# Opposition Brief — PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin Creative Leather Products, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2753%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1217

## Text

™ ' A 3 D |
(y IAN 18 209
No. 10-653 CCE OF trie Gy,
ect

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

PSKS., INC. D/B/A KAY’S KLOSET...KAY’S SHOES.
Petitioner,
y
LEEGIN CREATIVE LEATHER PRODUCTS, INC.,
Respondent

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ROHIT K. SINGLA JEFFREY 1. WEINBERGER

MUNGER, TOLLES & Counsel of Record
OLSON LLP JEFFREY Y. WU

560 Mission Street MUNGER, TOLLES &

27th Floor OLSON LLP

San Francisco, CA 94105 355 South Grand Avenue

(415) 512-4000 35th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 683-9100
jeffrey.weinberger@mto.con

’ " ;
Counsel for Respondent

January 18, 201]

VILSON-EPES PRINTING CO. IN (202) 789-009 WASHINGTON. D.C. 20002

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Respondent Leegin Creative Leather Products,
Inc., now known as Brighton Collectibles, Inc., is
wholly owned by Jerry Kohl and Terri Kohl as
Trustees of the Jerry and Terri Kohl Living Trust,
dated October 18, 2006. Respondent has no parent
corporation. No publicly held company owns more
than 10% of Respondent’s stock.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

INTRODUCTION ............

STATEMENT OF THEE CASE

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .

Il

THERE IS NO CONELICT REGARD-
ING THE POTENTIAL FOR A
MARKET DEFINED BY A’) SINGLE
PRUE TATED oes saksdvcesesnssacvensacenie are uae
THE ISSUERS REGARDING WHOLE
SALE MARKETS DO NOT WARRANT
REVIEW.......... usd dcsicused ee .

A. The Wholesale Market Issues Are
Not Clearly Presented .......
B. The Supposed Conflict Regarding
Wholesale Markets Is Illusory.......... ,
THE ISSUES REGARDING MARKET
POWER DO NOT WARRANT REVIEW...
A. Petitioner Has Waived Its Argument
Against the Market Power Require
IE assess vvicvna acon cpusenuedeiiec eee
B. There Ils No Conflict Regarding the
Fifth Circuit’s Market Power Re
GUNOMNGN. ... 5.x ica
C. There Is No Conflict Regarding
“Direct” Proof of Market Power ....

(111)

Pape

1\

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Drape

}). The Market Power Issues Are Not
Ripe For Review »

IV. PETITIONERS NEW HORIZONTAL

CLAIMS DO NOT WARRANT REVIEW

A. There Is No Inter-Circuit Conflict
Regarding the Mandate Rule 24

B. The Dismissal of Petitioner’s Hor

zontal Theories Does Not Warrant
Review 7 a

|. Petitioner’s Reliance on Dual
Distribution 27

2. Petitioner’s Failure to Plead a
Retailer Cartel 29
CONCLUSION 2

¥y
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Ad-Vantage Tel. Directory Consultants, Inc.
v. GTE Directories Corp., 849 F.2d 1336

CSRs a. Fe accede ea 16
Allen-Myland, Inc. v. Intl Bus. Machs.

Corp., 33 F.3d 194 (3d. Cir. 1994)............ 22
Ashcroft v. Iqbal, U.S. _, 129 S. Ct.

Se (Oe iii Gicssnat aenseent 2, 11, 29, 30

Ball Memorial Hosp., Inc. v. Mutual Hosp.
Ins., Inc., 784 F.2d 1325 (7th Cir. 1986) .. 21-22
Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S.

OG AE Boks knncinconursinsseaesees eprenecetee ee passim
Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S.

Bre CT ncicsesteece toe eee 10
Catalano, Inc. v. Target Sales, Inc., 446

Coco, Ge CR inno kctenec eee eas 30

City of Cleveland v. Cleveland Elec. Illumi
nating Co., 734 F.2d 1157 (6th Cir.

3 | RO pees Pe et ed le Eien BP ey ee 14
Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania

Frac. , BBO Ue. SO CIE Gin os cvnccccccncesescc, 19, 22. 25
Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania

Inc., 694 F.2d 1132 (9th Cir. 1982) .......... 20
Crocker v. Piedmont Aviation, Inc., 49 F.3d

Tae CAs Sr CE cccveans cecaacene 25, 26
Curtis Publ’g Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130

CREE Biicrckehccieteie ee eee 26
Dimmit Agri Indus., Inc. v. CPC Int'l, Inc.,

G78 F.24 516 (1962) «22.02.0050: Pieters. 21
Donald B. Rice Tire Co. vo Michelin Tire

Corp., 638 F.2d 15 (4th Cir. 1981)............ 28

EKastern States Retail Lumber Dealers’
Ass'n vu. United States, 234 U.S. 600
bg 2 et ts Be LOND AA. 9 baat 30

Vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— Continued

Page
Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical
Serus., Inc., 504 U.S. 451 (1992)............... 10
Edward J. Sweeney & Sons, Inc. v. Texaco,
Inc., 637 F.2d 105 (3d Cir. 1980) ENERO 9,12
Flegel v. Christian Hosp., Northeast
Northwest, 4 F.3d 682 (8th Cir. 1993)...... Y
FTC v. H.d. Heinz Co., 246 F.3d 708 (D.C.
er acs eran kes cara ae aie a ne 14-15
FTC v. Indiana Fed’n of Dentists, 476 U.S.
a Set: | SERRA GR Ne eee eer Ree ann Ret 16, 17, 18
FTC v. Staples, Inc., 970 F. Supp. 1066
a ry, EE ocd ienn esau ectavsbunesncciewsetieenssens 9
FTC v. Whole Foods Market, Inc., 548 F.3d
ee i i I oo aviv k vaccine cacesimenvaes 9
Hampton Audio Elecs., Ine. v. Conte
Cellular, Inc., 1992 WL 131169 (4th Cir.
a I asec ee sg rs 28
Illinois Tool Works Inc. v. Independent
Fre. tne. . SOT TFS. SEA ZIOS) oocccnecevasesses ses. 12

In re Brand Name Prescription Drugs Anti
trust Litig., 186 F.3d 781 (7th Cir. 1999). 10, 21
INS v. Lopez-Mendoza, 468 U.S. 1032

De he oa ae een 24
Intl Boxing Club of New York Inc. v.

United States, 358 U.S. 242 (1959) .......... 10-11
Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. United States

TR GF re ee Cine on encvndntcccavackesnssesecees 30
Jacobs v. Tempur-Pedic Int, Ras 626

Dk LAST CE IGI CAE, DOI iovcncceceesacevesnssaes 11, 20
JBL Enters., Inc. v. Jhirmack Enters., Inc.,

698 F.2d 1011 (9th Cir. 1983).....0.000.0.0..... 14

Jones v. Cain, 600 F.3d 527 (5th Cir. 2010) 16

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
K.M.B. Warehouse Distributors, Inc. v.
Walker Mfg. Co., 61 F.3d 123 (2d Cir.
| SEER ar aR E REE ea Janabik aaabadeeneian 3. Zs
Kentucky Speedway v. NASCAR, 588 F.3d
EN Gt, I en cccneicasadcscsunpoaveesscccvacsess 9
Krehl v. Baskin-Robbins Ice Cream Co.,
664 F.2d 1348 (9th Cir. 1982)...........0.00.... =
Leegin Creative Leather Products, Inc. v.
Fone, inc., 651 US. 877 (2007)............ passim
Loudermill v. Cleveland Bd. of Educ., 844
F.2d 304 (Gth Cir. 1968)............................ 26
Midwestern Waffles, Inc. v. Waffle House,
Inc., 734 F.2d 705 (11th Cir. 1984) .......... 28
Natl Collegiate Athletic Ass’n v. Board of
Regents of Univ. of Okla., 468 U.S. 85
Neovo cay avec dueeavsnsinecscesducunnerperaeeawaneaeaen: 10
Ntakirutimana v. Reno, 184 F.3d 419 (5th
AE, ERO eRe pe P np PpedsenTon Pos Pi 16
Oltz v. St. Peter’s Cmty. Hosp., 861 F.2d
Cie Oe L. | ne a neeeN es 19
Omni Outdoor Adver., Inc. v. Columbia
Outdoor Adver., Inc., 974 F.2d 502 (4th
Ro Ns sees pcske sacs tus eae 25,27
Paschall v. Kansas City Star Co., 727 F.2d
ie IN ck cnce scence 15

PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin Creative Leather Pro

ducts, Inc., 615 F.3d 412 (5th Cir. 2010)... passim
PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin Creative Leather Pro

ducts, Inc., No. 2:03-CV-107-TJW, 2009

WL 938561 (E.D. Tex. Apr. 6, 2009) ....... passim
Re/Max Int'l, Inc. v. Realty One, Inc., 173

F.3a 995 (Gth Cir. 1906).........<...c<.sc0...05....: 21

Viil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Red Diamond Supply, Inc. v. Liquid
Carbonic Corp., 637 F.2d 1001 (5th Cir.
Me antes yan takt Ue ee a eee ae 28
Ryko Mfg. Co. v. Eden Servs., 823 F.2d
ALD Lh ae bY 2 ae 19, 23, 27, 28
Queen City Pizza, Inc. v. Domino's Pizza,
Inc., 124 F.3d 430 (3d Cir. 1997).............. 9, 10
Schuylkill Energy Res., Inc. v. Pa. Power &
Light, 113 F.3d 405 (3d Cir. 1997)........... 15
Tanaka v. Univ. of S. Cal., 252 F.3d 1059
| De: 0 SERN oes Once ae nee 11, 20
Tarrant Serv. Agency, Inc. v. American
Standard, Inc., 12 F.3d 609 (6th Cir.
EE coun src casa buve coves saedonies Lie Rb A ee ee 9
Telecor Commins, Inc. v. Southwestern Bell
Tel. Co., 305 F.3d 1124 (10th Cir. 2002).. 14
Texas Democratic Party v. Benkiser, 45%
otk Soe CEM CAP, BOG)... ccecsciccceessssesenss: 16
Todd v. Exxon Corp., 275 F.3d 191 (2d Cir.
, it) | re ASR eh RAMEN DT aaa IES On eT ERO 21
Toys “R” Us, Ine. v. FTC, 221 F.3d 928 (7th
SS RE RRIR RE S ee eee Ser oom ee 21, 30
United States v. Atehortva, 69 F.3d 679 (2d
ae tari eceucculawecce 24
United States v. Baker Hughes, Inc., 908
ee Ok CED... Cie, TOBY icvicccsecscveasccscesess 21
United States v. Broughton-Jones, 71 F.3d
CT 25

United States v. ET. du Pont de Nemours

& Co. (Cellophane), 351 U.S. 377 (1956).. passim
United States v. General Motors Corp., 384

et Oe OI vacccanennsvacyascuseanccancesasvenesavace 30

1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

United States v. Ponce, 51 F.3d 820 (9th

Roe I oc ucane eta e canta eto eoaaeac eee 25
United States v. Quintiert, 306 F.3d 1217

eB le Re, _.) SAD Lees raed RES Tse ea 24
United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co.,

OU EPs BU CR iaiicictnakccaveseapanecsesessaresas 26
United States v. Ticchiarelli, 171 F.3d 24

(lst Cir. 1999) ........... ASAE Ree eee 24
United States v. Whren, 111 F.3d 956 (D.C.

eer co oe ee 24
Will v. Comprehensive Acct. Cerp., 776

P’.20 GES CIE Cir, TGS). oaccccccccccccccscocesceses iZ

RULES

ee aki cree cdciswas sich nghsncaercnciees 13
le PN Be vv venasesncscsnrsntcisinainavicervcas 13
POM, Fe, CAV. B. GEMS? csccvensscesescriccesssees ee 26
TE, We, Gi SOD oe cinesicvencecrncnsccsensxasscets 6
en ae, aus roses cuseesusiessscancs iets ee ee

OTHER AUTHORITIES
§ Charles Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller,
Federal Practice and Procedure § 1282
COUN UNIS INES hci capdadareiadonsaavesrcectime ssa 26

18B Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal
Practice & Procedure § 4478.3 (2d ed.
Sor eee ee te tt 24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 10-653

PSKS, Inc. D/B/A KAY’S KLOSET...KAY’S SHOES,
Petitioner,
Vv.

LEEGIN CREATIVE LEATHER PRODUCTS, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

INTRODUCTION

In Leegin Creative Leather Products, Inc. v. PSKS,
Inc., 551 U.S. 877 (2007), the Court held that
antitrust challenges to resale price maintenance
(RPM) programs must be adjudged under the rule of
reason, like other vertical restraints. Jd. at 881-882.
The Court reasoned that RPM, by restricting
intrabrand competition, tended to encourage retailers
to make investments that invigorate competition
between brands to the benefit of consumers. 7d. at
889-92. This is procompetitive and beneficial because
“the antitrust laws are designed primarily to protect
interbrand competition.” Jd. at 895. That RPM could

raise retail prices for Respondent’s own Brighton-

9

brand products is no cause for suspicion, because
the idea behind RPM is to use higher prices to fund
greater investment by retailers in marketing, dis-
plays, and customer service. /d. at 895-97. The
Court also refused to entertain Petitioner’s argument
that Respondent’s RPM program constituted a hori-
zontal restraint, because Petitioner never raised it
below. Jd. at 907-08. The Court vacated the
judgment entered below and remanded for further
proceedings.

On remand, the district court and the Fifth Circuit
faithfully followed the Court’s mandate and applied
the same rule of reason standard that have for
decades been applied to other vertical restraints.
This meant that Petitioner had to allege sufficient
facts to identify a plausible relevant product market,
to plausibly allege that Respondent had power in that
market, and to plausibly allege that Respondent’s
RPM program harmed interbrand competition. Peti-
tioner did none of that. Its newly amended complaint
was consequently dismissed on the pleadings, and
that dismissal was affirmed by the Fifth Circuit.

Now Petitioner argues that the Fifth Circuit’s
decision contains no less than seven conflicts with the
decisions of its sister circuits and of this Court. But
no such conflicts exist. The Fifth Circuit applied
well-established principles of antitrust law over
which there is uniform agreement.

Nor do the remand proceedings present any federal
question of general importance. Applying Leegin as
well as the pleading standards set forth in Bell
Atlantic Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544 (2007) and
Ashcroft v. Iqbal, __ U.S. __, 129 S. Ct. 1937 (2009),
the Fifth Circuit determined that Petitioner failed to
plausibly plead sufficient facts to state a claim.

3
Whether Petitioner's allegations are sufficient in the
unique circumstances of this case is not any more
worthy of review than the thousands of other dismis-
sals entered by the lower courts each year.

Petitioner argues that the Fifth Circuit imposed a
rule of per se legality for RPM. Pet. 34. The Fifth
Circuit did no such thing. Rather the Fifth Circuit
applied the rule of reason to the specific facts before
it, and (correctly) concluded that Petitioner had not
alleged any facts showing that RPM was being used
to anticompetitive effect. It is indisputable that
Respondent is a small company in one of the most
competitive sectors of the economy: women’s fashion
accessories. It is difficult to imagine markets more
fragmented and competitive than the markets for
handbags, jewelry, belts, and other accessories.
Countless styles and brands straddling every poten-
tial price range are available to consumers in retail
outlets ranging from “big box” stores to department
stores to small boutiques to online shops. It is thus
not surprising that Petitioner could not plausibly
allege any harm to interbrand competition.

