# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New York v. Williams

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2018%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 947

## Text

Z

~ Supreme Court, U.S

|) Fil ED

091425 MAY 21 2010

Sn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

NEW YORK, PETITIONER
{
DARRELL WILLIAMS, EFRAIN HERNANDEZ
CRAIG LEWIS, AND EDWIN RODRIGUEZ

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARL TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORA

PETITION FOR AWRIT OF CERTIORARI

CYRUS Ro VANCE, JR
hyastrict Attorney
(CAITLIN J. HALLIGAN*
General Counsel
PLiLARY LLASSLER
Chief of Appeal:
DAVED M COHN
Senior Appellate Counsel
MARTIN J. FONCELLO
TIMOTHY ©. STONE
DAVED P. STROMES
Assistant District Attorney

New York County District Attorney s Offices
One Hogan Place

New York Jew York LOOLS

(212) 000-99 10

1} illig mavdany nyc VON

* (founsel of Record tor Petitione.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the Double Jeopardy Clause prohibit a court
Irom correcting a Sentence that as originally
Pronouncea lacked a required Component Or Was

( therw rel & illeg@alky len mt?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 1\
INTRODUCTION |
OPINIONS BELOW |
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION
CONSTEPUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED 4
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Statutory !'ramework
B Respondents’ Sentencing Proceeding: 6

l The Oneinal Sentence Pronouncement:

and Commencement of Respondents ite
‘Terms ()
Corrected Sentencing Pronouncement st
( The Decisions Below ys
REASONS FOR GRANTING ‘THE WRIT 12
1 Courts natlonwide are divided over whethe.
the Double Jeopardy (olau &. limits a COUT :
authority to correct a sentence that lack: a
required Provision UO) l othe rW ise rile cally
rr nient Ba

PABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PEDERAL CASES

( aE ted Stat mH F949 (Pp t App

194) i
bobby v. £5 Piya ae 140 (2009)
a) 1 { (/nited tale p43) | )60 (1947) | | ) 2G
BY, fv. Llelgemo 19 2d 95 (] C1} 19 78) } { (}

Caille v. United States, 487 F.2d 614 (5% Cir. 1973) Ld

Lepartment of Revenue of Montana t Aurth Rancl

11 U.S. 767 994) AD

Farley vo. Murray, 45) F.3d 7) (29 Cir. 2006) 16-17

Kdpar v. MUTE Corp., 457 U.S 624 (1982) Lia

Hernandez v. Quarterman, 340 Fed. Appx. 210 (58 Ci
’QO9), vacated on reh p sub nom. Hernandez t

haley 2010 Wi, GO8S65 (Hb Chay POLO) Z\)

In Re Bonner, 151 U.s. 242 (1894) yp

ln re Bradley, 318 U.S. 50 (1943) L£o-L0
lones v. Thomas, 491 U.d. 376 (1989) y

Miller v. Aderhold, 288 US. 206 (1933) Ze
Monpe v. California, 024 U.o. 42) (1998) + ee
Jorth Carolina v. Pearce, 395 U.S. 711 (969) oS $ooes
Oksanen vo. United Stati 362 F.2d 74 (8 Cir, 1966) is. ZO

Pennsylvania vo Goldhammer, 474 U.S. 28 (1985) ud
Phillips v. Biddle, 15 F.2d 40 (8 Cir. 1926) 11
Pollard v. United States, 352 U.S. 354 (1957) ap

Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. Interstate Commerce

Commuission, 219 US. 498 (19171) e

U/nited States ex rel. Marcus v. Hess, 317 U.S. 537
(1943) 26

Unite d otlate » ( Arrellano fave De (99 | 2d 020 (4th | iI

1986) 16, 20
United States v. Bennett, 423 F.3d 271 (34 Cur. 2005) 14
United States v. Cook, 890 F.2d 672 (4% Cir, 1989) “()
United States v. Daddino, 5 F.3d 262 (7 Cir. 1993) 16, 19
United States v. Davis, 112 3d 118 (34 Cir. 997) Li
United States v. DeLuca, 692 F.2d 1277 (9 Cir. 1982) 14

United States v. Diltrancesco, 449 U.S. 117 (1980)

United States v. Harley, 816 F.2d 1428 (0 Cir. 1987) 1G-1 7

United States v. Fogel, 829 F.2d 77 (D.C. Cir. 1987) 12-13
United States v. Hawthorne, 806 F.2d 493 (34 Cir. 1986) is
United States v. Kaye, 1739 F.2d 488 (9™ Cur. 1984) ae
United States v. Kenyon, 519 F.2d 1229 (9 Cir. 1975) lo
United States v. Kinsey, 994 F.2d G99 (GQ Cir. 1993) 1
Uinited States v. Lundien, 769 ¥ 2d GS] (44 Cir. 1985) Lo-1 4, ZU
United States v. Rico, 9OZ F.2d 1065 (24 Cir. 1990) 14-15, 20
United States v. Robinson, 368 F.3d 653 (6 Cir. 2004) 14

United States v. Rlosario, 3866 # bd 166 (24 Cir 2004) 16

Commonwealth. t
Kthridpe 1 olate

} }
fy yf MOLLNP | (ald

ay)
forme
ri
OU) y
aaern

M4

4] i P

2d

4a Crim. Ay

2d 50 (Pa

hOZUO (Oy

1) 1998
yp. PYG

1 $9599)

1466)

Garner v. New York State Dept. of Correctional
a 396 (2005)

( A]

‘ 1{)
LT Os jt iN

Yd

i{)

j
pp) Ue
Le }?

