# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Edwards v. A.H. Cornell & Son, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2824%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1280

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

No. 10-1 9-132 NuY 30 2010

————

IN TIOFFICE OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States

SHIRLEY EDWARDS,

Petitioner,
v3
A.H. CORNELL AND SON, INC., D/B/A AH CORNELLS;
MELISSA CLOSTERMAN; SCOTT A. CORNELL,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Ari Karpf Kevin K. Russell

KARPF, KARPF & VIKANT Counsel of Record

3070 Bristol Pike Amy Howe

Building 2, Suite 231 HOWE & RUSSELL, P.C.

Bensalem, PA 19021 7272 Wisconsin Ave.
Suite 300

Pamela S. Karlan Bethesda, MD 20814

Jeffrey L. Fisher (301) 941-1913

STANFORD LAW SCHOOL krussell@howerussell.com

SUPREME COURT
LITIGATION CLINIC
559 Nathan Abbott Way
Stanford, CA 94305

WILSON-EPES'PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WasninGron, D.C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the anti-retaliation provision of the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C.
§ 1140, permit an employer to discharge an employee
for making unsolicited internal complaints regarding
violations of the statute?

es

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ......................... eee cemewetoes IV
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI .............. ]
EM ooo ..ccccacccsccecesesecensseccccnesssscccesscess l
Nee ssi. cccancosnsassasscascecescossscsees l
RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS............... Ss J
ReeeEEEe Ee GP BOEEy CADE, ....................2-0...ccscceeeees 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................... 7

I. The Decision Below Adds To A _ Firmly
Entrenched Conflict Among The Courts Of
Neen nee eee rere. csenscescocceessccsvercsscees 8

Il. This Case Presents An Important And
Recurring Issue Under ERISA............................ 14

Ill. ERISA’s Anti-Retaliation Provision Protects
Unsolicited Internal Reports Of Possible
Tee cn en cawesstansecvocnes 17

A. Nothing In The Text Of Section 510
Precludes Protection For Unsolicited
STS 18

1. An “Inquiry” Encompasses’ An
Internal Complaint. ........................2.0000+ 18

2. An “Inquiry” Includes An Employee-
Initiated Communication........................ 19

B. The Third Circuit’s Rule Contravenes
The Purpose Of ERISA’s Anti-Retaliation

€ ‘

es cncaeceuessenececonce 23

Teena cc ccenacenveseseccssscssscsssssesenes 26

AF Pett bovsnccstnccneidnnvece tain la
Court of Appeals Decision.......................cscseceeeeees la
EPEOEPOCS TANS LIOCIIOOD occ cesicccnsssincesssunsssccvnsccvenscd al

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Aetna Health Inc. v. Davila,

ne ee ccc cuaucssuawresdonvudeesiees 17
Anderson v. Elec. Data Sys., Corp.,

13 F.26. 1333 (oth Cir. 1904)..............<..2....... 8,9, 14
Beneficial Nat'l Bank v. Anderson,

5 BR. Reg —___: RSRRE Renate nv Pe eer 8
Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. White,

Se erly Ce I ina nicnuccenencsciavasanvecevaceseecsivenssns 7, 42
CBOCS W., Inc. v. Humphries,

ee, ac ccgudondeibanosdmuctacisers 7
( 4tizens ’ Bank v. Parker,

ne rt a hc ells 20
City of Edmonds v. Oxford House, Inc.,

ee ee oe oiee re heer dese cuchicuvaicen 20

Crawford v. Metro. Gov’t of Nashville &

Davidson County, Tenn.,
Re ee, Pe I voicecccncacocacacecesascivesssvecrscciens 7, 22

Dunn v. Elco Enter.,
No. 05-71801, 2006 WL 1195867

(E.D. Mich. May 4, 2006)....................cccscssesceee 10, 15
Electro-Mech. Corp. v. Ogan,

D P.O BES (Ge Cir, TODS) «on evcvnscccecccnecssnccssrasssncceess 19
Ello v. Singh,

531 F. Supp. 2d 552 (S.D.N.Y. 2007) .................... 15
FMC Corp. v. Holliday,

Oe ee ee Nay ce isac incense se sarsamreeeoenen 16

Garcia v. United States,
ee a as 19

iy

Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawan,

989 F.2d 406 (Sth Cir. 1993)..........:.........00..0.: 8,9, 14
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,
WE osnieseininccdcncevnsosccncccktedsonsscaneses ty A

Inter-Modal Rail Employees Ass'n v. Atchison,
Topeka, Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

ee te We NE Fic ccsis ceca cnnnscsvescedscndecccsseenascecsneens 16
Jackson v. Birmingham Bd. Of Educ.,

Se re I ccc tncns dates nvebecdvevasconsicansicgouicnsan 7
Jorgensen v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am.,

S62.F. Supp. 255 (D.N.J. LOOSE) .......c0cceccsncccssecsosess 15
King v. Marriott Int’l, 337 F.3d 421

DE NN I as occceachenescshuececstscavedceanscsvessaunion passim
Klein v. Banknorth Group, Inc.,

Te W. CP. Dee CRD. VE. TB 7) onc cence cv cncscececvencsace 15

McClendon v. Hewlett-Packard, Co.,
No. CV-05-087-S-BLW, 2005 WL 1421395

EP, I UIE Th, FID ovo sccenecesecscneceosecacssducensaves 8
McLean v. Carlson Cos., Inc.,

777 F. Supp. 1480 (D. Minn. 1991) ....................... 15
McSharry v. Unumprovident Corp.,

237 F. Supp. 2d 875 (E.D. Tenn. 2002)........... 10, 15

Momchilov v. Mcllvaine Trucking Int'l, Inc.,
No. 5:09CV1322, 2010 WL 1254216 (Mar. 24,

I asada beaded centeadunean 14
Nicolaou v. Horizon Media, Inc.,

402 F.3d 325 (2d Cir. 2005) (per curiam)....... passim
NLRB v. Scrivener,

Oe ee Oe oocs avi canvvnnsenedacudacecemdises 7, 2

Robinson v. Shell Oil Co.,
ee oc eaieg uaa cueeva eas 8

v1

Rogers v. Tyson Foods, Inc.,

Pe ae FED © FRE CAD, DO) cos cceccsscvscccsasvonsessoesesencns 8
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

acs ca copuccasaseisdnsatateddnéasvavsivass 2
Simons v. Midwest Tel. Sales & Serv. Inc.,

462 F. Supp. 2d 1004 (D. Minn. 2006).................. 15
United States v. Mead Corp.,

I es cs scivedvacaseneseaeavsdcssevseceevans 23
Varity Corp. v. Howe,

ss nscideasednkbutunsbensaaansvsserncenenss 19

Statutes

Ne i oscnsscach accseviessstenacacscenssseesenses 10
ee code boa tuiaadsksccosssdencvenessubocenes’ 10
so fan yignnbnhsblexaeaacacdbewkvanwenna cone i
SSE See oe ne ea 21
OP EM RED By ansninnenecnsassatseinessaavonesacostunssessgs 1U
Cee nn a osc cecadinensenwases 10
Employee Retirement Income Security Act,

Be Ps, WE COPE BE BG, coc ceccccessesnsaseccsescassesse passim

I Oe is sce suascsacesdnsssseendavieebainaceacas 15

Pe IED ssa ccscsonccoscasedaciudusanyeroness 13, 20

29 U.S.C. § 110R(aX3) ...................- pajueeln kei 13, 20

oo sa acscpuadadsnkentsckdscreoreiieweanasen 16

NE Ae I inc ivnsichsanetanusecessianisuavecsivanes 13, 20

os cule aca deus nusenabansaaiusian 2, 23

sa seunnsuinnadasensavecdeseaseasanuuns 10

NN Me OTE Fics csisnennvasanndsesnncuacesceseacssanvanet 2

ee ee in se ccsnnpsnunnseniassabdvnnccsvnedscneanss 2

Ss We NI orca csscsnnvesensersssarevenensesschateanns 2

Be ye OB IG wrhedisctekcicdencieresrtcassteiassaiacersas 2
Oe re re avon ainsi esc bats avstantensns 2
Be TIAA, BPE O I D cecscccvcnsavicnsrsanses CaN Sern Ne 17
a ee os hans kien ketenes 2
ee Pas i ccrtscrcc ann 10, 23
Oe Wr Oe I oicaeinchids xcvuecnraonanateassnennenevaseuns 10, 23
Se i eee passim
re ined ecient snes aro 10
29 U.S.C. § 1855(b)......... RoR RAO ROM aa CR A 10
Ee iio fingisncttucascdeoncucnseedaseenaioae 10
DS USC. § USGI) 0... .secrscorsncccrereesssveeserescrnssessenenses 10
ates ee irene scant cee Sr aeae eee are 10

Other Authorities

Department of Labor, Description of Employee
Benefits Security Administration,
available at http://www.dol.gov/ebsa/
CRE ME TE AGI ovis svccncncvnsnsipecscoonsctscvenssones 15

Depariment of Labor, Employee Benefits
Security Administration, Private Pension
Plan Bulletin, June 2010,
available at http://www.dol.gov/ebsa/PDF/

2007pensionplanbulletin.PDF............................... 15
EE.Pe. PROD. PEO, Doe CE OTE) ov cicscnscccccsccccsesccccccsscvens. 24
MERRIAM WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY

aa tiie ewniviees 19

Report of the Congressional Budget Office (Mar.
18, 2010),
available at http://www.cbo.gov/ftpdocs/
113xx/doc11355/hr4872. pdf ..............cccceceeeeeeeeeeeeees 15

Vill

Understanding the Financial Condition of the
Pension Insurance Program,
available at http://www.pbgce.gov/media/key-
resources-for-the-press/content/
racer a dead lavecieedethsasawedanvaasuatans 25

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Shirley Edwards respectfully petitions
for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-
30a) is reported at 610 F.3d 217. The district court’s
opinion (Pet. App. 31a-41a) is unpublished.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on June
24, 2010. Pet. App. la. The court denied a timely
petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc on July
26, 2010. Pet. App. 42a-43a. Justice Alito extended
the time for filing the petition until November 30,
2010. No. 10A370. This Court. has jurisdiction
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Section 510 of the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, provides in relevant
part:

It shail be unlawful for any person to
discharge, fine, suspend, __ expel, or
discriminate against any person because he
has given information or has testified or is
about to testify in any inquiry or proceeding
relating to this chapter or the Welfare and
Pension Plans Disclosure Act.

2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Shirley Edwards was terminated by
her employer for complaining that certain company
practices violated the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act (ERISA). The Third Circuit upheld the
dismissal of her claim under ERISA’s anti-retaliation
provision, holding — in acknowledged conflict with the
decisions of other circuits — that the statute does not
protect unsolicited internal complaints.

1. Statutory Framework. ERISA is a
“comprehensive statute designed to promote the
interests of employees and their beneficiaries in
employee benefit plans.” Shaw v. Delta Air Lines,
Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90 (1983). The statute “imposes
participation, funding, and vesting requirements” on
pension plans, and sets uniform standards for
“reporting, disclosure, and fiduciary responsibility”
for pension and other employee benefit plans. Id. at
91.

In passing ERISA, Congress included a detailed
enforcement scheme “to preclude abuse and ‘to
completely secure the rights and expectations”
established by the statute. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v.
McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 137 (1990) (citation
omitted). Among other things, the statute authorizes
the Department of Labor to conduct investigations
into possible ERISA violations and bring enforcement
actions. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1132, 1134. It also allows civil
actions by plan participants, beneficiaries, and
fiduciaries to remedy and deter violations. 29 U.S.C.
§ 1132(a)(1)-(4), (a)(9).

Congress regarded ERISA’s §anti-retaliation
provision, Section 510 of the Act, as a “crucial part” of
the statute’s enforcement regime. Ingersoll-Rand

3

Co., 498 U.S. at 143. The provision makes it
“unlawful for any person to discharge, fine, expel, or
discriminate against any person because he has given
information or has testified or is about to testify in
any inquiry or proceeding relating to” ERISA. 29
U.S.C. § 1140.

2. Factual Background. In March 2006,
respondent A.H. Cornell and Son, Inc. hired
petitioner Shirley Edwards to serve as its Director of
Human Resources. Pet. App. 3a. A few years later,
Edwards came to believe that the company was
violating ERISA by, among _ other _ things,
administering its group health plan on a
discriminatory basis, not offering health benefits to
some employees and misrepresenting the cost of
health insurance to others to dissuade them from
opting into the plan. Jd.

Petitioner complained of the ERISA violations to
the company’s owners and managers. In response,
respondents terminated her. Pet. App. 3a.

3. Procedural History. Edwards brought suit
in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, alleging that
respondents violated Section 510 of ERISA by
terminating her in retaliation for her “inquirlies,]
objections, opposition, and/or. complaints about
ERISA violations” at the company. First Amended
Complaint 7 39. Respondents moved to dismiss,
asserting that Section 510 does not apply when an
employee complains to a company’s. owners or
management rather than to an external entity. Pet.
App. 33a.

a. Relying on the Second Circuit’s analysis in
Nico:aou v. Horizon Media, Inc., 402 F.3d 325 (2d Cir.
2005) (per curiam), the district court held that

4

Section 510 does not protect employees who raise
allegations of ERISA violations within their company
unless the employer solicits the information. Pet.
App 40a-4la. Because Edwards had brought her
complaints to respondents on her own initiative, the
district court dismissed the complaint for failure to
state a claim. Pet. App. 41a.

b. Edwards appealed to the Third Circuit. At
the outset, the panel recognized that the courts of
appeals are divided on the question “whether the
anti-retaliation provision of Section 510 of ERISA, 29
U.S.C. § 1140, protects an employee’s unsolicited
internal complaints to management.” Pet. App. 2a.
“Four federal Courts of Appeals have ruled on this
issue,” the court observed. Jd. “[T)he Fifth and
Ninth Circuits have held in the affirmative, and the
Second and Fourth Circuits have held in _ the
negative.” Jd. In a divided decision, the panel
“agree(d] with the latter, and [held] that unsolicited
internal complaints are not protected.” Id.