Petitioner’s complaint was conspicuously silent as
to Respondent’s market share in any market.
Instead, Petitioner premised its claims on conclusory
and legally untenable allegations such as_ that
Brighton handbags do not compete with other brands
of handbags. The only harm to competition alleged
was that the price of Respondent’s own products were
higher than they would have been absent ,RPM—
which Leegin explained is not evidence of anything
anticompetitive. 551 U.S. at 895-97. Petitioner’s
complaint was dismissed not because there is some-
thing wrong with the rule of reason, but because
Petitioner could not plausibly allege an antitrust

4

market, market power on Respondent’s part, or harm
to interbrand competition in the particular circums-
tances of this case.

It is also premature to revisit the standards gov-
erning RPM just three years after Leegin. The Court
then stated that the lower courts could further refine
the rule of reason as applied to RPM as they “gain
experience considering the effects of these re-
straints.” 551 U.S. at 898. Insufficient time has
passed for the lower courts to do so. Tellingly,
Petitioner cites not a single other appellate decision
applying Leegin, let alone one that conflicts with the
Fifth Circuit.

The Petition should be denied.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
1. On remand from Leegin, Petitioner filed a
second amended complaint (“SAC”) attempting to
allege that Respondent's RPM program harmed
competition under the rule of reason, and alterna-

tively that Respondent’s RPM program constituted a
per se unlawful horizontal restraint.

a. Petitioner alleged two alternative relevant
product markets: (1) the “retail market for Brighton’s
women’s accessories,” and (2) the “wholesale sale
of brand-name women’s accessories to independent
retailers.” SAC 4] 24; Pet. App. 41a. Petitioner did
not allege Respondent’s share of either of the alleged
markets.

To support the Bmghton-only retail market,
Petitioner alleged that Brighton products are “unique,
“distinct,” “differentiated,” and “characterized by an
inelasticity in demand,” because the products “coor-
dinate from head to toe.” SAC 49 16, 25, 26; Pet.

»”»

5

App. 38a, 4la. Petitioner aileged no other facts to
show inelasticity of demand or why consumers could
not substitute accessories from any of the hundreds
of purveyors of fashion accessories.

With regard to the alleged wholesale market,
Petitioner alleged Respondent has “market power
because it occupies a dominant position as supplier to
independent women’s specialty stores.” SAC J 18;
Pet. App. 38a. Petitioner alleged no facts regarding
the demand inelasticity of “brand-name” accessories
sold to “independent retailers.”

Petitioner further alleged that “brand-name women’s
accessories can be characterized by the wide-spread
adoption of practices” that limit interbrand competi-
tion. SAC J 32; Pet. App. 43a. Petitioner did not
allege what those practices are, whether RPM is one
of the practices, or whether the supposed practices
were adopted by Respondent or anyone else.

b. As an alternative to its rule of reason theory,
Petitioner claimed that Respondent’s RPM program
constituted a horizontal price-fixing agreement sub-
ject to per se condemnation. Petitioner alleged that
Respondent “formed” a RPM program, known as the
“Heart Store” program, in 1998. Petitioner alleged
that Respondent then “solicited agreements” from
retailers to not discount, “invited” retailers to par-
ticipate in the Heart Store program, “provided incen-
tives” for them to do so, “required” retailers to
execute RPM agreements, and “fixed suggested retail
prices.” SAC {| 9-10; Pet. App. 36a.

After forming the Heart Store program, Respon-
dent allegedly “began to enforce the [RPM] Policy
with greater regularity” and “made changes” to the
RPM Policy” “at the insistence of many of its most

6

faithful dealers.” SAC 4 13; Pet. App. 37a. But the
only supposed change identified is the allegation that
Respondent “invited” some unidentified retailers to a
meeting in Hawaii in 2003, where a “consensus of the
retailers was reached” and led to a policy whereby
Brighton products could be discounted on a cus-
tomer’s birthday. SAC J 14; Pet. App. 37a.

2. The district court dismissed the second amended
complaint for failure to state a claim under Fed.
R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6). PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin Creative
Leather Products, Inc., No. 2:03-CV-107-TJW, 2009
WL 938561 (E.D. Tex. Apr. 6, 2009); Pet. App. 17a-
32a. Petitioner did not request leave to amend. The
lhifth Circuit then affirmed. PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin
Creative Leather Products, Inc., 615 F.3d 412 (5th
Cir. 2010); Pet. App. la-15a.

a. The Fifth Circuit held that each of Petitioner’s
alleged product markets excluded products that are
reasonably interchangeable with Brighton-brand
accessories and henceforth failed the market defini-
tion test established in United States v. El. du Pont
de Nemours & Co. (Cellophane), 351 U.S. 377 (1956).
First, while acknowledging that “[i]n rare circum-
stances[} a single brand of a product” could constitute
a relevant market, the Fifth Circuit held that Peti-
tioners’ allegations failed to satisfy the conditions for
recognizing such a market. 615 F3d at 418; Pet. App.
9a. Second, the Fifth Circuit rejected the alleged
wholesale market on four independently sufficient
bases, holding that Petitioner: (1) improperly limited
the market to the wholesale level when the complaint
concerned retail pricing and competition; (2) failed to
allege non-conclusory facts that Brighton products
are not reasonably interchangeable with non-“brand-
name” products; (3) failed to allege non-conclusory

7

facts showing that independent retailers do not com-
pete with other retailers; and (4) improperly alleged
an overly broad and overly vague market that
included all “women’s accessories” even though dif-
ferent categories of accessories (e.g., handbags and
jewelry) are not interchangeable for the same use.
615 F.3d at 418; Pet. App. 9a-10a; see also Pet. App.
22a-25a.

Following Leegin’s reasoning that abuse of RPM
may not be a concern unless the entity has market
power, the Fifth Circuit further determined that
Petitioner was required to plead market power. 615
F.3d at 418; Pet. App. 10a. Unless a defendant had
market power, interbrand competition would prevent
it from sustaining artificially high prices above the
competitive level. 615 F.3d at 419; Pet. App. lla.
Consumers would simply switch to competing prod-
ucts in response to an anti-competitive price increase.
Petitioner failed to provide any non-conclusory alle-
gation that Respondent exercised such market power,
or that Respondent’s RPM program actually harmed
interbrand competition. 615 F.3d at 419; Pet. App.
1 la-12a.

Petitioner’s allegations of anticompetitive harm,
the Fifth Circuit determined, were likewise irade-
quate. Petitioner’s allegation of higher prices for
Bnghton products did not by itself plausibly plead
any anticompetitive effect, because interbrand com-
petition would still prevent Respondent from keeping
its prices artificially high vis-a-vis its competitors.
615 F.3d at 419; Pet. App. lla. Nor did Petitioner
allege any of the scenarios identified in Leegin
whereby RPM could be used for anticompetitive ends.
Cf. Leegin, 551 U.S. at 892-94. In particular, the
Fifth Circuit determined that Petitioner failed to

8

allege that a retailer cartel or a dominant retailer
was the source of Respondent’s RPM program. 615

F.3d at 419; Pet. App. 12a.

b. Turning to Petitioner’s horizontal allegations,
the Fifth Circuit determined at the threshold that
they were never raised before the appeal to this
Court and were therefore barred by the mandate
rule. 615 F.3d at 420 & n.6; Pet. App. I38a. In the
alternative, the Fifth Circuit also ruled that Peti-
tioner failed to sufficiently allege an_ horizontal
agreement under the Twombly standard. First, as
noted above, Petitioner failed to allege facts showing
that “retailers were the source of the price restraint”
or that “retailers agreed to RPM among themselves.”
615 F.3d at 420; Pet. App. 18a. Second, the mere
fact that Respondent operated some of its own retail
stores did not transmute its otherwise vertical RPM
arrangements with retailers into per se unlawful
horizontal agreements. 615 F.3d at 420-21; Pet. App.
14a-15a.

Petitioner did not request rehearing from the Fifth
Circuit, either by the panel or en banc.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT REGARDING
THE POTENTIAL FOR A MARKET
DEFINED BY A SINGLE BRAND

Petitioner pled a relevant market defined solely by
the “Bnghton” brand, which the Fifth Circuit re-
jected. Petitioner claims that decision conflicts with
other circuit court decisions as well as the decisions
of this Court. Pet. 6-10. In fact, there is no conflict.

