# Reply Brief — Tucker v. Hardin County (No. 08-1291)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0416%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

—

[ Supreme Cour. U-S-
fa JUL 13 2002
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
No. 08-1291
Hn The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

ODIS TUCKER, VONNIE TUCKER,
and BLAKE TUCKER,

Petitioners,
Vv.

HARDIN COUNTY, a political subdivision of State of
Tennessee, SAVANNAH POLICE DEPARTMENT,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITIONERS' REPLY BRIEF

WILLIAM J. BROWN
(TENN. BPR# 5450)

Counsel of Record
WILLIAM J. BROWN & ASSOCIATES
23 N. OcokFE, P.O. Box 1001
CLEVELAND, TN 37364-1001
PH: (423) 476-4515

Counsel for Petitioners

July 13, 2009

Becker Gallagher + Cincinnau, GH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLA OF AUTHORITIBS «6.65.55 enue deeves

:

Lf.

SRILIIOTIO Ck. ww vo oa eee

Petitioners Have Not Waived Their Claims
OF TIRBCTOTRATIMEION ww cg os es cs oe ee

Respondents Improperly Argue the Merits of

Their Defense as Justification for Denying
tO PWG snk eo eee

(a) Respondents assertion that the circuit
courts factual conclusion that the proffered
accommodations were effective is the legal]
question that is presented by petitioners. ..

(b) The circuits are tn serious conflict as to
the legal issues before the court in this

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
a 4,6

Chisolm v. McManimon,
er eee nee Geen Cae. ZOO])....... 1... ec eeee 7

Duffy v. Riveland,
en mee Gee Cir, 190G) ...........6-6-- 7

Randolph v. Rodgers,
eae ee eee Sees (IT. AYO) .......\..-6--- 7

Tucker v. Hardin County, et al,
oe we eee worn Cir. Z008) ............. 3,4

STATUTES and RULES

a 1,6
ES OST 6
gE 6
NS ee 5

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)

1

PETITIONERS RESPONSE TO CITY OF
SAVANNAH AND HARDIN COUNTY,
TENNESSEE’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

I. Introduction

Both of the respondents in this case have raised
similar issues associated with their argument that this
court should deny the Petitioners application. The
first issue is that the petitioners have waived their
claims by failing to raise them in the court of appeals.
The second issue is primarily associated with the
“merits” with respondents arguing that the court of
appeals was right in its decision to dismiss petitioners
claims because of its determination that the proffered
aids were effective was a correct finding of fact. As
will be demonstrated hereinafter, the respondents fail
to present arguments that are relevant to this courts
considerations in granting a petition for certiorari.

II. Petitioners Have Not Waived Their Claims
of Discrimination

Both respondents suggest that the petitioners have
waived their claims of discrimination by failing to
raise the question of whether proof of “intentional
discrimination” is required to prevail in a claim for
compensatory damages under Title I] of the Americans
with Disability Act (ADA) 42°-U.S.C. $12132. This is
clearly not born out by the record, because the court of
appeals specifically affirmed the dismissal of the
petitioners claim because they had failed to prove
“intentional discrimination”. As such, the matter was
considered and ruled upon specifically by that lower
court.

2

The petitioners in their brief to the court of appeals
argued that they had presented a prima facia case of
discrimination under the ADA presenting specific
arguments explaining why petitioners had proven
discriminatory conduct directed at them personally by
the respondents. (Appellants 6" Cir. Brief, pgs. 32 -
54) At page 32 of their brief to the court of appeals,
the petitioners specifically argued that the legal
standard for discrimination by stating:

“..a ‘Public Entity’ commits a ‘discriminatory
act’ when a speech and hearing disabled person
is excluded, denied services, segregated or
otherwise treated differently than other
individuals because of the absence’ or
inadequacies of ‘auxiliary aids’.” Id. (Supporting
citations omitted)

It is important to note that in their briefs to the Sixth
Circuit, neither of she respondents objected to this
standard, and neither specifically mentioned a
requirement of proof of “intentional discrimination” or
that the petitioners had failed to prove that type of
discrimination. (Savannah Police Dept. 6“ Cir. Brief,
pg. 17; Hardin County 6" Cir. Brief, pg. 15). In their
responsive brief, Savannah Police Department
(Savannah) based its entire argument on _ the
proposition that an arrest is not a service, program or
activity under the ADA.’ Hardin County based its

' Savannah suggests that the petitioners have failed to address an
issue decided by the court of appeals that an arrest is not a
program, service or activity of a public entity under the facts of
this case. (Savannah Brief at pg. 14) It is important to note that
the court of appeals assumed that the arrest fell within the
parameters of Title II of the ADA for purposes of its decision and

3

defense entirely on a factual argument that the
accommodations provided were “effective” in providing
the same benefits as other persons that were serving
time in the jail and that went to the Hardin County
General Sessions Court. Id.

