# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Miller v. United States (No. 09-467)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1136%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

Supremes Court, U.S.
FILED

09-467 0CT13$ 2009

In The OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Anited States

TERRY MICHAEL MILLER,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RYAN P. BATES

YETTER, WARDEN & COLEMAN, L.1..P
221 West Sixth Street, Suite 750
Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 533-0150

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALI. COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Jackson v. Virginia held that evidence supporting
a criminal conviction is constitutionally sufficient
only if a rational factfinder could find every essential
element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.
When reviewing claims of insufficient evidence for
plain error, the en banc Tenth Circuit and five other
courts of appeals apply Federal Rule of Criminal
Procedure 52(b) in an analysis that is functionally
equivalent to de novo review under Jackson. In
contrast, the Fifth Circuit interprets Rule 52(b) to
require a more stringent “manifest miscarriage of
justice” standard that assesses unpreserved insuffi-
ciency claims only to determine if the record was
“devoid of evidence pointing to guilt”; four other
circuit courts have adopted that same standard. The
question presented is:

Whether the Fifth Circuit, in conflict with six
other courts of appeals, incorrectly defines the scope
of review under Rule 52(b) by employing a standard
under which an unpreserved challenge to the suffi-
ciency of the evidence supporting a criminal convic-
tion can succeed only if the record is entirely devoid of
evidence pointing to guilt.

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The petitioner is Terry Michael Miller, the
defendant and defendant-appellant in the courts
below. The respondent is the United States of
America.

Counsel of record for the petitioner is not a
member of the Bar of this Court but was appointed to
represent the petitioner on appeal pursuant to the
Criminal Justice Act of 1964, 18 U.S.C. §3006A(b).
App. 34; see Sup. Ct. Rule 9.1.

11]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
WP OCIOT PUOUOTEOG oninsccssscsixedtinivexiacnnnes i
Partios to the ProcOedinigs . ..i...isisssiiscesierescesscesesss il
RAO CE PMR vikikckcedssvincnasdiccsiseseneas Vv
Opinion and Judgment Below .........................2005
Statement of Jurisdiction ...............ccceecsceceeneeeeeees 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions and Rule
ITI sis issicccdsinnaccicnrsenca inne vaenaa te eee ae

Reasons for Granting the Petition.......................

:.

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT TO
RESOLVE THE CIRCUITS’ DEEP SPLIT OVER
THE STANDARD FOR REVIEWING EVIDEN-
TIARY INSUFFICIENCY CLAIMS IN THE AB-
SENCE OF A RULE 29 MOTION’ FOR
Fe, gg | RP eR peat Sar eR are va eee

A. The Existence of Jackson Error Is Vir-
tually Determinative in a Proper Plain-
Error Analysis Under Rule 52(b)..........

B. The Circuits Are Starkly and Stead-
fastly Divided over the Proper Stan-
dard for Analyzing Plain-Error Suffi-
CU Gr iio se sae ov ceenscnsiemieiess

C. The Minority Devoid-of-Evidence Stan-
dard Concocts an Improper Exception
to Olano’s Consistent Rule, Unjustifi-
ably Imposes a Burden That Is Vir-
tually Impossible to Satisfy, and Has
Widespread Practical Consequences ....

ho

‘e>)

12

16

TABLE OF CONTENTS — CONTINUED

Page

D. The Fifth Circuit’s Application of the
Devoid-of-Evidence Standard Precluded
the Proper Assessment of Miller’s Plain-
Error Sufficiency Claim ....................se08 24

iS een. T2770 nt a ke , 26

APPENDIX TO THE PETITION
July 21, 2009 Judgment of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit .................... ee App. l
July 21, 2009 Opinion of the Court of Appeals
TO CIN Fre I ois ossiss cine cosscecnencivesdscavosrcnes App. 3

April 8, 2008 Judgment of the United States
District Court for the Western District of

I ara cesetcarssdnceaaruadeets cearaxtserisarearal App. 11
2 ag CF ong | 5 4 SERRE URS BERNE eens oraNEnR NT or App. 24
May 1, 2007 Superseding Indictment............... App. 25
PORIOPY FF, DIOS VOTE oicisceccseiscccesensnvensdesssnns App. 29
April 17, 2008 Notice of Appeal......................... App. 30

Selected Docket Entries for United States v.
Miller, No. A-06-CR-125-LY, in the United
States District Court for the Western District
Or I recess areas eran nie App. 32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Bank of Nova Scotia v. United States, 487 U.S.
Eg) re Teague nara ten si duad ca eceseaeeeticiaetas 16
Corbin v. United States, 253 F.2d 646 (CA10
| A eae FASE AE a, RO OE Tee RE IER Oe TT ROPE 16
Cosby v. Jones, 682 F.2d 1373 (CA11 1982)......... 19, 21
Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552 (1941).......000000.0... 19
In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) ............cccscesceees 9,18
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979)........... passim
Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184 (1964).....0..00 ee. 22
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) .....0.00 000. e eee. a 6
Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461 (1997) ....5, 6, 9, 16
Ladner v. United States, 358 U.S. 169 (1958).............. 3
Penn R. Co. v. Chamberlain, 288 U.S. 333
i): RRO ee EE veo SEO NT Rr PIES VEER I oie: HOPE 19
Puckett v. United States, 129 S.Ct. 1423 (2009)........ 16
Thompson v. City of Louisville, 362 U.S. 199
| SAREE AE a ee eer Aen omen P RR NEE NE SAM tethet gr Mee reat o 17
United States v. Abdullah, 162 F.3d 897 (CA6
2 Rea RENESAS SOO AEC OS So ERD en Ne SPAN Sehr dee 15
United States v. Adams, 91 F.3d 114 (CAI1I1
I Se a kg eof Se, en ee ee 15
United States v. Allen, 127 F.3d 260 (CA2 1997)....... 12

United States v. Anderson, 89 F.3d 1306 (CA6

WF J COPE EEE EEE HEHEHE HSH HEHEHE HEHEHE EEE HEHEHE ESHER HEHEHE HEHEHE HHO EEO HEHE

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page
United States v. Anderson, 570 F.3d 1025 (CA8
Re er rf tao a seuaupasdbeiasnuneani ecees eee
United States v. Atkinson, 297 U.S. 157 (1936)........... 8
United States v. Berrios-Centeno, 250 F.3d 294
a rel eg susan oneubcacenvunhs 24
United States v. Bichsel, 156 F.3d 1148 (CA11
TT OAD See Se Ae oe eee 15
United States v. Bowie, 892 F.2d 1494 (CA10
ade REE er Pen LEE oD SRE SESS 15, 16
United States v. Brown, 352 F.3d 654 (CA2
a ED RP ROR PN Ae PLO RR RE eA 7,8
United States v. Carranza, 289 F.3d 634 (CA9
cg ie a Ree Cc To en 14
United States v. Caseer, 399 F.3d 828 (CA6
| Re ee es Nee een ne Se 19, 21
United States v. Cedelle, 89 F.3d 181 (CA4
AOE ERR RRC a See NS TSE SOE Nee a en Oe 9,10
United States v. Cotton, 535 U.S. 625 (2002).............. 9
United States v. Cruz, 554 F.3d 840 (CA9
al NESE TPO, Rp a manta en A et EO 8,10
United States v. Delay, 440 F.2d 566 (CA7
ee are ee 19, 21
United States v. Delgado, 357 F.8d 1061 (CA9
reer rer eee) Game tb FeRAM Ve OLS il SG oe 14

United States v. Feola, 420 U.S. 671 (1975)............... 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page
United States v. Franklin-El, 555 F.3d 1115
(CA10 2009)........ re 10, 14
United States v. Gallant, 537 F.3d 1202 (CA10
Ra RNR eh patie ares tn open pia nea EPO Iabee SUNN SMH? 11,14
United States v. Gaydos, 108 F.3d 505 (CA3
RE to SD are Baa ee ee eo, 10
United States v. Glenn, 312 F.3d 58 (CA2 2002)........ 19
United States v. Goode, 483 F.3d 676 (CA10
SES ER Ree ae MEMES Spite PT NRA RE SAN Se ale FSR Oe 12
United States v. Green, 293 F.3d 886 (CA5
| ERAN en eer ae an OAT TR Re RIN AD 15, 21
United States v. Green, 296 Fed. Appx. 337
RO NY soo geese cat eee ae ec 13
United States v. Irby, 558 F.3d 651 (CA7 2009) ....15, 21
United States v. Ivory, 468 F.2d 613 (CA5 1972)....... 16
United States v. Jones, 418 F.2d 818 (CA8 1969)........ 19
United States v. Londondio, 420 F.3d 777 (CA8
ate ne erg a 14
United States v. Maxwell, 285 F.3d 336 (CA4
RE aren a EE SID Arey Pane erT ane ONTO 7, 21
United States v. Mornan, 413 F.3d 372 (CA3
- Rg eee aE ERE PED a TE ENDS OY, RAGE NE. Ree OeH ET 12
United States v. Neal, 101 F.3d 993 (CA4 1996).......... 7
United States v. Olano, 507 U.S. 725 (1993)...... passim

United States v. Ortega Reyna, 148 F.3d 540
(CAB 1998)... .cccccceececeeee AREA Ore td le 20, 21

Vlll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page
United States v. Qunbar, Nos. 07-3516-cr, 08-
2802-cr, O07-3537-cr, O08-2506-cr, 2009 WL
1874330 (CAS Suly 1, BOOB) vvccccscscerccescccsecsccescctensoes 12
United States v. Reveles, 190 F.3d 678 (CA5
BIE vscacenackecsackavevcsinsicsasecnaie teense eee 19, 25
United States v. Rock, 370 F.3d 712 (CA7 2004)........ 21

