# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rafferty v. United States (No. 08-1400)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0515%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

Supreme Court U.S.

\ “(\) 081400 MAY 14 2009

No. 08-OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

TIMOTHY RAFFERTY,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARSHA R. TAUBENHAUS
Counsel of Record

110 Wall Street

11th Floor

New York, NY 10005

(212) 859-3513

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the principles set forth in Dura
Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S. 336 (2005)
regarding loss calculations in civil cases should ap-
ply in criminal cases.

=. Under 18 U.S.C. § 3771, victims are entitled to no-
tice of court proceedings, to be heard at sentencing,
and to be treated with fairness. The question pre-
sented are: (A) whether government prosecutors,
under the guise of giving victims notice, may inform
potential witnesses of their theory of the case and
belief in the defendant’s guilt; and (B) »’nether a vic-
tim’s desire to appear on the defendan.’s behalf at
sentencing must be honored.

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORAI
OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

Factual Background

Sentencing

Ampeai ............. el a a EAA ERR SRO
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Loss Calculation

The CVRA
CONCLUSION

APPENDIX A, Opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
APPENDIX B, Order of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Denying Order for Rehearing

APPENDIX C, United States Code, Title 15,
Chapter 2B, § 78) (Manipulative and deceptive
devices)

APPENDIX D, United States Code, Title 18,
§ 3771(a) (Crime victims’ rights)
APPENDIX E, United States Sentencing
Commission Guidelines Manual, § 2B1.1

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

JInreAntrobus, F.3d__ , 2009 US.
App. LEXIS 8264* at *23 (10 Cir.
April 22, 2009)

Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo,
530 U.S. 466 (2005)

Matter of Eldrige, 37 N.Y. 161

Kenna v. U.S. Dist. Court, 435 F.3d 1011
(9th Cir. 2006)

O’Connor v. Pierson, 426 F.3d 187
(2d Cir. 2005)

United States v. Ebbers, 458 F.3d 110
(2d Cir. 2006)

United States v. Guthrie, 557 F.3d 243
(6th Cir. 2009)

United States v. Mark Kaiser, 04 Cr. 733
(S.D.N.Y. 2006)

1V
United States v. Marcello, 370 F.Supp.2d
745 (N.D. Ill. 2005)(mem.) ................

United States v. Masferrer, 514 F.3d
1158 (11* Cir. 2008)

United States v. Mooney, 425 F.3d
1093 (8t» Cir. 2005)

United States v. Olis, 429 F.3d 540
(5th Cir. 2005)

United States v. Peterson, 538 F.3d
1064 (9th Cir. 2008)

United States v. Rutkoske, 506 F.3d
170 (2d Cir. 2007)

United States v. Saferstein, slip op.,
2008 WL 4925016 *3 (E.D. Pa. Nov.
18, 2008)

United States v. Turner, 367 F. Supp. 2d 319
(E.D.N.Y. 2006) Gmem.) .................0....+-. 17

United States v. Tyler, 767 F.2d 1350
(9th Cir. 1985)

United States v. Zolp, 479 F.3d 715
(9th Cir. 2007)

Vv

Statutes
18 U.S.C. §3553(a)(1)
18 U.S.C. §3661
18 U.S.C. §3771

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

Federal Sentencing Guidelines Provisions

U.S.S.G. §2B1.1

Other Authorities

150 CONG. REC. $10,911 (daily ed. Oct. 9, 2004)
(statement of Sen. Kyl)

150 Cong. Rec. at S4261 (Apr. 22, 2004)
(statement of Sen. Feinstein)

150 Cong. Rec. $4262 (daily ed. Apr. 22, 2004)
(statement of Sen. Feinstein)

Steven M. Davidoff, A Brave New World for
the S.E.C., N.Y. TIMES, May 8, 2009

vl

Bennett L. Gershman, Witness Coaching
by Prosecutors, 23 CARDOZO L.J. 829
(2002)

Ashby Jones, Making Sense of the Mini-Boom
in Securities Suits, WALL ST. J.,
(May 6, 2009)

Sarah Lynch, SEC, CFTC Would Get More
Enforcement Resources, WALL ST. d.,
(May 7, 2009)

Justice Department Accuses Andersen of ‘Witness
Coaching,’ KNIGHT RIDDER/TRIBUNE BUSINESS
News (Mar. 29, 2002)

Man sentenced to community service for
distracted driving death, http://www.abc4.com,
Nov. 10, 2008

Monica Mercer, Hamilton County:
Forgiveness leads to lighter sentence,
CHATANOOGA FREE PRESS
(June 3, 2008)

Recent Development, The Victims’ Rights
Amendment, 42 H.J.L. 525 (2005)

Mari A. Schaefer, Victim's forgiveness keeps
embezzler out of prison, PHILADELPHIA IN-
QUIRER, (May 6, 2009)

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Timothy Rafferty respectfully peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-
enth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Eleventh Circuit (Pet. App. la) is un-
published and appears at 296 Fed.Appx. 788 (11t
Cir. 2008). The Court of Appeals’ order denying peti-
tioner’s petition for rehearing (Pet. App. 22a) is un-

published.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was en-
tered on October 16, 2008 (Pet. App. la). The Court
of Appeals’ order denying petitioner’s application for
rehearing was denied on December 16, 2008. On
March 23, 2009, Justice Thomas granted petitioner’s
application for an extension of time for filing a peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari to May 14, 2009. This
Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §
1254(1).

2

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Consti-
tution provides in relevant part: “No person shall be

. deprived of life, liberty or property without due
process of law....”

The Sixth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides in relevant part: “In all crimi-
nal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to
a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury.”

The relevant sections of the Crime Victims
Act, the United States Sentencing Guidelines, and
15 U.S.C. § 78) are reproduced at Pet. App. 23a-25a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This securities case is unusual in one respect:
a majority of the “victim” shareholders, in an un-
precedented show of support for petitioner, insisted
that they had not been defrauded by him and did not
want their losses factored into his sentence. In other
aspects, however, the case is representative of the
difficult issues that are frequently litigated in secu-
rities cases and about which the courts of appeal are
hopelessly divided.

Factual Background

Uncommon Media Group (UMDA) was a
startup company involved in “crossover media” with,
in the government’s words, an “interesting concept”

3

and some “interesting ideas” about tracking down-
loads of music on the internet (T8).!

The company “had a business plan, it had
some technology, it had opportunities to merge with
other companies. What it didn’t have was capital.
And that’s where Timothy Rafferty came in” (Gov-
ernment’s opening at T9). In March, 2003, petitioner
was approached by UMDA’s investment broker and
by the company’s largest investor and asked to help
raise funds to acquire the necessary technology to
implement UMDA’s business plan.

Petitioner was excited by the UMDA technol-
ogy and agreed to help raise funding for the com-
pany.2 He invested his own money to help UMDA
acquire a company with proprietary tracking soft-
ware.? A deal was consummated with the software
company in July 2003 (T122). A few months later,
UMDA entered into a contract with the Nielsen

| References preceded by “T” are to the trial transcript.

2 Nearly all of the witnesses at trial testified that, throughout
the period of the indictment, petitioner was “someone that was
interested in this company being built and succeeding” (1178),
was “enthused about this project [and] he felt that this was go-
ing to be a winner for all the people that had invested in it)”
(T476), he was “enthusiastic” and wanted the company to suc:
ceed (T74, 872,).

3 On May 22, 2003, he wired $70,000 from his trading account
to an account that was established to close the deal with the
software company (T2018). He then borrowed $210,000 so
UMDA could purchase additional shares of the company
(T1160). Petitioner invested a total of $492,000 in UMDA in
2003 (T1186, 1482). UMDA issued a secured convertible prom-
issory note to him for $461,000, reflecting monies he had lent
the company (T1386, Govt. Ex. 748). He also lent a fellow in-
vestor $23,000, and secured the loan with the investor’s UMDA
stock (T1979).

4

Company, a leading marketing and media informa-
tion company (T122).

Petitioner mentioned UMDA as an investment
opportunity to an acquaintance, Fred Hornick from
Colorado, who in turn told his friends and family,
many of whom became UMDA investors (T219, 224-
225). Petitioner told them he was not an officer of
UMDA, or an “insider,” but merely an investor
(T225, 494, 531, 710). Hornick spoke personally with
the patent holder of the technology UMDA was using
and watched it in action on his computer (T01).

