# Opposition Brief — Grenada Stamping and Assembly, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board (No. 09-95)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0786%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

Zz

No. 09-95

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

GRENADA STAMPING AND ASSEMBLY INC.,
PETITIONER

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

ELENA KAGAN

RONALD MEISBURG Solicitor General
General Counsel Counsel of Record
Rare Department of Justice
JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR. Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
Deputy General Counsel (202) 514-2217

JOHN H. FERGUSON
Associate General Counsel
LINDA DREEBEN
Deputy Associate General
Counsel
ELIZABETH HFANEY
Attorney
National Labor Relations
Bourd
Washington, D.C. 20570

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the National Labor Relations Board’s
twenty-year-old case law requiring employers to give
the incumbent union reasonable advance notice of an
impending poll is rational and consistent with the Na-
tional Labor Relations Act and relevant Supreme Court
case law.

2. Whether substantial evidence supports the Na-
tional Labor Relations Board’s finding that petitioner
unlawfully polled its employees about their continued
support for the Union when it failed to provide reason-
able advance notice of the poll to the Union.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
COUTTS TIOW yon cis Cos aw eS se eRe eae ee l
CUCL og 5 X6Sis Sus 05 0056s 0 8 ee l
UNIND 66.5 kk oc iN wes 065 ee ees ae eee eee 2
PS bk hid evi 644 eee 8
COR IRIOTE ok oes se eck oe ewe ee eta eee 15
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Allentown Mack Sales & Serv., Inc. v. NLRB,
Soe Us BO CAM) hse o se eevee wd nes seus. Oey ee eee
Auciello lron Works, Inc. v. NLRB, 517 U.S. 781
CSG 6 nk a wwe 00a wee eee ee eee ee Fy
Boaz Carpet Yarns, [nec., 280 N.L.R.B. 40 (1986) ..... ‘Pee
Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB,
OSG UB. Bt CAM) het an eerie eae eee ree 2
Henry Bierce Co. v. NLRB, 23 F.3d 1101 (6th Cir.
SUMS kn ks ks vee ee ee a ee
Levitz Furniture Co. of the Pac., 333 N.L.R.B. 717
CR) sks oak wie da ee eee ee eee g
Mingtree Restaurant, lie. v. NLRB, 736 F.2d 1295
Co Cae: ST gg bk ola eee ee ee 1]
Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94 (1988) ........c0ce sean 12
Struksnes Constr. Co., 165 N.L.R.B. 1062 (1967) ...... 3,6
Taylor v. Freeland & Kronz, 503 U.S. 638 (1992) ....... 12

Texas Petrochems. Corp., 296 N.L.R.B. 1057 (1989),
enforced in relevant part, 923 F.2d 398 (5th Cir.
RR) nce Pies os ee ee ee eee

Texas Petrochems. Corp. v. NLRB, 923 F.2d 398
(5th Cir. 1991)

we
_
-
—
—

(111)

Cases—Continued: Page

Unafiret Corp., 346 N.L.R.B. 591 (2006) ............. 7,
Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474
EN a ate eg tk weet cee oa eee Ae lek D
Wagon Wheel Bowl, Inc. v. NLRB, 47 F.3d 332
ES So ee ee ae Mie eG ee ee
Woelke & Romero Framing, Ine. v. NLRB, 456 U.S.
gh...) SA ae rarer ere rere re

(Constitution and statutes:

U.S. Const. Amend. I........ PP Pe Te eee Ee ee
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 et seg.:
eT a ee ee ae ee yA
RS es BE a oe ee a Pa eae
ao Unt. PO U6 Bia) fw. ok on ec causes 6,
29 U.S.C. 16a) BEAMS) .ww ccc cee cccs z. &.

