# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — US Bank National Ass'n ND v. Thomas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1780%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 561 U.S. 1025

## Text

US BANK NATIONAL ASS’N ND; US BANK NATIONAL
ASS’N; FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN TRUST 1996-2;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUSTS 1996-3, 1996-4,
1997-1, 1997-2, 1997-3, 1997-4, 1998-1, 1998-2, 1998-3,
1998-4, AND 1998-5; WILMINGTON TRUST Co.; GOLETA
NATIONAL BANK; RESIDENTIAL FUNDING Co., LLC;
SOVEREIGN BANK; HSBC FINANCIAL CORP., F/K/A
HOUSEHOLD FINANCIAL CORP.,

Petitioners,
VU.

DEANTHONY THOMAS, SUSAN JELINKE-
THOMAS, STEVEN M. RICH,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHRISTOPHER R. LIPSETT SETH P. WAXMAN

NOAH A. LEVINE Counsel of Record

DAVID S. LESSER DANIELS. VOLCHOK

WILMER CUTLER PICKERING WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
HALE AND DORR LLP HALE AND DORR LLP

399 Park Ave. 1875 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W.

New York, N.Y. 10022 Washington, D.C. 20006

(212) 230-8800 (202) 663-6000

seth.waxman@wilmerhale.com

(Additional counsel listed on inside cover)

PETER W. CARTER

PAUL R. DIESETH
DORSEY & WHITNEY LLP
50 South Sixth Street
Suite 1500

Minneapolis, MN 55402
(612) 340-7892

THOMAS L. ALLEN
Roy W. ARNOLD
DAVID J. BIRD

REED SMITH LLP
225 Fifth Avenue
Suite 1200
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(412) 288-3131

TODD W. RUSKAMP

SHOOK, HARDY & BACON LLP
2555 Grand Boulevard

7th Floor

Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 474-6550

WILLIAM E. QUIRK

MARK A. OLTHOFF

MIRIAM E..C. BAILEY
POLSINELLI SHUGHART P.C.
1700 Twelve Wyandotte Plaza
120 West 12th Street
Kansas City, MO 64105
(816) 421-3355

MICHAEL G. BIGGERS
BRYAN CAVE LLP
211 North Broadway
Suite 3600

St. Louis, MO 63102
(314) 259-2145

SCOTT W. MARTIN

MICHAEL S. HARGENS

DAVID A. SCHATZ

HUSCH BLACKWELL
SANDERS LLP

4801 Main Street

Suite 1000

Kansas City, MO 64112

(816) 983-8000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In Beneficial National Bank v. Anderson, 539
U.S. 1 (2003), this Court held that state-law usury
claims against federally chartered, federally insured
banks are completely preempted by provisions of the
National Bank Act of 1864 now codified at 12 U.S.C.
§§ 85-86. The first question presented here is whether
state-law usury claims against state-chartered, feder-
ally insured banks are likewise completely preempted
by a provision of the Depository Institutions Deregula-
tion and Monetary Control Act of 1980 now codified at
12 U.S.C. § 1831d.

2. In Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 USS.
735 (1996), this Court held that the term “interest” un-
der 12 U.S.C. § 85 means not only periodic percentage
interest rates but also many types of fees charged in
connection with a loan (or other extension of credit).

The second question presented here is whether the de-
cision below conflicts with Smiley in that the court of
appeals used a definition of “interest” that was limited
to periodic percentage interest rates.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

In addition to the parties named in the case caption,
the following were parties in the court of appeals: Ace
Securities Corp. Home Loan Trust 1999-A; Associates
First Mortgage Capital Corp.; CIT Group; Contimort-
gage Corp; Master Financial; Norwest Home Im-
provement, Inc.; PSB Lending Corp.; Challenge Realty;
German American Capital Corp.; UBS Real Estate Se-
curities, Inc.; Countrywide Home Loans, Inc.; JPMor-
gan Chase Bank, N.A.; Bane One Financial Services
Inc.; PFF Bank & Trust; Western Interstate Bancorp.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

US Bank National Association ND and US Bank
National Association are wholly owned subsidiaries of
U.S. Bancorp, a publicly held corporation. U.S. Ban-
corp does not have a parent corporation and no publicly
held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

FirstPlus Home Loan Trust 1996-2 is an express
trust created under New York trust law, while
FirstPlus Home Loan Owner Trusts 1996-3, 1996-4,
1997-1, 1997-2, 1997-3, 1997-4, 1998-1, 1998-2, 1998-3,
1998-4, and 1998-5 are Delaware statutory trusts cre-
ated under the Delaware statutory trust statute.

Wilmington Trust Company is a Delaware banking
corporation that is wholly owned by Wilmington Trust
Corporation. Wilmington Trust Corporation does not
have a parent corporation and no publicly held company
owns 10% or more of its stock.

Goleta National Bank, now known as Community
West Bank, is a California corporation. All of its stock
is owned by the holding company Community West
Bancshares.

(11)

Residential Funding Company, LLC, has the fol-
lowing parent company: GMAC-RFC Holding Com-
pany, LLC. General Motors Corporation is a publicly
held corporation that owns 10% or more of the interest
in Residential Funding Company, LLC, through own-
ership of stock in one or more companies.

Sovereign Bank is a subsidiary of Santander Hold-
ings USA, Ine. which is a Virginia holding company
formerly known as Sovereign Bancorp, Inc. Banco
Santander, S.A., a publicly held corporation, is the par-
ent of Santander Holdings USA, Inc. and owns 10% or
more of its stock.

HSBC Finance Corporation, formerly known as
Household Finanee Corporation, is wholly owned by
HSBC North America Holdings, Inc. No publicly held
company directly owns 10% or more of HSBC Finance
Corporation’s stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT............. li
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

ee INTE 6s oan cacti nan nunsiavabaaeaaneaediusasiiocedapineelonbauls 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION 12

I. THE EIGHTH CIRCUITS COMPLETE-PRE-
EMPTION HOLDING IS WRONG AND CREATES
A CIRCUIT CONFLICT ON AN IMPORTANT
AND RECURRING QUESTION OF FEDERAL
NN a a €

A. The Decision Below Conflicts With Deci-
sions Of The Third And Fourth Circuits............. 13

B. The Question Presented is Recurring
And Important

C. The Court of Appeals’ Holding Is Wrong

. The Eighth Circuit’s Holding That DIDA
Does Not Apply To The Loans At Issue
Here Rests On A Definition Of “Interest”

That Conflicts With This Court’s Decision In
Smiley

CONCLUSION

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

APPENDIX A: Opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit

APPENDIX B: Order of the United
States District Court for the Western
District of Missouri Denying Respon-
dents’ Motion ‘lo Remand

APPENDIX C: Order of the United
States District Court for the Western
District of Missouri Granting Petition-
I re a cs cescduvendbuarncyoonsivesaseseas 19a

APPENDIX D: Order of the United
States District Court for the Western
District of Missouri Denying Respon-
dents’ Motion To Reconsider

APPENDIX E: Order of the Court of Ap
peals Denying Rehearing En Bane

APPENDIX F: Statutory Provisions
12 U.S.C. § &
12 U.S.C
12 U.S.C. §

v1
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page(s)
Adkison v. First Plus Bank, 143 S.W.3d
29 (Mo. Ct. App. 2004)

Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Flowers,
330 U.S. 464 (1947)

Aetna Health Inc. v. Davila, 542 U.S. 200
(2004)..

Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S.
202 (1985)

Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 73:

OF tie SOE UR IEE civinveestccnisidinctinbeenssseunces Selcsloniesaecsnes 5, 23

Beneficial National Bank v. Anderson,
539 U.S. 1 (2003)

Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998)

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386
(1987)

Cross-Country Bank v. Klussman,
F. App’x 796 (9th Cir. 2003)

Discover Bank v. Vaden, 489 F.3d 594
(4th Cir. 2007), rev'd on other
grounds, 1298. Ct. 1262 (2009) 8, 11, 13-15, 21

Dolan v. United States Postal Service,
546 U.S. 481 (2006)

El Paso Natural Gas Co. v. Neztsosie,
526 U.S. 473 (1999)

Evans v. National Bank of Savannah,
251 U.S. 108 (1919)

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)
Farmers’ & Mechanics’ National Bank v.
EAT UE, BE Uc BO CI cas ccncenccasenssnnescssssnvecsoenees 7,18
Forness v. Cross Country Bank, Inc.,
No. 05-cv-417, 2006 WL 240535 (S.D.
es re er I iia ciedliciak cacaveiubseninsdibeisestieseenseves 14
Franchise Tax Board v. Construction
Laborers Vacation Trust for South-
ern California, 463 U.S. 1 (1988) ..... eee ee 5. 23, 24
Gavey Properties/762 v. First Financial
Savings & Loan Ass’n, 845 F.2d 519
ii sc uacadensatannonnienee 7,8, 15, 20
es Pe BRB ES | | ea z
Greenwood Trust Co. v. Massachusetts,
Eee eR OE get Ae AD 4 7,8, 15, 19
Gully v. First National Bank, 299 U.S.
a aie aial sauna cusses ibbbeon teeanionberian
Hill v. Chemical Bank, 799 F. Supp. 948
Os apuabab pencedanenbansinn 14
In re Community Bank of Northern Vir-
ginia, 418 F.3d 277 (8d Cir. 2005)....... 8, 10, 18, 14, 17
International Brotherhood of Electric
Workers v. Hechler, 481 U.S. 851
a a stcidinhvonuveviins 23
Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef,
ee hc I ooiterarsaecxiskdecdcenecssvecsscesesasvcces 17
Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107 (1994)..................... 23

Mamot Feed Lot & Trucking v. Hobson,
Bare FG CO CCE CAP, BUD) ccscccesscccsscconncsscoesecsess ..8, 15

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Marquette National Bank of Minneapo-
lis v. First of Omaha Service Corp.,
450 UB. SOP UG 1S) svcticrsstsrnensmmicmniioonmnnua 6,16

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith

Ine. VV. Treat, BET US AS. TY Ca oa cccccsasecccesscsccnsvnstios 1s
Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Tay-

BOP, GEL 1105. TS CED nko csccnnscacdscsecasessssnuseenseees i
Morales v. ily ns World Airlines, Inc.,

BOG USS. ES (IBGE) vccccccocscnscscensesss sca al uay panveeunean aan 14
Northcross v. Board of Education of

Memphis City Schools, 412 U.S. 427

CRF? cicavecosecessevassesanseriverssacsennbicsssmantbaeroneas usa 17
Oneida Indian Nation v. County of

Oneida, 434 U.S. G6i CIS 1S) cicistccctcrnsinnaunnanean 5
Partin v. Cableview, Inc., 948 F. Supp.

1046 (S.D. Ald, TBPG) csccsescoccsinsoneniicsietommeunsaaan 14
Phipps v. Federal Deposit Insurance

Corp., 417 F.3d 1006 (8th Cir. 2005)............. 10, 26, 27
Rivet v. Regions Bank of Loursiana, 522

UF BS, STO CAD) oicsccess ccsseosssecandoncnvars eeeueenuasaaaraia een 4
Rowe v. New Hampshire Motor Trans-

port Ass'n, 552 U.S. 364 (ZOOB) .......cccccosrsssoccsrcressccece 18
Saxton v. Capital One Bank, 392

F’. Supp. 2d 772 (S.D. Mine. BOB) cacacestsssesssccmsescoaans 14
Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 U.S.

