# Opposition Brief — City of New York v. Green

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2019%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 947

## Text

r

\( pV “sd 09-1426 |

| JuL2dssg |
IN THI eee | .
Supreme Court of the Trited States
a a

Cary oF NEW YoRK and PAUL GIBLIN
Petitioners,

SUSAN ROSS GREEN, Executrix of the state
of Walter Green, deceased
Respondent

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARL TO THE UNITED STATI
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUTI

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MLISA BARNES

Counsel of Record
LAW OFFICE OF ILISA DARNES
350 Broadway, Suite 1100
New York, New York 1LOOIS
(212) 698 2330

ebarnesesg@aolcoi

Dienist M, DUNLEAVS
KRAMER & DUNLEAVY LLP
350 Broadway, Suite 1100
New York, New York 10013
(212) 226-6662

Counsel for Respondent

TABLE OF CONTENT!

prca pre
fntroduction |
Statement of act
Walter breathing
Problem and the 911 Call (5
Bo Walter's Refusal of
Medical Aid
( Phe City l’arlure to Provide
Walter Green the Service
Provided to Non Disabled
People a
1) kemoval of Walter Green
from his Home io
I At the Hospital | /
Reasons for Denying the Petition 20
|. Petitioner Did Not Argue
Por A Blanket luxception ‘To
The ADA For Emergency Worke:
In The District Court O1
The Second Circuit yAe

Il. No Court Has Recognized

Blanket Immunity From

ADA laability tor lamergency
Medical Worke

[tf Petitioners Propo ed xe pulron
Rests on Impermuissible

mtercotypuny 54

A Paternalism is a Social
llkthe ADA soupht to

eliminate, not lioxcuse OY

Bs. Paternalism Does Not
Justify Denying People
with Disabilities the Right
to Accept or Refuse Medical
Treatment Based on ther

Mode of Communication ,

(. Amony the Milhons of
Americans with Disabilitie
Many Use ‘Technological

Assistance to Communicate

I). The Jury's Verdict 1

Due Special Delerence 3

Conclusion

TABLE OF AU'THORETIE:

Bates vo. Chesterfield
216 FL 38d 867 (4 Cir. ZOO0) rer AL

Bircoll v. Miamt-Dade County
Ok. bd LOT (TT On O71) Pek. ate. wD

Brandenburg vo. Ohto
395 U.S. 444 (1969) 2

Brigham City vo. Stuart
547 U.S. 398 (2006) oF

Chevron U.S.A. 1
Kschazabal
A&E US. 78 (200%) Ey

Cruzan vo. Director, Missourt
Dept of Health,
A97 U.S. 261 (1990) IG. BI

('yrus v. Town of Mukwonga
20009 US Dist. LE ATS 384859
(1.1). Wis. 2009) 23

Delta Aur Lines, [ne
vo. August
ADO ULS. 346, 362 (1981) 2 |

Green v. City of New York
2004 U.S. Dist. LINATS 5 20

flode Lt

\ Reclamation As f

‘

{

47 I

I> Mus
Winces
moe U

AGL@ hs,

( i)

i)

> { \ ai ( if
fe an Pdi

Virginta

204 (1081)

County of Dake

’d 108]

in. Zvi)

4
5 Lipp

‘| var Ci7iq

}

i

| | (jy sve fi jf { ) } )
| | sis Et € E Soy }
iy t/ / {
{ } —,d4 ‘ae Pyiel
/ nant vo. Peo ar ste. 2 (

statute

» | ( (‘tT |
IP US. IPIsSt, et seq
\rme ricati With Le ibyatits ACT } ! Ld
{ i t
} | { t {} t
Paul F ) LCN) bt);
LOY Stat. 1044 (repealed 190%)

Mther Levi lative Documensl

H.R. Rep. No. 101-48

heprinted at 1p) | 7.8 \ } 7

Vi

Other Sources

Issues in Creating Livable

Communities for People with

Disabilties: Proceeding:

of the Panel, National Counerl

on Disability at 5 (Oct. 1, 2007)

(available at http://www/ned.pov/
newsroom/publications/Z007/pdl/

livable communitie 10-01-07 pat) jan

dames |. Charleton
Nothing About Us Without U:
DL-eded CL WIO) 18)

John Walltams, Pech Opens Stephen

Hawking’s Universe, Business Weel

Online (June 20, 2001) )Cavailable at
http://www.businessweek .com/bwdatly
dnflash/junZ001/nf2Z001/062Z0 O67. htm) 34

Joseph x Shapiro,
No Pity, 229 (1993) 35

Vrevalence of Disability in America
National Center on Physical Activity

and Disabslity(Dec. 2) 2OO5)(available at
http: //www.nepad.org/research/fact_ sheet

f

phpvsheed PKGALSEeCtion— 14%.) 3Sn

peech to Speech PePrViICEs hederal
(Communications Commuiussion)(avallable at
http //www i rovieyb/dro/st bitayil) 4

val

Within our Within Our Reach: hindiny
and Recommendations of the National
Task FPoree on Pechnology & Disability
Jational ‘| at I. hore cS Wis ‘| c"¢ hnoloyy and
Disability. at 11 (004)(avanlable at
http://222.nthd orp/ntitd. pdt)

2005 American Community ourvey

US. Census Bureau (available at http

factfinder.consus.pove/servlet/DT Table ?

bmoay& state=dt&-context=dt&

ds name=ACS 2005 EST GOO &

mt name=ACS 2005 LST GZ000
Bog s&tree 1d B05k&-redolLop=truc&
calle) CO elect&é CO 1da=31200

US35620365 1000&-geo 1d=NBSP&

earch result: OQLTOOQOOUS& format > & lany Ch)

Respondent Susan Ross Green, as Mxecutrix of
the Estate of Walter Green, deceased, respeetfully
asks this Court to deny the petition for writ) of
certioran to review two judgments by the United