29 U.S.C. ba8(e) (8 8(e))
71) SC ines). .....
29 U.S.C. 160(e) (§ 10(e))

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 09-95

GRENADA STAMPING AND ASSEMBLY INC.,
PETITIONER

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-11)
is not published in the F'ederal Reporter but is reprinted
in 322 Fed. Appx. 404. The decision of the National La-
bor Relations Board (Pet. App. 15-150) is reported at
351 N.L.R.B. 1152.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
April 28, 2009. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on July 22, 2009. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

)

STATEMENT

1. The National Labor Relations Act (Act) guaran-
tees that “|rjepresentatives designated or selected for
the purposes or collective bargaining by the majority of
the employees in a unit appropriate for such purposes,
shall be the exclusive representatives of all the employ-
ees in such unit.” 29 U.S.C. 159(a). It is an unfair labor
practice for an employer “to refuse to bargain collec-
tively with the representatives of his employees,” 29
U.S.C. 158(a)(5), or “to interfere with, restrain, or co-
erce employees in [their] exercise of the rights guaran-
teed in” Section 7 of the Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(a), including
“the right * * * to bargain collectively through repre-
sentatives of their own choosing,” 29 U.S.C, 157.

A union that has been “designated or selected for the
purposes of collective bargaining by the majority of the
employees,” 29 U.S.C. 159(a), is usually entitled to a
conclusive presumption of majority support for one year
following certification and during the term of a collective
bargaining agreement (up to three years), and a rebut-
table presumption of majority support thereafter. Auci-
ello Tron Works, Inc. v. NLRB, 517 U.S. 781, 785-786
(1996); Fadl River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB,
482 U.S. 27, 38 (1987) (explaining that the presumption
of majority status is based on a policy determination
that it “promotles]| stability in collective-bargaining re-
lationships, without impairing the free choice of employ-
ees’) (citation omitted).

As the National Labor Relations Board (Board) has
recognized, employers may have legitimate reasons to
poll their employees to ascertain continuing support for
the incumbent union when the presumption of majority
status becomes rebuttable. See Texras Petrochems.
Corp., 296 N.L.R.B. 1057, 1061 (1989), enforced in rele-

vant part, 923 F.2d 398 (5th Cir. 1991) (Texas Petro-
chems.). At the same time, the Board “believes that em-
ployer polling is potentially ‘disruptive’ to established
bargaining relationships and ‘unsettling’ to employees.”
Allentown Mack Sales & Serv., Inc. v. NLRB, 522 U.S.
359, 364 (1998) (Allentown Mack) (quoting Texas Petro-
chems., 296 N.L.R.B. at 1061). To balance these compet-
ing interests, the Board permits employer-sponsored
polling but defines the circumstances (both substantive
and procedural) under which an employer may conduct
such a poll.

First, an employer can lawfully conduct a poll of its
employees about their support for an incumbent union
only if it has a good faith reasonable doubt (meaning
uncertainty) as to the union’s majority status. See Al-
lentown Mack, 522 U.S. at 367, 380. Second, the em
ployer must ensure that: (1) the purpose of the poll was
to determine the truth of a union’s claim of majority sup-
port; (2) that purpose was communicated to the employ-
ees; (3) assurances against reprisal were given; (4) the
employees were polled by secret ballot; and (5) the
employer has not engaged in unfair labor practices or
otherwise created a coercive atmosphere. Struksnes
Constr. Co., 165 N.1.R.B. 1062, 1062-1068 (1967) (Strak-
snes). Third, employers must provide the union with
advance notice of the time and place of the poll. 7’exras
Petrochems., 296 N.I.R.B. at 1064; Henry Bierce Co. v.
NLRB, 23 F.3d 1101, 1108-1109 (6th Cir. 1994).