Hornick brought in over 100 investors, raising
about $1.4 million for UMDA, most of which was
wired directly to UMDA’s bank account, some of
which was wired to companies in California and
some to third parties, usually at petitioner’s direc-
tion (230, 1480). Over the course of several months,
petitioner and Gallo gave the investors an extremely
rosy outlook for UMDA, and petitioner exaggerated
his family’s wealth. However, as one investor testi-
fied, petitioner warned them about the risks of in-
vesting in UMDA: “he pointed out that this is all
very risky, right? We’re launching a new company.
There were risks. It was wrought with risks, I be-
lieve is what he said” (T2057). Gallo and petitioner
did not tell potential investors that the available
shares were not free-trading, although at least by
December 2003, it was publicly known that the stock
would have to be restricted (T472). Petitioner did
not tell all the investors that 12 years earlier, he had
been convicted of a securities fraud, nor that 11
years earlier, the SEC had enjoined him from com:
mitting securities fraud, nor that he had several un

5
related civil judgments (T687, 1285-1286).4 Mark
Gottlieb, a lawyer who had worked for petitioner and
was brought in to “clean up” UMDA’s problems tes-
tified that he did not believe petitioner had any “fi-
duciary duty to disclose” his conviction (T1114).

Many of Hornick’s investors also purchased a
substantial number of shares in two privately held
companies, Third Dimension and Data Treasury.
Petitioner had large positions in options on those
companies. As directed, Hornick wired Third Di-
mension and Data Treasury monies to various third
party accounts, including petitioner’s accounts.

Petitioner did not have any control over the
books and records of UMDA and was not an officer
or a salaried employee (T109-110). The company’s
CEO was Lawrence Gallo, who, petitioner came to
learn, had been indicted in 2002 for conspiring to de-
fraud UMDA shareholders. He was released on bail,
and continued to operate the company. He belittled
the indictment, telling petitioner and other investors
that it was a mistake.

By the fall of 2003, CEO Gallo was making
tens of thousands of dollars in cash withdrawals
from the UMDA account to support his cocaine
habit, pay his criminal defense lawyers, and make a
down payment on a house (T984, 1907). Petitioner
was also making withdrawals of money that had
been wired to third party accounts for UMDA, but,
according to Mike Contento (the man who was hired
by UMDA in September/October 2003 to bring the
UMDA books and records up to SEC compliance) it

4 At least one of the investors who testified for the government
at trial stated that petitioner told him about getting “enveloped
in a securities violation” (T483).

6

was “understood that [petitioner] had put ... money
into the company” and the withdrawals were for
monies that “were owed to him” (T1920). Contento
testified that, while the money “should have come
into the company first, and then [petitioner] should
have gotten his money,” that was “just the way the
whole accounting at UMDA] went” (T1920). Con-
tento was unhappy about the “bizarre” way that
UMDA handled its accounting (“Money was just
given to people without a ledger, you know, and it
was shocking”)(T1886), but he never had any reason
to believe that petitioner was diverting funds from
UMDA (T1922).5 .

After Contento found that Gallo had been di-
verting funds from UMDA for personal use, he told
petitioner and others who were trying to “clean up
the mess” that Gallo had made of the company
(T1898, 1907-1908). They brought in Gottlieb, who
convinced Gallo to resign in February 2004.

Nonetheless, in March 2004, the SEC placed a
restraining order on UMDA, effectively terminating
its operations (T485, 636, 1117, 1185, 1911, 1989).
The SEC injunction was related to Gallo’s 2002 in-
dictment, covering events which occurred before pe-
titioner became involved with UMDA (Government’s
brief in the Court of Appeals at p.6 n.6). One of the
UMDA investors testified that in September 2005,
he received a telephone call from an FBI agent. He
asked the agent whether the restraining order would
be removed. “At that time, he told me, which was a
great surprise, that the Justice Department had

5 With respect to Contento, the government told the jury: “Mike

Contento testified in the grand jury, and it was obvious that he
is clueless” (T2181).

7

made arrangements with the Securities and Ex-
change Commission to hold on to our corporation
and keep it under lock and key for quite an extended
period of time” (T1988).

In July 2004, petitioner and Gallo were in-
dicted and charged with securities fraud. The in-
dictment included the allegation that petitioner
failed to disclose to investors that he had been con-
victed of securities fraud 13 years earlier. Shortly
thereafter, Gallo pled guilty to both the 2002 and
2004 charges. After cooperating with the govern-

nent, he served a 47-month term of imprisonment.

After petitioner was indicted, government
prosecutors and FBI agents contacted many of the
UMDA investors, and told them that UMDA was
merely a “sham company,” a “Ponzi scheme,” a “shell
game” (T509, 538, 2060)

In January 2006, the government prosecutors
wrote a letter to the UMDA investors, purportedly
pursuant to the requirements of the CVRA. In it,
the government stated:

The government alleges that Rafferty
solicited more than one hundred small
investors to invest funds in ... UMDA
.. by making materially false state-
ments to those investors. Rafferty
failed to disclose that he had been
convicted of securities fraud in 1991
and that over the course of the next 10

© A superseding indictment added two substantive wire fraud
counts and incorporated allegations that he failed iv disclose to
investors a 2003 Georgia default judgment and a New York
case that was resolved by a negotiated settlement.

8

years, had continued to defraud inves-
tors in a number of different cases.
Even as UMDA was ceasing to be a go-
ing concern, and as its prospects con-
tinued to flag, Rafferty and Gallo con-
tinued to represent to investors that
the company was a gold mine. ... The
evidence in the case will show that the
money was diverted from UMDA by
these men, and in Rafferty’s case, used
to pay for the myriad of civil fraud
judgments he has pending against
him, as well as payment of expenses
such as his mortgage, a BMW, and
other personal expenses (Appendix to
Petitioner’s brief in the Court of Ap-
peals, DE-154).’

In pretrial proceedings, the defense moved to
dismiss the indictment, arguing that this letter
amounted to witness tampering, depriving him of his
right to a fair trial. The prosecution responded that
it was required by federal law “to send out this let-
ter. So by law it is impossible that the government
was vindictive.” The trial court denied the defense
motion, concluding that the letter was sent pursuant
to 18 U.S.C. §3771, and 18 U.S.C. §3771(d)(1) pro-

’ Attached to one of the letters was a New York Daily News
article entitled “Brokers Busted in 2.5M Pad Scam.” The
prosecutor explained: ““‘l don’t think attaching a newspaper
article that I happened to have on my desk because it was just
there. I was trying to give him info, you know, call me this is
something that’s ongoing, the trial is starting. ... | wasn’t try
ing to taint him in the process, just communicate with him”
(2/23/06 Pretrial hearing at p.8).

9

vided that an accused could not obtain relief under
that statute (Pretrial hearing, February 23, 2006 at
pp2-3).

After a three-week trial, petitioner was con-
victed as charged.

Sentencing

At a first sentencing proceeding, the court ar-
ticulated the standard it would use for calculating
loss:

The determination is how much did
people invest based upon fraudulent
representations that were made to
induce them to purchase the stock.
Whether or not [the defendants] put
it in their own pocket or they actually

used the money to try and run the
business appropriately, either one of
those is irrelevant. The question is
how much money was fraudulently
received based upon the misrepresen-
tations or omissiuns (July 14, 2006
Sentencing Proceeding at pp.43-44).

The defense contended that the court would
first have to determine whether any alleged loss was
“as a result of the misrepresentation charged”
(7/14/06 Sentencing at p.53). It noted that despite
the government’s outreach to the investors, only ten
had responded. The prosecution argued that it
was irrelevant that many of the investors did not
consider themselves to be victims: “There is no case
law supporting that you have to believe you are a
victim in order to be a victim for guideline purposes”

10

(7/14/06 Sentencing at p.80). It also stressed that
the investors were an “unsophisticated” group of
Mormons (7/14/06 Sentencing at p.82).

The court adjourned the proceedings to review
the bank records and other evidentiary materials
(7/14/06 Sentencing at p.98).

At a second proceeding in September, defense
counsel spoke on behalf of 120 of the 200 investors
the government had identified. They wanted the
court to consider their letters, stating in effect that
they did “not want their losses in terms of monetary
value or in terms of their numbers as people to be
used to enhance” petitioner's sentence. They had
even written to their senators and congressman say-
ing: “Help us explain to Judge Marra that we do not
want our losses in UMDA to be used against Tim
Rafferty at his sentencing” (9/12/06 Sentencing at
p.62). When the court complained that the letters
were not submitted earlier, defense counsel noted
that they had been submitted to the government at
around the time of the first sentencing proceeding.

The court responded: “What is it you want to
tell me; that they think Mr. Rafferty’s a great guy? I
heard their testimony that he didn’t do anything
wrong, that they had faith in him, that they believed
he was acting in their best interest. What else do I
need to know? I mean, I’ve heard it already. ... I’m
just going to make it part of the record for appellate
purposes for whatever it’s worth. ... So there’s no ar-
gument that I kept things out of the record” (Sep-
tember 12, 2006, Sentencing at pp.59-63).

