# Amicus Curiae Brief — Shell Oil Co. v. Hebble

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2466%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1124

## Text

AG (9) | Supreme Co.'h. US

\ f FILED
NOV_1 2 20)0

IN THE | oF rice On PE CLERK |

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 10-349

SHELL OIL COMPANY, and SWEPI LP
(As Successor-in-Interest to SHELL
WESTERN E & P, INC.),
Petitioners,
Ve

NANCY FULLER HEBBLE, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Court of Civil Appeals
for the State of Oklahoma

BRIEF OF PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY
COUNCIL, INC. AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Of Counsel: TERRI S. REISKIN
Counsel of Record
WALLACE KING DOMIKE
& REISKIN, PLLC
2900 K Street, NW
Suite 500
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 204-1000
treiskin@wallaceking.com

HUGH F. YOUNG, JR.
PRODUCT LIABILITY

ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC.
1850 Centennial Park Drive
Reston, Virginia 20191
(703) 264-5300

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

November 12, 2010

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
DER aks OF AUT TICE E LEIS oiccescsssccssersrecevesavszesse ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE............ ]
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..............0.......000 3
I aires kira hansacivecnckabixaksataesdiecsnsidsansdexess 5

I. IN THE WAKE OF STATE FARM,
PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARDS CON-
TINUE TO BE UNPREDICTABLE AND
ARBITRARY IN VIOLATION OF DUE
PN irc der atncaiearitaparhatiidssadaveababexeweays

A. In Small Compensatory Damages
Cases, Reprehensibility is Used as
the Rationale for Grossly Excessive
PSUR CIE ie cecacsctvicasserevsatincaseece 8

B. The Use of Potential Harm in Place
of Actual Damages’ Encourages
Speculation and Subverts the Role of
EO” EEL a et RAR eT ee a 12

C. Courts Improperly Exceed the 1:1
Ratio Even when Compensatory
Damages are Substantial.................... 14

|

D. Geographic and Jurisdictional Varia-
bility in Application of the Ratio
Guidepost Adversely Affects the
COUREIEY OF PUBCIOS, .......cccccsescrcossccssesecess 16

Il. THE PROBLEM OF UNPREDICTABLE
APPLICATION OF THE GUIDEPOSTS
IS COMPOUNDED BY INCONSIS-
TENT DEFINITIONS OF “COMPEN-
SATORY” DAMAGEG...........cccssesssseeseeeesees 19

(i)

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page
Ill. PRODUCT MANUFACTURERS ARE
ADVERSELY AFFECTED BY UNPRE-
DICTABLE AND ARBITRARY PUNI-
TIVE DAMAGES AWARDS ....................- 20
IIIT ip cesiscccnlaccatsscusdisachitelasiwbindcanatesnees 24

APPENDIX A: Corporate Members of the
Product Liability Advisory Counci!, Inc. as of
IIE << 1.2 ccs saver canes cavacesantsans masexeuvesisenveneie la

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Austin v. Stokes-Craven Holding Corp.,
691 8.E.3d 135 (S.C. 2010) ........cerccecoerseces 10
Bains LLC v. Arco Products Co., 405 F.3d
Te Tee Ge, Sains 16
Bennett v. Reynolds, 315 S.W.3d 867 (Tex.
SD sn angiskixnniendiceceneniuhd aca aa 12
BMW N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559
GD iessacnsnnsnonvatsinseanarmisscnteacsoraaeee passim
Bronakowski v. Lindhurst, _S.W.3d
___, 2009 Ark. App. 513 (2009)............... 6
Campbell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins.
Co, 98 P.3d 409 (Utah 2004)..........0..00000... 14

Craig Outdoor Adver., Inc. v. Viacom
Outdoor, Inc., 528 F.3d 1001 (8th Cir.

FI initinprestiecressssiesncaaccnaeneen ee 14
Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, 128 S. Ct.

Be SI ciishttsttisarsisninanaiinaeann 5
Flax v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 272 S.W.3d

By CU IED vickscsccncencresentansaceanenal 7,15, 18
Gober v. Ralphs Grocery Co., 137 Cal. App.

GA BP CD cntaddcntncdesincnssetecseecsieetaae 15,17
Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident

Ins. Co., 373 F.3d 998 (9th Cir. 2004)...... 7,17
Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415

CR cventoossenisestacscaniscseciaasaa eee 24
Kemp v. Am. Tel. & Tel. Co., 393 F.3d 1354

(11th Cir. 2004) ...ccccccccccscscesessesceesssseeeeee on 6, 10
Krysa v. Payne, 176 S.W.3d 150 (Mo. App.

ee ORT TO ene 88) 6, 10
Mathias v. Accor Economy Lodging, Inc.,

347 F.3d 672 (7th Cir. 2003).............:eeee 6, 11

Modern Management Co. v. Wilson, 997
PB SF CAs Dr easiscrsiectittisgssadnecoaan 20

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499
Nee cre ssckdrasepaseressncgeissnsesensess 15
Roby v. McKesson Corp., 101 Cal. Rptr. 3d
eg A TS) |) 20
Selizer v. Morton, 154 P.3d 561 (Mont.
ears iastsnccacsnsenesessscessoessesceses 14,17
State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. ov.
Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2008)................. passim

Superior Fed. Bank v. Jones & Mackey
Const. Co., LLC, 219 S.W.3d 643 (Ark.
IED is ccosscsusssesesccncesscssscsveccssccesees 11

Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church and
School-Freistadt v. Tower Ins. Co., 661

N.W.2d 789 (Wis. 2003) ..................44. 8,9, 11,13
TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources

Corp., 509 U.S. 443 (1993)................ccceee 12
Vasquez-Lopez v. Beneficial Oregon, Inc.,

152 P.3d 940 (Or. Ct. App. 2007) ........... 13
Williams v. Conagra Poultry Co., 378 F.3d

EE TEE, UIE) ccccsssecssscsssesveccssecsvcccceees 6
Willow Inn, Inc. v. Public Service Mut. Ins.

