# Defendants Brief — Alaska Treadwell Gold Min. Co. v. Whelan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_0003%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Defendants Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1897
- **Citation:** 168 U.S. 86

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the anited States.

OCTOBER TERM, 1896.

No. 215.

-

THE ALASKA TREADWELL MINING COMPANY,
PLAINTIFF IN Error,

v8.

PATRICK WHELAN, Derenpant in Error

BRIEF FOR THE DEFENDANT IN ERROR.

OSCAR FOOTE,
For Defendant in Error.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Aanited States.

OCTOBER TERM, 1896.

‘No. 215.
THE ALASKA TREADWELL MINING COMPANY,
PLAINTIFF IN ERROR,
Us.

PATRICK WHELAN, Derenpant ry ERROR.

BRIEF FOR THE DEFENDANT IN ERROR.

In the following pages the parties will be designated by their
titles in this court.

The plaintiff in error was engaged in Alaska in mining and
milling ores, and through its foreman, ‘inley, had employed
the defendant in error to work about the mill.

While so engaged the defendant in error was seriously
maimed and crippled and he brought action to recover dam-
ages for injuries received by the negligence of the plaintiff in
error.

The complaint alleges that the defendant in error, while in
the employ of the plaintiff in error, was severely and perma-
nently injured by being drawn through a chute from the ore
pit when, without his knowledge, the draw below was opened
to load the cars used in conveying broken ore to the mill; that
this injury occurred without negligence on his part, but by the
negligence of the plaintiff in error.

The answer denies that the defendant in error was injured
to the extent charged, or that his injury was caused by the
negligence of the plaintiff in error, and sets up contributory
negligence on the part of defendant in error.

The jury gave a verdict for the defendant in error for $2.,-
50.

Che litigant mining company was granted a writ of error by
the Federal Court of Appeals for the ninth circuit, and on re-

ETO AOTC E REBORN AERIS TERE MANE Th CERT Rce ie HCL ER na sine a
pa TD HERS ceed

,

?
_

view said court of appeals affirmed the judgment of the United
States District Court for Alaska (rec. p. 70 print).
The cause is now here on writ of error to said court of ap-

peals.
THE ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR,

On page 80, print, it will he observed that: “The plaintiff as-
signs the following errors committed by the Cireuit Court of
Appeals,” to whom the writ of error in this cause is directed,
and then follow seven assignments of error, numbered 11 to 17.

In the brief of the learned counsel for the plaintiff in error
the “errors relied upon,” and the only points of the case dis-
cussed, apply to-ancd involve omy the-two anestions—fellow
servant and contributory negligence—therefore, we will ac-
cordingly confine our attention to those questions.

It is believed that there was no essential error in the court's
modification of instructions No, 2. (Org. R. tor, print 56.)

The jury was instructed upon all the issues in the case as
favorably to the defendant as the law would warrant, and tak-
ing all the instructions and charge together, it does not appear
that the jury could have been misled by the modification.

The jury must have found that the injury to the defendart
in error was the result of Finley's negligence to give due no-
tice when the rock in the chute was to be drawn. There was
no negligence if Finley gave the notice, and the defendant in

error would have got a verdict. The jury could not have
found that Finley was incompetent. The jury was warranted
in finding for the defendant in error if the not'ce was not given,
for then the company. the plaintiff in error, was negligent
through Finley. whose duty it was to give notice.

We fail to see how the modification could in any way work

a prejudice to the plaintiff in error.
NEGLIGENCE OF THE \PASTER.

Learned counsel for the plaintiff in error grant that the evi
dence shows affirmatively that the cause of the injury to the
defendant in error was the neelivence of Foreman Finley in

3

not potifying him when the ore was to be drawn from the
chute.

This raises the question of the relation that was found by
the jury to exist between the injured defendant in error and
the plaintiff in error company, acting through its agent, Fin-
ley.

Upon this question depend all save one of the seven as-
signments of error, upon which the writ of the Circuit Court
of Appeals is founded, and also whether there was error in
overruling the motion to return a verdict for the defendant—
the plaintiff in error here.