States Court of Appeals for t he Second Cireust
Introduction

Vetitioners have presented no compelling
reasons for this Court to review the decisions of the
Second Circuit. They request review of the claim
asserted here for the first time—that the Americans
with Disabilities Act, 4% U.S.C. §141341 et seq
(“ADA”) simply should not apply to emergency
medical service (IMMS”) workers in “exigent
circumstances.” (Petitioners’ Brief at 1, 12, 17) Their
application should be demied: first, because it wa:
not raised during the 9 years this case has been
pending an the district court and the Second Circuit
Second. the decisions of the Second Cireuit are not in
conflict with a decision of thas Court or other circuits.
No court has recognized the type of sweeping
exeeption for emergency medical service: workers
proposed by petitioners; instead, courts have
uniformly concluded that a finding of discrimination
calls for an intensive fact-based inquiry. Third, any
eCxeCeplion that would cnceom pass the facts of this case
would effectively revoke the applicability of the ADA
to emergency medical services workers and subject
persons suffering from disabilities to stercotypical
treatment based on untested paternalism, in direct

olution of the statute and the decisions of this

(Court

finally, there is no reason for review on the
vround that the Second Circuit has “so far departed
from the aceepted and usual course of judicial
proceedings.” Sup. Ct. R. 10 (a) The judgments of the
Second Carcuit were judicious, reasoned and wholly
in accord with settled law. It is petitioners who have
strayed into the realm of fantasy in their ‘Statement
of the Case’ (Pet. Bnef at 3.11), which bears almost
no resemblance to the record of the events of March
19 2000 The evidence adduced at trial
demonstrated that Walter Green’s life was never “at
stake’ during the 9O minutes that the 5 emergency
medical services workers and 3 police officers were
in Green’s apartment, nor did the presence of the
officers there for an hour and a half deprive any
other New Yorkers from nceded services. Moreover,
the EMS officers did not save Green’s life: he had
been resuscitated by his wife before SMS arrived at
his door. and was “breathing’, as he often did, via
manual ventilation provided by his wife and teenage
daughter, while waiting for his ventilator repat

technician who was en-route to his apartment

Walter Green had organized his affairs so that
he could be cared for at home, despite suffering from
late stage amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (“ALS” or
“Lou Gehnip’s disease”). During the entirety of the
hour and a half of the standoff in his apartment,
Walter Green’s condition was under control: he was
no more in “extremis” then than he was a day or a
week before. He was, by the City’s own documentary
evidence, “alert and onented” and communicating

repeatedly that he did not want to go to the hospital

~

An evaluation of his “decisional capacity” to refuse
further treatment was required by the City’s own
guidelines and, the evidence showed, it would have
been feasible, quick and easily performed. It was not
done because petitioners concluded that they knew
better than Walter Green what he needed.

Statement of Facts

On March 19, 2000, Walter Green, a G1 year
old Manhattan resident, suffered from ALS, a
progressive and invanably fatal neuromuscular
disease. He had been diagnosed some years earlier
and was, by then, in the late stages of the disease
He could not ambulate, speak with his voice, or
breathe on his own, He was confined to a wheelchair
and required full-time use of a mechanical ventilator
(respirator) attached to a tracheotomy tube at the
base of his neck. (Materials in the Joint Appendix
submitted to the Second Circuit: are cited as “CA”

137 at 2%)

Despite his disease, Walter led an active fife:
in November 1998 he participated as a wheel chair
entrant in the NYC Marathon. (CA 514) He rode to
Washington D.C. with ‘Ride for Lafe, to draw
attention to the need for additional funding for ALS
sufferers. (CA-515; CA-141) He participated fully in
the life of his family and community. As Wilham
Hall, Walter’s respiratory therapist testified:

() During the time you took care of Walter
(green did he just stay in his house and

live there?

():

():
A:

No, not Walter.
What do you mean by that?

Walter was a very vibrant personality
and he was a very vibrant person before
he contracted ALS and he | was
determined not to let ALS stop him
from living his life. And so Walter
part of our discharge plan was talking
to Walter about what his expectations
were and what we could do for him.
And so he wanted to be able to leave his
house, he wanted to be able to vo to ball
games, he wanted to be able to go to the
park, he wanted to be able to go down
to the ice cream parlor if he wanted to.
Not that he could eat ice cream, but he
wanted to be able to have the option of
going if his daughter wanted to go. So
we had to set Walter up so that he could
leave the house and he could go where
he wanted to go.

Hiow did you do that?

We set his wheelchair up with one of
the ventilators, one of the LP 10s
fmechanical ventilator] and we put it on
a special tray with a special battery.
And, we mounted it to the wheelchair
so that he could hit} a bump and the
wheelchair would stay on, or if he could
be tilted and it would stay on. And that

way, he could go wherever he wanted to

43
$50

() ie You k now if he did AD prdeve et: outside
has home?

A Yo:
() Hiow do you know that?
A | talked to Walter about at. Initially,

whenever he was going to leave the
home, he would let me know and ask
me afatas okay af | yo this far or that far
because he was concerned about the
battemes on the wheelchair and for the
vent, and he wanted to make sure that
it didn’t create a problem for his family
when he went out, so he wanted to be
safe. Once Walter pot the hang of it, he
knew where to go. He didn't ask me or

anyone else. He just went
(CA-140 at 43-44)

At the time he became wholly ventilator
dependent in 1997, Walter wa: hospitahzed to have
a tracheotomy to accommodate the ventilator and
resolved then never to return to any hospital for any
medical m-patient care. (CA-142 at 49; CA-199 at
994: CA-373 at 741) ixcept for the day in question,
when he was forcibly removed from his home = to
hospital, his decision was honored and he died at
home on December 9, 2001. (CA-212 at 276) Walter

and hy family received extensive medical and

6

mechanical train an airway 9 maimtenance,
including suctioning, the operation and maintenance
of the ventilators, and the operation of back up or
emergency ventilation systems. (CA-137 at 29, 31
89) Beeause all machines fail, the family was
thoroughly trained in using a manually operated
sellinflating bag Cambu bap’) to pump air into
Walter's lungs. (CA-189 at 388-39) ‘This apparatus
was used by the family on numerous occasions,
including a 8 hour stretch when the ventilator
battery gave out during a trans Atlantic flight. (CA
141 at 47; CA-200 at 227-228)

