# Reply Brief — University of South Carolina v. University of Southern California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1881%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 562 U.S. 829

## Text

\ 4 @g 270

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA,
Petitioner,
Vv.
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA,
Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIGRARI TO THE
UNITED STATES CourRT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

NEIL C. JONES
Counsel of Record

JOHN C. MCELWAINE

ASHLEY B. SUMMER

NELSON MULLINS RILEY

& SCARBOROUGH LLP
Poinsett Plaza
104 S. Main Street, Suite 900
Greenville, SC 29601
(864) 250-2260
neil.jones@nelsonmullins.com

Counsel for Petitioner

$

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REPLY BRIEF

I. The Relevant Consumer is a Lens
Through Which Likelihood of Confusion
Must be Viewed

. The Expansion of Ornamental Marks
Represents a Widespread Departure
from Fundamental Trademark Law

III. Review of the Significant Issues in this
Case is Necessary

CONCLUSION

ii

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Page

Cases:

Athletics Inv. Group LLC
v. Bd. of Trs. of the Univ. of Ala.,
Opposition No. 91172387
(TTAB Nov. 24, 2009)

Bd. of Trs. of the Univ. of Ala.
v. Atlanta Nat'l League Baseball Club, Inc.,
Opposition No. 91175702
(TTAB Feb. 5, 2007)

CAE, Inc. v. Clean Air Eng’g, Inc.,
267 F.3d 660 (7th Cir. 2001)

Dorr-Oliver, Inc. v. Fluid-Quip Inc.,
94 F-:3d 376 (7th Cir. 1996)

Gen. Motors Corp. v. Keystone Auto. Indus.,
453 F.3d 351 (6th Cir. 2006)

Insty* Bit, Inc. v. Poly-Tech Indus., Inc.,
95 F:3d 668 (&th Cir. 1996)

Univ. of Ala. Bd. of Trs. v. New Life Art Inc.,
677 F. Supp. 2d 1238 (N.D. Ala. 2009)

Univ. of S. Cal. v. President & Bd. of Trs.
of Santa Clara Coll.,
Opposition No. 91168693
(TTAB May 8, 2010)

Cited Authorities

Other:

Ann M. Bartow, Likelihood of Confusion, 41 San
Diego L. Rev. 721 (2004)

Barton Beebe, An Empirical Study of the
Multifactor Tests for Trademark Infringement,
94 Cal. L. Rev. 1581 (2006)

Stacey L. Dogan & Mark A. Lemley, Article:
The Merchandising Right: Fragile Theory or
Fait Accompli?, 54 Emory L.J. 461 (2005)

Rochelle Cooper Dreyfuss, Expressive Genericity:

Trademarks as Language in the Pepsi
Generation, 65 Notre Dame L. Rev. 397
(1990)

Anne M. McCarthy, Note: The Post-Sale
Confusion Doctrine: Why the General Public
Should be Included in the Likelihood of
Confusion Inquiry, 67 Fordham L. Rev. 3337

]

REPLY BRIEF

Current trademark law has been expanding
significantly beyond its traditional role and the Federal
Circuit and the Trademark Office have now added to
the confusion about trademark confusion. In particular,
uncertainty abounds as to the proper likelihood of
confusion inquiry under the Lanham Act, which governs
federal trademark registration and trademark
infringement. The gradual and unbridled expansion of
trademark protection has now transformed certain types
of trademarks from a means of designating the source
of products to nearly absolute intellectual property
rights in ornamental trademarks. This departure from
the traditional source-identifying nature of trademarks
has occurred without legislative intervention or review
by this Court. California (the Respondent) has simply
not refuted Carolina’s (the Petitioner) showing that the
courts are now in conflict in this area. In light of the
legal and commercial significance of this resulting
expansion, review by this Court is clearly warranted.

