# Amicus Curiae Brief — Wine Country Gift Baskets.com v. Steen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2770%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1270

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

DEC 2 2 2010

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 10-671

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

WINE COUNTRY GIFT BASKETS.COM, ET AL.,
Petitioners,

JOHN T. STEEN, JR., ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF FOR ECONOMISTS, LAW AND
ECONOMICS SCHOLARS, AND FORMER FTC
OFFICIALS AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT
OF PETITIONERS

TODD J. ZYWICKI

George Mason University
School of Law

3301 Fairfax Dr.

Arlington, VA 22201

JOSHUA D. WRIGHT

George Mason University
School of Law

3301 Fairfax Dr.

Arlington, VA 22201

ANDREW G. MCBRIDE

Counsel of Record
THOMAS R. MCCARTHY
Wiley Rein LLP
1776 K Street NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 719-7000
amcbride@wileyrein.com
Counsel for Amici Curiae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pp Ce ae eee ae nee i
Te Oe a inci as ose nese ieee ill
BRO CE FREE CTI ois veces ccsissc canon caciosevinnvnnses l
I oo ecociapaneateaseone eves ontecdeneds en ]
UOT GE FANE acoder cess sera scea ote 2
SRST SCR se RST me Se ne NR SAN UO 5
I. The Decision Below Undermines the
Dormant Commerce Clause By Improperly
Limiting Granholm to “Producers” and
Consumers Who Buy Directly from
po . OREORN SAIS Re ho LENG STEEL BR 7 IE TOTO Cee ne 5
II. The Decision Below Improperly Lispenses
With Granholm’s Two-Step Dormant
Commerce Clause Analysis ..........2...2...00es0eee00e- a
III.The Failure of the Fifth Circuit To Properly
Apply Granholm’s Two-Step Analysis Will
Encourage Protectionist Regulation, Harm
Consumers, and Harm Interstate
Commerce in Violation of the Constitution........ 12
A. By Refusing to Rigorously Scrutinize
Discriminatory Regulation, the Fifth
Circuit’s Opinion Encourages Special
Interests and State Politicians to Evade
Granholm’s Mandates...................02.c0cceeceeeeee es i3

B. By Failing to Rigorously Scrutinize
Protectionist State Regulation, the Fifth
Circuit’s Opinion will Result in
Substantial Harm to Consumers, Out-of-

State Sellers, and Interstate Commerce........ 1

il
C. Once the Court Identifies a Facially
Discriminatory Regulation, the Burden
is on the State to Justify the Regulation

and the Necessity of Discrimination. ............. 23
Conclusion................ Re cle sities omanskecaee a teeetetanet ieee 26

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Bd. of Equalization of Cal. v. Young’s Mkt. Co., 299
Meee. Wee (POBG) ............-...-ccesncccoscececccscseccoscossenees 11
Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976)....... ica 11
Freeman v. Corzine, _ F.3d, 2010 WL 5129219
I MOTD on cnnuescecsncsesenrasomsnssnedatvasainceseenccne ap
Granholm v. Heald, 544 U.S. 460 (2005).......... passim
North Dakota U. United States,
ES MEE © POD)... in naicnsnennencuscasaracoceseensansensnersens 3
West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186, 202
ef Re RR ERD RR rnin oF 82: 8,9

Other Authorities
Alan E. Wiseman & Jerry Ellig, The Politics of Wine:
Trade Barriers, Interest Groups, and the Commerce

Clause, 69 J. POLITICS. 859 (2007)................... oi, Ze
Cass Sunstein, Naked Preferences and _ the
Constitution, 84 COLUM. L. REV. 1689 (1984) ....... 17

Daniel L. McFadden, E. Morris Cox Professor of
Econ., Univ. of Cal., Berkeley, Interstate Wine
Shipments and E-Commerce ...................000e.0eeeeeee 12

Dennis Carlton & Judith Chevalier, free Riding and
Sales Strategies for the Internet, 49 J. INDUS. ECON.
ee 20

Erik Brynjolfsson & Michael D. Smith, Frictionless
Commerce? A Comparison of Internet and
Conventional Retailers. 46 MANAGEMENT SCIENCE
EE CIID 0.5 evevedsnecacocancnaesdascransesnaos ce ocae 20

lV

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION, POSSIBLE
ANTICOMPETITIVE BARRIERS TO E-COMMERCE: WINE
CI sccizetcc ec aaree eee eee passim

Gina M. Riekhof & Michael E. Sykuta, Politics,
Economics, and the Regulation of Direct Interstate
Shipping tin the Wine Industry, 87 AM. J.

AGRICULTURAL ECON. 439 (2005).................2c0ecee ee 16
Gina M. Riekhof & Michael E. Sykuta, Regulating
Wine by Mail, 27 No. 3, REG. 30 (2004)................. 16

James C. Cooper & Joshua D. Wright, State
Regulation of Alcohol Distribution: The Effects of
Post and Hold Laws on Consumption and Social
Harms (Fed. Trade Comm'n, Working Paper No.
A Fe sok ee 1d

Jerry Ellig & Alan E. Wiseman, Competitive
Exclusion with Heterogeneous Sellers: The Case of
State Wine Shipping Laws (Mercatus Center,
George Mason Univ., Working Paper, Dec. 20,
tS, | a ae nA ae reo AEE Aaa th Ra liebe: 22

Jerry Elhg & Alan E. Wiseman, /nterstate Trade
Barriers and Potential Regulatory Competition: The
Case of Direct Wine Shipping, 19 J. PRIVATE
Re Si Te ee ccs nscoesictecae aunt ca ee 2]

Karen Clay et al., Prices and Price Dispersion on the
Web: Evidence from the Online Book Industry, 49 J.
PG, TCE Be Ee 0 vanced esses. 20

Letter from Fed. Trade Comm'n Staff to William
Magee, Chairman, N.Y. Assembly Agriculture
Comm. (ter. FO. TOO0) wivioscidscindccceee 18, 25

