# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Betz v. Napolitano

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1571%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 559 U.S. 1008

## Text

eT ES

No. 09-932 FEB 2- 2010

= The OFFICE OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the Anited States

MARLENE BETZ

Petitioner,

JANET NAPOLITANO,
SECRETARY, DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certtorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STEPHEN CHARLES FIEBIGER
Counsel of Record
STEPHEN C. FIEBIGER &
ASSOCIATES, CHTD
2500 West County Roap 42
SUITE 190
BURNSVILLE, MN 55337
(952) 746-5171
ficblaw@earthlink.-nect

Attorney for Petitioner

February 2, 2010

Becker Gallaghes Cincinnati, OH Waslungton, D.C. - 800.890.5001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the exceptions in 29 C.F.R. Sec.
1614.105(a)(2) to the requirement that a federal
employee contact an EEO counselor within 45 days
of a discriminatory act or personnel matter extend
the scope of a_ retaliation-based constructive
discharge claim under the Age Discrimination in
Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA), 29 U.S.C. Sec.
633(a)?

What is the standard for retaliation-based
constructive discharge claims by federal employees
under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act
of 1967, 29 U.S.C. Sec 633(a)?

When a district court bars claims and evidence of
events of discrimination and retaliation before
September 21, 2003 based upon 29 C.F_R. Sec.
1614.105(a\1) and Ledbetter v. Good Year Tire &
Rubber Co., 550 U.S. 618 (2007), at a summary
judgment hearing before trial, can the court use
evidence from the barred time period to rule that
no discrimination or constructive discharge
occurred without a direct reversal of its earlier
order?

Can a federal appeals court make findings of fact
and rule on a retaliation-based constructive
discharge claim under the ADEA that was
dismissed by summary judgment when the claim is
neither presented at trial nor decided with findings
of fact by the district court?

1]
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..................

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES dw ae oe a

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......

[ Review is Necessary to Clarify
Exceptions to 29 C.F.R. Sec.
1614.105(a)(2) for Federal Employees to
Prosecute Retaliation-Based Constructive
Discharge Claims Under the ADEA.

[] Review Should be Granted to Address the
Standard for a Retaliation-Based
Constructive Discharge Claim by a
Federal Employee Under the ADEA, 29
U.S.C. See. GGG... 2554555

[1] Review is Necessary to Establish
Procedural Fairness for Enforcing Pre-
Trial Rulings By the District Court
Barring Evidence of Events Before the
45-day Filing Period Under 29 C.F.R.
Sec. 1614.104(a\1) Before September 21,

10

16

IV.

ill

2003, But Using Events From the Barred
Period to Find No Age Discrimination
While Excluding Evidence From the
os Fo he eel Se oc gg os

Review Should Be Granted When the
Court of Appeals Makes Findings of Fact
on a Federal Employee’s Retaliation-
Based Constructive Discharge Claim
That Has Been Previously Dismissed by
Summary Judgment And Was Not Tried
Before The District Court. ..........

oD ao ce Sb hin yb peo -e ew

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Eighth Circuit Opinion

(August 28, 2009) ............

Appendix B: District Court Judgment
(euey G, eum) .............. (Wa

Appendix C: District Court Order re judgment

as a matter of law

21

cg ee Z2la

Appendix D: District Court, Transcript of July

2, 2008 Proceedings re findings of

fact and conclusions of law .... 2

Appendix E: District Court written Order re

Motion for Summary Judgment
fe Sy 3 ee

2a

LV

Appendix F: District Court Transcript of May
31, 2007 Proceedings re Summary
Judgment Oral Order Ala

Appendix G: Eighth Circuit Order denying
Petition for Rehearing and
Rehearing en banc
(November 4, 2009) t8a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C.,
470 U.S. 564, 105 S.Ct. 1504, $4 L.Ed. 2d 518

(1985) 26. st
Atlantic Thermoplastics Co., Inc. v. Faytex Corp.,
5 F.3d 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1993) 2/

Brvant v. Jones.
575 F.3d 1281 (11th Cir. 2009) l‘,

Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. v. White,
548 US. 53 (2006) 11, 14, 15

Clowes v. Allegheny Valley Hosp.,
991 F.2d 1159 (3d Cir. 1993) 14

Duffy v. Paper Magic Group, In
265 F.3d 163 (3d Cir. 2001) 17

Estes v. Dick Smith Ford, Inc..
856 F.2d 1097 (8th Cir. 1988) 24

Felictano-Hull v. Principt,
139 F.3d 18 (Ist Cir. 2006) iv

Flaherty v. Metromatl Corp ;
235 F.3d 133 (2d Cir. 2000) 17

Garner v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,
807 F.2d 1536 (11th Cir. 1987) 14

vl

Goldmeier v. Allstate Ins. Co.,
337 F.3d 629 (6th Cir. 2003) ....

Gomez-Perez v. Potter,
128 S. Ct. 1931 (2008)

Haley v. Alliance Compressor LLC,
391 F.3d 644 (5th Cir. 2004)

Heiko v. Colombo Sav. Bank,
434 F.3d 249 (4th Cir. 2006)

Hindman v. Transkrit Corp.,
145 F.3d 986 (8th Cir. 1998)

Jones v. Fitzgerald,
285 F.3d 705 (8th Cir. 2002)

King v. United States,
553 F.3d 1156 (8th Cir. 2009)

Ledbetter v. Good Year Tire & Rubber Co.

550 U.S. 618 (2007) .. a 6, 8, 13, 2%

McClain v. Lufkin Indus., Inc.,
519 F.3d 264 (5th Cir. 2008)

Nance v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,
527 F.3d 539 (6th Cir. 2008)

National R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Morgan,
536 U.S. 101 (2002)

Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Servs., Inc.,

523 U.S. 75 (1998) .. 19,

17

17

24

13

20

Vii

Pennsylvania State Police v. Suders,
542 U.S. 129 (2004)

Poland v. Chertoff,
494 F.3d 1174 (9th Cir. 2007)

Potts v. Davis County,
551 F.3d 1188 (10th Cir. 2009) .

Premratananont v. S. Suburban Park & Recreation
District,
No. 97-1090, 1998 WL 211543 (10th Cir. April
30, 1998) .

Reyes-Morales v. Ashcroft,
435 F.3d 937 (8th Cir. 2006)

Tatom v. Georgia-Pacific Corp.,
228 F.3d 926 (8th Cir. 2000)

Veitch v. England,
471 F.3d 124 (D.C. Cir. 2006)

West v. Marion Merrell Dow, Inc..,
54 F.3d 493 (8th Cir. 1995)

White v. Honeywell, Inc.,
141 F.3d 1270 (8th Cir. 1998) ..

Williams v. Waste Mgmt. of Illinots,
361 F.3d 1021 (7th Cir. 2004) ...

Wolf v. Nw. Indiana Symphony Society,
250 F.3d 1136 (7th Cir. 2001) .....

16

24

17

Vill

Woodward vu. City of Worland,

977 F.3d 1392 (10th Cir. 1992) 14,18
Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc.,
395 U.S. 100, 89 S. Ct. 1562, 23 L.Ed. 2d 129
1969 26

Statutes

28 U.S. pec. 1254(1) |
29 U.S.C. Sec. 633(a) 1 10.11, 16
Rules

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50 2.1
Fed. R. Civ. P. 52a a ae
Fed R. Evid. LO3(ay 22

Regulations

29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.104( 21
29 C.F_R. Sec. 1614.105 2
29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a) 1]
29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a)(1) D 14

29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a 2 IO. 11. ] Lb

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals is reported at
578 F. 3d 929 and is reproduced in the Appendix
herein at la-l6a. The decisions of the U.S. District
Court are not officially reported but are reproduced in
the Appendix at Pet. App. 21la (trial order) and 41a
(summary judgment oral order).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was issued
on August 28, 2009. Pet. App. la. Petitioner timely
petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc was
denied on November 4, 2009. Pet. App. 48a. This Court
has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Age Discrimination Act of 1967 (ADEA), 29
U.S.C. Sec. 633(a) provides:

(a) Federal agencies affected

All personne! actions affecting employees or
applicants for employment who are at least
40 years of age (except personnel actions
with regard to aliens employed outside the
limits of the United States) in military
departments as defined in section 102 of
Title 5, in executive agencies as defined in
section 105 of Title 5 (including employees
and applicants for employment who are paid
from nonappropriated funds), in the United
States Postal Service and the Postal
regulatory Commission, in those units in the

government of the District of Columbia
having positions in the competitive service,
and in those units of the judicial branch of
the Federal Government having positions in
the competitive service, in the Smithsonian
Institution, and in the Government Printing
Office, the Government Accountability
Office, and the Library of Congress shall be
made free from any discrimination based on

age
Code of Federal Regulations

29 C.F_R. Sec. 1614.105 Pre complaint processing

(a) Aggrieved persons who believe they have
been discriminated against on the basis
of race, color, religion, sex, national
origin, age, disability, or genetic
information must consult a Counselor
prior to filing a complaint in order to try
to informally resolve the matter.

(1) An aggrieved person must initiate
contact with a Counselor within 45 days
of the date of the matter alleged to be
discriminatory or, in the case of
personnel action, within 45 days of the
effective date of the action.

(2) The agency or the Commission shall
extend the 45-day time limit in
paragraph (a1) of this section when the
individual shows that he or she was not
notified of the time limits and was not
otherwise aware of them, that he or she

did not know and reasonably should not
have known that the discriminatory
matter or personnel action occurred, that
despite due diligence, he or she was
prevented by circumstances beyond his or
her control from contacting the Counselor
within the time limits, or for other
reasons considered sufficient by the
agency or the Commission

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns the ability of a federal employee
to assert claims for ave discrimination and retaliation
for continuing retaliatory acts after bringing an EEO
age discrimination complaint against her supervisor
that subject her to inequitable working and pay
conditions and the employer piling on duties with no
hope for improvement that eventually force the
employee to retire

Marlene Betz (Betz) sued the U.S. Department of
Homeland Security (DHS) for age discrimination and
retaliation-based constructive discharge under the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) arising out
of her employment as an Administrative Support
Assistant at the St. Paul, Minnesota office. Betz began
as a GS-5 secretary for Immigration and
Naturalization Services (INS) in 1995 and was
upgraded to a GS-6 after a desk audit in 1997. A desk
audit entailed a personnel officer examining a position
to determine if the position and duties were properly
classified on the pay grade scale. Betz received glowing
performance appraisals from 1995 to 1999. She was
again upgraded to a GS-7 after filing an EEO age
discrimination complaint against her supervisor, Mark

Cangemi, the Assistant District Director’ of
Investigations (ADDI) in 1999. Betz was 61 at the
time. When Cangemi learned of her complaint he
confronted her personally. After her EEO complaint,
Cangemi stopped rating her altogether and Betz never
received another performance appraisal or
performance work plan from him despite government
regulations mandating the appraisals be given
annually. Cangemi attributed his failure to give Betz
her performance appraisal to being busy, travel, and
the events of 911, among other things. Betz requested
position upgrades in 2000, 2001 and 2002

In July of 2001, Cangemi called Betz to his office
and asked what her retirement plans were. She was 63
years old. Betz was dumbfounded and responded that
she planned to see if there was a buyout. Cangemi did
not ask all employees about their retirement plans.

In March of 2003, St. Paul became a Special Agent
in Charge (SAC) office for DHS, merging INS and the
Bureau of Customs Enforcement, becoming known as
Immigrations and Customs Enforcement (ICE). The
St. Paul office absorbed offices in Nebraska and lowa,
along with Customs, to encompass five states under
Cangemi. The number of employees grew significantly
Betz handled purchasing and accounting, monitored
personnel and overtime funds, and handled payroll, in
addition to other reporting and tracking duties. Betz’s
duties and responsibilities expanded significantly with
the expansion of the office and included duties of
higher level GS-11 employees, including purchasing
under the Federal Financial Management System

(FF MS).