Reasonable protection and safety for the defendant in error
while engaged in his work was an obligation upon the plain-
tiff in error. Due and fair warning that the chute was to be
drawn was a duty that the plaintiff in error owed the employe.

The company could give such warning only through some
agent or employe, specifically charged with that duty. It does
not appear that the duty of the company was delegated to the
general manager of the mine and mill, or to the superinten-
dent, but it is in evidence (rec. pp. 38, 39 print) that such duty
was delegated by the company to the foreman or “boss” of the
department of work engaged in breaking and supplying ore to
the mill.

The jury found, under the instructions (rec. p. 60), that
Foreman Finley was employed and delegated to do the duties
of the master, and that negligence in the performance of the
duty thus delegated to him must be regarded as the negligence
of the master,

The warning of Whelan was a duty the company owed him.

\Vood. in his “Law of Master and Servant,” writes:

“When a foreman or other person, by whatever name he
may be known, is put by the master in his place to discharge
some duty which the master owes to the servant, as to such
duty he is not a co-servant, but a representative of the master.
lf the master delegates a duty to avother he is answerable for
the manrer in which the duty is discharged, and he cannot
sercen bimself from liability upon the ground that he has se-

Sane errs Ses PER ARYANS PR IOI ASE OGM HE NIM ROSIE SES

$e yppaerer: wee Bs S

GPR A DIE TF ata RAR NR Lt MC NST NEL MENE EMAAR

ADhAeEt PA ena es

IN LEAL ISI LL GEL, LTR TEEPE IINEY SAMO ATINZ

Grater: * Boor

Gs SLM Rae Ter

bee rin»

betes ts

BELROATEBATR WENT PIES YEN RT =

Pe oe ee

Bik,

4

lected a competent person to discharge the duty for him, for
the duty is one which, in law, he is regarded as having con-
tracted to discharge in person.”

Though the evidence shows that Foreman Finley was, to
the extent of hiring and discharging laborers, a representative
of the principal (rec. p. 18.

“(). You say Finley hired you?

“A. Yes.

“Q. Who was it Finley discharged?

“A. Dan Sullivan.

“QO. Who kept your time?

“A. T said Finley did.”

Of another witness, p. 48.

“Q. Did the wages come through Finley?

hy 208, Oe,”

Page 51.

“Q. Did you know of Finley hiring or discharging men?

“A. T know of his discharging two men.”)
it may be reasonably contended that it is wholly immaterial
whether he acted for the company in hiring the workmen or
not. The test is. was he delegated to observe reasonable care
and afford that protection that was due the workmen fri ym the
emplover during the hazardous operation of drawing the chute
while the workman was engaged at its head or mouth by the
direction of the employer?

It has been enunciated in McKinney on Fellow Servants.
sec, 23, that: “The true test, it is believed, whether an em-
ploye occupies the position of a fellow servant to another em-
ploye, or is the representative of the master is to be found, not
from the grade or rank of the offending, or injured, servant,
but it is to be determined by the character of the act being per-
formed by the offending servant by which the other employe
is injured: or, in other words, whether the person whose status
is in question is charged with the performance of a duty which
belongs to the master. The master. as such, is required to
perform certain duties, and the person who discharges

any of
these duties, no matter by what name he may be designated,

a Ne Sieh a ANS TE IAL gS NDE RE LCT Y BEE ST UTI a
. . eh EARN GT NOE ROT LEGS CME TE SARS BIS Br de Rae Wi)
3. yay AAG PNET RS Cp ERE POF a
PEF EE BAG DAI ETS 3
ee RRO

re)

cannot be a servant within the meaning of the rule under dis-
cussion,” .
We do not deny that the muscular operation of drawing the
gate of the chute was a menial duty; but the duty of notifying
the workmen in the mouth of the chute, relying and dependent

upon due notice of danger, the duty of drawing the gate in
such reasonable and safe manner as to guard and shield the :
workman from injury, was the lawful and bounden duty of the ;
f
emplover company. ;
-
4
“The master is bound to inform his servant of facts within i
his knowledge affecting the safety of the servant in the work
to be done.”
McGowan @. La Plata Mining Co., 3 MeCrary, 393. d
‘ , ‘ =
It is believed it can be reasonably stated that where a :

method or contrivance is used which is dangerous to the pub-
lic or the workman, and the control of which is exclusively in
the owner of such contrivance, or one acting for him, in such
case the value of human life and the dangerous character of
the contrivance make it public policy and create a rule of law
that the owner, either directly or through the one in control,
shall be held to the greatest care which human reason, fore-
sight and Jkill can produce, and which is necessary to protect
human life from the dangerous contrivance he has set in op-

