# Opposition Brief — Morris v. Swofford

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2805%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1201

## Text

Supr2.17 Cat 4, U.S.
| 7 4 FILED

=e 6g 9”
No. 10-712 et O93 ded

MAoreroerEewnIc rm) =OK«

jn The
Supreme Court of the United States

z

WILLIAM MORRIS, JR. and RONALD REMUS,

Petitioners,

‘:

ROBERT G. SWOFFORD and SHARON SWOFFORD,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE SWOFFORDS IN OPPOSITION

ALBERT F. TELLECHEA
Counsel of Record

LAURIE WEBB DANIEL
HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP
200 South Orange Avenue
Suite 2600

Orlando, Florida 32801
(407) 425-8500
albert.tellechea@hklaw.com

Counsel for Respondents
Robert and Sharon Swofford

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The questions presented by the Deputies are
premised on incorrect or disputed facts. For example,
they assume that the Deputies entered the Swoffords’
property in search of “felony” suspects, but the record
reflects that the suspects at most committed a mis-
demeanor and that the Deputies were not in hot
pursuit. The Deputies’ questions also presume that
the Deputies shot Swofford “in self-defense,” but
evidence shows that they acted in response to an
inquiry from Swofford who — with his gun pointed to
the ground and blinded by the Deputies’ flashlights —
simply said to the Deputies, “Halt!” and “Who are
you?” Furthermore, the Deputies’ questions omit the
undisputed facts that the Deputies knew that they
were at the Swoffords’ residence and that Swofford
was not one of the suspects they were pursuing. And
as conceded by the Deputies, their first question
addresses an issue never reached by the circuit court.
Thus, the only question raised by the Eleventh Cir-
cuit’s unpublished opinion in this case is this:

Are deputies entitled to qualified im-
munity as a matter of law where evidence
shows that they entered a residential backyard
unannounced late at night and, knowing that
the innocent homeowner was not their suspect,
gunned him down without warning when he
asked — with his pistol pointed to the ground and
blinded by their flashlights — who they were?

The courts below correctly answered, “no.”

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Counterstatement of Questions Presented ......... i

ONO OF CIID oo ce diccckonacenasevcetssnetnene een il

Pe OT POTS oss sri cet stcnaeaeeeee ili

Counterstatement of the Case......................0ecee08 1
1. The Deputies’ non-exigent search for the

GRICE arias cesisasin sa iticinchincei eee 2

2. The Deputies’ knowledge of the residence.... 2

3. The Deputies’ encounter with Swofford ...... 3

4. The Deputies’ failure to warmn.................... 7

Reasons for Denying the Petition........................ 8
1. This case is not a good vehicle for decid-
ing the first question — whether the cir-
cumstances surrounding the _ shooting
should be ignored — because the Eleventh
Circuit’s unpublished opinion did not ad-
dress that issue, which does not warrant

review by this Court in any event............. 9

2. The second question — whether a warning
is required before a shooting in “self-
defense” — rests on a distorted descrip-
tion of the evidence and does not present
an errant ruling of law

BE: COE RP OE NRE LARTER Smee Hin ied

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES

Abraham uv. Raso,
183 F.3d 279 (3d Cir. 1999) ooo ceccecccceseeeeeeeeeee 16

Anderson v. Creighton,

8 0 0 ee 20
Bella v. Chamberlain,

24 F.3d 1251 (10th Cir, 1994)............ ss aseacasduasntesect 12
Billington v. Smith,

292 F.3d 1177 (9th Cir, 2002)... ccccccceceeecereneees 12
Brosseau v. Haugen,

8D re 19
Brower v. County of Inyo,

BO) I re 15
Carter v. Buscher,

973 F.2d 1328 (7th Cir, 1992) ooo ccc ccccseeeeeeeees 1]
Chappell v. City of Cleveland,

585 F.3d 901 (6th Cir. 2009) .............ssscccssesssceesseees ll
Claybrook v. Birchwell,

274 F.3d 1098 (6th Cir. 2001) ............cccccece 10, 13, 15
Cole v. Bone,

993 F.2d 1328 (Sth Cir, 19938) ..................csscerees 11, 14
Dickerson v. McClellan,

101 F.Sd 1151 (6th Cir, 1996)......................00s0000 9,11
Floyd v. City of Detroit,

518 F.3d 398 (6th Cir. 2008) ......................0..66. 14,15

Graham v. Connor,

TR CAGED ook... csnsearsessesiversoocsnsnses 9,11,15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Greenidge v. Ruffin,