Betz requested an upgrade in her job classification

in Spring of 2003 with no action. In August, Betz had
a performance appraisal conducted by Mary
Hernandez, second 1n command, although Hernandez
was not her direct supervisor. The appraisal was for
Retz’s pre-DHS job position. Betz asked Cangem:
about an upgrade again in early October with no
response. Cangemi made no effort to pursue a desk
audit for her position. She asked again on October 29,
2003 and he said there was nothing he could do. He
told her it “wasn’t going to happen”. Cangem: then
confronted Betz alone in the break room at the end of
the day and she felt threatened and unsafe. She
became upset and said she had no choice but to retire
He told her she could go home and return to put in her
paperwork. Betz left in tears

Hernandez met with Betz the next day and Betz
was upset and tearful. Hernandez asked Betz to stay
another thirty days to help and promised her a $1,000
Special Act Award if she agreed. Betz agreed and
worked the extra thirty days but the DHS never paid
her the $1,000.00. Hernandez moved Betz’s desk away

from Cangemu's office

Cangemi told an EEO investigator that a desk
audit would not have supported an upgrade for Betz’s
position. He later told the investigator that he could
not determine whether Betz’s job should be graded at
a level higher than GS-7 without a desk audit.
Cangemi subsequently averred in a sworn statement
that a desk audit was not initiated because
management did not support the proposal for her to be
upgraded. At summary judgment, the DHS argued a
shortage of funding precluded an upgrade

6

Other employees received job restructuring and
promotions in 2003. Al Oswald, 50, performed similar
duties as Betz at the Omaha office and received a
promotion to a GS-9 and GS-11. Cangem: and
Hernandez were upgraded. Cangemi wrote special
appeal letters for others to safeguard their status. The
record showed all other employees performing similar
FF MS duties were grade GS-1lwhile Betz remained
GS-7. Betz, in fact, trained Sylvia Seamans, a GS-11,
on FFMS. The district court found that “[t]here was no
evidence provided, and the court has none showing,
that anything she did was outside of her grade GS-7
classification.” Pet. App. 29a. This finding was not
addressed by the Circuit Court. Betz determined she
could not continue to perform higher level duties for
GS-7 pay with no hope of an upgrade and retired.

Betz filed an EEO complaint on November 5, 2003
and sued alleging age discrimination, constructive
discharge, wage discrimination, retaliation and
retaliation-based constructive discharge. The district
court granted summary judgment on claims and
barred evidence of events before September 21, 2003,
45 days before her EEO complaint pursuant to 29
C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(aX1). Pet. App. 43a. At the
summary judgment hearing, held two days after this
Court’s decision in Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire &
Rubber Co., 550 U.S. 618 (2007), the district court
found:

Here, plaintiff, as | said, consulted with an EEO
counselor in November 5, 2003. She was
obligated by federal regulations to do so within
45 days of the alleged discriminatory act. It
means she may not sit on her rights. And
therefore, she may not present any evidence of

discriminatory or retaliatory acts prior to the
45-day period before that, which means prior to
September 21, 2003, as claims based on
evidence - - such evidence are time-barred. Pet
App. 46a

The Eighth Circuit concluded that this language
was of minimal consequence because the district court
also said “Therefore, in conclusion, the Court finds
that summary judgment is appropriate and is
mandated to all claims prior to that date”. Pet. App.
9a. The Appeals Court noted that the court’s written
Order provided that “Plaintiffs claims based on
allegedly discriminatory or retaliatory events that
occurred prior to September 21, 2003 are untimely,
and summary judgment is granted as to these claims”
Id. The written Order, however, adopted “the reasons
stated at the hearing” and barred all claims based on
allegedly discriminatory or retaliatory events that
occurred prior to September 21, 2003. Pet. App. 39a
This ruling was never changed.

A bench trial was held on Betz’s age discrimination
and constructive discharge claims and the court ruled
in favor of the DHS. Pet. App. 22a. While sustaining
an objection to evidence offered by Betz, the court
agreed with the Government's position that the trial
was based upon a constructive discharge case arising
in 2003 and excluded evidence relevant to retaliation
including her job duties in 1998 and performance
appraisals from 1996-1999 before her EEO complaint.
T-7. The district court made no findings of facts or
ruling on the retaliation-based constructive discharge
claims after the trial. Betz’s 1999 EEO complaint was
not presented in evidence at trial.

8

in finding no age discrimination, the district court
found that Betz had been upgraded in 1997 at age 59
and in 1999 at 61. Pet. App. 66a. The court found it
“significant” that Betz had not shown how she was
being discriminated against at age 63 in 2003 when
she hadn’t been at 59 and 61. Jd. The Appeals Court
upheld the district court’s conclusion that Cangemi’s
inquiry about Betz’s retirement plans did not create an
inference of age discrimination. Pet. App. 6a. The
Court also rejected Betz’s argument that its analysis
of comparable employees was too restrictive. Pet. App.
fa

Betz argued the district court erroneously
restricted evidence to events of 2003, with limited
exceptions, in conformance with its oral order at
summary judgment barring evidence of events pnor to
September 21, 2003. The Eighth Circuit concluded that
the summary judgment ruling was not an expected
pre-trial ruling by the parties or referenced at trial
Pet. App. 10a. The Government’s statement of the case
at trial cited the district court’s language that Betz *
may not present any evidence of discriminatory or
retaliatory acts prior to ... September 21, 2003, ... such
evidence |is| time-barred.” After the trial, the district
court referenced its prior order stating “This court
previously ruled during the motion for summary
judgment that her claim would have been limited to
discriminatory conduct occurring 45 days before her
EEO complaint. That would have been on or after
September 21, 2003. That was the court's
consideration with regard to Ledbedder (sic)”. Pet.

App. 24a. The Eighth Circuit concluded the district
court did not exclude evidence that Betz did not offer
and found no error in finding that DHS did not

9

discriminate against Betz because of her age. Pet. App.
10a.

Betz’s contention that the district court erred
utilizing evidence of events prior to 2003, while
precluding her full opportunity to present evidence
from the same time period, was rejected as “specious”
by the Eighth Circuit. Pet. App. 9a-10a. This was
premised on admission of limited evidence from pre-
September 21 and the court’s inquiry about Betz’s
duties in 1999. Pet. App.10a. The Eighth Circuit
affirmed the partial summary judgment ruling that
Betz’s retaliation and constructive discharge claims
were subject to the requirement that federal employees
must generally report discrimination to an EEO
counselor within 45 days of an occurrence under 29
C.F_R. Sec. 1614.105(aX1). Pet. App. 9a. The Appeals
Court rejected Betz’s continuing violations theory and
concluded the acts of discrimination and retaliatory
adverse employment decision constituted a separate
actionable ‘unlawful employment practice’ and
concluded Betz equated denial of upgrade with a
failure to promote that were discrete acts. Pet. App.
L5a.

The district court ruled after trial that Betz had not
been constructively discharged and this ruling was
affirmed. Pet. App. 10a-lla. The Eighth Circuit
adopted the Government’s argument that Betz’s
complaints were nothing more than being “overworked
and underpaid.” Pet. App. lla. The Court held that
performing Betz’s duties in return for her GS-7 salary
(about $39,000 when she resigned) was not objectively
intolerable. Jd.

10

The district court conducted the trial as though
Betz’s retaliation-based constructive discharge claim
was dismissed at summary judgment because it was
premised on her 1999 EEO complaint. The court
omitted ruling on the claim at trial. The Eighth Circuit
noticed this omission and ruled Betz’s EEO charge for
her retaliation-based constructive discharge claim was
timely. Pet. App. 15a. The Appeals Court, however,
ruled as though the claim had been tried and found
that her working conditions were not intolerable as a
matter of law. Pet. App. 15a. The Court reasoned that
DHS paid Betz about $39,000 annually and because
she did not contend that the agency or Cangemi
required her to perform duties or to work hours that
were in any way “inhumane?” or “unacceptable”, her
conditions were not intolerable. Pet. App. 16a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. Review is Necessary to Clarify Exceptions
to 29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a)(2) for Federal
Employees to Prosecute Retaliation-Based
Constructive Discharge Claims Under the
ADEA.

This Court should recognize the exceptions in 29
C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a)X2) to the requirement that a
federal employee contact an EEO counselor within 45
days of a discriminatory act or personnel matter and
extend the scope of a retaliation-based constructive
discharge claims under 29 U.S.C. Sec. 633(a), the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA).
This is an issue of first impression for this Court.

To make out a claim for retaliation, Betz had to
show that she participated in a protected activity, that

1]

DHS treated her in a manner that was materially
adverse, and that there was a causal relationship
between the two. Pet. App. Ilda. See Burlington
Northern & Santa Fe Ry. v. White, 548 US. 53, 68
(2006): see also Gomez-Perez v. Potter, 128S. Ct. 1931,
1936 (2008)

The Fighth Circuit upheld the district court's
conclusion that Betz’s previous EEO discrimination
complaint in 1999 put her on notice of the 45-day
requirement under 29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a)(1) for
filung a retaliation complaint after each act of
retaliation. Pet. App. 14a. Betz contended the
exception to the deadline under 29 C.F.R. Sec.
1614.105(aX2) should have extended this deadline
because she was unaware that the same deadline
applied to reporting acts of retaliation by Cangemi to
an EEO counselor. Betz’s affidavit averred that she
was not aware of the 45-day notice requirement for
retahation and she received no training or information
about retaliation.

This Court should recognize an exception to the
requirement of reporting acts of retaliation to an FEO
counselor within 45-days of the retaliation in cases of
retaliation-based constructive discharge by federal
employees such as Betz. The reasons for such an
exception are many

First, retaliation is not specifically enumerated in
29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a). Betz’s 1999 EEO complaint
focused on acts of discrimination by Cangemi and not
retaliation. Indeed, the applicability of retaliation
claims to federal employees under 29 U.S.C. Sec.
633(a) was not clarified until this Court’s decision in
Gomez-Perez v. Potter, 128 S.Ct. 1931 (2008). The

12

district court presumed its application. The Court
should not create a system whereby all federal
employees who pursue an EEO discrimination
complaint will be strictly accountable for procedural
requirements for filing all subsequent retaliation
claims. The provisions of 29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a)(2)
acknowledge that employees may not be aware of the
45-day reporting requirement for acts of
discrimination or personnel matters. This was the
situation with Betz

In the case of a personnel action, the requirement
is to contact the EEO counselor within 45-days of the
effective date of the action. 29 C.F.R. Sec
1614.105(a)(1)(emphasis added). In a retaliation-based
constructive discharge, the 45-days can easily pass
before the employee has any sense that inaction is

»

retaliatory. For example, in Betz’s case, Cangem! was
required by government regulation to annually
conduct her performance appraisal and review her
position to ensure it accurately described her duties
and responsibilities. When it was not done, she
inquired. She received a variety of excuses from
Cangemi for not conducting her performance
appraisal, performance work plans and responding to
requests for desk audits and upgrades. Sometimes she
received no response. The pattern of inaction and non
responsiveness by Cangemi to Betz’s requests to
undertake standard personnel practices for her
position occurred without an “effective date” of action
but continued over a period of time. He did not make
contact with personnel employees about initiating desk
audits or upgrades. There were no specific personnel
actions taken, such as a demotion or direct denial of an
upgrade or desk audit, from which to demarcate
discrete acts. Many times there was simply no

13

response by Cangemi to Betz’s requests for her
performance appraisal, a desk audit of her position, or
an upgrade of her position and pay scale. Her duties,
meanwhile, increased in volume and complexity.

This differed from the scenario posed by the district
court, citing Ledbetter for the proposition that people
know when they don’t get paid. Pet. App. 46a. The
Fighth Circuit, in turn, characterized all of the pre
September 21 matters that prevented her from
obtaining additional compensation as “discrete acts
that required her to contact an EEO counselor within
45 days of their occurrence” analogizing them to acts
such as termination, failure to promote, denial of
transfer, and refusal to hire discussed in National R. R.
Passenger Corp. v. Morgan, 536 U.S. 101, 114 (2002).
Pet. App. 15a. Cangemi’s retaliatory actions and
inactions were not “personnel actions” with “effective
dates” as contemplated in 29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(a){2)
and the exception to the 45-day requirement for
contacting an EEO counselor should apply. The Court
made no distinction between events pertaining to
retaliation and_ retaliation-based constructive
discharge in affirming the district court’s barring pre-
September 21 matters. Pet. App. 15a.

The lower Courts’ rulings rewarded DHS for
Cangemi’s actions in delaying any response or giving
no response to Betz’s requests that simply let the 45
days for filing an EEO charge run out. This scenario
differs significantly from an employee seeking a
specific promotion, or being transferred or demoted,
where the personnel action is not contingent on the
occurrence of other events. The Courts below rejected
Betz’s equitable tolling and continuing violations
arguments. Pet. App. 15a, 45a.