I. The Relevant Consumer is a Lens Through
Which Likelihood of Confusion Must be Viewed

The various formulations of the likelihood of
confusion analysis adopted by the circuit courts have
resulted in “a circuit split of considerable proportions”
with “excessive intercircuit variation in the application
and outcome” of the primary analysis employed in
determining the scope of protection for trademarks.
See Barton Beebe, An Empirical Study of the
Multifactor Tests for Trademark Infringement, 94
Cal. L. Rev. 1581, 1588, 1646 (2006) (recommending
adopting “a new national multifactor test”). The most

2

troublesome aspect of the circuit split is that the courts
vary on the actual nature of confusion that is recognized
under the Lanham Act. Compare Insty*Bit, Inc. v. Poly-
Tech Indus., Inc., 95 F.8d 668, 672 (8th Cir. 1996)
(providing that “trademark infringement may be based
on confusion of consumers other than direct purchasers,
including observers of an allegedly infringing product
in use by a direct purchaser”) (emphasis added) with
Dorr-Oliver, Inc. v. Fluid-Quip Inc., 94 F.3d 376, 382
(7th Cir. 1996) (explaining that “the Lanham Act is
concerned with customer confusion when choosing to
purchase, or not to purchase, the items, not public
confusion at viewing them from afar”) (emphasis added).

California cannot credibly deny the existence of the
circuit split and does not diminish the national legal and
commercial significance of the issues raised in Carolina’s

petition. Instead, California argues that the Federal
Circuit did not apply an erroneous standard and that
any circuit split is irrelevant here. These arguments are
simply wrong. There is a need for circuit consensus on
the issues presented by the petition and this case is an
extremely suitable vehicle for establishing that
consensus.

The identity of the relevant consumer is (or should
be) at the forefront of any likelihood of confusion
analysis. California simply ignores the fact that the
Federal Circuit failed to find that any relevant consumer
existed who could be confused. Despite California’s
unwillingness to recognize the Federal Circuit’s error,
the fact of the matter is that this error extends through
other courts as well.

3

In a proper likelihood of confusion analysis, the
identification and existence of a relevant consumer is
not a mere factor. Instead, it is the lens through which
the entire analysis must be considered. Here, the
Federal Circuit relegated the existence and type of
consumers to a mere factor and did not use the relevant
consumer as the lens through which the likelihood of
confusion analysis was to be conducted.

Specifically, the Board found that many consumers,
including students, faculty, alumni, and fans (“Real
Fans”), are likely “to have a loyalty to and affinity for a
particular school or team, ... to be knowledgeable about
a particular school’s trademarks as used on the
merchandise, ... to exercise a degree of care in looking
for and making their decisions to purchase such goods”
and “to be able to distinguish between similar collegiate
marks based on their familiarity with the different
schools and their marks, and their familiarity with
national collegiate sports generally.” Pet. App. B, 41a.
The Federal Circuit left these findings intact.

However, California argued, and the Board found,
that consumers other than Real Fans may be less
familiar with the marks and may likely be confused by
the marks at issue. Cf Ann M. Bartow, Likelihood of
Confusion, 41 San Diego L. Rev. 721, 723 (2004)
(observing that “[w]here jurists perceive consumers as
ludicrously easily confused, trademark holders can
exploit these views to secure broad trademark ‘rights,’
often without offering a shred of evidentiary
corroboration concerning such confusion”). Specifically,
the TTAB found that two groups of consumers would
likely be confused: (i) persons unaffiliated with either

4

school, such as relatives, who would be purchasing for
others a gift bearing one of the trademarks (“Gift-Giving
Relatives”), and (ii) new or casual fans who may jump
on the school’s proverbial “bandwagon” when an athletic
team has a banner year but who are admittedly less
familiar with the school’s trademarks (“Fair Weather
Fans”). Pet. App. B, 4la-42a. On appeal, however, the
Federal Circuit correctly determined that the Board’s
decision that the care exercised by such consumers
“rested on speculation” and not the requisite substantial
evidence. Pet. App. A, 9a. In so doing, the Federal
Circuit never identified a group of relevant consumers
who would be confused or conducted the critical inquiry
from that viewpoint.