United States v. Ruiz, 860 F.2d 615 (CA5 1988)....16, 22
United States v. Schaefer, 501 F.3d 1197 (CA10

ETD vacceuandsxeceastevecaseoiauacsasedeeaa eee 10, 14
United States v. Spinner, 152 F.3d 950 (CADC

OED onsvcsixcdceveconsccusecaducnvdecsiceceuu eee 15
United States v. Todosiyevic, 161 F.3d 479 (CA7

BEY ick cicesnccnsesacsaciesastninesnten eee eee 15
United States v. Vasquez, 560 F.3d 461 (CA6

ED bn ddvdccisnasnudsséodstsavecateabincsiianes cee L5
United States v. White, 1 F.3d 13 (CADC 1993)........... 8

United States v. Wolfe, 245 F.3d 257 (CA3 2001).......13

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
C5 Be: Cone ED gis ccccncccnnscscsnieseade ae eee 2

STATUTES
BEE EF ads WE EO vice vcubadecccuacseavchsncecaeueeeaaeeen eee 2, 24
5B U7... WMD onsen eisdacsenne ee eee il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- CONTINUED

Nee ns cs secs nceecevececencccceccseooe l
28 U.S.C. $1254(1).............. —_ : cues l
RULES

Fed. Rule App. Proc. 4(b)(1) ...................
Fed. Rule Crim. Proc. 52(b)...................s0ssc00e000- DQSSIMN

sup. Ct. Rule 9.1.......... Nr dcaenascscssenes Nexdeduteeans li

Petitioner Terry Michael Miller respectfully asks
the Court to issue a writ of certiorari to review the
final judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit. This case provides the Court the
opportunity to explain the proper standard for plain-
error review of sufficiency-of-the-evidence challenges
and to settle an issue over which the circuits are in
substantial, irreconcilable conflict.

OPINION AND JUDGMENT BELOW

The district court did not publish an opinion in
this case. Its final judgment is reprinted in the
Appendix at App. 11-24.' The court of appeals’s per
curtam opinion affirming the conviction is reported at
576 F.3d 528 and reprinted at App. 3-11.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The district court had jurisdiction under 18
U.S.C. §3231. Final judgment was entered on April 8,
2008, and a notice of appeal was timely filed on April
17, 2008. See App. 11-23; App. 30-31; Fed. Rule App.
Proc. 4(b)(1). On July 21, 2009, the court of appeals
issued a judgment affirming Miller’s conviction, va-
cating his sentence, and remanding for resentencing;
Miller did not file a motion for rehearing. This Court
has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

' Citations in the form “App ” are to the petition appen-
dix. Citations in the form “ Supp. R. __” are to the multi-
volume suppicmental record on appeal in the Fifth Circuit

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS AND RULE INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Con
stitution provides in relevant part: “No person shall
... be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without
due process of law... .”

The text of 18 U.S.C. §111 is lengthy and is re-
printed at App. 24.

Rule 52(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure provides: “A plain error that affects sub-
stantial rights may be considered even though it was
not brought to the court’s attention.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Terry Miller was convicted on two counts of
assaulting a federal officer with a dangerous weapon
in violation of 18 U.S.C. §111(a) and (b). His convictions
stemmed from a 2006 incident in which Miller
attempted to flee agents of a joint federal-state task
force when they sought to arrest him on a parole-
violation warrant while he sat in an idling truck in
the driveway of his grandson’s house. Two agents
were on the far side of cars they had parked partway
across the driveway entrance when Muller drove
between the cars. 9 Supp. R. 176-177, 226, 243-248.
Though neither agent was in Miller’s path when he
began driving away, both feared the truck would hit
them and jumped away from its path. 9 Supp. R. 184,
251-252. Neither agent was hit. Jbid. And before
Milier had even reached the driveway entrance where

the two agents had parked their cars, Miller was shot
in the face by other agents. 10 Supp. R. 442-443, 482.
He then lost control of the truck, crashed, and was
arrested. lbid.

At trial, Miller’s primary defense was that he
lacked the intent to assault the agents, an essential
element of the offense. 10 Supp. R. 533-535. Miller
testified that he intended only to escape, that he
never intended to hurt anyone, and that he never
even saw the agent he came closest to hitting. 10
Supp. R. 477-478, 484-485. The defense also at-
tempted to negate the voluntariness of Miller’s
actions by demonstrating Miller lacked the capacity
to control the vehicle after being shot in the face. 9
Supp. R. 305-306, 392; 10 Supp. R. 477. Miller’s
counsel moved for a judgment of acquittal at the close
of the government’s evidence but failed to renew the
motion at the close of all the evidence, thereby failing
to preserve the issue of evidentiary sufficiency for
appeal. The jury convicted on both counts.

On appeal, Miller challenged both his convictions
and his sentence. The Fifth Circuit, in a per curiam
opinion, recognized that the district court had plainly
erred in convicting Miller on the two multiplicitous
counts under §111, see Ladner v. United States, 358
U.S. 169 (1958), and vacated Miller’s sentence. App.
9-10. However, the court of appeals upheld Miller’s
convictions against his unpreserved sufficiency-of-
the-evidence challenge, holding the record was not
“devoid of evidence pointing to guilt” on the specific
issue of Miller’s intent to assault and so finding no

“manifest miscarriage of justice.” App. 6.

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Fifth Circuit and four sister circuits have
contrived an incorrect standard of review for unpre-
served evidentiary insufficiency claims that improp-
erly narrows the plain-error standard of Federal Rule of
Criminal Procedure 52(b). Under the settled practice
of six other circuits, a court reviewing a forfeited
sufficiency challenge for plain error first determines
whether the alleged insufficiency would prevent a
rational factfinder from finding every essential ele-
ment of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt under
the test of Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979). If
so, the court then assesses whether that error is
plain, affects the defendant’s substantial rights, and
seriously affects the fairness, integrity, or public
reputation of judicial proceedings—conditions that
are typically satisfied once Jackson’s demanding
standard is met. But that is not what the Fifth
Circuit did.

Instead, under the harsher “manifest miscarriage
of justice” interpretation of Rule 52(b) long-settled in
the Fifth Circuit and applied in this case, when
sufficiency is not properly preserved, a conviction will
not be reversed for insufficient evidence unless “the
record is devoid of evidence pointing to guilt.” App. 5-
6 (internal quotation marks omitted). This standard
ignores or, at best, seriously misunderstands the
framework for addressing errors under Rule 52(b)
regularized by this Court in United States v. Olano,
507 U.S. 725 (1993), and it distorts Jackson beyond
recognition. The Fifth Circuit is not alone in its error;
four other courts of appeals apply the “devoid of

5

evidence” standard to forfeited sufficiency claims.
This deep and entrenched split among the circuits
over the proper standard of review has created
confusion, disarray, and arbitrary differences in the
treatment of appeals that only this Court’s
intervention can correct.

This case illustrates how the improper heightened
standard effectively forecloses consideration of even
those claims that would otherwise likely merit relief
under a proper application of plain-error review.
Accordingly, the case provides an ideal opportunity to
explain the appropriate standard for plain-error
analysis of insufficiency claims and dispel the con-
fusion and inconsistency plaguing the courts of
appeals.

[.. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT TO
RESOLVE THE CIRCUITS’ DEEP SPLIT OVER THE
STANDARD FOR REVIEWING EVIDENTIARY INSUF-
FICIENCY CLAIMS IN THE ABSENCE OF A RULE 29
MOTION FOR ACQUITTAL.

Plain error warranting correction through an
appellate court’s discretionary exercise of its au-
thority under Rule 52(b) “must be (1) error, (2) that is
plain, and (3) that affects substantial rights.” John-
son v. United States, 520 U.S. 461, 467 (1997)
(quoting Olano, 507 U.S., at 732; internal quotation
marks, alteration omitted). “If all three conditions are
met, an appellate court may then exercise its
discretion to notice a forfeited error, but only if (4) the
error ‘seriously affects the fairness, integrity, or

6

public reputation of judicial proceedings.’” Jbid.
(quoting Olano, 507 U.S., at 732; alteration omitted).

But the Fifth Circuit applied a very different—
and even more stringent—standard of review that
did not even purport to be for plain error and that
fundamentally misunderstands how this Court’s Rule
52(b) framework should be put into effect. That
standard, which is the subject of a deep circuit split,
cannot be squared with a proper evaluation of Olano’s
four-pronged plain-error analysis, and the application
of the improper standard in this case likely affected
the outcome on appeal.

A. The Existence of Jackson Error Is
Virtually Determinative in a Proper
Plain-Error Analysis Under Rule 52(b).

The Fifth Circuit’s misinterpretation of Rule
52(b) errs in its effort to put flesh on the bones of the
abstract analysis described in Olano. Conviction
based on constitutionally insufficient evidence satis-
fies, without more, all four prongs of the Rule 52(b)
framework in almost every instance. Accordingly, the
proper analysis of forfeited insufficiency claims on
plain-error review is functionally indistinguishable
from a de novo review of such claims under Jackson.

* “Waiver is different from forfeiture. Whereas forfeiture is
the failure to make the timely assertion of a right, waiver is the
‘intentional relinquishment or abandonment of a known right.’
... Mere forfeiture, as opposed to waiver, does not extinguish an
‘error under Rule 52(b).” Olano, 507 U.S., at 733 (quoting
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938)).

