The court of appeals’ decision here does not conflict —\
with Simmons. The defined objective in this case differs
from the one considered in Simmons because the Admin-
istration’s objective does not explicitly or implicitly dic-
tate any means or method. The Administration seeks to
relieve the traffic congestion and attendant structural and
safety problems that plague the Woodrow Wilson Bridge,
and to accommodate the traffic volumes expected by the
year 2020. Unlike the Corps in Simmons, the Administra- \
tion did not start with any specified means for achieving
its goal. While the Administration eventually concluded
that twelve lanes were necessary to achieve its goal, it did
not start by defining twelve lanes as its goal. Instead, it

13

looked at a variety of bridge widths, as well as a bridge/
tunnel option, a double-deck bridge option, a tunnel only
option, etc. Final EIS § 4(f) evaluation, 2-10 — 2-17 (1997).
The ten-lane option was eliminated as an alternative
because it was not a reasonable option in view of the
general goals regarding traffic congestion, structural and
safety problems and projected needs in the year 2020.
Given the different approaches followed by the Corps in
Simmons and the Administration here, it is not surprising
that the circuits reached different conclusions about
whether there was compliance with NEPA. But this does
not indicate any split on an issue of law.

Moreover, there is no reason to believe that the Sev-
enth Circuit would have reached a result here different
from the one reached by the D.C. Circuit. The Simmons
court did not hold that the Corps had improperly defined
its objective because it sought to solve the water problem
in a complete manner, nor did it say that the Corps was
precluded from taking into account peak demand for
water. Yet, petitioners essentially contend that the
Administration’s objective is unacceptable because it
seeks to address the problem of congestion fully, and by
taking rush hour into account. Petitioners maintain that
the Administration should be content to accommodate
only a portion of the traffic that would cross a new bridge
in the foreseeable future. Only then, according to’ peti-
tioners, would the Administration’s objective be suffi-
ciently broad. The Seventh Circuit did not adopt such an
unreasonable approach in Simmons, and no split among
the circuits was created when the D.C. Circuit declined to
adopt it here.

14

The Seventh Circuit’s decision in Van Abbema sim-
ilarly provides the petitioners with no support. In Van
Abbema, the Seventh Circuit considered whether the
Corps of Engineers had followed NEPA when it issued a
permit to build and operate a coal-loading facility. The
court held that the Corps had not complied with NEPA
because, when it considered alternate sites, the Corps
relied on “a record replete with important factual incon-
sistencies and ambiguities that the Corps did not attempt
to resolve.” 807 F.2d at 642. No such adverse finding was
made by the D.C. Circuit here.

Petitioners cite the statement in Van Abbema that “the
evaluation of ‘alternatives’ mandated by NEPA is to be an
evaluation of alternative means to accomplish the general
goal of an action.” See Pet. at 9, quoting 807 F.2d at 638

- (emphasis in original decision). But, there is nothing to
suggest that the agency goals here - relieving traffic
congestion and attendant structural and safety problems,
and accommodating traffic volumes expected by 2020 -
would be too specific to satisfy the Seventh Circuit. Thus,
the D.C. Circuit’s decision does not conflict with Van
Abbema.

Finally, Petitioners argue that the D.C. Circuit created
a split with the Seventh Circuit in an earlier case, Citizens
Against Burlington v. Busey, 938 F.2d 190 (D.C. Cir. 1991).
They say that the D.C. Circuit “expressly disagree[d] with
the Seventh Circuit’s view in Van Abbema that the rea-
sonableness of alternatives should be judged by the ‘gen-
eral goal’ of the project.” Pet. at 13. In reality, the
discussion in Citizens about the “general goal” of a
planned project centered on the issue of who holds the
right to define the goal. The D.C. Circuit never disagreed

a

15

with judging the reasonableness of a proposed a.ternative
by the general goal of the project. In fact, the court
explicitly embraced this approach, stating that “[t]he
goals of an action delimit the universe of the action’s
reasonable alternatives,” Citizens, 938 F.2d at 195, and
that “[a] proposed alternative is reasonable only if it will
bring about the ends of the federal action. ... ” Id.
Moreover, it is the recent decision in the case at bar — not
the decade-old decision in Citizens - that is now before
this Court on a petition for writ of certiorari. That peti-
tion should be denied.

