# Opposition Brief — J.L. Spoons, Inc. v. Guzman (No. 08-1144)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0283%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

No. 08-1144 eo
Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

J.L. SPOONS, Inc.,
Petitioner,
Vv.

HENRY GUZMAN, DIRECTOR,
OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD CORDRAY
Ohio Attorney General

BENJAMIN C. MIZER*
Solicitor General
*Counsel of Record
STEPHEN P. CARNEY
Deputy Solicitor
ELISE PORTER
Assistant Solicitor
30 E. Broad Street, 17th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-466-8980
benjamin.mizer
@ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Counsel for Respondents

QUESTION PRESENTED

Do Ohio Liquor Rule 52’s restrictions on nudity and
sexual contact at liquor-serving estabhshments
survive an overbreadth challenge because they do
not reach a substantial amount of protected speech
in relation to their plainly legitimate sweep?

l

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRR rie a ree tee ksoedinvvecerssces i
TABLE OF COORG Tiare cette tees ed ssnecicsess ss 00-0. il
TABLE OF AU THIGH pit ckeccstssseseserenscson000000s... iv
INTRODU CTR xcs eens eeveseacsssss.s.. 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .....................ccceseeeeees 4

A. The Ohio Liquor Commission promulgated
Rule 52 to help control the secondary
effects of nudity and sexual activity in
liquor-serving establishments .....................005. 4

B. The district court invalidated Rule 52 as
unconstitutionally overbroad under the
First Amendment, but the Sixth Circuit

TOVOTBOG occiccnccis aie asias sakes senesses. ri
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ................. 8
A. No division of authority exists among or

within the circuits, because the alleged

conflict cases involve laws broader than

Ohio's narrowly focused Rule 52...................... 9

1. The alleged circuit split is illusory........ soe

2. The alleged intra-circuit dispute is also
illusory and would not warrant review if
At @mESCE CE oie dhe thn hpstin esses. 13

B.

CONCLUSION

ill

Review is not needed to apply overbreadth
doctrine to laws upheld against different
challenges in Barnes and City of Erie ...........
The Court should not grant certiorari to
“revive” Spoons’s as-anplied challenge for
remand, because that challenge remains
alive—even if doomed by E£rie—in the
district court

COREE REE EEE HEHEHE EEE EHH HEHE HEHEHE HERE REE EES

SOR O ee EEEEEEHEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHHEHEEEEEHHREHH HH REE ETE EE DHE EES

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page(s)
Barnes v. Glen Theatre,

ee ye I eevee ci snsesvkeansecssciuexesasacs passim
Blau v. Fort Thomas Pub. Sch. Dist.,

BOL FG SB Cte Car. DOUG) on. cn ccnceccssvescorccscceceae 17
Brazos Valley Coal. for Life, Inc. v. City of Bryan

Texas,

BOT Fe OS CT CT BOD cence cats cevassnsccesecsssses 17

City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M.,
oo BU RR ga Bi St) ) passim

Conchatta v. Miller,
466 F.3d 268 (3d Cir. 2006) ........cccccccecccccecccs 11. 16

Connection Distrib. v. Holder,
SO? F.G Slk (GU Cit. FOOD) .occcicccccccccsccsscsss 17, 19

Faustin v. City and County of Denver,
O29 FOG LIGZ (IOC Cab, BOG vcccecericccsccvervesce 16

Fla. Ass’n of Prof Lobbyists Inc. v. Div. of
Legislative Info. Servs.,
526 F.3d 1073 (11th Cir. 2008)................000....00. 16

Gibson v. Mayor & Council of Wilmington,
Eee Hee 0 Ge SAE, DIED vive se vessacoesesssven serves 19

Giovani Carandola, Ltd. v. Bason,
303 F.3d 507 (4th Cir. 2002)
(Carandola I)

Vv

Giovani Carandola, Ltd. v. Fox,
470 F.3d 1074 (4th Cir. 2006)
Oe moo cane tasnntanecesoaaeen 12,13

Hamilton’s Bogarts v. Michigan,
BOE Fk CEG COED Cir, BOT) aswivcoicscciciccvenessnsssses 15

Initiative and Referendum Inst. v. United states
Postal Seruv.,
GIF © ee LR GE .. Cae, BO ins vnc csissnccs vaccines 17

J&B Entm', Inc. v. City of Jackson,
DGD Fe OO CORD CAF. FD vi vvcic cise creccessccemensees 13

J.L. Spoons, Inc. v. Morckel,
2007 U.S. Dist. Lexis 74 (N.D. Ohio 2007) .......... 7

