# Opposition Brief — Manigault v. King (No. 09-417)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1086%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

' BIC 3-203

No. 09-417

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CAROL MANIGAULT, Individually and as Administratrix ad
Prosequendum and General Administratrix of the
Estate of Jelani Darren Manigault, Deceased, and
CaroL MANIGAULT and ANDREW MANIGAULT, Individually and
as Parents and Natural Guardian of Jelani Darren Manigault,

Petitioners,
v.

CHRISTOPHER KING, HARRY MARTINEZ, FRED WILLIAMS, JUDD

PETRONE, TOWNSHIP OF PRINCETON, MERCER COUNTY, STATE OF

NEW JERSEY, PRINCETON TOWNSHIP POLICE DEPARTMENT,

PRINCETON TOWNSHIP, JOHN/JANE Dorks 1-10; ABC Corp. 1-10
AND/OR XYZ ENTITIES 1-10,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES Court OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT
HARRY MARTINEZ

DouGLas SANCHEZ
Counsel of Record
J ACQUELINE CURKO
CRUSER, MITCHELL
AND SANCHEZ LLC
One Paragon Drive
Suite 159
Montvale, NJ 07645
(201) 474-7100

Counsel for Respondent
Harry Martinez

1
QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Third Circuit err when it determined that
given the particular circumstances presented to Harry
Martinez on the date of the subject incident, which
included an armed and dangerous suspect who was in
the process of lunging at a fellow Officer, and viewing
the facts in the light most favorable to the Petitioners,
the use of deadly force was objectively reasonable and
thus not violative of the Fourth Amendment.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

etl FRESENIED ..............005:

RPE GAPINEIGINEDS 2......0cccccecceees

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES .........

yg

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...

A.

B.

Pacuial Dackeround ...................

Proceedings Below .............esee00-

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ...

I.

II.

III.

The Concurrent Findings Of Both The
District Court And The Third Circuit
Were Not Clearly Erroneous And,
Therefore, Should Not Be Disturbed ...

The Criteria Of Supreme Court Rule 10
rr

Summary Judgment Was Proper As
Officer Martinez’ Actions Were
Reasonable In Light Of The Attendant
I es bes cr ese sesevessees

A. The Qualified Immunity Standard ...

Page

10

1]

13

iil

Contents

Page
SPORE oa 0s 4405 4 Rede 15
i. Officer Martinez’ Conduct Did Not
Violate Jelani Manigault’s Constitutional
POPS ore rr rer ty oan rere er 15
a. Jelaniwas not “stopped in his tracks” and
posed a continuing threat ............. 19
b. It was impossible for the Officers to
diagnose Jelani’s mental health ........ 21
ec. The fact that the Officers came within 21
feet of Jelani does not render their
conduct unreasonable ................. 23
d. The fact that Officer Martinez’ actions
were objectively reasonable is not thrown
into doubt by the fact that his deposition
WAS NOC CONTUCTER gc scr ccceseccescs 25

CAPO SPEIRS 69.006 40950405 8a9 cove lean eS 28

iv

TABLE OF CITEDAUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:
Anderson v. Creighton,

— 6k Bo es arr er 4
Baumgartner v. United States,

Be A EOE) civ icc en vedeunservewess 10
Bodkin v. Edwards,

ee ns ceca eee seueaee evens 10
Carswell v. Homestead,

$81 F.8d. 235 (8™ Cir. 2004) ... 0... cee eens 19
Collins v. City of Harker Heights,

ee Wiis BURIED ocak reat cv cnnessacepes 25
Davis v. Scherer,

ee ee ee OD ns vc ne eve teen sea uneven 25
Graham v. Connor,

GO We, EE) ev veces eesensencseves passim
Groh v. Ramirez,

ee Oy ee GD onc kv se Kae ve cees es aess 13
Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

ie A ED. kg 6 sere hae esse ecto saw 13

Karnes v. Skrutski,
GS Fe G60 Ce Cir LGD) nce ccc ecw cess 14

vy

Cited Authorities

Lamont v. New Jersey,

2009 WL 483899 (D.N.J. 2009) ..

Mace v. City of Palestine,

333 F.3d 621 (5 Cir. 2003) ......

Pearson v. Callahan,
688 U.S. _, 129 S.Ct. 808 (2009)

Reese v. Anderson,

926 F.2d 494 (5 Cir. 1991) ......

Rhodes v. McDannel,

945 F.2d 117 (6 Cir. 1991) ......

Rodriguez v. City of Passaic,

730 F.Supp. 1314 (D.N.J.1990) ..

Saucier v. Katz,

G63e U.S. 104 (2001) ........008,

Siegert v. Gilley,

Pe We, COPA EOE) occ ecccvers

Smith v. Freland.

954 F.2d 343 (6 Cir. 1992) ......

Tennessee v. Garner,

BPE Sey 2 CED ven ce ectsceuees

Young v. City of Killeen,

775 F.2d 1349 (5 Cir. 1985) .....

vi

Cited Authorities

Page
United States Constitution:
EE i, 3, 4
Statute:
i EE oo wk ok ae kNaraekenavedes 1, 8, 25
Rules:
pry eee ae Oa en a ee 26

Supreme Court Rule 10 ................008- 11, 12

1

INTRODUCTION

The petition for certiorari does not raise any
question that warrants review by this Court. The Third
Circuit’s decision does not conflict with the decision of
any other court of appeals. Nor does it conflict with any
decision of this Court. Moreover, the petition utterly fails
to identify an important unresolved question of federal
law that needs to be decided by this Court. Rather, the
petition is premised solely upon what Petitioners
perceive as error in the weight given by the two lower
courts to the clothing worn by Jelani Manigault on the
night in question and the distance the Officers
maintained from Jelani in their efforts to apprehend
him.

