# Opposition Brief — Dodson v. University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2431%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1135

## Text

; j Sipe Coot, US,
a ) FILEG
Vo NOV 29 2010

No. 10-308

OFFICE OF THE CLeny

3n The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

PATRICIA DODSON,

Petitioner,

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL
SCIENCES, By and Through the University of Arkansas
System, Board of Trustees, et al.,

Respondents

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

— —- ---—_— @ -- -

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ELIZABETH THOMAS SMITH

Attorney for University
Respondents

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS

2404 North University Avenue

Little Rock, AR 72207-3608

(501) 686-7608

esmith@uams.edu

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Jurisdictional Statement

Constitutional And Statutory Provision:

Involved ............

Statement Of The Case

Statement Of The Facts

A. Status Of Embryos

§. Reliance On Control And Disposition
Agreement ....
Rights In Embryos Never Belonged

To Dodson ....

Upon Dissolution Of The Dodson-Lay
Marriage, UAMS Continually Asserted
Control And Direction Over The Eva
a ee

Argument.

A. Dodson Has No Constitutional Right
To The Embryos

B. There Is No Case Or Controversy
Permitting Review.....
This Case Does Not Present An Im
portant Unsettled Question Or Con
flict Of Law..........

VI. Conclusion.

APPENDIX

Transcript on Motion to Dismis

District Court Order

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Ace Constr. v. City of St. Louis, 263 F.3d 831
(8th Cir. 2001) .....

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300 U.S. 227
GE Pac skcnstsnseessctucccanautes

Alvarez v. Smith, 558 U.S
(2009)

Ballinger v. Culotta, 322 F.3d
2003)

Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127 (1979).
Burrell v. Virginia, 395 F.3d 508 (2005)

Carlson v. Hyundai Motor Co., 222 F.3d 1044
(8th Cir. 2000)

DeFunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312 (1974) (per
curlam)

District of Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feld
man, 460 U.S. 462 (1983) ............. mien | f

Dodson v. Univ. of Ark. for Medical Sciences,
601 F.3d 750 (8th Cir. 2010) ........0.. passim

Exxon Mobil v. Saudi Basic Indus. Corp., 544
U.S. 280 (200B)............00.000s.

Friends of Lake View Sch. Dist. No. 25 v. Beebe,
578 F.3d 753 (8th Cir. 2009)

General Oil v. Crain, 209 U.S. 211 (1908).....

Glic v. Ballentine, 397 F.2d 590 (8th Cir. 1968)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~— Continued

Goetzman v. Agribank, FCB (In re Goetzman),
91 F.3d 1173 (8th Cir. 1996).

Johnson v. Bechtel Assoc. Prof. Corp., 801 F.2d
412 (D.C. Cir. 1986).............

Lance v. Dennis, 546 U.S. 459 (2006) .

Lemonds v. St. Louis County, 222 F.3d 488 (8th
Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1183 (2001) ...16,

Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. 472
(1990)

Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651 (1895)......

North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244 (1971)
(per curiam)..

Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco Inc., 481 U.S. 1 (1987)
Powell v. Lane, 289 S.W.3d 440 (Ark. 2008)

Prince v. Arkansas Bd. of Examiners, 380 F:.
337 (8th Cir. 2004)

Riehm v. Engelking, 538 F.3d

Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263
(1923) ae passim

Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386 (1947). 1]
U.S. v. Eisner. 323 F.3d 38 (6th Cir. 1963).. 3

Wood v. Orange County, 715 F.2d 1543 (11th
Cir. 198: eens , 1]

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. §

28 U.S.C. § 2101(f)
§

42 U.S.C

1602, et seq

1983

OTHER SOURCES
U.S. Const. Art. III, § 2
U.S. Const. amend. V

Sup. Ct. R. 10.
Sup. Ct. R. 14(1)(e)(iv)

Sup. Ct. R. 15
Fed. R. App. P. 431(d)(2)

Jurisdictional Statement

This Court would have jurisdiction if there wer
an issue of unsettled law involving a case or contro
versy. However, neither is present in the case which
is offered on Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Sup. Ct