14

Circuit courts addressing constructive discharge
require employees to try to work out any differences or
address the circumstances creating the intolerable
conditions before resigning. See e.g., West v. Marton
Merrell Dow, Inc. , 54 F.3d 493, 498 (8™ Cir. 1995\“An
employee who quits without giving her employer a
reasonable chance to work out a problem is not
constructively discharged”); Jones v. Fitzgerald, 285 F.
3d 705, 715-16 (8" Cir. 2002)(“A plaintiff must take
affirmative steps short of resigning that a reasonable
employee would take to make her conditions of
employment more tolerable”); Clowes v. Allegheny
Valley Hospital, 991 F. 2d 1159, 1161 (3d Cir. 1993);
Nance v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 527 F. 3d 539,
554-55 (6" Cir. 2008); Wolf v. Northwest Indiana
Symphony Society, 250 F. 3d 1136, 1143 (7™ Cir. 2001);
Woodward v. City of Worland, 977 F. 3d 1392, 1402
(10 Cir. 1992); Garner v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. , 807 F.
2d 1536, 1539 (11 Cir. 1987). Strict application of 29
C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(ax1) to retaliation-based
constructive discharge claims acts to eviscerate such
claims for federal employees.

This Court observed in the Title VII context that
the anti-retaliation provision protects an individual
not from all retaliation but from retaliation that
produces an injury or harm. Burlington Northern vu.
White, 548 U.S. at 67. Retaliation-based constructive
discharge claims are distinct from discrimination
claims under 29 C.F.R. Sec. 1614.105(ax(1). In
Burlington Northern this Court held that a plaintiff
must show that a reasonable employee would have
found the challenged action materially adverse, which
in this context, means it might well have dissuaded a
reasonable worker from making or supporting a charge
of discrimination. Burlington Northern, 548 U.S. at 68.

Employees unable to determine within 45-days if they
are the victim of retaliation as compared to
discrimination or harassment will lose the claim under
the Highth Circuit’s holding. Shrewd supervisors like
Cangemi, a lawyer, can wait 45 days before retaliating
by contriving reasons for not conducting performance
reviews and performance work plans, which would
have given her opportunity for additional
compensation, refusing to respond to requests for desk
audits, refusing to give her opportunity for upgrades
that would have increased her salary, and piling on
additional job duties including those of higher grade
employees without additional compensation, or
otherwise retaliating.

The ADEA’s substantive provision and its anti-
retaliation provision are not coterminous. See e.Z.,
Burlington Northern, 548 U.S. at 67. The substantive
provision seeks to prevent injury to individuals based
on who they are, i.e., their status. 548 U.S. at 63. The
anti-retaliation provision seeks to prevent harm to
individuals based on what they do, i.e., their conduct.
Id. The scope of the anti-retaliation provision extends
beyond workplace-related or employment-related
retaliatory acts and harm. 548 U.S. at 67. A plaintiff
must show that a reasonable employee would have
found the challenged action materially adverse, “which
in this context means it well might have ‘dissuaded a
reasonable worker from making or supporting a charge
of discrimination”. 548 U.S. at 68 (citations omitted).

Betz’s retaliation-based constructive discharge was
the cumulative total of retaliatory events by Cangemi
that extended well past the 45-day limits set by the
lower courts. Federal employees like Betz may not be
able to determine if they've been retaliated against

16

within 45 days. Limiting the scope of retaliation-based
constructive discharge claims to within 45 days of the
occurrence of the underlying events will effectively
emasculate federal employees from such claims. Betz
should have been permitted to proceed with an
extended scope of claim as allowed by 29 C.F.R. Sec.
1614.105(aX(2). A decision by this Court is needed to
clarify the scope of retaliation-based constructive
discharge claims and exceptions in 29 C.F.R. Sec.
1614.105(a)(2) for federal employees under the ADEA

il. Review Should be Granted to Address the
Standard for a_ RKetaliation-Based
Constructive Discharge Claim by a Federal
Employee Under the ADEA, 29 U.S.C. Sec.
633(a).

The Fighth Circuit strayed drastically from the
standerd for constructive discharge established by this
Court and other circuit courts. The Appeals Court held
that Betz’s working conditions were not intolerable as
a matter of law. Pet. App. 15a. While seemingly
applying the proper standard, the Court held that “As
we have said, DHS paid Ms. Betz about $39,000
annually, and she did not contend that the agency or
Mr. Cangemi required her to perform duties or to work
hours that were in any way inhumane or
unacceptable”. Pet. App. 16a. The Fighth Circuit
unilaterally created a higher burden of proof for
retaliation-based constructive discharge claims for
federal employees by requiring proof of conditions that
are inhumane or unacceptable.

In Pennsylvania State Police v. Suders, 542 US
129, 134 (2004), this Court held in a Title VII sexual

harassment case in order to establish constructive

17

discharge, the plaintiff must also show that the
abusive working environment became so intolerable
that her resignation qualified as a fitting response.
Federal circuit courts have adopted a reasonable
person standard in constructive discharge cases to
assess whether the employee's resignation was proper
under the circumstances. See e.v., Tatom v. Georgia

Pacific Corp., 228 F. 3d 926, 932 (8 Cir. 2000);
Feliciano-Hill v. Principi, 439 F.3d 18, 27 (ist Cir.
2006); Flaherty v. Metromail Corp., 235 F.3d 133, 138
(2d Cir. 2000); Duffy v. Paper Magic Group, Inc., 265
F.3d 163, 167 (3d Cir. 2001); Heiko v. Colombo Sav.
Bank, 434 F.3d 249, 262 (4th Cir. 2006); Haley v.
Alliance Compressor LLC, 391 F.3d 644, 649-50 (5th
Cir. 2004); Goldmeier v. Allstate Ins. Co. , 337 F.3d 629,
635 (6th Cir. 2003); Williams v. Waste Management of
Illinois, 361 F.3d 1021, 1032 (7th Cir. 2004); Poland v

Chertoff, 494 F.3d 1174, 1184 (9th Cir. 2007); Potts v.
Davis County, 551 F.3d 1188, 1194 (10th Cir. 2009);
Bryant vu. Jones, 575 F.3d 1281, 1298 (11th Cir. 2009);
Veitch v. England, 471 F.3d 124, 130 (D.C. Cir. 2006)

Requiring federal employees like Betz to show
conditions were “inhumane” created a new standard
for retaliation-based constructive discharge not
followed in other circuit courts. “Inhumane” has been
equated with severe abuse more extreme than an
individual being beaten unconscious and sustaining
scars and a physical deformity. See e._g., Reyes-Morales
v. Ashcroft, 435 F. 3d 937, 942 (8 Cir. 2006 Asylum
case). Federal employees should not be required to
show they have been tortured or kept in inhumane
conditions to prove constructive discharge. This
wrongfully elevates constructive discharge to
unconscionable persecution and is not the correct legal
standard. See Premratananont v. South Suburban

18

Park & Recreation District, No. 97-1090, 1998 WL
211543, at *2 (10% Cir. April 30, 1998Xciting
Woodward v. City of Worland, 977 F. 2d 1392, 1402
(10" Cir. 1992)\Constructive discharge claims may
also be based on other types of intolerable working
conditions such as retaliatory conduct for making a
complaint of discrimination). This Court should review
the standard for what is needed to show intolerable
conditions for a reasonable employee for a retaliation-
based constructive discharge articulated by the Eighth
Circuit.

The Eighth Circuit analyzed Betz’s retaliation-
based constructive discharge claim by requiring direct
evidence (e.g., inhumane treatment) to create
intolerable working conditions. This herculean
standard will most likely never be met in a retaliation
based constructive discharge claim by federal
employees. If inhumane conditions did exist, this
standard would require the conditions to continue
after the employee gave the Government a chance to
work out the problem in order to maintain a claim.
Direct evidence alone, however, is unnecessary for
constructive discharge based on cumulative acts of
retaliation. Instead, retaliation by delaying
performance appraisals and performance work plans,
delaying and ignoring responses to the employee’s
inquiries about them, delaying and refusing to respond
to inquiries for desk audits and upgrades, piling on
additional job duties without hope of increased
compensation or grade increase, and other acts by a
supervisor that lead to working conditions becoming
intolerable will accumulate in over 45 days to become
a constructive discharge and should be fully actionable

under the ADEA

19

Betz presented evidence that her pay was
unacceptable for her duties. She performed higher
grade level duties than her own for several years. Her
requests for performance appraisals, upgrades and
desk audits were ignored or given flimsy excuses. The
DHS’ failure to follow mandatory regulations covering
these areas for Betz was not mentioned by the Court.
Cangemi, the SAC, went to the break room the
afternoon on October 29, 2003, to confront her face to
face. She felt threatened. Standing two feet away, he
told her that her request for an upgrade “wasn’t going
to happen”. She realized she would not be upgraded
like other employees under any circumstance and
resipned.

The Eighth Circuit adopted the Government’s
mantra that Betz’s intolerable working conditions
essentially amounted to her complaining of being
“overworked and underpaid”. Pet. App. 11a. The Court
found no clear error and that the district court was not
required to find that her performing her duties at GS-7
pay was not objectively intolerable. Betz had the same
GS-7 grade since 1999 despite the office and her duties
growing from three states to five plus Customs in
2003. She performed FF'MS duties performed by GS-11
employees and trained Sylvia Seamans on FFMS. The
lower courts noted there was no evidence of Seamans’
age. Pet. App. 8a. Proof that Seamans was younger
than Betz, however, was unnecessary to show Betz’s
different treatment because of age. See e.g., Oncale v.
Sundowner Offshore Serus., Inc., 523 U.S. 75
(1998\employee permitted to prove an adverse
employment action because of sex without evidence
that employees of the opposite sex were treated
differently). Betz was the only employee in her position
in the St. Paul office. Comparison to higher grade

20

employees performing similar duties in the office was
relevant to show disparate treatment. Comparison to
Oswald in the Omaha office performing nearly
identical duties was likewise probative of
discrimination. As is Oncale, Betz need only show she
was discriminated and retaliated against because of
her age and EEO activity. No evidence of other
employees performing higher grade level duties than
their pay was introduced. There was no testimony by
others who felt they were “overworked and underpaid”.

Requiring federal employees to prove inhumane
treatment to show retaliation based constructive
discharge, or constructive discharge in general, allows
employers to pile on higher grade level duties to older
employees who complain about discrimination and not
allow them to be fairly paid, or be evaluated, the same
as others. The requirement of inhumane treatment
creates a herculean burden that transforms
retaliation-based constructive discharge claims into
claims of near brutality in order to prevail. Federal
employees should not have to face imhumane
treatment before resigning. This burden does little to
advance a safe, professional, and tolerable work
environment for federal employees. The law must
preserve the safety and civility of the workplace for
federal employees who complain about retaliation by
the employer and this Court should review the issue in
the context of retaliation-based constructive discharge.

21

lil. Review is Necessary to Establish
Procedural Fairness for Enforcing Pre-
Trial Rulings By the District Court
Barring Evidence of Events Before the 45-
day Filing Period Under 29 C.F.R. Sec.
1614.104(a)(1) Before September 21, 2003,
But Using Events From the Barred Period
to Find No Age Discrimination While
Excluding Evidence From the Same
Period.

The Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s
finding that DHS did not discriminate against Betz
because of her age. Pet. App. 10a. In finding no age
discrimination, the district court found that Betz had
been upgraded in 1997 at age 59 and in 1999 at 61.
Pet. App. 28a. Oddly, the court cited Fed. R. Civ. P. 50
in granting judgment for the DHS. Pet. App. 24a. The
court found it “significant” that Betz had not shown
how she was being discriminated against at age 63 in
2003 when she hadn’t been at 59 and 61. Jd. The court,
however, unfairly excluded events from before 2003
while using events from the same period against Betz.
The Eighth Circuit found specious Betz’s contention
that the court’s remark about evidence in the midst of
the summary judgment hearing affected the court’s
rulings and decision at trial. Pet. App.9a-10a. This was
premised on admission of limited evidence from pre-
September 21 and the court’s limited inquiry about
Betz’s duties in 1999. Pet. App. 10a.

The district court’s ruling that Betz could not offer
evidence of discriminatory or retaliatory acts prior to
the 45-day period before September 21, 2003 was not
reversed at any time by the district court. See Pet.
App. 46a. Once the court makes a definitive ruling on

22

the record admitting or excluding evidence, either at or
before trial, a party need not renew an objection or
offer of proof to preserve a claim of error for appeal.
See Fed. R. Evid. 103(aX(2). Betz was not required to
continue to offer evidence from the prohibited period
that was barred by the court’s previous ruling. Indeed,
when she attempted to offer such evidence, it was
largely excluded as irrelevant by the district court.