MANCUR OLSON, THE LOGIC OF COLLECTIVE ACTION
RIN ccna ca ails etc yee taaw hee eos ee eee 15

V

Maureen K. Ohlhausen & Gregory P. Luib, Moving
Sideways: Post-Granholm Developments in Wine
Direct Shipping and Their Implications for
Competition, 75 ANTITRUST L.J. 505 (2008).......... 14

Peter Zwiebach, Consolidation Marches on as
Leading Players Expand, IMPACT: GLOBAL NEWS
AND RESEARCH FOR THE DRINKS EXECUTIVE, Apr.
LUlee FOO ce ieee ee 17

Press Release, L.D. Johnston et al., Univ. of Mich.,
Marijuana Use is Rising; Ecstasy Use is Beginning
to Rise; and Alcohol Use is Declining Among U.S.
I Fee, Fre i oiooeoe enastreeraeie a ere keds 24

THE FEDERALIST No. 10 (James Madison)................ 16

Todd Zywicki & Asheesh Agarwal, Wine, Commerce,
and the Constitution, 1 N.Y.U. J. LAW & LIBERTY
eas cecadaes eee osteo ees 10, 11

Wayne T. Brough, No Wine Shall be Served Before Its
Time—At Least Not Without Wholesalers Taking a
Cut, Issue Analysis, July 14, 2010 ......0..00000.cecc. 18

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

The amici curiae submitting this brief are econo-
mists, law and economics scholars, and former FIC
officials who teach, conduct research, and publish on
economics and economic regulation. A list of amici is
set forth in the appendix hereto.

Amici have no financial interest in any party to
the case or in the outcome of the case.

STATEMENT

Petitioners seek a writ of certiorari to review a de-
cision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit rejecting a challenge to a facially dis-
criminatory Texas state law that permits in-state re-
tailers to accept remote orders and directly ship alco-
holic beverages but denies that same right to out-of-
state businesses. Petitioners contend that the Texas
law violates the dormant Commerce Clause of the
United States Constitution as interpreted in Gran-
holm v. Heald, 544 U.S. 460 (2005). The Fifth Circuit
affirmed a grant of summary judgment in tavor of
Respondents, holding that Texas’s discriminatory re-
gime was permissible without requiring the state to
justify its discrimination with a legitimate regulatory
interest.

' This brief is filed pursuant to notice provided to the parties
more than ten days before the filing of the brief and their writ
ten consent. No counsel! for a party authored this brief in whole
or in part. Professors Todd Zywicki and Joshua Wright received
funding for preparation and submission of this brief from Fami-
ly Winemakers of Calforma, a 625 member statewide associa-
tion of wine producers, independently owned vineyards, and
suppliers, founded in 1991 ar © based in Sacramento, California.

?

—

Amici fully endorse Petitioners’ arguments ex-
plaining why a grant of certiorari is appropriate here.
Amici write separately to highlight the harm to small
wineries, consumers, and interstate commerce from
allowing states to enact discriminatory barriers to in-
terstate commerce in wine and other alcoholic beve-
rages. The Federal Trade Commission describes dis-
criminatory state laws inhibiting direct shipment as
“the single '.sgest regulatory barrier to expanded e-
commerce in wine.” FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION,
POSSIBLE ANTICOMPETITIVE BARRIERS TO E-
COMMERCE: WINE (2003) [hereinafter “FTC Report”],
at 3, avatlable at
http://www.ftc.gov/os/2003/07/winereport2.pdf, and
the decision below perpetuates this harm. Moreover,
the Fifth Circuit’s opinion will result in substantial
harm to consumers, small wineries, and interstate
commerce, and will invite evasion of Granholm’s pro-
tections by politicians and special interests seeking to
erect protectionist policies, notwithstanding Gran-
holm’s guarantee of equal access to America’s mar-
kets for wineries and consumers. Given the impor-
tance of this issue to American consumers, small
wineries, and interstate commerce, and the increas-
ing uncertainty caused by tensions arising from judi-
cial efforts to apply Granholm to various state laws,
it is essential for this Court to review the decision of
the Fifth Circuit. See, e.g., Freeman v. Corzine,
F.3d ___, 2010 WL 5129219 (3d. Cir. 2010) (applying
Eeaatoba to New Jersey law).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
1. ‘Ine decision below conflicts with this Court’s
reasoning 1n Granholm v. Heald, 544 U.S. 460 (2005),

3

undermines the system of nondiscriminatory and ro-
bust interstate commerce guaranteed by the Com-
merce Clause of the Constitution, and imposes unjus-
tified injury on the nation’s citizen-consumers and
wine producers. The Texas regulatory scheme ex-
pressly discriminates between in-state and out-of-
state wine retailers, striking at the heart of reasona-
ble, non-discriminatory regulation recognized in
Granholm.

2. The decision below will result in substantial
harm to consumers, small wineries, and interstate
commerce. It rests on three fundamental errors with
profound economic consequences. First, the Fifth
Circuit improperly limits Granholm and thus the
dormant Commerce Clause’s protections to “produc-
ers.” As such, a retailer of wine is protected by
Granholm only if it is also vertically integrated into
production of the wine that it sells even if distribu-
tion through a retailer would be more efficient. Nei-
ther Granholm’s logic nor the dormant Commerce
Clause compel the vertical integration of production
and retailing to gain the protection of the dormant
Commerce Clause.

Second, rather than applying the two-step analysis
mandated by Granholm, the Fifth Circuit began and
ended its analysis with the dicta in Granholm that
the three-tier system is “unquestionably legitimate.”
544 U.S. at 489 (quoting North Dakota v. United
States, 495 U.S. 423, 432 (1990)). The Fifth Circuit,
finding that discrimination is inherent in the three-
tier system, read this passage as endorsing discrimi-
nation against out-of-state retailers.