R. 10

Il. Constitutional And Statutory Provisions
Involved

42 U.S.C. § 1983 protects citizens of the United
States or other persons within the jurisdiction thereof
from the deprivation of any rights, privileges, o1
immunities secured by the Constitution and laws but
does not create a fundamental right in Dodson to

determine the di: position of the embrvo

Ill. Statement Of The Case

Dodson and her former husband. Jackson O. Lay
agreed that control and direction of embryos created
from their tissue would be relinquished if their mar
riage was dissolved. Dodson and Lay’s marriag
dissolved. Dodson has attempted to obtain control
and direction over the embryos by filing suits in State
and Federal courts. Dodson’s complaints have been
dismissed, and upheld on appeal. The embryos have
since been destroyed. Dodson now requests this Court
to grant Certiorari regarding her desire to obtain

control of the embryos. There is no case or controversy

permitting review by this Court

IV. Statement Of Fact

The University of Arkar for Medical Science
(“UAMS”) will provide clarification regarding the
tatus of the embryos and will addre three m)
statements of fact presented in Dodson’s Petition for
Writ of Certiorari. Misstatements of fact that bear on
what issues properly would be before the court if
Certiorari were granted are to be addressed by Re

pondent Sup Ct. R. 15

A. Status Of Embryos

It is true that at the district court lev
agreed to maintain the status quo of the embryo
pending resolution of this case lhe Current
Medical Director at the University of Arkansas for
Medical Sciences is directed to continue to maintain
the frozen embryos at their current location and in
their current condition and state pending the final
resolution of thi htigation District Court Order

App. 4

his case was finally resolved on June 9, 2010, b
issuance of the mandate by the Eighth Circuit
‘Issuance of the mandate formally marks the end of
appellate jurisdiction. Jurisdiction returns to the

tribunal to which the mandate is directed for such

proceedings as may be appropriat« ” Carlson

Hyundai Motor Co., 22: 3d 1044, 1045 (8th Cir
2000) citing Johnson v. Bechtel Assoc. Prof. Corp., 801
2d 412, 415 (D.C. Cir. 1986). The mandate signaled

conclusion of the proceeding

UAMS maintained babtu quo until the hina
resolution of this case A party may move to stay the
mandate pe nding the filing of a petition for writ ol

certiorar!

n the pupreme Court. Kules of Appellate
Procedure Rule Wild \2 Tif the mwurieved

}

party fails to obtain an order granting his appheation

Hor tay! he hall answer for all damage ma
cost which the othe party may istain by re“uson
the stav. 2R USC. 8 VIO

Petition for Writ of Certiorari does not operat
i Lay of judgment ihe filing of a petition for
certiorarl dot nol automatically Lay proceeding if
the District Court which a mandate affirminy the
judgment has issued, Gli Ballentine, 397 2d 590
694 (8th Cir. 1968); U.S isner ns bd

Oth Cir. 1963 Without the vrantiny of a stay of our

mandate aflirming the lower court dism: il there
obviou iy wii no impediment | i hye | { }
the lower « int dismi - ha

iat iiise i] Crise f | i i

lune 9, 2010, control and determination of the dispo
ition of the embryos tn question re ted with UAM
at that time. No re quest for stay was made to Judy
Moody; no petition for stay of the mandate was fil
with the United Stat supreme Court 10 Bf

issued by Judge Moody or the United Stat upremeé
Court. UAMS exercised its control and has d
of the embryos. This case now moot, and the re

Dodson reaue CANNOL De mance i

B. Reliance On Control And Disposition
Agreement

Dodson asserts that UAMS relies solely on the
control and disposition of embryos agreement as its
basis for dismissal of this petition. While UAMS does
rely on the agreement signed by Dodson and Lay
upon creation of the embryos as one basis for denial
of Dodson’s wishes, it is not the only basis. UAMS
also relies upon the divorce decree issued in Hot
Spring County, Arkansas which did not grant Dodson
the right to control the embryos. Further, UAMS
relies upon the Order by the Pulaski County Circuit
Court of Arkansas dismissing Dodson’s Complaint for
Declaratory Judgment, Permanent Injunction and
Temporary Injunction against UAMS, its Medical
Director, and Chancellor. UAMS also relies upon the
District Court’s Order dismissing Dodson’s complaint
alleging violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for deprivation
of life, liberty and property without due process, and
Breach of Implied Contract requesting injunction and
specific performance — requiring UAMS to discontin-
ue interfering with |Dodson’s] wishes regarding the
disposition of her embryos. Finally, UAMS relies upon
the Eighth Circuit opinion, and the denial of Dodson’s
request for en banc rehearing, and mandate uphold-
ing the dismissal of Dodson’s complaint by the East-
ern District of Arkansas.

