# Amicus Curiae Brief — Weiss v. Assicurazioni Generali, S.p.A.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2219%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 952

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILEN
\ob No. 10-80 AUG 13 2010

OFFICE Cc: sre vt ERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

i sdiaeianeneail

DR. THOMAS WEISS,
Petitioner,
v.
ASSICURAZIONI GENERALI, S.PA. and

BUSINESS MEN’S ASSURANCE
COMPANY OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES Court OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF
PROFESSORS OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW AND
FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW IN SUPPORT OF THE

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL D. RAMSEY* MICHAEL E. EXLSNER
UNIVERSITY OF SAN DiEGO JOHN M. EUBANKS
SCHOOL OF LAw Mot Ley Rice LLC
5998 Alcala Park 28 Bridgeside Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92110 Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464
(619) 260-4145 (843) 216-9000

mramsey@sandiego.edu

Counsel for Amici Curiae

* Counsel of Record

l

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CITEDAUTHORITIES .........

LIST OF AMICI CURIAE ,...........0eeees

I.

IT.

The Decision Below Conflicts With Basic
Principles Of Separation Of Powers And
EE

A. The Constitution’s Basic Principles of
Separation of Powers and Federalism
Require that Mere Presidential
Policies Cannot Displace Otherwise-
Constitutional State Law. .........

B. The Decision Below Conflicts with
Basic Constitutional Principles by
Giving Preemptive Effect to Mere
PROMIGONUA! POUCY, 0.00. cc cece nee

Medellin v. Texas Reaffirmed That Mere
Presidential Foreign Policy Does Not
Displace State Law And Rejected Broad
Readings Of Garamendi To The Contrary

6

10

ul

Contents

Page

A. In Medellin, this Court Refused to
Find a State Law Preempted by a
Mere Presidential .Foreign Policy .. 13

B. This Court’s Decision in Medellin
Limits American Insurance Associa-
tion v. Garamendi, on which the
Jourt of Appeals Relied, to State
Laws that Conflict with Executive
pr | PPPereTeT re rorerr rrr 17

©. The Decision Below Directly Conflicts
with this Court’s Decision in Medellin

e oes 8 e's 8.6 68) 6:84.26 6.8.6 8.2 8:8 82 6 64 2 2 8 8 4

18

III. This Case Presents an Issue of Wide-
Ranging Practical Importance Relating
to the President’s Power over State Law

19

686 8 64.68 6@ 8 6 6.46 66.868 6.8 8 888 86.6 86 686.8 8.84. 8 8

il

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:
American Insurance Association v. Garamendi,

539 U.S. 396 (2003) .......... 0. cece wees passim
Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board,

DES Utd. BOO LEMOS) ccccccccsecesceseces .. 4,16
Breard v. Greene,

ee Ri edes TE CRO cas cee rv ewbssecice ewes 4, 16
Dames & Moore v. Regan,

ee Nene SI CUE? vos cus 0 otk bac ues 4,9, 12, 18
In re Assicurazioni Generali S.p.A

Holocaust Insurance Litigq.,

228 F.Supp.2d 348 (S.D.N.Y.2002) . 12
In re Assicurazioni Generali S.p.A.,

592 F.3d 113 (2d Cir. 2010) ......... 2, 7, 11, 12, 18
Medellin v. Texas,

552 U.S. 491 (2008) passim
Movsesian v. Victoria Versicherung AG,

578 esd 1052 (9th Cir. 2009) ... p

l/nited States v. Belmont,
301 U.S. 324 (1987) . wie .12, 18

lv

Cited Authorities

Page

United States v. Pink,

BED Si tle COORD bis vcccctecccvsoscceses 12
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

343 U.S. 579 (1952) ....... ccc ceees 8,9, 10, 15, 23
Zschernig v. Miller,

S89 U.S. 429 (19GB)... ccc cccccccccvees 1!
United States Constitution:
Ue Bees Evia ake t Fe ae ee he eendwee ve 3, 7
ee BO 2 rg ea one d. ce ae eck eee se wlarels (}
ee es Bs teks hans hav aee eke ean eee 1]
IE ta raed te 0 of) Sete ee eer ee 10, 1]
PPUICNO BE HOG. Bc ccc wacesevescceseuceesses 3,7

RP Ta eae sera ve sc cane ect sek e ene tees passim

Cited Authorities

Other:

Brief of the United States Supporting Petitioner,
Medellin v. Texas, No. 06-984, June 28, 2007,
BEE WU Es NEE gos io hie hese es ninten

Bradford Clark, Separation of Powers as a
Safeguard of Federalism, 79 Tex. L. Rev.
I gg oo a kw once ans eae we

Brannon P. Denning and Michael D. Ramsey,
American Insurance Association v.
Garamendi and Executive Preemption in
Foreign Affairs, 46 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 825
ee a te eae ee 4 pea ee

James Madison, Alexander Hamilton and John
Jay, The Federalist Papers, No. 47 (Isaac

Michael D. Ramsey, The Constitution’s Text in
Foreign Affairs 91-114 (Harvard U. Press
ee ee oa ea eS eka ees:

Michael Van Alstine, Pwecutive Aggrandizement
in Foreign Affairs Lawmaking, 54 UCLA L.
ee Noa ye caewsae eae ens

Page

oo»)

ew ke

LIST OF AMICI CURIAE

Brannon P. Denning is Professor of Law at Samford
University Cumberland School of Law.