}
OJJALE

j
Opt

18 be,

}
(jie

aed
ple |

/
eS
le {
‘
I
Li
'
Tad
A
j
{
{
{
{

al if if
PSF)
Hierna

Rodrigsue

LOOD)

}
av DIL Oe

QOY
tle ;
Lil f
4
t i¢
Hill
EGE
tien, OUI

40
f
yy
a

1(
($4
(> {4

‘) ¢)
;
|
(
onn
(ATI2Z

4444
i}
\/
(
j
(
j
A
{
(
,
i
}
i}

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

NEW YORK,

Petitioner.

DARRELL WILLIAMS, EFRAIN HERNANDEZ,
CRAIG LEWIS and EDWIN RODRIGUEZ,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRET OF CERTIORARI

The State of New York respectfully petition
for a writ of certiorart to review the yuadement of thi

No W York Court ol Appr al }]) the @?@ CaS

INTRODUCTION

New York law requires that violent felon
serve mandatory terms of post-release supervision
(“PRS”) following their release from prison. In each
of the Cast below Bat tral courts omitted the
required PRS terms from the original sentencing
pronouncements After the trial court subseque ntly
corrected respondent sentence by pronouncing
their mandatory PRS term: abl new sentencing
procecding the New York Court of Appeals held
that the federal Double de pardy Clause barred

tho @ Tew pronouncement and thy i | {hie ePnNirencec!

must stand as originally pronounced, even though

they did not comport with state law

‘The decision below deepens a split on whether
the Double Jeopardy Clause bars correction of a
sentence that lacks a@ required component or 4
otherwise illegally lement. Every federal circuit and
most state courts to consider the question have held
that double jeopardy pose no obstacle to such
resentencing. Indeed, some federal and state court
have held more broadly that the Double Jeopardy
(Clause has no applhecation whatsoever to non-capital
sentencing procecdings, unless the defendant ha
completely served a lawful sentence. ‘To the extent
that, in an extreme case, resentencing might be
inconsistent with fundamental fairness, some court:
have held that due process might operate as an
independent check, but that issue is not presented

here

In sharp contrast, the New York Court of
Appeals joined a number of other state courts in
holding that) correction of an invalid sentence
implicates the Double Jeopardy Clauss W hil
acknowledging that respondents were on notice of
their required PRS terms, the Court of Appeal:
concluded that the Double deopardy Clause har
adjustment of a sentence once a defendant has been

released from prison

A grant of certiorari: 1 independently
warranted because the decision below conflicts with
key precedents of this Court. More than forty year
Avo (his Court held that) the Double Jeopardy

(Clause does not “restrict}] the bmiposilion of an
otherwise lawful single pumshment for the offense
mn question North Carolina vo. Pearce, 8395 U.S. 711
(21 (1969). ‘The Court has specifically declined t
apply the double jeopardy protection as a bar to thi

correction ol «4 SeCNLE NC that lacked Pa | required
component, see Bozza vu. United State 30 US. 160
165-67 (1947) and Lo renewed enlens STS.
proceeding In non-capital cases, see Monge |

Caltfornia, 524 U.S. 721, 726-34 (1998). In addition
(his Court has declared that the Double Jeopardy
(Clause does not render even a lawful sentence final
atl any particular point in lime. See United States
Dikrancesco, 449 U.S. 117, 1837 CAQS8O) ‘th bright
inne Jannat 1Apo ed by the court below cannot be
reconciled with these ruling:

ff deft undisturbed, the decision of the New
York Court of Appeals will threaten public satety

The state has a compelling interest in ensuring that

criminal defendant serve the full punt himent tor
their offense that ha been mandated = by tha
le~eslature Which includ PRS leach of the
respondents committed a violent crime, inchudinys

assault during the course of an attempted robber
(Williams) and home NVasiol bury lari
(Hernandez, Lewis, and Rodrguez). Violent felon

(it ly ra | (he { pPOst i. if cd: ees tore ir i ad brite thas

general population without transitional supervision
In Manhattan alon post-release UperVvision Ol
ipproximately GOO violent felons ha iready been
terminated as a result of the Court of Appeal

decsion and thr New York State ID partment of

(C‘orrectional Services estimate that the PRS ter

ft a ried i t) t))
vite fea I Chit rudd
hould grant certiorar
mar ‘ i] i 1 the
j repo (] 14! i
. pena» iil pial t la
yor} ppp! bheite 1) I
reproduced on pa |
il re] ried LOhlo
\D.3d Li y. App
Hlernande Y ALD i
AULG be, i i] { Le
1) pol LS be. I’ pple
Y. App. D1 bet Dey
trial « irl yor}
f vA york) rm rey (I
penal
PATICLMEN'T
i} I }
an I | L!
i () by | 14
1 | I | tf
ONS'TITPUTIONAT

Jl

york (
rch 1 !
Op)

Inst 1)
} Ti?
Dept

Lp
i

rid

(
pa

RISDI

ai rt) rif 1)
hil ‘ i
ri |
reod Apy |
du ee L tae
| Lt) .
roimecnt
ippena
\ l
ys] | of
y Ley
Y. App. D
i i ‘ Ll?)
| { irit

PION

any person be subject for the same olfence to be

Lwice putin jeopardy of life or limb.”!
STATICEMIENT OF Till CASIc

A. Statutory Framework

LJaocler New York law most violent felon
must be sentenced to “determinate” prison term:
that 2 incarceration for a set term of year Set

NY. Penal Law §§ 70.02, ‘70.04. State law further
requires that every determinate prison sentence be
followed by a period of post-release supervision. See
NLY. Penal Law & 10.450] )