The defense attempted to introduce an ac-
countant’s affidavit, which included UMDA’s closing
prices and daily trading volume for the time period
of the charged conspiracy and the subsequent four

11

months. The data was derived from Bloomberg’s
market data service, and indicated that at the be-
ginning of the charged conspiracy, UMDA was trad-
ing at appropriate three cents per share. At the end
of the conspiracy period, it was trading at six to
eight cents per share.

Defense counsel argued that the investors suf-
fered no loss until the company’s activities were
terminated by the temporary restraining order:
“these losses that the investors incurred in this case
were as a result of the government closing down the
business” (9/12/06 Sentencing proceeding at p.37).

The court, ruling that the accountant’s affida-
vit was inadmissible hearsay, summarily dismissed
the defense argument and proffer. It concluded that
the stock became worthless as a result of the fraud,
and calculated the loss as the total amount invested

by the investors for the duration of the conspiracy.

Recognizing that petitioner “didn’t personally
profit” from the charged conspiracy (9/12/06 Sentenc-
ing at p.84), the court added 16 levels to his guide-
line offense level on the basis of a $1.1 million loss
calculation. Petitioner was sentenced to a term of
imprisonment of 126 months.

Appeal

On appeal, petitioner challenged, inter alia,
the district court's methodology for determining loss
for sentencing purposes. The Eleventh Circuit was
apparently unwilling to adopt the reasoning of Dura
Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S. 336, 125
S.Ct. 1627 (U.S. 2005) in the criminal context; it up-
held the district court’s decision to count as a loss
the entire amount of UMDA investments, without

12

identifying a causal connection between the pur-
ported loss and the alleged misrepresentations. The
Circuit accepted the district’s conclusion that the
stock became worthless by the end of the conspiracy
period, despite contrary evidence provided by
Bloomberg Market Data Service records.* It also
apparently approved the district court’s decision to
include in its loss calculation the monies lost by
those ‘victims’ who had asked that their losses not be
used to enhance petitioner’s sentence.

The Eleventh Circuit did not reach petitioner’s
contention that the prosecution’s letter to prospec-
tive witnesses/victims was improper.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Loss Calculation

The calculation of loss under the fraud Guide-
line, Section 2B1.1(d), drives the length of the sen-
tence and bedevils courts in criminal securities fraud
cases. Here, for example, petitioner’s offense level
was increased by 16 levels based on the district
court’s loss calculation, which it arrived at after re-
jecting the calculations proposed by the government,
the defense and the probation office. The federal
courts are deeply divided as to what exactly the gov-
ernment has to show in order to prove loss causa-
tion; as a result, the length of a securities’ fraud sen-

8 The Circuit could not have arrived at this conclusion without
endorsing the district court’s rejection of the Bloomberg quotes
on hearsay grounds, despite Circuit precedent specifically hold-
ing that Bloomberg market quotes are admissible pursuant to
FRE 803(17). United States v. Masferrer, 514 F.3d 1158 (11%
Cir. 2008).

13

tence depends largely on the court in which the case
was tried. Loss calculation is an important issue,
since the need to calculate loss arises in virtually
every securities fraud prosecution, and there is an
intrinsic difficulty in proving loss in such cases even
under the clearest of measures: “The loss to inves-
tors who hold during the period of an ongoing fraud
is not easily quantifiable because we cannot accu-
rately assess what their conduct would have been
had they known the truth.” United States v. Ebbers,
458 F.3d 110, 127 (2d Cir. 2006). And, given the
size of the enhancement, it is fair to say that accu-
rately determining loss is the most important task
facing a court in a securities fraud conviction. The
lower courts need this Court’s guidance to resolve
this confusion and to ameliorate the risk of substan-
tially overstating actual loss. 3

In Dura Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Broudo, 544
U.S. 336, 125 S.Ct. 1627 (2005), this Court resolved
a marked conflict amongst the courts as to what ex-
actly plaintiffs had to show in order to prove loss
causation in a private securities fraud action. Loss
causation, as defined in Dura, is the “causal connec-
tion between the material misrepresentation and the
loss.” 125 S.Ct. at 1631. In other words, in civil
fraud cases, a claimant must show that the decline
in the market price was due to the fraud, as opposed
to other factors

In the wake of Dura, however, the courts have
been conflicted as to whether or not such a showing

is required in criminal cases involving securities
fraud.?

9 In fraud cases, a defendant’s Guidelines offense level gener-
ally begins with a base offense level of six or seven. Under Sec-

14

The Second, Fifth and Ninth Circuits have all
applied the precepts of Dura in the criminal context.
The Second Circuit concluded that “considerations
relevant to loss causation in a civil fraud case should

. apply, at least as strongly, to a sentencing regime
in which the amount of loss caused by a fraud is a
critical determinant of the length of a defendant's
sentence.” United States v. Rutkoske, 506 F.3d 170
(2d Cir. 2007). See also United States v. Zolp, 479
F.3d 715 (9 Cir. 2007); United States v. Olis, 429
F.3d 540 (5t Cir. 2005)(“because a company’s stock
is affected before and after the fraud, by numerous
extrinsic market influences as well as the soundness
of other business decisions by the company, the cal-
culation of loss attributable to securities fraud re-
quires careful analysis”).

The Eighth Circuit has taken the opposite ap-
proach and rejected the application of Dura in the
criminal] context, adding: “Criminal prosecutions for
violations of securities law are different [from civil
cases], however, for ‘the victims and their losses are
difficult if not impossible to identify’ as the guideline
commentary points out.” United States v. Mooney,
425 F.3d 1093 (8th Cir. 2005). With its decision be-
low, the Eleventh Circuit has followed the Eighth
Circuit’s approach. Unlike the Second, Fifth and
Ninth Circuits, which require that losses from
causes other than the fraud be excluded from the

tion 2B1.1(d), levels are added depending on the amount of
monetary loss the victim(s) suffered as a result of the defen-
dant’s offense conduct. The fraud Guideline’s commentary
states that “loss is the greater of actual loss or intended loss.”
Both actual and intended loss are calculated to measure the
seriousness of the offense, as well as the defendant’s level of
culpability in committing the offense.

15

loss calculation, the Eighth and Eleventh Circuits
permit the district court to ignore the variety of
other factors (including changed economic circum-
stances, changed investor expectations, industry-
specific or firm-specific facts, conditions or other
events, taken separately or together) that may ac-
count for some or all of a stock’s lower price.

This split is causing unwarranted sentencing
disparities across the country, since the length of
sentences meted out in securities fraud cases over
recent years is driven by the measure of the financial
losses. 1°

Similarly, the Circuits run the gamut in how
broadly they construe the realm where they will re-
quire detailed proof of loss causation. The Eleventh
Circuit has apparently concluded that detailed proof
is not necessary so long as a stock was “worthless” at
the conclusion of the conspiracy. Pet. App. at 16-17a.
By contrast, in United States v. Olis, 429 F.3d at
546, the Fifth Circuit held that detailed proof is not
necessary if the stock was worthless before, during
and at the conclusion of the scheme. In Olis, the

10 As an example, in a fraud prosecution in the Southern Dis-
trict of New York, the government originally sought a sentence
based on the total market capitalization loss of $6 billien upon
disclosure of the fraud. But a defense expert's analysis attrib-
uted the vast bulk of the share price decline to issues other
than the fraud in which the defendant was involved. The re-
sulting seven-year sentence, while significant, was far lower
than the life sentence dictated by the advisory guidelines under
the government's original loss analysis. United States v. Mark
Kaiser, 04 Cr. 733 (S.D.N.Y. 2006). In many cases where the
initial loss estimates are much smaller (for instance, in many
options backdating schemes), the application of Dura’s loss cau-
sation principles may even mean the difference between jail
and probation.