7

The first step of Olano’s plain-error analysis is
satisfied by a defendant’s demonstration that the
evidence presented at trial was insufficient to permit
a reasonable factfinder to find every essential
element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt, in
violation of Jackson. See 443 U.S., at 318-319. This
comports precisely with the familiar definition of
legal error: “If a legal rule was violated during the
district court proceedings, and if the defendant did
not waive the rule, then there has been an ‘error’
within the meaning of Rule 52(b) despite the absence
of a timely objection.” Olano, 507 U.S., at 733-734.
Simply put, a Jackson error is an “error” within the
meaning of Olano’s first prong.

Evidentiary insufficiency that violates Jackson’s
constitutional due process requirement also satisfies
the second prong of the plain-error analysis. That an
error is “plain” means that the error is “clear or,
equivalently, obvious” “under current law.” Olano,
507 U.S., at 734 (internal quotation marks omitted).
In turn, “an error is clear or equivalently obvious if
‘the settled law of the Supreme Court or thle] circuit
establishes that an error has occurred.” United
States v. Maxwell, 285 F.3d 336, 342 (CA4 2002)
(quoting United States v. Neal, 101 F.3d 9938, 998
(CA4 1996)). Moreover, “it is not always necessary for
the party alleging plain error to cite a circuit or

Supreme Court precedent precisely on point... . [T]he
‘plainness’ of the error can depend on well-settled
legal principles as much as well-settled legal pre-
cedents.” United States v. Brown, 352 F.3d 654, 664

8

(CA2 2003). A violation of the constitutional standard
set out by this Court in Jackson, assuming such an
error can be shown, is “clear” and “obvious” in this
sense and certainly meets the second plain-error
qualification.

Rule 52(b)’s third requirement, that the error
must “affec[t] substantial rights,” requires a demon-
stration that the error was prejudicial, that is, that it
“affected the outcome of the district court proceed-
ings.” Olano, 507 U.S., at 734 (alteration in original).
Conviction upon insufficient evidence in violation of
Jackson is necessarily prejudicial in this sense: by
definition, absent the error, conviction would not
have been possible. See United States v. Cruz, 554
F.3d 840, 845 (CA9 2009) (“When a conviction is
predicated on insufficient evidence, the last two
prongs of the Olano test will necessarily be satis-
fied[.]”); United States v. White, 1 F.3d 13, 17 (CADC
1993) (meeting the Jackson standard even on de novo
review “requires, by definition, that the error prej-
udice[s] substantial nghts”).

Finally, Olano instructs that the “Court[s] of
Appeals should correct a plain forfeited error af-
fecting substantial rights if the error ‘seriously
affect[s] the fairness, integrity or public reputation of
judicial proceedings.’” 507 U.S., at 736 (quoting
United States v. Atkinson, 297 U.S. 157, 160 (1936);
second alteration in original). “Central to this inquiry
is a determination of whether, based on the record in
its entirety, the proceedings against the accused
resulted in a fair and reliable determination of guilt.”

9

United States v. Cedelle, 89 F.3d 181, 186 (CA4 1996);
cf. United States v. Cotton, 535 U.S. 625, 633 (2002)
(noting that “overwhelming and essentially uncontro-
verted” evidence supporting the challenged finding
provides “no basis for concluding that the error
seriously affected the fairness, integrity or public
réputation of judicial proceedings” (quoting Johnson,
520 U.S., at 470; alteration omitted)).

This Court’s many pronouncements about the
critical importance and fundamental nature of the
reasonable-doubt standard highlight just how seri-
ously a conviction based on constitutionally insuf-
ficient evidence damages the fairness, integrity, and
public reputation of the proceedings. Indeed, “[t]Jhe
question whether a defendant has been convicted
upon inadequate evidence is central to the basic
question of guilt or innocence.” Jackson, 443 U.S., at
323 (emphasis added). As the Court stated in Jn re
Winship,

‘(U]se of the reasonable-doubt standard is
indispensable to command the respect and
confidence of the community in applications
of the criminal law. It is critical that the
moral force of the criminal law not be diluted
by a standard of proof that leaves people in
doubt whether innocent men are _ being
condemned.” 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970).

If the evidence fails to prove an essential element
beyond a reasonable doubt, there is virtually no
possibility that the error could be harmless or could

otherwise ha tannaron untharit seriously Aamamna tha
Vubavns, HHADG NY Spy tsV eR VA FU AAA EY NEALE Y SAKA LLG, wesw

10

fairness and integrity of the judicial system. Rather,
as has long been recognized, a conviction supported
by constitutionally insufficient evidence cannot be
said to have “resulted in a fair and reliable deter-
mination of guilt.” Cedelle, 89 F.3d, at 186; see
Jackson, 443 U.S., at 323.

Accordingly, the’ courts of appeals have repeat-
edly held that an uncorrected Jackson error “serious-
ly affects the fairness, integrity or public reputation
of judicial proceedings” and that a demonstration that
the evidence is constitutionally insufficient to support
a conviction will, barring exceptional circumstances,
satisfy the fourth prong of the Rule 52(b) analytic
framework. E.g., United States v. Franklin-El, 555
F.3d 1115, 1124 (CA10 2009) (“[FJailure to mandate
reversal of a conviction resting on insufficient evi-
dence in this case would seriously affect the fairness,
integrity or public reputation of judicial proceedings.”
(internal quotation marks omitted)); Cruz, 554 F.3d,
at 845 (“[T]he ‘fairness’ and ‘integrity’ of the courts ]
are seriously affected when someone is sent to jail for
a crime that, as a matter of law, he did not com-
mit....”); United States v. Schaefer, 501 F.3d 1197,
1207 (CA10 2007) (“{I]t will be the extraordinarily
rare case where error that is predicated upon the
insufficiency of the evidence will not adversely affect
a defendant’s substantial rights and seriously affect
the fairness, integrity, or public reputation of judicial
proceedings.”); United States v. Gaydos, 108 F.3d
505, 509 (CA3 1997) (“[A]ffirming a conviction where
the government has failed to prove each essential

1]

element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt
‘affect[s] substantial rights,’ and seriously impugns
‘the fairness, integrity and public reputation of ju-
dicial proceedings.” (quoting Olano, 507 U.S., at
732)); cf. Maxwell, 285 F.3d, at 342-343 (opining that
“no court of justice would require a man to serve...
undeserved years in prisorr when it knows that the
sentence is improper” in the course of holding that it
would be “fundamentally unfair” not to correct on
plain-error review a sentencing error that imposed
one additional year of supervised release).

Thus, for unpreserved claims of evidentiary
insufficiency, the de novo and plain-error modes of
appellate review are essentially indistinguishable.
See United States v. Gallant, 537 F.3d 1202, 1223
(CA10 2008) (“[P]lain error analysis in this context

. is essentially the same as our usual sufficiency-of-
the-evidence analysis.” (internal quotation marks
omitted)). In this specific and narrow context, the
four-prong plain-error test laid out in Olano
functionally collapses into a de novo application of
Jackson under the first prong, because the other
three prongs will be satisfied once error of this type is

successfully shown—because the settled nature of the
law makes conviction upon insufficient evidence a
clear and obvious error, because such a conviction
necessarily prejudices the defendant’s substantial
rights, and because the flaw exposed by such error so
severely undermines the fundamental fairness of the
judicial process. Indeed, as the en banc Tenth Circuit

12

stated, it should be a “noncontroversial proposition
that a conviction in the absence of sufficient evidence
of guilt is plainly an error, clearly prejudiced the
defendant, and almost always creates manifest
injustice.” United States v. Goode, 483 F.3d 676, 681,
n.1 (CA10 2007) (en banc in relevant part).

B. The Circuits Are Starkly and Stead-
fastly Divided over the Proper Standard
for Analyzing Plain-Error Sufficiency
Claims.

Six of the courts of appeals—a majority of the
circuits to address the question—have adopted a
standard for plain-error review of insufficiency claims
that follows this analysis. These courts, which
directly apply Jackson to determine whether there is
a plain error meriting correction, are:

¢ the Second Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Allen, 127 F.3d 260, 264-266 (CA2 1997)
(applying the Jackson standard despite
the defendant’s failure to press his suf-
ficiency challenge on appeal); United
States v. Qunbar, Nos. 07-3516-cr, 08-
2802-cr, 0O7-3537-cr, 08-2506-cr, 2009
WL 1874339, at *1 (CA2 July 1, 2009)
(unpublished) (same);

¢ the Third Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Mornan, 413 F.3d 372, 381-382 (CA3
2005) (“In conducting plain error review,
we ... must sustain a jury’s verdict if a

13

reasonable jury believing the govern-
ment’s evidence could find beyond a
reasonable doubt that the government
proved all the elements of the offenses.”
(internal quotation marks omitted));
United States v. Wolfe, 245 F.3d 257, 261
(CA3 2001) (“(T]he prosecution’s failure
to prove an essential element of the
offense constitutes plain error under
Rule 52(b).... We review the record in
the light most favorable to the pro-
secution to determine whether any
rational trier of fact could have found
proof of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt
based on the available evidence.”);

the Fourth Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Green, 296 Fed. Appx. 337, 338 (CA4
2008) (unpublished; per curiam) (on plain-
error review, a “jury’s verdict must be
upheld on appeal if there is substantial
evidence in the record to support it. In
determining whether the evidence in the
record is substantial, we view the evi-
dence in the light most favorable to the
Government and inquire whether there
is evidence that a reasonable finder of
fact could accept as adequate and
sufficient to support a conclusion of a

defendant’s guilt beyond a _ reasonable
doubt”);

the Eighth Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Anderson, 570 F.3d 1025, 1029-1030
(CA8 2009) (evidentiary insufficiency is

correctable plain error “only if, when

AACAALSA

14

viewing the evidence in the light most
favorable to the verdict, no reasonable
fact-finder could have found Anderson
guilty beyond a reasonable doubt”);
United States v. Londondio, 420 F.3d
777, 786 (CA8 2005) (same);

¢ the Ninth Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Delgado, 357 F.3d 1061, 1068 (CAQ9
2004) (“A [plain-error] challenge to the
sufficiency of the evidence requires this
court to determine if ‘after viewing the
evidence in the light most favorable to
the prosecution, any rational trier of fact
could have found the essential elements
of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.’”
(quoting United States v. Carranza, 289
F.3d 634, 641-642 (CA9 2002))); and

. the Tenth Circuit, e.g., Franklin-El, 555
F.3d, at 1123-1124 (reversing conviction
on forfeited sufficiency claim because
“the evidence is insufficient for a jury to
reasonably conclude beyond a reasonable
doubt that Defendant was trying to
obstruct justice”); Gallant, 537 F.3d, at
1223; Schaefer, 501 F.3d, at 1207.

