# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Allen v. Montana (No. 09-239)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0860%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

‘ol (‘) Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
09-239 AUG 24 2009

No. __ OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

Josh A. Allen,
Petitioner,
V.
State of Montana,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Montana State Supreme Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Josh A. Ailen
Pro Se

P.O. Box 1621
Havre, Mt, 59501
(406)-269-2614
(406)-399-0326

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Does a Citizen have a duty to identify himself to a
policeman when he knows or has reason to believe
that by identifying himself he will be revealing
information that will be used against him in a second
unrelated prosecution?

2. Can the State of Montana ignore established
federal case law by not allowing a Citizen to testify
in his own defense due to his religious beliefs?

3. Is M.C.A. 45-7-302: Obstructing a peace officer or
other public servant vague and ambiguous under the
14th amendment? Is it written so broadly that a
Citizen can be charged with a crime for exercising
bis Constitutional rights?

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

‘lhe Petitioner here is Josh Allen, pro se.

The Respondent here is Mike Mattioli Montana
State Assistant Attorney General.

11]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PREGENTED.....00.sccccscrecessvsnvesvessencs 1
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............. eae eee 11
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ........... 1
CF ERI Ee SOUT T ocicninscvkadscduvacgusgpatererecissetenvecrees 1
SPIATEMENT OF JURISDICTION cicccssssccecvevsceness 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............... 1
STATEMEINE OF TIED CAS Give ccesccvecvecsercessstecveress 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... 6

1. The Montana State Supreme Court erred in
its application of and blatantly ignored previous U.S.
Supreme Court decisions, the U.S. constitution, and
Montana Law in its answer to the question; Does a
Citizen have a duty to identify himself to a
policeman when he knows or has reason to believe
that by identifying himself he will be revealing
information that will be used against him in a second
URC OPRE PONCE ine scéssinrcsseessstrocsnnameceueatel 6

A. Petitioner was concerned that his name could be
the beginning link in a chain of evidence used to
connect him to a separate offense...........c cece eee ee ee eee 6

lV

TABLE OF CONTENTS-Continued
Page

B. Montana has no law requiring a citizen to
identify himself to a police officer. The Montana
State Supreme Court attempts to “bootstrap”
previous U.S. Supreme Court decision Haiibel v.
DOOR Gb DEINURIE TR oisoikcesxecevcceravesictsercssetaccen 9

C. M.C.A 45-7-302 Obstructing a peace officer 1s
vague and ambiguous in the same vein as Kolender
i, Ms davcucwace co 00c bee doxasuciciesvescaisee uriasaeeue ll

D. This was an arrest, not a detention................. 12

2. The Montana State Supreme Court ignored the
District court’s denial of Petitioner’s right to testify
in his own defense, due to his religious beliefs. This
decision is contrary to the 9» circuit federal court of
appeals decision in Gordon V. Idaho 778 F2d

Pee LP secs ccvneckuusieusasusas unkvbereersossaneage: 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

APPENDIX
Montana State Supreme court decision filed March
Be rs 0 biel Gh cases cid uhunbredseebiehadadocssncusens App. l
Montana 12‘ judicial District court order denying
motion to dismiss filed March 27th 2008.......... App. 9
Montana 12» judicial District court judgment filed
PE EP Maiko sce ccekevnsesaceakbeccanevescectl App.18
Montana State Supreme refusal of petition for
rehearing filed May 12 2009...................08 App. 20
U.S. Constitutional Amendments I, V, VI, XIV
FES MEN RAE SENSE RETA TE NACE RAUL CoE EAD nR ig knee ee App.21
Notice of Refusal to Swear Or Affirm to Take An
SPN, FES By no vn ncced visas secencacetasacecadvcesd App.24
Page
Cases

Custody and Parental Right of D.S., 2005 MT 275
Rey cnt 1s ee 12

Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 439 (1984)..... 13
Boyd v. U.S._Supra; Brown v. Walker, 161 U.S.
NG ssi cicctvasusSexsnchabaaedeuer eases eoemeenrinisoreeas &

Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 211 n.12
Eo AES Pe aa EE RSPR DEN ee VObee ERG A ARCOM ry AL git ia

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued Page
Gordon v. Idaho, 778 F2d 1397 9% (1985)

federal circuit court of appeals oath issue..........5, 14
Hiibel v. Nevada 542 U.S. (2004).................. 00000. 4,7
Hoffman v. U.S. (CF 341 U.S. 479,486,71 CT.
ES Pe Btn a cpcadeccnsacudesseceuencsosacves 8
Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 360n.9

RU A Ae here REDE Sgt ae oe me ee ee
Miller v. U.S. 230 F 486 at 489 (1956).................... 9

Miranda v. Arizona 384 U.S. 436 at 491 (1966)...8,13
Derry ¥. Cm, SEZ U.S. 1, 34 (EGGS)... 5s ccceccssesceses 13

William Malloy vs.Patrick J. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1, 8&4
TO Sea Nea eeyasncasasanws 8

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

pe I I dc li say sdees se ivieuns sevens cascansg 0m
U.S. Const. amend V......... savy Oy 05 Oy bay By BA; ES
U.S. Const. amend VI...............:. puaccetcasiane te Ce ee
Cee, MHS, MIRO FLV 0... ccvecccsietviscseeet, LE, 24, 15

STATE STATUTES
NT I i ask snd cescapesantads eesewncsecies 3, 0, 24,02

Se Ie ok aro aue tsa vu teen ack tacasqine can ecaecsnn 9

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Holy Bible, James 5:12, Matthew 5:33-5:37....App. 24

Holy Bible, Book of proverbs 27:12..............04 App. 24

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Josh Allen respectfully requests
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the opinion of
the Montana State Supreme Court in this case and
that the opinion of the Montana State Supreme
Court be reversed.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of The Montana State Supreme
Court, and that of the District Court, is available in
the Appendix.

STATEMENT OF JUSRISDICTION

The Montana State Supreme Court entered it’s
Appellate decision on March 24th 2009. The
Montana State Supreme Court denied Petitioner’s
motion for rehearing on May12th, 2009. Petitioner
filed for an extension to file a writ of certiorani, (ref.
doc.# 09a84) granted by Justice Kennedy on July 27%
2009, giving petitioner until August 25" 2009 to file
the writ. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1257.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS ARE CITED VERBATIM IN
APPENDIX

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
U.S. Const. amend I, V, V1, ALV...........0000 App. 21-22

M.C.A. 45-7-302 Obstructing a police officer or other
Se MOWRINE. 5... asdnngaisapesend outa ceassiee eel uceeeel App. 22

M.C.A. 46-5-401 Investigative stop and frisk.App. 22

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, a resident of Montana, has had
prior to this case, numerous late-night run-ins with
law enforcement. Most of these occurred while
jogging. These situations involved an _ officer(s)
stopping and _ interrogated petitioner, always
demanding identification. This led petitioner on a
study of case law involving identification, including
Terry v. Ohio, Miranda v. Arizona, Brown v. Texas
etc.