First, none of the circuit decisions cited by Peti-
tioner approved a product market defined by a single

9

brand. Most of them in fact affirmatively rejected
single-brand markets, just as the Fifth Circuit did,
for the common-sense reason that almost every
branded product is interchangeable with competing
products from other brands and therefore belong in
the same market with them. See Edward J. Sweeney
& Sons, Inc. v. Texaco, Inc., 637 F.2d 105, 117 (3d
Cir. 1980) (“The evidence mandates the conclusion
that the [relevant market] .. . includes all brands of
gasoline . . . .”); Tarrant Serv. Agency, Inc. v.
American Standard, Inc., 12 F.3d 609, 614 (6th Cir.
1993) (“This case does not represent one of those
circumstances where a single product constitutes a
relevant market.”); Queen City Pizza, Inc. v. Domino’s
Pizza, Inc., 124 F.3d 430, 437-41 (3d Cir. 1997)
(rejecting market of Domino’s-approved ingredients
for excluding other brands of pizza _ ingredients);
Flegel v. Christian Hosp., Northeast-Northwest, 4
F.3d 682, 690 (8th Cir. 1993) (similar); Kentucky
Speedway v. NASCAR, 588 F.3d 908, 917-18 (6th Cir.
2009) (similar).

In other cases cited by Petitioner, the court
accepted a functional product market that happened
to be dominated by two merging companies, not
markets defined by a single brand or trademark. In
FTC v. Whole Foods Market, Inc., 548 F.3d 1028,
1032, 1037-41 (D.C. Cir. 2008), for example, the court
found the relevant market for merger analysis to
be “premium, natural, and organic supermarkets,”
including Whole Foods, Wild Oats, and other com-
petitors. The court did not in any way find a market
that consisted of “Whole Foods brand super-
markets”—the analogue to the market of Brighton
products that Petitioner aileged. See also FTC v.
Staples, Inc., 970 F. Supp. 1066, 1080 (D.D.C. 1997)
(market of “sale of consumable office supplies through

10

office supply superstores” included Staples, Office
Depot, and others). In the remaining circuit case
Petitioner cites, the court did not even reach the
question of whether a single brand market was
possible. See In re Brand Name Prescription Drugs
Antitrust Litig., 186 F.3d 781, 784 (7th Cir. 1999)
(market definition not relevant because “only per se
violations are charged in this case”).

Second, there is no conflict either between the Fifth
Circuit and this Court’s precedents. It is long settled
that a viable product market must include all “com-
modities reasonably interchangeable by consumers
for the same purpose.” du Pont, 351 U.S. at 395; see
also Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294,
325 (1962). Petitioner relies heavily on Kastman
Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Servs., Inc., 504 U.S.
451, 482 (1992), but that case involved after-market
repair parts and services for consumers who bought
Kodak-brand copiers and physically could not use
parts from other copier brands for their Kodak
copiers. See id. at 457 (observing that “Kodak parts
are not compatible with other manufacturers’ equip-
ment, and vice versa.”). A single-brand market
remains untenable as a matter of law under Kodak if
it excludes products interchangeable for the same
use, Queen City Pizza, 124 F.3d at 439-40, which is
precisely the situation here.

Petitioner fares no better with its reliance on Nat?
Collegiate Athletic Ass'n v. Board of Regents of Univ.
of Okla., 468 U.S. 85 (1984). That case did not
approve a market defined by a brand or a trademark;
rather, consistent with du Pent, it defined a market
based on a functional product (“intercollegiate foot-
ball telecasts”) that facts showed to be not inter-
changeable with others. /d. at 111-12; see also Intl

1]

Boxing Club of New York, Inc. v. United States, 358
U.S. 242, 250 (1959) (market of championship boxing

contests).

Third, the Fifth Circuit acknowledged expressly
that “in rare circumstances[] a single brand of a
product” could constitute a relevant market, but con-
cluded that Petitioner had not plausibly alleged such
a market. 615 F.3d at 418; Pet. App. 9a. Thus, the
Fifth Circuit did not reject the notion that a single-
brand market is sometimes possible. The Petitioner
may disagree with the Fifth Circuit’s application of
the law to the allegations here, but that does justify
review by this Court. See Sup. Ct. R. 10 (“certiorari
is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of

. the misapplication of a properly stated rule of
law.”).

In any event, it is indisputable that the fashion
accessories industry is among the most competitive
imaginable, with countless styles and brands from
which consumers can choose. Brighton handbags,
belts, and sunglasses are plainly “interchangeable by
consumers for the same purpose” with the handbags,
belts, and sunglasses made by competing manu-
facturers. Cf. du Pont, 351 U.S. at 395. Petitioner's
bare allegations that Brighton’s products are “distinc-
tive” and “unique” are insufficient, under settled case
law, to plead a single-brand market. See Iqbal, 129
S. Ct. at 1949 (“naked assertions’ devoid of ‘further
factual enhancement” do not state a claim) (citation
omitted); Tanaka v. Univ. of S. Cal., 252 F.3d 1059,
1063 (9th Cir. 2001) (“[Clonclusory assertion that
[product] is ‘unique’ and hence ‘not interchangeable
with any other program .. .’ is insufficient.”); Jacobs
v. Tempur-Pedic Int'l, Inc., 626 F.3d 1327, 1338 (11th
Cir. 2010) (proposed market implausible where com-

12
plaint merely alleges that product is “distinct” and
has “unique attributes”).

The same assertions of product distinctiveness
could, after all, be made of many brands from Burger
King to Ann Taylor to Mercedes. If that were
enough, as one of Petitioner’s own authorities
observed, then “every manufacturer of a trademarked
product has monopoly power over that product. No
legal precept stands for this proposition.” Edward J.
Sweeney & Sons, 637 F.2d at 118 (citing du Pont, 351
U.S. at 393); see also Illinois Tool Works Inc. v.
Independent Ink, Inc., 547 U.S. 28, 43 (2005) (mono-
poly power cannot be presumed even for patented
products). Treating every brand as a monopoly would
impose the specter of treble damages on any business
that attempts to differentiate its products through
trademarks and brand-building. “Sellers may strive
to differentiate their products from others in order to
compete for the custom of patrons with slightly
different needs or tastes. It would be perverse to turn
this ordinary attribute of the competitive struggle
into a source of illegality.” Will v. Comprehensive
Acct. Corp., 776 F.2d 665, 673 n.4 (7th Cir. 1985).

ll. THE ISSUES REGARDING WHOLESALE
MARKETS DO NOT WARRANT REVIEW

A. The Wholesale Market Issues Are Not
Clearly Presented

This case 1s an inappropriate vehicle for review of
Petitioner’s arguments regarding defining the market
at the wholesale level. Because Petitioner does not
seek to challenge all the grounds the Fifth Circuit
relied on for its decision, the judgment would stand
regardless of Petitioner's arguments. The Fifth
Circuit rejected the alleged market of “wholesale sale

13

of brand-name women’s accessories to independent
retailers” not only because it was improper to allege
a wholesale market to challenge a retail pricing
restraint, but also on three additional, independently
sufficient grounds. As the Fifth Circuit held, Peti-
tioner failed to make any non-conclusory factual
allegations to establish that the market should (1) be
limited to “brand-name” products, (2) include only
“independent retailers,” and (3) encompass all kinds
of “women’s accessories” that are not interchangeable
with each other for the same use, like picture frames
and jewelry and handbags. 615 F.3d at 418; Pet.
App. 9a-10a; see also Pet. App. 22a-25a.

