# Opposition Brief — Anascape, Ltd. v. Nintendo of America, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2425%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 1004

## Text

Supreme Coun, US ]
FILED

|
[WZ (2) | SEP 24 2619
|

No. 10-301 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ANASCAPE, LTD.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

NINTENDO OF AMERICA ING.,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ROBERT J. GUNTHER, JR. WILLIAM F. LEE
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING Counsel of Record

HALE AND DORR LLP MARK C. FLEMING
399 Park Avenue LAUREN B. FLETCHER
New York, NY 10022 WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
(212) 230-8800 HALE AND DORR LLP

60 State Street

Boston, MA 02109

(617) 526-6000
william.lee@wilmerhale.com

|
|

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a court of appeals reviewing a denial of a
motion for judgment as a matter of law under Rule 50
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure may determine
that expert testimony, like any other testimony, does
not provide substantial evidence supporting a jury ver-
dict.

(i)

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 29.6, Respondent
Nintendo of America Ine. states that its parent corpo-
ration is Nintendo Company, Ltd. The stock of Nin-
tendo Company, Ltd. is publicly traded in Japan.

(11)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RF ee A SUPEe EPO M MOEN BMD sesscescscacscdcssvesessccosaconccconanesees af

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT.............. ii

re PE FA FERRE BED cecscssscovsiscisscscvesiccsesecassaseres iv

ee IE WENO sosissacesanesdcersyasssceecctoosvesieenssenun’ mensaaton 1

oss omit ed aided nn eabnbamaadansetbesseaoe 2

Bi, BCR TORCH OCIA osc ccccccecesccscecsssessnscsssesenseccnecens 2

B. Proceedings In The District Court..................... 6

C. Proceedings In The Court Of Appeals............... 8

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION.......... 11
I. THIS COURT HAS REPEATEDLY RECOG-
NIZED THAT ADMITTED EXPERT TESTI-
MONY MAY BE INSUFFICIENT TO SUPPORT

Rp ARERR PERO pe CCP E RE yam OER eT 1]

hc “EMME 18 NO CIRCUIT BRUIT ccisissinscnccessessrencveensceses 14
III. ANASCAPE’S REMAINING ARGUMENTS

PROVIDE NO BASIS FOR CERTIORARI ..........2...2.e000 19

SIRS PENEIIIET assis cssexcalascediaueasssnctovaneudomnracnunes reeves

(111)

lV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page(s)
Alevromagiros v. Hechinger Co., 993 F.2d 417
Ry ER a AER NA Net PEN See 16

Anascape Ltd. v. Microsoft Corp., No. 9:06-CV-
158, 2008 WL 160546 (E.D. Tex. Jan. 11,

PE isis sucealdiclaniennsimdanadiachigiiaanbesisbiaemennsssmoaeddoaxseceees 6
Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co.,

BUS F.3d 1S36 (Wed. Cir. ZOIO) .ovcccccseccsvescsccsssosccvssesss 1]
Bailey v. Allgas, Inc., 284 F.3d 1237 (11th Cir.

EE sentence biiienisuitadindedaccreticcale Noite espeinaices st 15
Brock v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,

Ee © ee re Ce Gr RD wick cekawhscccsttnelashcnkhaesesedees 13
Brooke Group Ltd. v. Brown & Williamson To-

bacco Corp., 509 U.S. 209 (1998)......... 1,11, 12, 14, 22

C.B. Fleet Co. v. SmithKline Beecham Con-
sumer Healthcare, L.P., 131 F.3d 480 (4th

FIs IE Pbaiesscissicssiatan cescncaatcesniain aioe tata os 18
Calhoun v. Honda Motor Co., 738 F.2d 126 (6th

RPE, BON i ibaiiisnsnccdauincninseansninsthishadadsaniseedaaieeaksaaibines 16
Christopher v. Cutter Laboratories, 53 F.3d

Re ee ts BI Piiitieaicatadincacinanetddedetn is daviecccninlas 17
Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,

I Sr elis UW IED nscttnnsancencsaniceseceessucasdseinasusbiiens 12,13

Gemtron Corp. v. Saint-Gobain Corp., 572 F.3d
1371 (Fed. Cir. 2009), cert. denied, 130 S.
Ae Ris aibiictactcnccevancctantuuessth imac naeauieiipiertanietns 14

General Electric Co. v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136
EPNUUITE scicasptiac pssisicscabinstrasleaicklaihasnagiha edateaiuaceuienaigabdickieddes eemanaeaec 20

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Guinn v. AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP,
GOS F'.SG 13466 CLIC Cie. BOD) vcssccccsececccccsosesvessenacns 16

In re Baby Food Antitrust Litigation, 166 F.3d
SAF (Ee CAP. TOG) vcivisrscnisioseserscicinceamaaaaee 15

In re Citric Acid Litigation, 191 F.3d 1090 (9th
COED, FE sscvcesicnicscesstcseecuacoecotaccaneicceiuaaaaaneenanaen 15

In re Joint Kastern & Southern District Asbes-
tos Litigation, 52 F.3d 1124 (2d Cir. 1995).............. 19

Kinser v. Gehl Co., 184 F.3d 1259 (10th Cir.
BGO) vicciccascssicocicvexsecncoteséutasnsneei ae 17

Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d
1566 CF OG. CaP. FORT F iccisscscoxssencecseecceeneaee 5

Marbled Murrelet v. Babbitt, 88 F.3d 1060 (9th
CORP. BEG) vssccc cis arcncindnctiliacsvabwusoussanseraraas ae 18

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith
Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986).............eeeeeeeee 12, 14

Pace v. Capobianco, 283 F.3d 1275 (11th Cir.
SIIEE) sinsiccccsicesvissesieecsnipomerentenda ee eee 16

