# Amicus Curiae Brief — Osage Nation v. Irby

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2645%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1214

## Text

>)
(pf /
LY

No. 10-537

$n the Supreme Court of the United State:

Sis! tA

) S {NEE >
ty 1 T

AN ’ | K MA
> F i «

] FE

QUESTION PRESENTED

1r the Osage Nation retains a reservat
g

~

e County, Oklahoma, such that the State m

. =o ry ] *) 4 . ") moar 2Q -
ssess personal income taxes against Osage

‘ <>
a fee land é na Arn
on ree tand and ¢ /

hanngnars

;

264 U.S. 484 (192

‘7

kKlahoma Tax Comm

508 U.S. 114 (1993

KLONON

~

LALOT? STIOUT ITIVE V. i LILTAUGUSAT

Sth Cir 2010), petitions for cert
129, 10-931 & 10-932 (filed .
1058 (filed Fed. 22, 201]

yvhea rv. State

mut r
ndll {
iT

} Second, 34 Stat

Third, 34 Stat

a a
Lv of na, 34
‘ ¥ Y
June 28, 1901
iA \S4 ’ +
4 a4
| 4 )
rourtn, 34
. ‘ >A '
sf ‘ 17 |
| 7
N ntn-! <
) ‘
$4 at 4

2A \tat {
4 Lal »*s
) 4, 4
j 34 otat Jt

| Vi A lp. 15. 1953, ] , il Des 1 i
ict of Oct. 21, 1978, P L,} 4‘
92 Stat. 1660

eneral Allotment Act .
)klahoma Indian W

U 8.C. 115]

ion and a hall
he Oklahoma Territory as a reservation for the O
ribe of Indians, who had purchase

sale of other tribal lands .
28: see McC

Thy

I that land f llow
June

‘

from leasing surface and mineral rights, plus inter«
from an $8 million trust fund, was nearly $1 milh
lbid

b. In June 1906, Congress passed two laws addres
ng the status of lands in the Oklahoma Territory and af
fecting the Osage Reservation. The first was the Okla
homa Enabling Act, enacted on June 16, 1906, which
described how the Oklahoma Territory and the neigh
boring Indian Territory could “adopt a constitution and
become the State of Oklahoma.” See Act of June 16,
1906, ch. 3335, § 1, 34 Stat. 267. “{NJothing contained in
the said constitution” would “be construed to limit o1
impair the rights of person or property pertaining to the
[ndians of said Territories (so long as such rights shall
remain unextinguished).” /d7d. The state constitutional
convention would specifically include two delegates
elected by “electors residing in the Osage Indian Reser
vation,” including qualified tribal members. § 2, 34 Stat
268. Once a constitution was ratified and the State ad-
mitted to the Union, “the laws in force in the Territory
of Oklahoma, as far as applicable, shall extend over and
apply to said State until changed by the legislature
thereof.” § 13, 34 Stat. 275; see § 21, 34 Stat. 277 (simi
lar provision). The Act further tnstructed that the new
state constitution “shall constitute the Osage Indian
Reservation a separate county, and provide that it shall
remain a separate county until the lands in the Osage
Indian Reservation are allotted in severalty and until
changed by the legislature of Oklahoma.” /did

The second relevant statute, known as the Osag:
Allotment Act, was enacted less than two weeks later
and “provided for an equal division” of the Osage trust
fund and lands among the approximately 2000 tribal!