As his iliness progressed, Walter became
dependent on eye blinks to signal “yes” or “no,” or for
more detailed conversation, On his computer to
communicate. Walter had a voice augmentation
system, with a software program that sped up
communication so that Walter had simply to type
one or two letters with his one active finger and a
choice of likely words popped up for him to select
After completion of a sentence or thought, Walter
highlighted it and the computer voice was activated
and ‘spoke’ the words typed. (CA-160 at 124; CA-162
at 30) With this system Walter was able to carry on
detailed conversations, including four days of
deposition by petitioners’ counsel. (CA-240-6)

A. Walter’s Breathing Problem and_ the
91) Call

On Mareh 19, 2000 Walter was suffermy from
one of the several bouts of pneumonia that he had

experienced, and treated at home, since going on the

ventilator in 1997. He testified that this infection
“was relatively minor compared to the other
infections that home care has cured.” (CA-375 at
749) Susan Green and their 14 year old daughter,
Alixandra, left their apartment for some errands in
the early afternoon, leaving: Walter with a part-time
nurse’s aid, Marcella Lopez When Walter
expenenced difficulty breathing, Marcella called
Gusan and Alixandra. (CA-201 at 232) Alixandra
immediately returned to the apartment and found
the ventilator beeping and her father in distress
“My father looked like he was passed out . his
eyes were rolled back mto his head.”“(CA-202 at 233)
She perceived that there was a blockage, preventing
her father from receiving air via his respirator, but,
because she was unable to find the self inflating
(ambu) bag, she and the nurse’s aid began to blow
air directly into her father’s trachea through the
tracheotomy. She called 911) for help. Wathin
minutes, Susan Green arrived in the apartment
found the ambu bag (which had fallen behind a
cabinet) and started manually ventilating Walter.
(CA-203 at 237-8)

Alixandra testified that she and her mothe)
used the suction machine and were able to suction
mueus from Walter’s trachea, that Walter soon
reyained consciousness and communicated with
them. and that his color returned, all prior to the
arrival of the EMS workers. (CA 238 at 240) This
crucial testimony as to the sequence of events mn

controversy Was corroborated by the play back of the

tape of the actual 911 call made by Alixandra

During the play back, Alixandra interpreted some of
the background noises audible on the tape, including
the activation of the suction machine. (CA-Z06 at
249-250) As the jury listened to the tape recorded
emergency call, the City’s 911 operators were clearly
heard to acknowledge that the Green family had
been able to revive Walter before the arrival of IMs,
at 2:48 p.m. (CA-717-720) (Cihris Collins, one of the
paramedics, corroborated this by reporting to the
City’s on-line medical control staff: “when we pot
there, the patient’s family was bagging him’. (CA
732: CA 2038 at 240)

As was heard and transcribed on the 911 tape
(CA-712-20), when the officers arrived at the Green
apartment, Susan thanked them for answerimy the
call and advised them that their services were not
needed. (CA-366 at 710, 711) Her thanks went
unheeded, as the EMS officers imsisted they must,
and did, enter the home, and threatened to “put her
In protective custody or something”. (CA-723)

13 Walter’s Refusal of Medical Aid

Walter Green testified (at videotaped pre
trial depositions that were read and played to the
jury) that he repeatedly told the officers who wanted
to take him to the hospitak “Tam fine, No hospital.”
(CA-285-6 at 482-485) ‘This statement was both
printed Ol) the computer screen and audibly
projected into the room by the voice augmentation

device. Alixandra Green who was sitting: next to hes

father during the unfolding events of March 19,
2000, testified that Walter repeated the statement “I

fine no hosp” out loud via the computer voice over
and over again. (CA-205 at 245-246, 251)

At. the seene. both EMS teams recorded on
their ambulance call report forms at) 15:20) [3:20
p.m] that Walter was alert. The City MS worker:
noted that Walter was “alert and communicating: via
computer and winks.” (CA-687) On the tape recorded
call heard by the jury and received in evidence as a
transcribed document, paramedic Chris Collins told

the City’s on-line medical review GeETVICe
(‘telemetry’) that Walter could communicate via his
computer “All right he’s pot a trachea and he oa

being bagged [ambu-bagged]. He can communicate
via computer.” The telemetry paramedic responded
“Well, that’s not poinp bo help us. (CA 733, emphasis
added: CA-208 at 239-40. See CA-379-80 at 765-6 for
an explanation of the EMS recording system)

Walter testified that he Cold one of the officer:
that he refused to go to the hospital. (CA-285-G6 af
482-85) Alixandra Green confirmed this (CA-204 at
244 to CA-205 at 245-6) In addition, Walter's friend,
Joan Bertin, an attorney present at the apartment
that afternoon, testified that Walter communicated
via computer to the officers in the room that he
refused to go to the hospital. (GA TBO at 148)

According to the City’s TEMS — written
guidelines and echoed by all the City witnesses who
testified at tmal, every person has a nght to refuse
medical aid as lony as he is competent to do so. (CA

694 at § 5.2.8) Once a patient refuses medical aid,

the operational puidehnes protocols cntithed “Refusal

LO

of Medical Aid” must be followed. (CA-231 at Gol)
This protocol establishes “yuidelines and procedure:
for gneidents in which patients refuse pre-bospital
care and/or transport to a medical facihty.” (CA-G90)
After a patient refuses medical aid, the riundeline
require the IMS personnel to asse the person's
condition and his ability to make an informed
decision. (CA-700)

An‘on line medical control Galso reterred to a

telemetry’) division provides IEMs. officers with
direct telephone acecs to an oneall potiy bCbaad
According to the City’s guidelines, the telemetry

physician must be contacted for all relusal ol
medical md involving patients younger than o and
olden than Oo and for tho YS whom the Thi miber bysas al
“high index of suspicion best described as “concern
for a potential surgical, medical or so al condition
that could result in an untoward/untavorabl
outcome. (CA 692, 691)