To reach Petitioner’s challenge, the Court would
first need to consider each of these independently
sufficient grounds for rejecting Petitioner’s proposed
market. Petitioner mentions the brand-name issue
only in passing in a footnote. Pet. 14 n.2. With
respect to independent retailers, Petitioner argues
only that the Fifth Circuit did not consider its
assertion that Respondent prefers to sell through
independent retailers.’ Pet. 14. That fails to ade-
quately allege that independent retailers are a
market onto themselves, and is in any event the kind
of case-specific determination that is inappropriate
for review by this Court. Most importantly, Peti-
tioner does not challenge at all the Fifth Circuit’s
conclusion that the category of “women’s accessories’
is too broad and vague a definition to constitute a
market.” 615 F.3d at 418; Pet. App. 10a. That
affirmed the district court’s determination that the

'To the extent Petition claims that the Fifth Circuit neg-
lected to consider any allegation, Petitioner should have peti
tioned for rehearing. Cf. Fed. R. App. P. 35, 40. Petitioner did

not do so

14

market definition failed “because it groups together
products that are not interchangeable with each
other” such as picture frames and handbags (Pet.
App. 24a), and is alone sufficient to dispose of these
allegations of a proposed wholesale market.”

B. The Supposed Conflict Regarding
Wholesale Markets Is Illusory

Review is not warranted for the further reason that
Petitioner’s supposed circuit split simply does not
exist. Petitioner’s proposed wholesale market is in-
appropriate because the restraint at issue here is
resale price maintenance, i.e., Respondent’s supposed
agreements regarding retail prices. The alleged RPM
program is not alleged to have affected wholesale
prices. Of the cases cited by Petitioner for the sup-
posed “conflict,” only two approved wholesale mar-
kets, and neither involved restraints that operated
only at the retail level. JBL Enters., Inc. v. Jhirmack
Enters., Inc., 698 F.2d 1011 (9th Cir. 1983) (restraints
on wholesale of cosmetic products to retail outlets);
Telecor Comm’ns, Inc. v. Southwestern Bell Tel. Co.,
305 F.3d 1124 (10th Cir. 2002) (restraint on dealings
between service provider and retailer).

The other cases cited by Petitioner in fact rejected
the proposed wholesale markeis at issue. City of
Cleveland v. Cleveland Elec. Illuminating Co., 734
F.2d 1157, 1166 (6th Cir. 1984) (“[T]he only relevant
product market in this case is the retail electrical
power market.”); FTC v. H.J. Heinz Co., 246 F.3d

“ Indeed, Petitioner did not address the “independent retailer”
and “women’s accessories” issues even 1n its Fifth Circuit brief-
ing, in spite of the fact that the district court had expressly
based its rejection of Petitioner’s wholesale market on those

factors, Pet. App. 22a-25a

15

708, 719 n.17 (D.C. Cir. 2001) (“the wholesale market
cannot be separated out for analysis”); Ad-Vantage
Tel. Directory Consultants, Inc. v. GTE Directories
Corp., 849 F.2d 1336, 1345 (11th Cir. 1987) (similar).
Petitioner’s remaining authorities did not even pre-
sent any analysis of market definition. Paschall
v. Kansas City Star Co., 727 F.2d 692, 696 (8th
Cir. 1984) (no detailed market definition analysis);
Schuylkill Energy Res., Inc. v. Pa. Power & Light, 113
F.3d 405 (3d Cir. 1997) (dismissal on antitrust injury
grounds with no analysis of market definition).

Petitioner now argues about whether retailers
could switch to other wholesale suppliers if a “whole-
sale monopolist” raised its prices (Pet. 15), but there
is no allegation here that Respondent’s RPM program
affected wholesale prices. Petitioner cites no author-
ity from any circuit for the proposition that a
restraint on retail prices should be analyzed at the
wholesale level.

lil. THE ISSUES REGARDING MARKET
POWER DO NOT WARRANT REVIEW

A. Petitioner Has Waived Its Argument
Against the Market Power Require-
ment

Petitioner now argues that “direct” demonstration
of anticompetitive effects obviates any need to show
power in a relevant market (Pet. 19), but this argu-
ment was not properly raised below and has therefore
been waived. In the district court and in its opening
brief in the Fifth Circuit, Petitioner argued only that
pleading “the existence of the agreement and the
scope of its operation,” without more, sufficed to state
a rule of reason violation. E.g., 615 F.3d at 417; Pet.
App. 7a (noting Petitioner's argument). It was not

16

until its reply brief in the Fifth Circuit that Peti-
tioner urged, for the first time, a “quick look” rule of
reason standard, under which a direct demonstration
of anticompetitive effects sufficed to establish a
restraint’s unreasonableness without detailed analy-
sis of market definition and market power. See Reply
Brief of Appellant at 11, PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin Crea

tive Leather Products, Inc., 615 F.3d 412 (5th Cir

2010) (No. 09-40506), 2009 WL 6479733.

That was not enough to preserve the argument,
because it was improper to raise an argument not
made in the district court or to raise it for the first
time on reply. Cf. Ntakirutimana v. Reno, 184 F.3d
419, 429 n.19 (5th Cir. 1999) (arguments not raised
in the district court deemed waived); Jones v. Cain,
600 F.3d 527, 541 (5th Cir. 2010) (“Arguments raised
for the first time in a reply brief are generally
waived.”); see also Appellee’s Answering Brief at 20
21, PSKS, Inc. v. Leegin Creative Leather Products
Inc., 615 F.3d 412 (5th Cir. 2010) (No. 09-40506),
2009 WL 6479732 (arguing waiver).”

B. There Is No Conflict Regarding the
Fifth Circuit’s Market Power Require-
ment

Petitioner’s challenge to the market power require
ment does not warrant review for the further reason
that the conflicts asserted by Petitioner do not
exist. There is no conflict between the Fifth Circuit's
decision and FTC v. Indiana Fed’n of Dentists, 476
U.S. 447 (1986). Nor is there a circuit split over

‘An amicus curiae tried to advance the “quick look” argu
ment in the Fifth Circuit, but amicus could not preserve an
argument waived by the party it supports. Texas Democratv

Party v. Benkiser, 459 F.3d 582, 595 (5th Cir. 2006)

17
whether Indiana Federation applies to vertical re-
straints generally, let alone to RPM specifically.

First, the Fifth Circuit’s decision is perfectly consis-
tent with Indiana Federation, which held in the
context of a horizontal restraint that detailed analy-
sis of market definition and market power may be
obviated by proof of “actual detrimental effects, such
as a reduction of output,” 476 U.S. at 460-61. Here,
the Fifth Circuit did analyze at length Petitioner's
allegations of anticompetitive effects, and rejected
them because they were not adequately pled. 615
F.3d at 419-21; Pet. App. lla-1l2a Thus, even
assuming that Jndiana Federation applies to vertical
restraints, there is no conflict because Petitione:
simply failed to plausibly allege anticompetitive
harm Petitioner's disagreement with the Fifth
Circuit's fact-bound analysis of its allegations doe
not warrant review by this Court

Just as importantly, the Fifth Circuit’s analysis
was sound Petitioner alleged higher prices for
Brnghton products and reduced price competition
among Brighton dealers. SAC J 27; Pet. App. 41la
The Fifth Circuit found that inadequate to plead
anticompetitive harm (615 F.3d at 419; Pet. App. lla
for the same reason that Leegin rejected Respon-
dent’s reliance on alleged increases in intrabrand
prices: “[Petitioner] is mistaken in relying on the
pricing effects absent a further showing of anticom-
petitive conduct.” Leegin, 551 U.S. at 895. Leegin
explained that the entire point of RPM is to reduce
price competition among a brand's retailers to en-
courage retailers to invest in “fine showrooms,”*

‘ Petitioner lost its Status a featured “Heart Store” for

the Brighton brand because its showroom was “unattractive
Leegin, 551 U.S. at 884

18

“a reputation for selling high-quality merchandise,”
and other forms of non-price competition. /d. at 891.
Thus, higher intrabrand prices caused by RPM are no
more suspicious than higher prices caused by “better
inputs that improve product quality” or by the use of
“an advertising agency to promote awareness” of the
product. Jd. at 896. Certainly, Petitioner has not
cited any case from any circuit suggesting that a
vertical restraint violates the rule of reason merely
because it led to higher prices for the defendant’s own
products.

