# Reply Brief — Hammer v. Ashcroft

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1169%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 559 U.S. 991

## Text

h Sunrsima Gor a, US.

F'icv t

No. 09-504

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

DAVID PAUL HAMMER,
Petitioner,

JOHN D. ASHCROFT, HARLEY G. LAPPIN,
KATHLEEN HAWK-SAWYER, and KEITH OLSON,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF

Jerold S. Solovy Barry Sullivan

Counsel of Record Cooney & Conway Chair in
John R. Storino Advocacy and Professor of Law
Chad E. Bell LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO
JENNER & BLOCK LLP 25 Kast Pearson Street
353 N. Clark Street Chicago, Illinois 60611
Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 915-7787

(312) 222-9350

Attorneys for Petationer

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EP eees TE PAGE re Be nk ohckidk cn aceneaece eee 1}

iy 8 EL aL By yo) SR nn Meme EMOMErEtTE Bec ce US iy Cay ono ]

I. The Divided, #n Banc Seventh Circuit’s
Decision Is Inconsistent With Prior
Decisions OF THe COU, sccicccicccaccactausncae 3

II. The Conflict Between The Decision Below
And Holdings Of Other Federal Appellate
Courts Te Sutetanitael ioiccséésivovcsseveccstentscueee 6

CAPITAN EY iciciiscccieai enim (esdeiintes maaan 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154 F.3d 128 (3d Cir.
cause sdcucocevacvessoss 7,8
Beard v. Banks, 548 U.S. 521 (2006)...................... 4
Kamberlin v. Quinlan, 199 F.3d 496 (D.C.
oe En Re oe aa
Overton v. Bazzetta, 5389 U.S. 126 (20038) .............. 4
Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817 (1974) ...........8, 4,5
Quinn v. Nrx, 983 F.2d 115 (8th Cir. 1993)........ 7,8
Salahuddin v. Goord, 467 F.3d 263 (2d Cir.
ccc vavusevacesneveacnvsinns 7,8
Saxbe v. Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ............ passim
Walker v. Sumner, 917 F.2d 382 (9th Cir.
I cacccevcneccaqovees 7.8

INTRODUCTION

Contrary to Respondents’ assertions (Opp. 11-18),
the en banc majority decision does not faithfully
follow this Court’s prior decisions; it directly conflicts
with several of those decisions, most notably 7urner
v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987). The decision below also
conflicts with numerous decisions from other federal
appellate courts addressing inmate challenges to
unconstitutional prison restrictions.

On an issue of fundamental First Amendment
import, the court below. substituted judicial
abdication for deference. The court did not just
provide a means to “weed out baseless claims before
trial,” as Respondents assert (Opp. 22), but
effectively put all First Amendment violations in the
prison context beyond redress.

Here, Mr. Hammer, a pro se plaintiff who was
prevented from taking any discovery, nonetheless
offered substantial evidence concerning Respondents’
real reasons for the ban, including Attorney General
Ashcroft’s own explanation, made just four days
before the adoption of THA-1480.05A:

J want to restrict a mass murderer’s access to
the public podium. ... I do not want anyone
to be able to purchase access to the podium of
America with the blood of 168 innocent
victims. ... I’m concerned about irresponsible
glamorization of a culture of violence, and that
concern has shaped our approach to these
issues profoundly.

2

he

(App. 90a, 97a). Neither this Court nor any other
federal appellate court has previously countenanced
ignoring such contemporaneous’ statements of
administrative reasons -— the hallmark of
administrative justice in a democratic society. Nor
has any prior decision held that First Amendment
rights are adequately protected whenever prison
officials —~ or a reviewing court — can “imagine” a
possible justification for their curtailment after the
fact. Indeed, such an approach is inconsistent with
Turners first factor, which requires that the
“governmental objective” served by such a restriction
“must be a legitimate and neutral one.” Turner, 482
at 90. Clearly, such a “legitimate and neutral”
objective must be _ rooted in reality, not in
imagination.