After a screening by a paramedic, the protocol
requires the on-lne medical control physician to
have a conversation with the patient so that the
medical doctor can assess the patient's decisional
capacity and the reasons for the refusal. (CA-695
5 3.1B) Dr. Flavio Crisan, the telemetry physician
employed by the City to make refusal of medical aid
determinations on March 19, 2000, testified that all
people have the right to refuse treatment and
transport to a hospital, even people who are very
SICK

urrounding Whicit byctpoprerrinage
thom rive rye an idea that they are

With us an the present tame and not

ontu ed

Unfortunately — tor peech- disabled Walter
CGireen, on-line medical control service vere not
available to people who were unable to use thei
vocal chords (CA-2283 at 3819. Crisari: “Basically |
would have to speak to the person. ) This restriction
on the use of the telemetry system was contirmed by
the contemporaneou fatement of the telemetry
taff persons captured on tape which was produced
for trial. heard by the yury, transeribed and admitted
m evidence. In ri ponmse lo thre tatement that an
can communicat via compute mad by the
paramedic in the Green apartment, the telemetry
staff member tlatly stated: “well, that Hot grommger to
helpus.” (CA-733)

In situations where the patient was not abl
to speak, Dr. Crisari stated hypothetically, that “we
would call a higher medical authority tor the scene

which would be the leutenant who would vo to the

?

scene. (CA-2238 at 320) ‘The higher medical
authority an bMS Upervisas uch oa a
heutenant or captain (CA.224 at 21), not a
physician The SUpPCrVISOl hypoth tically would pO
(here, asse: thie cene apain, assess the patient
sme thee ime ocritert used by the telemetry

physician, (CA-225 at 520)

When on-line medical control is not available
(ity policy require Chic upervisor al the seene to
perform «a thorough assessment by “using the
Ke-fucal of Medieal Aid Questionnaire and conversing

with the patient.” (CA- 696, 701-2) Captain Brian

Milzhotf, 140 Gatlin upervisor, conceded that the
emergency medical technician on the seene must
fesse tba pubient: ‘decisional Capacity buy ode
proce of consideriny whether to aecept his refusal

of medical aid. (CA-251 at 449-51) IHlowever, in the
context of this ease and after beimp briefed by 1.1
CGablin about the events om the Green apartment
Claptaims Mailzholl admitted that Et. Goabblon did not

evaluate Walter Green's decisional capacity alter
telemetry determined they could not participate in
the evaluation of Walters refusal of medienl aid

Pecan Wiiiltes could not je i}

() And you discussed with him [Gablin| ha
obcervations and pudpyvincent at tba (arene

thisal head pin ty tran port thas patient

eapeiadgastl tdbve pacabaedil cabo tha badly
AV issdye truie
>. , ? ,
see (hOoUIR I " rat I «1 Kany’ YCstl i] (jti

had that conve atjon /

() And did you Jdearn from Lacutenant

(aiblin Who Wo unde) You!

Hipervinton Whether or not Mis (areen

lf he had the decisional capacity
() Then he could have refused

Phen the RMA. procedure: would be an

po dine {

() And do you have any information at all
that Mr. Walter Green lacked decisional

capacity on March 19. 20007

| don't have any of that information

(( sat 35% to 242 at b54)(emphasis added)
( Pha Coty hashure to Provide Walters
(areen, the pervice Provided to INon
1) ibled People
Thi (Viernes sdduced ato triad disclosed that
Valter was not alforded the ervyce provided to
bigot it abel (] po Ople | lJ 1 he Wii rat bilt qd ix it metry

7 ‘ spt)

4 because he was not able to speak. CC/- 1.565

Well. that’s not going to help us.”) Second, Gaiblin

admitted to Bertin that a Walter could peak Ciiblin

Vould nol take him Lo the hospital Mertin told the

J
Yort

cate

pil at , £4358 Vee wabiol with defendant Caiblin

(i4 bees basa) trated an tier Work deposition thicat
eredyted by the court in (areen Cily of Neu

(Green 1) 465 F.3d 65, 77-8 (2d Cir. ZOOG))

() 1 dual die i anything el ce!

y Well, finally. | was very frustrated
and | asked him if Walter could say, NO
I dont want to po to the ho pital would

Qu Lhe I} take him / And rhe aid Pi) rhe

y

({ a eiya
La Caiblin :0, 39} ION Mo rie ice recanted
denied, Or i) al i repudiated or ) wed awa
during the trial (Counsel for the Cat never asked
Chiller atboout this addins fol) OL CVO e|xXambatlion
Lt! pire to the stand aguring

md dyad not ree-Cadl rye uy
In dact. Gablin re-allirmead the accura Ol

added to the t bigoony

\A

pe ilisé Walter could not

pony thee yver of liability form defendants could
not accept his relu 1] dical uid. (CA-280 at 462
( |
) ie ! \ ral ron lil
bios
hee Cost Crip ( ere dh the Careecn tome
1 Imost 9O minut (CA-68%5-6) In total, there
A oe i al teas gihices pore @1L: (WO paramedar LW
Myre Department MMS meds one EMS heutenant
two police officers and ori police sergeant ({d.) ‘Vhe
jo! bic olfice) ail Lhe cA gan iJ itiaally retu cad thie
request of the IM: ollice? thacatl the a ist Jn
remMyoviniyv Walktes Prom) ta biconnie (CA-6%o, centr iil
I 1): 4 4 pwr ae lo:z2o.09 and 12) it WV aA not util
1on thi eene and ordercd

Walter Green’s removal under threat of arrest that
hae W aid tiake li Out rat his home (lA (52405)

Walter Green suffered physical injures as a
result of his forcible and violent removal from hi:
home. (CA185 at 165-66; CA-207 at 256, CA-208 at
25% -G- CA 286 at 446; CA-156 at 105-7) Arriving at
the scene a few minute after Walter had been
physically removed, Wilham Hall, the respiratory
therapist, found the apartment 1n disarray, with
things strewn on the floor, (CA-144 at 57) Mr hii]
had been summoned to the apartment by Susan
Green in order to repair the ventilators. He had hiad
a telephone conversation with Lt Cablin during
which he explained that he was on his way and
would be there shortly. (CA-144 at 57) Hall wa: able
to fix both machines within a matter of minute:
(CCA- 144-145 at 60 .6))

| At the Ho pital

Walter (arcen Wa taken to opt Laake:
Roosevelt’ Hospital despite a request that he be
taken to Columbia Presbytenan, where the ALS
Center and all of his physicians were located. (CA
184 at 163) Walter arrived at St. Luke's and wa:
eon by the re: ident phrysu rath, Dt Tiffany Keiser at
1:50 p.m approximately 40 minutes after Walter