PowerOasis, Inc. v. T-Mobile USA, Inc.,
622 F'.30 1299 (Fed. Cir. ZOOB) ......ccscccsrcsscsescecsecseses 4,9

Questar Pipeline Co. v. Grynberg, 201 F.3d
Be CRORE CA, Be iicsksccstisassacassacsassantemedtananaeae 17

Rebel Oil Co. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 51 F.3d
1423 Cth UP. TS icncnncnanennn 15, 16

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc.,
GSO 1.3. FEB Ge) sistissiscascecssete are 19, 20, 22

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
SCFC ILC, Inc. v. Visa USA, Inc., 36 F.3d 958
BED ccsvssseneccssssccnvssnsveresosnesccnnsszesscscncssesescoss 16
Sundance, Inc. v. DeMonte Fabricating Ltd.,
550 F.3d 1356 (ed. Cir, 2008) ..........cccccccceseeeeeseeeeeees 1]
Turpin v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,
DJOFE’.2G 1349 (6th Cir. 19BZ) .........ccscrccsccccssssesesecees 13
United States v. City of Miami, 115 F.3d 870
TT nas cccccncavensheevncsaseonnnsescosnesonensosasevenincss 15
United States v. Gaskin, 364 F.3d 488 (2d Cir.
isc ca ns cans ddescececandonesensnssstsebeseeosseseness 18
Virgin Atlantic Airways Lid. v. British Air-
ways Ple, 257 F.3d 256 (2d Cir. 2001)..................00. L5
Vollrath Co. v. Sammi Corp., 9 F.8d 1455 (9th
Taro coe csccshevcestceendcesborsnosecnenscessenenensanenneseassis 16
Washington v. United States, 214 F.2d 33 (9th
MTRMEMED «cc cccaconeconcevascseccccsvscovonssceveceanccesscccesonccnsccesens 16
Waterman v. Batton, 393 F.3d 471 (4th Cir.

Nee sas ssacaapcthsennavnsdurevebectossbonedsesaenes 15
Weisgram v. Marley Co., 528 U.S. 440 (2000)......... 17, 2]
STATUTES AND RULES

35 U.S.C.
ETE: 5 | ssc upovedecebssnccsssdvevesceseseseanevcossuchacske 4
a HOA a 4
esos dsnsspnevesennsendcceasnsiecacasoessensnsecsaasats 5
EE, BP, OO cccacsscncacscensccccescvccsescesszccoscnnces i, 1,2, 14, 20

OA OY | 2

vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Pagel
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Manual of Patent EHxamining and Procedure
(Sth rev. ed. 2010)
§ 201.07 :
§ 201.11 l

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 10-30]

Petitioney

NINTENDO OF AMERICA IN

hee noni nil
/

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

INTRODUCTION

“When an expert opinion is not supported by suffi
cient facts to validate it in the eyes of the law, or when
indisputable record facts contradict or otherwise ren
der the opinion unreasonable, it cannot support a jury’:
verdict.” Brooke Group Ltd. v. Brown & Williamson
Tobacco Corp., 509 U.S. 209, 242 (1993). In this case,
the Federal Circuit concluded that indisputable record
facts—the specifications of the two patents at issue
did not permit a reasonable jury to rule in favor of
Anascape and accordingly directed judgment as a mat
ter of law under Rule 50 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure. Anascape asserts error based solely on the

ya

fact that Anascape’s expert gave conclusory testimony
that, on its face, matched Anascape’s litigation posi
tion--even though the Federal Circuit ruled that the
testimony was “not supported by any evidence at all,
and cannot override the objective content of the pat-
ent documents. Pet. App. 14.

Anascape’s vaunted “circuit split” is in fact a phan
tom. Anasecape did not mention any split in its petition
for rehearing below, and it identifies no decision ac
knowledging any disagreement regarding the applica
tion of Rule 50. Numerous decisions in the very circuits
Anascape identifies grant summary judgment of «dy
ment as a matter of law in the face of expert testimony
that, while admissible under Federal Rule of Evidence
702, is insufficient to support a jury verdict. The cases
Anasecape cites are distinguishable and, moreover, do
not purport to differ from the approach of any other
circuit, let alone from this Court’s approach in Brooke
Group. ‘The fact that expert testimony satisfies the
threshold requirements for admissibility under I’edera!
Rule of Evidence 702 is not a reason to exempt it from
the ordinary operation of Rule 50. The Federal Cir
cuit’s decision is nothing but a factbound—and cor
rect—application of settled Rule 50 doctrine to the par
ticular evidentiary record in this case.

STATEMENT
A. Factual Background

Nintendo is a leading manufacturer of video game
systems, including video game controllers. Anuascupe, a
company that makes no products and does not compete
in the video game market, sued Nintendo for patent in
frinzement in the U.S. District Court for the HKastern
District of Texas, accusing yame controllers for two of

3

Nintendo’s innovative video game systems, the
yameCube and the Wii.

A video game controller operates by converting
“the movement of the user’s hand or finger into an elec-
trical impulse that controls the image on a display, such
as a screen.” Pet. App. 25. Controllers typically em-
ploy one or more “input members,” such as a joystick,
handle, trackball, buttons, or other elements that per-
mit the controller to sense the user’s hand actions,
which are in turn translated electronically into linear
and rotational movements on the screen. /d. at 2-3.
Hand inputs can move images in any of six “degrees of
freedom” (DOF): along three linear axes (for-
ward/backward, left/right, or up/down) and around
three rotational axes (roll, pitch, or yaw). /d. at 3.