The advance notice requirement, the only require-
ment at issue here, has been in place since the early
1980s and was adopted by the Board in Texas Petro-
chemicals, 296 N.L.R.B. at 1063-1064. See Texas Petro-
chems. Corp. v. NLRB, 923 F.2d 398, 403 & n.7 (Sth Cir.
1991) (explaining that the Fifth and Ninth Circuits

adopted an advance notice requirement in 1981 and
1984, respectively, and the Board referred to advance
notice in 1982); see also Henry Bierce Co., 23 F.3d
at 1108-1109. Advance notice to an incumbent union is
“eritical” because the union “could be legitimately
stripped of recognition as [the employees’] collective
bargaining representative based on the results of such
a poll,” Texas Petrochems., 296 N.L.R.B. at 1064; and it
is particularly important when a successor employer,
soon after taking over the business, seeks to poll its em-
ployees, Texas Petrochems. Corp., 923 F.2d at 4038. Pro-
viding such notice enables the union and the employer to
present arguments for and against continued represen-
tation, and provides employees with the necessary tools
to make a fully informed decision. Jbid. Advance notice
also allows the union time to review the polling arrange-
ments, designate an observer, be present when the votes
are tallied, and “make certain that as many eligible vot-
ers as possible will have the opportunity to vote.” Texas
Petrochems., 296 N.L.R.B. at 1074.

2. On March 10, 2005, petitioner acquired the assets
of its predecessor, Grenada Manufacturing, LLC. Pet.
App. 17; see id. at 13 n.3. At that time, the United Steel,
Paper and Forestry, Rubber, Manufacturing, Energy,
Allied-Industrial, and Service Workers International
Union (Union) represented the company’s employees.
/d. at 12, 16-17. The Union’s contract had expired ap-
proximately one month earlier. /d. at 17.

On March 16 or 17, petitioner hired an attorney to
poll the emplovees regarding their continued support for
the Union. Pet. App. 69. Approximately one week later,
at around 1:30 p.m. on the aiternoon of March 25, peti-
tioner met with Union officers (who were also employ-
ees) and informed them that there would be a poll held

the following morning at 7:00 a.m., approximately 18
hours later. /d. at 9, 70-75. When the officers objected,
petitioner assured them that “lilt’s just a poll,” there
was nothing “to be concerned about,” and “[iJt doesn’t
mean anything.” /d. at 70-71, 76. Only after that meet-
ing (2.e., later on the afternoon of March 23) did peti-
tioner post a notice informing employees of the poll
scheduled for the following morning. /d. at 77-78. Given
the timing, Union officers had no opportunity to discuss
the poll with their co-workers before leaving work at the
end of their shift, and no ability to seek legal advice
from Union attorneys who were already leaving for the
day. /d. at 74-77.

The result of the poll was 67 against union represen-
tation, and 46 for the Union. Pet. App. 87. Citing the
poll as evidence of actual loss of majority support, peti-
tioner withdrew recognition of the Union. /d. at 99.
Thereafter, petitioner altered numerous terms and con-
ditions of employment, including, inter alia, implement-
ing a new Section 401(k) plan, health-care benefit plan,
and retirement-incentive plan. /d. at 107-108.

3. Acting on unfair labor practice charges filed by
the Union, the Board’s General Counsel issued a com-
plaint alleging, among other things, that petitioner vio-
lated Section 8(a)(1) and (5) of the Act by conducting a
poll of its employees and relying on that poll to support
its withdrawal of recognition. Pet. App. 30-31. After a
hearing, the administrative law judge (ALJ) held that
petitioner committed unfair labor practices by conduct-
ing the poll without providing the Union with reasonable
advance notice as required by Texas Petrochemicals,
supra, and by failing to provide employees with assur-
ances against reprisals and access to a secret ballot, and
by creating a coercive atmosphere, all contrary to the

6

dictates of Struksnes, 165 N.L.R.B. at 1062-1063. Pet.
App. 115-127.

The Board affirmed, adopting the ALJ’s findings
that the poll violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act
because petitioner failed to comply with the reasonable
advance notice requirement, and Section 8(a)(1) because
petitioner failed to poll employees by secret ballot. Pet.
App. 13 & n.4, 22.