In contrast to this majority consensus, four other
circuit courts agree with the Fifth Circuit’s erroneous
position that, to warrant relief on an unpreserved
insufficiency claim, a defendant must show not only
that no rational factfinder could have found the
essential elements of the crime beyond a reasonable
doubt, see Jackson, 443 U.S., at 318-319, but that the
record is entirely devoid of any evidence pointing

15

toward guilt. The courts of appeals employing this
minority standard are:

e the Fifth Circuit, e.g., United States v
Green, 293 F.3d 886, 895 (CA5 2002)
(quoted in the decision below, see App. 5,
n.2);

° the Sixth Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Vasquez, 560 F.3d 461, 469 (CA6 2009);
United States v. Abdullah, 162 F.3d 897,
903 (CA6 1998);

¢ the Seventh Circuit, e.g., United States
v. Irby, 558 F.3d 651, 653 (CA7 2009);
United States v. Todosijevic, 161 F.3d
479, 482 (CA7 1998);

¢ the Eleventh Circuit, e.g., United States
v. Bichsel, 156 F.3d 1148, 1150 (CA11
1998): United States v. Adams, 91 F.3d
114, 116 (CA11 1996); and

¢ the D.C. Circuit, e.g., United States v.
Spinner, 152 F.3d 950, 956 (CADC
1998).

These courts have erroneously adopted what is,
essentially, a super-plain-error standard that unjus-
tifiably goes well beyond the already significant
burdens Olano places on defendants.

This entrenched division between the courts
employing the majority interpretation of Rule 52(b)
and those adopting the erroneous minority view has
persisted for decades and needs no further develop-
ment in the courts of a

| 7
menanic ( omnpnare TInited States
_ . ‘ 4265 > *404 & * eee uA ay & het )

ryr
“Prres

L6

v. Bowie, 892 F.2d 1494, 1497 (CA10 1990) (the
appropriate Rule 52(b) standard is “essentially the
same as if there had been a timely motion for
acquittal” (citing Corbin v. United States, 253 F.2d
646, 648-649 (CA10 1958))), with Uniled Slates v.
Ruiz, 860 F.2d 615, 617 (CA5 1988) (“We are limited
to the determination of ‘whether there was a manifest
miscarriage of justice.’ Such a miscarriage would
exist only if the record is ‘devoid of evidence pointing
to guilt.’” (quoting United States v. Ivory, 468 F.2d
613, 614 (CA5 1972))).

C. The Minority Devoid-of-Evidence Stan-
dard Concocts an Improper Exception
to Olano’s Consistent Rule, Unjus-
tifiably Imposes a Burden That Is
Virtually Impossible to Satisfy, and
Has Widespread Practical Conse-
quences.

This Court has repeatedly admonished the courts
of appeals that “the creation of an unjustified ex
ception” to Rule 52(b) would be wholly inappropriate.
Puckett v. United States, 129 S.Ct. 14238, 1429 (2009);
accord Johnson, 520 U.S., at 466; see also Bank of
Nova Scotia v. United States, 487 U.S. 250, 255
(1988) (“[Flederal courts have no more discretion to
disregard the Rules mandate than they do to
disregard constitutional or statutory provisions.”)
The devoid-of-evidence standard represents just such
an “unjustified exception.” As employed by the Fifth

Circuit below, the standard is divorced from the

17

Olano framework for applying Rule 52(b) and
imposes a far heavier burden on defendants than the
one this Court has specified is allocated by that rule.

Rather than requiring defendants to demonstrate
a Jackson violation and analyzing the plain-error con-
sequences which properly flow from such a showing,
the devoid-of-evidence standard unjustifiably forces
defendants to make a far more stringent showing of
error. That standard is indistinguishable from the
one propounded in Jhompson v. City of Louisville,
362 U.S. 199, 206 (1960) (“[Wle find no evidence
whatever in the record to support these convictions. .. .
[I]t [is] a violation of due process to convict and
punish a man without evidence of his guilt.”). But
Thompson’s articulation of the devoid-of-evidence
standard was the very standard for evaluating
insufficiency claims that Jackson specifically and
emphatically rejected as “simply inadequate to
protect against misapplications of the constitutional
standard of reasonable doubt.” 443 U.S., at 320. The
courts of appeals applying the devoid-of-evidence
standard provide no rationale for reestablishing
Thompson's deprecated rule rather than simply
applying Jackson and Olano.

And though a complete absence of proof of an
essential element in violation of Thompson would
almost certainly merit correction on _ plain-error
review, juSt as most Jackson errors will, the first
prong of Olano only requires defendants demonstrate
“error,” in the sense of an unwaived “deviation from a

legal rule.” 507 U.S., at 732-733. A demonstration of

18

Jackson error clears this hurdle. Olano imposes no
requirement of super-error or a demonstration that
the particular error alleged occurred in its most
egregious form. Thus, although a T7'hompson error is
certainly sufficient to warrant plain-error correction,
nothing in this Court’s plain-error jurisprudence even
suggests that a complete failure of proof of guilt
violating Thompson is necessary before a_ plain
Jackson error should be noticed and corrected.

Equally pernicious is the Fifth Circuit’s use of
plain error as an excuse to turn away from Jackson’s
injunction that “[t]he constitutional necessity of proof
beyond a reasonable doubt is not confined to those
defendants who are morally blameless.” 443 U.S., at
323. Though Jackson insists that “even a thief is
entitled to complain that he has been unconsti-
tutionally convicted and imprisoned as a burglar,” id.,
at 323-324, the Fifth Circuit and others applying the
devoid-of-evidence standard have determined instead,
without any explanation or doctrinal basis in this
Court’s decisions interpreting Rule 52(b), that the
thief should be deprived of that night should he fail to
fully observe the procedural niceties of appellate
issue preservation. That they do so as the automatic
consequence of a technical and procedural forfeiture
that, as in this case, may well not be ascribable to the
defendant himself, rather than to the error of his trial
counsel, serves merely to further undermine “the
moral force of the criminal law” and “the respect and
confidence of the community in [its] applications.”
Winship, 397 U.S., at 364.

19

In practice, the devoid-of-evidence standard is
virtually impossible for defendants to satisfy, closely
approximating the “rigid and undeviating judicially
declared practice” of “invariably and under all cir-
cumstances declin[ing] to consider” unpreserved
issues that this Court has long condemned as “out of
harmony with the rules of fundamental justice.”
Olano, 507 U.S., at 732 (quoting Hormel v. Helvering,
312 U.S. 552, 557 (1941)). Conversely, the standard
makes it disturbingly easy for an appeals court to
find grounds to dismiss even meritorious claims of
plain Jackson error and so, just as with Thompson’s
identical standard, “could lead to absurdly unjust
results.” Jackson, 443 U.S., at 320, n.14.

Take, for instance, a case in which two possible
inferences stand in equipoise, one pointing to guilt,
the other to innocence. Under such circumstances,
the courts of appeals have long held, “a reasonable
jury must necessarily entertain a reasonable doubt”
as a matter of law and Jackson requires reversal.
United States v. Glenn, 312 F.3d 58, 70 (CA2 2002)
(emphasis added); accord United States v. Caseer, 399
F.3d 828, 840 (CA6 2004); United States v. Reveles,
190 F.3d 678, 686 (CA5 1999); Cosby v. Jones, 682
F.2d 1373, 1383 (CA11 1982); United States v. Delay,
440 F.2d 566, 568 (CA7 1971); United States v. Jones,
418 F.2d 818, 826 (CA8 1969); see also Penn R. Co. v.
Chamberlain, 288 U.S. 333, 339-340 (1933) (“[W]here
proven facts give equal support to each of two
inconsistent inferences ... , neither of them being
established, judgment, as a matter of law, must go

20

against the party upon whom rests the necessity of
sustaining one of these inferences....”). The very
fact that some circumstantial evidence permits the
inference pointing to guilt to be drawn, however,
means that the devoid-of-evidence standard cannot be
met.

Such circumstances arose in United States v.
Ortega Reyna, 148 F.3d 540 (CA5 1998), in which the
defendant, a possibly unwitting drug mule, chal-
lenged the sufficiency of the evidence supporting his
drug-possession conviction. The Fifth Circuit was
faced with a situation in which “for every inference of
guilt that [could have been] drawn” from circum-
stantial evidence of the defendant’s knowledge of the
drugs hidden in his vehicle, “there was an equal and
benign inference to be drawn.” /d., at 545-547
(considering the defendant’s verbal and nonverbal
responses at a Border Patrol stop, his lack of luggage
and possession of $700 in cash, and the condition of
his vehicle, and finding equally likely innocent
explanations for each). On de novo review, the Fifth
Circuit reversed the conviction, holding that the
evidence of guilty knowledge was in equipoise,
“mak[ing] it incapable, as a matter of law, of serving
as the basis of a jury finding that Ortega’s possession
of illicit drugs was ‘knowing’ beyond a reasonable
doubt.” /d., at 545.