Two U.S. patents are relevant here. U.S. Patent
No. 6,222,525, which issued from an application filed on
July 5, 1996 (the ’525 patent), was filed by Anascape’s
founder, Brad Armstrong. In an order Anascape did
not appeal, the district court construed the asserted
claims of the ’525 patent in a way that precluded a find-
ing of infringement. Pet. App. 18 & n.3. Accordingly,
the parties stipulated that the accused Nintendo con-
trollers do not infringe the ’525 patent. Jd.

The second patent at issue resulted from an appli-
cation filed after Mr. Armstrong founded Anascape, a
company formed to license, enforce, or otherwise
monetize Mr. Armstrong’s patents and patent applica-
tions. C.A.J.A. 4372, 6815. In August 2000, after
searching for information about Nintendo’s forthcoming
GameCube product, Mr. Armstrong learned that the
GameCube controller would have multiple input mem-
bers—two joysticks and a_ four-pointed “cross

4

switch’—none of which would be movable in all six
DOF. 7d. at 8713-8716.

On November 16, 2000, Mr. Armstrong filed a “con-
tinuation-in-part” application of the ’525 patent; the ap-
plication eventually issued as U.S. Patent No. 6,906,700
(the ’700 patent).' The ’700 patent claimed controllers
with multiple input members that together operate in
six degrees of freedom. Pet. App. 5. As construed by
the district court, the asserted claims of the ’700 patent
were not limited to a single input member operable in
six degrees of freedom. Id. at 4; C.A.J.A. 44-50.

Anascape conceded below that controllers with
multiple input members were sold or otherwise known
in the art prior to the filing of the ’700 patent, including
a Sony controller sold in 1998, a patent application pub-
lished in 1998, and a second Sony controller sold in Oc-
tober 2000. Pet. App. 4; see 35 U.S.C. § 102(a), (z)(2).
Anascape also conceded that the prior art invalidated
the ’700 patent claims unless the claims were entitled to
the ’525 patent’s earlier priority date of July 5, 1996.
Pet. App. 4.

' Mr. Armstrong later improperly changed the application’s
designation to a “continuation” application. In a continuation ap-
plication, “the disclosure presented in the continuation must be the
same as that of the original application.” Manual of Patent Exam-
ining and Procedure § 201.07 (8th rev. ed. 2010). A continuation-
in-part, by contrast, may include new matter not contained in the
parent application, but claims to that new matter will not be enti-
tled to the earlier filing date. Jd. § 201.11; PowerOasis, Inc. v. T-
Mobile USA, Inc., 522 F.3d 1299, 1306 (Fed. Cir. 2008). As is dis-
cussed below, the disclosure of the ’700 patent differed signifi-
cantly from that of the ’525 patent, so its proper designation was as
a continuation-in-part. Pet. App. 11 & n.2.

5

In order for a patent application to be entitled to
the priority date of an earlier application, the earlier
application, as originally filed, must contain a written
description of the invention that supports the claims of
the later application ““‘in sufficient detail that one
skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor
invented the claimed invention as of the filing date
sought.’”” Pet. App. 4 (quoting Lockwood v. American
Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997)); see
also 35 U.S.C. § 120. In this case, the question of prior-
ity turned on whether the ’525 patent sufficiently de-
scribed the “full scope of the inventions recited in each
asserted claim of the ’700 patent.” Pet. App. 4-5, 29.

All of the claims in the ’525 patent as originally filed
recite a single input member, not multiple input mem-
bers. Pet. App. 5. As Nintendo pointed out below—
and Anascape’s petition for certiorari does not deny—
the ’525 specification contains “over twenty explicit
statements that the invention is directed to a single in-
put member that is operable in six degrees of freedom.”
Id. at 8. The ’525 patent’s drawings “all show a single
input member ... capable of operating in six degrees of
freedom.” /d. at 7. The ’525 patent also disparaged a
prior patent with multiple input members (U.S. Patent
No. 5,298,919 to Chang), stating that “the lack of a hand
operable single input member operable in six degrees
of freedom has many significant disadvantages.” /d. at
9 (quoting ’525 patent, col. 3, 1. 30 to col. 4, 1. 380).

In preparing the application for the ’700 patent, Mr.
Armstrong removed important disclaimers and limita
tions from the ’525 patent and added significant broad-
ening language. Every occurrence of the phrase “hand
operable single input member” was replaced with
“hand operable input member(s),” and 16 of 17 refer-
ences to “single input member” were changed to “at

6

least One input member.” Pet. App. 11-12. Mr. Arm-
strong also deleted the ’525 patent’s criticism of the
Chang patent and its use of multiple input members.
Id. at 12.

B. Proceedings In The District Court

In a pretrial claim construction order, the U.S. Dis-
trict Court for the Eastern District of Texas recognized
that the inventor of the 7525 patent “clearly expected
the inventions to be used with a single input member
(such as a joystick) that moved in 6 DOF to control an
image appearing to move in three dimensions.” Pet.
App. 5 (quoting 2008 WL 160546, at *8) (emphasis
added). Nonetheless, Anascape argued that the ’525
patent sufficiently described the devices with multiple
input members later claimed in the ’700 patent.

Anaseape based its argument on the testimony of
its expert witness, Dr. Robert Howe. At trial, Dr.
Howe testified that a statement in the 525 patent that
“(t]he input member of the joystick-type controller may
be manipulable or operable in wp to 6 degrees of free-
dom” meant that “it could be less” than six degrees.
Pet. App. 57-58. He also testified that Figure 9 of the
625 patent showed “a lot of different input modes.” /d.
at 59. Dr. Howe also referred to other “words” and
“text” in the 525 patent that, he contended, meant that
“you could interpret or sense the motion on all 6 de-

grees of freedom there, but you don’t have to.” Jd. at
61-62. Dr. Howe’s overall conclusion was that the ’525
patent “talks about many ideas,” that “the material in
the patent is broader than a single input 6-degree-of-
freedom device,” and that “this supports the claims ...
from the ’700 patent.” Jd. at 54-55.

