# Opposition Brief — Smith v. Vasquez

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1931%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 946

## Text

No. 09-1328
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
KEVIN SMITH, Warden,

PETITIONER,

ROBERT 5. VASQUEZ,

RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SIXTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRIEDMAN & GILBERT
Gordon S. Friedman (0021946) *
* counsel of record

Andrea Whitaker (0074461)
1370 Ontario Street, Suite 600
Cleveland, OH 44113-1752
(216) 241-1430

Counsel for Respondent

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

he petition accurately lists the parties to the proceeding

TABLE OF CONTENTS

“age
Parties to the Proceeding . ee ieee SDE ONION ET een! icceceal
Table of Contents Lt ERO ER OTITIS NN IO EE EEE
LARD Resins saseadsmeencecada toate
Statement of the Case .... as oe SE SERIAL OER TL ar AC
Introduction .................. Ae aa ieiantesecsuede ciacabaanaaaeee
ner I I 2 aia th co ns ea dbnddasuseosaiatuabeiceteaea A ilosuanacaieaieers 13

A. The Sixth Circuit Decision Properly Applied Both AEDPA Standards and
this Court’s Precedents in Determining That the State Courts’ Rulings Were
Se ia aalls ac anh euinldsplansnsapinbanciasacoconmabenenl 13

3. The Sixth Circuit Decision Properly Applied Both AEDPA Standards and
this Court’s Precedents in Determining That Respondent Received Ineffective
ES EET OE TTT, 5 ae: 24

IN oS peat ieeeates ee ee ate A Ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Cited

Brown v. Smith, 551 F.3d 424 (6% Cir. 2008)......................cccsccccsscsosscscecececcoscceeecs 30°31
Early v. Packer, 537 U.S. 3 (2002) oo... eeeeeeee eee. RA re Pree Rpt BN Ate ra om 14
Holland v. Jackson, 542 U.S. 649 (2004) ...... RT: Oe NR ECS MO aR RENEE 13, 16-21
Kimmelman vy. Morrison, 477 U.S. 365 (1986) 0.0....0..cccccccceecesscececeeseceeceseseseeeenceneeees 29
Lorraine v. Coyle, 291 F.3d 416 (6% Cir. 2002) ooo. ccc ccceececceeceeseeeeceeeeseceeens Pea Ee 29
Parrish Towns v. Smith, 395 F.3d 251, 259 (6% Cir. 2005) ...0..0.cccccceeeeeeeees ceeeeeeee BB
Pnsentta we Chesnais, GT TF) Go, BO I ovicsisscuesesscevscsnassecssenesesnaasosornnnassenvenpsoasses 14
Ramonez v. Berghuis, 490 F.3d 482 (6t Cir. 2007).......00.0000...... PR ART a ae 28

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)....3, 13-14, 16-19, 21-22, 25, 27-29, 38

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2001) ..............cccccscccsccscecescscsseccessseceseeccercese 17, 20-24
Woodford v. Visciotti, 537 U.S. 19 (2002) ........... SIS RO GAPE R RES 13, 16-21
Workman v. Tate, 957 F.2d 1339 (6% Cir. 1990) 0... cccceecececeeeeeeceeeeeeeee sitoacainsas ae
eee es MU OEE Oo. ccsasissesercdusuimanicdunonmbobc vopanencon soa vesmanii 14
Statutes Cited
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penaity

Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”)....................-. RL eT RN eee San ONE Fe Oe 4-5, 13-14, 23-27
— § EE | SRA RGCe ec ee ae ae cee nee ea See Se
28 U.S.C. § 2254 (e)(1) oes pe neces SLE ae hols OEE ee 26

Re POINT CI NG aso ne soc cscessncsnscsxsnertincnosdetvenienotadsncce abediaiae seaiemaiin l

Ohio Revised Code § 2907.02 .........0.0....000..0000.

Ohio Revised Code § 2953.21 .......... ;

Rules of Court cited:

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, No. 10...........

Constitutional Provision cited:

Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution. ....0...00..0......ccccceceeeeeeeeeeeeese 27, 29

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
There are aspects of Petitioner's Statement of the Case and facts that are
misleading as relates to the summarizing of the Sixth Circuit’s opinion and the
deference applied in reaching that opinion. These facts and omissions will be
addressed specifically in this opposition to certiorari.
Respondent Robert Vasquez was indicted on August 16, 2000 and convicted
in the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas for (1) rape of a minor under the

age of thirteen (Ohio Revised Code (“O.R.C.“) § 2907.02); and (2) kidnapping with a

specification of sexual motivation (O.R.C. § 2905.01). His trial began on October 30,

2000. At trial, Defense Counsel offered no witnesses in Mr. Vasquez’s defense. The
trial concluded on November 3, 2000 with jury verdicts of guilty as to both counts of
the indictment. On December 22, 2000, Respondent was given concurrent sentences
of life as to Count One and nine years as to Count Two.

On October 9, 2001, Respondent filed a Post-Conviction Petition to Vacate or
Set Aside Judgment of Conviction pursuant to O.R.C. § 2953.21. Thereafter,
Respondent and Petitioner filed several memorandums and _ supplemental
memorandums.

On November 14, 2002, the day after the Ohio Court of Appeals ruled on his
direct appeal, the trial court denied Respondent’s motion for post-conviction relief
filed on October 9, 2001. The Ohio Eighth District Court of Appeals affirmed the

trial court on January 20, 2004. That decision was appealed to the Ohio Supreme

Court on March 4, 2004. The Ohio Supreme Court denied leave to appeal and
dismissed the appeal on June 9, 2004

Respondent filed a petition for writ of habeas corpus on June 29, 2005. That
Petition was granted on October 3, 2007. Pet. App. C-66a. Relying on different

grounds, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals upheld the District Court’s decision on

September 2, 2009. Pet. App. B-3a. A request for a rehearing was denied on

January 28, 2010. Pet. App. A-la. Petitioner filed a Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to this Court and it is to this Petition that Respondent timely opposes.
I PI

INTRODUCTION

Question Presented No. 1: Does a state court act “contrary to...clearly

established Federal law” under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1) when it cites the

appropriate standard of review for a specific issue in its opinion but later
uses imprecise shorthand terms in referring to that standard?

Petitioner's first question presented does not offer a compelling reason for
this Court to grant certiorari. As stated in the Court’s rules, certiorari may be
granted when a court of appeals issues a decision in conflict with the decision of
another United States court of appeals on the same important matter or when a
court of appeals has decided an important federal question in a way that conflicts
with relevant decisions of this Court. Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
States, No. 10. While Petitioner attempts to frame the question as fitting in this
narrow class of cases, the facts and the Sixth Circuit’s ruling demonstrate that it is
not that type of case. The Sixth Circuit did not find that an imprecise shorthand is
unacceptable even though the proper standard was applied. Instead, the Sixth
C’ cuit determined that the state courts actually applied the incorrect standard. No
court of appeals, and certainly not this Court, has ever held that the standard for
ineffective assistance of counsel is anything but that which is articulated in
Strickland. The state courts did not apply that standard and no further review of

the Sixth Circuit's decision is warranted.

Question Presented No. 2: Did the Sixth Circuit err in granting the
habeas writ on Respondent's ineffective assistance of counsel claim
notwithstanding the state courts’ contrary determination?

Here, Petitioner falls even farther from the type of question this Court seeks
to review. Petitioner’s complaint is simply that the Sixth Circuit’s decision was
incorrect because it is contrary to the decision of the state courts. The position
advanced by Petitioner would make a federal court subservient to an incorrect
determination of federal law by a state court. After the proper deference afforded to
the state courts by the AEDPA, the Sixth Circuit determined that Respondent

received ineffective assistance of counsel and that he was entitled to a new trial.