400 (LOO) istsnanssiuvntniisimemeiae 10, 12, 18, 24, 26

Smith v. City of Jackson, 544 U.S. 228
CIO) svssniscictaretestststiautdnnemaee 17

lll em Ml Ll lil, ll, lll, Nt celal laste, etl. ti ee

LX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. |

| __ ESEESRSEHS syeres RI te Po ieee a a 17
Talbott v. Board of Commissioners, 139

a Lo sisdesbonnneneunbeds 16
Tiffany v. National Bank of Missouri, 85

Se ee EE, FUP BUDO TED dics dnticsccvnesentnccscccensceeacnses 6, 16
United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S.

a eo sncneaennesounnetuanss ¢

Venture Properties, Inc. v. First South
ern Bank, 79 F.3d 90 (8th Cir. 1996)................0000.22.15

STATUTES AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

ER Re oe ces emeaneneisieeuiine SANA passim
SIN kincaid aaah ean ste pieeddnebedbannsentbeiahetabansuneiens passim
y lL 163 I PPTTITITITITITITITITITITITITTITTTLITirieiTiiiirii iii 20
ee a ackduanenaaade 8%. 20
oar Sas ls caepenlib cana debanenanuetaines 14
SE i aasmeenedabake saaeeeal passim
28 U.S.C.
ER eco a eau uauianeaanenenensens Z
ii ooo ed aakineiaaiaeekeeuieusesement 5 9
ie seat ncasiianehene 3
ra ssauaiaissuaseussmeeeuesuabauiess 2
IE | sea huelinbeieatenebenaeusecs fi

42 U.S.C. § 2201

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Missouri Second Mortgage Loans Act,
Mo. Kev. Stat.
$$ 408.23 1-40%8.241
§ 408.232
§ 408.233

Depository Institutions Deregulation and
Monetary Control Act of 1980, Pub. L.

i passim

K:mployee Retirement. Income Security
Act of 1974, Pub. L. No. 93-406, 8&8 Stat.

Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery,
and E:inforcement Act of 1989, Pub. L.
No. 101-73, 103 Stat. 183

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947,
Pub. L. No. 80-101; 61 Stat. 136

National Bank Act of 1864, ch. 106, 13 Stat.

iil sisecdedenadiasnieniendanencusenieaesdandeliedadiadamdasiammesinesianneeh passim

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 96-842 (1980) .............. ec ceceeeseee seen ees 22
eC) _ RR regret nny OI mE Z1
125 Cong. Rec. 30,655 (1979)

126 Cong. Rec. 6,900 (1980) ....... ESO ENERO Rech ARE RE OTT Soe 9

126 Cong. Rec. 6,907 (1980) ...c.cecccsssesccsssssescsessssessstsesecee, 8

REGULATIONS
ER. § 7.4001

Xx]
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page(s)
OTHER AUTHORITIES

12 U.S.C. §1881d Preempts Contrary
State Common Law Restrictions On
Credit Card Loans, FDIC Advisory
Op. 93-27 (July 12, 1993), available at
http://www.fdic.gov/regulations/laws/
cr cccseie tice isasecssepccnnnion 9

grief of Amicus Curiae Federal Deposit
Insurance Corporation at the Request
of the Court, Discover Bank v. Vaden,
No. 06-1221 (4th Cir.), available at 2007
WL 551361

General Counsel’s Opinion No. 10: Inter-
est Charges Under Section 27 of the
Federal Deposit Insurance Act, 63
ed. Reg. 19,258 (Apr. 17, 1998) 25D

COREE eee htt

“Most Favored Lender” Doctrine Applies
T'o Insured State Banks, FDIC Advi-
sory Op. 81-3 (Feb. 3, 1981), avazlable
at http://www.fdic.gov/regulations/laws/
rules/4000-730. html

Whether Certain F'ees Levied By A Bank
In Connection With Home Equity
Loans Constitute Interest Under 12
U.S.C. 85 And 12 C.F.R. 7.40001(a),
OCC Interpretive Letter No. 803 (Oct.
7, 1997), available at 1998 WL 820183..................... 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the lintted States

No. 09-

US BANK NATIONAL ASS’N ND; US BANK NATIONAL
ASS’N; FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN TRUST 1996-2;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUSTS 1996-3, 1996-4,
1997-1, 1997-2, 1997-3, 1997-4, 1998-1, 1998-2, 1998-3,
1998-4, AND 1998-5; WILMINGTON TRUST Co.; GOLETA
NATIONAL BANK; RESIDENTIAL FUNDING Co., LLC;
SOVEREIGN BANK; HSBC FINANCIAL CORP., F/K/A
HOUSEHOLD FINANCIAL CORP.,

Petitioners,

DEANTHONY THOMAS, SUSAN JELINKE-
THOMAS, STEVEN M. RICH,

Responden fs.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

US Bank National Association ND; US Bank Na
tional Association; FirstPluas Home Loan Trust 1996-2;
FirstPlus Home Loan Owner Trusts 1996-3, 1996-4,
1997-1, 1997-2, 1997-3, 1997-4, 1998-1, 1998-2, 1998-3,
19984, and 1998-5; Wilmington Trust Company; Goleta
National Bank; Residential Funding Company, LLC;

2

Sovereign Bank; and HSBC Financial Corporation re-
spectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. la-13a) Is
reported at 575 F.3d 794. The district court’s order de-
nying respondents’ motion to remand the case to state
court (App. 15a-17a) is unreported, as are its orders
granting petitioners’ motion to dismiss the complaint
(App. 19a-20a) and denying reconsideration of the dis-
missal (App. 21la-22a).

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on August 7, 2009. A timely petition for rehearing en
bane was denied on November 24, 2009. See App. 23a.

On February 16, 2010, Justice Alito extended the time
within which to file a petition for a writ of certiorari to
and including March 24, 2010. See Appl. No. 09A746.
This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1), and is unaffected by 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) be-
cause petitioners seek review not of a remand order by
a district court but of the judgment of the court of ap
peals, see, e.g., Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co. v. Flowers, 330
U.S. 464, 466-467 (1947) (citing Gay v. Ruff, 292 U.S. 25
(1934)).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 30 of the National Bank Act of 1864 (codi-
fied at 12 U.S.C. §§ 85-86) and section 521 of the De
pository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Con-
trol Act of 1980 (codified at 12 U.S.C. § 1831d) are set
forth in the Appendix (at 25a-27a).

3
STATEMENT

In this case, a California state bank charged fees to
Missouri residents for the origination of second-
mortgage loans. Although the fees were permissible
under California law, the borrowers brought a putative
class action in Missouri state court on the ground that
the fees violated Missouri law. Had the bank been a
national bank, the National Bank Act would have au
thorized it to charge the fees in question and permitted
removal of the case to federal court. The issue here is
whether the twin provision of federai iaw that applies
to state banks, a provision Congress adopted as part of
the Depository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary
Control Act of 1980, similarly allowed the state bank to
charge the fees and authorized removal of the lawsuit
to federal court.

1. With exceptions not relevant here, federal law
permits a defendant who has been sued in state court to

remove the case to federal district court if the case
properly could have been brought in federal court in
the first place, i.e., if the district court has original ju-
risdiction over any of the claims. See 28 U.S.C. § 1441.
One category of cases over which federal district courts
have original jurisdiction, and that thus can be removed
from state court, 1s “all civil actions arising under the
Constitution, laws, or treaties of the United States.”
Id. § 133

Whether a lawsuit arises under federal law (and is
therefore removable) is normally determined using the
“well-pleaded complaint” rule, under which a court con-
siders only the claims properly pleaded in the com-
plaint. See, e.g., Aetna Health Inc. v. Davila, 542 US.
200, 207 (2004); Gully v. First Nat'l Bank, 299 U.S. 109,
113 (1936). “The rule makes the plaintiff the master of

4

the claim; he or she may avoid federal jurisdiction by
exclusive reliance on state law.” Caterpillar Inc. v.

Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 392 (1987).

One exception to the well-pleaded complaint rule is
the doctrine of “complete preemption,” which applies
“when a federal statute wholly displaces [a] state-law
eause of action.” Beneficial Nat'l Bank v. Anderson,
539 U.S. 1, 8 (2003). In that circumstance, federal law
does not merely provide a defense to a state-law claim;
rather, the claim is deemed to arise under federal law
and therefore may be removed to federal court (when
originally filed in state court). See id. “This is so be-
cause ‘[wJhen the federal statute completely pre-empts
the state-law cause of action, a claim that comes within
the scope of that cause of action, even if pleaded in
terms of state law, is in reality based on federal law.’”
Aetna Health, 542 U.S. at 207-208 (alteration in origi-
nal) (quoting Anderson, 539 U.S. at 8).'

Congress may expressly provide for complete pre-
emption. See El Paso Natural Gas Co. v. Neztsosie,
526 U.S. 473, 484 (1999) (explaining that 42 U.S.C.
§ 2201(n)(2) explicitly “transforms into a federal action
‘any public hability action arising out of ... a nuclear in-
cident,’” by “provid[ing] for removal to a federal court
as of right if a putative [such} action is brought in a
state court” (quoting the statute)). Express legislative
direction is not required, however; this Court has thus
far identified three instances in which a federal law
completely preempts certain state-law claims despite

Complete preemption flows from an “independent corollary”
to the well-pleaded complaint rule, namely that “a plaintiff may not
defeat removal by omitting to plead necessary federal questions.”
Rivet v. Regions Ba nk of La., 522 U.S. 470, 475 (1998).

the absence of statutory language explicitly command-
ing that result.

First, in Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 785, 390
U.S. 557 (1968), the Court held that section 301 of the
Labor Management Kelations Act of 1947 (LMRA),
Pub. L. No. 80-101, 61 Stat. 186, completely preempted
a state-law claim to enforce a no-strike clause in a col-
lective bargaining agreement. See 390 U.S. at 559-560;
see also Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers
Vacation Trust for S. Cal., 463 U.S. 1, 23 (1983) (“The
necessary ground of decision [in Avco] was that the
pre-emptive force of § 301 is so powerful as to displace
entirely any state cause of action ‘for violation of con-
tracts between an employer and a labor organization.’”’
(quoting § 301)). Second, in Metropolitan Life Insur-
ance Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58 (1987), the Court held
that section 502(a) of the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), Pub. L. No. 93-406, 88
Stat. 829, completely preempted a state-law claim
charging improper processing of benefits under an ER-
ISA plan. See 481 U.S. at 64-67. Third—and of particu-
lar relevance to this case—in Beneficial National Bank
v. Anderson, the Court held that the National Bank Act
of 1864 (NBA), ch. 106, 13 Stat. 99, completely pre-
empted state-law usury claims against national banks,
i.e., federally chartered, federally insured banks. See
539 U.S. at 9-11.’

~ The Court has also held that state-law claims seeking eject

ment based on Native American title are completely preempted.
See Oneida Indian Nation v. County of Oneida, 414 U.S. 661, 677-
678 (1974), cited n Catermillar, 482 U.S. at 393 n.8. This holding
was based not on a statute but on “the special historical relation
ship between Indian tribes and the Federal Government.” Ander
som, 539 U.S. at 8 n.4.

~

8)

The provision of the NBA at issue in Anderson was
section 30, now codified at 12 U.S.C. §§ 85-86. Section
85 “sets forth the substantive limits on the rates of in-
terest that national banks may charge,” while § 86 “sets
forth the elements of a usury claim against a national
bank ... and prescribes the remedies available to bor-
rowers who are charged higher rates.” Anderson, 539
U.S. at 9. Under § 85, a national bank may charge—on
a loan issued to a borrower anywhere in the country—
up to the higher of two interest rates: 1) the maximum
rate permitted for any lender by the law of the bank’s
home state (or 7 percent if no rate is provided by that
law), and 2) one percent above the discount rate on 90-
day commercial paper in effect at the Federal Reserve
Bank in the national bank’s home district. See 12
U.S.C. § 85; see also 12 C.F.R. § 7.4001(b) (“A national
bank located in a state may charge interest at the
maximum rate permitted to any ... lending institution
by the law of that state.”); Marquette Nat’l Bank of
Minneapolis v. First of Omaha Serv. Corp., 489 U.S.
299 (1978) (national banks may “export” their home-
state interest rates, applying them to loans made to
out-of-state borrowers).