The following is a statement of facts from the
petitioner's point of view, as petitioner wasn't
allowed to testify in District court and create any
contested issues of fact.

On March 22, 2007, Petitioner was walking
and jogging home from a Bar at about 2:00 a.m.
Petitioner was walking from out behind a building
when he saw a police car about one block away. The
cars turn signal was activated at the last second, and
the police car began to head toward petitioner.
Petitioner, wanting to avoid a late night
confrontation turned and walked back behind the
building he had just walked out from. Petitioner
went completely around the back of the building, and
proceeded to jog down an open alley (not lined with
buildings on both sides) in the same direction that he
had been walking before he saw the police car. After
about a half block of jogging, petitioner heard a siren
and car behind him. Petitioner stopped as the car
stopped and sheriff deputy Cory Matkin got out of
the car. The deputy ordered petitioner face down to
the ground, and immediately placed petitioner in
handcuffs. He then asked petitioner why he was
running. Petitioner replied he was jogging. The

deputy then asked petitioner his name. Petitioner
responded by asking if this was an arrest. The
deputy responded that it was a_ detention.
Petitioner, concerned that he had a warrant out for
his arrest for a speeding ticket, and believing this
was an arrest, chose to exercise his right to remain
silent and did not give the deputy his name, saying
he would exercise his right to silence. Petitioner
was frisked, and taken to the local jail. There,
petitioner was identified by his driver’s license.
Petitioner was charged with Obstructing a Peace
Officer, for refusing to identify himself, under
Montana Code Annotated (M.C.A.) 45-7-302,! a
misdemeanor, for which he served four and one half
days in jail. Petitioner refused to enter a plea before
the Justice of the Peace, instead entering an answer
to the complaint (doc.# 14), citing several similar
U.S. Supreme Court cases, and the fact that there
was no law in Montana requiring one to identify
oneself to a peace officer. During this tnrial,
petitioner was allowed to take the stand and testify
in his own defense without taking

' (1)The relevant section states that a person commits the
offense of obstructing a peace officer or other public servant if
the person knowingly obstructs, impairs, or hinders the
enforcement of the criminal law, the preservation of the peace,
or the performance of a governmental function, including
service of process.

(2) It is no defense to a prosecution under this section
that the peace officer was acting in an illegal manner, provided
that the peace officer was acting under the peace officer's
official authority

(3) A person convicted of the offense of obstructing a
peace officer or other public servant, including a person serving
process, shall be fined not to exceed $500 or be imprisoned in
the county jail for a term not to exceed 6 months, or both.

the oath or an affirmation, even though petitioner
did not give notice ahead of time, instead citing his
religious beliefs and relevant case law in favor of
them on the court room floor. The petitioner was
found guulty of obstruction, and given time served
and an $85.00 fine to cover court’ costs.

Petitioner filed a motion for trial de novo in
District Court. Petitioner then filed an answer to the
complaint and request for dismissal (docket# 36), on
1/07/2008. In this document (page 4) petitioner
raises the first federal question, stated exactly as it
is stated in this petition. The district court responds

by declaring that disclosure of a Defendant’s name is
not testimonial and therefore not in violation of
Miranda. See Appendix (App.) 6 para. 1l. The
Montana State Supreme Court responds to the same
question (app. 5 Para. 11) by citing Htibel v. Sixth
Jud. Dist. Ct. of Nevada, Humbolt Co., 542 US.
(2004) 2 -“A disclosure of a suspect’s name will not
implicate the self incrimination clause if it presents
no reasonable danger of incrimination.” The court’s
faulty logic in answering this question will be
exposed below in the reasons for granting the
petition. The second federal question is: can the
2 Nev. Rev. Stat. (NRS) §171.123(3) provides that:

“The officer may detain the person pursuant to this section only
to ascertain his identity and the suspicious circumstances
surrounding his presence abroad. Any person so detained shall
identify himself, but may not be compelled to answer any other
inquiry of any peace officer.” (continued on following page) 2It
was determined that by refusing to identify himself, Hiibel
violated NRS §199.280, which states:

“A person who, in any case or under any circumstances not
otherwise specially provided for, willfully resists, delays or
obstructs a public officer in discharging or attempting to
discharge any legal duty of his office shall be punished ...”

State of Montana ignore established federal case law,
and the first, fifth, sixth and fourteenth U.S.
Constitutianal amendments by not allowing a
Citizen to testify in his own defense due to his
religious beliefs? This issue was first raised when the
District court was notified of Petitioner’s stance on
the oath issue by way of His “notice of refusal to
swear or affirm to take an oath” (doc. #52) (app. 24-
25) filed almost one month ahead of trial. During the
trial, the Judge admits he didn't even bother to read
the notice (trial transcripts page 38-39), which was
well grounded in Federal case law at Gordon uv.
Idaho, 778 F2d 1397 9 (1985).

The district court decided this question at trial
by way of not allowing petitioner to testify (trial
transcripts page 38-41), Making the Montana rules
of evidence superior to the 9 circuit’s decision and
U.S. Supreme Court Decisions. The Montana State
Supreme Court answered the issue (App.7 para. 14)
exactly opposite to the intent of Gordon v. Idaho. 9th

fed.

The third federal question raised by petitioner
is whether M.C.A. 45-7-302, is unconstitutionally
vague and ambiguous in the same vein as
California’s Stop and identify statute which was
ruled unconstitutional in Kolender v. Lawson, 46]
J.S. 352 (1983). This was raised by petitioner in his
answer to the complaint page (doc.# page 5) and
refined in his appeal brief(s). The district court
answers (app.14 para.s). The Montana State
Supreme Court agreed with the District Court (app.6
para.12).

Petitioner timely filed a motion for rehearing,
which was denied on May 12, 2009. This timely
petition then followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Montana Supreme Court inconclusively
answers a question of national importance; which uf
answered, would help the general public better
understand what their Miranda rights are. The
Montana Supreme Court also decided important
legal questions pertaining to equal protection and
due process contrary to the 9» federal circuit.

1. The Montana State Supreme Court answers the
first federal question in an illogical manner,
inconsistent with U.S. Supreme Court case law, and
contrary to the intent of Montana law.