But the result in Ortega Reyna would necessarily
have been different under the Fifth Circuit’s devoid-
of-evidence standard had the case been presented on
plain-error review. The defendant’s lack of nervousness,
his hesitation and his downcast eyes, his lack of

21

luggage, and his possession of cash would each have
been independently sufficient to defeat plain-error
review under the _ devoid-of-evidence standard,
regardless of the relative weight of the countervailing
inferences that could equally well have been drawn,
because each would constitute at least a scintilla of
evidence of guilt. See id., at 545-547. The other
circuits adopting the devoid-of-evidence standard
would, in a similar case, likewise be forced to deny
plain-error relief on facts that on de novo review
would demand reversal. See Caseer, 399 F.3d, at 840;
Cosby, 682 F.2d, at 1383; Delay, 440 F.2d, at 568.

Clearly, the burden imposed by Rule 52(b) could
not have been intended to preclude the courts of
appeals from even considering affording relief in a
case in which, as a matter of law, the conviction
would have been required to be set aside on a de novo
review. Yet that is precisely the effect of the devoid-
of-evidence standard adopted by the Fifth Circuit in
this case. See Part I.D infra.

The clear differences between the devoid-of-
evidence standard and the Jackson standard (as me-
diated by the Rule 52(b) analytic framework) translate
into real-world effects that can have outcome-deter-
minative impact: the unjustifiable burden allocated to
defendants under the harsher minority standard
“significantly limits [an appellate court’s] review of
the case.” United States v. Rock, 370 F.3d 712, 714
(CA7 2004); accord Irby, 558 F.3d, at 653 (the devoid-
of-evidence standard is “even more stringent” than
Jackson); Green, 293 F.3d, at 895 (similar); see also

22

Ruiz, 860 F.2d, at 617 (“[T]his Court’s review is not
under the usual standard of review for claims of
insufficiency of evidence but rather under a much
stricter standard.”).

Jackson recognized and condemned this outcome-
determinative difference between its constitutional
standard and the devoid-of-evidence standard the
Fifth Circuit employed below. “‘{A] mere modicum of
evidence may satisfy a “no evidence” standard[.]’ ...
But it could not seriously be argued that such a
‘modicum’ of evidence could by itself rationally support
a conviction beyond a reasonable doubt.” Jackson, 443
U.S., at 320 (quoting Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184,
202 (1964) (Warren, C.J., dissenting)). The Court in
Jackson thus clearly acknowledged, as the Fifth
Circuit and other courts of appeals fail to, the
possibility of a nonzero quantum of proof of guilt that
is nonetheless insufficient to permit a rational
factfinder to determine guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt. And under the correct understanding of Rule
52(b), establishing that only that quantum of proof
was presented is sufficient to demonstrate plain error
warranting correction, even though a “modicum of
evidence” of guilt was present. See Part I.A. supra.

The importance of the issue of the proper
standard of review, and of the split among the
circuits in addressing it, is further highlighted by the
distressing frequency with which it arises. Even
though nothing more is required to preserve evi-
dentiary sufficiency for appellate review than a pro
forma Rule 29 motion for acquittal and its renewal at

23

the close of all evidence or after the verdict—a
function that has properly been labeled “the sine qua
non of an adequate and competent defense,” United
States v. Anderson, 89 F.3d 1306, 1310, n.2 (CA6
1996)—even a cursory review of the Federal Reporter
nevertheless unearths an (over)abundance of cases
applying plain-error review to sufficiency claims.
Indeed, there have been at least 270 reported
decisions in the last twenty years in which a federal
appellate court expressly noted a failure to preserve
sufficiency as an issue and reviewed for plain error, to
say nothing of the presumably far larger numbers of
unreported cases or those that omitted explicit
mention of the defendant’s failure to preserve.”

In short, Jackson holds it is error of significant
constitutional dimension to convict when no rea-
sonable factfinder could have found guilt beyond a
reasonable doubt. Nevertheless, the minority devoid-
of-evidence standard will unquestionably deny plain-
error relief to the set of cases where there actually is
a Jackson violation but in which the prosecution did
not completely fail to put on some evidence of guilt.
Indeed, this is such a case.

* Search performed on Westlaw.com on Oct. 9, 2009,
database CTA, criteria: (“does not” “did not” fail!) /s (move
renew) /s (‘rule 29” acquittal) /p “plain error” & da(aft 1989) &
ci(“f.3d” “f.2d”) & ca(“united states”).

24

D. The Fifth Circuit’s Application of the
Devoid-of-Evidence Standard Precluded
the Proper Assessment of Miller’s Plain-
Error Sufficiency Claim.

The forcible assault of a federal officer engaged in
official duties that is proscribed by 18 U.S.C. §lllisa
general-intent crime; that is, the defendant’s intent to
assault is an essential element that must be proved
by the government beyond a reasonable doubt. United
States v. Feola, 420 U.S. 671, 684 (1975). Conviction
thus requires proof that the defendant intended the
assault and acted knowingly and willfully. See United
States v. Berrios-Centeno, 250 F.3d 294, 299 (CA5
2001); App. 6 (acknowledging that acting “knowingly
or willfully” “is the required mens rea for this crime”).
Miller presented strong arguments below that as a
matter of law the evidence was insufficient to prove,
beyond a reasonable doubt, that he possessed the
requisite intent for conviction. But the devoid-of-
evidence standard of review applied by the Fifth
Circuit precluded a fair assessment of this claim.

In particular, Miller argued that the circum-
stantial evidence presented by the government at
most gave equal support to competing inferences that
Miller acted with intent to assault and that Miller
acted only recklessly. Under Fifth Circuit precedent
binding on the panel below, a reasonable factfinder
cannot, as a matter of law, find an ultimate fact like
intent beyond a reasonable doubt when two con-
flicting inferences are of equal or nearly equal weight,
which was one particular form of insufficiency argued

25

by Miller below. Reveles, 190 F.3d, at 686. There were
in Miller’s case, at most, conflicting inferences of
intent or recklessness of equal circumstantial weight.
The inference of recklessness with respect to the
officers’ proximity to Miller’s truck’s path that could
be drawn from the evidence—which showed Miller
was aware that officers were behind and well to
either side of his truck, that the gap between the
officers’ cars was three-and-a-half times as wide as
Miller’s truck, and that no officers were in or near the
gap when the truck began moving—was equally as
strong as the conflicting inference of knowing and
willful intent to assault. This evidence was in-
sufficient as a matter of law to demonstrate beyond a
reasonable doubt that Miller knew that the officers
would reasonably believe themselves endangered by
his actions, as opposed to demonstrating that Miller
merely acted recklessly with respect to that fact.

Regardless, however, the Fifth Circuit’s appli-
cation of the devoid-of-evidence standard improperly
foreclosed any consideration of Miller’s contention
that the inference of his recklessness was in equipoise
with an inference of intent. The court’s analysis was
limited to noting only that Miller “[drove] his large
vehicle very quickly in the[ ] direction” of the officers,
implicitly finding this sufficient to provide at least a
modicum of evidence from which the necessary
inference of intent could be drawn. App. 7. The
decision below thus neither ruled directly on the
relative weight of the conflicting inferences, Miller’s

Atéeaw line smaiiftriniaANn ary ar ment naw am nl acer d tha
Wevuvass basil des U4essv ican y rgum AAU, AAA cm pisye vale

26

correct plain-error standard by applying Olano and
Jackson, under which Miller’s argument would poten-
tially have necessitated a different outcome.

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant the writ to resolve the
split among the courts of appeals over the proper
standard of review for forfeited sufficiency-of-the-
evidence claims and clarify that under United States
v. Olano, a demonstration that the evidence was
constitutionally insufficient under Jackson v. Virginia
is typically enough to show plain error warranting
correction under Rule 52(b).

Respectfully submitted,

RYAN P. BATES

YETTER, WARDEN & COLEMAN, L.L.P.
221 West Sixth Street, Suite 750
Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 533-0150

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

OCTOBER 2009

App. 1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-50409

D.C. Docket No. 1:06-CR-125-ALL

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee

v.

TERRY MICHAEL MILLER,
Defendant-Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas, Austin

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, SMITH, and SOUTHWICK,
Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT
(Filed Jul. 21, 2009)

This cause was considered on the record on
appeal and the briefs on file.

It is ordered and adjudged that the judgment of
the District Court is affirmed in part and vacated in
part, and the cause is remanded to the District Court

App. 2

for further proceedings in accordance with the
opinion of this Court.

ISSUED AS MANDATE: Aug. 12, 2009

App. 3

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-50409

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee
V.

TERRY MICHAEL MILLER,
Defendant-Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas

(Filed Jul. 21, 2009)

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, SMITH, and SOUTHWICK,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

On February 8, 2006, eight members of the Lone
Star Fugitive Task Force — an interjurisdictional
coalition of law enforcement officers — waited near a
home in Elgin, Texas, where Terry Michael Miller was
visiting his grandchildren. Miller was a fugitive from
justice, wanted for parole violations relating to pre-
vious sentences — in his fifty year lifetime, Miller had
accumulated an extensive criminal history of 12 prior

App. 4

felonies, including one for attempted murder. As
Miller came out of the house, the officers flipped on
their lights and pulled their cars toward the driveway
where Miller had parked his green F-150 pickup.
Miller’s engine was running by the time the task
force moved in. The officers exited their cars, guns
drawn, wearing vests labeled POLICE or MARSHALS.
Among others, the force included Austin Police officer
Kevin Rybarski, deputized as special federal marshal,
and Special Deputy U.S. Marshall Keith Sartin, who
was leading the investigation; they were among the
officers approaching Miller’s car from the back.