16

court noted that where a defendant “promoted
worthless stock in worthless companies, measuring
the loss as the entire amount raised by the scheme is
neither surprising nor complex, and is fully consis-
tent with civil loss causation.” Id. That is because
where there is no value to the stock before or after
the scheme, all money lost through investment in
the stock is the result of the fraud. The Ninth Cir-
cuit has defined a “worthless stock” very narrowly: a
company is not a “sham operation” within the mean-
ing of the Olis exception, if it (a) is in fact incorpo-
rated and (b) occupies real estate. Where those
meager requirements are met, the Ninth Circuit will
require the Government to prove loss causation in
detail. United States v. Zolp, 479 F.3d at 720. Simi-
larly, in United States v. Rutkoske, supra, the Sec-
ond Circuit required a detailed loss causation analy-
sis despite the defendant’s brokerage firm handling
the vast majority of the volume of the subject stock
during the manipulation period (between 72 and
90%), which, when coupled with the evidence of bro-
ker bribery and other high pressure sales tactics,
could easily support a finding that the public market
for the stock was wholly engulfed in a manipulation
scheme and therefore that all loss was attributable
to the fraud. And in United States v. Ebbers and
Rutkoske, supra, the Second Circuit repeatedly em-
phasized the narrowness of those situations where
no loss analysis is required: “cases might arise where
share price drops so quickly and so extensively 1m-
mediately upon disclosure of a fraud that the differ-
ence between pre- and post-disclosure share prices is
a reasonable estimate of loss caused by the fraud.
Even there, however, a coincidentally precipitous de-

if

cline in shares of comparable companies would merit
consideration.” /d.

This case is an excellent vehicle for consider-
ing the questions presented, since there can be no
doubt that, had this case been tried in the Ninth,
Second, or Fifth Circuits, the result would have been
dramatically different. Clearly, this was not the case
of a “sham” company as defined by the Fifth and
Ninth Circuits. Nor would this case have fallen into
the small category of cases where the Second Circuit
would forgo detailed analysis. Moreover, the result
in this case would undoubtedly have been different
under the methodology employed by those Circuits,
since there was undisputed evidence of other factors
- contributing to any loss.!! Most significant was the
SEC’s TRO which, as the government conceded be-
low, was imposed for reasons predating petitioner’s
involvement with the stock. Since nearly all of the
witnesses at trial testified that the TRO was the
main cause of UMDA’s demise, under Dura, losses
attributable to the TRO would have to be excluded
from the loss calculation.'2 Additionally, a number

'! The district court in this case did not perform a loss calcula
tion as described in the above-cited cases, since it did not de-
termine precisely which losses could be attributed to the
charged fraud as Opposed to other factors. Instead, it merely
searched the record to determine the total amount invested in
UMDA through petitioner.

12 The Ninth Circuit dealt with a similar issue in a different
context. In United States v. Tyler, 767 F.2d 1350 (9th Cir.
1985), the defendant was arrested for cutting down timber from
a national forest. The government took possession of the timber
that same day, but retained it for evidentiary purposes. By the
time the government sold it, the value of the timber had
dropped significantly, The district court ordered the defendant
to pay restitution for the decreased value of the timber. The

18

\

of investors testified that their decision to invest in
UMDA was independent of any of the petitioner’s
statements or omissions. Under Dura, their invest-
ments would likewise have to be excluded from the
measurement of loss.

The standard for determining loss takes on
particular important during difficult economic times
such as these, where the vast majority of public
companies have experienced falling stock prices due
to macroeconomic conditions. Securities cases are all
but certain to proliferate. See generally, Ashby
Jones, Making Sense of the Mini-Boom in Securities
Suits, WALL ST. J., May 6, 2009; Steven M. Davidoff,
A Brave New World for the S.E.C., N.Y. TIMES, May
8, 2009; Sarah Lynch, SEC, CFTC Would Get More
Enforcement Resources, WALL S'. J., May 7, 2009.
At the same time, untangling the effect of a defen-
dant’s conduct from other extraneous factors on a
stock price becomes increasingly difficult when sig-
nificant declines in company stock prices are com:
monplace. In such circumstances, guidance from
this Court is critical.

Ninth Circuit reversed the restitution order and found that the
defendant did not cause the loss. The court observed: "Any re-
duction in [the timber's] value stems from the government's
decision to hold the timber during a period of declining prices,
not from [the defendant’s] criminal acts." Jd. at 1352. See also
United States v. Peterson, 538 F.3d 1064 (9th Cir.
2008)(“defendant’s conduct need not be the sole cause of the
loss, but any subsequent action that contributes to the loss,
such as an intervening cause, must be directly related to the
defendant’s conduct. The causal chain may not extend so far,
in terms of the facts or the time span, as to become unreason-
able”).

The CVRA

In 2004, Congress passed the Crime Victims’
Rights Act (CVRA), giving victims some rights to
participate in the federal criminal justice system. !*
Instead of making victims parties or intervenors in
criminal prosecutions, the CVRA asks courts and
prosecutors to vindicate victims’ interests. This un-
usual posture creates substantial conflicts for courts
and prosecutors.

“CVRA is a relatively new statute that effects
dramatic changes to our traditional criminal justice
system. The participants in that system--
prosecutors, defendants, victims, and courts alike--
are rightfully struggling with its scope and mean-
ing.” In re Antrobus, F.3d , 2009 U.S. App.
LEXIS 8264* at *23 (10 Cir. April 22, 2009).

Moreover, the legislation itself provides little
guidance to courts and prosecutors on how to incor-
porate the statute into federal prosecutions. Nor
does the sparse legislative history provide any guid-
ance.'4 On one hand, its drafters took pains to stress

13 In addition to the CVRA, every state has passed victims’
rights legislation, and a majority of states have amended their
constitutions to recognize victims’ rights as well. Recent Devel-
opment, The Victims’ Rights Amendment, 42 H.J.L. 525, 526—
27 (2005).

14 Congress enacted the CVRA when sponsors of a crime vic-
tims’ constitutional amendment failed to secure sufficient sup
port for its passage after years of debate and lobbying efforts by
victim advocates. 150 CONG. RFC. at $4261 (Apr. 22, 2004) (state-
ment of Sen. Feinstein). Because Congress rushed to pass the
statute, the legislative history supporting the CVRA consists of
only two floor statements by the statute’s sponsors, Senators
Dianne Feinstein and Jon Kyl. Kenna v. U.S. Dist. Court, 435

20

that the rights in the CVRA “do not come at the ex-
pense of defendant’s [sic] rights.”15 But they also
demanded that courts and prosecutors avoid
“whittl{ing] down or marginalizling]” victims’ rights
and “treat victims of crime with the respect they de-
serve and... afford them due process.”?®

This case presents two important issues relat-
ing to investor/victims in securities fraud cases: the
line between appropriate notice to victims and im-
permissible witness coaching; and the inclusion of
victims at sentencing.

The first issue involves the interaction between
the governnent and prospective witnesses/victims in
this case, and the propriety of a letter sent to pro-
spective witnesses/victims which included the prose-
cution’s view of petitioner’s guilt. Given that securt
ties fraud cases characteristically involve large vic
tim bases, the government often has to resort to
mass mailings or publication to fulfill its obligation
under 18 U.S.C. § 3771(a)(2) to give victims notice.'’

F.3d 1011, 1015-16 (9th Cir. 2006); United States v. Turner,
367 F. Supp. 2d 319, 323 n.3 (E.D.N.Y. 2005) (mem.).

15 150 CONG. REC. $4262 (daily ed. Apr. 22, 2004) (statement of
Sen. Feinstein).

16 150 CONG. REC. $10,911 (daily ed. Oct. 9, 2004) (statement
of Sen. Ky).

\?7 For example, in United States v. Saferstein, slip op., 2008
WL 4925016 *3 (E.D. Pa. Nov. 18, 2008), where the government
had to notify 300,000 people, the court approved publication in
the newspaper and an interactive website, Unlike this case,
however, the notice was carefully drawn to avoid contamina-
tion. It stated the name of the company and defendants’ titles
but not their names, omitting tax and perjury charges because
there were no victims, and stating that an “indictment is an
accusation,” and a “defendant is innocent unless and until
proven guilty.”

21

The question of what information those mass mail-
ings may include is one of significanee and one which
will inevitable recur with some frequency.

Here, the court allowed the prosecutor to in-
clude a highly opinionated version of the case in its
letter to possible victims/witnesses.18 When peti-
tioner moved to dismiss the indictment, arguing that
the letter constituted “an intentional act to influence
prospective witnesses” (Pretrial hearing, February
14, 2006 at p.45), the district court denied the mo-
tion on the ground that the letter was authorized
under 18 U.S.C. §3771 and that under that statute
the defendant is precluded from obtaining relief.!9
With this ruling—a ruling which the Eleventh Cir-
cuit, given its affirmance, apparently endorsed—the
court interpreted the CVRA as stripping the peti-
tioner of his due process right to a fair trial. For,
while a defendant could otherwise argue that his

right to due process had been violated by egregious

18 One witness testified at a pretrial hearing that the letter
was circulated among the investors and was “very upsetting
because it presented a completely different representation of
what I know the man to be” (Pretrial hearing, February 14,
2006 at p.21). He said that another investor, upon reading the
letter, was also very upset, and told him: “I am really angry. ...
I just want my money back” (2/14/06 hearing at p.25).
Interestingly, the Justice Department has decried pre-
cisely the same conduct when it emanated from the defense
camp. It accused Arthur Andersen, Enron Corp.’s former audi-
tor, of “behavior bordering on ‘witness coaching’ in its media
campaign challenging the government’s obstruction of justice
charge.: Justice Department Accuses Andersen of ‘Witness
Coaching,’ KNIGHT RIDDER/TRIBUNE BUSINESS NEWS, Mar. 29,
2002.
19 Under 18 U.S.C. § 3771(d)(1), a “person accused of the crime
may not obtain any form of relief under this chapter.”