OST Fee FO CET Cit, ROB) eviccccasesseccccoscesnsessrsncenes Ll
Hope v. Pelzer,

BO By ie 0 CD ek sidenkveskddatslencssceianiorereniendaiaesl 20
Medina v. Cram,

262 F.8d 1124 (10th Cir. 2001).............. PaO RAR PEO ee 13
Nelson v. County of Wright,

162 F.3d 986 (8th Cir. 1998) ...................08. 11, 14, 15
Plakas v. Drinski,

19 F.3d 1143 (7th Cir. 1994)..... jeddudh chat desaneas cuneate
Powell v. Nevada,

Bk Sl cee FO CE) cinviccccvcsccaceveveraacesécsnsencapss dts aaa GF
St. Hilatre v. City of Laconia,

2 ce Ee CRG Cre BED) on cwnaxencccadaccaucsuecasexeuces 13, 16
Tennessee v. Garner,

OF Bra Bt cckktsinxincchicadecsccuddeteestiasbecusaant passim
U.S. v. Lanier,

BP EF. ee a OT Picteckececonccteleccliakceterenticaseeiécasieannl 20
CONSTITUTION
LF 2o. CG, IN EY essa os viscsecacssssesace Scalaateeaaa passim
STATUTES AND RULES
Oe Tire I Wi know ntvicaa cess cncsecsnasnespatoaieviceasiens passim
Supreme Court Rule 10................ccsccssecssscovevees 8, 10, 18

Srapprnmine Cutr’ FRI 1G nics isssicsscesccssceccocssereccsstcersesnices ]

Respondents, Robert Swofford (“Swofford”) and
his wife, Sharon Swofford (collectively, the
“Swoffords”), submit this opposition to the Petition for
a Writ of Certiorari (“Petition”) filed by two deputies
of the Seminole County Sheriff’s Office (“SCSO”),
William Morris, Jr. (“Morris”) and Ronald Remus
(“Remus”) (collectively the “Deputies”), to show why
the Petition should be denied.

”

BRIEF OF THE SWOFFORDS
IN OPPOSITION

This case is not a good vehicle for addressing the
questions presented by the Deputies. The first issue —
whether the circumstances surrounding the shooting
should be ignored — was not reached by the Eleventh
Circuit. The second issue rests on a distorted fact-
based description of the record and does not present
any new or errant ruling of law. In light of the factual
disputes going to the heart of this case, the Deputies’
request for qualified immunity as a matter of law
does not implicate public policy concerns or otherwise
warrant review by writ of certiorari.

+ —_

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE
Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 15, the
Swoffords offer this Counterstatement of the Case

to respond to misstatements relating to the following
four key aspects of the event in question: (1) the

2

Deputies’ non-exigent search for suspects; (2) the
Deputies’ knowledge of the residence; (3) the Depu-
ties’ encounter with Swofford; and (4) the Deputies’
failure to warn before shooting.

1. The Deputies’ non-exigent search for the
suspects

The Deputies assert that they were searching for
felony suspects. (Pet. 2, 4). But the Deputies’ own
police expert testified that, at most, the suspects had
committed the crime of trespassing — a misdemeanor
in Florida. (Grossi Depo. 171:25-172:15 (Doc. 124)).
The suspects were not reported to be armed. (Remus
Depo. 117:4-14, 172:12-24 (Doc. 97)). And the search
was not exigent. In fact, Morris stated that he was
not in a hurry to search for the suspects. (Morris
Depo. 120:13-18, 120:25-121:2 (Doc. 96)).