7

Dr. Howe’s direct testimony did not address the
multiple instances of broadening language and dele-
tions of limitations that differentiate the disclosure of
the ’700 patent from that of the 525 patent. And he
admitted on cross-examination that he did not address
the 525 patent’s disparagement of the Chang refer-
ence, which employed multiple input members. See
C.A.J.A. 4693. Dr. Howe also admitted that the ’525
patent does not disclose the feature—claimed in the
"700 patent—of combining three or more input mem-
bers to achieve control in six DOF:

Q. Just to confirm, though, you can’t point to
anything in the 1996 application where there’s
three input members that can each be touched
by the user and each be moved bi-directionally
to provide 6 degrees of freedom, can you?

A. No.
Id.

At the close of Anascape’s case, Nintendo moved
for judgment as a matter of law under Rule 50, con-
tending that there was “no legally sufficient eviden-
tiary basis for a reasonable jury to find for Anascape on
the issue of priority/earlier effective filing date.” Def.
Nintendo of Am.’s Mot. for Judgment as a Matter of
Law 9 (Dkt. 316) (May 9, 2008).

At the close of all evidence, Nintendo renewed its
Rule 50 motion, pointing out in detail that every em-
bodiment disclosed in the 7525 patent involved a single
input member movable in six DOF, that the ’525 patent
disparaged the Chang reference for its use of multiple
input members, and that no reasonable jury could find
that the 525 patent supported the claims of the ’700
patent. Def. Nintendo of Am.’s Mot. for Judgment as a

8

Matter of Law 9-12 (Dkt. 317) (May 13, 2008). The dis-
trict court denied the motion, ruling that Dr. Howe’s
testimony was “sufficient evidence for this to go to a
jury.” Trial Tr. 1523-1524 (May 138, 2008).

The jury found that three of Nintendo’s four ac-
cused controllers infringed the ”700 patent and awarded
$21 million in damages. Pet. App. 26. Nintendo re-
newed its motion for judgment as a matter of law and,
in the alternative, sought a new trial. Among other ar-
guments, Nintendo pointed out Dr. Howe’s admission
that the ’525 patent failed to support the full breadth of
the ’700 patent claims. See Def. Nintendo of Am.’s Re-
newed Mot. for Judgment as a Matter of Law or, in the
Alternative, a New Trial 9 (Dkt. 356) (July 2, 2008).
The district court denied the motion, ruling that Dr.
Howe had “provided extensive testimony” about how
the ’525 patent specification supported the asserted
claims in the ’700 patent. Pet. App. 29-30.?

C. Proceedings In The Court Of Appeals

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
reversed, concluding that “a reasonable jury would not
have a legally sufficient evidentiary basis to find” that
the ’525 patent sufficiently described the invention
claimed in the ’700 patent. Pet. App. 19 (internal quota-
tion marks omitted).

* The district court also ruled that testimony of Nintendo en
gineer Kazunori Koshiishi supported the jury’s verdict. Pet. App.
30-31. The Federal Circuit ruled that Anascape’s argument in this
regard rested on “a misstatement of Mr. Koshiishi’s testimony.”
Pet. App. 15. Anascape does not challenge that ruling in its peti-
tion for certiorari. Dr. Howe’s testimony rested in part on
Anascape’s misapprehension of Mr. Koshiishi’s testimony.
C.A.J.A. 4684.

9

The Federal Circuit carefully analyzed the objec-
tive evidence of record. First, the court noted the nu-
merous instances in which the 525 patent described the
invention as a device with a “single input member”
movable in six DOF. Pet. App. 6. The court also re-
jected Anascape’s argument based on the figures in the

625 patent, because the specification itself and the in-
ventor’s testimony confirmed that each of the figures
showed a single input member operating in 6 DOF. /d.
at 7-8. Similarly, the court observed that the sentence
in the ’525 patent stating that a joystick “may be” oper-
able in 6 DOF—on which Dr. Howe relied at trial
not a description of the ’525 invention; it is a description
of prior art joysticks as generally used in video games.
Id. at 8. The Federal Circuit separately noted the ’525
patent’s disparagement of the Chang reference for its
use of multiple input controllers. Jd. at 8-9. The Fed-
eral Circuit also rejected Anascape’s efforts to rely on
material in the 525 specification that was added in Au-
gust 2000, long after the original application was filed.
Id. _ 10 (citing PowerOasis, Inc. v. T-Mobile USA,
Inc., 522 F.3d 1299, 13806 (Fed. Cir. 2008)).

The Federal Circuit then itemized the numerous
ways in which Mr. Armstrong had modified the ’525
specification in preparing the later application that be-
came the ’700 patent. Pet. App. 11-12. Mr. Armstrong
replaced references to a “single input member” with
references to “at least one input member” and “deleted
all mention of the prior art Chang controller and its de-
ficiencies.” Jd. at 12. These changes were “extensive
and substantive” and gave the ’700 patent “commensu-
rately broadened scope.” /d. at 13.

The Federal Circuit found Anascape’s argument
that the 525 patent “did not disclaim the broader scope
of the ’700 claims” to be off-point, because “the question

10

is whether the ’525 specification sufficiently describes
the later-claimed subject matter.” Pet. App. 13 (em-
phasis added). As the court noted, a patentee is not
“presumed to support variants that are not described.”
Id. at 14.