22

witness coaching,2° under the CVRA, the court con-
cluded, that avenue was no longer available.

It is important for this Court to address this is-
sue, not only to provide guidance for the proper in-
terpretation of the CVRA, but also because this case
affords a rare opportunity to address witness coach-
ing, “the ‘dark—some have even called it ‘dirty’
—secret of the U.S. adversary system.” Bennett L.
Gershman, Witness Coaching by Prosecutors, 23
CARDOZO L.J. 829 (2002). While there is a body of
scholarly commentary devoted to witness prepara-
tion generally, “there has been very little discussion
by courts and commentators on witness ... coaching
by prosecutors.” Jd. at 831.

The second aspect of the CVRA raised by this
case involves the responsibility of the sentencing

court to ensure that victims are “reasonably heard”
before imposing sentence. 18 U.S.C. § 3771(a)(4).

20 As Judge Francis Finch of the New York Court of Appeals
put it, the attorney’s “duty is to extract the facts from the wit-
ness, not to pour them into him: to learn what the witness does
know, not teach him what he ought to know.” In the Matter of
Eldrige, 37 N.Y. 161, 171 (1880). See Geders v. United States,
425 U.S. 80, 90 n.3 (1976) ("An attorney must respect the im-
portant ethical distinction between discussing testimony and
seeking improperly to influence it."). See also ited States v.
Guthrie, 557 F.3d 243 (6t Cir. 2009)(prosecutor may “have
conversations with his witness. He may not coach the wit-
ness”). The danger that a prosecutor may improperly influence
a witness’ testimony is even greater than it is with other attor-
neys. Because of the prosecutor's unique status as the attorney
for the government, he ordinarily is viewed by the witness as a
highly knowledgeable official who can be trusted to use the
facts responsibly.

23

The CVRA does not explain how much weight, if any,
courts should give victims’ opinions. And the lower
courts disagree as to the scope of this provision.
Compare, e.g., United States v. Marcello, 370
F.Supp.2d 745, 48 (N.D. Ill. 2005)(mem.) (“[T]he
statute requires only that a victim be reasonably
heard, and . . . Congress’s use of that term of art
does not require that a trial court accept oral state-
ments in all situations.”), with Kenna v. U.S. Dist.
Court, 435 F.3d 1011, 1016 (9th Cir. 2006) (“The
statements of the sponsors of the CVRA and the
committee report for the proposed constitutional
amendment disclose a clear congressional intent to
give crime victims the right to speak at proceedings
covered by the CVRA.”).

Here, the district court arrived at a sentencing
determination without considering letters written on
behalf of a majority of the UMDA investors.?! These
investors were not insisting on appearing in person,
but merely wanted the opportunity to be “reasonably
heard” as required by the statute.

The propriety of excluding victims who wish to
weigh in at sentencing on the defendant’s behalf is
an issue of national importance, given the substan-
tial impact such testimony can have on a defendant’s
sentence. While not the norm, it is far from unusual

21 “Reasonably heard” is a legal term of art meaning to bring
one’s position to the attention of the court, in person or in writ-
ing, as the court deems reasonable under the circumstances.
See Q’Connor v. Pierson, 426 F.3d 187, 198 (2d Cir. 2005); al-
though the district judge made the victims’ letters part of the
record to preserve them for appellate purposes, he did not read
them himself. Thus, the investors did not have a meaningful
opportunity to have their position brought to the court’s atten-
tion before it determined the appropriate sentence.

24

for a victim’s statement to prompt a lighter sentence.
See, e.g., Monica Mercer, Hamilton County: Forgive-
ness leads to lighter sentence, CHATTANOOGA FREE
PRESS, June 3, 2008 (although sentencing court had
intended to impose an 8-12 year sentence, defendant
received a suspended sentence after hearing victim’s
statement); Man sentenced to community service for
distracted driving death, http://www.abc4.com, Nov.
10, 2008 (Gudge placed defendant on probation and
ordered him to do 500 hours of community service
for vehicular homicide after hearing plea from vic-
tim’s mother); Mari A. Schaefer, Victim's forgiveness
keeps embezzler out of prison, PHILADELPHIA IN-
QUIRER, May 6, 2009)(defendant given probation
where sentencing court gives “full weight” to the vic-
tim’s request for leniency).22 In short, this issue is of
importance, not only to petitioner but to criminal de-

fendants generally. Accordingly, it is worthy of con-
sideration by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

22 While a defendant cannot seek re-sentencing on the basis of
a violation of the CVRA, he may appeal the failure of the sen-
tencing court to hear the victims’ perspective under 18 U.S.C.
§3553(a)(1) and 3661.

May 13, 2009

295

Respectfully submitted,

Marsha R. Taubenhaus
Counsel of Record

110 Wall Street, 11 Floor

New York, New York 10005

(212) 859-3513

APPENDIX

la

FILED

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

OCT 16, 2008

THOMAS K. KAHN

CLERK

[DO NOT PUBLISH]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-15090

D. C. Docket No. 04-20478-CR-KAM
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

TIMOTHY RAFFERTY,

a.k.a. Tim Rafferty,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida

(October 16, 2008)

Before TJOFLAT and BLACK, Circuit Judges, and
EVANS, District Judge.

ie

EVANS, District Judge:
Honorable Orinda Evans, United States District
Judge for the Northern District of Georgia, sitting by

designation.
*

Timothy Rafferty ("Rafferty") appeals his convictions
and sentence on counts of conspiracy to commit se-
curities fraud, conspiracy to commit mail fraud and

2a

wire fraud, and two substantive counts of wire fraud.
Rafferty raises numerous issues on appeal challeng-
ing evidentiary rulings, legal rulings, his convictions,
and the sentence imposed. After oral argument and
a careful review of the briefs and record in this case,
we affirm.

BACKGROUND

Rafferty was charged in a second superseding in-
dictment with conspiracy to engage in securities
fraud, in violation of 15 U.S.C. §§ 78j(b), 78ff(a) and
18 U.S.C. § 371 (Count 1), conspiracy to commit mail
fraud and wire fraud, 18 U.S.C. § 1349 (Count 2),
and wire fraud, 18 U.S.C. § 1343 (Counts 3 and 4).
He was convicted on April 10, 2006 by a jury on all
Counts. He was sentenced on September 12, 2006
to 126 months’ imprisonment, followed by three
years of supervised release. The sentence included a
requirement of $1,234,880 in restitution and forfei-
ture of $1,198,450 in certain property. Post-trial mo-
tions for new trial on Counts 1 and 2 and for judg-
ment of acquittal on Counts 3 and 4 were denied.
Rafferty timely filed a notice of appeal.

Taking the facts in the light favorable to the verdict,
the evidence at trial’ showed that Rafferty began his
association with Uncommon Media Group, Inc.
("UMDA") in 2003 when its CEO Lawrence Gallo
("Gallo") persuaded Rafferty to join his cperations.

' The testimony of over thirty witnesses aiong with hundreds of
exhibits, including eleven summary charts (discussed infra),
was presented at trial.

3a

Rafferty worked at UMDA on a daily basis, shared
an office with CEO Gallo and spoke with potential
investors, but was neither a corporate officer nor a
salaried employee of UMDA. Rafferty held himself
out to be both a major investor in and consultant to
UMDA.

Rafferty established a business relationship
with Frederick Hornick, an investor in Colorado.
Hornick served as a recruiter of other investors and
as Rafferty's messenger to them regarding directions
for wire transfer of investment funds. The govern-
ment presented evidence that Rafferty and Gallo
knowingly misrepresented a number of material
facts to these investors related to the business pros-
pects of UMDA; taken together, these statements
misrepresented the vaiue and liquidity of the UMDA
shares. The evidence also showed that Rafferty did
not reveal, to either the investors or Gallo, past legal
judgments against him: specifically, a 1991 convic-
tion for securities fraud, a 1993 injunction against
further acts of securities fraud, and numerous civil
suit judgments. A large number of individuals who
dealt with either Rafferty, Hornick, or both pur-
chased shares of UMDA and/or other companies.
Such shares were either never delivered to these in-
dividuals or, if they were delivered, turned out to be
worthless. At trial, the government argued that
Rafferty defrauded these investors. Also, the gov-
ernment’s trial evidence showed that Rafferty, either
directly or via Hornick, caused the investors to wire
their money to accounts controlled by Rafferty rather
than to UMDA.