A. This petition for a writ of certiorari presents a
simple question: Does a Citizen have a duty to
identify himself to a policeman when he knows or
has reason to believe that by identifying himself he
will be revealing information that will be used
against him in a second unrelated prosecution? The
Montana Supreme Court (App. 2 para. 3) cites as a
finding of fact that Deputy Matkin wanted
petitioner's name for the purpose of looking for arrest
warrants. The petitioner stated that the reason he
didn’t give his name was that he was concerned that
he had a warrant for a speeding ticket (doc. 36 page,
4). This would obviously make petitioners name the
beginning link in a chain of evidence that could be
used against him to convict him of a_ scparate
offense. The Montana Supreme Court struck down
this defense (App. 5 para. 11), with the following:
“A disclosure of a suspect’s name will not
implicate the self-incrimination clause if it
presents “no reasonable danger of
incrimination.” Hiibel, 542 U.S. at 189, 1248.
Ct. at 2460. Allen asserted that he did not

provide his name because he was afraid he
would be arrested for outstanding speeding
tickets. However, this” allegation was
unsubstantiated, as a criminal history and
warrants check run on Allen after his arrest
showed no outstanding warrants or criminal
history. ‘This being so, the act of providing his
name provided no reasonable danger to Allen
that he would incriminate himself, nor would
it furnish a link in a chain of evidence which
could be later used to prosecute him. Hiibel,

542 U.S. at 190, 24 S. Ct. at 2461. Thus, the

disclosure of Allen’s name to Deputy Matkin,

under the circumstances of this case, would
not have been incriminating”.

This is backwards logic. According to the
Montana Court, a person would have to first prove
that there was a danger of incriminating oneself with
their name, in order to gain the fifth amendment
protection of not providing it due to its incriminating
nature. According to the logic put forth by the
Montana Court, one only has 5th amendment
protection if there is absolute proof beyond a shadow
of a doubt, that there is something incriminating
with which to need its protection. Which in turn
would imply that the person bring forth the
incriminating evidence to gain the protection of the
5t amendment. Obviously, by then the damage is
done. The U.S. Supreme Court declared that:

“The privilege afforded not only extends to

answers that would in themselves support

conviction under a federal criminal statute but
likewise embraces those which would furnish

a link in a chain of evidence needed to

prosecute the claimant for a_ federal

crime.....The claimant ts not required to prove
the precise danger since by so doing he would
be forced to disclose those very facts from
which the privilege protects. Hoffman v U.S.
(CF 341 U.S. 479,486,71 CT. 814,818,95 L Ed
1118. (1951)

“The (5 amendment privilege is not limited to
testimony, as ordinarily understood, but
extends to every means by which one may be
compelled to produce tnformation which_may
incriminate.” Boyd us. U.S._Supra; Brown vs
Walker, 161, U.S. 591. (1896)

The United States Supreme Court stated
further that all rights and_ safeguards
contained in the first eight amendments to the
federal constitution are equally applicable in
every state criminal action, “Because a denial
of them would be a denial of due process of
law.” William Malloy vs Patrick J. Hogan, 378
U.S. 1, 84 S. Ct. 1489. Argued March 5, 1964,
decided June, 15, 1964.

Where rights secured by the constitution are
involved, there can be no rulemaking or
legislation which would abrogate them.”
Miranda v. Arizona 384 U.S. 436 at 491.
(1966)

“The claim and exercise of a constitutional

right cannot be converted into a crime.” Miller
v. U.S. 2380 F 486 at 489.

Officer Matkin admits that he wants

Petitioner’s name in case he discovers some offense
later, in order to find him (App. 11 para.6). Petitioner
has brought up (doc. #36 page4) an extreme example

9

of a name being incriminating or being the beginning
link in a chain of evidence: if a Middle Eastern man
with a beard was stopped and questioned about his
name, and he said he was Osama Bin Laden, he
would be arrested immediately. Petitioner hopes it
is obvious to the learned court, all of the possible
occasions in which a name could easily be the
beginning link in a chain of evidence to convict him
of a separate offense. Petitioner would also ask the
Court to take notice that the factual circumstances
in Hitbel are arguably distinguishable from the :e of
Petitioner’s. They are different in that in F.zibel’s
case, officers were notified of a disturbance and
called out to a scene. In Petitioner’s case, the
officer's were acting in their own’ unfettered
discretion. Nevada law also specifically requires a
person to identify themselves to a peace officer, the
language in the Montana statute as discussed below,
indicates just the opposite. Petitioner resents the
repeated attempts to bootstrap Nevada law to him.

B. Montana, unhke other states has no specific law
requiring one to identify oneself to a peace officer on
demand. Petitioner brought this up during the
proceedings in justice court (doc.# 14.0) and the State
responded with M.C.A 46-5-401 as the law that
requires this (doc.# 15). © In fact the language in
M.C.A 46-5-401. Investigative stop and _frisk
indicates the intent of the lawmaker is not to require
a name when on foot.: (1) In order to obtain or verify
an account of the person’s presence or conduct or to
determine whether to arrest the person, a peace
officer may stop any person or vehicle that is
observed in circumstances that create’ a
particularized suspicion that the person or occupant
of a vehicle has committed, is committing or is about

to commit an offense.......... (2) A peace officer who
has lawfully stopped a person or vehicle under this
section may: (a) request the person’s name and
present address and an explanation of the person’s
actions and, if the person is a driver of a vehicle,
demand the person’s drivers license and the vehicle’s
registration and proof of insurance...........

The petitioner would ask the Court to take
note of two different words, request and demand, in
the same sentence, both pertaining to the reason for
the initial stop. The word demand is used when the
person is the driver of the vehicle. The word demand
if looked up in a legal dictionary, gives a
corresponding legal duty to supply what is
demanded. Defendant agrees 100% that due to the
contractual nature of having a drivers license that
the word demand is appropriate, and there is a legal
duty to supply it. This same contractual duty extends
to taking a breathalyzer when you have a driver's
license. However the word request is used in
circumstances other than driving such as _ the
Petitioner being on foot. A look at the word request
in a legal dictionary shows no corresponding legal
duty to supply that which is requested. Notice that
the person’s name, address and an explanation of the
person’s actions all fall under the word request. As
an example, if the person were engaged in an illegal
activity, and the officer requested an explanation of
his actions, that person would be under the 5th
amendment and would have no corresponding duty
to confess, and could not be punished for failing to
explain to the officer what he was doing. If the
lawmakers had intended to make it mandatory for
people to give their name to an officer, they would
have used the word demand instead of request.

1]

Petitioner has brought this up in the pleadings, in
his Answer and Demurr to complaint (doc# 36) and
at the preliminary hearing (page 40-43). Montana
has no law requiring one to identify oneself to an
officer, thus Petitioner is being punished for a
“noncrime” just as if he had plead into a fiction of
law

C. M.C.A. 45-7-302. Obstructing a peace officer or
other public servant, by way of allowing the State to
charge Petitioner with a crime for refusing to
identify himself, automatically implies that it
imposes a duty to identify oneself to a peace officer,
even though it doesn’t declare that in writing. Thus
even though it broadly defines obstruction, the
District Court and the State are construing it to
compel specific performance not — specifically
mentioned. This is what makes it vague and
ambiguous under the 14th amendment. M.C.A 45-7-
302. Obstructing peace officer or other public
servant, as being construed by the District court is
even more unconstitutionally vague than Kolender v.
Lawson, or Brown v. Texas, as at least the States
(California and Texas respectively) had laws on the
books to demand a name or I.D. The petitioner,
being a layman sees no standard of conduct in
rclation to providing ones name to a peace officer.
The requirement that “a person, who loiters and
wanders upon the streets, must present a “credible
and reliable identification” and account for their
presence when requested by a peace officer under
circumstances that would justify a Terry stop was
declared unconstitutionally vague. Kolender v.
Lawson, 461 U.S. 353 (1983) (order denying motion
to dismiss App. 14 para.8). The Statute was vague
under the 14t» amendment because it failed to clarify