4

Third, the Fifth Circuit’s opinion fails to properly
consider the constitutional and economic purposes of
the dormant Commerce Clause and the need to limit
evasion of this Court’s Granholm decision by states
and interest groups seeking to erect discriminatory
barriers to interstate commerce. These three misap-
plications of Granholm and the dormant Commerce
Clause underscore the need for this Court to reaffirm
Granholm in order to guarantee the benefits of the
dormant Commerce Clause and to prevent further ef-
forts to erect discriminatory barriers to interstate
commerce.

3. Granholm expressly recognized the economic
value of vigilant enforcement of the dormant Com-
merce Clause against discriminatory trade barriers.
Granholm has mitigated but has not eliminated the
central economic problem identified there: wholesaler
consolidation and barriers to entry creating a bottle-
neck hampering the distribution of wine, especially
the ever-growing number of small wineries seeking to
bring their products to market. Permitting out-of-
state retailers to compete on equal terms with in-
state retailers will allow a more efficient system of
distribution, reduce prices and increase variety for
consumers, and enhance competitive opportunities
for America’s smal] wineries.

ARGUMENT

I. The Decision Below Undermines the Dor-
mant Commerce Clause By Improperly Li-
miting Granholm to “Producers” and Con-
sumers Who Buy Directly from Producers

The decision below rests on the flawed premise
that Granholm apphes only to “producers” and not to
any other elements of the three-tier system. See
Wine Country Gift Baskets, 612 F.3d at 818 (“The dis-
crimination that Granholm invalidated was a State’s
allowing its wineries to ship directly to consumers
but prohibiting out-of-state wineries from doing so. .
.. Such discrimination—among producers—is not the
question today.”); id. at 820 (“Granholm prohibited
discrimination against out-of-state products or pro-
ducers. Texas has not tripped over that bar by allow-
ing in-state retailer deliveries.”) ‘his reading would
foreclose more efficient systems of alcohol distribu-
tion, resulting in harm to consumers, small wineries,
and interstate commerce.

Even a cursory reading of Granholm reveals that
it focuses on “producers” simply because the plaintiffs
in that case happened to be out-of-state producers
and the state law in question was designed to benefit
local producers. But its language and logic are not
limited to producers. And for good reason. The dor-
mant Commerce Clause protects not producers, but
commerce—buying and selling—across state lines.
Whether a retailer is also vertically integrated to
production is immaterial to this protection.

6

Simply put, there is no basis in logic, economic
reasoning, or constitutional law to justify an artifi-
cially narrow reading of Granholm that protects only
“producers.” By focusing on the identity of the seller
of a product, the decision below ignores the funda-
mental principle of the dormant Commerce Clause—
to promote consumer welfare and suppher competi-
tion in a national market unencumbered by discrimi-
natory trade barriers. See Granholm, 544 U.S. at 473
(“Laws of the type at issue in the instant cases con-
tradict the[] principles [of the dormant Commerce
Clause]. They deprive citizens of their right to have
access to the markets of other States on equal
terms.”)

Furthermore, Granholm did not merely establish
Commerce Clause protections for wine producers, but
also for consumers and sellers to transact free of dis-
criminatory state regulation. As the Court explained
at the outset of its opinion, “States may not enact
laws that burden out-of-state producers or shippers
simply to give a competitive advantage to in-state
businesses.” Jd. at 472 (emphasis added), This Court
only mentioned the plaintiffs’ status as “producers”
because the particular Michigan and New York laws
in question exempted in-state producers from sales
restrictions those same laws imposed upon out-of-
state wine producers. That the out-of-state sellers in
that case also happened to produce the products that
they sold was coincidental to Granholm’s conclusion.
The relevant question instead is rather whether simi-
larly-situated sellers of a product were being treated

in a non-discriminatory manner.’ Nothing in Gran-
holm or any other case supports the Fifth Circuit’s
contention that only production combined with retail
sale is protected by the dormant Commerce Clause.

Under the Fifth Circuit’s logic, a producer would
lose the dormant Commerce Clause’s protection if it
decided that it would be more efficient to sell to con
sumers via a retailer instead of directly distributing
its own products. Distribution through a professional
retailer provides multiple economic benefits which
redound to consumers. Retailers develop expertise in
marketing and selling wine to consumers that indi-
vidual wineries may lack, especially smaller wineries.
Retailers have economies of scale in marketing, order
fulfillment, and tax and regulatory compliance that
allow them to sell to consumers at lower expense and
with greater efficiency than small wineries. Special
ty retailers may also be a credible source of product
information to consumers. These benefits provid
consumers with greater choice, reduced prices, and
reduced information costs 1n choosing and purchasing
wine products. All of these benefits of the ability to
use professional retailers to market products are of
particular benefit to smaller wineries and, in turn, to
wine consumers.

Under the Fifth Circuit’s flawed theory, however,
the dormant Commerce Clause protects only consum-
ers seeking to buy products produced by the seller
from whom the consumer wishes to purchase. This

* See Freeman, _ F.3d at *8 (holding that out of state pro
ducers that sell wine “at retail to consumers" must be treated on
equal footing as in-state producers that sell wine "at retail to

consumers")

8

would impiy, for example, that Granholm protects a
consumer sending a gift basket of wine or enrolling in
a “wine of the month” club—but only if the order it-
self is to be fulfilled by one winery filling its own or-
der. This proposed constitutiona] limitation begs
questions. Would two small wineries that banded to-
gether to offer gift baskets that combine their wines
into one basket be protected from state-sanctioned
discrimination? Would three wineries within a mar-
keting cooperative to jointly market and fulfill orders
for their products be protected? Presumably under
the Fifth Circuit’s opinion, all commercial arrange-
ments other than a single retailer vertically inte-
grated from production of wine to retail sale would
fall outside Granholm because each individual wine-
ry was not receiving and fulfilling each individual or-
der, even if a third party could do so at lower cost and
higher consumer value.