2. The Deputies’ knowledge of the residence

The Deputies characterize the Swoffords’ property
as an “abandoned commercial area” and “open field,”
but the record shows they knew the property was
residential and that they were in the Swoffords’
backyard at the time of the shooting. Swofford had
previously asked SCSO to patrol his property because
of repeated trespasses and attempted burglaries and
had informed SCSO that he and his property care-
takers routinely checked the property armed. Conse-
quently, SCSO had conducted 45 area patrols of the
Swoffords’ property in the two months before the

shooting. (Doc. 184-33; Swofford Depo. J378:11-179:18,
182:6-19 (Doc. 95); Area Patrol Reports (Doc. 184-34)).
In fact, Remus himself personally checked the proper-
ty eleven times before the shooting, including a patrol
two to three hours before the shooting. (Area Patrol
Reports (Doc. 184-34)). Remus’s Area Patrol Reports
stated “checked residence” or “area patrol completed.”
Remus testified that he thought the suspects might
have fled “through the [Swoffords’] yard.” (Remus
Depo. 118:14-20; 128:5-13 (Doc. 97)). The Deputies
had access to all of the Area Patrol Reports of the
Swoffords’ property on their portable computers.
(Remus Depo. 147:3-6 (Doc. 97)).

The Deputies have also described features of the
Swoffords’ property out of context to create the im-
pression that they entered a large, overgrown com-
mercial area. (Pet. 8). Yet the property is in a
residential neighborhood and was enclosed by a six-
foot wooden privacy fence, a chain-link fence, and
woods. (Pet. App. 3, 4; Doc. 89-4 at 4; Doc. 89-5 at 50;
Remus Depo. 128:5-13 (Doc. 97)). The Swoffords and
their caretakers testified that the property was
mowed regularly and gardened and the fence around
the property was repaired as needed. (Sharon
Swofford Aff. 9 6 (Doc. 188-9); Buccholz Aff. 9 4 (Doc.
188-10); Velez Aff. | 6 (Doc. 188-11); Swofford Depo.
175:5-176:24 (Doc. 95)).

3. The Deputies’ encounter with Swofford

The record shows that, awoken by his dog bark-
ing at 2:25 a.m., Swofford picked up his gun, locked

the house, and went outside to inspect his property.
(Swofford Depo. 198:10-24 (Doc. 95)). It is undisputed
that Swofford, a former Army Captain, did not put his

gun into battery as necessary for it to shoot. (/d. at
32:3-34:3; Swofford Aff. 95 (Doc. 188-1); Pet. App. 9).
He checked his garage, doors, and windows and then
knelt down holding his gun in a two-handed grip
pointed at the ground to observe the back of his
property that abutted the apartment complex.
(Swofford Depo. 206:17-208:22 (Doc. 95)). After a few
minutes, he heard someone on the other side of his
fence say, “This looks like a good place to get through
here,” and then heard the squealing sound of boards
being pulled off the fence. Thereafter, two unknown
people — the Deputies — came through his fence.
(Swofford Depo. 210:25-211:25, 212:4-13 (Doc. 95)).

What happened next is in dispute. According to
Swofford, he did not “suddenly confront” the Depu-
ties. Swofford watched the flashlight beams from two
unknown persons wander through his property in the
dark. (Swofford Depo. 213:14-215:16 (Doc. 95)). There
is evidence that when they neared him, Swofford
yelled, “Halt,” (rd. at 231:16-22, 232:1-25 (Doc. 95)),
and “Hey, hey you, who are you?” (Doc. 89-5 at 64).
There also is evidence that at the moment of the
encounter, Swofford was crouching or kneeling and
never stood upright or ran towards the Deputies.
(Swofford Depo. 231:23-232:25 (Doc. 95); contra Pet.
10 n. 1). The Deputies shined their flashlights at
Swofford, blinding him, and realized that he was not
one of the suspects for whom they were searching.

(Pet. 2, 9; Remus Depo. 174:23-25 (Doc. 97); Morris
Depo. 154:25-155:11 (Doc. 96)). Not only did the
Deputies have time to realize that Swofford was not
their suspect, as they later admitted, but Morris also
admitted that before he shot Swofford, he believed
that Swofford was the homeowner. (Morris Depo.
154:25-155:11 (Doc. 96)). Additionally, Remus’s first
statement — taken shortly after the incident — 1s
consistent with Swofford’s testimony that before he
was shot, Swofford called out to the Deputies. Remus
told FDLE investigators that he heard Swofford say
something like “‘[HJey, ‘Hey, you,’ or “Who are you?’”
(Doc. 89-5 at 64). At the time he was shot, Swofford
had committed no crime. In fact, SCSO decided not to
charge Swofford with any crime within 24 hours of
the shooting. (Doc. 89-3 at 46).