In reviewing whether the District Court properly
granted summary judgment in favor of Defendants, the
Third Circuit paid careful attention to the facts of this
case, correctly recognizing that the time period over
which the events transpired was swift and exigent. The
Defendant Officers were confronted in the middle of the
night with a suspect who was armed with a deadly
weapon, who did not respond to their repeated
commands, had previously stabbed another individual
just prior to the Officers’ arrival, and who was in the
process of lunging at another Officer with the apparent
intent to inflict either grievous bodily harm and/or kill
him. Measured against this factual backdrop, the Third
Circuit’s sound determination that the Officers’ conduct
was objectively reasonable does not warrant second
thought.

2

Lacking any case law conflict or other viable
argument for review, Petitioners misstate the impact of
Jelani Manigault’s clothing to support an implausible
claim that the Third Circuit articulated a holding that
threatens a “miscarriage of justice” based on an
asserted error of factual findings. (Pet. at 6). In reality,
the Third Circuit broke no new ground and, in fact,
simply applied a “totality of the circumstances” test,
reasoning that the Officers’ use of deadly force was
objectively reasonable given the precarious situation
which they confronted. This holding was premised on
the well-established principle handed down by this
Court in Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1 (1985), which
emphasizes that “the use of deadly force in effecting an
arrest is constitutional when the officer has probable
cause to believe that the suspect poses a threat to the
officer.” Jd. at 11-12, 105 S.Ct., at 1701-1702.

Because the decision of the Third Circuit Court of
Appeals is correct and there is no mature conflict in the
courts of appeals, this Court’s review is not warranted.
Thus, the Petition should be denied.

COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Carol and Andrew Manigault (hereinafter
“Petitioners”) appeal from an Order entered by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
affirming the District Court’s grant of summary
judgment in favor of Defendants in this action brought,
inter alia, under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (“Section 1983”) for
various alleged deprivations of Jelani Manigault’s
Constitutional rights. (Petitioner’s Appendix A). More
specifically, Petitioners allege that the shooting of Jelani

3

Manigault violated the Fourth Amendment’s guarantee
against unreasonable seizures insofar as it constituted
a “seizure” of Jelani’s person through the use of
excessive force.

There is no genuine dispute in this case about the
relevant historical facts, and the record evidence clearly
establishes four central realities which the Petitioners
do not deny or controvert. First, the Officers confronted
Jelani Manigault in the middle of the night in an area
cloaked in pitch darkness, where the only available light
source came from the Officers’ own flashlights. Second,
Jelani was armed with a bloody knife which he had used
to repeatedly stab Mr. Sword just moments prior to the
Officers’ arrival. Third, Jelani was completely
unresponsive to the Officers’ commands to drop his
weapon. Finally, at the time that Jelani was shot, he was
in the process of lunging at Officer King who was laying
on the ground, knife still in hand, and the three shots
which were fired to counter Jelani’s armed attack upon
Officer King were discharged in rapid succession, if not
virtually simultaneously.

The Petition for Certiorari conveys the impression
that the Third Circuit upheld a decision which neglected
to take into consideration Jelani Manigault’s purported
“mental disturbance” and suggests, if a suggestion it
is, that law enforcement officials should be forbidden
from employing deadly foree in an effort to protect
themselves, as well as innocent bystanders, from the
threat of serious bodily harm and/or imminent death at
the hands of an armed assailant based on esoteric
indicators of mental distress. That is a false impression.
The petition omits key details about the nature of the

4

events that transpired outside of the Swords’ residence,
as well as the conduct of Jelani Manigault. The petition
also misstates the issues raised below and preserved
for review, as well as the findings of the Third Circuit’s
decision.

The Constitutional question presented herein is
governed by the principles enunciated in Tennessee v.
Garner, 471 U.S. 1 (1985) and Graham v. Connor, 490
U.S. 386 (1989). These cases establish that claims of
excessive force are to be judged under the Fourth
Amendment’s “objective reasonableness” standard.
Graham, 490 U.S. at 388. Specifically, in Graham, the
Supreme Court held “that all claims that law
enforcement officers have used excessive force-deadly
or not-in the course of an arrest, investigation stop, or
other ‘seizure’ of a free citizen should be analyzed under
the Fourth Amendment and its ‘reasonableness’
standard, rather than under a ‘substantive due process’
approach.” 490 U.S. at 395.

Furthermore, for liability to attach, the right alleged
to have been violated “must have been ‘clearly
established’ in a more particularized, and hence more
relevant, sense.” Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635,
640 (1987). If the law is not established clearly when an
official acts, he is entitled to qualified immunity because
he “could not reasonably be expected to anticipate
subsequent legal developments, nor could he fairly be
said to ‘know’ that the law forbade conduct not
previously identified as unlawful.” Siegert v. Gilley, 500
U.S. 226, 232 (1991).

0

Guided by these fundamental principles, the lower
courts correctly ruled that there was no Constitutional
violation, as the totality of circumstances was such that
Officer Martinez and his fellow Officers were confronted
in the darkness with a suspect brandishing a bloody knife
who was consciously disregarding the Officers’ repeated
pleas to stop and drop his weapon. The encounter was then
brought swiftly to a head, becoming confrontational only
because Jelani chose to make it so by first, stabbing William
Sword, and later charging at Officer King with a knife. In
response, Officers King and Martinez discharged a rapid
sequence of three bullets within a two to three second
window, at most, that ceased once Jelani fell to the ground.