In finding complete preemption under the NBA,
this Court clarified that the “dispositive question” for
complete-preemption analysis 1s whether Congress in-
tended a federal cause of action to be exclusive. Ander-
son, 5389 U.S. at 9; see also id. at 9 n.5 (“[T]he proper

National banks’ authority to charge the highest rate allowed
for any lender by the law of their home states is commonly re
ferred to as “most favored lender” status. See, e.g., Marquette, 439
U.S. at 314 & n.26 (citing Tiffany v. National Bank of Mo., 85 US.
(18 Wail.) 409, 413 (1874)).

i

inquiry focuses on whether Congress intended the fed-
eral cause of action to be exclusive.”). As to the NBA,
the Court found that question answered by decisions,
stretching back over a century, that had deemed the
cause of action in § 86 to be exclusive. See zd. at. 10 (cit-
ing, among others, Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Nat'l Bank
v. Dearing, 91 U.S. 29, 32-33 (1875); Evans v. National
Bank of Savannah, 251 U.S. 108, 114 (1919)).

2. In the late 1970s, interest rates soared to record
levels. See, e.g., United States v. Winstar Corp., 518
U.S. 839, 845 (1996) (piurality opinion); 28 U.S.C. § 1961
note (showing changes in the 52-week T-bill rate
through the period). The high rates gave national
banks a competitive advantage over their state-
chartered counterparts, because “state lending institu-
tions were constrained in the interest they could charge
by state usury laws.” Greenwood Trust Co. v. Massa
chusetts, 971 F.2d 818, 826 (1st Cir. 1992) (citing Gavey
Props./762 v. First Fin. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 845 F.2d
519, 521 (5th Cir. 1988)). “National banks did not share
this inhibition because they could charge whatever in-
terest rates were allowed under ... [National] Bank Act
§ 85.” Greenwood Trust, 971 F.2d at 826.

Congress sought to rectify this inequality in 1980
when it enacted the Depository Institutions Deregula-
tion and Monetary Control Act (DIDA), Pub. L. No. 96-
221, 94 Stat. 132. Section 521 of DIDA—the opening
clause of which confirms Congress’s intent “to prevent
discrimination against State-chartered insured deposi-
tory institutions ... with respect to interest rates,” 12
U.S.C. § 1831d(a}—amended the Federal Deposit In-
surance Act so as to establish limits on the interest fed-
erally insured state banks may charge, and to provide a
federal cause of action against banks that ignore those
limits. See 94 Stat. at 164-165 (codified at 12 U.S.C.

8

§ 1831d). Under § 1831d(a), which explicitly preempts
contrary state laws, state banks may charge up to the
nigher of two interest rates: 1) the maximum rate
permitted for any lender by the law of the bank’s home
state, and 2) one percent above the discount rate on 90-
day commercial paper in effect at the Federal Reserve
Bank in the state bank’s home district. See 12 U.S.C.
§ 1831ld(a); see also “Most Favored Lender” Doctrine
Applies To Insured State Banks, FDIC Advisory Op.
81-3 (Feb. 3, 1981), available at http://www.fdic.gov/
regulations/laws/rules/4000-730.html.*

As several circuits have recognized (including the
Kighth Circuit), the language of § 1831d is “substan-
tially identical” to that of 12 U.S.C. $$ 85-86, the NBA
provisions underlying this Court’s’ complete-
preemption decision in Anderson. Liscover Bank vy.
Vaden, 489 F.3d 594, 605 n.14 (4th Cir. 2007), rev’d on
other grounds, 129 8. Ct. 1262 (2009); accord, e.g., Ma-
mot Feed Lot & Trucking v. Hobson, 539 F.8d 898, 903
n.4 (8th Cir. 2008); In re Community Bank of N. Va.,
418 F.3d 277, 295 (3d Cir. 2005); Gave Yy Props., 845 F.2d
at 521. “The parallelism was not mere happenstance.
To the exact contrary, Congress made a conscious
choice to incorporate the [National] Bank Act standard
into DIDA.” Greenwood Trust, 971 F.2d at 827 (citing
126 Cong. Rec. 6,907 (1980) (statement of Sen. Bump-
ers); 125 Cong. Ree. 30,655 (1979) (statement of Sen.
Pryor)). In fact, “Congress transplanted verbatim in
section 521 [of DIDA] substantive language from sec
tion 85 ... with the explicit purpose of providing state-

4 , , .
DIDA gave States the right to opt out of the preemption ef
fected by § 183ld. See DIDA § 525, 94 Stat. at 167 (codified at 12

U.S.C. 8§ 1730g¢ note (repealed), 1785 note, 1831d note).

9

chartered banks with authority identical to that en-
joyed by national banks under section 85.” 12 U.S.C.
§ {831d Preempts Contrary State Common Law RFe-
strictions On Credit Card Loans, FDIC Advisory Op.
93-27 (July 12, 1993), available at http://www.fdic.gov/
regulations/laws/rules/4000-8160.html; see also 126
Cong. Rec. 6,900 (1980) (statement of Sen. Proxmire)
(Under DIDA, “State chartered depository institutions
are given the benefits of 12 U.S.C. § 85.”).

3. Respondents are Missouri homeowners who ob
Luined second-mortgage loans from FirstPius Bank, a
California-chartered, federally insured bank that has
since gone bankrupt. App. 2a-8a. Petitioners are enti-
ties that subsequently purchased or assumed some of
respondents’ and/or other FirstPlus loans. App. 8a. In
2004, respondents filed a putative class action against
petitioners in Missouri state court, alleging that
FirstPlus charged them fees, in connection with the

origination of their loans, that violated the Missouri

Second Mortgaye Loans Act (MSMLA), Mo. Rev. Stat.
§§ 408.231-408.241. App. 3a. More specifically, respon
dents’ state-court petition (the Missouri equivalent of a
complaint) alleged (jj 67) that the Thomas respondents
were charged, among other fees, “a 10% origination

fee” that Missouri law did not permit. Among other
remedies, respondents sought “the return of all interest
charged ... on any of these Second Mortgage Loans.”
Id. at 49 (Prayer for Relief).

Petitioners removed the case to federal court on
the ground that DIDA completely preempted respon
dents’ claims and hence they arose under federal law,
giving the district court original jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1331. See App. 4a. Petitioners “relied primar
ily upon this] ... Court’s decision in Beneficial Na
tional Bank v. Anderson, ... allegling that] the similar

10

ity in language between DIDA and the NBA compelled
the conclusion that DIDA, like the NBA, created the
exclusive federal remedy for usury claims against fed-
erally-insured, state-chartered banks.” Jd.

Following removal, respondents filed an amended
petition that reiterated the allegation regarding the
origination fee paid by the Thomas respondents and
further alleged (4 72) that respondent Rich was ille-
gally charged “an 8.5% origination fee.” Respondents
also moved for a remand to state court, asserting that
DIDA did not completely preempt their claims, in part
because the claims were based not on the periodic in-
terest rates they were charged but on the ongination
fees and certain other fees imposed in connection with
the loans. App. 4a, 15a, 16a.

The district court denied respondents’ motion to
remand, agreeing with petitioners that DIDA ‘“‘com-
pletely preempts any state law attempting to limit the
amount of interest and fees a federally insured-state
chartered bank can charge.’” App. 16a (quoting /7 re
Community Bank, 418 F.8d at 295). The court specifi-
cally rejected respondents’ attempt to distinguish pen
odie interest rates from loan fees, relying on a then-
recent Eighth Circuit decision, Phipps v. F’DIC, 417
3d 1006 (8th Cir. 2005), that had held such a distinc-
tion untenable. See App. 16a. The Phipps court, in
turn, had based its holding on: 1) a regulation issued by
the Comptroller of the Currency that broadly construes
the term “interest” under the NBA to encompass nu
merous types of fees, see 12 C.F.R. § 7.4001(a); and 2)
Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 U.S. 735 (1996), in
which this Court deferred to that broad definition,
deeming it reasonable and thus entitled to deference,
see id. at 740-745; Phipps, 417 F.3d at 1011-1012.

11

After concluding that it had jurisdiction by virtue
of complete preemption, the district court granted peti-
tioners’ motion to dismiss the complaint on substantive
preemption grounds. See App. 19a-20a. Respondents
moved for reconsideration but the district court de-
clined to reconsider, noting that since its order denying
remand, a second court of appeals had concluded that
DIDA completely preempts state-law usury claims
against federally insured state banks. See App. 22a
(citing Discover Bank, 489 F.3d 594),

4. The Eighth Cireuit reversed. See App. la-l3a
In its view, “the language of DIDA, unlike the NBA,
does not reflect Congress’ intent to provide the exclu
sive cause of action for a usury claim against a feder
ally-insured state-chartered bank.” App. 6a. In par
ticular, the court observed that both the substantive
and remedial provisions in § 1831d indicate that they
apply only “if the applicable rate prescribed in
[§ 18831d(a)] exceeds the rate [a] State bank ... would be
permitted to charge in the absence of” that subsection
12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a), (b), quoted in App. 7a. According
to the court of appeals, this language “clearly indicates
the limited nature of the federal statute’s preemption of
state law.” App. 8a. Such a “limited nature,” the court
reasoned, precluded the conclusion that Congress in
tended the cause of action in § 183]d(b) to be exclusive.

i.e., precluded the conclusion that any state-law claims
were completely preempted. See App. 10a-1 1a.

The court of appeals acknowledged that “other fed
eral courts have interpreted the language in § 183l1d
differently.” App. lla (citing Discover Bank, 489 F.3d
594). The court contended, however, that these courts
had failed to consider “the unabridged language of the
statute.” App. 12a. The court did not address how its
own conclusion could be squared with Congress’s in

12
tent—revealed both in “the unabridged language of the
statute” and in the legislative history—to put national
and state banks on an equal footing “with respect to in
terest rates,” 12 U.S.C. § 183l1d(a).