The Federal Circuit then ruled that Dr. Howe’s
evidence “cannot override the objective content of
these documents,” namely the ’525 and ’700 patents,
noting that his conclusion that the ’525 patent sup-
ported the ’700 patent claiins was “not supported by
any evidence at all.” Pet. App. 14. The court concluded
that “the only reasonable reading of the ’525 specifica-
tion is that it is directed to and describes only a control-
ler having a single input member operable in six de-
grees of freedom.” /d. at 17. As a result, the ’700 pat-
ent claims were not entitled to an earlier priority date
and—by Anascape’s concession—were invalidated by
prior art. The Court ruled that “judgment as a matter
of law is appropriate” and reversed the district court’s
denial of Nintendo’s Rule 50 motion. /d. at 19.

Anascape petitioned fer panel rehearing and re-
hearing en bane. Anascape’s request for panel rehear-
ing asserted that the panel had “declined to consider
Dr. Howe’s analysis” and argued that the panel should
have “deferr[ed] to record expert evidence.” Pet. for
Reh’g 6. Anascape urged the panel to rehear the case
to consider the expert evidence under the standard “re-
quired by the law of the regional circuit (here, the Fifth
Circuit).” Jd. at 7. Anascape did not suggest that the
Fifth Circuit’s approach to the treatment of expert tes-

3 _
Judge Gajarsa filed a separate concurrence that does not
bear on the issue presented in Anascape’s petition for certiorari.
Pet. App. 20-23.

1]

timony on a Rule 50 motion was incorrect, nor did it
suggest that the Fifth Circuit’s approach conflicted
with that of other circuits. Anascape’s petition did not
seek a remand for a new trial or indicate that it could
have proffered any additional evidence to avoid judg.
ment as a matter of law."

The Federal Circuit denied rehearing and rehear-
ing en bane. Anascape petitioned for certiorari.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I THIS COURT HAS REPEATEDLY RECOGNIZED THAT
ADMITTED EXPERT TESTIMONY MAY BE INSUFFICIENT
TO SUPPORT A VERDICT

This Court has engaged in the very reasoning for
which Anascape faults the Federal Circuit here. In
Brooke Group Ltd. v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco
Corp., 509 U.S. 209 (1993), a jury had found that re-
spondent Brown & Williamson “had engaged in price
discrimination that had a reasonable possibility of injur-
ing competition in the domestic cigarette market as a
whole.” /d. at 218. The Court acknowledged that peti-
tioner Liggett had proffered an economic expert who
“explained Liggett’s theory of predatory price dis-
crimination and testified that he believed it created a
reasonable possibility that Brown & Williamson could
injure competition in the Umted States cigarette mar-
ket as a whole.” /d. at 242. The Court nonetheless af-
firmed the grant of judgment as a matter of law, ruling

Anascape also sought rehearing en banc on the theory that
the panel’s decision conflicted with the Federal Circuit’s decisions
in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Ela Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336
(Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane), and Sundance, Inc. v. DeMonte Favbri-
cating Ltd., 550 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2008).

12

that the record “does not provide an adequate basis for
a finding of liability.” /d. at 230. The Court explained
the insufficiency of the expert testimony as follows:

When an expert opinion is not supported by
sufficient facts to validate it in the eyes of the
law, or when indisputable record facts contra-
dict or otherwise render the opinion unreason-
able, it cannot support a jury’s verdict. Expert
testimony is useful as a guide to interpreting
market facts, but it is not a substitute for them.

Id. at 242 (citation omitted).

In support, the Court cited and reaffirmed similar
reasoning in Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Ze-
nith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986). There, the Court
accepted as final a determination that the plaintiffs’ ex-
pert evidence was admissible. /d. at 580. Nonetheless,
the Court affirmed the district court’s conclusion tha
the report was “implausible and inconsistent with re
cord evidence,” had “little probative value,” and accord-
ingly could not overcome summary judgment. /d. at
594 n.19 (cited in Brooke Group, 509 U.S. at 242).

Furthermore, in Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharma-
ceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579 (1998)—decided only a
week after Brooke Group—this Court took pains to
emphasize the difference between a determination that
expert testimony is admissible and a determination
that it suffices to support a reasonable jury verdict.
Responding to the concern that Daubert’s more per-
missive approach to admission of expert evidence might
“result in a ‘free-for-all’ in which befuddled juries are
confounded by absurd and irrational pseudoscientific
assertions,” this Court reaffirmed the authority of fed-
eral courts to resolve cases as a matter of law under

ls

Rule 50, even in the face of admissible expert testi
mony:

[I]n the event the trial court concludes that the
scintilla of evidence presented supporting a po
sition is insufficient to allow a reasonable juror
to conclude that the position more likely than
not is true, the court remains free to direct a
judgment, F'ed.Rule Civ.Proc. 50(a), and like
wise to grant summary judgment, Fed.Rule
Civ.Proc. 56.

Daubert, 509 U.S. at 595-596. The Court cited with ap
proval two cases that had ruled, as a matter of law, that
admitted expert testimony was insufficient to support a
jury verdict. See id. at 596 (citing Turpin v. Merrell
Dow Pharms., Inc., 959 F.2d 1349 (6th Cir. 1992), and
Brock v. Merrell Dow Pharms., Inc., 874 F.2d 307 (5th
Cir. 1989)).°

The Federal Circuit’s analysis of Dr. Howe’s testi
mony was no different from this Court’s analysis of
similar testimony in Brooke Group and Matsushita.
Just as this Court rejected expert testimony that had
“little probative value in comparison with the economic

: Although the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Turpin ruled in the
alternative that expert testimony was inadmissible (see 959 F.2d
at 1360), its primary conclusion was one of insufficiency of the evi
dence. See id. at 1350 (“Taken in the light most favorable to the
plaintiffs, the scientific evidence that provides the foundation for
the expert opinion on causation in this case is not sufficient to al
low a jury to find that it is more probable than not that Bendectin
caused the minor plaintiff's injury.”); see also Daubert, 509 U.S. at
596 (summarizing Turpin as “holding that scientific evidence that
provided foundation for expert testimony, viewed in the light most
favorable to plaintiffs, was not sufficient to allow a jury to find it
more probable than not that defendant caused plaintiff's injury’’).