The Deputies’ interpretation of the diagrams of
Swofferd’s expert, Richard Ernest, is refuted by the
images and by Ernest himself. First, the diagrams do
not show Swofford “walking toward the deputies” or
“approaching the deputies.” (See Pet. 2, 3, 6, 10, 22,
29, 30). Instead, they depict Swofford bent forward,
with the gun pointed to the ground and the location of
the officers’ bullets as they entered his body. Indeed,
Ernest’s diagrams are for illustration purposes and do
not represent what Swofford did. Ernest Aff. 4 15
(Doc. 184-6). And Ernest’s report concluded that “the
statements of D/S Remus and D/S Morris asserting
that Swofford raised the gun and pointed it in their
direction are not supported by the physical evidence.”
Ernest Aff. Ix. B (Doc. 184-6). The Deputies also fail

6

to mention that Ernest’s affidavit confirmed that
Swofford was pointing his gun “down toward the

ground” when he was shot:

As explained above, there is no_ physical
evidence to suggest that Mr. Swofford ever
raised his firearm. What the physical
evidence does show is that at the time the
Deputies fired their gun, Mr. Swofford had a
two-handed grip on his firearm, his hands
were in front of his waist, and the firearm
was pointed down towards the ground and
not at the Deputies.

Ernest Aff. 4 13 (Doc. 184-6).

Even the Deputies’ expert agrees that it would be
impossible for Swofford to receive the injuries he did
through his wrists and into his abdomen -- if his
gun had been raised as claimed by the Deputies.
(Hueske Depo. 24:6-27:15 (Doc. 128); accord Wright
Aff. 4 6-9, 13-15 (Doc. 184-7); Ernest Aff. J 5-8, 12-13,
(Doc. 184-6); Swofford Aff. 4] 11 (Doc. 188-1)). Further,
although the Deputies repeatedly assert that
Swofford was only a second from being able to fire on
them, they never have claimed that they thought this
at the time they shot Swofford. And as the Eleventh
Circuit noted, there were inconsistencies within the
Deputies’ own testimony as to what happened during

the encounter. (Pet. App. 3).

4. The Deputies’ failure to warn

It is undisputed that the Deputies did not an
nounce themselves as they broke through Swofford’s
fence. Additionally, although the Deputies now say
that they shouted warnings during the shooting, an
audio recording of the shooting supports Swofford’s
version that no warnings were given. A microphone
connected to one of the Deputies’ radios was trans-
mitting, thus creating an audio recording of the
shooting on the dispatch tape. On the audio, one
hears multiple gun shots but no verbal commands to
Mr. Swofford to drop his weapon until after the last
shot. (Tr. of Dispatch Audio Tape (Doc. 184-2)).

Also, the Deputies misstate the record by claim-
ing that Swofford agrees that warnings were given at
least during the shooting. Swofford testified that the
Deputies did not identify themselves or give him any
commands before shooting him. (Swofford Depo.
231:16-22, 233:1-25, 282:1-20 (Doc. 95)). He testified
that immediately after he yelled “halt” and flash-
lights were shined in his eyes, he felt a sharp pain,
causing him to grab his stomach; then he heard
“BOOM, BOOM, BOOM.” Afterward, he heard some-
one shouting, “Seminole County Sheriff’s Office,” and
then again he heard “BOOM, BOOM, BOOM.”
(Swofford Depo. 231:16-22 (Doc. 95)).

Indeed, the Deputies have largely ignored the
district court’s and Eleventh Circuit’s discussion of
the factual disputes that required denial of summary
judgment on the qualified immunity defense. The

district court found that “[t]he bulk of the disputed

facts in this case surround the events that occurred
immediately before, during, and just after the shoot-
ing of Mr. Swofford.” (Doc. 317 at 9). And the Elev-
enth Circuit held that “[tJhe record reveals material
issues of fact about whether the deputies identified
themselves to Swofford, the position of Swofford’s
gun, the need for Morris and Remus to shoot
Swofford, and whether Remus should have inter-
vened to prevent Morris’s use of force,” all of which
pertain to the circumstances surrounding the shoot-
ing. (Pet. App. 2).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

There are no compelling reasons under Rule 10
for granting this Petition. With respect to the first
question presented, the Eleventh Circuit’s ruling is
not in conflict with the decision of another United
States Court of Appeals on an important matter of
federal law. See Sup. Ct. R. 10(a). And with respect to
the second, the Eleventh Circuit did not decide an
important question of federal law that has not been
previously settled by or conflicts with this Court. See
Sup. Ct. R. 10(c). Accordingly, the Petition should be
denied.