3ecause “the antitrust laws are designed primarily
to protect interbrand competition,” Leegin, 551 U.S
at 895, Petitioner would need to plausibly allege that
Brighton’s RPM policies led to reduced interbrand
competition and higher interbrand prices to plead a
direct anticompetitive effect. But as the Fifth Circuit
correctly held, “nothing in [the] complaint plausibly
alleges harm to interbrand competition.” 615 F.3d at
419; Pet. App. 12a. Petitioner made only a throw
away, conclusory allegation regarding interbrand
competition among manufacturers, alleging that
women’s accessonmes “can be characterized by the
wide-spread adoption of practices that have the effect
of limiting price competition among competing brands.”
SAC J 32; Pet. App. 43a. Petitioner identified neither
what those practices were, nor which manufacturers
adopted them, nor how they limited interbrand price
competition—much less how Respondent’s RPM poli-
cies had anything to do with those unidentified
practices. See Twombly, 550 U.S. at 555 (“labels
and conclusions” not sufficient to state an antitrust
violation).

Second, no intercircuit conflict exists regarding the
application of Indiana Federation to vertical re-

19

straints, because even the cases Petitioner cites (Pet.
20) required a showing of market power, just as the
Fifth Circuit did. See K.M.B. Warehouse Distribu-
tors, Inc. v. Walker Mfg. Co., 61 F.3d 123, 129 (2d Cir.
1995) (plaintiff must “establish that the defendants
possess the requisite market power and thus the
capacity to inhibit competition market-wide”) (cita-
tion omitted); Ryko Mfg. Co. v. Eden Servs., 823 F.2d
1215, 1231 (8th Cir. 1987) (plaintiff must “prove the
defendant’s substantial market power in a relevant
market”) (citation omitted). The third case Petitioner
cites, Oltz v. St. Peter’s Cmty. Hosp., 861 F.2d 1440
(9th Cir. 1988), did not even involve a vertical re-
straint; it concerned a horizontal boycott.”

Third, the Fifth Circuit was correct to require a
showing of market power in the context of this case.
The Court recognized long ago that interbrand com-
petition “provides a significant check” on a manu-
facturer’s ability to use vertical restraints in an anti-
competitive manner. Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE
Sylvania Inc., 433 U.S. 36, 52 n.19 (1977). Consum-
ers dissatisfied with a defendant’s offering have “the
ability ... to substitute a different brand of the same
product,” ibid., for example by buying one of the
countless other brands of belts available rather than
a Brighton belt. Thus, even Petitioner’s own author-
ity recognized that market power is an “essential”
requirement in a vertical case, because “[f]irms lack-
ing market power... cannot adopt restraints that
have anticompetitive effects ... .” Ryko Mfg., 823
F.2d at 1231. Indeed, Leegin equated the rule of
reason with “an inquiry into market power and

’ In any event, in Oltz the Ninth Circuit found that the defen-
dants did have power in the relevant market. 861 F.2d at 1446
47 (defendants had “overwhelming majority of the market”)

20
market structure designed to assess [a restraint’s]
actual effect,” 551 U.S. at 885-86, reasoning that
anticompetitive use of RPM “may not be a serious

concern unless the relevant entity has market pow-
er,” id. at 898.

C. There Is No Conflict Regarding
“Direct” Proof of Market Power

Petitioner also asserts an inter-circuit conflict as to
whether conclusory allegations of “product dif-
ferentiation, demand inelasticity for its brand, and
low cross-elasticity for other brands” suffice to plead
market power. Pet. 15-18. However, not a single one
of the authorities cited by Petitioner found market
power sufficiently pled by a sheer allegation of
“product differentiation” or “demand inelasticity.” To
state an allegation of “inelasticity” is nothing more
than reciting the conclusion of the du Pont inter-
changeability test. Cf. du Pont, 351 U.S. at 395.
Petitioner’s assertions are nothing more than “labels
and conclusions” that do not suffice to plead a
plausible antitrust violation. Twombly, 550 U.S. at
555; see also Tanaka, 252 F.3d at 1063; Jacobs, 626
F.3d at 1338.

Petitioner's argument is just a repackaging of its
single-brand market theory, u.e., that other brands of
handbags, belts, picture frames, and jewelry are not
interchangeable with Brighton products. See supra
at 11. The mere fact that Brighton products are
“differentiated” in appearance and _ styling is not
enough to plead market power. Every trademarked
product is differentiated from other trademarked
products. That is the entire point of branding. If
Petitioner has its way, then every producer of a
trademarked good would be considered a monopolist.

21

But as the Court recognized long ago, the power that
“automobile or soft-drink manufacturers have over
their trademarked products is not the power that
makes an illegal monopoly. Illegal power must be
appraised in terms of the competitive market for the
product.” du Pont, 351 U.S. at 393. Petitioner did
not plead sufficient facts to show Respondent’s power
over any interbrand market, and the Fifth Circuit
was right to find a failure to plead market power.

Petitioner also appears to argue that a defendant’s
‘control over prices” suffices to plead market power.
Pet. 17. There is no circuit split on whether such
allegations suffice to plead market power in the con-
text of a vertical restraint. The Court has expressly
“rejected the approach of reliance on rules governing
horizontal restraints when defining rules applicable
to vertical ones.” Leegin, 551 U.S. at 888. None of
the supposedly conflicting authorities cited by Peti-
tioner addressed vertical restraints. Petitioner's
cases instead addressed horizontal restraints or unila-
teral conduct. See Dimmit Agri Indus., Inc. v. CPC
Intl, Inc., 679 F.2d 516 (1982) (monopolization claim
based on unilateral price-setting aimed at horizontal
competitors); Re/Max Int'l, Inc. v. Realty One, Inc.,
173 F.3d 995 (6th Cir. 1999) (horizontal boycott and
monopolization); Jn re Brand Name _ Prescription
Drugs, 186 F.3d at 783-784 (horizontal price-fixing);
Toys “R” Us, Inc. v. FTC, 221 F.3d 928, 936 (7th Cir.
2000) (facially vertical restraint deemed horizontal
group boycott); Todd v. Exxon Corp., 275 F.3d 191
(2d Cir. 2001) (horizontal information exchange and
price coordination). Three other cited cases assessed
market power by analyzing barriers to entry, a factor
not alleged here. United States v. Baker Hughes, Inc.,
908 F.2d 981, 984-989 (D.C. Cir. 1990) (no market

power due to low barriers to entry); Ball Memorial

22
Hosp., Inc. v. Mutual Hosp. Ins., Inc., 784 ¥.2d 1325,
1334-36 (7th Cir. 1986) (similar); Allen-Myland, Inc.
v. Intl Bus. Machs. Corp., 33 F.3d 194, 209-11 (3d.
Cir. 1994) (analyzing entry barriers and technological
progress).

The fundamental differences between the antitrust
analysis of horizontal and vertical cannot be ignored.
As noted above, Leegin emphasized that anticompeti-
tive use of RPM may not be a serious concern unless
the defendant has market power. 551 U.S. at 898.
Control over prices of a defendant’s own products, of
course, is the very essence of RPM, because such
control can invigorate interbrand competition. Id. at
890-892. Vertical restraints are perfectly consistent
with vigorous interbrand competition; that 1s why
they are judged under the rule of reason. GTE
Sylvania, 433 U.S. at 52 n.19 (“The degree of intra-
brand competition is wholly independent of the level
of interbrand competition confronting the manufac-
turer.”). ‘he Court’s vertical restraint jurisprudence
thus forecloses Petitioner’s argument that vertical
restrictions over intrabrand prices constitutes in-
dependent evidence of market power. °

D. The Market Power Issues Are Not
Ripe For Review

Even if there are questions regarding how the
market power requirement applies to RPM cases,
review at this juncture is premature given the
paucity of cases applying Leegin to RPM practices.