These seconds are critical on appeal because
Petitioners erroneously see them as unfolding only one
way— in slow motion. Notwithstanding this interpretation,
this is a prototypical case where the Officers, faced with
an armed and dangerous suspect, were forced to make
split-second judgments in the heat of the moment. Even if
their assessment of the threat was mistaken, it was not
unreasonable, as they were forced to assess the situation
in the midst of rapidly evolving events in an environment
of extreme tension. Therefore, the District Court’s and
the ‘Third Circuit’s conclusions that Officer Martinez is
entitled to judgment as a matter of law must stand.

A. Factual Background:

On January 23, 2003, the Princeton Township Police
Department reccived a 911 emergency call from a
panicked Mrs. Martha Sullivan Sword, reporting that
an intruder had entered her home. She further reported
that her husband had been stabbed and that he and

6

her brother were engaged in a struggle to defend
against the intruder. Prior thereto, Mrs. Sword was
awoken by the sound of her dogs barking. As she was
getting up, she heard the doorbell ringing. Mrs. Sword
woke her husband, William Sword and informed him that
someone was at the door. They went downstairs together
to see who was at the door. Turning on the outside light,
they observed Jelani Manigault standing outside the
door. As Mr. Sword opened the door, asking if Jelani
needed help, Jelani pushed past them and entered the
home.

As he walked toward the kitchen, Jelani became
very agitated and began to act erratically, proceeding
to rummage through the kitchen drawers and grabbing
an eight (8) inch knife. Without provocation, Jelani
brutally attacked Mr. Sword, stabbing him fourteen (14)
times in total and inflicting eight (8) major wounds.
Screaming, Mrs. Sword ran upstairs to get her brother,
Robert Sullivan.

Mr. Sullivan ran downstairs and began to struggle
with Jelani in an attempt to aid Mr. Sword, who was
covered in blood. Mr. Sullivan put his arm around
Jelani’s throat and lifted him back off his feet. When
Mr. Sword was freed from Jelani, he grabbed a frying
pan and hit Jelani on the head, temporarily knocking
him out. When Jelani came to, he once again had the
knife in his possession. Mr. Sword approached Jelani
from behind and hit him on the head with the pan again.

Somehow Mr. Sullivan was able to usher Jelani
outside. As it turned out, Mr. Sullivan had not locked
the door properly and Jelani re-entered the kitchen with

7

the knife in his possession again. As Jelani began to cut
himself, Mr. Sullivan began to scream at him to get out
of the house as loud as he could. Subsequently, Jelani
walked outside with the bloody knife still in his hand.

Police Officers Christopher King, Harry Martinez,
Frederick Williams and Judd Petrone arrived at the
scene in response the 911 call within minutes of each
other. Upon their arrival, they received a second update
via radio indicating that the male intruder had left the
house and was coming down the driveway. The area
surrounding the home was cloaked in darkness and,
unbeknownst to the Officers, the lawn was unkempt, the
terrain was uneven and the ground was spotted with
protruding tree trunks.

When Sgt. Petrone first observed Jelani, he was
approximately 30 feet away. Sgt. Petrone illuminated
Jelani with his flashlight as it was totally pitch dark. He
positioned himself to the left of Jelani who was covered
in blood, holding a knife up at head level in his right
hand. Officer Martinez was positioned on his right.

At this time, Officer King began to run across the
yard toward Officers Petrone and Martinez. As he
approached, he could hear the Officers repeatedly
pleading for Jelani to drop the knife. Officer King took
up position approximately 20 feet away from Jelani,
equidistant from Officers Martinez and Petrone, but in
between them. As Officer King was closing his distance
from 30 feet to 20 feet, he could hear Officer Martinez
repeating his commands. Jelani’s hands were both raised
above his head and he was pivoting, eventually coming
to a stop facing Officer King.

8

They continued to plead with Jelani to drop his
weapon to no avail. Suddenly and without warning,
Jelani broke into arun toward Officer King. Right before
Jelani began his charge toward Officer King, Officer
King overheard him say “go ahead and kill me,” or
“vou’re going to have to kill me.” Sgt. Petrone looked
to get a shot at Jelani but was unable to because Officer
Martinez was in the line of fire.

Officer King began to retreat backwards but tripped
over a protruding tree stump, falling to the ground. As
Jelani approached, Officer King shouted for him to
“stop.” Realizing that Jelani was not complying and
fearing for his life, Officer King discharged his weapon
once. Jelani then “made a turn almost like he wasn’t
phased or hit. He just made a turn toward another
threat .. . Still standing with the knife up .. .”

Instantaneously, Officer Martinez fired two shots at
Jelani who was now facing his direction. Officer King
testified that he and Officer Martinez fired their
weapons almost at the same time and that the time
between the first and second shots was “well under a
second... asecond wouldn’t even be close, it was almost
the exact same time.” As Officer Williams put it, “[a]s
the first shot was fired, the shots that came after them
happened so quickly.”

