# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Austin v. Douglas G. Peterson & Associates

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1632%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 559 U.S. 1049

## Text

= 891001 FEB z

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

H. Richard Austin,
Petitioner Pro Se

Douglas G. Peterson & Associates
Stephen W. Houghton,
Respondents

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
for the First Circuit

PETITION FOR WRiT OF CERTIORARI

H. RICHARD AUSTIN
Petitioner Pro Se

P.O. Box 220814

Saint Louis, MO 63122
314-849-4827

austin richard @msn.con

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1) Are U.S. v. Throckmorton, 98 U.S. 61, Marshall
v. Holmes, 141 U.S. 589, and related precedents
consistent regarding the requirements that govern
an independent action (FRCP 60(d)(1), including
when the finality of judgments or the principles of
equity is the dominant consideration? (Cf U.S. v.
Beggerly, 524 US 38, 45 (1998) - (the “precise
contours [of an independent action] are somewhat
unclear.”)

2) When a “new set of facts” emerges so it is
“against conscience to execute a judgment,” isn't
the role of an independent action for fraud to
investigate those new facts and not what was fully

tried, and by inquiring into the “conduct of the
parties” determine if the judgment in question was
“obtained directly” by fraudulent act{s) so there
was “no adversary trial”?

3) Isn’t the central issue in an independent action

the negative impact of the fraudulent “act(s)” on the
court proceeding instead of whether such conduct
can be viewed as “intrinsic” or “extrinsic” - terms
that at times overlap so it can be difficult to identify
a “precise line” between them. (Cf Marine Insurance
Company of Alexandria v. Hodgson, 11 U.S. 332, 336
(1813).

4) Isn’t “fraud on the court” (FRCP 60(d)(3)) that
species of fraud, in which an attorney (“officer of
the court”) conspires with others to utilize a
fraudulent “scheme” in order to obtain an
unconscionable judgment?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF APPENDIX..............

8 8 he 0)
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................

Precedent |
1) Marine Insurance Company of Alexandria
ES CUR. SS + 5 ae
2) U.S. v. Throckmorton (98 U.S. 61)...............
3) Marshall v. Holmes (141 U.S. 589)......000..00...

4) Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing Scale Co.
EE, OID cn cccececsvvccoveocesecsvcoeesecesseevensee!

5) Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford Empire
| en

That Problematica! Distinction -
“Intrinsic” versus “Extrinsic” Fraud...

The Lower Courts Attempt Their Own
Formulation........

Fraud On the Court.............

The Dispute-“A Grave Miscarriage
of Justice”

1) Subject Matter...
2) Investigations of the Fire Site

3) Scientific Fraud....
eS ee E eT

5) Concealing the Scheme

6) Fabricating Additional, Fraudulent
Evidence.......

FE eT
First Circuit’s Order (November 10, 2009).....5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.................2$
1.The Law Pertaining to Independent
Actions Is Unsettled and Requires a
Long-Awaited Clarification By The

Supreme Court

2.This Case Constitutes A “Grave
Miscarriage Of Justice”’...

i aa

TABLE OF APPENDIX

ORDER (COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT (November 10, 2009).......0.000000000....13

Quote: (“Austin did not make a sufficient
showing to warrant relief under Rule

60(d)(1).”)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Boone v. Royal Indemnity Company, 460 F.2d 26
er Oe PO i cuneie RON he she ce 13

, ° A7 Oc . 7° 6 A? tk Vs v7
Browning v. Navarro, 826. F.2d 535 (5° Cir. 1987)

Bulloch v. United States, 721 F.2d 71¢
(10 Cir. 1983)

Daubert v. Merrell Dow, 509 US 579 (19938)

Geo. P. Remntjes Co., v. Riley Stoker Corp., 71
44 (1* Cir. 1995)

Gleason v. Jandruko, 860 F.2d 556 (2d.Cir.
1988)

Great Coastal Exp. v. International Broth., Ktc.,
O75 F.2d 136 (a Civ. TOY ii sree scccescersnserssstensens 9,10

Hazel-Atlas Class v. Harttord-Emptre Co.,
322 U.S. 238 (1944) 6,7,9,11,14,30,32

In Re Genesys Data Technologies, 204 F.3d 124
C gg > |; SNORE anei nmap ener ty em EL 1S 7

Marine Insurance Company of Alexandria v.
MOdION, 11 U.S. BSZ C1S1S Ji cccosecccsctecsovevseseesseoh yt Mgt |

Marshall v. Holmes, 141 U.S. 589 (1891),
vel, othe

Publicker v. Shallcross, 106 F.2d 94‘
1939)...

Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing Scale Co.,
261 U.S. 399 (19238).

Toséano-v. CI.R., 441 F.2d 930 (9" Cir.

Traveler’s Indem. Co.
s th 1° _-
tiv * AQ) | eee

cy

United States v. Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38 (1998)...1,2,7

United States v. Throckmorton, 98 U.S. 61 (1878)
©)
VU

ssccosseoly 1,50, 4,0, 0, (,0,10,11,28,29,.30,31,;
Westchester Fire Insurance Company V.

Deuso, 146 Vt. 424, 505 A.2d 666

te ee Sb.) )

Statutes

ERCP 60(d)(1) secissseinianesdabinduiaiionn
| SR UR ees ean

28 USC 1254.....

Treatises
Moore’s Federal Practice 3d - 60.81|1]|b] [i]

55 Yale Law Journal, 623, 658-9 (1946)

11 Federa/ Practice and Procedure. 2868, 240-1

C. Wright & A. Miller (1973)

OPINION BELOW

The Order from which this appeal is taken
was entered by the First Circuit (09-1099) on
November 10, 2009.

As stated therein: “(See also United States v.
Throckmorton, 98 U.S.61 (1878) (‘the doctrine is
equally well-settled that the court will not set aside
a judgment because it was founded on a fraudulent
instrument, or perjured evidence, or for any matter
which was actually presented and considered in the

=

judgment assailed.’))

JURISDICTION
The appeal comes before the Supreme Court
pursuant to 28 USC 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This Petition concerns the standards that govern
an independent action In equity, a body of law that
has evolved piecemeal over the decades and to this
day remains somewhat ill-defined. The subject case
involves a judgment that was “obtained” through
fraudulent litigation practices or “acts.” Among
others, these include concealment of an essential
witness, who did not reappear until discovery was
closed; forged documentation that was used to
thwart a key discovery order and also wasn't
produced until discovery was closed; false state-
ments by the attorney to a federal judge in open
court to mislead him regarding the nature of
evidence and the timing when it was produced; use
of the discovery period to produce additional,
fraudulent evidence on an ongoing basis to defeat
discovery; collusion between attorneys and experts,
etc.. In essence, this dispute constitutes a textbook

example of how to undermine a judicial proceeding
and includes both fraud against the opposing party
and the court. All of these nefarious activities are
substantiated by explicit documentation attached to
the Amended Complaint that is contained in the
Joint Appendix submitted to the First Circuit.