The majority began its analysis by recognizing
that “Edwards has undoubtedly ‘given information’
by objecting and/or complaining to management.”
Pet. App. 12a. The critical question was “whether or
not Edwards did so in any ‘inquiry or proceeding”
relating to ERISA. Jd. The majority held that she
did not.

The court construed the term “inquiry” narrowly
to include only a an externally-initiated “request for
information.” Pet. App. 12a. Thus, the court held,
the information Edwards provided her supervisors
was not part of an inquiry because she volunteered
the information rather than providing it in response
to a question. Id. The court also rejected Edwards’

5

assertion that her communications were themselves
protected inquiries. “[A] plain reading of the
provision indicates that ‘inquiry’ includes only
inquiries made of an employee, not inquiries made by
an employee.” Pet. App. 13a.

The court further held that, in any event, ERISA
protects only statements made in the course of a
formal proceeding, like a lawsuit or agency
investigation. The word “proceeding,” the court
observed, implies a “formal action” before a “tribunal
or agency.” Pet. App. 13a. And although the word
“inquiry” might seem broader, the Third Circuit
agreed with the Fourth that “the phrase ‘testified or
is about to testify’ implies that the phrase ‘inquiry or
proceeding’ is limited to more formal actions.” Id.

The majority recognized that the Fifth and Ninth
Circuits had reached the opposite conclusion. Pet.
App. 7a., But in its view, the reasoning of those
decisions was “not compelling.” Pet. App. 14a. The
Third Circuit also acknowledged that its holding
conflicted with the interpretation of the Department
of Labor, which construes Section 510 to protect
unsolicited internal complaints. Pet. App. 12a. But
the panel declined to defer to that interpretation
because it found the meaning of the _ statutory
language clear. Pet. App. 14a-15a.

For the same reason, the court refused to
examine whether its holding was consistent with the
statute’s protective purposes. Pet. App. 14a. The
majority did not dispute that under _ its
interpretation, the statute “would permit § an
employer to terminate an employee upon _ the
employee first notifying the employer of an ERISA
violation.” Pet. App. 14a-15a (citation omitted). But

6
if Congress had intended to prevent that result, the

court asserted, it would have used different language.
Pet. App. 15a.

c. Judge Cowen dissented. He rejected the
majority’s conclusion that the statutory language
unambiguously precluded protection for employee-
initiated internal complaints, particularly in light of
the court’s obligation to read the statute in light of its
purposes and to avoid absurd results. Pet. App. 19a-
20a. The word “inquiry,” he explained, is a broad
term and could be read to encompass employee
complaints as the “crucial ‘first step” of many
investigations. Pet. App. 22a-23a. It was “highly
doubtful,” he observed, “that Congress could have
ever intended” to “leave[] totally unprotected” the
very conduct “this remedial statutory provision was
enacted to protect in the first place.” Pet. App. 20a.
To hold otherwise, he pointed out, required
concluding that Congress “essentially permitted (and
perhaps, in essence, encouraged) [an employer] to fire
an employee immediately after she makes an
informal complaint.” Pet. App. 23a. He found this
result particularly untenable as applied to certain
employees who, “given their responsibility to conduct
potentially sensitive and damaging investigations
into possible ERISA violations and related matters,
would need protection from retaliation even more
than employees who merely answer[] some
questions.” Pet. App. 24a.

Judge Cowen further observed that the
majority’s rule is ultimately “unworkabie.” Pet. App.
23a. “[Wlhere does one draw the line,” he asked,
between an unprotected initial complaint and a
protected statement “purportedly made as part of

7

some sort of inquiry?” Jd. Suppose, for example, “an
employee like Edwards complains to her superior, the
superior asks some follow-up questions, and the
employee responds to these questions.” Jd. Congress
could not have intended, Judge Cowen argued, to
protect those responses but not the initial complaint.
Id.

d. Edwards filed a timely petition for rehearing
en banc, which the Third Circuit denied. Pet. App.
42a-43a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

As the Third Circuit acknowledged, the courts of
appeals are deeply divided over whether and how
ERISA’s anti-retaliation provision applies in a
frequently recurring circumstance: — unsolicited
compiaints to company management. ‘Two circuits
(as well as the agency charged with ERISA’s
administration), construe Section 510 to cover all
such complaints. Three others read the provision
more narrowly, although even these circuits disagree
with one another about when, if ever, statements to
company management fall within the scope of the
provision.

An anti-retaliation provision cannot perform its
critical function in the midst of such uncertainty.
Indeed, this Court has repeatedly granted certiorari
to resolve similar circuit conflicts regarding the
existence or scope of federal anti-retaliation
protections. Sce, e.g., Crawford v. Metro. Gov’t of
Nashville & Davidson County, Tenn., 129 S. Ct. 846,
850 (2009); CBOCS W., Inc. v. Humphries, 553 U.S.
442, 445 (2008); Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v.
White, 548 U.S. 53, 56-57 (2006); Jackson v.
Birmingham Bd. of Educ., 544 U.S. 167, 172-73

8

(2005); Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337, 340
(1997). It should follow the same course in this case.

I. The Decision Below Adds To A Firmly
Entrenched Conflict Among The Courts
Of Appeals.

The circuits are intractably divided over whether
Section 510 encompasses’ unsolicited internal
complaints regarding potential ERISA violations.
The question arises and has important consequences
in two contexts: suits brought directly under Section
510 and suits in which defendants attempt to remove
state wrongful discharge claims to federal court on
the ground that ERISA completely pre-empts the
state law claim by providing an alternative federal
cause of action.’ Five courts of appeals have

' Although defendants may assert pre-emption defenses in

state court, they may not remove the case to federal court unless
ERISA “completely pre-empts” state law by “provid[ing] the
exclusive cause of action for the claim asserted.” Beneficial
Nat’ Bank v. Anderson, 539 U.S. 1, 8 (2003); see also King v
Marriott Int’, 337 F.3d 421, 425 (4th Cir. 2003); Rogers v
Foods, Inc., 308 F.3d 785, 788 (7th Cir. 2002) (collecting
authorities). Thus, to decide whether state wrongful discharge
claims were completely pre-empted so as to support removal to
federal court, the Fourth, Fifth, and Ninth Circuits have been
required to determine whether allegations in a state complaint
established a claim under Section 510. See, e.g., King, 337 F.3d
at 425; Anderson v. Elec. Data Sys., Corp., 11 F.3d. 1311, 1315
(5th Cir. 1994); Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawaii, 999 F.2d 408, 412
(9th Cir. 1993). Because determining the scope of Section 510
was necessary to these decisions, these cases control suits
within these circuits brought directly under Section 510 as well.
See, e.g., McClendon v. Hewlett-Packard, Co., No. CV-05-087-S-
BLW, 2005 WL 1421395, at *5 (D. Idaho June 9, 2005) (“The

9

considered this issue in one of these two contexts:
two circuits, as well as the Department of Labor,
construe Section 510 to protect unsolicited internal
complaints, while three other circuits do not.

1. The Ninth Circuit was the first to construe
Section 510 to protect unsolicited internal
complaints. Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawai, 999 F.2d
408 (9th Cir. 1993). Like petitioner in this case, the
plaintiff in Hashimoto was terminated after she
brought potential ERISA violations to the attention
of her supervisors and objected when directed to
engage in conduct that would violate ERISA. /d. at
409-10. The Ninth Circuit held that the plaintiffs
complaints constituted “givling] information” within
the protection of Section 510. Jd. at 411. The court
reasoned that “[t]he normal first step in giving
information” about an ERISA violation “would be to
present the problem first to the responsible managers
of the ERISA plan.” Jd. If an employee is “then
discharged for raising the problem, the process of
giving information or testifying is interrupted at its
start: the anticipatory discharge discourages the
whistle blower before the whistle is blown.” Jd.

The Fifth Circuit reached the same conclusion in
Anderson v. Electronic Data Systems, Corp., 11 F.3d.
1311 (5th Cir. 1994). The plaintiff in that case — an
employee responsible for administering pension plan

Ninth Circuit could not have concluded that ERISA [complete]
preemption applied without the determination that the former
employee was qualified to assert ERISA participation
protection. Thus, the pertinent Hashimoto language is not
dictum, but controlling precedent.”).

10

investments — was discharged after he objected to
participating in ERISA violations and reported his
concerns to company management. Id. at 1312-13.
On appeal, the Fifth Circuit noted ERISA’s broad
prohibition on retaliation and held that the plaintiffs
claim fell “squarely within the ambit of ERISA
[Section] 510.” Id. at 1314 (citations omitted).

A number of district courts in other circuits have
adopted the same interpretation.’

So has the Department of Labor, the agency
responsible for administering and enforcing Title I of
ERISA“ See DOL C.A. Br. 5-6; DOL Br., Nicolaou v.
Horizon Media, Inc., available at 2004 WI. 3525515.
As the Department explained in its brief to the Third
Circuit in this case, “[blroadly but naturally
construed, ‘any inquiry or proceeding’ encompasses
plan participants’ complaints to management or plan
officials about wrongdoing, and the process by which
that information is considered, however informal.”

2 See, e.g., Dunn v. Elco Enter., No. 05-71801, 2006 WL
1195867, at *5 (E.D. Mich. May 4, 2006); McSharry v
Unumprovident Corp., 237 F. Supp. 2d 875, 880-81 (E.D. Tenn.
2002)

> See 29 U.S.C. §§ 1132(a), 1135-36. In that role, the
Secretary of Labor “may prescribe such regulations as he finds
necessary or appropriate to carry out” Title | of ERISA. dd.
§ 1135. The Department also administers or enforces numerous
other statutes containing anti-retaliation provisions. See, e.g,
18 U.S.C. § 1514A(a)-(b) (Sarbanes-Oxley Act); 29 U.S.C.
§ 215(a)(3) (Fair Labor Standards Act); id. § 660(c)
(Occupational Safety and Health Act); id. § 1855(a)-(b) (Migrant
and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act); 33 U.S.C.
§ 1367(a)-(b) (Clean Water Act); 49 U.S.C. §31105 (Surface
Transportation Assistance Act).

1]

DOL C.A. Br. 16 (citations omitted). Otherwise,
“employers could readily manipulate the applicability
of section 510 by postponing proceedings’ or
disregarding complaints, and even if formal
proceedings were finally instituted, the whistleblower
who serves as the catalyst for the proceedings would
be wholly unprotected.” DOL C.A. Br. 10.

2. “Faced with the same issue, the Fourth
Circuit has . . . drawn the opposite conclusion,”
holding that Section 510 does not protect unsolicited
internal complaints. Pet. App. 8a-9a (citing King v.
Marriot Int’, Inc., 337 F.3d 421, 427-28 (4th Cir.
2003)). The plaintiff in King was a human resources
manager who was discharged after she complained
about, and refused to participate in, a plan to
“transfer millions of dollars from [her employer's]
medical plan into its general corporate reserve
account.” 337 F.3d at 423. King raised her objections
to her supervisor and also requested an opinion letter
from one of the company’s in-house attorneys. /d.

The Fourth Circuit held that Section 510
provided King no protection because it covers only
statements made in the course of a “legal or [an]
administrative,” process, “or at least something more
formal than written or oral complaints made to a
supervisor.” /d. at 427. The court did not dispute
that the word “inquiry” can be read more broadly, but
concluded that the statute’s additional “use of the
phrase ‘testified or is about to testify’. . . suggestl|s]
that the phrase ‘inquirlies] or proceeding[s]” is
limited to formal proceedings. Id. The court
likewise recognized that the phrase “given
information” was broader than “testified” but
construed it as_ referring to “non-testimonial

12
information,” such as “incriminating documents,”
turned over during a formal inquiry or proceeding.
Id. The Fourth Circuit acknowledged that it was
creating a split with the Fifth and Ninth Circuits, but
it regarded those courts’ decisions as “unpersuasive.”
Id. at 428.

In Nicolaou v. Horizon Media, 402 F.3d 325 (2d
Cir. 2005) (per curiam), the Second Circuit likewise
held that an employee-initiated internal complaint
falls outside the protection of Section 510, but
adopted a different rationale. Nicolaou was an
employee-fiduciary who discovered that her employer
was underfunding its ERISA-covered pension plan.
Id. at 326. Within days after she reported this
violation during a face-to-face meeting with the
company’s outside counsel and its president, she
became the subject of “a campaign of retaliation” that
culminated in her discharge. Id. at 329.

