# Opposition Brief — Apollo Group, Inc. v. Policemen's Annuity & Benefit Fund

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2749%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1270

## Text

oO

No. 10-649

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Ginited States

APOLLO GROUP, INGC., TODD S. NELSON.
AND KENDA B. GONZALES.

Petitioners
POLICEMEN’S ANNUITY AND BENEFIT FUND OF CHICAGO
Respondent

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT

STEPHEN R. BASSER GERALD J. RODO

SAMUEL M. WARD Counsel of Record

BARRACK, RODOS & BACINE LEONARD BARRACK

600 West Broadway JEFFREY A. BARRACK

Suite 900 BARRACK, RODOS & BACINI

San Diego, California 9210 3300 Two Commerce Squar

(619) 230-0800 2001 Market Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

WILLIAM G. FAIRBOURN (215) 963-0601

FRANCIS J. BALINT, JR (vrodos@barrack.com

KATHRYN HONECKER
BONNETT, FAIRBOURN,
FRIEDMAN & BALINT, P.C
2901 North Central Avenus
Suite 1000
Phoenix, Arizona 85012
(602) 274-1100 February 4, 2011

QUESTION PRESENTED
Petitioners attempt to paint this case as involving
broad questions of securities law, but in fact the dis
pute presented is narrow and fact-specific. In its
current posture, the case presents one question:
Whether the record evidence was sufficient for
a properly instructed jury to find that a stock
analyst’s reports issued on September 20, 2004,
immediately before an economically and statis-
tically significant decline in the stock price of
corporate petitioner Apollo Group, Inc., were
corrective disclosures that respondent could

employ as part of its proof of loss causation.

Ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
et yy ae t-te y * | nn ee een l
Woo Pee ae aay 8 |) yy |. Se iN
(ogy 8 tT ty gt.) RUNDE Renee inn Ney Sere UMA BALI Rr ATR |
STATEMENT OF THE CASE... ........0.c0ccecceesccccscccseens 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ......... 12
. APOLLO HAS FAILED TO SHOW
ANY RELEVANT CONFLICT IN THE
2) | ig 5. Re ne eerie en At ee pee em Nee ee 12
A. There Is No Relevant Circuit Conflict
About the Timing of Corrective Dis-
IID accecuiphiince te ccuiptacanued ott tmaun: 12
B. There Is No Circuit Conflict Regard-
ing the Treatment of Analyst Reports....... 18
It. APOLLO HAS FAILED TO SHOW ANY
CONFLICT WITH BASIC OR DURA........... 21

A. Basic Expressly Declined To Adopt
the Timing Rule Apollo Seeks.................. 21

B. Dura Did Not Draw the _ Fact-
Opinion Distinction that Apollo

FE Rae Moles et ete ORR SPR Sh RE leite oO 23

[l. THIS CASE IS AN UNSUITABLE
VEHICLE FOR CONSIDERING THE
QUESTIONS APOLLO SEEKS TO
PE inspec encen eee etieseaen cadaeeeaen 24

A. This Case Is’ Fact-Specific and
Record-Intensive, and Apollo Has
Not Preserved Any Materiality
a gre eers pc vets recneieeerrtueesaaeeen 24

B. The Recent Grant in Erica P. Johr
vt

Fund v. Halliburton Is Irrelevant....... 26
THE DECISION OF THE NINTH
CIRCUIT IS CORRECT 28

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

1\

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Archdiocese of Milwaukee Supporting Fund,
Inc. v. Halliburton Co., 597 F.3d 330 (5th
Cir. 2010), cert. granted sub nom. Erica P.
John Fund, Inc. v. Halliburton Co., 131 S.

Ct. 856 (2011) (No. 09-1403) .......0...... 19, 20, 26, 28
Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing

fare., 472 Ud. 585 (1965) ...............2... rasnieeeiee 28
Basic, Ince. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224

EET... aca anicawsuiiesavukaiaioteneksiwir eee rh, Oey ee

Burlington Coat Factory Sec. Litig., In re,
114 F.3d 1410 (3d Cir. 1997)..........000.000... 14, 17, 26

City of Monroe Employees Ret. Sys. v. Bridge-

j

stone Corp., 399 F.3d 651 (6th Cir. 2005)...........

Dura Pharms., Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S. 336
(2005) acu eke uasuaudapuaskeces one A ie

Erica P. John Fund, Inc. v. Halliburton Co..
cert. granted, 131 S. Ct. 856 (2011) (No. 09
| oe ccc euudunsuessacusuuvaseusansubnustaeeee 26, 27, 28

Gilead Sciences Sec. Litig., In re, 536 F.3d
1049 (9th Cir. 2008), cert. denied, 129 S. Ct.

1993 (2009) ..2. 000s. seantedeweie uaatome aaa
Merck & Co., Inc. Sec. Litig., In re, 482 F.3d
261 (3d Cir. 2005)........ upnaceunawawanes uma See Li, $4,

-+ vu. Martin K. Eby Constr. Co., 386 U.S

J

Neel:
9
od

No. 84 Employer-Teamster Joint Council
Pension Trust Fund v. America West Hold-

ing Corp., 320 F.3d 920 (9th Cir. 20038)......... LG ve
Omnicom Group, Inc. Sec. Litig., In_ re,

aoe Foe GOL Cod Cit. DOIG)... cchecexsctrestoies 15, 16, 20
Oran v. Stafford, 226 F.3d 275 (3d Cir.

11) scpaceunderuenenastessed oeeeemieatin conte 13, 14, 17, 26
Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods., 530 U.S.

Oe (OR, ca ee 3 30
Teachers’ Ret. Sys. of Louisiana v. Hunter,

477 F.3d 162 (4th Cir. 2007) ............ SAND Porn 19, 20
Teamsters Local 445 Freight Div. Pension

Fund v. Bombardier Inc., 546 F.3d 196

eS a. I ss checscaxcs ne bres cence ear ee eee 16
Thompson v. RelationServe Media, Inc., 610

cee Gees C3 TO Aa oo ces ccc ses 15, 20
Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S. 225 (2000)................... 13
STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND RULES
Higher Education Act of 1965, tit. IV, 20 U.S.C.

TEPER OF GOR: x. cedacceerec Dae oe Z

20 U.S.C. § 1094(a)(20)...ecccccccceccecececececeseseseseeeveeee: 2
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of

1995, Pub. L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737....... 23
17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (SEC Rule 10b-5) ............ 10, 26
Fed. R. Civ. P.:

PENNE Be sccnicecavsticn don L5

SRN ici viv etennten subsea ees Seas eaeninaceneee ate aS

VI

OTHER MATERIALS

Brief in Opposition, Erica P. John Fund, Inc.
v. Halliburton Co., No. 09-1403 (U.S. filed
PR ee esc eicnencn cievewecaaras ecto veaundeocep suave: 27

ra

Petition for a Writ of Certiorani, Krica P. John
Fund, Inc. v. Halliburton Co., No. 09-1403
(EFAS. TARE RY BB, IE csicsvcscacendverscncntnssnseeseeys 27

Restatement (Second) of Torts (1977) 23

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners Apollo Group, Inc., its former chief
executive officer Todd Nelson, and its former chief fi
nancial officer Kenda Gonzales (collectively, “Apollo”)
seek review of a jury verdict finding them lable for
securities fraud. After weeks of testimony, including
expert testimony on both sides about the behavior of
Apollo’s tock price, the jury found that Apollo de-
frauded its investors by making misrepresentations
about a highly critical report by the U.S. Department
of Education (“DOE”) that had major implications for
Apollo’s future prospects.

Apollo now seeks to escape that verdict by asking
the Court to rule that too much time passed between
the date that its fraud was revealed and the date
that its stock price fell, thereby precluding its inves-
tors as a matter of law from proving that they were
harmed by its fraud. Any such rule would be in-
applicable here, because the jury, dutifully applying
the instructions Apollo concedes are correct, actually
found a stock price decline that came immediately
after a fraud-revealing disclosure anc continued into
the next day. That finding is not only correct and
consistent with every court of appeals decision on
analogous facts, but also far too fact-specific to war-
rant this Court’s review.