In response to the Complaint, none of this
extensive evidence was disputed. Nonetheless, in
spite of the widespread fraudulent “acts” on which
the disputed judgment is based, the Complaint was
dismissed. The First Circuit affirmed, citing US. v.
Throckmorton, 98, U.S. 61, 65. What is involved
here is not a dispute over evidence but rather
the nature of a judicial remedy that, in spite of
its significance, to this day remains ill-defined
(“its precise contours are somewhat unclear.”)
United States v. Beggerly, 524 US 38, 45 (1998).

According to Throckmorton:

(“the acts for which a court of equity will on
account of fraud set aside or annul a judgment
. have relation to frauds, extrinsic or collat-
eral, to the matter tried by the first court, and
not to a fraud in the matter on which the
decree was rendered.”) at 68. Emphasis added.
However, as stated in Marshal] v. Holmes, 141 US
589, 596 (1891):
(“any fact which clearly proves it to be against
conscience to execute a judgment, and of
which the injured party could not have availed
himself in a court of law...but was prevented by
fraud or accident, unmixed with any fault or
negligence in himself or his agents, will justify

an application to a court of chancery.”)
Emphasis added.
In Graver v. Faurot, 162 US 435, 438 (1896), the

Supreme Court noted what the Seventh Circuit

considered the conflict between Throckmorton and

Holmes:
(“the assumption that this court has applied
well-settled general principles of law differ-
ently in two different cases... While some
hesitation in decision may temporarily result
until it is finally determined whether that
assumption is justified, and, if justified, the
anomaly is corrected, we think such deter-
mination ought not to be attempted, save
where the point must be disposed of on a
record after final decree.”)

The issue has been noted by other courts as well:
(“The Supreme Court of the United States, to
show its utter impartiality, has ruled both
ways, ... Since the courts are at liberty to cite
either line of authorities, and do so as suits
their convenience, the only possible answer in
spite of repeated assertions that the federal
rule is clear, is that there is no federal rule at
all.”

Publicker v. Shallcross, 106 F.2d 949, 951 (3d Cir.
1939). Emphasis added.

Precedent
1) Marine Insurance Company Of
Alexandria v. Hodgson, il U.S. 332
For more than a century, the relationship of

Throckmorton and Holmes has been debated along
with the broader issue of how to harmonize courts
of law and chancery. To this day, there remains
considerable disagreement on the subject, espe
cially regards the “intrinsic’/“extrinsic” fraud
distinction emphasized in 7Arockmorton.

This problematical situation can be viewed as
having its genesis in Marine /nsurance Company of
Alexandria v. Hodgson, 1\ US 332 (1813). Therein,
Justice John Marshall stated the grounds support-
ing an action in equity that later was quoted by
Justice Harlan in the 1891 Marsha// case. However,
at that time the Court also observed:

(“Without attempting to draw any precise line
to which Courts of equity will advance, and
which they cannot pass, in restraining parties

from availing themselves of judgments
obtained at law, it may safely be said that any
fact which clearly proves it to be against
conscience to execute a judgment...”) etc. at
336. Emphasis added.

2. U.S. v. Throckmorton (98 U.S. 61)

In 1878, the Zhrockmorton decision was handed
down, a dispute involving a 1853 California land
claim challenged by the U.S. government. The
grounds was that the claim filed by W.A. Richard-
son was based on a fraudulently back-dated land
grant supported by perjured depositions. Although
the Court in Throckmorton noted the general rule
that (“fraud vitiates the most solemn contract,
documents, and even judgments’ ), at 64-5, it
denied the government's claim, Justice Miller
making his now-famous statement regarding
extrinsic or collateral frauds that has occasioned so
much debate. In essence, the Justice attempted to
do what Justice Marshall would not - employ the
intrinsic/ extrinsic distinction to draw what
amounts to a “precise line” that should restrain a
court of equity from intervening in a judgment no
matter how unconscionable.

3. Marshall v. Holmes (141 U.S. 589)

Thirteen years after Throckmorton, the Supreme
Court again addressed the issue of whether a
forgery could provide the basis for granting relief
from a judgment. In Marshal/ v. Holmes, a Mrs
Marshall contended that several judgments against
her were obtained through a forged letter that was
used as evidence in various state court procced-
ings. The holding of the Court was that Mrs.
Marshall could remove her case to federal court on
the grounds of diversity. However, it is the dicta in
the decision mirroring what Justice Marshall stated
almost a century before that is remembered: (“any
fact which clearly proves it to be against conscience
to execute a judgment...”) etc..

Thus, Justice Miller’s position in 7Arockmorton,
has been viewed as emphasizing the finality of a
judgment above other considerations except those
considered collateral, while Justices Harlan and
Marshall presumably recognized that various
“act(s)” (regardless of how they are designated)
could provide the grounds for relief. At the same
time, ZVhrockmorton is cited as precedent in
Holmes at 596. It is not surprising that courts
across the country have encountered difficulty
rationalizing the two cases, and as previously noted
in Graver v. Faurot, the Court did not at that time
rule on the matter, leaving open the possibility that
at a future time it might do so.

4. Toledo Scale Co., v. Computing Scale Co.
(261 US 399)
In 1923, the Court revisited the subject,
stating:
(“ We do not find ourselves obliged to enter

upon a consideration of the sometimes nice
distinctions made between intrinsic and
extrinsic frauds in the application of the rule...
to justify setting aside a decree for fraud,
whether extrinsic or intrinsic, it must appear
that the fraud charged really prevented the

party complaining from making a full and fair

defense.”) at 421. Emphasis added.
It would appear that the Court was indicating that
what-is considered either intrinsic or extrinsic
fraud can support an independent action, in effect
abandoning what it refers to as those “somewhat
nice distinctions.” Subsequently, however, little
notice has been taken of this apparently significant
statement.

5. Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford Empire
Co. (322 US 238)

In 1944 the Hazel-Atlas Glass case entered the.
picture, a dispute involving a forged, scientific
article employed to support a 1926 patent
application. In addition, the article was used as
evidence in court, including before the Third
Circuit. However, the article was actually written by
officials and lawyers for the company (Hartford-
Empire) seeking the patent. When the matter
reached the Supreme Court, the Court stated that
(“every element of the fraud here disclosed
demands the exercise of the historic power of
equity to set aside fraudulently begotten judg-
ments... we find a deliberately planned and
carefully executed scheme to defraud not only the
Patent Office but the circuit Court of Appeals.”) at
245-6. Emphasis added. In the opinion, Justice
Black employed the now-famous term “fraud on the

court.” Because the fraud was also directed at the
court itself, no concern was shown for the fact that
Hazel-Atlas could be viewed as not exercising
sufficient diligence uncovering the requisite evi-
dence (what in Ho/mes is referred to as negli-
gence. ) In other words, it isn't necessary for a
court to rely on a litigant to protect its own
interests.

Furthermore, the Court did not attempt an
analysis as to whether intrinsic or extrinsic fraud
was involved. Based on the usual interpretation of
those terms, the subject matter at issue was
intrinsic. As a result, in a minority dissent (at 251),
Justice Roberts opposed the decision on the
grounds that “fraud in the preparation of the
document was not extrinsic but intrinsic and will
not support review, emphasizing the lack of
diligence by the attorneys for Hazel-Atlas. Thus,
the problems related to the two categories of fraud
surfaced again and demonstrated that the Supreme
Court was divided on the subject.