The Second Circuit agreed with the Fourth
Circuit that an unsolicited internal complaint is not
part of a “proceeding” because that term “refers to the
progression of a lawsuit or other business before a
court, agency, or other official body.” 402 F.3d at 329.
But it disagreed with the Fourth Circuit’s conclusion
hat an “inquiry” must be a formal proceeding as well.
Id. at 330 n.3. “Whatever level ot formality is implied
by the term ‘proceeding’. . . the use of the somewhat
less formal term ‘inquiry’ in ERISA is indicative of an
intent to ensure protection for those involved in the
informal gathering of information.” Jd. at 328-29
(quoting DOL Br.). Thus, the court held, “the proper
focus is not on the formality or informality of the
circumstances under which an _ individual gives
information.” Jd. at 330. The “plain meaning of

13

‘inquiry,” the court held, extends the statute’s
protection to “those involved in the informal
gathering of information.” Id. at 328-29.

That insight did not, however, lead the Second
Circuit to conclude that Nicolaou had stated a claim
simply because she complained to her supervisors
about an ERISA violation. aving construed the
word “inquiry” to “refer{] broadly to any request for
information,” 402 F.3d at 329, the court remanded to
allow Nicolaou to “demonstrate that she was
contacted to meet with [management] in order to give
information” about possible ERISA violations. Jd. at
330.

In a concurring opinion, Judge Pooler explained
that limiting Section 510 to complaints made in the
course of a formal proceeding would run contrary to
ERISA’s requirement that plan fiduciaries, like
Nicolaou, investigate and take action to correct plan
violations upon pain of personal liability. 402 F.3d at
330-31 (citing 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104(a)(1), 1105(a)(3),
1109(a)). Moreover, in light of that duty, she believed
that an “inquiry” must include not only
investigations initiated by an employer or outside
entity, but also inquimes conducted by fiduciaries.
Id. at 332.

In this case, the Third Circuit “agree[d] with the
Fourth Circuit’s decision in Aing” that a “plain
reading” of Section 510 precludes protection for
unsolicited internal complaints. Pet. App. 18a-19a.
Like that court, the Third Circuit decided that “the
phrase ‘testified or is about to testify’ implies that the
phrase ‘inquiry or proceeding’ is limited to more
formal actions.” Pet. App. 13a. But it also agreed
with the Second Circuit that “a plain reading of the

14

provision indicates that ‘inquiry’ includes only
inquiries made of an employee, not inquiries made by
an employee” or other employee-initiated complaints.
Id. Because petitioner’s objections were both
informal and unsolicited, it held that Section 510 did
not apply to this case. Id.

3. This case is an ideal vehicle for restoring
uniformity to the law. The scope of Section 510’s
protection is squarely presented by the facts of this
case: petitioner would have prevailed in the Fifth or
Ninth Circuit, but would have lost in the Second and
Fourth Circuits, based on a disagreement among
these courts regarding the meaning of Section 510.
Moreover, the scope of that provision was the sole
question presented on appeal and was thoroughly
considered with the benefit of extensive briefing by
both the parties and the Department of Labor. Pet.
App. 5a.

II. This Case Presents An Important And
Recurring Issue Under ERISA.

Whether ERISA’s = anti-retaliation provision
applies to unsolicited internal complaints is an
important and recurring question.

1. As the longstanding and growing circuit
conflict demonstrates, the scope of Sectien 510’s
protection is frequently litigated in the lower courts.‘

* See, e.g., Nicolaou v. Horizon Media, Inc., 402 F.3d 325

(4th Cir. 2003); Anderson v. Elec. Data Sys. Corp., 11 F.3d 1311,
1315 (5th Cir. 1994); Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawaii, 999 F.2d
408, 411-12 (9th Cir. 1993); Momchilov v. Mcllvaine Trucking

15

That is hardly surprising given that the statute
applies to pension and benefit plans that cover over
150 million people. Eighty-six million actively
participate in ERISA pension plans® and almost
seventy percent of Americans who have health
insurance receive it through an ERISA-governed
plan.’

ERISA’s protections thus remain vital to the
effective provision of American retirement security
and medical benefits. And the Act’s anti-retaliation
provision is essential to the statute’s effectiveness,
helping “to make [ERISA’s] promises credible” by
protecting the individuals who are often best situated

Int'l, Inc., No. 5:09CV1322, 2010 WL 1254216 (Mar. 24, 2010
N.D. Ohio); Ello v. Singh, 531 F. Supp. 2d 552, 573 (S.D.N.Y
2007); Simons v. Midwest Tel. Sales & Serv. Inc., 462 F. Supp
2d 1004, 1008 (D. Minn. 2006); Dunn v. Elco Enter., No. 05-711,
2006 WL 1195867 (May 4, 2006 E.D. Mich.); McSharry v
Unumprovident Corp., 237 F. Supp. 2d 875, 878-79 (E.D. Tenn
2002); Klein v. Banknorth Group, Inc., 977 F. Supp. 302, 304-
305 (D. Vt. 1997); Jorgensen v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 852
F. Supp. 255, 262-63 (D.N.J. 1994); McLean v. Carlson Cos.,
Inc., 777 F. Supp. 1480, 1483-84 (D. Minn. 1991).

° Department of Labor, Description of Employee Benefits
Security Administration, available at http://www.dol.gov/
ebsa/OEManual/main. html; see also 29 U.S.C. § 1001(a) (finding
that ERISA plans directly affect “the continued well-being and
security of millions of employees and their dependents”)

® Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security
Administration, Private Pension Plan Bulletin, p. 3, June 2010,
available at http://www.dol.gov/ebsa/PDF/2007pensionplan
bulletin.PDF.

’ See Report of the Congressional Budget Office 7, Table 2
(Mar. 18, 2010), available at http://www.cbo.gov/ftpdocs/
113xx/doc11355/hr4872.pdf.

16

to identify and bring to light violations that can
threaten the rights of thousands of workers and even
the viability of an employer’s benefit plan. See Inter-
Modal Rail Employees Ass’n v. Atchison, Topeka,
Santa Fe Ry. Co., 520 U.S. 510, 515 (1997); see also
Ingersoll-Rand Co v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 143
(1990).

2. The inconsistent application of this critical
component of ERISA’s enforcement regime is
untenable. Congress intended ERISA to replace a
“patchwork scheme of regulation” by the states. FMC
Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 60 (1990) (citation
omitted). Yet at present, employees are protected
against retaliation for any unsolicited internal
complaint in twelve states. In eight states, Section
510 applies only if the employee raises objections in a
formal proceeding, such as a complaint to the
Department of Labor or a lawsuit. And in two others,
workers must show that they responded to an
employer’s questions and are not protected if they
initiate an inquiry themselves.

Employees need to know whether they can safely
bring their concerns to the attention of the company
or, instead, must file a formal complaint with the
Department of Labor or initiate litigation in order to
secure legal protection against retaliation. The
question is particularly important to plan fiduciaries,
who have an obligation under ERISA to take action
to correct any violation they discover. See 29 U.S.C.
§ 1109.

At the same time, varying interpretations of
ERISA subject employers — particularly those
operating national or regional employee benefit plans
— to inconsistent rules, in conflict with Congress’s
intent to establish “a uniform regulatory regime over

17

employee benefit plans.” Aetna Health Inc. v. Davila,
542 U.S. 200, 208 (2004).

Congress plainly did not intend to provide
employees of the same firm dramatically different
protection depending on whether they worked in the
company’s office in Los Angeles, New York, or
Philadelphia. Nor did Congress intend to subject
employers to varying standards of liability depending
on the circuit in which they are sued. Yet, the
existing division may encourage forum shopping to
achieve precisely that result under ERISA’s
permissive venue provision. 29 U.S.C. § 1132(e)(2)
(permitting plaintiffs to file suit “in the district where
the plan is administered, where the breach took
place, or where a defendant resides or may be
found”).

III. ERISA’s Anti-Retaliation Provision
Protects Unsolicited Internal Reports Of
Possible ERISA Violations.

Certiorari is also warranted because the decision
below conflicts with the text and manifest purposes of
ERISA. “[E]ffective enforcement” of a statute like
ERISA can “only be expected if employees felel] free
to approach officials with their grievances.”
Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. White, 548 U.S.
53, 67 (2006) (citation omitted). Accordingly, this
Court has interpreted the text of analogous anti-
retaliation provisions consistent with Congress’s
intent to ensure that employees are “completely free
from coercion against reporting” unlawful practices.
NLRB v. Scrivener, 405 U.S. 117, 121 (1972) (citation
omitted). In this case, the Third Circuit made no
pretense that its interpretation could be reconciled
with these principles. It held instead that the plain

18

text of Section 510 required it to construe the
provision in a manner that is ineffective to prevent
even the most egregious employer retaliation. But
that conclusion was wrong. In fact, the language
easily permits, and the statutes’ purposes demand,
protection for all employees who make complaints
regarding ERISA violations to their employers.

A. Nothing In The Text Of Section 510
Precludes Protection For Unsolicited
Internal Complaints.

The language of Section 510 is broad and
encompassing. The statute protects not only
employees who “testify” in ERISA “proceedings,” but
also those who “give[] information” in “any inquiry”
relating to an ERISA violation. 29 U.S.C. § 1140.
The terms “information” and “inquiry” are expansive.
An individual can “givie] information” through any
number of methods — from having a face-to-face
discussion to submitting formal complaint
documents. The term “inquiry” is similarly sweeping.
Accordingly, while an “inquiry” would certainly
encompass formal proceedings or employer-initiated
investigations, ordinary usage does not cabin the
term to such a narrow meaning.

1. An “Inquiry” Encompasses An Internal
Complaint.

The Third and Fourth Circuits have nonetheless
construed the term “inquiry” as limited to “formal
actions.” Pet. App. 13a; King, 337 F.3d at 427. These
courts assert that the phrase “inquiry or proceeding”
must be interpreted in light of its proximity to the
phrase “testified or is about to testify,” which
“connote(s}] a formality that does not attend” to

19

“intra-company complaints.” King, 337 F.3d at 427;
see also Pet. App. 13a.

As the Second Circuit rightly observed, precisely
the opposite inference arises from Congress’s
inclusion of the broad and_ colloquial words
“information” and “inquiry,” in addition to the more
specific terms “proceeding” and “testimony.”
Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 330 n.3. A statute must be
read to “give the nouns their separate, normal
meanings.” Garcia v. United States, 469 U.S. 70, 73
(1984) (citation omitted). And in this case,
“proceeding” — the narrower term — by itself
encompasses a formal legal and administrative
process. Lest it be rendered surplusage, the word
“inquiry” must refer to something else.

Nor does the word “inquiry” naturally connote
formality. Quite to the contrary, “the plain meaning
of ‘inquiry” extends to an “informal gathering of
information” as well as to more formal proceedings.
Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 328-29. See, e.g., MERRIAM
WEBSTER’S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY at 646 (11th ed.
2001) (defining “inquiry” as an “examination into
facts or principles”); cf also Varity Corp. v. Howe,
516 U.S. 489, 506 (1996) (referring to informal
“employee inquiries” to plan fiduciaries); Electro-
Mech. Corp. v. Ogan, 9 F.3d 445, 451 (6th Cir. 1993)
(“ERISA imposes a duty upon fiduciaries to respond
promptly and adequately to employee-initiated
inquiries regarding the plan or any of its terms.”)
(emphasis added).

2. An “Inquiry” Includes An Employee-
Initiated Communication.

Even setting aside formality, the Third Circuit
also held that an “inquiry” must be initiated by

20

someone other than the employee herself, thereby
excluding from protection unsolicited complaints.
Pet. App. 13a. But that conclusion finds no support
in the text of Section 510. Furthermore, it would lead
to difficult line-drawing and absurd results Congress
could not have intended.

By its terms, Section 510 applies to “any inquiry”
related to a possible ERISA violation. 29 U.S.C.
§ 1140 (emphasis added). As this Court has
explained, the modifier “any” “excludes selection or
distinction.” Citizens’ Bank v. Parker, 192 U.S. 73,
81 (1904). When Congress uses the word “any” it
“declares the [statutory phrase it modifies] without
limitation.” Id.; see also City of Edmonds v. Oxford
House, Inc., 514 U.S. 725, 739 (1995) (Thomas, J.,
dissenting) (finding it “difficult to imagine what
broader terms Congress could have used” than the
term “any”). By inserting “any” before the term
“inquiry,” Congress thus confirmed that Section 510
would protect the full range of potential inquiries
relating to ERISA.

This includes cases in which an employee
conveys information in the course of conducting her
own inquiry into possible ERISA violations. As in
this case, it is not uncommon that employees with
plan-related responsibilities may come to suspect
that the plan is not being operated in accordance
with ERISA’s' mandates. Indeed, employee-
fiduciaries have a statutory obligation to monitor
plan compliance, investigate possible violations, and
take remedial action. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1104(a)(1),
1105(a)(3), 1109(a). When they fulfill those
responsibilities by alerting their employer of
questionable practices in the course of attempting to
determine the plan’s compliance with the law, they

21

have “given information . . . in an[} inquiry...
relating to” ERISA, within’ any _ reasonable
construction of those words. 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

The statute’s language likewise encompasses
employee complaints that could cause the employer
to initiate an inquiry. In NLRB v. Scrivener, 405
U.S. 117 (1972), this Court considered a similar
question under the National Labor Relations Act
(NLRA). The NLRA prohibits retaliation against an
employee because he has “filed charges or given
testimony under this Act.” 29 U.S.C. §158. In
Scrivener, a union filed a charge with the National
Labor Relations Board, which sent an investigator to
take statements from several employees, whom the
employer then promptly fired.

