# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pirate Investor LLC v. Securities & Exchange Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1794%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 561 U.S. 1026

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

APR 23 2010

No. 09-1176 OFFICE CF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

on ae ae

PIRATE INVESTOR LLC AND FRANK PORTER
STANSBERRY,

Petitioners,
v.

UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE
COMMISSION,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE REPORTERS
COMMITTEE FOR FREEDOM OF THE PRESS AND
MEDIA ORGANIZATIONS IN SUPPORT OF
PETITIONERS

Lucy A. Dalglish
Counsel of Record
Gregg P. Leslie
The Reporters Committee for
Freedom of the Press
1101 Wilson Blvd., Suite 1100
Arlington, Va. 22209
(703) 807-2100
ldalglish@rcfp.org

(Additional counsel for amici listed on inside cover.)

Additional counsel for amici:

Kevin M. Goldberg

Fletcher Heald & Hildreth

1300 N. 17% St. 11% Floor
Arlington, VA 22209

Counsel for The American Society

of News Editors

David H. Tomlin

Associate General Counsel

The Associated Press

450 W. 33rd St.

New York, NY 10001

Counsel for The Associated
Press

Jonathan Bloom

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

767 Fifth Avenue

New York, NY 10153

Counsel for The Association of
American Publishers, Inc. (“AAP”)

Kathleen A. Kirby

Wiley Rein LLP

1776 K Street NW

Washington, DC 20006

Counsel for The Radio Television
Digital News Association

Robert M. O’Neil

The Thomas Jefferson Center for
the Protection of Free Expression
400 Worrell Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22911

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee ee I a aicis vas nooks cnecsncoasdcsciwadecoueasenvces ill
I We NN isin vnc ce nespoccn inn veacensvcscnecnerroacesess 1
PUISIMATY OF ATBUMIOIE ooecccccicccvevesscctscssecescecees OO 4
RS EK IIR RN IE ae OC A En TERT 7

§ The decision below applying
§ 10(b) to a publisher of general
financial recommendations with
no First Amendment safeguards
will impermissibly chill valuable
speech regarding financial issues ....................6. 7

A. Financial reporting has long
been a cornerstone of journal-
ism, informing the public and
interpreting economic infor-
mation on its behalf........ ?

about the collapse. !2

'0 Katharine Q. Seelye and James Barron, Wall Street Journal
Wins 2 Pulitzer Prizes, N.Y. TIMES, April 17, 2007 at B8.

'! Press Release, Long Island Univ., Long Island University
Announces Winners of 2001 George Polk Awards (Feb. 20,
2002), available at

http://www. brooklyn.liu.edu/polk/press/awards. pdf

12 Press Release, The New York State Society of CPAs, Journal]
ists Receive Awards from NYSSCPA for Financial Reporting
(March 31, 2009), available at

http://www.nysscpa.org/society/PR/3-31-09releasea. htm

12

The calculus changes with the Securities and
Exchange Commission’s counsel making the chilling
pronouncement at trial that the Commission would
not hesitate to apply § 10(b) to any financial publica-
tion, specifically mentioning The Wall Street Jour-
nal,}3

Furthermore, under the Fourth Circuit’s reason-
ing, the fact that publications aim to improve their
reputations by disseminating accurate financial in-
formation bolsters a claim of fraud under § 10(b).!4
Such reasoning creates a disincentive to freely pub-
lish accurate information — an untenable result, as
far as the First Amendment is concerned.

The production of informative and timely finan-
cial articles is in the public’s best interest. Courts
should not allow for improper government interfer-
ence with journalists’ pursuit of financial reporting.

With such a judicial interpretation of § 10(b) in place,
future reporting may be chilled.'5

13 Pet. Cert. at 10.

14 SEC v. Pirate Investor, 580 F. 3d 233, 247 (4th Cir. 2009)

(finding that “reputational gain” that encourages the future
purchase of more information is a “connection” to the sale of
securities).

'5 See Daniel v. Dow Jones & Co., 520 N.Y.S.2d 334 (N_Y. Civ
Ct. 1987) (granting motion to dismiss sult against news service
report that allegedly contained false and misleading informa-
tion that led the plaintiff to make a bad investment; noting the
potential chilling effect finding otherwise would have on pa-
pers)

Regardless of connection to current af-
fairs, the First Amendment fully protects
financial and economic advice.

Setting aside the need to protect financial publi-
cations generally, the fact that a publication gives
specific advice about securities does not unilaterally
exclude it from First Amendment protection. The
First Amendment’s guarantees “embrace all issues
about which information is needed or appropriate to
enable the members of society to cope with the exi-
gencies of their period.” Thornhill v. Alabama, 310
U.S. 88, 102 (1940). Thus, the First Amendment does
not cease to protect speech that may not be specifi-
cally germane to current events or politics. The First
Amendment “embraces at the least the liberty to dis-
cuss publicly and truthfully all matters of public con-
cern without previous restraint or fear of subsequent
punishment.” /d. at 101-02.