4. The Board petitioned for enforcement of its or-
der. In an unpublished, per curiam opinion, the court of
appeals granted the petition for enforcement on one
ground: there was “substantial evidence in the record to
support the conclusion of the ALJ, as affirmed by the
|Board], that [petitioner] failed to give the Union rea-
sonable advance notice of the poll.” Pet. App. 7. The
court of appeals accepted the Board’s concession that
petitioner had a “good faith basis” for polling its employ-
ees, and did not consider any other grounds urged for
affirmanee. /d. at 6-7.

At the outset, the court of appeals acknowledged
polling as “an important tool” tuo help employers “gauge
a union’s majority support” and “avoid liability for bar-
gaining with a union that does not in faet enjoy majority
support.” Pet. App. 5. Expressly limiting its opinion to
“the discrete facts of this case” (id. at 10-11), the court
of appeals held that notifying the Union “mid-afternoon
on the day before the 7:00 a.m. commencement of vot
ing,’ when an attorney was retained and the pol!
planned “no less than a full week prior,” left “no serious
question that the notice was not furnished a reasonable
time in advance.” /d. at 11. This “secant 18 hour|]” no-
tice made it “virtually impossible” for the Union “to seek
legal guidance, communicate with the employees, or ar-
range tor the presence of observers or third-party ad-

7

ministrators before the poll became a fait accompli.” /d.
at 7-8. Petitioner’s failure to give reasonable notice
eliminated “any chance that the Union might otherwise
have had to contact its members or take steps to ensure
that the poll would be conducted in compliance with the
[other procedural] requirements * * * and in such a
manner as not to constitute an unfair labor practice.”
/d. at 11. That was particularly troublesome, the court
explained, because petitioner was a successor employer
seeking to poll its employees shortly after taking over.
Jd. at 10. The court of appeals concluded that the policy
behind requiring advance notice—“allowing a union time
to have contact with the employees and to disseminate
information”—was “certainly not furthered by the very
short time in which to act that [petitioner] afforded the
Union.” Jbid.

The court rejected petitioner's contention that two
prior Board cases (decided approximately twenty years
apart) compelled a different outcome or required a re-
mand for the Board to reconcile its precedents. Pet.
App. 8-9. The court found both decisions distinguishable
on their facts. In lU/nifirst Corp., 346 N.L.R.B. 591
(2006) (Unifirst), unlike the instant case, the union was
informed of the poll a “few days” before, and employees
were informed at a company-wide meeting several days
in advance. Pet. App. 8. In Boaz Carpet Yaris, Inc.,
280 N.L.R.B. 40 (1986) (Boaz Carpet), the Board found
one-day advance notice to be sufficient where (unlike
here) the union had been aware of the employees’ dissat-
isfaction for an entire month (a substantial majority of
employees had signed a petition) and where the employ-

ees received three days advance notice. Pet. App. 8-9.'
Although petitioner argued that the same knowledge
could be imputed here, because the good faith basis to
question majority support was undisputed, the court
refused to “eviscerate the advance-notice requirement
by equating the belief that an employer must hold be
fore conducting a poll with notice to the union.” /d. at 9
n.19. Finding “no viable argument in support of | peti-
tioner’s| contention that its notice to the Union was rea-
sonable” under these circumstances, the court of appeals
yranted the Board’s petition for enforcement. /d. at 7-8.

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals decision does not conflict with
any decision of this Court or any other court of appeals.
The Board has required employers to provide reason-
able advance notice to incumbent unions in these circum-
stances for two decades with court approval and without
significant controversy. The court of appeals’ unpub-
lished, per curiam decision was case- and fact-specific,
holding only that substantial evidence supported the
ALJ’s finding that 18 hours “advance” notice of polling
under circumstances where the Union had no opportu-
nity to react did not qualify as reasonable advance no-
tice. That holding was correct and does not implicate
any of the larger policy issues raised in the petition.
The question of what qualifies as “reasonable” notice is
rarely litigated (at the Board or the court of appeals
level), and this Court’s intervention is not warranted.