The Eighth Circuit also ruled that by its terms
§ 1831d does not apply in this case because the maxi
mum periodic percentage interest rate that Missouri
law allowed for each of the loans at issue was either
20.04% or unlimited (depending on the timing of the
particular loan), “well in excess of the rate allowed by
DIDA.” App. 10a (citing Mo. Rev. Stat. § 408.232(1))
The court did not explain this conclusion, and in par
ticular never stated what “the rate allowed by DIDA”
was. More importantly, although respondents had, a
noted, argued that their claims were based on loan fees
rather than periodic interest rates, the Eighth Circuit
did not—as required by this Court’s holding in Smiley
that “interest” for these purposes includes various loan
fees—compare the fees that Missouri law permitted on
the loans at issue with the fees allowed under DIDA,
i.e., the fees allowed by the law of California, FirstPlus
Bank’s home state.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Eighth Circuit’s decision creates an acknowl
edged conflict in the circuits on whether section 521 of
DIDA, 12 U.S.C. § 1881d, completely preempts state
law usury claims against state-chartered, federally in
sured banks. That question is important and recurring,
and given the integrated banking system that prevails
nationwide it is one on which a uniform answer is es-
sential. Moreover, the Eighth Circuit’s answer to the
question is wrong. This Court’s review is therefore
warranted. Keview is also warranted of the second

question presented, because the court of appeals’ ruling

13

that DIDA does not apply here conflicts with Smiley v.
Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 US. 735 (1996). There, this
Court held—deferring to the Comptroller of the Cur
renecy’s statutory interpretation—that many loan fees
constitute “interest” under 12 U.S.C. § 85. See 517 USS.
at 740, 744-745. Yet here the Eighth Circuit ignored
fees, looking only to penodic percentage interest rates
in concluding that the “interest” allowed on the loans to
respondents was greater under Missouri law than un
der DIDA

THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT’S COMPLETE-PREEMPTION
HOLDING IS WRONG AND CREATES A CIRCUIT CON
FLICT ON AN IMPORTANT AND RECURRING QUESTION
OF FEDERAL LAW

A The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions
Of The Third And Fourth Circuits

(he court of appeals held here that section 521 of
DIDA, 12 U.S.C. § 1881d, does not completely preempt
state-law usury claims against federally insured state
banks. See App. 10a-lla. As the court itself recog
nized, “other federal courts have interpreted the lan
guage in § 1831d differently.” App. lla. Specifically, in
In re Community Bank of Northern Virginia, 418 F.3d
277 (8d Cir. 2005), the Third Circuit held that “§ 521 of

DIDA completely preempts any state law attempting

to limit the amount of interest and fees a federally in
sured-state chartered bank can charge,” id. at 295
(footnote omitted). The Fourth Circuit later reached
the same conclusion. See Discover Bank v. Vaden, 489
k'.3d 594, 605-606 (4th Cir. 2007), rev'd on other
grounds, 129 S. Ct. 1262 (2009). And the Ninth Circuit
has suggested that it too shares this view, though with
out actually deciding the issue. See Cross-Country
Bank v. Klassman, 74 F. App’x 796, 797 (9th Cir. 2003)

14

(“|1)t appears that the rationale of the Supreme Court’s
decision in Anderson would extend to usury claims
against state chartered, federally insured banks.”).°

In finding complete preemption under DIDA, the
Third and Fourth Circuits both invoked this Court’s
holding that section 380 of the National Bank Act, 12
U.S.C. §§ 85-86, completely preempts state-law usury
claims against national banks. See Beneficial Nat'l
Bank v. Anderson, 539 U.S. 1, 9-11 (2008), cited on In re
Community Bank, 418 F.3d at 294-295, and Discover
Bank, 489 F.3d at 604-605. Each circuit then noted that
Congress drew the relevant language in DIDA from
that section of the NBA, and each circuit thus applied
the principle, repeatedly enunciated by this Court, that
“Iwlhen Congress borrows language from one statute
and incorporates it in another statute, the language of
the two acts ordinarily should be interpreted the same
way.” In re Community Bank, 418 F.3d at 295-296 (cit-
ing, among others, Morales v. Trans World Airlines,
Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 3838-384 (1992)), quoted in Discover
Bank, 489 F.3d at 605. The Fourth Circuit also drew
support for its holding from an amicus brief filed with
the court by the FDIC—the agency that regulates fed
erally insured state banks, see 12 U.S.C. § 1813(q)(8)--a
brief that argued for complete preemption on the
strength of Anderson after noting that “[t]he agency
has ‘uniformly construed Section 1831d in pari materia

District courts have likewise divided on the issue Compare,
e.4., Forness v. Cross Country Bank, Inc., No. 05-ev-417, 2006 WL
PANHDSS, at *3 (S.D. Ill. Jan. 13, 2006), and Hill v. Chemical Bank,
709 F. Supp. 948, 951 (I). Minn. 1992) (each finding complete pre
emption), with Saxton v. Capital One Bank, 392 F.Supp. 2d 772,
784 (S.D. Miss. 2005), and Partin v. Cableview, Inc., 948 F. Supp
1046, 1049 & n.4 (S.D. Ala. 1996) (each holding the opposite)

15

with Sections 85 and &6.’” Discover Bank, 489 F.3d at
606 (quoting Brief of Amicus Curiae Federal Deposit
insurance Corporation at the Request of the Court, at
10, Discover Bank (No. 06-1221), available at 2007 WL
551361 (hereafter FDIC Amicus Br.)).

In addition to directly conflicting with these other
eircuit decisions, the Eighth Circuit’s interpretation of
DIDA is in tension with decisions of two other circuits
(and with several of its own prior cases) likewise recog-
nizing, in other contexts, that 12 U.S.C. § 1831d should
be construed identically with §§ 85-86 because it was
patterned after those sections and intended to have the
same meaning. See Greenwood Trust Co. v. Massachu-
setts, 971 F.2d 818, 827 (Ist Cir. 1992) (“The historical
record clearly requires a court to read the parallel pro-
visions of DIDA and the [National] Bank Act 2m pari
materia.”); Gavey Props./762 v. first Fin. Sav. & Loan
Ass’n, 845 F.2d 519, 521 (5th Cir. 1988) (identical inter-
pretation of the two statutes “virtually compelled”
“(gliven the similarity of language’); Mamot Feed Lot
& Trucking v. Hobson, 539 F.3d 898, 903 n.4 (8th Cir.
2008) (“Courts construe the parallel provisions of § 85
and § 1831d similarly, as §1831d was modeled after
§ 85.”); Venture Props., Inc. v. First S. Bank, 79 F.3d
90, 91 (8th Cir. 1996) (citing Greenwood Trust for the
proposition that “12 U.S.C. § 1831d parallels 12 U.S.C.
§ 85 and should be interpreted the same way’). Had
che court of appeals adopted the same approach here—
an approach that this Court’s decisions direct, see supra
p.14; infra pp.17-18—it necessarily would have reached
the opposite conclusion regarding complete preemp-
tion, given this Court’s holding that section 30 of the
NBA completely preempts state-law usury claims
against national banks, see Anderson, 539 U.S. at 9-11.

16

B. The Question Presented Is Recurring And
Important

This Court’s resolution of the circuit conflict cre-
ated by the Eighth Circuit’s decision is warranted. The
divisions at both the circuit and district court levels, see
supra pp.13-14 & n.5, demonstrate that the question
presented is a recurring one. And prompt resolution of
that question is important—just as it was with the
analogous question under the NBA, which this Court
took up as soon as a circuit conflict developed, see
Anderson, 539 U.S. at 5-6 (noting that the court of ap-
peals decision in that case conflicted with the holding of
one other circuit).

A definitive answer to the question presented is
needed because the disuniformity and uncertainty cre-
ated by the circuit conflict are inimical to state banks,
and to the secondary markets in which state banks may
sell loans after origination. As this Court has observed,

“(ulniform rules limiting the liability of national banks
and prescribing exclusive remedies for their over-
charges are an integral part of a banking system that
need|s] protection from ‘possible unfriendly State legis-
lation.’”” Anderson, 539 U.S. at 10 (quoting Tiffany v.
National Bank of Mo., 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) 409, 412
(1874)); see also Talbott v. Board of Comm ’rs, 139 U.S.
438, 443 (1891) (federal law evinces “an intent to create
a national banking system co-extensive with the terri-
torial limits of the United States, and with uniform op-
eration within those limits”); Marquette Nat’l Bank of
Minneapolis v. First of Omaha Serv. Corp., 4389 U.S.
299, 314-316 (1978) (similar). Federally insured state
banks are no less a part of that integrated nationwide
banking system than national banks; hence, the impor-
tance of uniformity regarding their liability is just as
great. Likewise, state banks, particularly when en-

17

gaged in interstate lending, also need protection from
“possible unfriendly State legislation.” Indeed, Con-
gress’s purpose in adopting § 1831d was to ensure that
state banks did not suffer a competitive disadvantage
because of provisions of state law from which Congress
had already shielded national banks. See supra pp.7-8.
Finally, because many loans are between banks and
borrowers located in different States, disuniformity in
the law can “encourage and reward forum shopping.”
Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1, 15 (1984).°

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Holding Is Wrong

The court of appeals erred in concluding that
§ 1831d does not completely preempt state-law usury
claims against federally insured state hanks. This
Court has repeatedly made clear that similar language
in different statutes should be given the same meaning.
See, e.g., Northcross v. Board of Educ. of Memphis City
Sch., 412 U.S. 427, 428 (1973) (per curiam) (“The simi-
larity of language in [two statutes] is, of course, a
strong indication that the two statutes should be inter-
preted pari passu.’’), cited in Smith v. City of Jackson,
544 U.S. 228, 233 (2005); see also In re Community
Bank, 418 F.3d at 296 (citing several decisions from this
Court). That principle is relevant here because Con-

® The need for uniformity also underlay this Court’s finding of
complete preemption in the labor-management and ERISA con-
texts. See Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 210 (1985)
(“{[Tthe subject matter of [LMRA] § 301(a) is peculiarly one that
calls for uniform law.” (first alteration in original) (internal quota-
tion marks omitted)); Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486
U.S. 399, 404 (1988) (similar); Aetna Health Inc. v. Davila, 542
U.S. 200, 208 (2004) (“The purpose of ERISA is to provide a uni-
form regulatory regime over employee benefit plans.”).

18

gress consciously drew the text of § 1831d from section
30 of the National Bank Act, 12 U.S.C. §§ 85-86. See
supra pp.8-9. And this Court held in Anderson that
those provisions of the NBA completely preempt state-
law usury claims against national banks. See 539 U.S.
at 9-11. The parallel language in § 183ld should thus
likewise be construed to completely preempt state-law
usury claims.

Indeed, the argument for complete preemption is
even stronger here than it was in Anderson, because of
a second rule of statutory interpretation. That rule
states that Congress’s inclusion of pre-existing lan-
guage in a statute is presumed to incorporate any set-
tled judicial construction of that language. See, e¢.g.,
Rowe v. New Hampshire Motor Transp. Ass’n, 552
U.S. 364, 370 (2008) (citing Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fen-
mer & Smith Inc. v. Dabit, 547 U.S. 71, 85 (2006)); Brag-
don v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 644-645 (1998). Thus,
whereas the canon just discussed directs courts to con-
strue two statutes in parallel but does not indicate what
the proper construction is, this canon directs courts to
embrace a specific construction—namely the one that
Congress, at least implicitly, has endorsed. And by the
time of DIDA’s passage in 1980, it had been settled for
decades that the language in section 30 of the NBA (12
U.S.C. §§ 85-86) reveals a congressional intent to create
an exclusive cause of action for usury claims against na-
tional banks. See Anderson, 539 U.S. at 10 (citing,
among others, Farmers’ & Mechanics’ Nat'l Bank v.
Dearing, 91 U.S. 29, 32-33 (1875); Evans v. National
Bank of Savannah, 251 U.S. 108, 114 (1919)). Con-
gress’s application of essentially the same language to
state banks in § 183ld compels the conclusion that it
intended the cause of action in that section to be exclu-

19

sive as well. That congressional intent is “dispositive”
as to complete preemption. Anderson, 539 U.S. at 9.

The Eighth Circuit reached the opposite conclusion
on the ground that both the substantive and remedial
provisions in § 1831d include the phrase “if the applica-
ble rate prescribed in [§ 1831d(a)] exceeds the rate [a]
State bank ... would be permitted to charge in the ab-
sence of’ that subsection. 12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a), (b); see
App. 7a-9a. In the court’s view, this phrase indicates
Congress’s desire to limit the reach of the cause of ac-
tion in § 1831d(b), thus precluding a finding of complete
preemption. See App. 10a-lla. That reasoning is
flawed; the “niggling variation[{]” between the two
statutes identified by the court of appeals, Greenwood
Trust, 971 F.2d at 827 n.7, does not justify its disregard
of their overall “striking” similarity, id. at 826 n.7.