Ino odight) of that) unequivocal = statutory
mandate, cach of New York's intermediate appellate

court held that a mandatory PRS term applied

automatically following every “determinate” prison
I‘ [) ily! Jeopal } { | Ul 1} ic pyar Ly] { dye
Liale by the fourteenth Amendment. See Bobby vu. Bu Lag

cid; ZiGo. Biot t2z000;

pond nt Were ntenced, §& (0.45(]) of
this lev York Penal Law provided that lefach determinate

centence al pic Liude isa part thereol an additional period of

t-reiease Ipervision In 2008. that provision Wa ymended
{ rect that when a court mmposes 4a determinate sentence if
halhin each case state not only the term of imprisonment, but
also an additional period of = post- release SUpPErVvIsiION aA
determincd pursuant to this articl The purpose of thi
amendment was to retain the mandatory PR! requirement and
copudorgny thie latute Lo People i oparbel IO N.Y 3d 457 (2008)
tyschy taeda’ thrat tha plencins rh must orally pronoun

mandatory 7] beri

sentence, regardless of whether it had been

separately pronounced see, e.g., Peopte ex rel
Johnson vo. Warden, 16 A.1I).38d 188. 183 (N.Y App
Div. 1s Dept 2000); People v. Miller, 1 A.D.38d 613
G13 (N.Y. App. Div. 2¢ Dept. 2003); People v. Boyce,
12 A.D.3d 728, 729 (N.Y. App. Div. 34 Dept. 2004)
People vo Crump, 302 AW).2d 901, 902 CN-Y. App
Div. 4 Dept. 2008)

Bb. Respondents’ sentencing Proceedings

1. The Original Sentence Pronouncements and
Commencement of Respondents’ PRS Terms

In each of the case; below, the sentencing
court pronounced the respondents prison term but
did not separately pronounce the legally-required
penod of PRS. None of the respondents complained
mnitially about the lack of an oral pronouncement
Yo the contrary, both of the respondents who
pursued direct appeals after the onginal sentence
was imposed forthrightly acknowledged their PRS

term

luach of the respondents obtained conditional
(1.e., carly) release for good behavior after serving
srx-sevenths of his prison term, and each began

serving PRS immediately upon release. Under New

i

1 See People v. Darrell Williams, Appellants Brief to the
1EV 1 Ok Appellate Division, Furst Department p. J (filed
October ZOUDd). People r Craig Lew Notice of Appe al (dated
April 28, 2002) The above-referenced document wert

included in the state court record in each appeal

York law, an inmate who obtains conditional release
is placed on PRS immediately thereafter, and state
law requires the New York State Department of
Correctional Services (DOCS”) to inform all
defendants about the intertwined concepts of

conditional release and PRS upon their intake into

state prison.?

In order to gain conditional release, each
defendant accepted, in writing, the terms and
conditions of PRS, as they were required to do under
State law. None of the respondents either

(The New York Correction Law provides that an
Inmate becomes eliyible for conditional release upon completing
six-sevenths of Ms prson term, see N-Y. Correction Law §
SO%(1)(a), (ce), after which he is placed on PRS, with the
remaiming one-seventh of the prison term “held in abeyance,
see N.Y Penal law § 70.45(5)(a)-(b) The Departme nt of
Corrections is required, “[uJpon commencement.’ of a sentence,
to provide each wimate with a copy of Sectson 803 and to “fully

explain{}’ its import. NY. Correction law § 803(6)

NY. Penal Law § 70.45(3) provides that, “[ujpon
release from the underlying term of imprisonment, the person
shall be furnished with a written statement setting forth the
condition ol igieey in suffiqent detail to provide for the
persons couduct and supervision.” Similarly, N-Y. Executive

Law § 259-¢(2) states that “[nJo person shall be

conditionally released unless the appheant has agreed in
Vvritunp to the conditions of release.”” DOCS and Probation
Mepartment regulations reiterate those requirement: see 9

NY CER R. §& 361.4 (probation officer must “make every effort to
ensure the individual understands the order of conditions of
release,” “has been provided with a copy of his order,” and “has
agreed to the conditions and has signed the order’); 9
NOY CR ER. § &O03. 1c) ( conditional release will not be franted

(Continued )

complained at the time about being released to PRS
or alleged that his mandatory PRS term had come as

a Surprise
2. The Corrected Sentencing Pronouncements

In 2008, the New York Court of Appeals held
that under a_estate procedural rule requiring
pronouncement of sentence, see N.Y. Crim. Proc
Law §& 380.26, a PRS term could not be enforced if
the tral judge had failed to pronounce the term
orally at the defendant's sentencing hearing. See
People v. Sparber, 10 N.Y.3d 457, 469-72 (2008); see
also Garner v. New York State Dept. of Correctional
Services, 10 N.Y.3d 358, 362-63 (2008). The Court of
Appeals noted, however, that the lack of an oral
pronouncement amounted to nothing more than a
clerical or procedural error, which could be easily
remedied by resentencing. See Sparber, 10 N.Y 3d

472: cf. Garner, 10 N-Y.3d at 363 n.4

Sparber and Garner had widespread effect
Because the intermediate appellate courts had not
previously required an oral pronouncement of PRS,
thousands of violent offenders had to be resentenced
‘Two months after Sparber and Garner issued, the
New York lepislature enacted a new. statute to

provide for the identification and — orderly

{ (Continued)

to any individual unl he states in writing, in the presence of
a witness, that he has read and understood the conditions of
release )

a4

resentencing of all defendants whose PRS terms had
not been PPFOMOUTM ed orally Le NUY (Correction
law § 601-d. ‘This provision designated as person:
ehgible for resentencing any inmates currently in
prison, and any releasce: currently under
supervision, whose PRS terms had not been imposed
Ina procedurally appropriate manner. See id. § GO]
d(2)