® Petitioner also claims that the Fifth Circuit “conflicts” with
several scholarly articles that purportedly suggest alternatives
to market definition analysis in evaluating a defendant's market
power. Pet. 18. “Conflict” with an academic publication does
not satisfy the Court’s established standards for exercise of its
certiorari jurisdiction. Cf. Sup. Ct. R. 10

23

Allowing more time for RPM jurisprudence to per-
colate in the lower courts would produce a more
fulsome body of cases and analyses for the Court to
draw on if the need arises to clarify the law. As
Petitioner’s own authorities demonstrate, the lower
courts, applying the same market power requirement
to vertical non-price restraints, have produced a con-
siderable body of decisions informed by more supple
records than Petitioner’s bare-bones complaint. See,
e.g., Ryko Mfg., 823 F.2d 1215; K.M.B. Warehouse,
61 F.3d 123. Time should be allowed for similar
jurisprudential development before the Court sets out
more detailed standards for RPM.

IV. PETITIONER’S NEW HORIZONTAL
CLAIMS DO NOT WARRANT REVIEW

The Fifth Circuit provided two independent grounds
for dismissing Petitioner’s new allegations of horizon-
tal conduct. First, the Fifth Circuit held that these
claims, never raised in prior proceedings before
Leegin, were barred by the mandate rule and deemed
waived. Second, the Fifth Circuit held that the
claims failed of their own accord because Respon-
dent’s dual distribution arrangement did not convert
its RPM program from a vertical to a horizontal
restraint, and because Petitioner failed to satisfy the
Twombly standard for pleading horizontal agree-
ment. 615 F.3d at 420-21; Pet. App. 13a-15a.

Petitioner claims the Fifth Circuit’s decision con-
flicts with its sister circuits on each issue. That is
incorrect. Regardless, the Fifth Circuit’s fact-bound
analysis of these issues do not raise any significant
questions that warrant review. Moreover, this case
is a poor vehicle for reviewing any of these issues
because, to affect the outcome, the Court would need

24
to grant review on both the waiver issue and the
merits of Petitioner’s horizontal theories.

A. There Is No Inter-Circuit Conflict
Regarding the Mandate Rule

Petitioner never asserted an horizontal agreement
until its briefing before this Court in Leegin. The
Court expressly declined to consider that claim be-
cause it had not been raised below. 551 U.S. at 907-
08. On remand, the district court and the Fifth
Circuit found the issue waived under the mandate
rule, which “precludes litigation of waived issues on
remand because they were never raised in the district
court” before appeal. 615 F.3d at 420; Pet. App. 13a;
Pet. App. 26a-27a.

Petitioner has cited no authority, much less dem-
onstrated any intercircuit conflict, to support its
proposition that a civil plaintiff may assert upon
remand new claims it could have presented, but did
not previously present, in the district court. Peti-
tioner relies on a series of criminal sentencing
decisions: United States v. Quintieri, 306 F.3d 1217
(2d Cir. 1995); United States v. Atehortva, 69 F.3d
679 (2d Cir. 2002); United States v. Ticchiarelli, 171
F.3d 24 (1st Cir. 1999); and United States v. Whren,
111 F.3d 956 (D.C. Cir. 1997). These cases suggest
that a criminal defendant may sometimes raise new
arguments in re-sentencing proceedings upon remand
if there was no incentive to raise them prior to the
appeal. But these cases involve concerns unique to
criminal re-sentencing proceedings. Cf, e.g., INS uv.
Lopez-Mendoza, 468 U.S. 1032, 1038 (1984) (“various
protections that apply in the context of a criminal
trial do not apply in a (civil proceeding]”); 18B
Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice &
Procedure § 4478.3 (2d ed. 2002) (“Criminal sentenc-

29

ing appeals have . . . a specialized set of mandate
issues.”). They present an analytically distinct issue
from whether a new civil claim can be raised for the
first time after appeal.

Indeed, in civil antitrust cases, the lower courts
have consistently barred new claims and theories
on remand from this Court. In the seminal GTE
Sylvania case, after the Court held that vertical non-
price restraints were subject to the rule of reason, the
plaintiff attempted to replead its claim as horizontal
in the hope of resurrecting the per se standard this
Court rejected. The Ninth Circuit barred the new
horizontal claims as waived. Continental T.V., Inc. v.
1TE Sylvania Inc., 694 F.2d 1132, 1136 n.6 (9th Cir.
1982). Likewise, when the plaintiff tried something
similar after reversal by this Court in Omni Outdoor
Advertising, the Fourth Circuit held that the plaintiff
“cannot turn back the clock and resuscitate the
monopolization . . . theories that it earlier chose not
to pursue.”, Omni Outdoor Adver., Inc. v. Columbia
Outdoor Adver., Inc., 974 F.2d 502, 505-06 (4th Cir.
1992). Notably, the Ninth and Fourth Circuits gener-
ally permit new arguments on remand in resentenc-
ing proceedings, which further demonstrates that
Petitioner’s sentencing cases are distinguishable and
irrelevant for the issue here. United States v. Ponce,
51 F.3d 820, 826 (9th Cir. 1995) (permitting resen-
tencing de novo); United States v. Broughton-Jones,
71 F.3d 1143, 1149 n.4 (1995) (similar).

The civil cases Petitioner does cite are notably off
point, because they addressed either issues that were
preserved or could not have been advanced in a
prior proceeding. Crocker v. Piedmont Aviation, Inc.,
49 F.3d 735 (D.C. Cir. 1995), considered whether a
defendant could raise on appeal an issue that it

26

preserved in the district court but did not raise in
a prior appeal. ZId. at 738-41. In Loudermill v.
Cleveland Bd. of Educ., 844 F.2d 304 (6th Cir. 1988),
the issue was whether a defendant could raise a
defense that it could not have presented in a prior
proceeding. Jd. at 309-10.’ Likewise, Curtis Publ’g
Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130 (1967), declined to find
waiver where the defense at issue had not been
available during the pendency of trial court proceed-
ings. Id. at 142-44. The other authorities cited
alongside Butts apply similar standards and are
inapposite for the same reason. See Pet. 25 n.8.

Petitioner does not, and cannot, contend that it had
been previously unable to allege per se illegal hori-
zontal agreements before the Leegin decision. The’
per se standard for horizontal agreements has been
the law since at least United States v. Socony-
Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150, 216-17 (1940). The
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure expressly allow
pleading of alternative and even inconsistent theories
in order to facilitate “a full presentation of all rele-
vant facts and legal theories at trial and the final
settlement of disputes on their merits.” 5 Charles
Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice and
Procedure § 1282 (3d ed. 2004); Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(d)(3).
Petitioner chose not to do so, and must live with the
consequences. Cf. Leegin, 551 U.S. at 907-08. Other-
wise plaintiffs would be able to assert and try alter-
native claims seriatim. “Trying cases one claim at a
time is both unfair to the opposing party and ineffi-

’ The block quote from Loudermill Petitioner featured (Pet.
27) actually addressed the applicability of collateral estoppel
and res judicata, which is irrelevant here. Loudermull, 844 F.2d
at 309.

27

cient for the judicial system.” Omni Outdoor Adver.,
974 F.2d at 505-06.

In any case, as noted above, granting review on the
waiver issue would not affect the outcome of the case
unless the Court also reviewed the sufficiency of Peti-
tioner’s horizontal allegations. As discussed below,
review is not warranted on that question either.

B. The Dismissal of Petitioner’s Horizon-
tal Theories Does Not Warrant Review

1. Petitioner’s Reliance on Dual Distri-
bution

Petitioner alleges that Respondent’s RPM program
constitutes a per se unlawful horizontal agreement,
because Respondent is a “dual distribution” manufac-
turer that maintains some of its own retail stores.
But there is no more of an intercircuit conflict
regarding dual distribution than there is for any
other issue Petitioner raises.