1. This case is not a good vehicle for deciding
the first question - whether the circum-
stances surrounding the shooting should
be ignored — because the Eleventh Circuit’s
unpublished opinion did not address that
issue, which does not warrant review by
this Court in any event.

The Deputies argue that the district court’s
decision in this case conflicts with the “segmenting
approach” used by the Fourth, Sixth, Seventh, and
Eighth Circuits. The “segmenting approach” is a
method of applying the “totality of the circumstances”
test that this Court established in Tennessee v. Gar-
ner, 471 U.S. 1, 8-9 (1985) and refined in Graham uv.
Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 396 (1989), for determining
whether an officer’s use of deadly force was objectively
reasonabie. See Dickerson v. McClellan, 101 F.3d
1151, 1161-62 (6th Cir. 1996). The Deputies assert
that “the district court in this case rejected segment-
ing and held that the deputies’ entry onto Swofford’s
property could be viewed as unreasonable, such that
the subsequent use of force was caused by the entry
onto property, rendering the use of force unreasona-
ble.” (Pet. 21). But the Eleventh Circuit did not
mention “segmenting,” nor did it agree or disagree
with the segmenting method. Indeed, the Deputies
concede that the Eleventh Circuit did not squarely
address this issue. (Pet. 16). The per curiam opinion
states only:

The district court did not err when it ruled
that Morris and Remus were not entitled to

10

qualified immunity. The record reveals mate-
rial issues of fact about whether the deputies
identified themselves to Swofford, the posi-
tion of Swofford’s gun, the need for Morris
and Remus to shoot Swofford, and whether
Remus should have intervened to prevent
Morris’s use of force.

(Pet. App. 2).

At no point does the Eleventh Circuit discuss the
unreasonableness of the Deputics’ entry onto the
Swoffords’ property, the Deputies’ failure to wait for
the approaching police helicopter before beginning
their search for suspects, or any other pre-force
activity. Instead, the Eleventh Circuit only addressed
unresolved material issues of fact that pertain to the
circumstances immediately preceding and Curing the
shooting of Swofford. And the Eleventh Circuit sum-
marily denied without opinion the Deputies’ petition
for rehearing and for rehearing en banc. (Pet. App.
47). Further, alleged district court errors do not
warrant review by this Court. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.
The first question, therefore, does not merit review
because the Eleventh Circuit never addressed it.

In any event, the segmenting issue does not
warrant review by this Court. The segmenting ap-
proach does use a somewhat narrow interpretation of
the “totality of the circumstances” in determining if
excessive force was used by analyzing excessive-force
claims in segments. Claybrook v. Birchwell, 274 F.3d
1098, 1103 (6th Cir. 2001). But there is ne dramatic
split between the circuits. (See Pet. 20). Every circuit

Li

applies the “totality of the circumstances” test that
this Court established in Garner, 471 U.S. at 8-9, and
refined in Graham, 490 U.S. at 396, for determining
whether an officer’s use of deadly force was objectively
reasonable. See, e.g., Nelson v. County of Wright, 162
F.3d 986, 990 (8th Cir. 1998); Dickerson, 101 F.3d at
1161-62; Carter v. Buscher, 973 F.2d 1328, 1332 (7th
Cir. 1992); Greenidge v. Ruffin, 927 F.2d 789, 791 (4th
Cir. 1991).

The segmenting approach does not mean that an
officer’s previous conduct plays no role in determining
the reasonableness of his use of deadly force. Instead,
in determining whether the use of force was reasona-
ble, these circuits “segment” by not considering
whether there was a separate constitutional violation
leading up to the seizure. Such analysis does not
require courts to view an officer’s conduct underlying
an excessive force claim in a vacuum. In the decisions
cited by the Deputies, the appellate courts considered
what the officers knew when they used deadly force,
demonstrating that an officer’s pre-force knowledge
and actions impact those courts’ analysis of the
objective reasonableness of a seizure. See Chappell v.
City of Cleveland, 585 F.3d 901, 916 (6th Cir. 2009)
(“[clonsidering what the record shows they knew at
the moment of McCloud’s attack, their use of deadly
force ... cannot be deemed objectively unreasona-
ble”); Dickerson, 101 F.3d at 1161 (requiring a court to
judge the reasonableness of the use of deadly force in
light of all that the officer knew); Plakas v. Drinski,
19 F.3d 1143, 1150 (7th Cir. 1994) (same); Cole v.