Co., 399 F.3d 224 (3d Cir. 2005)............... 20
Zhang v. Am. Gem Seafoods, Inc., 339 F.3d

1020 (9th Cir. 2003)...........cccccccssescccssssceees 15, 17

MISCELLANEOUS

Alison F. Del Rossi and W. Kip Viscusi,
The Changing Landscape of Blockbuster
Punitive Damages Awards, 12 Am. L. &
Econ. Rev. 116 (2010) ...............cceeeeeeeeeeees 16, 22
Royal Furgeson, Civil Jury Trials R.J.P.?
Can it Actually Happen in America?, 40
St. Mary’s L.J. 795 (2009)............... eee 23

Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.—Continued

Marc Galanter, The Hundred-Year Decline
of Trials and the Thirty Years War, 57
Stan. L. Rev. 1255 (20085) ................:0sse00

Richard L. Manning, Changing Rules in
Tort Law and the Market for Childhood
Vaccines, 37 J.L. & Econ, 247 (1994).......

David G. Owen, Problems in Assessing
Punitive Damages Against Manufac-
turers of Defective Products, 49 U. Chi.
Has BGs: Ie CUE ncadschicconanedccascamasenseubaniniacues

Hon. Sam Sparks and George Butts,
Disappearing Juries and Jury Verdicts,
39 Tex. Tech L. Rev. 289 (2007)...............

U.S. GEN. ACCOUNTING OFFICE, GAO/
AIMD-95, MEDICAL LIABILITY: IM-
PACT ON HOSPITAL AND PHYSI-
CIAN COSTS EXTENDS BEYOND
INSURANCE 16 (1995) ......... cc ccceeeeeeeees

W. Kip Viscusi, Corporate Risk Analysis: A
Reckless Act?, 52 Stan. L. Rev. 547
CRIN coiarscskceetasnoexiatccucdchiseckeiatermaciseatanaaes

Page

23

22

21

23

22

21

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 10-349

SHELL OIL COMPANY, and SWEPI LP
(As Successor-in-Interest to SHELL
WESTERN E & P, INC.),
Petitioners.
V.

NANCY FULLER HEBBLE, et al.,

>

Respondents

On Petition for Writ of Certiora2ri to the
Court of Civil Appeals
for the State of Oklahoma

BRIEF OF PRODUCT LIABILITY ADVISORY
COUNCIL, INC. AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE '

The Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc
(PLAC) is a non-profit association with 100 corporate
members representing a broad cross-section of
American and international product manufacturers.

' Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amicus states that no counsel for a
party has authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person
or entity other than amicus, its members and their counse! has
made a monetary contribution to fund the preparation or
submission of this brief. Pursuant to Rule 37.2(a), al) parties
received timely notice and have consented to the filing of this

brief

y 2

a

These companies seek to contribute to the improve-
ment and reform of law in the United States and
elsewhere, with emphasis on the law governing the
liability of manufacturers of products. PLAC’s
perspective is derived from the experiences of a
corporate membership that spans a diverse group of
industries in various facets of the manufacturing
sector. In addition, several hundred of the leading
product liability defense attorneys in the country are
sustaining (non-voting) members of PLAC. — Since
1983, PLAC has filed over 900 briefs as amicus curiae
in both state and federal courts, including this Court,
presenting the broad perspective of product manufac-
turers seeking fairness and balance in the application
and development of the law as it affects product
liability. A list of PLAC’s corporate members is
attached as Appendix A.

PLAC is particularly interested in the issues raised
by this case, because product manufacturers are
disproportionately affected by punitive damages
awards. The due process protections afforded by the
United States Constitution are essential to ensure
that punitive damages awards are rendered in a
manner that is scrupulously fair to the defendant.
State and federal courts have interpreted the puni-
tive damages guideposts set out by this Court in a
wildly inconsistent fashion. Whether this is the
result of confusion or a willful attempt to circumvent
the Court’s dictates, product manufacturers and
others are routinely subject to arbitrary and grossly
excessive punitive damages awards. PLAC believes
its viewpoint will assist in the Court in achieving a
better understanding of the nature of the problem
and the reasons why it is critical for the Court to
provide additional clarification regarding the rela-
tionship among the guideposts and the proper appli-

3

cation of the ratios between compensatory and puni-
tive damages.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In the more than seven years since this Court
decided State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Campbell,
538 U.S. 408 (2003), the punitive damages guideposts
and the ratios between compensatory and punitive
damages set out by the Court have proven to be of
little use in ensuring a system of justice in which
defendants can be reasonably apprised of the penal-
ties they may face. The relationship among the
guideposts is unclear, allowing courts to use the
reprehensibility guidepost to trump the others.
Courts are also confused about application of the
ratios, and have defaulted to the position that a 9:1
or lower ratio will always pass muster, despite this
Court’s holding that in cases with substantial
compensatory damages, a ratio of 1:1, and in almost
all other cases, a ratio of 4:1, approaches the outer
limits of due process.

Since State Farm, courts have applied ratios from
1:1 to 2172:1, and all levels in between. In some
courts, the perceived reprehensibility of the conduct
is used to justify extremely high ratios. In others, the
“potential harm”—often loosely defined—is substi-
tuted for the jury’s actual damages award, so as to
transform a very large ratio into a much smaller one.
Courts routinely exceed a 1:1 ratio between compen-
satory and punitive damages, although the compen-
satory award is unquestionably substantial. Even
more troubling is the fact that courts in different
Circuits have interpreted State Farm in different
ways. In short, the outer limits of due process differ
greatly depending on the fortuity of where and in
what court a case happens to be decided. This is

4

inconsistent with our constitutional guarantees,
which should be applied similarly regardless of what
court is meting out justice.