In accordance with Sparber and & 6GO1-d of the
Correction Law, alJ four respondents -- cach of whom
was serving PRS at the time were returned to
court for correction of their sentences. At the new
hearings the trial judges orally pronounced
respondents. PRS terms, rejecting, alone othe:
clams, double jeopardy challenges to resentencing
See App. 54a-83a Significantly, none of the
respondents alleged at resentencing that he had
been unaware of the PRS requirement at the time of
the onginal sentencing Hee App 30a. 40a-4la. 54a
3a

(Cc. The Decisions Below

Respondents appealed from their
resentencings, and the intermediate state appellate
court reyected their double jeopardy claims. In each
case, the appellate court focused on the fact that

respondents had no legitimate expectation of finality

6 Williams was resentenced after Sparber and prior to

the enactment of & G6Ol1-d The other respondents were

resentenced shortly after the enactment of § GO1-d

in sentences without PRS. See People vo. Hernandez,
App. 49a (defendant had no legitimate expectation
of finality’ in a sentence without the mandatory PRS
component, as a sentence without PRS was
“manifestly contrary to law’; defendant “[cjlearly

understood that PRS was a component of his
sentence’); People vo. Lewis, App Sta (rejecting
double jeopardy claim for reasons’ stated in
Hernandez); People v. Williams, App. 45a (same);
People v. Rodriguez, App. 52a-53a (rejecting double
jeopardy claim for lack of preservation and_ for

reasons stated in Hernandez)

The New York Court of Appeals reversed, on
the sole ground that the federal Double Jeopardy
Clause barred correction of respondents’ sentences
The court recognized that state law permitted an
adjustment of respondents’ sentences. See App. Ida
IGa ft also acknowledged that defendants “are
presumed fo be aware that a determinate prison
sentence without a term of PRS is illegal and, thus

may be corrected by the sentencing court at some

point in the future.” App. 22a. And the court noted
that at the time of their conditional release from
prison, respondents had executed “written
acknowledgments regarding [the] PRS
requirements.” App. 24a (eitiung N.Y. Penal Law &
70.45(3); N.Y. Executive Law &§& 259-p(2): 9

NEY CLR ER. § 8003. 1(c))

‘The Court of Appeals nonetheless concluded
that “there must be a temporal limitation on a
court's ability to resentence a defendant.” App. 23a

Mven when a sentence is “illegal under the Penal

10

Law, the court declared, it becomes “final for
purposes of the federal] Double Jeopardy Clause once
the defendant “is released from custody and returns
to the community and the time to appeal the
sentence has expired or the appeal has been finally
determined.” App. 2Ga-27a

Two of the court’s seven judges dissented,
pointing out that the majority had misunderstood
and misapphed U.S. Supreme Court precedent. One
of the dissenters explained that this Court had
identified only one double jeopardy limitation on
sentences: “a defendant may not receive a greater
sentence than the legislature has authorized.” App.
33a (quoting Dilfrancesco, 449 U.S. at 139). While
acknowledging that due process may constrain a
court's resentencing power, the first dissenter
concluded that these cases were “casy” under a due
process standard, as respondents had expected to
serve PRS all along. App. 34a-35a. The second
dissent underscored that “a defendant has no
legitimate expectation of finality in an unlawtiul
sentence,” App. 87a (citing Bozza, 480 US. at 167),
and reiterated that defendants are “charged with
knowledge that their sentences, if illegally imposed,
are subject to correction. App. 39a (citing
Diltrancesco, 449 US. at 136, 149).7

Although respondent Wilhams completed his PRS
term during the pendency of the proceeding before the New
York Court of Appeals, the state’s certiorars petition is mot moot
as to him. Given the length of the appellate process, which
sometimes takes years, and the relatively brief duration of

(Continued...)

| |

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. Courts nationwide are divided over whether
the Double Jeopardy Clause limits a court’s
authority to correct a sentence that lacks a
required provision or is otherwise illegally
lenient.

A split of authority exists over whether the
Double Jeopardy Clause limits a court's power to
correct a sentence that lacks a required provision or
is otherwise illegally lenient This Court should
grant certiorart to clear up the “varied and
conflicting interpretations’ in this important area of
law United States v. logel, 829 F.2d 77, 8G n.10
(D.C. Cir. 1987)

(... Continued)

PRS, a challenpe to the Court of Appeals’ bright-line rule 1
capable of repetition and can evade review See generally
Southern Pacific Terminal Co. | Interstate Commerce
Commussian, 219 1IS. 498, 515 (1911). In addition, the decision
below Wf left antact, as hkely to have eimil litigation
consequences. See Edgar vu. MITT: Corp., 457 USS. 624, 630
(19%?) (constitutional claim not moot in light of potential for

civil and criminal hability)

In any event hive controversit remain a to
respondents Hernandez, Lewis and Rodnguez. Those three
individuals were released from PRS prior to the completion of
their terms, following the decision of the Court of Appeals and

this Court’s denial of a stay. Thear remaining PRS tame wall be

rennstated uf this Court reverses the decision of the Court of

Appt al:

