# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Citizens for Police Accountability Political Committee v. Browning

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1505%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 559 U.S. 1086

## Text

FILED

No.09-__g9-861 _"M10

OFFICE OF inc ULERK
K. Suter, Clark

nited States

IN THE

Supreme Court of each

CITIZENS FOR POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY POLITICAL COMMITTEE,

Petitioner,
—and—

FLORIDA STATE CONFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED PEOPLE,

Petitioner,
= —V,- —

KURT S. BROWNING, in his capacity as Secretary of State
of the State of Florida,
Respondent,
—and—

SHARON L. HARRINGTON, in her official capacity
as Supervisor of Elections, Lee County,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GREGG D. THOMAS RANDALL C. MARSHALL
Counsel of Record MUSLIMA LEWIS
JAMES J. MCGUIRE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
PAUL R. MCADOO UNION FOUNDATION OF
THOMAS, LOCICERO FLORIDA, INC.
& BRALOW PL 4500 Biscayne Boulevard,
400 N. Ashley Drive, Suite 1100 Suite 340
Tampa, Florida 33602 Miami, Florida 33137
(813) 984-3060 (786) 363-2700

Counsel for Petitioners

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In what circumstances does the _ First
Amendment permit a State to ban _ petition
circulation among voters as they exit polling places?
Specifically:

Did the Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals improperly extend and apply the
plurality opinion in Burson v. Freeman, 504
U.S. 191 (1992), when it reversed the district
court and upheld the constitutionality of
Florida Statutes Section 102.031(4) (2008) as
applied to Petitioners’ ext-only petition
circulation?

Is Florida Statutes Section 102.031(4)
unconstitutional as applied to _ prohibit
Petitioners’ exit-only petition § circulation
where the same statute specifically permits
media and non-media exit polling?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners are Citizens for Police Account-
ability Political Committee and Florida State
Conference of the National Association for the
Advancement of Colored People, Plaintiffs-Appellees
below. Respondents are Kurt S. Browning, in his
official capacity as Secretary of State of the State of
Florida, and Sharon L. Harrington, in her official
capacity as Supervisor of Elections, Lee County,
Defendants-Appellants below.

RULE 29.6 DISCLOSURE

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Citi-
zens for Police Accountability Political Committee
has no parent, subsidiary or affiliated corporations.
Petitioner Florida State Conference of the NAACP is
a unit of the National NAACP, which is a nonprofit
corporation incorporated in New York with its
principal place of business in Maryland. It does not
issue stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SFE PEPE OED WR MIOG D BOER inciscisecossccsesstarsncnscosseteoseses i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..........................048 li
EEF ale OD BPEL A PEPEI MOD ovecccecessaccosonscesssessencansasevenses i
py FF Lo @ iiyy 6. 5: |. SIRE ennnnnn nn Sanne v
Ree IE EIT sc ssoicascecccsocassecexvaiercusessevbansseereurenees 1
JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDB............... ccc ccceeeeeeneeeeeee 1
RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STARE ROE PY BIN evessscccvcrscccervevesssonassses 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS .............. 4
IN iss Ln snicicdchlpaxtneiunesecsannseebinseveaeas Sedsasiuseaa 4
ee so oa su sckincusncuulenons 5
Petitioners’ First Amendment Speech..................... 7
The District Court Proceedings .................ccccccceeeeeee 8
Petitioners’ Evidence in the District Court ......... 9
Respondent's Evidence in the District
RII ulate vewbnkaicnsasakislasncdacdesyeieesecs cosccusbadiiesobaceaiees 11
The District Court Grants the Preliminary
RI cic sa cincsceiaa eel casuanibticcitie nb bcincauaenandewen 11

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
The Eleventh Circuit Reverses .....................0.00. 13
WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED............. 14

1. The Writ Should Be Granted so that
the Court May Resolve Uncertainty
About the Exercise of First
Amendment Rights near Polling
Sane aaa ae Nap aE OTD AO MN HT RN ES UR EOE 16

2. The Writ Should Be Granted
Because the Eleventh Circuit’s
Opinion Erroneously Establishes a
Standard Under Which “Exit
Polling” Is Entitled to Greater First
Amendment Protection than Other

I SII Si coud. hndackassssnacntumnicsanadoescsasananens 24
NIN iia dsc dcdiensancennctccdescineeksanencbotacneiooiems 28
APPENDIX

25 June 2009 Eleventh Circuit Opinion.............. la

22 August 2008 District Court Opinion and

22 August 2008 District Court Preliminary
SEMI TEN LON LE NE EN ET 42a

4 September 2009 Eleventh Circuit Order
EY TN onc sascundsnanienceonenecanie 45a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES

Amer. Broad. Co. v. Blackwell,

479 F. Supp. 2d 719 (S.D. Ohio 2006)................... 21
Amer. Broad. Co. v. Heller,

No. 2:06-CV-01268-PMP-RJJ,

2006 WL 3149365 (D. Nev. Nov. 1, 2006)............. 20
Amer. Broad. Co. v. Ritchie, No. 08-5285,

2008 WL 4635377 (D. Minn. Oct. 15, 2008).......... 20
Amer. Broad. Co. v. Wells,

--- F. Supp. 2d ---, 2009 WL 3417589 (D.N.J.

ee oe rid accsanpansseateboneains 31, 33
Anderson v. Spear,

356 F.3d 651 (6th Cir. 2004) ..................... aaa 26, 27
Beacon Journal Publ’g Co. v. Blackwell,

380 F.3d GBS (Gth Cir. 2004) ........cccccoccceeccecccocessees 21
Buckley v. Amer. Constitutional Law Found.,

Inc.,

ee ee ass isco paccncusanccasineceucsedens 5, 15, 17
Burson v. Freeman,

SE Is sna pcsusnniipsdowsavananvacnunl passim
Caperton v. A.T. Massey Coal Co., Inc.,

as re I I cpccitnniccacisunscensccoavenscctsuiaewnen’ 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Carey v. Brown,
ne Lo ss cnnutiibuned onveosennbeus 26
CBS Broad., Inc. v. Cobb,
470 F. Supp. 2d 1365 (S.D. Fla. 2006) ........ 6, 11, 21
CBS, Inc. v. Smith,
681 F. Supp. 794 (S.D. Fla. 1988) .......... eandata semis 6
Clean-Up ‘84 v. Heinrich,
582 F. Supp. 125 (M.D. Fla. 1984) ...........0.--. rts 6
Clean-Up 84 v. Heinrich,
590 F. Supp. 928 (M.D. Fla. 1984).......... siuanduencn ae ae
Clean-Up ’84 v. Heinrich,
- BA Ll lee ee. Te ab) |.) eerenernrEnEE 6
Xohen v. California,
se bichobaveiatensindevenbs 27
Eu v. San Francisco Cty. Democratic Cent.
Comm.,
so ccalisbaneiabeianonseteniens 14
Fla. Comm. For Liability Reform v. McMillan,
682 F. Supp. 1536 (M.D. Fla. 1988) 0.0.0... 6
Meyer v. Grant,
486 U.S. 414 (1988)................. ssieikeneeanauasenaiaass 15, 17

vl

ee = et a Lal e - al . ‘ . 4 — - al > = —_—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Roth v. United States,
Be es Ce i aidconcddnccodenssaccsacces sisuimmeniiatesiidas at aies 5
Schirmer v. Edwards,
ee Beg ¥e i) | eer 19, 20
Tashjian v. Republican Party of Conn.,
nn asain 15
Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC,
Be UF Bee Gee Ce Rice cccnceccvcrscesosccssccses catalan 26
U.S. v. Playboy Entm’t Group, Inc.,
Be GPA CUD Ce iscicenccctnscseccsssocecess nN vabddeupdaas 27
United Food & Commercial Workers Local
1099 v. City of Sidney,
364 F.3d 738 (6th Cir. 2004) ............. PORN Se ae 19, 20
STATE CASES
Caperton v. A.T. Massey Coal, Inc.,
679 S.E.2d 223 (W. Va. 2008), reu’d, 129 S.
ae, SEE I axcskneucccensectasuusdenstodgusmcubtennnaneusaeantses 25
In re: Attorney General's “Directive on Exit
Polling: Media and Non-partisan Public
Interest Groups,”
Oe Be Se ees SD vncctncececivsenssnnccsascneccsterecences 21
State v. Schirmer,
GOS Te. Bae BBD Ca. LODE) q0..0000cccccceccceresccccccvcececccsss 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
FEDERAL STATUTES
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (2006)............... ee ]
42 U.S.C. & 1BBSB CAOOGS) ..cccccecocececcccceoess: ee e
STATE STATUTES
Fla. Stat. § 102.031(4) (2008) ................... cotacmal passim
Fla. Stat. § 102.031(4) (2006) ................0..00000... eee 6, 7
or Dern © ccncecnbenensecoucshedssasuns 6
Fla. Stat. § 166.031(1) (2008) ..........0.0000000cc ee. 10, 17
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
First Amendment, United States Constitution......... 2
Fourteenth Amendment, Section One, United
Nee nn aciscebonsesiseonss 2
OTHER AUTHORITIES
John G. Matsusaka, For the Many or the Few
SEAS ace eae SO. Bs ts eR 15

Vill

OPINIONS BELOW

The district court’s Opinion and Order is reported as
Citizens for Police Accountability Political Committee
v. Browning, 581 F. Supp. 2d 1164 (M.D. Fla. 2008),
and reproduced in the Appendix at 19a-41a.

The district court’s Preliminary Injunction is Citizens
for Police Accountability Political Committee v.
Browning, Case No. 2:08-cv-635-FtM-29SPC (M.D.
Fla. Aug. 22, 2008), and is reproduced in the
Appendix at 42a-44a.

The Eleventh Circuit’s opinion is reported as Citizens
for Police Accountability Political Committee v.
Browning, 572 F.3d 1213 (11th Cir. 2009), and
reproduced in the Appendix at la-18a.

The Eleventh Circuit’s Order Denying Rehearing is
Citizens for Police Accountability Political Committee
v. Browning, Case. No. 08-15115 (11th Cir. Sept. 9,
2009), and is reproduced in the Appendix at 45a-46a.

JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

Jurisdiction is proper in this Court. 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1) (2006). Petitioners, Citizens for Police
Accountability Political Committee (““CPAPC”) and
Florida State Conference of the National Association
for the Advancement of Colored People (“Florida
NAACP”) (collectively “Petitioners”), seek review of
the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals’ opinion
reversing the district court’s grant of a preliminary

injunction. The district court entered the preliminary
injunction after a hearing at which the court found,
among other things, that Petitioners had a
substantial likelihood of success on the merits of their
as-applied constitutional challenge to Florida
Statutes Section 102.031(4)(a)-(b) (2008). The
Eleventh Circuit reversed the district court order on
June 25, 2009, and denied Petitioners’ timely motion
for rehearing on September 9, 2009. Petitioners’
initial deadline for filing this Petition for Writ of
Certiorari was December 3, 2009, but Petitioners
sought and were granted an extension of time to
January 15, 2010 to file it.

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS

First Amendment, United States Constitution:

Congress shall make no law respecting
an establishment of religion, or prohib
iting the free exercise thereof; or
abridging the freedom of speech, or of
the press; or the mght of the people
peaceably to assemble, and to petition
the Government for aé_ redress of
grievances.

Fourteenth Amendment, Section One, United States
Constitution:

All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the juris-
diction thereof, are citizens of the United
States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or enforce

_—

any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its juris-
diction the equal protection of the laws.

42 U.S.C. § 1983 (2006):

Every person who, under color of any
statute, ordinance, regulation, custom,
or usage, of any State or Territory or the
District of Columbia, subjects, or causes
to be subjected, any citizen of the United
States or other person within the
jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of
any rights, privileges, or immunities
secured by the Constitution and laws,
shall be liable to the party injured in an
action at law, suit in equity, or other
proper proceeding ior redress, except
that in any action brought against a
judicial officer for an act or omission
taken in such officer’s judicial capacity,
injunctive relief shall not be granted
unless a declaratory decree was violated
or declaratory relief was unavailable.
For the purposes of this section, any Act
of Congress applicable exclusively to the
District of Columbia shall be considered
to be a _ statute of the District of
Columbia.

Florida Statutes Section 102.031(4)(a)-(b) (2008):

(4)(a) No person, political committee,
committee of continuous existence, or
other group or organization may solicit
voters inside the polling place or within
100 feet of the entrance to any polling
place, or polling room where the polling
place is also a polling room, or early
voting site. Before the opening of the
polling place or early voting site, the
clerk or supervisor shall designate the
no-solicitation zone and mark the
boundaries.

(b) For the purpose of this subsection,
the terms “solicit” or “solicitation” shall
include, but not be limited to, seeking or
attempting to seek any vote, fact,
opinion, or contribution; distributing or
attempting to distribute any political or
campaign material, leaflet, or handout;
conducting a poll except as specified in
this paragraph; seeking or attempting to
seek a signature on any petition; and
selling or attempting to sell any item.
The terms “solicit” or “solicitation” shall
not be construed to prohibit exit polling.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

Introduction

The First Amendment “was fashioned to assure
unfettered interchange of ideas for the bringing about
of political and social changes desired by the people.”

Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476, 484 (1957).
Contrary to this principle, the State of Florida
interferes with the exchange of ideas by banning the
solicitation of petition signatures near polling places
from persons both before and after they have voted.
Fla. Stat. § 102.031(4)(a)-(b) (2008). This prohibition
imposes severe burdens upon Petitioners’ ability to
have their proposed amendment placed on a ballot.
See Buckley v. Amer. Constitutional Law Found., Inc.,
525 U.S. 182, 208 (1999) (Thomas, J. concurring)
(restrictions on petition circulation “plainly impose a
‘severe burden’ ”).

The Eleventh Circuit’s opinion, which reversed
the granting of a preliminary injunction by the
district court and which upheld the constitutionality
of Section 102.031(4)({a)-(b) as applied to Petitioners’
speech, is based upon an erroneous legal standard
and creates’ significant confusion about’ the
protections afforded by the First Amendment. The
Court should review this case because it presents
important questions of constitutional law that this
Court has not yet addressed, but should.

The Challenged Law

In 1977, the Florida Legislature for the first
time sought to regulate petition circulation outside of
polling places. The impetus behind this restriction
was a disgruntled Legislature reacting to the
Governor’s “successful drive to place a financial
disclosure law on the ballot through the initiative
process.” Clean-Up '84 v. Heinrich, 590 F. Supp. 928,
929 (M.D. Fla. 1984). In 1984 and again in 1988,
petition circulators and media exit pollsters brought a

qo

series of successful constitutional challenges to the
precursors of Section 102.031(4)(a)-(b). Clean-Up '84
v. Heinrich, 759 F.2d 1511, 1514 (11th Cir. 1985)
(petition circulation); CBS, Inc. v. Smith, 681 F.
Supp. 794, 796 (S.D. Fla. 1988) (exit polling); Fla.
Comm. For Liability Reform v. McMillan, 682 F.
Supp. 1536, 1540-42 (M.D. Fla. 1988) (petition
circulation); Clean-Up ‘84 v. Heinrich, 590 F. Supp.
928, 934 (M.D. Fla. 1984) (petition circulation);
Clean-Up ’84 v. Heinrich, 582 F. Supp. 125, 127 (M.D.
Fla. 1984) (petition circulation).

Because Florida’s laws regulating petition
circulation and exit polling were constitutionally
infirm, Florida revised its laws so that, between 1989
and 2005, Florida permitted such activity within
certain areas near polling places. E.g., Fla. Stat. §
102.031 (1990). As a result, from 1989 to 2005,
Florida’s polling place laws were not challenged in
court.

In 2005, the Florida Legislature enacted a new
statute that prohibited petition circulating and exit
polling, among others things, within a 100-foot zone
around polling place entrances. 2005 Fla. Laws
Chap. 2005-277 § 54 (codified at Fla. Stat. §
102.031(4)(a)-(b) (2006)). In 2006, a consortium of
media entities successfully challenged that statute as
applied to media exit polling, and the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Florida
enjoined its enforcement. CBS Broad., Inc. v. Cobb,
470 F. Supp. 2d 1365, 1366 (S.D. Fla. 2006). The
State did not appeal that ruling. In 2008, the Florida
Legislature amended the statute to permit exit
polling. 2008 Fla. Laws Chap. 2008-95 § 25 (codified

at Fla. Stat. § 102.031(4)(a)-(b) (2008)). The statute
enacted in 2008 (the “Challenged Law”) provides no
definition of “exit polling” and permits anyone, not
just the media, to engage in “exit polling.” (App. at
24a.)

With the exception of “exit polling,” however,
the Challenged Law forbids the solicitation of voters
within 100 feet of Florida polling places and early
voting sites (the “No Approach Zone”). See Fla. Stat.
§ 102.031(4)(a). The Challenged Law defines “solic-
itation” to include various types of speech directed at
voters, including “seeking or attempting to seek a
signature [from a voter] on any petition.” Id. §
102.031(4)(b).

Petitioners’ First Amendment Speech

Petitioners are the advocates for and circu-

lators of a petition seeking an amendment to the Fort
Myers, Florida, City Charter. (R 1:2, 5.)! The
proposed amendment’s purpose was to create a
citizens’ oversight panel for the City’s police
department. (App. at 20a.) Petitioner CPAPC began
circulating the petition in August 2007. (/d.)

Because of the high concentration of registered
voters at polling places, CPAPC sought to gather
signatures at polling places during the Presidential
Preference Primary held on January 29, 2008. (R
1:5.) CPAPC’s efforts were stymied, however, because
instead of being able to discuss their petition with

' The Record will be cited as “(R#:Pg#.).”

voters, CPAPC petition circulators could only watch
as voters parked their cars within the No Approach
Zone, entered the polling places, and returned to their
cars. (Id. at 5-6.)

In April 2008, the Florida NAACP joined
CPAPC in circulating the petition. (/d. at 6.) Despite
their combined efforts, by summer 2008 Petitioners
had not obtained the required number of signatures
from the City’s registered voters. (/d.)

The District Court Proceedings

On August 11, 2008, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §
1983 (2006), and in anticipation of the August 26,
2008 primary election, Petitioners filed in the United
States District Court for the Middle District of
Florida a Verified Complaint and Motion for
Preliminary Injunction supported by affidavits and
attached exhibits. (R 1,2.) For purposes of this
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Petitioners’ most
important claims were for a declaration that the
Challenged Law was unconstitutional as applied to
Petitioners’ efforts to obtain signatures from exiting
voters and for an injunction against enforcement of
the Challenged Law. (R 1:10-12.) Respondents filed
a response to the Motion, including affidavits (R 11),
and the district court heard oral argument on August
21, 2008. On August 22, the district court issued an
Opinion and Order as well as a _ Preliminary
Injunction prohibiting enforcement of the Challenged
Law against Petitioners’ exit petitioning during the
August 26, 2008 primary election. (App. at 19a-44a.)

Petitioners’ Evidence in the District Court

In the district court, Petitioners presented a
variety of statistical, geographic, and affidavit
evidence demonstrating that polling places are the
best location to gather petition signatures, that the
Challenged Law severely burdened Petitioners’
efforts to gather petition signatures, and that petition
circulation had not caused voter intimidation, fraud,
or any other electoral abuses near Florida’s polling
places.

Petitioners presented three different sets of
statistical evidence, all of which were gathered during
the period when Florida permitted petition circu-
lation and other types of speech within the No
Approach Zone. The first set of statistics showed an
increase in voter participation from the 2000 to the
2004 presidential elections both statewide and in Lee
County, where Fort Myers is located. (R 2-3:1-2.)
The second set contained a review of more than 5,000
complaints logged in the Election Incident Reporting
System from Florida voters during the 2004
presidential election, none of which involved petition
circulation, even though petition circulation was
permitted near Florida polling places at that time.
(Id. at 2-3.)

The third set of statistics contained a survey
conducted during the 2004 presidential election
regarding voters’ experiences in Florida. (/d.) No
voters mentioned petition circulation as a problem
near polling places. (/d.)

Petitioners also provided the district court with
the results of a public records request to Supervisor

Harrington for “[ajll voter complaints regarding
activity outside the polling places in Lee County,
Florida, including, but not limited to exit polling,
petition circulation, and other forms of solicitation,
from January 1, 2000 to the present.” (Jd. at 4.)
Supervisor Harrington’s response provided only one
e-mail string, and that e-mail string did not relate to
petition circulation. (Jd.) In other words, for more
than eight years, including during a period of more
than four years when petition circulation was
permitted, there were no public records of complaints
in Lee County regarding petition circulation at
polling places.

Petitioners further submitted to the district
court maps of three polling places in Fort Myers
showing that the No Approach Zones not only
encompassed many parking places, but also included
public sidewalks and public roads. (Jd. at 4-5.)

Finally, Petitioners provided the district court
with the declaration of Dr. Matthew Corrigan, a
professor and department head from the University of
North Florida Department of Political Science and
Public Administration, which concluded that polling
places were the best place for petition circulation
based upon three findings. (R 2-2:1-2.) First, only
registered voters from Fort Myers may vote in polling
places within the City, and those voters are the same
people needed to sign a petition to amend the Fort
Myers City Charter. See Fla. Stat. § 166.031(1)
(2008). Second, citizens who are politically active in
their community, including those who vote, are twice
as likely to sign a petition as those who are not
politically active. (R 2-2:2.) Third, as with exit

polling, the greater the distance from a polling place
that petition circulators are made to stand, the less
likely they are to be successful. (/d. at 3.)

Respondent's Evidence in the District Court

In contrast to Petitioners’ evidence, Respond-
ents provided only anecdotal affidavit evidence. (R
11:16.) Supervisor Harrington proffered her own
affidavit, which had attached to it a 2006 affidavit of
then Supervisor Browning.? (R 11-2.) Supervisor
Harrington stated that in her experience, “any
diminution of th[e] 100 foot protection will disrupt
voters, cause increased dissatisfaction with the voting
process, and suppress voter turnout.” (R 11-2:3.)
Secretary Browning’s affidavit reached a similar
conclusion. (Jd. at 7.) Both affidavits discussed
Respondents’ beliefs regarding the “cumulative effect”

of activity outside of polling places and the effect on
voters having to “run the gauntlet.” (Jd. at 2, 7.)
Neither affidavit identified any specific voters who
had complained or specific problems that had
occurred at any polling place. Nor was either affi-
davit supported by any documentary evidence.

The District Court Grants the Preliminary Injunction

Because the Challenged Law is a content-based
restriction on First Amendment rights — i.e, a

2 The 2006 affidavit originally had been offered by then
Supervisor Browning in a lawsuit over the predecessor to the
Challenged Law, CBS Broadcasting, Inc. v. Cobb, 470 F. Supp.
2d 1365 (S.D. Fla. 2006).

restriction on Petitioners’ rights of free speech and
association — the district court looked to this Court’s
plurality opinion in Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191
(1992), for guidance on how to assess it. Utilizing the
strict scrutiny test employed by the Burson plurality,
the district court first found that the State has a
compelling interest in conducting elections with
integrity and reliability and in protecting voters from
intimidation, confusion, and election fraud. (App. at
26a.) But, the district court concluded, Respondents
did not show that the Challenged Law satisfied either
of the other strict scrutiny requirements. (/d. at 35a.)

Specifically, the district court explained that
there was ample historical evidence of electoral
abuses caused by candidates and campaign workers
seeking to influence the outcome of elections. (/d.)
But,

[t]he evidence submitted by the parties
in this case .. . fails to establish electoral
abuses perpetrated by other exit solic-
itors or exit polling. Therefore, at this
stage of the proceedings, there has not
been a sufficient showing that the re-
striction on exit petitioning is necessary.

Ud.) The district court also found that, because of the
nature of Petitioners’ speech — peaceful, orderly, non-
disruptive, and directed only at exiting voters — the
Challenged Law was not narrowly tailored. (Jd. at
36a.)

Based upon these findings, the district court
issued the _ preliminary injunction prohibiting
enforcement of the Challenged Law against

12

Petitioners’ exit petitioning at polling places in Lee
County on August 26, 2008.3 Respondents appealed.‘

The Eleventh Circuit Reverses

The Eleventh Circuit reversed the district
court’s preliminary injunction. (App. at 3a.) After
discussing the Burson decision and noting that,
because of factual differences, Burson did not bind it,
the Eleventh Circuit undertook the three-pronged
strict scrutiny analysis. (App. at 7a-17a.) The
appellate court found that the State’s compelling
interest was the same as in Burson: “(1) protecting
voters from confusion and undue influence; and (2)
preserving the integrity of the election process.”
(App. at lla.) In contrast with the district court,
however, the Eleventh Circuit did not consider the
evidence presented in the lower court in evaluating
the necessity requirement.® Instead, it rejected

4% The district court also found that Petitioners had satisfied the
other requirements for granting a preliminary injunction.

4 After circulating their petition on August 26, 2008, Petitioners
gathered the necessary number of signatures to place their issue
on the ballot. As a result, the district court, on December 1,
2008, found that there was no live case or controversy pending
and dismissed the case as moot. (R 39:2.) The Eleventh Circuit
found on appeal that the case was not moot because it was
capable of repetition, yet evading review. (App. at 5a-6a n.5.)

5 The Eleventh Circuit did not rule that the district court's
findings of fact were clearly erroneous; therefore, those findings
of fact stood on appeal. Nevertheless, the Eleventh Circuit
accepted the State’s evidence regarding the effect on some voters

(continued on the following page)

the contention that the State must offer
its own evidence demonstrating that the
ban on exit solicitation is necessary to
serve its compelling interest; our
country’s long history of election regu-
lation, the consensus emerging from that
history, and the practical need to keep
voters and voting undisturbed all prove
that the ban is warranted.

(App. at 16a. (emphasis added).) On the final prong
of the strict scrutiny test, the Eleventh Circuit, unlike
the district court, found that the Challenged Law was
reasonable and did not significantly impinge on
constitutionally protected rights. (App. at 16a-17a.)
As a result, the Eleventh Circuit reversed the district
court. (App. at 18a.)

WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED

This case concerns the State of Florida’s effort
to ban core political speech in the form of petition
circulation, and the question of whether such a ban
can be upheld in the absence of historical or record
evidence that it is necessary to serve a compelling
State interest. More fundamentally, it concerns the
interplay between vital First Amendment rights and
the State’s right to regulate elections. See, e.g., Eu v.
San Francisco Cty. Democratic Cent. Comm., 489 U.S.
214, 222 (1989) (explaining that the State’s interest
in regulating elections “does not extinguish the

of having to “run the gauntlet,” but made no mention of the
evidence presented by Petitioners. (App. at 15a n.14.)