This decision was made by correctly applying both Supreme Court and Sixth Circuit

precedence and no further review is warranted.

Sigs es A Gtig ll 54 Sete STIS

Hint as Gest ayaa yp are RNY AOA Ee Ses By:

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The facts are taken from the District Court’s Opinion. Pet. App C-74a-101a.
This is done for two reasons. First, contrary to Petitioner's suggestion, the District
Court did rely on facts contained in the state court proceedings and cited to those
proceedings frequently. Secondarily, the Distnct Court's review and synthesis of
facts from all state court proceedings provides a comprehensive overview of the

facts. Additionally, Respondent asserts that the District Court was correct in its

finding that: “[a] comprehensive review of the 800-plus pages of transcript in the

record, in addition to the rest of the documents contained in the record, provides
clear and convincing evidence that the facts as found in the Direct Appeal Opinion
and Postconviction Hearing Findings . . . are inaccurate in numerous places.” Pet.
App C-74a. The District Court acknowledged the deference due under the AEDPA
but determined that the “clear and convincing” evidence relieved him of that
obligation. Id. The District Court’s thorough discussion of the testimony, complete
with citations to the record, was accurate and permissible based on the factual

errors of the state courts.

A. The Alleged Attack

On July 23, 2000, A.L. and her father, S.L., a police officer with the City of
Cleveland Police Department, went to their friends’, Don and Becky Shaffer, home
after the day together to get something to eat. However, when they arrived, it was

late and Shaffer and Becky had retired for the night. Pet. App C-74a. Vasquez, his

wife Karra, and their two daughters lived in the Shaffer's basement as of that day.
Pet. App C-75a. After eating, A.L. went down the 10-12 stairs to the basement. Id.
Karra Vasquez and S.L. sat just outside by the screen door at the top of the stairs
that lead into the basement. Id. A.L. remained in the basement with Respondent
Vasquez and his daughters for about five minutes. Id. After A.L. and her dad had
been at the Shaffer's house for a short time, S.L. called to his daughter from the top

of the stairs to go home. Id.

B. Reporting the Attack

On August 4, 2000 A.L. and S.L. were again at the Shaffer’s condo. Id. While
there, A.L. told Don Shaffer that Vasquez had sexually assaulted her by “licking her
private spot.” Id. at 76a. Don Shaffer, S.L.’s best friend, told S.L. who then called
his partner, Officer Tim Zbikowski. Id. The two talked about the allegations with
A.L. Id. They called 911 and police and emergency personnel arrived. Id. A.L., S.L.,
Becky Shaffer and her infant son Aaron were taken to the hospital. No DNA

evidence was found during the examination or during the subsequent investigation.

C. The Prosecution and Trial

1. Pre-Trial

Respondent Vasquez remained in custody from the time he was arrested. Id.

at 77a. After his first appointed attorney withdrew due to a conflict, Vasquez’s final]

trial counsel was appointed. He appeared at the first scheduled pretrial, on

September 21, 2000, at which time he requested a continuance. Id. The court

PA OE Sit0 LE REE SRN PRT FB Le

continued the matter until October 12, 2000, for another pretrial. An additional
pretrial was held on October 19, 2000. Trial counsel met with Respondent Vasquez
on the last two pretrials for approximately 30 minutes total and again on the night

before trial!. The case was tried on October 30, 2000. Id

2. Trial

The case relied entirely on A.L.’s testimony about the attack and her father’s
testimony about her behavior. Other witnesses, including Don Shaffer, testified

about what A.L. told them or what they learned while investigating the case. There

was no D.N.A. or other physical evidence presented. Id. at 77-78a.

Trial counsel's cross-examination of A.L. “was limited in scope and duration,
and arguably even more damaging than helpful to Vasquez's defense; at one point
[he] asked [A.L.] if she kept a diary, to which [she] replied that she did. [A.L.] had
not mentioned the diary in her direct examination, and the prosecutor had not
offered it as an exhibit. [He] then asked whether [A.L.] had written about the
alleged incident in her diary, to which [A.L.] again answered in the affirmative. He
pressed on to ask whether [A.L.] had brought the diary to court that day, and A.L.

answered no. [He] then concluded his questioning about [A.L.’s] diary by asking if

she still had it, to which [A.L.] answered yes. [He] asked no other questions about

' Trial counsel admitted that he took no notes of any of his meetings nor did he have two 10

page letters Respondent wrote to him. Pet. App. C-82a. He attempted to justify his failure to take
notes or preserve copies of the letters by claiming that he had a good memory. (“So it is your practice
that you don't take notes of your interviews with the client? No. I don't have to. Right. Because you
have a pretty good memory? Right... I don’t take notes. I just listen.”) Post-Conviction Hearing Tr.,
pp.93-94, 103. This was disingenuous as his testimony, and loss of memory, in the Post-Conviction
Hearing clearly demonstrates. Post-Conviction Hearing Tr., pp. 55, 90°91, 126, 128-130, 135-136,
348, 353; Original Trial Docket.

the diary, nor did he ever demand to see the diary after learning of its existence.”

Id. at 78a

Trial counsel] did not call a single witness. The case against Respondent was
the then “ten-year-old victim, no physical evidence, a substantial delay in reporting
the alleged incident, combined with the improbable circumstances of Vasquez
assaulting [A.L.] while other adults (including a Cleveland Police Department
officer and Vasquez's wife) were upstairs in a tiny home and two other young
children were in the same room.” Id. at 79a. Respondent was convicted and

sentenced to life in prison
D. Post-Conviction Hearing
On May 14-17, 2002, a post-conviction hearing was held

1. Post-Conviction Hearing Testimony

[Trial counsel] testified that he was “pretty sure” he talked with Vasquez in a

holding cell following a pretrial on September 14, 2000, though there was no
pretrial that day according to the docket. He had no notes to verify this. He
claimed he met with Respondent three times after two pretrials and on the night
before trial. According to him, the first two meetings were a total of 30 minutes
long. He also testified that his pretrial preparations included legal research on
child rape cases, filing standard discovery requests, and having an informal meeting

with the initial prosecutor. He also testified that he asked Respondent to sign a

speedy trial waiver twice. Respondent declined to sign it and [trial counsel]

testified he was prepared to go to trial. Id. at 79-80a

He also claimed that there were no helpful witnesses. He spoke to Joanne
Kitchen*, Respondent’s mother-in-law, at Respondent's behest. Respondent gave

him her name and phone number. Respondent told him that she could help him

contact his wife. [Tria! counsel] claimed that Kitchen told him no one would help

There were no notes to corroborate this conversation. Id. at 8la. After that, he
made no attempt to talk with Respondent’s wife Karra Vasquez. He also claimed

that he assumed that Becky Shaffer would not be a helpful witness. Id. at 82a
2. Karra Vasquez's Post-Conviction Hearing Testimony

Karra Vasquez emphatically detailed numerous attempts to contact her
husband’s first counsel as well as trial counsel. Those calls were never returned
She testified that she did not attend the trial or sentencing because she felt
threatened by the social worker because she had been threatened with the removal

of her children if she helped him. Id. at 83a

Karra testified that she observed A.L. wearing a bathing suit on the night of

the alleged attack. This contradicts A.L.'s testimony that Vasquez “pulled down my