14

factors” in the record, Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 594 n.19;
see also Brooke Group, 509 U.S. at 243, the Federal
Circuit rejected expert testimony that sought to “over-
ride the objective content of’ the two patent specifica-
tions at issue (Pet. App. 14). The Federal Circuit did
not make any credibility determinations or weigh the
evidence, any more’ than this Court had; rather, it sim-
ply concluded under accepted Rule 50 standards that
Dr. Howe’s opinion was incapable of supporting a jury
verdict. Anascape’s contrary account of the Federal
Circuit’s opinion is indistinguishable from the position
that Justice White expressed in dissent—a_ position
that this Court rejected in Matsushita and again in
Brooke Group. See Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 606 (White,
J., dissenting) (contending that the weaknesses in
plaintiffs’ expert’s analysis were “arguments that a
factfinder should consider’’).

I]. THERE IS NO CIRCUIT SPLIT

In its petition for rehearing below, Anascape ac-
cused the Federal Circuit of misapplying the rulings of
the Fifth Circuit, which is the regional circuit govern-
ing non-patent issues in this patent case. Pet. for Reh’g
7; see Gemtron Corp. v. Saint-Gobain Corp., 572 F.3d
1371, 13879 (l’ed. Cir. 2009) (Federal Circuit reviews de-
nials of Rule 50 motions under the law of the regional
circuit), cert. denied, 130 S. Ct. 1739 (2010). Reversing
course, Anascape now contends that the Federal Cir-
cuit correctly applied Fifth Circuit law, but that the
Federal and Fifth Circuits’ approach to Rule 50 pre-
sents a “sharp contrast” to that of other circuits, impli-
cating a “longstanding and entrenched” circuit conflict.
Pet. 12, 16. Anascape did not identify any such conflict
in its petition for rehearing below, and for good reason:
none exists.

Ll)

Anascape identifies no court of appeals decision a
knowledging its perceived circuit split. On the con
trary, numerous courts of appeals, including those cu
cuits Anascape invokes, have followed this Court’
analysis in Matsushita and Brooke Group by directing
summary judgment or judgment as a matter of law
notwithstanding expert testimony that, though adm)
sible, is deemed insufficient to support a jury verdict
See, e.g., Waterman v. Batton, 393 F.3d 471, 478 & n&
(4th Cir. 2005) (reversing denial of summary judgment
where the record showed that officers’ conduct wa
reasonable, notwithstanding expert testimony to the
contrary); Bailey v. Allgas, Inc., 254 F.3d 1287, 1257
(lith Cir. 2002) (‘Regardless of whether the testimony
of the Baileys’ expert is admissible, we conclude the
testimony is insufficient to establish a violation of the
Robinson-Patman Act.”); Virgin Atl. Arrways Ltd
British Arrways Ple, 257 F.3d 256, 267-268 (2d On
2001) (affirming grant of summary judgment notwith
standing expert testimony, citing Ksrooke Group); In re
Citric Acid Latig., 191 F.8d 1090, 1102 (9th Cir. 1999)
(“Because there is no evidence in the record establish
ing that Cargill’s market share was constant betwee!
1993 and 1995, any inference founded upon that factual
assertion—even one drawn by an economic expert—1
necessarily unrea wnable.” (citing Brooke Group) (foot
note omitted)); In re Baby Food Antitrust Litig., 166
I3d 112, 135 (3d Cir. 1999) (affirming summary judg
ment where expert opinion, even “assuminy [its] ad
missibility,” offered “meayer evidence of defendant
behavior contrary to self interest and of motivation to
conspire”); United States v. City of Miami, 115 F.3d
870, $73 (Lith Cir. 1997) (directing dissolution of con
sent decree where city’s expert testimony “lacked pro
bative value as a matter of law”); Peebel Oil Co. v. Al

lf)

lantic Richfield Co., 51 F.8d 1421, 1486 (9th Cir. 1095)
(“Our independent review of Rebel’s expert affidavits
compels the conclusion that it would be unreasonable
for a juror to infer from those affidavits that full serve
sales of gasoline should be excluded from the relevant
market.”); SCRC ILC, Inc. v. Visa USA, Inc., 36 F.3d
958, 969 (Oth Cir. 1994) (reversing denial of Rule 50
motion where “the evidence cited by the district court”
in support of the jury verdict, including expert testi
mony, “is insufficient as a matter of law”); Vollrath Co
9 id 1455, 1462 (9th Cir. 1998) Caf
firming grant of judgment notwithstanding the verdict
where plaintiffs “expert testimony was not based upon

v. Sami Corp

sufficient evidence adduced at trial’); Alevromagiros v
Hechinger Co., 998 F.2d 417, 422 (4th Cir. 1998) Caffirm
ing directed verdict where expert testimony was “un

supported by any evidence”); Calhoun v. Honda Motor
Co., 738 F.2d 126, 131 (6th Cir. 1984) (affirming grant of
judgment notwithstanding the verdict where
“lalithough plaintiffs expert opined that the brakes
were wet at the time of the accident, the evidence does
not support his conclusion’); Washington v. United
States, 214 F.2d 33, 43 (9th Cir. 1954) (affirming di
rected verdict, ruling that opinion testimony, including
expert opinion, “without any support in the demonstra
tion and physical facts, is nol substantial evidence”); see
also Guinn v. AstraZeneca Pharms. LI’, 602 F.3d 1245,
1256-1257 (lith Cir. 2010) (affirmings summary judy
ment where, even if expert testimony had been admis
sible, it would not have permitted a reasonable juror to

,

rule in plaintiffs favor); Pace v. Capobianco, 243 F.3d
127, 1241 nil (Lith Cir. 2002) (Opinions, be they ex
pert or lay, are only as yood as the evidence upon which
they are based.’’).