Although the terminated employees had not filed
any charges, and although they had not yet given any
testimony, this Court held that the statute protected
their conduct. 405 U.S. at 121-25. “The Act’s
reference . .. to an employee who ‘has filed charges or
given testimony[]’ could be read strictly and confined
in its reach to formal charges and formal testimony,”
the Court acknowledged. Jd. at 122. But “[iJt can
also be read more broadly.” Jd. “[T]Jextual analysis
alone” revealed “an intent on the part of Congress to
afford broad rather than narrow protection to the
employee,” consistent with the statute’s “purpose and
objective.” Jd. Accordingly, the Court rejected the
court of appeals’ conclusion that the word “testimony”
did not encompass “preliminary preparations for
giving testimony,” such as providing information to
an investigator. Id. at 121.

So, too, ERISA’s protection for those who “give
information in any inquiry” can and should be
construed to extend to the entirety of the inquiry

22
process, including essential preliminary steps such as
providing information regarding the need for an
investigation.

c. The court of appeals’ contrary narrow
construction of “inquiry”. leads to absurd results
Congress could not have intended.

For one thing, the decision below calls into
question whether complaints to the Department of
Labor are protected. If “a plain reading” of the word
“inquiry” necessarily “includes only inquiries made of
an employee,” as the Third Circuit held, Pet. App.
13a (emphasis added), it does not encompass an
employee’s unsolicited complaint to an_ outside
agency, even one charged with enforcing the statute.

But even assuming the court of appeals would
somehow find a way to protect complaints to the
Government but not to an employer, many anomalies
would nonetheless remain. The protection that
ERISA affords cannot sensibly turn on whether an
employee provides information in response to a
question or on her own initiative. Cf Crawford v.
Metro. Gov't of Nashville & Davidson County, Tenn.,
129 S. Ct. 846, 851 (2009) (describing as “freakish” a
rule “protecting an employee who reports
discrimination on her own initiative but not one who
reports the same discrimination in the same words
when her boss asks a question”). Nor could Congress
have intended the statute’s protections to depend on
whether a supervisor responds to a complaint with a
follow-up question or instead fires the complainant
on the spot.

Moreover, the arbitrary distinctions the Third
Circuit’s decision draws would be entirely too difficult
to administer in practice. Congress would not have
contemplated that juries would spend their time

23

deciding whether a worker was fired for her initial
complaint or for answering a follow-up question; or
whether a supervisor (lawfully) fired the employee for
lodging an initial complaint with the company, or
instead (unlawfully) terminated her for repeating her
complaint to the Government.®

B. The Third Circuit’s Rule Contravenes
The Purpose Of ERISA’s Anti-
Retaliation Provision.

In fact, limiting the protections of Section 510 to
solicited or external complaints would frustrate the
basic purposes of ERISA’s anti-retaliation provision
by providing perverse incentives for both employers
and employees.

By excluding’ protection for — unsolicited
complaints, the majority’s rule in this case would
“permit[] (and perhaps, in essence, encourage[])”
supervisors to “fire an employee immediately after
she makes an informal complaint instead of
conducting an investigation.” Pet. App. 23a (Cowen,
J., dissenting). This may be particularly true when
the supervisor receiving the complaint, and
terminating the employee, is responsible for the

8 To the extent the Court finds the text ambiguous, it
should defer to the Department of Labor’s interpretation. The
Department — which has primary enforcement and regulatory
authority under Title I of ERISA, see 29 U.S.C. §§ 1132, 1135-36
— has construed Section 510 to protect employee-initiated
internal complaints. See DOL C.A. Br. 5-6; DOL Br., Nicolaou
v. Horizon Media, Inc., 2004 WL 3525515. That consistent
position warrants deference. See generally United States v.
Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218 (2001); see also id. at 256-57 (Scalia,
J., dissenting).

24
violation and risks termination himself if the
violation comes to light.

Employees like petitioner are often a company’s
best resource for preventing and remedying breaches
of ERISA because they have direct knowledge of the
company’s practices. The decision here, however,
may often prevent a company’s upper management or
owners from learning of problems at an early stage
when they may be more readily and inexpensively
remedied. That frustrates the statute’s general
intent to prevent violations and encourage voluntary
compliance. See H.R. Rep. No. 93-533, at 17 (1974).

Moreover, by construing Section 510 to protect
only complaints made outside the company, the
decision below encourages workers to file complaints
with the Department of Labor or to proceed directly
to court. But complaining to the Department of
Labor can be ineffective, as the Department of Labor
“simply does not have the resources to monitor all
alleged ERISA violations.”. DOL C.A. Br. 22.
Moreover, even when undertaken, a Department of
Labor investigation imposes significant expense on
employers, creates friction within the workplace, and
can often delay resolution of ERISA disputes that
could be been resolved internally. In these respects,
private lawsuits are even worse, imposing great
expense and delay to resolve ERISA disputes that
often could have been easily resolved through a
simple conversation with the employer.

Worse yet, the decision below inevitably will
discourage many employees from reporting ERISA
violations at all, to the detriment of plan participants

25

and their families and, ultimately, the larger
community.®
+ + + + +

Stripped of any pretense that its narrow
construction of ERISA’s anti-retaliation provision is
the only one permitted by the text of the statute, the
Third Circuit’s interpretation of Section 510 quickly
collapses under the weight of common sense and
congressional purpose. This Court should not permit
that error to continue to propagate among the
circuits.

® Left undiscovered, serious ERISA violations can
jeopardize the very solvency of pension and benefit plans,
imposing significant costs on other plans through increased
insurance premiums to the Pension Benefits Guaranty
Corporation (PBGC), the federal agency that insures ERISA
defined-benefit pensions. And while the PBGC typically relies
on insurance-premium revenue and not tax revenues to
guarantee underfunded pensions, PBGC recognizes some
potential for a taxpayer-funded bailout. See Understanding the
Financial Condition of the Pension Insurance Program,
available at http://(www.pbgc.gov/media/key-resources-for-the-
press/content/page15247.html.

26
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Ari Karpf Kevin K. Russell

KARPF, KARPF & VIRANT Counsel of Record

3070 Bristol Pike Amy Howe

Building 2, Suite 231 HOWE & RUSSELL, P.C.

Bensalem, PA 19021 7272 Wisconsin Ave.
Suite 300

Pamela S. Karlan Bethesda, MD 20814

Jeffrey L. Fisher (301) 941-1913

STANFORD LAW SCHOOL = krussel]/@howerussell.com
SUPREME COURT
LITIGATION CLINIC

559 Nathan Abbott Way

Stanford, CA 94305

November 30, 2010

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 09-3198

SHIRLEY EDWARDS, Appellant
Vo
A.H. CORNELL AND SON, INC., D/B/A AH
CORNELLS;. MELISSA CLOSTERMAN; SCOTT A.
CORNELL

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(District Court No. 09-cv-1184)

District Judge: The Honorable J. Curtis Joyner

Argued April 13, 2010
Before: FISHER, HARDIMAN, and COWEN,
Circuit Judges
(Filed: June 24, 2010)

Justin L. Swidler (Argued)
Bensalem, PA
Counsel for Appellant

Walter H. Flamm, Jr. (Argued)
Blue Bell, PA
Counsel for Appellees

Eric C. Lund (Argued)
Washington, D.C.

Counsel for Amicus Curiae, Secretary of Labor

2a

OPINION OF THE COURT

FISHER, Circuit Judge.

Shirley Edwards filed suit against her employer,
A.H. Cornell and Son, Inc. (“A.H. Cornell”), and
supervisors, Scott A. Cornell and Melissa J.
Closterman, claiming that she was terminated in
violation of Section 510 of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”) and _ state
common law after complaining to management about
alleged ERISA violations. The defendants filed a Rule
12(b)(6) motion to dismiss, and the District Court
granted the motion, holding that Edwards’s complaints
were not part of an “inquiry or proceeding” and thus not
protected under Section 510. On appeal, we are
presented with a single issue of first impression for this
Court: whether the anti-retaliation provision of Section
510 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, protects an employee’s
unsolicited internal complaints to management. Four
federal Courts of Appeals have ruled on this issue: the
Fifth and Ninth Circuits have held in the affirmative,
and the Second and Fourth Circuits have held in the
negative. We agree with the latter, and hold that
unsolicited internal complaints are not protected.

-

A,}
Defendant A.H. Cornell is a family-owned
company that provides commercial and residential

| Because Edwards appeals from a Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss, the facts pled by Edwards
in her complaint are assumed to be true. See Fowler v. UPMC
Shadyside, 578 F.3d 203, 210 (3d Cir. 2009).

3a

construction services. In March 2006, A.H. Cornell
hired Plaintiff Edwards to serve as its Director of
Human Resources and to establish a human resources
department. Defendant Cornell, an A.H. Cornell
executive, oversaw the terms and conditions of
Edwards’s employment, and Defendant Closterman,
who managed the company’s daily operations, acted as
Edwards’s supervisor. Edwards was employed by A.H.
Cornell for a total of nearly three years. As an
employee, Edwards participated in the company’s
group health insurance plan, which was governed by
ERISA.

Edwards claims that she discovered, during the last
weeks of her employment, that A.H. Cornell was
engaged in several ERISA violations: the company was
allegedly administering the group health plan on a
discriminatory basis, misrepresenting to some
employees the cost of group health coverage in an effort
to dissuade employees from opting into benefits, and
enrolling non-citizens in its ERISA plans by providing
false social security numbers and other fraudulent
information to insurance carriers. Edwards alleges
that she “objected to and/or complained to” A.H.
Cornell’s management about these ERISA violations
and was terminated on or around February 11, 2009, as
a result. (App. at 26, 9 33.) According to Edwards,
Closterman was. directly responsible for her
termination, and Cornell participated.

B.

On March 18, 2009, Edwards filed a complaint in
the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania against A.H. Cornell, Cornell,

4a

and Closterman, asserting an anti-retaliation claim
under Section 510 of ERISA and common law wrongful
discharge. On May 18, 2009, the defendants filed a
motion to dismiss the complaint pursuant to Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6), arguing that Edwards
had not engaged in a protected activity under Section
510.

The District Court granted the motion to dismiss
on July 23, 2009. After examining the circuit split on
this issue, the District Court determined that the
Second Circuit’s analysis in Nicolaou v. Horizon
Media, Inc., 402 F.3d 325 (2d Cir. 2005) (per curiam),
was persuasive and held that Edwards failed to state
a claim upon which relief could be granted because
her alleged objections and/or complaints’ to
management were not part of an “inquiry or
proceeding”:

“Plaintiff does not allege that anyone
requested information from her or initiated
contact with her in any way regarding the
alleged ERISA violations. Nor does she allege
that she was involved in any type of formal or
informal gathering of information. She states
merely that she objected to or complained
about certain conduct by Defendants.”

(App. at 13-14 (citations omitted).) Having dismissed
Edwards’s ERISA claim, the District Court declined
to exercise supplemental jurisdiction over Edwards’s
state law claim for wrongful discharge.

Edwards timely appealed, and the Secretary of
Labor filed a brief as amicus curiae in support of
Edwards’s position.

The District Court had jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1331, and we have jurisdiction pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1291. “We review de novo the District
Court’s dismissal of an action under Rule 12(b)(6).”
Nationwide Life Ins. Co. v. Commonwealth Land Title
Ins. Co., 579 F.3d 304, 307 (3d Cir. 2009) (emphasis
omitted). Pursuant to Ashcroft v. Iqbal, --- U.S. ----,
129 S. Ct. 1937, 173 L.Ed.2d 868 (2009), district
courts must conduct a two-part analysis when
presented with a motion to dismiss. Fowler v. UPMC
Shadyside, 578 F.3d 203, 210 (3d Cir. 2009). “First,
the factual and legal elements of a claim should be
separated.” Id. “The District Court must accept all of
the complaint’s well-pleaded facts as true, but may
disregard any legal conclusions.” Jd. at 210-11.
“Second, a District Court must then determine
whether the facts alleged in the complaint are
sufficient to show that the plaintiff has a ‘plausible
claim for relief.” Jd. at 211 (quoting /gbal, 129 S. Ct.
at 1950).

III.

The sole issue on appeal is whether the District
Court erred in holding that unsolicited internal
complaints are not protected activities under the anti-
retaliation provision of Section 510 of ERISA, 29
U.S.C. § 1140.2 We will affirm.

Edwards also contends, citing a single district court
opinion, that she is protected under a separate clause of Section
k
510, which provides,
“It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge ... a
articipant or beneficiary for exercising anv right to
y ;

6a

A. Background

“ERISA is a comprehensive statute designed to
promote the interests of employees and_ their
beneficiaries in employee benefit plans.” Shaw uv.
Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90, 103 S. Ct. 2890,
77 L.Ed.2d 490 (1983). “The statute imposes
participation, funding, and vesting requirements on
pension plans. It also sets various uniform
standards, including rules concerning reporting,
disclosure, and fiduciary responsibility, for both
pension and welfare plans.” Jd. at 91, 103 S. Ct.
2890. As part of this system, “Congress included
various safeguards to preclude abuse and ‘to
completely secure the rights and expectations brought
into being by this landmark reform legislation.”
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 137,
111 S. Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990) (quoting S.
Rep. No. 93-127, at 36 (1973), 1974 U.S.C.C.A.LN.
4838). One such safeguard is ERISA’s anti-
retaliation or “whistleblower” provision, which
provides as follows:

which he is entitled under the provisions of an employee

benefit plan, lor] this subchapter, ... or for the purpose of

interfering with the attainment of any right to which
such participant may become entitled under the plan,
lor] this subchapter[.]”