In July 2004, the government filed a sealed indict-
ment charging Timothy Rafferty and Lawrence Gallo

4a

with conspiracy to commit securities fraud and con-
spiracy to commit mail fraud and wire fraud. The
government offered both defendants a plea agree-
ment. Gallo pled guilty, but Rafferty did not. The
grand jury returned the first superseding indictment
against Rafferty alone on June 2, 2005, adding sub-
stantive wire fraud counts and extending the time
period of the alleged conspiracy. On September 13,
2005, the district court held a hearing to consider
Rafferty's motion to dismiss the first superseding in-
dictment on grounds of vindictive prosecution. This
motion was denied. In response to questioning by
the district court on the specificity of the forfeiture
section of the first superseding indictment, the gov-
ernment brought and ultimately tried Rafferty on a
second superseding indictment.

At trial, the district court ruled that the 1991 convic-
tion, the 1993 injunction and the two 2003 civil
judgments, in Georgia and New York, specified in
the second superseding indictment were admissible
as intrinsic evidence. Regarding the civil judgments
not specified in the second superseding indictment,
the court ruled that testimony demonstrating that
Rafferty secretly diverted UMDA investor funds to
pay his debts and attorneys fees arising from these
civil cases was inextricably intertwined. Limited
evidence that Rafferty’s conduct underlying those
civil cases was similar to the facts in the instant case
was admitted under Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b),
but most of the evidence related to civil judgments
not specified in the second superseding indictment
was not admitted.

5a

In preparation for trial, the government enlisted FBI
financial analyst Gail Winter to review documents
from various third-party bank accounts controlled by
Rafferty, along with other records. Winter prepared
eleven summary charts tracking the sources and
destinations of money through these various ac-
counts. Winter’s charts traced $998,921 in investor
funds to these accounts and showed that UMDA did
not receive any of this investor money. The eleven
summary charts, along with the bank records, were
admitted into evidence at trial. Altogether, the vo-
luminous account records, Winter's summary charts,
and Winter's and others’ trial testimony supported
the government's theory that Rafferty funneled in-
vestor money through these accounts and used the
funds to pay personal expenses, including, inter alia,
mortgage and car payments, repayment of civil
judgments and associated attorneys’ fees.

Over the course of two sentencing hearings, the dis-
trict court proceeded to determine the amount of loss
by tracing and aggregating the investor funds depos-
ited into Rafferty’s various bank accounts. The dis-
trict court emphasized that it was only including
funds that were clearly invested in UMDA, not other
companies, as a result of Rafferty’s solicitation, and
it deducted significant amounts of money where the
bank records contained mistakes or where it was
possible that some money might be double-counted.
The district court concluded that the amount of loss
attributed to Rafferty, after giving him the benefit of
the doubt, was $1,198,450. The district court found
the amount of loss to be between $1 million and $2.5
million and added a 16-level enhancement to his of-

6a

fense level pursuant to U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1(b)(1).
Rafferty’s objection was overruled.

Rafferty’s post-trial motions for new trial on Counts
1 and 2 and for acquittal on Counts 3 and 4 and were
denied. Rafferty timely filed a notice of appeal. He
claims improper admission of evidence, a violation of
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1995), vindictive
prosecution, and improper sentencing.”

DISCUSSION

1. Admussion of Evidence.

A district court's evidentiary rulings are reviewed for
abuse of discretion. United Statesv. Baker, 432 F.3d
1189, 1202 (11th Cir. 2005). We review preserved

evidentiary objections for harmful error. United
States v. Hands, 184 F.3d 1322, 1329 (11th Cir.
1999), corrected by 194 F.3d 1186 (11th Cir. 1999).

A. Summary Charts.

Rafferty challenges the admission of all eleven
summary charts into evidence, alleges that the
summary charts were “falsely created” in violation of
his due process rights and claims that the manner in
which the summary charts were introduced violated
his due process right to effective cross examination.

—--

‘ Throughout his briefs, Rafferty focuses on his assertion that
many of the transactions depicted in the summary charts do
not involve UMDA directly. His argument confounds the issues
in this case; the losses stemming from Rafferty’s actions are not
the damages to UMDA per ee, but the injuries inflicted by
Rafferty upon the investors he defrauded.

7a

He also asserts a Brady violation related to the
summary charts. As a preliminary matter, we find
that the summary charts produced by FBI analyst
Winter were properly admitted under Federal Rule
of Evidence 1006 as summaries of the voluminous
financial data. The data had also been previously
admitted into evidence. See United States v. Norton,
867 F.2d 1354, 1362-63 (11th Cir. 1989) (finding no
abuse of discretion where district court admitted a
summary chart and related testimony after admis-
sion of the checks depicted in the summary chart as
relevant to establishing a conspiracy to engage in
racketeering activity). As the summary charts were
properly introduced at trial, Rafferty’s allegations of
deprivation of his due process rights are without
merit and we find no abuse of discretion.

B. Evidence of Prior Conviction, Injunction and Civil
Fraud Judgments.

Challenges to evidentiary rulings are reviewed for
an abuse of discretion. Baker, 432 F.3d at 1202.
Count One of the second superseding indictment ac-
cused Rafferty of omitting material facts in commu:
nications with investors. Such alleged omitted facts
included: (1) Rafferty’s 1991 conviction for securities

fraud in a New York federal court; (2) in 1993, an Il-
linois federal court permanently enjoined Rafferty
from committing further acts of securities fraud; (3)
the two civil fraud judgments entered against
Rafferty in 2003; and (4) Rafferty’s secret use of
funds from investors in UMDA and other companies
to pay his legal fees. Prior to trial, the government
notified Rafferty of its intent to offer the foregoing
evidence, including the facts underlying the civil

8a

judgments, as inextricably intertwined with the
charged offenses or alternatively as evidence of in-
tent, plan or knowledge, pursuant to Federal Rules
of Evidence 404(b).

Rafferty moved to exclude this evidence on the
grounds that he did not have a duty to disclose this
information, that the investors did not rely on his
representations before investing, and that the facts
underlying the civil judgments were inadmissible
under Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b). The district
court heard argument several times and held that
the conviction, the injunction and the civil judg:
ments specified in the second superseding indict:
ment were admissible as intrinsic evidence with the
charged offenses. On appeal, Rafferty renews his
objections. The Supreme Court has recognized a fi-
duciary duty in the instance of so-called "temporary
insiders," specifically:

Under certain circumstances, such as where cor:
porate information is revealed legitimately to...[a]
consultant working for the corporation, these out-
siders may become fiduciaries of the sharehold-
ers. The basis for recognizing this fiduciary duty
is not simply that such persons acquired nonpub-
lic corporate information, but rather that they
have entered into a special confidential relation-
ship in the conduct of the business of the enter-
prise and are given access to information solely
for corporate purposes.

Dirks v. S.E.C., 463 U.S. 646, 655 n.14 (1983).

9a

To the extent the district court based its ruling on
Rafferty’s status as a “temporary insider” and that
he was therefore under a duty to disclose the mate-
rially omitted facts, discussed supra, we find no
abuse of discretion.

Furthermore, this court has held that:

evidence of criminal activity other than the
charged offense is not extrinsic under Rule 404(b)
if it is (1) an uncharged offense which arose out of
the same transaction or series of transactions as
the charged offense, (2) necessary to complete the
story of the crime, or (3) inextricably intertwined
with the evidence regarding the charged offense.

United States v. Ramsdale, 61 F.3d 825, 829 (11th
Cir. 1995). The government argues specifically that
the evidence is part of the offense charged and thus
intrinsic, as witnessed by the reference to the spe-
cific material omissions, discussed supra, in the
charges in the indictment. See also United States v.

Bianco, 181 Fed. Appx. 846, 853-4, 2006 WL 1374495
at *7 (11th Cir. 2006) (unpublished) (admitting evi-
dence showing that the defendant [while on trial for
mail fraud, wire fraud and money laundering] was
on probation, owed restitution, had been enjoined
from soliciting investments, and was not licensed to
provide check-cashing services as intrinsic to the of-
fense and/or as relevant to his intent). We find no
abuse of discretion in the district court's evidentiary
ruling.