2 The record is unclear exactly how and when trial counsel received Kitchen's name and phone
number. Vasquez did not explicitly state in his post-conviction hearing testimony how or when he
conveyed the information, although he testified that he gave his lawyer two ten-page handwritten
letters containing information for trial counsel to investigate further. Trial counsel similarly
testified that Respondent provided him with the information, but it is unclear whether the
information was conveyed via the letters or orally. To further complicate matters, trial counsel
testified that he received the information “when | think I went up in the jail,” (Id. at 81a, n. 18) but
the uncontested facts are that he only visited Vasquez at “the jail” on the night before trial, October
29, 2000

10

pants and underwear’ and that she “pulled my underwear and pants back up.” S.L
testified at trial that A.L. told him that Vasquez “took her pants -- her shorts and
her panties off’ and that A.L. “pulled her clothes on.” Second, Karra testified that
A.L. went to the basement two times. The first time was for just a few minutes and
during the second time, Karra could hear them changing her daughter's diaper and
getting the kids ready for bed. Then, A.L. left when her father called her. Id. at 83

85a

Karra testified that her husband was in the basement with her children

when A.L. and her father arrived and the Shaffers were in bed A.L. had

alternately testified that “just Don [Shaffer]” was awake when she and her father

arrived at the condo, that she saw Respondent when she arrived because he was on
the couch watching T.V. with his wife and that he asked her to go down to the

basement with him. Id. at 86°87a

Karra Vasquez also testified that she heard S.L. coaching A.L. and asking
her specific questions while she was recounting the alleged attack, such as when
and how the incident happened, and how long did it take. A.L. initially responded
that the incident took two hours. §.L. replied that was too long and “you have to get
this mght. You have to make sure that you know exactly what you are going to say
and repeat this to every person that asks you. You can't change your mind.” Karra
also heard A.L. asking “does this mean I get to be on TV? If I tell them this do | get

to be on TV” and laughing and giggling. Id. at 88a

1]

3. Becky Shaffer's Post-Conviction Hearing Testimony

Recky Shaffer testified that she received a subpoena from the prosecution to
testify at trial, that she was in the courthouse all three days of the trial, and that
the prosecutor told her to leave the courthouse because they did not want

Respondent's counsel to see her. Id. at 89a

She testified that during the nde to the hospital, A.L. appeared excited by the
attention she was receiving and asked if she was going to be on T'V.” Becky Shaffer
also testified that on the night of July 23, 2000, she and her husband were in bed
when A.L. and her father arrived. Becky Shaffer also testified that she took her son
to the hospital with A.L. and her father because A.L.’s father and his partner told
her to, not because she was concerned about Respondent. Finally, she verified that
the social worker threatened to take Karra’s children if she continued to try to help

her husband. Id. at 89°92a

4. Joanne Kitchen's Post-Conviction Hearing Testimony

Joanne Kitchen testified that she only told trial counsel that she could not

help because she was not there. She denied saying that no one would help

Respondent. But Ms. Kitchen was present when Karra was threatened by the
social worker and Ms. Kitchen testified about her personal observations of A.L.'s

attention seeking behavior. Id. at 92-95a

12

5. Tammy Salopek and her daughter’s Post-Conviction Hearing Testimony

Tammy Salopek also testified at the post-conviction hearing. Salopek was
friends with the Shaifers and A.L. and her father. Salopek testified that A.L. and
her sister would spend the night frequently. She did not know Respondent at all
Importantly, Salopek testified that her children were sexually molested and her
daughter testified that she told A.L. about the details of the incident. Both Ms
Salopek and her daughter testified that A.L. is constantly seeking attention, is a
“drama queen,” and would overexaggerate. They both also testified that A.L. lied
Salopek stated: I wouldn't take anything that A.L. would come and tell me on A.L.'s

word. Id. at 95-99a

Salopek also testified about A.L.'s behavior in the days following her report of
the alleged sexual abuse. Although she testified that A.L. stayed with her for four
days after reporting, Salopek stated that A.L. had no trouble sleeping or eating and
acted completely normally. This contradicts A.L.’s father’s testimony at tral that
his daughter was emotional and upset after telling him what happened. Id. at 97-

98a

6. Vasquez's Post-Conviction Hearing Testimony

Respondent testified that he only met with his trial counsel on three
occasions for a total of 45 minutes. His testimony about the incident was that he
F

was in the basement when A.L. arrived, that she came downstairs for 5 minutes

and then left. Id. at 100-10la

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Sixth Circuit Decision Properly Applied Both AEDPA Standards and this

Court’s Precedents in Determining That the State Courts’ Rulings Were
Contrary to Federal Law.

Petitioner argues that the Sixth Circuit failed to apply the proper
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”) deference to the
state court opinions. Alleging the Sixth Circuit ignored this Court’s holding in
Woodford v. Visciotti, 537 U.S. 19 (2002) and Holland v. Jackson, 542 U.S. 649
(2004), Petitioner asks whether referencing the Strickland standard for ineffective
assistance of counsel using “imprecise shorthand” results in a decision that is
“contrary to” federal law. This demonstrates a clear misstatement and
misunderstanding of the legal underpinnings of the Sixth Circuit’s opinion in the
instant case. It was not the misstatement of the legal standard that led to de novo
review. It was the clear application of the incorrect standard that guided the Sixth
Circuit's conclusion that the state court opinions were contrary to federal law.

The Sixth Circuit’s opinion, written by Circuit Judge Boggs, held that the
state courts increased the burden of persuasion necessary to sustain an ineffective
assistance of counsel claim pursuant to Strickland. Pet. App B-4a. The Court
correctly noted that Strickland requires a petitioner to demonstrate that there is a

“reasonable probability” of a different outcome but for the inadequacy of his counsel.

Id. at 10 (citing Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694). The majority noted, however, that the

Ohio trial court and the Ohio appellate court elevated this already difficult burden

14

by applying the standard of whether the trial outcome “would have been different”
but for the mistakes of counsel. Id. at 15a

Deference is not required when the state court decision is “contrary to”
federal law

The maxim that federal courts should ‘give great weight to the
considered conclusions of a coequal state judiciary’ . . . does not mean
that we have held in the past that federal courts must presume the
correctness of a state court’s legal conclusions on habeas, or that a
state court’s incorrect legal determination has ever been allowed to
stand because it was reasonable. We have always held that federal
courts, even on habeas, have an independent obligation to say what the
law 1s

Wright _v. West, 505 U.S. 277, 305 (1992) (opinion concurring in
judgment). See also, Panetti v. Quarterman, 551 U.S. 930, 954 (2007)
(When a state court’s adjudication of a claim is “dependent on an
antecedent unreasonable application of federal law, the requirement
set forth in § 2254(d)(1) is satisfied. A federal court must then resolve
the claim without the deference AEDPA otherwise requires.); Early v.
Packer, 537 U.S. 3, 8 (2002) (indicating that § 2254 does not preclude
relief if either “the reasoning [or] the result of the state-court decision
contradicts [our cases}”).