12

Bone, 993 F.2d 1328, 1333 (8th Cir. 1993) (examining
the information that a trooper possessed at the time
he decided to use deadly force and describing what
the trooper had seen during a high-speed chase in
which he had participated for approximately 30
miles).

Although the Deputies’ characterization of “seg-
menting” and “non-segmenting” circuits creates the
impression that the circuits’ approaches, are vastly
dissimilar, their differences are more rhetorical than
actual. For example, while these courts state that
they analyze what happened in “the moments preced-
ing the shooting,” there is no indication by these
courts of how long a “moment” is. See Dickerson, 101
F.3d at 1162. No “segmenting” court has said that it
only analyzes what occurred in the exact instant of
the use of force.

Similarly, the circuits that decline to narrowly
interpret the “totality of the circumstances” do not go
to the extreme and consider everything that an officer
did leading up to the use of force. See, e.g., Billingten
v. Smith, 292 F.3d 1177, 1189-90 (9th Cir. 2002)
(holding that “lolur precedents do not forbid any
consideration of events leading up to a shooting[, but]
neither do they permit a plaintiff to establish a
Fourth Amendment violation based merely on bad
tactics that result in a deadly confrontation that
could have been avoided”). For example, these courts
decline to include events that occurred substantial
periods of time before the use of force in their anal-
yses. Bella v. Chamberlain, 24 F.3d 1251, 1256 & n. 7

13

(10th Cir. 1994) (cited with approval by Medina ov.
Cram, 252 F.3d 1124 (10th Cir. 2001)) (refusing to
scrutinize events occurring one hour before actual
seizure and noting events were not immediately
connected with the seizure).

At least one “non-segmenting” court has even
cited language from a Seventh Circuit decision —
Plakas, 19 F.3d at 1150, that “we carve up the inci-
dent into segments and judge each on its own terms
to see if the officer was reasonable at each stage” — to
support the view that actions leading up to the use of
force must be considered in determining reasonable-
ness of force. See St. Hilaire v. City of Laconia, 71
F.3d 20, 26 (1st Cir. 1995). Apparently, the First
Circuit found such language supportive of the idea
that actions shortly preceding use of force are part of
the deadly force segment. Id.

Even courts that allegedly “segment” have con-
sidered circumstances in which the officers caused
the situation that required them to use deadly force.
For example, in a factually similar case, Claybrook,
274 F.3d at 1100, a firefight broke out when plain-
clothes undercover officers, who failed to identify
themselves, fatally shot a man holding a shotgun in
a market parking lot who was acting as a security
guard for a woman removing deposits from the
market. Jd. In analyzing the excessive force claim,
the Sixth Circuit noted that “Claybrook was fired
upon by unidentified, non-uniformed officers whom
... Claybrook ... thought to be robbing the market.”
Id. at 1105. In determining the reasonableness of the

14

deadly force, the court found it relevant that the
officers did not identify themselves, thus creating the
situation that caused the firefight. Jd.

In another factually similar case, a homeowner
was shot by unidentified police in his backyard at
dusk. Floyd v. City of Detroit, 518 F.3d 398, 402 (6th
Cir. 2008). The officers, who were investigating a call
about an argument, did not identify themseives;
instead, the homeowner only saw that people were
running toward him because he could see their flash-
light beams. Jd. Although the homeowner was un-
armed, the officers thought he had a gun in his hand.
Id. at 403. In denying a motion for qualified immunity
as a matter of law, the Sixth Circuit considered that
the officers caused the situation leading to deadly
force, holding that “the failure of both officers to
properly assess the reality of the situation they
created before employing deadly force without warn-
ing against an unarmed suspect cannot shield them
from liability unless that failure was objectively
reasonable.” Jd. at 408.

Furthermore, the segmenting approach is not an
absolute and inflexible rule. For example, in Nelson uv.
County of Wright, 162 F.3d 986 (8th Cir. 1998), the
Eighth Circuit disagreed with the plaintiff that a
brief struggle with a police officer should be viewed as
“distinct and separate segments.” Jd. at 991. Rather,
because “(t]he situation was tense and rapidly evolv-
ing,” the court declined to apply the segmenting
approach as it had in Cole, 993 F.2d 1328. Id. Cases

such as Claybrook, Floyd, and Nedson illustrate that
use of the segmenting approach is simply a method or
tool for analyzing the reasonableness of deadly force
given the totality of the circumstances, rather than
an important question of law over which the circuits
are irreparably split.

