# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Apodaca v. Merit Systems Protection Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2844%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1180

## Text

Supreme weary U.S.

FILED

10-753 pe 7-201
NOFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Antonio M. Apodaca
Petitioner,
Vy
Merit Systems Protection Board
Respondent

On Petition For Writ of Certiorart
To The UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Antonio M. Apodaca, Pro Se
14221 SW 146!" Terrace
Miami, FL 33186-7208
(305) 232-7024 (Home Phone)
(305) 498-7366 (Cell Phone)

Questions Presented for Review

Is it permissible for a federal agency to breach a tenured
federal employee's constitutionally protected “vested
interest in his employment” and his right. to exercise
“Free Will’ without affording the employee his Fifth
Amendment. Right to “Due Process”?

Is a credibility determination necessary when the issue in
question involves an individual's exercise of “Free Will’?

Is the barring of a tenured federal employee from his

workplace an Adverse Action?

Parties to Proceedings

The Caption shown accurately identifies who the

petitioner(s) and who the respondent(s) are in this Court

Corporate Disclosure Statement
A corporate disclosure statement is not applicable because

the Petitioner is an individual and not a corporate entity

Table of Contents

Item/Topic

Questions Presented for Review

Parties to Proceedings

Table of Contents

Table of Authorities

Petition for Writ of Certiorart

Court of Appeals for the Fed. Cir. Decision
Court of Appeals Order Denial of Rehearing
Court of Appeals Judgment/Mandate
MSPB Ad’s Initial Bench Decision

MSPB Final Order

Certificate of Comphance

Certificate of Service

Pages

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Table of Authorities

Authority

Fifth Amendment

5 U.S.C. 7513

5 U.S.C. 2301(b)(6)

5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(1 2)

28 U.S.C. 2101(c)

ISCMIAMINST 5000.2

CGD SEVENINST 5512.2c

FMLA Section 6384 and 6385
Loudermull, 470 U.S. 543

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, (1976)
Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 142
Bd. Of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564
Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433

Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183
Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee
v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123

United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303,
328 U.S. 316-317

Peters v. Hobby, 349 U.S. 331,

349 U.S. 352

Cafeteria Workers v. McElroy,

367 U.S. 886, 367 U.S. 898

Hesse V. Department of State

217 F.3d 1372, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2000);
47 MSPR 680, 681, 684

Waters v. Churchill, 114 S. Ct. 1878
Handy v. U.S. Postal Service, 754 F.2d 335
(Fed. Cir. 1985)

Cosby v. United States 417 F.2d 1345,
1355, Ct. Cl. (1969)

Doyle v. Veterans Administration,
229 Ct.Cl. 261, 667 F.2d 70, 72 (1981)
Brewer v. U.S. Postal Service,

227 Ct.Cl. 276, 647 F.2d 1093, 1097 (1981)
_ cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1144,

hy

Page#

we
—~
~e

Ds |

NYNBCWWe wee

Camwn

Or

1}

1]

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit was issued on June 10, 2010, and
the Petitioner's petition for rehearing and for rehearing
en banc was denied on September 03, 2010. This Court
has jurisdiction over this petition under 28 U.S.C. §
2101(c).

CONSTITUTIONAL and STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment provides, in pertinent part.
that “No Person shall ........ be deprived of life, liberty or
property without due process of law”.

5 U.S.C. § 7513(a) Under regulations prescribed by
the Office of Personnel Management, an agency may take
an action covered by this subchapter against an employee
only for such cause as wiil promote the efficiency of the
service.

5 U.S.C. § 7513(b)(1),(2), & (4) provides, in pertinent
part, An employee against whom an action is proposed is
entitled to (1) at least 30 days' advance written notice,
unless there is reasonable cause to beheve the employee
has committed a crime for which a sentence of
imprisonment may be imposed, stating the specific
reasons for the proposed action; (2) a reasonable time, but
not less than 7 days, to answer orally and in writing and
to furnish affidavits and other documentary evidence in
support of the answer; ... and (4) a written decision and
the specific reasons therefore at the earliest practicable
date.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner in this case was a tenured federal
employee who had approximately 42-plus years of
continuous federal civil service.

Petitioner was employed by the U. S. Department of
Homeland Security (“DHS”) as a Deputy Comptroller for
the U. S. Coast Guard’s (“USCG’”), Integrated Support
Command (“ISC”) Miami, Miami, Florida. On November
2008, Petitioner’s supervisor and the Comptroller for the
ISC, Commander (CDR) Anthony Alarid, ordered
Petitioner to exchange his office with that of the Chief,
Budget and Accounting. This exchange would relocate
the Petitioner a distance of approximately 25 linear feet
and place the Petitioner at a location adjacent to Alarid’s
office. His supervisor set a deadline of December 1, 2008
for Petitioner to complete the exchange of offices.

On November 20, 2008, approximately an hour
before Petitioner was scheduled to end his workday CDR
Alarid confiscated the Petitioner’s workplace access and
security badge and office key without Alarid giving the
Petitioner any reason for his actions and without allowing
Petitioner to challenge Alarid’s actions. Based on
Alarid’s actions, Petitioner reasonably concluded he had
been constructively terminated and accordingly, on
November 29, 2008 prepared and submitted a Standard
Form (SF) 52 to the USCG personnel office, Washington,
D.C. requesting retirement effective December 1, 2008.
Petitioner wrote on his SF-52 that his reason for
requesting retirement was “Retirement requested due to
the imposition of constructive discharge conditions by
management.” Simultaneously, Petitioner submitted a
claim to the Merit Systems Protection Board alleging he
had been constructively terminated, among other things.