PSORIASIS

eration.

erect aaa

Horace Smith on Negligence, pp. 142 and 143:
Broom’s Maxims of Law, p. 399:

Shearman and R. Negligence, sec. 683-091
Union Pac. R. Co. 7. MeDonald. 152 Si 202,

Reach, in his justly eminent work on Contributory Negh-
gence, in discussing the related question of fellow servant,
SAVS, SEC. 302:

“The master. when taking a hand and engaging in common
XS SoS

RR eS Ulla RON aS ue oii acd

laber with the servant. does not thereby lose his position as

: ‘ ¥

master or become a fellow servartein such legal sense that the ‘
. . . ee . - t
servant impliedly undertakes to assume the risk of injury trom 8
his negligence when so jointly infured.” ;
P

a

tr

a

¥

SA AOR IONE LO EE TI Ne aE 2

- "
Be cpeperanee RT STR I I

6
Ryan v. Fowler, 24 N. ¥., 4f0;
Anderson 7. N, J. Co., 7 Robt., 611,

The authority just quoted further says:

“Where one servant is placed by the employer in a position
of subordination and Subject to the orders and control of an-
other in such a way and to such extent that the servant so
placed in control may reasonably be regarded as representing
the master, when such inferior servant, without fault and while
discharging his duty, is injured by the negligence of his su-
ferior servant, the master is liable in damages for the injury.”
(Sec. 325.)

In N. Pac. R. R. Co. ¢. Peterson, 162 U.S., 346.

The Supreme Court held that “if the master, instead of per-
sonally performing the obligations due his servant, engages
another to do them for him, he is liable for the neglect of that
other, which is not the neglect of a fellow servant, but of the
master.”

Vide Railroad Co. @. Baugh, t4y U.S, 309;
Vide U. P. R. Co. @. Daniels, 152 UL S,, OR 4.

We invoke the law, as promulgated in these opinions, as
well as the further ruling in the first named case, upon a col- .

lateral point, wherein the court says: “Where the business of
the master is divided into departments of service the persons
placed by the master in charge of these separate branches or
departments, and given control therein, may be coasidered,
with reference to emploves under them, Vice-principals and
representatives of the master as fully as if the entire business
of the master were under one superintendent.”

With reference to the neglect of the master in the case under
Ciscussion, ve betleve a case in point is that «

Gilmore 7. N. P. R. Co.. 18 Fed. Pep. 860,

i which it appeared that the railroad company ta building its
road had many gangs of men at work at froni three to five
miles apart. under the control and direction of foremen, with

EANREA SER ROE Ee PAE UAE RAE EIN OREN RATE

ns aaa ats sea Oat SE STORE

Et STN PRET ROE OS OE NI ETL MUNG A AREY

ARLE SRY i PORE IB

7
the power to employ and discharge, subject, theniselves, to
the control of a general superintendent, who passed along the
line and inspected the camps at certain periods. Giant powder
was used, and in such case the foreman was charged with the
duty of handling the powder and thawing it when frozen.

The superintendent had given notice not to thaw powder be-
fore a fire, and provided a safe appliance called a “heater” for
the purpose.

The plaintiff was employed in a gang where powder was
being thawed without this safe appliance, and while assisting
in so thawing the powder, by direction of the foreman, was
injured by its explosion.

It was held that the foreman, so far, stood in the place of the
defendant, that his directing the plaintiff to assist in thawing
powder without using a means to avoid danger was an act of
neglect for which the defendant was responsible to plaintiff.

()f equal directness of application is the case of
L. S. & Mich. R. Co. @. Levalley, 36 Ohio St., 221.