Nothing in Granholm compels this absurd result.
The dormant Commerce Clause does not require ver-
tical integration for its protections. Indeed, this
Court has emphasized that “the imposition of a diffe-
rential burden on any part of the stream of com-
merce—from wholesaler to retailer to consumer-—is
invalid, because a burden placed at any point will re-
sult in a disadvantage to the out-of-state producer.”
West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186, 202
(1994). There is nothing in the dormant Commerce
Clause that conditions non-discriminatory access to
markets on adopting a specific mode of business or-
ganization or method of distribution.

y

Il. The Decision Below Improperly Dispenses
With Granholm’s Two-Step Dormant Com-
merce Clause Analysis

The Fifth Circuit erred in reading Granholm as
endorsing all three-tier systems as “unquestionably
legitimate,” even those that discriminate against out-
of-state shippers. Under Granholm, however, the
Court is required to apply a two-step process of anal
ysis that 1s designed to protect interstate commerce
by ensuring that discriminatory barriers to interstate
commerce in alcohol are justified. This analysis be-
gins with a determination of whether the discrimina
tion was necessary to effectuate the state’s regulatory
scheme. Only afterwards may the court consider
whether the Twenty-First Amendment saved the dis-
criminatory regulation.

This analysis 1s the same whether the product in
question is fresh grapes or grapes that have been
vinted into wine. See, e.g., West Lynn Creamery, Inc.
v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186 (1994). When a state enacts a
discriminatory regulatory regime governing alcohol,
the state must justify the discrimination as necessary
to the fulfillment of legitimate regulatory purposes.
Texas's regulatory regime discriminates against out-
of-state wineries and merchants.

Yet, the Fifth Circuit began and ended its analysis
with Granholm’s dicta dubbing the three-tier system
“unquestionably legitimate,” Granholm, 544 U.S. at
489, in the abstract. The court did not consider the
discriminatory nature of the state regulation much
less whether it was justified. Because it was part of a
three-tier system, the court found it insulated from
the application of the dormant. Commerce Clause

LO

Notably, the Fifth Circuit erroneously concluded
that discrimination at the retail level is integral to
the three-tier system. The Fifth Circuit thereby cha-
racterized this case as a frontal challenge on the va-
hdity of the entire three-tier system itself. But dis-
crimination 1s not inherent to the operation of the
three-tier system. As Petitioner notes, several states
operate three-tier systems without discrimination.
See Brief for Petitioner at 13. There is nothing inhe-
rent in the three-tier system that would justify allow-
ing in-state retailers but not out-of-state retailers to
accept remote orders and fulfill them by delivery.

As the Court recognized in Granholm, the purpose
of Section 2 of the Twenty-First Amendment was the
same as the purpose of the Wilson and Webb-Kenyon
Acts that preceded it: to allow the state police power
to regulate alcohol moving in interstate commerce to
the same extent as alcohol in intrastate commerce
but subject to the hmitation that states could not
erect discriminatory barriers. Granholm, 544 U.S. at
484-85. The Twenty-First Amendment, hke its pre-
decessors the Wilson and Webb-Kenyon Acts, in
tended to grant the states reguiatory parity — to pre-
vent states from having to treat out-of-state retailers
of alcohol on more favorable terms than in-state ven-
dors, not to permit plenary authority to discriminate
against interstate commerce. Todd Zywicki &
Asheesh Agarwal, Wine, Commerce, and the Constitu-
tion, 1 N.Y.U. J. LAW & LIBERTY 609 (2005).

The three-tier system may be, as a starting point,
“unquestionably legitimate.” But this does not au
thorize states to violate the Commerce Clause any
more than it would authorize a state to violate any

|

other Constitutional protection as part of the imple-
mentation of the three-tier system. See Zywicki &
Agarwal, supra, at 639-40. While some early cases
suggested that the Twenty-First Amendment essen-
tially repealed the dormant Commerce Clause as it
applied to interstate commerce in alcohol, those same
cases asserted that the Twenty-First Amendment al-
so protected state alcohol regulation from = scrutiny
under the Fourteenth Amendment. See Bd. of Kqua
lization of Cal. v. Young’s Mkt. Co., 299 U.S. 59, 64
(1936) (rejecting Equal Protection challenge to state
alcohol regulation as “[a] classification recognized by
the Twenty-First Amendment cannot be deemed for-
bidden by the Fourteenth.”) As this Court has subse-
quently and repeatedly recognized, the Twenty-First
Amendment no more deprives citizens of the dormant
Commerce Clause’s protection from. discrimination
than it protects them from discrimination under the
Fourteenth Amendment. See Craig v. Boren, 429
U.S. 190 (1976) (holding that “the operation of the
Twenty-first Amendment does not alter the applica-
tion of the equal protection standards that would
otherwise govern this case”).

The decision below thus rests upon fundamental
doctrinal and conceptual errors that sharply under-
mine the dormant Commerce Clause. Review is
warranted so that this Court preserve the protections
of the dormant Commerce Clause for consumers and
wineries and prevent evasion of Granholm by inter-

est groups and state legislatures.

12
Iii. The Failure of the Fifth Circuit To Properly
Apply Granholm’s Two-Step Analysis Will
Encourage Protectionist Regulation, Harm
Consumers, and Harm Interstate Com-
merce in Violation of the Constitution
The Fifth Circuit’s failure to properly conduct
Granholm’s two-step analysis injures consumers and
the economy by undermining the integrated nationa!
economy the dormant Commerce Clause protects.
Appheation of the two-step analysis required by
Granholm is necessary in order te prevent evasion of
the dormant Commerce Clause’s anti-discrimination
mandate thereby ensuring that laws further regula-
tory, not protectionist, purposes. Insulating the
whole three-tier system from judicial review invites
circumvention of this Court’s Granholm decision
through legislative gerrymandering. The only rele-
rant question left for states would be how to plaus)-
bly label all manners of discriminatory interstate
protectionism as essential to the three-tier system.
This threat is especially dangerous in the area of
alcohol regulation, where as Nobel Laureate Danicl
Mcl’adden has observed, the political economy of
state legislative and regulatory process systematical-
ly disadvantage the interests of consumers and out-
of-state suppliers relative to those of wholesalers.
See Daniel L. McFadden, i. Morris Cox Professor of
Econ., Univ. of Cal., Berkeley, Interstate Wine Ship-
ments and K-Commerce 2, available at
http://www.fte.gov/opp/ecommerce/anticompetitive/pa
nel/mefadden.pdf (“I find it particularly sad that the
anti-interstate shipping legislation that has been
passed is so disproportionate in its negative impact
on consumers relative to the very modest protection
it provides to traditional distributors and retailers.”).