B. Proceedings Below

By way of Amended Memorandum and Order dated
August 138, 2008, the District Court, Honorable Anne E.
Thompson, U.S.D.J., granted summary judgment as to
all Defendants on the Section 1983 claim. (Petitioner’s

9

Appendix B). The District Court found that the following
material facts had been established: (1) the Officers
responded to a 911 eall that an intruder had stabbed
someone inside the Sword’s residence; (2) the Officers
encountered Decedent in the front yard of the Sword’s
home; (3) it was dark and the only light came from the
Officers’ flashlights; (4) Decedent’s clothes were blood-
stained and he was holding a knife at the level of his
head; (5) Decedent ignored the Officers’ repeated
commands; (6) Decedent abruptly began to charge
towards Officer King who tripped over a tree stump;
(7) Decedent continued to advance and Officer King
fired his gun while Decedent was approximately 6 feet
away, knife still in hand; (8) almost instantaneously,
Officer Martinez fired two shots at Decedent. Viewing
this evidence in the light most favorable to the
Manigaults, drawing all justifiable inferences in their
favor, and considering the controlling law, the District
Court determined that the Officers’ use of force was
reasonable.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit, Judges Sloviter, Ambro and Jordan, upheld the
District Court’s decision, reasoning that the Officers’
use of deadly force was objectively reasonable given the
circumstances presented to them at the time. Justice
Ambro, writing for the panel, found that at the time
Jelani was shot, he was covered in blood, armed with a
deadly weapon, did not respond to commands and was
in the process of lunging at an Officer who had fallen to
the ground. Contrary to Petitioners’ assertion, the Third
Circuit did consider the facts that Jelani was not wearing
a jacket or shoes and had slit wrists, and determined
that these indicators did not render the Officers’ actions

10

unconstitutional, given the darkness of the scene and
the brief time period in which the events unfolded. On
this score, the Third Circuit held that there were no
genuine issues of material fact that existed over whether
the Officers used deadly force in an objectively
unreasonable manner.

The Menigaults now present this appeal, arguing
there are genuine issues of material fact regarding
the reasonableness of the use of deadly force in
the aforementioned circumstances. However, the
undisputed facts unequivocally establish the heightened
immediacy of the threat the Officers faced. Given these
facts, the District Court and the Third Circuit properly
concluded that it was reasonable as a matter of law for
Officer Martinez to use deadly force in light of the
substantial risk created by Jelani Manigault’s violent
and uncooperative behavior.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. The Concurrent Findings Of Both The District
Court And The Third Circuit Were Not Clearly
Erroneous And, Therefore, Should Not Be
Disturbed

Much to their disdain, both lower courts below
decided against the Petitioners. However, to accept writ
would be an unjustified departure from the long-
established practice not to reverse findings of fact
concurred in by two lower courts unless shown to be
clearly erroneous. Bodkin v. Edwards, 255 U.S. 221
(1921); see also Baumgartner v United States, 322 U.S.
665 (1944). An examination of the evidence in this case

1]

not only fails to disclose such clear error but, on the
contrary, wholly supports the conclusions of the lower
courts by a clear preponderance.

II. The Criteria Of Supreme Court Rule 10 Are not
Satisfied

This Court has complete discretion to determine
whether to grant a petition for certiorari, however,
generally a party petitioning for a writ must be able to
demonstrate that:

(a) a United States court of appeals has
entered a decision in conflict with the decision
of another United States court of appeals on
the same important matter...

(b) astate court of last resort has decided
an important federal question in a way that
conflicts with the decision of another state
court of last resort or of a United States court
of appeals; [or]

(c) a state court or a United States court
of appeals has decided an important question
of federal law that has not been, but should
be, settled by this Court, or has decided an
important federal question in a way that
conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.

Supreme Court Rule 10.

12

In the instant matter, a fair reading of the petition
reveals that none of the Rule 10 criteria have been met.
While Petitioners characterize this situation as one
involving a “miscarriage of justice,” they wholly fail to
demonstrate how the Third Circuit rendered a decision
that is in clear disconnect with the decision of another
circuit court on the same matter and based on the same
facts presented here. Quite to the contrary, the Third
Circuit’s holding is directly on par with various decisions
by other circuits which hold that an officer’s conduct
which makes the need for deadly force more likely does
not constitutionally disable the officer from later using
deadly force to defend himself. See, e.g., Young v. Crty
of Killeen, 775 F.2d 1349 (5 Cir. 1985); Rhodes v.
McDannel, 945 F.2d 117 (6 Cir. 1991); Reese v.
Anderson, 926 F.2d 494 (5" Cir. 1991); Mace v. City of
Palestine, 333 F.8d 621 (5'" Cir. 2003). These examples
are a mere sampling of countless cases which all support
the general principle that an officer may reasonably use
deadly force when he or she confronts an armed suspect
in close proximity whose actions indicate an intent to
attack.

The other Rule 10 criteria are also absent. The New
Jersey Supreme Court did not decide an important
federal question, let alone decide it in a way that
conflicts with the rulings of the high court of any other
state, or of any United States court of appeals.
Additionally, there is no important question of federal
law for this Court to settle. As such, the petition for
certiorari should be denied.

13

HI. Summary Judgment Was Proper As Officer
Martinez’ Actions Were Reasonable In Light Of
The Attendant Circumstances

A. The Qualified Immunity Standard

This case implicates anew the question of whether
and under what circumstances a Police Officer is afforded
immunity while acting during the scope of employment.
The resolution of this purely legal question turns on
whether the conduct of which a plaintiff complains
violated clearly established statutory or Constitutional
rights of which a reasonable person would have known.”
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982). Immunity
attaches regardless of whether the government official’s
error is “a mistake of law, a mistake of fact, or a mistake
based on mixed questions of law and fact.” Groh v.
Ramirez, 540 U.S. 551, 567 (2004).