As the Fifth Circuit pointed out, its sister circuits
have uniformly applied the rule of reason to vertical
restraints implemented by a dual distribution manu-
facturer. 615 F.3d at 421 n.8; Pet. App. 15a. Peti-
tioner fails to cite a single case that applied the per se
rule merely because the defendant practiced dual
distribution. Each and every case that Petitioner
claims to conflict with the Fifth Circuit actually
treated the challenged restraint as vertical and
judged it under the rule of reason, just as the Fifth
Circuit did. See Krehl v. Baskin-Robbins Ice Cream
Co., 664 F.2d 1348, 1357 (9th Cir. 1982) (“dual distri-
bution systems must be evaluated under the tradi-
tional rule of reason standard”); Ryko Mfg., 823 F.2d
at 1231 (holding that “the rule of reason applies” in

28

dual distribution context); Donald B. Rice Tire Co. v.
Michelin Tire Corp., 638 F.2d 15, 16 (4th Cir. 1981)
(similar); Hampton Audio Elecs., Inc. v. Contel Cellu-
lar, Inc., 1992 WL 131169, at *3 (4th Cir. Aug. 6,
1992) (similar); Midwestern Waffles, Inc. v. Waffle
House, Inc., 734 F.2d 705, 711 (11th Cir. 1984) (simi-
lar). Ryko, Hampton, and Waffle House even expressly
followed Fifth Circuit precedents. Ryko, 822 F.3d at
1231 (citing Red Diamond Supply, Inc. v. Liquid
Carbonic Corp., 637 F.2d 1001 (5th Cir. 1981));
Hampton, 1992 WL 131169, at *3; Waffle House, 734
F.3d at 711.

In an effort to manufacture a conflict out of thin
air, Petitioner claims that the Fifth Circuit “categori-
cally” declared all dual distribution arrangements to
be subject to the rule of reason. Pet. 29. Not so. In
the Fifth Circuit, “[clonspiracies between a manu-
facturer and its distributors are only treated as
horizontal ... when the source of the conspiracy is a
combination of the distributors.” Red Diamond, 637
F.2d at 1004 (citations and quotation marks omitted).
But if the restraint is imposed by the manufacturer,
it is vertical and the rule of reason applies, just like
in the other circuits. 7bid. Here, Petitioner “failed to
allege that retailers were the source of the price
restraint,” and the rule of reason therefore governed.
615 F.3d at 420; Pet. App. 13a. Tellingly, none of the
decisions cited by Petitioner acknowledges any
supposed conflict, because there is no conflict.*

* None of the other decisions cited by Petitioner adopted
a supposed ironclad, categorical rule either. Pet. 29 (citing
authorities from the Second, Third, Sixth, Seventh, and Tenth
Circuits). Those decisions recognized that the rule of reason
generally applies to restraints imposed in the context of dual
distribution, and applied in the specific circumstances of their

29

The lower courts have uniformly applied the rule of
reason for good reasons. A dual distribution manufac-
turer has the same incentive as any other manufac-
turer to minimize retailer profit margins, since lower
distribution costs reduce consumer prices and tend to
lead to increased sales. Cf. Leegin, 551 U.S. at 779.
Petitioner theorizes that dual distribution diminishes
that incentive, but if a dual distribution manufac-
turer truly wanted to increase its own margins
without regard for services or marketing by distribu-
tors, it could simply raise its wholesale prices. 615
F.3d at 421; Pet. App. 14a-15a. And if a dual distri-
bution manufacturer truly wanted to insulate its own
stores from intrabrand competition, it could raise its
wholesale prices to third-party distributors or stop
selling to them altogether. When a dual distribution
manufacturer uses RPM, it is likely doing so to en-
courage retailer investments which it hopes will lead
to greater consumer demand for its products. See
Leegin, 551 U.S. at 897. The rule of reason, not per se
illegality, is the correct standard.

2. Petitioner’s Failure to Plead a
Retailer Cartel

Even if the mandate rule did not bar Petitioner’s
new claims, whether the Fifth Circuit correctly
applied Twombly and Iqbal to Petitioner’s horizontal
cartel allegations does not implicate any issue of
special significance. Every day federal courts apply
the pleading standards set forth in those precedents,
and merely claiming that the Fifth Circuit erred
(though Petitioner does not even do that) in applying
them to one complaint does not warrant review.

cases, but none held that a per se rule could not apply if the
source of the restraint is a horizontal cartel.

30

To allege an horizontal agreement, Petitioner had
to plead facts showing “a preceding agreement, not
merely parallel conduct that could just as well be
independent action,” including who made the agree-
ment as well as “when and where” the agreement
took place. Twombly, 550 U.S. at 557, 565 n.10. The
complaint must plead facts establishing “more than a
sheer possibility” of illegality, and is insufficient if it
“pleads facts that are ‘merely consistent with’ the
defendant’s liability.” Jgbal, 129 S. Ct. at 1949
(citation omitted). The Fifth Circuit correctly applied
Twombly and Iqbal in determining that Petitioner
failed to allege sufficient facts to show that “retailers
agreed to RPM among themselves.” 615 F.3d at 420;
Pet. App. 14a.

None of the cases Petitioner cites conflicts with the
Fifth Circuit’s holding, because none addressed what
factual allegations would suffice to plead an horizon-
tal agreement in these circumstances and because
all predate Twombly. See United States v. General
Motors Corp., 384 U.S. 127 (1966) (appeal from
judgment entered after trial); Jnterstate Circuit, Inc.
v. United States, 306 U.S. 208 (1939) (similar); Toys
“R” Us, 221 F.3d at 935 (similar); Hastern States
Retail Lumber Dealers’ Ass’n v. United States, 234
U.S. 600 (1914) (similar). The only case decided on
the pleadings, Catalano, Inc. v. Target Sales, Inc.,
446 U.S. 643 (1980), addressed not whether an agree
ment was adequately alleged, but what the liability
standard was for the restraint at issue. Leegin
likewise did not address the standard for pleading a
horizontal cartel.

Regardless, Petitioner's own complaint plainly
demonstrates its failure to meet those standards.
The SAC alleged that it was Respondent that

3]

“solicitted] agreement” from retailers, “formed” the
RPM program, “fixed suggested retail prices,” “invited”
select retailers to participate, offered “incentives”
such as payment terms, “required” participants to
execute agreements, and “invited” some retailers to
Hawaii in 2003. SAC JJ 9-10; Pet. App. 36a. Thus
according to the SAC itself, it was Respondent, not
a retailer cartel, that initiated the RPM program
and set the prices. Nothing in the SAC “tend(s] to
exclude the possibility” that retailers independently
agreed with Respondent to resale price maintenance,
Twombly, 550 U.S. at 554, rather than agreeing
among themselves to act in concert.

The first and only alleged communication among
retailers took place in 2003, at least five years after
the RPM program began in 1998, and even then ad-
dressed not retail prices but just a birthday promo-
tion for customers. That allegation does not show
any “preceding agreement” among retailers as the
impetus for the RPM program. Twombly, 550 U.S. at
557. Nor does Petitioner allege “which” retailers,
“much less which of their employees,” agreed to the
supposed horizontal restraints. Jd. at 565 n.10.
There is no allegation that the retailers attending the
2003 meeting competed with one another; obviously,
a store selling Brighton products in Florida does
not complete with a store in California. Cf. Leegin,
551 U.S. at 886 (defining horizontal price-fixing as
“horizontal agreements among competitors to fix
prices”) (emphasis added). Petitioner has not even
alleged that the birthday promotion had anything to
do with its termination or any harm it suffered.
What Petitioner has alleged is, at most, a plain
vanilla RPM program established by a manufacturer,
which as Leegin held must be adjudged under the
rule of reason.

32

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

denied.
Respectfully submitted,

ROHIT K. SINGLA JEFFREY 1. WEINBERGER
MUNGER, TOLLES & Counsel of Record

OLSON LLP JEFFREY Y. WU
560 Mission Street MUNGER, TOLLES &
27th Floor OLSON LLP
San Francisco, CA 94105 355 South Grand Avenue
(415) 512-4000 35th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 683-9100

jeffrey.weinberger@mto.com
Counsel for Respondent

January 18, 201]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2753%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