Apollo also seeks a second rule: that information
received by the market cannot reveal a fraud if it
constitutes analysis of, synthesis of, or commentary
on previously disclosed information. That rule, too
cannot apply on the facts necessarily accepted by the
jury: that fraud in this case was revealed by an
investment analyst who found new, fraud-related

re

information about Apollo that alerted investors to

the increased risks arising from the DOE Report and
4 I

the corrective actions demanded by DOE and taken
by Apollo in response to the Report.

Apollo’s arguments in favor of review are unper-
suasive. Cases involving months-long gaps between
the revelation of the fraud and the fall in the inves-
tor’s stock price are simply inapposite, as is any ten-
sion between the circuits over how to approach such
scenarios. The court below rightly perceived this
case as a fact-specific application of well-settled law,
and there is no reason for this Court to review that
judgment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Apollo is the largest for-profit institution of higher
education in the United States. The University of
Phoenix (“‘UOP”) accounts for 95% of Apollo's reve-
nues. UOP in turn derives 60% of its revenues from
federal student loans issued under Title IV of the
Higher Education Act of 1965 (“Title 1V”). To receive
funds from Title IV loans, UOP needed (and had) a
program participation agreement with DOK. That
agreement “condition[ed] ... [UOP’s] eligibility” for
Title [V loans on (among other things) a prohibition
on making “any commission, bonus, or other incen-
tive payment based directly or indirectly on success
in securing enrollments or financial aid to any per
sons or entities engaged in any student recruiting or
admission activities.” 20 U.S.C. § 1094(a)(20). This
case 1s about misrepresentations and omissions from
Apollo to its investors about a DOK report finding
that UOP had violated that prohibition and demand-
ing corrective action to address the violations, as well
as about the consequences for UOP’s future business

from DOE’s finding.

Apollo seeks judgment as a matter of law after

an adverse jury verdict following instructions that

9
oO

in relevant part largely tracked those submitted by
Apollo (and that Apollo admits were “correct{],” Pet.
10). A court “entertaining [such] a motion” must
“review all of the evidence in the record” and must
“draw all reasonable inferences in favor of the non-
moving party.” Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing
Prods., 530 U.S. 133, 151 (2000). It “may not make
credibility determinations or weigh the evidence.”
Id. Respondent sets forth the following summary of
the evidence in light of that standard.

1. In August 20038, the DOE began a “Program
Review” of UOP’s compliance with Title IV. The
Program Review included witness interviews, site
inspections, and a lengthy document review. It was
followed by a Program Review Report (the “Report’).
On February 5, 2004, Apollo received a copy of the
Report from DOE. Excerpts of Record (“ER”) 370.

The Report’s findings were damning. As DOE
summarized it, the Report made “a serious finding”
that UOP was using an “improper incentive compen-
sation system for those involved in recruiting activi-
ties” and was “systemically engag[ing] in actions
designed to mislead [DOE] and to evade detection” of
its misconduct. Jd. DOE described these findings as
showing a “substantial breach of [UOP’s] fiduciary
duty.” Jd. Among other things, the Report found
that “UOP bases [recruiters’] salaries solely on the
number of students they enroll,” ER379, and that
UOP employed “evasion” and “euphemisms” to con-
ceal “the fact that UOP pays distinct and significant
financial incentives solely based on recruiters’ suc-
cess in securing enrollments,” ER396.!

| These findings were particularly damaging to Apollo be-
cause, as the evidence later showed, it previously had an excel-
lent reputation for regulatory compliance. As one analyst put

In the Report, DOE demanded that Apollo take
corrective actions, including “substantial and com-
prehensive changes to the salary compensation sys-
tem for its recruiters and their direct supervisors.”
ER401. In June 2004, Apollo changed its compen-
sation plan for its recruiters by including explicit
weigh‘ed percentages for the different factors that
were used to determine compensation. HR222-25.
The change prevented recruiters’ supervisors from
making salary determinations based solely on the
number of enrollments that a recruiter obtained.
ER223-24.2 Apollo “[s]ubmit/ed]” the new compensa-
tion plan for review by DOE as part of a “corrective
action plan to respond to [DOE’s] concerns” in order
to obtain “closure” with DOE and avoid “similar find-
ings in the future.” ER367-68.

In addition, on September 1, 2004, Apollo paid
$9.8 million to DOE as part of a settlement of the
dispute arising out of the Report. This payment was
the largest fine ever imposed by DOE on a for-profit
university. ER63-64.

2. The jury was asked to consider whether Apollo
made “an untrue statement of material fact or
omit[ted] a material fact necessary under the cir-
cumstances to keep the statements that were made
from being misleading” when publicly discussing its
relationship with DOE and the program review

it, the investment community had perceived Apollo as being as
“pure as the driven snow.” ER672 (internal quotation marks
omitted).

“ Apollo’s chief human resources officer testified that the June

2004 changes to Apollo's compensation plan were “material”
and that any time “you change something material as compen-
sation” it creates risks of increased employee dissatisfaction and
lower productivity. ER224, ER227-28.

throughout the class period. As to each statement
the jury answered “yes.” See App., infra, la-2a
(Verdict Form).? Petitioners did not disclose the exis-
tence of the DOE Report until announcing the set
tlement with DOE, and the jury was asked whether
petitioners Apollo and Nelson then continued to mis
lead the market about the Report’s highly negative
findings about Apollo’s recruitment compensation
scheme. The jury answered “yes.” See id. at 2a-3a,
6a-7a. The verdict reflects the jury’s conclusion that
petitioners never revealed that DOE had demanded
that Apollo make comprehensive changes to its sys
tem for compensating recruiters or that Apollo had
made such changes. Not until September 20, 2004,
was there a full, adequate disclosure of these facts
and their implications on Apollo.

As an example of these false and misleading
statements, in March 2004, more than five weeks
after receiving the Report, petitioner ‘Todd Nelson
(who was then Apollo’s CEO) mentioned to industry
analysts during a conference call that DOE had con
ducted a “normal” and “ongoing program review.”
ER511. When asked “when any type of report will be
issued” by DOE, Nelson answered that it was “tough
to say.” ER515 (emphasis added). He also told the
analysts that Apollo was “very comfortable” that the
program review would lead to “nothing that would be
material.” Jd. In fact, Nelson consciously recognized
that the Report and the changes it required were
material to Apollo, and he sought to prevent the pub

% The knowingly false or misleading character of Apollo

corporate statements was found by the jury, see App., infra, 2a
3a, and is not challenged in Apollo’s petition. The same is true
for the individual petitioners. See id. at 6a-7a (Nelson), 9a-10a
(Gonzales).

6

lic release of the Report by writing to the Secretary of
Education, urging that DOE not publicly release the
Report. ER353. In response, DOE did not release
the Report. Upon examination at trial, Nelson was
asked whether he had contemporaneously believed
that public release of the report would “adversely
impact the stock price of Apollo’s securities,” and he
answered: “Absolutely, yes.” Trial Transcript (“Tr.”)
1103.

On September 7, 2004, shortly after its agreement
to pay DOE $9.8 million, Apollo issued a press release
stating that it was “pleased to announce” an “agree
ment” with DOE “to resolve ... the [UOP] program
review. ER568. The press release minimized the
significance of the resolution with DOE by disclosing
it along with several other pieces of information,
including the positive news that Apollo would be
expanding into Mexico. It contained no substantive
information about the contents of the Report.

The same day, Nelson told analysts about the set
tlement of the DOE program review and in doing so
he made several false and misleading statements.
He described the Report merely as an “interim
report’ with a “negative tone.” ER572. He said that
Apollo had “decided to settle this issue now rather
than later for $9.8 million and put it behind us,”
assuring the market that the settlement would
“take[| away, hopefully, any clouds that may be lin
gering with regulatory issues.” ER572.