Furthermore, the Hazel AZl/as decision cites
favorably both Throckmorton and Marshail/ at 246,
Gust as Ho/mes cited Throckmorton ). In addition,
the Court states that (“Proof of the scheme, and of
its complete success... is conclusive.”) at 246.
However, in Throckmorton, the success of Richard-
son’s scheme to legitimatize a fictitious deed was
not persuasive to the Court. Thus, the situation
involving Throckmorton and Holmes appears to
have grown even more confused with the exact
nature of this important judicial remedy still in
question (“somewhat unclear”) United States v.
Beggerley, 524 US 38, 45 (1998).

The Advisory Committee to the 1946 Amend-

ments of Rule 60 observed that such an equitable
action is permitted as far as “established doctrine
permits.” One can conclude that the traditional
independent action had a rather broad character in
order to afford a degree of flexibility to meet a
variety of circumstances - a consideration that
probably influenced Justice Marshall's reluctance
to establish a (“precise line to which Courts of
equity will advance, and wherc they cannot pass.”)
a position that, of course, contrasts markedly with
the approach taken by the Court in 7Vhrockmorton.

In addition, according to the 1946 formulation,
the “independent action” became the sole reposi-
tory of relief for out-of-time accions (exceeding one
year) that address fraud, repiacing the various,
“more narrow, traditional writs that for centuries
were utilized. Thus, in modern practice the inde-
pendent action has taken on a singular importance.
Nonetheless, the relevant case law, that defines the
scope of the procedure, has evolved piecemeal over
many decades and contains a number of gray areas.
Furthermore, much of the commentary on the
subject has come from the lower courts that have
attempted on their own to formalize the procedure
while not always agrecing on the subject. Much of
the problem is centered on the imtrinsic/ extrinsic
fraud distinction, and as this case demonstrates,
the issue of where to draw the “precise line”
between them is still very much in dispute and can
at times produce unfortunate results.

6) The Problematical Distinction -
“Intrinsic” versus “Extrinsic” Fraud
(“At times it is a journey into futility to attempt a
distinction between extrinsic and intrinsic matter

. little is to be zained by classifying successful
fraud into intrinsic or extrinsic categories.”) J.
Moore, “Federal Relief from Civil- Judgments,” 55
Yale Law Journal, 623, 658-9 (1946).

(“Distinction is “most unfortunate, if true. [Tt]
rests on clouded and confused authorities, its
soundness as a matter of policy is very doubtful,
and it is extremely difficult to apply. It ought not to
persist as a limit on independent actions..”) 11. C.
Wright & A. Miller, Federa/ Practice and
Procedure, 2868, at 240-41 (1973).

This criticism is mirrored in the lower courts,
some of which do not apply the concept (Third
Circuit), while (“most courts continue to observe
that distinction in independent actions...”) Moore’s
Federal Practice 3d, 60.81[{1][{b][il].

(“The district court followed the intrinsic/
extrinsic fraud distinction described in United
States v. Throckmorton, 98 U.S. 61. Under this
doctrine, fraud must be “extrinsic” to justify relief...
Notwithstanding the considerable criticism... and
the debate regarding the effect of WVarshal/ v.
Holmes, 141 US 589,.”) Great Coastal Exp v.
International Broth., Ftc., 675 F.2d 1349, 1358 (4
Cir. 1982) Emphasis added.

(“The distinction that 7Arockmorton made
between intrinsic and extrinsic fraud may have
become questionable as early as 1891..in Marshal]
v. Holmes, 141 US 870....”) Browning v. Navarro,
826 F.2d 335, 344, n.11. (5 Cir. 1987). EF. added.

7) Lower Courts Attempt
Their Own Formulation.
In the current version of Rule 60, the extrinsic/
ntrinsic fraud distinction was abolished for a

motion that was given a one-year timeframe.
However, the Rule does not address the issue of
intrinsic versus extrinsic fraud as the term applies
to an independent action. Lacking direction from
the Supreme Court, the circuits have on their own
tried to reach a compromise, although some
contend that the two concepts are no longer valid.
As a result, many emphasize what amounts to a
lack of opportunity. Thus, while continuing to
utilize the distinction, they define extrinsic fraud
according to res judicata principles. At the same
time, many harmful or obstructionist acts
connected to the substance of a trial can still be
considered intrinsic and beyond reach of an
independent action. Therefore, the lower courts
remain free to decide this pivotal issue according to
what amounts to a subjective standard.

(“[extrinsic] fraud... that infects the actual
judicial process, is grounds to set aside a judgment
as procured by fraud.”) Browning v. Navarro, 826
F.2d 335, 344 (5 Cir. 1987).

(“aggrieved party seeking relief ...still must be
able to show that there was ‘no opportunity to have
the ground now relied upon to set aside the
judgment fully litigated in the original action....see
Marshall, 141 US at 596.”) Gleason v. Jandrucko,
860 F.2d 556, 560 (2d. Cir. 1988)

(“fraud must be ‘extrinsic’ to justify relief, that is,
fraud that actually prevented an issue from being
joined.”) Great Coastal Exp. v. International Broth.,
Etc., 675 F.2d 1349, 1358 (4" Cir. 1982)

7) Fraud On The Court
The 1946 version of the Rule also for the first
time provided relief from a judgment on the

grounds of “fraud on the court.” While citing Haze/-
Atlas, the Advisory Committee did not specifically
define the concept or state how it should be
applied. Questions persist as to its scope and
meaning. In Voscano v. CLR., 441 F.2d 930, 933-4
(1971), the Ninth Circuit stated: (“The distinction
between “fraud” on the one hand and “fraud on the
court” on the other is by no means clear.”) Such
fraud has been variously described: (“That other-
wise elusive concept...”) - Jn Re Cenesys Data
Technologies, 204 F.3d 124, 130 (2000); (“directed
at the judicial machinery.”) - Bulloch v. United
States, 721 F.2d 713, 719 (10™ Cir. 1983). What is
clear is that such fraud is a special category.
Among others, its purpose is to recognize dishonest
dealings with the court, especially by an attorney
such as occurred in the case underlying this
Petition.

The Dispute -
“A Grave Miscarriage of Justice”
1) Subject Matter

This long-standing dispute illustrates vividly in
its various aspects the type of harmful or “fraudu-
lent acts” that typically support an independent
action. The case is centered on a conspiracy that
included a national insurance company, attorneys,
experts and others, who utilized falsified scientific
evidence of fire causation to void a homeowners
policy. The “scheme,” that involved professionals in
at least four states, commenced only a few days
after a house fire (November 12, 1993) and long
before any dispute arose concerning the fire itself
or the relevant insurance. Eventually it became a
systematic attack on the judicial process and

] ,

demonstrates how far some attorneys are willing to
go to undermine legal standards. The prompt,
almost routine way it was initiated indicates that at
least some of these individuals had considerable
experience-in this type of activity.