To the extent that financial reports discuss eco
nomic, financial or investment matters generally,
there can be no doubt that they are fully protected by
the First Amendment. This Court’s “cases have never
suggested that expression about .. . economic
matters ...1is not entitled to full First Amendment
protection.” Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431
U.S. 209, 231 (1977).

With regard to financial analyses and reports
that value or recommend specific securities, this
Court has never held that specificity strips publica-
tions of full First Amendment protection. Speech is
not deprived of the full protection of the First
Amendment merely because it is practical and nar-
rowly useful, rather than being of broad, abstract
import.

14

Moreover, there is no distinction of constitu-
tional significance between “general” and “specific”
investment recommendations — that is, for example,
between a prediction of the future course of the stock
market as opposed to a recommendation to buy stock
in one company rather than another. Nor does the
fact that readers may act on the basis of specific ad-
vice diminish its constitutional protection. See Tho-
mas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516, 536-37 (1945) (“When
legislation or its application can confine [speakers]. .
. to innocuous and abstract discussion .. . and so be-
cloud even this with doubt, uncertainty and the risk
of penalty, freedom of speech for them will be at an
end.”); see also Org. for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402
U.S. 415, 429 (1971) (“The claim that the expressions
were intended to exercise a coercive impact on re-
spondent does not remove them from the reach of the
First Amendment. Petitioners plainly intended to in-
fluence respondent's conduct by their activities; this
is not fundamentally different from the function of a
newspaper.’).

Instructively, a Maryland federal court noted in
a case involving the very same corporation that pro-
duces Petitioner’s publications that because the par-
ticular publication in that case was offered to the
general public and advice given was not specifically
tailored to the financial situation of any individual]
subscriver, it was “subject to the same protection un-
der the First Amendment as any other publication.”
Ginsburg v. Agora, Inc., 915 F. Supp. 733, 740 (D.
Md. 1995) (citing Lowe v. SEC, 472 U.S. 181, 210
(1985)); see also Lubin v. Agora, 882 A.2d 333 (Md.
2005) (finding that a subpoena of the same company
had First Amendment implications).

15

Nor does the use of hyperbole diminish speech’s
full First Amendment protection. Financial journal-
ism is often rough and boisterous, and tends to re-
flect opinion rather than pure fact.

As media expert David L. Nelson noted in a re-
port to the lower court in this case, “almost all me-
dia” try to “brag” and “shout” to connect with the au-
diences, and “[n]lewsletters are no exception.” Joint
Appendix at 4352. Nelson noted that financial news-
letters “use aggressive, usually upbeat or ‘Doomsday’
rhetoric to attract attention and get subscribers.” Id.
at 4354. In Nelson’s trial testimony, he also testified
about the exuberant tone that readers have come to
expect of newsletter writers. Jd. at 1171. This is ex-
ceedingly common throughout the particular genre.
Financial discourse is often prone to heated ex-
changes and speculation, which most readers take in
the aggregate and filter for themselves.

However, financial reports’ investment recom-
mendations concerning specific securities and their
use of bombastic tone do not detract from their enti-
tlement to full First Amendment protection. '!®

6 Furthermore, the high price and low circulation of informa-
tion has no bearing on constitutional protection. Reynolds v.
Murphy, 188 S.W.3d 252, 265 n.17 (Tex. App. 2006) (“News ser-
vices, whether free to the public, as are television or radio, or
more expensive specialized media, such as defendant's comput-
erized database, are instruments for the free flow of all forms of
information, and should be treated as unquestionably within
the First Amendment's guarantee of freedom of the press.”) (cit-
ing Daniel, supra note 13, at 101-102 (“[T]he cost of the service
and the degree of its distribution are not related to the impor-
tance of the protection needed for the statement at issue.”)).

16

The Fourth Circuit should have conducted
an independent appellate review because
of the instant case’s First Amendment im
plications.

A. Restrictions on speech are presump-
tively invalid and any such restriction
must be narrowly construed.

This Court has said that the requirement that
all viewpoints be treated equally, one of the founda-
tions of the First Amendment, imposes a special re-
sponsibility on judges whenever it is claimed that a
particular communication is unprotected. Bose Corp.
v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc., 466 U. S.
485 (1984).