W iA! forcibly removed from his home. (CA-75%- CA

Dr. Keiser performed an evaluation of Waltes

((‘A-437) She was able to do so, despite having neve)

bye fore examined re | per ())) who could Not § peak Cor Gras

who had ALS, because instead of assuming that she
knew what Walter needed, she actually looked at
him, spoke to him, and observed his responses. Dr.
Reiser found Walter to be alert and onented,
adequately oxygenated, and not hypoxic. (CA-4385 at
28.1) and see CA-436 at 495-4) She advised Green
fo remain in the hospital because he was suffering
from pneumonia. (CA 437 at 895) He eventually,
though reluctantly, agreed to do so because of the
overwhelming lopistical obstacles to petting home
(CA-186-7 at 172-3: CA-209 at 263; CA-371 at 733)

In addition to the physical injuries, Walter
also experienced severe emotional trauma that led to
months of depression. (CA-210 ut 266; CA-188 at
177) We testified at a video-taped deposition that
wis playe d tothe jury (CA 750 2)

I watched my wife vet knocked to the
floor and told to be handcuffed. | saw my
dauphter manhandled hy large men who
claimed to be helping. My home was violated,
my self-respect crushed, and until then P did
not understand the meaning of the word rape
lf can’t move, | saw myself being held, legs
spread and strapped to a chair and = beiny
violated apain and apain, being held helpless

apast my wall

I saw omy wiles bloodied face and
limping in pain, and red welts risingg on my
dauphters arms. Al thisin the name of good
Whose pood? Surely not my family nor mine. |

couldn't grasp what was happening. | became

ln the hosprtal lf couldnt look at omy
wife and children, | felt ashamed, and for the
first time an utterly helpless man, worthle:
And my twisted body would not be piven any
res pect

kor month lf couldn't close my eye
without seeing the horror of that day played
before my eye: I still wake Up dha cold sweat
with vivid niuipflitonares of that day that will
tay with me for the rest of my lite

mome da | heave iA bicarad Gagne
functioning. | become depressed very casily
and | have a hard time conceentrating [ov

doubled iy leepiny

} made plans for my demise with m
Rabbi after that event, detailing everything so
no one would have any say bul me li tl wa
not able to be in control dumng hfe, | would

certainly control ii my ce ath wishe

lalso remind my dauphter, Nancy, with
my personal wishes for my death untal thi
moldent lf really didn’t even think about

dying even though | had a fatal disease

2U

Reasons for Denying the Petition

| Petitioner Did Not Argue kor A
Blanket Exception ‘To The ADA lor
Mmergency Workers In The District Court
Or ‘The Second Cireuit

During the 9 years this litivation was pending
in the district court and Second Circuit, the City and
Cablin raised many factual and legal arguments
but not the request for a blanket exemption from
ADA liability for non-hospital emergency medical
services officers that they raise here Initially, in the
district court in their motion for summary judgment,
petitioners argued that they did not discriminate
against Walter Green because the emergency
medical services staff bore Walter no ill wall, but
merely wanted to help him. (Green vo. City of New
York, 2004 U.S.Dist. LEXIS 5 at 25-9 (6.D.N_Y
2004)(decision of magistrate judye on petitioners:
summary judgment motion) After reversal by the
Seeond Circuit. at trial the City claimed that Walter
(arecn Was not competent to reluse treatment,
relying on a paid expert who reviewed the facts long
after the event and opined that (areen must have
been mentally compromised. In adopting the district
court’s charge to the jury, petitioners effectively
stipulated that the ADA apphed. (CA 490-7)
Although the jury did not accept petitioners:
arpument that Green was not competent, the district

judge did. The Second Circuit reversed the district

court’s judgament notwithstanding the verdict and

affirmed the jury's verdict Green vo. City of Neu

York, (Green f1) Appendix A at da (2d Cir. 2009)

Mfter almost a decade of litipation, the City
finally admits important facts that counsel
repeatedly and vehemently denied below (lor
instance, that Walter Green was not piven the
evaluation of his refusal of medical services required
under the City’s own guidelines, Pet. Bricf at 0), but
now suddenly claims that the ADA should not have
apphed to it at all: “Nor should the ADA apply under
the far more exigent circumstances presented here
(Pet. Brief at 17) However, as this contention was
not raised either in the district court or the Second
Carcuit no record wa developed Neither the

district court nor the Second Circuit ruled on thi

Claim and. accordingly, under this Court's rulings, it
hhould not LOW be the bocasst for revjlew ol thas
decision ot second (Circuit Pennsylvanta

Department of ( cir ree lion: ( Yeshey yZ4 (J Np OG
212-8 (1998); Delta Atr Line Ine. vo. Aupust, 400
LIS. 846, 862 (1987)

I | No Court Has hecognized
Blanket Immunity From ADA Laability
lor lemergene y Med al Worker:

kven af) petitiones had raised this) claw
below. this Court should not expend scarce resources
to consider it because it is a sham argument. ‘The
cases rehed on do not support an exception to ADA

liability for emergency medical service workers and

they deal with public safety exigencies wholly
Inapposite to the facts here. (See Pet. Brief at 13-18)