14

State’s responsibility to observe the limits established
by the First Amendment rights of the State’s
citizens”) (quoting Tashjian v. Republican Party of
Conn., 479 U.S. 208, 217 (1986)).

Petition circulation is a form of core political
speech in which First Amendment protections un-
doubtedly are at their “zenith.” Buckley v. Amer.
Constitutional Law Found., Inc., 525 U.S. 182, 186-87
(1999); Meyer v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414, 421-22, 425
(1988). It has been an important form of direct,
grassroots democracy for more than a century, pre-
dating women’s suffrage, presidential term limits, the
federal income tax, and social security. John G.
Matsusaka, For the Many or the Few 1 (2004).

Despite these facts, the Eleventh Circuit's
opinion treats petition circulation as a second-class
right. Indeed, the first sentence of the Eleventh
Circuit’s opinion — “This appeal is about voting”
fails even to acknowledge that any form of political
expression other than voting itself is at issue in this
case. (See App. at 2a.) In reality, this case is about
much more than voting; it is about the proper
equilibrium between the fundamental right to vote
and the fundamental rights of free speech and
association involved in petition circulation.

As a result, this case presents the Court with
an ideal opportunity to articulate the correct balance
between these fundamental constitutional rights. As
discussed in greater detail below, in the 17 years
since this Court’s plurality decision in Burson uv.
Freeman, federal and state courts have struggled to
find this balance, often taking incompatible
approaches to resolving the tension between the

exercise of free speech nghts near polling places and
the State’s right to regulate elections. “The principal
purpose of this Court’s exercise of its certiorari
jurisdiction is to clarify the law.” Caperton v. A.T.
Massey Coal Co., Inc., 129 S. Ct. 2252, 2274 (2009)
(Scalia, J., dissenting) (citing Supreme Court Rule
10). By granting the writ, the Court can do just that.

The writ also should be granted because the
Eleventh Circuit’s opinion erroneously establishes a
new standard under which “exit polling” is entitled to
greater First Amendment protection than other
equally important political speech. By granting the
writ, the Court can rectify this error.

5 The Writ Should Be Granted so that the
Court May Resolve Uncertainty About the
Exercise of First Amendment Rights near
Polling Places.

Here, Petitioners attempted to seek petition
signatures outside of Florida polling places only from
exiting voters and only on an issue that was not on
the ballot. (App. at 36a.) In other words, Petitioners
did not seek to speak to voters before they voted, and
did not seek to influence votes or the outcome of the
present election. The evidence in support of these
facts was uncontradicted.

Moreover, as the record below made clear,
polling places are the best locations to seek petition
signatures because of the high concentration of

16

registered, politically active voters.® (R 2-2:2-4.) The
Challenged Law has effectively cordoned off petition
circulators from this crucial location and, in so doing,
has diminished the likelihood that petition circulators
will gather the requisite number of signatures
necessary to place their initiative proposals on state
or local ballots. Cf. Buckley, 525 U.S. at 210-11
(Thomas, J., concurring) (citing Meyer, 486 U.S. at
422-23) (reducing the audience that petition circu-
lators might reach “made it less likely that initiative
proposals would garner the signatures necessary to
qualify for the ballot”).

Despite these facts, the Eleventh Circuit
upheld the Challenged Law and improperly extended
this Court’s plurality holding in Burson v. Freeman,
504 U.S. 191 (1992). In Burson, a campaign worker
brought a facial challenge to Tennessee’s ban on
solicitation of votes within 100 feet of polling places.
504 U.S. at 193-94. Specifically, the Tennessee
statute created a 100-foot “campaign-free zone” that
excluded “campaign posters, signs or other campaign
materials, distribution of campaign materials, and
solicitation of votes for or against any person or
political party or position.” /d. Because of the
narrow scope of the Tennessee statute, Burson
addressed a limited question — whether the statute,
“which pro-hibitled] the solicitation of votes and the
display or distribution of campaign materials within

® To be placed on the ballot, petitions must be “signed by 10
percent of the registered electors as of the last preceding
municipal general election.” Fla. Stat. § 166.031(1) (2008)

100 feet of the entrance to a polling place, violate([d]
the First and Fourteenth Amendments.” /d. at 193.

Based upon an historical record of election
abuses caused by candidates and their campaign
workers, and considering only a facial constitutional
challenge to the Tennessee statute, the Burson
plurality held that a state could, consistent with the
First Amendment, prohibit the display and
distribution of campaign material within 100 feet of a
polling place on election day. /d. at 211. But the
Burson plurality left open the question of whether
other types of speech could be prohibited near polling
places consistent with the Constitution.’ The Burson
plurality also left open the possibility of a successful
as-applied challenge to the Tennessee statute. /d. at
210 n.13.

Because of Burson’s narrow focus on speech by
candidates and their campaign workers, it has proven
difficult for courts to apply consistently in cases
involving restrictions on other types of polling place
speech.

For example, in petition circulation cases
involving both entering and exiting voters, some

Indeed, the Tennessee statute at issue in Burson actually
permitted the very same First Amendment speech barred by
Florida's Challenged Law — .e., the circulation of petitions for
the placement of an issue on a future ballot. See Brief of
Respondent at 11, Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191 (1992) (No
90-1056), 1991 WL 533556. See also Burson, 504 U.S. at 223
(Stevens, J., dissenting) (noting that Tennessee's statute did not
prohibit “political debate and solicitation concerning issues or
candidates not on the day's ballot”)

courts have taken a broad view of Burson. These
cases seem to be based on the unspoken assumption
that petition circulators are the First Amendment
equivalents of the candidates and campaign workers
prohibited from seeking votes near polling places in
Burson. In United Food & Commercial Workers Local
1099 v. City of Sidney, 364 F.3d 738 (6th Cir. 2004),
for instance, the court engaged in a cursory, one-
paragraph analysis of Burson and, based upon that
analysis, concluded that because Burson upheld a ban
on the distribution of campaign material seeking
votes, it necessarily followed that “a state may
require persons soliciting signatures to stand 100 feet
from the entrances to polling places without running
afoul of the constitution.” Jd. at 748 (emphasis
added). In Burson, the plurality found that the
state’s prohibition on campaigning within the 100-
foot zone was based upon “ample evidence that
political candidates have used campaign workers to
commit voter intimidation or electoral fraud.” Id.
(plurality). The United Food court, by contrast, cited
no evidence that petition circulators have had any
impact on elections.

Likewise, in Schirmer v. Edwards, 2 F.3d 117
(5th Cir. 1993), the court upheld Louisiana’s ban on
petition solicitation and other speech within 600 feet
of polling places, based upon evidence that campaigns
had hired poll workers to “inundate” voters with
campaign material near polling places, and that these
efforts had had a negative impact on the election
process. /d. at 121. Rather than requiring evidence
that petition circulators had interfered with elections,
the Schirmer court accepted the State’s argument

19

that candidates and their workers might pose as non-
ballot political speakers in order to reach voters
within the 600-foot zone. Jd. at 123. The Schirmer
court agreed with the State that it should not have to
police the authenticity of purported non-ballot
speakers, but instead could simply ban all political
speech near polling places. Jd.®

Neither United Food nor Schirmer, however,
examined the important issue raised by this case:
whether petition circulation limited to exiting voters
can be constitutionally prohibited. | Moreover, the
Eleventh Circuit’s opinion is in conflict with a series
of decisions about speaking to exiting voters.

After Burson, courts that have addressed
prohibitions on speech to exiting voters have
repeatedly found such prohibitions unconstitutional
because there is no historical or record evidence
demonstrating a negative impact on elections from
post-voting speech. See, e.g., Amer. Broad. Co. uv.
Ritchie, No. 08-5285, 2008 WL 4635377, at *6 (D.
Minn. Oct. 15, 2008) (explaining that the State had
presented no evidence that questioning voters after
voting had a detrimental effect on voting); Amer.
Broad. Co. v. Heller, No. 2:06-CV-01268-PMP-RJJ,
2006 WL 3149365, at *12 (D. Nev. Nov. 1, 2006)
(finding a lack of evidence that exit polling had
deterred, harassed, or disrupted voters); CBS Broad.,

8 Contrary to the Fifth Circuit, the Louisiana Supreme Court,
relying on Burson, later found the 600-foot campaign-free zone
unconstitutional. See State v. Schirmer, 646 So. 2d 890, 901 (La.
1994).

20

Inc. v. Cobb, 470 F. Supp. 2d 1365, 1370 (S.D. Fla.
2006) (finding it important that “voters are only
approached after they have voted”) (emphasis added);
Amer. Broad. Co. v. Blackwell, 479 F. Supp. 2d 719
(S.D. Ohio 2006) (“By definition, exit polling affects
only those who have already voted.”) (emphasis
added).

One circuit court of appeals has gone even
farther in protecting the media’s right to speak near
polling places. In Beacon Journal Publishing Co. v.
Blackwell, 389 F.3d 683, 685 (6th Cir. 2004), the
court found that the media must have “reasonable
access to any polling place for the purpose of news-
gathering and reporting so long as [they] do not
interfere with poll workers and voters as voters
exercise their right to vote.” The Beacon Journal
court did not limit its holding to exit polling; the state
was required to permit the media to poll voters both
before and after they voted.

Two recent decisions from New Jersey
exemplify the inconsistent approaches courts have
taken to applying Burson. On September 30, 2009,
the New Jersey Supreme Court held that New Jersey
could constitutionally ban exit pollsters from the area
outside polling places. In re: Attorney General’s
“Directive on Exit Polling: Media and Non-partisan
Public Interest Groups,” Issued July 18, 2007, 981
A.2d 64, 80-81 (N.J. 2009). In fact, the court went so
far as to hold that the state could prohibit “all
expressive activity” near polling places. Id. at 82.

After the New Jersey Supreme Court’s deci-
sion, the media challenged the New Jersey statute in
federal court. See Amer. Broad. Co. v. Wells, --- F.

Supp. 2d ---, 2009 WL 3417589 at *1 (D.N.J. Oct. 23,
2009). The district court found that there was “no
evidence on the record that exit pollsters have been
engaged” in any disruptive conduct, and therefore
struck down the ban on_ exit polling § as
unconstitutional. Jd. at *4. The lack of evidence
supporting the ban was not the only reason for
finding the ban on exit polling unconstitutional.

Even more persuasive is the fact that
the exit polling takes place after
individuals vote. Voters are not ap-
proached entering polling places — and it
is conduct affecting voters on their way
to the polls that the government may
have an interest 1n protecting.

Id.

Like the divergent views taken by the two New
Jersey courts, the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion — which
failed to take account of the timing of Petitioners’
speech — is diametrically opposed to the holding of the
District Court for the Southern District of Florida in
CBS Broadcasting, Inc. v. Cobb. The two cases in-
volved nearly identical statutes and nearly identical
facts. The difference between the cases was simply
that one involved media exit polling and the other
involved exit petitioning. The Cobb court weighed the
evidence, considered the speech at issue, and found
Florida’s ban on solicitation of voters unconstitutional
as applied to media exit pollsters because it was not
necessary or narrowly tailored. 470 F. Supp. 2d at
1371-72. Here, instead of looking at the evidence
proffered by the parties, the Eleventh Circuit ignored
the evidence submitted by Petitioners (and accepted

22

by the district court), and instead equated petition
circulators with the ballot candidates whose speech
could be restricted under Burson. (App. at 13a.) The
Eleventh Circuit failed to pay heed to the fact that
speech directed only toward exiting voters does not
implicate the State’s interest in preventing voter
fraud or intimidation.

In conjunction with the two recent New Jersey
decisions, the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion both
demonstrates the lower courts’ confusion in applying
Burson and raises numerous questions. Does the
decision on whether speech can be banned near
polling places depend upon the identity of the speaker
(i.e., whether the speaker is a member of the media)?
Does it depend on the timing of the speech (i.e.,
whether the speech occurs before or after voting)?
Does it matter whether any historical or record
evidence demonstrates that a particular type of
speech has misled voters or interfered with elections?
Despite all relying upon Burson, the courts offer
conflicting answers to these critical questions.®

This case is in many respects a hybrid of the
exit polling and petition circulation cases decided
since Burson. Like the petition circulation cases, this
case plainly concerns political speech near polling
places; but, like the exit polling cases, this case
concerns only post-voting interaction with voters.
And, critically, the record evidence in this case is that

8 This is due in large measure to the narrow focus of the Burson
decision. Indeed, as the Eleventh Circuit noted in its opinion,
“Burson does not bind us here.” (App. at 11a.)

23

petition circulators in Florida have not caused any
electoral abuses. (App. at 35a.) As a result, this case
presents an ideal opportunity for this Court not only
to examine and articulate the proper balance between
the State’s right to regulate elections and the
citizenry’s right to engage in grassroots democracy,
but also to provide much needed guidance to the
lower courts on the meaning of Burson with respect to
this unsettled area of constitutional jurisprudence.

2. The Writ Should Be Granted Because the
Eleventh Circuit’s Opinion Erroneously
Establishes a Standard Under Which
“Exit Polling” Is Entitled to Greater First
Amendment Protection than Other Exit
Speech.