At trial, Task Force members testified that Miller
looked over his shoulder at the officers around him,
including at Rybarski and Sartin. Then, with tires
squealing, he reversed toward them, attempting to
escape in the narrow gap between their cars. Rybarski
jumped out of the way, seriously injuring himself; he
says he escaped Miller’s pickup by a foot. Sartin also
jumped out of the way. As Miller backed up, two other
officers opened fire. One of them, Soto, hit Miller, whose
hands flew off the wheel. Miller’s truck crashed and
flipped. He was extracted from the vehicle and taken
to Brackenridge Hospital in Austin. Miller suffered
serious jaw, neck, and chest injuries. Testifying in his
own defense, Miller claimed that when he began
accelerating, he sought to avoid Sartin, and that he
never saw Rybarski. He said that he lost conscious-
ness as a result of the gunshot just after he began
accelerating and docs not remember anything else.

App. 5

On May 1, 2007, a grand jury in the Western
District of Texas returned a two-count superseding
indictment of Miller, for two counts of attempted
forcible assault against federal officers engaged in
their official duties by use of dangerous weapon.’
After a jury trial, Miller was convicted of the crimes,
on January 17, 2008. On April 14, Judge Yeakel
sentenced Miller to 240 months of imprisonment for
each of the two counts, with 60 months of one
conviction running consecutively to the other, for a
total sentence of 300 months of imprisonment. Miller
timely appealed, challenging the evidentiary sufficiency
for his assault conviction, the exclusion of photo-
graphic evidence of his gunshot wounds, and the
multiplicitous convictions emerging from a single act
of assault.

I

Miller failed at trial to move for a judgment of
acquittal at the close of all evidence, so our review is
for manifest miscarriage of justice.” This demanding

_— —

' 18 U.S.C. § 111.

* “Defendants’ sufficiency of the evidence claims are
reviewed under a stricter than usual standard, because none of
the defendants renewed their motions for judgment of acquittal
at the close of all evidence. Under the stricter standard, review
is for a ‘manifest miscarriage of justice,’ which is found if the
record is ‘devoid of evidence pointing to guilt.’” U.S. v. Green,
293 F.3d 886, 895 (Sth Cir. 2002) (quoting U.S. v. Ruiz, 860 F.2d
615, 617 (5th Cir. 1988)) (internal citation omitted): see also U.S
v. Phillips, 477 F.3d 215, 219 (5th Cir. 2007). Miller cites no law

(Continued on following page)

App. 6

standard requires Miller to demonstrate that the
record is “devoid of evidence pointing to guilt.”

Miller argues that the government failed to
demonstrate the requisite level of intent for the
crime. He claims that the evidence fails to show that
Miller intended anything more than escape between
the police vehicles: at most, he acted reckjessly with
regards to the officers, not knowingly or willfully,
which is the required mens rea for this crime.

The government responds with Task Force
testimony that before he accelerated toward them,
officers saw Miller look at Sartin and Rybarski,
evincing clear awareness that his actions would
endanger them. Given that Miller intended the
acceleration and knew the acceleration was likely to
result in grave harm to the officers, Miller manifested
the requisite level of intent for conviction. Of course,
his ultimate motive was to escape and probably not to
injure officers, but this does not vitiate his ability to
intend, in a legal sense, the assault as an inter-
mediate matter, in that he knew that acts that he
intended would in fact bring such harm.

Miller counters that when he stepped on the
accelerator in his car, there is no competent evidence
either that the officers were in the space nto which
Miller was driving, or more to the point, that Mille:

to the contrary; in fact the cases he cites support the
government's position.

App. 7

knew they were approaching that space. Miller con-
tinues that if, alternatively, the jury thought intent
was formed after that point, that conclusion is
foreclosed by the fact that Miller was shot early in the
sequence of events and did not thereafter retain
control of the truck.

Contrary to Miller’s assertions, the government
did not, at trial, rely on a theory of negligence or
recklessness. Granting that the officers and Miller
were all moving quickly in the heat of the moment,
the government has produced sufficient evidence that
Miller intended to assault Rybarski and Sartin by
driving his large vehicle very quickly in their
direction. Intent can be formed quickly, and the jury
was not bound to accept Miller’s account of the events
surrounding his abortive escape over the accounts
provided by the Task Force members.

II

At trial, Miller sought, unsuccessfully, to
introduce a photograph of his wounds, apparently
taken at Brackenridge shortly after the incident. The
photograph, which we have reviewed in chambers,
shows a bloody wound on the bottom of Miller’s
chin/jaw, stretching about halfway across his chin,
and quite deep.

Miller claims that the extent of his wounds would
have decisively convinced the jury that Miller could
not possibly have formed the requisite intent or carried

App. 8

out the requisite acts supporting the attempted as-
sault. It would demonstrate, he argues, that he was
unconscious at the relevant time, having sustained
egregious injuries. He argues that the exclusion was
prejudicial because the government consistently
downplayed the extent of Miller’s injuries at tral,
insinuating that the shot merely “grazed” him, and in
any case failing to convey the egregious nature of the
injury.

This evidentiary ruling is reviewed for abuse of
discretion. Miller’s argument founders first on
relevance. As the government notes, Miller could
certainly have formed an intent to assault before he
was shot, and this seems to have been the dominant
theory at trial. Even if it were not, there was ample
testimony concerning the severity of Miller’s injuries,”
and when the allegedly misleading statements from
the prosecution are taken in context, there is simply
no support for the idea that they systematically

3 . . _ .
This is part of a cross-examination of one of the officers:

Q: You stated that after the vehicle was on its top,
you approached and you saw Mr. Miller’s wound?

A: Yes, sir.

Q: Pretty severe wound?

A: Yes, sir, it was....

Q: You just testified that you saw teeth, jaw. Pretty
strong impact from that bullet?

A: Yes, sir.

Q: Pretty extensive damage, would you say?

A: I’ve seen stuff like that before, so, yes.

App. 9

minimize Miller’s injuries. The jury was made amply
aware that as he accelerated toward the officers,
Miller was shot in the face and : of his
vehicle. The introduction of a gruesome photograph
would have added very little to the picture of Miller’s
wounds no doubt already formed in jurors’ imag-
inations, and in any case, it would not have aided at
all in their determination of Miller’s guilt or inno-
cence.

There was no reversible abuse of discretion here.

It]

Miller raises several sentencing errors, and the
first alleged error — concerning duplicative attempted
assault charges for a single act — is decisive.’ Based
on this error, as the government has _ conceded,
Miller’s sentences should be vacated, and the case
should be remanded for resentencing. This is because
under settled law, the single action of attempting to run
over the officers cannot support two separate convic-
tions.’ Here, since the erroneous second conviction
significantly lengthened Miller’s sentence, he was
clearly prejudiced by it. This unobjected-to error is

In light of our decision we pretermit consideration of the
other alleged sentencing error

See U.S. v. Shaw, 701 F.2d 367, 396 (5th Cir. 1983) (citing
to Ladner in interpreting this statute); Ladner v. United States,
358 US. 169 (1958) (overturning one of two convictions under
the predecessor of this statute, because both officers were hurt

,
by only one shotgun aiscnarge

App. 10

subject to plain error analysis, and we choose to
exercise our discretion to correct it.

We VACATE Miller’s sentence and REMAND to
the district court for further proceedings necessary to
correct this error, and we AFFIRM the judgment
below in every other respect.

App. 11

AO 245 B (Rev. 06/05)(W.D.TX.)
— Judgment in a Criminal Case

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Western District of Texas
AUSTIN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF Case Number
AMERICA A-06-CR-125(1)-LY
Vv. USM Number

TERRY MICHAEL MILLER =?! E177

True Name: Terry Michael (Filed Apr. 8, 2008)
Miller

Aliases: Mike Miller, Danny

Miller, Larry Kevin Roberts,

Kevin Roberts Larry, John

Henderson, Rodney Marlett,

Danny Vermeil Miller

Defendant.

JUDGMENT IN A CRIMINAL CASE
(For Offenses Committed On or After
Novem ter 1, 1987)

The defendant, TERRY MICHAEL MILLER, was
represented by Thomas C. Fagerberg and Larry
Sauer.

The defendant was found guilty by a jury verdict
on Count(s) S1 and S2 of the Superseding Indictment
on January 17, 2008. Accordingly, the defendant is
adjudged guilty of such Count(s), involving the fol-
lowing offense(s):

App. 12

Title & Nature of Offense
Section Offense Ended Count (s)
18:11l(a) & (b) ASSAULTING 02/08/2006 S1
CERTAIN
OFFICERS
18:lll(a) & (b) ASSAULTING 02/08/2006 S2
CERTAIN
OFFICERS

As pronounced on APRIL 4, 2008, the defendant
is sentenced as provided in pages 2 through 6 of this
Judgment. The sentence is imposed pursuant to the
Sentencing Reform Act of 1984.

It is further ordered that the defendant shall
notify the United States Attorney for this district
within 30 days of any change of name, residence, or
mailing address until all fines, restitution, costs, and
special assessments imposed by this Judgment are
fully paid. If ordered to pay restitution, the defendant
shall notify the Court and United States Attorney
of any material change in the defendant’s economic
circumstances.