The subject fire completely destroyed Petitioner
Austin’s home in Warren, Vermont in late-1993,
the structure and contents insured by a policy
issued by the Hanover Insurance Company,
Worcester, Massachusetts a subsidiary of the
Allmerica Financial Corporation, a conglomerate
listed on the New York Stock Exchange. The
amounts of coverage under the policy were deter-
mined by the company and their agent and
approximately equaled the loss. In other words
there was no excess insurance. Subsequently all
terms for indemnification were complied with,
including the Proofs of J.oss establishing the
financial parameters of the claim that were accept-
ed by Hanover as fair and accurate. Thus the
compensatory damages are liquidated. A few weeks
after the fire, Hanover was informed that the
purpose of the claim was the prompt reconstruction
of the dwelling, anda qualified builder acceptable
to the insurer was chosen by the insurer’s agent.
Over a period of months extensive preparations
were made to start reconstruction as soon as the
weather permitted. Nonetheless, just as the spring
building season arrived, the insurer voided the
policy on-the grounds of arson and refused to
permit reconstruction.

The resulting litigation commenced with an
action against the Hanover in August 1994 that
resulted in an adverse judgment on August 1, 1997
after a jury trial devoted almost entirely to the

issue of fire causation. During the trial, the insurer
did not produce any evidence regarding the
essential elements of opportunity and motive.
Fraud was not at issue. About a year and a half
after trial, however, information was obtained that
demonstrates conclusively the judgment was
obtained through a conspiracy to fabricate
“scientific” evidence that provided the misleading
impression the subject fire was deliberately set
(“incendiary”). Thus, the fraud went to the heart of
the insurer's legal case, establishing through
devious means the element that has become
indispensable (sine gua non) to the so-called arson
defense to liability - definitive proof that a fire was
in fact deliberately set (“must find...that the fire
was of incendiary origin.) Westchester Fire
Insurance Company v. Deuso, 146 Vt. 424, 426, 505
A.2d 666 (Supreme Ct. - Vermont (1985)). The
cases from across the country cited in Deuso
indicate that any circumstantial evidence relied
upon in this regard must be very strong. For
instance, Loone v. Royal Indemnity Company, 460
F.2d 26, 28 (10th Cir. - 1972) - (“Several pounds of
explosive substance had been placed in the building
. explosion preceded the fire...”).

To meet this substantia] burden, the opinion of
experts in fire investigation is generally used.
Federal standards control] the admissibility of such
evidence. The hard evidence that allegedly
supported the investigation was falsified lab tests’
utilizing some sort of material that didn’t come

' (“. whether a theory or technique is scientific knowledge that

will assist the trier of fact will be whether it can be (and has been)
tested.”) Daubert v. Merrell Dow, 509, U S 579, 598 (1993)

from the subject fire site. The other, key aspect of
the scheme was the ongoing campaign engineered
by Hanover's attorneys to undermine the judicial
process so it could not function correctly. Further-
more, the dishonest way in which the attorneys
dealt with the court ultimately rose to the level of
“fraud on the court” (Haze/-At/as Glass v. Hartford-
Empire Co., 322 US 238.

2) Investigations of the Fire Site

Pursuant to a voluntary release provided by
Petitioner, Hanover conducted the investigation of
the site that -was supposed to determine the fire’s
cause. The work for the insurer was done by
defendant Douglas G. Peterson & Associates,
Greenfield, Massachusetts, under the direction of
defendant Stephen W. Houghton.

Over several years Petitioner personally. built
much of the house that contained many unique
features, including a complex, electrical system
with computer and satellite dish components. To
this day, he still considers the wood stove the most
likely cause of the fire. It served as a back-up
source of heat to a hot-water, ou-fired system with
multi-zones that covered the entire structure. The
stove, that was on the ground floor, was connected
to a tall chimney with a strong draft and had

previously overheated, resulting in two, chimney

fires that damaged the flue tiles.

Relying on the insurer’s commitment to share
the results of its examination, Petitioner did not
have his own investigator. This commitment was
not kept, and some preliminary information
regarding Hanover’s supposed “scientific” evidence
of arson was only obtained through a court hearing

and order in mid-1996, or almost three years after
the fire. As a means of broadening the resources
brought to the investigation, Petitioner also
provided a voluntary, unrestricted release to the
Vermont State Police so they could participate in
the work at the site. Their investigation took place
on November 15 and 16 and utilized a dog trained
to detect petroleum-based substances in fire debris.
Tests performed at the New York State Crime Lab
were all negative, and it has never been determined
what the dog might have detected. The officer
(Harrington), who performed the police investi-
gation, stated at his sworn deposition that no one
knows what the dog detected.

The insurers’ investigator, George Wilson of
Douglas G. Peterson, was present during the police
investigation and also worked there by himself on
November 24. Wilson’s work on the 24 provides the
basis for his 1 »port that supposedly established by
recognized, scientific procedures that the probable
cause of the fire was an accelerant being poured in
the laundry room. The information that has emerg-
ed over several years, however, demonstrates
conclusively that the report is a cynical fabrication
intended to serve the objective of thwarting
Petitioner's insurance claim.

3) The Scientific Fraud
While at the site on November 24, Wilson took
numerous photographs and collected eight samples
from the utility/laundry room area. This debris was
supposedly shipped to the Mercury Research Lab
in Cary, North Carolina, where analytical tests were

performed on a Hewlett Packard gas chromato-
graph/ mass spectrometer (GCMS). It is further

16

alleged that two of the cight samples tested
positive for an accelerant initially identified as
kerosene. Later, this was changed to No.2 fuel oi
or home heating oul.

It is now beyond reasonable doubt, however, that
the tests were ordered from the lab before Wilson
returned to the site on the 24 for the purpose of
fabricating a report that would utilize the fake
tests. The two, allegedly positive tests are dated
respectively November 25, 1993, 2:32am (sample
#4) and November 25, 1993, 4:00am (sample #6).
(See Joint Appendix in the First Circuit, pgs. 36-37;
231-232). Such a date/time is generated auto-
matically by the GCMS at the inception of a test
and encrypted along with the rest of the data in
binary code (computer language). It cannot be
altered later without destroying a significant
portion of the test file. The date/time is produced
by an internal clock that runs automatically even
when the computer is turned off because it is
supported by a CMOS battery. These batteries are
very reliable and long-lasting. In the unlikely event
that one failed, any date/time would be lost along
with the computer’s BIOS (basic in/out or
operational instructions). “ Hence, the computer
would not be able to function correctly when the

* For further details, the sworn statements of Petitioner’s experts
are provided in the Joint Appendix. Mr. Jay Chrystal is President
and Lab Manager of ChemServe, Milford, New Hampshire, an
environmental testing lab accredited nationally (Joint Appendix -
pgs 52-70) Dr Donald Hesse is a chemist and software engineer
from Saint Louis, Missouri (Joint Appendix - pgs 71-89). At that
time Chrystal and Hesse had almost 40 years of combined
experience in the testing field, which includes working with
Hewlett Packard GCMS equipment

GCMS was restarted. It would, of course, be
impossible not to notice such a situation.