The Challenged Law prohibits individuals from
seeking petition signatures near polling places, but
expressly permits “exit polling.” See Fla. Stat. §
102.031(4)(b) (“The terms ‘solicit’ or ‘solicitation’ shall
not be construed to prohibit exit polling.”). Critically,
the Challenged Law neither defines the topics that
may be addressed by an exit pollster nor requires
that exit polling be conducted by members of the
press. (App. at 24a.) Similarly, the Challenged Law
does not limit the number of persons who may engage
in exit polling at a particular polling place. Thus,
under the Challenged Law itself, any number of
persons may enter the No Approach Zone and poll
exiting voters about any topic.

This means that a person (whether a member
of the press, an average citizen, or even a political
candidate) can ask an exiting voter his name, his

24

address, what candidate he just voted for, why he
voted that way, his political party, religion, marital
status, employment position, and his view on any
number of politically and _ socially contentious
subjects, among many other things. The pollster
could even ask whether the exiting voter supports an
amendment to the Fort Myers City Charter
establishing a police oversight panel (the very same
question that Petitioners are barred from asking
under the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion). And the
person conducting the poll could ask the interviewee
to sign a form attesting to the accuracy of the
information just provided. None of this is prohibited
by the Challenged Law.

Nor is exit polling by political candidates
prohibited, so that candidates and their campaigns
may approach exiting voters and engage in so-called
push polling, in which the pollster asks a question in

a way intended to influence or alter the view (and
future vote) of the person questioned.!° The Eleventh
Circuit’s opinion is simply wrong, then, in attempting
to distinguish exit polling from exit petitioning on the
grounds that “exit polling does not include advocating
for the success of some political proposal or
candidate.” (App. at 12a n. 11 (emphasis added).)

10 See, e.g., Caperton v. A.T. Massey Coal, Inc., 679 S.E.2d 223,
292 n.11 (W. Va. 2008) (Albright, J., dissenting) (a push poll is “a
survey wherein limited and selective background information is
conveyed to individuals, the purpose or result of which is to
‘push’ the individual being surveyed to a negative inference or
response against a public individual”), reud on other grounds,
129 S. Ct. 2252 (2009).

Because there is no constitutionally mean-
ingful difference between the exit polling permitted
and the exit petitioning prohibited by the Challenged
Law, the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion is contrary to
well-settled law. See, e.g., Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v.
FCC, 512 U.S. 622, 642 (1994) (“Our precedents thus
apply the most exacting scrutiny to regulations that
suppress, disadvantage, or impose differential
burdens upon speech because of its content.”); Carey
v. Brown, 447 U.S. 455, 466 (1980) (rejecting the
proposition that labor picketing is more deserving of
First Amendment protection than other types of
protests).

The opinion also improperly re-defines the
compelling state interest endorsed by Burson.
Although the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion identified
Florida’s interest as the same interest enunciated in
Burson — “(1) protecting voters from confusion and
undue influence; and (2) preserving the integrity of
the election process” — it is actually grounded not in
these interests but in preventing “commotion — that
is, bustle, stir, confusion — around the polling place”
(App. at 2a) and keeping voters from having to “run
the gauntlet” (App. at 14a). The State’s interest in
shielding voters from mere interaction with other
citizens is not a compelling state interest. See
Anderson v. Spear, 356 F.3d 651, 661 (6th Cir. 2004)
(protecting voters from being spoken to “is a far cry
from prevention of corruption and intimidation — the
only justification the Supreme Court recognized in
Burson to meet the requirements of exacting
scrutiny’).

26

Indeed,

fijf the right to be let alone provides
insufficient basis for the states to
restrict the display of profanity in the
courtroom or Nazis marching down
residential streets occupied by objecting
holocaust survivors, then the State’s
interest in assuring that voters are not
subjected to any unwanted campaign
speech alone cannot be a sufficient basis
to regulate that clearly protected speech.

Id. at 661. See also U.S. v. Playboy Entm't Group,
Inc., 529 U.S. 803, 813 (2000) (under the First
Amendment, the right of free expression prevails over
a law designed to “shield the sensibilities of
listeners”); Fla. Comm., 682 F. Supp. at 1542 (“[I]f the
quality of the state interest is merely the offense
suffered by a voter who approaches the polis only to
be approached by a petitioner, this bnef exposure to
grassroots democratic process, however unpalatable
to some individuals, cannot justify a restriction on
speech when the offensive activity can be avoided
readily by communicating a declination of interest to
the petitioner.”) (citing Cohen v. California, 403 U.S.
15, 21-22 (1971)). The apparent desire of the
Eleventh Circuit to keep everyone other than voters
from approaching polling places is also contrary to
Burson itself, which explains that “allowing members
of the general public access to the polling place makes
it more difficult for political machines to buy off all

Zi

the monitors.” 504 U.S. at 207.'! Thus, paradox-
ically, under the guise of protecting the democratic
process, the Challenged Law and the Eleventh
Circuit’s opinion seek to protect the Florida public
from democracy itself.

By granting the writ, this Court can correct the
erroneous standard adopted by the Eleventh Circuit,
and ensure that arbitrary categories of speech are not
favored under the First Amendment based merely on
the labels that are attached to them.

CONCLUSION

This case epitomizes the contradictory ap-
proaches courts have taken in applying Burson to
speech by non-candidates near polling places. By
granting the writ, this Court can provide guidance to
the lower courts on the proper balance between
competing constitutional rights at the heart of our
democratic system.

'! Moreover, the desire to keep people away from polling places
is not achieved by the Challenged Law, which bans from the
polling area only a limited class of people, such as petition
circulators, but permits anyone to be within the No Approach
Zone so long as they do not “solicit” voters.

28

Respectfully submitted,

Gregg D. Thomas
Counsel of Record
James J. McGuire
Paul R. McAdoo
THOMAS, LOCICERO & BRALOW
400 N. Ashley Dr., Suite 1100
Tampa, Florida 33602
(813) 984-3060

Randall C. Marshall

Muslima Lewis

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION OF
FLORIDA, INC.

4500 Biscayne Blvd., Suite 340
Miami, Florida 33137

(786) 363-2700

Counsel for Petitioners

29

APPENDIX

[PUBLISH]
FILED
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
JUNE 25, 2009
THOMAS K. KAHN
CLERK

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No.08-15115-DD

D. C. Docket No. 08-00635-CV-FTM-29SPC

CITIZENS FOR POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY
POLITICAL COMMITTEE, FLORIDA STATE
CONFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT
OF COLORED PEOPLE,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

versus

KURT S. BROWNING, in his capacity as
Secretary of State of the State of Florida,
SHARON L. HARRINGTON, in her official
capacity as Supervisor of Elections, Lee
County,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Florida

(June 25, 2009)

Before DUBINA, Chief Judge, EDMONDSON and
HILL, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

This appeal is about voting. Florida Statute §
102.031(4) says that no person may solicit voters
“within 100 feet of the entrance to any polling place
... or early voting site,” and broadly defines “solicit” to
include, among other things, “seeking or attempting
to seek a signature on any petition[.]” Fla. Stat. §§
102.031(4)(a)-(b).! The Florida statute codifies the
Florida legislature’s view that the right of Florida’s
citizens to vote warrants substantial protection from
commotion -- that is, bustle, stir, confusion -- around
the voting place. Today, we must decide whether the
Florida legislature went too far in defending the right

1 The Florida statute defines “solicit” and “solicitation” to
“include, but not be limited to, seeking or attempting to seek
any vote, fact, opinion, or contribution; distributing or
attempting to distribute any political or campaign material,
leaflet, or handout; conducting a poll except as specified in this
paragraph; seeking or attempting to seek a signature on any
petition; and selling or attempting to sell any item. The terms
‘solicit’ or ‘solicitation’ shall not be construed to prohibit exit
polling.” Fla. Stat. § 102.031(4)(b).

2a

to vote by banning solicitation that targets voters
exiting polling places? and that also concerns matters
unrelated to any issue then on the ballot. We
conclude that the Florida legislature did not go
beyond its lawful power and, thus, reverse the district
court’s decision to bar enforcement of the Florida
Statute.

Background

Plaintiff Citizens for Police Accountability
Political Committee is a political action committee in
the State of Florida. Plaintiff Flomda State
Conference of the NAACP is the parent organization
of 60 Florida branches of the national NAACP.
Plaintiffs support an amendment to the Fort Myers,
Florida, city charter that would create a citizen
oversight panel for the city police department. To
place the charter amendment on a ballot, though,
Plaintiffs must gather signatures from “10 percent of
the [city’s] registered electors as of the last preceding
municipal general election.” Fla. Stat. § 166.031(1).
Plaintiffs claim that the best way to obtain signatures
is to approach voters exiting polling places.

In January 2008, Plaintiff Citizens for Police
Accountability Political Committee tried to solicit
signatures from voters leaving a polling place in Fort
Myers.? Although the proposed charter amendment

2 When we refer to polling places in this opinion, we also mean
early voting sites.

4 Plaintiff Florida State Conference of the NAACP did not join
the petition-circulation effort until April 2008.

3a

related to nothing then on the ballot, election
officials, in accordance with the Florida statute,
banned the signature-gatherers from soliciting voters
within 100 feet of the polling place. Plaintiffs say that
many voters were able to park, vote, and leave
without interacting with the signature-gatherers.

Then in August 2008, Plaintiffs filed suit and
sought injunctive relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1983
against Kurt S. Browning, in his capacity as
Secretary of State of the State of Florida, and Sharon
L. Harrington, in her capacity as Supervisor of
Elections in Lee County, Florida (collectively, the
State). Plaintiffs claimed that the Florida statute
violated their First Amendment right to engage in
political speech at polling places. Plaintiffs asked the
district court to declare the Florida _ statute
unconstitutional on its face and as it applied to their
exit-solicitation efforts. Plaintiffs also sought to
enjoin the State from enforcing the Florida statute
against them when they solicited voters leaving
polling places on election day later in August. As with
the January election, the proposed’ charter
amendment related to nothing on the ballot in the
August election.

The district court held oral argument just
before the August election. The next day, the district
court entered a preliminary injunction enjoining the
State from enforcing the Florida statute against
Plaintiffs at polling places on election day.4 The

4 The district court refused to issue an injunction on the ground
that the Florida statute is facially unconstitutional. The district
court, instead, granted the injunction on an “as applied” basis:

(continued ...)

4a

district court concluded that the Florida statute was
probably unconstitutional as it applied to Plaintiffs’
exit-solicitation efforts because the State had
produced little evidence that the exit-solicitation ban
was ne essary to serve a compelling interest or that it
was sufficiently drawn to achieve that end. The State
appeals.®

(... continued)
the State -- even extremely close to the polls -- could not enforce
or threaten to enforce the Florida statute “as to Plaintiffs’
peaceful, orderly and non-disruptive (1) solicitation of signatures
(2) for their petition to place an amendment of the Fort Myers
City Charter on a future ballot (3) from voters at polling places
and early voting sites (4) after the voters have voted (5) during
the August 26, 2008 election and its early voting period.”
5 In late 2008, the district court concluded that it had no case or
controversy before it and, thus, dismissed the case after
Plaintiffs alleged that they acquired the requisite number of
signatures to place the proposed charter amendment on a ballot.
No party has argued, however, that this appeal is moot or that
we otherwise lack jurisdiction. We have considered the matter of
our jurisdiction independently, and we conclude that this appeal
remains worthy of our attention because the election-related
issue involving the State and, at least, Plaintiff Florida State
Conference of the NAACP -- the issue of the right to engage in
peaceful exit solicitation about non-ballot issues near polling
places -- is “capable of repetition, yet evading review.” Sierra
Club v. Martin, 110 F.3d 1551, 1554 (llth Cir. 1997)
(preliminary injunction expired but appeal not moot where
seasonal nature of bird nesting made it likely that forest service
would face another injunction and where duration of injunction
was too short to allow for appellate review before injunction
expired); see also Fed. Election Comm'n v. Wis. Right To Life,
Inc., 127 S. Ct. 2652, 2663 (2007) (“We have recognized that the
‘capable of repetition, yet evading review’ doctrine, in the
context of election cases, is appropriate when there are ‘as
applied’ challenges as well as in the more typical case involving
(continued ...)

Sa

Standard of Review

We review a preliminary injunction for an
abuse of discretion. Klay v. United Healthgroup, Inc.,
376 F.3d 1092, 1096 (11th Cir. 2004). A district court
abuses its discretion if it applies an incorrect legal
standard, applies the law in an unreasonable or
incorrect manner, follows improper procedures in
making a determination, or makes findings of fact
that are clearly erroneous. /ld. We review de novo
questions of law. United States v. Endotec, Inc., 563
F.3d 1187, 1194 (11th Cir. 2009).

Discussion

A preliminary injunction is an “extraordinary
and drastic remedy.” McDonald's Corp. v. Robertson,
147 F.3d 1301, 1306 (11th Cir. 1998) (quoting All
Care Nursing Serv., Inc. v. Bethesda Mem Hosp.,
Inc., 887 F.2d 1535, 1537 (11th Cir. 1989)). To secure
an injunction, a party must prove four elements: (1) a

(... continued)

only facial attacks. Requiring repetition of every ‘legally
relevant’ characteristic of an as-applied challenge-down to the
last detail-would effectively overrule this statement by making
this exception unavailable for virtually all as-applied
challenges.”) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted);
Storer v. Brown, 94 S. Ct. 1274, 1282 n.8 (1974) (although
pertinent election was “long over,” appeal concerning election-
related statute not moot because “construction of the statute, an
understanding of its operation, and possible constitutional! limits
on its application, will have the effect of simplifying future
challenges, thus increasing the likelihood that timely filed cases
can be adjudicated before an election is held”).