The Sixth Circuit did not simply find a fleeting shorthand reference to an

incorrect standard. Instead, the Sixth Circuit explicitly noted that “[t]his was not a

slip of the pen during a rote repetition of a rule corrected upon application of law to
fact.” Pet. App B-15a. The Court found that, although the trial court correctly cited
Strickland, when discussing its second prong, the trial court (and subsequently the
appellate court) “stated that prejudice occurs only when ‘[the result of petitioner's
trial or legal proceeding would have been different had defense counsel provided
proper representation.” Id. (emphasis in original). The Sixth Circuit went on to

note that the trial court repeated itself, “explaining that ‘[i]n order to demonstrate a

15

claim of trial! counsel's ineffectiveness according to the United States Supreme
Court, a postconviction petitioner is required to demonstrate that (1) the
performance of defense counsel was seriously flawed . . . and (2) the result of
petitioncr’s trial or legal proceeding would have been different had defense counsel
provided proper representation.” Id. at 15a (emphasis added). The state court
again and agvin relied on its incorrect version of the second prong of the
ineffectiveness standard: “perhaps most importantly, not one of the witnesses who
testified [at the post conviction hearing] . . . offered any testimony that could have
changed the outcome of defendant's trial”... “even if the Court found that Butler's
question demonstrated a deficiency . . . defendant has shown no resulting prejudice.
As demonstrated above, neither the testimony of Mrs. Vasquez or Becky Shaffer
would not [sic] have changed the outcome of the trial.” Id. It was upon the state
court's application, not a simple misstatement, of the incorrect standard that the
Sixth Circuit determined that the state court decision was contrary to well
established Supreme Court precedence.

Circuit Judge Boggs painstakingly explains that it is the changing of, not
merely the shorthand reference to, the standard that is the basis of the Court’s
opinion that both state courts applied the wrong standard:

In analyzing Vasquez's claim as to the failure to interview and call

potential defense witnesses, the court relied directly on its version of

the ineffectiveness standard as crucial to its decision against relief:

"perhaps most importantly, not one of the witnesses who testified [at

the post conviction hearing] . . . offered any testimony that could have

changed the outcome of defendant's trial." The court repeated, in the

context of a different claim of ineffectiveness, that "even if the Court
found that Butler's question demonstrated a deficiency . . . defendant

16

has shown no resulting prejudice. As demonstrated above, neither the
testimony of Mrs. Vasquez or Becky Shaffer would not [sid have
changed the outcome of the trial."

The Ohio Court of Appeals, reviewing for abuse of discretion, repeated
the error. It framed its rejection of Vasquez's appeal in terms of a
changed-outcome: "defendant presented numerous witnesses who did

not testify at his trial. Their absence . . . does not demonstrate his
counsel was ineffective and that the outcome of his trial would have
been different had they been witnesses . . . ." (emphasis added). In

analyzing the argument, the appeals court expressly adopted the trial

court's reasoning: "[wle agree with the trial court's conclusion that ‘not

one of the witnesses who testified . . . offered any testimony that could

have changed the outcome of defendant's trial."

This is not a casual error.

Pet. App B-15-17a.

It is only through the twisting of the opinion below that Petitioner can claim
that the question before this Court is whether a federal court should uphold a state
court decision when it initially cites the correct standard and later uses “shorthand
in referring to it, even if the shorthand is imprecise.” Petition at 11. This statement
completely trivializes and virtually ignores the foundation of the Sixth Circuit’s
opinion. In fact, the Sixth Circuit specifically noted that when a situation exists as
Petitioner claims is here, this Court has found the state court decision not contrary
to clearly established federal law. Pet. App B-18a. The Sixth Circuit’s opinion
expressly cited Holland v. Jackson, 542 U.S. 649, 654-55 (2004) for its holding that
the “use of the unadorned word ‘probably’ is permissible shorthand when the
complete Strickland standard is elsewhere recited.” It also cited Woodford v.

Visciotti, 537 U.S. 19, 23 (2002) for the proposition that an innocuous shorthand is

permissibility when describing the Strickland standard. Pet. App B-18-19a.

ee eee

ep ete ee ae See es tees ne a ese Oe

RES

17

Petitioner primarily rests its request for certiorari on the assertion that this
case is remarkably similar to Jackson and Visciotti. While Petitioner correctly
states that the cases stand for the proposition that using an ephemeral shorthand
reference to Strickland is permissible, that holding is inapplicable here and those
cases are unmistakably distinguishable from the instant one. The Sixth Circuit's

opinion plainly distinguished itself from the “shorthand” cases of Jackson and

isciotti and properly placed itself under the controlling Supreme Court precedent

of Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2001), to find that both the Ohio trial court and

the Ohio appellate court applied a standard contrary to clearly established federal
law. Pet. App B-19a.

In Jackson, this Court reversed the Sixth Circuit’s holding that the state

court applied the wrong burden of proof under Strickland. Jackson, 542 U.S. at 655.
These three statements the Sixth Circuit found objectionable were: (1) in a post-
conviction proceeding, the defendant has the burden of proving his allegations by a
preponderance of the evidence; (2) it is asking too much that we draw the inference
that the jury would not have believed Hughes at all had Melissa Gooch testified;
and (3) Petitioner failed to carry his burden of proving that the outcome of the trial
would probably have been different but for those errors. Id. at 654-655. The first
statement was “reasonably read as addressing the general burden of proof in
postconviction proceedings with regard to factual contentions...” Id. at 654. The

second statement was not seen as implying “any particular standard of probability.”

18

Id. Finally, use of the “unadorned word ‘probably’ is permissible shorthand when

the complete Strickland standard is elsewhere recited.” Id. at 655.

the state court first articulated the correct Strickland standard, but proceeded to
leave out the “reasonable” modifier in subsequent references to the standard. In
Visciotti, the Ninth District Court of Appeals held that the state court used a higher
standard of proof because the state court opinion used the term “probable” without
the modifier “reasonably” in four places. Visciotti, 537 U.S. at 23. As noted above,
the use of the “unadorned word” probably is permissible shorthand. Id. at 24. In
Visciotti, the Court discusses the Strickland test’s terms and the use of shorthand
[The state court’s) occasional shorthand reference to that standard by
use of the term “probable” without the modifier may perhaps be
imprecise, but if so it can no more be considered a repudiation of the
standard than can this Court's own occasional indulgence in the same
imprecision.
537 U.S. at 23-24 (emphasis added).
Yet, in the case at bar, the state courts did not just exclude a simple modifier.
The state courts used no modifier whatsoever. The vital term of “probability” was

stricken from its Strickland analysis, making it clear that an impermissibly higher

standard was applied. The standard was clearly changed to an absolute. It is

apparent that this Court finds the term “probable” (or some analogous variant

thereof) to be absolutely essential to the Strickland standard. The lack of the
“reasonable” modifier is considered “imprecise” but acceptable because it does not

connote 1 different standard. However, the language in the Ohio state courts in

19

Respondent’s post-conviction adjudication indicates that a different standard was
applied.

The removal of the term “probability” from the Stricklan

test, leaving
“would have been different,” changes the test’s burden of proof entirely. Under the
Strickland standard, “reasonable probability” is a burden less than “more likely
than not.” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 693. In other words, the Supreme Court made it
clear that conduct that has fifty percent or less chance of affecting the outcome of a
trial may still satisfy the “reasonable probability” burden of Strickland. In stark
contrast, herein, the state trial and appellate courts’ application of the “would have

been different” standard applies a burden of positive certainty - “that competent

counsel actually would have resulted in [Petitioner’s! acquittal;” a much higher

burden than, and entirely contrary to, the standard set forth in Strickland. Pet. App
B-17a.

Further, Petitioner analogizes to the present case this Court’s conclusion that
the shorthand was occasional in Jackson. Here, it was not occasional. In fact, this
case represents nearly the opposite of Jackson and Visciotti. The only thing
occasional or fleeting in Respondent’s state court adjudication was the correct
standard. As noted by the Sixth Circuit, there was only one correct cite and many
erroneous ones. The erroneous references to the Strickland standard here were
used when the courts were applying the analysis, not when introducing or setting

the stage for the analysis.