The summary judgment ruling excluding evidence
of discriminatory and retaliatory events before
September 21, 2003 remained in place and was
acknowledged at trial. Pet. App. 24a. The court did not
rule on motions in limine filed by the parties. The
district court recognized the summary judgment ruling
and cited to Ledbetter in its trial ruling. Jd. The
prejudicial exclusion of evidence of events of
discrimination and retaliation by the ruling was
compounded by the exclusion of relevant evidence Betz
offered at trial. The Eighth Circuit did not address
Betz’s arguments that the district court excluded
relevant evidence. Instead, the Court characterized the
summary judgment ruling as an “alleged evidentiary
ruling” and concluded that the district court “did not
exclude evidence that Ms. Betz did not offer” and
therefore could not have erred. Pet. App. 10a

At trial, the district court sustained the
Government’s objections and excluded evidence of
events before 2003 offered by Betz, including:

1) Betz’s job performance appraisals from 1996
through 1999. Excluding this evidence
foreclosed opportunity for follow up and was
relevant to Cangemi’s discriminatory and
retaliatory motive after her EEO charge in 1999

23

and comparison to his failure to appraise her
thereafter.

2) Requests for upgrades in her position before
2003 was excluded. The court deemed this
evidence irrelevant. This precluded inquiring
why Cangemi failed to seek upgrades from Betz
after her EEO Charge in 1999 as well as
conduct performance appraisals and
performance work plans. This was relevant to
Betz’s claims and working conditions after her
upgrade requests. Her upgrades in 1997 and
1999 were cited by the court as evidence she
was not discriminated against in 2003. The
ruling precluded inquiry into her upgrade in
1999 as it related to her EEO charge. It
precluded other questions relating to Cangemi’s
reasons for not pursuing upgrades for Betz
before 2003.

3) Al Oswald’s performance appraisal stating the
reasons for his promotion to GS-9 on May 18,
2003 was because of his “superior performance
and qualifications” was excluded as irrelevant.
Oswald was a 50-year old Betz used as a
comparator. Oswald received a pay increase and
promotion when the Government contended
there was no money for upgrades.

4) Exhibit 105 relating to Betz’s job in 1998 was
excluded as irrelevant to the events leading to
the constructive discharge in 2003.

The exclusion of this evidence, while referring to
Betz’s upgrades in 1997 and 1999 at 59 and 61 to show
she was not discriminated against, was extremely

24

prejudicial. Betz was unable to present evidence to
rebut these findings. Betz was not responsible for the
court’s general questions about her duties in 1999 that
had little to do with discriminatory animus. The
court’s rulings set the parameters for evidence for
events in 2003. The court allowed background evidence
of Cangemi’s inquiry of Betz about her retirement
plans in 2001 that were dismissed as “medium
conjyunct”. Pet. App. 3la. This Court should recognize
that a district court abuses its discretion when its
evidentiary rulings are made arbitrarily in light of its
pretrial ruling barring evidence to deny a plaintiff fair
opportunity to present evidence of discrimination. See
White v. Honeywell, Inc., 141 F. 3d 1270, 1274 (8 Cir.
1998); Hindman v. Transkrit Corporation, 145 F. 3d
986, 993, fn. 26 (8 Cir. 1998\(“A plaintiffs ability to
prove discrimination indirectly, circumstantially, must
not be crippled by evidentiary rulings that keep out
probative evidence because of crabbed notions of
relevance or excessive mistrust of juries”), citing Estes
v. Dick Smith Ford, Inc., 856 F. 2d 1097, 1103 (8 Cir.
1988). Review is necessary to recognize the abuse of
discretion standard for federal district courts when
evidentiary rulings are arbitrarily applied to deny
plaintiffs fair opportunity to present evidence of
discrimination in ADEA trials.

20

IV. Review Should Be Granted When the
Court of Appeals Makes Findings of Fact
on a Federal Employee’s Retaliation-Based
Constructive Discharge Claim That Has
Been Previously Dismissed by Summary
Judgment And Was Not Tried Before The
District Court.

The Eighth Circuit noted that “... Betz’s EEO
charge was timely as to her retaliation-based
constructive discharge claim, which the court does not
seem to have addressed separately, but we conclude
that her working conditions were not intolerable as a
matter of law.” Pet. App. 15a. The Court observed
“Although an employee would certainly not want to
work for a supervisor who retaliated against her for a
now-moot discrimination charge filed four years ago,
we do not believe those circumstances would make the
job intolerable. As we have said, DHS paid Ms. Betz
about $39,000 annually, and she did not contend that
the agency or Mr. Cangemi required her to perform
duties or to work hours that were in any way
inhumane or intolerable.” Pet. App. 16.

At the onset, the Court of Appeals wrongly
presumed that the trial covered Betz’s retaliation-
based constructive discharge claim and the district
court overlooked it. Pet. App. 15a. There was
admittedly no evidence of Betz’s 1999 EEO charge at
the trial that, for the most part, was restricted to
events in 2003. Betz’s 1999 EEO complaint was
addressed in the DHS’ summary judgment motion and
the district court’s ruling. Pet. App. 45a (“Therefore, to
the extent the alleged wage discrimination and
constructive discharge maybe considered retaliation,
plaintiffs conduct prior to September 21, 2003, this

26

Court considers the claims to be time-barred”). The
claim was not addressed by the district court with
findings of fact in the post-tnal order. Pet. App. 22a-
46a.

While Betz’s 1999 EEO charge was part of the
record at summary judgment, the panel’s decision
improperly portrayed it as though it was presented at
trial. The Appeals Court did not rule on the summary
judgment of Betz’s retaliation-based constructive
discharge claims. Significantly, the district court did
not make findings of fact or conclusions of law about
the claim after trial. Pet. App. 22a-36a. The Court’s
characterization and ruling regarding Betz’s
retaliation-based constructive discharge claim is not
supported by the trial record.

The standard governing appellate review of a
district court’s finding in discrimination cases is
clearly erroneous as articulated in Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 52(a). Anderson v. City of Bessemer
City, N.C., 470 U.S. 564, 573,105 S.Ct. 1504, 1511, 84
L.Ed. 2d 518 (1985). This standard does not entitle a
reviewing court to reverse the finding of the trier of
fact simply because it is convinced that it would have
decided the case differently. Jd. The reviewing court
oversteps the bounds of its duty under Rule 52(a) if it
undertakes to duplicate the role of the lower court. Jd.
“In applying the clearly erroneous standard to the
findings of a district court sitting without a jury,
appellate courts must constantly have in mind that
their function is not to decide factual issues de novo”.
Anderson, 470 U.S. at 573,105 S. Ct. at 1511, citing
Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395
U.S. 100, 123, 89 S. Ct. 1562, 1576, 23 L.Ed. 2d 129
(1969).

2]

In a bench trial, the district court is required to
find the facts specifically and state separately its
conclusions of law. King v. United States, 553 F. 3d
1156, 1161 (8 Cir. 2009). The court must provide
sufficient findings of fact to enable the appeals court to
review its decision. Jd. The appeals court may not
make these findings of fact or exercise discretion in the
district court’s stead. Jd. Other federal courts of
appeals have reiterated the principle that an appellate
court should not make findings of fact in the district
court’s stead. See, e.g., Atlantic Thermoplastics Co.,
Inc. v. Faytex Corp., 5 ¥.3d 1477, 1479 (Fed. Cir. 1993)
(“Rule 52(a) makes clear the separate and distinct
roles of the trial and the appellate court. This court
must review factual findings made by the district
court; it may not guess at findings left unmade. Fact-
finding by the appellate court is simply not
permitted”); McClain v. Lufkin Indus., Inc., 519 F.3d
264, 277 (5th Cir. 2008) (“The reviewing court
oversteps the bounds of its duty under Rule 52(a) if it
undertakes to duplicate the role of the lower court”)
(citing Anderson v. City of Bessemer, 470 U.S. 564, 573
(1985)).

The absence of a trial ruling on the retaliation-
based constructive discharge claim was not merely an
oversight, but the result of the district court’s
dismissal of the claim by its summary judgment ruling
barring all claims and acts pre-September 21, 2003.
Under the district court’s ruling, there could be no
retaliation for events outside of the claim period of
September 21 to November 5, 2003. Betz’s 1999 EEO
complaint was considered too remote by the district
court to fall within the claims period and dismissed the
claim at summary judgment. Pet. App. 45a. The
absence of any mention of the retaliation claim in

28

closing argument or a ruling on the claim after trial
underscored this point.

Because the Eighth Circuit improperly made
findings of fact on Betz’s retaliation-based constructive
discharge claim when the district court did not make
findings of fact on the claim that it dismissed at
summary judgment, while finding that Betz’s EEO
charge for the claim was timely filed, the claim should
be remanded to the district court for trial on the
merits.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Dated: February 2, 2010
Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Charles Fiebiger
STEPHEN C. FIEBIGER &
ASSOCIATES, CHTD
2500 West County Road 42
Suite 190
Burnsville, MN 55337
(952) 746-5171
fieblaw@earthlink.net

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

Appendix A:

Appendix B:

Appendix C:

Appendix D:

Appendix E:

Appendix F:

Appendix G:

i
INDEX TO APPENDICES

Eighth Circuit Opinion
(August 28, 2009) ..... la

District Court Judgment
(July 8, 2008) ................. 19a

District Court Order re judgment as a
matter of law
ST nT. ss -50- 6 6. 5.0% 4.0.0 '08 Zla

District Court, Transcript of July 2,
2008 Proceedings re findings of fact
and conclusions of law .......... 22a

District Court written Order re
Motion for Summary Judgment

eo Ss 39a

District Court Transcript of May 31,
2007 Proceedings re Summary
Judgment Oral Order .......... 41a

Eighth Circuit Order denying Petition
for Rehearing and Rehearing en banc
(November 4, 2009) ........ ... 48a

APPENDIX A
United States Court of Appeals
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
No. 08-3027
[Filed August 28, 2009]
Marlene Betz,

Appellant,

Michael Chertoff, Secretary,
Department of Homeland Security,

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Appellee. )
)
Appeal from the United States

District Court for the
District of Minnesota.

Submitted: June 11, 2009
Filed: August 28, 2009

Before SMITH, ARNOLD, and SHEPHERD, Circuit
Judges.

2a
ARNOLD, Circuit Judge.

After leaving her job with the Department of
Homeland Security, Marlene Betz brought an action
against DHS under the Age Discrimination in
Employment Act (ADEA). See 29 U.S.C.A. § 633a. She
claimed that Mark Cangemi, her _ supervisor
throughout her employment, denied her upgrades and
related salary increases on several occasions and
eventually constructively discharged her because of
her age and in retaliation for her having filed an EEO
charge alleging age discrimination. The district court’
granted, in part, DHS’s summary judgment motion for
failure to comply with administrative deadlines. The
court then held a bench trial on Ms. Betz’s claim that
she was constructively discharged because of her age
and entered judgment for DHS on that claim. Ms. Betz
appeals and we affirm.

In 1995, Ms. Betz began working in the St. Paul
office of the Immigration and Naturalization Service as
a secretary at the GS-5 pay-grade level. Her
supervisor, Mr. Cangemi, was the assistant district
director for investigations. In 1997, INS upgraded Ms.
Betz from a GS-5 to a GS-6 after having conducted
what is called a desk audit of her job. (The government
may upgrade an employee’s position without requiring
the employee to compete for a different job by
conducting a desk audit, in which the government
reviews the tasks that the employee is performing to
determine whether she is properly classified.) Ms. Betz
requested a desk audit in 1998, and as a result was

' The Honorable James M. Rosenbaum, United States District
Judge for the District of Minnesota.

3a

upgraded the next year to a GS-7. But before that
upgrade, in August, 1999, Ms. Betz had filed an EEO
complaint asserting that she had not received the
requested desk audit because of her age; unbeknownst
to her, Mr. Cangemi had already approved her desk
audit request. After 1999, Mr. Cangemi ceased giving
Ms. Betz annual performance appraisals, did not
revise her job description, and denied her later
requests for an increase in her GS-7 pay-grade level
(though she received scheduled step increases within
that level). Ms. Betz resigned in November, 2003,
shortly after Mr. Cangemi refused her last upgrade
request.

In early 2003, when the Department of Homeland
Security was created, the Bureau of Customs
Enforcement and INS merged to form Immigrations
and Customs Enforcement (ICE), a division of DHS.
The INS St. Paul office, where Ms. Betz worked, had
been responsible for immigration investigations in
three states. When DHS was formed, that office
acquired responsibility for two additional states and
Customs matters and became a_e so-called
Special-Agent-in-Charge (SAC) Office of ICE, with Mr.
Cangemi as the acting SAC. Ms. Betz remained the
only administrator-secretary in the office, and the
volume and complexity of her workload increased.
According to Ms. Betz, her new duties included those
that GS-11 employees performed and thus she should
have been upgraded from GS-7 to GS-11.

