# Reply Brief — Indiana Family & Social Services Administration v. Indiana Protection & Advocacy Services

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2316%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 563 U.S. 969

## Text

Sn
Suprem> Court, US
FILED

JANN 25
\\ OF CE OF THE CLERK

No. 10-131

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

[INDIANA FAMILY AND SOCIAL SERVICES
ADMINISTRATION; MICHAEL A. GARGANOQO, in his
official capacity as Secretary of the Indiana Family and
Social Services Administration; GINA ECKART, in her

official capacity as Director of the Division of Menta!

Health and Addiction; LARRY LISAK, in his official

capacity as Superintendent of Larue Carter Memorial
Host ita

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

REPLY IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

Office of the Attorney Genera GREGORY I ZOELLEI

IGC South, Fifth Floor Attorney General
302 W. Washington Street l'HOMAS M. FISHE!

Indianapolis, IN 46204 Solicitor Genera!

) 232-6255 (Counsel of Record

HEATHER HAGAN MCVE
\SHLEY TATMAN HARW!
leputy Attorneys Gene

Counsel for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

REPLY IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

The Seventh Cuircuit Chose to Address

Indiana's Sovereign Immunity Claim and
it is Therefore a Live Issue

|] The Seventh Cuircuits Ruling on the

Cause of Action Issue is in Tension with
Supreme Court Precedent

Ih] In Conflict with the Decision Below. Both
HHS and a State Supreme Court have
Concluded that Confidential Peer Review

Documents Are Not Covered by PAIMI

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Alexander v. Sandoval
ma

532 U.S. 275 (2001)

Brunner v. Ohio Republic

S55 US r) (2OQ8)

Caideron v. Ashmus,

523 U.S. 740 (1998)

for Legal Ad Oocac’

323 F.3d 1262 (10th

Disabilities Righ ts Ctr., In v. Con
Hampshire Dep’t of Correctior
732 A.2d 1021 (N.H. 1999)

tt) &

’ | ;
Edelman v. Jordar

415 U.S. 651 (1974)

Florida Dept O} State t
Inc..,

158 U.S. 670 (1982

Ford Motor Co. ' LJep t of [re

293 U _ 459 (1 14 >)

CASES (CONT'D)

Gonzaga Univ. v. Doe,
536 U.S. 273 (2002)....

Lapides v. Bd. of Regents of the Univ. Sys
Georgia,
535 U.S. 613 (2002)....

Missouri Prot. & Advocacy Servs
Dep't of Mental Health,
147 F.3d 1021 (8th Cir. 2006)

Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Haldermar
165 U.S. 89 (1984)

Pennsylvania Prot. & Advocacy)
Houstoun.
228 F.3d 423 (3d Cir. 2000

Prot. & Adi ocacy jor Persons with Disabil
». Mental Health & Addiction Seri
148 F.3d 119 (2d Cir. 2006)

Sosna { lowa.

119 U.S. 393 (1975)

Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington
142 U.S. 560 (1979)

Virginia v. Reinhard,
568 F.3d 110 (4th Cir. 2009)

Wisconsin Dept of Corr. v. Schacht
524 U.S. 381 (1998)

REPLY IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

Re VOT)

itinulng

»( lo ed tne

Bi
{ }

Lad uc i the ame
ome of Reinhard i control the re

ult of

m immun resented he

(Lourt hor

de

The Seventh Circuit Chose to Address

Indiana’s Sovereign Immunity Claim and

itis Therefore a Live Issue

other grounds! by Lapides v. Bd. of Regents of the
Univ. Sys. of Georgia, 535 U.S. 613, 623 (2002); see
also Sosna v. lowa, 419 U.S. 393, 396 n.2 (1975)
(“the failure of the State to raise the defense of
sovereign immunity in the District Court would not
have barred Iowa from raising that issue in this
Court’).

More specifically, “[t]he Court has said the
Eleventh Amendment bar may be asserted for the
first time on appeal, so a State which is sued in
federal court does not waive the Eleventh
Amendment simply by appearing and defending on
the merits.” Wisconsin Dep’t of Corr. v. Schacht, 524
U.S. 381, 393-94 (1998) (Kennedy, J. concurring)
(citing Florida Dep’t of State v. Treasure Salvors,
Inc., 458 U.S. 670, 683, n.18 (1982) (plurality
opinion); Calderon v. Ashmus, 523 U.S. 740, 745, n.2
(1998); Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman,
465 U.S. 89, 99, n.8 (1984); Edelman v. Jordan, 415
U.S. 651 (1974)).