Nelson also said that the settlement would not
“have a material impact on the growth of the com

‘On August 26, 2004, DOF had advised Apollo that it “dfid]

not consider the [Report] to be an ‘interim’ report” and that the

Report was a “discrete final action” by DOE. ER54‘%

pany or our financial performance.” ER572. He
mentioned the company’s new compensation scheme,
which he said would make it more “transparent,” but
stated that it was “unrelated” to the dispute with
DOK. ER574. He did not disclose to the market the
substance or contents of the Report; in particular,
he said nothing about DOF’s finding that Apollo had
engaged in systemic deception, nor did he disclose
DOE’s demand for comprehensive changes to Apollo’
compensation scheme for recruiters the engine of
Apollo’s revenue

3. On September 8, 2004, several Wall Street
analysts, none of whom had actually read the Report,
issued reports accepting Apollos claim that its regu
latory problems were over (One analy St writing on
September 8 described the disclosure as a “positiv
for the company. that “could put to rest some ol
the potential ‘noise related to the program
review. ER658. Another described the settlement a
“remov|ing] virtually every maternal legal/regulatory
issue’ faced by Apollo. ER674. Notably, analyst
Kelly Flynn of UBS Investment Services issued a
report on September 8, 2004, adopting this theme
and suggesting that the settlement “may reduce
[Apollo’s] near-term event risk.” ER624. Apollo
stock price had been $82.72 on September 7. _ It
dropped shghtly to $82.07 on September 8, and fur
ther to $80.50 on September 9. ER602-03

On September 14 and 15, several newspape.
published articles describing ome of the Report
findings. The articles related some of the Report
negative findings and noted that Apollo had “di
closed fey Ictau about tne Keport content

KR672. The articles also quoted Nelson describing

1]
ily

the Report as “very, very unfair, ER580, and “tota

false,” ER672. Neither these newspaper articles no:
the prior analyst reports contained any details about
the material changes to Apollo's compensation sy
tem made in response to the Report or revealed that
those changes were material and increased the oper
ating risks associated with its future prospect
Apollo’s stock price had been $80.63 on September
13. It dropped slightly to $80.09 on September 14

and further to $78.68 on September 15. ER603

On September 20, having received and read the
Report, education specialist Kelly Flynn of UBS
Investment Services, who had issued a report on
september &, see supra p. 7, released two investment
analyses about Apollo She concluded that “the con
tents of the [Report] may cause more concerns about

Apollo's] regulatory risk,’ ER502, and that Apollo :
“enrollment growth [could] be hurt by,” among othe)
things, “increasing enrollment advisor turnover
HER491. She also reported that current and forme:
recruiters had told her that “internal enrollment ta
gets were getting harder to hit” and that “tui ove
hald] increased since [the] 6/04 intro[duction] of {the]
new complensation| plan.” ER502. Flynn was the
first investment analyst to review the report and wa
also the first to interview Apollo's recruiter Apol
lo’s stock price had been $78.35 on September 17 (a
Friday). It immediately dropped to $75.82 on Sep
tember 20, and further to $72.00 on September 2]
KR603. This two-day decline was statistically signif

icant

1, On October |] 2004, a complaint was filed
against Apollo for securities fraud. Respondent wa
appointed lead plaintiff by the district court. Thi
district court denied Apollos motions to dism) ind

for summary judgment, and certified a cla of inve

Q
tors in Apollo’s stock. A jury trial commenced on
November 14, 2007, and lasted 22 days.

Loss causation was a heavily contested issue at
trial. Both sides presented expert evidence about the
significance of the Report and the subsequent disclo-
sures, particularly Flynn’s September 20 reports.
Dr. Steven Feinstein, an economist testifying for the
investors, conducted an event study and gave an
opinion that identified new information contained in
the September 20 reports that revealed the fraud.
Dr. Feinstein’s analysis parsed out other factors that
could have otherwise impacted Apollo's stock price,
including the movement of the stocks of the for-profit
education sector, other non-fraud-related factors,
and previously disclosed information. Tr. 1977-87:
KR161-64. Apollo’s expert, Dr. Kenneth Lehn, con-
ducted an event study that confirmed that Apollo’s
stock price decline between September 20-21 was
statistically significant. Tr. 3456-57; Trial Exhibit
(“Ex.”) 24281, at 472-75. This point was uncontested
at trial. Both experts agreed with the price data and
calculations used by the other and both agreed that
their analyses were designed to account for “random”
movement. ER90, ER259-61, ER263; Tr. 2003-04.
Despite this, and while acknowledging that “there’s
only a 5 percent chance that what you are seeing is
random,” Dr. Lehn contended that the statistically
significant stock decline was due to “random” chance.
ER263.

At the close of the investors’ case, Apollo sought
judgment as a matter of law, contending that the
investors could not prove loss causation because
Flyvnn’s analysis did mot comiain “new facts ... that

demonstrate[d] the falsity of something that [Apollo]
had previously ... said.” Tr. 2254. The district court

10

denied that motion, finding that the “jury cfould]
conclude that the facts .. . dribble[d] into the market-
place” over time, and that Flynn had “connect{ed] the
dots in such a way that they became the corrective
disclosure.” ER209.

The district court instructed the jury that “the
alleged misrepresentations and omissions in this case
could have caused the plaintiff to suffer damages
only if you determine that the analyst reports issued
by Kelly Flynn on September 20, 2004 were correc-

os

tive disclosures” and that, “[i]f you conclude that
these reports were not corrective disclosures, then
you cannot find that a misrepresentation or omission
caused the plaintiff to suffer damages.” ER298-99.
Petitioners acknowledged that “this instruction is
aimed at preventing ... the jury from looking at
[earlier] disclosures and ... by making them deter-
mine that the Flynn report was a corrective disclo-
sure.” Tr. 3783-84.

So instructed, the jury gave a verdict in favor of the
investors on every element of a Rule 10b-5 claim,
finding that Apollo had made (i) false or misleading
statements (11) upon material matters (11) with scien-
ter (iv) proximately causing damage to the investors.
Nelson’s statements on the September 7, 2004 con-
ference call announcing Apollo’s settlement with
DOE were among the statements that the jury found
fraudulent. See App., infra, 5a.

5. On August 4, 2008, the district court granted
Apollo’s renewed motion for judgment as a matter of
law, departing from its earlier reasoning and ruling
that there was no evidence to support the jury’s
finding on loss causation. The court first rejected
Apollo’s argument that, as a matter of law, “a market
analyst's opinion ... is not, and never can be, a

1]

‘corrective disclosure.” Pet. App. 8a. The court
expressed concerns that such a rule would “give com-
panies [a] perverse incentive to engage in opaque,
piecemeal disclosures,” and “encourage corporate
gamesmanship.” Jd. at 9a. The court further ob-
served that the Third Circuit had expressly declined
to adopt any such rule in In re Merck & Co., Inc.
Securities Litigation, 432 F.3d 261 (3d Cir. 2005).

The district court, however, did accept Apollo's
narrower, case-specific argument that “the Flynn
reports were not necessary t: reveal the fraud in
this case because they did net provide any new,
fraud-revealing analysis.” Pet. App. 10a. In doing
so, the court stated that “Flynn was not the first to
tie future regulatory problems to the DOE report”
because the September 14 and 15 articles had already
done so. /d. at lla. It stated that the hnk Flynn
drew between the Report and increased turnover
among Apollo’s recruiters was “factually wrong” and
therefore could not “possibly be corrective informa-
tion,” and also that the investors “did not present any
evidence linking this claim to Apollo’s misrepresenta-
tions.” Jd. Finally, the court stated that it did not
matter that Flynn was the first analyst to read the
DOE Report because she “did not disclose any of the
[Report’s] contents” to the market. Jd. at 12a.

In a footnote, the district court also acknowledged
that the investors had presented two additional
grounds for concluding that Flynn had made a cor-
rective disclosure: “(1) Flynn’s statement that enroll-
ment counselors had reported that enrollment tar-
gets were getting harder to hit; and (2) the fact that
the UOP had adopted a new compensation pian.”
Id. at 12a n.3. The court rejected those additional

IO

grounds because it found they were not “linked in
any way to Apollo’s prior misrepresentations.” Jd.

6. On March 3, 2010, the Ninth Circuit reversed
in an unpublished memorandum opinion. The panel
(Kozinski, C.J., Fletcher, J., and Gettleman, D.J., by
designation) disposed of Apollo’s loss-causation claim
by reasoning that “[t]he jury could have reasonably
found that the UBS reports following various news-
paper articles were ‘corrective disclosures’ providing
additional or more authoritative fraud-related infor-
mation that deflated the stock price.” Pet. App. 2a.
On August 17, 2010, the court of appeals denied :2-
hearing and rehearing en banc.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. APOLLO HAS FAILED TO SHOW ANY
RELEVANT CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS

A. There Is No Relevant Circuit Conflict
About the Timing of Corrective Disclosures

Apollo contends that the circuits are divided on the
question whether a price decline “weeks or months”
after a corrective disclosure is sufficient to support
loss causation as a matter of law. Pet. i. This case
does not present that question because the jury was,
as petitioners acknowledged, correctly instructed
that it could only find for the investors if it found
that Flynn’s September 20 reports were corrective
disclosures. See supra p.10. The jury did find for
the investors: therefore, it concluded that Flynn’s

* The district court also rejected Apollo’s motion for a new
trial, its various evidentiary challenges, and its attempt to
obtain remittitur. The court of appeals upheld these rulings,

and Apollo has net, challenged them in its petition

13

September 20 reports were corrective disclosures.®
The jury’s necessary finding of loss causation from
the immediate stock drop on that day and the follow-
ing day, therefore, involves no delay of “weeks or
months.”