Ms. Betz asked Mr. Cangemi for an upgrade in the
spring of 2003 and he said that he would check into it.
When he did not mention it again, she again asked
him on October 1; she mentioned her additional duties
and told Mr. Cangemi that if she did not get an

4a

upgrade she would be forced to retire. He responded
that there was nothing that he could do. She brought
up the topic for the last time on the morning of 29
October. Mr. Cangemi testified at trial that he told her
“categorically ... that it was not going to happen.” Ms.
Betz testified, in turn, that she felt that given her
workload and “not seeing any opportunity of being
advanced in grade or being compensated for that it
didn’t leave a whole lot of opening for me to do. ... it
was either continue working at the grade I was being
paid, doing the level of work I was doing, or retiring.
And I just felt I had no options.” She told Mr. Cangemi
at that time that she was going to retire. She was
sixty-five years old.

That afternoon, Mr. Cangemi came into the break
room while Ms. Betz was there. She testified that he
told her that there was nothing that he could do about
her “demands” for an upgrade, and that if she was
upset, she should go home and return when she
completed her paperwork for retirement. She testified
that she felt intimidated by his presence. At trial, Mr.
Cangemi testified that Ms. Betz seemed upset when he
saw her in the break room and that he told her that
she could go home, but he denied mentioning her
completing any paperwork.

Ms. Betz filed this action, contending that because
of her age and in retaliation for her 1999 EEO
complaint, Mr. Cangemi failed to upgrade her so that
she would be paid commensurate with her duties and
that his failure to do so resulted in her constructive
discharge.

5a

I.

Ms. Betz argues that the district court erred in
several ways in entering judgment for DHS following
a bench trial on her claim that she was constructively
discharged because of her age. We review the district
courts factual findings, including the ultimate
determination of whether discrimination occurred, for
clear error, and its legal conclusions de novo. See Fed.
R. Civ. P. 52(a); Littleton v. Pilot Travel Centers, LLC,
568 F.3d 641, 647 (8th Cir. 2009); Tadlock v. Powell,
291 F.3d 541, 546 (8th Cir. 2002). Rule 52(a)(6) directs
us to “give due regard to the trial court’s opportunity
to judge the witnesses’ credibility.” At the close of the
evidence, the district court (citing Fed. R. Civ. P. 50,
which governs judgment as a matter of law in a jury
trial) concluded that Ms. Betz did not make out a case
of constructive discharge, but it also made factual
findings in support of its judgment for DHS. We review
the court’s findings for clear error and need not
determine whether the evidence could have supported
a judgment in favor of Ms. Betz.

A.

In her brief, Ms. Betz first contends that the
district court erred in finding that she was not
discriminated against on account of her age. She
begins by referring to evidence that she says shows
that Mr. Cangemi gave false reasons for denying her
an upgrade, and that a factfinder could infer from
their falsity that the given reasons were a pretext for
age discrimination. See Loeb v. Best Buy Co., 537 F.3d
867, 873 (8th Cir. 2008). We agree that an employer’s
false explanation may support — though it does not
require — an inference of discrimination. Reeves v.
Sanderson Plumbing Prods., Inc.,530 U.S. 133, 146-47
(2000). But the question of what inferences the

6a

evidence could have supported is at best tangential to
our limited standard of review, which requires us to
accept the district court’s finding that Mr. Cangemi did
not discriminate against Ms. Betz on account of her
age unless, after having reviewed the evidence, we are
“left with the definite and firm conviction that a
mistake has been committed.” United States v. United
States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948); Littleton,
568 F.3d at 647; see Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a). We are not
convinced that the district court made a mistake in
failing to infer an impermissible discriminatory
animus on Mr. Cangemi’s part from this evidence.

Ms. Betz also relies on a conversation that she had
with Mr. Cangemi as evidence that he discriminated
against her because of her age. In July, 2001, Mr.
Cangemi asked Ms. Betz about her retirement pians
shortly after a co-worker about her age had retired.
She testified that the inquiry upset her and said that
she was going to see if a buyout was available. Mr.
Cangemi did not bring up the topic again. The court
found that “[iJn the world, people ask each other w.rat
their plans are for the future,” and that Mr. Cangemi’s
“simple inquiry ... was not an_ indication of
discrimination based on age.” The court added that
although age “cannot be permitted to be the
determining factor, {i]n this case, there is no indication
that this was a determining factor of anything.” We
have held that “[rleasonable inquiries into an
employee’s retirement plans do not permit an
inference of age discrimination,” Lewis v. St. Cloud
Univ., 467 F.3d 1133, 1137 (8th Cir. 2006) (internal
quotation marks and citation omitted), and thus the
court’s failure to infer bias from Mr. Cangemi’s
question cannot be clear error.

7a

Ms. Betz based her age discrimination claim, in
part, on her assertion that similarly situated younger
employees were classified as GS-11, as compared to
her GS-7 grade. To prove discrimination by comparing
herself to others, Ms. Betz had to show that the other
employees were younger than she and were similarly
situated “in all relevant respects.” See Forrest v. Kraft
Foods, Inc., 285 F.5a 688, 691-92 (8th Cir.2002). We
will overturn the district court’s finding that the
employees were not similarly situated only if it is
clearly erroneous. See Hayes v. Invesco, Inc., 907 F.2d
853, 856 (8th Cir. 1990). To be similarly situated two
employees ordinarily must deal with the same
supervisor or the decision-maker must be the same in
both instances. See Morgan v. A.G. Edwards & Sons,
Inc., 486 F.3d 1034, 1043 (8th Cir. 2007). Ms. Betz
maintains that the district court’s approach to
determining whether an employee was comparable to
her “was too restrictive under the circumstances.”

Here the district court found, based on evidence in
the record, that Mr. Cangemi had no authority over
the allegedly similarly situated employees when their
GS-11 status was authorized. Al Oswald, one of the
employees whom Ms. Betz compared herself to, worked
in the Omaha, Nebraska, INS office. He was younger
than Ms. Betz when his supervisor chose him for a
GS-11 position. There was evidence that Mr. Cangemi
had nothing to do with that decision, and his office did
not even have authority over the Nebraska office at the
time. Ms. Betz argues that Mr. Oswald is nonetheless
similarly situated because by the time he began
working in the GS-11 position in Omaha, DHS had
been formed and Mr. Cangemi was in charge of a
district that included Nebraska. But the relevant
decision had already been made, and Ms. Betz has

8a

presented no evidence to show that Mr. Cangemi was
involved in, or even aware of, Mr. Oswald beginning
his GS-11 duties. We see nothing that would compel
the district court to deem him similarly situated to Ms.
Betz.

Ms. Betz also contended that her salary grade
should have been compared to that of Barbara [sic]
Seamans in the St. Paul office, whose pay-grade level
was GS-11. The district court stated that it did not
know Ms. Seamans’s age and Ms. Betz has not
indicated where we might find that information in the
record. Nor have we seen it. The district court found,
moreover, that Ms. Seamans was upgraded to GS-11
status before Mr. Cangemi had any authority over her,
and Ms. Betz has offered us no evidence to the
contrary. We see no basis for determining that the
district court clearly erred in finding that Mr. Oswald
and Ms. Seamans were not similarly situated in all
relevant respects to Ms. Betz.

We believe that Ms. Betz’s evidence of age
discrimination was, at best, weak, and we thus cannot
conclude that the district court clearly erred by finding
that none existed.

Ms. Betz argues in the alternative that the district
court erroneously excluded evidence and thereby
prevented her from showing that Mr. Cangemi
discriminated against her based on her age. But Ms.
Betz did not offer into evidence many of the documents
that she now contends were wrongly excluded. She
maintains that we may nevertheless address the
court’s “exclusion” of these items because she was
precluded from presenting them based on a statement

9a

that the court made during a hearing on DHS’s
summary judgment motion. We disagree.

As we have said, the district court granted partial
summary judgment to DHS based on Ms. Betz’s failure
timely to seek administrative remedies. Federal
employees generally must report discrimination to an
EEO counselor within 45 days of an occurrence. 29
CFR § 1614.105(a)(1). Because Ms. Betz did not
contact an EEO counselor about any of her claims in
this case until November 5, 2003, the court concluded
that she could not proceed with any claims based on
occurrences before September 21, 2003, which is 45
days before November 5. When ruling on the summary
judgment motion at the close of the hearing, the court
said that Ms. Betz “may not present any evidence of
discriminatory or retaliatory acts prior to the 45-day
period,” and Ms. Betz relies on these words to excuse
her failure to offer such evidence at trial. But in the
same sentence the court explained that “claims based
on evidence — such evidence are time barred,” and then
summarized its ruling: “Therefore, in conclusion, the
Court finds that summary judgment is appropriate
and is mandated to all claims prior to that date.” The
court’s written order followed. It provided that
“Plaintiff's claims based on allegedly discriminatory or
retaliatory events that occurred pricr to September 21,
2003 are untimely, and summary judgment for
defendant is granted as to these claims” and made no
reference to evidentiary rulings.

Particularly given the context, we find specious Ms.
Betz’s contention that the court’s remark about
evidence in the midst of the summary judgment
hearing excused her from offering evidence at trial
that she now says the court wrongly “excluded.” (We

10a

reject as well her related assertion that the court’s
purported prohibition on pre-September 21 evidence
was “particularly egregious” because the court relied
on events during that time period in its decision.)
Summary judgment hearings, of course, are not
ordinarily used to make pre-trial evidentiary rulings,
and we have seen nothing in the record to indicate that
either party requested or expected the court to make
such rulings. And Ms. Betz made no reference at trial
to the alleged evidentiary ruling. Instead, her conduct
during the trial was inconsistent with her present
assertion that the court had prohibited her from
presenting evidence of pre-September 21 occurrences:
She offered and the district court admitted evidence of
some matters that occurred during that time period,
and the court itself asked her what duties she had
performed in 1999. Because the district court simply
did not exclude evidence that Ms. Betz did not offer,
the court plainly could not have erred. In addition, the
material that Ms. Betz contends was wrongly excluded
contains little or no evidence that is even related to the
question of discriminatory animus.

We therefore conclude that the district court did
not err in finding that DHS did not discriminate
against Ms. Betz because of her age.

B.

Even if the court had erred in finding that DHS did
not engage in age discrimination, Ms. Betz would not
have been entitled to relief because she has not
established that the court erred in finding that she
was not constructively discharged. To make out a case
of constructive discharge, Ms. Betz had to show that a
reasonable person would have found her working
conditions intolerable, and that Mr. Cangemi intended

lla

to make her resign or, at a minimum, that her
resignation was reasonably foreseeable given the
conditions under which she was working. Reedy uv.
Quebecor Printing Eagle, Inc., 333 F.3d 906, 910 (8th
Cir. 2003).

“The intolerability of working conditions is judged
by an objective standard,” and to prevail on a
constructive discharge claim, a plaintiff must show
that his or her “working conditions were rendered so
objectionable that a reasonable person would have
deemed resignation the only plausible alternative.”
Tatom v. Georgia-Pacific Corp., 228 F.3d 926, 932 (8th
Cir. 2000). To prevail on appeal, Ms. Betz must show
that the district court clearly erred in finding that her
working conditions were not intolerable. Cf. Tadlock v.
Powell, 291 F.3d 541, 547 (8th Cir. 2002).

As the DHS observes, Ms. Betz essentially argues
that her employment conditions were intolerable
because she was overworked and underpaid. Although
we can envision circumstances in which an employee
must do so much work for so little compensation that
the working conditions become intolerable, especially
when the conditions are imposed for discriminatory
reasons, we do not think that the court clearly erred in
finding that Ms. Betz’s conditions were not intolerable.
We do not believe that the district court was required
to find that performing Ms. Betz’s duties in return for
her GS-7 salary (about $39,000 annually when she
resigned) was objectively intolerable.