Regardless, the Seventh Circuit panel raised the
sovereign immunity issue, as it was entitled to do,
and the en banc court correctly found that “because
the panel opened the door, [it needed to] address the
defense.” App. 10a. This effectively negates any
suggestion of waiver. The Seventh Circuit decided
the issue, the result impairs the state’s immunity

1 In Lapides, the Court’s finding of waiver was “limit[ed] . . . to
the context of state-law claims, in respect to which the State
has explicitly waived immunity from state-court proceedings.”
535 U.S. at 617. This concern does not apply where, as here,
there has been no removal of state law claims to federal court.

going forward, and, therefore, the issue is alive and
appealable.

IPAS nonetheless claims that the Seventh Circuit
should not have addressed the Eleventh Amendment
defense in its en banc opinion even though the panel
based its decision on that issue. Brief in Opposition
at 17. If the en banc court had ignored the issue,
however, there would have been no circuit conflict
p»ompting the Court to grant certiorari in Reinhard.
IPAS’s argument, taken to its logical conclusion,
implies that the Court should (1) grant, vacate and
remand this case with instructions that the Seventh
Circuit remove the Eleventh Amendment holding
from its en banc opinion; and (2) dismiss the VOPA
case as improvidently granted in light of a lack of
circuit conflict.

It seems unhkely that IPAS would actually desire
this result, so its walver argument cannot be given
credence. Accordingly the Court should at the very
least hold this case pending resolution of Reinhard.

Il. The Seventh Circuit’s Ruling on the Cause
of Action Issue is in Tension with Supreme
Court Precedent

IPAS stresses that whether PAIMI creates a
cause of action is “an issue of first impression.” Brief
in Opposition at 19. Yet four other circuits have
granted relief to P&A systems as if a PAIMI cause of
action exists. See, e.g., Prot. & Advocacy for Persons
with Disabilities v. Mental Health & Addiction
Serus., 448 F.3d 119 (2d Cir. 2006); Pennsylvania

Prot. & Advocacy, Inc. v. Houstoun, 228 F.3d 423,
428 (3d Cir. 2000); Missouri Prot. & Advocacy Servs.
v. Missouri Dep't of Mental Health, 447 F.3d 1021
(8th Cir. 2006); Ctr. for Legal Advocacy v. Hammons,
323 F.3d 1262, 1272 (10th Cir. 2003). None of these
cases even cites Gonzaga or otherwise explains
where they found a PAIMI cause of action, yet they
permitted one sub silentio. The Court should not
wait on the unlikely event that these courts will
reverse course before taking up this issue.

The decision below and the tacit approval of a
PAIMI cause of action elsewhere is_ especially
troubling because this Court has so emphatically
provided clear guidance on when and how Spending
Clause statutes create causes of action. See, e.g.,
Gonzaga Univ. v. Doe, 5386 U.S. 273, 283-84 (2002):
Alexander v. Sandoval, 532 U.S. 275, 286 (2001);
Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 239 (1979).
Whether Congress intended to create a cause of
action “is definitively answered in the negative’
where ‘a statute by its terms grants no private rights
to any identifiable class.” Gonzaga, 536 U.S. at 283-
84 (quoting Touche Ross & Cc. v. Redington, 442
U.S. 560, 576 (1979)). Meve recently, this Court
reemphasized that causes of action must be clearly
set forth by Congress, rejecting as it did the Sixth
Circuit's understanding that state-level
administrative processes can imply rights of action
to enforce federal programs. See Brunner v. Ohio
Republican Party, 555 U.S. 5 (2008) (per curiam).

Here, “[t]he statutes in question do not confer
rights on the plaintiff.” App. 49a (Easterbrook, C.J.,

dissenting); see also Petition at 13-25. The en banc
court’s creation of a cause of action shows that the
Court’s repeated doctrinal instructions are not being
carried out. See App. 49a (Easterbrook, C.J.,
dissenting). Given the nature of the doctrine at
stake, which requires clarity on the part of Congress
before the Court finds a right of action, and given
that so many appeals courts have already assumed
this issue away, this is not a case where the Court is
likely to gain any benefit from further percolation
and insight from lower courts. Either Congress
unambiguously provided a cause of action under
PAIMI or it did not.