A. Majority view: the Double Jeopardy Clause
does not bar correction of an illegally-lenient

sentence

Applying this Court's decisions in Bozza
Dikrancesco and Pearce, the majority of jurisdiction:
recognize that the Double Jeopardy Clause does not
prevent the correction of sentences’ that lack
required provisions or are otherwise legally lement
Those jurisdictions include the Furst, Third, Fifth
Sixth, Ninth, and District of Columbia Circuits; the
highest courts of Arizona, Calhfornia, Hawaii,
IWlinois, Jlowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska,
North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania,
Utah and the District of Columbia: and = state
intermediate appellate courts in Alabama, Georgia
and Michigan See, ep., Breest v. Helpemoe, 579
RioYd 95, 98-100 (1st Cir. 1978); United States ¢
Hlawthorne, 806 F.2d 4938, 501 (84 Cir. 1986): Carlle
v. United States, 487 F.2d G14, 615-16 (5 Cir. 19738):
(/nited States v. Strozier, 940 F.2d 985, 987 (6™ Cir
1991): United States vo. Kenyon, 519 F.2d 1229, 1282
33 (9 Cir. 1975); United States v. kogel, 829 F.2d
77. 90 (D.C. Cir. 1987):8 State v. Powers, 742 P.2d

|

192, 796 (Ariz. 1987); People v. Hernandez, 968

8 In Fopel, the Ihyistnet of Columbia Cirewuit held that
after the delendant had begun serving an illepally-lenient
entence, correction of the sentence was permissible, but only to
the extent nec ary to conform it to the law Mee hogel, OLd
lk’ 29d at 90° see also Miranda colale O56 P.2a 1377. 1377-78
(Nev. 199%) (correction improperly went beyond conlorming the

entence to legal requirements)

465, 466-70 (Cal. 1998); Barrow v. United States, 295
i’. 949, 949 (D.C. Ct. App. 1924); State v. Delmondo,
G96 P.2d 344, 345-46 (Haw. 1985); City of Chicago vu
Flooman, 705 N.i.2d &1, 86 (IL. 1998); State v. Allen,
GO1l N.W.2d 689, 690 (lowa 1999): State v. Williams,
800 So.2d 790, 798-800 (La. 2001); State v. Calmes,
632 N.W.2d 641, 644, 649 (Minn. 2001); State v
Wilcory, 479 N.W 2d 134, 136-37 (Neb. 1992): State
Wika, 574 N.W.2d 831, 8383 (N.D. 1998); Stafford v
State, 8O0O P.2d 738, 740 (Okla. Crim. App. 1990);
lrroembling v. Gladden, 417 P.2d 1020, 1021-22 (Or
1966); Commonwealth v. Jones, 554 A.2d 50, 52 (Pa
198Y)- State uv. Babbel, 813 P.2d 86, 88-89 (Utah
199]): Cline v. State, 571 So.2d 368, 369-70 (Ala.
Crim. App. 1990); Strickland v. State, 687 S..2d
22), 222-23 (Ga. App. 2009): People v. Brown, 2001
WI. 6824389, *2-*5 (Mich App 2001). see also United
States v. Rico, 9O2 F.2d 1065, 1068-69 (24 Cir. 1990)
(rejecting double jeopardy challenge to correction of
Hlegally-lement sentence where government's time

u

to appeal had not expired)

Y tederal Kale of Criminal Procedure 36, which allows a
eourt to correct at any time a clerical’ error in the
imposition Of sentence, or an error arising from an ‘oversight o1
omission, appears to give federal courts authority to correct
sentences where @ mandatory or nepotiated provision has been
inadvertently omitted, but not where a court omitted
discretionary provision. Compare United States v. Bennett, 423
Eogd 271, 277-862 (39 Cir. 2005) (correction of nepotiated
forfeiture order) Strozver G40 I. 2d at YT (omission of
mandatory supervised release term); United Slates v. DeLuca
G92 F 2d 1277, 1286 (9 Cir, 1982) failure to impose sentence
on a count); with United States v. Robinson, 36% 3d 655, 655

(Continued )

14

Significantly everal of these jurisdiction:
have approved the correction of invalid sentence:
even where the defendant has already been released
from custody. See, e.g., Calmes, 632 N.W.2d at 644,
649 (mandatory conditional release term added after
defendant's placement on supervised — release):
Abram v. State, 574 So.2d 986, 987-88 (Ala. Crim
App. 1990) (defendant returned to custody following
correction of invalid “split” sentence); see also Jtico,
9O2 Fo2d at 1068-69 (Gnvalid sentence properly
increased even though defendant had completed
ongimally imposed prison term and was | on
supervised release); State v. Pascal, 736 P.2d 1065
1069-71 (Wash 1987) (state properly appealed
illegal sentence after defendant completed serving
it); Grayczyk vu. State, 666 N.W.2d 472, 474-76 (S.D
2003) (detendant returned to custody atter beimey
prematurely released due to error in calculation of

sentence)

The Fourth Circuit, along with the high court
of Arizona and California, have pone even furthe
The Supreme Courts of Arizona and Califormia have
stated broadly that the Double Jeopardy Clause doc:
not apply to non-capital sentencing determination:

Powers, supra, 742 V.2d at 796; Hernandez, supra
968 P.2d at 466-70; see also State vu. Marshburn, 620

(.. Continued)

57 (6 Cir. 2004) (court unexpressed intention to inpos
discretionary term of supervise release); United States v. Kays
739 F.2d 488, 490-92 (9'" Cir, 1984) (discretionary imposition of

consecutive sentences)

Yd 4Zw&2. 2K4 O(N. App Z0U00) Likewise Lyi

Fourth Cireuit has opined that the Double leopardy

Clause does not apply to sentencing determination
unle: the defendant has fully sullflered a lawful
punishment for his crime See United States |
Lundien, 169 F.2d 981, 984-86 (4 Cir. 19} a

In addition, in casi not involving doubl
jeopardy claim the Second and KMivhth Cuircuat
have declared that sentence can and hould be

corrected to contorm to the law Yer Harley 1%
Murray, 451 F.3d 7) (7 (2% Cir. 2006) (althoug