6a

substantial likelihood of success on the merits; (2)
irreparable injury absent an injunction; (3) the injury
outweighs whatever damage an injunction may cause
the opposing party; and (4) an injunction is not
adverse to the public interest. Id.

The State challenges on appeal only the
district court’s conclusion that Plaintiffs established a
substantial likelihood of success on the merits of their
claim that the Florida statute is unconstitutional as it
applies to exit-solicitation efforts. The State admits
that the Florida statute infringes some on Plaintiffs’
right to engage in political speech® (see Meyer uv.
Grant, 108 S. Ct. 1886, 1892 (1988)) but contends
that the restriction is necessary and narrowly
tailored to protect the, at least, equally critical right
to vote free from intimidation, interference, and
fraud.

In Burson v. Freeman, 112 S. Ct. 1846 (1992),
the Supreme Court addressed the facial
constitutionality of a Tennessee statute that
proscribed campaign activity within 100 feet of a
polling place.’ Jd. at 1848. Considering the Tennessee

6 Plaintiffs contend that the Florida statute also infringes some
on their First Amendment right to engage in political
association. But even if true, the additional infringement has no
material affect on the analysis otherwise applicable here; so we
discuss it no further.
7 The Tennessee statute banned within 100 feet of a polling
place “the display of campaign posters, signs or other campaign
materials, distribution of campaign materials, and solicitation of
votes for or against any person or political party or position on a
question|.]” Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 1848. Like the Florida statute,
which saves exit polling from its grasp, Fla. Stat. §
(continued ...)

7a

statute as a content-based restriction on political
speech in a public forum, the statute could survive
only if it was “necessary to serve a compelling state
interest” and was “narrowly drawn to achieve that
end.” Jd. at 1851 (quoting Perry Educ. Ass'n v. Perry
Local Educators’ Ass’n, 103 S. Ct. 948, 955 (1983)).

The Supreme Court upheld the Tennessee
statute.8 In doing so, a plurality of the Supreme
Court® first reviewed whether Tennessee had a
compelling interest to support its statute. Tennessee

(... continued)

102.031(4)(b), the Tennessee statute also did not restrict exit
polling. Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 1855. We express no view on the
constitutionality of a statute that bans exit polling around
polling places.

8 Justice Blackmun authored the plurality opinion, which Chief
Justice Rehnquist and Justices White and Kennedy joined.
Justice Kennedy also filed a concurring opinion, and Justice
Scalia filed an opinion concurring in the judgment. Justice
Stevens filed a dissenting opinion, which Justices O’Connor and
Souter joined. Justice Thomas did not participate in the
decision.

9 Justice Scalia joined in the judgment, but not in the plurality
opinion. Justice Scalia reviewed the Tennessee statute under a
less exacting standard than the strict scrutiny applied by the
other Justices because he believed that the statute did not
restrict speech in a “traditional public forum.” Jd. at 1859-61
(Scalia, J., concurring in judgment). His justification, therefore,
seems to be broader than the plurality opinion. So, we look to
the plurality opinion for guidance. Marks v. United States, 97 S.
Ct. 990, 994 (1977) (‘When a fragmented Court decides a case
and no single rationale explaining the result enjoys the assent of
five Justices, the holding of the Court may be viewed as that
position taken by those Members who concurred in the
judgments on the narrowest grounds.”) (internal quotation
marks omitted).

$a

offered two: (1) protecting voters from confusion and
undue influence; and (2) preserving the integrity of
the election process. Jd. at 1851—52. The plurality
agreed that those interests were sufficiently
compelling to warrant protection. Id.

The plurality then turned to whether the
Tennessee statute was necessary to serve those
compelling interests. In typical cases involving strict-
scrutiny review, the Supreme Court would look to the
state to offer evidence that the pertinent statute is
necessary to promote the compelling interest. See Eu
v. San Francisco County Democratic Cent. Comm.,
109 S. Ct. 1013, 1021—23 (1989). But in Burson, the
plurality required Tennessee to produce no evidence
of necessity. Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 1856. Instead, the
plurality relied on the long history of regulation to
combat election misconduct, the substantial
consensus in favor of a secret ballot secured by a
campaign-free zone that emerged from that history,
and common sense to conclude “that some restricted
zone around the voting area” was necessary to secure
Tennessee’s compelling interests. Jd. (emphasis in
original).

The plurality last examined whether the
Tennessee statute was narrowly tailored. To pass this
test, a state normally must show that the pertinent
statute used the least restrictive means available to
serve the compelling interest. See Boos v. Barry, 108
S. Ct. 1157, 1168 (1988). The plurality recognized,
however, that it faced a unique situation because of
the importance of protecting the right to vote and the
difficulties in and dangers of requiring Tennessee to
demonstrate the effects of its statute on political

9a

stability.!° Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 10 1856—57. So the
plurality departed from the customary analysis and
applied a modified “burden of proof” under which the
Tennessee statute was sufficiently tailored if it was
“reasonable” and did not “significantly impinge on
constitutionally protected rights.” Jd. at 1857
(emphasis in original). The plurality concluded that
the minor geographic limitation in the Tennessee
statute -- 100 feet -- satisfied this more lenient
standard. Jd. The statute was constitutional.

The parties dispute the extent to which Burson
affects this case. The State says that the Florida
statute is no different than the Tennessee statute in
Burson and, thus, the Florida statute should survive
for the same reasons. Plaintiffs, on the other hand,
claim that the facts in Burson are materially different

10 The plurality explained those difficulties and dangers this
way:

Elections vary from year to year, and place to
place. It is therefore difficult to make specific
findings about the effects of a voting regulation.
Moreover, the remedy for a tainted election is an
imperfect one. Rerunning an election would have
a negative impact on voter turnout. Thus,
requiring proof that a 100-foot boundary is
perfectly tailored to deal with voter intimidation
and election fraud would necessitate that a
State’s political system sustain some level of
damage before the legislature could take
corrective action.

Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 1856-57 (internal quotation marks and
footnote omitted).

10a

because there a campaign worker wanted to solicit
votes on election day, while here Plaintiffs aim only to
seek the supporting signatures of voters -- who had
already voted -- about a non-ballot issue.

We accept that Burson does not bind us here;
the material facts are different in some ways.
Nevertheless, we believe that the Burson plurality
opinion is highly persuasive; and we extend its
reasoning to the facts of this case.

1. Compelling Interest

Under the Burson plurality’s standard, we
must first examine whether the State has a
compelling interest to support its statute. The State
contends that it shares the same compelling interests
as Tennessee in Burson: (1) protecting voters from
confusion and undue influence; and (2) preserving the
integrity of the election process. Plaintiffs take no
issue with the presence or legitimacy of those
compelling interests in this case. Nor do we.

2. Necessity

Having identified the pertinent compelling
interests, we turn to the more difficult question of
whether the Florida statute is necessary to serve
those interests. The State claims that it need not
produce evidence of exit solicitors intimidating voters
or interfering with the election process to prove
necessity. Instead, the State asserts that it, like
Tennessee in Burson, may rely on our country’s long
history of election regulation, the widespread
agreement that emerged from that history, and
common sense to show that the ban on exit

lla

solicitation within 100 feet of a polling place is
necessary to promote its compelling interests.

Plaintiffs criticize this approach. They say that
exit solicitation is a peaceful, non-disruptive activity
targeting only those voters who have already voted!!
and claim that this “already-voted” feature
distinguishes their conduct from the more
intimidating, violent, and unsavory behavior talked
about in the Burson plurality opinion.'!? Plaintiffs,
therefore, argue that the State may not rely on the

'! Plaintiffs compare exit solicitation to exit polling. Plaintiffs
contend that the Florida statute cannot lawfully prohibit one
and permit the other because, according to Plaintiffs, the
activities are constitutionally indistinguishable. But we
disagree: exit polling does not include advocating for the success
of some political proposal or candidate. Like other courts before
us, we see fundamental differences between the two activities
and, therefore, reject the comparison. See, e.g., Schirmer uv.
Edwards, 2 F.3d 117, 122 (5th Cir. 1993) (exit polling cases not
applicable to solicitation cases); Am. Broad. Co. v. Blackwell,
479 F. Supp. 2d 719, 738 (S.D. Ohio 2006) (“[E]xit polling cannot
reasonably be construed as a form of electioneering under any
definition of that term.”). Moreover, the plurality in Burson
expressly said that the Tennessee statute did not need to
prohibit exit polling to survive strict-scrutiny review. Burson,
1128. Ct. at 1855.

12 Plaintiffs claim that the plurality in Burson found no history
of electoral abuse by and no history of election-reform efforts
directed at exit solicitors. They cite as support the following
language in the plurality opinion: “[T]here is simply no evidence
that political candidates have used other forms of solicitation or
exit polling to commit such electoral abuses.” Jd. at 1856. But we
believe that the plurality is referring in this dictum to
“charitable and commercial solicitation” and not, as Plaintiffs
suggest, to forms of political canvassing like exit solicitation. So
we afford this argument little weight.

12a

historical evidence of election abuse discussed in the
Burson plurality opinion but must instead offer its
own proof that the ban on exit solicitation in the
Florida statute is necessary. Echoing the district
court, Plaintiffs say that the State has produced no
such evidence.

About history, we agree with the State. We
simply cannot accept that exit solicitation is so
different from the other political conduct highlighted
in Burson to compel a different result here. As we see
it, commotion tied to exit solicitation is as capable of
intimidating and confusing the electorate and
impeding the voting process -- even deterring
potential voters from coming to the polls -- as other
kinds of political canvassing or political action around
the polls. This observation seems especially true
given the reality that polling places are of such a
diverse size and shape, including sometimes using
the same doors to enter and exit the polling place,
that voters waiting to cast their ballot will often be
close to and indistinguishable from voters who have
already done so.'* Although Plaintiffs suggest that
election officials can police the polls to ensure that
exit solicitation remains peaceful and targets only
voters who have already voted, we believe this
proposal places too great a burden on those officials to

'3 Plaintiffs even acknowledged in their complaint when they
described the method by which they intended to engage in exit
solicitation the difficulty in targeting only those voters who have
already voted: “A petition circulator will stand near the exit to
the polling place, in a position to maximize the likelihood of
interacting with voters who have already cast their ballots... .”
(emphasis added).

l3a

make split-second decisions on who is being solicited,
on how they are being solicited, and about what they
are being solicited: an invitation to controversy and
more disturbances then and there.

But even in Plaintiffs’ imagined perfect world
when absolutely only those people who have voted are
solicited, our belief does not waiver. The State wants
peace and order around its polling places, and we
accord significant value to that desire for it preserves
the integrity and dignity of the voting process and
encourages people to come and to vote. See Buckley v.
Am. Constitutional Law Found., Inc., 119 S. Ct. 636,
640 (1999) (acknowledging that “there must be a
substantial regulation of elections if they are to be
fair and honest and if some sort of order, rather than
chaos, is to accompany the democratic processes”)
(quoting Storer, 94 S. Ct. at 1279); Clean Up ‘84 uv.
Heinrich, 759 F.2d 1511, 1514 (11th Cir. 1985) (“We
recognize that the state has a significant interest in
protecting the orderly functioning of the election
process. It must ensure its voters that they may
exercise their franchise without distraction,
interruption, or harassment.”). Given the example of
history, if exit solicitation must be allowed close to
the polls, it takes little foresight to envision polling
places awash with exit solicitors, some competing
(albeit peacefully) for the attention of the same voters
at the same time to discuss different issues or
different sides of the same issue. And we accept it as
probable that some -- maybe many -- voters faced
with running the gauntlet will refrain from

14a

participating in the election process merely to avoid
the resulting commotion when leaving the polls. '4

The Burson plurality opinion teaches us that
the State need not wait for actual interference or
violence or intimidation to erupt near a polling place
for the State to act.'5 The State may take precautions
to protect and to facilitate voting; and the pertinent
history is broad enough to provide the proof of
reasonableness for a zone of order around the polls.

It is hard for State election officials to know
the precise moment just before solicitation becomes
interference in the election process. And if an election
is disturbed, it is hard to know what the impact was
on the election. The cost of a disturbed election is too
high to allow the State only to react to disturbances

'4 Indeed, although not necessary to our conclusion, the State
produced evidence confirming that many Florida voters have
complained that their entrance to and exit from the polls is like
“running the gauntlet” and have indicated that “they will no
longer participate in elections unless their access to the polls is
better protected by the law.”

15 In Burson, the plurality observed that Tennessee had other
statutes that made it a crime “to interfere with an election or to
use violence or intimidation to prevent voting.” Burson, 112 S.
Ct. at 1855. But the plurality recognized that Tennessee’s power
to protect the voting process was broader than just prohibiting
actual interference, violence, or intimidation. Jd. In a similar
way, the district court injunction limits the State to prohibiting
only conduct that is disorderly, disruptive, or not peaceful; but to
ease and to protect voting, the State’s legitimate power under
the Federal Constitution goes beyond what the injunction would
allow the State to do. The State can do more to restrict political
canvassing in a small zone around the polls. Thus, the
injunction cannot stand.