2

On March 9, 2009, the assigned administrative
judge held a jurisdictional hearing in Miami, Florida, at
which both Alarid and the Petitioner appearing Pro Se
testified as to the circumstances surrounding the
Petitioner's claim. The administrative judge found that
Apodaca had retired voluntarily and dismissed the appeal
for lack of jurisdiction. The Board denied the Petitioner’s
petition for review of the initial decision on July 24, 2009,
and the administrative judge’s decision became the final
decision of the Board. The Petitioner timely appeaied the
Board's final decision to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit (“CoA”).

The Petitioner had a compelling belief that the
administrative judge and the MSPB had not applied the
appropriate legal standard. The Petitioner’s belief was
based on the fact that these two administrative forums
never considered the Petitioner’s arguments. The
Petitioner has consistently argued that the (1) Petitioner
was not afforded his constitutionally protected right to
Due Process pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 7513(b)(1) and “Free
Will” when his building access and security clearance
badge were confiscated nor when the Agency received the
Petitioner’s SF-52 citing “Retirement requested due to the
imposition of constructive discharge conditions by
management” as the Petitioner’s reason for requesting
retirement, (2) the Agency’s fanlure to follow its own
agency regulations pertaining to the “Agency’s Check In
and Check Out Procedures ” ISCMIAMIINST 5000.2 and
“the Seventh District’s Security Identification Badge
Policy” CGD SEVENINST 5512.2c, (3) the agency’s
violation of the Prohibited Personnel Practices and Merit
System Principles, 5 U.S.C. § 2302(b)(12) and 5 U.S.C. §
2301(b)(6) respectively; (4) the agency’s violation of
Section 6384 and 6385 of the Family Medical Leave Act
(FMLA); (5) the agency’s violation of the Privacy Act,
when on November 20-22, 2008, CDR Alarid falsely

informed his staff that the Petitioner had retired (RB, pg-
3-4); (6) the Time Pressure exerted on the Petitioner to
involuntary retire GQmmediate termination); (7) the
agency's inconsideration of the Petitioner’s traumatic
event (daughter’s Breast Cancer condition); and (8)
compelling the Petitioner’s mitigation of damages to
preclude an actual money loss of approximately $2,412.96
in salary. In his appeal to the Court of Appeals the
Petitioner basically argued these same issues he had
argued before the administrative judge and the MSPB.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the Board’s decision
basically on the same terms as the administrative judge
and the MSPB, although to some extent the CoA
paraphrases or interprets the facts erroneously. The CoA
also transposes and consolidates the facts without due
consideration of their affect as to timing. The following
are examples cited in the CoA decision:

On page 2 Background Section the CoA writes:

1. “Apodaca refused to change offices, informing Alarid
that he would rather retire than change his office.” This
statement is erroneous 1n that the Petitioner never
refused to exchange offices. The Petitioner simply stated,
“He would have to contemplate retirement in
order to avoid a repeat of the hostility previously
suffered. However, the Appellant advised CDR
Alarid that his decision to retire could not be
determined because it was contingent on
Appellant’s family psychological and financ?al
conditions relative to the Appellant’s daughter
Breast Cancer Condition and its personal
ramifications”. (Petitioner's MSPB Complaint)

2. “Apodaca then told Alarid that he would retare
effective January 3, 2009. However, following further

discussions between the two, Apodaca told Alarid that he
would retire on November 30, and that November 20
would be his last day at work as he intended to take leave
thereafter.” Petitioner avers that all the dates mentioned
were ail set forth by CDR Alarid during separate
conversations with the Petitioner. CDR Alarid
established these dates simply because the Petitioner
passively acquiesced. When CDR Alarid proposed these
dates the Petitioner did not argue with nor was he
disrespectful towards Alarid because he was concerned
that Alarid would accuse kim of being insubordinate. At
all times, it was Alarid that cajole and pressured the
Petitioner by proposing different retirement dates and
accusing the Petitioner of being unreasonable. It was
Alarid who became frustrated and told the Petitioner,
“Hell, you better retire on November 30, 2008”. (See
Alarid’s Affidavit)

In its Decision the CoA conflates and transposes the
facts in similar fasnion as done bythe administrative
judge and the MSPB. The CoA simply noted that the
issue had been correctly decided by the MSPB in this
case, reached the same conclusion. Most, if not all, of the
facts considerate by these tribunals are not relative to the
Petitioner's Constructive‘Discharge Claim. The CoA in
similar fashion doés not address the facts relevant to the
Petitioner’s Constructive Discharge Claim, e.g., Agency’s
failure to provide Petitioner due process, “free will’; follow
its regulations, violation of the Prohibited Personnel
Practices and Merit System Principles, violation of
Section 6384 and 6385 of the Family Medical Leave Act
(FMLA); the agency’s violation of the Privacy Act, inter
alia. {Supra}

In its Decision, the CoA outlines various facts, most
which are not relevant to the Petitioner’s Claim, others
that are either incompletely stated, mentioned but not

discussed, taken out of context, framed to support the
Government's case while others erroneously conclude the
Petitioner acted improperly. In one instance the CoA
mentions “We are not persuaded by Apodaca’s logic.”

The Petitioner avers that his logic is simple and
reasonable, based on the following facts: Ifin actuality,
the Petitioner had until December 1, 2008 to exchange
offices as ordered by his supervisor, but on November 20,
2008, his supervisor preemptively confiscates his
workplace access and security badge and keys which
effectively barred him from his workplace, the Petitioner
is effectively prohibited from meeting the December 1,
2008 deadhne. Furthermore, the Petitioner being a
family man with responsibility for his family economic
conditions reasonably determined, he had been
“constructively terminated” because the confiscation of his
badge and key was an adverse employment action which
infringe on the Petitioner’s constitutionally protected
vested right in his employment for which he was not
afforded “due process” and “Free Will” pursuant to the
Fifth Amendment and 5 U.S.C. § 7513(a).& (b) (1), (2), &
(4). This logic is supported by the relevant facts.