r

members. McCurdy, 246 U.S. at 265: see Act of June 28

Do. Ch, gois. o&% wtaw wa ' Lt at LOTVE Y, All pre

ind future funds were to be split among the tribal men
bers and held in trust for them by the United State:
4,34 Stat. 544
As to the land, each tribal member was permitted t
elect three allotments of 160 acres each, and would also

receive an equal share of any land left over after all al

lotments had been selected. Osage Allotment Act § 2,
34 Stat. 540. The allottee would designate one of his
three allotments as a “homestead,” which would be “in
shenable and nontaxable until otherwise provided by
Act of Congress.” § 2 Fourth, 34 Stat. 541. The other
two allotments (plus any extra left-over land given to the
tribal member) would be designated “surplus land,” and
would be inalienable for 25 years and nontaxable for
three years, unless the Secretary of the Interior issued
a “certificate of competency” to the allottee, thereby
permitting earher sale and taxation. § 2 Fourth & Sev
enth, 34 Stat. 541, 542. Certain specified tracts were
reserved from allotment, including land “for the use and
benefit of the Osage Indians, exclusively, for dwelling
purposes’ for 25 years; land for a boarding school; land
for federal government buildings; and land including
houses for the Osage chief and the United States inter
preter (which were to be sold to those persons individ
lly). §2 Ninth-Eleventh, 34 Stat. 542-543.

Although the surface rights were allotted, all of th
ubsurface mineral rights were “reserved to the Osage
tribe for a period of 25 years.” Osage Allotment Act § 3,
34 Stat. 543. The mineral royalties were to be “distrib-

ted to the individual members of said Osage tribe,”
except for funds taken off the top to run the boarding

chool “and for other schools on the Osage Indian Reser

tio} Te): perallor f the Indian ageney: and for

lergpency rund 1
to time, upon the requisition of
with the approval of the Secretary

; Ae rr’)
—) “3

, ») a> ,
Second-Fourth, 34 Stat : ine

29 years, “the lands, mineral in
herein provided for and held
States, would become the ‘
individual members.” § 5, 34

ec. Oklahoma became a State in 1907
As required by the Oklahoma Enabling Act, the
constitution provided that the “Osage Indian Reser
tion with its present boundaries is hereby constitut
one county to be know([n] as Osage C
ing Okla. Const. Art. AVII, § 8)
the largest in Oklahoma, encompassin
percent of the State's total land area. /(
land in the county 1s held in fee simple, but certain
ited, scattered parcels’ are held in trust by the Unit
States for the Tribe or are allotments that remain und
alienation restrictions. /d. at 38a. The United Stat

y

also continues to hold the entire mineral estate in tr
pursuant to post-1906 statutes extending tho trust
riod. See, e.g., Act of Mar. 2, 1929, ch. 493, § 1, 45 St
1478; Act of Oct. 21, 1978, Pub. |

Stat. 1660 (extending trust period in perpetuity)

2. a. In in Osage member who works
lribe on trust land, but lives on fee land, within the or

;

inal boundaries of the Osage Reservation protested

State’s taxation of her income. Pet. App. 8a. This C

has held that a tribal member who lives

Indian reservation, or other

in 18 U.S.C. 1151, is immune ft

less Congress expressly provides othery
Tax C

164, 167-173 (1973). The Oklahon
Tax Commission determined, however, that
nember’s home was not. in Indian country. Pet. App. 8:
n the Commission's view, only the trust and restrict
lands within Osage County are Indian country, and
State may therefore tax the income of tribal member
who live or work elsewhere. /d. at 33a

The Commission's ruling prompted petitioner,

sage Nation, to file suit in the District Court for tl
Northern District of Oklahoma against the State, th
Commission, and respondent individual Commissi

embers. Pet. App. 8a-9a. Petitioner sought a declara
tion that (1) the Osage Reservation has not been dises
tablished or diminished, and (2) tribal members living
nd working within the Reservation's original bound
aries are exempt from state income tax. /d. at 8a
also sought an injunction barring the State from collect
ing income taxes from such persons. /bid. On an inter
locutory appeal, the court of appeals held that the Stats
and the Commission enjoyed sovereign immunity, but
permitted the suit to proceed against respondents. /
at. 9a; see Osage Nation v. Oklahoma, 260 Fed. Appx
10th Cir. 2007), cert. denied, 1298S. Ct. 104 (2008)

b. The district court subsequently granted resp
dents’ motion for summary judgment on the merits
Pet. App. 24a-56a. Applying the framework set forth
Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 468, 470-471 (1984), for ana
lyzing whether an Indian reservation has been disestal

ished (2.e., eliminated entirely) or diminished (2.e., r
duced), the court determined that the “language of th