Despite having correctly concluded that Real Fans
would likely distinguish the marks (and would not be
likely confused) and that the lower degree of care
exercised by the only other consumers identified — Fair
Weather Fans and Gift-Giving Relatives — was unproven,
the Federal Circuit nonetheless determined, as a matter
of law, that there was a likelihood of confusion. The
Federal Circuit arrived at that conclusion without
identifying that a class of relevant and proven
consumers would be confused. Moreover, the court failed
to properly conduct the likelihood of confusion analysis
through the lens of the relevant and proven consumer—
Real Fans. Instead, the Federal Circuit abstractly
agglomerated together other likelihood of confusion
factors to support its conclusion.

This approach to trademark law is untenable. The
only proper determination of the Lanham Act is to focus
on consumer confusion. See Bartow, supra p.8, at 817

D

(observing that “[uJnless a mark holder offers
persuasive evidence to the contrary, courts must reject
the specter of the gullible, harried, ignorant, and stupid
consumer as a standard by which to measure likelihood
of confusion”). The failure to use the relevant consumer
as the lens through which to determine likelihood of
confusion continues the trend of courts departing from
traditional consumer-based trademark law. See Anne M.
McCarthy, Note: The Post-Sale Confusion Doctrine:
Why the General Public Should be Included in the
Likelihood of Confusion Inquiry, 67 Fordham L. Rev.
3337, 3352 (1999) (“Courts are not in accord, however,
concerning the expansion of the relevant population and
relevant time of confusion that was brought about by
the 1962 amendment.”).

While California is correct that thirteen factors were

considered in the likelihood of confusion analysis in this
case, those factors must still be considered through the
eyes of relevant and proven consumers. This did not
occur here. Thus, while other cases indicate a split of
authority on which consumers must be confused, the
present case goes farther and dispenses altogether with
the need for any consumers to be confused.

Although California attempts to frame this issue as
outdated and irrelevant, current cases clearly indicate
otherwise. In particular, circuit courts remain divided
upon the proper perspective for determining likelihood
of confusion. For example, courts differ on whether post-
sale confusion can extend to confusion of the general
public at large or is limited to confusion amongst
potential consumers. Compare Gen. Motors Corp. v.
Keystone Auto. Indus. , 453 F-3d 351, 356 (6th Cir. 2006)

6

(observing that the Lanham Act extends beyond
consumer confusion to confusion of the non-consuming
general public at large) (emphasis added) with CAE,
Inc. v. Clean Air Eng’g, Inc., 267 F.3d 660, 683 (7th Cir.
2001) (observing that the Seventh Circuit has
“recognized that the Lanham Act’s protections also
extend to post-sale confusion of potential customers”)
(emphasis added).

II. The Expansion of Ornamental Marks Represents
a Widespread Departure from Fundamental
Trademark Law

Contrary to California’s characterization (Opp. 24),
Carolina does not contend that ornamental marks are
unprotectable. Instead, Carolina disputes the standard
applied by the Federal Circuit in evaluating the Lanham
Act’s likelihood of confusion standard when ornamental
marks are at issue.

When a mark is used ornamentally, the mark
functions like a good itself and not as a traditional
trademark to identify the source of the product.
See Rochelle Cooper Dreyfuss, Kxpressive Genericity:
Trademarks as Language in the Pepsi Generation, 65
Notre Dame L. Rev. 397, 397 (1990) (observing that
“ideograms that once functioned solely as signals
denoting the source, origin, and quality of goods, have
become products in their own right, valued as indicators
of the status, preferences, and aspirations of those who
use them”). Because the buying decision is premised
upon the buyer’s desire to associate with the entity
represented by the mark, the buyer necessarily comes
to the purchasing decision having a heightened

7

awareness of the mark and is, therefore, much less likely
to be confused. Use of the proper lens for making this
inquiry—that of the relevant consumer (and in this case,
the Real Fans)—would, as the Federal Circuit found,
result in consumers being able to distinguish the parties’
merchandise. If other consumers purchase the product
bearing the ornamental mark, they do so simply because
they like the appearance of the logo. In those situations
(as in the case of Fair Weather Fans and Gift-Giving
Relatives), the mark is not functioning as a source
identifier (i.e., a trademark) and does not invoke the
concerns of the Lanham Act. Finding a likelihood of
confusion in such instances should be much more
difficult than if the trademark is functioning as a source
identifier.