Although not all speech is of equal First
Amendment protection, no cause of action or prose-

cution can claim “talismanic immunity from constitu-
tional limitations” and all “must be measured by
standards that satisfy the First Amendment.” New
York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 269 (1964).
Such constitutional protection does not depend upon
"the truth, popularity, or social utility of the ideas
and beliefs which are offered." NAACP v. Button, 371
U.S. 415, 445 (1963). After all, “[e]Jrroneous state-
ment is inevitable in free debate . .. and it must be
protected if the freedoms of expression are to have
the breathing space that they need . . . to survive,"
Sullivan at 272 (citation omitted).

Indeed, the principle that speech needs wide
latitude to flow freely was fiercely supported by the
core founders of the United States of America. Tho-
mas Jefferson, no stranger to aggressive scrutiny by
the press, once wrote, “{Wlere it left to me to decide

17

whether we should have a government without
newspapers or newspapers without a government, |
should not hesitate a moment to prefer the latter."
Letter from Thomas Jefferson to Edward Carrington,
Delegate to the Continental Congress (Jan. 16, 1787).
These behefs were reflected in the First Amendment
to the U.S. Constitution.

Because of the constitutional requirement that
First Amendment freedoms be given. sufficient
breathing space, the government may regulate in the
area only with narrow specificity. See Cantwell uv.
Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 311 (1940). Any govern
ment regulation of speech “susceptible of regular ap-
plication to protected expression” is impermissible,
Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451, 467 (1987), and analy-
sis must be done carefully, for “{w]here particular
speech falls close to the line separating the lawful
and the unlawful, the possibility of mistaken fact-
finding —- inherent in all litigation — will create the
danger that the legitimate utterance will be penal-
ized.” Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 526 (1958).

This Court has in the past rejected the need for
close judicial oversight with regard to speech involv-
ing economic matters stating, “The dangers of fraud,
deception, or overreaching... are present in person-
alized communications but are not replicated tn pub-
lications that are advertised and sold in an open
market.” Lowe, 472 US. at 210.

18

B. The First Amendment requires a
heightened evidentiary showing that a
communication, always presumed to
be protected, should be stripped of
that protection.

All speech at its inception is protected, and
when a case requires a court to strip a communica-
tion of its First Amendment protection, the evidence
in the record must be clear and convincing.!7 Bose
Corp., 466 U. S. 485. Appropriate heightened proof
requirements have been held to provide sufficient
breathing room for protected sjeech. See Sullivan,
376 U.S. at 279-280; see also Bose, 466 U.S. at 502.
This Court held that with regard to imposing liability
on a publisher, a simple negligence standard would
constitute an “intolerable burden.” Time, Inc. v Hill,
385 U.S. 374, 387-89 (1967).

As an additional safeguard responsive to First
Amendment concerns, an appellate court may inde-
pendently veview lower courts’ findings. Cf. Bose
Corp., 466 U.S., at 498-511 (de novo appellate review
of findings regarding actual malice).

'7 The proper standard on these facts is that of “actual malice,”
as the First Amendment requires a heightened standard. See
Daniel, 520 N.Y.S.2d at 339 (“The societal right to free and un-
hampered dissemination of information precludes liability ab-
sent proof of knowing falsity or reckless disregard for the
truth.”); see also Nat! Life Ins. Co. v. Phillips Publishing, 793 F.
Supp. 627 (D. Md. 1992) (holding in a defamation suit that
“Profitable Investing,” a financial newsletter, was entitled to
the “actual malice” standard because of First Amendment con-
cerns).

19

C. This Court should clarify the impor-
tance of First Amendment deference
and elucidate that restrictions on
speech should be narrowly.construed.

The use of independent appellate review as an
important constitutional safeguard should be reaf-
firmed by this Court. The Fourth Circuit erred in re-
jecting Petitioners’ argument that the SEC was re-
quired to prove the elements of § 10(b) by clear and
convincing evidence, before the communication was
stripped of its protected status. The Fourth Circuit
used the evidentiary standard generally applicable to
civil enforcement actions, which requires proof by a
“preponderance of the evidence.” SEC v. Pirate Inves-
tor, 580 at 242.

However, this approach cannot be squared with
the First Amendment. Bose requires any case that
implicates the First Amendment to comport with the
“clear and convincing” evidentiary standard before
the speech is stripped of protection. Because § 10(b)
has not been applied to independent publishers of
general financial advice,'8 the applicable standards
in place do not conform to accepted First Amendment
standards. This is likely because in the course of cre-
ating the regulation, it was not contemplated that it
had the potential to implicate financial speech of
non-fiduciaries who neither own nor trade securities.
With regard to such speakers, a_ proper First
Amendment analysis would first assume the pro-

'8 See Sup't of Ins. V. Bankers Life & Cas. Co., 404 U.S. 6, 8
(1971).