20

Petitioner also discusses several circuit court cases in what seems to be an
attempt to create a split in the circuits, although it also cites one in the Sixth
Circuit. According to Petitioner, these cases show “little difficulty following
Visciotti and Jackson.” Petition at 14-15. Petitioner is correct that Visciotti and
Jackson govern the cases it discusses. Respondent's case, however, is not such a
case. ‘This case involves an application of an incorrect standard and its holding is
guided by this Court’s decision in Williams, 529 U.S. 362. There, as here, the
standard was not merely referenced improperly. It was applied that way.

The Sixth Circuit meticulously explained that the standard invoked in the
state court was not merely a shortened, if imprecise, reference. It was not departing
from any precedents, as suggested by Petitioner. Petition at 15. “This is not a
casual error. A ‘reasonable probability’ of difference does not mean ‘would have been
different. The latter formulation puts a greater burden on the petitioner. To

prevail on his claim as it was adjudicated, Vasquez was required not only to show

that his counsel's deficiency ‘undermineld] confidence in the outcome,’ but to prove

that a trial with competent counsel actually would have resulted in his acquittal.”
Pet. App B-17a.

In fact, as noted by the Sixth Circuit, this Court used an example strikingly
similar to the instant case when interpreting what Congress meant by “contrary to”
in § 2254(d). Id. at 111.

If a state court were to reject a prisoner's claim of ineffective assistance
of counsel on the grounds that the pnsoner had not established by a

preponderance of the evidence that the result of his criminal proceeding
would have been different, that decision would be “diametrically

21

different,” “opposite in character or nature,” and “mutually opposed” to
our clearly established precedent because we held in Strickland that the
prisoner need only demonstrate a “reasonable probability that . . . the
result of the proceeding would have been different.”

Williams, 529 U.S. at 405-06 (2001) (citing Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694)
That is why this case is far more similar to Williams than Visciotti or

Jackson. In Williams, this Court reversed the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

because it applied the wrong standard. “[The Court of Appeals] construed

}2254(d)(1) as prohibiting the grant of habeas corpus relief unless the state court
4 I

‘decided the question by interpreting or applying the relevant precedent in a
manner that reasonable jurists would all agree is unreasonable.” Williams, 529
U.S. at 374. As in Williams, the state courts here changed the analysis; they
changed the standard

Only once does Petitioner attempt to scrutinize what the state courts did. “In
assessing the prejudice, the court observed that ‘none of the defendant’s witnesses
offered any testimony to support defendant’s theory of innocence,’ and ‘[nlone of
their testimony challenges the victim’s account of the events leading to defendant's
convictions.” Petition at 16. This statement, according to Petitioner, demonstrates
that the state court used the correct standard. In point of fact, the only thing these
statements demonstrate are a complete disregard for the realities of this and most
child abuse cases. As correctly noted by the Sixth Circuit, there would be no direct
witnesses to the alleged crime beyond the perpetrator and the victim. Pet. App B-

25a. Therefore, there would be no witness to testify to innocence or to contradict

oe. phoebe

“Maths

22
the alleged victim’s account of the events. “The circumstances ordinarily
surrounding an accusation of child sexual abuse underscore this concern for
developing impeachment evidence.” Id.

Contrary to the suggestion of Petitioner, the Sixth Circuit approached
§2254(d) precisely as directed by this Court in Williams. The Court of Appeals first
asked if the state court decision “resulted in a decision that was contrary to, or
involved an unreasonable application of, clearly established Federal law, as
determined by the Supreme Court of the United States.” 28 USC § 2254(d).
Consistent with Williams, it found that the state court decision was contrary to
clearly established Supreme Court precedent, Strickland. “[T]herefore the Court of
Appeals was “unconstrained by § 2254(d)(1) . . . and de novo review [was]
appropriate.” Pet. App B-19a.

Petitioner concludes its arguments regarding this Question Presented by
claiming that the Sixth Circuit only held that the state courts’ opinions were
“contrary to” federal law on the second prong of Strickland. Petition at 16°17
Again, Petitioner mischaracterizes the Sixth Circuit’s opinion. The Sixth Circuit
did determine that de novo review was proper because of the failure to adhere to
Strickland in the second prong of its test for ineffective assistance of counsel
However, when looking at trial counsel's performance, the Sixth Circuit clearly
determined that it fell below any constitutionally permissive standard. The Sixth

Circuit did so with considerable deference to the state courts’ findings. In fact, the

Sixth Circuit refused to consider both Petitioner's ex-wife’s and ex-mother-in-law’s

testimony because the findings by the state court relative to Mrs. Vasquez and Mrs
Kitchen were entitled to deference under the AEDPA. .The Sixth Circuit employed
the proper AEDPA deference and found trial counsel's performance impermissibly
deficient. Pet. App B-32a

If this Court were to accept Petitioner’s contention, it would follow that as
long as there is a recitation to a correct standard, it does not matter what the state
court actually does or how it applies the standard. This will easily and quickly
transfer from an ineffective assistance of counsel analysis to other areas of the law
It would not be an unreasonable stretch to say that as long as a state court correctly
stated that the prosecution had the burden of proving guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt, federal courts could not interfere if the state court then went on to actually
apply a preponderance of the evidence standard in assessing the sufficiency or
weight of the evidence. Such a result would leave the federal court in the secondary
role of merely looking for the recitation of certain words and leaving any analysis of
federal law to the state courts

This flawed interpretation of federal law appears to be exactly what

Petitioner is urging. “(H]aving shown that it was aware of the correct law, the court

did not need continually to incant magic words to receive deference.” Petition at 16
Petitioner's proposal that a state court opinion is entitled to deference regardless of
the analysis as long as it initially correctly recites the legal principle on a single
occasion 1s Clearly contrary to federal law. As this Court noted in Williams,

Congress did not intend that “federal courts actually defer to a state-court

24

application of the federal law that is, in the independent judgment of the federal
court, in error.” Williams, 529 U.S at 387

B The Sixth Circuit Decision Properly Applied Both AEDPA Standards and this

Court's Precedents in Determining That Respondent Received Ineffective

Petitioner next asserts that the Sixth Circuit’s conclusion that Respondent
received ineffective assistance of counsel was mistaken based on the specific facts of
this case. Petition at 18. However, this Question Presented does not comport with
this Court’s rules guiding what types of cases are traditionally subjection to
acceptance. Rule 10 of the Rules of this Court establishes that certiorari
jurisdiction is designed to serve broad purposes. It is not for correcting the error in
particular cases. Rule 10 explains

Review on a writ of certiorari is not a matter of right, but of judicial
discretion. A petition for a writ of certiorari will be granted only for
compelling reasons. The following, although neither controlling nor
fully measuring the Court’s discretion, indicate the character of the
reasons the Court considers

(a) a United States court of appeals has entered a decision in conflict
with the decision of another United States court of appeals on the
same important matter; has decided an important federal question in
a way that conflicts with a decision by a state court of last resort; or
has so far departed from the accepted and usual course of judicial
proceedings, or sanctioned such a departure by a lower court, as to
call for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory power:

(b) a state court of last resort has decided an important federal
question in a way that conflicts with the decision of another state
court of last resort or of a United States court of appeals;

(c) a state court or a United States court of appeals has decided an
important question of federal law that has not been, but should be
settled by this Court, or has decided an important federal question in
a way that conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court

A petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted
error consists of erroneous factual! findings or the misapplication of a
properly stated rule of law

Petitioner's second Question Presented seems to fall into just the type of category
that this Court seeks to avoid when granting certiorar!