J.L. Spoons, Inc. v. Morckel,
ee es Bee FN ois vais ccccantsinvsntranmrasautenenneeeecns 4

McConnell v. FEC,
SE et I ND ce. c, csc cxcevucd Uaca vaukeuctenseusteoundens 16

Odle v. Decatur County, Tenn.,
SIT Fe BOS CGE Ui. BRD anes ve vceiscsacveninys 14, 15

Phelps-Roper v. Strickland,
590 F.0d S56 (6th Cir. ZOOG) .........ccsciccccssosesescoes 17

Preminger v. Sec'y of Veterans’ Admin.,
517 F.3d 1299 (Ped. Cir. 2008) ......0......ccccccsccvene. 16

Schultz v. City of Cumberland,
DO Fe Ba CIO Ci, BOD ois cnvsvcdcccconscnscidcccases 13

Spoons, Inc. v. Dragant,
PR I ge a prccn oddsu'snesunxuavcuninsonpeasunesco erent

vl

Triplett Grille v. City of Akron,
Pe Oe | 14

United States v. Calimlim,
538 F.3d 706 (7th Cir. 2008), cert. denied,
er soy svviiesosvanionsevsarsnarscoveres 16

United States v. Hammoud,
ee re CBRE CEE, ZOO) oaovccccccrccssorcccrsessceses 17

United States v. Nenninger,
BE te Oe COED GARE. BOG) veces ccavsessccccccveces seven 17

United States v. Scrales,
546 F.3d 965 (9th Cir. 2008), cert. denied.

ee | we A ee ye 16
United States v. Williams,

Oe Pe ee WEE CED vse ncosconcacsecsededsseceseesvevvceses 16
Virginia v. Hicks,

sb Oe CI) xancscacvesecdcsseeccévvevacsees 14, 16, 17
Wash. State Grange v. Wash. State Republican

Party,

tes” Oe CIID, og soins sae nacoVdacsnwsbcacneoeesdeceves 16

Ways v. City of Lincoln,
274 F.3d 614 (8th Cir. 2001)) ................0080. passim

W. Pac. R.R. Corp. v. W. Pac. R.R. Co.,
ee ccd nsc ess tnaversanacnyersuccvsedixesvedeess 13

Statutes and Rules

Ohio Administrative Code 4301:1-1-52......... passim

Vil

Ohio Admin. Code § 4301:1-1-52 (A)(2)(2004)......... 6
Ohio Admin. Code § 4301:1-1-52 (B)(2) & (3)

STRIPE ee se ele ae Sop tee Dey PAE AAAI Ct SPL aR OD 5
CaO TEOV. COG © BOOT UGA) iin ces scecsesccsseseesssavsssves 6
Ohio Rev. Code § 2007.O1(B)...........6:..cccceccoccoveeeseceoes 6
Ohio Rev. Code § 2907.01(C) (2006) ..........c ee. 6
Constitutional Provisions
First Amendment of the United States

EN NUD vn ce uvcsosccnsococeckasesss dare akenea ie eee

Fourteenth Amendment of the United States
a RE ee ea ey MNES et lh Sie aR AD 7

INTRODUCTION

At issue in this case is the type of reasonable
regulation of nude dancing that this Court and
others have repeatedly upheld. Ohio’s Liquor Rule
52 (“Rule 52”) restricts nudity and sexual activity in
hquor-serving establishments. The Sixth Circuit
properly found that Rule 52 is not unconstitutionally
overbroad, thus rejecting a challenge by a group of
strip-club owners led by Petitioner J.L. Spoons, Inc.
(“Spoons”). Spoons now insists that the decision
creates a circuit split and raises other issues worthy
of this Court’s review. Spoons is wrong, however, in
large part because it mischaracterizes the scope of
Rule 52.

Rule 52’s nudity definition tracks virtually
verbatim the anti-nudity provisions upheld in Barnes
uv. Glen Theatre, 501 U.S. 560, 569 (1991), and City of
Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S. 277, 284 (2000). And its
definition of restricted sexual activity includes actual
sex as well as “sexual contact,” which includes
“touching of an erogenous zone of another .. . for the
purpose of sexually arousing or gratifying either
person.” Thus, Rule 52 does not prohibit any
touching between two people that might arouse a
third-party observer. Rule 52 restricts so-called “lap
dances” in which a nude dancer touches a customer
to gratify him—which is_ not. protected First
Amendment activity—but it does not restrict a ballet
performance in which one dancer lifts another by the
buttocks, because such “touching of an crogenous
zone” is not “for the purposes of sexually arousing”
either dancer.