Signed this the 8th day of April, 2008.
/s/ Lee Yeakel
LEE YEAKEL
United States District Judge

IMPRISONMENT

The defendant is hereby committed to the
custody of the United States Bureau of Prisons to be

App. 13

imprisoned for a term of TWO HUNDRED AND
FORTY (240) MONTHS on Count Sl and TWO
HUNDRED AND FORTY (240) MONTHS on Count
S2 to be served concurrently with Count S1, except 60
months of Count S2 to be served consecutively to
Count S1, to the extent necessary to produce a total
imprisonment term of 300 months.

The Court makes the following recommendation(s)
to the Bureau of Prisons: 1) designate defendant near
Austin, Texas close to family members. If, for any
reason, the Bureau of Prisons can not comply with
any recommendation of this Court made in this
Judgment and Sentence, the Bureau of Prisons shal]
notify the Court at once of its noncompliance and any
reason therefor.

The defendant shall remain in custody pending
service of sentence.

RETURN

I have executed this Judgment as follows:

Defendant delivered on | to oe
at | , with a certified copy of this Judgment.

~ United States Marshal —
By one on ae
Deputy Marshal

App. 14

SUPERVISED RELEASE

Upon release from imprisonment, the defendant
shall be on supervised release for a term of THREE
(3) YEARS on each of Counts S1 and S2 run concur-

rently.

While on supervised release, the defendant shall
comply with the mandatory, standard and if applicable,
the special conditions that have been adopted by this
Court as set forth on pages 4 and 5 of this judgment.

X The defendant shall participate in a program
approved by the United States Probation Office
for treatment of narcotic addiction or drug or
alcohol dependency which may include testing
and examination to determine if the defendant
has reverted to the use of drugs or alcohol. The
defendant may be required to contribute to the
costs of services rendered (copayment) in an
amount to be determined by the probation officer,
based on the defendant’s ability to pay.

_X_ The defendant shall participate in a program of
mental health treatment, as directed by the pro-
bation officer, until such time as the defendant is
released from the program by the probation
officer.

The defendant shall comply with the following special
condition(s):

X The defendant shall refrain from the use of

alcohol and all other intoxicants during the term
of supervision.

App. 15

CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

Mandatory Conditions:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

7)

The defendant shall not commit another federal,
state, or local crime.

The defendant shall not unlawfully possess a
controlled substance. The defendant shall refrain
from any unlawful use of a controlled substance.
The defendant shall submit to one drug test
within 15 days of release from imprisonment and
at least two periodic drug tests thereafter, as
determined by the court.

In supervised release cases only, the defendant
must report to the probation office in the district
to which the defendant is released within 72
hours of release from custody of the Bureau of
Prisons.

If convicted of a felony, the defendant shall not
possess a firearm, ammunition, destructive device,
or any other dangerous weapon.

The defendant shall cooperate in the collection of
DNA as directed by the probation officer if the col-
lection of such a sample is authorized pursuant to
section 3 of the DNA Analysis Backlog Elimina-
tion Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C. § 1413a).

If convicted of a sexual offense as described in 18
U.S.C. § 4042(c)(4), the defendant shall register
with the state sex offender registration agency in
the state where the defendant resides, works, or
is a student, as directed by the probation officer.

If convicted of a domestic violence crime as de-
fined in 18 U.S.C. § 3561(b), the defendant shail

8)

App. 16

participate in an approved program for domestic
violence.

If the judgment imposes a fine or restitution, it is
a condition of supervision that the defendant pay
in accordance with the Schedule of Payments
sheet of the judgment.

Standard Conditions:

1)

2)

3)

6)

7)

The defendant shal! not leave the judicial district
without permission of the court or probation of-
ficer.

The defendant shall report to the Probation Offi-
cer and shall submit a truthful and complete
written report within the first five days of each
month.

The defendant shall answer truthfully all in-
quiries by the Probation Officer and follow the
instructions of the Probation Officer.

The defendant shall support his or her depen-
dents and meet other family responsibilities.

The defendant shall work regularly at a lawful
occupation unless excused by the Probation
Officer for schooling, training or other acceptable
reasons.

The defendant shall notify the Probation Officer
at least ten days prior to any change in residence
or employment.

The defendant shall refrain from excessive use of
alcohol and shall not purchase, possess, use, dis-
tribute, or administer any controlled substance or

8)

9)

10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

App. 17

any paraphernalia related to any controlled sub-
stance, except as prescribed by a physician.

The defendant shall not frequent places where
controlled substances are illegally sold, used,
distributed, or administered.

The defendant shall not associate with any per-
sons engaged in criminal activity, and shall not
associate with any person convicted of a felony
unless granted permission to do so by the Proba-
tion Officer.

The defendant shall permit a Probation Officer to
visit him or her at any time at home or elsewhere
and shall permit confiscation of any contraband
observed in plain view of the Probation Officer.

The defendant shall notify the Probation Officer
within seventy-two hours of being arrested or
questioned by a law enforcement officer.

The defendant shall not enter into any agree-
ment to act as an informer or special agent of a
law enforcement agency without the permission
of the Court.

As directed by the probation officer, the defen-
dant shall notify third parties of risks that may
be occasioned by the defendant’s criminal record
or personal history or characteristics and shall
permit the probation officer to make such noti-
fications and to confirm the defendant’s compli-
ance with such notification requirement.

If convicted of a sexual offense as described in 18
U.S.C. § 4042(c)(4), or has a prior conviction of a
State or local offense that would have been an

App. 18

offense as described in 18 U.S.C. § 4042(c)(4) if a
circumstance giving rise to Federal jurisdiction
had existed, the defendant shall participate in a
sex offender treatment program approved by the
probation officer. The defendant shall abide by
all program rules, requirements and conditions of
the sex offender treatment program, including
submission to polygraph testing, to determine if
the defendant is in compliance with the con-
ditions of release. The defendant may be required
to contribute to the cost of the services rendered
(copayment) in an amount to be determined by
the probation officer, based on the defendant’s
ability to pay.

15) The defendant shall submit to an evaluation for

16)

substance abuse or dependency treatment as di-
rected by the probation officer, and if deemed
necessary by the probation officer, the defendant
shall participate in a program approved by the
probation officer for treatment of narcotic addiction
or drug or alcohol dependency which may include
testing and examination to determine if the defen-
dant has reverted to the use of drugs or alcohol.
The defendant may be required to contribute to
the cost of the services rendered (copayment) in
an amount to be determined by the probation
officer, based upon the defendant’s ability to pay.

The defendant shall submit to an evaluation for
mental health counseling as directed by the pro-
bation officer, and if deemed necessary by the
probation officer, the defendant shall participate
in a mental health program approved by the
probation officer. The defendant may be required
to contribute to the cost of the services rendered

18)

19)

20)

App. 19

(copayment) in an amount to be determined by
the probation officer, based upon the defendant’s
ability to pay.

If the defendant is excluded, deported, or removed
upon release from imprisonment, the term of
supervised release shall be a non-reporting term
of supervised release. The defendant shall not
illegally re-enter the United States. If the defen-
dant lawfully re-enters the United States during
the term of supervised release, the defendant
shall immediately report in person to the nearest

U.S. Probation Office.

If the judgment imposes other criminal monetary
penalties, it is a condition of supervision that the
defendant pay such penalties in accordance with
the Schedule of Payments sheet of the judgment.

If the judgment imposes a fine, special assess-
ment, restitution, or other criminal monetary
penalties, it is a condition of supervision that the
defendant shall provide the probation officer
access to any requested financial information.

If the judgment imposes a fine, special assess-
ment, restitution, or other criminal monetary
penalties, it is a condition of supervision that the
defendant shall not incur any new credit charges
or open additional lines of credit without the
approval of the probation officer unless the defen-
dant is in compliance with the payment schedule

The Court further adopts such of the following special

conditions applied to the supervised person by the

1dye at the time of sentencing

]

)

App. 20

COMMUNITY CONFINEMENT: The defendant
shall reside in a Community Corrections Center
for a period of __ months to commence on

Further, once employed, the defendant
shall pay 25% of his/her weekly gross income for
his/her subsistence as long as that amount does
not exceed the daily contract rate.

HOME DETENTION: The defendant shall par-
ticipate in the Home Confinement Program for a
period of __ days/months. During this time the
defendant shall remain at his/her place of resi-
dence except for employment and other activities
approved in advance by the probation officer. The
defendant shall maintain a telephone at his/her
place of residence without “call forwarding,” a
“modem,” “caller ID,” “call waiting,” or portable
cordless telephones for the above period. At the
direction of the probation officer, the defendant
shall wear an electronic monitoring device and
follow electronic monitoring procedures specified
by the probation officer. The court further orders
that the defendant shall pay for the costs of
Home Confinement, as directed by the probation
officer.

COMMUNITY SERVICE: The defendant shall
perform — hours of community service work
without pay, at a location approved by the proba
tion officer, at a minimum rate of four hours per
week, to be completed during the first
months of supervision

App. 21

CRIMINAL MONETARY PENALTIES/SCHEDULE

The defendant shall pay the following total
criminal monetary penalties in accordance with the
schedule of payments set forth. Unless the Court has
expressly ordered otherwise, if this judgment imposes
imprisonment, payment of criminal monetary penal
ties is due during imprisonment. Criminal Monetary
Penalties, except those payments made through Fed-
eral Bureau of Prisons’ Inmate Financial Responsi-
bility Program shall be paid through the Clerk,
United States District Court, 200 W. 8th Street,
Room 130 Austin, Texas 78701.