C. Rights In Embryos Never Belonged To
Dodson

Dodson alleges: “As part of the property settle-
ment agreement between Dodson and Lay, any and
all rights, if any, that Lay had in the frozen embryos
belonged to Dodson.” Petition for Writ of Certiorari
pg. 3 (emphasis added). This statement is factually
inaccurate, as the rights to the frozen embryos in
question never “belonged” to Dodson. The order filed
in the Chancery Court of Hot Spring County, Arkan-
sas between Jackson O. Lay Jr., Plaintiff, and Patri-
cia Dodson, Defendant, states:

* y .

2. The decree, the Property Settlement

Agreement and the Control and Disposition

of Embryos Statement are not inconsistent.

3. Under the terms of the Control and Dis-
position of Embryos Statement, upon dissolu-
tion of the marriage by court order, all
control and disposition of the tissues as of
January 29, 1997, was relinquished to the
Medical Director of the University Hospital
in Vitro Fertilization Program.

4. This court was not called upon to inter-
pret the third party contract.

5. Under the terms of the Property Settle-
ment Agreement the plaintiff has relin-
quished his right to either consent or object to
available options, if any, for disposition of the
embryos as listed in the Control and Disposi-
tion of Embryos Statement. (emphasis added).

Pet. App. 66.

The Property Settlement Agreement did not give

Dodson control of or rights to the embryos.

Dodson’s divorce excluded the “available options”
referenced by the Hot Spring County Court. The
Control and Disposition Agreement executed by
Dodson and Lay set forth that control and direction
for disposition of the tissues (embryos) “rests with the
couple” and provided three options referenced by the
divorce court. However, the Control and Disposition
Agreement also stated: “I, Patricia Lay, and I, Jack-
son O. Lay agree that all control and direction of our
tissues will be relinquished to the Medical Director

. under the following circumstances: dissolution of
our marriage by Court Order....” Pet. App. 70-71.
This Agreement was signed by both Dodson and Lay.

‘

Thus, the statement that the “rights . . . in the frozen

embryos belonged to Dodson” is simply not true.

D. Upon Dissolution Of The Dodson-Lay
Marriage, UAMS Continually Asserted
Control And Direction Over The Embryos

Dodson’s statement: “She therefore paid the fees
to UAMS for the embryos it now claims ownership
of” is misleading (emphasis added). In 2000, Dodson
sued UAMS for the ability to control the disposition of
the embryos and Dodson’s case was dismissed with
prejudice. UAMS retained the embryos in storage and
mistakenly billed Dodson for such storage for a
number of years. UAMS never relinquished control or
ability to determine the disposition of the embryos. In

fact, when the billing mistake was discovered; UAMS

returned the monies paid by Dodson for storage
which was mistakenly billed — no right was created

by this mistake; certainly not a constitutional right.

Stating that UAMS now claims ownership of the
embryos indicates that UAMS did not claim owner-
ship or control of the embryos before. It is clear by the
many years of denial of Dodson’s requests to control
these embryos, that UAMS has always maintained
the pesition that control in the embryos rested with
UAMS upon dissolution of the marriage between
Dodson and Lay.

V. Argument

A Petition for Writ of Certiorari is granted only
for compelling reasons, including when “a state court
or a United States court of appeals has decided an
important question of federal law that has not been,
but should be, settled by this Court, or has decided an
important federal question in a way that conflicts
with relevant decisions of this Court.” Sup. Ct. R. 10.
The matter presented to this Court on Petition for
Writ of Certiorari is not a compelling reason to sup-
port Certiorari.

A. Dodson Has No Constitutional Right To
The Embryos
Dodson cites 42 U.S.C. § 1983 protection from

deprivation of rights or privileges as the “relevant

provision involved.” While § 1983 protection is im-

portant and essential, it protects citizens of the
United States from the deprivation of any rights,
privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution
and laws. It does not create a fundamental right in
Dodson to decide/determine the disposition of the
embryos in question. Dodson has not cited any case
that supports her position of having a fundamental,
constitutiona! right to solely decide the disposition of
the embryos and, in effect, force Lay to become a
father. Her simplistic theories presented to the lower
courts that Lay “waived” any objections to parenthood
by participating in creation of the embryos, or that
“issues of financial obligations can be decided later” is
unsupported. Section 1983 does not confer on this
Court jurisdiction to review on a Writ of Certiorari
the judgment or order in question as required by
United States Supreme Court Rule 14(1)(e)(iv).