The Second Cireuit’s decisions in Green and /7 that
carefully evaluated the facts surrounding — the
incident are not at odds with the other circuits,
which have invariably determined that a finding of
discrimination requires an mtensive factual review
of all of the circumstances Nor are the Second
Circuit decisions contrary to this Court's decision in
Chevron U.S.A. v. BRschazabal, which affirmed the
necessity of individualized factual inquiry under an
KEOC repulation. 546 US. 74, 85-6 (2002) No court
has even remotely proposed the blanket exemption
from ADA lability that the City seeks for its non

hospital emergency medical services workers

Petiioner’s argument that the ADA simply
should not apply in some situation: relies primarily
on Hainze v. Richards, 207 |} 3d 795 (5t" Cir.) cert
denied, 531 U.S. 959 (2000) (Pet. Brief at 14), 1n
which a mentally disabled plamtiff was found pualty
of appravated assault on a police officer after
approaching the officer with a knife and failing to
top when ordered to do so. Hainze, 207 be. bd at 79%
Plaintitfs ADA claims were dismissed on two
yrounds: that plaintiff was not demed a service but
by his threatening conduct, himself caused the
dental, and second, that a reasonable accommodation
of plaintiffs disability need not occur in an on-site
arrest until officers secure the area and safeguard
their own and the publhie’s safety. ffainze, 207 I. 3d
at 801 The Fifth Circuit) speafically limited the
application of the holding to the specific facts of that
case which dealt with an on-the-street response by a

police officer to a reported disturbance of a man

23

wielding) a knife. The court stated that the ADA’s
reasonable accommodation requirement does not
apply until after officers have first secured “the
safety of themselves, other officers, and any nearby
civihans’. Hainz, 207 F.3d at 801

Hainze is inappheable on its facts: Walter
Green did not commit a crime and dealing: with hin
did not put the public or the officers at risk. Further,
instead of carving out an exception to the ADA
Hainze arguably stands for the principle that) the
ADA does not “shield the disabled from being treated
like other citizens who violate the law.” See Cyrus 0
Town of Mukwonga, 2009 U.S. Dist. LIeXtS 34859 at
56 (dD. Wis. 2009); see also Bates v. Chesterfield,
216 I. 3d 867, 3873 (4 Cir, 2000)(piven a finding of
probable cause to belheve plaintiff assaulted a police
officer, the police stop, use of force and arrest “were
not by reason of Bates’ disability, but because oft

sates’ objectively verifiable misconduct”)

The Eleventh Circuit in Borcoll vo. Miami Dade
County, 4480 F. bd 1072, 1080-6 (1 Mm’ Cir. 2007), a
case also relied on by petitioners, specifically
rejected the theory of an ADA exception derived from

flainze:

As noted earher, the Fifth Circuit in Hainze
concluded that “Tithe TT does not apply to an
officer's on-the-street) responses to reported
disturbances or other similar incidents

prior to the oftieer's securing: the scene and
ensuring that there is no threat to human
hfe” Hanize, 207 Fo 8d at BOL (emphasis

added) In our view, the question is not so
much one of the applicability of the ADA
because Tithe TP prohibits discrimination by a
public entity by reason of Bircoll’s disability
Phe expert carcuimstance pre ented by
criminal activity and the already onerou:
tasks of police on the scene fo more to the
reasonablene: Ol the requested ADA
modification than whether the ADA applies thi

the first mstance

In other words, the question 1 whether
riven criminal activity and safety concern:
any modification of police procedur \
reasonable before the police pliy cally arrest
a criminal su pect Secure thre scene anid

ensure that there is no threat to the public on

officer's safety. The reasonable modification
mquiry in Tithe IADA cases is “a highly faet
specific inquiry." See folbrook City of

\lpharetta, 112 F.8d 1622, 1627 (llth Ci
1997) (stating, ino a ‘Tithe LADA reasonabl
accommodation case, that "What is reasonabl
for each individual employer is a higeshly tact
specific inquiry that will vary depending: on
the circumstances and necessities of cach
employment situation"). We emphasize that
Lerm like reasonable are relative to thie
particular circumstances ol the case and the
circumstances of a DUT arrest on the roadside

are different from those of an ottice or school

OTF B2VGh a police Station What Ls reasonable

|

on Impermissible otercotypingy

ast AanaGgitnacr « ('tiy,t fo (1) Crigpinatiny

Ol peopl | 1 «dl On bpp le hed and pre

reel y yo ae (heovron USA {
1 | » (2002) There is) no
poport kay, pehitiones claim that
Bele Vitti ci person wileriuy pooch
wuld be any more time consuming than
disabled parson refusal of medical

inder the Coat established puideline
ollice) to Obtann tntlormation 1110)
i { priecnil fac-Obieer att 4 ¢]j poded oy
b perso Phils proce Leake honver than
| pric i} ()] pocatbecnil Couile take Petit

rca plan bid ( bhijstabes mepnerated
(either typed rudibl poken ts
to the ollicer 4 Piiarye Lut. Gaibblin) o1
' f ’ bacac
i {ys ‘ I Ki j {
! | j ' j ty tri
! | | ii ; ; j ry i} j } {
} fi i] I bia ‘
! i i Vi
| c-¢} ? r 1 t
’ , j ‘ ‘ ‘ i
] iP | ' i

en ob tisgmy dais eye blank S/o ystem would

bhei Ve Laken an longer than a customary verbal
pyileewedsagiye With a poeukiny byt medically
nsophisticated person
Mecopniziny thicat trie art Proposing Al)
bhipermiascibly paternaliots Olution petlitiones
nonethnel argue fanceiwully here that the use of ‘do
pot resuseitate or medical ordet for dite su LaIhiny

LrCALMER!] Wfoexecuted. would ore duce the risk that

wi @exyvent circumstances exception to Uli ADA
ia (°K potas Pitata-sopoe sak dniy disabled CMe rvern
patient to unwanted and paternalistic medical
nileervention (Peto Breef at 19) Petitioners Go nol
plain how an order not to resuscitate or yo riorm
f traordinal bade Upport Lu deal with puatienil
hho are diol Comseiou Wotlld preve bit poaabey niadists
discrimoamation. Order providing: for cessation ol

mie yead toberverition Would have had mo aapopodae ablion

in dae Whey a these nor would they have a sted
1M Aorke) to evaluate the desires of the full
(ot) pO alert and communicating Walter Green
ho didn’t want to die. but just wanted to stay biGoryie
horther, there as no explanation offered ian the brie
}do) tyic discordant hact that petitione) Caiblin
tted at troal that he would mot have honored a

yé hotel ( @ecuLed micas | powe! ()] atborne
bi liar rhore bpoperagie mite document for Walter
(Green than a do not resuscitate order) piving ousan
(areen tthority to act on her husband behalf and
ter Green would still have been removed trom
home because 4@ meédical powe! of attorney would