29 U.S.C. § 1140. (See also Edwards Br. at 15-16.) Since
Edwards failed to raise this argument in the District Court, it is
waived. See DIRECTV Ince. v. Seijas, 508 F.3d 123, 125 n. 1 (3d
Cir. 2007) (“It is well established that arguments not raised
before the District Court are waived on appeal.”).

Ta

“It shall be unlawful for any person to
discharge, fine, suspend, expel, or discriminate
against any person because he has given
information or has testified or is about to testify
in any inquiry or proceeding relating to this
chapter or the Welfare and Pension Plans
Disclosure Act.”

29 U.S.C. § 1140. Put simply, the purpose of the
provision is to “proscribe[ ] interference with rights
protected by ERISA.” Ingersoll-Rand Co., 498 U.S. at
137, 1118S. Ct. 478.

B. The Circuit Split

The federal Courts of Appeals are split on whether
Section 510 encompasses’ unsolicited internal
complaints. The Fifth and Ninth Circuits have held in
the affirmative, see Anderson v. Elec. Data Sys. Corp.,
11 F.3d 1311 (5th Cir. 1994), and Hashimoto v. Bank
of Hawai, 999 F.2d 408 (9th Cir. 1993), while the
Second and Fourth Circuits have held in the negative,
see Nicolaou, 402 F.3d 325, and King v. Marriott Int'l
Inc., 337 F.3d 421 (4th Cir. 2003).

The Ninth and Fifth Circuits were the first circuits
to consider the issue. In each case, the plaintiff
employee filed a complaint under state law alleging
wrongful discharge for complaining to supervisors
about alleged ERISA violations.* Hashimoto, 999 F.2d
at 409-10; Anderson, 11 F.3d at 1312-13. Finding that
Section 510 of ERISA already provided employees with

3 The employee in Anderson also claimed that he was
discharged for refusing to commit acts in violation of ERISA. 11
F.3d at 1312-13.

Sa

a remedy, the Ninth Circuit held that the employee’s
state law claim was completely preempted by ERISA
and remanded the case to allow the state claim to be
re-characterized as aé_ federal cause of action.
Hashimoto, 999 F.2d at 411-12. The court explained
that the failure of Section 510 to protect internal
complaints would, in practice, inhibit the effectiveness
of the anti-retaliation provision:

“The normal first step in giving information or
testifying in any way that might tempt an
employer to discharge one would be to present
the problem first to the responsible managers of
the ERISA plan. If one is then discharged for
raising the problem, the process of giving
information or testifying is interrupted at its
start: the anticipatory discharge discourages
the whistle blower before the whistle is blown.”

Id. at 411. Shortly thereafter, the Fifth Circuit arrived
at the same conclusion in Anderson, holding that a
state law claim for wrongful discharge was preempted
by ERISA in part “because the cause of action would
conflict with the enforcement provisions of §§ 502(a)
and 510 of ERISA.” 11 F.3d at 1314. The court
further explained, in broad terms, “[the employee's]
claim falls squarely within the ambit of ERISA §
510[,]” which “addresses discharges for exercising
ERISA rights or for the purpose of interfering with the
attainment of ERISA rights, as well as discharges for
providing information or testimony relating to
ERISA.” Jd. (quotations and citations omitted).

Faced with the same issue, the Fourth Circuit has
since drawn the opposite conclusion, holding that an
employee’s state law wrongful discharge claim is not

9a
preempted by ERISA because Section 510 does not
protect unsolicited internal complaints. King, 337
F.3d at 427-28. Focusing on “the proper scope of the
phrase ‘inquiry or proceeding,” the court analogized
Section 510 to the anti-retaliation provision in the Fair

Labor Standards Act (FLSA)*:

“In the instant case, as well, the use of the
phrase ‘testified or is about to testify’ does
suggest that the phrase ‘inquirlies] or
proceeding[s]’ referenced in section 510 is
limited to the legal or administrative, or at
least to something more formal than written or
oral complaints made to a supervisor. The
phrase ‘given information’ does no more than
insure that even the _ provision of non-
testimonial information (such as incriminating
documents) in an inquiry or proceeding would
be covered. And, here as well [ ], the anti-
retaliation provision in section 510 is much
narrower than the equivalent [in Title VII.]°”

4 Section 15(a)(3) of the FLSA provides that it is unlawful
for any person
“to discharge or tn any other manner discriminate
against any employee because such employee has filed
any complaint or instituted or caused to be instituted any
proceeding under or related to this chapter, or has
testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding, or
has served or is about to serve on an _ industry
committeel.]”
29 U.S.C. § 215(a)(3). In Ball v. Memphis Bar-B-Q'Co., Inc., 228
F.3d 360 (4th Cir. 2000), the Fourth Circuit held that Section
15(a)(3) does not protect internal complaints. /d. at 364. This is
the minority view. See note 8, infra.
5 Section 704(a) of Title VII provides,

10a

Id. at 427 (first and second alterations in original;
footnote 5 supplied). The Fourth Circuit found that the
Ninth and Fifth Circuit decisions in Hashimoto and
Anderson, respectively, were not persuasive. According
to the court, the Ninth Circuit in Hashimoto improperly
“reject[ed] the most compelling interpretation of the
statutory language for a ‘fair’ interpretation,” and the
Fifth Circuit in Anderson “merely recited section 510
without even addressing the facial inapplicability of
section 510 to intra-office complaints.” Id. at 428.

The sole federal Court of Appeals to address this
issue in the context that we are presented with here —
where an employee actually brings suit under Section
510 of ERISA itself — is the Second Circuit in Nicolaou.
402 F.3d at 327. Unlike the Fourth Circuit in King,
the Second Circuit found that Section 510 of ERISA is
“unambiguously broader in scope” than its counterpart
in the FLSA. Jd. at 328. Nevertheless, the court held
that unsolicited internal complaints are not protected
activities. First, the court explained that internal
complaints could not fall under the term “proceeding”
because “proceeding” “refers to the progression of a
lawsuit or other business before a court, agency, or
other official body[.]” Jd. at 329. Second, the court
held that, for an internal complaint to constitute an

“It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an
employer to discriminate against any of his employees ...
because he has opposed any practice made an unlawful
employment practice by this subchapter, or because he
has made a charge, testified, assisted, or participated in
any manner in an investigation, proceeding, or hearing
under this subchapter.”

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-3(a).

lla
“inquiry,” the employee would need to “demonstrate
that she was contacted to meet with [management] in
order to give information about the alleged [ERISA
violation.!” Jd. In other words, the employee’s
complaint would need to have been solicited.®

C. The Plain Meaning of Section 510

We begin our analysis of ERISA’s anti-retaliation
‘provision “with an examination of ERISA’s statutory
language because ‘absent a clearly expressed
legislative intention to the contrary, that language
must ordinarily be regarded as conclusive.” Wolk uv.
Unum Life Ins. of Am., 186 F.3d 352, 355 (3d Cir.
1999) (quoting Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Corp. v.
Bonjorno, 494 U.S. 827, 835, 110 S. Ct. 1570, 108
L.Ed.2d 842 (1990)) (other quotations and citations
omitted). Therefore, “the first step is to determine
whether [Section 510] has a plain and unambiguous
meaning.” Dobrek v. Phelan, 419 F.3d 259, 263 (3d
Cir. 2005). Words or provisions are ambiguous when
“they are reasonably susceptible of different
interpretations.” Jd. at 264 (quoting Natl R.R.
Passenger Corp. v. Atchison Topeka & Santa Fe Ry.
Co., 470 U.S. 451, 473 n. 27, 105 S. Ct. 1441, 84
L.Ed.2d 432 (1985)). If there is an ambiguity, we look
to “the surrounding words and provisions and also to
the words in context.” 7d.

To reiterate, Section 510 of ERISA provides as
follows:

6 Although its analysis was more nuanced with regard to
the term “inquiry,” the Nicolaou court did not view its holding to
be in conflict with the Fourth Circuit’s decision in King. See
Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 330.

12a

“It shall be unlawful for any person to
discharge, fine, suspend, expel, or discriminate
against any person because he has given
information or has testified or is about to
testify in any inquiry or proceeding relating to
this chapter or the Welfare and Pension Plans
Disclosure Act.”

29 U.S.C. § 1140. Since Edwards has undoubtedly
“given information” by objecting and/or complaining
to management, at issue in this appeal is whether or
not Edwards did so in any “inquiry or proceeding.”
The Secretary of Labor argues, in its brief as amicus
curiae, that “[blroadly but naturaily construed, ‘any
inquiry or proceeding’ encompasses plan participants’
complaints to management or plan officials about
wrongdoing, and the _ process by which _ that
information is considered, however informal.”
(Secretary Br. at 16.) We disagree.

An “inquiry” is generally defined as “[a] request
for information.” Black’s Law Dictionary 864 (9th
ed.2009). Here, Edwards does not allege that anyone
approached her requesting information regarding a
potential ERISA violation. Rather, she made her
complaint voluntarily, of her own accord. Under
these circumstances, the information that Edwards
relayed to management was not part of an inquiry
under the term’s plain meaning.

On appeal, Edwards argues that her objections
and/or complaints were themselves the inquiry. We
disagree. Edwards’s complaints were statements
regarding potential ERISA violations, not questions
seeking information. Furthermore, because § 1140
protects employees that have “given information,” not

l3a

employees that have “received information,” a plain
reading of the provision indicates that “inquiry”
includes only inquiries made of an employee, not
inquiries made by an employee. The fact that
Edwards’s complaints may have eventually
“culminatled]” in an inquiry, (see Secretary Br. at 17),
underscores the fact that the complaints themselves,
without more, do not constitute an inquiry.

Neither is Edwards’s conduct encompassed by the
term “proceeding.” A “proceeding” is commonly
defined as “[t]he regular and orderly progression of a
lawsuit” or the “procedural means for seeking redress
from a tribunal or agency.” Black’s Law Dictionary
1324 (9th ed. 2009). Here, there is no suggestion that
any such formal action has occurred.’

In so holding, we follow the Fourth Circuit’s
opinion in King. As the King court noted, even
beyond the plain meaning of “inquiry” and
“proceeding,” the phrase “testified or is about to
testify” implies that the phrase “inquiry or
proceeding” is limited to more formal actions. See
King, 337 F.3d at 427. Not all anti-retaliation
statutes are so limited. In drafting § 1140, Congress
could have used broad language similar to that
present in the anti-retaliation provision in Section
704(a) of Title VII, which extends broad protection to
employees that have “opposed any practice made an
unlawful employment practice by [Title VII.]” 42

’ As it is not necessary for the disposition of this case, we
decline to elaborate on the level of formality required for
protection under Section 510. At the very least, the provision
would protect information given in legal and administrative
proceedings.

l4a
U.S.C. § 2000e-3(a). Congress declined to do so, and,
like the court in King, we find this choice to be
persuasive. See King, 337 F.3d at 427. Finally, we
agree with the Fourth Circuit that the Ninth and
Fifth Circuit opinions in Hashimoto and Anderson,
respectively, sre not compelling. Neither court
examined the statutory language of Section 510 in
detail: the Fifth Circuit gave the issue cursory
treatment, see Anderson, 11 F.3d at 1314, and the
Ninth Circuit appeared to focus its analysis on the
adoption of a “fair” interpretation, see Hashimoto, 999

F.2d at 411. See also King, 337 F.3d at 428.

Edwards and the Secretary argue that we should
give Section 510 a broader reading because ERISA is
a remedial statute. This connection is lacking.
Although ERISA “should be liberally construed in
favor of protecting the participants in employee
benefit plans,” see IUE AFL-CIO Pension Fund uv.
Barker & Williamson, Inc., 788 F.2d 118, 127 (3d Cir.
1986), this does not entitle us to ignore clear
statutory language. See Wolk, 186 F.3d at 355
(“[A]bsent a clearly expressed legislative intention to
the contrary, [ERISA’s statutory] language must
ordinarily be regarded as conclusive.” (quotations and
citations omitted)). If Section 510 were ambiguous,
we would construe the provision in favor of plan
participants. However, as discussed above, we find
the provision’s plain meaning to be clear.

Likewise, Edwards and the Secretary argue that
Section 510 deserves a broader reading because the
failure to protect unsolicited internal complaints
would undermine the provision’s purpose, as “it would
permit an employer to terminate an employee upon

15a

the employee first notifying the employer of the
ERISA violation[.]” (Edwards Br. at 14.) This
contention must also fail. Presented as we are with
clear statuary language, we do not need to speculate
as to Congress’s intent. It suffices to note that, had
Congress been concerned with such a_ scenario,
Congress could have used broad language mirroring
the anti-retaliation provision of Title VII. Congress
chose not to do so.

D. Analogous Third Circuit Precedent

Contrary to the assertions of Edwards and the
Secretary, the conclusion that Section 510 of ERISA
does not protect unsolicited internal complaints does
not conflict with our prior case law regarding anti-
retaliation statutes. Edwards and the Secretary cite
two opinions to that effect: Brock v. Richardson, 812
F.2d 121 (3d Cir. 1987), which addresses the scope of
Section 15(a)(3) of the FLSA, and Passaic Valley
Sewerage Commissioners v. United States Department
of Labor, 992 F.2d 474 (3d Cir. 1993), which
addresses the scope of Section 507(a) of the Clean
Water Act (CWA). Neither case is controlling here.