Evidentiary errors that are not specifically objected
to at trial are reviewed for plain error. United

10a

States v. Jernigan, 341 F.3d 1273, 1280 (11th Cir.
2003) (holding that, “[uJnder this standard, we cor-
rect only for errors that are particularly egregious
and that seriously affect the fairness, integrity or
public reputation of judicial proceedings, and the
only when a miscarriage of justice would result”) (ci-
tations, internal quotations and alteration omitted).
At trial, the government tendered a certified copy of
the 1991 conviction against Rafferty, with the In-
formation attached. It was admitted. Rafferty nei-
ther objected to the attached Information at that
time nor when the prosecutor referred to the facts in
the Information in closing argument. For the first
time in his motion for new trial, Rafferty claimed
that he was not provided with a copy of the Informa-
tion during discovery and objected to the admission
of the Information on the grounds that its admission

was highly prejudicial to his right to a fair trial. The
record reflects, however, that Rafferty’s counsel ex-
pressly stated that he did not object to the intredauc-
tion of a certified copy of the 1991 conviction with
attached Information at trial. Therefore, we find
that he has failed to show plain error in its admis-
sion at trial.

Il. Lrady Claim.

Rafferty's Brady claim centers around summary
chart S-5, which focuses on the activity of a Millen-
nium Capital Trading bank account controlled by
Ralf Riverso. The government argues that unknow-
ing UMDA investors deposited money into Riverso’s
bank account and that none of these funds actually
reached UMDA. Rafferty filed a motion in May
2005, requesting any exculpatory evidence from the

lla

government. The government’s response did not in-
form Rafferty of an interview that took place in early
2005 in which Riverso explained to government in-
vestigators that most of the funds that passed
through his accounts were held for the benefit of
someone besides Rafferty. After the verdict was re-
turned, Rafferty filed a motion for new trial. In fur-
therance of this motion, Rafferty submitted an affi-
davit by Riverso describing his 2005 interview with
the government. The district court denied the mo-
tion for new trial.

“The suppression by the prosecution of evidence fa-
vorable to an accused upon request violates due
process where the evidence is material either to guilt
or to punishment, irrespective of the good faith or
bad faith of the prosecution." Brady v. Maryland, 373

U.S. at 87. Evidence is material “if there is a rea-
sonable probability that, had the evidence been dis-
closed to the defense, the result of the proceeding
would have been different.” Grossman Vv.
McDonough, 466 F.3d 1325, 1341-42 (11th Cir. 2006)
(citation omitted). The information contained in the
Riverso affidavit, assuming its veracity, would only
call into question the information in one of the gov-
ernment's eleven summary charts [chart S-5]. The
remaining charts, witnesses, and other evidence be-
fore the jury support the government’s contention
that investors’ money was fraudulently funneled at
Rafferty’s direction to entities not including UMDA.
Therefore, the Riverso evidence is not material, i.e.,
if it had been admitted at trial in Rafferty’s favor, 12
there is not a reasonable probability of a different
outcome in this case.

12a

Ill. Vindictive Prosecution.

The dismissal of an indictment on the ground of
prosecutorial misconduct is reviewed for an abuse of
discretion. United States v. Barner, 441 F.3d 1310,
1315 (11th Cir. 2006). A district court abuses its dis-
cretion if it applies the incorrect legal standard or
makes findings of fact that are clearly erroneous. Jd.
Rafferty alleges that the government brought the
first and second superseding indictments to punish
Rafferty for not pleading guilty. Rafferty also al-
leges that the Assistant U.S. Attorney threatened to
withdraw the plea deal if he filed any more motions
and later told Rafferty’s attorney that, "[Rafferty]
should have taken his three and one-half year plea
while he had the chance."

We find that Rafferty has failed both to show any ob-
jective evidence of actual vindictiveness on the part
of the government or to raise circumstances meriting
a rebuttable presumption of vindictiveness. See
United States v. Dorsey, 512 F.3d 1321, 1325 (11th
Cir. 2008). The government acquired more evidence
against Rafferty as a result of the Gallo plea agree-
ment; nothing precluded the government from seek-
ing the first and second superseding indictments.

IV. Motions for Judgment of Acquittal and New
Trial.

A. Motion for Judgment of Acquittal.

Challenges to the sufficiency of the evidence are re-
viewed de novo. United States v. Keller, 916 F.2d
628, 632 (11th Cir. 1990). In this context, all rea-
sonable inferences and credibility choices are made

13a

in favor of the jury verdict. United States v. Young,
39 F.3d 1561, 1565 (11th Cir. 1994).

In order to uphold a lower court's denial of judgment
of acquittal, it is only necessary to find that a rea-
sonable factfinder could conclude that the evidence
establishes the defendant's guilt beyond a reason-
able doubt. Keller, 916 F.2d at 632. Rafferty argued
that the evidence at trial was insufficient to sustain
his conviction for wire fraud on Counts 3 and 4.
However, a defendant need not be proven to have ac-
tually participated in or initiated the wire communi-
cations to be guilty of violating the wire fraud stat-
ute. United States v. Snyder, 505 F.2d 595 (5th Cir.
1974).3 We find that the evidence and testimony
presented at trial, including the summary charts
which depict wire transfers of investment money, is
sufficient to support the jury’s verdict.

B. Motion for New Trial.

A denial of a motion for new trial is reviewed for an
abuse of discretion. United States v. Fernandez, 136
F.3d 1434, 1438 (11th Cir. 1998). In furtherance of
his motion for new trial on Counts 1 and 2, Rafferty
argued that, by deliberating for only two hours, the
jury clearly failed to follow the district court’s in-
structions to consider evidence separately with re-
spect to each count. Rafferty cited no law in support
of his assertion that the short length of jury delib-
erations reflects any bias against him. Furthermore,

> This Court adopted as binding precedent all Fifth Circuit decisions
prior to October 1, 1981. Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206,
1209 (11th Cir. 1981)({en banc).

l4a

the Tenth Circuit has ruled against this very argu-
ment. See United States v. Lawrence, 405 F.3d 888,
904-05 n.11 (10th Cir. 2005) (denying motion for
mistrial where jury deliberations lasted two hours
and finding no evidence of prejudice against defen-
dant).

Rafferty also alleged the improper admission of the
summary charts, the civil and crimina! convictions,
including the Information attached to the 1991 con-
viction, as well as the violation of Brady, discussed
supra. Incorporating our reasoning in sections I and
II above, we conclude thai the district court did not
abuse its discretion in denying Rafferty’s motion for
new trial.

V. Sentence.

On appeal Rafferty argues that in handing down his
126-month sentence, the district court erred by ap-
plying a 16-level enhancement under U.S.S.G. §
2B1.1(b)(1)(D based on its finding that Rafferty was
responsible for losses between $1,000,000 and
$2,500,000. In addition to his substantive argu-
ments about § 2B1.1(b)(1)(D, Rafferty also argues
that he was not given an opportunity to address the
court on the loss issue and that the court erred by
independently calculating the loss.

“A district court’s determination regarding the
amount of loss for sentencing purposes is reviewed
for clear error.” United States v. Medina, 485 F.3d
1291, 1303 (11th Cir. 2007)(citation omitted). Under
U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1(b)(1), a defendunt’s base offense
level is increased by 16-ler~'s if the offense involved

15a

losses in the amount of more than $1,000,000, but
less than $2,500,000. U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1(b)()(D. The
application notes provide that “loss is the greater of
actual or intended loss.” /d., comment (n.3(A)). Ac-
tual loss is defined as “the reasonably foreseeable
pecuniary harm that resulted from the offense.” /d.,
comment (n.3(A)(D). “[Tlhe government bears the
burden of supporting its loss calculation with reli-
able and specific evidence.” United States v. Renick,
273 F.3d 1009, 1025 (11th Cir. 2001)(citation omit-
ted).

“(T]he Sentencing Guidelines require a district court,
at the sentencing stage, to make independent find-
ings establishing the factual basis for its Guideline

calculations.” United States v. Hamaker, 455 F.3d
1316, 1338 (11th Cir. 2006). “The court need only

make a reasonable estimate of the loss. The sentenc-
ing judge is in a unique position to assess the evi-
dence and estimate the loss based upon that evi-
dence. For this reason, the court’s loss determina-
tion is entitled to appropriate deference.” U.S.S.G. §
2B1.1(b)(1), comment ‘n.3(C)). “A reasonable esti-
mate of the loss amount is appropriate because often
the amount of loss caused by fraud is difficult to de-
termine accurately.” Medina, 485 F.3d at 1304 (cita-
tion omitted). “But while estimates are permissible,
courts must not speculate concerning the existence
of a fact which would permit a more severe sentence
under the guidelines.” /d, (citation and alternation
omitted).