Further, even if the jury had reiiea upon the Sep-
tember 14 and 15 newspaper articles as additional
corrective disclosures, the delay between those dates
and the end of the stock price decline was only four
trading days. Apollo argues repeatedly that this case
involves a delay of as long as “two weeks,” Pet. 9, 13,
18, but in doing so simply ignores the jury’s finding
that Apollo’s initial announcement on September 7
was itself materially false and misleading, see App.,
infra, la-2a, 5a, and so could hardly have been a
corrective disclosure. Apollo does not challenge {er
acknowledge) that finding in its petition. Its conten-
tion that this case involves a two-week delay between
the revelation of fraudulently concealed information
and the market’s reaction to that revelation is there-
fore unsupported by the record.

In any event, Apollo substantially overstates the
disagreement among the circuits and mischaracter-
izes the cases upon which it reltes. All of them can
be straightforwardly distinguished from this case.

First, Apollo cites (at 15-16) Oran vu. Stafford, 226
F.3d 275 (3d Cir. 2000) (Alito, J.), in which the Third
Circuit stated that, “in an efficient market, the mate-
riality of disclosed information may be measured post
hoc by looking to the movement, in the period imme-
diately following disclosure, of the price of the firm’s

is

“A jury is presumed to tollow its instructions,” especially
where, as here, “each of the jurors affirmed in open court the
verdict.” Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S. 225, 234 (2000): see Tr.
4120-22.

14

stock.” Id. at 282. The Third Circuit’s statement in
Oran, however, must be read in light of the facts of
that case, which involved a delay of more than two
months between the disclosure of concealed informa-
tion and the price drop for which investors sought tc
recover. See id. at 280, 282-83 (disclosure on July 8,
1997; price drop beginning on September 15, 1997).?
In re Burlington Coat Factory Securities Litigation,
114 F.3d 1410 (3d Cir. 1997) (Alito, J.), the other
Third Circuit case on which Apollo relies, similarly
involved a delay of “approximately two months”
between the disclosure of concealed information and
its effect on the company’s stock price. Jd. at 1425.

The Third Circuit's conclustons in those cases that
a two-month delay in market reaction precluded a
securities-fraud plaintiff from showing materiality as
a matter of law are irrelevant to the present case. It
is entirely consistent with Oran and Burlington Coat
Factory to hold that a jury could reasonably find loss
causation in light of the far shorter interval at issue
here (whether that interval is considered to be the
day of the fraud-revealing disclosure and the follow-
ing day, or four trading days). Indeed, the Third
Circuit has clarified that it has not adopted any
requirement that the price change “instantaneously.”
Merck, 432 F.3d at 269 (considering a stock’s beha-
vior over the month following a disclosure).

’ The Third Circuit also observed that the defendant compa-
ny’s “share price rose by $3.00 during the four days after the
[July 8] disclosure.” Oran, 226 F.3d at 283. Nevertheless, given
the far longer two-month delay ectually presented by the facts
it confronted, the Third Circuit cannot be considered to have
held in Oran that any delay here dispels materiality as a matter
of law.

15

Second, Apollo also erroneously relies on Thompson
v. RelationServe Media, Inc., 610 F.3d 628 (11th
Cir. 2010). Apollo claims that the Eleventh Circuit
“h[eld| that a plaintiff’s theory of loss causation was
‘frivolous’ where the stock price did not react follow-
ing an initial alleged corrective disclosure, but de-
clined 22 days later following a second alleged correc-
tive disclosure.” Pet. 16 (quoting Thompson, 610
F.3d at 689). Apollo also attributes to the Eleventh
Circuit the statement that investors cannot prevail
by “‘measur[ing] loss causation over twenty days
after the market had learned of the alleged fraud.”
Id.

The language Apollo quotes, however, does not
come from the majority opinion in that case, but froni
Judge Tjoflat’s partial dissent.6 The Thompson
majority did not reach any question of loss causation,
but instead upheld the district court’s dismissal of a
securities-fraud complaint for failure to plead scien-
ter and failure to plead secondary lability. The court
then remanded for a determination of Rule 11 sanc-
tions rather than itself holding that the claims were
frivolous. See 610 F.3d at 633-39. Apollo's careless
mischaracterization of a dissenting position as a
holding offers no support for its petition.

Third, Apollo relies (at 17) on the Second Circuit's
opinion in Jn re Omnicom Group, Inc. Securities Liti-
gation, 597 F.3d 501 (2d Cir. 2010), which involved a
delay of a year between the disclosure of allegedly
concealed information and its effect on the company’s

8 See Thompson, 610 F.3d at 639 (start of Judge Tjoflat’s opi-
ion); id. at 68 passage quoted by petitioners). Judge Tjoflat
was 1n dissent vecause he thought that the court of appeals
should itself impose sanctions in the first instance, which was
the subject of his loss-causation argument at page 689.

16

stock price. See id. at 511. But Apollo concedes, as it
must, that, “[wJith such a long time lag, the Second
Circuit did not have occasion to opine about just
how quickly the market must react.” Pet. 17. That
concession gives up the game: the whole point of
Apollo’s arguments is the supposed conflict “about
just how quickly the market must react.”

Apollo nevertheless suggests that the Second Cir-
cuit took a position on that issue by stating that the
market “‘promptly digested’” relevant information.
Omnicom, 597 F.3d at 511. That phrase, however,
was merely a quotation from the complaint in that
case, see id., and is not the stuff of precedent. Later
panels and district courts in the Second Circuit will
not be bound by the language the Omnicom investors
chose to use. And, even if they somehow were, the
word “promptly” would encompass a time period of
the day of the traud-revealing disclosure and the
next day, or four trading days, depending on the
circumstances.”

Fourth, Apollo concedes (at 18-20) that the Ninth
Circuit’s decision in this case was consistent not only
with its own precedent, but also with the precedent
of the Fifth and Sixth Circuits. The decisions it cites
do indeed support the decision of the Ninth Circuit

% Apollo further argues that Teamsters Local 445 Freight

Division Pension Fund v. Bombardier Inc., 546 F.3d 196 (2d Cir.
2008), is relevant to the conflict it seeks to establish. Not so.
Teamsters Local 445 held only that, after hearing expert evi-
dence, a district court acting as factfinder did not clearly err in
finding that an investor had failed to prove that the market for
a particular security was efficient, based in part on evidence
that the security's price had not moved in response to certain
informs)on. See id. at 207-10. That case did not involve any
determination of materiality or loss causation as avmatter of
law.

17

— each of them considered a time period between
disclosure and price drop substantially longer than
the one at issue here, yet held that the period's
length did not foreclose recovery as a matter of law.
It is worth emphasizing, moreover, that (as Apollo
admits, at 20) the Sixth Circuit cited Third Circuit
precedent with approval when it held that investors
could state a claim involving 2 price drop that occurs
incrementally on separate disclosures over a period
of six weeks. See City of Monroe Employees Ret. Sys.
v. Bridgestone Corp., 399 F.3d 651 (6th Cir. 2005)
(quoting Burlington Coat Factory, 114 F.3d at 1425).
The Monroe court thus does not appear to have per-
ceived any relevant conflict.