The relevant portions of both DIDA and the NBA
serve the same purpose: to shield federally insured
state and national banks, respectively, from the limits

imposed by state usury laws. Each statute, moreover,
accomplishes that goal in the same way: by giving
banks the authority to charge a federally prescribed
rate, namely (in both statutes) the higher of “the rate
allowed by the laws of the State ... where the bank is
located” and “1 per centum in excess of the discount
rate on ninety-day commercial paper in effect at the
Federal Reserve bank in the Federal Reserve district
where” the bank is located. 12 U.S.C. §§ 85, 1831d(a).
And each statute creates a federal cause of action, with
the same limitations period and the same prescribed
damages, against banks that exceed that federally au-
thorized maximum. See id. §§ 86, 1831d(b). The “if?”
clause on which the Eighth Circuit focused is insignifi-
cant: It merely recognizes that if the DIDA rate is no
higher than what state law authorizes, the protection

20

the statute grants is unnecessary, as the bank can sim-
ply charge the state rates. See Gavey Props., 845 F.2d
at 522 (rejecting an argument like the Eighth Circuit’s
on the ground that the “conditional clause ... can be
seen as simply providing a more exacting formulation
than § 85 of Congress’s intent to aid federally insured
financial institutions”).’

There is additional evidence, moreover, that Con-
gress, unlike the Eighth Circuit, sees no substantive
difference between the language in §§ 85-86 and the
language in § 1831d. DIDA included two other provi-
sions virtually identical to section 521 (i.e., § 1831d), the
first of which applied to federally insured savings and
loan associations (seetion 522) and the second of which
applied to insured credit unions (section 523). Like sec-
tion 521, both of these other sections included the “if”
clauses on which the Eighth Circuit placed dispositive
weight here. See DIDA § 522, 94 Stat. at 165 (codified
until 1989 at 12 U.S.C. § 1730g); id. § 523, 94 Stat. at 166
(codified at 12 U.S.C. § 1785(¢)). In 1989, Congress re-
pealed the statutory section containing the savings and
loan provision, and re-enacted that provision else-
where. See Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery,
and Enforcement Act § 407, Pub. L. No. 101-73, 103
Stat. 183, 363 (repealing § 1730g); 7d. § 301, 103 Stat. at
277, 282 (re-enacting the language). The re-enacted
section omits the “if’ clause from the substantive pro-
vision, instead using the phrasing in the NBA, i.e., in 12
U.S.C. § 85. See 12 U.S.C. § 1463(g)(1). The language

: Gavey Properties involved section 522 of DIDA, which, as
discussed immediately below, applied to federally insured savings
and loan associations but used the same language as section 521.
See 94 Stat. at 165 (codified until 1989 as 12 U.S.C. § 1730g).

21

of the re-enacted remedial provision is also closer to its
NBA counterpart than the original version. Yet the
legislative history of FIRREA states explicitly that the
re-enactment was not intended to effect a substantive
change. See H.R. Rep. No. 101-54, at 343 (1989) (“The
effect of this section is to preserve the current preemp-
tion of state usury laws.”). Congress thus evidently
does not view the inclusion or omission of the “if” clause
on which the Eighth Circuit focused as altering the ex-
tent to which state usury laws are preempted.

Further confirming the infirmity of the Eighth Cir-
cuit’s interpretation is the fact that that interpretation
fails to give effect to Congress’s manifest. purpose in
adopting DIDA. See Discover Bank, 489 F.3d at 604
(construing DIDA in light of “the purpose underlying
fits] enactment”). See generally, e.g., Dolan v. U.S.
Postal Serv., 546 U.S. 481, 486 (2006) (statutory inter-
pretation includes “considering the purpose and con-
text of the statute’). As the statutory text states—in
language the Eighth Circuit never discussed
Congress passed section 521 “to prevent discrimination
against State-chartered insured depository institutions

. with respect to interest rates.” 12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a).
Congress’s explicit objective, in other words, was to
provide federally insured state banks with the same
privileges and protections, in terms of interest rates
and usury laws, enjoyed by national banks. See FDIC
Amicus Br. 10 (“Congress patterned Section 1831d af-
ter Sections 85 and 86, used similar language in both
statutes, provided comparable remedies, and expressed
its intent to provide state banks parity with national
banks.”). The legislative history confirms this intent.
See supra pp.8-9; cf. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Tay-
lor, 481 U.S. 58, 65-66 (1987) (relying on the legislative
history of ERISA section 502 in holding that that sec-

22

tion completely preempts state-law claims). In fact, the
conference report accompanying DIDA directly con-
tradicts the Fighth Circuit’s view that DIDA’s preemp-
tive effect is more limited than the NBA’s, stating that
“(s]tate usury ceilings on all loans made by Federally
insured depository institutions ... will be permanently
preempted.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 96-842, at 78 (1980)
reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N. 298, 308. Recognizing
that the cause of action for usury is necessarily federal,
and therefore removable, is a critical part of the protec-
tion that Congress sought to provide, just as it was
with national banks and the NBA. The Eighth Circuit’s
decision here wrongly denies that protection to feder-
ally insured state banks.*

Finally, even if the Eighth Circuit’s reading of the
statutory language were correct, the court’s conclusion
that DIDA does not completely preempt any state-law
claims would not follow. The court’s interpretation was
that “the remedy set forth in § 1831d(b) only applies in
limited circumstances.” App. 10a. But that does not
warrant a holding that the remedy is not exclusive in
those “limited circumstances,” i.e., when it does apply.
As this Court has repeatedly explained, complete pre-
emption means that putative state-law claims are actu-
ally federal claims if they fall within the scope of an ex-
clusive federal cause of action—whatever that scope
may be. See Anderson, 539 U.S. at 8 (“When the fed-
eral statute completely pre-empts the state-law cause

* The court of appeals also saw great significance in the fact
that § 1831d(a) states that it preempts state law “for the purposes
of this section.” See App. 7a-8a. It is unclear, however, how this
language substantively distinguishes DIDA from the NBA, and
specifically what additional “purposes” the Eighth Circuit thought
could be served by the complete preemption effected by the NBA.

23
of action, a claim which comes within the scope of that
cause of action ... is in reality based on federal law.”);
Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers Vacation
Trust for S. Cal., 463 U.S. 1, 24 (1983) (similar). The
Eighth Circuit’s view that the scope of § 1831d(b) is
narrower than petitioners contend (and other courts
have found) simply does not lead to, or in any way sup-
port, the conclusion that even claims falling within that
narrower scope avoid being completely preempted.
What Congress intended a federal cause of action’s
scope to be, and whether it intended that cause of ac-
tion to be exclusive, are two distinct inquiries.

The court of appeals’ flawed analysis appears to
have been driven by the assumption that complete pre
emption could be found only if Congress intended
§ 1831d to preclude all state-law usury claims. But that
assumption is unwarranted (although, as explained, the
language and history of DIDA establish that Congress
did so intend). Again, the question is simply whether

Congress intended a cause of action to be exclusive of
state-law claims falling within its scope. Indeed, if the
Eighth Circuit’s reasoning were sound, then this Court
should not have (unanimously) found complete preemp-
tion in Avco Corp. v. Aero Lodge No. 735, 390 U.S. 557
(1968), beeause section 301 of the LMRA does not com-
pletely preempt all state-law claims between unions
and employers, but only “claims founded directly on
rights created by collective-bargaining agreements,
and also claims ‘substantially dependent on analysis of a
collective-bargaining agreement.’” Caterpillar Inc. v.
Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 394 (1987) (quoting Interna-
tional Bhd. of Elec. Workers v. Hechler, 481 U.S. 851,
859 n.3 (1987)); see also Caterpillar, 482 U.S. at 396 n.10
(similar); Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107, 122 n.16
(1994). Likewise, under the Eighth Circuit’s analysis

24

this Court’s unanimous decision in Metropolitan Life
Insurance was wrong, because ERISA does not “pre-
empt entirely every state cause of action relating to
[ERISA] plans,” Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 25, but
only those that fall “within the scope of § 502(a),” Met-
ropolitan Life Ins., 481 U.S. at 64.

In sum, because the decision below is wrong and
creates a circuit conflict on an important and recurring
issue of federal law, this Court’s review is warranted.

Ul. THE EIGHTH CiRCUrT’Ss HOLDING THAT DIDA DOES
NoT APPLY TO THE LOANS AT ISSUE HERE RESTS ON
A DEFINITION OF “INTEREST” THAT CONFLICTS WITH
THIS COURT’S DECISION IN SMILEY

The court of appeals committed a second, closely
related error in this case. It held that section 521 of
DIDA by its terms does not even apply to the loans at
issue here because “the interest rate allowed by Mis-
sourl law for second mortgages was either as high as

20.[0]4% or unlimited at all applicable times, well in ex-
cess of the rate allowed by DIDA.” App. 10a (emphasis
omitted) (citing Mo. Rev. Stat. § 408.2382(1)). That
statement—which was the entirety of this part of the
Eighth Circuit’s analysis—addresses only periodic per-
centage interest rates. Under § 1831d, however, the
term “interest” encompasses many types of fees, not
simply periodic rates. The Comptroller of the Currency
has interpreted “interest” under 12 U.S.C. § 85 to mean
“any payment compensating a creditor or prospective
creditor for an extension of credit,” even if the payment
is a flat fee or otherwise not calculated as a function of
time. 12 C.F.R. §7.4001(a). In Smiley v. Citibank
(S.D.), N.A., this Court rejected a challenge to that in-
terpretation, deeming it reasonable and hence entitled
to judicial deference. See 517 U.S. at 741-742 (“[I]t

25

seems to us quite possible and rational to distinguish,
as the regulation does, between those charges that are
specifically assigned to [certain] expenses and those
that are assessed for simply making the loan.” (empha-
sis omitted)). And the FDIC has since adopted the
same interpretation of “interest” in § 183ld. See Gen
eral Counsel’s Op. No. 10: Interest Charges Under Sec
tion 27 of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, 63 Fed.
Reg. 19,258, 19,259 (Apr. 17, 1998).

Because the threshold question under § 183ld is
whether the “interest” allowed by DIDA—namely the
higher of the applicable 90-day discount rate and the
interest allowed by the law of the originating bank’s
home state—is in any instance higher than what would
be allowed absent DIDA, Smiley required the Eighth
Circuit to compare the loan fees permitted by DIDA
(i.e., the fees allowed by the law of California, FirstPlus
Bank’s home state) to the fees permitted by Missouri
law, as well as comparing the periodic interest rates.
Indeed, a comparison of fees was particularly appropri-
ate here because respondents, as discussed, stressed in
their briefing below that their claims against petition-
ers were based solely on such fees, particularly origina-
tion fees. See Resps.’ C.A. Br. 6 (“Plaintiffs’ MSMLA
claims are not based on allegations that the interest
rates they were charged exceeded the rate permitted
under [Mo. Rev. Stat.] section 408.232.1 .... Instead,
Plaintiffs’ claims are based entirely on allegations that
they were charged unauthorized and excessive loan
fees ....”); see also supra pp.9-10 (describing respon-
dents’ allegations). In failing to compare the permissi-
ble fees, the Eighth Circuit departed from Smiley.

The fees comparison mandated by Smiley makes
clear that DIDA does govern here. As the Fighth Cir-
cuit itself noted, see App. 3a n.1, Missouri law places

ox
zo

several limits on the fees, including origination fees, that
can be charged in connection with second mortgages, see¢
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 408.233(1); Adkison v. First Plus Bank,
143 S.W.3d 29, 30 (Mo. Ct. App. 2004) (per curiam); see
also App. 8a n.1 (“The limits on closing costs and fees
provided for in the MSMLA act as a trade-off for allow-
ing lenders to charge a higher [periodic] interest rate on
second mortgage loans.”). By contrast, California law,
applicable under DIDA because the originator of the
loans to respondents was a California-chartered bank,
see App. 2a, imposes no such limits. Hence, DIDA ap-
plies here because the fees—and thus the “interest” as
that term is used in DIDA—that could be charged to re-
spondents under California law exceeds the fees (i.e.,
“interest”) that could be charged under Missouri law.’