John O. McGinnis is Stanford Clinton Sr. Professor of
Law at Northwestern University Law School.

David H. Moore is Professor of Law at Brigham Young
University J. Reuben Clark Law School.

Michael D. Ramsey is Professor of Law at the University
of San Diego School of Law.

Michael P. Van Alstine is Professor of Law at the
University of Maryland School of Law.

Stephen I. Vladeck is Professor of Law at American
University Washington College of Law.

A. Mark Weisburd is Martha M. Brandis Professor of
Law at the University of North Carolina School of Law.

Ingrid Brunk Wuerth is Professor of Law at Vanderbilt
University Law School.

Ernest A. Young is Alston & Bird Professor of Law at
Duke University Law School.

INTEREST OF AMICT CURIAE

This brief amucr curiae is respectfully submitted
by law professors with expertise in constitutional
law and the foreign relations law of the United
States. Amici submit this brief because they
believe that the petition in the present case raises
important issues of separation of powers and
federalism on which guidance from this Court is
needed. In particular, amucit believe that the
decision of the Court of Appeals below unduly
expands federal executive authority relative to the
states and Congress, contrary to this Court's
decision in Medellin v. Texas, 552 U.S. 491 (2008),
and to the fundamental allocations of power
contained in the U.S. Constitution. The Medellin
decision emphasizes the U.S. President’s inability
to make binding and preemptive law through mere
policy announcements. However, the court below,
along with at least one other major post- Medellin
court of appeals decision, nonetheless accords
preemptive effect to unilateral executive foreign
policy unsupported by any statute, treaty or
executive agreement. Azzci submit this brief to
highlight the importance of the _ petition to
fundamental constitutional principles regarding
the scope of federal executive power vis-a-vis the
laws of the states.

‘No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and no
such counsel or party or any other person other than amici curiae, or
their counsel, made a monetary contribution intended to fund the
preparation or submission of this brief. The parties have been given at
least 10 days notice of amici curiae's intention to file. Consents of the
parties are on file or are being lodged herewith.

_

9

STATEMENT AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case raises important and recurring is-
sues of federalism and separation of powers regard-
ing the U.S. President’s unilateral authority to
preempt the laws of the states. The Court of Ap-
peals below, on the authority of this Court’s deci-
sion in American Insurance Association v. CGara-
mend, 539 U.S. 396 (2003), held that a mere execu-
tive branch foreign policy, not incorporated into any
federal statute, treaty, or executive agreement,
preempts otherwise-constitutional state laws as
applied to Petitioner’s claims. J/n re Assicurazioni
Generali S_p.A., 592 F.3d 113 (2d Cir. 2010). The
Court of Appeals’ holding conflicts directly with
this Court’s decision in Medellin v. Texas, 552 U.S.
491 (2008). In Medellin, this Court held that the
President’s announced policy that the United
States would comply with a decision of the Interna-
tional Court of Justice (ICJ) did not override a Tex-
as state law that conflicted with the [CJ decision.
Id. at 524-32. Medellin expressly rejected the Pres-
ident’s preemption argument, to the extent it was
based on the Garamend decision, on the ground
that Garamendi involved conflict between a state
law and two executive agreements. Because there
was no relevant executive agreement in Mede//in,
this Court held, Garamendi did not support
preemption of Texas’ law by executive policy. Jd. at
530-32.

This Court’s decision in Medel/in reaffirms
basic constitutional principles of separation of pow-
ers and federalism. First, a central principle of fe-
deralism is that state law is valid unless it is incon-

3

sistent with the U.S. Constitution or in conflict
with an act of federal lawmaking. Article VI of the
Constitution establishes the Constitution and fed-
eral laws and treaties as “supreme Law of the
Land” and thus superior to state law. Mere presi-
dential policies are not accorded such status.
Second, a central principle of separation of powers
is that the President is not a lawmaker. The Con-
stitution grants the President “the executive Pow:
er,” U.S. Const. Art. I], Sec. 1; in contrast, Congress
holds “[a]ll legislative Powers herein granted.”
U.S. Const., Art. I, Sec. 1. The core meaning of “ex-
ecutive Power” is that the President executes law
made by others. As James Madison explained in
Federalist 47, “{t}he magistrate in whom the whole
executive power resides cannot of himself make a
law.” James Madison, Alexander Hamilton and
John Jay, The Federalist Papers, No. 47 (Isaac
Kramnick, ed., 1987), at 304, quoted in Medel/in,
552 U.S. at 528.