Measured by a proper understanding of Rule

a ¢

52’s scope, then, Spoons’s claims of conflict do not
hold up. For example, Spoons claims that the Sixth

Circuit’s decision below conflicts with an Eighth
Circuit decision invalidating a law that prohibited
certain contact “when such contact can reasonably be
construed as being for the purpose of the sexual
arousal or gratification of either party or any
observer.” Ways v. City of Lincoln, 274 F.3d 514, 516
(8th Cir. 2001) (emphasis added). The Eighth
Circuit specifically found the “observer” language to
be the problem “because constitutionally protected
artistic expression may legitimately intend to
titillate or arouse members of the audience.” Jd. at
520. That difference distinguishes this case not only
from Ways, but also from every other case to which
Spoons points. Nor is any purported conflict within
the Sixth Circuit a cause for review.

The Sixth Circuit’s overbreadth analysis here is
fully consistent with this Court’s First Amendment
jurisprudence. As the appeals court correctly held,
the “sexual contact” provision is not overbroad,
because Ohioans may continue to enjoy ballet, ice
skating, and performances of “high culture” works
with sexual content, even in venues that sell
alcoholic beverages. Further, Rule 52 does not affect
full nudity or sexual contact at venues that do not
serve liquor. Thus, the potential for affecting any
protected expression is small, and it comes nowhere
near a substantial amount, measured against the
law’s legitimate sweep—namely, restricting the
nudity and sexual contact that occurs at strip clubs,
not at the ballet.

Moreover, while the Sixth Circuit's general
overbreadth approach is consistent with this Court’s,
the decision below is apparently the only one to
consider overbreadth in the specific context of a law

with Rule 52’s narrow focus. So even if there might
be a need someday to consider how overbreadth
applies to such laws, consideration should await
further percolation in the lower courts.

Finally, Spoons mistakenly insists that review
is needed so that Spoons can obtain, on remand,
review of its as-applied claim. But such review on
remand is already available, because the district
court never reached that issue (nor, consequently,
did the Sixth Circuit).

The Court accordingly should deny the Petition.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

A. The Ohio Liquor Commission promulgated
Rule 52 to help control the secondary
effects of nudity and sexual activity in
liquor-serving establishments.

The Ohio Liquor Commission promulgated the
latest version of Ohio Administrative Code 4301:1-1-
52, known as “Rule 52,” to combat the undesirable
secondary effects resulting from nudity and sexual
activity at liquor’ establishments. Before
promulgating the current version of the rule, the
Commission first conducted a detatled review and
analysis of studies and cases regarding nudity and
se>.ual activity in places with a liquor license. They
also considered testimonials from individuals with
expertise in the area and experience in strip clubs
and similar businesses. The Commission concluded
that establishments with a liquor permit that also
allow nudity and sexual activity are susceptible to
undesirable secondary effects.

The Commission also conducted a_ public
hearing on the subject of secondary effects as part of
the rule-promulgation process under Ohio law. At
this hearing, the Commissioners heard additional
evidence regarding potentially undesirable secondary
effects of nudity and sexual activity in liquor
establishments. For example, among those testifying
was Bruce A. Taylor, an attorney from Fairfax,
Virginia, with experience in prosecuting vice crimes,
including obscenity, prostitution, and _ liquor
violations. J.L. Spoons, Inc. v. Morckel, 314 F. Supp.
2d 746, 749. Taylor stated that “nude dancing does
contribute to its own type of secondary effects and to

~

vo

a greater degree than other liquor bars that don’t
have nude dancing.” /d.

Rule 52 generally provides that an
establishment holding a liquor permit may not
knowingly or willfully allow “nudity” or “sexual
activity” on the premises:

no permit holder, his agent, or employee
shall knowingly or willfully allow in and
upon his licensed permit premises any
persons to...

(2) Appear in a state of nudity;

(3) Engage tn sexual activity, as said term
is defined in Chapter 2907 of the Revised

Code.
Ohio Admin. Code § 4301:1-1-52 (B)(2) & (3) (2004).

“Nudity” is defined in section (A)(2), in language
virtually identical to that analyzed by the Court in
Barnes v. Glen Theatre, 501 U.S. 560, 569 (1991),
and City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S. 277, 284
(2000). In full, the section defines nudity as:

The showing of the human male or female
genital, pubic area or buttocks with less
than a fully opaque covering; the showing
of the female breast with less than a fully
opaque covering of any part of the nipple
an@or areola; the exposure of any device,
costume, or covering which gives the
appearance of or simulates the genitals,
pubic hair, natal cleft, perineum anal
region or pubic hair region; or the exposure
of any device worn as a cover over the

nipples and/or areola of the female breast,

6

which device simulates and gives the
realistic appearance of the nipples and/or
areola.