Respondents concede that the decision below
undertakes no Turner analysis (Opp. 13-18) and
directly conflicts with numerous federal appellate
decisions. (Opp. 11, 23). Respondents also expressly
admit “the possibility that 1n an unusual case a
prison official might misrepresent the penological
goal behind the challenged policy during ltigation.”
(Opp. 22). But Respondents do not explain why the
Court should ignore that reality and pretend that
First Amendment rights are well-protected by a form
of judicial review that takes no account of
contemporaneous reasons and puts its faith in
reasons that may be imagined by administrators or
courts after the fact. Instead, Respondents downplay
the Seventh Circuit majoritys abandonment of
Turner and its ratification of an exclusive and

permanent First Amendment restriction on male
death row inmates. Respondents state that the
decision below “does not conflict with any decision of
this Court,” but that is incorrect. Respondents do
not even claim that the decision below does not
conflict with other federal appellate decisions, but
simply assert that the “conflict with other courts of
appeals is overstated.” (Opp. 11). That assertion
also 1s incorrect.

The majority decision below seriously conflicts
with prior decisions of this Court and with the
decisions of other courts of appeals on an important
question of federal constitutional law and therefore
warrants review by this Court.

I. The Divided, En Banc Seventh Circuit’s Decision
Is Inconsistent With Prior Decisions Of This
Court.

Respondents concede (Opp. 13-14) that the
majority decision below did not apply “the four-factor
test announced in 7urner,” but contend that review
is not warranted because the decision below correctly
“appllied] this Court’s controlling precedent in Pe//
[v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817 (1974),] and [Saxbe v.]
Washington Post |Co., 417 U.S. 843 (1974)}.”

Respondents’ argument is incorrect. TJurner’s
four-factor analysis provides the controlling law for
evaluating prison restrictions that impinge on
constitutional rights; it is not simply an alternative
mode of analysis that federal courts can choose to

use or disregard at their own discretion. ‘This Court

has made that clear on numerous occasions. See,
e.g, Beard v. Banks, 548 U.S. 521, 528 (2006)
(Turner “containls] the basic substantive legal
standards governing’ an inmate’s challenge to
restriction on periodicals for recalcitrant prisoners);
Overton v. Bazzetta, 539 U.S. 126, 132 (2003)
(Turners four-factor test is proper method of
“deciding whether a prison regulation affecting a
constitutional right that survives’ incarceration
withstands constitutional challenge”).’

If Turner is to be relegated to the status of an
alternative method of analysis, that is a matter for
this Court to decide, not the Seventh Circuit or
Respondents.

Furthermore, as both Judge Rovner and Judge
Wood noted in dissent, nothing in Pel/or Washington
Post supports THA-1480.05A’s exclusive and total
ban on face-to-face press interviews with male death

row inmates. (App. 22a, 24a, 28a-29a).- While

l
As we have shown (Pet. 23-29), triable issues exist with

respect to each of the four 7urner factors. 482 U.S. at 89°91.

[t is undisputed that THA-1480.05A applies exclusively to
male death row inmates. (App. 35a, 105a). Respondents argue
that the gender-based differential treatment issue “was never

raised helow at any stage of this litigation and thus is not
properly before the court.” (Opp. 14). In fact, Mr. Hammer has
consistently argued that the ban violates his right to equal
protection (see 7th Cir. J.A. at 26°40), and Mr. Himmelfarb, one
of Respondents’ attorneys, was specifically asked about the
gender-based differential treatment under THA-1480.05A
during the Seventh Circuit en banc argument

Respondents correctly note that this Court “explicitly
endorsed the ‘jailhouse-celebrity’ rationale” in FPe/l/
and Washington Post (Opp.12), there was no dispute
in those cases (unhke here) as to the actual reasons
for the prison officials’ actions. VPel/, 417 at 827, 830
(noting “the absence of substantial evidence in the
record to indicate that the officials have exaggerated
their response to these [security] considerations” and
that “this regulation is not part of an attempt by the
State to conceal the investigation and reporting of
[prison] conditions”); Washington Post, 417 U.S. at
848 (noting that restriction was “not part of any
attempt by the Federal Bureau of Prisons to conceal
from the public the conditions prevailing in federal
prisons” and that it was “motivated by the same
disciplinary and administrative considerations that
underlie” the policy in Pel).

Respondents also suggest that the decision below
as a matter of policy represents an improvement
upon Turner. According to Respondents, “prisoners
are resourceful ltigators who have little trouble
alleging evidence of malfeasance,” and the decision
below allows courts to “weed out baseless claims
before trial.” (Opp. 22). But the decision below

Question. “Do the same rules apply wherever th
women |federal death row inmates) are?”

Mr. Himmelftarb: “No, this 1s a special rule that only
applies to [the male death row inmates] in Terre
Haute.”