The facts in this case vividly confirm that CDR
Alarid’s confiscation of the Petitioner’s badge and keys
breached the Petitioner’s constitutionally protected vested
right in his employment without affording the Petitioner
due process and free will. This is similar to when the
Government is the first to breach a contractual right.

The Petitioner at all times acted properly, both
administratively and legally. It is universally and
empirically recognized that all “employees” will
contemplate “retiring” at some point in their lifetime. The
Petitioner assertion that he would contemplate
retirement was not a crime nor was it an action of such

gravity that would compel the Government to breach the
Petitioner’s constitutionally protected vested right in his
employment. Jn Loudermill, the Supreme Court held that
a proper balancing of the interests as set forth 1n
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U_S. 319, 338 (1976), requires
that, as a general rule, there be some form of
pretermination hearing for an employee who has
established that he has a property interest in the
retention of his position. In short, the Court reasoned
that the general governmental interest in unmediate
termination of the employee does not outweigh the
interests of the employee in retaining his employment and
in having an opportunity to present his side of the case.
"Even when the facts are clear, the appropriateness or
necessity of the discharge may not be; in such cases, the
only meaningful opportunity to invoke the discretion of
the decisionmaker 1s likely to be before the termination
takes effect." Loudermull, 470 US. at 543. In Arnett v.
Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974), this Court stated, we
sustained the validity of procedures by which a federal
employee could be dismissed for cause. They included
notice of the action sought, a copy of the charge, —
reasonable time for filing a written response, and an
opportunity for an oral appearance. Following dismissal,
an evidentiary hearing was provided. 416 U_S., at 142 -
146.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

As this Court has made increasingly clear, the Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution require
the Government afford a tenured federal employee “Due
Process” when taking an adverse personnel against an
employee when the employee has a constitutionally
protected vested right in his employment and has a right
to “free will”. See following citations:

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972), holds,
inter alia:(For "[w]here a person's good name, reputation,
honor, or integrity is at stake because of what the |
government 1s doing to him, notice and an opportunity to
be heard are essential."; citing Wisconsin Vv.
Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433, 400 U_S. 437. Wieman v.
Updegratf, 344 U.S. 183, 344 U_S_ 191; Joint Anti-Fascist
Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U_S. 123; United
States v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303, 328 U.S. 316-317; Peters
v. Hobby, 349 U_S. 331, 349 U_S. 352 (DOUGLAS, J.,
concurring). See Cafeteria Workers v. McElroy, 367 U_S.
886, 367 U_S. 898. In such a case, due process would
accord an opportunity to refute the charge before
University officials.)

Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 470
U.S, 532, 542, 546 (1985), Hesse V. Department of
State 217 F.3d 1372, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2000); 47
M.S.P.R. at 684 holds that at a minimum, “the tenured
public employee is entitled to oral or written notice of the
charges against him, an explanation of the evidence and
an opportunity to present (the employee's) side of the
story”. 47 M.S.P.R. at 681. 47M_S.P.R. at 680 citing the
application of the Cleveland Board of Education v.
Loudermiull 470 U.S. 582, 546, 105 S.Ct. 1487, 1495, 84 L.
Ed. 2d 494 (1985). Ad violated her due process right by
being predisposed against her, hampering her
presentation of the case and abusing his discretion

One of the main issues in this case that may require
review by this Court is the failure of Agency’s and the
lower Tribunals to recognize that what the Petitioner
stated and has argued 1s a constitutionally protected
issue. Waters, et. al. v. Churchill et. al. 114 S. Ct.
1878;128 L. Ed. 2d 686, (May 1994) We think employer

decision-making will not be unduly burdened by having
courts look to the facts as the employer reasonably found

them to be. It may be unreasonable, for example, for the
employer to come to a conclusion based on no evidence at
all. Likewise, 1t may be unreasonable for an employer to
act based on extremely weak evidence when strong
evidence 1s clearly available -- 1f for [*32] instance, an
employee 1s accused of writing an improper Ietter to the
editor, and instead of just reading the Ietter, the employer
decides what it said based on unreliable hearsay.

[5A}]}fan employment action 1s based on what an
employee supposedly said, and a reasonable supervisor
would recognize that there 1s a substantial likelihood that
what was actually said was protected, the manager must
tread with a certain amount of care. This need not be the
care with which trials, with their rules of evidence and
procedure, are conducted. It should, however, be the care
that a reasonable manager would use before making an
employment decision -- discharge, suspension, reprimand.
or Whatever else -- of the sort involved in the particular
case. JUSTICE SCALIA correctly points out that such
care is normally not constitutionally required unless the
employee has a protected property interest in her job,
post, at 688, see also Board of Regents of State Colleges v.
Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 576-578, 33 L. Ed. 2d 548, 92S. Ct
2701 (1972); but we beheve that the possibility of
mnadvertently punishing someone for exercising her Firsi
Amendment rights makes such care necessary}

Another reason which may warrant the Court’s
review 1s the practice of an Agency using ambush,
concealment, and surprise. This practice must not to be
tolerated by the judicial system. In this case, the
Supervisor and the Agency’s Human Resource Officer
knew at least two-days in advance of their planned action
to confiscate the Petitioner's workplace and security

badge and keys yet they failed to provide “due process” to
the Petitioner. Additionally, over 30-days had elapsed

since the Supervisor had set forth his proposal on which
they relied for taking the Petitioner’s badge and key.