The combination of these principles, this
Court concluded in Mede//in, rejects the contention,
advanced by the President in that case, that the
President through the articulation of foreign policy
can “establish binding rules of decision that
preempt contrary state law.” See Brief of the Unit-
ed States Supporting Petitioner, Medellin v. Texas,
June 28, 2007, 2007 WL 19094262 (making this ar-
gument). To accept the President’s argument, this
Court explained, would make the President a law-
maker, contrary to the President’s constitutional
status as the holder of executive power. See Medel-
lin, 552 U.S. at 524-32.

Although there may be limited exceptions —
specifically, certain executive agreements made

+

with Congress’ implicit approval, see Dames &
Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654 (1981) — Medellin
makes clear that Garamendi does not broadly over-
turn these basic constitutional principles with re-
spect to all executive branch foreign policy in the
way imagined by the Court of Appeals. To the con-
trary, Medellin reaffirms that, despite Garamendl,
the basic rule remains that executive policies do not
preempt state law unless and until they achieve the
status of supreme law in the manner specified by
Article VI. See Medellin, 552 U.S. at 531 (describ-
ing Garamendi and related cases as “involvling] a
narrow set of circumstances: the making of execu-
tive agreements to settle civil claims between
American citizens and foreign governments or for-
eign nationals”); see also Barclays Bank PLC v.
Franchise Tax Board, 512 U.S. 298, 328-29 (1994)
(finding that “Executive Branch communications
that express federal policy but lack the force of law
cannot render unconstitutional California’s other-
wise valid, congressionally condoned [tax laws].”):
Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371, 378 (1998) (finding
that the President could only ask, but not require,
Virginia to comply with a provisional order from
the ICJ).

As a result, the decision below directly con-
flicts with Medellin. Like the state law in Medel/-
lin, the state laws under which Petitioner brought
his claims are clearly constitutional, and indeed
(unlike in Garamend) most of them are part of the
state’s ordinary and generally applicable contract
and insurance law (as the law in Medellin was part
of Texas’ ordinary and generally applicable crim1-
nal law). As in Medellin, there is no applicable fed-
eral statute, treaty or executive agreement with

5

which the state laws in the present case conflict.
As in Medellin, the only conflict claimed by the
court below is between the state laws and an execu:
tive branch foreign policy. Basic constitutional
principles, reaffirmed in Medel/rn, make ciear that
such a conflict is insufficient to override rights es-
tablished under state law.

This is an issue of recurring importance war-
ranting this Court’s granting of a writ of certiorari.
In addition to the decision below, at least one other
post: Medellin court of appeals decision has, despite
Medellin and on the authority of Garamendt, given
preemptive effect to mere presidential policy un-
supported by any federal law, treaty or executive
agreement. Movsesian v. Victoria Versicherung
AG, 578 F.3d 1052 (9th Cir. 2009). On the other
hand, as the petition here highlights, other courts
have — like Medellin— read Garamend! to apply on-
ly to conflicts with certain executive agreements
and have not recognized preemption by mere execu-
tive branch policy. See Petition for a Writ of Certi-
orari, Weiss v. Assicurazioni! Generali S.p.A., No.
10-80, at 10-11 (citing cases). Granting review
would allow this Court to clarify this fundamental
constitutional relationship between federal execu-
tive power, federal lawmaking power, and state

law.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH BASIC PRINCIPLES OF SEPARA-
TION OF POWERS AND FEDERALISM

6

A. The Constitution’s Basic Principles of
Separation of Powers and Federalism
Require that Mere Presidential Poli-
cies Cannot Displace Otherwise-
Constitutional State Law.

The U.S. Constitution sets forth two basic
principles of federalism and separation of powers
that govern this case. First, state law is valid un-
less displaced by a superior source of federal law.
Second, the President is not a lawmaker.

The first principle is established by the Con-
stitution’s Article VI, which provides that the Con-
stitution, the “Laws of the United States which
shall be made in Pursuance thereof,” and federal
treaties make up the “supreme Law of the Land.”
U.S. Const., Art. VI, cl. 2. Thus under Article VI,
state law can be displaced by “supreme” federal law
in two (but only two) ways: if the Constitution itself
prohibits the state from acting, or if an act of su
preme federal lawmaking overrides the state’s law.
Further, in addition to the Constitution itself, su-
preme federal law arises from treaties and laws
made “in pursuance of’ the Constitution; the Con-
stitution’s Article I, Section 7 in turn specifies the
procedures by which federal law is made.

Article VI and Article I, Section 7 impose
substantial procedural hurdles for the creation of
federal law. It must be done (a) with the approval
of majorities of both of the two separately-elected
houses of Congress and of the President, (b) with a
supermajority of both houses, or (c) in the case of
treaties, with the approval of the President plus a
supermajority of the Senate. These hurdles safe-
guard state interests and protect the Constitution’s

7

federal structure, assuring that state laws are not
displaced unless multiple federal actors agree that
they should be.?