12

what is contemplated by the requirement that a
suspect provide credible and reliable information.
What the Petitioner is trying to articulate is that at
least the California statute had some sort of a
requirement for I.D. where M.C.A 45-7-302 makes no
such requirement at all, and doesn’t specifically say
that failure to provide a name or I.D. is an
obstruction. It would seem to Petitioner, that if the
California statute is struck down because it doesn’t
have enough specificity in telling you exactly what
kind of I.D. is required, then M.C.A. 45-7-302 as it is
being applied to Petitioner in this case would have
even greater reason to be struck down, since it
mentions no form of I.D. at all. The District Court
cites Custody and Parental Rights of D.S., 2005 MT
275 P’s 15 & 16. “The person challenging a statue as
vague must prove that no standard of conduct is
specified at all”. Petitioner maintains that M.C.A 45-
7-302 doesn’t prove any standard of conduct at all in
regards to refusal to identifying oneself as a crime, or
a duty to identify oneself. Also cited in this
argument “A statute is void for vagueness in
Montana if it fails to give a person of ordinary
intelligence fair notice that contemplated conduct is
forbidden “. Petitioner is a person of ordinary
intelligence and would think he has the Miranda
right to silence, thus exercising that right is not a
crime. M.C.A. 45-7-302 is written so broadly that a
person who is guilty of murder, but refuses to confess
during an_ interrogation would be guilty” of
obstruction. However he would obviously be well
within his Fifth Amendment right to not confess.

D. The Petitioner was under arrest before being
asked his name, thus his Miranda right to silence
began at that time. Petitioner contends that being

13

placed in the dirt face down and handcuffed easily
meets any definition of arrest. The state contends
that this was just a terry stop and Matkin put
handcuffs on for his own protection, even thought
Matkin admits he had the Petitioner in custody
(police report). Matkin could have used the word
arrest just as easily as custody.

“A Terry stop or seizure cannot resemble a
traditional arrest” Dunaway v. New York, 442
U.S. 200, 212 (1979)

“There can be no doubt that the [ifth
Amendment privilege is available outside of
criminal court proceedings and serves to
protect persons in all settings in which their
freedom of action is curtailed in any
significant way from being compelled io
incriminate themselves.” Miranda v. Arizona,
384 U.S. 436,467 (1966).
“The Officer may ask the terry detainee a
moderate number of questions to determine
his identity and to try to obtain information
confirming or _ dispelling the _ officer’s
suspicions. But the detainee is not obliged to
respond” Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S.
420,439 (1984).
The State insists that this was just a Terry Stop, and
not an arrest, but nowhere in Terry is mention made
of placing someone face down in the dirt in
handcuffs. The actions of Deputy Matkin converted
this into an arrest before any questions were asked.
Defendant, being a layman, and not a _ licensed
attorney who has gone to law school for 7 years,
understands the word anything in the Miranda
Warning to mean just that. The warning is designed

14

to make it easy for the average man on the street to
understand its meaning. If the Miranda Warning
has exceptions then it should be reworded, otherwise
the common man on the street will have to go to law
school to understand what those exceptions are and
when they apply.

2. The Montana Supreme Court denied Petitioner
equal protection and due process under the First,
Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments of the U.S.
Constitution, by not allowing him to testify in his
own defense at trial. This petition for writ of
certiorari presents a simple question: may the State
of Montana deny a defendant equal protection and
due process by not allowing him to testify due to his
religious beliefs? Petitioner filed a document “notice
of refusal to swear an oath or affirm” nearly one
month ahead of trial, citing his religious beliefs and
relevant federal case Jaw, (App. 22). At trial, when
petitioner is not allowed to testify, Judge Rice admits
he didn’t even bother to read the notice (trial
transcripts page38-39). The Montana Supreme Court
claims that no denial of equal protection and due
process took place and that petitioner failed to
provide legal authority or argumerit to support his
contentions (App. 7 para. 14). Petitioner cites the
verse out of the bible that prohibits anything beyond
a yes or no answer. Petitioner then cites Gordon v.
Idaho, 778 F.2d 1397, 1400-01 9'» Cir.(1985). Gordon
also refused to take an oath or affirm due to religious
beliefs and wasn’t allowed to testify. The 9" circuit
ruled that the District Court erred by not probing to
find a way for Gordon to testify that would not offend
his religious beliefs, and subsequently reversed. In
Petitioner’s case, the District Judge had plenty of
time to read the notice, look up Gordon v. Idaho, and

1d

do the same thing to allow petitioner to testify. This
denial of equal protection and due process should by
itself be enough reason to reverse.

CONCLUSION

This petition presents an opportunity in which
to better understand Miranda rights, and further
define the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments
of the U.S. Constitution. The opinion below is clearly
erroneous as a matter of law, fails to comport with
reason, logic and common sense, conflicts with the 9t
Federal Circuit, intent of Montana lawmakers, and
most importantly previous case law of this Court. So
as to protect the Constitution and laws of the United
States, and prevent a slide down the slippery slope to
a police state, Petitioner prays that this Court issue
a writ of certiorari and vacate the judgment of the
Montana State Supreme Court.

Respectfully submitted,

Josh A. Allen pro se
P.O. Box 1621
Havre, MT 59501
(406) 265-2614
(406) 399-0326

App. 1]

DA 08-0249
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF
MONTANA 2009 MT 90N

STATE OF MONTANA,
Plaintiff and Appellee,

Vv.

JOSH A. ALLEN,
Defendant and Appellant.

APPEAL FROM: District Court of the Twelfth
Judicial District, In and For the County of Hill,
Cause No. DC-2007-110 Honorable David G. Rice,
Presiding Judge
COUSEL OF RECORD:
For Appellant: Josh A. Allen, (self
represented), Havre, Montana
For Appellee: Hon. Steve Bullock, Montana
Attorney Gencral, Mark W. Mattioli, Assistant
Attorney General, Helena, Montana
Cyndee L. Peterson, Hill County Attorney, Lindsay
A. Osbourne, Deputy County Attorney, Havre,
Montana
Submitted on briefs: February 25, 2009
Decided: March 24 2009

Justice Patricia O. Cotter delivered the Opinion of
the Court.

l. Pursuant to Section I, Parayraph 3(d)(v),
Montana Supreme Court 1996 Internal Operating

Rules, as amended in 2003, the _ = following
memorandum decision shall not be cited = as

App. 2

precedent. It shall be filed as a public document
with the Clerk of the Supreme Court and its case
title, Supreme Court cause number and disposition
shall be included in this Court’s quarterly list of
noncitable cases published in the Pacific Reporter
and Montana Reports.