The legal review of this type of case (by its nature) 3s
limited by statue to the Merit System Protection Board
and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.
This limit review forum may create the potential for other
similar cases to be decided in similar fashion as the case
at bar which may result in improper or unfair review of
similar cases. This may cause other Petitioners to forgo
filing claims with these lmited forums or 1f similar cases
are filed with these limited forums may result in
Petitioners incurring legal costs needlessly.

The Agency, the MSPB and CoA relhed on subjective
evidence to reach their conclusions in this case. The
Agency's action was based solely on the Petitioner's
Supervisor being convinced the Petitioner would retire
even though the Petitioner had no submitted any required
written request or the usual SF-52 “Request for Personne!
Action’ requesting retirement as of the date his badge
and key was confiscated. This raises the question of
whether an Agency's “subjective testimony” meets the
“substantial evidence” and “totally of the circumstances”
standards ina manner sufficient to supersede the
constitutional protection of “due process” provided a
Petitioner by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of
the Constitution to a tenured federal employee with a
constitutionally protected vested right in his employment

The Decisions of the CoA appear to be an anomaly in
that its Decisions in this case does not comport with their
or other precedents. See following citations

Handy v. U_S. Postal Service, 734 F.2d 335 (Fed.

procedural error (statutory or not) must be shown to be

10

harmful in precedent of this court, particularly, Doyle v.
Veterans Admimstration, 229 Ct.Cl_261, 667 F.2d 70, 72
C981), Brewer v. U.S. Postal Service, 227 Ct.Cl. 276, 647
F.2d 1093, 1097 (1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1144, 102

Service, 697 F.2d 1078 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

Cosby v. United States 417 F.2d 1345, 1355, Ct. Cl.
(1969) in a concurring opinion by Judge Nichols
which was adopted by the Court states in Dictum (in
part):
“If an employee's continued presence in an agency is
regarded as undesirable, and if he tenders any piece
of paper purporting to be a resignation, the
temptation is to snatch at it, thus avoiding the
complex ritual and uncertain outcome of an adverse
action. It is, I believe, the duty of the personne!
officer nevertheless to scrutinize the paper with care,
and to reject it as a resignation if it states, clearly or
ambiguously, that the resignation is coerced. That
was not done here and this lawsuit followed, which in
my judgment defendant was lucky to win. A coerced
resignation is not a resignation at all. It is an
adverse action which is legally invalid for failure to
follow the procedures laid down in statutes and
regulations. McGucken v. United States, 407 F.2d
1349, 187 Ct.Cl. 284, cert. filed, 396 U.S. 894, 90
S.Ct. 190, 24 L.Ed.2d 170 (June 11, 1969).”
“Therefore, nothing decided in this case, as I read
it, Should be regarded as condoning any relaxation of
the vigilance required of the Civil Service
Commission and of personnel officers generally,
against the acceptance of coerced resignations,
whether actually coerced, or so stated in the course
of the employee's filling out the applicable form.”

1]

CONCLUSION

For the forgoing reasons, petitioners submit that this
Court should grant review in this case to reverse the
holding of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit with respect to Board’s finding that Apodaca’s
retirement was voluntary 1s supported by substantial
evidence and that 1t has considered Apodaca’s remaining
argument and finding them unpersuasive. Petitioner
would also ask this Court to remand the case to the Court
of Appeals for 1t to apply appropriate scrutiny under the
Fifth Amendment and this Court precedent.

Respectfully submitted,

hikes Ih Arde

Antonio M. Apodaca, Pro Se
14221 SW 146°"! Terrace
Miami, FI. 33186-7208
(305) 232-7024 Home Phone
(305) 498-7366 Cell Phone
tapodaca@bellsouth. net

NOTE: This disposition is nonprecedential.

GAnited States Court of Appeals
for the federal Circuit

ANTONIO M. APODACA

Petitioner,

Vv.

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD,
Respondent.

2009-3293

Petition for review of the Merit Systems Protection
Board in AT0752090223-I-1.

Decided: June 10, 2010

ANTONIO M. APODACA, of Miami, Florida, pro se.

JEFFREY A. GAUGER, Attorney, Office of the General
Counsel, Merit Systems Protection Board, of Washington,
DC, for respondent. With him on the brief were JAMES M.
KISENMANN, General Counsel, and KEISHA DAWN BELL.
Deputy General Counsel.

APODACA v. MSPB 2

Before LOURIE, FRIEDMAN and MOORE, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM.

Antonio Apodaca appeals from the final decision of
the Merit Systems Protection Board (the “Board”) dis-
missing his appeal for lack of jurisdiction. Apodaca v.
Dep't of Homeland Sec., No. AT-0752-09-0223-I-1
(M.S.P.B. July 24, 2009) (“Final Order’). Because the
Board’s decision that Apodaca retired voluntarily is
supported by substantial evidence, we affirm.

BACKGROUND

Apodaca was employed by the Department of Home-
land Security as a Deputy Comptroller for the Coast
Guard’s Integrated Support Command (“ISC”) in Miami,
Florida. In November 2008, Apodaca’s supervisor and the
Comptroller for ISC, Anthony Alarid, ordered Apodaca to
move his office from its current location to a location
adjacent to Alarid’s office. Alarid set a deadline of De-
cember 1, 2008 for Apodaca to change his office. Apodaca
refused to change offices, informing Alarid that he would
rather retire than change his office. Apodaca then told
Alarid that he would retire effective January 3, 2009.
However, following further discussions between the two,
Apodaca told Alarid that he would retire on November 30,
and that November 20 would be his last day at work as he
intended to take leave thereafter. Alarid informed his
Command Staff Advisor (“CSA”) of Apodaca’s intentions
by e-mail.