PRS term could not be enforced because it had not

;, bhis case dor not quare)y present the question
whether the Double de ypardy (Clause set 1 Lemporal limit on
the amendment of a4 laiwfuld sentence Peveral lederal circuit
court have indicated that an ¢ K pe tation of finality arise aite!
complet ervice ol a luawlul sentence ove, €.pP (/nited Late {

ves 90 I 4d 95, 1O1 (4% Cir. 1996): United Stati Uv Anse

994 I 2d G99, 702-03 (9 Cir. 1993): United States t lrrellano

fii: 199 I 2d 520, 623-24 (9 Cu 1YS6) Cc] CA Sane? Linu
fate 12 bk 2d 74, RO (KB Cyy 1 S965) ; veral other courts
have gone further and deemed lawful sentenc final at sri
eurlier point in time, absent a legislative provision permitting
revieyv ee Snell i Slate 124 0.20 105, 108 (Ala. Crim IY
1998) Gdawful sentence final Iler imposition); ofale Wihiee
198 P. 2d 205, 208% (Ariz. 1972) (same), United State hOsarLo
{hOH k 4d 166. 169-71 (24 Cir. 2004) Gawtul sentence final after
mmen ment): United Stat I ILarley, BIG F.2d 1423 1454
(10 Cir. 1987) (Same): Lthridpe foal 0) a :. 3
(Mi \pp Z0O01) ¢ ime) litte it fiyan i249 A.Zd 332 b5
(NJ 19%1) (same): United Stat { Ljaddtno » id 262. 26
(7 Cir, 99%) Cawtul sentence tinal atter rejJcease from custody)
fate ea vel. Hill oo Parson 16) Sh.2d 194, 19 WV Vi. 199
(sume

been pronounced orally or otherwise entered on thi
court record this did not “preelude the tate from
moving in the New York courts to modify barley
entence to include the mandatory PRS term’ ):?!!
Phillips v. Biddle, 15 F.2d 40, 40 (8 Cir, 1926) Ct
is wrong that where there is statutory authority fon
the total sentence which the court clearly intended
to impose, and where the case can be returned for
resentence, that the prisoner hould « ape part ol
the yust punishment due him through a mistake in
the form of the sentence.”)

peveral court heave ugvested that while the
Double Jeopardy Clause annot render an invalid
entence final, in an extreme case a defendant may
find redre under the Lane Proc (claus to tha
extent that upsetting an illegal sentence would bi
mconsistent with fundamental notions of fairne

PyeWitt Ventetoulo. 6 F.3d 32. 345 (1st Cir. 1993) C4

also, e.g., United State v. Davi 1J2 F.8d 118, ]
(34 Cir. J997): Lundtes (69 F.2d at OSG: Breest, 579
Ke Yd at 10] Vells uo. United Stat SO2 A 2d
() remand , | , t} bistri ( rt f
heal | I ie] permit the fst te] ntenc rt t
roi Its | = nfiorom th to the man {

! } k Ja hear NTurra OU Wi, J O's]

{ ) (07) \'} Dastrict ( tad les] 1}
fact that the pr ri not been informe ee at tl
pl HCarimng / fol Idd at ind 1) { fact

haat I) 1) 1 ¢ np I | ’ pri m tern | L000) vi
O31, * he Dastrict ( rt explained th bin dagedat i}

titioner rime I t aed l i

4-H (D.C. Crt App 2OOZ): Jlanson ¢ slat 1s
\ 2d 572. 5738-74 (Me. 1998): Grajpceyvkh, 666 N W.2d
at 476; Calmes, G82 N.W.2d at 645-49 The Due
Proce Clause 3 not implicated here howeve
because respondents expected to serve PRS all along

and were in fact serving it when their sentence:

were corrected Nothing fundamentally unfan
occurred, as the resentencings merely remedied
procedural error and conformed t hie

pronouncements to the legitimate expectations of all

parties

R. Minority view: the Double Jeopardy Clause
imposes a bright-line temporal limit on the
court’s power to correct an illegally-lenient

sentence

In contrast to the prevailing view, a number of
jurisdictions have squarely held that the Double
Jeopardy Clause renders illegally-lenient sentence:
final at some point in time. See State v. Pina, 440
A 2d 962. 965-67 (Conn I981) (Double Jeopardy
Clause bars correction of an illegal sentence after
tba Late sLatubory Lirie limit to seck review
@xplres) Maybin v. State, 884 So.2d 1174, 1175 (Cela
\Ypp. 2° Dist. 2004) (court may not correct illegal
entence after its completion); Sneed vu. State, (49
So 2d 4h, 546 (la. App. 4% Dist OOO) (same)
\long those same lin the Supreme Courts of Olio
and Washington have suggested that an expectation
of finality might arise following the defendant

completion of an unlawtul sentence See State t
tober . se ] N he | Phe war {e% ({ hae VAUlSla®
(permitting correction ol entence {i mnclude

mandatory period of post-release control, but noting
that correction may not be permissible followimg the
defendant's release from prison); State v. Hardesty,
915 PP. 2d 1080, 1086 (Wash. 1996) (permitting
correction Of sentence procured by fraud, but noting
that a defendant. might acquire a finality mterest in
a merely “erroneous” sentence after fully serving it)
In addition, while not addressing the amendment of
a faqally- invalid sentence, the New Mexico Supreme
Court has held that a tnal court may not seck a
entenany enhancement following a defendant’s
release from custody. See March v. State, 782 P.2d
KY #H-#4 (NM. 1989)

‘| hie dee WSsiodk ot the New York (Court of Appr als

deepened the spht on this significant question of
Criminal Jaw lis determination that an illegally
lement sentence cannot be corrected once’ a

defendant has been released from prison and the
state’s time to appeal has lapsed confirms that thi
issue iw unlikely to resolve itself absent mtervention
by this Court