‘ been recovnized oubsias % HNO pital anid

no tramed medical people in the home

Lrpe-re Avq-re
(CA-237 at 344-0)
fndeed, Walter Green was a striking example
of the innate power of people with disabilitie:
\Ithiougeha tae lost) the ability to speak audibly
assistive technolopy and eye blinks allowed him to
communicate copenthy wath the world (On Mareh 19,
ZO00, the a rit miyured by employee ol thie
(stv of New York as a result of their disceniminatory
conduct. he w mast as Cap ible ol Latiny bias Wash
and exercising his rights as any justice of thi Court
r | croara Lbs
bhie deeisions of the mid Corcuit ensure
that the AD i apphed as Conpre polended and
jo! ent vpovernmentl apencs from denying service
( pyecoyple bh cdasscaboadatae pecause they cannot
dibl pitinicate then Nishi Thi Case
Ive bearyiccnil bivatteys (J personal
i rig7yit ecepl or rei medical
rea
} Ii) ae tric }
bo darnpanicad 1 | Cul
( sy ae pee Ehiabl pat riadisin
midert most GIscriyy Q avast disabled
PHP SON Paternalism J po rh pos The mG 1 pervasive
yon Of at pitniiniationm lor people Nith Gdeseaboadatae
md fh been a major barner to such individual
HR. Rep. No 101-465, pt. 2 at 74, reprinted in 14990
( it 356. The legislative history of the

law made clear that “nothing am the ADA ts intended
to permit discriminatory treatment on the basis of
disability, even when such treatment as rendered
under the puise of providing accommodation, service,
sid or benefit to the individual with disability.” /d.,
pt. 3. at 71, reprinted in 1990 US C.CLALN. at 494,
The Conpressional record focused on replacng
paternalism with respect for personal autonomy and
choice, and cited the example of a public
accommodation that has a policy of sending people
who are blind to the front of a line. “|A] blind
individual may choose not to avail himself or herself
of that right. . "HR. Rep No. 101-485, pt. 3, at 72Z,
reprinted in 1990 US C.CLALN. at 496. Similarly, a
“Dhiod gidividual may choose to decline to participate
In a speaal museum tour that allows persons to
touch sculptures ino an exhibit amd dastead tour the
exhibits at his or her own pace with the museum's
recorded tour. Td. Even with the best mtentions, a
museum requiring a bhnd individual to participate
in the special tour would violate the ADA. Similarly,
the Seeond Cireuit in Green 7 recognized that the
ADA would be violated where a povernment body
acted with “an intent based on a stereotypical view
of the abilities of a sermously physically handicapped
midividual” 465 #. Sd at ‘74%

Stereotypes about people with disabilities
paternalism and pity are rooted in notions of
cuperionty and “the assumption that people with
dicabilities are intrinsically inferior and unable to
take responsibility for their own lives.” dames I.
Charleton, Nothing About Us Without Us, 62 55

(1998) Phe violation and depyradation caused by suc hi
stereotypes were made evident bo (he gury through
Walters testimony about how he felt after being
foraably removed from his home: “TP become depressed
very easily, and | have a hard time concentrating.
Pye doubled my sleeping. Pomadce plans for my
demise with my Rabbi after that event, detailing
everything so that mo one would have any say buat
me. Hol was not able to be in control during life, I
would certaily control ino my death wishe: (CCA
fe)-Z)

KT

Bo Peternahsm Do Noto Justify Demyiny
People with Disabilities the Right to
Accept or Refuse Medical ‘Treatment Iyased

on Them Mode of Communication

competent person iil liberty hagas a
constitutionally protected miterest an controlling
Whatoais done to them own body, and is therefore

entitled to refuse medical treatment. Cruzan 497

UES at 27% (1990): Green 1, 465 FL Sd at 8&4; fetvers v
Katz. 67 N.Y. 2d 485, 4930.986)CTn our system of a
byrece pray Ve rrigiciit where notion: of individual

autonomy and tree choo are cherished. atas the
individual who must have the final say in respect to
decisions reparding his medical treatment ny Order to
insure that the preatest possible protection 1
aecorded his automo and treedom from unwanted

Htlertercnce with thy furtherance of hi OW)

(i¢ jit )

Under the ADA, an individuals right to refuse
medical treatment offered by a yovernment agency ts
not dependent on the ability to express his or her
desires with vocal chords. As the Second Circuit
recognized in Green 1, fan apency has puidelines for
the refusal of treatment, they must be designed to
permit: people who are conscious and cogent, but
unable to vocalize, to exercise the right to refuse.
Moreover, the refusal of the agency (through its
cmiployees) to apply those purdelines an a non
discriminatory manner, even aw the agency's
employees beheve their actions are motivated by
kindness, protection, or presumptions about what 1s
“best” for the person with a disability, 1s
unquestionably acthonable discrimination. Green J,
AGH F.3d at 76-77

(. Among the Mallions of Americans with
Disabilities, Many Use ‘Pechnolopical
Assistance to Communicate

Walter Green was one of millions 9 of
Americans who must use assistive technology to
communicate and perform daily functions, meluding
interaction with medical personnel. Petitioners
proposed exception would effectively deny such
persons, because they do not) communicate with
spoken words, the fundamental right to refuse

compelled medical treatment

At the time of the enactment of the ADA in
1990, approximately 44 mulhon Americans had one
or more physical or mental disabilities. 42 USC §

12101(a)Q1) Recent survey and census data indicates
that number has risen to over 50 million and wall
continue rising due to increased life expectancy and
the recent spike an the number of children and
teenagers with disabilities.’ More than 4.7 milhon
Amenecans aged 65 years or older have a sensory
disability involving sight or hearmy, and more than
6.7 million people with disabilities have difficulty
vorny outside their home.’ According to a 2000
census survey, the New York City metropolitan area
has 268114 residents who live independently (not in
proup quarters, dorms, or institutional settings) and

have a sensory dis ability. '