Even when ratios are applied in a manner gener-
ally consistent with State Farm’s ruling, courts have
applied different approaches to determining the
components of “compensatory” damages. In this case,
the court included pre-judgment interest at a punitive
rate, while other courts have included various other
components, including attorneys’ fees and lost profits.
A ratio whose numerator and denominator cannot be
readily and consistently determined is of little use to
courts attempting to ensure that punitive damage
awards comport with due process, or to defendants
assessing potential liability should they go to trial.
The problem of inconsistent application of the State
Farm ratios, while significant in itself, is magnified
when the ratio itself is malleable depending on what
a court includes as compensatory.

These problems are perhaps more keenly felt by
product manufacturers than by other litigants,
because of the fact that product liability cases more
often involve physical injuries or deaths. Aside from
the obvious emotional component of these cases,
which can result in higher jury verdicts, they often
lead to punitive damages awards. The inability of
manufacturers and sellers to assess their level of risk
results in forced settlements, higher prices, less
innovation and a marketplace where some products
are simply not economical to design and sell because
of the risk of unfettered and unpredictable liability.

The Court should grant certiorari in this case to
clarify the application of the ratios set forth in State
Farm and the relationship among the guideposts, and
to make clear that compensatory damages do not

5

include pre-judgment interest and other “add-ons”, so
that due process guarantees are applied similarly
regardless of the court or jurisdiction in which a
defendant may find itself.

ARGUMENT

Despite this Court’s efforts to lend consistency to
the process by which punitive damages are awarded
and reviewed, defendants in state and federal courts
continue to experience wide variations in how the
guideposts and ratios are applied. The “stark unpre-
dictability”’ of punitive awards violates due process
because defendants are deprived of “fair notice . . . of
the severity of the penalty that a State may impose.”
BMW N. Am.., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 574 (1996).
The decision of the Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals
is only one of many state and federal cases in which
the guideposts have been twisted beyond recognition.
Review is necessary in order to clarify the
relationship among the guideposts and the proper
application of the ratios between compensatory and
punitive damages.

I. IN THE WAKE OF STATE FARM, PUNI-
TIVE DAMAGES AWARDS CONTINUE TO
BE UNPREDICTABLE AND ARBITRARY
IN VIOLATION OF DUE PROCESS

In State Farm, this Court elaborated on the guide-
posts set forth in Gore in an effort to prevent
arbitrary and constitutionally excessive punitive
damages awards. While declining to provide “rigid
benchmarks”, 538 U.S. at 425, the Court made clear
that all three guideposts should be considered, and
gave guidance as to the ratios to be used in evaluat-

* Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, 128 S. Ct. 2605, 2625 (2008).

6

ing punitive damages awards. Specifically, the Court
explained that “few awards exceeding a single-digit
ratio between punitive and compensatory damages,
to a significant degree, will satisfy due process” and
that “an award of more than four times the amount of
compensatory damages might be close to the line of
constitutional impropriety.”. Jd. The Court further
held that, “When compensatory damages are
substantial, then a lesser ratio, perhaps only equal to
compensatory damages, can reach the outermost
limit of the due process guarantee.” Jd. The $1
million awarded to the plaintiffs in State Farm was
recognized to be “substantial”, and, accordingly, the
Court held that it “likely would justify a punitive
damages award at or near the amount of compensa-
tory damages.” Id. at 429.

Despite the Gore and State Farm framework,
courts continue to reach results that are flatly incon-
sistent with it and wildly divergent. Ratios from 1:1
all the way to 2174:1 have been approved as purpor-
tedly consistent with due process constraints. See,
e.g., Williams v. Conagra Poultry Co., 378 F.3d
790 (8th Cir. 2004) (1:1 ratio applied in Title VII
employment discrimination case); Kemp v. Am. Tel. &
Tel. Co., 393 F.3d 1354 (11th Cir. 2004) (2174:1 ratio
in RICO case involving gambling charges included in
long distance bills). Despite State Farm’s direction
that “few awards exceeding a single-digit ratio. . .
will satisfy due process,” 538 U.S. at 425, numerous
courts have found reasons to exceed single digits,
often by a large margin. See, e.g., Mathias v. Accor
Economy Lodging, Inc., 347 F.3d 672 (7th Cir. 2003)
(37:1 ratio in bedbug infestation case); Arysa_ uv.
Payne, 176 S.W.3d 150 (Mo. App. 2005) (27:1 ratio in
fraud case involving vehicle sale); Bronakowski uv.
Lindhurst, _S.W.3d__, 2009 Ark. App. 513 (2009)

7

(42:1 ratio in case involving trees cleared from plain-
tiffs’ property without permission resulting in
economic harm of $592.85).

Courts seem most inclined to permit hugely
lopsided ratios when the amount of compensatory
‘ damages is small, using as justification such factors
as perceived reprehensibility or potential damages.
Indeed, although it is to some extent a subjective
indicator, a high degree of reprehensibility is
routinely cited in support of grossly excessive puni-
tive damages awards. In such cases, the reprehensi-
bility guidepost effectively becomes the only guide-
post. Other courts have applied ratios exceeding 1:1
even where compensatory damages are unquestiona-
bly substantial. See, e.g., Hangarter v. Provident Life
& Accident Ins. Co., 373 F.3d 998 (9th Cir. 2004) (in
case involving denial of disability benefits where
compensatory damages were over $1.9 million, court
approved punitive damages of $5 million, a ratio of
2.6:1); Flax v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 272 S.W.3d 521
(Tenn. 2008) (ratio of 5.35:1 approved in automobile
defect case involving death of child where compensa-
tory damages were $2.5 million).

If this Court had “concerns over the imprecise
manner in which punitive damages systems are
administered”’ when State Farm was decided in
2003, the way in which its holdings have been
applied by lower courts since that time should give
rise to nothing short of extreme consternation, if not
outright alarm.

% State Farm, 538 U.S. at 417.