Having spent most of November 24 at the site,
Wilson had to drive back to the offices of Dougla
G. Peterson & Associates in Greenfield Massa
chusetts (about five hours), sort and package the
samples and ship them to Cary, North Carolina,
which is about one-thousand miles away. After
reaching the Mercury I.ab, the samples had to be
unpacked and undergo cxtensive preparation. This
last step is an overnight process. All of this,
including transport over such a long distance,
would have to take place in only a few hours so the
tests could be performed in the early morning of
November 25. Obviously this is completcly
impossible. Despite repeated opportunities,
Hanover’s experts have not been able to provide a
scientifically plausible explanation for the
date/time discrepancy containcd in the lab tests
that allegedly support George Wilson’s opinion of
arson.

4) Concealed Expert

At the trial Jimmy Pau, technical director of the
Mercury Lab, who for several months could not be
located, provided deliberately false testimony with
the assistance of attorney Gregory Clayton in order
to deceive the jury about the tests. (Joint Appendix
- pgs. 46-51, especially 49 and 51). According to
Pau, the samples didn’t reach the lab until Novem-
ber 30 and the tests conducted on December 1. He
attempted to explain the date/time discrepancy by
alleging that the computer in the GCMS had been
turned off for six, straight days because of

electrical problems in the Cary, North Carolina

area. Allegedly this stopped the internal clock that
generates the date/time. Thus, when the computer
was turned back on so the tests could be conduct-
ed, there was the discrepancy of six days. As Pau
stated falsely under oath: “You have to set the date
and the time ”...after you turn it off, you have to
reset it... you need to reset the clock every time you
run that.” (p.49) This explanation is obviously
false and contradicts the way the clock in the
GCMS'’s computer functions, including the fact it is
supported by a battery. Since there is this reserve
source of power, it isn’t necessary “every time’ to
reset the clock which continues to run on its own.
Furthermore, Pau testified that when the tests took
place, lab personnel didn’t notice that the computer
generated an erroneous date/time six days before
the date when the tests were supposedly perform-
ed. However, an electronic clock, such as that ina

GCMS’s computer, is not like a mechanical clock
that continues to display the time when it stops
running. In the event the source of power ceases,

(Chrystal) Those dates and times are what are called the
acquisition time. The place where it gets the time is from the
real-time clock, which is on the motherboard of the computer

Q. That clock is supported by a battery; is that correct?

A. That is correct
(Jay Chrystal statement - Joint Appendix, pgs. 57-58

A. When the instrument is going to start collection on an alga
run, 1t reads the date and time from the computer system clock,
and inserts that into the data file

Q@. Okay. Now the statement that 1s necessary every time at the
beginning of a test to set the internal clock wouldn't that be false.

A. Yes: That would be false It is not necessary to set the date
and time before each analytical run.
(Dr. Hesse’s statement - Joint Appen

19

any date/ time is lost along with the computer’s
operational instructions (BIOS). (Chrystal
statement - p. 59 - “It (ie. the battery) sustains all
of the bio(s) settings for the computer itself.” 1n.4)
Equally revealing is the fact that Pau’s testimony
is disproved by the lab’s own written correspon-
dence related to the analytical tests. In a letter
dated December 2, 1993 addressed to Douglas G.
Peterson and reporting the testing of the samples
supposedly acquired by Wilson on November 24
(Joint Appendix pgs. 40-42), reference is made to
the lab’s “quality assurance program” performed
immediately prior to testing so the GCMS would
function accurately. As stated: “A quality assurance
program was incorporated into the standard
anaiytical operating procedure. The QA program
consists of a daily auto-tune of the mass spectro-
meter and a standard calibration run on the GCMS
system. This program ensures the proper cali-
bration of both GC and MS instrument.” (emphasis
added). Since this “auto-tune” program was being
conducted on a “daily” basis, the computer that
controls the equipment could not have been turned
off for six, straight days - (“Daily (adj.) - occurring,
made, or acted upon everyday’- Merrram- Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary, 11" Ed,, p. 313.) Further-
more, it is totally implausible that just after
conducting a quality assurance review of the GCMS
prior to testing, the operator didn’t notice that the
computcr that controls the equipment wasn't
functioning correctly (ie. the BIOS was lost). Based
only on this written evidence from the Jab itself,
there 1s no other possibility except that Pau’s
explanation of the date-time discrepancy given
under oath before the jury is deltberately false and

20

the tests and fire investigation a total fraud.

The date/time discrepancy was the result of an
unanticipated change in George Wilson’s schedule.
Originally he returned to the site on November 22.
However, Petitioner would not allow hiin to pro-
ceed without assurance that the results of his work
would be shared. Hence, he had to come back on
the 24, causing the :discrepancy, which resulted in
the fraud.being detected.

Finally it should be noted that at no time during
the trial did Petitioner assert fraud. Although he
suspected that something unusual was involved, he
was unable to obtain the requisite information to
make such a serious accusation. Thus the question-
ing of the various experts emphasized what was
considered their lack of professionalism.

5) Concealing the Scheme

After the litigation commenced, the attorneys,
Harold Eaton of Woodstock Vermont and then
Gregory Clayton of Littleton, New Hampshire,
conducted an ongoing campaign to undermine the
court proceeding, including discovery. This
included generating in increments additional,
falsified evidence in order to stay a step ahead of
the inquiry. Also, the insurer did not voluntarily
produce for deposition the experts connected to its
own fire investigation. Afterward, neither Wilson
or Pau would sign their preliminary telephone
depositions - something that is not typical of
truthful, scientific experts. At that point Pau
abruptly disappeared “somewhere abroad’ so his
deposition could not be completed in person at the
lab and his records examined. When Petitioner
contacted lab personnel trying to ascertain where

Pau was located, Attorney Clayton repeatedly
threatened sanctions, making clear his deter-
mination to prevent further contact with this
important, material witness. (Joint Appendix pgs.
90-92). Since Pau did not reappear until discovery
was closed, it was never possible to finish question-
ing him about the tests.

After Pau finally resurfaced, he cooperated with
Attorney Clayton to produce a forged document
falsely attributed to the prestigious American
Society of Testing and Materials. This includes a
cover letter from Clayton (November 25, 1996)
endorsing the document as authentic. (Joint
Appendix pgs. 93-94). The immediate purpose of
this deceptive act was to nullify an important court
order (October 28, 1996) regarding relevant
information promised by Pau. However, this
spurious document was only produced after
discovery ended so Pau could not be questioned
about this subject as well. At the trial Pau admitted
the document he produced was not authentic.
(Jomt Appendix pgs. 95-96)

G) Fabricating Additional, Fraudulent
Evidence
Of significance is the fact that while discovery

was in progress, Wilson and the other experts tried
intermittently to undermine their own opinions so
they would be excluded by the court. Having
become aware of the date/time discrepancy in the
lab tests, they no doubt acted in this fashion out of
concern for potential legal consequences.