Further, simply restating her state court claim
for Declaratory Judgment and Injunction against
UAMS, it’s Medical Director, and Chancellor as a
§ 1983 claim in federal district court does not provide
her with federal court jurisdiction. “If a litigant has
raised and lost claims in state court, he may not
recast those claims under § 1983 and try again. He
must follow the appellate procedure through the
State courts and seek review before the Supreme
Court. See Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 4138,
415-16 (1923).” Prince v. Arkansas Bd. of Examiners,
380 F.3d 337, 340 (8th Cir. 2004).

B. There Is No Case Or Controversy Per-
mitting Review

“The Constitution permits this Court to decide
legal questions only in the context of actual ‘Cases’ or
‘Controversies, Art. III, § 2, and an actual controversy
must exist at all stages of review, not just when the
complaint is filed.” In this case, there is no longer any
actual controversy between the parties about owner-
ship or possession of the underlying property.” Alva-
rez v. Smith, 558 U.S. __, 180 S.Ct. 576, 580 (2009).

The doctrine of mootness applies when there is
no longer any actual controversy regarding ownership
or possession of the underlying property, there is no
claim for damages, and the case does not fit within
the category of cases that are “capable of repetition”
while “evading review.” An abstract dispute solely
about the meaning of a law falls outside the scope of
the constitutional words “Cases” and “Controversies.”
Id. See, e.g., Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494
U.S. 472, 477 (1990); North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S.
244, 246 (1971) (per curiam); Aetna Life Ins. Co. v.
Haworth, 300 U.S. 227, 241 (1937); Mills v. Green,
159 U.S. 651, 653 (1895). “[T]he capable-of-repetition
doctrine applies only in exceptional situations, and
generally only where the named plaintiff can make a
reasonable showing that he will again be subjected to
the alleged illegality.” DeFunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S.
312, 318-319 (1974) (per curiam).

10

Here, UAMS appropriately carried out the
Eighth Circuit’s mandate and has destroyed the
embryos. There is no longer a case or controversy to
be decided, nor is the case capable of repetition. Thus,
Certiorari should not be granted.

C. This Case Does Not Present An Inm-
portant Unsettled Question Or Conflict
Of Law

1. Dodson argues Certiorari should ve granted
because there is an “unanswered question” of what
“the inextricably intertwined analysis” of Rooker-
Feldman entails. Dodson states “the complexity of
inextricably intertwined analysis is an issue that has
given numerous courts significant difficulty.” In
support of this argument she cites Burrell v. Virginia,
a Fourth Circuit case, as a “prime example.” 395 F.3d
508 (2005). While the district court’s dismissal on
Rooker-Feldman grounds was overturned, that case
does not raise an issue of complexity or question
regarding “inextricably intertwined.” The Burrell
Court held: “the concern addressed by Rooker-
Feldman — that lower courts will not act as Courts of
Appeals from State courts — is simply not present and
the doctrine does not bar federal court review of
Rurrell’s claims.” /d. at 512.

Burrell had been criminally charged with opera-
tion of an uninsured motor vehicle without paying an
uninsured motorist fee, and obstruction of justice. He
sued in federal district court for emotional distress,
emotional pain, inconvenience, mental anguish, and

1]

damage to reputation alleging violation of rights
including Fifth Amendment, due process commerce
clause, and civil liability under the Racketeer Influ-
enced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO). The
district court was simply wrong in applying Rooker-
Feldman to bar a civil suit which arose from a crimi-
nal arrest. Burrell was not a state court loser seeking
to overturn a state court judgment. In fact, the crimi-
na! charges were dismissed prior to his filing suit in
federal court. The Fourth Circuit had no problem
determining the correct application of the doctrine.
The fact that a lower court’s decision was overturned
does not give rise to grant Certiorari.

Additionally, Dodson cites the Eleventh Circuit
in Wood v. Orange County, 715 F.2d 1543 (11th Cir.
1983), as support for her Petition. Wood is also distin-
guishable from the case at bar and does not support
the theory that the analysis of “inextricably inter-
twined” needs definition by this Court. In Wood, it
was clear the Plaintiff did not have an opportunity to
raise the issue in the lower court, causing the Rooker-
Feldman bar not to apply. “Interpreting Rooker to
preclude a federal district court from considering an
issue that the plaintiff had no reasonable opportunity
to raise in state court might pose due process prob-
lems.” (Wood at 1547) citing Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S.
386, 67 S.Ct. 810 (1947), and General Oil v. Crain,
209 U.S. 211, 28 S.Ct. 475 (1908).

