# Reply Brief — City of New Albany v. New Albany DVD, LLC

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1657%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 560 U.S. 978

## Text

\w2

No. 09-1027

jn Whe
Supreme Court of the United States

City OF NEw ALBANY, INDIANA,
Petitioner,
Ve

New ALBaNny DVD, LLC,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certtorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuul

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

SHANE L. GIBSON Scott D. BERGTHOLD
City ATTORNEY Counsel of Record

311 Hauss SQUARE LAw OFFICE OF Scotr
Room 316 D. BERGTHOLD, P.L.L.C.
New ALBANY, IN 47150 7446 SHALLOWFORD Roap
(812) 948-5333 SUITE 202

CHATTANOOGA, TN 37421
(423) 899-3025
sbergthold@sdblawfirm com

Counsel for Petitioner
City of New Albany, Indiana

May 24, 2010

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, DC - 800 890 5001

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(UG gt er ee rr
yp ee il
Putitiomer © Meer TAOGE occ cece ccc ee eesveser ]
errr errr Ter rere eee 13

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Annex Books, Inc. v. City of Indianapolis,
581 F.3d 460 (7th Cir. 2009) ............ 9,12

Annex Books, Inc. v. City of Indianapolis,
333 F. Supp. 2d 773 (S.D. Ind. 2004) ..... 9,12

Boos v. Barry, =:
PM CE og bce ove csv eevee sd ouwes 6

City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M.,
G2P U.S. 27s CHS) . 0. wc ccc ccc reeves 9

City of Los Angeles v. Alameda Books, Inc.,
535 U.S. 425 (2002) ........... 1, 3, 10, 11, 12

City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc.,
Boe Wee A UAE occ ce ce wrevectccoucuss 3,11

Daytona Grand, Inc. v. City of Daytona Beach,
490 F.3d 860 (11th Cir. 2007) .............. 9

Doctor John’s v. Wahlen,
§42 F.3d 787 (10th Cir. 2008) .............. 8

Flanigan’s Enéers., Inc. v. Fulton County,
596 F.3d 1265 (11th Cir. 2010) ............. 8

G.M. Enters., Inc. v. Town of St. Joseph,
350 F.3d 631 (7th Cir. 2003) ............... 9

McCreary County v. ACLU,
Gk | re 2

ill

New Haven Inclusion Cases,

ee eS ok a oS fb os beers wee 3
Russell v. Southard,

ee ED gy yy we 3 odo pee oe ee ee 3
SOB, Inc. v. County of Benton,

317 F.3d 856 (8th Cir. 2003) ............... 9
United States v. O’Brien,

a 8 |) re 2,3
Wisconsin Vendors, Inc. v. Lake County,

152 F. Supp. 2d 1987 (N.D. Ill. 2001) ....... 10
World Wide Video of Washington, Inc. v. City of

Spokane,

368 F.3d 1186 (9th Cir. 2004) .............. 6

1
PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

Respondent's brief in opposition wholly fails to
refute, and thus concedes, the extensive split in the
circuits that has been percolating in the lower courts
over City of Los Angeles v. Alameda Books, Inc., 535
U.S. 425 (2002), a “fractured decision” that “dozens of
appellate decisions . . . have struggled to understand
and apply” without producing “any concrete legal rule.”
(App. 44a) (Easterbrook, C.J.). Instead of addressing
the question presented—a question of “utmost
importance” to amicus International Municipal
Lawyers Association and cities and counties
nationwide—respondent quibbles about procedure and
facts irrelevant to that question. For the (unrefuted)
reasons stated in the petition, this Court should issue
a writ of certiorari to review the decision below.

1. Respondent’s statement about the procedural
posture of the case is unavailing. First, respondent
does not deny that the entirety of the City’s secondary
effects evidence—including land use and crime impact
reports, judicial decisions, eyewitness observations of
adverse impacts, and the testimony of the City’s expert
witness—is in the record and was evaluated by the
lower courts. Respondent, whose counter-evidence is
also in the record, is thus tellingly silent about what
discovery would be taken that is relevant to the
question presented. There is none. At bottom,
respondent’s argument assumes its own conclusion:
that the City should have to begin the case anew to
conduct an empirical, after-the-fact local study that
the Seventh Circuit—in direct contravention of this
Court’s precedents—requires.