13
Absent rigorous scrutiny by federal courts, wholesa-
ler-dominance of the legislative and regulatory
processes will result in| rampant evasion of the
Court’s holding in Granholm and significant welfare

losses imposed upon consumers.

A. By Refusing to Rigorously Scrutinize Discrimt-
natory Regulation, the fifth Circuit's Opinion
Encourages Special Interests and State Politi
clans to Kvuade Granholm’'s Mandates.

Interest groups and state legislatures have worked
ceaselessly to undermine Granholm. Legislatures
have developed several types of camouflage to sal-
vage discriminatory regimes. The I*ifth Circuit's op1-
mion will greatly simplify this process: every discri-
minatory element that a state asserts as essential to
its three-tier regulatory regime would be deemed
“unquestionably legitimate.” Indeed, the Vufth Cir-
cult’s interpretation renders Granholm itself a near-
nullity, enabling direct shipments of wine directly
from producers to consumers, but providing no other
limits on regulations of a myriad of economically sim-
ilar transactions (as noted above). It is essential for
this Court to reaffirm the importance of Granholm to
limit these evasions.

In 2007, two officials of the Federal Trade Com-
mission undertook a comprehensive review of state
legislative responses in the wake of Granholm and
the negative impact those evasions continued to have
on consumers and interstate commerce. Maureen K.
Ohlhausen & Gregory P. Luib, Moving Sideways:
Post-Granholm Developments in Wine Direct Ship
ping and Their Implications for Competition, 75 AN-

14
TITRUST L.J. 505 (2008). As Ohthausen and Laub
note, in the wake of Granholm, several states in
vented new restrictions on direct. shipping that typ1-
cally fall more heavily on out-of-state producers.
These included restrictions such as on-site purchase
requirements and production lmitations.’ In some
cases, these new restrictions “effectively make direct
shipping by out-of-state wineries economically im-
possible.” Ohlhausen & Luib, supra at 506. They
note that “[rlestrictions on direct shipping, including
those enacted in the wake of Granholm, have adverse
effects on consumers of wine. Such restrictions pre-
vent consumers from conveniently purchasing many
popular wines and from reaping significant price sav-
ings on some wines. Further, direct shipping fosters
competition between online and offline sellers of
even if consumers choose to buy wine from

wine
bricks-and-mortar retailers.” Jd. at 566. They con-
clude that “fa] Commerce Clause challenge may be
the only practical way to attack these restrictions and
protect the interests of producers and consumers in
enjoying the benefits of a competitive, national mar-
ket.” Jd. Moreover, they warn that the failure of this
Court to protect consumers and interstate commerce

3 Family Winemakers of Cal. v. Jenkins, 592 F.3d 1 (1st Cir.
2010) illustrates the importance of judicial vigilance to prevent
evasion of the dormant. Commerce Clause. In 2006 Massachu
setts enacted a facially neutral law that created distinct distri-
bution regimes for “small” and “large” wineries, as defined by
output of more or less than 30,000 gallons per year. While fa
cially neutral, the First Circuit recognized that no Massachu
setts winery produced more than 30,000 gallons per year. The
First Circuit thereby invalidated the state law under Granholm
as discriminatory in effect.

Ld
from these evasions will invite further surreptitious
trade barriers erected to protect in-state merchants
from out-of-state competition.

As this legislative response to Granholm indicates,
state legislatures are highly prone to erecting harm-
ful discriminatory barriers to interstate commerce.
Consumer interests tend to be systematically under-
represented in political processes as consumers are
subject to collective action and free-riding problems
See MANCUR OLSON, THE LOGIC OF COLLECTIVE AC
TION (1965). By contrast, wholesalers present a cohe-
sive, well-organized lobbying machine. Such an
asymmetry in lobbying power increases the threat of
protectionist legislation motivated by wholesaler spe-
cial interest groups. Thus, allowing states to author-
ize alcohol cartels enables financially interested firms
to reap cartel profits at the expense of consumers, of-
ten in ways that do not materially further any legiti-
mate interest of the state.

Studies of state alcohol markets confirm these
suspicions. In most states, wholesalers and state
governments combine to impose losses on consumers
to increase both profits and tax revenues. See James
C. Cooper & Joshua D. Wright, State Regulation of
Alcohol Distribution: The Effects of Post and Hold
Laws on Consumption and Social Harms (Fed. Trade
Comm'n, Working Paper No. 304, August 2010) (de-
monstrating that state post and hold regulations re-
sult in a reduction in consumer welfare with no off-
setting reduction in the social harms associated with

alcohol consumption), available at
http://www.ftc.gov/be/workpapers/wp304.pdf; Gina M.
Riekhof & Michael E. Sykuta, Politics, Economics,

16

and the Regulation of Direct Interstate Shipping in
the Wine Industry, 87 AM. J. AGRICULTURAL ECON.
439 (2005); Gina M. Riekhof & Michael E. Sykuta,
Regulating Wine by Mail, 27 No. 3, REG. 30 (2004).
Riekhof and Sykuta conduct an empirical analysis of
state wine direct shipping “reciprocity” laws to find
that interest-group struggles and tax revenues pri-
marily determine state alcohol regulatory policies. In
a few states, the domestic wine industry is sufficient-
ly strong and well-organized that it can sometimes
exert a counter-weight to anti-consumer wholesaler
interests. Riekhof and Sykuta find that consumer in-
terests predominate in absolutely no states. When a
state lacks a large wine-producing sector that can
provide a political counterweight to wholesaler inter-
ests, however, consumers are at the mercy of whole-
saler interests.