In Saucier v Katz, the Supreme Court mandated
the familiar two-step sequence for resolving qualified
immunity claims. 533 U.S. 194 (2001). Because the
question of whether an officer is entitled to qualified
immunity is distinct from whether he used unreasonable
force to begin with, the Supreme Court in Saucier
articulated a new framework for analyzing qualified
immunity claims. First, a court must decide whether the
facts that a plaintiff has established are sufficient to
make out a violation of a Constitutional right. Jd. at 201.
If the plaintiff fails to make out a Constitutional
violation, the qualified immunity inquiry is at an end;
the officer is entitled to immunity.

14

If evidence of a Constitutional violation has been
adduced, Courts evaluating a qualified immunity claim
move to the second step of the analysis: to determine
whether the Constitutional right was clearly established.
Id. at 199. To be “clearly established” for purposes of
qualified immunity, the contours of the right must be
sufficiently clear such that a reasonable official would
understand that what he is doing violates that right.
Karnes v. Skrutski, 62 F.3d 485, 492 (8™ Cir. 1995). That is,
in the factual scenario established, would a reasonable
officer have understood that his actions were prohibited?
If it would not have been clear to a reasonable officer what
the law required under the facts alleged, he is entitled to
qualified immunity. Officers who make reasonable mistakes
as to what the law requires are entitled to qualified
immunity. Saucier, 533 U.S. at 205.

Recently, the Supreme Court jettisoned this two-step
approach in Pearson v. Callahan, 588 U.S. _, 129 S.Ct.
808 (2009). In Pearson, the unanimous Court held that the
order of the analysis laid out in Sawcier “should not be
regarded as mandatory.” /d. at 818. Instead, lower courts
may use their discretion to skip to the second question
and avoid the Constitutional decision altogether. By noting
that in many instances a court need not reach whether a
Constitutional violation is alleged to determine if qualified
immunity is appropriate, the Pearson Court stated that
the first prong “sometimes results in a substantial
expenditure of scarce judicial resources on difficult
questions that have no effect on the outcome of the
case.” /d. Thus, courts are permitted to decide “which
of the two prongs of the qualified immunity analysis
should be addressed first in light of the circumstances
in the particular case at hand.” /d.

15

So guided, summary judgment may be upheld here
without ever addressing the Constitutional question,
by virtue of the fact that the alleged unlawfulness of
Officer Martinez’ conduct in light of the attendant
circumstances was not readily apparent, and thus not
violative of clearly established law. However, because the
parties briefed and both the District Court and the Third
Circuit decided the case at hand in pre-Pearson fashion, it
makes sense to adhere to a sequential mode of analysis
here. We therefore face two questions: (1) whether Officer
Martinez’ conduct violated Jelani’s Constitutional rights,
and if so, (2) whether those rights were clearly established
at the time of the shooting’.

ANALYSIS

i. Officer Martinez’ Conduct Did Not Violate Jelani
Manigault’s Constitutional Rights

In Graham v. Connor, the Supreme Court outlined
the standard governing the right to be free from excessive
force. 490 U.S. 386 (1989). The test is an objective one,
which scrutinizes the reasonableness of the challenged
conduct. /d. at 395. This “reasonableness” inquiry takes
into account only the facts and circumstances known to
the government actor at the time of his or her action.
Rodriguez v. City of Passaic, 730 F. Supp. 1314 (D.N.J.
1990). In other words, for a court to determine the

1. Because there was no Constitutional violation, we do
not need to address the second prong of the qualified immunity
analysis. Respondents do note, however, that a determination
that the force used by Officer Martinez was excessive and thus
violated Jelani’s Constitutional rights would not end the
qualified immunity inquiry.

16

reasonableness of an officer’s action, it “must stand in his
shoes and judge the reasonableness of his actions based
upon the information he possessed and the judgment he
exercised in responding to that situation.” Jd. Knowledge
of facts and circumstances gained by the officer after the
completion of the act is irrelevant to a determination of
the reasonableness of that officer’s judgment vis-a-vis the
conduct at issue. /d.

Because police officers are often forced to make split-
second judgments in “circumstances that are tense,
uncertain, and rapidly evolving, the amount of force that
is necessary in a particular situation, and the
reasonableness of the officer’s belief as to the
appropriate level of force, should be judged from that
on-scene perspective.” Graham, 490 U.S. at 396-397.
With these considerations in mind, the Graham Court
fashioned a test that cautioned against the “20/20 vision
of hindsight” in favor of deference to the judgment of
reasonable officers on the scene. /d.

Chief Justice Rehnquist explained that the test of
reasonableness in this context “requirles] careful
attention to the facts and circumstances of each
particular case, including the severity of the crime at
issue, whether the suspect poses an immediate threat
to the safety of the officers or others, and whether he is
actively resisting arrest or attempting to evade arrest
by flight.” /d. at 396. Thus, pursuant to Graham, we
must avoid substituting our personal notions of proper
police procedure for the instantaneous decision of the
Officers at the scene. We must never “allow the
theoretical, sanitized world of our imagination to replace
the dangerous and complex world that police officers

17

face every day.” Smith v. Freland, 954 F.2d 348, 347
(6'" Cir. 1992).