8

A. In Small Compensatory Damages Cases,
Reprehensibility is Used as the Ration-
ale for Grossly Excessive Punitive
Damages

Many of the highest ratios are applied in cases
where compensatory damages are small. Courts in
this situation seem to struggle with how to justify
large punitive damages awards, often citing the
reprehensibility of the conduct. This scenario was
contemplated in State Farm, 538 U.S. at 425 (“ratios
greater than those we have previously upheld may
comport with due process where ‘a particularly egre-
gious act has resulted in only a small amount of
economic damages”) (quoting Gore, 517 U.S. at 582).
But permitting unfettered discretion in such circums-
tances to use any ratio imaginable belies the notion
that there are any “outermost limits” to the due
process guarantee. Moreover, permitting the repre-
hensibility guidepost to trump the ratio guidepost
means that, for many courts, the analysis is over once
reprehensibility is determined. In this way, a subjec-
tive determination of reprehensibility is used to obli-
terate due process guarantees.

A case in point is Trinity Evangelical Lutheran
Church and School-Freistadt v. Tower Ins. Co., 661
N.W.2d 789 (Wis. 2003). The Trinity case arose out
of an insurance policy that erroneously omitted
certain coverage due to the agent’s mistake in writing
the application. The error was discovered after an
accident resulted in litigation against the insured
church, but the insurer declined to reform the policy.
The trial judge granted summary judgment to
the policyholder on the bad faith claim, awarding
$17,500 in compensatory damages, and a jury
returned a punitive damages award of $3.5 million—

9

a ratio of more than 200:1. Notwithstanding this
ratio, the court affirmed the award, citing the
insurance company’s reprehensible conduct, inclu-
ding its status as a “recidivist” because it was the
defendant in a case more than 30 years earlier in
which the court held that an insurer has a duty to
reform an insurance policy upon discovery of a
mutual mistake. Jd. at 801. The court never even
mentioned the 200:1 ratio between actual and
punitive damages, but, instead, recast the ratio as 7:1
on the basis of plaintiffs evidence that its potential
exposure in the underlying litigation was $490,000.
Id. at 803°

As a dissenting judge noted, the comparison between
the facts of Trinity and the State Farm case is
striking, yet in State Farm, this Court compared the
actual compensatory damages in the bad faith claim
(not the potential verdict in the underlying action)
with the punitive damages award and found the ratio
of 145:1 unconstitutional. Jd. at 811 (Sykes, J., dissent-
ing). The judge continued, “The majority’s position
[using the $490,000 potential award as the denomi-
nator]... amounts to nothing more than a manipula-
tion of the ratio for purposes of due process scrutiny.”
Id. The dissent also exposed the absurdity of the
majority’s reprehensibility analysis, noting that: this
was a case that arose from a mistake; it involved
economic injury only; Trinity was never at risk in the
underlying action; no one’s health or safety was at
risk; there was no financial vulnerability; and the 30-

* A dissenting judge made clear that Trinity would never
have been exposed to liability in the auto accident case, because
even if Tower did not provide coverage under its policy, the
insurance agent’s errors and omission policy would provide
coverage. Id. at 810-11 (Sykes, J., dissenting).

10
year old contract case in no way supported a
“recidivist” label. Id. at 810.

Similarly, Shell’s conduct in this case resulted in
only economic injuries, posed no risk to anyone’s
health or safety, did not involve repeated similar
instances, and was not directed at a financially vul-
nerable plaintiff. Yet the court found Shell’s conduct
to be so reprehensible as to support a ratio as high as
87:1, depending on how “compensatory” damages are
counted.° Thus, even though the Court has laid out
the elements of reprehensibility with relative clarity,
the interpretation is subjective and leads to dissimi-
lar outcomes for similar conduct. Compare Krysa v.
Payne, 176 S.W.3d 150 (Mo. App. 2005) (27:1 ratio in
case involving fraud and breach of warranty where
vehicle was sold without disclosure that it was
actually two damaged vehicles welded together) with
Austin v. Stokes-Craven Holding Corp., 691 S.E.2d
135 (S.C. 2010) (8:1 ratio in fraud case involving sale
of automobile without disclosure of prior accident).

Other courts have allowed perceived reprehensi-
bility to run roughshod over the other guideposts.
See, e.g., Kemp, 393 F.3d at 1363 (affirming 2174:1
ratio in case where defendant’s inclusion of charges
for telephone gambling game in long-distance charges
was characterized as “large-scale corporate malfeas-
ance”). In cases where there is a confluence of bad
conduct, an unsympathetic (or simply large corpo-
rate) defendant and an innocent victim, disproportio-
nate punitive damages awards are allowed to stand

®* When the same case can be characterized as involving
multiple ratios depending on what is counted as “compensatory”,
it is apparent that the State Farm ratios are toothless as a means
to combat grossly excessive punitive damages awards.

ll

because “a particularly egregious act has resulted in
only a small amount of economic damages.” Gore,
517 U.S. at 582. As one of the dissenters in Trinity
observed, “The plaintiff was a church, the defendant
was an insurance company, and the judge was mak-
ing official pronouncements about the defendant’s
bad faith. Is there any wonder that the jury awarded
$3,500,000 in punitive damages?” 661 N.W.2d. at 806
(Prosser, J., dissenting). See also Mathias, 347 F.3d
at 677 ($5000 compensatory damages and $186,000
in punitive damages, a 37:1 ratio, affirmed in bedbug
case where the defendant’s conduct was judged
“outrageous”); Superior Fed. Bank v. Jones & Mackey
Const. Co., LLC, 219 S.W.3d 643 (Ark. Ct. App. 2005)
(17.6 to 1 ratio is not constitutionally excessive or
“breathtaking” due to substantial degree of
reprehensibility).°

As the Texas Supreme Court stated in reversing an
award of $1.25 million in punitive damages in a case
involving actual damages of $5327.11 as a result of
the conversion of 13 head of cattle:

If courts fail to diligently police the “particularly
egregious” exception, they insulate from due-
process review precisely those cases where judi-
cial review matters most: those involving
unsympathetic defendants where juries are most
likely to grant arbitrary and excessive awards.
Allowing a freewheeling reprehensibility excep-
tion would subvert the constraining power of the
ratio guidepost.