Ulumately, to the extent there are differences
among the circuits on the permissible length of such
a period, they concern periods of two to three months.
For periods of that length, Oran and Burlington Coat
Factory suggest that the Third Circuit would deny
recovery as a matter of law, and No. 84 Emplovyer-
Teamster Joint Council Pension Trust Fund v. Amer-
ica West Holding Corp., 320 F.3d 920 (9th Cir. 2003),
and In re Gilead Sciences Securities Litigation, 536
F.3d 1049 (9th Cir. 2008), cert. denied, 129 S. Ct.
1993 (2009), suggest that the Ninth Circuit would
leave the question to a jury. This case, however,
would not be a suitable vehicle to resolve that ques-
tion. If the Court affirmed the judgment of the Ninth
Circuit, it might well leave open the possibility that
the longer periods at issue in petitioners’ cited cases
were still too long. And the Court would have no
basis to reverse the judgment below under the ques-
tion presented by netitioners without encroaching on
the province of the properly instructed jury’s findings
of fact given the record evidence.

18

B. There Is No Circuit Conflict Regarding the
Treatment of Analyst Reports

Apollo also contends that the circuits are divided
on the question whether an investor may prove loss
causation by relying on “an analyst|’s! ... report that
merely synthesizes and comments upon ... already-
public information.” Pet. i. This case does not
present that question because Flynn’s September 20
reports — ‘the corrective disclosures on which the jury
relied in this case - did more than merely synthesize
and comment on already-public information: they
provided the market with new fraud-revealing infor-
mation, gleaned from Flynn’s review of the DOE
Report and from her interviews of current and for-
mer UOP recruiters, about the long-term significance
of the Report, UOP’s new compensation plan, and its
likely effect on Apollo’s prospects. See supra p. 8 and
infra pp. 28-31 (describing the specific new informa-
tion that Flynn provided to the market on September
20).

In any event, Apollo again overstates its case.
None of the cases it cites supports a categorical rule
that a corrective disclosure may not arise out of an
analysis or commentary that reveals a fraud by using
publicly available information. Thus, even if Flynn
had relied only on publicly available information in
her September 20 report (which she did not), the
Ninth Circuit’s decision would not implicate any
intercircuit conflict.

First, Apollo relies (at 20-22) on Merck, in which
the Third Circuit considered a company’s disclosure
that it had adopted a new accounting method. The
effect of the new method on the company’s reported
revenues was possible to derive using a “handful of
calculations.” 432 F.3d at 270. The calculations

19

were made by a journalist a few months after the
company’s initia] disclosure. The Third Circuit held
that, because the calculations were of “minimal ...
complexity,” the journalist’s article showing their re-
sults was not a Corrective disclosure: the information
was all previously available to the market. Id.

As the district court noted, see Pet. App. 9a, the
Third Circuit in Merck carefully avoided announcing
a rule that analysis of existing information could
never amount to a corrective disclosure. Instead,
stating that it did not “wish to reward opaqueness,”
the court “decline[d]| to decide how many mathemati-
‘al calculations are too many” in order for an analy-
sis to constitute new information. Merck, 432 F.3d at
271. As a result, Merck cannot be read nearly as
broadly as Apollo suggests. Instead, it invites a case
specific determination of whether a particular analy-
sis rises to the requisite level — which does not con
flict with the Ninth Circuit’s approach here.

Second, the other cases on which Apollo relies (at
20-22) are similarly far afield. In Teachers’ Retire-
ment System of Louisiana v. Hunter, 477 F.3d 162
(4th Cir. 2007), the Fourth Circuit held that the de-
scription in a court filing of certain transactions that
a company had already disclosed years ago in filings
with the Securities and Exchange Commission was not
a corrective disclosure. See id. at 187-88. The case
did not involve any analysis, synthesis, or commen-
tary, much less adopt a rule that such matters are
irrelevant. It therefore cannot be read as creating
any conflict with the judgment below.

In Archdiocese of Milwaukee Supporting Fund, Inc.
v. Halliburion Co., 597 F.3d 330 (5th Cir. 2010),
the Fifth Circuit stated that a corrective disclosure
cannot be merely “[c]onfirmatory information [that]

20

is already known to the market and, having been
previously digested by the market, will not affect
the stock price.” Jd. at 337. As with Teachers, Halli-
burton did not involve any analysis, synthesis, or
commentary: the examples of “confirmatory” state-
ments that the court identified involved comparing a
statement by the defendant to an earlier statement
by the defendant and concluding that it had con-
cealed nothing material. See id. at 340, 343 n.50.

In Omnicom, the Second Circuit rejected a claim
that a newspaper article constituted a corrective dis-
closure because there was “no ambiguity” that it did
not “even purport to reveal some undisclosed fact
with regard to ... specific misrepresentations in the
complaint.” 597 F.3d at 512. The court further
rejected comments from two accounting professors
quoted in the article as mere “conclusory suspicions.”
Id. Omnicom certainly stands for the proposition
that some newspaper articles amount to mere “nega-
tive characterization[s]” that do not tell the market
anything new. /d. But, like Merck, Teachers, and
Halliburton, it falls far short of the categorical rule
that Apollo seeks. And Apollo’s erroneous reliance
(at 20-22) on Judge Tjoflat’s dissent in Thompson,
610 F.3d at 690-61, and mischaracterization of that
dissent as the law of the Eleventh Circuit, offers no
support for its claim of a conflict. See supra p. 15.

Third, to bolster its claim of a conflict, Apollo relies
heavily on the Ninth Circuit's statement that “the
jury could reasonably have found that the UBS
reports following various newspaper articles were
‘corrective disclosures’ providing additional or more
authoritative fraud-related information.” Pet. App.
2a. Apollo cannot dispute, however, that a report
that provides “additional” information is properly a

corrective disclosure. But Apollo's criticism of the
Ninth Circuit for “ignor{ing] the critical fact that the
Flynn reports did not disclose any additional facts”
(Pet. 22 (internal quotation marks and emphas)
omitted)) simply asks this Court to second-guess the
jury's fact-finding province and offers no basis for
this Court to grant certiorari on a question of law

Apollo contends further that the Ninth Circuit

use of the word “authoritative” reveals a circuit
conflict, because (it say: ther circuits would not
consider whether a statement was made by an
“authoritative” source. Pet. 2] is we have shown
\pollo has failed to establish that any other circuit
follows the categorical r'le it seek Regardle the

Ninth Circuit's choice of that particular word in an
unpublished per curiam opinion would not warrant
review — especially because the record shows that th
iury here could reasonably have found that Flynn
reports did provide the market with information that
was “additional” as well as “more authoritative Se
infra pp. 25-3]
Il. APOLLO HAS FAILED TO SHOW ANY
CONFLICT WITH BASIC OR DURA
A. Basic Expressly Declined To Adopt th
Timing Rule Apollo Seeks

In Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988), th
Court adopted the fraud-on-the-market theory a
means of proving reliance in class action Tha
theory “1s based on the hypothesi that, in n opel
and developed securities market, the price of a com
pany s stock is determined by the available materia!
information regarding the company and its hu
ness. dd. at 241. As a result, “|[m]jisleading stat
ments will therefore defraud purchasers of stoc!

even if the purchasers do not directly rely on the

misstatements. Jd. at 241-42. The theory creates a
“rebuttabie presumption of relance” on misleading
statements by those who buy stock during a time at
which the price has been influenced by material mi
representations. /d. at 242

In doing so, the Basic Court expressly declined
conclusively to adopt any particular theory of how
quickly and completely publicly available informa
tion 1s reflected in market price ld. at 248 n.2#
It also made clear that it was not attempting to

determine by adjudication what economists and social
t}

clentists have debated through the use of sophi
cated statistical analysis and the application of eco
nomic theory ld. at 246 n.25

Apollo contend however, that the principl idopt
ed in Basic requires the conclusion that “efficient
tock markets generally respond to new information
within one day Pet. 24.'° ‘To support this conten
tion, Apollo cites nothing in asic, but instead reli

na 1991 article reviewing the economic literature

on the efficient-market hypothesi See id \pollo
thus argues that Basic adopted a “particular theor
f how quickly and completely publicly available
information is reflected in market pric Rast 1s
U.S. at 248 n.28, while ignoring the Court Lat

nent that it wa not doling any uch thin

Indeed the nth Cuireuit ae lO! mn 177

West, one of the primary targets of Apollo's ernticism

market hypothesis. See 320 F.3d at 934 & n.12. It is
Apollo's argument, rather than the decision of the
court of appeals, that runs counter to Basic.

