# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Harper v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2208%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 892

## Text

|
(Q | OCT 29 290
I | OF Fis OF 6 CLERE.
NO. 10-65

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
STATES

BRIAN KEITH HARPER,

Petitioner,

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR REHEARING

Michael P. Heiskell

Counsel of Record

Johnson, Vaughn & Heiskell

5601 Bridge Street, Suite 220

Fort Worth, Texas 76112

(817) 457-2999 Office

E-mail: mheiskel @johnson-vaughn-heiskell.com

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS. . .
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 1)
GROUNDS FOR REHEARING. . . .
THE FACTS........ ewe 2
TH1k MISUNDERSTANDING Perens | 3
MISJUDGING DISCRETION. . . | 5

KRE 701: OPINIONS ARE FACTS

ARE EXPLOITED.......... r
RULING WITHOUT DETAILS. . f
COMPOUNDING ERRORS Y
CONCLUSION 12

CERTIFICATE OF COUNSEL 14

TABLE OF AUTHORIETIES

Carhsle v. United State
517 U.S. 416, 426

Kumbho Tire Co. v. Carmichae!
HIB US 147, 141 (1999)

Marshall v. United State
360 U.S. 310 11959)

Roper Vv 40, 404 ko Yd 499, 502 (#!
(quoting Simmons v. Umited State
390 U.S. 377, 384 (1968)

Umited States v. higueroa-Lopez
125 F3d 124) (9' Cir 1997)

United State V Gonzalez Lape
548 U.S. 140 (2006)

United States v. Ladd
5P7 F.2d 1341 (th Cr 19/6)

United States v. Lampton
158 F.3d 251 (Sth Cir, 1998)

Linited States v. Sunchez-Sotelo
BEd 202 (5'» Cir 1993)

Piapre (

}

}

United States v. Tomblin,
46 F.3d 1369,1389 (5th Cir. 1995)... | 10

United States v. Vega,
860 F2d 779 (CA7 1989). ..... a re

Federal Rules of Evidence

Federal Rule of Evidence (“FRE”) 701 wl, BD & 12
Federal Rule of Evidence (“FRE”) 702. .......2, 6.18

Federal Rule of Evidence (“FRE”) 901(b)(5) .. 2.2... 2

GROUNDS FOR REHEARING

Petitioner stands humbly before you, arms
waving in the air. With all due respect. what we
have here is a failure to communicate. 58 seconds
into listening to Exhibit 19! in this case, and you
would understand completely why it 1s impossible to
make a voice identifization from this push-to-talk
Nextel (it is mot a cell phone; it is a radio-band
“‘burner’). Why this distinction matters is the
snagged thread that unravels the entire case. This
identification-testimony was the lynchpin of the
case. If the prosecution had a valid case against this
Petitioner, they would not have put an agent on the
stand to make a last-minute ID from = an
indecipherable tape-recorded contact. The appellate
court gave no indication of a familiarity with the
sounds on the Exhibit 19°.

There is chaos in the Circuits on the
admission of layperson testimony under Fed. Rules
of Evidence Sec. 701 (“FRE 701"). This Honorable
Court has supervisory authority over the federal
courts to prescribe binding rules of evidence and

}
i

Unless otherwise specified, all exhibits, page numbers and
line numbers refer to the trial court evidence and transcript.

The contacts (erroneously referred to as “phone
conversations’) lasted the following minutes and seconds: 2.44.
1.28, 1.27, 1.19. The responses by the call-recipient can be
heard in sporadic one-second blasts of static, or not at all. But
the call-recipient’s “voice” per se. is never heard.

procedure. Carlisle v. United States, 517 U. S. 416,
426. This matter contains an issue of great
importance to all the Circuits much the same as
Kumho Tire Co. v. Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137, 141
(1999) did with regard to FRE 702.

THE FACTS

The simplified fact scenario is a drug
distribution ring busted and several individuals
caught in the act; one of whom made four brief DEA-
arranged “phone calls” (sic) to the alleged mayjor-
plaver distributor which were audio-taped.

During the 4 push-to-talk Nextel contacts, the
indecipherable words of the call-recipient-speaker
can be heard in one-second blasts of static.

The deal-making’ arrestee offered up
Petitioner's name to go along with the one-second
blasts of static, which name the agent quickly
researched? and which resulted in this Petitioner's
arrest two weeks later in Tennessee‘.

The Petitioner was then interviewed by Agent
York who had overheard the terse push-to-talk
contacts. Petitioner's home and business were
searched from which no incriminating evidence was

‘The testimony at issue was not offered nor admitted under
FRE 901(b)(5). nor did the appellate court make reference to
that code section. Thus, for purposes of Petitioner's Rehearing
request, that code section is not discussed.