® The court stated, “Our research indicates that this factor
{the ratio] seems to engender great confusion and controversy in
comparison with the other factors. We believe this is due in no
small part to the U.S. Supreme Court’s rather conflicting state-
ments on the matter.” Superior Fed., 219 S.W.3d at 651.

12
Bennett v. Reynolds, 315 S.W.3d 867, 879 (Tex. 2010)
(emphasis added; footnote omitted). Yet this is
exactly what is happening in courts across the
country.

B. The Use of Potential Harm in Place of
Actual Damages Encourages Specula-
tion and Subverts the Role of the Jury

Courts have also permitted ratios greatly in excess
of 4:1, or even single digits, in cases where the poten-
tial harm, rather than actual harm, is judged to be
the appropriate denominator. In TXO Prod. Corp. v.
Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. 443 (1993), a
plurality of the Court said, “It is appropriate to
consider the magnitude of the potential harm that
the defendant’s conduct would have caused to its
intended victim if the wrongful plan had succeeded,
as well as the possible harm to other victims that
might have resulted if similar future behavior were
not deterred.” Jd. at 460. The plurality affirmed a
$10 million punitive damages award with a ratio of
526:1, citing potential harm and reprehensibility of
the conduct. Writing separately, Justice O’Connor
took issue with the plurality’s approach, stating, “I
believe it likely, if not inescapable, that the jury was
influenced unduly by TXO’s out-of-state status and
its large resources.” Jd. at 495.’

’ Justice O’Connor was also critical of the state appellate
court’s application of “cavalier standards in the course of a
cursory examination of the case.” Jd. at 496. The same could be
said of the Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals in this case, whose
two-paragraph treatment of the punitive damages award is
unquestionably “cursory” and arguably “cavalier”.

13

The outcome in 7'‘XO would seem to be in question
in light of the Court’s more recent punitive damages
jurisprudence. But the use of often speculative
assessments of “potential harm” in order to justify
ratios that are in evident conflict with the guideposts
continues to be a problem. For example, in Vasquez-
Lopez v. Beneficial Oregon, Inc., 152 P.3d 940 (Or. Ct.
App. 2007), which involved a predatory lending
claim, the appellate court reinstated the jury’s origi-
nal $500,000 punitive damages award, recharacte-
rizing what had been a 7.5:1 ratio as a 1.53:1 ratio.
In lieu of the actual compensatory award of just
under $32,000, the appellate court estimated the
potential harm of the defendant’s conduct as the
interest that would have been paid over the life of the
loan, which came to over $326,000. Jd. at 958; see
also Trinity, 661 N.W.2d at 803 (200:1 ratio
converted to 7:1 by insertion of $490,000 in potential
harm in place of actual $17,500 compensatory
award).

Not only are assessments of potential harm often
speculative, but use of potential harm, rather than
actual damages, subverts the role of the jury. “The
jury system long has been a guarantor of fairness, a
bulwark against tyranny, and a source of civic
values.” TXO, 509 U.S. at 473 (O’Connor, J.). The
willingness of some courts to ignore the compensa
tory damages as found by the jury constitutes patent
manipulation in order to justify the punitive damages
award. See Trinity, 661 N.W.2d at 811 (Sykes, J.,
dissenting). Ironically, the inviolability of the jury’s
determination of the appropriate amount of punitive
damages necessary to punish and achieve retribution
is cited by the very courts that so eagerly push aside
the jury’s compensatory damages decision. While
there may be a rare case in which consideration of

14

potential harm is justified, in most cases deference
should be given to the jury’s decision on compensa-
tory damages.”

‘

*» Courts Improperly Exceed the 1:1
Ratio Even When Compensatory Dam-
ages Are Substantial
Many state and federal courts nave departed

considerably from a 1:1 ratio even in cases where

compensatory damages are substantial. Perhaps the
most egregious example is the decision of the Utah

Supreme Court on remand in Campbell v. State Farm

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 98 P.3d 409 (Utah 2004), where

the court reduced the punitive damages award to a

ratio of 9:1, despite the fact that the compensatory

award of over $1 million was unquestionably sub-
stantial.’ Notwithstanding this Court’s instruction
that, in such cases, “a lesser ratio, perhaps only equal
to compensatory damages, can reach the outermost

limit of the due process guarantee,” State Farm, 538

U.S. at 425, the Utah court considered the 9:1 ratio

justified in light of State Farm’s highly reprehensible

conduct.

Similar results have obtained in other cases. See,
e.g., Seltzer v. Morton, 154 P.3d 561 (Mont. 2007) (9:1
ratio affirmed in case involving $1.4 million in
compensatory damages for malicious prosecution and
abuse of process arising out of art authenticator’s
opinion); Craig Outdoor Adver., Inc. v. Viacom
Outdoor, Inc., 528 F.3d 1001 (8th Cir. 2008) (8.36:1

* The exception would be a case such as this one where the
jury was directed to include pre-judgment interest in its
“compensatory” award.

* The definition of “substantial” is, of course, subject to inter
pretation, lending additional uncertainty to the proper appli

cation of the ratio

15

ratio in commercial fraud case with $125,000 in
compensatory damages); Zhang v. Am. Gem Seafoods,
Inc., 339 F.3d 1020 (9th Cir. 2003) (7.2:1 ratio applied
in employment discrimination and retaliatory dis-
charge case in which $360,000 in compensatory
damages were awarded); Flax, 272 S.W.3d 521
(5.35:1 ratio in automobile products liability case
where jury awarded $2.5 million for death of child).