Not surprisingly, none of the constructive-discharge
cases that Ms. Betz cites in her brief is based on
inadequate compensation: The plaintiff in Wright v.
Rolette County, 417 F.3d 879, 886-87 (8th Cir. 2005),

12a

cert. denied, 546 U.S. 1173 (2006), claimed that she
was forced to quit because of a hostile work
environment, a frequent basis for constructive
discharge claims, see, e.g., Nichols v. American Natl
Ins. Co., 154 F.3d 875 (8th Cir. 1998); Delph v. Dr.
Pepper Bottling Co., 130 F.3d 349 (8th Cir 1997). (We
concluded in Wright, 417 F.3d at 886, that the
supervisors conduct, though “serious and
reprehensible,” did not as a matter of law create an
intolerable work environment.) Ms. Betz cites two
other constructive discharge cases, both brought under
the ADEA. In the first, we reversed a judgment for the
plaintiff because the record evidence could not support
a finding that the plaintiffs working conditions were
intolerable. Tatom, 228 F.3d at 931-32. The plaintiff
had quit rather than accept a 120-day suspension for
a safety violation. Id. at 930-31. As we observed in
Tatom, id. at 932, we have previously held that “such
things as loss of supervisory responsibilities, a feeling
of being unfairly criticized, dissatisfaction with work
assignments, and loss of pay are insufficient to
constitute a constructive discharge.”

Although we upheld a verdict for the plaintiff in
Smith v. World Ins. Co., 38 F.3d 1456, 1461-62 (8th
Cir. 1994), the final case that Ms. Betz cites, that case
presented circumstances far different from those
before us. We stated in Smith, id. at 1461, that “an
offer of early retirement constitutes a constructive
discharge when the choice is_ [between] early
retirement or continuing to work under intolerable
conditions, like the threat of termination without
benefits,” and held that the plaintiffs evidence
satisfied this standard. The plaintiff testified that his
employer “threatened to ‘turn the screws’ and ‘build a
file’ against [him] if he did not resign” and made clear

l3a

that he would not get benefits unless he took early
retirement. 7d. In addition, the individual who
convinced the plaintiff to resign had admitted to
another witness that he wanted to “get rid of” older
employees, including the plaintiff. Jd. at 1462.

The cases that Ms. Betz relies on are of no
assistance to her, and we conclude that the district
court did not clearly err in finding that her working
conditions were not objectively intolerable.

Il.

In her final point, Ms. Betz contends that the
district court erred in concluding that her retaliation
claims based on retaliatory events before September
21, 2003, were barred because her EEO charge was
untimely. We disagree.

To make out a claim of retaliation, Ms. Betz had to
show that she participated in a protected activity, that
DHS treated her in a manner that was materially
adverse, and that there was a causal relationship
between the two. See Burlington Northern & Santa Fe
Ry. v. White, 548 U.S. 53, 68 (2006); Littleton v. Pilot
Travel Ctrs., LLC, 568 F.3d 641, 643-44 (8th Cir.
2009); see also Gomez-Perez v. Potter, 1288S. Ct. 1931,
1936 (2008). She alleged that Mr. Cangemi retaliated
against her because of her 1999 EEO age
discrimination charge by refusing to give her annual
evaluations, which would have given her an
opportunity for additional compensation, and refusing
to give her upgrades that would have increased her
salary, and that these acts eventually caused her
constructive discharge.

l4a

A federal employee generally must contact an EEO
counselor “within 45 days of the date of the matter
alleged to be discriminatory.” 29 CFR § 1614.105(a)(1).
Ms. Betz first contacted an EEO counselor about the
alleged retaliation on November 5, 2003, and the
district court granted summary judgment to DHS on
claims based on retaliatory events that occurred more
than 45 days earlier. Ms. Betz relies, however, on one
of several exceptions to the deadline: Under
§ 1614.105(a)(2), the EEOC or the agency “shall extend
the 45-day time limit” if the employee shows that “she
was not notified of the time limits and was not
otherwise aware of them.” Ms. Betz asserted that
despite knowing about the deadline for reporting
discriminatory acts, she was unaware that she had to
report acts of retaliation to an EEO counselor. The
district court rejected her assertion: The court
observed that Ms. Betz had brought at least one
previous EEO charge and thus was well aware of the
general requirement for filing a timely EEO charge.
The court found that it was therefore likely that Ms.
Betz knew that she should contact an EEO counselor
if she believed that she was being retaliated against
for having filed an EEO charge. We do not believe that
the court clearly erred in finding that she was
sufficiently familiar with the 45-day time requirement
to be bound by it. We also note that Ms. Betz’s conduct
indicates that she did not distinguish between
discrimination and retaliation when filing an EEO
charge: In November, 2003, she first contacted an EEO
counselor about her contention that she had suffered
both discrimination and retaliation for the past three
years.

Ms. Betz also argues that her claim of retaliation
was not time-barred because it was based on a

l5a

continuing violation that did not end until after
September 21, 2003. The Supreme Court has held that
the continuing violation doctrine applies in hostile
work environment claims, where, although one
incident may not support a claim, the claim may be
supported by a series of incidents that occur over a
period of time, National R.R. Passenger Corp. v.
Morgan, 536 U.S. 101, 122 (2002), but Ms. Betz did not
bring a hostile environment claim. Under the Court’s
holding in Morgan, “discrete discriminatory acts are
not actionable if time barred, even when they are
related to acts alleged in timely filed charges.” Id. at
113. “Discrete acts such as termination, failure to
promote, denial of transfer, or refusal to hire are easy
to identify. Each incident of discrimination and each
retaliatory adverse employment decision constitutes a
separate actionable ‘unlawful employment practice.’ “
Id. at 114. In her brief, Ms. Betz equates the denial of
an upgrade with a failure to promote, and we conclude
that the pre-September 21 matters that she contends
prevented her from obtaining additional compensation
are discrete acts that required her to contact an EEO
counselor within 45 days of their occurrence. She did
not do so and is therefore barred from bringing an
action based specifically on those occurrences.

We note that Ms. Betz’s EEO charge was timely as
to her retaliation-based constructive discharge claim,
which the court does not seem to have addressed
separately, but we conclude that her working
conditions were not intolerable as a matter of law. See
Tatom, 228 F.3d at 932. Virtually all viable
constructive discharge claims involve a hostile work
environment, which Ms. Betz does not allege was
present here. And even if we assume, without deciding,
that she could show that Mr. Cangemi engaged in the

16a

retaliatory acts that she alleges and that we can
consider those acts in assessing her constructive
discharge claim, we do not believe that she could make
out a case. Although an employee would -ertainly not
want to work for a supervisor who retaliated against
her for a now-moot discrimination charge filed four
years ago, we do not believe those circumstances would
make the job intolerable. As we have said, DHS paid
Ms. Betz about $39,000 annually, and she did not
contend that the agency or Mr. Cangemi required her
to perform duties or to work hours that were in any
way inhumane or unacceptable. In fact, she asserted
that others did similar work (but were paid more). Ms.
Betz has not shown that the district court committed
reversible error with respect to any of her retaliation
claims.

III.
The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

l7a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No: 08-3027

[Filed August 28, 2009]

Marlene Betz,
Plaintiff - Appellant
v.

Michael Chertoff, Secretary,

Department of Homeland Security,

Defendant - Appellee

Nee Ne eee ee”

Appeal from U.S. District Court for
the District of Minnesota - Minneapolis
(0:06-cv-00172-JMR)

JUDGMENT

This appeal from the United States District Court
was submitted on the record of the district court, briefs
of the parties and was argued by counsel.

After consideration, it is hereby ordered and
adjudged that the judgment of the district court in this
cause is affirmed in accordance with the opinion of this
Court.

18a

August 28, 2009

Order Entered in Accordance with Opinion:
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

/s/ Michael E. Gans

APPENDIX B

®&A0450 (Rev. 5/85) Judgment in a Civil Case

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District of Minnesota

Case Number: 06-cv-172-JMR-RLE

[Filed July 8, 2008]

Marlene Betz
V.

Michael Chertoff, Secretary, Department of
Homeland Security

Nee ee ee eee ee ee”

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

QO Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court
for a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and
the jury has rendered its verdict.

& Decision by Court. This action came to trial or
hearing before the Court. The issues have been
tried or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED THAT:
judgment shall be entered for defendant as a
matter of law.

20a

July 8, 2008 RICHARD D. SLETTEN, CLERK
Date

s/J. Dunbar Fannemel
(By) J. Dunbar Fannemel,
Deputy Clerk

Form Modified: 09/16/04

2la

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

No. 06-CV-172(JMR/RLE)

[Filed July 7, 2008]

Marlene Betz
Vv.

Michael Chertoff, Secretary,
Department of Homeland Security

ee a a a a

ORDER

This matter was tried to the Court on June 30 and
July 1, 2008. The Court entered its findings of fact and
conclusions of law into the record on July 2, 2008. For
the reasons stated on the record, [T IS ORDERED that
judgment shall be entered for defendant as a matter of
law.

Dated: July 7, 2008

s/ JAMES M. ROSENBAUM

JAMES M. ROSENBAUM
United States District Judge

22a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

Case No.: 0:06-cv-00172-JMR-RLE

[Filed October 24, 2008]

MARLENE BETZ,
Plaintiff,
VS.

MICHAEL CHERTOFF, Secretary,
Department of Homeland Security,

Defendant.

New Ne Nae Ne Ne Ne Ne Ne Ne ee Se”

TRANSCRIPT
OF
PROCEEDINGS
(ORDER)

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing
before Chief Judge James M. Rosenbaum, on July 2nd,
2008, at the United States District Courthouse, 300
South Fourth Street, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415,
commencing at approximately 11:50 a.m.

23a
CALIFORNIA CSR NO.: 8674

ILLINOIS CSR NO.: 084-004202
IOWA CSR NO.: 495
RMR NO.: 065111

[p.2)} APPEARANCES

STEPHEN C. FIEBIGER & ASSOCIATES,
Chartered, 2500 W. County Road 42, Suite 190,
Burnsville, Minnesota 55337, by STEPHEN C.

FIEBIGER, Attorney at Law, appeared as counsel on
behalf of Plaintiff.

OFFICE OF THE UNITED STATES ATTORNEY,
300 South Fourth Street, Suite 600, Minneapolis,
Minnesota 55415, by LONNIE F. BRYAN, Assistant
United States Attorney, appeared as counsel on behalf
of Defendant.

[p.3] THE CLERK: The matter on the caiendar is
Marlene Betz versus Michael Chertoff, Civil Number
06-172.

THE COURT: This matter comes before the court
on plaintiffs claim of unlawful discrimination based
upon her age, particularly in her compensation, and
claims that she was actively and constructively
discharged for that reason.

The record indicates, and the court finds, that the
plaintiff retired from the Department of Homeland
Security on November 28th, 2003. It is her contention
that she was forced to depart from that position, as

24a

I’ve indicated, basically due to wage discrimination
and based upon her age. This court previously ruled
during the motion for summary judgment that her
claim would have been limited to discriminatory
conduct occurring 45 days before her EEO complaint.
That would have been on or after September 21, 2003.
That was the court’s consideration with regard to
Ledbedder. That notwithstanding, the case was clearly
tried and set forth the matters which she contended
going long past and previous to that, going back as far
as 1998 and 1999.

The court has considered all of the evidence
admitted in its consideration of the case. The matter
has been heard, both sides have rested, and now the
court determines that the plaintiff has failed to prove
her claim and will grant judgment as a matter of law
in favor of the [p 4] defendant pursuant to Rule 50 of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

By way of background, the court now finds that the
plaintiff was an administrative assistant employed at
the St. Paul office of the Federal Immigration and
Naturalization Service, then “INS.” In March 2003,
that organization merged into the Department of
Homeland Security, becoming known as the Bureau of
Immigration and Customs Enforcement, “ICE.”
Throughout 2003, that agency went through
significant changes, and the plaintiff became
responsible for a number of additional tasks, which
included providing administrative support to
additional offices and personnel. It was the plaintiffs
firm belief that she deserved additional compensation
for her increased workload. One option she had
previously exercised was to request a cesk audit. If a
desk audit were provided and found that the plaintiff

25a

had been performing at a higher level, it might lead to
an upgrade. That would be a reclassification at a
higher grade on the General Schedule, the GS scale.

As of September 21, 2003, the plaintiff was
compensated at GS 7-7. In her view, she was deserving
of an upgrade to GS 11. Earlier in 2003, around March
or April, she asked Mr. Cangemi, her supervisor and
the agent in charge, for a desk audit or an upgrade.
Mr. Cangemi told her he would see what he could do.
No upgrade was forthcoming. [p.5] On September 21st,
Mr. Cangemi, through his deputy, awarded the
plaintiff three days of paid leave. She felt that that
was an inadequate award for the higher level of work
which she perceived herself to be doing.