Ohio Admin. Code § 4301:1-1-52 (A)(2)(2004). ‘This
nudity definition is identical to the one upheld in
City of Erie, except that it adds the words “and/or
areola.” Thus, Rule 52 bans, in liquor permit
premises, nudity under the definition in Barnes and
City of Erie.

Ohio law defines “sexual activity” as “sexual
conduct or sexual contact, or both.” Ohio Rev. Code
§ 2907.01(C) (2006). “Sexual conduct” is defined as
intercourse or other actual sex acts. Ohio Rev. Code
§ 2907.01(A).

“Sexual contact” is defined as touching certain
body parts for the purpose of sexual arousal or
gratification of one of the individuals engaged in the
touching:

any touching of an erogenous zone of
another, including without limitation the
thigh, genitals, buttock, pubic region, or, if
the person is a female, a breast, for the
purpose of sexually arousing or gratifying
either person.

Ohio Rev. Code § 2907.01(B). Thus, Rule 52 bans, on
liquor permit premises. touching for the purpose of
arousing or gratifying a party to the activity, but
does not prohibit touching for the purpose of the
arousal or gratification of an observer, or for any
other purpose.

[If a permit holder violates Rule 52, possible
penalties include a fine apainst the hquor permit

holder or a_ revocation of the liquor’ permit.
Violations of Rule 52 do not trigger any criminal
penalties.

B. The district court invalidated Rule 52 as
unconstitutionally overbroad under the
First Amendment, but the Sixth Circuit
reversed.

Three days before Rule 52 was:-scheduled to go
into effect, Petitioners J.L. Spoons, Ine., et al.,
owners of “adult” clubs that feature nude or nearly
nude dancers, sought declaratory and injunctive
relief against the rule. Spoons argued that Rule 52
significantly burdens rights under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments of the United States
Constitution, both facially (as impermissibly
overbroad) and as applied to its establishment.

At the hearings before the district court for the
preliminary and permanent injunctions, Ohio offered
testimony about its knowledge and_ experience
dealing with the undesirable secondary effects
associated with nudity and sexual activity at liquor
establishments and _ supporting its’ basis for
promulgating Rule 52.

The District Court granted Spoons’s motion tor
preliminary and permanent injunctions of the nudity
and sexual activity sections of Rule 52 and declared
them unconstitutionally overbroad. See J.L. Spoons,
Inc. v. Morckel, 2007 U.S. Dist. Lexis 74, *2 (N.D.
Ohio 2007). The District Court did not rule on
Spoons’s as-applied challenge.

On appeal, the Sixth Circuit reversed, holding
that Rule 52 is not overbroad. Pet. App. 2. The
Sixth Circuit declined Spoons'’s petition for rehearing

8

and suggestion of rehearing en banc. Pet. App. at
720.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Spoons presents no issue worthy of review.
Spoons’s claims, both as to the need for review and
the underlying merits of its claims, are based on
misperception of both the Court’s overbreadth
jurisprudence and the narrow focus of Ohio’s Liquor
Rule 52.

First, the asserted conflicts between the circuits
and within the Sixth Circuit do not exist, because the
laws analyzed in the other cases all involve much
broader prohibitions on nudity or sexual activity. As
the Sixth Circuit recognized below, these other laws
are a far cry from the closely-focused Rule 52.

Second, the Sixth Circuit’s overbreadth analysis
tracks the Court’s teachings and does not call for
review. While the Court may not have analyzed the
nudity provisions in Cily of Erie and Barnes under
the overbreadth doctrine, the Court’s’ general
overbreadth jurisprudence provides the courts—
including the Sixth Circuit here— with ample
guidance to evaluate Rule 52 and similar laws.
Moreover, because only the Sixth Circuit has
reviewed a law as narrow as Rule 52, the Court
should await percolation of the issue in similar cases
to see if review is ever warranted.

Finally, Spoons’s request for certiorari to ensure
consideration of its as-applied challenge is
unnecessary. The district court did not resolve the
as-applied challenge, and nothing in the Sixth
Circuit's opinion eliminated it. Vhe challenge

9

accordingly appears to remain live in the district
court.

A. No division of authority exists among or
within the circuits, because the alleged
conflict cases involve laws broader than
Ohio’s narrowly focused Rule 52.

Spoons asserts that the Sixth Circuit’s decision
here conflicts both with cases from other circuit
courts of appeals and with its own cases. But Spoons
is wrong on both counts.