To be clear and to illustrate the scope of proper

protection, a California alumnus may seek a sweatshirt
having a California logo and may choose between a Nike,
Adidas, or other brand, but the consumer will not seek
sweatshirts bearing other school’s emblems. In that
case, the consumer can distinguish those other goods
not bearing her school’s mark due to the fact that she
specifically desires to purchase the product because of
the mark, not because it is a high quality product. The
Trademark Board recognized this scenario, explaining:

[A] mark appearing on a collegiate sports
team’s merchandise such as hats or shirts
serves as an indication of secondary source;
it refers to or identifies the team itself.
The purchasers’ decision to purchase the
product often is not based on who actually
manufactured the product, but rather is

8

based on the ornamental presence of the
secondary source mark itself on the product.
The decision to purchase arises from the
purchasers’ desire to demonstrate his or her
connection to or affiliation with that secondary
source (the school, or the team) or if the
purchaser is purchasing the product as a gift
to allow the gift recipient to demonstrate that
connection or affiliation.

Pet. App. B, 44a.

When an ornamentally-used trademark is asserted,
the likelihood of confusion analysis should account for
the nature of that ornamental use and the attendant
commercial realities with which the Lanham Act is
concerned. Configuring the analysis through this
perspective will properly limit the scope of protection
to instances in which the reasonably prudent and
relevant consumer is likely to be confused. The
Trademark Board and the Federa! Circuit erred by
failing to properly account for these realities and then
departing from the intended scope of protection
afforded by the Lanham Act. Instead, the decision relied
upon irrelevant and unproven confusion.

California’s contention that Carolina’s argument
dooms its own case (Opp. 31-32) is both incorrect and
irrelevant. As indicated above, Carolina does not argue
that ornamentally-used trademarks cannot be federally
registered or protected. Carolina only argues that
California’s ornamental marks and Carolina’s
ornamental marks are not likely to be confused,
especially given the nature of the goods and the relevant

9

consumers. Due to the ornamental nature of California’s
marks versus Carolina’s mark, there is no likelihood that
relevant consumers would confuse the parties’ goods.

Even if correct, California’s argument that it uses
its mark in a non-ornamental manner (Opp. 29-30) does
not prevent this Court’s review. The Board’s decision,
and the Federal Circuit’s review thereof, was not
premised upon such use now relied upon by California.
There was no finding that California used its marks in a
non-ornamental manner and the Board appears to have
accepted that the California marks were ornamentally
used (see Pet. App. B, 44a).

Moreover, even if California had used the marks in
a non-ornamental fashion (an issue not asserted at the
Federal Circuit), California cannot avoid the fact that
purchasers of California-branded merchandise are
knowledgeable consumers that come to the purchasing
decision with extensive knowledge of California’s marks
and with the capability to distinguish goods bearing
those marks from goods bearing Carolina’s ornamental
marks. Ultimately, California’s attempt to argue the
factual merits as a means to divert the Court’s attention
from the legal issues is telling.

Carolina has not waived this argument concerning
merchandising rights. As an initial matter, the likelihood
of confusion centers around a comparison of the marks
at issue, and Carolina argued throughout trial and
appeal that goods bearing the parties’ respective marks
were unlikely to be confused. In addition, as expressly
recognized by the Board, Carolina argued that the
marks would not be confused in light of their ornamental

10

nature (referenced as secondary source marks in the
proceedings below). Pet. App. B, 44a-45a. This argument
was also presented to the Federal Circuit, in which
Carolina argued that “[nJo one purchases collegiate
apparel because they like the quality of a piece of
clothing—they purchase the product because they want
others to see that they are a fan of, or somehow affiliated
with, the college.” Carolina Fed. Cir. Reply Br. at 18; see
also Carolina Fed Cir. Br. at 18-83 (arguing the nroper
consumer for consideration in the likelihood of confusion
analysis). Carolina argued that such consumers with an
intimate knowledge of both the college and the logo were
not likely to be confused. /d.