B. The Decision Below Is Consistent With The
Eleventh Circuit.

Petitioners’ reliance on the Eleventh Circuit’s deci-
sion in North Buckhead is similarly misguided. Petitioners
contend that the court of appeals contravened North Buck-
head when it concluded that the “partial” ten-lane pro-
posal is not a “reasonable alternative” worthy of in-depth
discussion in the Administration’s environmental impact
statement. Pet. at 10, citing 903 F.2d at 1542. In reality, the
D.C. Circuit’s conclusion is consistent with the North
Buckhead opinion. 3

In North Buckhead, the Eleventh Circuit stated that a
discussion of proposed partial solutions might sometimes
be appropriate. 903 F.2d at 1542. But, in that opinion, the
court also stated that the propriety of considering such
proposals depends on whether they constitute reasonable
alternatives. Id. The Eleventh Circuit went on to conclude
that a proposed “partial” plan of action did not constitute
a reasonable alternative because it would not accomplish

16

the objective underlying the highway project - “it would
provide little relief for the congestion in the existing
street network.” Id. Given this holding, there are at least
two reasons why there is no conflict between North Buck-
head and the case at bar. First, the Eleventh Circuit’s view
that a partial solution may sometimes be a reasonable
alternative was not essential to its holding in the case. As
such, it does not provide a credible basis for discerning a
conflict among the circuits.

Second, in the context of highway construction pro-
jects, the Eleventh Circuit and the D.C. Circuit agree that
a partial solution that does not relieve congestion is not a
reasonable alternative. The D.C. Circuit correctly recog-
nized that, with an expansion to only ten lanes, “conges-
tion . . . would result [and] it is simply a non sequitur to
call a proposal that does not offer a complete solution to
the problem a ‘reasonable alternative.’ ” Alexandria, 198
F.3d at 869 (Pet. App. 13a) (emphasis added, internal
quotation marks and footnote omitted). There is no split
among the circuits. if

Moreover, the D.C. Circuit — like the Seventh Circuit
- was right in its approach. Although ten lanes would
better accommodate the traffic that currently passes over
the bridge, the volume of traffic is going to increase. Ten
lanes cannot accommodate the increase that is expected
by the year 2020. It took slightly more than ten years for
traffic to exceed the capacity of the Woodrow Wilson
Bridge after construction was finished in 1961. If only ten
lanes are built now, the bridge would again be inadequate
to handle traffic demands shortly after completion. The
same congestion that plagues the bridge today would
plague it in 2020. The Administration would essentially

“iF

be back to square one.5 This Court should deny the
petition for writ of certiorari.

¢

CONCLUSION

No one contests the need to replace the Woodrow
Wilson Bridge. All that is at issue is whether the new
bridge should have twelve lanes or ten. Try as they
might, petitioners cannot make this into a case worthy of
certiorari. The petition ignores the congressional mandate
for twelve lanes as well as the painful reality of rush
hour, a fact of life that all who drive in Northern Virginia
know all too well. Insensitive to highway congestion,
petitioners are nevertheless so alert to conflicts among
the circuits that they see one where none exists. There is
no reason to believe that any other circuit would reach a
different result than the legally sound and common sense
result reached here by the D.C. Circuit. There is no split

> While the negative impact on transportation would be
significant, the environmental benefits gained from limiting the
expansion to ten lanes would be minimal or non-existent. See
supra at 9.

18

in the circuits. The petition for certiorari should be
denied.

July 6, 2000.
Respectfully submitted,

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Mark L. EARLEY
Attorney General of Virginia

WriiuramM H. Hurp
Solicitor General

JuprrH WILuiAMs JAGDMANN
Deputy Attorney General

RicHArD L. WALTON, Jr.
Senior Assistant Attorney General

SUZANNE T. ELLISON
ANTHONY P. MEREDITH
VALERIE L. Myers

Assistant Attorneys General

Office of the Attorney General
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2436

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_0824%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