2

Second, respondent does not dispute that this Court
often reviews First Amendment cases on preliminary
injunction. Indeed, the only case that respondent cites
on this issue, McCreary County v. ACLU, 545 US. 844,
867 (2005), is consistent with the cases cited in the
petition (at 29-30) in that the Court granted certiorari
to review a First-Amendment based preliminary
injunction.

2. As to the _ facts, respondent’s roving
statement—which is unsupported by amy citations to
the record—is: (a) irrelevant to the question presented,
(b) includes material outside the record, and (c) is rife
with inaccuracies.

a. Respondent’s factual statement begins with an
attempt to impugn the City’s motives (Brf. Opp. 4-13)
based on how various individuals—including citizens
who are not City officials or employees—reacted when
they learned that DVD had lied to the City about the
kind of business it was establishing next to a home
and across the street from a church. (R. 19, Wood Aff.
at 1) (tile shop misrepresentation).

DVD’s discussion is irrelevant for two reasons.
First, it is irrelevant to the question presented, which
asks whether the Seventh Circuit’s new legal standard
for secondary effects evidence contravenes this Court’s
precedents. Second, DVD’s amended complaint
challenging Ordinance G-04-10 did not claim that
strict scrutiny applied or that the Ordinance banned or
restricted speech because of objection to content. (R.
39.) Instead, DVD claimed that the City’s secondary
effects evidence was insufficient to _ satisfy
intermediate scrutiny under United States v. O’Brien,
391 U.S. 367 (1968). (R. 39, J 29.) Moreover, under

3

O’Brien, “this Court will not strike down an otherwise
constitutional statute on the basis of an alleged illicit
legislative motive.” City of Renton v. Playtime
Theatres, Inc., 475 U.S. 41, 48 (1986) (quoting O’Brien,
391 U.S. at 383-84).

The factual statement continues (Brf. Opp. 13-20)
with commentary about the extensive secondary
effects evidence, including competing expert witness
testimony, presented to the district court—which
concluded that the City met its burden under the
“reasonably believed to be relevant” standard
established in Renton and reaffirmed in Alameda
Books. (App. 23a-24a.) Respondent’s discussion,
which goes to the merits of the question presented by
the Seventh Circuit’s departure from that standard,
actually highlights elements of the circuit split shown
in the petition and demonstrates that this case’s full
evidentiary record on secondary effects makes it an
ideal vehicle for resolving the question presented.

b. Attempting to litigate the Seventh Circuit’s new
standard in this Court, respondent resorts to arguing
evidence completely outside of the record. (Brf. Opp.
21-22) (alleging facts occurring after entry of the
injunction and after oral argument in the Seventh
Circuit). This is wholly inappropriate. Russell v.
Southard, 53 U.S. 139, 159 (1851); New Haven
Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 450 n.66 (1970).
Moreover, this inappropriate argument simply
underscores—again—the centrality of the question
presented, which concerns whether a city must present
empirical, localized proof that it has already suffered
secondary effects in order to justify a Renton-type
regulation designed to prevent them.

4

c. The inaccuracies in respondent’s factual
statements about early events in the case and the
evidence presented at the second evidentiary hearing,
though irrelevant to the question presented, are
sufficiently egregious to warrant a response.

First, respondent attempts to obscure the fact that
its adult bookstore is adjacent to a home and across
the street from a church by describing the street it is
on as “lead[ing} to a local gambling casino.” (Brf. Opp.
3.) The casino is five to eight miles away. (R. 116, Tr.
101:20-24.)

Second, respondent parrots the Seventh Circuit’s
statement that respondent “secured all necessary
licenses” prior to February 19, 2004. In fact, the
district court found that DVD did not apply for an
improvement location permit (ILP) prior to February
19, 2004, but did so only after the first evidentiary
hearing. (App. 30a.) The initial application was denied
based on safety issues (e.g., a pole sign in the middle of
the driveway providing ingress/egress from and to
Main Street) and based on the location restrictions in
the Ordinance. (R. 61, Ex. B.) After the site plan was
amended to resolve the miscellaneous safety issues,
the ILP was denied solely based on the location
restrictions. (App. 30a.) Thus, the parties agree that
the Ordinance is the only impediment to DVD’s lawful
operation at its present location. Moreover, as the
Seventh Circuit observed, whether DVD opened
lawfully “has no continuing import.” (App. 3a.)