By limiting the capacity of states to engage in dis-
criminatory regulation, a primary function of the
dormant Commerce Clause is to temper the ability of
‘ocal interest group factions to weaken national mar-
kets and erode individual liberty. ‘THE FEDERALIST
No. 10 (James Madison). Discriminatory laws trans-
fer wealth to small, cohesive special interests at the
expense of millions of consumers that are hard to or-
ganize politically and out-of-state sellers that have no
ability to vote and lhmited ability to participate in
state political processes. These trends reflect the
grim reality that discriminatory interstate laws
tempt politicians to reward special interest groups at
the cost of consumer welfare. These forces unders-
core the need for vigilance by this Court to prevent
interest-group motivated evasions of the dormant

17
Commerce Clause. See Cass Sunstein, Naked Prefe-
rences and the Constitution, 84 COLUM. L. REV. 1689
(1984).

B. By Failing to Rigorously Scrutinize Protection-
ist State Regulation, the Fifth Circuit's Opinion
will Result in Substantial Harm to Consumers,
Out-of-State Sellers, and Interstate Commerce.

This Court’s decision in Granholm produced major
economic benefits for consumers and the economy
and led to a blossoming of smaller wineries by freeing
new producers from an innavigable and shrinking
bottleneck of wholesalers. As noted in Granholm, be-
tween 1984 and 2002 the number of licensed whole-
salers nationwide dropped from 1,600 to 600 while
the number of wineries had grown to over 3,000.
Granholm, 544 U.S. at 467. Since Granholm, the
number of wineries has increased to over 6,000, see
Growth of the U.S. Wine Industry,
http://www.wineamerica.org/newsroom/wine%20data
“o20center/2010-Growth-of-US-Wine-Industry.pdf
(last visited Dec. 19, 2010), suggesting that discrim1-
natory state regulation was a significant and binding
constraint on competition and consumer choice in the
wine market. By contrast, some industry analysts
claim that the wholesaler industry has become even
inore consolidated and concentrated since then. Pe-
ter Zwiebach, Consolidation Marches on as Leading
Players Expand, IMPACT: GLOBAL NEWS AND RE.
SEARCH FOR THE DRINKS EXECUTIVE, Apr. 15-May 1
2009, at 1, 22. One indication of the wholesaler’s re-
gulatorily-preferred position is that while the return
on equity (an accounting measure of profitability

18

used by many investors) in less-protected wholesale
industries averages 11 percent a year over the past
10 years, the return in alcohol wholesaling ranges
from 18-20 percent, 66 to 83 percent higher. See
Wayne T. Brough, No Wine Shall be Served Before Its
Time-—At Least Not Without Wholesalers Taking a
Cut, Issue Analysis, July 14, 2010.

As the Federal Trade Commission has noted, by
expanding efficiency, competition, and consumer
choice, further breaking down discriminatory bar-
riers to retailing will expand the benefits that were
seeded by Granholm. See Letter from Fed. Trade
Comm'n Staff to William Magee, Chairman, N.Y. As-
sembly Agriculture Comm. (Mar. 29, 2004) (observing
that “allowing out-of-state retailers, as well as wine-
ries, to ship directly to consumers would provide ad-
ditional competition that likely would lead to even
lower prices for such consumers”), available at
http://www.ftc.gov/be/v040012.pdf. Direct shipment
by out-of-state retailers enables small and medium
wineries to distribute their products to retailers who
‘an then sell and ship a greater vaniety of products to
consumers. These retailers will otherwise struggle to
find distribution as a result of the wholesaler bottle-
neck. This will naturally expand the economic bene-
fits created by Granholm, leading to lower prices,
broader selection, and greater consumer convenience.
Just as Internet and catalogue shopping have revolu-
tionized other areas of retail-shopping for the benefit
of consumers, prying open previously closed markets
to allow heightened competition by out-of-state re-
tailers holds the potential for vast consumer welfare
galns.

19

The products sold by the plaintiff in the current
case, Wine Country Gift Baskets.com, illustrate the
potential gain to consumers and small wineries from
eliminating arbitrary and protectionist restraints on
competition. Wine Country Gift Baskets.com and
other similar retailers market, sell, and ship gift
baskets to consumers around the country. They ac-
cept orders around the clock through their website,
assembling baskets of wines, cheeses, chocolates, and
other items. They offer a variety of baskets designed
for particular occasions, such as at birthdays, anni-
versaries, births, and other celebrations. By provid-
ing innovative product selections in a national mar-
ket, sellers such as plaintiff increase the competitive
pressure on bricks and mortar wine retailers, in-
creasing product variety and convenience while lo-
werlng prices.

Less balkanized markets will also have beneficial
dynamic effects. By reducing barriers to entry, in-
creasing competition, and facilitating the free flow of
goods across state lines, expanding trade will pro-
mote still greater entrepreneurship, innovation, qual-
ity improvement, and choice. Undistorted competi-
tion allows the best products and sellers to prevail,
not just those most able to navigate the wholesalers’
stranglehold on the marketplace. These open condi-
tions lead to economic growth in the marketplace
which, 1n turn, enhance competition and increase
state tax revenues.

Volumes of economic and empirical evidence dem-
onstrate that online retailers are an important com-
petitive force. In many product markets, online re-
tailers offer lower prices than offline retailers. Even

20

where online retailers do not offer a price advantage,
they generate other important competitive benefits
for consumers by reducing price dispersion or offering
services. See, e.g., Erik Brynjolfsson & Michael D.
Smith, Frictionless Commerce? A Comparison of In-
ternet and Conventional Retailers. 46 MANAGEMENT
SCIENCE 563, 563 (2000) (observing that prices on the
Internet are 9-16% lower than prices in conventional
outlets); Dennis Carlton & Judith Chevaher, Free
Riding and Sales Strategies for the Internet, 49 J. IN.
bUS. ECON. 441 (2001); Karen Clay et al., Prices and
Price Dispersion on the Web: Evidence from the On-
line Book Industry, 49 J. INDUS. ECON. 521 (2001).
Furthermore, competition drives down prices for all
sellers in a market — even amongst traditional brick-
and-mortar stores that must reduce prices and im-
prove quality in order to compete against electronic
counterparts. By reducing search costs competition
from Internet retailers tends to reduce price discrim-
ination, promoting lower and more uniform pricing.
These gains flow almost entirely to consumers, per-
mitting greater quantities to be purchased at lower
costs.