B. Dura Did Not Draw the Fact-Opinion Dis-
tinction that Apollo Urges

In Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S
336 (2005), this Court held that the Private Securt-
ties Litigation Reform Act of 1995 requires investors
to “adequately allege and prove the traditional elements
of causation and loss.” /d. at 346. In reaching that
conclusion, the Court quoted a comment to § 548A of
the Restatement (Second) of Torts (1977), which “says
that a person who ‘misrepresents the financial condi
tion of a corporation in order to sell its stock’ becomes
lable to a relying purchaser ‘for the loss’ the pur
chaser sustains ‘when the facts ... become generally
known’ and ‘as a result’ share value ‘depreciate|s].”
Dura, 544 U.S. at 344.

Apollo’s claim that Dura supports its position relies
entirely on Dura’s use of the word “facts” in this
passage It argues that, by using that word, the
Court established that “[aJnalyses, opinions, and
predictions cannot be ‘corrective’ within the meaning
of Dura.” Pet. 28. This is a remarkable feat of over-
reading. Dura does not discuss the significance of
analyses, opinions, and predictions in proving loss
causation; none of those issues was contested in that
case.

Instead, Dura’s only significance for this case is
that it establishes the investors’ burden to prove by a
preponderance of the evidence that Apollo's fraudu-
lent misrepresentations caused their losses. Anollo’s
contention that. Dura (which does not even use the
phrase “corrective cisclosure”’) augmented those basic

requirements with specialized burdens of pleading

2A

and proof is without support in this Court’s language

Or reasoniny.

Hl. THIS CASE IS AN UNSUITABLE VEHICLE
FOR CONSIDERING THE QUESTIONS
APOLLO SEEKS TO PRESENT

A. This Case Is Fact-Specific and Record-

Intensive, and Apollo Has Not Preserved
Any Materiality Question

Apollo’s failure to show any conflict of authority
relevant to the Ninth Circuit's unpublished per
curiam decision in this case would alone support a
denial of review. Even if this Court were persuaded
to develop the iaw of loss causation, however, this
case would be an unsuitable vehicle for doing: so.
There are at least three reasons why.

Kirst, the judgment of the Ninth Circuit is firmly
supported by the ground that the jury here found
(after receiving undisputedly correct instructions)
that Flynn’s September 20 reports were corrective
disclosures and that the drop in Apollo's stock price
occurred immediately and continued into the next
day. If this Court were to grant review, the investors
could and would defend the judgment below on that
fact-specific basis. If the Court upheld the judgment
on that. ground, it would have no occasion to reach
the broader questions of law that Apollo argues in its
petition, and its decision would have little signifi
cance except to the parties in this case.

The oral argument in the court of appeals makes 1
quite clear that the judges perceived this fact-specific
ground for affirmance. Chief Judge Kozinski observed
that the September 20 reports were “the first time

there was a public disclosure about the high turnover

1]

and its effect on the profitability of the company.”

Judge Gettleman expressed the view that the Sep
tember 20 reports gave “good reasons for [downgrad
ing Apollo’s stock] that I don’t think were ever articu
lated before ... based on facts that were articulated
for the first time in this report.”'2) Judge Fletcher
stated that “the things that are in the [UBS] Reports]
seriously contradict numerous statements by Apollo”
and that “the jury could readily conclude that they
are fraud revealing.”'’ There is every reason to think
that this Court would conclude likewise after hearing
argument on the merits and reviewing the full trial
record placed before the jury.

second, the procedural posture of this CASE makes
it an unattractive vehicle for another reason as well
This is an evidentiary challenge to a jury verdict
reached after 22 days of tnal and thousands of pages
of testimony. Reviewing the record in such a case
is not a good use of this Court’s limited resources. !"
Because relatively few securities-fraud cases ever
reach trial, a decision that apphes a_post-verdict
standard is less likely to provide useful guidance for
the lower courts than would an otherwise simular
case at the pleading or summary judgment stage.

Third, Apollo has hmited the questions presented
to the issue of loss causation. See Pet.1i. The Third

'! Audio Recording of Oral Argument in Policemen’s Annuity
Benefit Fund of Chicago v. Apollo at 25:36-26:26, No. O08 16971
(9th Cir.), avatlable at http://www.ca9 uscourts.gov/datastore
media/20 10/03/03/08- 1697 L.wma (‘Argument Recording’)

12 Id. at 31:37-32:52

Id. at 35:52-26-06

14 “Pinal action” on such a factual review “normally rest
with the court of appeals.” Neely v. Martin kK. Eby Constr. Co.,
386 U.S. 317, 327-28 (1967)

‘pg’
L0

Circuit cases on which Apollo relies, however, were
all cases about materiality, not loss causation. See
Burlington Coat lactory, 114 F.3d at 1425; Oran, 226
Resd at 282: Merck, 432 ¥.3d at 268-71. Indeed, the
Third Circuit has resisted any attempt to conflate
these two distinct elements of a Rule 10b-5 cause of
action, imsisting that they are “different concepts.”
Merck, 432. F.3d at 275. Given the central role that
these decisions play in Apollo's argument, it only
makes sense to consider them Qf at all) in a case
where the particular argument that persuaded the
Third Circuit has actually been preserved

B. The Recent Grant in Erica P. John Fund v.

Halliburton Is Irrelevant

Apollo's petition does not mention the pendency
before this Court of Erica P. John Irund, Inc. v
Halliburton Co., No. 09-1403," in which this Court
granted certiorari on January 7, 2011.'© However, a
group of Apollo's amict argue that “taking this case
in tandem with Halliburton would enable this Court
to resolve the Circuit splits regarding the law of loss
causation at the various stages of a case’s life cycle in
a comprehensive manner.” Brief for Former SKC
Commissioners and Law Professors as Amict Curtae

in Support of Petitioners’ Petition at 15

> The decision of the Fifth Circuit under review in Hallibur
ton was reported as Archdiocese of Milwaukee Supporting Fund,
Inc. v. Halliburton Co., 597 F.3d 330, which is discussed supra
pp. 19-20

l© Although Apollo’s petition was filed on November 15, 2010
before the Court had granted certiorari in Halliburton. the
Court had already invited the Solicitor General to file) an
amicus brief in that case on October 4, 2010, so Apollo certainly
had notice that the Court was giving Halliburton serious con

sideration when it filed its petition, and could have addressed

that petition if relevant

This contention lacks merit. The questions on
which this Court granted certiorar: in Halliburton
have to do with when investors must prove loss cau
sation: whether they must “establish loss causation
at class certification by a preponderance of admisst
ble evidence,” or whether instead a requirement that
they do so amounts to “improper|] considerfation of|
the merits of the underlying litigation” at the certifi
cation stage. Pet. ati, No. 09-1408. In this case, by
contrast, the class has long been certified, and that
certification is not now contested. (The parties stipu
lated that all of the requirements of Rule 23 had been
satisfied and stipulated to certification of the class.
Dist. Ct. Dkt. Entries 116, 117.) The only question
presented here is whether there was sufficient evi
dence to support the jury’s finding for the investors
on the merits. Nothing the Court 1s remotely lkely
to say in Halliburton will shed light on that issue.
See Br. in Opp. at 18, No. 09-1403 (observing that
petitioners in that case have not sought review on
the merits of loss causation).

Kven if the Court were somehow to reach the
merits of the loss-causation issue in Halliburton, u
would still be highly unlikely that its decision would
be relevant to this case. Although petitioners con-
tend that the decision in Halliburton conflicts with
the decision below here, they do not even allege that
the Fifth Circuit’s decision is relevant to their first
question presented, concerning the timing of correc-
tive disclosures. As for the second question presented,
concerning the degree to which analysis or commen-
tary can serve as a corrective disclosure, the Fifth

analysis, that the district court in that case had not
abused its discretion based on the evidence before it.

See 597 F.3d at 339-43. Were this Court. to review
and uphold that decision in Halliburton, it would
cast no doubt on the Ninth Circwit’s determination on
the present, very different facts that the jury could
reasonably find for plaintiffs here. As a result, the
errant of review in /lalltburton supports neither a
grant nor a hold of the present petition.

IV. THE DECISION OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

IS CORRECT

Review 1s unjustified for one more reason: — the
Ninth Circuit was correct in reversing the district
court’s grant of judgment as a matter of law and
reinstating the jury’s verdict. A court reviewing a
jury verdict “must interpret the entire record in the
light most favorable” to the party that prevailed at
trial, giving it “the benefit of all inferences which the
evidence fairly supports, even though contrary infer
ences might be drawn.” Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen
Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S 585, 604 (1985)
There was ample evidence to support the jury's infer
ence that the September 20 analyses contained new,
fraud-revealing information that contradicted peti-
tioners’ public statements and caused a statistically
significant decline in Apollo’s stock price.