Again protesting the refusal to give AEDPA deference (the “decision to grant
Vasquez habeas relief hinged entirely on its ability to wriggle free of the constraints
of the AEDPA” (Petition at 18)), Petitioner asserts that Respondent Vasquez’s trial
counsel met the constitutional requirements of effective assistance of counsel
However, as correctly determined by both the District Court? and the Court of
Appeals, trial counsel fell far below the constitutionally sufficient bar and provided
ineffective assistance of counsel as he did no preparation or investigation before
Respondent’s trial on charges that could, and did, result in a life sentence

First, as noted by the Sixth Circuit, it is essential that this inquiry is
undertaken with an understanding of the type of case at issue here. Respondent
was accused of the sexual abuse of a minor. It is undisputed that there are no
witnesses to the alleged abuse. Pet. App B-25a. This is frequently the fact in these
type of cases. Outside of the defendant testifying, there can be no direct evidence of
innocence, only circumstantial. Here, as in other cases involving sexual abuse of a
minor, the evivence that trial counsel failed to uncover and present at trial relates
to impeachment of the complaining witness and those offering circumstantial
evidence oi Respondent's guilt. That the missing evidence alleged is impeachment
evidence and not direct evidence of innocence does not affect the principles of

Strickland or the basic components of effective assistance of counsel. As observed

The Sixth Circuit disagreed with the District Court's rationale for engaging in de nov:
review

26

by the Sixth Circuit, “this is because we are assessing the reasonableness of the
representation and the defenses available to the attorney change what is
reasonable: where there are no direct witnesses to the alleged crime beyond the
perpetrator and the victim, impeachment evidence 1s at a premium.” Pet. App B
25a

In some respects, Petitioner continues to argue the first question presented
because jt claims that the state court determination of facts should be given more
deference. However, if this Court finds that the Court of Appeals correctly
determined that the state court acted contrary to Federal law, the District Court
and the Court of Appeals were free to review the facts de novo. The Federal Courts’
determination that Respondent received ineffective assistance of counsel is more
than supported by the evidence

Morcover, the Sixth Circuit specifically rejected the District Court's
wholesale review of the factual determinations of the state courts. As correctly
stated by the Sixth Circuit, the “AE DPA also supplies our standard for reviewing a
factual record. The statute provides that ‘a determination of a factual issue made by

a State court shall be presumed to be correct” 28 USC. § 2254(e)(1). Only if

‘ ! ;
Vasquez ‘rebutls) the presumption of correctness by clear and convincing evidence

may we disregard those determinations. The district court held that this burden
was carried.” Pet. App B-19a. The District Court stated: “Nevertheless, the Court

finds that Vasquez has met his burden. Sadly, in this case his appointed counsei aid

27
almost nothing before or during trial, in a situation where the prosecution's case
was weak and Vasquez faced life imprisonment.” Pet. App C-106a.

The Court of Appeals rejected the District Court’s thorough and detailed de
novo review of the facts as incorrectly determining that it was able to avoid the
AEDPA deference to findings of fact. Pet. App B-21a. The Sixth Circuit specifically
rejected the District Court's refusal to defer to the state court’s findings that Joanne
Kitchen and Mrs. Vasquez would have been helpful witnesses and that trial
counsel's failure to contact Mrs. Vasquez was inexcusable. Id. at B-23a. Instead,
the two part test of Strickland was undertaken with just the trial counsel's failure
to contact other witnesses and failure to recognize and use the EMS run sheet as
the vital evidence that it is.4 Id

Petitioner correctly notes that it is the testimony of three potential witnesses
and the EMS run sheet that ultimately establish that the Strickland standard was
met. However, the inquiry of the Strickland test is broader thar that

A counsel's performance is a deprivation of a defendant's Sixth

Amendment right to counsel where a defendant shows his counsel's

assistance was both deficient and that the deficiency prejudiced the
defendant. A performance is deficient only if it ‘fell below an objective

standard of reasonableness’ in light of the ‘prevailing professional

norms.’ And a deficient performance is prejudicial if ‘there is a
reasonable probability that, but for counsel’s unprofessional errors, the
result of the proceeding would have been different. A reasonable

4 “l'o reiterate, on the facts as we must take them, based on the implications of the state
court's decision and the operation of AEDPA deference, Vasquez cannot base his ineffective
assistance of counse! argument on the failure to investigate Karra Vasquez or Joanne Kitchen. They
refused to cooperate and any amount of investigation by Butler would not have made a difference
But Vasquez may base his claim on the failure to investigate and put in the record the EMS run
sheet and Becky Shaffer's account of A.L.'s credibility. By extension, Vasquez may also rely on the
testimony of Salopek and Snyder, who (by admission of the trial] court) likely would have been found
through an interview with Shaffer, in making his claim.” Pet. App B-23a

28

probability is a probability sufficient to undermine confidence in the
outcome.
Strickland, 466 U.S. at 687-88, 694 (internal cites omitted.)

Approaching the first prong of the test, the appropriate question is whether
trial counsel's assistance “fell below an objective standard of reasonableness.”
Strickland, 466 U.S. at 688. Instead of ignoring the “healthy amount of deference to
counsel's tactical and litigation decisions,” as suggested by Petitioner, the Sixth
Circuit detailed the deference to be given. “... counsel's tactical and litigation
decisions...are ‘virtually unchallengeable’ in the ordinary case.” Pet. App B-24a
(quoting Strickland, 466 at 690). The most important aspect of this inquiry, that
Petitioner has over looked, is precisely the one at issue here. As maintained by the
Sixth Circuit

But this deference to strategic choices has always been tempered by a

requirement that the choices themselves be informed: ‘strategic choices

made after less than complete investigation are reasonable precisely to

the extent that reasonable professional judgments support the

limitations on investigation.’ Accordingly, ‘a particular decision not to

investigate must be directly assessed for reasonableness.’ Our circuit

has expressed this principle with more color: ‘the investigation leading

to the choice of a sovcalled trial strategy must itself have been

reasonably conducted lest the ‘strategic’ choice erected upon it rest on a
rotten foundation.’

Berghuis, 490 F.3d 482, 488 (6% Cir. 2007)

It was this area of inquiry that reasonably led the Sixth Circuit to conclude that
trial counsel was constitutionally ineffective.

Focusing on trial counsel's duty to investigate and prepare for the case, the
Sixth Circuit pointed out that there is not a definitive statement of what a

"reasonable investigation” entails. Pet. App B-24-25a. “But well established

29

principles suggest that the claim that his attorney failed to identify key evidence
and failed to locate and interview Critical witnesses is within the known contours of
the duty.” Id. at 24a. Again, the fact that the key pieces of evidence and critical
witnesses® would not go to the heart of the innocence question but instead to
challenge the victim's credibility does not change the present analysis considering
the type of case for which Respondent has been convicted.