All of the circuit courts state the rule of law to be
applied in determining whether excessive force was
used -- namely, the “totality of the circumstances” test
under Garner and Graham. Thus, there is no “real
and embarrassing conflict of opinion and authority
between the circuit courts of appeal” regarding the
question of whether to segment the use of deadly
force from previous events. Powell v. Nevada, 511
U.S. 79, 86-87 (1994). Rather, because the segmenting
issue as presented by the Deputies is not “of im-
portance to the public as distinguished from that of
the parties,” certiorari should not be granted in this
case. Id.

Indeed, this Court already has held that an
officer’s use of deadly force may be reviewed for
reasonableness in light of his actions leading up io
the force. In Brower v. County of Inyo, 489 U.S. 593
(1989), this Court evaluated a case where the police
created a roadblock to stop a fleeing suspect. /d. at
594. When the suspect collided with the roadblock
and was killed, his heirs brought an action under
§ 1983, alleging that the roadblock constituted the
use of excessive force. Jd. This Court held that the
roadblock was a “seizure” under the Fourth Amend-
ment and remanded for a determination of whether

16

the roadblock was created in an unreasonable man-
ner. In its analysis, this Court determined that it was
necessary to consider the officers’ actions of creating
the roadblock even though the roadblock was created
well before the decedent hit it. See generally id. Thus,
this Court reviewed the actions of the police leading
up to the crash, noting that they had:

(1) caused an 18-wheel tractor-trailer to be
placed across both lanes of a two-lane high-
way in the path of Brower’s flight, (2) “effec-
tively concealed” this roadblock by placing it
behind a curve and leaving it unilluminated,
and (3) positioned a police car, with its head-
lights on, between Brower’s oncoming vehicle
and the truck, so that Brower would be
“blinded” on his approach.

id. at 594, 598. As the Third Circuit later pointed out,
‘if [the police’s] preceding conduct could not be con-
sidered, remand in Brower would have been pointless,
for the only basis for saying the seizure was unrea-
sonable was the police’s preseizure planning and
conduct.” Abraham v. Raso, 183 F.3d 279, 292 (3d Cir.
1999); see also St. Hilaire, 71 F.3d at 26 (citing Brower
as support for rejecting the view that an officer’s
actions need be examined only at the moment of the
use of deadly force).

Therefore, this Court has already established
that officers’ pre-force actions that result in the use of
deadly force are part of the “totality of the circum-
stances” in determining the reasonableness of that
force. By granting this Petition, the Court would be

17

“tak[ing| a case merely to reaffirm (without revisit-
ing) settled law,” which would be a “poor use of judi-
cial resources.” Powell, 511 U.S. at 87. Accordingly,
the Petition should be denied.

2. The second question —- whether a warning is
required before a shooting in “self-defense” —
rests on a distorted description of the evi-
dence and does not present an errant ruling
of law.

After conducting a de novo review of the record,
the Eleventh Circuit found that “(t]he record reveals
material issues of fact about whether |the Deputies|
identified themselves to Swofford, the position of
Swofford’s gun, the need for Morris and Remus to
shoot Swofford, and whether Remus should have
intervened to prevent Morris’s use of force.” (Pet. App.
2). Viewing the facts in the light most favorable to
Swofford, the Eleventh Circuit held that “a reasona-
ble jury could find that [the Deputies] violated
Swofford’s clearly established constitutional rights.”
(Pet. App. 3).

The Petition is based on what the Deputies
believe to be the Eleventh Circuit’s erroneous factual

findings:

Although the Garner warning requirement is
clearly ill-suited to a case like this one in-
volving a split-second decision to use deadly
force in self-defense, both the district court
and the Eleventh Circuit denied qualified
immunity to the deputies in large part based

18

on a fact dispute as to whether the deputies
gave a Garner-type warning to Swofford pri-
or to the use of deadly force.

(Pet. 25). A fact dispute, however, is not a reason to
grant this Petition. See Sup. Ct. R. 10 (stating that
a petition “will be granted only for compelling rea-
sons” and that a petition “is rarely granted when
the asserted error consists of erroneous factual
findings .. .”).