The September 20 reports were the first to disclose
the material changes to the enrollment counselor
compensation system and the msks associated with
those changes, and to note that then-current and
former enrollment counselors told UBS that “turn-
over has increased since 6/04 intro of new comp plan.”
ER502. Dr. Feinstein explained to the jury that in-
vestors would have been concerned about. “impacts on
{|Apollo’s] sales and profits because of management
distraction,” because “the new incentive plan might
not be as incentivizing as the old incentive plan,” and

YQ

because “employee turnover [could occur] for that
very same reason.” ER121. He also testified that
investors would have interpreted Flynn’s reports as
disclosing that “[s]lomething bad happened as far as
the fundamentals and performance of the company at
the same time they changed the comp plan.” ER180.
Dr. Feinstein also tied the new, fraud-revealing
information in the UBS reports to the statistically
significant decline of Apollo stock on September 20
and 21.

The reports also told the market that the “content:
of the DOK’s recent program review may cause more
concerns about [Apollo's] regulatory risk.” ER502
(emphasis added).'7 That disclosure directly contra-
dicted Nelson’s September 7, 2004 claim that reso-
lution of the DOE review “removeld] any potential
distractions from our management.” KR572. And
the jury could also infer that Flynn’s reports, which
traced the link between the DOE Report and Apollo’s
new compensation plan, informed the market for the
first time that Nelson had hed when he stated that
the new compensation plan was “unrelated” to the
DOK Report and designed simply to make the system
more “transparent.” ER574.

Apollo sought to contradict this evidence of loss
causation, by offering expert testimony that the
decline in the stock price on September 20 and 21
was neither related to petitioners’ fraud nor related
to the publication of Flynn’s reports, but was instead
the result of a “random” decline. ER264-65. Apollo
argued at length that there was “nothing new” in the

'? This reference to increased regulatory msk specific to Apol-
lo also differs fron a news article on September 15 that dis-
cussed “regulatory control” of the education “sector” and risks to

the sector from increased congressional scrutiny. ER598.

30

UBS reports and that their contents had already
been disclosed to investors. See, e.g., Tr. 4007-14.
Having heard this testimony and having weighed its
credibility, the jury found for the investors.

Moreover, the district court’s decision overturning
the jury verdict was erroneous. ‘The court’s most
obvious error was its reliance on Apollo's argument
that “enrollment-counselor turnover actually decreased
after the implementation of the new compensation
plan.” Pet. App. lla. This argument was based on
uncorroborated testimony from Apollo's director of
human resources. See id. (citing Tr. 2408:1-2411:5);
KR217-19. The court was not entitled to credit this
testimony after the jury had rejected it. See Reeves,
530 U.S. at 151 (explaining that a court deciding a
motion for judgment as a matter of law “must dis-
regard all evidence favorable to the moving party
that the jury is not required to believe”). Apollo
conceded before the court of appeals tha! the jury
“mfight] be entitled to disbelieve” this testimony
because it was offered by an adverse party witness.!*
Id. at 143 (jury may conclude that “defendant's
explanation is pretextual’).

The district court also erred when it ruled that the
investors had failed to “link[] this claim to Apollo's
misrepresentations.” Pet. App. lla. As just one
example, Nelson’s September 7 statement which
the jury found to be fraudulent — included statements
that the settlement would not “have a material impact

1S Argument Recording at 19:27-19:32. ‘This witness was
impeached at trial when her testimony that the changes to
Apollo’s compensation plan were unrelated to the DOE Report
was contradicted by an internal email indicating that Apollo's

new compensation plan was designed to avoid “similar findings
in the future” by DOK. ER367; see also ER352.

on [Apollo's] growth . .. or [it]s financial performance”
and that the new compensation scheme was “un-
related” to the dispute with DOE. ER572, ER574.
The jury could infer that the effect of the new
compensation scheme would be material (through its
effects on turnover and recruiters’ incentives), that it
was closely related to Apollo’s dispute with DOK, and
that these facts disclosed on September 20 were
tightly linked to Apollo’s misstatements and omis
sions and petitioners’ failure to disclose the contents
of the DOE Report, its demand for corrective action,
and the material changes to the enrollment counselor
compensation plan resulting from that call for correc-
tive action. The same lnk apphes to flynn’s state-
ment that Apollo’s enrollment targets were becoming
harder to hit, which the jury could infer was a result
of Apollo’s new compensation plan.

Finally, the district court also erred when it rejected
the investors’ argument that Flynn’s reports “tie[d]
future regulatory problems te the DOE report.” Pet.
App. lla. The point of this argument was that Flynn
had diagnosed the problem as being worse than
expected based on previously available information.
See ER502 (“We .. think contents of DOE’s recent
program review may cause more concerns about
|Apollo’s] regulatory risk.”). The jury could reasona
bly infer that Flynn meant (and the market accepted)
that Apollo’s stock price before issuance of the Sep-
tember 20 Flynn reports was still overvalued in light
of this risk. That reasonable inference provided sup-
port for the jury’s conclusion that Flynn’s research
provided new information to the market.

In sum, the court of appeais correctly concluded
that the district court had overstepped its bounds

and usurped the jury's role by overturning its verdict.

That highly fact-specific determination does not war
rant this Court’s review.
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should bi
denied

Respectfully submitted

STEPHEN R. BASSER GERALD J. RODCS

SAMUEL M. WARD Counsel of Record

BARRACK, RODOS & BACINE LEONARD BARRACK

600 West Broadway JEFFREY A. BARRACK

Suite 900 BARRACK, RODOS & BACINE

San Diego, California 9210 3300 Two Commerce Square

(619) 230-0800 2001 Market Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

WILLIAM G. FAIRBOURN (215) 963-0600

FRANCIS J. BALINT, JR (grodos@barrack.com

KATHRYN HONECKER
BONNETT, FAIRBOURN,
FRIEDMAN & BALINT, P.
2901 North Central Avenu:
Suite 1000
Phoenix, Arizona 85
(602) 274-1100 February 4

APPENDIX

la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

Master File No. CV 04-2147-PHX-JAT (Lead)
CV 04-2204-PHX-JAT (Consolidated)
CV 04-2334-PHX-JAT (Consolidated)

CLASS ACTION
IN RE APOLLO GROUP INC. SECURITIES LITIGATION
This Document relates to: All Actions

VERDICT FORM
We, the jury, duly empaneled and sworn in the
above-entitled case. upon our oaths, do hereby find a:

follows:

SECTION 10(b) CLAIM AGAINST APOLLO

1. Did Apollo make an untrue statement of a
material fact or omit a material fact necessary under
the circumstances to keep the statements that were

made from being misleading?

A) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated

February 27, 2004:

Yes: X No:

B) The Analyst Conference on March 12, 2004
Yes: X No:

C) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004:
Yes: X No:

D) The Analyst Conference Call on June 24, 2004

Yes: X No:

KH) The Analyst Conference Call on August 25.

2004:
Yes: X No
I’) The Analy St Conferense e Call on September /

2004
Yes Xx No

If you answered all parts of Question 1 “no,” leave
Questions 2, 3, and 4 blank and proceed to Question

5. If you answered Question 1 “yes” as to any state
ment, answer Question 2 as to that statement. Do
not answer Question 2 for any statement for which

you answered Question 1 “no.”

2. For any statement as to which a “yes” answer
was given 1n Question 1, did Apollo act knowingly or
recklessly with respect to that misrepresentation or
omission?

\) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
February 27, 2004
Yes: X No

The Analyst Conference on March 12, 2004

Yes x No
C) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004
Yes: X No

D) The Analyst Conference Call on June 24, 2004

Yes: X No:
E) The Analyst Conference Call on August 25.
2004:

Yes: X No

The Analyst Conference Call on September 7
2004

Yes: X

If you answered Question 2 “no” as to all state
ments left over from Question 1, leave Question:
3 and 4 blank and proceed to Question 5. If you
answered Question 2 “yes” as to any statement
answer Question 3 as to that statement Do not
answer Question 3 for any statement for which you
answered Question 2 “no

3 ror any statement as to which a “ye answel
was given in Question 2, more specifically, did Apollo
act knowingly with respect to that misrepresentation

)

or omissi10n.