Similar observations refute respondent’s challenge
to the term “unsafe building” in the Notice-Order that
the building commissioner applied to respondent’s site
on February 19, 2004. The term properly applies to a

D

building that is being used but has not been inspected
for safety and thus lacks a certificate of occupancy. (R.
74, Tr. 79:6-8, 80:18-20.) Moreover, as noted above, the
site was in fact unsafe for various reasons, including
the dangerous location of the pole sign. (App. 15a; R.
61, Ex. B.)

Third, respondent cites its own _ counsel’s
statements to claim that the letter setting an
administrative hearing on the February 19, 2004
Notice-Order was a “ruse” because the “hearing was
never held” on March 9, 2004. Yet, respondent’s
counsel initiated cancellation of the hearing by
agreement on the ground that he had already filed suit
concerning the same issue to be addressed in the
hearing. (R. 19, Exh. A, {7 8-11.)

Fourth, respondent’s irrelevant factual statement
attempts to impugn the motives of the City by
quoting—without citation—various individuals who
spoke during public meetings. But respondent
erroneously attributes to the mayor a block quote of
comments that were actually voiced by a citizen.
(Compare Brf. Opp. at 9-10 with R. 21, Exh. A, Feb. 19,
2004 Transcript at Sheet 6 (comments of Betty
Walters).) Additionally, DVD quotes _ several
statements from certain citizens on an ad hoc advisory
committee who are neither elected officials nor City
employees and who did not participate in drafting
Ordinance G-04-10. (See, e.g., Brf. Opp. 10-11.)

Respondent’s discussion of select portions of the
second evidentiary hearing is misleading on multiple
fronts, but ultimately highlights the deep circuit split
detailed in the petition.

6

First, respondent argues that the City “did not rely
upon any study that exclusively dealt with ‘retail’
establishments such as DVD.” (Brf. Opp. 14.) Of
course, this argument begs the question of whether
legislative evidence must be specific to a plaintiffs
self-defined subcategory of sexually oriented business.
(See Pet. 17-22) (describing circuit split on this issue).

Moreover, the City did present evidence of
secondary effects from retail-only adult bookstores.
(See Pet. 4-5.) Claiming that the Garden Grove study
has “nothing indicating it is devoted to retail
establishments” (Brf. Opp. 18), respondent attempts to
convey the impression that the study did not address
retail-only adult bookstores at all. However, the study
did include such establishments. (R. 76, Exh. D at 4-5.)
Likewise, the Greensboro study relied upon by the City
included retail-only adult bookstores. (R. 89, Exh. C at
37; see also R. 75 at 11-18 (citing city’s reliance upon
the secondary effects evidence from retail-only adult
bookstores found sufficient in World Wide Video of
Washington, Inc. v. City of Spokane, 368 F.3d 1186
(9th Cir. 2004).) This is in addition to studies
documenting the adverse effects of “adult bookstores”
which the City reasonably concluded includes adult
bookstores like respondent. (See, e g., R. 76, Exhs. C-1,
C-3, C-4.)

Second, respondent attempts to redefine the City’s
regulatory rationale (Brf. Opp. 14), but the district
court correctly explained what is undisputed: that the
Ordinance’s purpose is to prevent secondary effects.
(App. 23a.) Respondent, in fact, concedes that the City
“was not advancing the notion that viewing adult
materials causes adverse secondary effects.” (Brf. Opp.
17-18); cf. Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 320-21 (1988)

7

(explaining the difference between primary and
secondary effects).

Third, respondent’s discussion ignores the wide
variety of secondary effects, including adverse impacts
on property values, that the Ordinance targets (App.
52a) and instead addresses only crime, repeating its
previous mischaracterization of the criminological
theory articulated by the City’s rebuttal expert.
(Compare Brf. Opp. 14 with Pet. 10) (discussing
routine activities theory).

Respondent’s argument concerning the City’s
interest in preventing crime is without merit.
Recognizing that New Albany had no sexually oriented
businesses when respondent sought to open,
respondent cites calls-for-service (CFS) to the police to
non-sexually oriented businesses in New Albany to
show that the City had no basis for regulating sexually
oriented businesses. (App. 22a) (noting DVD presented
evidence on establishments that sell some adult
material in back rooms, but “are not regulated by the
Ordinance” because they fall below the threshold of
sexually explicit material necessary to be qualified as
an adult bookstore) (emphasis added). Respondent’s
argument is plainly irrelevant to whether the City
relied on some evidence “reasonably believed to be
relevant” to its interest in regulating avowedly
sexually oriented businesses like respondent.