On this score, it is prudent to understand the
dangers and limitations imposed upon officers when
confronting a suspect with a weapon. What constitutes
reasonable action may seem quite different to someone
like Officer Martinez, facing an armed assailant, than
to someone analyzing the question at leisure. In a very
real sense, a police officer on the scene must make an
instantaneous call in close cases. The range of
permissible action must accommodate marginal cases
sufficiently that fear of potential civil liability does not
induce paralysis of action. Measured against these
standards, it is beyond question that Officer Martinez’
actions were objectively reasonable.

Contrary to Petitioners’ implication, it is undisputed
that it took no more than mere seconds from the time
Jelani charged Officer King to the time that all three
shots were fired. Officer King recalled that he and
Officer Martinez fired their weapons almost at the same
time and that the time between the first and second
shots was “well under a second.” He further stated that
“La] second wouldn't even be close, it was almost the
exact same time.” Likewise, both Officers Petrone and
Williams stated that the three gunshots came within split
seconds of each other. As Officer Williams put it, “[a]s
the first shot was fired, the shots that came after them
happened so quickly that I really- you know, there wasn’t
like a span of time between the first shot where I could
get a mental picture of what was going on.”

18

The Manigaults discount the celerity with which
these events unfolded. However, the crux of the matter
is that it appeared to all who had a view of Jelani at the
relevant time that he was an out-of-control individual.
The very real danger the Officers perceived was
immediately intensified when Jelani lunged at Officer
King with the knife in an apparent attempt to cause him
physical harm. Because the use of firearms is so
commonplace nowadays, the destructive potential of
edged weapons is far from appreciated, resulting in the,
“He’s only got a knife” mentality. When an armed
suspect charges, the entire scenario will transpire in an
incredibly short period of time, as here, and the
techniques used to counter the attack must be clean
and decisive. A seemingly insignificant puncture wound
can result in significant blood loss that anyone short of
a surgical staff on site would be powerless to abate.
Based on his years of training and expertise, upon
observing Jelani charge toward Officer King and
subsequently turn and face him still holding the knife
in the air, Officer Martinez was left with no choice but
to discharge his weapon.

At the same time, Officer Martinez had to concern
himself not only with Jelani’s level of threat, but with
the background of his target, the “use-of-force”
continuum, shot placement, communication with the
suspect as well as the other Officers, and control of
Jelani’s advancement upon Officer King, who was down
on the ground, scrambling in the darkness. Rejecting
the “vision of hindsight” so condemned by the Grakam
Court, it is evident that any lapse in response by Officer
Martinez may well have rendered the situation
catastrophic.

19

Although the events which form the basis for this
lawsuit are, indeed, tragic, we cannot fail to look past
the fact of the shooting to the danger any reasonable
person would have believed Jelani posed on that
rugged, wooded landscape in the middle of the night.
Certainly with the luxury of hindsight one can parse each
discrete act within those mere seconds and analyze each
as if under a microscope. However, one must not lose
sight of the fact that Officer Martinez had no such luxury
and was forced to act in the blink of an eye. In this
regard, the District Court properly noted that it was
“mindful that its ‘recitation of events is a discussion in
slow motion of an incident that took place in a matter of
seconds.” (citing Carswell v Homestead, 381 F.3d. 235,
240 (3 Cir. 2004) (Appendix B). Keeping in mind that a
threat that may seem inappreciable in retrospect may
appear more substantial to an officer whose own life or
safety is at stake, there is no doubt that the force used
by Officer Martinez was objectively reasonable.
However, Petitioners posit that the Officers’ use of force
was excessive notwithstanding this factual backdrop.
Their argument comprises four separate parts. We
address each in turn:

a. Jelani was not “stopped in his tracks” and
posed a continuing threat

The Court must reject the Petitioners unfounded
allegations that the shooting was unreasonable since
‘“Jelani did not pose a threat to anyone” after the first
bullet fired by Officer King, as this assertion is squarely
at odds with the sworn testimony of Officers King,
Petrone and Williams. While Courts have, on occasion,
recognized that an officer’s use of deadly force, which

20

may initially be reasonable, may become unreasonable
as the course of events unfolds, this is not one of those
situations. That multiple shots were fired does not
suggest the Officers shot excessively as much as it
indicates that they sought to ensure the elimination of
a deadly threat.

Officer Petrone testified that he could not tell where,
if anywhere, the first shot struck Jelani and that, in fact,
he did not observe Jelani double over or bend at the
waist. Officer Petrone stated that Jelani “made a turn
almost like he wasn’t phased or hit. He just made a
turn toward another threat... Still standing with
the knife up...” In actuality, Jelani had merely turned
in the direction of another Officer, to wit, Officer
Martinez. To be sure, Officer Petrone was attempting
to maneuver himself into a position where he too “could
take a shot.” Had Officer Martinez not been in Officer
Petrone’s line of fire, Officer Petrone would have
discharged his weapon as well.

As there are no conflicting accounts of Jelani’s
whereabouts or his menacing acts, there are only
witnesses, the ones closest to the action, who all saw
Jelani charge toward Officer King with his knife in the
air, there is no genuine issue as to whether the threat
posed by Jelani had ceased at the time that all three
shots were fired.

21

b. It was impossible for the Officers to diagnose
Jelani’s mental health

Petitioners make much of the fact that Jelani was
not wearing a jacket and/or shoes at the time of the
encounter and that he had slit wrists, devoting a
considerable portion of their petition urging that the
Officers should have, somehow, diagnosed Jelani as a
“mentally and emotionally disturbed man.” To accept
such a proposition would wholly remove this case from
any semblance of rationality.