20

tected status of the speech, and then scale back that
protection if necessary.

IV. The application of § 10(b) to publishers
violates the First Amendment because it
will have substantial effects on newsgath-
ering.

Furthermore, to counter a defense of First
Amendment protection, the SEC may not use the
standard set forth in Cohen v. Cowles Media, as it
pertains only to laws that have “incidental” effects on
the press’s ability to gather and report the news. 501
U.S. 663 (1991). Unhke in Cohen, § 10(b)’s impact on
newsgathering and news reporting would be more
than merely incidental, and thus its application
would violate the First Amendment.

In Cohen, the plaintiff was a political staffer
that leaked information about an opponent to local
newspapers on the promise of anonymity. 501 US.
663, 665 (1991). On the theory of promissory estop-
pel, the state courts held the newspapers liable for
breach of contract for printing the anonymous name.
Id. at 666. Prior to that ruling, the defendants ar-
gued that the First Amendment prevented the litiga-
tion because allowing the judicial enforcement of con-
fidentiality contracts would chill the free speech of
newspapers that had legally obtained truthful infor-
mation, under the existing standards set forth in this
Court's prior cases. Id. at 668.

Instead, this Court in Cohen set forth the new
standard that “generally applicable laws do not of-
fend the First Amendment simply because their en-
forcement against the press has incidental effects on
its ability to gather and report the news.” I/[d. at 669.

21

The Court based its decision on precedent upholding
the rule that journalists may not break the law while
newsgathering by trespassing, intimidating, or
breaking and entering. Jd. Liability under contract
doctrine was generally applicable and thus the First
Amendment did not preclude its enforcement.

In contrast with this scenario, the application of
§ 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 re-
quires additional First Amendment safeguards. Al-
though there was no express exception for publishers
in the language of the law, § 10(b) was intended to
apply only to true insiders — those with the highest
level of power and internal knowledge that influ-
ences the sale of securities. See Reliance Ins. Co. v.
Barron's, 442 F. Supp. 1341, 1353 (S.D.N.Y. 1977)
(“The securities laws, and particularly Rule 10b-5,
were not developed with the intention of overlapping
or reinforcing the law of libel, nor to inhibit the exer-
cise of freedom of the press.”); Cf. [owe v. SEC, 472
U.S. 181, 204 (1985) (“Congress, plainly sensitive to
First Amendment concerns, wanted to make clear
that it did not seek to regulate the press through the
licensing of non-personalized publishing activities.”).

A regulation that controls the action of one who
improperly discloses information to sell securities
does not in effect apply to all citizens equally, as a
contract or trespass law statute does. This is true be-
cause an additional layer of constitutional scrutiny is
required if a restriction on speech has a substantial
effect on First Amendment freedoms. See Food Lion
Inc. v. Capital Cities/ABC, 194 F.3d 505, 522 (4th
Cir. 1999).

As was discussed more fully in section I supra,
the expansion of § 10(b) has the potential to dramati-

22

cally chill speech in a field where financial journal-
ists must be free to act as watchdogs without fear of
government intervention. Furthermore, the instant
case is distinguishable from a traditional Cohen case
in that the speech itself is the conduct being pun-
ished. The First Amendment effects on speech would
not be incidental, as the Cohen standard sets forth,
but direct and overreaching. Government pressure to
refrain from making any statements about securities,
in case they later prove to be false, is a substantial
negative effect on the gathering and dissemination of
news.

Although financially-specialized journalists os-
tensibly have knowledge about securities that is
greater than that of the average reader, they do not
possess the types of duties that would fairly give rise
to the culpability contemplated by § 10(b). Without

an additional) layer of constitutional scrutiny, its ap-
plication to non-fiduciary publishers who neither
trade nor own stock violates the First Amendment.

23
CONCLUSION

No form of speech is from its inception auto
matically placed outside the First Amendment’s pro-
tections. If permitted to stand, the Fourth Circuit
ruling threatens financial reporting in publications
throughout the country. The Court must clarify that
any removal of speech from the First Amendment’s
protections must be proved by an absolute minimum
of “clear and convincing” evidence of actual malice on
appeal. Because of the Fourth Circuit’s lack of defer-
ence to the First Amendment, which will result in an
unconstitutional chilling effect on all publications,
amict therefore respectfully request that this Court
errant Petitioners’ petition for certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Lucy A. Dalglsh

Counsel of Record
Gregg P. Leslie
The Reporters Committee
for Freedom of the Press
1101 Wilson Blvd., Ste. 1100
Arlington, VA 22209-2211
(703) 807-2100
Idalglish@rcfp.org

April 29, 2010

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1794%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