The Eighth Circuit itself reached a comparable
conclusion in Phipps v. FDIC, 417 F.3d 1006 (8th Cir.
2005), in which the court correctly applied Smiley to a
case that arose under the NBA but was otherwise quite
similar to this action. In Phipps, as here, the plaintiffs
sought to avoid complete preemption of their MSMLA

) - . . ’
Although not all loan fees constitute interest under Smiley,

the origination fees on which respondents’ claims are partly based
do so: An interpretive letter from the Office of the Comptroller of
the Currency (OCC) states that a fee to open a home-equity line of
credit constitutes interest because it is not “‘specifically assigned’”
to cover the cost of an activity or service, Whether Certain Fees
Levied By A Bank In Connection With Home Equity Loans Con

stitute Interest Under 12 U.S.C. 85 And 12 C.F.R. 7.40001 (a), OCC
Interpretive Letter No. 803 (Oct. 7, 1997), available at 1998 WL,
320183, at *2-3 (quoting Smiley, 517 U.S. at 741-742). The same is
true of loan-origination fees—a direct analogue to a line-of-credit
opening fee—as the Eighth Circuit itself has previously recog

nized, see Phipps v. FDIC, 417 F.3d 1006, 1012 (8th Cir. 2005)
(origination fees are “[c]learly” interest).

Zé
usury claims by “strenuously arguling] their claims are
based on unlawful fees charged, not unlawful znterest.”
Id. at 1009. Noting that it was “required to look beyond
the plaintiffs’ artful attempts to characterize their
claims to avoid federal jurisdiction,” id. at 1011, and cit-
ing its own precedent as well as cases from several!
other circuits that had conducted a similar analysis, see
id. at 1012, the court of appeals deemed the fees at is-
sue to be “interest” under Smiley and therefore held
the plaintiffs’ claims completely preempted under
Anderson, see id. at 1011-1012.

In short, the decision below conflicts with this
Court’s decision in Smiley. Moreover, petitioners
alerted the court of appeals about ths conflict in re-
questing rehearing, yet the court declined the request.
Under these circumstances—and particularly given the
close ink between the Eighth Circuit’s departure from
Smiley and its ruling on the complete-preemption is
sue—this Court’s review of the second question pre-
sented is warranted.

CONCLUSION

‘The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

CHRISTOPHER R. LIPSETT SETH P. WAXMAN
NOAH A. LEVINE Counsel of Record
DAVIDS. LESSER DANIELS. VOLCHOK
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING WILMER CUTLER PICKERING

HALE AND DORR LLP HALE AND DORR LLP
399 Park Ave. 1875 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W.
New York, N.Y. 10022 Washington, D.C. 20006
(212) 230-8800 (202) 663-6000

seth. waxman@wilmerhale.com

PETER W. CARTER
PAUL R. DIESETH

DORSEY & WHITNEY LLP

50 South Sixth Street
Suite 1500
Minneapolis, MN 55402
(612) 340-7892

THOMAS L. ALLEN
RoY W. ARNOLD
DAVIDJ. BIRD

REED SMITH LLP
225 Fifth Avenue
Suite 1200
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(412) 288-3131

Topp W. RUSKAMP

SHOOK, HARDY & BACON LLP

Oc

2555 Grand Boulevard
7th Floor

Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 474-6550

MARCH 2010

WILLIAM E. QUIRK
MARK A. OLTHOFF
MIRIAM E.C. BAILEY

POLSINELLI SHUGHART P.C.
1700 Twelve Wyandotte Plaza

120 West 12th Street
Kansas City, MO 64105
(816) 421-3355

MICHAEL G. BIGGERS
BRYAN CAVE LLP
211 North Broadway
Suite 3600

St. Louis, MO 638102
(314) 259-2145

SCOTT W. MARTIN

MICHAELS. HARGENS

DAVID A, SCHATZ

HUSCH BLACKWELL
SANDERS LLP

4801 Main Street

Suite 1000

Kansas City, MO 64112

(S816) 9835-8000

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-3302

DEANTHONY THOMAS; SUSAN JELINKE-THOMAS;
STEVEN M. RICH,
Appellants,

v

US BANK NATIONAL ASSOCIATION ND; ACE SECURI-
TIES CORP. HOME LOAN TRUST 1999-A ASSET BACKED
NOTES, SERIES 1999-AA; U.S. BANK N.A.; WILMING-
TON TRUST COMPANY; FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER
TRUST 1996-2; FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST
1996-3; FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1996-4;

FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1997-1;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1997-2;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1997-3;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1997-4;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1998-1;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1998-2;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUStT 1998-3;
FIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1998-4;
FiIRSTPLUS HOME LOAN OWNER TRUST 1998-5; THE
ASSOCIATES; CIT GROUP; CONTIMORTGAGE CORPORA-
TION; GOLETA NATIONAL BANK; MASTER FINANCIAL;
NORWEST HOME IMPROVEMENT, INC.; PSB LENDING;
RESIDENTIAL FUNDING CORPORATION; HOUSEHOLD
FINANCE CORPORATION; CHALLENGE REALTY; GER
MAN AMERICAN CAPITAL CORPORATION; SOVEREIGN
BANK; PAIN WEBBER REAL ESTATE SECURITIES INC.;
UBS REAL ESTATE SECURITIES, INC.; COUNTRYWIDE

2a

HOME LOANS, INC.; BANC ONE FINANCIAL SERVICES
INC.; FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION, AS
RECEIVER OF PF'F BANK; WESTERN INTERSTATE BAN-

CORP,
Appellees,

Appeal from the United States Court District Court
for the Western District of Missouri
Argued: April 13, 2009
Decided: August 7, 2009

[575 F.3d 794]
* * o
[795]

Before: MURPHY, HANSEN, and BYE, Cireuit
Judges.

[796]

BYE, Circuit Judge.

Deanthony Thomas, Susan Jelinke-Thomas, and
Steven M. Rich (collectively Thomas) brought claims in
Missouri state court against a number of banks and
lending institutions (collectively the lenders) alleging
violations of the Missouri Second Mortgage Loans Act
(MSMI.A), Mo. Rev. Stat. 8§ 408.231-.241, arising out of
loans originated by FirstPlus Bank (a California lend-
ing institution which is now defunct) and subsequently
purchased by the lenders. The lenders removed the
case to federal court arguing the state law claims were
completely preempted by the Depository Institutions
Deregulation and Monetary Control Act (DIDA), 12
U.S.C. § 18381d. Agreeing with the lenders, the district
court denied Thomas’s motion to remand to state court

3a

and then dismissed the claims. Thomas now appeals.
We reverse with instructions to remand this case to
state court.

I

Thomas and the other appellants are Missouri
homeowners who obtained “high loan-to-value” second
mortgages (reflecting a total debt of 125% of the ap-
praised value) on their homes from FirstPlus Bank.
FirstPlus Bank was a federally insured, state-chartered
bank when the loans were made. FirstPius Bank be-
came defunct, and the loans were purchased or as-
sumed by other banks as assignees, including some na-
tional banks.

In June 2004, Thomas brought suit in Missouri
state court on behalf of himself and others similarly
situated against thirty-three assignee banks of
FirstPlus alleging the loans they had received violated
the MSMLA, which places limits on the type and
amount of closing costs and fees a lender can charge on
residential second mortgage loans secured by Missouri
real estate.’

Specifically, Thomas alleged the subject loans vio-
lated Missouri law because: 1) the borrowers were

' Missouri law allows lenders to charge a higher interest rate
for second mortgage loans than the general usury rate applicable
to most loans. Compare Mo. Rev. Stat. § 408.030.1 (generally al
lowing a rate of 10% or the market rate, whichever is higher) with
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 408.232.1 (prior to 1998, setting a maximum rate
of 20.04% on second mortgage loans, and setting no limit on second
mortgage interest rates after 1998). The limits on closing costs
and fees provided for in the MSMLA act as a trade-off for allowing
lenders to charge a higher interest rate on second mortgage loans.

4a

charged nonrefundable finder’s fees or broker’s fees
which were not allowed by or in excess of the fees al-
lowed by the MSMLI.A; and 2) FirstPlus charged certain
closing costs and fees on behalf of third parties which
were in excess of the costs actually charged by those
third parties and then retained the difference. ‘Thomas
sought to recover the interest paid on the allegedly
unlawful second mortgage loans and an order barring
the collection of additional interest. Notably, none of
the subject loans violated Missouri law with respect to
the maximum interest rate chargeable on a second
mortgage loan, which exceeded the rate allowed by
federal law pursuant to DIDA.

In August 2004, the defendant banks removed the
case to federal district court. The banks alleged re-
moval was proper because FirstPlus, the originator of
the loans, was a federally-insured, state-chartered bank
and DIDA (which applies to federally-insured, state-
chartered banks) completely preempted the state law

claims brought under the MSMLA. The banks relied
primarily upon the Supreme Court’s decision in Benefi-
cial National Bank v. Anderson, 539 U.S. 1 (2008),
which held that the National Bank Act (NBA), 12
U.S.C. §§ 85-86, completely preempted state law usury
[797] claims against national banks. J/d. at 10-11. The
banks alleged the similarity in language between DIDA
and the NBA compelled the conclusion that DIDA, like
the NBA, created the exclusive federal remedy for
usury claims against federally-insured, state-chartered
banks.

Thomas filed a motion to remand the case to state
court. He argued the language of DIDA differed in ma-
terial respects from the language in the NBA, and
DIDA only preempted state usury laws in limited cir-
cumstances, that is, when the state laws set a lower al-

5a

lowable interest rate than that allowed by federal law.
Because Missouri law allowed a higher allowabie inter-
est rate than the rate set forth in DIDA, preemption
was not triggered. The district court disagreed and
denied the motion to remand, concluding DIDA pro-
vided the exclusive remedy for usury claims against
federally-insured, state-chartered banks. Thereafter
the banks brought a motion to dismiss the case, which
the district court granted.

Thomas filed a timely appeal. On appeal, he renews
nis argument that DIDA differs in materiai respect
from the language of the NBA, and preemption does
not apply in circumstances where state law allows a
higher interest rate than the interest rate set forth in
DIDA. The banks renew their claim as to the statutory
language in DIDA being the same as the NBA, and
federal law completely preempts the state law claims
brought here. The national bank defendants alterna-
tively argue that the NBA should apply whether they

are the originator of a loan or purchase a loan as an as-
signee, and therefore completely preempts the claims
brought against them even if DIDA does not. Finally,
some of the assignee banks argue the named plaintiffs
lacked standing to sue them because none of the named
plaintiffs (as opposed to unnamed class member plain-
tiffs) have loans that have been assigned to them.

{I

‘The district court’s denial of the motion to remand
the case to state court is reviewed de novo, Menz v.
New Holland N. Am., Inc., 440 F.3d 1002, 1004 (8th
Cir. 2006), as is the district court’s dismissal] of the case,
Harris v. The Epoch Group, L.C., 357 F.3d 822, 824-25
(Sth Cir. 2004).

A

The general rule is when a claim filed in state court
alleges only state law claims, the existence of a federal
defense, e.g., preemption, is not enough to support the
removal of the case to federal court. Rivet v. Regions
Bank of La., 522 U.S. 470, 475 (1998). An exception to
this rule is when the preemptive force of a federal stat-
ute completely displaces state law and it is clear Con-
press meant the federal statute to be the exclusive
cause of action for the type of claim asserted. Benefi-
cial Nat’l Bank, 539 U.S. at 8. Complete preemption,
as opposed to ordinary or conflict preemption, is rare,
however, and only applies if the “federal statutes at is-
sue provide[] the exclusive cause of action for the claim
asserted and also set forth procedures and remedies
governing that cause of action.” Jd.