A foreman was in charge of a set of hands, repairing cars
while on the track in the railroad company’s vard, in which
trains were accustomed to be made up; it was also the duty of
the foreman to help with the hands in doing the work. While
the foreman and a hand were engaged in repairing a car, and
the latter was, by the foreman’s order, at work under it, he
was injured by another car moving on the same track striking
the car under which he was.

It was held that it was the duty of the foreman, in putting
the hand to work under the car, to use reasonable care to pro-
tect him from danger arising from switching of cars and the
making up of trains on the same track, and for injury resulting

from such negligence the company was liable.

In Rvan zw. Bagalev. 50 Mich.. 179.
it was held that “a ‘mining captain’ end the miners are not fel-
low servants.” Vhe mining captain in that case was subsery

ient to a higher official, as has been claimed the foreman, Fin-

Pee SDE

&
3

a

PETES

thine $

SRE RIOR ISR BARE NEAGE

8

ley, was in this case at bar, but was superior to the miners un-
der his direction.

In Berea v. Kratt, 31 Ohio, 287,
it was decided that “a mine foreman in charge of hands is not

a fellow, but a superior, servant.”

In Brown v7. Sennett, 0&8 Cal., 225,
the foreman of laborers to whom a stevedore delegates the
management of unloading a vessel was found to not be a fel-
low servant.

The same rule prevailed in

-
‘ Muleairns @. Janesville, 07 Wis. 24.
a relative to the superintendent and workmen engaged in dig-
§ ging a cistern.
F CONTPRIBUTORY NEGLIGENCE.
;
j There was no error in the Cireuit Court of Appeals in find-

ing that the trial court did not err in submitting to the jury
| the question of negligence on the part of the defendant in er-
4 ror. In determining this question the jury had to consider
i the surroundings tn which the defendant in error was placed,
‘ the noise of the drills, the mouth of the chute being covered
: over with rock and the conflict of evidence as to whether or
4 not linlev notified the plaintiff when the rock was to be
& drawn, made it the duty of the trial court to submit the ques-
; tion to the jury.
#
3 N. PR. Co. 7. Amato, 144 U.S., 467:
3 Kane o. Northern R. Co... 128 UL S.. gt:
3 Jones @. FE. Tenn. Co., 128 U. S.. 443.

It is also believed that the Cirenit Court of Appeals made no

; error in finding no error in the instructions as modified by the
; trial court as to contributory negligence of the defendant in
3 error, the plaintiff below.
a
a
*

.
7
>
¥
:
%
«
re
ke
|
3,
4
é

9

Beach, in his writings on Contributors Negligence, sec. 25.
says: “When the defendant's negligence is the proximate
cause, and that of the plaintiff is the remote cause, the plaintiff
may have his action. And if the negligence of the plaintiff
being only the remote cause, and the defendant might have
avoided inflicting the injury by exercise of ordinary care, the
action for damages is maintainable.

“The plaintiff's neghgence must substantially contribute to
produce the injury in order to avail the defendant.”

We submit that the plaintiff's negligence to constitute a de
fence must have been so far an efficient cause of the injury,
that without his negligence the injury would not have hap-

pened.

Vide Beach on Con. Negligence, sec. Ty, et. seq.:
Kane zw. N. ‘ent. R. Co., 128 U. S.. gt:

Daley o. Norwich R. Co., 26 Conn., 501;
Grippen 7. N.Y. R. Co.. 40 Ms 2 a
Steamboat Co. 7. Vanderbilt, 16 Conn., 420.

Respecting the jurisdictional question discussed by our
learned opponent, we admit the jurisdiction of the Circuit
Court of Appeals in this cause. aed Ma [hretdec Meo. here ,

Upon the foregomg points we respectfully submit that no’
error bas been permitted and that the judgment should be
affirmed,

OSCAR FOOTE,
For Defendant in krrer.

BP a ae a:

a ol

ve

b CRA ae teS er a PRM ATO IPT ERY

SCRE SOK

Oa aah Can ar eed

aeceie

RRR ROT FP LATION PT RIT RE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386018_0003%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