As a result, during his telephone deposition
(August 6, 1996) Wilson explicitly repudiated his
own fire investigation. (Joint Appendix pgs. 97-

100). The focus of his supposedly authoritative
report is a so-called “accelerant pour pattern”
allegedly found on the laundry room floor and
documented by photographs. Nonetheless, during
his deposition, Wilson stated under oath that “I
don't believe I indicated where an accelerant was
actually poured... How much was poured or where it
was actually physically poured, I do not know..”
(Joint Appendix pgs. 99-100). With discovery.
thwarted, however, Wilson reappeared at the trial
and once again reversed himself, stating that he
really did find what he stated in his report.

While exhibiting an obvious concern for adverse
consequences, the experts also continued
intermittently to participate in the fraud and
thereby earn additional sums of money for their
“scientific” research. As a result Hanover and its
operatives, including the attorneys, utilized the
discovery period to falsify additional evidence in
the ongoing effort to salvage the scheme. This
involved the direct participation of defendant
Stephen Houghton, who previously remained in th:
background supervising George Wilson.
(Apparently at this point, Wilson was no long
willing to participate in further “research.”) As a
result Houghton traveled to the site in Warren,
Vermont and supposedly obtained a liquid sample
from the underground fuel tank that had been
unattended for three years. At the time it was in
the midst of a construction project to build a house
for the new owner of the property. Another test was
performed at the Mercury Lab and allegedly
established that the accelerant that was never
actually found came from the tank.

The letter of June 21, 1996 (Joint Appendix p.

101) from the lab indicates how closely the
attorneys were monitoring the activities of the
experts so no further mistakes would be made.
Previously, when the original, two, falsified tests
were produced, the correspondence from the
Mercury Lab was addressed to defendant Stephen
Houghton. (Joint Appendix pgs.40-42, and p.43),
who then wrote to Attorney Harold Eaton about the
matter. (Joint Appendix pgs. 44-45). However, after
the dating problem arose, all the correspondence
from the lab went directly to Attorney Clayton, who
was now exerting direct contro] over the production
of the fraudulent evidence.

This continues with the letier dated March 6,
1997 from the lab (also addressed to Clayton) that
concerns the next step in the campaign to prop up
the scheme and reinstate the credibility of the
initial two, falsified tests. This latest fakery
conveniently made its appearance just as the case
was placed on the trial calendar. It consisted of
some paper stuffed in a gallon tin can partially
filled with fuel oil. The item was produced by
Officer David Harrington of the Vermont State
Police more than three and one-half years after the
fire. Harrington produced the substance in the can
in spite of the fact that during his deposition on
July 2, 1996 (almost a year before Petitioner was
actually informed), neither he or Attorney Clayton
disclosed the existence of this allegedly relevant
evidence in response to repeated and emphatic
questions about any relevant, “physical” items “in
the possession” of the Vermont State Police. (Joint
Appendix pgs.104-106).

At the pretrial conference on July 1, 1997,
Attorney Clayton deliberately deceived the trial

judge (Murtha), who was new to the case, regarding
the timing when Petitioner was actually informed.
(Joint-Appendix pgs. 111-114). Clayton’s statement
to the court: “The moment we got that report back
from the lab we sent this to Mr. Austin...” (p. 112).
However, compare this to the letter from the Jab
dated. March 6, 1997 (Joint Appendix p. 110), in
which the results of the test on the substance in the
can were first reported to Clayton. Furthermore,
note his letter dated May 21, 1997 (Joint Appendix
p.107), when the information was finally sent to
Petitioner, or almost three months later. Also note
the letter to Clayton dated May 19, 1997 belatedly
generated by Stephen Houghton, in which the
attempt is made to give the false impression that
the attorney just learned about the test results
(Joint Appendix p.108-109). However, in explicit
language the letter from the Mercury Lab (March
6) demonstrates otherwise.

Allegedly the item that appeared so suddenly
was the newspaper (copy of the Wall Street
Journal) found after the fire on the front lawn nea:
a stump Petitioner was cutting up with a chainsaw.
The real newspaper, that originally was in his
wheelbarrow, had been lying there about a month.
At the trial Petitioner for the first time saw the
item, that was definitely not what had been on his
lawn. Presumably, the objective was to provide
corroboration of arson through something
independent of the falsified tests that might still be
regarded as suspect. However, since its is known
without doubt that the substance found in the first
two, falsified tests didn’t come from the fire site,

finding it in two, additional tests only compounded
the fraud.

Ultimately the can of oil ended up in the jury
room, where the acrid smell would have produced a
powerful and confusing, psychological impression
on the jury already prejudiced by days of falsified
“expert” testimony. Essentially, this was the
proverbial coup de grace of what amounted to a
cynical, dramatic performance. In all, four experts
(Pau, Wilson, Houghton and Harrington) perjured
themselves regarding the fraudulent evidence in
order to legitimatize it in the eyes of the jury. To
augment the smelly substance in the can, the
senses of the jury members were further impacted
by impressive displays (three-feet in length), which
allegedly depicted in vivid color the pour pattern
that George Wilson previously stated under oath at
his deposition that he never found. All of this
commenced with a lengthy dissertation by Officer
Harrington on the “science” of fire investigation.

Finally, it should be noted that the initial
litigation took place in a district court (Vermont),
where the judge (Sessions), who was handling the
case, had a heart attack. As a result, the file was
transferred repeatedly, dealt with by various
personnel and the trial conducted by a judge
(Murtha), who was largely unfamiliar with the case

Thus, this complex dispute took place within a
highly chaotic context that enabled the defendant
insurer, attorneys and experts (including the
current defendants) to capitalize on the resulting
confusion and undermine completely the court

proceeding.

Litigation
The lengthy history of this dispute has taken
place in five stages (Austin J - V) initiated

sequentially by Petitioner (as a pro se) over a
period of approximately 16 years. Austin J is the
initial action against the Hanover Insurance
Company that ended in the adverse judgment
procured by fraud. Subsequently, in Austin IT - [V
all of Petitioner’s Complaints based on the late-
discovered evidence were dismissed without any
hearings or findings of fact. The district court
(Vermont) and the Second Circuit based their
adverse decisions on a standard of review that
mirrors a strict reliance on the intrinsic/ extrinsic
fraud distinction but is expressed in what amounts
to contradictory res judicata principles. Abouta
year and a half after trial, Petitioner finally
obtained the information that proves the so-called
scientific evidence relied on by the Hanover in
Austin / is a complete fraud. As a result, an
independent action (Austin // was filed against the
insurer (99-CV-252 Vt). There were no proceeding
at the trial level, and instead the case was promptly
dismissed. An unsuccessful appeal to the Second
Circuit (00-9235) followed, the resulting order
indicating the appellate court did not go back in the
file or realize that an independent action was
involved - in other words there was no de novo
review.

Austin 1l/(03-CV-204 Vt) was then filed against
the attorneys and experts (including the current
defendants) who conspired with the insurer in
Austin I. Once again the case was dismissed with
no proceedings or specific findings of fact - this
time on the contradictory and mutually exclusive

zrounds of res judicata and collateral estoppel.
Another appeal to the Second Circuit (03-9264)
foliowed, and the court affirmed on the grounds of

collateral estoppel.-At the same time the court
indicated that a de novo review of the case was not
performed and hence there were once again no
findings of fact at the appellate level.