2. Josh A. Allen (Allen) appeals his conviction for
obstructing a peace officer, a misdemeanor in
violation of 45-7-302, MCA, in the Twelfth Judicial
District Court, Hill County. For the reasons set
fourth below, we affirm Allen’s conviction.

3. On March 22, 2007, at approximately 2:15
a.m., Hill County Deputy Sheriff Cory Matkin
(Deputy Matkin) was on routine patrol in Havre,
Montana. Deputy Matkin noticed a male, who later
turned out to be Allen, walk from the vicinity of
Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurant and duck out of
sight into a hedge at the corner of a nearby office
building. Deputy Matkin drove by the building and
saw the same person run into an alley at fairly high
speed. Deputy Matkin suspected that the person had
seen him and was running away to avoid detection
and contact with an officer, so he followed him in his
patrol car. As Deputy Matkin later testified, he
wanted to stop the individual to determine why he
was running from him, suspecting that his evasion
might be because of a warrant, violation of probation
or pretrial release conditions, or because he had
committed an offense in the area.

4. Deputy Matkin eventually caught up with
Allen, and activated the siren on his patrol car.
Allen stopped and dropped to the ground at Deputy
Matkin’s request. Deputy Matkin then placed Allen
in handcuffs, as his past experience with people who
run from officer suggested they were likely to fight.

App. 3

Allen made no threatening moves and did not
struggle with Deputy Matkin.

5, Deputy Matkin then asked Allen why he had
been running. Allen asked Deputy Matkin if he was
under arrest or being detained, and Deputy Matkin
responded that it was a detention. According to the
District Court’s factual findings in this matter, when
Allen was “told it was a detention, he said he was
exercising his right not to incriminate himself.”
When Deputy Matkin asked Allen his name, Allen
refused to provide it. Deputy Matkin informed Allen
that he was investigating his reason for running
from him, and that he was obstructing the
investigation by refusing to talk to him. When Allen
continued to refuse to provide his name, Deputy
Matkin arrested him for obstructing a peace officer.

6. Allen was subsequently convicted in justice
court, and appealed to the District Court for a de
novo bench trial. Prior to trial, Allen filed a motion
to dismiss the obstructing charge on the grounds
that Deputy Matkin lacked probable cause to arrest
him and that his constitutional rights under the
First, Fourth, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to
the United States Constitution were violated by his
arrest and the charge itself. The District Court
Denied the motion. The District Court concluded
that there was particularized suspicion to detain
Allen based on the circumstances of the case. The
District Court also reasoned that Allen’s running
from Deputy Matkin, couple with his refusal to
provide his name. after being told of the
investigation, provided probable cause to arrest and
charge him with obstructing. Additionally, the
District Court rejected Allen’s arguments that he
had a constitutional right not to provide Deputy

App. 4

Matkin with his name, and that the obstructing
statute was unconstitutionally vague.

7. At trial, Allen refused to take an oath or
affirm based on his personal religious beliefs, and
was not allowed to testify. Allen was subsequently
convicted at bench trial and this appeal followed.

8. Allen raises a number of issues on appeal
which we restate as follows. First, Allen asserts that
Deputy Matkin did not have particularized suspicion
to detain him or probable cause to arrest and charge
him. Second, Allen asserts that his refusal to
provide his name to Deputy Matkin was protected by
the self-incrimination clause of the Fifth Amendment
of the United States Constitution. Third, Allen
maintains that the obstructing statute under which
he was convicted is unconstitutionally vague. And
fourth, Allen maintains that he was denied equal
protection and due process when the District Court
refused to allow him to testify based on his refusal to
take an oath or affirm.

9, The grant or denial of a motion to dismiss in a
criminal case presents a question of law which we
review de novo. State v. Howard, 2008 MT 173,
Para.8, 343 Mont. 378, 184 P.3d 344. Our review ofa
motion to dismiss is plenary, and we dctermine
whether the district court’s conclusions of law are
correct. Howard, Para. 8. Any findings of fact in
support of a district court’s denial of a motion to
dismiss are reviewed under the clearly erroneous
standard. Howard, Para. 9

LO We conclude the District Court did not err in
denying Allen’s motion to dismiss. We agree with
the District Court that there was _ particularized
suspicion to justify the stop of Allen and probable

App. 5

cause to arrest him for obstructing. Particularized
suspicion 1s based on objective data from which an
officer can infer that the person stopped is or has
been engaged in wrongdoing. Brown. v. State, 2009
MT 64, Para. 20, Mont.___, =P.3d__. Whether
particularized suspicion is present is based on the
totality of the circumstances. State v. Fellers, 2004
MT 321, Para. 21, 324 Mont. 62, 101 P.3d 764.
Probable cause to arrest is established when the
facts and circumstances within an officer’s personal
knowledge are sufficient to warrant a reasonable
person to believe that someone is committing or has
committed and offense. State v. Williamson, 1998 MT
199, Para. 12, 290 Mont. 321, 965 P.2d 231. Here,
Allen’s evasive behavior at 2 a.m. provided sufficient
particularized suspicion for Deputy Matkin to detain
him, and his ensuing refusal to provide his name
supplied probable cause to arrest and charge him
with obstructing under these circumstances.

11. In this connection, we also agree with the
District Court that Allen’s mght against self-
incrimination did not protect him from having to
provide his name to Deputy Matking. The privilege
against self-incrimination protects an_ individual
from being compelled to implicitly or explicitly
disclose information or relate factual assertions of an
incrimination nature. Hiibel v. Sixth Jud. Dist. Ct.
of Nevada, Humbolt Co., 542 U.S. 177, 189, 124 S.
Ct. 2451, 2460 (2004). <A disclosure of a suspect’s
name will not implicate the self-incrimination clause
if it presents “no reasonable danger of
incrimination.” Hitbel, 542 U.S. at 189, 124 S. Ct. at
2460. Allen asserted that he did not provide his
name because he was afraid he would be arrested for
outstanding speeding tickets. However, this

App. 6

allegation was unsubstantiated, as a criminal history
and warrants check run on Allen after his arrest
showed no outstanding warrants or criminal histcry.
This being so, the act of providing his name provided
no reasonable danger to Allen that he would
incriminate himself, nor would it furnish a link in a
chain of evidence which could be later used to
prosecute him. Altibel, 542 U.S. at 190, 24 S. Ct. at
2461. Thus, the disclosure of Allen’s name to Deputy
Matkin, under the circumstances of this case, would
not have been incriminating.

12. We also agree with the District Court that the
obstructing statute under which Allen was charged
and convicted was not unconstitutionally vague.
This statute reads as follows:

Obstructing peace officer or other public
servant. (1) A person commits the offense of
obstructing a peace officer or public servant it the
person knowingly obstructs, impairs, or hinders the
enforcement of the criminal law, the preservation of
peace, or the performance of a governmental
function, including service of process. (2) It is no
defense to a prosecution under this section that the
peace officer was acting in an illegal manner,
provided that the peace officer was acting under the
peace officer's official authority.