Sa

but not to prevent disturbances. We, therefore, reject
the contention that the State must offer its own
evidence demonstrating that the ban on exit
solicitation is necessary to serve its compelling
interests; our country’s long history of election
regulation, the consensus emerging from that history,
and the practical need to keep voters and voting
undisturbed all prove that the ban is warranted. !®

3. Narrowly Tailored

We last explore the breadth of the Florida
statute. To prove that the Florida statute is narrowly
tailored, the State must show that the Florida
Statute is “reasonable and does not significantly
impinge on _ constitutionally protected rights.”!’
Burson, 112 S. Ct. at 1857 (quoting Munro v. Socialist
Workers Party, 107 S. Ct. 533, 537-38 (1986))

16 Many other state legislatures seemingly share the belief that
some solicitation-free zone around polling places is necessary to
protect voters from confusion and undue influence and to
preserve the integrity and dignity of the election process, as
other states too have enacted law markedly similar to the
Florida statute. See, e.g., Cal. Elec. Code § 18370 (100-foot zone);
Colo. Rev. Stat. § 1-13-714 (100-foot zone); Ga. Code Ann. § 21-2-
414(b) (150-foot zone); Idaho Code Ann. § 18-2318(1) (100-foot
zone); Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 54, § 65 (150-foot zone); Mich. Comp.
Laws § 168.744(2) (100-foot zone); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 32-1524(2)
(200-foot zone); Utah Code Ann. § 20A-3-501(2)(a) (150-foot
zone).

17 The plurality in Burson cautioned that the modified “burden
of proof” applies only where the prohibited activity threatens to
interfere with the act of voting itself or physically interferes
with voters attempting to cast their ballot. Burson, 112 S. Ct. at
1856 n.11. We believe that exit solicitation of the kind in this
case triggers the application of the Burson plurality’s standard.

16a

(emphasis added in Burson). The Florida statute
mirrors in many respects -- including the size of the
restricted zone -- the Tennessee statute upheld in
Burson. And we conclude that the Florida statute is
sufficiently tailored to satisfy the pertinent standard.

Conclusion

We accept that the right to engage in political
discourse is “the essence of _ self-government.”
Garrison v. Louisiana, 85 8S. Ct. 209, 216 (1964). But
voting is about the most important thing there is.
And as history has taught us, the mght of political
discourse is far from absolute: it must at times step
aside so other freedoms similarly pivotal to our
republic can thrive. The Florida statute, which
balances the right to engage in political speech
against the right to vote without interference and
harassment, represents one of those times.

We stress the short time (a few days a year)
and small area (less than a football field) in which the
Florida statute suppresses some political speech
around the polls; Plaintiffs are free to solicit
signatures unencumbered most days a year and to
solicit signatures outside the solicitation-free zone all
days a year. And by the way, we are not alone in our
decision: other courts, in cases involving petitions,
have also upheld statutes establishing solicitation-
free zones around polling places.!8 We believe that

18 For example, in United Food & Commercial Workers Local
1099 v. City of Sidney, 364 F.3d 738 (6th Cir. 2004), the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals applied the Burson plurality’s standard
and affirmed the dismissal of a challenge to an Ohio statute that

(continued ...)

17a

the sanctity of the voting process and the abuse it has
historically faced must allow the Florida legislature
to exercise some foresight, to take precautions, and to
prohibit questionable conduct near polling places
before that conduct proves its danger; a compromised
election is too great a harm to require otherwise.

We, therefore, conclude today that the Florida
statute does not violate the First Amendment by
banning Plaintiffs from engaging in exit solicitation
about a non-ballot issue within 100 feet of polling
places in Florida. Accordingly, the district court
abused its discretion in granting Plaintiffs a
preliminary injunction.

REVERSED.

(... continued)

prohibited solicitation within 100 feet of a polling place. Jd. at
748. And earlier, in Schirmer, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals,
also relying on the Burson plurality’s standard, upheld a
Louisiana statute that prohibited solicitation about non-ballot
issues within 600 feet of a polling place. Schirmer, 2 F.3d at 119.

18a

Filed
2008 AUG 22 AM 11:15
U.S. DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
FORT MYERS, FLORIDA

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
FORT MYERS DIVISION

CITIZENS FOR POLICE
ACCOUNTABILITY POLITICAL
COMMITTEE, and FLORIDA STATE
CONFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION FOR ADVANCEMENT
OF COLORED PEOPLE,

Plaintiffs,

Vs. Case No. 2:08-cv-635-FtM-29SPC

KURT S. BROWNING, in his capacity
as Secretary of State of the State of
Florida, and SHARON L.
HARRINGTON, in her official capacity
as Supervisor of Elections, Lee County,

Defendants.

OPINION AND ORDER
This matter comes before the Court on
19a

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary Injunction (Doc. #2)
filed on August 11, 2008. Plaintiffs seek to enjoin the
enforcement of Florida Statute § 102.031 (4) (a)-(b)
(2008) on the basis that it is facially unconstitutional
and unconstitutional as applied to plaintiffs’ petition
circulation activities. Defendant Browning’s Response
in Opposition to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary
Injunction (Doc. #11) was filed on August 19, 2008.
The Court heard oral arguments on August 21, 2008.
For the reasons set forth below, the motion will be
granted in part.

I.

Plaintiff Citizens for Police Accountability
Political Committee (“CPA”) is a political action
committee registered with the Florida Secretary of
State and the Lee County Supervisor of Elections.
(Doc. #1, 910.) Plaintiff Florida State Conference of
the National Association for the Advancement of
Colored People (“Florida NAACP”) is the umbrella
organization for sixty Florida branches of the
national NAACP and coordinates the activities of the
NAACP branches throughout Florida, including the
activities of the Lee County, Florida, branch. (Jd. at 4
11.) Since August 30, 2007, CPA has been circulating
a petition to place an amendment of the City of Fort
Myers Charter on the ballot, in order to create a
citizen oversight pane] for the Fort Myers Police
Department (the “Petition”). (dd. at 44 1, 15.) The
Florida NAACP joined the Petition circulation effort
on April 23, 2008. Ud. at | 18.) To be placed on the
ballot, petitions must be “signed by ten percent of the
registered electors as of the last preceding municipal
general election.” FLA. STAT. § 166.031 (1) (2007).

20a

Plaintiffs assert that after nearly a year of circulating
the Petition at polling places, recreational areas, and
churches, as well as canvassing door-to-door, they
and others have obtained approximately 1,700
signatures of verified voters out of the required 2,508
signatures. (Doc. #1, {| 16, 19-22.)

Plaintiffs assert that the best method of
obtaining qualified signatures is to seek voters’
signatures after they have left a polling place or,
early voting site. (Jd. at {§ 23.) During the
Presidential Preference Primary on January 29, 2008,
however, CPA petition circulators working one Lee
County precinct were required to stand outside a 100-
foot “No Approach Zone” created by the Florida
statute now being challenged. (Jd. at 4 16.) Plaintiffs
assert that this “No Approach Zone,” which in some
precincts covers not only the polling place but also
portions of the parking area, entry path and public
sidewalks, severely impedes their First Amendment
right of access to the high concentration of civically
active, registered voters found at polling places on
election days and at early voting sites. (Jd. at 44 17,
24.)

Plaintiffs plan to circulate the Petition at
polling places in Lee County on August 26, 2008, and
at early voting sites prior to that date, in an attempt
to obtain enough signatures to place their proposed
amendment on an upcoming ballot. (ld. at 4 26.)
Plaintiffs seek to have a petition circulator stand near
the exit of certain polling places, approach voters as
they exit, and attempt to obtain their signature on
the Petition. Ud. at § 27.) Although the subject
matter of the Petition does not relate to any matter

2la

on the current ballot, the “No Approach Zone”
mandated by the Florida statute would preclude this
activity. (/d. at § 28.)

Count One of the Complaint seeks a
declaratory judgment that the Florida statute is
facially unconstitutional as a _ content-based,
substantially overbroad restriction on protected First
Amendment speech and conduct. (/d. at {4 39, 40.)
Count Two seeks a declaratory judgment that the
Florida statute is unconstitutional as applied to
plaintiffs’ Petition circulation activities as a content-
based, impermissible restriction on plaintiffs’ First
Amendment rights of speech and association, and the
right to petition for grievances. (Jd. at 44 47, 50, 52.)
Count Three seeks preliminary and permanent
injunctive relief banning the enforcement of the
Florida statute against plaintiffs. Ud. at 4 58.)

II.

Florida statute § 102.031 addresses, among
other things, the maintenance of good order at polling
places and the unlawful solicitation of voters. The
statute first gives each election board the “full
authority to maintain order at the polls and enforce
obedience to its lawful commands during an election
and the canvass of the votes.” FLA. STAT. § 102.031 (1)
(2008). The statute then requires the Sheriff to
deputize a deputy sheriff for each polling place and
each early voting site, requires the deputy sheriff to
be present from the time the polls or early voting
sites open until the election is completed, and
requires the deputy sheriff to be subject to the lawful
commands of the clerk or inspectors and to maintain
good order. FLA. STAT. § 102.031 (2). The statute

22a

identifies the persons who may enter the polling room
or polling place and early voting areas. FLA. STAT. §
102.031 (3). The statute then provides, in the portion
challenged by plaintiffs, as follows:

(a) No person, political committee,
committee of continuous existence, or
other group or organization may solicit
voters inside the polling place or within
100 feet of the entrance to any polling
place, or polling room where the polling
place is also a polling room, or early
voting site. Before the opening of the
polling place or early voting site, the
clerk or supervisor shall designate the
no-solicitation zone and mark the
boundaries.

(b) For the purpose of this subsection,
the terms “solicit” or “solicitation” shall
include, but not be limited to, seeking or
attempting to seek any vote, fact,
opinion, or contribution; distributing or
attempting to distribute any political or
campaign material, leaflet, or handout;
conducting a poll except as specified in
this paragraph; seeking or attempting to
seek a signature on any petition; and
selling or attempting to sell any item.
The terms “solicit” or “solicitation” shall
not be construed to prohibit exit polling.

FLA. STAT. § 102.031(4) (a)-(b). The statute does not r
define “exit polling.” The statute further requires that
each supervisor of elections inform the clerk of the
designated area within which soliciting is deemed to

23a

be unlawful, based on the particular characteristics of
that polling place. FLA. STAT. § 102.031 (4) (c). The
supervisor or clerk is allowed to “take any reasonable
action necessary to ensure order at the _ polling
places,” including having disruptive or unruly
persons removed by law enforcement from the polling
room, polling place, or from the 100-foot zone
surrounding the polling place. /d.

The Florida Department of State is required to
create and adopt a uniform polling place procedures
manual discussing, among other things, regulations
governing solicitation by individuals and groups at
polling places. FLA. STAT. § 102.014 (5) (a) (2008).
Florida Administrative Code Rule 1S-2.034 adopted
the “Polling Place Procedures Manual” (the “Manual”)
by the Florida Department of State, Division of
Elections, the current version of which is effective
August, 2008. In pertinent part, the Manual states
that “[t}he only exception to the no-solicitation law
applies to the media or others who are allowed to
conduct exit-polling activities. They may approach
voters only after voters leave the polling place.” See
Div. of Elections, Fla. Dep’t of State, Polling Place
Procedures Manual, at 4 (2008) (emphasis in
original),
http://election.dos.state.fl.us/publications/pdf/2007-
2008/2008VoterRegisVoteGuide.pdf.

Ill.

In the Eleventh Circuit, the issuance of “a
preliminary injunction is an extraordinary and
drastic remedy that should not be granted unless the
movant clearly carries its burden of persuasion” on
each of four prerequisites. Canal Auth. of Fla. v.

24a

Callaway, 489 F.2d 567, 573 (5th Cir. 1974)!. See also
McDonalds Corp. v. Robertson, 147 F.3d 1301, 1306
(11th Cir. 1998). The party seeking a preliminary
injunction must demonstrate: (1) a_ substantial
likelihood of success on the merits; (2) that
irreparable injury will be suffered absent an
injunction; (3) that the injury to movant outweighs
the injury the proposed injunction would cause to the
opposing party; and (4) that the proposed injunction
would serve the public interest. E.g., Johnston v.
Tampa Sports Auth., 530 F.3d 1320, 1325 (11th Cir.
2008). The burden of persuasion for each of the four
requirements is upon the movant. Siegel v. LePore,
234 F.3d 1163, 1176 (11th Cir. 2000) (en banc).

IV.

Plaintiffs argue that FLA. STAT. § 102.031 (4)
(a)-(b) is unconstitutional both on its face and as
applied to plaintiffs’ exit petitioning. The current
statute was amended effective July 1, 2008, and no
reported case has yet addressed its constitutionality.
Plaintiffs argue that the recent amendments to the
statute harken back to former versions of the statute
which were found unconstitutional. (Doc. #2, pp. 2-7.)
Defendants respond that Burson v. Freeman, 504
U.S. 191 (1992), compels the conclusion that the
Florida statute is constitutional and that plaintiffs
have not satisfied any of the four requirements for a

' In Bonner v. Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (11th Cir. 1981) (en
banc) the Eleventh Circuit adopted as binding precedent all the
decisions of the former Fifth Circuit handed down prior to the
close of business on September 30, 1981.

25a

preliminary-injunction. (Doc. #11.)