In rendering its decision, the Sixth Circuit raised
the requirement of proof of “intentional
discrimination” for the first time as a basis for
sustaining the dismissal of petitioners claims. The
court suggested that a plaintiff must show that:

“... the “discrimination was intentionally
directed toward him or her in particular. Acts
and omissions which have a disparate impact on
disabled persons in general [are] not specific
acts of intentional discrimination against [the
plaintiff} in particular.” Tucker v. Hardin
County, et al., 509 F.3d 526, 532 (Apx. pg. 14a).?

resolved the case in favor of the respondent because it found that
the petitioners had failed to prove their claim of “intentional
discrimination”. Tucker, 539 F.3d at 535 (Apx. pg. 20a - 21a). As
such, that issue is not before the court.

* It is important to note that this is not a disparate impact case.
All of the petitioners claims of discrimination involve actions that
were specifically cirected towards them or request for aids they
personally made tothe public entities that were denied or ignored.
As such, the court of appeals decision is not based on a failure to
prove intentional discrimination because the conduct was not
directed at the petitioners personally. Instead the court has held
that petitioners failed to prove intentional discrimination because
they were proffered aids that the court felt were adequate or
effective. Petitioners have vigorously argued that the aids were
not adequate or effective throughout the proceedings of this case.

4

Thereafter, the opinion reviews the facts and concludes
that there is no proof of “intentional discrimination” as
to each event that the petitioners claim they were
discriminated in because the proffered aids were
“effective” in providing access to the respondents
programs, services and activities. This was despite the
fact that the matter was before the court on summary
judgment where the evidence was to be looked at in
the light most favorable to the petitioners, Anderson v.
Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 249 (1986). The
court of appeals determined that they would rest their
decision on the “facts”. Tucker, 539 F.3d at 539 (Apx.
py. 29a).

After the publication of the Sixth Circuit opinion,
petitioners filed a “Petition for Rehearing or in the
Alternative Hearing En Banc”. Petitioners provided
an extensive review of the facts and citations from
numerous circuits presenting factual circumstances
similar to petitioners claims. In each of those cited
cases, the court of appeals required jury trials because
there was a question of fact required to be resolved by
a jury as to whether the proffered aids were adequate.
Petitioners further argued that they had presented
evidence to support that requirement and that the
proffered accommodations were not effective. As such,
no matter the adjective associated with discrimination
under Title IT of the ADA, petitioners argued and cited
to authority supporting their claim that they had
presented a prima facia case of discrimination under
Title II of the ADA.* This is just as petitioners had

*In the original petition filed in this court, five different standards
of discrimination are demonstrated as used by the various circuits
throughout the country. It is the petitioners position that no

+)

argued from the beginning of the law suit, and this is
the specific issue that they are requesting this court to
hear. The court of appeals applied an analysis that
used the term “intentional” to describe “discrimination.
As such, the matter was before the court and was a
central tenant in dismissing petitioners claims.

Ill. Respondents Improperly Argue the
Merits of Their Defense as Justification
for Denying the Petition

(a) Respondents assertion that the
circuit courts factual conclusion that
the proffered accommodations were
effective is the legal question that is
presented by petitioners.

Under Sup. Ct. R. 10(a), the significant criteria for
this courts consideration of a petition is whether there
is a conflict among the circuit courts, not whether the
decision was a correct one. Both respondents present
arguments that petitioners claims against them cannot
be sustained because no reasonable jury could find
that the communications during their contact were
ineffective. (Savannah Brief in Opposition, pg. 14;
Hardin County Brief in Opposition, pg. 10-12) As has
been typical of respondent’s approach through out this

a

matter the adjectives associated with the standard for
discrimination, including the use of the term “intentional
discrimination”, they have actionable claims. For example, the
petitioners repeatedly requested that they be provided a sign
language interpreter throughout the various contacts with the
respondents. They were never provided with one. This could
certainly be considered to be an action directed at them personally
and therefore an “intentional discrimination”.