Section 45-7-302)(1)and(2), MCA.

13. We presume statutes are constitutional, and
the party challenging a statute bears the burden of
proving the statute’s invalidity beyond a reasonable
doubt. Jn re Custody and Parental Rights of D.S.,
2005 MT 275, Para. 15, 329 Mont. 180, 122 P.3d
1239. A statute is vague on its face if it fails to give a
person of ordinary intelligence fair notice that her

App. 7

contemplated conduct is forbidden. Custody of D.S.,
Para. 16. The party challenging a statute for
vagueness faces a hig’ burden of proof in showing
that the statute specifies “no standard of
conduct....at all” which is prohibited. Custody of
D.S., Para. 16 (quotation omitted). We agree with
the District Court that Allen failed to meet his high
burden. The obstructing statute does give fair notice
to a person of ordinary intelligence of the prohibited
conduct and is not unconstitutionally vague.

14. Finally, we conclude that the District Court
did not deny Allen his equal protection or due
process when it required him to take an oath or
affirm as a precondition to testifying in court. M.R.
Evid. 603 states that “[blefore testifying, every
witness shall be required to declare that the witness
will testify truthfull, by oath or affirmation
administered in a form calculated to awaken the
witness’ conscience and impress the witness’ mind
with the duty to do so.” See also Gordon v. Idaho,
778 F.2d 1397, 1400-01 (9t» Cir. 1985) (discussing the
federal counterpart to M.R. Evid. 603). Allen has
simply failed to show that the imposition of the oath
or affirmation requirement of M.R. Evid. 603 has
denied him equal protection of the laws, due process,
or otherwise impinged upon his rights. While Allen
asserts that certain tenets of his faith prevent him
from complying with this rule, he has provided no
legal authority or argument to support his contention
that he should be completely excused from the oath
or affirmation requirement in M.R. Evid. 603 prior to
giving testimony in court.

15. We have determined to decide this case
pursuant to Section 1, Paragraph 3(d)(v) of our 1996
Internal Operating Rules, as amended in 2003,

App. 8

which provides for memorandum opinions. It is
manifest on the record before us that the District
Court did not err in its disposition of this matter
when it denied Allen’s motion to dismiss and
subsequently convicted him of _ obstructing.
Therefore, we affirm.

App. 9

Hon. David G. Rice 2008 March, 27
District Judge

Hill County Courthouse

Havre, MT 59501

Tel: 406-265-5481, Ext 231

MONTANA TWELFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
COURT, HILL COUNTY

THE STATE OF MONTANA )Cause No. DC-07-110
Plaintiff, )

Vs ) ORDER DENYING

JOSH ABEL ALLEN, ) MOTION TO
Defenaant. ) DISMISS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE: Defendant
appeals a conviction in Hill County Justice Court for
the offense of Obstructing a Peace Officer. He filed a
motion to dismiss the charge in this Court because
he feels the officer lacked probable cause and his 15,
4th 5th, and 14th Amendment rights were violated by
the charge. The State resists the motion and argues
that there was particularized suspicion for the stop,
probable cause for the arrest, and no reason to
dismiss the charge for constitutional reasons.
Essentially, Defendant argues that he could not be
required to give his name to the officer an if the
statute requires that, it 1s unconstitutionally vague.
The Court received evidence at a hearing on March
3, 2008. Hill County Deputy Sheriff Cory Matkin

App. 10

testified and was cross-examined by Defendant, who
appeared without counsel. Hill County Deputy
County Attorney Lindsay Osbourne appeared for the
State. Both parties filed briefs before the hearing so
the Court considers the matter submitted for
decision.

ISSUES:

1. Whether particularized suspicion justified
detention of Defendant.

2. Whether probable cause supported issuance of
the complaint.

a. Whether Defendant had a constitutional right

to refuse to give his name to an officer.

4. Whether 45-7-302, MCA, is unconstitutionally
vague.

FINDINGS OF FACT: In addition to any finding of
fact stated on the record at the hearing of this
motion, the Court enters the following findings:

1. Deputy Matkin was on patrol at about 2:15 a.m.
on March 22, 2007, in the west end of Havre, Hill
County, Montana. Matkin is an experienced officer
with a number of years of service and training for his
current position of Deputy Sheriff.

2. In the area of Kentucky Fried Chicken and the
professional office of Dr. Beardsley, Matkin saw a
male walk across from KFC and then duck out of
sight into a hedge at the northwest corner of the
professional building. As Matkin drove near the
building, the person ran along the north side, turned
south, and then ran west into the alley at a high
speed run.

App. 11

3. As Matkin suspected the person had seen him and
may be running to avoid detection and contact with
an officer, he drove around the professional building
and followed the person down the alley. Matkin
wanted to stop the person and determine why he was
running away. He suspected the person’s evasion
might be because of a warrant, probation conditions,
pretrial release conditions, or that he was an
offender for some offense in the area.

4. As Matkin caught up to the person behind KFC,
across the street from the professional building, he
hit his siren. The person then stopped and got on the
ground as requested by the deputy. He placed the
person in handcuffs as his experience with people
who run suggested they could be fighters. The
person made no threatening moves and did not
struggle with the officer.

5. When Matkin asked the person why he was
running away, he asked the deputy if this was a
detention or arrest. When he was told it was a
detention, he said he was exercising his right not to
incriminate himself. Matkin then asked his name to
check his status. Again the person refused to answer
saying that he was not talking to the officer.

6. Deputy Matkin then told the person that he was
investigating his reason for running and he was
obstructing that investigation by refusing to talk to
him. Matkin wanted to determine the person’s
identity and detain him if necessary. In addition, by
detaining him, he could check the area for evidence
of an offense and know his identity if later
investigation connected to him to any offense. Even

App. 12

after Matkin told the person he was obstructing him
by refusing to tell him his name, he refused to tell
him.

ry

7. Matkin then arrested the person for refusal to telt
him his name. He later found out the Defendant’s
name after he was taken to the detention center.
Deputy Matkin then issued him a ticket in violation
of 45-7-302 MCA, in Hill County Justice Court and
stated that Defendant obstructed a peace officer “by
fleeing from a deputy on foot and failing to identify
himself upon apprehension”. (See notice to Appear
and Complaint).

LEGAL PRINCIPLES:

1. The Court has jurisdiction over this matter.
Montana requires that a peace officer stop a person
only after the officer has developed a particularized
suspicion to warrant the stop.46-5-401 (1), MCA. To
paraphrase “particularized suspicion” , an officer
must have objective facts from which an experienced
officer can make inferences that lead to a suspicion
that a person has committed, is committing, or is
about to commit an offense. State v. Gopher, 193
Mont. 189, 194, 631 P.2d 293, 296 (1981). It
continues to be reaffirmed that the totality of the
circumstances surrounding the stop are to be
considered. State v. Grindeland, 2001 MT 196, 306
Mont. 262, 265, 32 P.3d 767.