See http://www.ca7.uscourts.gov/tmp/V20I[L7RM.mp3 (ast

ited on Feb. 9, 2010)

6

precludes all such actions, not just those that are
“baseless.” Thus, Respondents’ “policy argument”
contradicts this Court’s holding in Vurner, which
required federal courts to “discharge their duty to
protect constitutional rights” of inmates when “a
prison regulation or practice offends a fundamental
constitutional guarantee.” Turner, 482 U.S. at 8&4.
Turner does not permit courts to accept post hoc or
“Imagined” security justifications in the face of direct
evidence of an unconstitutional purpose. The
Seventh Circuit disregarded its obligations under
Turner by ignoring Mr. Hammer's evidentiary
showing that THA-1480.05A was adopted for an
unconstitutional, content-based purpose. (App. 90a,
97a).

II. The Conflict Between The Decision Below And
Holdings Of Other Federal Appellate Courts Is
Substantial.

Respondents further contend that the conflict
between the Seventh Circuit's decision and decisions
of other federal appellate courts is “overstated” (Opp.
11). This argument is disingenuous. As we have
previously noted (Pet. 17-23), the Seventh Circuit
held that prison officials do not need to be pursuing a
legitimate penological interest when they adopt their
policy, so long as a “rational basis for [the policy]
could be imagined. ... It is not clear why one bad
motive would spoil a rule that is adequately

supported by good reasons.” (App. 5a, 10a)

~

This holding conflicts with the holdings in
Salahuddin v. Goord, 467 F.3d 263 (2d Cir. 2006),
Abu-Jamal v. Price, 154 F.3d 128 (38d Cir. 1998),
Quinn v. Nix, 983 F.2d 115 (8th Cir. 1993), and
Walker v. Sumner, 917 F.2d 382 (9th Cir. 1990). In
each of those cases, other courts of appeals made
clear that Vurner requires real, not imagined,
penological interests. Salahuddin, 467 F.3d at 277
(“[Tlhe Supreme Court requires the government to
close the circle prison officials must have been
pursuing the interest in inmate safety when”
adopting a restriction, in order to “ensurel | that
prison officials actually had, not just could have had,
a legitimate reason for burdening protected
activity”); Abu-Jamal, 154 F.3d at 134 (“[Lt is likely
that Jamal can demonstrate that the Department's
enforcement of the business and profession rule
against him was motivated, at least in part, by the
content of his articles and mounting public pressure
to do something about them, and hence, the actions
were not content neutral as required by Vurner’),
Quinn, 983 F.2d at 118-19 (“[P]rison officials in this
case were not motivated by the legitimate interests
they assert” because “the officials’ proffered
justification for their actions was_ pretextual”):
Walker, 917 F.2d at 385-87 (summary judgment for
prison officials was inappropriate where it was
unclear that “the interest proffered is the reason why
the regulation was adopted or entorced”). Or, as the
District of Columbia Circuit has noted, “even if
[prison officials! provide an objectively valid reason
for their actions . the District Court must still

Inquire into whether there is a disputed tssue of fact

.

as to whether [the prison officials] were actually
motivated by an illegitimate purpose.” Aumberl/in v.
Quinlan, 199 F.3d 496, 503 (D.C. Cir. 1999).

The Seventh Circuit’s decision would allow prison
officials to preclude all inquiry into whether a prison
Kirst Amendment restriction was adopted for a
“legitimate penological purpose” either by
providing a post-hoc, litigation affidavit, or because
such a purpose could be “imagined.” (App. 5a, 10a).
Neither Salahuddin, Abu-Jamal, Quinn, Walker, nor
Kimberlin authorizes the granting of summary
judgment for prison officials when a prisoner is able
to offer evidence showing that the proffered post-hoc
penological interest was pretextual; to the contrary,
those cases hold that prison officials must have been
motivated by a legitimate purpose at the time they
adopted a restriction. Sa/ahuddin, 467 F.3d at 277;
Abu-Jamal, 154 F.3d at 134; Quinn, 983 F.2d at 118-
19; Walker, 917 F.2d at 385-87; Aimberlin, 199 F.3d

at 503.

9
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
grranted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jerold S. Solovy Barry Sullivan

Counsel of Record Cooney & Conway Chair in Advocacy
John R. Storino and Professor of Law
Chad E. Bell LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO
JENNER & BLOCK LLP 25 Kast Pearson Street
353 N. Clark Street Chicago, Illinois 60611
Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 915-7787

(312) 222-9350
Attorneys for Petitioner

February 9, 2010

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1169%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