‘Testimony of Agent York: Page 313 lines 8 to 13 “"Q. Now after
these phone calls, interactions between Brian Keith

found.

There was no mention of any phone-voice

identification, and the caller- recipient’s matching
push-to-talk Nextel was never recovered.
The photograph of an unknown individual was kept
in evidence for a year apparently thought to be the
Petitioner or the distributor that spoke on the push-
to-talk Nextel?.

The deal-making conspirator’s credibility
became severely questioned in the case® (he was
unable to identify the petitioner) and suddenly the
DEA agent was called upon to identify Petitioner
based on the push-to-talk Nextel static’.

THE MISUNDERSTANDING

There was a fundamental misunderstanding
of the evidence in the appellate court’s ruling. The
term “cell phone” has been used to describe the
technologically inferior push-to-talk Nextel walkie-
talkie as though they are the same or even similar
technology. They are not. Only through hstening to

5 Page 356 line 15 to 357 line 21 for one example.

6Page 10 of the appellate court's decision, “On the day before
trial. Harper's attorney discovered that Savage had made calls
from a state jail, which had been recorded by the phone
company, that exculpated another codefendant.”

Agent York testified repeatedly to the accuracy of the
sounds/static on the tape-recording and the lack of any attempt
to clean up the audio i.c., page 358 line 13 to 359 line 19.

Exhibit 19 can you understand the difference. The
appellate court repeatedly used the term “cellular
phone” and clearly understood it to be such. It was
not. Other than using the misleading words,
“cell phone,” and “phone call” we don’t have
words in English to accurately portray this
Nextel object and these radio transmissions.

The written transcript leads to the false
impression that Exhibit 19 contains a normal
everyday tape recording of a cell phone conversation.
And this is obviously what the Fifth Circuit
understood from the natural meaning of the words
from the transcript®. But anyone who has been in
the military, in a police unit or played with a walkie-
talkie as a child would recognize the type of “blast of
static” that takes the form of a word to be
deciphered. But it is not a “voice” per se on the
other end of the walkie-talkie Nextel.

A year after the arrest, at the jury trial,
Agent York was suddenly used to testify that he
identified the Petitioner’s voice at the in-person
interview two weeks after the push-to-talk Nextel
contacts were made. The testimony is not just
improbable, it is impossible. There is no way to
understand this impossibility without listening to
the actual Exhibit 19 (as opposed to just reading the
agent’s personal transcripts marked Exhibits 20 to
23).

i
2

In the appellate court’s rendition of the facts, they stated,
“After Savage agreed to try to contact Harper, the agents
retrieved a cellular telephone that Harper had given to
Savage...” (emphasis added)

The appellate court rendered a_e ruling
upholding admissibility of the recording and voice
identification based on the natural
misur derstanding of the modes of communication.
The push-to-talk Nextel is not a cell phone (in the
movies/TV, it is perhaps called a “burner” --a
throwaway inferior one-signal radio-type object) and
you don’t dial a phone number, you push a button to
buzz the single party connected to the matching
device. Please see page 310 Line 24 to 311 line 1 to 5
as well. (A Nextel representative testified beginning
at page 460, line 22.)

The first 58 seconds’ of Exhibit 19 from the

trial court shows the _ identification was so
impermissibly suggestive as to give rise to a very
substantial likelihood of irreparable
misidentification. Roper v. Beto, 454 F. 2d 499, 502
(5 cir. 1972) (quoting Simmons v. United States,
390 U.S. 377, 384 (1968).
This would not have happened if the trial court had
been required to exercise discretion on the record
rather than just admitting the evidence
automatically.

MISJUDGING DISCRETION

The trial court & appellate court each ruled
that the testimony was properly admitted as
layperson opinion under FRE 701, but even if it were

°The use of the “58 seconds” is not to mislead the Court, but to
accentuate that in less than a minute, one could understand
the decisive issue here.

true that a layperson is permitted to testify to voice
identification, that should never be interpreted as
meaning that he should or must. It is clear from the
record that the trial judge believed he had no choice -
- that if it was offered as layperson opinion, the
judge must allow it to go to the weight, not the
admissibility.

The appellate court’s ruling on this issue
likewise referenced only the general proposition that
a person can make an ID from a ‘phone call’
therefore they found no abuse of discretion. These
“gatekeeper” issues cross-over in small part with the
issues determinative in Kumho _ Tire Co. _v.
Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137, 141 (1999) (granting
certiorari to clarify trial judge’s “gate-keeping”
obligation regarding expert testimony under Fre
702--courts of appeals are to apply ‘abuse of
discretion’ standard when reviewing district court’s
reliability determination.) Upon listening to the
recording (Exhibit 19), it is clear the District Court’s
decision in this case, to admit layperson ID-
testimony, was an abuse of discretion and therefore
unlawful and a denial of due process.