Furthermore, IPAS suggests that it would
somehow be unfair for PAIMI to be treated as a
typical Spending Clause statute because cancellation
of the federal grant would harm IPAS and its
particular mission rather than other state officials
and their particular mission. Brief in Opposition at
22. But it 1s the need to hold accountable the grant-
receiving state, not a particular agency or official of
that state, that makes grant revocation an
appropriate remedy. If Indiana loses the grant that
funds IPAS, Jndiana is held accountable, and IPAS’s
funding is part of that.

Ultimately, like its (and VOPA’s) arguments with
regard to the sovereign immunity issue, 1PAS’s
position on this “fairness” issue ignores the fact that
IPAS is the state. Even if a state-agency protection
and advocacy system has a sufficiently justiciable
stake to satisfy Article III (and some members of the
Court raised doubts about this at the oral argument

in Reinhard), it is wrong to conceptualize IPAS as
having some broader equitable interest in federal
funding beyond its role as an appendage of the state.

Regardless, it is irrelevant to the cause of action
issue whether judges may think it unfair to defund
IPAS in response to the failings of another state
agency's officials. The existence of remedies
“depend(s] on the statutory text and structure, not
on judges’ views about how much enforcement, and
by whom, is optimal.” App. at 49a (Easterbrook,
C.J., dissenting).

PAIMI provides no cause of action for this
lawsuit. The Court should grant this case to
emphasize the restrictions imposed on lower courts
by its right-of-action precedents.?

2 IPAS suggests that it could also proceed under 42 U.S.C. §
1983. Brief in Opposition at 23 n.4. In the en banc
proceedings, however, IPAS conceded that, as a state agency, it
could not bring suit under Section 1983. It even asked for a
remand so as to amend its complaint to add its Executive
Director in his official capacity as a plaintiff. See IPAS En
Banc Br. at 50. IPAS thus recognized that because of its
pleading choices, Section 1983 was not the “alternative grounds
for affirmance” that it now claims. Brief in Opposition at 23
n.4. Regardless, the IPAS Executive Director is no more a
“person” under Section 1983 than is IPAS, as the rationale for
allowing Section 1983 suits for injunctive relief to proceed
against state officials does not apply to such suits by state
officials—the law of Section 1983 cannot bear any more fictions
than it already has. See State En Banc Reply Br. at 18.
Finally, Section 1983 “merely provides a mechanism for
enforcing individual rights ‘secured’ elsewhere,” and if PAIMI
does not secure rights justifying a cause of action, see supra
Part II, any properly raised Section 1983 claim would also fail.

III. In Conflict with the Decision Below, Both
HHS and a State Supreme Court have
Concluded that Confidential Peer Review
Documents Are Not Covered by PAIMI

The Department of Health and Human Services
has promulgated a rule interpreting PAIMI to
exclude peer review records, the confidentiality of
which is otherwise protected by state law. See 42
C.F.R. § 51.41(c)(4). Five courts of appeals,
including the Seventh Circuit, have now found that
the HHS rule is inconsistent with PAIMI. See Brief
in Opposition at 23-24. The New Hampshire
Supreme Court, however, has upheld and enforced
HHS’s regulation concerning peer review records.
Disabilities Rights Ctr., Inc. v. Comm’, New
Hampshire Dep't of Corrections, 732 A.2d 1021, 1024
(N.H. 1999).

HHS is in the process of promulgating a new rule,
73 Fed. Reg. 19,708, 19,715, (Apr. 10, 2008), but that
process began more than two years ago, and there is
no reason to believe that a final revision will be
issued soon. The conflict among courts regarding the
extant regulation continues to cause confusion for
doctors, administrators and agency officials who
must try to apply the law. The Court needs to
resolve the peer-review documents issue for the sake
of consistency and finality.

Gonzaga, 536 U.S. at 285; see also State En Banc Reply Br. at
17-19.

CONCLUSION

The petition should be granted or at the very
least held pending the Court’s decision in Reinhard.

Office of the Attorney General

IGC South, Fifth Floor
302 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 232-6255
Tom.Fisher@atg.in.gov

Dated: January 11, 2011

Respectfully Submitted,

GREGORY F. ZOELLER
Attorney General
THOMAS M. FISHER
Solicitor General
(Counsel of Record)
HEATHER HAGAN MCVEIGH
ASHLEY TATMAN HARWEL
Deputy Attorneys General

Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2316%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