The next stage (Austin IV) was an independent
action against the attorneys in the Eastern District
of Missouri. The case was filed in Saint Louis
because the ltigation commenced there in 1994. At
the time the Hanover obtained a change of venue to
Vermont on the grounds of false statements made
to the court regarding the falsified, scientific
evidence. In other words, the case was moved
halfway across the country to facilitate a fraud.
After a nine-month delay, the court declined
jurisdiction, and the case was sent back to Vermont
(06-CV-38). In its order the First Circuit states
incorrectly that (“We join our sister appellate
courts in the Eighth Circuit and the Second Circuit
in admonishing Austin...”) However, this matter
was never before the Kighth Circuit that expressed
no opinion on the subject.

After the case was returned to Vermont, it was
dismissed again. There was another appeal to the
Second Circuit (06-4203), that issued an order also
based on the contradictory grounds of both
collateral estoppel and res judicata. It will be
recalled that another Second Circuit panel (Austin
II/} concluded that these same attorneys were not

privies (ie. collateral estoppel). In a footnote,

however, the curious statement appears that
presumably indicates that all of the defendants in
the various stages of the litigation were privies.
Once again there were no findings of fact at the
appellate level.

Thus, although the matter had dragged on since

1994, no valid litigation ever took place. The
original action was undermined completely by
fraud, and all of the subsequent actions were
dismissed by the trial court without proceedings or
specific findings and then confirmed at. the
appellate level - twice without a de novo review. In
effect, during all this time the matter went
essentially nowhere.

In Austin V, the district of Massachusetts
dismissed the current independent action against
the defendant experts on the grounds of judicial
comity and the state statute of limitations even
though a prior state case is not involved.
Subsequently the First Circuit affirmed on the
grounds of a literal interpretation of U.S. v.
Throckmorton (ie. all of the frauds that occurred
are intrinsic and hence barred.)

As noted, in all of the relevant orders there is
some sort of significant, judicial error. The prior
litigation is discussed in the Amended Complaint,
pgs. 27-31 in the Joint Appendix, and the resulting
orders are at pgs. 192-215. Finally, it should be
noted that at the various prior stages, Petitioner
unsuccessfully sought certiorari. However. the

grounds were different from those presented in the

current Petition

First Circuit's Order (November 10, 2009)

As previously stated, the mitial action (Austin J),
including the trial, is a prime example of how to
undermine a modern judicial proceeding by
fraudulent “acts.” Essentially this was a corrupted
situation that no litigant could deal with effectively
so in Austin / there never was an “adversary”

proce eding. Nonetheless, in its recent order the

+)

<

First Circuit states that (“the possibility of perjury,
even concerted, is a common hazard of the
adversary process with which the litigants are
equipped to deal through discovery and cross-
examination’), citing Geo. P. Heintjes Co., v. Riley
Stoker Corp., 71 F.3d 44, 49 (1™ Cir. 1995)
(emphasis added); and Throckmorton at 66.
However, 7hrockmorton also states that relief can
be obtained through an equity proceeding when (“a
judgment was obtained directly by fraud”) at 66
emphasis added; and (“by reason of something
done by the successful party to a suit, there was in
fact no adversary trial or decision of the issue in
the case.) at 65 (emphasis added).

Similarly in Marshall v. Holmes, the Court takes
note of the need (“to scrutinize the conduct of the
parties, and if it finds that they have been guilty of
fraud in obtaining a judgment or decree, it will
deprive them of the benefit of it...”) at 599,
Emphasis added. The citations from TVhrock-
morton and Holmes describe exactly the
situation involved in this case, where the
judgment wasn’t merely “based” on fraudu-
lent evidence (so-called common law fraud)
but instead was “obtained” by fraudulent acts
directed at Petitioner and also the court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1.The Law Pertaining To Independent
Actions Is Unsettled And Requires A
Long-Awaited Clarification By The
Supreme Court.

The “independent action” (60d)(1) 1s an essential

repository of relief from unconscionable judgments,

combining in one vehicle various, traditional
remedies. Furthermore, it is the only means of
addressing late-discovered evidence of complex
frauds. Long ago, the Court in Graver v. Faurot
noted the apparent problem of harmonizing
Throckmorton and Holmes and the need to clarify
the situation. Nonetheless, the situation among the
lower courts continues to lack a coherence that
only the Supreme Court can provide.

It is not difficult to understand why some
perceive a conflict between Throckmorton and
FHlolmes, although Petitioner does not share that
position. The determining considcration in
Throckmorton was that the government’s lawyer
knew about the fraud and failed to act upon this
important information. Mrs. Holmes, however, did
not and could not have known about the fraudulent
letter used to obtain the various judgments against
her. In these and other precedents, the need of
reasonable diligence is emphasized in order to
protect the finality of judgments. At the same time,
the important consideration is also stressed
repeatedly that an independent action can inter-
vene when the successful litigant made a concerted
effort to prevent a fair trial. Hazc/-Atlas is, of
course, highly simular to the case reviewed in this
Petition that involves a premeditated scheme,
attorney involvement and also dishonest actions
directed not only at the opposing party but the
court itself.

Much of the problem of harmonizing 7hrock-
morton and Holmes and similar cases stems from
terminology and the attempt to draw the “precise
line” of which Justice Marshall was so wary. A
“fraud practiced directly upon a party, that might

be regarded as extrinsic or collateral, can be
connected in a significant. way to what is intrinsic
to the judgment and therefore potentially ruled out.
Inevitably the two forms of fraud overlap and are
entwined. It can be argued that the distinction is
unnecessary and at times counter-productive,
creating uncertainty when it attempts to do the
opposite.

In the instant case the falsified lab tests can be
viewed as intrinsic, while the concealment of the
lab director's location so he could not be deposed
and his records examined as extrinsic. Similarly the
foul-smelling substance in the tin can that ended up
in the jury room might also be viewed as intrinsic
while.the concealment until discovery was closed
and the delberately false statements made to the
judge at the pretrial conference as extrinsic in
character. The misuse of discovery by the Hanover
and its operatives (including defendants) to
produce additional, fraudulent evidence on an
ongoing basis to thwart discovery can be
interpreted as either intrinsic or extrinsic, or both

Thockmorton, Holmes and Marine Insurance all
speak of unconscionable “acts” through which the
fraudulent judgment was “obtained.” Thus, in
Austin [, the fraudulent evidence (falsified lab
tests and investigation) was protected by
fraudulent litigation “acts” or tactics - the one
concealing and abetting the other so the
subject matter was (“never actually
presented,” nor was it “capable of being
discussed there.”) Throckmorton at 66-7.

Unfortunately the wording in 7hrockmorton at
times complicates the matter. Thus it is stated that
the extrinsic label cannot be applied (“to a fraud in

the matter on which the decree was rendered.”) at
68, while at the same time the Court speaks of a
(“hindrance besides the negligence of the defen-
dant.”) at 66. A court can conceivably regard any
misdeed if connected to the subject matter tried as
intrinsic in nature. Jn the seminal Haze/-Atlas
precedent, Justice Roberts dissented, viewing the
egregious frauds employed there as all intrinsic
and therefore not forming the basis of an indepen-
dent action. The order of the First Circuit in
dispute here adopts what amounts to a similar
position, viewing the Throckmorton and
Holmes cases as essentially inconsistent.