The appellate court completely overlooked
whether admissibility was appropriate under these
facts--which is not to say this issue is fact-specific,
because the ‘gatekeeper’ use of discretion should be a
universal rule.

The agent translated the “drug code words” in
this case not just because of the meaning of the
words, but because no person could have identified
the words of static to begin with. Yet this issue goes

one important giant step further -- not just a.)
translation of the words that were formed, or b.) the
meaning of the words, but whether you could hear c.)
a “voice” to be identified with a human.

The Sixth Amendment provides that "fi]n all
criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right ... to have the Assistance of Counsel for his
defence" as reiterated in United States v. Gonzalez-
Lopez, 548 U.S. 140 (2006). When a trial court rules
that admissibility is “automatic” (by refusing
objections as going to the “weight of the evidence, not
the admissibility”) it deprives the Petitioner of the
right to have his attorney argue a legitimate point of
law, thus essentially depriving Petitioner of the right
to an attorney’s argument and representation in
court.

OPINIONS ARE FACTS, AND EXPLOITED

The agent's testimony of the push-to-talk
contacts was allowed over objection, it was promised
to be an opinion, but the testimony was stated as a
fact and the opinion was abused. Just two examples,
page 296 line 13 to 15: “I recognized the voice when |
spoke with him...as being the same voice that was
on that recorded telephone call that Mr. Savage
made...” (It’s stated as a ‘fact.’) And, page 310 line
22 & 23 Agent York: “it’s my opinion Mr. Harper is a
seasoned experienced drug-trafficker.”. (This is
poisoning of the jury.) Minutes later the ‘fact’ was
reinforced by the agent’s testimony that a judge had
forfeited Petitioner’s property because Petitioner was

in fact the culprit. (Please see Page 316 lines 16 to
page 317 line 3.) Further usurping the jury’s role!
in this case. United States v. Sanchez-Sotelo, 8 F3d
202 (5 Cir 1993)--an officer may not “translate”
taped conversations where the officer’s opinion -went
well beyond the plain meaning of the tape; Rule 701
should be applied in a manner that allows the jury to
draw it’s own conclusions. But this is not how it
works in practice without a universal rule from this
Supreme Court requiring use of the trial court’s
discretion. (Here, the prosecutor later bolstered the
layperson-agent’s “expertness” in the area of
“phone”-voice identification and the agent was
inexplicably deemed an expert on reading computer
screens at page 615.) Holding in conflict, United
States v. Vega, 860 F2d 779 (CA7 1989); 27 Fed
Rules Evid Serv 561. The United States v. Figueroa-
Lopez 125 F3d 1241 (9 Cir 1997) court noted the
dangers of the government's blurring the _ line
between expert & lay witnesses.

RULING WITHOUT DETAILS

When the appellate court ruled on the FRE
701 issue!!, they did not indicate a familiarity with

\0Page 380 at lines 1 to 4, another of many examples of
usurping, where Agent York told the jury, “I believe I’ve done
the best possible job that I know how. I’ve collected all the
evidence that I feel is sufficient to what I feel prove Mr. Harper
guilty of this crime. I feel like I’ve done the best job I can do.”
The record is silent as to any emotion in his voice.

1! The end of page 22 and page 23 of the unpublished Opinion
of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in United States v.

the 'phone' call in this case (perhaps relying solely on
the trial transcript and Exhibits 20 to 23, the agent’s
written rendition). Listening to less than a minute
of the CD would make it clear that the positive-ID
testimony is wishful thinking and_irreparably
prejudicial so that it should not have been permitted.
(There’s a reason why the agent transcribed the
tapes himself -- page Page 301 lines 22 & 23--no
secretary or assistant could have understood it.)

Not only did the appellate court misapprehend
the evidence, but the trial court ruled on the
admissibility prior to ever hearing the recording. On
page 300 at line 25 of the transcript, the court
explicitly indicates that no “judge's discretion” is
involved -- “Okay, your objection is overruled. I
think it goes to the weight, not the admissibility....”
The trial judge knew absolutely nothing about the
sounds on the tape when this ruling was announced.
This record is rife with issues upon which to render a
ruling helpful and instructive to all Circuits. More
importantly for Petitioner (and intriguing for the
reader) the record itself suggests who the true
culprit may have been--but clearly, the record does
not support a conviction of the man imprisoned from
these facts.