On November 20, 2008, Apodaca cleaned his office,
shredded his personal writing pads, and disposed of files
stored in his office. That afternoon, Alarid collected Apo-
daca’s government identification badge and office keys

3 APODACA v. MSPB

from him. On December 1, 2008, Apodaca submitted his
retirement request form SF-52 to ISC, denoting an effec-
tive retirement date of November 30, 2008. On the SF-52,
Apodaca stated the reason for his retirement as the
“imposition of constructive discharge conditions by the
management.”

On December 30, 2008, Apodaca filed an appeal to the
Merit Systems Protection Board, claiming that his re-
tirement was involuntary. On March 9, 2009, the as-
signed administrative judge held a jurisdictional hearing
in Miami, Florida, at which both Alarid and Apodaca
testified as to the circumstances surrounding Apodaca’s
retirement. The administrative judge found that Apodaca
had retired voluntarily and dismissed the appeal for lack
of jurisdiction. The Board denied Apodaca’s petition for
review of the initial decision on July 24, 2009, and the
administrative judge’s decision became the final decision
of the Board. Apodaca timely appealed the Board’s final
decision to this court. We have jurisdiction pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(9).

DISCUSSION

The scope of our review in an appeal from the Board’s
decision is limited. We can only set aside the Board's
decision if it was “(1) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of
discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with law; (2)
obtained without procedures required by law, rule, or
regulation having been followed; or (3) unsupported by
substantial evidence.” 5. U.S.C. § 7703(c) (2000); see
Briggs v. Merit Sys. Prot. Bd., 331 F.3d 1307, 1311 (Fed.
Cir. 2003). We review the Board’s jurisdiction without
deference. Bolton v. Merit Sys. Prot. Bd., 154 F.3d 1313,
1316 (Fed. Cir. 1998). However, “we are bound by the
AJ’s factual determinations unless those findings are not

APODACA v. MSPB 4

supported by substantial evidence.” Jd. Substantial
evidence is “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind
might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” McEn-
tee uv. Merit Sys. Prot. Bd., 404 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir.

2005) (quotation marks omitted).

Apodaca challenges the Board’s decision that he failed
to prove by a preponderance of the evidence his allega-
tions of coercion and duress by the agency so as to allow
the Board to exercise jurisdiction over his appeal. He
argues that his statements declaring his intentions to
retire were mere contemplations of retirement. He argues
that his responses to Alarid’s order to move his office were
unrelated to the events that occurred on November 20,
2008, leading up to his retirement. He contends that on
that day he was performing routine cleaning of his office
and preparing to take leave when Alarid confiscated his
badge and keys, thereby constructively discharging him.
He further contends that he did not return to work at any
time after that date because of the “malicious and unpro-
fessional manner” in which he had been treated. He
contends that the reason for submitting an SF-52 on
December 2, with an effective date of November 30, was
that he wanted to “mitigate his damages.” Moreover, he
argues, the agency failed to follow checkout procedures
required to terminate an employee. According to Apo-
daca, his retirement was forced upon him by the actions of
his supervisor and was not voluntary. Therefore, he
argues, the administrative judge and the Board erred in
dismissing his claim for lack of jurisdiction.

The Board responds that there is no evidence that the
agency imposed the terms of Apodaca’s retirement. It
argues that Apodaca was in control of his retirement
decision at all times, repeatedly rejecting his supervisor's
preferences in the matter and deciding himself both his

5 APODACA v. MSPB

retirement date as well his last day at the office. The
Board argues that contrary to Apodaca’s assertions,
Alarid pleaded with him not to retire or to at least stay
till January 2009 in order to allow the process of hiring a
replacement to be commenced. However, the Board
points out, Apodaca refused tc assist his supervisor in any
way or change his retirement date. The Board notes that
on November 20, Apodaca cleaned out his office. The
Board contends that Alarid asked him for his badge and
keys per the CSA’s guidance and because he understood
from Apodaca’s prior statements that Apodaca was not
returning to the facility after that date. The Board fur-
ther points out that Apodaca submitted his retirement
request voluntarily, at a time of his own choosing, and
with an effective date that he had previously mentioned
to his supervisor. The Board also notes that Apodaca
never attempted to return to work. Under these facts,
the Board argues, Apodaca cannot show that his retire-
ment was a product of coercion by the agency or was
otherwise involuntary. The Board urges us to affirm its
dismissal of Apodaca’s claim for lack of jurisdiction.

We conclude that the Board permissibly dismissed
Apodaca’s appeal for lack of jurisdiction. A decision to
resign or retire is presumed to be voluntary. Staats v.
U.S. Postal Serv., 99 F.3d 1120, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 1996). In
order to overcome the presumption of voluntariness, a
petitioner must make a non-frivolous allegation that the
resignation or retirement was the product of misinforma-
tion, deception, or coercion by the agency. Schultz v. Dep’t
of the Navy, 810 F.2d 1133, 1135 (Fed. Cir. 1987). To
establish involuntariness on the basis of coercion or
duress, a petitioner must show that (1) the agency effec-
tively dictated the terms of his retirement, (2) he had no
realistic alternative but to retire, and (3) his retirement
was the result of imnroper actions by the agency. Garcia

APODACA v. MSPB 6

v. Dep’t of Homeland Sec., 437 F.3d 1322, 13829 (Fed. Cir.
2006) (en banc). The test is an objective rather than
subjective one; an employee’s subjective feelings are
irrelevant. Middleton v. Dep’t of Defense, 185 F.3d 1374,
1379 (Fed. Cir. 1999).