What these courts have in common is a willingness
to read State Farm to permit a high single-digit ratio,
regardless of whether the compensatory damages are
“substantial” or even whether the conduct at issue is
objectively reprehensible. See, e.g., Gober v. Ralphs
Grocery Co., 137 Cal.App.4th 204, 222-23 (2006) (6:1
ratio approved despite “modest degree of reprehensi-
bility” and substantial compensatory damages). In the
process, courts disregard completely this Court’s ruling
in Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 23-
24 (1991), that a four-to-one ratio “may be close to the
line” of constitutional impropriety. See also Gore, 517
U.S. at 581; State Farm, 538 US. at 425.

While the Court in State Farm evidently wanted
to leave room for a very small number of cases in
which individual factors might make a larger ratio
permissible, appellate courts around the country
have driven a proverbial truck through this opening,
If the Constitution requires a 1:1 ratio in almost all
cases with substantial compensatory damage awards,
it is apparent that courts across the country either do
not understand this or are acting in disregard of
constitutional requirements. In either event, it is
apparent that this Court needs to clarify the relation-
ship among the three Gore guideposts, so that subjec-
tive assessments of reprehensibility are not permit-
ted to trump the ratio guidepost entirely, and to

16
elucidate the proper application of the ratios set out
in State Farm.'°

D. Geographic and Jurisdictional Varia-
bility in Application of the Ratio
Guidepost Adversely Affects the Qual-
ity of Justice

The problem of inconsistency in use of the ratio
guidepost is worse in some courts and jurisdictions
than others. A similar case involving similar parties
in two different parts of the country can result in
starkly different punitive damages awards depending
on the approach of the reviewing courts. While some
appellate courts have taken to heart the State Farm
ratio of 1:1 in cases involving substantial compensa-
tory damages, others view 4:1 as a starting point, and
some courts take the /aissez-faire view that as long as
the ratio is in single digits, due process is assured.

For example, in Bains LLC v. Arco Products Co.,
405 F.3d 764 (9th Cir. 2005), the Ninth Circuit
mentioned the putative 1:1 ratio established by State
Farm only in passing, despite finding that the
compensatory damages of $50,000 were substantial.
Bains involved claims for breach of contract and
violation of § 1981 brought by a trucking company
that alleged it suffered economic damages as a result
of discrimination. Explaining that this was not the

" In a recent study of punitive damayes awards exceeding
$100 million, the authors concluded that, “If strictly applied,
limiting the ratio of punitive damayes to compensatory damages
to 1:1 would eliminate about two-thirds of the cases from the
$100 million blockbuster category.” Alison F. Del Rossi and
W. Kip Viscusi, The Changing Landscape of Blockbuster
Punitive Damages Awards, 12 Am. L. & Econ. Rev. 116, 155
(2010).

17

rare case that would justify punitive damages in
excess of a single-digit ratio, the court ruled that the
“controlling Supreme court authority . . . implies a
punitive damages ceiling in this case of, at most,
$450,000 (nine times the compensatory damages).”
Id. at 776.

Other Ninth Circuit cases similarly take 4:1 or
higher as the appropriate starting point in the analy-
sis. In Zhang, another § 1981 race discrimination
case, the court affirmed a 7:1 ratio, saying, “We are
aware of no Supreme Court or Ninth Circuit case
disapproving of a single-digit ratio between punitive
and compensatory damages, and we decline to extend
the law in this case.” 339 F.3d at 1044. See also
Hangarter, 373 F.3d at 1014 (rejecting defendant’s
argument that punitive damages should not exceed a
1:1 ratio because State Farm’s ruling is “not binding,
no matter how factually similar the cases may be”).

Some state appellate courts have _ similarly
explored only the upper boundaries of the State Farm
ratios while ignoring the lower ones. In Seltzer, the
Montana Supreme Court rejected the notion that “a
9:1 ratio is in almost all cases the constitutional
limit.” 154 P.3d at 611. Citing Hangarter, the court
said, “[T]he Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has recog-
nized that Campbell’s reference to a 1:1 ratio does not
establish a categorical rule in favor of a 1:1 ratio
where compensatory damages are substantial.” Jd. at
612. The Montana court held that a ratio of 18:1
complies with State Farm’s ruling because it does not
exceed single digits “to a significant degree.” Id.; see
also Gober, 137 Cal.App.4th at 222 (affirming 6:1
ratio in case involving substantial compensatory
damages and “a modest degree of reprehensibility”).

18

In Flax, the Supreme Court of Tennessee, in a case
involving an alleged design defect in a seat back,
found that an award of $2.5 million is not “so large as
to require a ratio of 1:1.” 272 S.W.3d at 539. Nor did
the Flax court think that it needed to adhere to a
ratio of 4:1. Id. at 540. Flax is also notable because
the court expressed confusion about the relationship
among the three guideposts. Noting that the third
guidepost “seems to compel a dramatically different
conclusion” than the other two—i.e., a much lower
punitive damages award—the court confessed it was
“unfortunately left with little guidance as to how to
resolve this discrepancy because both Gore and
Campbell are cases in which all of the guideposts
suggest the same result.” Jd. Accordingly, it simply
ignored the discrepant third guidepost and approved
a 5:35.1 ratio.

The picture that emerges is one of confusion, both
for the courts who have to apply the guideposts and
for litigants who need to understand their potential
liability if punitive damages are imposed. Faced with
uncertainty, it appears many courts have concluded
that the constitutionally “safe” course is to approve
punitive damages awards with a 9:1 or lower ratio,
regardless of the degree of reprehensibility or
whether the compensatory damages are substantial.
If this Court takes only the most outrageous or
shocking cases, it leaves the lower courts free to run
roughshod over the Court’s dictates that 1:1, or at
most 4:1, is at the outer limits of due process
requirements. The Court should grant review in
order to put teeth into the ruling that a 1:1 ratio is
the outer limit of due process in a case with substan-
tial compensatory damages, that all the guideposts
must align for a punitive damages award in excess of

19

1:1, and that it is the exceedingly rare case that
would justify a ratio in excess of 4:1.