906 Osage Allotment Act and the surrounding histo

‘al circumstances establish Congress’ plain intent

n's reservation.” Pet. Apy

ie transfer of nearly all Osage trit
ds to its members,” Pet. App. 37a; contemplated t
sale of most of the non-allotted, reserved lands
38a; and left the tribal government with “few power
exercise,” 7d. at 40a. Although the Osage Allotment A
d other statutes, referred to the “Osage Indian Re:
ation” as though it remained in existence, the dist

} ] sc - 3 nr . , ‘ »}
irt concluded that these references were empl
]
i

ynly to describe a known geographic area.’

ourt found additional support for its disestablis
conclusion in the Oklahoma Enabling Act and the earl:
Oklahoma Organic Act (Act of May 2, 1890, ch. 1
26 Stat. 81), which in the court’s view had t

plated substantial state jurisdiction over Indian lands
Oklahoma. Pet. App. 40a-44a. Post-1906 congression:
sources further “confirmlied]” to the district court that
the reservation had been disestablished. /d at 44a. F
example, a 1935 Senate Report concerning the Okla
homa Indian Welfare Act, ch. 831, 49 Stat. 1967, st
ed that “all Indian reservations as such have ceased
xist” in Oklahoma. Pet. App. 44a (emphasis omitt
quoting S Rep. No. 1232, 74th Cong., Ist Sess. 6

On the specific issue of Oklahoma's power to tax

neome of tribal members, the district court conclud
that “[whith respect to Osage lands in Osage County, the
Supreme Court long ago recognized the Congressior
intent that such lands be subject to state taxation.” Ps
App. 50a (citing, inter alia, Choteau v. Burnet, 283 U
691, 695 (1931)). The district court additionally
‘luded that petitioner's cla
at 54a-56a
The court of appe

, +)

and theretore per

rce a inoneedt mee! reé Sper

ally address the State's taxation authority or to addres
he district court's laches determination.
The court of appeals stated that it would

lisestablishment question through “the three

t 22a-Z
address the

>-part Ces
summarized in Solem.” Pet. App. 10a. It explained that
he Solem test seeks to determine “Congress's intent a
the time of the relevant statute” by examining “(1) e
plicit statutory language’; “(2) surrounding circums-
tances ; and, toa lesser extent, (3) subsequent events

ponerse congressional action and the demographic his
tory of the opened lands.” /d. at 1]

la (internal quotation
marks and citation omitted).

The court noted, quoting
;olem, that it would be proper to “infer diminishment

* * despite statutory language that would otherwise
uggest unchanged reservation boundaries when events
surrounding passage of the act ‘unequivocally reveal :

videly-held, contemporaneous understanding that thi

iffected reservation would shrink as a result of the pro
posed legislation.’” /bd1d. (brackets omitted) (quoting

165 U.S. at 471). The court of appeals recognized that

there is a presumption in favor of the continued exis
tence ofa sertachicr atl that disestetiiniaad “will n
lightly inferred”; and that “Congress's intent to ter
minate must be clearly expressed.” /d at 10a (citing
Solem, 465 U.S. at 470, 472, and South Dakota \
yn Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329, 343 (1998)).
On the first Solem factor, the court of appeals c
luded that “the operative language of the statute does
not unambiguously suggest diminishment or disestab
lishment of the Osage reservation.” Pet. App. 14a. The
ourt observed that the Osage Allotment Act does n
ain language that this Court in other contexts h