Under the second principle, as a matter of
separation of powers the Constitution’s designation
of the President as holding “the executive Power,”
U.S. Const., Art. II, Sec. 1, shows the President’s
lack of independent lawmaking power. Compare
U.S. Const., Art. I., Sec. 1 (stating that “[a]ll legis-
lative Powers herein granted” shall be vested in
Congress). While the precise scope of the Presi-
dent’s “executive Power” may remain unclear, a
common core understanding is that the President
cannot unilaterally make law (that is, change indi-
vidual legal rights and duties); to the contrary, the
President’s core power and authority is to execute
laws made by others. The Constitution’s framers
saw this limit as an important check on the power-
ful executive office they created, and they derived it
from an equally central feature of English constitu:
tional law, which held that the king could not make
law without Parliament’s consent. See 1 William
Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England
142-43, 261 (1765); 4 zd. at 67. As James Madison
explained in Federalist 47, “{t]he magistrate in
whom the whole executive power resides cannot of
himself make a law.” James Madison, Alexander

“
’ As discussed below, this Court has recognized that in “a nar.ow set of
circumstances” state law may be preempted by certain executive
agreements to which Congress has implicated assented. See Medellin,
552 U.S. at 531. As the Court of Appeals recognized, 592 F.3d at 118-
19, no executive agreement conflicts with Petitioner’s claims in this
case.

8

Hamilton and John Jay, The Federalist Papers, No.

47(Isaac Kramnick, ed., 1987), at 304.°

These basic principles came together in this
Court’s most celebrated case on presidential power,
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.
579 (1952). In that case, President Harry Truman
by executive order directed the seizure of major
U.S. steel mills due to an impending strike in order
to avoid an interruption of military supplies to the
on-going war effort in Korea. This Court found the
President’s order to be an unconstitutional law-
making act.

Justice Black’s opinion for the Court as-
sumed the first proposition described above: that
state law governed unless displaced by federal law.
The mill owners held property rights under state
law. Absent a conflicting federal act, the state law
was obviously constitutional and formed the base-
line of the mill owners’ rights. The question in the
case was whether any federal act displaced the
state law. Since there was no conflicting treaty or
act of Congress, the question was whether the Pres-
ident’s order had that effect.

This Court held that it did not, applying the
basic proposition that the President was not a
lawmaker. As Justice Black wrote for the Court:

In the framework of our Constitution, the

President’s power to see that the laws are

* See Michael D. Ramsey, The Constitution’s Text in Foreign
Affairs 91-114 (Harvard U. Press 2007); Brannon P. Denning
and Michael D. Ramsey, American Insurance Association Vv.
Garamendi and Executive Preemption tn Foreign Affairs, 46
Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 825, 906-24 (2004).

9

faithfully executed refutes the idea that he is
to be a lawmaker. The Constitution limits
his functions in the lawmaking process to the
recommending of laws he thinks wise and
the vetoing of laws he thinks bad. And the
Constitution is neither silent nor equivocal
about who shall make laws which the Presi-
dent is to execute. The first section of the
first article says that “All legislative Powers
herein granted shall be vested in a Congress
of the United States....”

Td. at. 587-88."

Although Justice Black’s opinion did not ful-
ly explain why the Court regarded the President’s
act as a lawmaking act, the answer is evident: the
President’s order in Youngstown sought to change
rights under existing law. Because state law was
the baseline, the mill owners had a legal right to
their property which the President sought to alter.
For this reason, if mere presidential policy were to
be preemptive, that would grant lawmaking power
to the President.

* Justices Jackson and Frankfurter (among others) concurred
to suggest some flexibility in the extent of executive power,
but they did not dispute Justice Black’s central premise that
the President is not a lawmaker. In particular, Justice Jack-
son’s concurrence suggested that the President might have
greater latitude in certain cases when Congress has approved
the President’s action. See Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453
U.S. 654 (1981). There is no argument, however, that in the
present case that the President has taken any formal action
concerning claims against Italian companies such as Genera-
li, much less that Congress has approved any such action.

10

In sum, the core constitutional problem in
Youngstown was that the President tried to make
executive policy superior to existing state law.
Both Article II and Article VI show this to be
beyond the President's power. Under Article II, the
President, like the eighteenth-century English mo-
narch, cannot use “executive” power to issue de-
crees with the force of law. Article VI confirms this
limit by setting forth the ways the federal govern:
ment can act with the force of supreme law and by
confining the President’s lawmaking role to action
in conjunction with one or both houses of Congress.

B. The Decision Below Conflicts with Ba-
sic Constitutional Principles by Giving
Preemptive Effect to Mere Presiden-
tial Policy.