Il. THE PROBLEM OF UNPREDICTABLE
APPLICATION OF THE GUIDEPOSTS IS
COMPOUNDED BY = INCONSISTENT
DEFINITIONS OF “COMPENSATORY”
DAMAGES

Due process limitations are required to lend
predictability to the amount of punitive damages that
may be awarded in a given case. Facing litigation, a
defendant can arguably apply the reprehensibility
factors to its own conduct to assess the likelihood
that reprehensibility will be found and to what
extent. Similarly, potential compensatory damages
can be estimated. If a consistent, or, at least,
predictable, ratio were applied between punitive and
actual damages, the defendant would have a reason-
ably good sense of the outer limits of its exposure in
any given case. However, there is no consistency or
predictability to the ratios, which is problem enough.
When combined with fluid concepts of what can be
included in the definition of “compensatory” damages,
the problem is magnified to the point of unconstitu-
tionality.

A ratio is only useful if the defendant can predict
the likely numerator and denominator. Not only is
such predictability sorely lacking at the beginning of
a case, but the fact that, after the jury’s verdict, the
same set of facts can be manipulated to support a
variety of different ratios reveals that the guidelines
are, indeed, illusory and insubstantial. Here, the
inclusion of pre-judgment interest as part of the
compensatory award inflated the actual damages of
$750,000 to a whopping $13.2 million after applica-
tion of the 12% interest rate evidently intended by

20

the legislature as penal. This resulted in what would
have been a ratio of 86:1 being reduced to only 4:1, a
result the Oklahoma court found in its cursory
fashion to pass constitutional muster. In doing so,
the court did not even give lip service to any reason
for its departure from the 1:1 State Farm ratio for
cases involving substantial compensatory damages.

The inclusion of pre-judgment interest is only one
example of the types of “add-ons” used by some courts
to deflate the ratio from one that seems excessive to
one that is at least facially constitutional. These
range from attorneys’ fees to statutory penalties to
cases in which emotional distress is a component of
the compensatory award. See, e.g., Willow Inn, Inc. v.
Public Service Mut. Ins. Co., 399 F.3d 224 (3d Cir.
2005) (attorneys’ fees); Modern Management Co. v.
Wilson, 997 A.2d 37 (D.C. 2010) (statutory treble
damages); Roby v. McKesson Corp., 101 Cal. Rptr. 3d
773 (Cal. Ct. App. 2010) (emotional distress partially
punitive). As in this case, other courts have included
as “compensatory” elements of damages that far
exceed the actual harm caused to the plaintiff,
resulting in unconstitutional punitive damages
awards. This Court should grant certiorari to rectify
the injustice done to Petitioners and to provide clear
guidance to other courts regarding the proper compo-
nents of “compensatory” damages for purposes of the
due process ratios.

Ill, PRODUCT MANUFACTURERS ARE
ADVERSELY AFFECTED BY UNPRE-
DICTABLE AND ARBITRARY PUNITIVE
DAMAGES AWARDS

Product manufacturers are among the defendants
who are often adversely affected by unpredictable
and grossly excessive punitive damages awards. It is

21

not difficult to see why, as the elements of reprehen-
sibility—”the most important indicium of the reason-
ableness of a punitive damages award”''!—are
present in many product liability cases. These cases
often involve physical, as opposed to economic harm.
Design defect cases always involve intentional
decisions regarding costs and benefits of the product’s
design, and manufacturers are thus more likely to be
considered to be in reckless disregard of health or
safety. See, e.g., David G. Owen, Problems in Assess-
ing Punitive Damages Against Manufacturers of
Defective Products, 49 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1, 24-26 (1982)
(“[A] manufacturer’s choices involving necessary
safety trade-offs and statistically inevitable risks
always can be viewed in a sense as intentional
wrongs to consumers hurt by such products. . . .”).
The defendant is often a large corporation (likely
from another state) while the plaintiff is an injured
individual (sometimes a child or elderly person), who
is by definition more vulnerable, both financially and
otherwise. The design decisions at issue affect
millions of identical products, so juries are often
aware of other similar incidents and injuries, making
the conduct seem even more reprehensible. Jd. at 28-
30. And juries are subject to hindsight bias, which
comes into play in cases involving cost-benefit analy-
sis with disturbing frequency. See, e.g., W. Kip
Viscusi, Corporate Risk Analysis: A Reckless Act?, 52
Stan. L. Rev. 547, 563 (2000) (“Instead of comparing
expected benefits and costs, jurors may compare the
enormous cost to the victim with the relatively
negligible cost of the safety improvement.”)

'! Gore, 517 U.S. at 575.

22

Since, in practice, the reprehensibility guidepost
trumps the ratio guidepost, product manufacturers
are likely to be inordinately affected by grossly exces-
sive punitive damages awards. In a recent study of
so-called “blockbuster” punitive damages awards
(those of $100 million or more) issued since 1985, the
authors concluded that a disproportionate number of
such awards involved the automobile, cigarette,
pharmaceuticalV/health care and _ energy/chemical
industries. Alison F. Del Rossi and W. Kip Viscusi,
The Changing Landscape of Blockbuster Punitive
Damages Awards, 12 Am. L. & Econ. Rev. 116, 126
& Table 2 (2010). The mean ratio of punitive to
compensatory damages ranged from 19:1 for the
automobile industry to 11,125:1 for the cigarette
industry. Id.”