\) The Pre Release of \pe llo Group. [1 dated

)

February 27, 2004

Y ¢ xX No

} he Ana! t Confers \ rcn YT
Ye x O

()) lhe Form 10-Q dated Ap L004
Y« Xx No

1)) The Anal t Conierence Cal le ¢ )
Y Xx J (

I, ) The Analy { Conferen: Call on AU
2004

Ye Xx No

H ) The Analvst Conference Call on Septem be
2ZU04
T7 v7 »
res aA iN@®

Proceed to Que tion 4

1. For any statement as to which a “yes” answer
was given in Question 2, did that misrepresentation
or omission cause the plaintiff to suffer damages?
(By answering this question in the affirmative, you
are finding that Apollo violated the securities laws.)

\) Che Press Release of Apollo Croup, Inc., dated

)

February 27, 2004

Vo x No

13 The Analyst Conference on March 2 2OOA
Ye X No

( Ihe k‘orm 1O-Q d | qd \T ’ } {)A
Y ¢ x No

L)) The Analyst Conference Call on June 1 YPOO4A
Y« 4 p ()

i) Ihe Analyst ¢ nierel ee }
2004
=
Y ¢ .

The Analyst Cont September
2OOA
Ye \y J

Pro Ped fT » Gur ia }

SECTION 10(b) CLAIM AGAINST TODD
NELSON

5. Did Todd Nelson make an untrue statement of a
material fact or omit a matenal fact necessary under
the circumstances to keep the statements that were
made from being misleading?

\) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
February 27, 2004:

Yes: X No:

B) The Analyst Conference on March 12, 2004
Yes: X No:

C) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004:
Yes: X No:

D) The Analyst Conference Call on June 24, 2004:

Yes: X No:

Kk) The Analyst Conference Call on August 25,
2004:
Yes: xX No

I’) The Analyst Conference Call on September 7,
2004
Yes: X No

If you answered all parts of Question 5 “no,” leave
Questions 6, 7, and 8 blank and proceed to Question
9. If you answered Question 5 “yes” as to any state
ment, answer Question 6 as to that statement. Do
not answer Question 6 for any statement for which
you answered Question 5 “no.”

6. For any statement as to which a “yes” answer
was given in Question 5, did Todd Nelson act know
ingly or recklessly with respect to that misrepresen

tation or omission?

A) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
Mebruary 27, 2004
Yes x No
» Analyst Conference on March 12, 2004
A No
The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004
Yes: X No:
The Analyst Conference Call on June 24, 2004
Yes: X No

The Analyst Conference Call on August
2004

Yes pt No:

The Analyst Conference Call on September 7,
2004:

Tou: 3 No:

lf you answered Question 6 “no” as to all state
ments left over from Question 5, leave Question “%

and 8 blank and proceed to Question 9. If you

answered Question 6 “yes” as to any statement,
answer Question 7 as to that statement Do not
answer Question 7 for any statement for which you

answered Question 6 “no.”

7. Kor any statement as to which a “yes” answet
was given in Question 6, more specifically, did Todd
Nelson act knowingly with respect to that misrepre
sentation or omission?

A) The Press Release of \pollo (;roup line a ited

February 27, 2004:

Yes: X No

The Analyst Conferences

Yes: X No

The Form 10-Q dated April

Yes: X No

The Analyst Conference Call on June
Yes: X No

The Analyst Conference
2004:

Yes: X No

The Analyst Conference C:
OO:

Yes xX No

Proceed to Question &

8. kor any statement as to which a “yes” answe)

was given in Question 6, did that misrepresentation

or omission cause the plaintiff to suffer damages?
(By answering this question in the affirmative, you
are finding that. Todd Nelson violated the securiti

laws.)

A) ‘The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
Kebruary 27, 2004

Yes: X No

Yes: X No:

C) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004
Yes: X No:

1D) The Analyst Conference Call on June 24, 2004

Yes: X No

Ki) The Analyst Conference Call on August 25,
2004:
Yes: X No

Ky) The Analyst Conference Call on September 7,
2004:
Yes: X No:

Proceed to Question 9

SECTION 10(b) CLAIM AGAINST KENDA
GONZALES

9. Did Kenda Gonzales make an untrue statement
of a material fact or omit a material fact necessary
under the circumstances to keep the statements that
were made from being misleading?

A) ‘The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
February 27, 2004:
Yes X No:
8) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004
Yes: X No
If you answered all parts of Question 9 “no,” leave
Questions 10, 11, and 12 blank and proceed to Ques

tion 13. If you answered Question 9 “yes” as to any
statement, answer Question LO as to that statement

Qa

<

Do not answer Question 10 for any statement for

which you answered Question 9 “no.”

LO. For any statement as to which a “yes” answer
was given in Question 9, did Kenda Gonzales act

knowingly or recklessly with respect to that misrep

resentation or omission?

A) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
February 27, 2004:
Yes: X No:

B) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004
Yes: X No:

If you answered Question 10 “no” as to all state-
ments left over from Question 9, leave Questions 11
and 12 blank and proceed to Question 13. If you
answered Question 10 “yes” as to any statement,
answer Question Il as to that statement. Do not
answer Question 11 for any statement for which you
answered Question 10 “no.”

11. For any statement as to which a “yes” answer
was given in Question 10, more specifically, did
Kenda Gonzales act knowingly with respect to that
misrepresentation or omission?
A) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
February 27, 2004:
Yes: X No:

Bb) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004
Yes: X No:

)

Proceed to Question 12.

1Qa

12. For any statement as to which a “yes” answer
was given in Question 10, did that misrepresentation
or omission cause the plaintiff to suffer damages?
(By answering this question in the affirmative, you
are finding that Kenda Gonzales violated the securi
ties laws.)

A) The Press Release of Apollo Group, Inc., dated
February 27, 2004:

Yes: X No: _
B) The Form 10-Q dated April 13, 2004:
Yes: X No:

Proceed to Question 13.

SECTION 20(a) CLAIM AGAINST TODD
NELSON

Answer Question 13 only if you answered
Question 4 “yes.” If you answered “no” to
Question 4 or left it blank, leave Questions 13
and 14 blank and proceed to Question 15.

13. Did ‘Todd Nelson possess, directly or indirectly,
the actual power to direct or cause the direction of
the management and policies of Apollo?

Yes: X No:

Proceed to Question 14

—
—
a

14. Did the defendants prove by a preponderance
of the evidence both that Todd Nelson did not direct
ly or indirectly induce Apollo’s violation of the securi-
ties laws and that he acted in good faith as that term
is defined in the jury instructions?

Yes: No: X

Proceed to Question 15.

Answer Question 15 only if you answered
Question 12 “yes.” If you answered “no” to
Question 12 or left it blank, leave Questions 15
and 16 blank and proceed to Question 17.

15. Did Todd Nelson possess, directly or indirectly,
the actual power to direct Kenda Gonzales?
Yes: X No:

Proceed to Question 16

16. Did the defendants prove by a preponderance
of the evidence both that Todd Nelson did not direct-
ly or indirectly induce Kenda Gonzales’s violation of
the securities laws and that he acted in good faith as
that term is defined in the jury instructions?

Yes: No: X

Proceed to Question 17

l2a

Answer Question 17 only if you answered
“ves” to Questions 4, 8, or 12. If you answered
“no” to each of these questions or left them
blank, sign and return the verdict form without
answering any further questions.

17. Specify the total amount of damages per share
that the plaintiff suffered as a result of the misrepre
sentation(s) or omission(s):

$ 5.55 per share

Proceed to Question 18.

l8. What is the percentage of responsibility for the
plaintiff's loss that you assign to each defendant
whom you found in answers to Questions 4, 8, and/or
12 to have violated the securities laws? The total
must add up to 100%. In determining the percentage
of responsibility for each such defendant, you must
consider: (1) the nature of the conduct of each defen
dant found to have caused or contributed to the loss
incurred by the plaintiff; and (2) the nature and
extent of the causal relationship between the conduct
of each defendant and the damages incurred by the
plaintiff.

Percentage

Apollo 60
Todd Nelson 30)
Kenda Gonzales LO

100% Total

Sign and return this form.

9 1/16/08
(Presiding Juror Number) (Date)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2749%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