Moreover, to the extent that respondent seeks to
analogize its 100% adult bookstore to non-sexually
oriented businesses with adult material behind blinder
racks next to cigarettes (i.e., a convenience store) or in
a back room (i.e., a neighborhood video store), it

8

highlights the comparative-analysis issue in the split
among the circuits. (Pet. 22-28.)

The Seventh Circuit embraced the non sequitur
raised by sexually oriented businesses in every
secondary effects case, namely that if a given non-
adult business has greater secondary effects than an
adult business, there is no substantial government
interest in regulating to prevent the adverse impacts
of the adult business. (App. 38a) (holding that 41
arrests for public masturbation at adult bookstore
during one-year period do not establish a substantial
government interest without a showing that these
adverse effects are greater than those at non-adult
businesses). But see, e.g., Flanigan’s Enters., Inc. v.
Fulton County, 596 F.3d 1265, 1281 (11th Cir. 2010)
(holding that county established substantial
government interest in preventing the secondary
effects identified at adult businesses “[e]ven if we were
to accept that crime is greater in and around the non-
adult establishments”).

Indeed, respondent’s reliance on Dr. Linz’s analysis
of local CFS data only emphasizes the deep circuit
split on the evidence necessary to satisfy the Renton-
Alameda Books standard. For example, Judge
Easterbrook’s opinions below (in Annex Books and in
this case) credit Dr. Linz’s testimony in holding that
the cities have not compiled sufficient evidence to
satisfy that standard. (App. 7a) (alluding to evidence
from Dr. Linz “implying that take-home adult stores
do not have adverse secondary effects”); (App. 41a)
(crediting Dr. Linz’s testimony in reversing summary
judgment for Indianapolis). But other circuit courts
have reached the opposite conclusion. See, e.g., Doctor
John’s v. Wahlen, 542 F.3d 787, 792 (10th Cir. 2008)

9

(affirming summary judgment on regulation of retail-
only adult bookstore and “[I]n light of the Supreme
Court’s rejection [in City of Erte v. Pap’s A.M.,529 U.S.
277, 300 (2000)] of this specific analysis by Dr. Linz,
we see little need to continue.”); Daytona Grand, Inc.
v. City of Daytona Beach, 490 F.3d 860, 883 n.3 (11th
Cir. 2007) (“Interestingly, Damiel Linz, one of the
experts hired by Lollipop’s, alse co-authored the
studies found to be insufficient in two of these cases.
See G.M. Enters., Inc. [v. Town of St. Joseph), 350 F.3d
[631] at 635-36, 639 [(7th Cir. 2003)]; SOB, Inc. [v.
County of Benton), 317 F.3d [856] at 863 [(8th Cir.
2003)).”).

Similarly, the plaintiffs’ evidence in both this case
and in Annex Books consisted of police calls-for-service
(CFS) data. (App. 22a, n.13); Annex Books, Inc. v. City
of Indianapolis, 333 F. Supp. 2d 773, 786 (S.D. ind.
2004) (noting that Dr. Linz analyzed police call data),
rev'd in relevant part, 581 F.3d 460 (7th Cir. 2009)
(App. 33a et seq.). While Judge Easterbrook’s opinions
credited this kind of data, other circuits have rejected
it as insufficient to undermine municipalities’ interest
in regulating sexually oriented businesses. See, e.g.,
Daytona Grand, 490 F.3d at 882 & n.31 (discussing
survey of leading criminology journals which found
that none of the 245 recent articles measuring crime or
crime risk used CFS for that purpose).

Fourth, respondent’s challenges to Dr. McCleary’s
testimony (rebutting Dr. Linz) are without merit. For
example, Dr. McCleary’s entire testimony makes it
clear that the City has a valid public safety concern
over DVD’s proximity to the church across the street
any time that people are on the premises. (R. 116, Tr.
167:21-25) (clarifying that his statement concerning

10

churches is based on the “idea of church worship on
Sunday morning, which I assume is a very slow
business time for sexually-oriented businesses. For
that reason the public safety is not relevant. But when
you get into use of the church facility at other periods of
time, then public safety issues become relevant”)
(emphasis added).