In the decision below, the Court of Appeals
departed from these basic constitutional principles
by giving preemptive effect to mere executive
branch policy. Petitioner, who is the heir of Holo-
caust survivors, brought suit under various provi-
sions of state law against Respondent Assicurazioni
Generali S.p.A. and related entities (“Generali”) to
recover on insurance policies Generali issued to his
decedents before or during the Holocaust. The U.S.
executive branch has been involved for many years
in supporting an international non-governmental
body, the International Commission on Holocaust-
Era Insurance Claims (“ICHEIC”), to settle Holo-
caust-era insurance claims. The Court of Appeals
found that an executive branch policy of resolving
claims through [CHEIC preempted state law as

1]

applied to Petitioner’s case. J/n re Assicurazioni
Generali S.p.A, 592 F.3d at 118-19.

As the Court of Appeals recognized, no ordi
nary source of preemptive federal law conflicts with
the state laws in the present litigation. The Con-
stitution itself prevents states from acting in cer-
tain foreign affairs categories, either explicitly
(chiefly in Article I, Section 10)° or by implication.
However, none of these constitutional provisions
implicates the state laws at issue here.® In addi-
tion, Article VI establishes treaties and statutes as
preemptive federal law by making them (along with
the Constitution itself) part of the “supreme Law of
the Land.” Again, it is not argued that the state
laws at issue here conflict in any way with any fed:
eral statute or treaty.

Finally, there is no conflict between Petition-
er's state-law claims and any applicable executive
agreement. Although executive agreements (inter:
national agreements not made through the treaty-
making process of Article IJ) fit uncomfortably with

® Article I, Section 10 lists certain specific actions the states
cannot take, or can take only with Congress’ consent, such as
engaging in war or making treaties and other international
agreements.

"In Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968), this Court found
that the Constitution implicitly precluded some state intru-
sions into U.S. foreign efiairs whether or not they conflicted
with announced U.S. foreign policy. The Court of Appeals did
not rely on Zschernig, which appears limited to situations in
which a state law directly insults or passes judgment upon a
particular foreign government. That circumstance is plainly
not implicated here.

12

the sources of preemptive law described in Article
VI, this Court’s prior decisions recognize that in
certain circumstances executive agreements may
have a preemptive effect akin to that of treaties.
See Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654 (1981);
United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203 (1942); United
States v. Belmont, 301 U.S. 324 (1937); see also
Medellin, 552 U.S. at 531-32 (noting that “in a nar-
row set of circumstances” executive agreements
have been regarded as preempting state law). In
the present case, however, there is no governing
executive agreement. The U.S. President has en-
tered into executive agreements relating to Holo-
caust-era insurance claims with Germany and Aus:
tria; Generali is an Italian company and the U.S.
President has not entered into any executive
agreement with Italy in this regard. See Jn re As-
sicurazion’ Generali, 592 F.3d at 118-119 (express:
ly concluding that the absence of an executive
agreement did not preclude preemption); /n re As:
sicurazion! Generali S.p.A. Holocaust Insurance Li
tig., 228 F.Supp.2d 348, 358 (S.D.N.Y.2002) (find
ing that “no executive agreement at issue in this
case could be read to preclude litigation of [Peti-
tioner’s] claims in U.S. courts”).

Nonetheless, on the strength of this Court's
decision in American Insurance Association vy. Ga-
ramendi, the Court of Appeals found that an execu
tive branch policy of resolving claims (including
claims against Generali) through ICHKEIC
preempted Petitioner's state law claims. See /n re
Assicurazioni Generali, 592 F.3d at 118-119 (re:
peatedly describing the state law claims as conflict:
ing with executive “policy”). As the Court of Ap:
peals made clear, the holding below was based di

13

rectly om reading Garamend: to allow preemption
by executive policy even absent a governing execu-
tive agreement. Jd. at 119 (asserting that this
Court in Garamendi “did not view the existence of
an executive agreement as a prerequisite” to execu’
tive branch policy preemption).

The Court of Appeals’ expansive reading of
Garamendi conflicts with the basic constitutional
principles set forth above. As described in the next
section, it also squarely conflicts with this Court's
decision in Medellin (which the Court of Appeals
dismissed without explanation in a one-sentence
footnote, see 592 F.3d at 119 n.2).

IT. MEDELLIN V. TEXAS REAFFIRMED
THAT MERE PRESIDENTIAL FOREIGN
POLICY DOES NOT DISPLACE STATE
LAW AND REJECTED BROAD READINGS
OF GARAMENDITO THE CONTRARY

A. In Medellin, this Court Refused to
Find a State Law Preempted by a
Mere Presidential Foreign Policy

This Court recently reaffirmed the foregoing
constitutional principles as applied to presidential
foreign policy in Medellin v. Texas, 552 U.S. 491
(2008). In Medellin, this Court — rejecting argu-
ments by the executive branch that closely parallel
the Court of Appeals’ reasoning in the present case
— held that even a “plainly compelling” presidential
foreign policy, see 552 U.S. at 524, could not dis-
place an otherwise-valid state law. See id. at 524-
32.