Brock is distinguishable because it concerned a
different issue in the context of a different statute.
We examined in Brock whether “an employer’s
[mistaken] belief that an employee has engaged in
protected activity is sufficient to trigger application”
of the anti-retaliation provision of the FLSA, and held
in the affirmative. 812 F.2d at 123. We did not
address whether Section 15(a)(3) of the FLSA protects
internal complaints. There is a circuit split on this

16a
issue, which we have not yet joined.®

Even if we had held in Brock that internal
complaints are protected under the FLSA, that
conclusion would not be dispositive here. Section
15(a)(3) of the FLSA and Section 510 of ERISA are
not identical. Section 15(a)(3) of the FLSA extends
broadly to persons that have “filed any complaint,”
without explicitly stating the level of formality
required. 29 U.S.C. § 215(a)(3). Section 510 of
ERISA, in contrast, extends only to persons that have
“siven information or [ ] testified” in an “inquiry or
proceeding.” 29 U.S.C. § 1140. The word “complaint”
is not even used. Therefore, the conclusion that
internal complaints are protected under the FLSA
does not require a parallel conclusion under ERISA’s
distinct statutory language.

8 The First, Fifth, Sixth, Eighth, Ninth, Tenth, and
Eleventh Circuits have held that internal complaints are
protected under the FLSA. See Hagan v. Echostar Satellite,
L.L.C., 529 F.3d 6*7, 626 (5th Cir. 2008); Lambert v. Ackerley,
180 F.3d 997, 1004 (9th Cir. 1999) (en banc); Valerio v. Putnam
Assocs. Inc., 173 F.3d 35, 41 (1st Cir. 1999); E.E.0.C. v. Romeo
Cmty. Sch., 976 F.2d 985, 989 (6th Cir. 1992); E.#.0.C. v. White &
Son Enters., 881 F.2d 1006, 1011 (llth Cir. 1989); Love uv.
RE/MAX of Am., Inc., 738 F.2d 383, 387 (10th Cir. 1984);
Brennan v. Maxey’s Yamaha, Inc., 513 F.2d 179, 181 (8th Cir.
1975). The Second and Fourth Circuits have held to the contrary.
See Ball, 228 F.3d at 364; Lambert v. Genesee Hosp., 10 F.3d 46,
55 (2d Cir. 1993). Finally, the Seventh Circuit has taken a
middle approach. See Kasten v. Saint-Gobain Performance
Plastics Corp., 570 F.3d 834, 838, 840 (7th Cir. 2009) (holding
that written, but not oral, internal complaints are protected based
on the inclusion of the verb “filed”), cert. granted, --- U.S. ----, 130
S. Ct. 1890, 176 L.Ed.2d 361 (2010). We have cited the majority
approach with approval in dicta. See Brock, 812 F.2d at 124.

l7a
Passaic Valley provides a closer comparison. In
Passaic Valley, we examined, as here, whether
intracorporate complaints are protected under Section
507(a) of the CWA. 992 F.2d at 477. Section 507(a)
provides as follows:

“No person shall fire, or in any other way
discriminate against, or cause to be fired or
discriminated against, any employee or any
authorized representative of employees by
reason of the fact that such employee or
representative has filed, instituted, or caused
to be filed or instituted any proceeding under
this chapter, or has testified or is about to
testify in any proceeding resulting from the
administration or enforcement of _ the
provisions of this chapter.”

33 U.S.C. § 1367(a). We held in Passaic Valley that
the term “proceeding” within Section 507(a) is
ambiguous: “The term may reasonably be invoked to
encompass a range of complaint activity of varying
degrees of formal legal status.” 992 F.2d at 478.
Accordingly, we gave Chevron deference to the
Secretary of Labor’s Final Decision and Order and
held that intracorporate allegations are protected
under the CWA. 7d. at 478-80.

Although it might appear so at first glance,
Passaic Valley is not dispositive here for a couple of
reasons, not the least of which is that Passaic Valley
addresses Section 507(a) of the CWA, not Section 510
of ERISA. First, to preclude an expansive use of our
holding, we did not state in Passaic Valley that the
term “proceeding” is necessarily ambiguous in all
anti-retaliation provisions. Rather, we _ expressly

18a

stated that the term “proceeding” is ambiguous
“within § 507(a) of the Clean Water Act[.|” Jd. at 478
(emphasis added). In so holding, we avoided the rote
application of Passaic Valley in other contexts, such
as that of Section 510 of ERISA.

Second, we gave Chevron deference in Passaic
Valley to the Secretary of Labor’s “reasonably
permissive construction” that “all good faith
intracorporate allegations are fully protected from
retaliation under § 507(a)[.)” Jd. at 480. Contrary to
the Secretary’s suggestion here, we do not likewise
owe Chevron deference to the Secretary’s allegedly
consistent reading of Section 510. Although the
Department of Labor is the federal agency in charge
of overseeing ERISA, see Mack Boring & Parts uv.
Meeker Sharkey Moffitt, Actuarial Consultants, 930
F.2d 267, 276 (3d Cir. 1991), we do not apply Chevron
deference to “agency litigat{ion] positions that are
wholly unsupported by regulations, ruling, or
administrative practice,” Bowen v. Georgetown Univ.
Hosp., 488 U.S. 204, 212, 109 S. Ct. 468, 102 L.Ed.2d
493 (1988). In Passaic Valley, we relied on the
Secretary’s Final Decision and Order. 992 F.2d at
477. Here, in contrast, the Secretary has not pointed
to any regulations, rulings, or other material in
support of its position.

Therefore, rather than base our holding on our
prior case law regarding Section 507(a) of the CWA,
we will ground our decision in the plain meaning of
Section 510 of ERISA itself.

IV.

In summary, we agree with the Fourth Circuit’s

19a

decision in King that unsolicited internal complaints
are not protected under Section 510 of ERISA, 29
U.S.C. § 1140, based on a plain reading of that
provision’s terms. We will accordingly affirm the
order of the District Court.’

COWEN, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

Unlike the Court, I conclude that ERISA’s anti-
retaliation provision does indeed protect “an employee's
unsolicited internal complaints to management.”
Accordingly, I must respectfully dissent.

The majority is obviously correct that the statutory
interpretation process must begin with the actual
language of Section 510. Specifically, the statutory
language at issue is generally regarded as conclusive, at
least in the absence of a clearly expressed legislative
intention to the contrary. See, e.g., Wolk v. UNUM Life
Ins. of Am., 186 F.3d 352, 355 (3d Cir. 1999). I further
agree with the majority that “the first step is to
determine whether [Section 510] has a plain and
unambiguous meaning.” Dobrek v. Phelan, 419 F.3d
259, 263 (3d Cir. 2005) (citing Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal
Co., 534 U.S. 438, 450, 122 S. Ct. 941, 151 L.Ed.2d 908
(2002)). I, however, believe that the statutory language
used in this anti-retaliation provision is ambiguous. In

i) In light of our disposition, we decline to address A.H.
Cornell’s additional arguments that Edwards cannot maintain a
claim against Cornell and Closterman because they “merely
served as the company’s agents,” (A.H. Cornell Br. at 7), and that,
regardless of the outcome of this appeal, the allegations in
Edwards’s complaint fail to satisfy the pleading requirements
articulated by the Supreme Court in Bell Atlantic Corp. uv.
Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 127 S. Ct. 1955, 167 L.Ed.2d 929 (2007).

20a

fact, as explained below, I find it highly doubtful that
Congress could have ever intended for its anti-
retaliation provision to apply in the manner suggested
by the majority, in particular because the majority’s
interpretation leaves totally unprotected a certain
category of conduct (as well as the employees who may
engage in such conduct) that this remedial statutory
provision was enacted to protect in the first place. See,
e.g., Disabled in Action of Pa. v. Southeastern Pa.
Transp. Auth., 539 F.3d 199, 210 (3d Cir. 2008) (stating
that we “avoid constructions that produce ‘odd’ or
‘absurd results’ or that are ‘inconsistent with common
sense” (quoting Public Citizen v. U.S. Dep’t of Justice,
491 U.S. 440, 454, 109 S. Ct. 2558, 105 L.Ed.2d 377
(1989); 2A N. Singer, Sutherland Statutes and
Statutory Construction § 45:12, at 92 (6th ed. 2000))).

Initially, the majority does acknowledge at least
some of the broad considerations underlying ERISA
and its anti-retaliation provision, but it generally fails
to give these various considerations the weight they
deserve. Accordingly, the majority recognizes that
ERISA, as a remedial statute, “should be liberally
construed in favor of protecting the participants in
employee benefit plans.” JUE AFL-CIO Pension Fund
uv. Barker & Williamson, Inc., 788 F.2d 118, 127 (3d Cir.
1986) (citations omitted). It likewise states that: (1)
ERISA is a comprehensive statute designed to promote
the interests of employees and their beneficiaries, see,
e.g., Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90, 103
S. Ct. 2890, 77 L.Ed.2d 490 (1983); (2) the statute
imposes different standards and requirements with
respect to the operation of the plans themselves; id. at
91, 103 S. Ct. 2890; (3) Congress similarly included
various safeguards in order to deter abuse and “to

2la
completely secure the rights and expectations brought
into being by this landmark reform legislation,”
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 137,
111 S. Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990) (quoting S.Rep.
No. 93-127, at 36 (1973)); and (4) Section 510, designed
to eliminate interference with the rights protected by
ERISA, represents one of these critical statutory
safeguards, id. I further note that “Congress viewed
this section as a crucial part of ERISA because, without
it, employers would be able to circumvent the provision
of promised benefits.” Jd. at 143, 111 S. Ct. 478 (citing
S. Rep. No. 93-127, at 35-36; H.R. Rep. No. 93-533, at
17 (1973)). In other words, this anti-retaliation
provision plays a very important and even essential role
in the proper implementation of the whole ERISA
scheme because it actually “helps to make (ERISA’s]
promises credible.” Inter-Modal Rail Employees Ass’n
v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 520 U.S. 510,
515, 117 S. Ct. 1513, 137 L.Ed.2d 763 (1997) (quoting
Heath v. Varity Corp., 71 F.3d 256, 258 (7th Cir. 1995)).

Far from liberally construing this remedial
legislation in favor of the very persons it was designed
to protect, the majority adopts an_ ultimately
unsustainable interpretation. At least at times, it
appears to follow the very narrow approach adopted by
the Fourth Circuit in King v. Marriott International,
Inc., 337 F.3d 421 (4th Cir. 2003), as opposed to the
more moderate position taken by the Second Circuit in
Nicolaou v. Horizon Media, Inc., 402 F.3d 325 (2d Cir.
2005) (per curiam). However, even the Second Circuit
disagreed with the Fourth Circuit’s belief “that
Congress’s use of the phrase ‘testify or about to testify’
dictates” the conclusion “that Section 510 protects those
who engage in ‘something more formal than written or

22a
oral complaints made to a supervisor.” J/d. at 330 n. 3
(quoting King, 337 F.3d at 427). The Nicolaou court
quite properly read this “reference to. testimony”
language as “wholly irrelevant to our understanding of
the language ‘given information .. . in any inquiry or
proceeding.” Id.

More broadly, I acknowledge that the Fifth Circuit
did not examine this issue in any real detail in its
ruling in Anderson v. Electronic Data Systems Corp., 11
F.3d 1311 (5th Cir. 1994). On the other hand, the
majority itself quotes the Ninth Circuit’s reasonable
and ultimately persuasive explanation for why _ it
concluded in Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawaii, 999 F.2d
408 (9th Cir. 1993), that Section 510 does, in fact,
encompass internal workplace complaints. It bears
repeating here:

.... The normal first step in giving information
or testifying in any way that might tempt an
employer to discharge one would be to present
the problem first to the responsible managers of
the ERISA plan. If one is then discharged for
raising the problem, the process of giving
information or testifying is interrupted at its
start: the anticipatory discharge discourages the
whistle blower before the whistle is blown.

Id. at 411. Like the Ninth Circuit, I find it difficult to
believe that Congress could have ever intended to
exclude from the protection of its remedial anti-
retaliation provision employees who are terminated
because they bring an ERISA-related problem to the
attention of their superiors.

Likewise, the majority’s narrow interpretation of the
specific term “inquiry” appears questionable at best. In

23a

addition to leaving the crucial “first step” unprotected,
the Second Circuit’s whole “inquiry” standard could be
difficult to apply and even unworkable in certain
circumstances. Certain: conduct may clearly constitute
an “inquiry,” such as the plaintiffs alleged activities in
Nicolaou itself, which included contacting her employer's
outside attorney regarding an alleged underfunding
problem and then, after the lawyer conducted an inquiry
of his own and evidently at the request of the lawyer,
meeting with both him and the president of the
company. Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 326-27, 329-30. On the
other hand, an internal workplace complaint would quite
naturally constitute a preliminary step before a formal
or informal inquiry is launched (and such a complaint
may even have been necessary to trigger the
investigation in the first place). However, where does
one draw the line between such an initial step, which the
Second Circuit and majority have held is not protected
by the statutory provision, and otherwise “protected”
statements purportedly made as part of some sort of
inquiry? For instance, suppose an employee like
Edwards complains to her superior, the superior asks
some follow-up questions, and the employee responds to
these questions. Are the informal responses to some
impromptu. questions to be regarded as_ protected
because they evidently were made as part of an
“inquiry?” In turn, why should such responses be
protected while, at the same time, an employer is
essentially permitted (and perhaps, in_ essence,
enceuraged) to fire an employee immediately after she
makes an informal complaint instead of conducting an
investigation of some sort?