The defendant shall receive credit for all pay-
ments previously made toward any criminal mons
tary penalties imposed.

Assessment Fine Restitution

TOTAL: $200 SO $3 000

Special Assessment

It is ordered that the defendant shall pay to the
United States a special assessment of $200. Payment
of this sum shall begin immediately

Fine
Phe rie walved eCause ¢ lefen

Restitution

The defendant shal] restitution in the amount of
$3,000 through the Clerk, U.S. District Court, for
distribution to the payee(s). The Court directs the
U.S. Probation Office to provide personal identifier
information of victim(s) by submitting a “reference
list” under seal Pursuant to E-Government Act of
2002” to the District Clerk within ten (10) days after

the criminal Judgment has been entered.

Name of Payee(s) Amount of Restitution

K. Rybarski $3,000

If the defendant is not now able to pay this in-
debtedness, the defendant shall cooperate fully with
the office of the United Sates Attorney, the Bureau
of Prisons and/or the United States Probation Office
to make payment in full as soon as possible, including
during any period of incarceration. Any unpaid bal-
ance at the commencement of a term of probation or
supervised release shall be paid on a schedule of
monthly installments to he established by the U.S

Probation Office and approved by the Court.

If the defendant makes a partial payment, each
payee shall receive an approximately proportioned
payment, unless specified otherwise in the priority
order or percentage payment column above. However,
pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3664(1), all non-federal vic

tims must be paid before the United States is paid

App. 23

If the fine is not paid, the court may sentence the
defendant to any sentence which might have been

originally imposed. See 18 U.S.C. §3614

The defendant shall pay interest on any fine or
restitution of more than $2,500.00, unless the fine or
restitution is paid in full before the fifteenth day after
the date of the judgment, pursuant to 18 U.S.C.
§3612(f). All payment options may be subject to pen-
alties for delinquency and default, pursuant to 18
U.S.C. §3612(g).

Payments shall be applied in the following order:
(1) assessment, (2) restitution principal, (3) restitution
interest, (4) fine principal, (5) community restitution,
(6) fine interest, (7) penalties, and (8) costs, including

cost of prosecution and court costs

Findings for the total amount of losses are re-
quired under Chapters 109A, 110, 110A, and 113A of
Title 18 for offenses committed on or after September
13, 1994, but before April 23, 1996.

App. 24

Effective: January 7, 2008

18 U.S.C.A. § 111. Assaulting, resisting, or im-
peding certain officers or employees

(a) In general. — Whoever —

(1) forcibly assaults, resists, opposes, impedes,
intimidates, or interferes with any person desig-
nated in section 1114 of this title while engaged
in or on account of the performance of official
duties; or

(2) forcibly assaults or intimidates any person
who formerly served as a person designated in
section 1114 on account of the performance of
official duties during such person’s term of ser-
vice,

shall, where the acts in violation of this section con-
stitute only simple assault, be fined under this title or
imprisoned not more than one year, or both, and
where such acts involve physical contact with the
victim of that assault or the intent to commit another
felony, be fined under this title or imprisoned not
more than 8 years, or both.

(b) Enhanced penalty. — Whoever, in the commis
sion of any acts described in subsection (a), uses a
deadly or dangerous weapon (including a weapon
intended to cause death or danger but that fails to do
so by reason of a defective component) or inflicts bod-
ily injury, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned
not more than 20 years, or both.

App. 25

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AUSTLN DIVISION

UNITED STATES § CRIMINAL No.
OF AMERICA, 8 A-06-CR-125 LY
Plaintiff, : SUPERSEDING
wv. ‘ INDICTMENT
TERRY MICHAEL & (Filed May I, 2007)
MILLER, : [ Violation: 18 U.S.C. § 111(a)
Defendant. ~ & (b) - Assaulting and Inter-
~ fering with Certain Officers. |
s USAO No. 2006R01145

THE GRAND JURY CHARGE:
COUNT ONE
18 U.S.C. § 1lll(a) & (b)
Assaulting Certain Officers
Bodily Injury/Deadly Weapon
On or about February 8, 2006, in the Western

Distmct of Texas and elsewhere, the Defendant
TERRY MICHAEL MILLER,

knowingly and by means and use of a deadly and
dangerous weapon, that is, a vehicle: a green 2000
Ford F-150 pickup, did forcibly assault, resist, oppose,
impede, intimidate, and interfere with Special Dep-
uty United States Marshal Kevin Rybarski, hereby
causing bodily injury, while he was engaged in his
official duties, in wiolation of Title 18, Linited States

Code, Section lll(a) & (b)

App. 26

COUNT TWO
18 U.S.C. § 1lll(a) & (b)
Assaulting & Interfering with
Certain Officers/Deadly Weapon

On or about February 8, 2006, in the Western
District of Texas and elsewhere, the Defendant.

TERRY MICHAEL MILLER,

knowingly and by means and use of a deadly and
dangerous weapon, that is, a vehicle: a green 2000
Ford F-150 pickup, did forcibly assault, resist, oppose,
impede, intimidate, and interfere with Deputy United
States Marshal Darren Sartin while he was engaged
in his official duties, 1n violation of Title 18, United
States Code, Section 11l(a) & (b)

A TRUE BILL:

SIGNATURE REDACTED
PURSUANT TO
E-GOVERNMENT ACT
OF 2002
FOREMAN.

JOHNNY SUTTON
United States Attorney

By: /s/ Michelle E. Fernald
MICHELLE F. FERNALD
Assistant United States Attorney

App. 2%

Sealed

Unsealed X USAO# 2006R01145

Personal Data Sheet
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
RELATED CASE YES X NO
RELATED CASE NO.
County AUSTIN Division Judge Yeakel

[5/1/07
Date: 03/06/07 Mag Ct.# SSN KBI#

Case No.: A-06-CR-125-LY
Assistant U.S. Attorney: Michelle Fernald

Defendant: Terry Michael Miller Date of Birth

Ty { ] 4 }

PPCITeCMaGAaANL AKa

Addres:

Citizenship United State: Mexican Other
Interpreter Needed: Yes No Language
Defense Attorney: Thomas Fagerberg Employed

Address of Attorney:
1004 West Avenue, Austin, TX 78701 Appointed X

Defendant is: In Jail X
Where: FCI Ft. Worth (medical treatment)
On Bond Amt. of Bond Where

Date of Arrest: 06/19/06 Bench Warrant Needed

Pro secution By
Information Superseding Indictment X

App. 28

Offense (Code & Description)
. Cts. 1-2: 18 U.S.C. § Lil(a) & (b)
- Assaulting Certain Officers/
Bodily Injury/Deadly Weapon

Offense Is Felony _X Misdemeanor

Maximum Sentence: Cts. 1-2: No more than 20 years,
$250K fine, 3 years SR, $100 SA

Penalty is Mandatory: Yes _X as to SA [& min
mum term of imprisonment! No

Remarks: Case Agent: Rocky Wardlow, DPS Ranger

App. 2yY

N THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AUSTIN DIVISION
UNITED STATES
OF AMERICA
Vy
TERRY MICHAEL MILLER

CRIMINAL NO
A-06-CR-125-LY

SI SH ST? SI? JIT

VERDICT
Filed Jan. 17, 2008)
We, the jury, with regard to the Defendant, Terry
Michael Miller unanimously find the following
Answer “guilty” or “not guilty.”
COUNT ONE: Guilty
COUNT TWO: Guilty

SIGNED on this _17_ day of January, 2008, at

5 o'clock OO m

ORIGINAL SIGNATURE
REDACTED PURSUANT TO
E-GOVERNMENT ACT
OF 2002

PRESIDING JUROR

App. 30

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AUSTIN DIVISION

UNITED STATES § NO. A-06-CR-125(01L)LY
OF AMERICA : (Filed Apr. 17, 2008)
VS. Z

TERRY MICHAEL R

MILLER :

NOTICE OF APPEAL

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID
COURT:

INTO COURT comes the Defendant, TERRY
MICHAEL MILLER, and files this his Notice of
Appeal to the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals from the
judgment and sentence imposed in the above-styled
and numbered cause as entered by the Court on April

~

(, 2008

Respectfully submitted

Thomas C. Fagerberg
TIIOMAS C. FAGERBERG
Attorney at Law

YO7 Rio Grande St

Austin, Texas 78701
512/577-1962

State Bar No. 24034434

Larry Sauer

LARRY SAUER
Attorney at Law
1004 West Ave

Austin, Texas 7870

| arry Oaue@!

LARRY SAUE!

TT ¢ ‘ , ‘
. rney a Lav

U.S. District Court [LIVE]
Western District of Texas (Austin)
CRIMINAL DOCKET FOR CASE #:

1:06-cr-00125-LY-ALL

Case Title: USA \ Mille Date Filed: 6/6/2006

Filing Date # Docket Text

b/6/ZUU00 l INDICTMEN'T( Redacted Ve! mn
| lo filed. Unredacted document seale
ursuant to K-Government Act
2002 as to Terry Michael Miller (1

ryt ] me Kinters / ry / ARlSi a

1/20 } SUPERSEDING INDICTMENT (R

ie dacted Version) filed. Unredacted
locument ealed pursuant to E
Government Act of 2002 as to Terry
Michael Miller (1) count 2
Attachment #(1) PDS K En

ered: 5/3/2007

17/2008 68 JURY VERDICI Redacted Ver
p.216 ion) as to Terry Michael Miller

Guilty on Count I1s,2s. filed. Unre

dacted Version Sealed pursuant t

K-Government Act of 2002 im

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1136%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