14

The President argued in Medellin that the
President’s policy that the United States would
comply with an International Court of Justice (ICJ)
judgment should displace a provision of Texas crim-
inal procedure that conflicted with the ICJ judg-
ment. See id. at 523-24. Jose Medellin, the peti-
tioner and a Mexican national, had been convicted
and sentenced to death in Texas state court. Ina
case brought by Mexico on his behalf, the ICJ held
that he was entitled to have his sentence reconsi-
dered because he had not been afforded his rights
under an applicable treaty, the Vienna Convention
on Consular Relations. The Texas courts held that
Texas law did not permit such reconsideration.

This Court and the President agreed that the
ICJ judgment was not self-executing and thus not
directly enforceable as preemptive federal law. See
td. at 507-23. However, as this Court recounted,
“President George W. Bush determined, through a
Memorandum to the Attorney General ... that the
United States would ‘discharge its international
obligations’ under [the ICJ judgment] ‘by having
State courts give effect to the decision.” /d. at 503,
quoting the President’s memorandum of Feb. 28,
2005. According to the President, the presidential
policy reflected in this memorandum displaced
Texas’ state law and entitled Medellin to a new
hearing on his sentence. See Brief of the United
States Supporting Petitioner, Medellin v. Texas,
June 28, 2007, 2007 WL 19094262 (arguing that
the President by announcing U.S. foreign policy has
power to “establish binding rules of decision that
preempt contrary state law.”).

This Court flatly rejected the claim that the
President had unilateral power to preempt Texas

15

law in order to enforce a non-self-executing treaty.
In doing so, this Court tied the question directly to
the question of presidential lawmaking powers:
Once a treaty is ratified without provisions
clearly according it domestic effect ... wheth-
er the treaty will ever have such effect is go-
verned by the fundamental constitutional
principle that “[t]he power to make the ne-
cessary laws is in Congress; the power to ex-
ecute in the President.” [quoting Hamdan v.
Rumsfeld, 548 U.S. 557 (2006), internal quo-
tation omitted]; see U.S. Const., Art. I, § 1
(“All legislative Powers herein granted shall
be vested in a Congress of the United
States”). As already noted, the terms of a
non-self-executing treaty can become domes-
tic law only in the same way as any other
law—through passage of legislation by both
Houses of Congress, combined with either
the President's signature or a congressional
override of a Presidential veto. See Art. I, §7.
Medellin, 552 U.S at 526. Thus this Court’s conclu-
sion proceeded in two steps: (1) converting a non-
self-executing treaty into a domestic legal obliga:
tion that preempts state law is a lawmaking act;
and (2) the President is not a lawmaker. This ap-
proach follows directly from this Court’s opinion in
Youngstown, and this Court in Mede//in quoted
Justice Black’s observation in Youngstown that
“the President’s power to see that the laws are
faithfully executed refutes the idea that he is to be
a lawmaker.” J/d., quoting Youngstown, 343 U.S. at
587. Medellin also invoked Madison's statement in
Federalist No. 47 that “[t]he magistrate in whom
the whole executive power resides cannot of himself

16

make a law” and pointedly observed “[t]hat would
... seem an apt description of the asserted executive
authority unilaterally to give the effect of domestic
law to obligations under a non-self-executing trea-
ty.” Medellin, 552 U.S. at 527-28.

In reaching this conclusion, this Court re-
jected executive branch arguments that the Presi-
dent’s constitutional foreign affairs powers include
power to “establish binding rules of decision that
preempt contrary state law.” That claim, this
Court held, violated the “fundamental constitution-
al principle that ‘[t]he power to make the necessary
laws is in Congress; the power to execute in the
President.” Jd. at 526. This Court reached that
conclusion, moreover, even though it acknowledged
the “plainly compelling” importance to U.S. foreign
affairs of the decision whether or not to comply
with the ICJ judgment. Jd. at 524.

In sum, the Medellin decision strongly reaf-
firms the proposition that, even in matters poten-
tially affecting foreign affairs, the President cannot
make law and otherwise-valid state law cannot be

displaced by mere presidential foreign policy.’

"The result in Medellin comports with this Court’s prior deci-
sions addressing the question. See Barclays Bank PLC vy.
Franchise Tax Board, 512 U.S. 298, 328-29 (1994) (finding
that “Executive Branch communications that express federal
policy but lack the force of law cannot render unconstitutional
California’s otherwise valid, congressionally condoned [tax
laws].”); Breard v. Greene, 523 U.S. 371, 378 (1998) (finding
that the President could only ask, but not require, Virginia to
comply with a provisional order from the [CJ).

17

B. This Court’s Decision in Medellin Lim-
its American Insurance Association Vv.
Garamendi, on which the Court of Ap-
peals Relied, to State Laws that Con-
flict with Executive Agreements

The Court of Appeals below relied heavily on
American Insurance Association v. Garamendi to
conclude that executive branch policy, even if not
reflected in an executive agreement, preempts state
law. See 592 F.3d at 118-119. As Medellin makes
clear, however, Garamendi should not be read so
broadly. The executive branch advanced exactly
the same reasoning in Medellin as the Court of Ap-
peals employed here, and this Court expressly re-
jected it.