In addition, the majority goes on to hold that
Section 510 only protects employees who give

24a

information as part of the inquiry, as opposed to those
individuals who actually conduct the inquiry and
thereby “received information.” Admittedly, the Second
Circuit in Nicolaou did deal with a plaintiff who had,
inter alia, been invited to attend a meeting with both
the president and outside counsel and stated her
opinion that a 401(k) plan was underfunded. /d.
Nevertheless, the majority’s approach appears to be
highly questionable at best insofar as it leaves an entire
class of employees, who, given their responsibility to
conduct potentially sensitive and damaging
investigations into possible ERISA violations and
related matters, would need protection from retaliation
even more than employees who merely answers some
questions.

Even though these various considerations clearly
weigh in favor of the more expansive interpretation
offered by the Fifth and Ninth Circuits, Edwards, and
the Secretary, I might still be inclined to agree with the
majority’s ultimate result here based on the language
actually used in the statutory provision. Nevertheless,
analogous Third Circuit decisions clearly indicate that
the language in Section 510 is ambiguous and that this
Court should, in turn, interpret such language as
encompassing internal workplace complaints.

As a general matter, I recognize that the case law
addressed different statutes using different statutory
language, and these decisions accordingly do _ not
represent technically binding precedents at _ this
juncture. The fact that Congress has chosen to use
different terms in different anti-retaliation provisions
should also not be overlooked. Accordingly, I do not
suggest that Section 510 should be interpreted as

25a

broadly as its Title VII counterpart, which, among other
things, expressly covers employees who have “opposed
any practice made an unlawful employment practice by
(Title VII.]” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-3(a). Nevertheless, this
Court obviously should strive to treat relatively similar
statutory provisions, contained in similar remedial
federal statutes, in a clear and consistent fashion. In
any case, as highlighted below, at least some of the
terms used in Section 510 are actually more expansive
than the equivalent terms contained in other anti-
retaliation provisions.

I start with a case that actually held that the term
“proceeding” is ambiguous and gave Chevron deference
to the Secretary's formal determination — that
intracorporate complaints are, in fact, protected
activities: Passaic Valley Sewerage Commissioners uv.
United States Department of Labor, 992 F.2d 474 (3d
Cir. 1993).

The Passaic Valley Court held that the statutory
term “proceeding,” which is contained in both the CWA
provision and its ERISA counterpart, is “ambiguous”
because it “may reasonably be invoked to encompass a
range of complaint activity of varying degrees of formal
legal status.” Jd. at 478. It then added “that the
[CWA’s] purpose and legislative history allow, and even
necessitate, extension of the term ‘proceeding’ to
intracorporate complaints.” Jd. In other words, the
protection provided by the section “would be largely
hollow if it were restricted to the point of filing a formal
complaint with the appropriate’ external law
enforcement agency.” Jd. “Employees should not be
discouraged from the normal route of pursuing internal
remedies before going public with their good faith

26a

allegations.” Id. Instead, they should be encouraged to
notify management of their observations before any
formal investigations and litigation are _ initiated,
thereby providing management with the opportunity to
correct, justify, or clanfy policies or otherwise facilitate
prompt remediation and compliance. Jd. at 478-79.
Furthermore, an employee’s non-frivolous complaint
should not have to be guaranteed to withstand the
scrutiny of review before meriting legal protection “for
the obvious reason that such a standard would chill
employee initiatives in bringing to lght perceived
discrepancies in the workings of their agencies.” Jd. at
479. In addition, the Court in Passaic Valley observed
that “the whistle-blower provision of the Clean Water
Act mirrors that of several other federal environmental,
safety and energy statutes,” which have also been
broadly construed in the case law. Id. (footnote omitted)
Therefore, “[a]lthough the present case is the first to
present us with this issue in the context of the Clean
Water Act, the weight of other circuits’ precedent
reviewing analogous. statutes concurs with the
Secretary’s own broad inclusion of intracorporate
complaints within the protective scope of the statute.”
Id. at 480.

This reasoning clearly supports interpreting Section
510, which is generally analogous to the anti-retaliation
section of the CWA, as encompassing internal
workplace complaints. In turn, I have no choice but to
reject the majority’s efforts to minimize and distinguish
this prior ruling.'®

10 | do, however, agree with the majority’s finding that we
do not owe Chevron deference to the Secretary’s reading of
Section 510.

27a

In particular, its assertion that the Passaic Valley
Court attempted to avoid any “rote application” of its
holding overlooks the crucial fact that the Court itself
turned to other anti-retaliation provisions in _ its
analysis of the CWA section. For instance, it noted that
the anti-retaliation provision in the FLSA is among the
statutory provisions that have been expansively
construed “to lend broad protective coverage to internal
complainants.” Jd. at 479. In any case, I do not believe
that following the example set in Passaic Valley by
carefully taking into account a prior Third Circuit
opinion represents any kind of “rote” exercise. .

Furthermore, the CWA _ provision’ expressly
prohibits discrimination against any employee who has
“filed, instituted, or caused to be filed or instituted any
proceeding under this chapter, or has testified or is
about to testify in any proceeding resulting from the
administration or enforcement of the provisions of this
chapter.” 33 U.S.C. § 1367(a). At least on the surface,
this “filed” and “instituted” language evidently
contemplates something more formal than, inter alia,
an unsolicited internal complaint to one’s superiors.
Therefore, I find that Section 510, with its “given
information” and “inquiry” language, appears to be
even broader than its environmental counterpart,
addressed (and broadly construed) in Passaic Valley.

In addition, the Court’s ruling in Brock ov.
Richardson, 812 F.2d 121 (3d Cir. 1987), provides yet
further support for concluding that Section 510 protects
unsolicited internal complaints.

Initially, the majority is correct that Brock
addressed the question of whether the anti-retaliation
provision of the FLSA is triggered by an employer's

28a

ultimately mistaken belief that an employee has
engaged in otherwise protected activity under the
statute. Jd. at 122-25. In answering this question in
the affirmative, the Court in Brock quite appropriately
turned to the same kind of broad policy considerations
discussed in Passaic Valley. Id. at 123-25. For instance,
it noted that Congress, instead of seeking to secure
compliance through detailed and ongoing governmental
supervision of employer payrolls, put in place a system
relying on information and complaints from _ the
employees itself. Jd. at 124. “Thus, the [Supreme]
Court has made clear that the key to interpreting the
anti-retaliation provision is the need to prevent
employees’ ‘fear of economic retaliation’ for voicing
grievances about substandard conditions.” Jd. (quoting
Mitchell v. Robert DeMario Jewelry, Inc., 361 U.S. 288,
292, 80S. Ct. 332, 4 L.Ed.2d 323 (1960)). Significantly,
the Brock Court even indicated a willingness to go
beyond the bare language of the statutory provision
itself, stating that “courts interpreting the anti-
retaliation provision have looked to its animating spirit
in applying it to activities that might not have been
explicitly covered by the language.” Jd. As an example,
it turned to the Tenth Circuit’s ruling in Love uv.
RE/MAX of America, Inc., 738 F.2d 383 (10th Cir.
1984), which applied the anti-retaliation provision “to
protect employees who have protested Fair Labor
Standards Act violations to their employers.”"' Brock,
812 F.2d at 125 (citing Love, 738 F.2d at 387).

The majority points out that the anti-retaliation

11 «It is significant that the Passaic Valley Court also relied
on Love in its analysis of the CWA’s anti-retaliation provision.
Passaic Valley, 992 F.2d at 479.

29a

provision in the FLSA differs from the ERISA
counterpart. I agree, but the differences here actually
weigh against the interpretation offered by the
majority. Just like the anti-retaliation provision in the
CWA, the FLSA provides that it is unlawful to
discharge or discriminate against an employee because
he or she “has filed any complaint or instituted or
caused to be instituted any proceeding under or related
to this chapter, or has testified or is about to.testify in
any such proceeding, or has served or is about to serve
on an industry committee.” 29 U.S.C. § 215(a)(3). As
previously noted with respect to Passaic Valley, this
language arguably contemplates some sort of formal
filing. See, e.g., Ball v. Memphis Bar-B-Q Co., 228 F.3d
360, 364 (4th Cir. 2000) (finding that FLSA does not
protect intra-company complaints because, among other
things, the term “proceeding” was “modified by
attributes of administrative or court proceedings,” the
term “instituted” indicates “a formality that does not
attend an employee’s oral complaint to his supervisor,”
and “testimony” consists of “statements given under
oath or affirmation” (citations omitted)). On the other
hand, Section 510 refers to an “inquiry,” as opposed to
merely a “proceeding,” as well as “giv[ing] information,”
in contrast to mere “testimony.” As even the majority
recognizes, the Second Circuit accordingly observed
that “the plain language of ERISA Section 510” is
“unambiguously broader in scope than Section 15(a)(3)
of FLSA.” Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 328.

In the end, I am unable to agree with the majority’s
ruling here in light of the statutory language at issue,
the expansive purposes and principles underpinning
ERISA and its anti-retaliation provision, and (especially)

30a
prior decisions” by this very Court broadly interpreting
similar anti-retaliation statutes in other federal statutes.
I accordingly would reverse the ruling of the District
Court and remand (for _ further proceedings.

12 In addition to the rulings in Passaic Valley and Brock, I
further note that this Court adopted a somewhat similar
approach to the False Claims Act’s anti-retaliation provision in
Hutchins v. Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer, 253 F.3d 176 (3d Cir.
2001). The Hutchins Court noted, inter alia, that protected
activities “can include internal reporting and investigation of an
employer’s false or fraudulent claims.” Jd. at 187 (citing United
States ex rel. Yesudian v. Howard Univ., 153 F.3d 731, 742 (D.C.
Cir. 1998)).

3la

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,
E.D. PENNSYLVANIA

Shirley EDWARDS, Plaintiff

V.

A.H. CORNELL AND SON, INC., et al., Defendants.

No. 09-cv-1184. July 23, 2009.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

JOYNER, District Judge.

Presently before the Court are Defendants’ Motion
to Dismiss Plaintiffs Amended Complaint and
Plaintiffs Response thereto. For the reasons set forth
below, Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss is granted.

I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiff Shirley Edwards is a former employee of
Defendant A.H. Cornell and Son, Inc.' Defendant A.H.
Cornell and Son, Inc. (“A.H. Cornell”) is a
Pennsylvania corporation that performs contracting

; The facts are presented in the light most favorable to
the Plaintiffs. Phillips v. County of Allegheny, 515 F.3d 224, 233
(3d Cir. 2008).

32a

and construction services. Defendant Melissa J.
Closterman (“Closterman”) manages or oversees daily
operations at A.H. Cornell, including oversight of
Plaintiff while she was employed by A.H. Cornell.
Plaintiff alleges that Closterman was “directly
responsible for terminating Plaintiff.” Defendant Scott
A. Cornell (“Cornell”) is an executive of A.H. Cornell
and was responsible for overseeing the terms and
conditions of Plaintiffs employment. Plaintiff alleges
that Cornell “participated in the termination of
Plaintiffs employment.”

According to Plaintiffs Amended Complaint,’ in or
around February, 2006, Defendants hired Plaintiff to
establish a human resources department at A.H.
Cornell. Plaintiff asserts that while she was employed
by Defendants, she learned that Closterman was
“engaging in unlawful acts.” Plaintiff further asserts
that Closterman requested that Plaintiff engage in
these allegedly unlawful acts.

Specifically, Plaintiff asserts that an employee of
A.H. Cornell, who sustained a work-related injury
continued to collect worker’s compensation insurance
for being out of work after the employee had returned
to work. Plaintiff claims this employee used a false
social security number and information to obtain
worker’ss compensation in the first place. Plaintiff
alleges that Closterman directed Plaintiff to make
false statements to Defendants’ worker’s compensation
carrier regarding the injured employee. Plaintiff also
alleges that in the last several weeks of her
employment, Closterman directed Plaintiff to provide
false information to a disability insurance carrier.

Plaintiff filed an Amended Complaint on June 2, 2009.

33a

Plaintiff further asserts that Defendants had a
group health insurance plan, governed by ERISA, that
“was being administered illegally within Defendant
and on a discriminatory basis.” Specifically, Plaintiff
alleges that Closterman lied to “many employees”
about what their contributions would be in order to
dissuade employees from opting into the benefits and
also did not offer certain employees health benefits at
all. Plaintiff avers that Defendants, through
Closterman, withheld and concealed required group
plan information from employees and “unlawfully
enroll[ed) non-citizens in the ERISA-qualifying life,
disability and/or group health plan.”

Plaintiff alleges that she “objected to participating
in a scheme to commit criminal fraud as _ to
Defendants’ disabilty insurance carrier, worker's
compensation insurance carrier, and health insurance
carrier.” She further states that she “was directed to
commit and/or to participate” in the fraud in close
proximity to her termination, which was on February
11, 2009.