1. Contrary to petitioner’s contentions (Pet. 7), this
case presents no important question concerning legal

The court also questioned whether Boaz Carpet remained good law,
given that it pre-dated 7eras Petrochem icals—the Board's “first clear
statement” of the advance notice requirement. Pet. App. 9.18

9

requirements governing polling under the Act. It would
not afford this Court an opportunity to decide questions
purportedly left open by Allentown Mack Sales & Ser-
vice, Inc. v. NLFB, 522 U.S. 359 (1998). Pet. 7, 16-17.
Nor does this case, as petitioner asserts (Pet. 18-20),
provide a vehicle for this Court to examine the Buard’s
polling policies under the First Amendment or Section
8(c) of the Act. There is also no occasion to do so. Peti-
tioner points to no court of appeals decision, including
the decision below, that has considered the question of
whether procedural safeguards applied by the Board to
employer-sponsored formal polls ef the kind at issue in
this case raises issues under Section &(c) of the Act, 29
U.S.C. 158(c), or the First Amendment.

Petitioner’s invocation (Pet. 7-10, 23) of the Board’s
decision in Levitz Furniture of the Pacific, Inc., 333
N.L.R.B. 717 (2001) (Levitz), which changed the sub-
stantive standard for employer withdrawal of recogni-
tion (not polling), is equally unavailing. This case has
nothing to do with the continuing validity of the “good-
faith reasonable doubt,” Allentown Mack, 522 U.S. at
380, standard for polling. All parties agree that peti-
tioner had a good faith basis to poll here, and the court
of appeals’ decision rested on that premise. Pet. App. 6-
7. This case is thus an inappropriate vehicle to address
any such broader issues.”

The sole ground on which the court of appeals found
petitioner's poll to be unlawful was its failure to give the

* Inany case, that issue is not sufficiently developed for this Court’s
review. In Levitz, the Board left for “a later case whether the current
good-faith doubt (uncertainty) standard for polling should be changed.”
333 N.L.R.B. at 723. Until the Board decides that issue, and its decision
has been subjected to review in the courts of appeals—neither of which
has occurred—review by this Court is especially unwarranted.

10

Union reasonable advance notice of the time and place
of the poll. That entirely reasonable procedural require-
ment for employer-sponsored polling has engendered
minimal litigation and has produced no circuit conflict.
This case is not a proper vehicle to resolve the broader
array of procedures and policies that predominate the
petition, but that played no part in the decision below.
2. a. The only procedural safeguard at issue is the
requirement that an employer give the incumbent union
advance notice of the time and place of a scheduled poll.
As petitioner concedes (Pet. 10), that has been the
Board’s rule for two decades. See pp. 3-4, supra. During
this time only two courts of appeals have directly ad-
dressed the propriety of this requirement—both with
express approval. In Texas Petrochemicals Corp. v.
NLRB, 923 F.2d 398, 403 (1991), the Fifth Circuit recog-
nized the benefits of providing advance notice and en-
forced the Board’s decision finding that a poll conducted
without advance notice constituted an unfair labor prac
tice. The Sixth Circuit likewise agreed that a poll of em-
ployees concerning their support for the incumbent union
should be held unlawful when the employer fails to pro-
vide reasonable advance notice. Henry Bierce Co. v.
NLEB, 23 F.3d 1101, 1108-1109 (1994) (holding that be-
cause the employer “did not give advance ‘time and place’
notice to the union * * * its poll therefore constituted
an unfair labor practice”); see Allentown Mack, 522 U.S.
at 383 (Rehnquist, C.J., concurring in part and dissenting
in part) (recognizing Board’s “additional requirement of
advance notice of the time and place of the poll”); Wagon
Wheel Bowl, Inc. v. NLRB, 47 F.3d 332, 335 (9th Cir.
1995) (recognizing that employer can poll its employees
“if it has given the union notice of the time and place of

11

the poll’) (quoting Mingtree Restaurant, Inc. v. NLFB,
736 F.2d 1295, 1299 (9th Cir. 1984)).