The question becomes: were trial counsel's efforts at investigating and
preparing for Respondent's trial reasonable? The Sixth Circuit and the District
Court unequivocally answer the question in the negative:

Indeed, viewing the situation (as we must) "from counsel's perspective
at the time,” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 689, four facts were clear and
should have pointed him toward the investigation necessary to put on
a stronger @‘ense. Firet, A.L.'s story was never crystal clear,
suggesting that perhaps a well-informed cross-examination and a
contradicting defense witness could have raised a reasonable doubt as
to its veracity. Second, all of the people involved in the crime and its
revelation were extremely interrelated, suggesting that there is a
convoluted back-story that could have provided context for the jurors to
understand the accusation and resolve testimonial inconsistencies
Third, Becky Shaffer was the sister-in-law of Vasquez, at the place of
the attack on the night it occurred, and with A.L. immediately her
accusation, all suggesting that she may have had information useful to

Petitioner and the state courts lay the blame for the failure to contact witnesses squarely at
Respondent's feet. However, the Sixth Circuit appropriately found that the cases do not support “the
proposition that a defendant gets only the defense that he is capable of providing personally. (They
hold only that it is not unreasonable for an attorney to limit investigation once her client has
frustrated her otherwise reasonable efforts. See, e.g., Lorraine v. Coyle, 291 F.3d 416, 435 (6th Cir.
2002)) The Sixth Amendment guarantees minimally effective representation because the
adversarial! testing of the state's case, a corneratone of our criminal justice system, is very difficult
without counsel. See Kimmelman v. Morrison, 477 U.S. 365, 384, (1986) (‘In making the competency
determination, the court should keep in mind that counsel's function . . . is to make the adversarial
testing process work .. . .) (internal quotation marks omitted). An attorney (especially a.
experienced one like [trial cousel] has skills and knowledge beyond the ken of an average crimin¢]
defendant. He should be expected to take a sober account of the case he is presented with and
proceed to put together the best challenge to the prosecution's proof. This is true even if he must use
information gleaned from discovery and investigation instead of the defendant's mouth.” Pet. App B-
26a, n. 2

30

the first two facts. Fourth, he had discovery materials from the state

that, among other things, contained the EMS report and the names

and contact information of the people the police investigated, including

Becky Shaffer.

Pet. App B-27a

Against this backdrop, the Sixth Circuit determined that the failure to
investigate, not the failure to utilize or call anyone as witnesses, was unreasonable.
Id. The Court also went on to explain that the “prosecution’s case affects our
judgme..t regarding an attorney's decisions against investigation.” Id. (citing Brown
v. Smith, 551 F.3d 424 (6th Cir. 2008).) In the instant case, trial counsel knew that
“Becky Shaffer was ideally situated to provide information on the only avenue of
defense available to Vasquez and that the EMS report contained information
contradicting the version of events that the state was alleging at trial. He was
therefore deficient by declining to pursue these leads.” Id. at 28a. It was purely
unreasonable “to interview no potential witnesses and develop no defense.” Id.

The Sixth Circuit then individually reviewed each witness and piece of
evidence that it found relevant and carefully explained why the Ohio courts were
incorrect. First, unlike Petitioner and the state courts, the Sixth Circuit wisely

found that Mrs. Kitchen’s alleged statement to trial counsel, which she denies

making, that family members were unwilling to help should not have discouraged

trial counsel from contacting Mrs. Becky Shaffer. “[I]t is incredible for [trial

counsel] to base a decision against interviewing her on a single statement from the
witness's mother.” Pet. App B-29a. This is especially true since it was not necessary

to go through her mother to contact her as it was with Respondent's ex-wife. Id.

The Court went on to state that the fact that Mrs. Shaffer was married to a state’s

witness may explain a reason to not call her to the stand, “but not why he did not

attempt to talk with her in the first instance. Cf Brown, 551 F.3d at 432 ("(Olur

quarrel is not with trial counsels’ decision to forgo calling . . . a witness per se, but
rather with the lack of any reasonable, timely investigation into what she might
have offered the defense.").” Id. Moreover, trial counsel knew that she “was likely to
have relevant information and talking with her could help develop an otherwise
non-existent defense.” Id. Unlike the mischaracterization that all family members
refused to cooperate, trial counsel did not reach this conclusion after any reasonable
investigation. Undisputedly, he had one conversation with Mrs. Kitchen during
which she allegedly stated that family may not want to cooperate. Trial counsel
made no attempt to contact anyone else or determine if that statement was based in
truth. Just as a non-cooperative defendant does not extinguish counsel’s obligation
to investigate, neither does a single uncooperative witness.

Another devastating failure on the part of trial counsel, as determined by the
Sixth Circuit, is the inexplicable disregard for the EMS run sheet. This, the Sixth
Circuit claims, should have been even more obvious than the necessary
investigation that trial counsel failed to conduct. Pet. App B-29-3la. The EMS
report contained information demonstrating inconsistencies in the victim’s story
“she described the attack then as ‘he put it in me’ and not as Vasquez licking her

vagina [as she did at trial], and she claimed that she had taken a shower on the

32
night of the attack (which contradicts her father's testimony that she fell asleep on
the couch with her father).” Id. at 30a.

Petitioner argues that the state court statement that there was no
contradiction between the EMS report and the testimony because the “it” referred to
in the run sheet could have been Petitioner's tongue and that she could have
showered after her father went to sleep. “This post hoc harmonization is not
impossible as a matter of logic but does not explain [trial counsel’s] indifference to
the potential inconsistency (the disharmonious explanation is probably more
plausible).” Pet. App B-30a. “He did not try to find out whether or not the testimony
of [the victim] and her father would stand up to impeachment on the basis of the
EMS report. Moreover, [trial counsel] should have identified the report as
particularly probative because it was made so close to the original report of the
attack, so its inconsistency would sharply undercut the corroborative testimony
based on interviews with A.L. that took place much later.” Id. Penetration and
licking are much different and this important inconsistency should have been
“recognized as premium impeachment evidence.” Pet. App B-30a. The Sixth Circuit
also claimed that the run sheet should have led to trial counsel’s interviewing the
EMS responders. Id. “hey have been in a position to testify as to A.L.'s demeanor
in the ambulance on the way to her exam, possibly corroborating Becky Shaffer's
testimony that A.L. was at ease in the ambulance and more cancerued with the

attention she was receiving than disturbed by the abuse she reported.” Id.

be
=
#
a

a
o
2
é

33

Dismissing the contention that the failure to do any investigating was trial
strategy, the Sixth Circuit statec that “that decision was ‘objectively unreasonable
because it was a decision made without undertaking a full investigation’ and
therefore not due deference. Parrish Towns v. Smith, 395 F.3d 251, 259 (6 Cir
2005) (internal quotations omitted); see also Workman v. Tate, 957 F.2d 1339, 1345
(6th Cir. 1990) (Where counsel fails to investigate and interview promising
witness*s, and therefore has no reason to believe they would not be valuable in
securing defendant's release, counsel's inaction constitutes negligence, not trial
strategy.’)” Pet. App B-3la. In fact, the only pretrial work offered by trial counsel
was some minimal legal research on these types of cases in general. Id. This

should have pointed him toward the investigation he failed to

undertake. It is well known in the literature (and the cases cited

above) that the credibility of the child witness is often central to the
success of child sex abuse prosecutions and that the circumstances
surrounding the initial accusation of the abuse are important indicia of
credibility. This suggests that, even without knowing what Itrial
counsel] knew about the available evidence, Becky Shaffer and the

EMS run-sheet would be natural starting points to an investigation

and a defense. Yet, Vasquez's attorney did not pursue these leads. We

do not believe that this behavior can accurately be described as a

“strategic choice”. Instead, we hold it to be representation “below an

objective standard of reasonableness" and constitutionally deficient.”

Pet. App B-31-32a

Finally, Petitioner seeks to blame, once again, the wholesale failure to
investigate or prepare for trial on Respondent. Petition, pp. 23-24. Although this
was not addressed by the Sixth Circuit, the failure of Respondent to waive a

constitutionally protected right (the right to a speedy trial), especially in the face of

being wholly uncertain about his trial counsel with whom he met on three occasions

34
for a total of 45 minutes, does not excuse trial counsel’s failure to prepare for trial in
any manner whatsoever.