Plaintiffs Complaint asserts two Counts: (1)
Violations of ERISA-Section 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140
(Retaliation) and (2) Common-Law Wrongful
Discharge. Plaintiff bases her section 510 claim on the
allegation that Defendants terminated her for
“objectling] to and/or complainling] to Defendants’
management or owners” about Defendants’ alleged
ERISA violations. She asserts that her actions were
protected activity under ERISA and thus_ her
termination violated the retaliation provision in
ERISA, section 510. Defendants have filed a Motion to
Dismiss Plaintiffs Amended Complaint.

34a
Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
12(b)(6), in response to a pleading, a Defendant may file
a motion asserting that the Plaintiffs complaint “[fails]
to state a claim upon which relief can be granted.” In
analyzing a Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss, we “accept
all factual allegations as true, construe the complaint in
the light most favorable to the plaintiff, and determine
whether, under any reasonable reading of the
complaint, the plaintiff may be entitled to relief.”
Phillips v. County of Allegheny, 515 F.3d 224, 233 (3d
Cir. 2008) (citations omitted). “To survive a motion to
dismiss, a civil plaintiff must allege facts that ‘raise a
right to relief above the speculative level... .” Jd. at
232 (quoting Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombley, 550 U.S. 544,
127 S. Ct. 1955, 1965, 167 L.Ed.2d 929 (2007)). In other
words, the plaintiff must provide “enough facts to raise
a reasonable expectation that discovery will reveal
evidence of the necessary element{s]” of a particular
cause of action. Id. at 234. This “requires more than
labels and conclusions, and a formulaic recitation of the
elements of a cause of action will not do.” Twombley,
127 S. Ct. at 1964-65. In ruling on a Rule 12(b)(6)
motion to dismiss, the court may consider documents
“integral to or explicitly relied upon in the complaint.”
In re Rockefeller Sec. Lit., 184 F.3d 280, 287 (3d Cir.
1999).

III. DISCUSSION
A. ERISA-Section 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140

ERISA, section 510, codified at 29 U.S.C. § 1140,
provides in relevant part:

35a

It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge

. . or discriminate against any person because
he has given information or has testified or is
about to testify in any inquiry or proceeding
relating to [ERISA] or the Welfare and Pension
Plans Disclosure Act ....

29 U.S.C. § 1140 (2006 & Supp. 2008). Section 510 has
been referred to as ERISA’s “anti-retaliation”
provision, or “whistleblower” provision because it
prohibits retaliation against a person who has
participated in certain protected activity under section
510. See, e.g., Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawaii, 999 F.2d
408, 327 (9th Cir. 1993); King v. Marriott
International, 337 F.3d 421, 427 (4th Cir. 2003).
Specifically, section 510 makes it unlawful to retaliate
against a person for giving information, testifying, or
being about to testify in an “inquiry or proceeding”
relating to ERISA or certain other statutory
provisions. 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss asserts, inter alia,
that Plaintiff has failed to allege conduct that is
protected under the anti-retaliation provisions of
ERISA, section 510. The Third Circuit has not yet
addressed the scope of ERISA’s anti-retaliation
provision and, more specicially [sic], whether internal
workplace complaints are protected activity under
section 510. Only four circuits-the Ninth, the Fifth,
the Fourth, and the Second-have considered this issue,
all with outcomes resolutions.

The Ninth Circuit was the first to consider the
scope of ERISA’s anti-retaliation provision § in
Hashimoto v. Bank of Hawaii, 999 F.2d 408 (9th Cir.
1993). There, the Court found that the statute was

36a
“clearly meant to protect whistle blowers.” Hashimoto,
999 F.2d at 411. Thus, the Court reasoned, the
language “has given information or has testified in any
inquiry or proceeding relating to [ERISA]” could be
“fairly construed” to include “[t]he normal first step” of
“[present[ing] the problem to the responsible managers
of the ERISA plan.” Jd. Because discharging a person
for raising the problem in the first place would
“discourage[ ] the whistle blower before the whistle is
blown,” the Ninth Circuit held that meking informal,
workplace complaints to managers regarding potential

ERISA violations is protected activity under section
510. Id.

The Fifth Circuit next addressed the issue in
Anderson vu. Electronic Data Systems Corporation, 111
F.3d 1311 (5th Cir. 1994), within the context of
determining whether ERISA preempted a plaintiffs
state wrongful discharge action. In Anderson, after
reciting the language of section 510, the Fifth Circuit
disregarded the language “inquiry or proceeding” and
found broadly that the retaliation provision “prohibits
the discharge or other adverse treament of any person
because he has given information or testimony relating
to ERISA.” [sic] 111 F.3d at 1315. Thus, the Court
held that “a refusal to commit violations of ERISA and
reporting such violations to management” was
protected activity that fell within the ambit of the
enforcement provisions of ERISA section 510. Jd. at
1314.

In King v. Marriott International, 337 F.3d 421
(4th Cir. 2003), the Fourth Circuit analyzed the scope
of the anti-retaliation provision in section 510 and
came to a result opposite that of the Ninth and Fifth

37a

Circuits. Reasoning that the anti-retaliation provision
in section 510 is narrower than that of Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964, the King Court found that the
phrase “testified or is about to testify” suggests that
the phrase “inquiries or proceedings” is limited to legal
or administrative inquiries or proceedings, “or at least
to something more formal than written or oral
complaints made to a supervisor.” 337 F.3d at 427.
The Court held, therefore, that. filing internal
complaints with supervisors, co-workers, or an
employer’s attorney is not protected activity under
section 510 because filing such complaints does not
rise to the level of testifying or being about to testify in
a proceeding of any kind, nor is it giving information
in such a proceeding. Id. at 428.

The Second Circuit most recently took up the issue
in Nicolaou v. Horizon Media Incorporated, 402 F.3d
325 (2d Cir. 2005). In WNicolauou [sic], the Court
compared the language of section 510 to the retaliation
provisions of both the Fair Labor Standards Act
(“FLSA”) and Title VII.* 402 F.3d at 327-29. It found

3 Section 704(a) of Title VII, codified at 42 U.S.C. § 2000e
3(a) provides broadly that:
It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an
employer to discriminate against any oi his
employees... because he has opposed any practice made
an unlawful employment practice by this subchapter, or
because he has made a charge, testified, assisted, or
participated in any manner in an_e investigation,
proceeding, or hearing under this subchapter.
By contrast, section 15(a)(3) of the FLSA, codified at 29 U.S.C. §
215(aX(3), provides protection against retaliation for a more
narrow scope of conduct, stating that it shall be unlawful
to discharge or in any other manner discriminate against
any employee because such employee has filed any

38a
that use of the term “inquiry” in ERISA implies
something less formal and unambiguously broader
than use of the term “proceeding” in the FLSA. fd. at
328. The Second Circuit then looked to the dictionary
definitions of the terms “proceeding” and “inquiry.” Id.
at 329. Citing the Black’s Law Dictionary definition of
“inquiry” as “a request for information” and the
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary
definition as “the act or an instance of seeking truth,
information, or knowledge about something” or “a
request for information,” the Court found that an
“informal gathering of information thus falls within
the plain meaning of ‘inquiry” and is, therefore
protected activity under section 510. Jd. (internal
citations omitted). The Court concluded that “the
proper focus is not on the formality or informality of
the circumstances under which an individual gives
information, but rather on whether the circumstances
can fairly be deemed to constitute an ‘inquiry.” Id. at
330. The Court thus held that if the defendant
company’s attorney contacted the plaintiff to meet
with the president of the defendant company in order
to provide information regarding alleged ERISA
violations at a meeting initiated by the attorney, her
actions would be protected under section 510 because
that meeting would fall within the definition of an

complaint or instituted or caused te be instituted any
proceeding under or related to this chapter, or has
testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding, or
has served or is about to testify in any such
proceeding ....

39a
“inquiry,” regardless that it was not formal or
external. Id.

Looking to the Second and Fourth Circuits,
Defendants move to dismiss Plaintiffs Amended
Complaint agserting that the conduct for which
Plaintiff was allegedly terminated does not constitute
“giving information or testifying in an inquiry or
proceeding related to ERISA” as required by ERISA,
section 510, because her objections or complaints were
not part of a formal or informal inquiry or proceeding.‘
In response, Plaintiff argues that informal workplace
objections and complaints to management are
protected activity under ERISA. Plaintiff draws
support from the Second, Ninth and Fifth Circuits.°

4 Defendants further move to dismiss based on the
assertion that Plaintiff failed to allege that Defendants had a
specific intent to violate ERISA. Additionally, Defendants argue
that even if Plaintiff did properly allege a retaliation claim under
section 510, the claim should be dismissed against Closterman
and Cornell because they were not Plaintiffs employer but were
merely employees of Plaintiffs employer and thus not subject to
section 510. Because we find that Plaintiffs alleged conduct does
not constitute the giving of information, testifying, or being about
to testify in an inquiry or proceeding, we need not reach
Defendants’ alternative grounds for dismissal.

5 Plaintiff also cites to Jorgensen v. Prudential Ins. Co. of
America, 852 F. Supp. 255 (D.N.J. 1994). In Jorgensen, within
the context of determining whether ERISA preempted a
Plaintiffs state law claims, the Court found that the plaintiff
“‘hald] not given information or testified in an inquiry or
proceeding relating to ERISA, as required by ERISA § 510.” 852
F. Supp. at 262-63. Rather than finding that the plaintiff's
alleged complaints to his supervisors were, therefore, not
protected under section 510, the Court stated that the Ninth
Circuit in Hashimoto had “extended ERISA whistleblower
protections to include the ‘first step’ of raising the problem to the
employee’s superiors.” Jorgensen, 852 F. Supp. at 263.

40a

Upon consideration of the statutory language in
the relevant provision, this Court finds the Second
Circuit’s analysis in Nicolaou to be persuasive. Thus,
we agree that the proper inquiry is whether the
Plaintiffs alleged objections and complaints to
management in the present case were given as part of
an inquiry. S-e Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 330. After
reviewing the a.:egations in the Amended Complaint,
we find that they were not. Plaintiff alleges that she
“objected to and/or complained to Defendants’
management or owners” about Defendants’ alleged
ERISA violations. Plaintiff does not allege that
anyone requested information from her or initiated
contact with her in any way regarding the alleged
ERISA violations. Compare with Nicclaou, 402 F.3d
at 330 (finding conduct protected under section 510
where a meeting to discuss alleged ERISA violations
was initiated by the defendant’s attorney as part of the
attorney’s inquiry into the alleged ERISA violations).
Nor does she allege that she was involved in any type
of formal or informal gathering of information. See
Nicolaou, 402 F.3d at 330 (finding that the
information gathering of information falls within the
meaning of “inquiry” and is thus covered under section
510). She states merely that she objected to or
complained about certain conduct by Defendants.
Thus, viewing the facts in the light most favorable to
the non-moving party, Plaintiff has failed to properly

6 The Plaintiff nas not in any way alleged that she was
part of a proceeding or that she gave testimony or was about to
give testimony at an inquiry or proceeding. Thus, the only
relevant inquiry is whether she gave information as part of an
inquiry.

4la
allege any conduct that would fall within the ambit of
the retaliation provision in section 510. Defendants’
Motion is, therefore, granted.

B. Common-Law Wrongful Discharge

Having dismissed Plaintiffs only federal claim, the
Court declines to exercise supplemental jurisdiction
over Plaintiffs remaining state law claim. See 28
U.S.C. § 1367.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Defendants’ Motion to
Dismiss is GRANTED as to Plaintiffs ERISA, section
510 claim. As we decline to exercise supplemental
jurisdiction, Plaintiffs common-law wrongful
discharge claim is DISMISSED with leave to Plaintiff
to re-file it in state court. An appropriate order follows.

ORDER

AND NOW, this 23rd day of July, 2009, it is
hereby ORDERED Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss is
GRANTED as to Plaintiffs ERISA, section 510 claim.
Furthermore, the Court declines to exercise
supplemental jurisdiction. Plaintiffs common-law
wrongful discharge claim is, therefore, DISMISSED
with leave to Plaintiff to re-file it in the appropriate

state court.

42a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 09-3198

SHIRLEY EDWARDS, Appellant

Vie

A.H. CORNELL AND SON, INC., D/B/A AH
CORNELLS; MELISSA CLOSTERMAN; SCOTT A.
CORNELL

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(D.C. No. 2-09-cv-01184)

District Judge: Honorable J. Curtis Joyner

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING WITH
SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Present: McKEE, Chief Judge; SLOVITER, SCIRICA,
RENDELL, BARRY, AMBRO, FUENTES, SMITH,
FISHER, CHAGARES, JORDAN, HARDIMAN,
GREENAWAY, VANASKIE and COWEN’, Circuit
Judges.

Judge Cowen’s vote is limited to panel rehearing only.

43a

The petition for rehearing filed by Appellant
having been submitted to all judges who participated
in the decision of this court, and to all the other
available circuit judges in active service, and a
majority of the judges who concurred in the decision
not having asked fur rehearing, and a majority of the
circuit judges of the circuit in regular active service
not having voted for rehearing by the court en banc,
the petition for rehearing is hereby DENIED.

BY THE COURT:
/s/ D. Michael Fisher
Circuit Judge

Dated: July 26, 2010
DWB icc:

Justin L. Swidler, Esq.
Christie M. Flamm, Esq.
Walter H. Flamm, Jr., Esq.
Eric C. Lund, Esq.
Nathaniel I. Spiller, Esq.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2824%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