Increased competition for wine generates the same
beneficial effects. As part of the Federal Trade
Commission’s 2003 study on Possible Anticompetitive
Barriers to E-Commerce: Wine, in 2002 Jerry Ellig
and Alan E. Wiseman conducted a study of competi-
tion in the consumer wine industry in Northern Vir-
ginia and the effects of state regulatory barriers to
direct shipping of wine. FTC Report at Appendix A;
see also Jerry Elhg & Alan E. Wiseman, Interstate
Trade Barriers and Potential Regulatory Competition:

21

The Case of Direct Wine Shipping, 79 J. PRIVATE EN.
TER., no. 2, 2004, at 26 (noting and subsequently pub-
lishing 2002 Ellig and Wiseman findings). Prompted
by an adverse judicial decision by the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, in 2003 Vir-
ginia amended its law to permit direct wine shipping
from out-of-state sellers. In 2004, soon after the Vir-
ginia law was enacted, the authors conducted a fol-
low-up study that compared the price and availability
of popular wines in local wine retailers and compared
those findings to the study conducted in 2002, before
the law was enacted. See Alan E. Wiseman & Jerry
Ellig, The Politics of Wine: Trade Barriers, Interest
Groups, and the Commerce Clause, 69 J. POLITICS.
859 (2007).

Wiseman and Ellig’s follow-up study drew several]
relevant conclusions. First, they found that of the to-
tal of 152 popular labels included in the two studies
combined, only 1 was not available at any online re-
tailer while 21 were unavailable at any local bricks-
and-mortar store. In 2002, 15% of the wines in the
study were available online but not offline, and in
2004, 12.5% of the wines were still available online
but not offline. Wiseman & Ellig, supra at 866. Of
the wines not available offline in 2002, 8 of the 15
came from among the 20 most popular labels in Wine
and Spirits’ restaurant poll. FTC Report at 18. In
both periods there were many popular wines that
were unavailable offline but were available online.

Wiseman and Ellhg found that in 2002, there were
substantial savings to be had from purchasing online:
consumers saved an average of 8-13% on wines cost-
ing more than $20 per bottle and an average of 20-

22

21% on wines costing more than $40 per bottle. FTC
Report at 3.

In their 2004 follow-up study, Wiseman and Ellhig
found that the legalization of online wine shopping
changed the competitive structure of the Northern
Virginia wine market, leading to lower prices for con-
sumers both online and offline. As economic theory
predicts, the 2004 Virginia law reduced barriers to
entry, leading to increased competition and consumer
choice. While Wiseman and Ellig found that online
wine prices were lower than offline prices in both
2002 and 2004, the offline-online price differential
was 40% smaller in 2004 than 2002, indicating that
the threat of online competition led to lower prices of-
fline as well. Wiseman and Ellig conclude that
“(cJonsistent with the intentions of the dormant
[(C]ommerce [C]lause, removal of Virginia’s direct
shipment ban increased competition in local mar-
kets.” Wiseman & Ellig, supra, at 870.

Ellig and Wiseman’s most recent research shows
that opening competition to direct shipping by retail-
ers as well as wineries would enhance competition
and drive down consumer prices still further—and
that excluding retailers from direct shipment sub-
stantially reduces the price savings available from
online competition. See generally Jerry Ellig & Alan
EK. Wiseman, Competitive Exclusion with Heterogene-
ous Sellers: The Case of State Wine Shipping Laws
(Mercatus Center, George Mason Univ., Working Pa-
per, Dec. 21, 2010).

Moreover, Wiseman and Ellig’s study actually un-
derstates the full benefit to consumers and the econ-
omy of online shopping. Online shopping provides a

Zo

consumer with the ability to shop at their conven-
ence, day or night, from the comfort of their own
home, rather than being required to run around town
seeking particular wines or comparing prices. Con-
sumers benefit from the convenience of the option of
placing remote orders and accepting direct ship-
ment -—which 1s precisely why Texas, hke many other
states, allows retailers to do exactly that. Consumers
also benefit from innovative retailers such as Wine
Country Gift Baskets.com that increase the variety of
products available to consumers or specialized wine
merchants that feature wines of particular varietals
or geographic regions. These effects save consumers
time, money, and hassle, increasing consumer satis-
faction, encouraging marginal consumers to enjoy
wine, and providing drastic price savings to infra-
marginal consumers as well. By creating virtual re-
tail shelf-space, online shopping dramatically reduces
the search and transaction costs of finding and pur-
chasing products, allowing customers to find the best
price and quality.

C. Once the Court Identifies a Facially Discrimt
natory Regulation, the Burden ts on the State
to Justify the Regulation and the Necessity of
Discrimination.

Under Granholm, once the Court identifies a fa-
cially discriminatory regulation, the burden shifts to
the state to justify the necessity of the discriminatory
regulation. Granholm, 544 U.S. at 489-90 (“The
Court has upheld state regulations that discriminate
against interstate commerce only after finding, based
on concrete record evidence, that a State’s nondiscri-

24

minatory alternatives will prove unworkable.”). The

state here apparently offers the same three basic ra-
tionales for its discriminatory regime as in Gran-
holm: preventing underage access to alcohol, ensur-
ing taxation, and the promotion of “orderly markets.”