On appeal, Apodaca primarily argues that, in finding
the agency’s actions justified, the administrative judge
improperly relied on his statements to his supervisor
leading up to November 20, 2008. He argues that his
statements of his intention to retire were mere contem-
plations, pertaining to what he terms the “Exchange
Office Situation” and were irrelevant to his “Constructive
Discharge Claim.” We are not persuaded by Apodaca’s
logic. Apodaca’s actions and words clearly demonstrated
that he did intend to retire and that his last day at the
facility was November 20, 2008. His supervisor relied on
his statements. The administrative judge was entitled to
find Alarid’s testimony credible. The e-mails exchanged
between Alarid and his CSA support the administrative
judge’s finding, which was based on substantial evidence.
The judge noted that Alarid’s testimony was also consis-
tent with other facts such as Apodaca cleaning his office,
packing his personal items and circling dates on his
calendar. Under such belief, it was proper for Alarid to
ask Apodaca to submit an SF-52. As a departing em-
ployee’s supervisor, Alarid was also required collect
Apodaca’s badge and keys. We agree with the Board that
Alarid’s actions were reasonable under the circumstances.

The administrative judge also reasoned that had Apo-
daca believed that he had been involuntarily discharged,
he could have easily refused to submit an SF-52. Apo-
daca’s argument that he submitted his retirement request
and did not return to work because of the hostile manner
in which he had been treated is not sufficient to satisfy

APODACA v. MSPB

~

the demanding legal standard of proving that the agency
coerced him to absent himself from work. See Garcia, 437
F.3d at 1329 (“[T]he doctrine of coercive involuntariness is
a narrow one[,] requiring that the employee satisfy a
demanding legal standard.” (quotation marks omitted)).
We find nothing in the evidence presented below to dem
onstrate that Apodaca was coerced into retirement. On
the contrary, we agree with the Board that Apodaca was
at all times in control of his retirement decision. ‘I'he
administrative judge found that the petitioner refused to
accept any of his supervisor's suggestions with regard to
his retirement and dictated the schedule of his departure
We agree with the administrative judge’s findings and
conclude that none of Apodaca’s allegations are such that,
if proven, would establish that a reasonable employee
confronted with the same circumstances would feel co
erced into retiring. See Middleton, 185 F.3d at 1379.

The Board's finding that Apodaca’s retirement was
voluntary is supported by substantial evidence. We have
considered Apodaca’s remaining arguments and find them
unpersuasive. Accordingly, we affirm the Board’s deci
sion that it lacked jurisdiction over Apodaca’s appeal.

AFFIRMED

COSTS

No costs.

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
2009-3293
ANTONIO M. APODACA

Petitioner,

MERIT SYSTEM PROTECTION BOARD

Respondent

Petition for review of the Merit Systems Protection Board
in AT0752090223-I-1

ORDER

Note: This order is nonprecedential
United State Court Of Appeals For The Federal Circuit
ORDER

A combined petition for panel rehearing and for rehearing
en banc having been filed by the Petitioner, and the petition for
rchearing, having been referred to the panel that heard the appeal,
and thereafter the petition for rehearing en banc having been
referred to the circuit judges who are in regular active service,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for panel rehearing be, and the
same hereby is, DENIED and it is further

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing en banc be, and
the same hereby is, DENIED.

[he mandate of the court will issue on September 10, 2010

FOR THE COURT
se a

Jan Horbaly

Clerk

Dated: 09/03/2010 Filed
U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit
SEP 03 2010
cc Antonio M. Apodaca
Austin M. Fulk Jan Horbaly
Clerk

APODACA V MSPB, 2009-3293
(MSPB — AT07523090223-I-1)

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

O99. 30903
Petitioner
Ment Systems Protection Board

Respondent

JUDGMENT!

PPEAL fT Merit Syst 1 Protect hoard
t } Lei
} ‘ )( i)
Mi]
a Y ORDER OF THE COURT]

an Hiorbaly. (Clerk

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD
ATLANTA REGIONAL OFFICE

Antonio M. Apodaca Docket Number
Appellant, AT-0752-09 0223-I-!

v.

Department of Homeland
Security
Agency.

Antonio M. Apodaca, Miami, Florida, pro se.
Lt. Robert Pirone, Norfolk, Virginia, for the agency.

BEFORE
Garry Wade Klein
Administrative Judge

INITIAL DECISION

The hearing in this case took place at Miami, Florida on
March 9, 2009. A decision was announced at the hearing and it is
fully documented in the attached partial hearing transcript. The
partial transcript contains the complete decision and related
reasoning and legal references. The date of this transmittal
document (not the date of the hearing) is the start date used to
compute the finality date highlighted below in the appeal rights
paragraphs.

DECISION

The appeal is DISMISSED.
FOR THE BOARD “—_

Garry Wade Klein
Administrative Judge

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD
ATLANTA REGIONAL OFFICE

Antonio M. Apodaca,
Appellant
V. Docket No:
AT-0752-09-0223-1- |

Department of

Homeland Security
Agency

BENCH DECISION

ta

APPEARANCES

FOR THE APPELLANT
ANTONIO M. APODACA
14221 SW 146 TERRACE
MIAMI, FLORIDA 33186-7209

FOR THE AGENCY:
lt. ROBERT PIRONE
USCG MLCLANT (lg)
300 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 400
NORFOLK, VA 23510

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

oe

P-R-O-C-E-E-D-I-N-G-S
2:10p.m.

ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE: This will be a
reading of a Bench Decision. The Bench Decision 1s not
the final decision. Once we get the transcript from the
court reporter, my office will issue another document
which will actually submit the transcript of the Bench
Decision to you. That copy will also contain all your
Appeal Rights. Your Appeal Rights will not run until that
document is issued. So the Bench Decision does not begin
the appeal Rights right at this point.

Also, there will be no argument, objections or
discussions during the reading of the Bench Decision or
after it.

Do the parties understand that”
LT. PIRONE: Understood, Your Honor.
MR. APODACA: Yes.
BENCH DECISION
INTRODUCTION

ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE: On December 30+,
2008, the Appellant filed his Board Appeal alleging his
retirement on November 30, 2008 was involuntary. The
Appellant was granted a Jurisdictional Hearing, which
was conducted on March 9t», 2009 in Miami, Florida. For
the reasons stated below, the Appellant’s Appeal is
DISMISSED for lack of jurisdiction.

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

JURISDICTION
GENERAL LEGAL STANDARDS

The Board’s jurisdiction is not plenary; it is lmuted
to those matters over which it has been given jurisdiction
by law, rule or regulation. Maddox v. Merit Systems
Protection Board, 759 F2d 9 at 10 (Fed. Cir. 1985). When
a question is raised regarding the Board’s jurisdiction, the
employee filing the appeal has the burden of proof by a
preponderance of the evidence. See 5 CFR Section
1201.56(a) (2) (2008). Preponderant evidence is defined to
mean that degree of relevant evidence that a reasonable
person, considering the record as a whole, would accept as
sufficient to find that a contested fact is more hkely true
than not. See 5 CFR Section 1201.56(c) (2) (2004).

Generally, a resignation or retirement ts presumed
to be a voluntary act and, therefore, beyond the board's
jurisdiction. See for example, Hurwitz v. Department of
the Army, 61 MSPR 436 at 439 (1994); Gettings vs.
Department of the Air Force, 48 MSPR 502 at 509 (1991).
The presumption of voluntariness may be rebutted by
evidence showing that the resignation or retirement was
the result of duress, coercion or otherwise involuntary.

The mere fact that an employee is faced with
unpleasant choices does not rebut the presumed
voluntariness of the ultimate choice to retire. Locke v. US
Postal Service, 61 MSPR 283 at 287 (1994); see in accord
Schultz v. US Navy, 810 F2d 1133 at pages 1136-37 Fed.
Cir. 1987). Rather, for a retirement in such
circumstances to be considered involuntary and therefore
appealable as a constructive removal, the Appellant must
establish that the Agency did not have reasonable

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

grounds for is actions. Locke 61 MSPR at 288: see also
Schultz 810 F2d at 1136. The appellant failed to do so.

The appellant was the Deputy Controller for the
Integrated Support Command Miami Coast Guard. He
held this position since approximately 2001 or 2002. In
September of 2008, Anthony Alarid became the
Comptroller of the Integrated Support Command 1n
Miami and the Appellant’s first Level Supervisor. Mr.
Alarid testified that when he reported to the ISC Miami
he reviewed the office layout and determined that he
wanted his Deputy Comptroller to be in the office
physically located next to him. He believed this to be a
more professional environment and would increase
communication between him and the Appellant, his
Deputy. Mr. Alarid also beheved it would place Ms.
Lombardi in closer contact with her staff.

When Mr. first discussed with the Appellant in
October, 2008 regarding switching the offices, the
Appellant said he would retire before switching offices.
Mr. Alarid then contacted the Human Resources Office
regarding whether he could order Employee's to switch
offices. Human Resources told him that it was his
decision.

A week later Mr. Alard notified the Appellant he
had made his decision and the Appellant was to switch
offices by December 1°t, 2008. The Appellant responded
he ‘would retire’ the day before the effective date of the
office switch.

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

6

A series of conversations ensured between Mr.
Alarid and the Appellant regarding the Appellant’s
statement he ‘would retire’. The Appellant admitted that
Mr. Alarid begged him not to retire and even offered to
give up his office to the Appellant and Mr. Alarid would
move to Ms. Lombardi’s office. The appellant also
testified that during these conversations he twice circle a
date on his calendar in front of Mr. Alarid stating this
was his retirement date. The second time he circled
November 30%, 2008 as his date of retirement. The
Appellant also testified he circled the last day he would be
in the office, which was November 20», 2008.

On November 20**, 2008 Mr. Aland testified he saw
the Appellant shredding and throwing out documents. He
also saw the Appellant packing up his personal items.
And, convinced that the Appellant was retiring and
having received instructions from the Human Resources
Office to get the Appellant was in the office. Mr. Alarid
asked the Appellant for these items. He also told the
Appellant he; “didn’i have to go out lke this”, to which
the Appellant responded; “No, I’m done”.

Even though the Appellant admitted to circling the
date for his retirement and circling the last day he would
be in the office on the calendar, the Appellant testified he
told Mr. Alarid he was only contemplating retirement.
Mr. Alarid testified that the Appellant never said he was
contemplating, instead he testified that the Appellant
said that he intended to retire on November 30%. Mr.
Alarid’s testimony on this issue 1s credible. It is
consistent with his Affidavit in the file. It is consistent
with the e-mails at Tab G of the Agency file and is
internally consistent.

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

Additionally, the appellant's cleaning out of his
office, packing up his personal items and circling dates on
the calendar are also consistent with Mr. Alarid’s
testimony.

I further find that Mr. Alarid’s actions with regard
to asking the Appellant for his SF-50 wee reasonable. Mr.
Alarid wanted to get a replacement for the Appellant as
quickly as possible and hopevully before the Appellant
left. Human Resources had indicated it was best to have
a Retirement SF-50 from the Appellant to do this.