On October Ist, the plaintiff told Mr. Cangemi that
were she not able to receive be upgrade, she would be
forced to retire. According to Mr. Cangemi -- it is
uncontroverted -- that he claims he requested an
upgrade, although no physical evidence in support of
that were offered. It was Mr. Cangemi’s statement
that no such upgrades came through, and it is
uncontroverted that no upgrades were given in that
office during all of 2003. The plaintiff replied, when
she found that there was nothing Mr. Cangemi could
do, that she had no choice but her option to retire. She
indicated to him that that was her wish and her desire
on November 3, 2003, a date dictated by considerations
related to the federal retirement account. Then other
incidents took place about which the court will opine
in a moment.

The plaintiff then went and spoke with Mary
Hernandez, who had been supervising her work on a
day-to-day basis, although unofficially, in the sense

26a

that no formal transfer of supervision had been
provided. But it appears to be uncontroverted that her
work was most closely affiliated with Ms. Hernandez,
partially because Mr. Cangemi, also [p.6] having
absorbed larger responsibilities, traveled on a regular
basis, as much as 50 percent of the time, leaving the
administrative staff, all of which were encompassed by
Ms. Betz, without an active supervisor on a day-to-day
basis. Ms. Hernandez was troubled that the plaintiffs
departure would cause difficulties in the office, since
everyone did not know exactly what she was doing,
and somehow they would need to accomplish the tasks
that had been reserved to Ms. Betz. The plaintiff
initially refused. At that point, Ms. Hernandez
suggested, and offered, a 1,000-dollar special award,
and this special award would be used, if you would, to
upgrade her compensation for one month’s period of
time. She agreed to stay for 30 more days. During this
30 days, when she did continue to labor, she was
provided compensation at the grade 7, step 7 level. The
1,000-dollar award was apparently passed through,
but either never approved, but certainly never
awarded.

Upon her departure, no one replaced her. Her work
was divided among existing employees. None of those
who assumed those responsibilities received either an
upgrade or any additional compensation. No one
disputes, no one suggested during the course of this
trial, and the court makes no finding, that she was
anything but a hard-working, conscientious, loyal
employee who performed well in her position.
However, the evidence reflects that there were no [p.7}
desk audits, quality step increases or any upgrades
which were placed in the St. Paul office at any point in
2003 or, indeed, for any time reasonably thereafter on

27a

the record before this court. Rather, as testified by
Nancy Weir, during this period the only way for an
employee to get an increase in pay was to apply for a
different job within the agency.

All of that is by way of findings and by way of
background.

Under the Age Discrimination and Employment
Act, the ADEA, it is, quote, unlawful for an
employer...to discharge or otherwise discriminate
against any individual with respect to his
compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of
employment because of such individual’s age, close
quote. And that is from Tatom v. Georgia Pacific, 228
F3d, 926, 930, (8th Cir. 2000), which cited the statute
of 29 United States Code, Section 623(a)(1).

An employee is constructively discharged when the
employer deliberately renders her working conditions
intolerable, and thus, forces her to quit her job. Once
again from Tatom at 931, 932. The employer’s actions
must have been intended to force the employee to quit.
The employee can establish intentional discrimination
by showing that her resignation was a reasonably
foreseeable consequence of the employer’s
discriminatory actions. Accordingly, [p.8] constructive
discharge occurs only when a reasonable person would
find that the working conditions were intolerable.

Reduced to its essence, then, the plaintiffs claim,
and the plaintiff must bear the burden to show two
elements, one that Mr. Cangemi made her working
conditions so intolerable that a reasonable person
would have quit; and two, that he did so because of her

28a

age. The court finds that the plaintiff has failed to
sustain this burden.

First, the plaintiff has failed to prove a constructive
discharge.

She has not shown that a reasonable person would
have found it intolerable to perform her work at the
grade 7, step 7 level.

She had worked at this position for almost two
years, having previously been upgraded in 2001.

The court considers it interesting, and important to
recognize, that she was given an upgrade. She had
been a GS 6 in 1997, at which time she was 59 years of
age. In 1999, she was given an increase and she was
upgraded from the GS 6 to the GS 7. She was 61 years
of age. It is not obvious, and it certainly was not
proven, why or how she was being discriminated
against at age 63, when she hadn’t been at 59 and 61.
The court considers that to be significant.

Her request was to be increased to an 11. She [p.9]
knew, and testified herself, that that was a very large
increase and that she actually could not become an 11
for at least a year or two, would have to stop at an
interim nine, apparently.

Further, while she may have claimed the conditions
were intolerable, an additional offer of $1,000 made
them tolerable enough to be sustained for one more
month. The court notes that the salary matched her
official job description. Part of that, of course, is she
claims that her job description was wrong, but no one
was getting new job descriptions at ICE in 2003. ICE,

29a

the court must recognize, was in the process of being
integrated into the Department of Homeland Security.
Amidst the discussion during the trial, but the court
recognizes, at least having learned over time, that the
creation of the Department of Homeland Security
involved the merger of many, many federal agencies
and created the second largest federal agency behind
only the Department of Defense. All of this was
compressed due to exigent circumstances into a very
short period of time, but those conditions did prevail
while she was employed and during the 2003 period.
No one in St. Paul was being paid at a GS 7 for similar
or comparable work. It is also uncontroverted, as I
said, neither upgrades nor quality-step increases nor
any desk audits took place in 2003 or thereafter during
the time that any evidence was offered in [p.10] this
court.

Now I want to focus, if I can, on portions of the
evidence which were presented. As I’ve indicated, the
plaintiff received increases, including grade-level
increases, at ages 59 and 61. There was no showing
that any change occurred at all. Second, there was a
gross failure to prove what the standards were that
she had to meet to get an increase either to GS 9 or GS
11. There was no evidence provided, and the court has
none showing, that anything that she did was outside
of her grade GS 7-7 classification. Certainly they
adopted a new accounting system, which had, and
carried, additional respcnsibilities, but the
Government had simply changed a system. There was
no showing that anybody who was a 7 was either
incompetent to handle or, indeed, did not handle. The
suggestion was all the people who used this program
had to be higher, but there was no evidence in support
of that offered whatsoever. The court does not have,

30a

and has not been proffered, any objective standard to
show what she did that mandated either a GS 9 or
what she did that mandated an 11. The court
recognized that she gave to it an extended list of her
duties. I think it was in Exhibit 105. Nancy Weir sent
a questionnaire and the duties which she performea.
I can run down the list, but the large increases that
she picked up, after they picked up Nebraska, she got
the federal financial management system, [p.11] and
she did some things with purchase of vehicle repairs
and office supplies. But at no point did she ever have
supervisory authority over anyone. The plaintiff never
had a single report -- that means no person who
reported to her -- she wasn’t responsible for another
employee’s work or their production. The work that
she did before, and the work that she did after, the
merger was clerical. She did maintain electronic
databases, but an electronic database is nothing more
or less than a file organized by a computer. She did
some additional things on time and attendance, and
prepared certain reports but, according to her
description, the reports were extracted from
documents which were submitted by the criminal
agents and merely organized that information. That
does not strike the court as anything but, and there’s
no evidence that it was anything but, clerical work.

It is significant to the court, and the court finds it
highly probative, that after her departure, nobody
filled the position she had occupied. All of her duties
were encompassed and absorbed by the fellow
employees on the site. More than that, no one who
assumed any of her responsibilities either got a grade
increase or a bonus as a result of it, apparently. As I
indicated before, it is uncontroverted that no one got a

ala

desk audit nor was there a grade increase in 2003
entirely at all in St. Paul.

Then there were a number of incidents to which
[p.12] the court was directed. In 2001, approximately
two years before the matters of immediate concern,
Mr. Cangemi had a conversation with the plaintiff.
The court’s notes reflect, and I believe this accurately
reflects the plaintiffs testimony, was she ever asked by
Mr. Cangemi about her retirement plans. She replied
that, in July, 2001, she said that she was going to see
if there is a buyout. That is all. There was no
discussion about her production, there was no
discussion about “You really ought to think about
this.” There was no suggestion that she was becoming,
or was, less competent. There was no suggestion of
anything other than an inquiry. While sex, on one set
of cases, or age in another, cannot be permitted to be
the determining factor. In this case, there is no
indication that this was a determining factor of
anything. In the world, pecg ask each other what
their plans are for the future. iti:is happened to be
medium conjunct, as the court recalls, of a
conversation about another person who actually was
retiring at the time. It is not unusual for people who
are working to ask each other whether or not they’re
going to continue in their employment. And such a
simple inquiry is not an indication, absent more, of
discrimination based on age. And the court of appeals
has strongly suggested that there ought to be some
nexus between such an inquiry and an immediate
action being taken. There was none in this case. It was
fully two years thereafter {p.13] before there was any
other suggestion at all about her departure, and that
was initiated by the plaintiff, who said, “If I don’t get
a raise, I have to leave.” There was no showing

32a

whatsoever that this conversation indicated anything
other than a casual inquiry, in a workplace, asking
whether someone was going to continue.

The second, styled “The Breakroom Incident,” the
court’s notes reflect, and I believe that the record will
follow, that she went into speak to Mr. Cangemi on
October 29, 2003. She asked for an upgrade. He said
no. There’s nothing he can do. She was very unhappy.
Later that afternoon, she went to the breakroom; that
was one of her regular practices. Mr. Cangemi came to
the breakroom at approximately 3:30 p.m. She was
cleaning the coffee pot; that was one of her regular
responsibilities. Mr. Cangemi entered. He said that if
she was disturbed, she could go home and could come
back the next day to put in her paperwork. He claims
he was as much as six feet away from her. She claims
he came within three feet. That was all that happened.
No hands were raised, there was no indication that a
voice was raised. She did not testify that he yelled at
her. She said she felt threatened, she was upset. She
continued her cleaning, and departed. This court must
consider whether or not that was a threat or
intimidation. This was the only such incident that
occurred between them, [p.14] if indeed it rises to the
level of an incident at all. The court does not doubt
that she, feeling unhappy in her employment,
subjectively felt uncomfortable and displeased that Mr.
Cangemi came in and that he spoke with her. But even
the words that she said that he said, the actions that
she described, do not make out an objective threat or
an effort to intimidate. Nothing changed. She had told
him that she wanted to quit. She had told him she felt
she could not continue. And that was the entire
incident. It does not strike the court, and the court

33a

does not find, that it was intimidation, nor does the
court find that it was based upon her age.

The next matter of concern, her desk was moved.
First of all, if there ever was an insignificant factor,
this one strikes the court as being insignificant.
Clearly, things had deteriorated thereafter — and now
I'm talking about right after the first of November.
This is right after she indicates she wishes to leave,
and she will stay -- I'll speak a little more about the
thousand dollars and her relationship with Ms.
Hernandez -- but she’s now moved closer to the person
with whom she is working. There’s no evidence at all
that this is a less desirable or less prestigious location.
There’s no indication that she lost air circulation or
access to windows, or anything like that. All that
happened is she was moved. Frankly, the two of them.
[p.15] quite obviously, were not getting along very well
-- and the two are Mr. Cangemi and the plaintiff -- and
the fact that she was working closer to the person with
whom she was regularly working strikes the court as
not at all any form of discrimination and certainly not
discrimination based on age.

Now I focus on the $1,000. The $1,000 was a
suggestion by the then inline supervisor Ms.
Hernandez, and she proposed to provide additional
compensation for 30 days, which would offer an
incentive to the plaintiff to remain on site and assist in
training others or showing them what she was doing.
First of all, in this court’s view, that money had been
promised. She continued to work and she should have
been given it. That having been said, that is a moral
and personal observation. And I will explain why I do
not believe, unfortunately, that I can order anything
about it. It did not occur. But there’s no suggestion

34a .

whatsoever, none in the record, that the reason she
didn’t get it was because of her age. Now, she
continued to work under what appeared to be a
premise for an additional thousand dollars. And the
reality is she was not working for a regular employer,
she was working for the United States of America. And
this is what was known, at least in this court’s view, as
a claim in “quantum meruit,” which the lawyers will
know, but I will tell you means that if you perform
services for people who wish them performed, you can
imply a contract, and you can [p.16] require payments
under the contract. The problem is that you cannot run
quantum meruit against the United States. It doesn’t
do that. The United States is not susceptible to such a
claim, being the sovereign. In my view, she was
promised it, she performed the services, and she ought
to have been properly given it. But my views are not
the law. I’m bound to apply the law.