The Sixth Circuit’s final step was to examine whether this deficient
performance resulted in prejudice to Respondent. As did the District Court, the
Sixth Circuit determined that it did. “[I]n light of centrality of credibility to the
prosecution's case and the strength of the missing impeachment evidence®, Vasquez
has demonstrated that but for his counsel's unprofessional errors there was a
reasonable probability that his trial would have had a different outcome; our
confidence in the verdict is indeed undermined.” Pet. App B-37-38a

Regarding the EMS run sheet, it “demonstrates a specific and nonctrivial
difference in her story over how the attack took place: the run-sheet implies [she]
reported that there was penetration by Vasquez's penis in contradiction to the
evidence at trial.” Pet. App B-32a. This is a substantially prejudicial error and
cannot be discounted by Petitioner's claim that the tongue was it. Petition at 26
The Sixth Circuit specifically addressed this concern:

Coupled with the inconsistency about the shower, we think it likely a

jury would consider the run-sheet evidence of instability in A.L.'s story.

This is especially so because it is unlikely that the jury would believe a

nine-year-old would colloquially describe Vasquez's licking as

“putlting] it in," whereas she might be likely to use that term for

penetration. Moreover, unlike A.L.'s story at trial, penetration is not
consistent with the circumstances of the attack occurring in a short

6 “In determining whether Vasquez has carried his burden, we must evaluate the deficiency in
light of the ‘totality of the evidence before the ... jury.’ And so, in a case in which the ‘verdict or
conclusion [is] only weakly supported by the record is more likely to have been affected by errors . . .
’ Accordingly, in cases like this one, where the only evidence of the crime or the defendant's guilt is
the testimony of the victim, our circuit has been especially willing to find prejudice from deficient
representation because ‘[t}he lack of physical evidence confirming sexual activity meant that this
was necessarily a close case at the trial level.” Pet. App B-32a. (internal cites omitted)

window of time, with her father's presence upstairs, and on the same

bunk-bed where Vasquez's children were sleeping

Pet. App B-32-33a, n. 3.

The other failure left to address in terms of prejudice is Becky Shaffer. Mrs
Shaffer testified at the post-conviction hearing. The Sixth Circuit accurately
determined that she would have revealed essential inconsistencies in the victim’s
alleged timeline. Pet. App B-33a. Further, Mrs. Shaffer witnesses the victim's
father (a police detective) coaching his daughter and prompting her replies to law
enforcement. Pet. App B-30a. She further would have challenged the assertion by
Petitioner that the victim was traumatized and not herself. Mrs. Shaffer witnessed
the victim acting relaxed and excited about attention and the possibility of being on
TV. Id. Of course, this is not indicative of a young girl who recently finally revealed
a traumatic expenence. Pet. App B-33-34a

Equally as important, speaking to Mrs. Shaffer would have, as it often does,
led Respondent's trial counsel to speak to other potential defense witnesses. Pet
App B-33a. The testimony of Tammy Salopek and her daughter, Ashley Snyder at
the post-conviction hearing could have been essential to an acquittal for
Respondent. Mrs. Salopek was friends with both the Shaffers and the victim’s

family. Id. at 10a. She and her daughter were in continuous contact with the victim

both before and after the event. Id. “They indicated they would have testified to

[the victim’s] lack of truthfulness -- specifically her willingness to lie to get

attention.” Id. Further, the victim’s father testified that his daughter was

devastated and not herself after she revealed the abuse. Mrs. Salopek and her

36
daughter would have testified that in the week immediately after the accusation,
there was no change in the victim’s behavior, even though they had ample
opportunity to observe her since she slept at their house that week. Id. Finally, the
two could have bolstered Respondent's attempt to discredit the victim and argue
that she concocted the story. During the summer of 2000, Ashley Snyder had
actually been the victim of sexual molestation and told the victim about it. Id. This
testimony, that the victim is not trustworthy and does not understand the
consequences of lies, was not acting strange after she revealed the abuse, and had

just recently heard of the sexual abuse suffered by Snyder, “challenges the specifics

of [the victim’s] story, her motivations, and her general truthfulness.” Pet. App B

33a. It also “undermines the corroboration evidence presented by the state — that
[the victim’s] story did not change in her retelling of it, that she acted out of
character after the attack, and the implausibility of a nine-year old making up such
a sexual-molestation story.” Pet. App B-33-34a

Petitioner argues that it was safe to assume that Mrs. Shaffer would not have
been cooperative because of the conversation with Mrs. Kitchen and because Mrs
Shaffer did not want to make a written statement to the police, even though she
had already made a verbal one. These facts are completely irrelevant to the duty
trial counsel owed to at least investigate her, speak to her. As noted above, the fact
that her husband was a state witness or that her mother said the family may not be
willing to help tells trial counsel nothing about her willingness to cooperate to help

the husband of her sister. Further, her desire to refrain from making a written

statement is also immaterial because, in addition to the fact that she actually spoke

to the police, she also may have responded differently to certain, direct questions

asked by trial counsel with a different agenda and perspective than the police

There is just no evidence to support these assertions. Her testimony at the post
conviction hearing would undoubtedly have had an effect on the jury

With regard to Mrs. Salopek and her daughter, Petitioner only argues that
the evidence regarding the daughter's previous molestation was inadmissible in the
post-conviction hearing because Respondent failed to provide a proper foundation
The Sixth Circuit failed to address this fact. Petitioner argues that this evidence
should not have been considered by the Sixth Circuit because of the trial court’s
determination_that it could not consider it. Petition at 20. The Sixth Circuit
however, was free to consider it because it had already found the trial court's
factual determination regarding this evidence f awed

Moreover, the Sixth Circuit foune that the evidence at issue was not
cumulative as to the narrow admissions trial counsel was able to elicit at trial
Without any factual basis for cross-examining, he was only able to draw out that
the victim had some issues with telling the truth, just as every kid did. The
evidence presented at the post-conviction hearing went far beyond this innocent
generality and provided concrete and compelling evidence that the victim was
fabricating the story. “The evidence provides direct and specific challenges to her
motivations (she wants to be on TV, she wants attention), her trustworthiness (she

lies a lot and her friends and friends’ parents confirm that she does not understand

consequences of her lies), the stability of her story (the change in the EMS report

the prompting from her father), and the origins of her story (she just recently
learned Ashley Snyder had been molesté d), each of which was not presented to the
jury via Butler's cross-examinations.” Pet. App B-36a. The missing evidence
“underminels] confidence in the outcome.” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 6
Conclusion

lor the above stated reasons, Respondent Vasquez requests the Court deny
Petitioner Warden's Petition for Certiorar, The Warden's Ppetition misrepresents
the scope and analysis of the Sixth Circuit's decisions and opinions, as well as the
facts of the underlying case. The Sixth Circuit’s decisions create no conflict of law,
will in no way create any sort of confusion in this Court's jurisprudence, nor does
Petitioner provide any other reason to warrant revisiting these well and clearly
established areas of the law

Therefore, Petitioner Warden's Petition should be denied

Respectfully submitted

GORDON S. FRIEDMAN (0021946) *
counsel of record

ANDREA L. WHITAKER (0074461)

1370 Ontario Street, Suite 600

Cleveland, OH 44113-1752

Telephone: (216) 241-1430

Facsimile: (216) 621-0427

E-Mail gorlaw@f-glaw.com

whitakerandrea@yahoo.com
Attorneys for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1931%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