“Fraudulent schemes...come in various forms, and
we must consider the nature of the scheme in deter-
mining what method is to be used to calculate the

16a

harm caused or intended.” United States v. Orton,
73 F.3d 331, 333 (11th Cir. 1996). “The Sentencing
Commission is clearly aware that different types of
fraud may call for different methods of calculation.”
Id. at 333 n.4. Nonetheless, “[lJoss...focuses gener-
ally on the harm suffered by the victim of the crimi-
nal conduct rather than on the proceeds of the crime
enjoyed by the defendant.” Hamaker, 455 F.3d at
1337.

Rafferty argues that the district court erred by
adopting a methodology of calculating his applicable
guideline range that was not advanced by the gov-
ernment or the probation officer and that the court
therefore assumed the role properly left to the prose-
cution. Specifically, he argues that the district court
erred by not calculating the loss as the diminution in
the net value of the shares between the time the
conspiracy began and the time it ended, March 2003
to February 2004; the approach this Court employed
in United States v. Snyder, 291 F.3d 1291, 1295
(11th Cir. 2002). Here, however, the district court
found that the UMDA stock was “worthless” at the
conclusion of the conspiracy and, therefore, no such
subtraction was warranted. This exhaustion of the
subject stock’s value did not occur in Snyder, where
shares of Biocryst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. were found
to have retained some value over the life of the con-
spiracy.

Furthermore, this Court in Snyder did not mandate
a particular loss calculation approach and stated
that many methods were acceptable. “All that is re-
quired is that the court make a reasonable estimate

17a

of the loss, given the available information.” /d., at
1295-96 (citations omitted). Here, the district court
calculated the loss by determining the amount of in-
vestor funds deposited in to Rafferty’s various bank
accounts, taking care to only aggregate funds clearly
invested in UMDA, not other companies, as a result
of Rafferty’s solicitation. The district court did not
subtract the value of the stock at the end of the con-
spiracy, as such arithmetic would be pointless. See
United States v. Olis, 429 F.3d 540, 546 (5th Cir.
2005) (stating that, “[iln cases where defendants
promoted worthless stock in worthless companies,
measuring the loss as the entire amount raised by
the schemes is neither surprising nor complex, and
is fully consistent with civil loss calculation”). Also,
the district court’s loss calculation methodology was
conservative, excluding some amounts that were
transferred during the course of the conspiracy, in
order to avoid the risk of mistakes or double-
counting amounts.

Rafferty also contends that he had no opportunity to
challenge the district court’s loss findings, denying
Rafferty his Sixth Amendment right to counsel.
However, Rafferty addressed the district court on
the loss issue in both his sentencing memorandum
and in his objections to the pre-sentencing investiga’
tion report. Additionally, the district court heard ex-
tensively from Rafferty on the issue at both the first
and second sentencing hearings. This argument is
meritless.

Finally, Rafferty argues that the district court erred
by independently calculating the amount of loss. His
complaint is that the district court made calculations

18a

of its own in between the first and second sentencing
hearings. We find nothing wrong with this. Rafferty
had the opportunity to address the district court
when its calculations were presented. Indeed, the
district court is required to exercise independent
judgment in Guidelines calculations. See Unrted
States v. Foley, 508 F.3d 627, 633 (11th Cir. 2007)
(holding that the district court erred by adopting the
jury's forfeiture verdict as the amount of loss, thus
abdicating its responsibility to make independent
findings under the Sentencing Guidelines).

We find that Rafferty failed to demonstrate that the
district court employed an improper loss-calculation
methodology or that its factual findings were clearly
erroneous. Furthermore, Rafferty's arguments that
he was not given an opportunity to address the dis-
trict court on the loss calculation issue and that the
court erred by conducting its independent loss calcu-
lation are without merit.

CONCLUSION

The district court’s denial of the motion for new trial
and denial of the motion for judgment of acquittal re
AFFIRMED. Rafferty’s conviction and sentence are
also AFFIRMED.

19a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-15090

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee

versus

TIMOTHY RAFFERTY
a.k.a. Tim Rafferty,
Defendant-Appellant.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for
the Southern District of Florida

Before: THOFLAT and BLACK, Circuit Judges, and
EVANS’

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no
Judge in regular active service on the Court having
requested that the Court be polled on rehearing en
banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of AppelDate
Procedure), the Petition(s) for Rehearing En Banc
are DENIED.

* Honorable Orinda Evans, United States District Judge for the
Northern District of Georgia, sitting by designation.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

Filed Dec. 15, 2008

~

Zla

TITLE 15 - COMMERCE AND TRADE
CHAPTER 2B - SECURITIES EXCHANGES

§ 78}. Manipulative and deceptive devices

It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indi-
rectly, by the use of any means or instrumentality of
interstate commerce or of the mails, or of any facility
of any national securities exchange—

(a)

(1) To effect a short sale, or to use or employ
any stop-loss order in connection with the pur:
chase or sale, of any security registered on a
national securities exchange, in contravention
of such rules and regulations as the Commis:
sion may prescribe as necessary or appropriate
in the public interest or for the protection of
investors.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this subsection shall not
apply to security futures products.

(b) To use or employ, in connection with the pur-
chase or sale of any security registered on a national
securities exchange or any security not so registered,
or any securities-based swap agreement (as defined
in section 206B of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act), any
manipulative or deceptive device or contrivance in
contravention of such rules and regulations as the

_Commission may prescribe as necessary or appropri:
ate in the public interest or for the protection of in-
vestors.

22a

Rules promulgated under subsection (b) of this sec-
tion that prohibit fraud, manipulation, or insider
trading (but not rules imposing or specifying report-
ing or recordkeeping requirements, procedures, or
standards as prophylactic measures against fraud,
manipulation, or insider trading), and judicial prece-
dents decided under subsection (b) of this section
and rules promulgated thereunder that prohibit
fraud, manipulation, or insider trading, shall apply
to security-based swap agreements (as defined in
section 206B of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act) to the
same extent as they apply to securities. Judicial
precedents decided under section 77q (a) of this title
and sections 78i, 780, 78p, 78t, and 78u-—1 of this ti-
tle, and judicial precedents decided under applicable
rules promulgated under such sections, shall apply
to security-based swap agreements (as defined in
section 206B of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act) to the
same extent as they apply to securities.

23a
18 U.S.C. § 3771. Crime victims’ rights

(a) Rights of Crime Victims.— A crime victim has

the following rights:
(1) The right to be reasonably protected from
the accused.
(2) The right to reasonable, accurate, and
timely notice of any public court proceeding,
or any parole proceeding, involving the crime
or of any release or escape of the accused.
(3) The right not to be excluded from any such
public court proceeding, unless the court, after
receiving clear and convincing evidence,
determines that testimony by the victim
would be materially altered if the victim heard
other testimony at that proceeding.
(4) The right to be reasonably heard at any
public proceeding in the district court
involving release, plea, sentencing, or any
parole proceeding.
(5) The reasonable right to confer with the
attorney for the Government in the case.
(6) The right to full and timely restitution as
provided in law.
(7) The right to proceedings free from
unreasonable delay.
(8) The right to be treated with fairness and
with respect for the victim’s dignity and
privacy.

U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1

§2B1.1. Larceny, Embezzlement, and Other Forms of
Theft; Offenses Involving Stolen Property; Property
Damage or Destruction; Fraud and Deceit; Forgery;
Offenses Involving Altered or Counterfeit
Instruments Other than Counterfeit Bearer
Obligations of the United States

(a) Base Offense Level:

(1) 7, if (A) the defendant was convicted of an
offense referenced to this guideline; and (B) that
offense of conviction has a statutory maximum term
of imprisonment of 20 years or more; or

(2) 6, otherwise.
(b) Specific Offense Characteristics

(1) If the loss exceeded $5,000, increase the offense
level as follows:

Loss (Apply the Greatest) Increase in Level
$5,000 or less no increase
(B) More than $5,000 add 2
(C) More than $10,000 add 4
(D) More than $30,000 add 6
(E) More than $70,000 add 8
(F) More than $120,000 add 10
(G) More than $200,000 add 12
(H) More than $400,000 add 14
(I) More than $1,000,000 add 16
(J) More than $2,500,000 add 18

25a

(K) More than $7,000,000 add 20
(L) More than $20,000,000 add 22
(M) More than $50,000,000 add 24
(N) More than $100,000,000 add 26
(O) More than $200,000,000 add 28
(P) More than $400,000,000 add 30.

(2) (Apply the greatest) If the offense—

(A) @) involved 10 or more victims: or (ii) was
committed through mass-marketing, increase by 2
levels;

(B) involved 50 or more victims, increase by 4
levels; or

(C) involved 250 or more victims, increase by 6
levals.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0515%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