Similarly, respondent mischaracterizes Dr.
McCleary’s testimony by suggesting that “local
criminals” are the City’s central concern. Dr.
McCleary never referred to “local” criminals, but
rather testified that adult businesses of all types,
including retail-only adult bookstores, attract both
potential victims and predatory criminals from a wide
area, e.g., outside the neighborhood. (R. 116, Tr.
168:107.)

Finally, respondent’s reference to the 30%
threshold for the adult bookstore classification is
likewise a red herring. DVD is not a mainstream
bookstore seeking to avoid regulation, but is an
undisputed adult bookstore whose sole raison d’etre is
the sale of sexually explicit fare. Indeed, ordinances
commonly apply such thresholds (R. 116, Tr. 168:14-
169:13), and thereby avoid vagueness claims
frequently raised against less precise definitions. See,
e.g., Wisconsin Vendors, Inc. v. Lake County, 152 F.
Supp. 2d 1987 (N.D. Ill. 2001).

3. Respondent’s discussion of Alameda Books is
equally unavailing because it neither denies the
existence of the circuit split compelling this Court’s
review nor shows that the Seventh Circuit’s decision is
correct under that case.

11

Contrary to respondent’s suggestion, Alameda
Books does not require municipalities to affirmatively
prove causation of secondary effects. Rather, Alameda
Books reaffirmed Renton’s central holding “that a
municipality may rely on any evidence that is
‘reasonably believed to be relevant’ for demonstrating
a connection between speech and a _ substantial,
independent government interest.” 535 U.S. at 438
(plurality opinion); id. at 535 at 451 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring in judgment). Similarly, Alameda Books
refused to require municipalities to “bear the burden
of providing evidence that rules out” alternate
explanations of secondary effects. Id. at 437 (plurality
opinion).

Nor does Alameda Bocks require evidence that
adult establishments produce a greater amount of
crime than non-adult establishments. First, the
language that respondent quotes comes from the
plurality’s description of the Ninth Circuit’s decision,
not from a prescriptive rule of law. 535 U.S. at 436.
Nothing in the plurality opinion suggests that sexually
oriented businesses must be proven to have the most
crime problems in a municipality in order for the
municipality to justify regulations designed to prevent
such businesses’ secondary effects. Yet, as noted in the
petition, a circuit split has developed over this issue
and requires resolution by this Court. (Pet. 22-28.)

Finally, respondent’s closing reminder that the
remand order gives the City a “second bite at the
apple” is an implicit concession that the Seventh
Circuit created a new legal standard, because the
district court already conducted a full evidentiary
hearing under the “reasonably believed to be relevant”
standard established in Renton and reaffirmed in

12

Alameda Books. After the evidentiary hearing, the
district court concluded:

The City has established through this evidence
the first prong of the Renton test for the
following reasons. First, the Ordinance states
that its purpose is to prevent a wide variety of
harms that sociological and criminological
studies tend to demonstrate are associated with
sexually oriented businesses. . . . Second, the
studies relied upon by the City in enacting the
Ordinance are relevant to the problem of
regulating secondary effects, such as crime. ...
Under the Alameda Books test, DVD neither
demonstrates that the City’s evidence does not
support its rationale nor does it dispute the
factual findings of the many studies relied upon
by the City.

- (App. 23a-24a.)

Conspicuously absent from the Seventh Circuit’s
decision below—as well as from the Annex Books
decision on which it relies and respondent’s brief in
opposition—is any mention of this Court’s “reasonably
believed to be relevant” standard. Because the decision
below jettisoned that standard in favor of much more
rigorous requirements for secondary effects
ordinances, this Court should grant certiorari and
reverse.

13
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and those stated in the
petition, the petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Shane L. Gibson Scott D. Bergthold

CITY ATTORNEY Counsel of Record

311 Hauss Square LAW OFFICE OF SCOTT
Room 316 D. BERGTHOLD, P.L.L.C.
New Albany, IN 47150 7446 Shallowford Road
(812) 948-5333 Suite 202

Chattanooga, TN 37421
(423) 899-3025
sbergthold@sdblawfirm.com

May 24, 2010

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1657%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