The effect of such disproportionality directed at
product manufacturers strikes at the heart of our
economy. The threat of unlimited liability results in
higher prices for consumer goods, less innovation and
self-imposed restrictions on the products. that
are developed and brought to market. See, e.g., U.S.
GEN. ACCOUNTING OFFICE, GAO/AIMD-95, MEDICAL
LIABILITY: IMPACT ON HOSPITAL AND PHYSICIAN COSTS
EXTENDS BEYOND INSURANCE 16 (1995) (“Manufac-
turers pass on their liability costs to hospitals and
physicians in their products’ prices.”); Richard L.
Manning, Changing Rules in Tort Law and the
Market for Childhood Vaccines, 37 J.L. & Econ. 247,
273 (1994) (“liability costs have caused dramatic
increases in vaccine prices”).

’* The latter ratio is even more alarming than it appears,
because a Florida jury’s $145 billion punitive damages award in
a tobacco class action was excluded. /d.

23

In addition, the inability to predict and manage
liability risks has a tendency to force settlements
because proceeding to trial is simply too dangerous.
Much has been written about the decline of the jury
trial, particularly in federal courts. See, e.g., Marc
Galanter, The Hundred-Year Decline of Trials and
the Thirty Years War, 57 Stan. L. Rev. 1255 (2005);
Hon. Sam Sparks and George Butts, Disappearing
Juries and Jury Verdicts, 39 Tex. Tech L. Rev. 289
(2007). Certainly, one factor that has influenced this
trend is the threat of large punitive damages awards.
See, e.g., Royal Furgeson, Civil Jury Trials R.I.P.?
Can it Actually Happen in America?, 40 St. Mary’s
L.J. 795, at 861 (2009) (“One of the major criticisms
of juries is the unpredictability of their decisions on
punitive damages.”) If defendants are unwilling to
try cases because of the risk of runaway punitive
damages awards, jury trials will continue to die a
slow death, and our system of justice will be further
eroded.

24
CONCLUSION

As in Gore, “a review of this case would help to
illuminate ‘the character of the standard that will
identify unconstitutionally excessive awards’ of puni-
tive damages.” 517 U.S. at 568 (quoting Honda
Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415, 420 (1994)). The
Court should grant the petition for a writ of certiorari
in order to clarify the limits on punitive damages
awards imposed by due process, to establish the
proper relationship among the Gore guideposts, and
to end continuing uncertainty about the proper
components of “compensatory” damages.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: TERRI S. REISKIN

HUGH F. YOUNG, JR. Counsel of Record

PRODUCT LIABILITY WALLACE KING DOMIKE
ADVISORY COUNCIL, INC. & REISKIN, PLLC

1850 Centennial Park Drive 2900 K Street, NW

Reston, Virginia 20191 Suite 500

(703) 264-5300 Washington, DC 20007

(202) 204-1000
treiskin@wallaceking.com

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

November 12, 2010

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

Corporate Members of the
Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc
as of 11/9/2010

Total: 100

3M Brown-Forman
Corporation

Altec Industries Caterpillar Inc.

Altria Client Services Inc. Chrysler Group LLC

Anheuser-Busch Continental Tire the

Companies Americas LLC

Arai Helmet, Ltd. Cooper Tire and Rubber
Company

Astec Industries Crown Equipment
Corporation

Bayer Corporation Daimler Trucks North
America LLC

Beretta U.S.A Corp. The Dow Chemical
Company

BIC Corporation E.I. duPont de Nemours

and Company
Biro Manufacturing Eli Lilly and Company
Company, Inc.
BMW of North America, Emerson Electric Co.
LLC

Boeing Company Engineered Controls
International, Inc.

Bombardier Recreational Environmental Solutions

Products Group
BP America Inc. Estee Lauder Companies
Bridgestone Americas Exxon Mobil Corporation

Holding, Inc.

as

Ford Motor Company
General Electric Company

General Motors
Corporation

GlaxoSmithKline

The Goodyear Tire &
Rubber Company

Great Dane Limited
Partnership

Harley-Davidson Motor
Company

Hawker Beechcraft
Corporation

Honda North America,
Inc.

Hyundai Motor America

Illinois Tool Works, Inc.

International Truck and
Engine Corporation

Isuzu Motors America,
Inc.

Jaguar Land Rover North
America, LLC

Jarden Corporation

Johnson & Johnson

Johnson Controls, Inc.

a

Joy Global Inc., Joy
Mining Machinery

Kawasaki Motors Corp.,

U.S.A.
Kia Motors America, Inc.

Kolcraft Enterprises, Inc.
Kraft Foods North

America, Inc.

Leviton Manufacturing
Co., Ine

Lincoln Electric Company
Magna International Inc.
Marucci Sports, L.L.C.

Mazak Corporation

Mazda (North America),
Inc.

Medtronic, Inc.
Merck & Co., Inc.

Michelin North America,
Inc.

Microsoft Corporation

Mitsubishi Motors North
America, Inc.

Mueller Water Product

Niro Inc

Nissan North America,
Inc.

Novartis
Pharmaceuticals
Corporation

PACCAR Ine.

Panasonic

Pella Corporation

Pfizer Inc.

Porsche Cars North
America, Inc.

Purdue Pharma L.P.

Remington Arms
Company, Inc.

RJ Reynolds Tobacco

‘
Company

Schindler Elevator
Corporation
SCM Group USA Inc.

Segway Inc.

Shell Oil Company

The Sherwin-Williams
Company

Smith & Nephew, Inc.

St. Jude Medical, Inc.

3a

Stanley Black & Decker,
Inc.

Subaru of America, Inc.

Synthes (U.S.A.)

Techtronic Industries
North America, Inc
Terex Corporation
TK Holdings Inc.
The Toro Company
Toshiba America
Incorporated

Toyota Motor Sales, USA,
Inc.

Vermeer Manufacturing
Company

The Viking Corporation

Volkswagen of America,
Inc.

Volvo Cars of North
America, Inc.

Vulcan Materials
Company

Whirlpool Corporation

Yamaha Motor
Corporation, U.S.A.

Yokohama Tire

Corporation

Zimmer, Inc.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2466%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