Dodson alleges that the Eighth Circuit Panel was
conflicted in the application of the “inextricably
intertwined” element of the Rooker-Feldman doctrine,

12

justifying the Writ of Certiorari. Dodson is mistaken.
Dodson is relying on a footnote in the Opinion affirm-
ing dismissal of the Dodson case. The footnote reads:

It appears there is some tension in our prior
precedents as to whether the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine will bar a federal court
from exercising jurisdiction when a state
court previously ruled against the plaintiff
without reaching the merits of the dispute.

Dodson v. Univ. of Ark. for Medical Sciences, 601 F.3d
750, ___ n.5 (8th Cir. 2010). The Court points to two
of their prior holdings, Friends of Lake View Sch.
Dist. No. 25 v. Beebe, 578 F.3d 753 (8th Cir. 2009)
(a state court’s failure to reach the merits of an issue
does not preclude federal court jurisdiction under
Rooker-Feldman) and Goetzman v. Agribank, FCB (In
re Goetzman), 91 F.3d 1173, 1178 (8th Cir. 1996)
(reaching the final merits on an issue does not deter-
mine the applicability of Rooker-Feldman).

Failure to reach the merits of the dispute is a
different issue than whether two cases are inextrica-
bly intertwined. Dodson mistakenly relies on this
footnote’s reference to tension in the Court’s prior
precedents, as the footnote is irrelevant to the dispute
in question. The footnote that Dodson relies upon
does not apply to the present case. As stated above,
the footnote refers to the applicability of Rooker-
Feldman in cases where the previous state court
issues did not reach the merits of the case. The panel
explained how the Arkansas state court reached the
merits in Dodson: “this is not a case in which the

13

state court simply held it lacked jurisdiction and
dismissed the plaintiff's case without prejudice.
Rather, the state court discussed the merits of [Peti-
tioner’s] case extensively and dismissed Dodson II
with prejudice.” Dodson v. Univ. of Ark. for Medical
Sciences, 601 F.3d 750, __, (8th Cir. 2010). The
footnote serves as a note of clarification from the
majority to indicate that the merits were reached and
dismissal of Dodson II was proper. This note is not an
avenue to grant a Writ of Certiorari.

Moreover, this case is clearly distinguishable
from Friends of Lake View. In that case, the Eighth
Circuit held Rooker-Feldman did not apply because,
in the state proceedings, the Arkansas Supreme
Court released jurisdiction without considering the
merits of the constitutional claim, although the claim
was raised and fully briefed. Friends of Lake View
Sch. Dist. No. 25 v. Beebe, 578 F.3d 753, 759. Unlike
Friends of Lake View, the Dodson II court did not
simply dismiss the claims based on lack of jurisdic-
tion, but extensively reviewed Dodson’s claims and
the conduct of UAMS to determine whether UAMS’s
conduct was ultra vires, illegal, unconstitutional, or
arbitrary to reach its decision that sovereign immunity
applied. Dodson v. Univ. of Ark. for Medical Sciences,
601 F.3d 750 (8th Cir. 2010). Because the court in
Dodson II fully discussed and considered the merits of
Dodson’s claims, the panel affirmed the lower court’s
finding that Rooker-Feldman barred federal jurisdic-
tion. Jd. In fact, in Dodson II the parties stipulated
“the court shall determine as a matter of law whether

14

or not plaintiff has a claim, and not whether she
stated a claim.” Pet. App. 42.

The Eighth Circuit’s concurring opinion does not
support Petitioner’s reliance on the “tension” refer-
enced in footnote 5 of the panel’s majority opinion and
Friends of Lake View. In fact, the concurring opinion
does not address whether the merits of Dodson’s case
were reached in the previous state courts, as dis-
cussed in the majority’s opinion. The concurrence
focuses on whether the harm to Dodson was caused
by a legal conclusion rather than a state court judg-
ment, not whether the previous court reached the
merits of the claim. The clarification and limitations
on Rooker-Feldman from Exxon Mobil v. Saudi Basic
Indus. Corp., are discussed by Judge Melloy. He
explained Dodson is clearly distinguishable from
post-Exxon cases. Dodson v. Univ. of Ark. for Medical
Sciences, 601 F.3d 750 (8th Cir. 2010) (Melloy, J.,
concurring).