In the absence of any circuit conflict, petitioner as-
serts (Pet. 10) that “the Board has rendered a variety of
inconsistent and irreconcilable decisions on this topic”
which “demonstrate that the Board’s policy regarding
advance notice of polling is irrational.” The “variety” of
purported “inconsistent and irreconcilable decisions”
consists of three cases (including the decision below)
over the course of two decades. All three embrace an
advance notice requirement and thus cast no doubt on
the policy underlying the requirement itself. To the ex-
tent petitioner is instead arguing that the Board has
been inconsistent in determining what qualifies as “rea-
sonable” advance notice, and what does not, this Court’s
review is not warranted on that subsidiary detail.

As the court of appeals held, the other two Board
decisions—Unifirst Corp., 346 N.L.R.B. 591 (2006), and
Boaz Carpet Yarns, Inc., 280 N.L.R.B. 40 (1986)—are
distinguishable on their facts. In Unzftrst, the employer
sent notice to the union four days prior to the scheduled
poll, and held a meeting for all employees the following
day (three days befsre the poll). 346 N.L.R.B. at 606.
The ALJ found this to be sufficient advance notice. /d.
at 607. In Boaz Carpet, a case predating Texas Petro-
chemicals, the union had notice of employees’ dissatisfac-
tion one month before the poll and, while the union re-
ceived notice of the poll only one day prior, employees
were informed three days in advance through a posting
at the facility. 280 N.L.R.B. at 44-45. The Board held
that “under the circumstances” the Union was “on notice
generally” well in advance of the poll. /d. at 45.

In contrast, petitioner (a recent successor) provided
the Union only 18 hours notice at a time of day (shortly

12

before the end of the shift) when an effective response
was Virtually impossible and with false assurances sug-
gesting an expedited call to action was unnecessary.
These distinctions do not violate the duty of “reasoned
dec.sionmaking,” see Pet. 12, nor does this rarely liti-
gated issue warrant this Court’s attention.

b. Petitioner also claims (Pet. 15-16) that the Act
does not “sanction[]” invalidating a poll on the basis of an
inadequate, one-day notice without an independent show-
ing that the lack of notice restrained or coerced an em-
ployee’s exercise of his or her Section 7 rights or that
invalidation would protect such rights.

This argument is not properly before the Court. Peti-
tioner failed to raise it before the Board and is now juris-
dictionally barred from doing so. Section 10(e) of the
Act, 29 U.S.C. 160(e), provides that “[n]o objection that
has not been urged before the Board * * * shall be con-
sidered by the court, unless the failure or neglect to urge
such objection shall be excused because of extraordinary
circumstances.” This Court has enforced that provision
strictly, holding that Section 10(e) is jurisdictional and
that the failure to present an issue to the Board pre-
cludes subsequent judicial consideration of that issue.
See Woelke & Romero Framing, Ine. v. NLRB, 456 U.S.
645, 666 (1982). In addition, petitioner did not raise this
argument before the court of appeals, and the court did
not decide it. See Taylor v. Freeland & Kronz, 503 U.S.
638, 645-646 (1992) (Court ordinarily will not consider
issues neither raised nor resolved by the court of ap-
peals.): Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94, 99 n.5 (1988)
(Court “usually will decline to consider questions pre-
sented in a petition for certiorari that have not been con-
sidered by the lower court.”).