7

The decisions Anascape cites do not suggest any
meaningful disagreement either. Kinser v. Gehl Co.,
184 F.3d 1259 (10th Cir. 1999), was abrogated by this
Court’s decision in Weisgram v. Marley Co., 528 U.S.
440 (2000), which ruled (contrary to Kinser) that an ap-
pellate court may direct judgment for a verdict loser in
a case where “the appellate court declares inadmissible
record evidence essential to the verdict winner’s case.”
Id. at 454. And even if Kinser were good law, it would
be inapposite here, since the Federal Circuit did not
rule Dr. Howe’s testimony inadmissible; it simply ruled
that the record, zncluding his testimony, was insuffi-
cient to permit a verdict for Anascape.

Questar Pipeline Co. v. Grynberg, 201 F.8d 1277
(10th Cir. 2000), ruled only that the district court had
incorrectly stricken certain evidence. /d. at 1290. It is
not even clear that the evidence at issue in Grynberg
was expert testimony. See id. at 1289 (observing no in-
dication “that Mr. Grynberg was actually testifying as
an expert”).° And Christopher v. Cutter Labs., 53 F.3d
1184 (11th Cir. 1995), ruled that the record as a whole,
including expert testimony that was valid and admissi-
ble (though some other testimony was not), sufficed to
support the verdict. /d. at 1192. Neither case sug-
gested that expert testimony, once admitted, could
never be deemed insufficient to sustain a verdict where
it was “not supported by any evidence at all” and con-
trary to “the objective content” of the governing docu
ments. Pet. App. 14.

: Although the Grynberg plaintiff offered expert testimony as
well, the Tenth Circuit ruied that it was “properly stricken.” Jd. at
1288.

18

Anascape also cites three cases in which appellants
relied on Daubert itself to challenge the reliability of
expert testimony on appeal, despite not having raised a
Daubert challenge below. In the first two, C.B. Fleet
Co. v. SmithKline Beecham Consumer Healthcare,
L.P., 131 F.3d 4380 (4th Cir. 1997), and Marbled Mur-
relet v. Babbitt, 83 F.3d 1060 (9th Cir. 1996)—both ap-
peals following bench trials—the appellate challenge
was expressly based on a failure of expert testimony
“to meet the standard for reliable scientific evidence
under Daubert,” an argument the appellants had failed
to preserve in the trial court. Marbled Murrelet, 83
F.3d at 1066; see also C.B. Fleet, 131 F.3d at 437. In the
third case, United States v. Gaskin, 364 F.3d 488 (2d
Cir. 2004), the appellant not only failed to raise Daubert
at trial, but stipulated to the expert testimony. 7d. at
460 & n.8. The courts of appeals refused to consider ar-
guments based on the Daubert admissibility standard
“in the guise of an insufficiency-of-the-evidence argu-
ment” where the issue had not been pressed before or
passed on by the district court. Marbled Murrelet, 83
F.3d at 1067; see also C.B. Fleet, 131 F.3d at 4387 (refus-
ing to perform a “first instance application of Daubert
principles on a record completely inadequate for the
nurpose”); Gaskin, 364 F.3d at 460 n.8. Here, by con-
trast, the Federal Circuit did not rule Dr. Howe’s tes-
timony inadmissible under Daubert principles; it simply
held, in line with established Rule 50 jurisprudence,
that the record as a whole could not reasonably support
a verdict for Anascape—an argument that was both
presented to and decided by the district court. Pet.
App. 28-31.

Anascape’s last case does not create a circuit split
either. On the contrary, the Second Circuit reaffirmed
that Daubert did not change settled Rule 50 doctrine,

19

but rather expressly contemplated the possibility of
judgment as a matter of law notwithstanding expert
testimony. /n re Joint H. & S. Dist. Asbestos Litig., 52
F.3d 1124, 11382-1133 (2d Cir. 1995) (noting that
Daubert, Turpin, and Brock “did not alter the tradi-
tional sufficiency standard’). Although the Second Cir-
cuit did reverse the grant of a Rule 50 motion, it did so
only by identifying eight serious deficiencies in the dis-
trict court’s analysis of the record, including reaching
scientific conclusions while citing no authority (¢d. at
1134); failing to address federal agency reports sup-
porting the verdict (¢7d. at 1135-11386); and disregarding
the Circuit’s prior rulings in the ease (id. at 1186). The
Second Circuit’s decision did not adopt a different “ap-
proach” to Rule 50; it simply applied the traditional and
accepted approach to the particular case before it.

linally, even if Anascape were correct that sore
panels had occasionally issued decisions that differ from
the analysis of Brooke Group, Matsushita, and the de-
cisions cited on pages 15-16 above, this Court should
await further percolation of the issue within the af-
fected circuits, in addition to percolation among the cir-
cults. That is particularly the case given that Anascape
has not identified any decision acknowledging a sup-
posed conflict. Indeed, Anascape itself did not appear
to know of any conflict when it sought rehearing in the
Federal Circuit four months ago.

II]. ANASCAPE’S REMAINING ARGUMENTS PROVIDE NO
BASIS FOR CERTIORARI
The remaining arguments Anascape asserts in its
petition fail.