Some preliminary matters are not disputed by
either party. First, there is no doubt that soliciting
signatures for a petition to amend a city charter is a
matter protected by the First Amendment. Such
conduct has been appropriately described as “core
political speech” in which the importance of First
Amendment protection is “at its zenith.” Meyer v.
Grant, 486 U.S. 414, 414, 420-22, 425. (1988); Buckley
v. Am. Constitutional Law Found., 525 U.S. 182, 186-
87 (1999). Additionally, gathering at the polls to
solicit signatures is protected political association.
Clean-Up ‘84 v. Heinrich, 759 F.2d 1511, 1511 (11th
Cir. 1985).

Second, there is also no doubt that the State of
Florida and Lee County have compelling interests in
regulating election and voting matters. Each has
compelling interests in protecting the right of their
citizens to vote freely for candidates of their choice in
an election conducted with integrity and reliability,
and in. protecting against voter’ intimidation,
confusion, and election fraud. Burson, 504 U.S. at
198-99. Thus, the U.S. Supreme Court has recognized
that “there must be a substantial regulation of
elections if they are to be fair and honest and if some
sort of order, rather than chaos, is to accompany the
democratic processes.” Buckley, 525 U.S. at 187
(citations omitted.) See also Clean-Up ‘84, 759 F.2d at
1514 (“We recognize that the state has a significant
interest in protecting the orderly functioning of the
election process. It must ensure its voters that they
may exercise their franchise without distraction,
interruption, or harassment.”) Additionally, the

26a

Florida Voter’s Bill of Rights includes the right to
“Ivjote free from coercion or intimidation by elections
officers or any other person.” FLA. STAT. § 101.031 (2)
(2006).

Third, since at least 1977, Florida has
attempted to specifically prohibit solicitations of
signatures for petitions near polling places. FLA.
STAT. § 104.36 (1977). Florida’s statutory history, in
addressing the concerns related to solicitation at a
polling place, has been summarized in Florida
Committee for Liability Reform v. McMillan, 682 F.
Supp. 1536, 1538-39 (M.D. Fla. 1988) and CBS, Inc. v.
Smith, 681 F. Supp. 794, 797-98 (S.D. Fla. 1988).
Each version of the statute that has been challenged
has been found to be unconstitutional or has been
enjoined as likely to be unconstitutional. Clean-Up
‘84, 759 F.2d at 1513 (invalidating 1984 version as
overbroad on its face); Florida Committee, 682 F.
Supp. 1536, 1538-39 (M.D. Fla. 1988) (enjoining
enforcement of 1987 version as overbroad); CBS, Inc.,
681 F. Supp. at 794 (enjoining enforcement of 1987
version as applied to media exit polling); Firestone v.
News-Press Pub. Co., 538 So. 2d 457, (Fla. 1989)
(invalidating statute, precluding nonvoters from
being within fifty feet of the polling place, as
overbroad); CBS Broad., Inc. v. Cobb, 470 F. Supp. 2d
1365 (S.D. Fla. 2006) (enjoining enforcement of 2005
version as overbroad as applied to exit polling).
Despite this history, defendants assert that “Burson
reconstructed the way courts approach constitutional
challenges to polling place restrictions.” (Doc. #11, p.
4.)

27a

Ve

The most hotly-contested issue is plaintiffs’
substantial likelihood of success on the merits.
Plaintiffs assert that they are likely to prevail on both
their facial and as-applied challenges, while
defendants assert that plaintiffs will not prevail on
either.

A. Facial Challenge to Statute:

In Count One of their Complaint, plaintiffs
argue that Florida Statute § 102.031 (4) (a)-(b) (2008)
violates the First Amendment on its face. A facial
challenge seeks to invalidate the statute itself, and
seeks to vindicate not only plaintiffs’ rights but those
of others who may be adversely impacted by the
statute. DA Mortg., Inc. v. City of Miami Beach, 486
F.3d 1254, 1262 (11th Cir. 2007). The U.S. Supreme
Court has articulated two standards for evaluating
such facial First Amendment challenges. Clean-Up
‘84, 759 F.2d at 1513.

(1) Unconstitutional in All Applications:

Under the first test, “a plaintiff can only
succeed in a facial challenge by establish[ing] that no
set of circumstances exists under which the Act would
be valid, i.e., that the law is unconstitutional in all of
its applications.” Wash. State Grange v. Wash. State
Republican Party, 128. S. Ct. 1184, 1190 (2008)
(quoting United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739
(1987)). “|A] facial challenge must fail where the
statute has a plainly legitimate sweep.” Wash. State
Grange, 128 S. Ct. at 1190, quoting Washington v.
Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 739-40. (1997). The
Supreme Court also cautioned that “[ i]n determining

28a

whether a law is facially invalid, we must be carefu!
not to go beyond the statute’s facial requirements and
speculate about ‘hypothetical’ or ‘imaginary’ cases.”
Wash. State Grange, 128 S. Ct. at 1190 (citation
omitted.) In short, “[flacial challenges are disfavored
...” Id. at 1191.

Plaintiffs do not seem to pursue an argument
under this standard. (Doc. #2, pp. 18-21.) It is clear in
light of Burson and Wash. State Grange (discussed
below) that Florida Statute § 102.031 (4) (a)-(b) (2008)
is not categorically unconstitutional in each of its
potential applications. Therefore, plaintiffs do not
satisfy this standard.

(2) Overbreadth of statute:

The second type of facial challenge in the First
Amendment context concerns an _ impermissibly
overbroad statute. Wash. State Grange, 128 S. Ct. at
1191 n.6. “According to our First Amendment
overbreadth doctrine, a statute is facially invalid if it
prohibits a substantial amount of protected speech.”
United States v. Williams, 128 S. Ct. 1830, 1838
(2008). Because this doctrine balances competing
interests, the Supreme Court has “vigorously
enforced the requirement that a statute’s overbreadth
be substantial, not only in an absolute sense, but also
relative to the statute’s plainly legitimate sweep.
Invalidation for overbreadth is ‘strong medicine’ that
is not to be ‘casually employed.” Williams, 128 S. Ct.
at 1838 (citations omitted.) “The concept of
‘substantial overbreadth’ is not readily reduced to an
exact definition. . . . In short, there must be a realistic
danger that the statute itself will significantly
compromise recognized First Amendment protections

29a

of parties not before the Court for it to be facially
challenged on overbreadti grounds.” Members of City
Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 800-
801 (1984).

The Court finds that plaintiffs have not shown
a substantial likelihood that they can establish that
Florida Statute § 102.031(4) (a)-(b) (2008) prohibits a
substantial amount of protected speech either in an
absolute sense or relative to the statute’s plainly
legitimate sweep. While plaintiffs show that a literal
application of the 100-foot zone encompasses
traditional public forums at some polling places, the
showing has not been sufficient either in the absolute
sense or relative to the statute’s plainly legitimate
scope. The statute requires that the supervisor of
elections inform the clerk of the designated no-
solicitation area “based on the particular
characteristics of that polling place,” FLA. STAT. §
102.031 (4) (c), and requires the clerk or supervisor to
designate the no-solicitation zone and mark its
boundaries before the polling place or early voting
site is opened. FLA. STAT. § 102.031 (4) (a). Plaintiffs
allege that one polling place, Precinct 48, had a No
Approach Zone that actually encompassed traditional
public forums (Doc. #1, 9{ 16-17) and that this
appeared to be the situation at two other polling
places as well. (Declaration of Aisha Sanchez, Doc. 2-
3, 9% 14-15.) This does not constitute a sufficient
showing that the actually designated no-solicitation
zones have included traditional public forums to a
substantial degree.

B. As Applied Challenge:

An as-applied challenge is available even
30a

where a facial challenge is rejected. FEC v. Wis. Right
to Life, Inc., 127 S. Ct. 2652, 2670 n.8 (2007); City
Council, 466 U.S. at 803 n.22 (“The fact that the
ordinance is capable of valid applications does not
necessarily mean that it is valid as applied to these
litigants.”) An “as-applied” challenge seeks to
vindicate only plaintiffs’ own rights. DA Mortg., Inc.,
486 F.3d at 1262; Jacobs v. The Florida Bar, 50 F.3d
901, 906 (11th Cir. 1995).

The general substantive principles relating to
election restrictions were summarized in Wash. State
Grange: the States possess a broad power to prescribe
the time, place and manner of holding elections for
federal and state offices; this power is not absolute,
and may not be exercised in a way that violates
specific provisions of the U.S. Constitution, including
the First Amendment; the States have _ the
responsibility to observe the First Amendment rights
of their citizens, including the freedom of political
association; election regulations that impose a severe
burden on associational rights are subject to strict
scrutiny and are upheld only if they are narrowly
tailored to serve a compelling state interest; however,
if a State imposes only modest burdens, then a state’s
important regulatory interests are generally
sufficient to justify reasonable, nondiscriminatory
restrictions on election procedures. Wash. State
Grange, 128 S. Ct. at 1191-92 (quotations and
citations omitted).

As relevant to this case, FLA. STAT. §
102.031(4) (a)-(b) provides that “[n]o person may
solicit voters . . . within 100 feet of the entrance to
any polling place . . . or early voting site.... “[SJolicit’

3la

or ‘solicitation’ shall include, but not be limited to, ...
seeking or attempting to seek a signature on any
petition; ‘solicit’ or ‘solicitation’ shall not be construed
to prohibit exit polling.” Defendants conceded at oral
argument that the statute is content-based, and
therefore that strict or exacting scrutiny applies. The
strict scrutiny standard defendants advocate is that
set forth in Burson.

At issue in Burson was a Tennessee statute
prohibiting the solicitation of votes for or against any
person, political party or position, and prohibiting
displays or distributions of campaign materials
within 100 feet of the entrance to a polling place.
Burson, 504 U.S. at 193-4. A plurality of the Supreme
Court found that “[a]s a facially content-based
restriction on political speech in a public forum [the
Tennessee statute] must be subjected to exacting
scrutiny: The State must show that the regulation is
necessary to serve a compelling state interest and
that it is narrowly drawn to achieve that end” Jd. at
198 (quotations omitted). The Supreme Court noted
that to survive strict scrutiny, a State must do more
than assert a compelling state interest — it must
demonstrate that its law is necessary to serve the
asserted interest.” Id. at 199. The Court “readily
acknowledged” that a law rarely survives the
exacting standards of strict scrutiny analysis, but
found that “an examination of the evolution of
election reform ... demonstrates the necessity of
restricted areas in or around polling places.” Jd. at
200. The Court found that a history of pervasive and
systematic abuses of the electoral system led all fifty
states to settle on the same solution: “a secret ballot

32a

secured in part by a restricted zone around the voting
compartments. We find that this widespread and
time-tested consensus demonstrates that some
restricted zone is necessary in order to serve the
States’ compelling interests in preventing voter
intimidation and election fraud.” Id. at 206.

In reaching this conclusion, the Court rejected
three arguments. First, the Court rejected the
argument that the statute was overinclusive because
the state could secure the same compelling interests
with statutes making it a misdemeanor to interfere
with an election or to use violence or intimidation to
prevent voting. Jd. (quotations omitted). Second, the
Court rejected the argument that the statute was
underinclusive because it does not restrict other types
of speech, including exit polling. Jd. at 207
(quotations omitted). The Court stated: “We agree
that distinguishing among types of speech requires
that the statute be subjected to strict scrutiny. We do
not, however, agree that the failure to regulate all
speech renders the statute fatally underinclusive.” Jd.
The Court found that while there was ample
historical evidence that political candidates had used
campaign workers to commit voter intimidation and
electoral fraud, there was no historical evidence that
other forms of solicitation or exit polling had been
used to commit such electoral abuses. “States adopt
laws to address the problems that confront them. The
First Amendment does not require states to regulate
for problems that do not exist.” Id. Third, the Court
rejected the argument that there was no link between
ballot secrecy and some restricted zone surround the
voting area. Id. at 207-08. The Court held that “some

33a

restricted zone around the voting area is necessary to
secure the state’s compelling interest.” Jd. at 208.
(emphasis in original).

The Court then discussed the “real question” of
“how large a restricted zone is permissible or
sufficiently tailored.” Jd. (emphasis in original). The
Court concluded that an empirical demonstration of
the objective effects of the statute on voting was
unnecessary (“Elections vary from year to year, and
place to place”), and that proof that the 100-foot
boundary was perfectly tailored to deal with the
State’s interests was not necessary so long as the
statute was reasonable and did not significantly
impinge on constitutionally protected rights. /d. at
209.2 The Court concluded that it did “not think that
the minor geographic limitation prescribed by [the
statute] constitute [d] such a _ significant
impingement. Thus, [it] simply d[id] not view the
question whether the 100-foot boundary line could be
somewhat tighter as a question of ‘constitutional
dimension.” Id. at 210. “The State of Tennessee has
decided that these last 15 seconds before its citizens
enter the polling place should be their own, as free
from interference as possible. We do not find that this
is an unconstitutional choice.” Jd.

> The Court noted that this “modified ‘burden of proof” applied
“only when the First Amendment right threatens to interfere
with the act of voting itself, i.e., cases involving voter confusion
from overcrowded ballots, like Munroe [v. Socialist Workers
Party, 479 U.S. 189 (1986)], or cases such as this one, in which
the challenged activity physically interferes with electors
attempting to cast their ballots.” Burson, 504 U.S. at 209 n. 11.