Similarly, I find Mr. Alarid’s actions with regard to
collecting the Appellant’s badge and keys on November
20* were reasonable, since this was the Appellant’s last
day in the office.

I find the Appellant’s retirement was voluntary. I
find that the A»pellant did not have a reasonable belief
that Mr. Alarid had terminated his employment on
November 20¢t' for the same reason that Mr. Alarid’s
actions were reasonable.

Additionally, if the Appellant actually believed he
was terminated on November 20* he would not have
submitted a Resignation SF-50 indicating he was retiring
on November 30th. There would have been no reason to do
so. The Appellant stated that he was mitigating his
damages. If the Appellant had been constructively
terminated on November 20, he could not have then
voluntarily moved his retirement to November 30" as he
actually did.

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

In summary, I find that the Appellant has not
proven by a preponderance of the evidence that his
retirement was involuntary.

Finally, I note that the Appellant’s allegations of
prohibited discrimination are insufficient to establish
Board jurisdiction in the absence of an otherwise
appealable action. See Cruz v. Department of the Navy,
934 F2d 1240 at pages 1245 (Fed Cir. 1991) (en banc) (the
Board has not granted jurisdiction over discrimination
claims unaccompanied by an appealable action over which
the Board has jurisdiction); Also see Wren v. Department
of the Army, 2 MSPR1 at page 2 (1980) affirmed, 681 F2d
867 at pages 871-73 (D.C. Cir 1982) (5 United States Code
2302(b) is not an independent source of Board
jurisdiction).

For the reasons stated above the appeal is
DISMISSED for lack of jurisdiction.

The record is closed.

(Whereupon, the proceedings were concluded at
2:20p.m.

KEKEKEKKEKEKEKEKKKEREKEKEKEEE

NANCY WEIR REPORTING SERVICES
P.O. BOX 6033 LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA 33466
561/967 2073 FAX 561/433 8026

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD
ATLANTA REGIONAL OFFICE

Antonio M. Apodaca Docket Number
Appellant, AT-0752-09 0223-I-1
v.
Department of Homeland Date: July 24, 2009
Security
Agency.

Antonio M. Apodaca, Miami, Florida, pro se.

Lt. Robert Pirone, Esquire, Norfolk, VA, for the agency.

BEFORE
Neil A. G. McPhie, Chairman
Mary M. Rose, Vice Chairman

FINAL ORDER

The appellant has filed a petition for review in this
case asking us to reconsider the initial decision issued by
the administrative judge. We grant petitions such as this
one only when significant new evidence is presented to us
that was not available for consideration earlier or when
the administrative judge made an error interpreting a law
or regulation. The regulation that establishes this
standard of review is found in Title 5 of the Code of
Federal Regulations, section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. §
1201.115).

After fully considering the filings in this appeal, we
find that a question exists regarding the timeliness of the
appellant’s petition for review. We have not decided that
issue because we conclude that there is no new, previously

unavailable, evidence and that the administrative judge
made no error in law or regulation that affects the
outcome. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.115(d). Therefore, we DENY
the petition for review. The initial decision of the
administrative judge is final. This is the Board’s final
decision in this matter. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING
YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS
You have the nght to request the United States
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit to review this
final decision. You must submit your request to the court
at the following address:
United States Court of Appeals
For the Federal Circuit
717 Madison Place, N.W.
Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no later
than 60 calendar days after your receipt of this order. If
you have a representative in this case, and your
representative receives this order before you do, then you
must file with the court no later than 60 calendar days
after receipt by your representative. If you choose to file,
be very careful to file on tame. The court has held that
normally it does not have the authority to waive this
statutory deadline and that filings that do not comply
with the deadline must be dismissed. See Pinat v. Office
of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to
appeal this decision to court, you should refer to the
federal law that gives you this right. It is found in Title 5
of the United States Code, section 7703 (7 U.S.C. § 7703).
You may read this law, as well as review the Board’s
regulations and other related material, at our website,
http://www.mspb.gov. Additional information is available
at the court’s website, www.cafc.uscourts.gov. Of
particular relevance 1s the

court’s “Guide for Pro Se Petitioners and Appellants,
which is contained within the court's Rules of Practice
and Forms 5. 6. and 11.

FOR THE BOARD a: wae
Willham D. Spencer
Clerk of the Board
Washington, D. C

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

No.
Antonio M. Apodaca,
Petitioner,
v.
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD,

Respondent.

As required by Supreme Court Rule 33.1(h), I certify that
the petition for a writ of certiorari contains 3208 words,
excluding the parts of the petition that are exempted by
Supreme Court Rule 33.1(d).

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct.

Executed on December 01, 2010

Antonio M. Apodaca, Pro Se
14221 SW 146TH Terrace
Miami, FL 33186-7208
(305) 232-7024 (Home Phone)
(305) 498-7366 (Cell Phone)
tapodaca@bellsouth.net

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I, certify that I mailed the attached Petition for
Writ of Certiorari this 02°4 day of December 2010 to each

of the following:

Merit Systems Protection Board

Jeffrey Gauger, Esquire

U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board
1615 M. Street, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20419

Solicitor General of the United States

Solicitor General of the United States
Room 5614

U.S. Department of Justice,

950 Pennsylvania Ave., N. W.
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

December 02, 2010 ' Aniteyco Ctyod att)

Date) Antonio M. Apodaca, Pro Se
14221 SW 146 Terrace
Miami, FL 33186-7208
(305) 232-7024 (Home Phone)
(305) 498-7366 (Cell Phone)
tapodaca@bellsouth.net

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2844%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