2. “A peace officer who has lawfully stopped a person
or vehicle under this section may: (a) request the
person’s name and present address and an
explanation of the person’s action....”’46-5-401 (2) (a),

App. 13

MCA. There is no criminal penalty attached to this
statute.

3. “ A person commits the offense of obstructing a
peace officer or public servant if the person
knowingly obstructs, impairs, or hinders’ the
enforcement of the criminal law, the preservation of
the peace or the performance of a governmental
function, including service of process. 45-7-302 (1),

MCA.

4. “When a complaint is presented to a court
charging a person with the commission of an offense,
the court shall examine the complaint or any
affidavits, if filed, to determine whether probable
cause exists to allow the filing of a charge.” 46-11-
110 MCA. “The charge must be in writing and in the
name of the state or the appropriate county or
municipality and must specify the court in which the
charge is filed. The charge must be plain, concise,
and definite statement of the offense charged,
including the name of the offense, whether the
offense is a misdemeanor or felony, the name of the
person charged, and the time and place of the offense
as definitely as can be determined. The charge must
state for each count the official or customary citation
of the statute, rule regulation, or other provision of
laws that the defendant is allege to have violated.”
46-11-401, MCA.

5. “Probable cause to arrest is established if the facts
and circumstances within an officer's personal
knowledge....are sufficient to warrant a reasonable
person to believe that someone is committing or has
committed an offense”. State v. Williamson, 1998
MT 199 Para. 12.

App. 14

6. “ Sections 45-2-101 (34) (statutory definition of
“knowingly”) and 45-7-302 (1), MCA, require that an
individual obstructing a peace officer must engage
in conduct under circumstances that make him or
her aware that it is highly probable that such
conduct will impede the performance of a peace
officer’s lawful duty. In other words, the City had to
prove that Cameron was aware that his conduct
would hinder the execution of the Officer’s duties.”
City of Kalispell v. Cameron, 2002 MT 78, Para. 11.
“One may obstruct an officer by refusing a request to
state one’s name and _ address, to _ produce
identification, or to show a driver's license. However.
this assumes that the failure hindered the officer in
performing a duty.” 58 Am Jur 2d “Obstructing
Justice” 62.

7. In Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47 (1979), a
conviction for Defendant’s failure to identify himself
was overturned because the officers who made the
arrest did not have any reasonable suspicion to
suspect Defendant of any criminal conduct.

8. The requirement that a person, who loiters and
wanders upon the streets, must present a “credible
and reliable identification” and account for their
presence when requested by a peace officer under
circumstances that justify a Terry stop was declared
unconstitutionally vague. Kolender v. Lawson, 461
U.S. 353 (1983). The statute was vague under the
14% Amendment because it failed to clarify what is
contemplated by the requirement that a_ suspect
provide credible and reliable identification. Too much
discretion was placed in officers so that the average

App. 15

person could not determine compliance with the law.
A statute is void for vagueness in Montana if it fails
to give a person of ordinary intelligence fair notice
that contemplated conduct is forbidden. The person
challenging a statute as vague must prove beyond a
reasonable doubt in that no standard of conduct is
specified at all. Custody and Parental Rights of D.S.,
2005 MT 275 Para. 15 &16.

9. The disclosure of a Defendant’s name and other
expressions of a voice is not testimonial and
therefore neither suppressible nor in violation of
Miranda. State v. Devlin, 1999 MT 90 Para. 21.
There is no violation of the right to remain silent,
unreasonable search and seizure, of violation of free
speech.

ANALYSIS: Defendant has requested dismissal of
the Complaint in a pre-trial setting. The Court can
easily find that particularized suspicion existed for
Deputy Matkin to stop Defendant. At that late hour,
a person who runs when a police car is present
warrants contact. While the person may not be
involved in any criminal activity, the officer has a
duty to be sure he is not wanted or in violation of
release conditions. In addition, the officer has a
legitimate reason to identify the person in case some
offense is later discovered. Deputy Matkin’s reasons
for stopping Defendant are very reasonable in lght
of his experience. While it is not an offense to run
unless Defendant knows that the officer is after him,
running from an officer is certainly a suspicious
activity at that time of night. All that must be found
for particularized suspicion is present as Deputy
Matkin pursued Defendant. Beyond that, once his
name was requested and he was told that Matkin

App. 16

was investigating his reason for running, he knew
that he could be charged with obstruction. There
does not need to be an actual crime for the officer to
do his duty in checking out the reason for
Defendant's furtive movements. The running couple
with refusal to give a name after being told of the
investigation establishes probable cause to charge
the offense. Whether Defendant is actually guilty
will be determined at trial. For now, a reasonable
person could easily find grounds to believe that
Defendant violated the statute by refusing to give his
name after being told that he was detained to learn
the reason for his running. He has no valid
constitutional right to refuse to merely give his
name. That was all that was asked.

Defendant’s challenge to the constitutionality
of the statute is not supported. The cases he cites do
not support his argument. Particularized suspicion
is present here so Brown does not apply. The
Supreme Court never reached the constitutionality of
the statute in Texas. The Montana statute clearly
requires the State to prove a person knowingly
violates the law by acts that obstruct, impair, or
hinder enforcement of the criminal law, preservation
of the peace, or the performance of a governmental
function. Nothing could be plainer for a person who
runs from an officer to know that the officer wants to
know why he is running. Whether he is actually
guilty is for trial. However, the officer must
establish the obstruction and show what is being
interfered with by a defendant's acts. There are a
number of cases like Cameron, where the acts of a
defendant do not reach that level and the charges
must be dismissed. That is not the case at this stage
of this pre-trial proceeding as the Court has not yet

App. 17

heard the State’s case. Defendant's citation to
Kolender is also not persuasive as the Montana
statute requires the officer to show that his activity
meets the statute and Defendant’s acts obstruct that
activity. The Montana statute has been in place for
many years without challenge to its constitutionality
for vagueness. In this case, it is not merely the
running that resulted in the charge, but the running
and later refusing to answer a simple question about
his name. While Defendant promptly stopped, and is
not guilty of anything at that stage, once he knew
that the officer was investigating his activity and
wanted to know his name, he was on notice that the
officer was performing his duty. Whether he
obstructed the officer’s duty is for trial. However for
now, the charge will not be dismissed.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Particularized suspicion was present for the stop
of Defendant and probable cause to charge him arose
after the stop.

2. Defendant had no constitutional right to refuse to
give his name to Deputy Matkin.

3. 45-7-302, MCA, is not unconstitutionally vague.
Based on the above Findings and Conclusions of
Law, Defendant's motion to dismiss is DENIED.
This matter will proceed to trial before the Court
without a jury.