6

case, they wish to argue facts that must be looked at in
the hight most favorable to the petitioners. Hardin
County even admits that the court of appeals
conducted an independent de novo “factual” analysis
and headlines that the Sixth Circuit did not rule that
the effectiveness of the provided accommodations was
a “question of law”. (Hardin County Brief in
Opposition to Petition, pg. 9) That then begs the legal
question presented by petitioners to this court: “Is the
adequacy of aids proffered by a public entity a jury
question?”.

A court reviewing motions for summary judgment
can only make a final ruling if there are “no genuine
issue as to any material fact and that movant is
entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ.
P. 56(c). The fact finding role when there is a dispute
2s to the facts of a case is the responsibility of a jury.
On motions for summary judgment, the court must
look at the evidence in the light most favorable to the
petitioners. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.
242, 249 (1986) Hardin County asserts and is
supported by the court of appeals decision that the
communication by respondents agents were effective
because communications were “achieved”.* (Hardin

* The ADA imposcs on a public entity a duty of more than just
achieving communications. It requires that the communications
be adequate to enable the disabled person to participate in the
program, service or activity to the same extent as a non-disabled
person, 42 U.S.C. $12132; 28 C.FR. $35.130(b)(1tw); 28 CFR.
$35.160. It is important to note that the basis for the factual
conclusion that the communications were effective was the
testimony of the non-disabled participants in the various contacts
that the petitioners had with the respondents. The failure to give
credence to the testimony of the hearing and speech disabled

7

County Reply to Petition for Cert., pg. 9) As presented
in the petition, Blake and Otis Tucker testified that for
them, the proffered aids were not effective and
communications were not achieved in a_non-
discriminatory manner. (Petition for Cert., pgs 5 - 14)
Savannah asserts that their proffered accommodations
of lip reading and pencil and paper were effective
because the communications did not disrupt the police
officers mission. (Savanna Reply to Petition for Cert.,
pg. 15).

Neither respondent provides any argument as to
why this court should not consider whether a finding
of “effectiveness” or technically the “adequacy of the
proffered aid” is a legal one that should be done by
judges as held by the court of appeals or a factual one
that should be considered by a jury as held by the
Third, Eighth, and Ninth Circuits. See, Chisolm ov.
McManimon, 275 F.3d 315, 327-328 (3d Cir. 2001);
Randolph v. Rodgers, 170 F.3d 850, 859 (8th Cir.
1999); Duffy v. Riveland, 98 F.3d 447, 454, 455 (9th
Cir. 1996). Certainly, the conflicts in the circuits as to
this question, as specifically delineated in the petition,
amply support the conclusion that this matter should
be considered by this court.

petitioners they did not understood what was being communicated
compounds the discrimination that the ADA was supposed to
eliminate.

8

(b) The circuits are in serious conflict
as to the legal issues before the court in
this case.

Hardin County argues that all of the circuit
conflicts presented in the Tuckers petition associated
with the question of what constitutes a prima facia
case of discrimination are in reality not in conflict.
(Hardin County Brief in Opposition to Petition for
Cert., pg. 7 - 9) It asserts that the fundamental
question in all of the cases is whether the alleged
failure to accommodate caused a fundamental
difference in the aid, benefit, or service compared with
what a non-disabled individual receives. (Id at pg. 7).
Simply speaking, Hardin County has gone full circle
back to the issue of the adequacy or effectiveness of the
proffered aid. As such, it appears to present an
argument that the issue as to whether discrimination
has been perpetrated against a disabled person is not
one of “intentional discrimination”, but instead is
resolved by the determination of the adequacy of the
aid proffered by the respondent. In light of the
demonstrated conflict in the circuits as to whether the
effectiveness of a proffered aid is a factual decision to
be determined by a jury or a legal one to be decided by
the court, it clearly supports the necessity of this court
granting the petition to resolve that conflict.

9
CONCLUSION

The respondents have failed to provide any proper
basis for not granting the petition in this case. As
such, the petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
Odis Tucker, Blake Tucker and
Vonnie Tucker, Petitioners

By: William J. Brown (Tenn. BPR# 5450)
Counsel of Record
William J. Brown & Associates
23 N. Ocoee, P.O. Box 1001
Cleveland, TN 37364-1001
Ph: (423) 476-4515

Couvsisel for Petitioners

July 13, 2009

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0416%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