Within Qur Reach: Kindings and Recommendations of the
National Task Force on ‘Technology & Disability, National Task
force on Technology and Disability, at 1) (2004 )(available at
http /22% nitd orp/ntitd pdt) Over 24 million people are
Classified as having a severe disability. Prevalence ot Disability
in Amenea, National Center on Physical Activity and Disability
(Dee 21, 2005)Civailable at
http //www oan pad orp/research/fact sheet phip?s heet=189U& sect

Qi 1iheo)

fosues ain Creatunp Livable Communities for People withi
Pisabalities Proceedings of the Panel National Courne il on
Disability, at 5 (Oct. 1, 2007)Cavailable at
http //www ned pov/newsroom/publications/Z007/pdi/livable co

mimunities LOO OV pdt)

See POOS Amencan Community vurves US. Census Bureau
(aiviathable at bitty

facttinder.census pove/servlet/DT Table? bm-y& state "dts
contextedt& ds name-ACS_ 2005 EST GOO &

mt namesACS 2005 EST _G2000_ B99 L8& tree 1d SO5k

re dolop- trucd calk F=—PCOst( lect &é

Assistive technology available to people with
disabilities for communication has improved access
to public life, and our laws reflect the importance of
respecting these different forms of comm nica tion
kor example, every state is now required to have a
“Speech to Speech” (dS! 'S”) toll-free telephone relay
service. 47 U.S.C. §225 (f)(2) Available 24 hours a
day, seven days a week, the service enables
mndaviduals wath speech disabilitaes who have
difficulty being understood on the telephone to call
OTS where a “Communications Assistant” tramed to
recopnize different speech patterns repeat: the
person’s words to the imtended recipient of the:

persons eal ;

Another mechanism for communication as the
one that Walter Green used: a specially designed
computer which, after he typed one or two letters
with his one active finger, would provide a choice of
likely works for him to select. When Mr. Green
would complete his sentence or thought, a voice on
the computer would state the typed words. (CA-160
at 124. CA 162 at 380) Stephen Hawking, a renowned
scientast and author who is) almost entirely

q*

paralyzed as a result of Abs Lise: sieabiag

peo wd 31P2O0UISS 56205865 LOOOKX -poeo 1d NBSPA&
search results=OLOOOQUS& -format<&- lang-en)
‘Specch to Speech Services Federal Communication

Comumission)Gavatlable at bttpd/www tee. pov/cpb/dro/sts titiad

technology : Widely considered One Ol the worlds
most brilliant theoretical physicists since Albert
lcinstein, llawking doc: hit talking —even
conducting seminars at Cambndpe University

through a computerized voice synthesizes He picks

out words on a Compute) sereen, and an electron.

VOICE § peaks What he write:

Assistive technology Cam range Trom thie
simplistic to the futurists Computers have led the
revolution. Hundreds of companies, from computer
miants to attic innovators, have produced thousand

of software and hardware aids that can mitigate the
problems posed by even the most: severe physical
ai ability ‘There eh i & Compute! PVOnIlOr: Nith
mapynihed large type letters key board with
oversized keypads; and printers that print in Braille
Gomeone unable to prip a pen and write can use a
Compubler lf fingers lack the muscles to type, a
Comipuber key can be struck with a mouthstich
clenched between the teeth 61 with a headstich

‘ trapped tir thre fore bie ad

(consistent With the broad consensu: Ol a

priito da poli t daca Pavol Th Os, 4, ig hot peopel with
© Joba Wallicmn Pech Ope tepohrens Phaw kine CJrvavers
/usines Week Online (dune QO 2OO))CGavathable at

hittp [WWW bturside week com/bwadatly/dnflash/jpunZoo nivow

disabilities, federal and state povernmental bode:
have enacted laws to promote the use of assistive
technologies. The Hearing Aid Compatibility Act of
1988 requires all telephones made or imported for
use am the United States to be hearmy aid
compatible. 47 U.S.C. § 610 The ‘Technology-Kelated
Assistance for Individuals with Disabilities Act. of
LOSS was enacted to establish a system for providing
“financial assistance to states to help them develop
and implement a consumer responsive state wide
propram ol technology related assistance for
individuals of all ages with disabilities.” Pub. L. No
100-407, 102 Stat 1044 (repealed 1998S) Conyvress
subsequently amended and replaced that legislation
with the Assistive Technology Act of 2004, which
extends tederal funding for state programs to
Improve the provision of assistive technology to
disabled persons See 29 U.S.C. § JOO] et seq
further, the ‘Relecommunmications Act of 1996
requires telecommunications manufacturers and
service providers to make their equipment and
services aceessible to people with disabilities, af
readily achievable. 47 U.S.C. §&255

Clearly, Conyvress recognized the need to
develop and adopt assistive lechnology, and as a
result there are many people with disabilities now
“speaking: in CO hhon traditional ways with — the
assistance of such technology Thais tact biagrbadag hits
the injustice of the petitioners’ treatment of Walter
Green. Green exemplifies those who have overcome

an abilities and re able to live mdependent lives

with the aid oft technology When oa persol with

disabilitie List thi technology to exercise vital
constitutional ragrtat it Weitlte chad aera Baa Ge
should be allowed to di reviard that exercise because
thie person Spoke (hirougeh } TIFALLADEET rather tha
through vocal cord or the written word Vetitioner
carpeurbne dil this rigehyt exercised through \ istive
technology should be freely anored by pvovernient
aprencie ubvert Congres Mitentiol anid hould

be repected by this Court

1) may yuan’y Voerdret Pay yo

Linder out tem, where th righit) ob yu
trial is constitutionally protected (he pury., not the
Court i the fact-tindin brody lt wereh thie
contradicton evidence and mberen ude tae
credibility ob wate receive expert dias tractios
and draw the ultimate conclusion a fo the fact

fennarnl ( Peorta ra | om. li) ( ) | { ’ Ary ,

“deferred to the yu credibility determimati
rnd concluded that the district int ttosstaturts
its own Judements tor that of the ju bnot
located within the range ob peria stole Isl

(Crees l/ Pot \ppenad \ it re ) )

We Vil beriat t tl {
pri bil parti hav mportant t)
discrimination Win peopl TT
hound the ADA repre 1 1. broad cons
followin bo don brisston of (tempt roy

Clit Live Lit Teleum | {| i | } ?

C'onclusion

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2019%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