DATED this 26'» day of March, 2008 District Judge

App. 18
Hon. David G. Rice 2008 March, 28
District Judge
Hill County Courthouse
Havre, MT 59501
Tel: 406-265-5481, Ext 231

MONTANA TWELFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
COURT, HILL COUNTY

THE STATE OF MONTANA )Cause No. DC-07-110
Plaintiff, )
Vs ) JUDGEMENT
JOSH ABEL ALLEN, )
Defendant. )

This matter came before the Court for bench
trial on March 27, 2008. Defendant appeared Pro Se
and the State was represented by Lindsay A.
Osbourne, Deputy Hill County Attorney.

Testimony was presented, and the court found
defendant guilty of Obstruction a Peace Officer, a
misdemeanor. Therefore,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND
DECREED, as follows:

1. Defendant is guilty of the offense of Obstructing
a Peace Officer, a misdemeanor, in violation of
45-7-302, MCA.

App. 19

2. Imposition of sentence is deferred for six (6)
months, subject to the following conditions:

a. Defendant shall pay a fine of $100.00, with credit
for time previously served, thus discharging the fine.

b. Defendant shall pay the mandatory $15.00
prosecution fee, $50.00 victim’s fee and $20.00
surcharge.

c. Defendant shall remain law abiding.

d. Defendant must keep in contact with the Hill
County Attorney’s office and notify them of any
change of address.

3. Sentence is stayed pending appeal to the Montana
Supreme Court.

ORDERED from the bench the 27» day of March,
2008. Dated this 28th day of March, 2008.

JUDGE OF DISTRICT COURT

App. 20

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF
MONTANA
DA 08-0249
FILED MAY 12, 2009
STATE OF MONTANA,
Plaintiff and Appellee
Vv.
JOSH A, ALLEN,
Defendant and Appellant.

Petitioner Josh A. Allen, appearing as a self-
represented litigant, has filed a_ Petition for
Rehearing in the captioned matter, and the State of
Montana has filed a response objecting to the
Petition. Due consideration having been given to the
Petition, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the
Petition for Rehearing is DENIED. IT IS FURTHER
ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court serve a copy
of this Order upon counsel of record and upon Allen
at his last known address. Dated this 12 day of May,
2009.

App. 21

lst Amendment U.S. Constitution. Congress shal]
make no law respecting an establishment of religion,
or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging
the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of
the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the
Government for a redress of grievances.

5th Amendment U.S. Constitution. No person
shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise
infamous crime, unless on presentment. or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising
in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public danger; nor
shall any person be subject for the same offense to be
twice put in jeopardy of hfe or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case tc be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.

6th Amendment U.S. Constitution. In all criminal
prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a
speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the
State and district where in the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature
and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with
the witnesses against him; to have compulsory
process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to
have the Assistance of Counsel for his defense

14t Amendment U.S. Constitution. Section 1. All
persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which

App. 22

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens
of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, lberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

45-7-302. Obstructing peace officer or other
public servant. (1) A person commits the offense of
obstructing a peace officer or public servant if the
person knowingly obstructs, impairs, or hinders the
enforcement of the criminal law, the preservation of
the peace, or the performance of a governmental
function, including service of process.

(2) It is no defense to a prosecution under this
section that the peace officer was acting in an illegal
manner, provided that the peace officer was acting
under the peace officer's official authority.

(3) A person convicted of the offense of obstructing
a peace officer or other public servant, including a
person serving process, shall be fined not to exceed
$500 or be imprisoned in the county jail for a term
not to exceed 6 months, or both.

46-5-401. Investigative stop and frisk. (1) In
order to obtain or verify an account of the person's
presence or conduct or to determine whether to
arrest the person, a peace officer may stop any
person or vehicle that is observed in circumstances
that create a particularized suspicion that the person
or occupant of the vehicle has committed, is
committing, or is about to commit an offense. If the
stop is for a violation under Title 61, unless
emergency circumstances exist or the officer has
reasonable cause to fear for the officer's own safety
or for the public's safety, the officer shall as promptly
as possible inform the person of the reason for the
stop.

App. 23

(2) A peace officer who has lawfully stopped a
person or vehicle under this section may:

(a) request the person's name and present address
and an explanation of the person's actions and, if the
person is the driver of a vehicle, demand the person's
driver's license and the vehicle's registration and
proof of insurance; and

(b) frisk the person and take other reasonably
necessary steps for protection if the officer has
reasonable cause to suspect that the person is armed
and presently dangerous to the officer or another
person present. The officer may take possession of
any object that is discovered during the course of the
frisk if the officer has probable cause to believe that
ihe object is a deadly weapon until the completion of
the stop, at which time the officer shall either
immediately return the object, if legally possessed, or
arrest the person.

(3) A peace officer acting under subsection (2)
while the peace officer is not in uniform shall inform
the person as promptly as possible under the
circumstances and in any case | 2fore questioning the
person that the officer is a peace officer.

App. 24
Josh A. Allen

P.O. box 1621
Havre, MT 59501
(406) 265-2614

MONTANA TWELFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT, HILL
COUNTY HONORABLE DAVID G. RICE DISTRICT
JUDGE HILL COUNTY COURTHOUSE HAVRE,

MONTANA
THE STATE OF MONTANA )CAUSE NO. DC-07-
plaintiff ) 110
vs NOTICE OF REFUSAL TO
Josh A. Allen SWEAR OR AFFIRM OR
defendant TAKE AN OATH

COMES NOW the Defendant, Josh A. Allen, to
enter a NOTICE OF REFUSAL TO SWEAR OR
TAKE AN OATH, to wit: According to the
Defendant’s truly and sincerely held religious beliefs
from the bible the Defendant cannot swear or take
an oath. The Defendant cannot Affirm either, as this
is synonymous with swearing, this issue was taken
before the court in Gordon v. Idaho. The Defendant
would ask the court to accept this as dicta, and
respect the Defendant’s religious beliefs in this
preliminary hearing and trial. The bible instructs in
the book of James, 5:12 “But above all, my brethren,
do not swear, either by heaven or by earth or with any
other oath, but let your yes be yes and your no be no,
that you may not fall under condemnation”.

App. 25

This instruction ts repeated at Matthew 5:33-
5:37 “Again you have heard that it was said of the
men of old, ‘you shall not swear falsely, but shall
perform to the Lord what you have sworn.’ But I say
to you, Do not swear at all, either by heaven, jor it is
the throne of God, or by earth, for it is his footstool, or
by Jerusalem, for it ts the city of the great King. And
do not swear by your head, for your cannot make one
hair white or black. Let what you say be simply ‘Yes’

or ‘No’: anything more than this comes from evil.” The
Defendant does agree to tell the truth, and it should
be pointed out that swearing to tell the truth, or

taking an oath hasn’t stopped anyone from lying
anyway.

Dated this 29th day of February, 2008

Respectfully Submitted
Pro Se

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0860%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