Without much belaboring the point, even if Jelani
had cuts on his wrists, none of the Officers observed
same at any point prior to the shooting. Likewise, the
Officers did not observe that Jelani was without shoes,
as they were, for obvious reasons, not focused on his
feet in the pitch darkness. It was not until after the
shooting that any Officer observed slits on Jelani’s
wrists or discerned whether Jelani was wearing shoes.

Even assuming, arguendo, that the Officers had
made these observations, the decisive factor weighing
against the Petitioners’ argument is that the Officers,
in responding to an emergency situation, are not making
clinical determinations about an individual’s mental well-
being based solely on the fact that he may not be wearing
a jacket and/or shoes. From the diagnostic standpoint
alone, legitimate manifestations of mental illness are not
likely to be in this form. Even if they were, same would
not defeat the reasonableness of the Officers’ actions
in response to the lethal threat posed by Jelani.
See Lamont v. New Jersey, 2009 WL 483899 (D.N.J. 2009)
(where the fact that plaintiff was in sweatpants and

22

shoeless did not create an issue of material fact as to
the defendant officers’ decision to use deadly force).

Moreover, none of the Officers, save for Officer King,
ever heard Jelani say anything along the lines of “kill
me, kill me.” Only Officer King testified that Jelani made
a comment, which was either “go ahead and kill me,” or
“you're going to have to kill me.” But at the moment
that sentence ended is when Jelani charged, giving
Officer King no time to even process these words. The
Petitioners’ allegations do not at all take into account
that the Officers were in the dark, dense woods, relying
on their flashlights for visibility, facing an armed and
bloody Jelani who had stabbed an innocent homeowner
just minutes prior thereto, and he refused to voluntarily
surrender his weapon.

Notably, Dr. Weinapple, Jelani’s psychiatrist,
discharged him from Princeton Medical Center without
any medication and without any diagnosis of mental
illness. If a licensed medical practitioner, whose field of
expertise is assessing mentally and emotionally
disturbed individuals, did not find Jelani to be mentally
disturbed, the notion that Jelani’s purported mental
disturbance should have been “obvious” to the Officers
is illogical.

This is not a situation where the Officers failed to
use any judgment and immediately fired without
attempting to defuse the situation. Rather, the Officers
testified that they would have maintained their
positions and attempted to reason with Jelani for an
indefinite period of time had he not charged Officer
King with a weapon. Therefore, giving due regard to

23

the pressures faced by the Officers, it is unreasonable
to suggest that they should have disregarded the
obvious dangers presented.

c. The fact that the Officers came within 21 feet
of Jelani does not render their conduct
unreasonable

Another issue raised by the Petitioners which the
Court must equally reject is that the Officers allegedly
did something that was tactically incorrect in their
approach that contributed to the need to use deadly
force, namely, by coming within 21 feet of Jelani. The
fallacy in this argument lies in the fact that the
Petitioners have consistently gravely distorted what has
come to be known as the “21-foot rule.”

There is absolutely no “policy” that mandates that
the Officers must maintain any specific distance from
an armed suspect. The “21-foot rule” is a “reaction time”
calculation fairly standard in law enforcement training,
which states that, in the time it takes the average officer
to recognize a threat, draw his sidearm and fire 2 rounds
at center mass, an average subject charging at the
officer with a knife or other cutting or stabbing weapon
can cover a distance of 21 feet. There is no authority in
any jurisdiction, however, for the proposition that
coming within 21 feet of a suspect ipso facto creates a
cause of action for a Constitutional violation.

This distance should only be referenced as a very
loose guideline, naturally subject to limitations and
exceptions. In reality, all street officers must, by the very
nature of their assignment, cluse the distance to a

24

suspect in order to control the situation. Each situation
confronted is going to be different with unforeseen
variables. Officers need the latitude to evaluate the
situation in their, as well as the public’s, best safety
interests. If there must be error, it is far better to err in
the favor of one’s survival when faced with a suspect
with a knife that has the present ability and
demonstrated intent to use it, than to ask an officer to
hold fire in order to ascertain whether the suspect will,
in fact, injure or murder the officer. The high numbers
of officer mortalities in recent years illustrate the
unreasonableness of such a notion. As noted by the
Graham Court, the “public interest may be better
served by action taken ‘with independence and without
fear of consequences.” 490 U.S. at 819.

Moreover, when referring to distances, the Officers’
actions are invariably going to be a reaction to the
suspect’s behavior. What the Petitioners fail to point out
is that the Officers took up position around Jelani at
approximately 20 feet. It was Jelani who closed the
distance by charging at Officer King. Under these
circumstances, it is hard to imagine what choice Officer
Martinez and his fellow Officers had but to react as they
did.

Even if the Court assumes that the Officers violated
proper procedures by narrowing their perimeter, this
alleged breach does not suffice to overcome qualified
immunity, as the act that justified the shooting was
Jelani charging at Officer King. As Jelani created the
situation that ostensibly warranted the use of deadly
force, there is no triable issue of material fact in this
regard. Indeed, the Third Circuit thoroughly considered

25

Petitioners’ claims vis-a-vis the distance within which
the Officers came toward Jelani and reasoned that, even
assuming there to have been an abandonment of
protocol, this could not form the basis for a remedy under
42 U.S.C. § 1983 or deprive the Officers of qualified
immunity. Relying on this Court’s decisions in Collins v
City of Harker Heights, 503 U.S. 115 (1992) (holding that
§1983 does not provide a remedy if there is no violation
of federal law) and Davis v Scherer, 468 U.S. 183 (1984)
(noting that officials do not lose qualified immunity
where they violate administrative directives), the Third
Circuit appropriately determined that the Officers did
not violate Jelani’s Constitutional rights.

d. The fact that Officer Martinez’ actions were
objectively reasonable is not thrown into
doubt by the fact that his deposition was not
conducted

Lastly, Petitioners argue the deposition of Officer
Martinez was not conducted, thus there remains a
genuine issue of material fact which was not given due
deference by the lower courts. The extent to which this
argument lacks merit need not be addressed at length’*.