il

weigh In favor ol aisesi ablis }

4
nme

ontain some factors that this Court in other conte
has found to weigh against disestablishment. /d. at 13
ida. For example, the Act did not immediately open
the land to non-Indian settlers, some lands were ri
tained for tribal pupeees, and the mineral estate w
reserved forthe Tribe in trust. /d7d
On the second Solem factor, the court of appeals «
cluded that the “manner in which the Osage Allotment
Act was negotiated reflects clear congressional] intent
and Osage understanding that the reservation would be
disestablished.” Pet. App. oa. The court reasoned that
the Act was passed at a time when the United States
was seeking dissolution of Indian reservations, particu
larly in Oklahoma, and that the Osage were aware of this
pressure and recognized that the allotment process
would result in the loss of tribal land. /d. at 15a-16a; s¢
id. at 17a (“The legislative history and the negotiation
process make clear that all the parties at the table un-
derstood that the Osage reservation would be disestab
lished by the Osage Allotment Act.”). The court als:
examined the views of several historians whose researc!
supported the conclusion that the Osage Reservati
had been disestablished. /d. at 17a-18a. The court
appeals additionally observed that petitioner had pr
sented little, if any, historical evidence to the contrary)
id. at 18a.
As to the third Solem factor—subsequent events

the court of appeals concluded that the “unconteste
facts support disestablishment.” Pet. App. 20a. Th.
court cited annual reports from the Superintendent
the Osage Indian Agency to the Commissioner of Indi
we irs in 1916, 1919, and 1920 indicating that the Sti ite

had primary criminal jurisdiction in the area. /d. a

1

=

) fT’ ‘ ] . $4 ~~ - ;
20a-2la. The court also relie unconteste

lion demographics’ showing a al shift in t

population of Osage County” towards non-Indian res

dency and land ownership “immediately following tt

passage of the Osage Allotment Act.” /d. at 21a-22a
DISCUSSION

This Court's review of this case is not warranted
Neither the legal framework applied by the court of ap-
peals nor the result it reached conflicts with any dec
sion of this Court or another court of appeals. The
unique statutory and historical circumstances of Okla-
homa tribes in general, and the Osage Nation in particu
lar, make this case an especially poor vehicle for ad
dressing issues of reservation disestablishment, which
are inherently statute-specific and fact-bound in any
event. The reservation question, moreover, need not be
addressed in this case because the lower courts reached
the correct conclusion on the ultimate question of
personal-income-tax immunity for Osage members living
on fee land in Osage County. Certiorari should accord-

ingly be denied.

1. Contrary to petitioner's contention (Pet. 12-15
the court of appeals applied the proper analytical frame-
work for determining whether a reservation has been
disestablished or diminished. The court of appeals cor
rectly recognized that “there is a presumption in favor
of the continued existence of a reservation,” which re
guires that any contrary intent of Congress “must be
clearly expressed.” Pet. App. 10a; see, e.g., South Da
kota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329, 343 (1998)
(intent to diminish must be “clear and plain”) (citation
omitted); Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 468, 470 (1984) (in
tent to diminish must be “clearly evince{d]"); DeCotea
v. District County Court, 420 U.S. 425, 444 (1975) (in

| ,
nt to disestablish must

peals also correctly recognized that the inquiry into Con
gress's intent encompasses the relevant statutory lan-
guage; the legislative history and other contemporane-
ous surrounding circumstances; and, as a subsidiary
consideration, subsequent events. Pet. App. 10a-12a;
see, e.g., Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 343-344:
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 411-412 (1994); Solem,
465 U.S. at 470-471. The court of appeals then proceed-
ed to examine those sources: it found no unambiguous
termination language in the Osage Allotment Act or
Oklahoma Enabling Act, Pet. App. 12a-14a; but it found
“clear congressional intent” of disestablishment in the
“manner in which the Osage Allotment Act was negoti-
ated,” id. at 14a-19a; and it determined that subsequent
events further supported a disestablishment conclusion,
id. at 19a-23a. Any criticism of the court of appeals’
opinion would be directed at its circumstances-specific
reasoning, not the legal framework it applied.
Petitioner suggests (Pet. 13-14, 18) that the court of
appeals should have ended its analysis, and entered
judgment in petitioner's favor, once it determined that
the statutory text did not unambiguously support dises-
tablishment. That suggestion is misplaced. The “most
probative evidence” of diminishment or disestablishment
“is, of course, the statutory text,” Yankton Sioux Tribe,
522 U.S. at 344 (citation omitted), and “the statutory
text must establish an express congressional purpose to
diminish” before a court may so find, Hagen, 510 U.S. at
411 (internal quotation marks, brackets, and citation
omitted). But, notwithstanding petitioner's suggestions
to the contrary (Pet. 13-14; Reply Br. 3-4), the Court has
rejected the application of a “clear-statement rule” that
would require Congress to employ “any particular form
of words” to express its purpose. /bid.; compare, e.g

Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 351 (“Even in the al
sence of a clear expression of congressional purpose ir
the text of a surplus land Act, unequivocal evidence de
rived from the surrounding circumstances may support
the conclusion that a reservation has been diminished.”),
with, e.g., Lane v. Pena, 518 U.S. 187, 192 (1996) ("A
waiver of the Federal Government’s sovereign immunity
must be unequivocally expressed in the statutory text.")

Rather, courts should consider, as an aid to inter-
preting ambiguous text, “‘the historica] context sur.
rounding the passage of the surplus land Acts,’ and, to
a lesser extent, the subsequent treatment of the area in
question and the pattern of settlement there.” Yankton
Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 344 (quoting Hagen, 510 US. at
411). In particular, as the court of appeals observed
(Pet. App. 10a), this Court has explained that “[w]hen
events surrounding the passage of a surplus land Act-
particularly the manner in which the transaction was
negotiated with the tribes involved and the tenor of leg-
islative Reports presented to Congress—unequivocally
reveal a widely held, contemporaneous understanding
that the affected reservation would shrink as a result of
the proposed legislation, we have been willing to infer
that Congress shared the understanding that its action
would diminish the reservation, notwithstanding the
presence of statutory language that would otherwise
suggest reservation boundaries remained unchanged.”
Solem, 465 U.S. at 471; see zd. at 469 n.10 (discussing
Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 430 U.S. 584 (1977))

2. Petitioner asserts (Pet. 7-12; Reply Br. 3-'
that the lower courts are in conflict in reservation
disestablishment cases as to “whether, under a congres
sional clear statement rule, external indicia” of the sort
considered by the court of appeals here “can predomi

nate over statutory text and history.” Reply Br. 4 (en
phasis omitted). That assertion is mistaken.

As a threshold matter, petitioner’s characterization
of the asserted conflict misdescribes both the governing
standard and the manner in which the court of appeals
here applied it. First, as just discussed, although Con-
gress’s “intent” to modify reservation boundaries “must
be ‘clear and plain,’” Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at
343 (citation omitted), the Court has declined to employ
the sort of textual “clear statement rule” that petitioner
posits. See pp. 10-11, supra. Second, petitioner’s sug-
gestion that the court of appeals in this case permitted
“external indicia” to “predominate over statutory text
and history” is inaccurate. Although the court of ap-
peals’ analysis is relatively brief, it describes a method-
ology in which contemporaneous surrounding circum-
stances, including statutory history, are employed to
interpret otherwise ambiguous text. The court noted
that certain textual factors might “weigh{]} in favor of
continued reservation status,” but it found the text over-
all to be ambiguous. See Pet. App. 13a-14a; id. at 14a
(“[T]he operative language of the statute does not unam-
biguously suggest diminishment or disestablishment.”).
Observing that “(iJf the statute is ambiguous, we turn to
the circumstances surrounding the passage of the act,”
ibid., the court proceeded to conclude that the “manner
in which the Osage Allotment Act was negotiated re-
flects clear congressional intent and Osage understand-
ing that the reservation would be disestablished,” zd. at
15a; see id. at 15a-16a.