Complete preemption does not exist here because
the language of DIDA, unlike the NBA, does not reflect
Congress’ intent to provide the exclusive cause of ac-

tion for a usury claim against a federally-insured state-
chartered bank. To the contrary, a close examination of
the statutory language indicates Congress very clearly
intended the preemptive scope of DIDA to be limited to
particular circumstances.

Two provisions of DIDA are at issue—the subsec-
tion discussing the circum-[798]stances under which a
federally-insured state-chartered bank may cnarge the
interest rate allowed by federal law notwithstanding
state law to the contrary, 12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a) (the sub-
stantive provision), and the subsection setting forth a
consumer’s remedy when a bank charges interest in ex-
cess of that allowed by DIDA, 12 U.S.C. § 1831d(b) (the
remedy provision). ‘The substantive provision is set
forth as follows:

Ta

In order to prevent discrimination against
State-chartered insured depository institu-
tions, including insured savings banks, or in-
sured branches of foreign banks with respect to
interest rates, if the applicable rate prescribed
in this subsection exceeds the rate such State
bank or insured branch of a foreign bank would
be permitted to charge in the absence of this
subsection, such State bank or such insured
branch of a foreign bank may, notwithstanding
any State constitution or statute which is
hereby preempted for the purposes of this sec-
tion, take, receive, reserve, and charge on any
loan or discount made, or upon any note, bill of
exchange, or other evidence of debt, interest at
a rate of not more than 1 per centum in excess
of the discount rate on ninety-day commercial
paper in effect at the Federal Reserve bank in
the Federal Reserve district where such State
bank or such insured branch of a foreign bank
is located or at the rate allowed by the laws of
the State, territory, or district where the bank
is located, whichever may be greater.

12 U.S.C. § 1831 d(a).

The plain language of the statute clearly indicates
the interest rate allowed by federal law only comes into
play “if the applicable rate prescribed in this subsection
exceeds the rate such State bank or insured branch of a
foreign bank would be permitted to charge in the ab-
sence of this subsection.” Jd. (emphasis added). In
other words, when the interest rate allowed by state
law exceeds the interest rate set forth in DIDA, the
federal statute does not apply. The limited nature of
the preemptive effect the federal statute has on state
law is emphasized by the qualifying phrase added to the

Sa

statute’s preemption language: “notwithstanding any
State constitution or statute which is hereby pre-
empted for the purposes of this section.” Id. (empha-
sis added). In other words, conflicting state constitu-
tions or statutes are not preempted for every and all
purposes, but only for purposes of “this section.”

The remedy provision is set forth as follows:

If the rate prescribed in subsection (a) of this
section exceeds the rate such State bank or
such insured branch of a foreign bank would be
permitted to charge in the absence of this sec-
tion, and such State fixed rate is thereby pre-
empted by the rate described in subsection (a)
of this section, the taking, receiving, reserving,
or charging a greater rate of interest than is al-
lowed by subsection (a) of this section, when
knowingly done, shall be deemed a forfeiture of
the entire interest which the note, bill, or other
evidence of debt carries with it, or which has
been agreed to be paid thereon. If such greater
rate of interest has been paid, the person who
paid it may recover ina civil action commenced
in a court of appropriate jurisdiction not later
than two years after the date of such payment,
an amount equal to twice the amount of the in-
terest paid from such State bank or such in-
sured branch of a foreign bank taking, receiv-
ing, reserving, or charging such interest.

12 U.S.C. § 1831d(b).

This remedy provision, as does the substantive pro-
vision, clearly indicates the [799] limited nature of the
federal statute’s preemption of state law, by stating the
federal remedy only applies “/iJ/f the rate prescribed in
subsection (a) of this section exceeds the rate such

9a

State bank or such insured branch of a foreign bank
would be permitted to charge in the absence of this sec-
tion.” Jd. The limited scope of preemption is empha-
sized by the subsection’s phrase stating “and such State
fixed rate is thereby preempted by the rate described
in subsection (a) of this section” which follows the con-
ditional circumstances under which the statute applies,
i.e., uf the federal rate exceeds the rate allowed by state
law. In other words, the plain language of the statute
ties the preemptive effect it has on state law to the
condition being met. By stating “and such state fixed
rate is thereby preempted,” the statute plainly indi-
cates the state rate is only preempted “if” exceeded by
the rate prescribed in the federal statute.

A similar statute was interpreted by this court in
Firstsouth, F.A. v. Lawson Square, Inc. (In re Lawson
Square, Inc.), 816 F.2d 1236 (8th Cir. 1987), involving
section 1730g(a) of DIDA, which applies to federally
insured savings and loan associations rather than fed-

erally insured, state-chartered banks. The language of
the two statutes is, however, identical. The holding in
Lawson Square makes ciear that when the federal pre-
emption language does not “fit,” state law applies. See
id. at 1239.

In Lawson Square, the interest rate allowed by
Arkansas law exceeded the applicable interest rate set
forth in DIDA. The rate allowed by federal law under
DIDA fluctuated between 9.72% and 10.22% at all ap-
plicable times, while the rate otherwise allowed by Ar-
kansas state law fluctuated between 13.5% and 14%.
Id. at 1238. Because the rate allowed by DIDA did not
exceed the rate allowed by state law, the court cor-
rectly reasoned the federal statute did not apply:

10a

|[WJe note immediately that the very first
clause of Section [1730g(a)] reads as follows:
“{ilf the applicable rate prescribed in this sec-
tion exceeds the rate an insured institution ..

would be permitted to charge in the absence of
this section ...”. The “applicable rate” referred
to is the federal discount rate plus one per
cent.; the rate that would be permitted in the
absence of this section is the Arkansas Consti-
tution’s present limit of federal discount rate
plus five per cent. Attempting to substitute
these terms for the words which represent
them produces a false statement, for in fact the
“applicable rate” does not exceed the “permit-
ted rate.” That being the case, we need go no
further in Section [17380g(a)]; we know that it
does not apply in this instance.

Id. 1239-40 (emphasis added).

In this case, the interest rate allowed by Missouri
law for second mortgages was either as high as 20.4%
or unlimited at all applicable times, well in excess of
the rate allowed by DIDA. See Mo. Rev. Stat.
§ 408.282.1 (setting a maximum rate of 20.04% on sec-
ond mortgage loans prior to 1998, and setting no limit
on second mortgage interest rates after 1998). As a re-
sult, the federal statute does not apply. And, more sig-
nificantly, for complete preemption purposes, the rem-
edy set forth in the federal statute does not apply.
Complete preemption only applies when it is clear Con-
gress meant for the federal statute to “provide[] the
exclusive cause of action.” Beneficial Nat'l Bank, 539
U.S. at 8 (emphasis added). By its plain and unambigu-
ous language, the remedy set forth in § 1831d(b) only
applies in limited circumstances, and those circum-
stances are when the federal rate exceeds the rate al-

lla

lowed by state law. [800] Because such a circumstance
was not present in this case, just as it was not present
in Lawson Square, the federal remedy does not apply
and therefore is not the exclusive remedy. Accordingly
the district court erred when it denied Thomas’s motion
to remand this case to state court.

We note other federal courts have interpreted the
language in § 183l1d differently. In Discover Bank v.
Vaden, 489 F.3d 594 (4th Cir. 2007), rev’d on other
grounds 129 S.Ct. 1262 (March 9, 2009) (2009
WL578636), the Fourth Circuit held DIDA, like the
NBA, completely preempts state usury claims against
federally-insured, state-chartered banks. /d. at 605. In
so holding, the Fourth Circuit quoted the relevant pro
visions of § 1831d(a) in the following manner:

In order to prevent discrimination against
State-chartered insured depository institutions
. with respect to interest rates ... such State
bank[s] ... may, notwithstanding any State
constitution or statute which is hereby pre-

empted for the purposes of this section, take,
receive, reserve, and charge on any loan or dis-
count made, or upon any note, bill of exchange,
or other evidence of debt, interest ... at the
rate allowed by the laws of the State ... where
the bank is located.

Id. at 604.

Comparing this redacted version of the statute
with the full version of the statute does reveal the lan
guage eliminated by the Fourth Circuit’s second set of
ellipsis (emphasized below) is critical to the substantive
meaning of the statute:

12a

In order to prevent discrimination against
State-chartered insured depository institu-
Lions, including insured savings banks, or in-
sured branches of foreign banks with respect to
interest rates, uf the applicable rate pre-
scribed in this subsection exceeds the rate
such State bank or insured branch of a for-
eign bank would be permitted to charge in
the absence of this subsection, such State
bank or such insured branch of a foreign bank
may, notwithstanding any State constitution or
statute which is hereby preempted for the pur-
poses of this section, take, receive, reserve, and
charge on any loan or discount made, or upon
any note, bill of exchange, or other evidence of
debt, interest at a rate of not more than 1 per
centum in excess of the discount rate on ninety
day commercial paper in effect at the Federal
Reserve bank in the Federal Reserve district
where such State bank or such insured branch
of a foreign bank is located or at the rate al
lowed by the laws of the State, territory, or
district where the bank is located, whichever
may be greater.

12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a).

We will not alter the statutory language in such
manner to support a conclusion as to DIDA completely
preempting state law while providing the exclusive
federal remedy for state usury claims against federally-
insured, state-chartered banks. Rather, the un-
abridged language of the statute, which is both the
starting and ending point of our analysis, see Integrity
Floorcovering, Inc. v. Broan-Nutone, LLC, 521 F.3d
914, 918 (8th Cir. 2008) Gndicating that when “the plain
language of the statute controls ... we need not con-

® ‘
oa

sider the parties’ varying interpretations of legislative
history”), clearly establishes the limited effect DIDA
has on such claims.

3

Alternatively, the national banks argue the claims
against them are completely preempted under sections
85 and 86 of the NBA. We disagree. The national
banks did not originate the loans at issue, but rather
are assignee banks who subsequently purchased the
loans. As assign-[80l]Jees, they are subject to all the
claims which could have been brought against the
originator of the loan. See 15 U.S.C. § 1641(d) (“Any
person who purchases or is otherwise assigned a
[tainted] mortgage ... shall be subject to all claims and
defenses with respect to that mortgage that the con-
sumer could assert against the [original lender].”). To
hold otherwise would allow an originating bank to
cleanse an otherwise illegal loan merely by assigning it
to a national bank.

Finally, some of the defendant banks (non-holder
banks) argue they are not purchasers or assignees of
any FirstPlus Bank second mortgage loans subject to
the MSMLA, and therefore the plaintiffs lack standing
to bring the claims against them. We decline to address
this issue, preferring it be raised in the first instance
upon remand to state court.

itl

The judgment of the district court is reversed and
the case is remanded to the district court with instruc-
tions to reinstate the claims and remand the case to
state court.

15a
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
WESTERN DIVISION

No. 04-cv-6098-HF'S

DEANTHONY THOMAS, e/ al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

U.S. BANK N.A.N.D., et al.,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Plaintiffs contend their mortgage loans were
tainted by practices by the lender that violate a Mis-
souri statute in connection with various overcharges
and fees. Defendants, assignees of the loan obligations
of plaintiffs, removed the case to this court on the the-
ory that federal law preempts certain claims of usuri-
ous practices by lenders. The lender in this case was
FirstPlus Bank (F PB), a California lending institution,
now in bankruptcy, which was subject to California
laws governing interest.