13

Even if this Court could reach the issue, petitioner’s
argument provides no basis for review. Section 8(a)(5) of
the Act gives the Board authority to proscribe conduct
by an employer that constitutes a “refus|al] to bargain
collectively with the representatives of his employees.”
29 U.S.C. 158(a)(5). Section 8(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)()),
likewise confers authority on the Board to adopt proce-
dural safeguards for the manner in which an employer
may poll its employees about their continued support for
aunion. Even Chief Justice Rehnquist’s concurring and
dissenting opinion for four Justices in Allentown Mack,
which questioned the Board’s authority to regulate poll-
ing through a substantive standard, recognized and ac-
cepted its authority to impose procedural safeguards,
including advance notice, to protect employee rights.
See 522 U.S. at 383 (Rehnquist, C.J., concurring in part
and dissenting in part) (explaining that the “requirement
of advance notice of the time and place of the poll * * *
make|s] coercion or restraint of employees highly un-
likely”). Petitioner points to no court that has held oth-
erwise

ec. Hqually unavailing is petitioner’s assertion (Pet.
16-17)—-also raised neither to the Board nor to the court
of appeals—that the Koard’s polling policy conflicts with
this Court’s precedent by emphasizing stability in
collective-bargaining relationships and failing to “factor
the principles of employee free choice or majority repre-
sentation into its analysis of polling.” For the reasons
stated above (p. 12, supra), the Court is barred from con-
sidering that argument.

It is also unclear whether petitioner’s argument is
aimed at the Board’s reasonable advance notice require-
ment specifically, or at the Board’s polling policies more
generally. The latter are not at issue in this case. See

14

pp. 8-10, supra. And the former argument is without
merit. In Allentown Mack, this Court recognized that the
Board had “chosen to limit severely the circumstances
under which [employer-sponsored polling] may be con-
ducted” based on its belief “that employer polling is po-
tentially ‘disruptive’ to established bargaining relation-
ships and ‘unsettling’ to employees.” 522 U.S. at 364-365
(quoting Texas Petrochems. Corp., 296 N.L.R.B. 1057,
1061 (1989), enforced in relevant part, 923 F.2d 398 (5th
Cir. 1991)); see Texas Petrochems., 296 N.L.R.B. at 1061-
1062 (explaining that by “reasonably limiting the range
of circumstances under which an employer may lawfully
conduct such polls, the potential for disruption of
collective-bargaining relationships is limited, without
unreasonably impairing * * * the employees’ right
freely to choose whether or not to be represented”). And
Chief Justice Rehnquist’s concurring and dissenting
opin on in Allentown Mack expressed the view that “[a]
poll conducted in accord with the Board’s substantial
procedural safeguards,” including “advance notice of the
time and place of the poll,” “would not coerce employees
in the exercise of their rights.” 522 U.S. at 383
(Rehnguist, C.J., concurring in part and dissenting in
part) (emphasis added). Petitioner proffers no substan-
tial reason why simply requiring advance notice (as the
Board has done for two decades) would unduly infringe
on employee free choice or majority rule.

3. Finally, petitioner contends (Pet. 21-22) that the
court of appeals erred in holding that substantial evi-
dence supports the Board’s factual findings. As this
Court has explained:

Whether on the record as a whole there is substantial

evidence to support agency findings is a question

which Congress has placed in the keeping of the

15

Courts of Appeals. This Court will intervene only in
what ought to be the rare instance when the standard
appears to have been misapprehended or grossly mis-
applied.
Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 491
(1951).

The court of appeals did not “misapprehend” or
“grossly misappl[y]” the substantial evidence standard.
Rather, the court reasonably found “no viable argument”
to support petitioner’s contention that the 18 hour notice
was reasonable, where the “scant” notice made it “virtu-
ally impossible for the Union to seek legal guidance, com-
municate with its employees, or arrange for the presence
of observers or third party administrators before the poll
became a fait accompli.” Pet. App. 7-8. This decision
was correct, and there is no reason to review the court’s
substantial evidence determination.

CONCLUSION
‘The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

ELENA KAGAN
RONAE 1) M RISBURG Solicitor General
General Counsel
JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.
Deputy General Counsel
JOHN H. FERGUSON
Associate General Counsel
LINDA DREEBEN
Deputy Associate General Counsel
ELIZABETH HEANEY
Altorney
National Labor Relations Roard

SEPTEMBER 2009

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0786%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