In Exxon, the plaintiff was not seeking to over-
turn the (favorable) verdict. Exxon Mobil v. Saudi
Basic Indus. Corp., 544 U.S. 280, 125 S.Ct. 1517
(2005). “The Court of Appeals, on its own motion,
raised the [issue of]... subject matter jurisdiction ...”
and improperly applied Rooker-Feldman to the case
during an interlocutory appeal based on the Foreign
Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976, 28 U.S.C. § 1602,
et seq. (2000 ed. and Supp. II). Jd. at 290. “Exxon
Mobil, at that point prevailing in Delaware, was not
seeking to overturn the state-court judgment. ... In
both [Rooker and Feldman], the losing party in state

court filed suit in federal court after the state pro
ceeding ended, complaining of an injury caused by the
state-court judgment and seeking review and rejec
tion of that judgment. Plaintiffs in both cases
called upon the District Court to overturn an injuri-
ous state-court judgment.” Jd. at 291-92. Dodson also
called upon the district court to overturn an injurious
state-court judgment and “properly invoked concur
rent jurisdiction” did not exist.

To understand this further, we must analyze
Dodson against Riehm v. Engelking, cited for the
notion that Rooker-Feldman would not apply when an
unconstitutional action was being challenged rather
than the court order from which the unconstitutional
actions arose. 538 F.3d 952 (8th Cir. 2008). Riehm
involved an ex-parte order for immediate custody of
David Riehm, a 17-year-old student, placing him in
emergency protective care. Riehm wrote essays which
raised the question of whether he might intend harm
to himself or others. An ex-parte order was enforced, a
psychiatric evaluation was had and Riehm was
released after 72 hours. The order was not chal-
lenged, nor did the order continue to cause harm to
Riehm, because he had been released. Riehm sued for
violations of his right to free speech, unreasonable
seizure, his mother’s right to family integrity, and due
process for failure to pay medical bills and state law
claims. Riehm, 538 F.3d at 965.

Procedurally, Dodson and Riehm differ in that
Dodson was a party to the Control and Disposition

Agreement which was a subject of all three suits.

16

Also, Dodson was a party to all three suits, and all
three judgments essentially upheld enforcement of
the control and disposition agreement. The actions of
UAMS are controlled by these state court judgments,
and thus, distinguishable from Riehm. The distinc-
tion between Dodson and Riehm does noi support the
idea that tension over Rooker-Feldman exists to
necessitate Supreme Court review of this matter.

Granting a Writ of Certiorari in this matter
would not ease “tension,” if any, of this Court’s prior
precedents or converge the majority and concurring
opinions, as Dodson suggests. Therefore, the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

2. The district court correctly held that it lacked
subject matter jurisdiction over Petitioner’s claims
under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. It is clear that
the object of Petitioner’s federal lawsuit was to obtain
district court “appellate” review of the rulings by the
Pulaski County Chancery Court and the Hot Spring
County Chancery Court. Under the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine, federal courts lack subject matter jurisdic-
tion to hear such attempted appeals. “Ihe Rooker
Feldman doctrine recognizes that, with the exception
of habeas corpus petitions, lower federal courts lack
subject matter jurisdiction over challenges to state
court judgments.” Lemonds v. St. Louis County, 222
F.3d 488, 492 (8th Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S.
1183 (2001) (citing District of Columbia Court of
Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 476, 482 (1983);
Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413, 416 (1923).

17

Federal district courts are prohibited not only
from exercising jurisdiction over straightforward
appeals from state court decisions, but also indirect
attempts to undermine state court decisions, and
thus are barred “from exercising jurisdiction over
general constitutional claims that are ‘inextricably
intertwined’ with specific claims already adjudicated
in state court.” Lemonds, 222 F.3d at 492-93. See
Feldman, 460 U.S. at 486-87. “A general federal claim
is inextricably intertwined with a state court judg-
ment ‘if the federal claim succeeds only to the extent
that the state court wrongly decided the issue before
it.’” Lemonds, 222 F.3d at 493 (citing Pennzoil Co. v
Texaco Inc., 481 U.S. 1, 5 (1987)). If the federal court
can only provide relief by determining that the state
court was wrong, “it is difficult to conceive of the
federal proceeding as, in substance, anything other
than a prohibited appeal of the state-court judgment”
that is barred by Rooker-Feldman. Id. See also Ace
Constr. v. City of St. Louis, 263 F.3d 831, 832-33 (8th
Cir. 2001); Ballinger v. Culotta, 322 F.3d 546, 548-49
(8th Cir. 2003); Prince v. Arkansas Bd. of Examiners,
380 F.3d 337, 340 (8th Cir. 2004).