The defendant assignees contend they are pro-
tected by federal law (Sections 85 and 8&6 of the Na-
tional Banking Act—the NBA—12 U.S.C. §§ 85-86)
which allegedly preempts use of Missouri law in these
circumstances. An alternative theory of protection
would be that FPB, by reason of federal deposit insur
ance, was also protected by preemption, under the De

16a

pository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Con-
trol Act—DIDA—12 U.S.C. § 1831d. Plaintiffs chal-
lenge these theories and seek remand.

As an initial matter, I disagree with defendants re-
garding preemption by the NBA. They were not origi-
nators of the loans, but simply assignees. I have so
ruled in similar circumstances, and granted a remand.
Defendants are soundly invoking DIDA, however, be-
cause F PB was the originator of the loans, and the sec-
tion cited above “completely preempts any state law
attempting to limit the amount of interest and fees a
federally insured-state chartered bank can charge.” Jn
re Community Bank of Northern Virginia, 418 F.3d
277, 295 (8rd Cir. 2005).'

In this case and in what appears to be a companion
case plaintiffs’ counsel has argued that there is no pre
emption because there is no challenge here to the inter-
est charged by FPB. The Eighth Circuit has, however,
recently determined that at least some of the claims
should be characterized as complaining about excessive
interest, broadly construed. Phipps v. FDIC, 417 F.3d
1006 (8th Cir. 2005). That ruling has finality, in that the
mandate was issued earlier this month.

When there are som:2 claims of excessive interest,
the whole case is removable, 417 F.3d at 1011. I do not
find briefing by plaintiffs attempting to distinguish the
adverse ruling of the district judge in Phipps, and to
assert that if excessive interest was claimed there that

' Whether defendants have standing to assert F PB’s preemp-
tion rights is not questioned by plaintiffs, and I assume there is
standing. Another issue not before me is the possibility that FPB
violated California law, which is not the thrust of this litigation.

17a

is not the situation here. Under the circumstances the
motion to remand (doc. 69) must be denied. SO OR-
DERED?

/s/ Howard F.. Sachs _
HOWARD F. SACHS
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

September 30, 2005
Kansas City, Missouri

* I will deal with a renewed motion to dismiss on the briefing
heretofore filed, but it must be noted that the Phipps case creates
a dilemma for plaintiffs in saying that to the extent they may be
challenging charges that are not interest they are not entitled to
complain under the Missouri statute, and “have failed to state a
claim under Missouri law for which relief may be granted.” 417
F.3d at 1014.

19a
APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
WESTERN DIVISION

No. 04-cev-6098-HE'S

DEANTHONY THOMAS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

U.S. BANK N.A.N.D., et al.,
Defendants.

ORDER

Through one of the oddities of computerized re-

cord-keeping, a collection of complex motions in this
litigation, dating back some three years, now errges
as unruled motions. They should have appeared peri-
odically in computer reports, and, when six months old,
have been listed overdue. They have now been called
to my attention. One might wonder why plaintiffs’
counsel did not make inquiry.

Further examination suggests the case has been
abandoned, because Eighth Circuit law now establishes
that the claims cannot proceed as alleged State law vio-
lations, and the basic issues have been preempted by

20a

federal law.' See my short memorandum on this sub-
ject two years ago. Doc. 126.

Various issues are presented: Personal jurisdic-
tional challenges (Docs. 52 and 61), lack of standing
(Doc. 54), the Missouri statute of limitations (Doc. 63), a
constitutional bar to retroactive legislation (Doc. 59)
and, what seems most controlling, exemption or pre-
emption (Doc. 57). Because preemption has been ruled
in a comparable case, Phipps v. FDIC, 417 F.3d 1006
(8th Cir. 2005), it seems to justify removal and now
dismissal. Plaintiffs cannot proceed on a theory of vio
lation of Missouri statutes.

Rather than get bogged down in other issues that
are moot questions by reason of preemption and
Phipps, I grant the motion to dismiss on preemption
grounds (Doc. 57) and deny all other motions (Docs. 52,
54.59, 61 and 63) as moot.2 SO ORDERED.

/s/ Howard F. Sachs
HOWARD F. SACHS
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

September 26, 2007
Kansas City, Missouri

bans ; :
l'o the extent the charges are not characterized as interest,
and thus preempted, the Phipps case, infra, holds there is no viola-
tion of Missouri law. 417 F.3d at 1014.

* This includes defendants’ request for fees, because this liti-
gation is legally frivolous, at least after Phipps. If I am now mov-
ing too precipitously, because of an impending reporting date, a
timely motion for reconsideration or for relief from an adverse
judgment would be considered.

Z2la
APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
ST. JOSEPH DIVISION

No. 04-cev-6098-HF'S

DEANTHONY THOMAS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
VU.

U.S. BANK N.A.N.D., et al.,
Defendants.

ORDER

Pending is a motion to reconsider (Doc. 133) and a

notice of joinder in defendants’ opposition to the motion
to reconsider (Doc. 186). The joinder notice is treated
by the computer as a motion. To the extent leave of
court is appropriate, Doc. 136 is hereby GRANTED.

Central to the reconsideration claim is the conten-
tion that the court has erroneously derived a complete
preemption rule for federally insured state banks from
a rule applicable only to national banks. It is contended
that Phipps v. FDIC, 417 F.3d 1006 (8th Cir. 2005), is
based on differently worded legislation relating to na-
tional banks. Plaintiffs rely on a “plain meaning” read-
ing of the statute here involved, 12 U.S.C. § 1831d(a)
and (b), and a district court decision from Mississippi.
DuBose v. Merchants and Farmers Bank, 2006 WL
568714 (S.D. Miss. 2006). See also Saxton v. Capitol
One Bank, 392 F. Supp. 2d 772 (S.D. Miss. 2005).

22a

Plaintiffs acknowledge that they must overcome a
contrary ruling by Judge Alsop in Hill v. Chemical
Bank, 799 F. Supp. 951 (D. Minn. 1992). They contend
only that it was inadequately reasoned; that is, not
reading the words of the statute as they and the Mis-
sissippi judge do. They fail to acknowledge and discuss
a Fourth Circuit case favorably citing Hill and reaching
the same result. Discover Bank v. Vaden, 489 F.3d 594
(2007), cert. granted, 128 S. Ct. 1651 (2008). Discover
Bank was cited in the brief in opposition but plaintiffs
do not deal with it in the reply.

Hill and Discover Bank are well reasoned and sup-
ported and consistent with my earlier preemption rul-
ing. I believe they are sound and that the novel and
weakly supported theory of plaintiffs does not justify
changing my dispositive ruling. To the extent it is
plausible it may be dealt with on appeal.

The motion to reconsider (Doc. 133) is therefore
DENIED.

/s/ Howard F. Sachs _ __
HOWARD F. SACHS
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

September 23, 2008
Kansas City, Missouri

The Third Circuit has also considered the language in ques-
tion and finds complete preemption. In re Community Bank of
Northern Virginia, 418 F.3d 277, 295 (2005).

23a
APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-3302

DEANTHONY THOMAS ¢t al.,
Appellants,

9)

US BANK NATIONAL ASSOCIATION ND, et al.,
Appellees,

Mortgage Bankers Association, et al.,
Amici on behalf of Appellee

Appeal from U.S. District Court for the
Western District of Missouri—SsSt. Joseph
(5:04-cv-06098-HFS)

Filed: November 24, 2009

ORDER
The petition for rehearing en banc is denied. The
petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

Chief Judge Loken, Judge Wollman, Judge Gru-
ender, and Judge Benton took no part in the considera-
tion or decision of this matter.

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

/s/ Michael E. Gans .

25a
APPENDIX F
STATUTORY PROVISIONS

12 U.S.C. § 85—Rate of interest on loans, discounts
and purchases

Any association may take, receive, reserve, and charge
on any loan or discount made, or upon any notes, bills of
exchange, or other evidences of debt, interest at the
rate allowed by the laws of the State, Territory, or Dis-
trict where the bank is located, or at a rate of 1 per cen-
tum in excess of the discount rate on ninety-day com-
mercial paper in effect at the Federal reserve bank in
the Federal reserve district where the bank is located,
whichever may be the greater, and no more, except
that where by the laws of any State a different rate is
limited for banks organized under state laws, the rate
so limited shall be allowed for associations organized or
existing in any such State under title 62 of the Revised
Statutes. When no rate is fixed by the laws of the
State, or Territory, or District, the bank may take, re-
ceive, reserve, or charge a rate not exceeding 7 per
centum, or 1 per centum in excess of the discount rate
on ninety-day commercial paper in effect at the Federal
reserve bank in the Federal reserve district where the
bank is located, whichever may be the greater, and
such interest may be taken in advance, reckoning the
days for which the note, bill, or other evidence of debt
has to run. The maximum amount of interest or dis-
count to be charged at a branch of an association lo-
sated outside of the States of the United States and the
District of Columbia shall be at the rate allowed by the
laws of the county, territory, dependency, province,
dominion, insular possession, or other political subdivi-
sion where the branch is located. And the purchase,

26a

discount, or sale of a bona fide bill of exchange, payable
at another place than the place of such purchase, dis-
count, or sale, at not more than the current rate of ex-
change for sightdrafts in addition to the interest, shall
not be considered as taking or receiving a greater rate
of interest.

12 U.S.C. § 86—Usurious interest; penalty for tak-
ing; limitations

The taking, receiving, reserving, or charging a rate of
interest greater than is allowed by section &5 of this ti-
tle, when knowingly done, shall be deemed a forfeiture
of the entire interest which the note, bill, or other evi-
dence of debt carries with it, or which has been agreed
to be paid thereon. In case the greater rate of interest
has been paid, the person by whom it has been paid, or
his legal representatives, may recover back, in an ac-
tion in the nature of an action of debt, twice the amount
of the interest thus paid from the association taking or
receiving the same: Provided, That such action is
commenced within two years from the time the usuri-
ous transaction occurred.

12 U.S.C. § 1831d—State-chartered insured deposi-
tory institutions and insured branches of foreign
banks

(a) interest rates. In order to prevent discrimination
against State-chartered insured depository institutions,
including insured savings banks, or insured branches of
foreign banks with respect to interest rates, if the ap-
plicable rate prescribed in this subsection exceeds the
rate such State bank or insured branch of a foreign
bank would be permitted to charge in the absence of
this subsection, such State bank or such insured branch

27a

of a foreign bank may, notwithstanding any State con-
stitution or statute which is hereby preempted for the
purposes of this section, take, receive, reserve, and
charge on any loan or discount made, or upon any note,
bill of exchange, or other evidence of debt, interest at a
rate of not more than 1 per centum in excess of the dis
count rate on ninety-day commercial paper in effect at
the Federal Reserve bank in the Federal Reserve dis-
trict where such State bank or such insured branch of a
foreign bank is located or at the rate allowed by the
laws of the State, territory, or district where the bank
is located, whichever may be greater.

(b) Interest overcharge; forfeiture; interest payment
recovery.

If the rate prescribed in subsection (a) of this section
exceeds the rate such State bank or such insured
branch of a foreign bank would be permitted to charge
in the absence of this section, and such State fixed rate
is thereby preempted by the rate described in subsec-
tion (a) of this section, the taking, receiving, reserving,
or charging a greater rate of interest than is allowed by
subsection (a) of this section, when knowingly done,
shall be deemed a forfeiture of the entire interest which
the note, bill, or other evidence of debt carries with it,
or which has been agreed to be paid thereon. If such
greater rate of interest has been paid, the person who
paid it may recover in a civil action commenced in a
court of appropriate jurisdiction not later than two
years after the date of such payment, an amount equal
to twice the amount of the interest paid from such
State bank or such insured branch of a foreign bank
taking, receiving, reserving, or charging such interest.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1780%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