In its opinion, the Eleventh Circuit provided a
clear roadmap as to the core issues of material fact
upon which a reasonable jury could find that the
Deputies violated Swofford’s clearly established
constitutional rights. (See Pet. App. 2-3). The Elev-
enth Circuit found that disputed issues of fact pre-
cluded summary judgment as to the excessive force
claim against the Deputies. Those issues of maternal
fact should be decided by a jury, not this Court. By
filing the Petition, the Deputies ask nine Supreme
Court Justices to do a second de novo review of a
voluminous pre-trial record consisting of thousands of
pages. In effect, the Deputies want “another bite at
the apple,” even though they have taken three
already — one with the district court ana the second
and third with the Eleventh Circuit.

Thus, the Petition does not warrant review by
this Court because it presents only a fact dispute and
no errant ruling of law. And its fact-bound result
makes it an inappropriate means for reviewing the
holding in Tennessee v. Garner, which requires a

19

warning prior to using deadly force if feasible. There-
fore, the Court should reject the Deputies’ request
that the Court use this case to revisit Garner to
decide whether a law enforcement officer is constitu-
tionally required to give a warning to someone who is
not a fleeing felon. (Pet. 7).

Moreover, the Deputies’ argument fails on the
merits. The Deputies argue that the Garner factors
are unworkable and do not provide them with “fair
notice” of what is constitutionally required prior to
the use of deadly force. (Pet. 28). But Garner does
provide “fair notice” of what was required when the
Deputies encountered Swofford. See Brosseau v.
Haugen, 543 U.S. 194, 199, 125 S.Ct. 596, 599 (2004)
(finding that the general tests set forth in Garner and
Graham can provide fair warning). As the district
court found, it is clear that a deputy cannot shoot an
innocent homeowner under the circumstances pre-
sented here. (See Pet. App. 40) (holding that “lilt is
simply not normal for law enforcement officers to . . .
enter unannounced onto a homeowner's property, and
shoot him, unprovoked in his own backyard, knowing
full well that he was not one of the suspects if
constitutional protection against that risk is not
bedrock, it is hard to envision what is”).

Garner provides the Deputies with “fair notice”
that they cannot shoot an innocent homeowner — who
they know is not a suspect — without first giving a
proper warning, if feasible. Viewing the facts in the
light most favorable to Swofford, the Deputies en-
tered the Swoffords’ property in search of two

20

Hispanic suspects. During their search, they encoun-
tered Swofford, who is not Hispanic and who was
lawfully checking his property with a handgun point-
ed to the ground. The Deputies, knowing that
Swofford was not one of the suspects and was prob-
ably the homeowner, immediately shot Swofford,
severely injuring him. Under these facts, a reason-
able jury could find that the Deputies violated
Swofford’s clearly established constitutional mghts.

Moreover, this Court has held that a “clearly
established” constitutional violation does not require
case law that is “materially similar.” Hope v. Pelzer,
536 U.S. 730, 741 (2002). In fact, general statements
of law — such as those identified in Garner — are
capable of providing fair notice and warning to a law
enforcement officer that his or her “conduct violates
established law([,] even in novel factual circumstances.”
Id.- see also U.S. v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 271 (1997)
(recognizing that general statements of law are
capable of giving fair and clear warning); Anderson v.
Creighton, 482 U.S. 635, 639 (1987) (rejecting the
idea that an official action is protected by qualified
immunity unless the very action in question has
previously been held unlawful).

The precedent set by Garner informs the Depu-
ties that a fleeing felon is entitled to a warning if
feasible. Under that precedent, the Deputies cannot
argue in good faith that an innocent homeowner
who admittedly does not resemble the suspects — ts
not entitled to at least the same type of warning as a

21

fleeing felon. Accordingly, the Petition does not merit

review by this Court.

CONCLUSION

The Court should deny the Petition for Writ of

Certiorar.

Respectfully submitted,

ALBERT F. TELLECHEA
Counsel of Record

LAURIE WEBB DANIEL
HOLLAND & KNIGHT LLP

200 South Orange Avenue
Suite 2600

Orlando, Florida 32801]
(407) 425-8500
albert.tellechea@hklaw.com

Counsel for Respondents
Robert and Sharon Swofford

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2805%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