In Garamendi, this Court held that a Cali-
fornia law governing Holocaust-era insurance con:
tracts was preempted by the executive policy re-
flected in executive agreements with Germany and
Austria relating to ICHEIC and to Holocaust-era
claims against German and Austrian companies.
Garamendi, 539 U.S. at 423-28. The Court of Ap-
peals below read Garamendi to endorse a broad ex-
ecutive foreign policy preemption not limited to the
effect of particular executive agreements, and re-
lied on this reading of Garamendi in holding Peti-
tioner’s state law claims to be preempted. See 592
F.3d at 118-119.

However, this Court's decision in Medellin
expressly rejected a broad reading of Garamend1.
In Medellin, the executive branch relied heavily on
a broad reading of Garamendi — akin to the reading
adopted by the Court of Appeals in the present case
— to support its claim of executive foreign policy

18

preemption. In response, this Court, in addition to
rejecting the executive's position on broader consti-
tutional principles, directly addressed Garamendi
and described a much more limited view of Gara-
mendis holding. Garamend, this Court explained,
rested centrally on the presence of the German and
Austrian executive agreements, and thus followed
directly from prior cases such as Dames & Moore
establishing the preemptive effect of certain execu-
tive agreements. As this Court put it, Garamendi
was one of “a series of cases in which this Court has
upheld the authority of the President to settle for-
eign claims pursuant to an executive agreement.”
Id. at 530-31 (citing Dames & Moore, Pink, and
Belmont, all of which involved preemptive execu:
tive agreements). “The claims-settlement cases,”
this Court continued, “involve a narrow set of cir-
cumstances: the making of executive agreements to
settle civil claims between American citizens and
foreign governments or foreign nationals.” Jd. at
531 (emphasis added). Moreover, the Medel/in
Court added, these prior cases relied on congres-
sional assent to the President’s longstanding prac-
tice of making such executive agreements, and “the
limitations on this source of executive power are
clearly set forth.” Jd. Thus, this Court concluded,
Garamendi had no force in a case such as Medellin,
where there was no executive agreement, but only
an executive branch foreign policy. Jd.

C. The Decision Below Directly Conflicts
with this Court’s Decision in Medellin

The decision below, relying on Garamendi in
the absence of an executive agreement and finding

19

that mere executive branch policy preempts state
law, fundamentally conflicts with this Court’s deci-
sion in Medellin. As discussed, Medellin held that
the President’s policy that states would comply
with the ICJ’s order, as reflected in a presidential
memorandum but not otherwise incorporated into
federal law, did not preempt a Texas law that con-
flicted with the ICJ’s order. Further, this Court in
Medellin noted that Garamendi was not to the con-
trary, because Garamend! involved the President’s
power to settle claims “pursuant to an executive
agreement.” 552 U.S. at 530-31.

The Court of Appeals below failed to address
Medellin directly, dismissing it in ae non
substantive footnote. See 592 F.3d at 119 n.2 (cit-
ing Medellin and finding, without explanation,
“nothing inconsistent” with its decision). But Peti-
tioner’s rights under state law can be displaced on-
ly by holding (as the Court of Appeals did) that
mere executive branch “policy,” not incorporated
into any executive agreement, is preemptive. See
td. (expressly finding that an executive agreement
is “not a prerequisite” to preemption by executive
policy). That proposition is exactly what this Court
rejected in Medellin. As discussed above, in Mede/-
Jin the President announced a policy that the states
would comply with the ICJ’s order, but this Court
found that policy not to preempt conflicting Texas
state law because the policy was not supported by a
federal lawmaking act.

Ill. This Case Presents an Issue of Wide-
Ranging Practical Importance Relating to
the President's Power over State Law

20

The decision below, which appears to set no
limits on the President’s ability to displace state
law pursuant to unilateral executive branch policy,
would fundamentally alter both the relationship
between the President and the states, and the rela-
tionship between the President and Congress. Be-
cause there are few institutional checks upon the
President's ability to formulate policy, the deci-
sion’s practical effect would be to grant the Presi-
dent a general supervisory power over state laws.

This case in particular illustrates the dan-
gers of such a result. Under the Court of Appeals’
ruling, a mere indication of policy from the execu-
tive branch — even, as in the present case, an indi-
rect or informal indication not made by the Presi-
dent himself — can displace state law. In contrast,
if at minimum a valid, congressionally-approved
executive agreement is required for preemption, in-
stitutional limits may be maintained because the
President must act formally, in concert with a for-
eign nation, pursuant to a commitment that be-
comes binding on the nation under international
law, and with implicit congressional authorization.®

Further, the Court of Appeals appeared not
to impose any limits on the kind of state law sub-

; To be clear, this case does not raise, and this brief takes no position
on, the question of the circumstances under which an executive agree-
ment can be preemptive of state law. This Court in Medellin noted that
its prior cases giving certain executive agreements preemptive effect
involved a “narrow set of circumstances” as well as implicit congres-
sional approval. See Medellin, 552 U.S. at 531. In the present case, as
the Court of Appeals acknowledged, there is no executive agreement of
any sort in conflict with the state laws under which Petitioner’s claims

are raised.