Despite California’s attempt to convey the issue of
merchandising rights as a relic of “vintage” case law
(Opp. 26-29), recent trademark commentators designate
this issue as significant and fit for review today by this
Court. £.g., Stacey L. Dogan & Mark A. Lemley, Article:
The Merchandising Right: Fragile Theory or Fait
Accompli?, 54 Emory L.J. 461, 465 (2005) (observing
that “recent Supreme Court case law suggests that, if
the Supreme Court had the opportunity to evaluate the
merchandising theory (something it has never done), it
would deny the existence of such a right” and “it would
be right to do so”). Even if merchandising rights were
well accepted by lower tribunals, as California appears
to argue, this Court has yet to review the broad extra-
statutory protection that such rights now apparently
offer.

In addition, the impact of this issue is not remote.
Other matters are pending and future actions are nearly
certain. For example, similar issues are likely to arise

)]

between California and Santa Clara College in a case
that has been suspended pending the final resolution of
this case, see Univ. of S. Cal. v. President & Bd. of Trs.
of Santa Clara Coll., Opposition No. 91168693 (TTAB
May 8, 2010) (suspension order) and in a case between
the University of Alabama and the Atlanta Braves, see
Bd. of Trs. of the Univ. of Ala. v. Atlanta Nat'l League
Baseball Club, Inc., Opposition No. 91175702 (TTAB
filed Feb. 5, 2007). Moreover, in a previous case, the
Oakland A’s opposed the registration of a trademark by
the University of Alabama. See Athletics Inv. Group LLC
v. Bd. of Trs. of the Univ. of Ala., Opposition No.
91172387 (TTAB Nov. 24, 2009) (dismissal order).
Moreover, it appears that the University of Alabama has
gone so far as to allege that paintings showing players
in its football uniforms give rise to confusion. See Univ.
of Ala. Bd. of Trs. v. New Life Art Inc., 677 F. Supp. 2d
1238, 1244 (N.D. Ala. 2009) (indicating that the main
dispute is whether “defendants infringe on plaintiff’s
trademark if they create and sell paintings and prints
which include as part of their depictions the uniforms
of University of Alabama football players”). Thus, this
case is not an anomaly and the need exists for a clear
standard for determining the likelihood of confusion
with respect to ornamentally-used trademarks.

III. Review of the Significant Issues in this Case is
Necessary

Instead of rebutting the implications of this case and
the need for this Court’s review, California resorts to
arguing that the Federal Circuit’s opinion was
nonprecedential and to resting upon the parties’
historical uses of their respective marks and logos.

12

First, the designation of the Federal Circuit’s
opinion as nonprecedential actually reinforces the need
for review of this case. In particular, by designating its
opinion as nonprecedential, the Federal Circuit
indicated that it believes the law on these matters is
settled. As explained above, that is far from accurate. If
the Federal Circuit incorrectly views this law as settled,
then the need for this Court’s intervention is demanded.

Second, the way each party historically used its
marks bears no impact upon application of the proper
legal standard in this case. Despite South Carolina
having its name since the colonial era and its flagship
university’s longtime use of the letters “SC,” California’s
argument over who first and continually used the letters
“SC” does not implicate whether a consumer would
actually confuse the marks at issue here. Ultimately,

purchasing consumers, who purchase because of the
ornamental logo itself, are capable of distinguishing their
team’s merchandise.

13
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

NEIL C. JONES

Counsel of Record

JOHN C. MCELWAINE

ASHLEY B. SUMMER

NELSON MULLINS RILEY

& SCARBOROUGH LLP
Poinsett Plaza

104 S. Main Street, Suite 900
Greenville, SC 29601

(864) 250-2260
neil.jones@nelsonmullins.com

Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1881%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