First, nothing in Feeves v. Sanderson Plumbing
Products, Inc., 5380 U.S. 133 (2000), altered the accepted

20

understanding of Rule 50, much less overruled this
Court’s application of it in Matsushita and Brooke
Group. In Reeves, this Court reversed a court of ap-
peals decision holding that an employment discrimina-
tion plaintiff who proved a prima facie case of discrimi-
nation and convincingly rebutted the employer’s prof-
fered nondiscriminatory explanation could nonetheless
never reach the jury without proffering additional evi-
dence. /d. at 146. The Court made clear, however, that
judgment as a matter of law might sometimes be ap-
propriate in such cases: “To hold otherwise would be
effectively to insulate an entire category of employ-
ment discrimination cases from review under Rule
50[.]” Jd. at 148. The Federal Circuit’s consideration of
the record as a whole—including the “objective con
tent” of the key patent documents (Pet. App. 14)—was
fully consistent with Reeves. See 5380 U.S. at 148-149
(stating that the appropriateness of judgment as a mat-
ter of law “will depend on a number of factors,” includ-
ing “the probative value” of the plaintiffs evidence). If
anything, it is Anascape’s suggestion that expert evi-
dence should be treated differently from other evidence
for purposes of a Rule 50 motion that runs counter to

Reeves.’

’ The abuse-of-diseretion standard of review for admissibility
decisions, see General Electric Co. v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136 (1997), is
irrelevant to this case. The Federal Circuit did not rule that Dr.
Howe’s testimony was inadmissible or, in Anascape’s words,
should have been “excised.” Pet. 19. Anascape elsewhere recog-
nizes as much. /d. at 8. Rather, the Federal Circuit simply ruled
that the evidence of record, taken as a whole including Dr. Howe's
testimony, did not permit a reasonable jury to find that the ’525
patent sufficiently described the invention claimed in the '700 pat-
ent.

21

Second, Anascape’s complaint of an “unfair ambush
on appeal” (Pet. 20) is meritless. Nintendo repeatedly
argued to the district court that the ’525 and ’700 pat-
ent specifications permitted only one reasonable out-
come, namely that the disclosure in the earlier patent
did not support the claims of the later patent. See sz-
pra pp. 7-8. Anascape was “on notice every step of the
way” that Nintendo was challenging the sufficiency of
its evidence, yet it “made no attempt to add or substi-
tute other evidence.” Wetsgram, 528 U.S. at 456.
Anascape’s claim that the Federal Circuit denied it
“any opportunity to lay a better foundation” for Dr.
Howe’s testimony (Pet. 21) rings hollow, given that it
could have sought a new trial in its petition for rehear-
ing, but did not. See Weisgram, 528 U.S. at 454-455 &
n.ll. Even in its petition for certiorari, Anascape still
does not explain what “better foundation” it could have
provided.

Third, nothing in the Federal Circuit’s ruling turns
expert testimony into “‘second-class’ evidence” for Rule
50 purposes. Pet. 28. The Federal Circuit approached
the record in the same way as this Court has, namely
by ruling that judgment as a matter of law was war-
ranted because Anascape, “in the appellate court’s
judgment, failed to present sufficient evidence.” Weis-
gram, 528 U.S. at 454. The Federal Circuit did not say
that expert testimony, once admitted, can never pro-
vide substantial support for a jury verdict, or that ex-
pert testimony deserved less regard under Rule 50
than other evidence. The fact that expert testimony
must satisfy “additional threshold requirements” under
Daubert (Pet. 23) is a consequence of Federal Rule of
Evidence 702; it is not a reason to exempt expert testi-
mony from the ordinary operation of Rule 50. Indeed,
it is Anascape that seeks to elevate its expert’s testi-

mony into a kind of “upper-class evidence” that, once
admitted, will always support a jury verdict in its pro-
ponent’s favor, even if it is otherwise unsupported or
contradicted by the “objective content” of governing
documents. Pet. App. 14. Just as there was no reason
to “insulate an entire category of employment discrimi-
nation cases from review under Rule 50” (Reeves, 530
U.S. at 148), there is no reason to do so for patent cases
involving expert testimony.

Fourth, there was no “manifest error’ here. Pet.
18, 24. Even as Anascape faults the Federal Circuit for
rejecting its expert’s conclusion, it does not deny that
Dr. Howe (1) failed to account for the numerous refer-
ences to “single input member’ present in the ’525 pat-
ent but removed from the ’700 patent; (2) did not ad-
dress the ’525 patent’s disparagement of the Chang ref-
erence, which used multiple input members; and (3)
admitted that the 525 patent did not disclose a device
with three input members that together provided
movement in six DOF, whereas the ’700 patent claimed
just that. See supra p. 7. The Federal Circuit did not
err, much less commit “manifest error,” in concluding
that Dr. Howe’s testimony was inconsistent with the
“objective content” of the patents, and that the patents
must prevail in such a conflict. Pet. App. 14; see Brooke
Group, 509 U.S. at 242 (“[WJhen indisputable record
facts contradict or otherwise render the opinion unrea-
sonable, it cannot support a jury’s verdict.”).

The testimony of an expert skilled in the art is cer-
tainly “relevant” to the question of priority date. Pet.
24. The testimony of this expert, however, was unsup-
ported and contradicted by the central objective evi-
dence in the case. The Federal Circuit did nothing
more than engage in a factbound application of settled

23

Rule 50 doctrine. Anascape’s dissatisfaction with the
outcome does not warrant this Court’s review.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be de-
nied.

Respectfully submitted.

ROBERT J. GUNTHER, JR. WILLIAM F.. LEE
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING Counsel of Record

HALE AND DORR LLP MARK C. FLEMING
399 Park Avenue ILAUREN B. FLETCHER
New York, NY 10022 WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
(212) 230-8800 HALE AND DORR LLP

60 State Street

Boston, MA 02109

(617) 526-6000
william.lee@wilmerhale.com

SEPTEMBER 2010

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2425%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