In applying Rooker-Feldman to Dodson’s Com
plaint, the district court correctly found Dodson’s
claims to be “inextricably intertwined with the State
court proceedings. .. . |and] could succeed only upon a
finding that the state courts wrongly decided the
issues.” Pet. App. 31-32.

During the hearing, Judge Moody ruled from the
Bench stating:

1

8

“— the relief sought is essentially the same.
And for me to accept this case and decide the
case on the merits would potentially just
effectively reverse the state court ruling in
order for your client to prevail. And that’s
exactly what Rooker-Feldman says _ this
Court should not do.

Now the other issue, even though the
claims, the parties may not be exactly the
same, the law also is clear that if the claims
are ... inextricably intertwined, then, in
other words, if they are basically the same
issues just stated in a different way then I
should not accept jurisdiction of that case.

So, I’m going to rule that I don’t have ju-
risdiction based on Rooker-Feldman.”

App. 2-3.

3. All three circuit judges determined dismissal
was proper; and rehearing en banc was not warrant-
ed. Certiorari is not necessary in this case. At the end
of the district court’s ruling from the Bench, Judge
Moody stated: “although I don’t think it’s necessary to
address it, I do think that there’s a serious question
that all of these claims are barred by res judicata.”
App. 3. The court was correct. Judge Melloy’s concur-
ring opinion agreed that the dismissal of Count 1
should be affirmed but under res judicata and collat-
eral estoppel. Thus, the resuit would be the same.

Dodson previously litigated her claims for specific
performance and knowingly failed to raise § 1983

19

claims in state court in 2000. Dodson was barred from
bringing this suit by res judicata and collateral
estoppel. Because the district court could be affirmed
“on any ground supported by the record,” dismissal
was proper and the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should not be granted. See Ballinger v. Culotta, 322
F.3d 546, 548 (8th Cir. 2003).

Rooker-Feldman doctrine is a jurisdictional bar
preventing federal courts from acting as appellate
courts over state court judgments. Collateral estoppel
and res judicata are doctrines of claim preclusion
dealing with the legal issue of whether the claim has
actually been decided either in state court or federal
court, or both. The two doctrines serve similar pur-
poses in that they each preclude a second “bite at the
apple” but serve different functions and both can
apply in one case, as in Dodson. Dodson’s claims are
barred by both Rooker-Feldman and res judicata.
Dismissal was proper and Certiorari should not be
granted.

Federal courts must “give the same preclusive
effect to state court judgments that those judgments
would be given in the courts of the state from which
the judgments emerged. (citation omitted) ... Con-
gress has directed federal courts to look principally to
state law in deciding what effect to give state-court
judgments.” Lance v. Dennis, 546 U.S. 459, 466
(2006). “The purpose of res judicata is to put an end
to litigation ... ” Powell v. Lane, 289 S.W.3d 440, 444
(Ark. 2008); to ensure the finality of judicial deci-
sions. Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127, 131 (1979).

20

Dodson’s constitutional claims, if they exist at all,
could and should have been brought in the Pulaski
County Chancery Court and were thus _ properly
barred by res judicata as determined by Judge
Melloy’s concurring opinion. Dismissal of Count |
does not change by Melloy’s concurrence. Dodson has
not articulated how a Writ of Certiorari is necessary
in this case when all three circuit judges affirmed the
district court.