21

ject to executive preemption. Most of the state laws
on which Petitioner's claims are based are laws of
general application, not specifically directed toward
Holocaust-era claims or indeed any foreign affairs
matters. They are simply ordinary state laws of
contract and insurance.’ In today’s interconnected
and globalized world, the President may plausibly
claim that any state law, no matter how central to
the state’s own internal affairs, implicates the Pres-
ident’s foreign policy and thus may be preempted
on presidential say-so.
As a result, the decision below would, across
a broad range of subjects and policies, substantially
shift power to the President at the expense of Con-
gress and the states. As described, the Constitu-
tion protects states by establishing a complex fed:
eral lawmaking process which must be navigated
before preemptive law is made. Indeed, a funda-
mental protection for federalism values is that fed:
eral law can be made only through these difficult
procedures. A leading academic commentary ex-
plains:
Although the Supremacy Clause performs
the familiar function of securing the primacy
of federal law over contrary state law, it also
necessarily constrains the exercise of federal
power by recognizing only three sources of
law as “the supreme Law of the Land.” ....

” See Michael Van Alstine, Executive Aggrandizement in Foreign Af-
fairs Lawmaking, 54 UCLA L. Rev. 309, 350 (2006) (noting “the im-
portant distinction ... between a prohibition on targeted state obstruc-
tion of external affairs and the power of the national government to
displace neutral state laws of general application in areas of traditional
state competence’’).

22

The Founders, in turn, prescribed finely
wrought and exhaustively considered proce-
dures elsewhere in the Constitution to go-
vern the adoption of each type of law recog-
nized by the Supremacy Clause. ... [Flederal
lawmaking procedures ... preserve federal-
ism both by making federal law more diffi-
cult to adopt, and by assigning lawmaking
power solely to actors subject to the political
safeguards of federalism. The text, struc:
ture, and history of the Constitution, moreo-
ver, suggest that these procedures were
meant to be the exclusive means of adopting
“the supreme Law of the Land.” Permitting
the federal government to avoid these con-
straints would allow it to exercise more pow:
er than the Constitution contemplates, at the
expense of state authority.
Bradford Clark, Separation of Powers as a Safe-
guard of Federalism, 79 Tex. L. Rev. 1321, 1323
(2001). Allowing mere presidential policy to
preempt state law, as the President advocated un-
successfully in Medellin, and as the Court of Ap-
peals below permitted, circumvents these protec
tions the Constitution established for the states.
The decision below also enhances presiden-
tial power at the expense of Congress. The Consti-
tution limits the President’s power relative to other
branches of the federal government by assuring
that if the President wants presidential policies to
have legally binding effect, the President must se-
cure the cooperation of Congress (or of two-thirds of
the Senate in the case of treaties). This provides a
powerful check upon unilateral presidential policy.
As discussed, under eighteenth-century English

23

law, leading authorities such as Blackstone — who
in turn heavily influenced the American framers —
saw an essential guarantee of liberty in the ancient
rule that the monarch could not make law by de-
cree. Not surprisingly, in creating and explaining
the office of the Presidency, the framers adopted
and invoked the fundamental rule that, as in Eng-
land, the holder of executive power could not “of
himself make a law.” Madison, supra, at 304. That
power they instead assigned to Congress. Corres:
pondingly, the question whether individual rights
established under otherwise-constitutional state
law should be displaced in the national interest is
fundamentally a question for Congress. See
Youngstown, 343 U.S. at 587-88. The decision be-
low would, across a broad range of cases, reallocate
it to the President.

As a result, the decision below has funda-
mental constitutional ramifications far beyond its
particular facts. By reading Garamend: broadly,
without attention to the limits this Court empha-
sized in Medellin, the decision below would allow
the President alone to decide which state laws
should and should not remain in effect. Certiorari
is warranted to clarify the limits of the President’s
ability to displace state law by executive “policy,”
see 592 F.3d at 118-119, unsupported by any feder-
al lawmaking act.

IV. CONCLUSION

Amici respectfully urge that this Court grant
a writ of certiorari to address the important issues
of separation of powers and federalism raised by
the petition.

24

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL D. RAMSEY*

University of San Diego
School of Law

5998 Alcala Park

San Diego, CA 92110

(619) 260-4145

mramsey@sandiego.edu

* Counsel of Record

August 13, 2010

MICHAEL E. ELSNER
JOHN M. EUBANKS
MOTLEY RICE LLC

28 Bridgeside Blvd

Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464
(843) 216-9000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2219%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