Contrary to the conclusion of the Court of
Appeals, see App. Z0a-22a, federal circuit courts have
not held that the Double Jeopardy Clause bar:
correction of an illegally-Jement sentence following a
defendant's release from prison ‘The federal] CadSe&%
upon Which the court below reled either addressed
the amendment of facially-valid sentences,!* opined

that a defendant punt hment may not be increased

ee Daddins, 5 3d at 265

following complete service of a lawful sentence,!* or

intimated — that due process might prohibit
amendment of a sentence in an unusual case.!4

None of these issues are presented here.!°

‘The decision below illustrates the unfortunate
results that can flow from the minority view on this
issue of law. First, conditional release, which all of
the respondents obtained, is a benefit given for good
behavior, after which the defendant must complete
PRS. See N.Y. Penal Law § 70.45(5)(a)-(b); cf. NY
Correction Law § &8U3. No pnor precedent suggest:
that double jeopardy prohibits the state from
enforcing the mandatory conditions attached to that
release. Second, New York Court of Appeals’ ruling
yrants respondents a windfall: respondents availed
themselves of a change in the law regarding whether
a PRS term must be orally pronounced, and then
Clammed that double jeopardy barred the state from

secking resentencing to comply with this new rule

is See Silvers, YO F.3d at 101: Arrellano-Ruos, ‘199 F 2d
at 523-24: Oksanen, 362 F.2d at 80

See DeWitt, 6 F.3d at 35. Lundien, 769 I.2d at 986
eres I 4 } 2a at IQ] (U/nited states { Cook 90D h VA 4/2
GidD (4 Cir. 1969)

Phe Court of Appt als also rehed on one case that
reyected a double jeopardy claim, see Feico, YO2Z F.2d at 1068-69
(rejecting double jeopardy challenge to correction of illegally
lement sentence where governments time to appeal had not
expired), and another that was Jater vacated on rehe aring, See
Hernandee uv. Guarterman, 340 led. Appx. 210 (6™ Cir. 2009)
(anpublished opimion), vacated on reh’p sub nom. Hernandez vu

fhaler, 2050 WL 608865 (5 Cir, 2010) Canpublished opinion)

lsnally, the New York Court of Appeals’
decision underscores a fundamental paradox in the
minority view: that a sentence correction might be
legally required and reasonable under the
circumstances yet still be barred by the Double
Jeopardy Clause. That position is incoherent. ‘To
remedy the great confusion on this question, and to
ensure that the double jeopardy protection is not
stretched so far beyond its proper scope, this Court

should grant certiorar)

I]. The decision of the Court of Appeals
conflicts with this Court’s precedents.

Not only does the decision below deepen the
spht) on whether the Double Jeopardy Clause
constrains a courts authority to correct an illegal
sentence, but ait also conflicts with prior rulings of
this Court The New York Court of Appeals’
conclusion that double jeopardy imposes a bright-
line temporal limit on sentence correction cannot be
squared with precedents that define the scope of the
double jeopardy protection

This Court has held that the Double Jeopardy
Clause does not bar correction of an illegal sentence,
even where it increases punishment. See Bozza, 330
U.S. 160. In fozza, the crime for which the
defendant was convicted carnied a minimum penalty
of a $100 fine and imprisonment, but. the judge
mistakenly imposed imprisonment only. See id at
IG5. Several hours later, after the defendant had

already been taken to a detention center, the judge

ordered the defendant back to court and corrected

4

the sentence to include the mandatory fine. See td.
at 165-66 This Court rejected the defendant's
double jeopardy claim, cautioning that “|t}he
Constitution does not require that sentencing should
be a game in which a wrong move by the judge
means immunity for the prisoner Id. at 166-67
Correcting an invalid sentence to make it lawful
“{does}] not twice put petitioner in jeopardy for the
same offense. [d. at 16% lakewise, amending
respondents — sentences here to include their
statutorily-mandated PRS terms did not put them

twice in jeopardy for a single offense.!©

In addition. while this Court need not consider
here whether the Double Jeopardy Clause sets a
temporal limit on a courts authority to amend a
lawful sentence, the Court has indicated that such

an amendment is permissible, provided that it 1:

'’ Other decisions of this Court recognize similar limit
on Uae Double Jeopardy Clau ( See Jones t Thomas 49] ss
$76, 384-85 (1989) Crejecting double jeopardy claim wher
defendants sentence fell within the “plain||” legislative intent)
Pollard | United State: 362 U.S. 654, 357-61 (1957) (where
eourt had neglected to pronounce originals probationary
sentence, court properly substituted prison term two years later
alter defendant was returned to court for alleged violation of
invahd probation order); Miller vo. Aderhold, 288 (J) S. 206, 209

1] (1933) (where court had issued void order permanently

suspending sentence, lawful sentence was properly imposed at
succeeding term); In fte Bonner, J51 US. 242, 254-62 (1894)
(yrantiny writ ol habeas corpus, without prejudice 16
vovcrnments rnght to scck imposition of lawful sentence, wher

court fiad issued void order commutting defendant to state

penitentiary)

authorized by the Jeporslature. In affirming the
increase of a sentence upon a statutorniy-authorized
appeal by the prosecutor, this Court observed that
for purposes of the Double Jeopardy Clause, “a
sentence does not have the qualities of constitutional
finality that attend an acquittal.” United States v
Dikrancesco, 449 U.S. 117, 144 (1980); see also id. at
137-38 (the Double Jeopardy Clause does not
require that a sentence be given a degree of finality
that prevents its later increase’)