VI. Conclusion

Dodson’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be
denied, as it does not meet the requirements of Rule
10 of the United States Supreme Court. There is no
important question of federal law that has not been
settled, or that conflicts with relevant decisions of
this Court. Further there is no case or controversy
permitting review. For the above-discussed reasons,
Dodson’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ELIZABETH THOMAS SMITH

Attorney for University Respondents
UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS

2404 North University Avenue
Little Rock, AR 72207-3608

(501) 686-7608

esmith@uams.edu

App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS
WESTERN DIVISION

PATRICIA DODSON, Plaintiff,
Vv. No: 4:08CV03925 JMM

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL
SCIENCES, by and through the University of
Arkansas System Board of Trustees; JAMES E.
LINDSEY, Trustee, in his official capacity only;
TIM E. HUNT, Trustee, in his official capacity only;
JANE ROGERS, Trustee, in her official capacity
only; CARL JOHNSON, Trustee, in his official
capacity only; JOHN ED ANTHONY, Trustee, in
his official capacity only; MIKE AKIN, Trustee, in
his official capacity only; SAM HILBURN, Trustee,
in his official capacity only; JIM VON GREMP,
Trustee, in his official capacity only; JOHN TYSON,
Trustee, in his official capacity only; BEN
HYNEMAN, Trustee, in his official capacity only;
B. ALAN SUGG, President of the University of
Arkansas System, in his official capacity only; I.
DODD WILSON, M.D., Chancellor, University of
Arkansas for Medical Sciences, in his official and
individual capacity; and JACKSON O. LAY,

Defendants.

Friday, February 27, 2009,
Little Rock, Arkansas, 9:01 a.m.

TRANSCRIPT OF HEARING
ON MOTIONS TO DISMISS
BEFORE THE HONORABLE JAMES M. MOODY,
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 2

APPEARANCES:
On Behalf of the Plaintiff:

MR. RICHARD “CHRIS” MADISON,
Attorney at Law
Madison Law Firm
3011 Corporate Center Drive
Bryant, Arkansas 72022

* * +

[37] just simply doesn’t have subject matter jurisdic-
tion in a challenge to a state court decision.

Now, I realize that your point is that the issues
that you are raising here, the constitutional issues
under Section 1983, are different in some way than
those decisions that were presented in either the Hot
Springs Chancery Court or the Pulaski County Chan-
cery Court. But when I look at those cases and com-
pare them with the claims that are being asserted
here, even though the vehicle under which you are
bringing the claim is different - I mean, it is a 1983
claim as opposed to the claims that were asserted in
the state court case — the relief that was sought is
essentially the same. And for me to accept this case
and decide the case on the merits would potentially
just effectively reverse the state court ruling in order
for your client to prevail. And that’s exactly what
Rooker-Feldman says that this Court should not do.

Now, the other issue, even though the claims, the
parties may not be exactly the same, the law also is
clear that if the claims are — and this phrase is hard
for me to say — inextricably intertwined, then, in

App. 3

other words, if they are basically the same issues just
stated in a different way, then I should not accept
jurisdiction of that case.

So I’m going to rule that I don’t have jurisdiction
based on Rooker-Feldman. So I will be dismissing the
complaint, which essentially moots your motion to
amend the complaint and add [38] John Doe defen-
dants.

And although I don’t think it’s necessary to
address it, I do think that there’s a serious question
that all of these claims are barred by res judicata.
That will be the ruling of the Court. Any questions
about anything? We'll be in recess.

MS. SMITH: Thank you, Your Honor.

(Proceedings concluded at 9:57 a.m.)

REPORTER'S CERTIFICATE
I certify that the foregoing is a correct transcript
from the record of proceedings in the above-entitled
matter.

/s/ Elaine Hinson, RMR, CRR, CCR Date: April 17, 2009.
United States Court Reporter

App. 4

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS
WESTERN DIVISION

PATRICIA DODSON, PLAINTIFF
v. NO. 4:08CV03925 JMM

UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS

FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES,

By and Through the

University of Arkansas System

Board of Trustees, et. al. DEFENDANTS.

ORDER

Pending is the Plaintiff's motion for a Temporary
Restraining Order. (Docket # 2). Defendants have
responded and state that the University of Arkansas
for Medical Sciences (“UAMS”) is currently maintain-
ing the embryos in question in a frozen state at its
facility. Defendants agree to maintain the embryos in
their current state and condition pending the final
resolution of this case. Accordingly, the Current
Medical Director at the University of Arkansas for
Medical Sciences is directed to continue to maintain
the frozen embryos at their current location and in
their current condition and state pending the final
resolution of this litigation.

Wherefore, Plaintiffs motion for Temporary

Restraining Order is denied as moot.

App. 5

IT IS SO ORDERED this 29th day of October,
2008.

s/ James M. Moody
James M. Moody
United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2431%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