It is not enough to pose philosophic doubts
regarding the conclusiveness of undisputed evidentiary

2. Officer Martinez was not produced for deposition due
to medical reasons as determined by the Honorable John J.
Hughes, U.S.M.J. An Order dated February 28, 2008 permitted
a Rule 35 Independent Medical Examination (IME) if
Petitioners sought to dispute the conclusions contained in the
narrative medical report prepared by Officer Martinez’
physician. No IME was ever conducted.

26

facts. Whatever impressions Petitioners hope to elicit
through Officer Martinez’ deposition testimony are
inconsequential to the resolution of this matter.
Petitioners argue as if there were a mens rea to be
established in this case. However, because the relevant
test in this case is whether Officer Martinez’ use of force
was objectively reasonable in light of the circumstances
confronting him, the focus is on the viewpoint of a
reasonable police officer in his position, and his
intentions or subjective impressions are wholly
irrelevant. Considering the already large record
compiled, which includes Officer Martinez’ voluntary
statement, the absence of a Rule 56(f) affidavit, the
irrelevance of the discovery request, and the conjectural
nature of the Petitioners’ contentions, the Third Circuit
did not err in upholding the motion for summary
judgment and deciding in Officer Martinez’ favor.

This decision is consistent with binding high court
precedent, which states:

[T]he question is whether the officers’ actions
are “objectively reasonable” in light of the
facts and circumstances confronting them,
without regard to their underlying intent
or motivation. An officer’s evil intentions will
not make a Fourth Amendment violation out
of an objectively reasonable use of force; nor
will an officer’s good intentions make an
objectively unreasonable use of force
constitutional.

Graham, supra, 490 U.S. at 397, 109 S.Ct. 1865.
Illustrative of this point is the Fifth Circuit’s decision in

27

Mace v Palestine, 333 F.3d 621 (5 Cir. 2003), in which
the court held it was improper to consider the defendant
Officer’s subjective intent as evidence of whether a
reasonable officer could have perceived a threat of
danger to himself or others in the circumstances before
him.

It is undisputed that Jelani was agitated and
brandishing a knife. Jelani did not respond to commands
to drop his knife. The record evidence is also
uncontradicted that when he was shot, Jelani was
raising his knife toward the officers. The record further
shows that this event took place in the darkness and on
rough terrain, which limited the Officers’ ability to
retreat or to keep Jelani from harming others in the
area. Based on the foregoing, it was objectively
reasonable for Officer Martinez to make the split-second
determination that Jelani posed a threat of serious
physical harm and that deadly force was necessary. Any
purportedly disputed fact issues are, thus, immaterial
because their resolution would not alter the ultimate
conclusion.

28
CONCLUSION

While the loss of any life is regrettable and even
heartbreaking, the core uncontested details of this case
reveal an encounter where the use of deadly force was, as
sad as the outcome might be, imperative and, thus,
objectively reasonable. The law does not require a
reasonable officer to await physical harm before taking
self-protective action; by then, it is often too late to take
safety precautions. The only objectively reasonable
response in this situation was to use deadly force.

The Third Circuit correctly stated the applicable rules
of law and its rationales and properly concluded that the
Defendants’ actions were objectively reasonable. The
Circuit Court’s unwillingness to find the existence of a
material issue of fact based on nothing more than Jelani’s
clothing and Petitioner’s inability to gauge Officer
Martinez’ subjective impressions cannot be described as
a conflict with the decisions of any other circuit court or
any other decision of this Court. The Third Circuit did not
ignore, or otherwise faii to accord appropriate respect to,
a controlling decision of this Court. Nor is this the situation
where an intervening decision of this Court created a
conflict with a previousiy issued court of appeals decision
that was not yet final. The petition also fails to establish
that this case presents an important question of federal
law that has not yet, but should be, resolved by this Court.
Petitioners’ asserted error consists solely of purported
erroneous factual findings. Such a plea is, in all events,
antithetical to the principles of judicial restraint that guide
this Court’s exercise of certiorari jur‘sdiction. Even if a
mere plea for error correction could justify granting
certiorari, the petition fails because the Third Circuit’s
decision was plainly correct.

29

Finally, even if the question presented in the petition
could be said to have some general significance, in the
abstract (and it does not), as to how law enforcement
officials should apprehend “mentally distraught”
individuals, resolution of this question is adequately
analyzed by the objective reasonableness standard set
forth in Graham and its progeny. A suspect’s mental
condition is simply but one factor to be considered in
the totality of circumstances test. This case involves
nothing more than a straight-forward application of
established legal principles. To be sure, the frequency
with which the question presented here has arisen and
been decided by this Court makes clear that this issue
need not be addressed again. Accordingly, Officer
Martinez was entitled to qualified immunity and the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

DOUGLAS SANCHEZ
Counsel of Record
JACQUELINE CURKO
CRUSER, MITCHELL
AND SANCHEZ LLC
One Paragon Drive
Suite 159

Montvale, NJ 07645
(201) 474-7100

Counsel for Respondent
Harry Martinez

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_1086%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