Kor similar reasons, the Double Jeopardy
Clause does not bar the imposition of a stiffer
sentence following retrial after a § defendant’s
successful appeal. See North Carolina v. Pearce, 395
U.S. 711, 721 (1969) (the Double Jeopardy Clause
“does not restrict{] the imposition of an otherwise
lawful single punishment for the offense in
question’). Applying this “well established part of
our constitutional jurisprudence,” see Diltrancesco,
449 U.S. at 135 (quoting Pearce, 395 U.S. at 720),
this Court held that a lawful increase in a sentence
simply does not constitute a mulliple punishment or
otherwise implicate a defendant's interest in finality
‘If any rule of finality had apphed to the
pronouncement of a sentence, the original sentence
in Pearce would have served as a ceiling on the one
mnposed at retrial, Dil'rancesco 449 U.S. at 130;
see also Pennsylvanta v. Goldhammer, 474 U.S. 28
(1985) (double jeopardy did not bar resentencing on

remaining counts after several other counts were

vacated on appeal)

More recently, 1n Monge v. Caltfornia, 524
U.S. 721 (1998), this Court declared that the Double
Jeopardy Clause does not even “extend|} to
noncapital sentencing proceedings.” See id. at 724
After the state had failed to prove one of the
defendant's prior convictions at an initlial sentencing

proceeding under a “three sirkes” law, — the
California Supreme Court allowed the state a second

opportunity to present its proof at a subsequent

sentencing procecding see id. at 725-27 ‘This
Court affirmed, distinguishing between a sentencing
determination and an acquittal See id. at 729
(citing Diktrancesco, 449 US. at 134). “Historically,”

this Court noted, “we have found double jeopardy
protections inapplicable to sentencing proceedings,
because the determinations at issue do not place a
defendant in jeopardy for an ‘offense la. at (28

Gnternal citation omitted).! +

Indeed, this Court has apphed the Double
Jeopardy Clause to non-capital sentencing in only
one circumstance where the defendant has fully
suffered a fawfal punishment for his crime. In s/s
Parte Lange, 8&5 U.S. 168 (1874), the trial court
sentenced the defendant to umprisonment and a fine,
even though the statute permitted only
imprisonment or a fine. The defendant paid the fine,

which was committed to the treasury and could not

4 Ky contrast, double jeopardy prot etions may attach

in a capital sentencing proceeding, piven the “umque

circumstances of capital cases.” fd. at. 726; see also Bullington
v. Missourr, 451 VS 430, 445-46 (198]1)

be returned. See id. at 174-75. This Court held that
the Double Jeopardy Clause barred subsequent
correction of the sentence to include imprisonment
See wd. at 175 Qnee the defendant “had fully
suffered one of the alternative punishments to which
alone the law subjected him, the power of the court
to punish further was gone.” Id. at. 176; see also In
re Bradley, 318 U.S. 50, 51-52 (1943) (sentence could
not be corrected after defendant fully paid fine,
which by itself constituted a lawful punishment for
the offense)

Critically, the holding of kx Parte Lange 1s
“confineld]|’ to its “specific context” and is “not
susceptible of general appheation.” Diltrancesco, 449
U.S. at 139; see also id. at 138-39 (rejecting dicta
from a prior case suggesting that a sentence might
become final after its commencement). Lange
merely prohibits a court from increasing a sentence
after the defendant has suffered a full and lawful
punishment, not from correcting an illegally-lement
sentence See id. at 139 (“[njo double jeopardy
problem would have been presented in kx arte
Lange Wo Congress had provided that the offense
there Was punishable by both fine and
lnprusonment’); see also Bozza, 330 U.S. at 167 n.Z
(defendant “had not suffered any lawful punishment
until the court had announced the full mandatory

ite

entence )

+ Several dustices of thas Court have criticized even the

lomated rule of Key Parte Lange, arguing that the Double

(Continued )

Minally, this Court’s precedent sugpests that
even aif double jeopardy had some application to
sentence correction, there is no fixed point. at which
a court loses its authority to conform a sentence to
the law “The Double Jeopardy Clause does not
provide the defendant with the right to know at any
specific moment in time what the exact limit of hi:
punishment will turn out to be.” Diltrancesco, 449
Uo, at i3sy.* And, in any event, respondents
themselves knew all along that. heir punishment
included a PRS term; they accepted that obligation
without complaint, 4s a condition of early release
from prison, and they never claimed to have been
unaware of this mandated component of their
sentences. See App. 35a, 40a-4]a, 54a-83a

( { ontinued)
Jeopardy Claus apphes to scntencing only if the state conduct
multiple proceedings to punish the defendant and th
punishment exceeds legislative limit see, egf., Department of
Revenue of Montana v. Kurth PRanch, 5117 US. 767, 798-808
(1994) (Scaha, d., dissenting, yorned by Thomas, J.); Bradley
318 U.S. at 553-54 (Stone, CJ., dissenting), see also Witte ¢
United States, 515 U.S. 3889, 406-08 (1995) (Scaha, J
concurring, joned by Thomas, d.); United States ex rel. Marcu
v. Hess o27 U2 537 V00-906 (1943) (krankfurter, J
concurring)

To the extent that double jeopardy confers some

expectation of finality in a lawful sentence at some undefined

pout ii lime Bozea suppests that a defendant can never jiave

such an expectation of finality in an illegally-lement sentence

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorar: should be

granted

Respectfally submitted,

CYRUS R. VANCE, JR
Jyistrict Attorney
New York County, NY

CAITLIN J. HALLIGAN?’
General Counsel
HILARY HASSLIEKR
Chief of Appeals
DAVID M. COHN
Senior Appellate Counsel
MARTIN J. FONCELILO
TIMOTHY C. STONI«
DAVID P. STROMIES
Assistant District Attorney:

‘Counsel of Kecord for Petitioner

May 21, 2010

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_2018%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