COMPOUNDING ERRORS

The appellate court stated that the
prosecutor’s words “give us some pause” and “We are

Harper, 2010 WL 816836 (5' Cir., 3/9/10) Before Clement,
Prado and Elrod, Circuit Judges.)

somewhat troubled by the prosecutor’s use...” The
appellate court’s conclusion that even if the
prosecutor used impermissible behavior it wasn’t
prejudicial rests on a false premise. That false
premise being that the ID is valid and admissible,
when in fact, the ID is unsustainable,

The prosecutor admonished the judge in front
of the jury, “...but 1 just note for the court that there
is case law that supports lay-witness identification of
voice and that this is perfectly admissible, as the
court has ruled.” If she is referring to the two cases
cited by the appellate court!*, one case had
thousands of recordings and the other case had
video/audio tapes--and both had to do_ with
telephones. They could not be more distinguishable
from the facts at hand in this case. (Not to mention
the prejudicial effect that her mini-lecture to the
court had on the jury.)

The appellate court was silent on the
sufficiency of the evidence in this case. The Fifth
Circuit made the statement that there are 3 points
to assess in determining whether the prosecutor's
improper statements were prejudicial. The third of
these points would have been “the strength of the
evidence of the Petitioner’s guilt.'°" The court

12United States v. Ladd, 527 F.2d 1341, 1343 (5th Cir. 1976);
United States v. Lampton, 158 F.3d 251, 259 (5th Cir. 1998)
'3Page 24 of the appellate court’s decision: “and (3) the
strength of the evidence of the defendant’s guilt. /d. at 415
(quoting United States v. Tomblin, 46 F.3d 1369,1389 (5th Cir.
1995)).” But they remained silent on this third prong even
after finding potential prejudice.

10

analyzed their first two points and concluded
without any reference to the third. The fact that the
court never referenced the sufficiency, quality or
strength of the evidence against Petitioner speaks
volumes. This indicates the substantial nature of
the grounds for Rehearing".

If this Honorable Court were to grant the
rehearing there is no possibility of regret because of
the number, and significance, of issues to all the
circuits (and the impact on this crue] conviction).
The record gives clues as to the true culprit. On the
audiotapes, the deal-making arrestee repeatedly
called the call-recipient “cuz,” though when you
listen, the name sounds more like “cul” (you can hear
the arrestee’s side of the call, you just can‘t hear the
unidentified call-recipient). There are continual
references in the case to “Malcolm.” There was an
‘erroneous’ photo in evidence for a year. Had counsel
been allowed to obtain more prison-phone-call
recordings as requested, we may have heard the
deal-making inmate referring to one particular caller
as “cuz” or “cul.” In that event, we would know
without a doubt that the wrong man has been
convicted.

“The entire body of evidence consists of: the doubtful 1D by the
two impeached and deal-making inmates, chronic references to
prior convictions, the prosecutor's sarcasm and the _ baffling
opinion of the agent. That's it---that was the entire case. Why
then the conviction? Both the agent and the prosecutor
vouched for the guilt of the defendant and for the veracity of
the two deal-making conspirators---to the jury(')But this
Petition for Rehearing will address the singular issue pursuant
to Rule 44,

1]

This conviction was based on non-credible
inmate testimony, incredible agent testimony and

intentional abuse of prior convictions. The
culmination of this conviction-campaign ended with
the prosecution’s desired — verdict but an

opportunistic perfidiousness to evidence.

One criteria’ poverning the exercise of

discretion in granting or denying certiorari is
whether the jury function in passing on disputed
questions of fact and in drawing inferences from
proven fact has been disrespected because they were
misled, caused to believe their decision had already
been made for them and repeatedly led to believe
there was incriminating evidence outside their
presence. Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 310
(1959) jurors so prejudiced as to warrant the exercise
of this Court’s supervisory power.
If this had been a trial for the murder of John Doe,
and John Doe walked into the courtroom, the jury
still would have convicted Petitioner for homicide---it
was that prejudicial from beginning to end.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above-- the colossal
misunderstanding of, and prejudicial effect of, the
“phone call” (sic) exhibit admitted into evidence,
Petitioner respectfully requests this Honorable
Court grant the Petition for Rehearing and address
the issues which prejudicially poisoned the jury
against the Petitioner in the trial below. Here, the

12

benefits of providing guidance concerning the proper
appheation of FRI See. 701 justifies this Court's
time on this case Gust as Kumho justified the Court's
time on FRI Sec. 702). We need a universal rule
requiring express use of discretion when admitting
layperson opinion.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL P. HEISKELL

Counsel of Record

JOHNSON, VAUGHN & HEISKEL
5601 Bridge Street, Ste. 220

Kort Worth, Texas 76112

Phone: 817 457-2999

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER

mheiskel@ohnson vaughn heiskelleom

CERTIFICATE OF COUNSEL

] hereby certify that this petition for rehearing
is presented in good faith and not for delay, and that
it is restricted to the grpunds specified in Supreme

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2208%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