The plaintiff has proffered two comparables, two
other people who she feels were not discriminated
against on the basis of age and who received
compensation at the GS 11 level. First, one Mr.
Oswald. Oswald was apparently 53 years old. This is,
of course, not a gender case, no allegation along that
line, and, therefore, I set that aside. The court finds
Mr. Oswald was not comparable. He was in another
office. He was in Omaha. He did not go to, or through,
Mr. Cangemi; but more than that, his raise and
increase did not go through Mr. Cangemi either. There
is absolutely no evidence of what Mr. Cangemi would
have done with his compensation respecting the fact
that he was 53 or any other age, but that does not
show what would have happened to him. Secondly, the
issue in the case is not whether a younger person had
received an 11, the question in the case is whether or

35a

not the denial of the 11 or, indeed, the nine, as a step
toward the 11 to the plaintiff, reflected Mr. Cangemi’s
age bias. And Mr. Oswald does not reflect [p.17] that.
He came out of a different office. The court has no real
evidence as to either his responsibilities or what he did
that got him from a 7 to the 11. There was a
suggestion at one point that the plaintiff heard Mr.
Oswald say, “Well, I’m doing what you are, and I’m
making an 11 and so should you.” First of all, setting
aside whether or not that is rank hearsay, he is not the
person who awards increases. The _ increases,
theoretically, are awarded through che office. His
opinions as to whether or not her work justified an 11
are simply incompetent to offer information on that
subject. And finally, and extremely importantly, it is
uncontroverted that his increase was set in place prior
to 2003. It may have come through at that time, but
there was no increases given, as I’ve indicated, in the
St. Paul office. This came through Omaha by way of
Dallas, I believe, I think Texas, and there’s no
indication whatsoever that either Mr. Cangemi or
anyone in St. Paul had anything to do with it.

And then we have Sylvia Seamans. This court has
scoured the record. I’m not clear at all on what her age
is. I will assume for the purposes of this decision that
she was younger than the plaintiff. I do not know how
much younger. But once again, there is no showing of
the background, how she got her increase from either
whatever lower level she was at, up until the 11 that
she apparently had. I do not find that there is any
indication that [p.18] Mr. Cangemi awarded the 11 to
Ms. Seamans based on her youth as opposed to
denying it to Ms. Betz based upon her age. I believe
that the record indicated, however, respecting Sylvia
Seamans, that she had been already an 11 when Mr.

36a

Cangemi began supervising her. There’s simply no
showing one way or the other what role he took in her
decision-making.

That basically reflects the court’s review of the
evidence in the matter. And, so, I have to take a look
a at what the plaintiff was required to prove. First of
all, I cannot find that anything based upon the
plaintiffs age made her feel compelled to depart the
employment based on her compensation. She may have
felt that she was entitled to more money, but that
feeling from people who are good and productive
workers is not unusual. But I do not find that the
conditions were objectively intolerable such that no
reasonable person could have continued to work for the
37 or $39,000 per year that she was making in what
remained a clerical job. Second, she has failed to
establish that she was intentionally discriminated
based upon her age and that her retirement would be
reasonably foreseeable considering the discrimination
with which she was confronted.

Accordingly, I find that she has failed to sustain
her burden of proof. Judgment will be granted in favor
of the defense. And that will be the order of the court.
I thank you.

{p.19] MR. BRYAN: Thank you, your Honor.

(Court stood in recess at approximately 12:15 p.m.,
on July 2nd, 2008).

37a
[p.20]

STATE OF MINNESOTA _ )
) ss.

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN _ )

I, Ronald J. Moen, CSR, RMR, and a Notary Public
in and for the County of Hennepin, in the State of
Minnesota, do hereby certify:

That the said proceeding was taken before me as a
CSR, RMR, and a Notary Public at the said time and
place and was taken down in shorthand writing by me;

That said proceeding was thereafter under my
direction transcribed into computer-assisted
transcription, and that the foregoing transcript
constitutes a full, true and correct report of the
transcript of proceedings which then and there took
place;

That I am a disinterested third person to the said
action;

That the cost of the original has been charged to
the party who ordered the transcript of proceedings,
and that all parties who ordered copies have been
charged at the same rate for such copies.

That I reported pages 1 through 20.

IN WITNESS THEREOF, I have hereto subscribed
my hand this 27th day of July, 2008.

38a

s/ Ronald J. Moen

RONALD J. MOEN,
CSR, RMR

39a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

No. 06-CV-172(JMR/FLN)

[Filed June 4, 2007]

Marlene Betz

V.

Michael Chertoff

Ne ee ee ee ee eee”

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on defendant’s
motion for summary judgment. The Court heard oral
argument on May 31, 2007. Based on the arguments of
counsel, and the files, records, and proceedings herein,
and for the reasons stated at the hearing, defendant’s
motion is granted in part and denied in part.

1. Plaintiffs claims based on _ allegedly
discriminatory or retaliatory events that occurred prior
to September 21, 2003 are untimely, and summary
judgment for defendant is granted as to these claims.

2. In all other respects defendant’s motion is
denied.

40a
IT IS SO ORDERED.
Dated: June 1, 2007
s/ JAMES M. ROSENBAUM ___

JAMES M. ROSENBAUM
United States Chief District Judge

4la

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

No. 06cv172 (JMR/RLE)

Marlene Betz, )
)

Plaintiff, )

)

vs. )

)

Michael Chertoff, Secretary, )
Department of Homeland )
Security, )
)

Defendant. )

)

Minneapolis, MN
May 31, 2007
10:40 a.m.

BEFORE THE HONORABLE
JAMES M. ROSENBAUM
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT JUDGE
(SUMMARY JUDGMENT MOTION)

42a

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiff: Stephen Fiebiger & Associates
STEPHEN C. FIEBIGER, ESQ.
Suite 190
2500 W. County Road 42
Burnsville, MN 55337

For Defendants: U.S. Attorney’s Office
LONNIE F. BRYAN, AUSA
Suite 600
300 S. Fourth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Court Reporter: Lorilee K. Fink, RPR CRR
1005 U.S. Courthouse
300 S. Fourth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Proceedings recorded by mechanical stenography;
transcript produced by computer.

** *
[p.22] * **

THE COURT: This matter comes before the Court
on the motion of the defendant seeking summary
judgment. For the following reasons, the defendant’s
motion is granted in part and denied in part.

It appears that the plaintiff worked as an
administrative assistant in the United States
Immigration and Naturalization Service which then
became the Immigration and Customs Enforcement
Division of the Department of Homeland Security.

43a

|p.23] It is her claim that she was paid less than
similarly-situated younger employees n violation of the
Age Discrimination and Employment Act, and that
this wage discrimination created an_ intolerable
environment which caused her to leave her job. She
made contact with an EEO counselor in November of
2003 -- actually, on November 5 of that year, and
officially retired on November 28, 2003.

Summary judgment, of course, is appropriate when
the evidence viewed in the light most favorable to the
non-moving party presents no genuine issue of
material fact. I cite Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
56; and Celotex v. Catrett and Anderson vy. Liberty
Lobby, companion cases decided in 1986, one at 477
U.S. 317, the other at 242.

With respect to all of the claims arising from events
prior to September 21, 2003, the Court grants
summary judgment for defendant because these claims
are time-barred.

A federal employee who wishes to bring an
employment discrimination claim against the United
States is required to contact an EEO counselor, quote,
within 45 days of the date of the matter alleged to be
discriminatory, close quote. That is from 29 C.F.R,
Section 1614.105(a)(1). There are occasions when this
[p.24] deadline may be extended if certain regulatory
conditions are met. I reference again, 29 C.F.R.,
1614.105, here at (a)(2).

Also, it can be waived through waiver, estoppel,
equitable estoppel, and equitable tolling. I cite Zipes v.
Trans World Airlines at 455 U.S. 385, at 393, 1982.

44a

And Coons v. Mineta at 410, F.3d, 1036, at 1040; 8th
Circuit, 2005.

The plaintiff suggests that the United States
waived its limitations defense by failing to plead it as
an alternative defense. The Court does not agree. The
limitations issue is part of the larger issue of whether
the plain. f properly exhausted her administrative
remedies. I reference here Coons at 1040, and Nygren
v. Ashcroft at 109 Fed. Appendix 816, at 819 from the
8th Circuit in 2004.

The plaintiff herself raised the issue in her own
complaint. I reference paragraph 3 thereof, and it has
been raised repeatedly by the United States during
discovery. There has been no waiver by the United
States, and in any case, there was neither prejudice
nor unfair surprise.

Now the plaintiff suggests that the 45-day
limitation relies -- is only available in discrimination
as opposed to retaliation claims, both [p.25] in oral
argument and in her memo at 39. There -- I believe the
Court is of a mind that she is incorrect. They are
definitely distinct legal theories. There is no hint in
the ADEA or Title 7, however, that Congress relieved
federal employees of their obligation to exhaust
administrative remedies simply because they pled a
retaliation claim. In this regard, plaintiffs reliance on
Burlington Northern and Santa Fe Railway v. White
is misplaced. That case did not address any issues
related to exhaustion or administrative remedies or
timeliness. I reference the Supreme Court case at 2405
in 2006.

45a

She knew that this was an affect that was after her
employment, the terms and conditions, the way she
was treated according to her contentions, and the way
she’s being dealt with. She knew that under those
circumstances she needed to go to an EEO person and
there was one there; she had gone on more than one
occasion. The fact that she did not receive
particularized training is not, in this Court’s view,
sufficient to remove the exhaustion requirement which
has been imposed in such cases.

She claims that she was not aware of any 45-day
notice requirement, again, at paragraph 39. But that
does not toll the limitations period. [p.26] Equitable
tolling, quote, is reserved for circumstances that are
truly beyond the control of the plaintiff. I reference
Coons at 410 F.3d at 1040, and is precluded where an
employee has, quote, general knowledge, close quote,
of the right not to be discriminated against or can
obtain such knowledge. And here I cite Briley v. Carlin
at 172 F.3d, 567, at 570; 8th Circuit, 1999.

Here, the record reflects not only that the plaintiff
had previously filed an EEO complaint in 1999, but
also reflects and makes clear that by 2000, she knew
she had been retaliated and could file and EEO
complaint. I refer to her deposition at 101 through 103.

The plaintiff is not entitled, therefore, to equitable
tolling of the limitation period in her retaliation
claims. Therefore, to the extent that the alleged wage
discrimination and constructive discharge maybe
considered retaliation, plaintiffs conduct prior to
September 21, 2003, this Court considers the claims to
be time-barred.

46a

To the extent that she argues that there is a
continuing violation, the Court is guided by the recent
decision from the United States Supreme Court in
Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire. That’s at 2007 West ({p.27]
Law, 1528298 at *12, May 29, 2007. In that case, the
plaintiff also claimed she received lower pay for
discriminatory reasons.

Now, the upshot of it is, people know when they
don’t get paid if they’re at work, and they know they
didn’t get paid. And the Supreme Court concluded that
claims based on all pay decisions made outside the
limitations period are time-barred, and further
concluded, that plaintiffs claim included a series of
discrete acts instead of a continuing violation, which
means every time you don’t get paid, you know you
didn’t get paid. And here I reference at *11-12.

Here, plaintiff, as I said, consulted with an EEO
counselor in November 5, 2003. She was obligated by
federal regulations to do so within 45 days of the
alleged discriminatory act. It means she may not sit on
her rights. And therefore, she may not present any
evidence of discriminatory or retaliatory acts prior to
the 45-day period before that, which means prior to
September 21, 2003, as claims based on evidence --
such evidence are time-barred.

Therefore, in conclusion, the Court finds that
summary judgment is appropriate and is mandated to
all claims prior to that date. In all other respects, the
defendant’s motions are denied, and I [p.28} will tell
you that there was not a directed motion for a
summary judgment on the $1,000, but somebody better
think abcut that one in a big hurry.

47a

That will be the Court’s ruling. Counsel, you ought
to square this case away. We’re in recess.

MR. BRYAN: Thank you, Your Honor.

x *x *

CERTIFICATE

I, Lorilee K. Fink, certify that the foregoing is a
correct transcript from the record of proceedings in the
above-entitled matter.

Certified by:
Dated: Lorilee K. Fink, RPR-CRR

48a

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No: 08-3027

[Filed November 4, 2009]

Marlene Betz,
Appellant,
Vv.

Michael Chertoff, Secretary,
Department of Homeland Security,

Appellee.

Ne Ne eee ee”

Appeal from U.S. District Court
for the District of Minnesota - Minneapolis
(0:06-cv-00172-JMR)

ORDER

The petition for rehearing en banc is denied. The
petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

November 04, 2009

49a

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

Isl Michael E. Gans

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1571%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