As recognized in Granholm, however, there is little
basis for beheving that economic discrimination 1s
necessary to accomplish the state’s regulatory goals.
Granholm, 544 U.S. at 490; see also FTC Report at
34-41. Following Granholm, some states and whole-
salers direly predicted that they needed the power to
erect discriminatory barriers to direct shipment of
wine to forestall an epidemic of underage access to
wine. No such floodgate has opened—in fact, a recent
study found that underage drinking has reached the
lowest point in the study’s 35 year history. See Press
Release, L.D. Johnston et al., Univ. of Mich., Mariju-
ana Use is Rising; Ecstasy Use is Beginning to Rise;
and Alcohol Use is Declining Among U.S. Teens (Dec.
14, 2010), avatlable al
http://monitoringthefuture.org/data/10data.html#201
Odata-drugs. As this Court recognized in Granholm,
and as subsequent experience has demonstrated, the
apocalyptic warnings about the consequences of strik-
ing down discriminatory barriers to direct shipping
were then, and are today, highly implausible. Now,
as then, underage drinkers will usually find ample
opportunity to try to acquire alcohol from bricks-and-
mortar vendors without the delay, difficulty, and risk
of ordering over the Internet for delivery. See FTC
Report at 35.

Moreover, whatever the strength of Texas’s justifi-
cations for its regime, there is no reason to assume

Or

that its need to discriminate is greater for regulating
retailer direct shipping than winery direct shipping.
As the Federal ‘Trade Commission has recognized,
the same means used to regulate direct shipment by
wineries can be used to ensure regulatory comphance
by retailers, including labeling, adult signature re-
quirements, and reporting requirements. See Letter
from Fed. Trade Comm'n Staff to William Magee,
Chairman, N.Y. Assembly Agriculture Comm. (Mar.
29, 2004). As recognized in Granholm, “minors are
just as likely to order wine from in-state producers as
from out-of-state,” Granholm, 544 U.S. at 490—an
observation that applies equally to shipment by re-
tailers. J/d. (“Michigan, for example, already allows
its licensed retailers (over 7,000 of them) to deliver
alcohol directly to consumers.”). Regulation of direct
shipment by retailers does not. present any distinct
regulatory issues from regulation of direct shipment
by wineries. The prospect of retailer direct shipment
no more requires state discrimination against inter-
state commerce than regulation of direct retail sales
by wineries does.

The dormant Commerce Clause requires that the
state provide a justification for its discriminatory
regulations. Rather than requiring this justification
to be made, the Fifth Circuit assumed that discrimt}-
nation was warranted and excused the state of Texas
from providing that justification to consumers and
the public at large. This Court’s guidance is neces-
sary to vindicate the protections of the dormant
Commerce Clause and to ensure that discriminatory
barriers to interstate commerce are justified.

26
CONCLUSION

‘or the reasons above, this Court should grant the

petition for a writ of certiorari

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW G. MCBRIDE
Counsel of Record

THOMAS R. MCCARTHY

WILEY REIN LLP

1776 K Street NW

Washington, DC 20006
(202) 719-7000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

TODD J. ZYWICKI

George Mason University
School of Law

3301 Fairfax Dr.

Arlington, VA 22201

JOSHUA D. WRIGHT

George Mason University
School of Law

3301 Fairfax Dr.

Arlington, VA 22201

Dated: December 22. 2010

APPENDIX

la
Amici economists, law professors, and former Federal
Trade Commissioners include:

Donald J. Boudreaux is Professor of Economics at
George Mason University.

Henry N. Butler is George Mason University
Foundation Professor of Law at George Mason Uni-
versity School of Law and Executive Director of the
George Mason University Center for Law and Eco-
nomics.

Tyler Cowen is Holbert C. Harris Chair of Econom-
ics at George Mason University.

Harold Demsetz is Kmeritus Chair Professor of
Business Economics at University of California, Los
Angeles.

Richard Epstein is the Laurence A. Tisch Professor
of Law at New York University Law School and Peter
and Kirsten Bedford Senior Fellow at The Hoover In-
stitution.

Mark Grady is Professor of Law and Director, Cen-
ter for Law and Economics, UCLA School of Law, and
former Acting Director, Office of Policy Planning &
Evaluation, Federal Trade Commission.

Kric Helland is Robert J. Lowe Professor of Eco
nomics at Claremont McKenna College.

Peter Klein is Associate Professor in the Division
of Apphed Social Sciences at the University of Mis
sour}.

John M. Letiche is Emeritus Professor of Econom-

ics at the University of Calfornia at Berkeley.

2a
Robert IE. Litan is Vice President for Research and
Policy at the Kauffman Foundation, and Senior Fel-
low in Economic Studies at the Brookings Institution.

Daniel L. McFadden is E. Morris Cox Professor of
Economics and 2000 Nobel Laureate in Economics.

Fred S. McChesney is Class of 1967 James B.
Haddad Professor of Law and Professor, Department
of Management and Strategy, Kellogg School of Man-
agement and former Associate Director for Planning
and Evaluation, Federal Trade Commission.

Roger KE. Meiners is Chairman, Department of
Economics, Goolsby Distinguished Professor of Eco-
nomics and Law, University of Texas-Arlington, and
former Regional Director, Federal Trade Commission.

Maureen K. Ohlhausen is Partner, Wilkinson
Barker Knauer and former Director, Office of Policy
Planning, Federal Trade Commission.

Paul H. Rubin is Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor
of Economics at Emory University and former Assis-
tant Director of the Bureau of Economics, Federal
Trade Commission.

Vernon Smith is Professor of Law and Economics
and George L. Argyros Endowed Chair in Finance
and Economics at Chapman University and 2002 No-
bel Laureate in Economics.

Michael E. Sykuta is Associate Professor in the
Division of Apphed Social Sciences at the University
of Missouri.

3a

Joshua D. Wright is Associate Professor at George
Mason University School of Law and Department of
Economics and former Scholar in Residence, Bureau
of Competition, Federal Trade Commission.

Bruce Yandle is Alumni Distinguished Professor of
Economics Emeritus and Dean Emeritus, Clem-
son University, and former Executive Director, Fed-
eral Trade Commission.

Todd J. Zywicki is George Mason University
Foundation Professor of Law at George Mason Uni-
versity School of Law and former Director, Office of
Policy Planning, Federal Trade Commission.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2770%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