In any event, petitioner errs in contending (Reply
Br. 5) that “the law of the Second, Eighth, and Ninth
Circuits and Wyoming Supreme Court” would reject the
court of appeals’ analytical framework in this case. Any

13

differences in the reasoning and results of the cases pe
titioner cites do not demonstrate a fundamental method-
ological conflict, but instead reflect the unique statutes
and different factual records before each court.

The “effect of any given surplus land Act depends on
the language of the Act and the circumstances underly-
ing its passage.” Hagen, 510 U.S. at 410 (quoting Solem,
465 U.S. at 469). As in this case, each of the aforemen-
tioned courts in the cases cited by petitioner looked first
to the statutory language, and then to the surrounding
circumstances, in an effort to discern congressional in-
tent. See Yankton Sioux Tribe v. Podhradsky, 606 F.3d
994, 1004-1006 (8th Cir. 2010), petitions for cert. pend-
ing, Nos. 10-929, 10-931 & 10-932 (filed Jan. 18, 2011),
No. 10-1058 (filed Feb. 22, 2011); Oneida Indian Nation
v. City of Sherrill, 337 F.3d 139, 161-165 (2d Cir. 2003),
rev'd on other grounds, 544 U.S. 197 (2005); United
States v. Webb, 219 F.3d 1127, 1134-1139 (9th Cir. 2000),
cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1200 (2001); Yellowbear v. State,
174 P.3d 1270, 1282-1284 (Wyo. 2008). None of these
cases held, as petitioner would have it, that surrounding
circumstances are invariably irrelevant in the absence of
a clear textual statement. Rather, the result in each
case depended upon an examination of the specific sur-
rounding circumstances at issue. See Podhradsky,
606 F.3d at 1005 (concluding that “exhaustive analysis of
the historical materials surrounding the Tribe's agree-
ment with the federal government and the 1894 ratifica
tion of that agreement, as well as the subsequent his-
tory,” supported continuation of reservation); Onerda
Indian Nation, 337 F.3d at 162 & n.20 (concluding that
“certain legislative and administrative documents,”
which “indicate[d] little if anything about Congress’s
intent in 1838” at the time of the relevant treaty, and

were unpersuasive for other reasons, did not “‘unequivo
cally reveal’ the intention necessary to demonstrate dis
establishment”); Webb, 219 F.3d at 1135-1136 (conclud
ing that “[aJs to the circumstances surrounding the 1893
Agreement, a review of the pertinent evidence discloses
nothing to impeach the district court’s findings” favoring
continuation of the reservation); Yellowbear, 174 P.3d at
1282-1283 (concluding that examination “in great detail”
of the “events and circumstances pertaining to” the rele
vant Act supported diminishment).

It is to be expected that courts examining different
statutes and different surrounding circumstances would
sometimes find “unequivocal” evidence of disestablish-
ment or diminishment, Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at
351, and sometimes would not. See Solem, 465 U.S. at
469 (“[[}t is settled law that some surplus land Acts di-
minished reservations and other surplus land Acts did
not.”) (citations omitted). The Court’s precedents “have
established a fairly clean analytical structure” for dises
tablishment and diminishment cases, Hagen, 510 U.S. at
410-411 (citation omitted), but the application of that
analytical structure is by necessity heavily dependent on
the circumstances of “he particular reservation, and
there is a wide variety of potential factual scenarios
Case-specific application of settled legal standards, fo
cusing on distinct statutory provisions and historica!
circumstances, does not merit this Court’s review, see
Sup. Ct. R. 10, and granting certiorari in a case like this
would be unlikely to provide any useful guidance for
future disestablishment or diminishment cases.

Petitioner relies (e.g, Reply Br. 1) on the grant of
certiorari in Madison County v. Oneida Indian Nation,
131 S. Ct. 704 (2011) (per curiam), for the proposition
that the Court has recognized a need to provide further

, ’ » ’
, " try )
7 4 ‘ :
" tr | ’ } I
‘+ }
n ’vy Y '

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2645%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