34a

Thus, under Burson, the state must show that
the statute is (1) necessary (2) to serve a compelling
state interest and (3) that it is narrowly drawn or
sufficiently tailored to achieve that end. As discussed
previously, there is no dispute that Florida Statute §
102.031 (4) (a)-(b) (2008) serves compelling state
interests. The difficulty in this case involves whether
the restricted area is “necessary” and narrowly drawn
in relation to plaintiffs’ specific activities. In the as-
applied context of this case, the Court finds that the
statutory restriction is neither necessary nor
narrowly drawn as applied to plaintiffs’ exit
petitioning activity.

Burson’s determination that a restricted area
around polling places could be necessary was based
upon an extensive review of historical experience
with political candidates, and their abuse and
attempted abuse of the electoral process. The
Tennessee statute at issue related directly to such
abuse, prohibiting the solicitation of “votes” (not
“voters” as in the Florida statute) and the display and
distribution of campaign materials. The ample
historical evidence clearly established the necessity
for such a restricted zone as to such conduct. In
contrast, Burson found no historical evidence that
solicitations by others or exit polling had been used to
commit comparable electoral abuses. 504 U.S. at 206.
The evidence submitted by the parties in this case
also fails to establish electoral abuses perpetrated by
other exit solicitors or exit polling. Therefore, at this
stage of the proceedings, there has not been a
sufficient showing that the restriction on exit
petitioning is necessary.

35a

In this case, the narrowly-drawn component of
strict scrutiny review relates not to the 100-foot
distance but to the types of activities precluded
within that zone. Exit polling, left undefined in the
Florida statute, is permitted, while other exit
solicitation, including the solicitation of signatures on
petitions, are prohibited. Even assuming that an exit
solicitation qualifies for the “modified burden of
proof” requirement of Burson because it is considered
an “activity [which] physically interferes with electors
attempting to cast their ballots,” Burson, 504 U.S.
209 n. 11, the statute must still be reasonable and
must not significantly impinge on constitutionally
protected rights. The record at this stage of the
proceedings does not satisfy these requirements as
they relate to plaintiffs’ proposed activities. Plaintiffs
propose to, in a peaceful, orderly and non-disruptive
manner, (1) solicit signatures (2) for a_ petition
required by statute to place an amendment of the
Fort Myers City Charter on a future ballot (3) from
voters at polling places and early voting sites (4) after
the voters have voted (5) during the August 26, 2008
election and its early voting period, during which the
subject matter of the petition is not related to any
matter upon which the voters are deciding. Under
these specific circumstances, the ban on soliciting
Signatures is not narrowly drawn or sufficiently
tailored to satisfy the First Amendment.

VI.

The remaining three requirements for a
preliminary injunction § require relatively less
discussion, and each will be briefly addressed in turn.

36a

A. Substantial Threat of Irreparable Injury if
Relief Denied:

Defendants assert that plaintiffs’ purported
injury can be simply quantified in terms of the
additional money, time and effort to be expended by
plaintiffs while pursuing the remaining signatures for
the Petition. (Doc. #11, pp. 18-19.) Defendants claim
that plaintiffs “could eliminate any purported harm
by expending the additional increment of time and
effort to collect sufficient signatures outside of the
protected zone, just as numerous other sponsors of
successful Florida initiative petitions (both local and
statewide) have done.”3

Plaintiffs assert that irreparable harm will
result in the absence of an injunction; namely, that no
amount of monetary damages would suffice to
compensate plaintiffs for “the lost opportunity to
circulate the [Petition at Lee County polling places
on the day of an election and at early voting sites,”
(Doc. #2, p. 22), and that “because of the ‘intangible
nature’ of the harm the chilling of speech inflicts, it
cannot be compensated for by money damages.” (/d.
(citing KH Outdoor, LLC v. Trussville, 458 F.3d 1261,

* Defendants claim that Elrod is inapplicable because Florida's
“No Approach Zone” “does not prevent speech altogether — it is a
‘minor geographic limitation’ that constitutes no ‘significant
impingement’ of First Amendment rights.” (Doc. #11, p. 19 n.15
(quoting Burson, 504 U.S. at 210).) The language that
defendants reference, however, refers to the Supreme Court's
discussion of the radius of the Burson statute’s protected zone
(whether a 100-foot zone is narrowly tailored), rather than the
Supreme Court's substantive discussion as to the protected
zone’s constitutionality overall.

37a

1272 (11th Cir. 2006).)

The Court finds that plaintiffs have shown that
they will suffer irreparable injury if a preliminary
injunction is denied because the loss of First
Amendment rights, even for a short period, causes
irreparable harm. “[I]t is well established [by the
Supreme Court] that ‘[t]he loss of First Amendment
freedoms, for even minimal periods of time,
unquestionably constitutes irreparable injury.” E.g.,
KH Outdoor, 458 F.3d at 1271-2 (quoting Elrod v.
Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 373 (1976)); Cate v. Oldham,
707 F.2d 1176, 1188 (11th Cir. 1983). “To the extent
that an infringement of First Amendment rights is
shown, some federal courts have held that irreparable
injury justifying preliminary injunctive relief is
presumed.” Cate, 707 F.2d at 1189 n. 10 (citation
omitted). “One reason for such stringent protection of
First Amendment rights certainly is the intangible
nature of the benefits flowing from the exercise of
those rights; and the fear that, if these rights are not
jealously safeguarded, persons will be deterred, even
if imperceptibly, from exercising those rights in the
future.” Jd. at 1189 (citation omitted). Restricting
plaintiffs’ access to seek petition signatures will work
an irreparable harm on plaintiffs’ exercise of their
rights to petition the government for redress of
prievances.

B. Balancing Injury to Parties:

Plaintiffs assert that they would suffer
significantly greater harms under the statute's
restrictions than defendants would suffer should the
injunction be granted. Plaintiffs claim that polling
places provide the highest concentration of registered

38a

voters, who are precisely the signatories required
under Florida statute in order to place the Petition on
the ballot. (Doc. #2, p. 22.) Plaintiffs further argue
that “door-to-door canvassing and shoppingmall [sic]
solicitation are poor and impractical alternatives for
purposes of collecting large numbers of signatures for
registered voters,” and that the farther plaintiffs get
from the polling place exit, the less likely they are to
interact with a voter. (/d. (citing Committee for Sandy
Springs, Inc. v. Cleland, 708 F. Supp. 1289, 1291
(N.D. Ga. 1988); CBS, Inc., 681 F. Supp. 794, 799-800
(S .D. Fla. 1988)).

Defendants claim that plaintiffs’ injury is
“hardly substantial” and that on balance, the
imposition of a preliminary injunction would “not be a
measured response to [pjlaintiffs’ claims that their
signature gathering would be more efficient closer to
the polling place door.” (Doc. #11, p. 19.) As discussed
above, it is not clear from the record in this case that
the issuance of a preliminary injunction will
substantially harm defendants, or that denial of
plaintiffs’ requested relief is necessary to protect
defendants’ legitimate interests. Furthermore, as
plaintiffs indicate, “a number of readily available
means, short of an outright ban on solicitation, can be
employed to protect the integrity of the election
process.” (Doc. #2, p. 24 (quoting Florida Committee,
682 F. Supp. at 1543).) Thus, the Court finds that
plaintiffs have shown that they will suffer relatively
more harm from the denial of a _ preliminary
injunction than defendants would suffer should relief
be granted.

C. Public Interest:

Defendants assert, legitimately, that Florida
has an interest in “protecting voters from harassment
and intimidation at their polling places .. . [and in]
protect[ing] the orderly administration of elections
and the election process.” (Doc. #11, p. 20.)
Defendants further argue that the issuance of a
preliminary injunction runs counter to this public
interest. Defendants claim that “Florida’s interest in
maintaining a limited protected zone around polling
places is substantial,” and that plaintiffs’ “purported
needs cannot justify the invalidation of Florida’s
critical protected zone around polling places.” (Doc.
#11, p. 20.) Plaintiffs disagree, stating that “[b]ecause
freedom of speech is a cherished right in American
society, those activities that promote the exercise of
this fundamental right are clearly in the public
interest.” (Doc. #2, p. 24.)

The Court finds that the public interest would
be furthered by granting a preliminary injunction to
enjoin enforcement of the statute and to allow
plaintiffs’ requested form of exit petition circulation,
without unduly burdening the State’s interest in
preventing voter intimidation or erosion of integrity
in the electoral process. As in Florida Committee,
impeding plaintiffs from asking their fellow citizens
to join them in proposing an amendment defeats the
public interest in robust debate on public issues. 682
F. Supp. at 1543. See also, Clean-Up ‘84, 582 F. Supp.
at 127 (“All citizens have an interest in a robust
debate on public issues.”), Further, the Court agrees
with plaintiffs’ argument that “not only will a
preliminary injunction serve [p]laintiffs’ interest in

40a

exercising their rights, it will also serve the interests
of the citizens and registered voters of the City of Fort
Myers in receiving communications of the sort
proffered by [plaintiffs]. (Doc. #2, p. 25 (citing
University Books & Videos, Inc. v. Metropolitan Dade
County, 33 F. Supp. 2d 1364, 1374 n.1i (S.D. Fla.
1999).)

Accordingly, it is now
ORDERED:

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary Injunction
(Doc. #2) is GRANTED in part. A preliminary
injunction will issue separately.

DONE AND ORDERED at Fort Myers,
Florida, this 22nd day of August, 2008.

/s John E. Steele

JOHN E. STEELE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies: Counsel of record

Filed
2008 AUG 22 AM 11:15
U.S. DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
FORT MYERS, FLORIDA

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
FORT MYERS DIVISION

CITIZENS FOR POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY
POLITICAL COMMITTEE, and FLORIDA STATE
CONFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION FOR ADVANCEMENT OF
COLORED PEOPLE,

Plaintiffs,

Vs. Case No. 2:08-cv-635-FtM-29SPC

KURT S. BROWNING, in his capacity as Secretary of
State of the State of Florida, and SHARON L.
HARRINGTON, in her official capacity as Supervisor
of Elections, Lee County,

Defendants
|

PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

This matter came before the Court on
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Preliminary Injunction (Doc. #2)
filed on August 11, 2008. Plaintiffs sought to enjoin
enforcement of Florida Statute § 102.031(4) (a)-(b)
(2008) on the basis that it is facially unconstitutional
and unconstitutional as applied to plaintiffs’ petition

42a

circulation activities. The Court heard oral
arguments on August 21, 2008, and has entered an
Opinion and Order contemporaneously with this
Preliminary Injunction setting forth its findings. The
Court finds, as more fully set forth in that Opinion
and Order, which is incorporated herein, the
following:

1. Plaintiffs have established that they are
substantially likely to succeed on the merits of their
First Amendment claim as it relates to the as-applied
challenge to Florida Statute § 102.031(4) (a)-(b)
(2008);

2. Plaintiffs have established that there is a
substantial threat of irreparable injury absent the
granting of a preliminary injunction prohibiting
enforcement of Florida Statute § 102.031(4) (a)-(b)
(2008), as to plaintiffs exit petition activities at
polling places and early voting sites during the
August 26, 2008 election and its early voting period;

3. Plaintiffs have established that their injury
resulting from enforcement of Florida Statute §
102.031 (4) (a) - (b) (2008), as to plaintiffs exit
petition activities at polling places and early voting
sites, outweighs the potential injury to defendants if
the preliminary injunction is granted; and

4. Plaintiffs have established that an
injunction barring enforcement of Florida Statute §
102.031(4) (a)-(b) (2008) would not harm or do a
disservice to the public interest.

Accordingly, it is now
ORDERED:
43a

1. Defendants Kurt S. Browning, in his
capacity as Secretary of State of the State of Florida,
and Sharon L. Harrington, in her official capacity as
Supervisor of Elections, Lee County, Florida, and
their officers, agents, servants, employees, and
attorneys, whether acting alone or in concert with
others, are prohibited and enjoined from enforcing or
threatening to enforce Florida Statute § 102.031(4)
(a)-(b) (2008) as to Plaintiffs’ peaceful, orderly and
non-disruptive (1) solicitation of signatures (2) for
their petition to place an amendment of the Fort
Myers City Charter on a future ballot (3) from voters
at polling places and early voting sites (4) after the
voters have voted (5) during the August 26, 2008
election and its early voting period.

2. This preliminary injunction shall not in any
way restrain those persons, whose duty it is to police
the polling places and early voting sites, from the
performance of their duty to protect voters or
prospective voters from interference with the free
exercise of their right to vote; and

3. The Court finds that no surety bond need be
posted by plaintiffs.

DONE AND ORDERED at Fort Myers,
Florida, this 22nd day of August, 2008.

/s John E. Steele

JOHN E. STEELE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies: Counsel of record

44a

FILED
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
SEP 04 2009
THOMAS K. KAHN
CLERK

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No.08-15115-DD

CITIZENS FOR POLICE
ACCOUNTABILITY POLITICAL
COMMITTEE, FLORIDA STATE
CONFERENCE OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION FOR THE
ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED
PEOPLE,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,
versus

KURT S. BROWNING, in his capacity
as Secretary of State of the State of
Florida, SHARON L. HARRINGTON, in

her official capacity as Supervisor of
Elections, Lee County,

Defendants-Appellants.
4Sa

On Appeal from the United States District Court for
the Middle District of Florida

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND PETITION
FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Before: DUBINA, Chief Judge, EDMONDSON and
HILL, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:
The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no Judge

in regular active service on the Court having
requested that the Court be polled on rehearing en
banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure),
the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s J.L. Edmonson

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1505%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