2. This Case Constitutes A “Grave
Miscarriage Of Justice.”

The fire that destroyed Petitioner’s home
occurred 17 long years ago. It was a fine dwelling
where he lived for 15 years, much of the house built
at great effort with his own personal craftsman-
ship. In addition, he lost the possessions acquired
over decades, the library and business papers on
which he depended to earn a living, and also items
of great personal importance, including manu-
scripts. Subsequently he turned to the judicial
system to enforce the insurance policy that he
purchased in good faith so he could promptly
rebuild his home and get on with his life.
Unfortunately the legitimate rights he attempted to
assert in court were thwarted by an elaborate,
ongoing scheme so in effect he had no rights in
court. ‘l'’o compound the problem he has been

compelled to deal with an unsettled body of law

that by its amorphous character can invite a
miscarriage of justice such as this one.

In the responses to Petitioner’s various
Complaints in Austin // - V, the supporting
evidence of fraud was not contested. This evidence
is not only clear and convincing but virtually
indisputable. Furthermore, there have been no
findings of fact by any lower court on which a
contrary conclusion can be based.

In that regard attention should be drawn to the
belated attempt before the First Circuit to involve
some sort of amicus - a Mr. Ritchie. Petitioner has
never heard of him and did not receive any copies
of what he Submitted to the court. Consequently he
isn't sure what Ritchie is trying to allege. During all
the years this litigation has been in progress,
Ritchie never participated in the matter in any way
and has no direct interest in the dispute. Presum-
ably he is some sort of expert being paid to offer an
opinion about a subject about which he has no
direct knowledge. In an en banc decision (six
judges), the First Circuit rejected his participation
(July 22, 2009).

CONCLUSION

The facts of this dispute “clearly prove{s) it to be
against conscience’ to allow this unfortunate
situation to remain uncorrected. The First Circuit's
Order is clearly in conflict with the equitable
principles that underlie independent actions. The
evidence supporting the Amended Complaint is
clear and convincing as well as uncontested.
Furthermore, this case provides an opportunity to
address the various issues related to independent
actions that for decades have remained in doubt.
As a result, the Court can appropriately consider

disposing of this case In a Summary manner and

also granting the relief sought in the Amended
Complaint (liquidated monetary damages -
$1,918,202 plus allowable interest since prior
calculation).

Respectfully submitted,

f MLA, oh K :

H. Richard Austin

P.O. Box 220814

Saint Louis, MO. 63122
314-849-4827

austin _richard(@msn.com

St. Louis, Missouri January 29, 2010

APPENDIX NO. I

nited States Court of Appeals
For the Furst Circuit

H. RICHARD AUSTIN,
Plaintiff, Appellant

DOUGLAS G. PETERSON & ASSOCIATES

Defendants, Appellees

Before
Boudin, Selya and Lipez,

Circuit Judge:

JUDGMENT
Entered: November 10, 2009

Pro se appellant H. Richard Austin appeals
1} . the district court's dismissal of his inde penaent
ction against appellees Douglas G. Peterson &
Associates, Inc, and Stephen Houghton, brought
pursuant to Rule 60(d)(1) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Pro edure After careful de novo review of the
cord, Estate of Bennett v. Wainwright, 548 F.3d

)

95. 162 (1 Cir. 2008), we affirm

This is Austin’s fifth lawsuit following the fire
that destroyed his home in Warren, Vermont, in
November. 1993. Austin v. Hanover Ins. Co., 165

F.3d 13 (2d Cir. Nov. 12, 1998), 1998 WL 801885
(unpublished table decision), cert. denied, 527 US
1004 (1999) (Austin I); Austin v- Hanover Ins. Co.,
14 Fed. Appx. 109 (2d Cir. Jul, 13, 2001), 2001 WL
799188 (unpublished decision), cert. denied 534 U.S.
954 (2001) (Austin IT); Austin v. Downs, Rachlin &
Martin, 2003 WL 23273466 (D.Vt. Nov. 3, 2003)
affd 114 Fed. Appx. 21 (2d Cir. Nov. 4, 2004)
(unpublished decision), 2004 WL 2476474, cert.
denied, 544 U.S. 961 (2005) (Austin IJ); Austin v.
Downs Rachlin & Martin, U.S. District Court District
of Vermont Docket No. 06-38, aff'd, U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit Appeal No. 06-4208,
cert. denied, U.S. Supreme Court Docket No. 07-
1409 (Austin IV), Both Austin I] and Austin [V were
independent actions in equity brought pursuant to
Rule-60(d)(1) (formerly Rule 60(b)) seeking to set
iside the judgment for defendants in Austin |. The
present appellees: were named defendants in Austin
(Il. At every point in each of his four prior
litigations, Austin has failéd to make a case that
appellees and others in concert with them fabricated
evidence and suborned perjury in order to avoid

paying out on his homeowners policy after the fire

In the present matter, Austin epeats his prior
claims of fraud and conspiracy. We are compelled to
conclude,.as have our sister circuits who have
reviewed virtually identical claims in Austin’s
previous suits, that Austin has failed to make out
a viable claim under Rule 60(d)(1). Our circuit

+

insist[s] on severe conaitions to tine assertion o

such a claim, due diligence in the discovery of the
fraud in the original action and clear and convincing
evidence of fraud in the collateral one.” Lundborg v.
1996). “The possibility of perjury, even concerted, is
a common hazard of the adversary process with
which the litigants are equipped to deal through
discovery and cross-examination, and where
warranted, motion for relief from judgment to the
‘presiding court.” Geo. P. Reintjes Co. v. Riley Stoker
Corp., 71 F.3d 44, 49 (1° Cir. 1995)) Moreover,
“|djiscrediting witnesses does not generally justify
an ‘extraordinary second opportunity.” Id. (quoting
Xerox Financial Services Life Ins. Co. v. High Plains
Ltd., 44 F.3d 1033, 1038-9 (1° Cir.1995) See also
United States v. Throckmorton, 98 U.S. 61 (1878)
(“the doctrine is equally well-settled that the court
will not set aside a judgment because it was founded
on a fraudulent instrument, or perjured evidence or
for anv mater which was actually presented and
considered in the judgment assailed.”

Accepting Austin’s well-pleaded facts as true and
indulging all reasonable inference in his favor, we
conclude that Austin did not make a sufficient
showing to warrant relief under Rule 60(d)(1).
Emphasis added

We join our sister appellate courts in the Fighth
Circuit and the Second Circuit in admonishing
Austin that he has repeatedly filed duplicative
lawsuits and can have no objective good faith
expectation of succeeding on his claims. Appellees
have been repeatedly hailed into court and forced to

defend against baseless litigation, engaging the

~

judicial resources ot the fede ral a Strict and circ
courts of three states
court (in fact, several of them) There i:

rOocee d nys

Austin nas had his day if)
nothing to

be gained in further |

alffurmed

The judgment of the district court
Fed. R. App. P. 39(a

By the Court

Costs to appellees

Ma rea

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1632%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