2. The alleged circuit split is illusory.

Spoons cites a handful of circuit cases that
allegedly show that other circuits invalidate laws
similar to Ohio’s Rule 52. See Pet. at 17-21. But
each of those cases involved much broader laws that
restricted wide swaths of conduct protected by the
First Amendment. Ohio’s Rule 52, by contrast,
narrowly restricts only conduct that gives rise to
adverse secondary effects. The rule therefore has
minimal, if any, effect on legitimate expression, and
the Sixth Circuit’s decision upholding the narrow
provision is consistent with decisions invalidating
much broader laws.

Perhaps the best example of the illusory nature
of the claimed split is Spoons’s reliance on Ways uv.
City of Lincoln, 274 F.3d 514 (8th Cir. 2001), as the
broader nature of the law at issue there—and the
court’s reliance on the language distinguishing it
from Rule 52—are indisputable. See Pet. at 21. Rule
52 defines sexual contact as “touching of an
erogenous zone of another ... for,the purpose of
sexually arousing or gratifying either person.”
(emphasis added.) The ordinance in Ways, by

10

contrast, defined sexual contact to include both
kissing and touching of various body parts “whether
covered or not... when such contact can reasonably
be construed as being for the purpose of the sexual
arousal or gratification of either party or any
observer.” Id. at 516 (emphasis added).

That last clause, barring contact that gratifies
an observer even where neither touching party is so
gratified, was the source of the problem for the
Eighth Circuit. That court noted, “constitutionally
protected artistic expression may legitimately intend
to titillate or arouse members of the audience.” Jd.
at 520. The court reasoned that audience members
might find all sorts of performance gratifying, such
that the law could reach ballet and ice skating
performances. The law at issue was overbroad
because it reached those forms of communication.
Rule 52’s “sexual contact” definitions, by contrast,
cannot possibly reach such ballet performances,
because the touching that occurs in_ those
performances is not for the “purpose of the sexual
arousal or gratification of either party.” The rule
therefore leaves intact any _ protected artistic
expression intended to titillate or arouse members of
the audience.

The Eighth Circuit in Ways also found
problematic a provision that barred “simulated sex,”
and Ohio’s Rule 52 has no analogous provision. The
Eighth Circuit found that this provision “could have
been enforced to prohibit the type of simulated sex to
be found in productions of Hair” or in any artistic
expression that involves “simulated sex.” In sum,
Ways does not conflict with Spoons.

11

Nor does the decision below conflict with the
Third Circuit’s decision in Conchatta v. Miller, which
addressed a law banning “lewd, immoral, or
improper entertainment.” 458 F.3d 258, 261 (3d Cir.
2006); see Pet. at 18-19. That law, too, was far
broader than Rule 52. As the Conchatta Court
stated, the Pennsylvania law “has not been limited to
proscribe only entertainment” that involves a narrow
range of non-protected exposure or touching. Jd. at
266. Thus, Conchatta cannot be considered “in
conflict” with this case, because Rule 52 has been
limited to proscribe only nudity as defined in City of
Erie and Barnes and only activity that involves an
actual sex act or sexual touching that gratifies one of
the parties to the contact.

Spoons is equally mistaken in asserting a
conflict between the decision below and the Fourth
Circuit’s decision in Glovani Carandola, Ltd. v.
Bason, 303 F.3d 507 (4th Cir. 2002) (Carandola J).
See Pet. at 19-20. The North Carolina law at issue
there was not only broader than Rule 52, but was
even broader in its sweep than the laws in Conchatta
and Ways. The Carandola I law prohibited, without
limitation, “any entertainment that includes or
simulates sexual intercourse or any other sexual
act,’ and “the touching, caressing or fondling of
[various body parts].” Jd. at 510. The court found
that the broad limits on “touching” certain body
parts, with no definitional restriction to touching for
the gratification of anyone, performer or observer,
left vulnerable “a ballet in which one dancer touches
another’s buttock during a lift.” /d. at 516. The law
in Carandola I also barred both “simulated sex” and
“simulated nudity” under definitions that easily
covered wide ranges of legitimate artistic endeavor.

12

Notably, North Carolina later amended the law
invalidated in Carandola I, and the updated law was
upheld by the Fourth Circuit, showing agreement
between the Fourth and Sixth Circuits that a
properly focused law in this area is not overbroad.
See Giovani Carandola, Ltd. v. Fox; 470 F.3d 1074
(4th Cir. 2006) (Carandola IJ). In Carandola IT, the
Fourth Circuit noted that the “sexual contact”
definition no longer covered “touching, caressing, or
fondling,” but was limited to “fondling,” which the
court read to “only bar[] a performer from actually
manipulating specified erogenous zones.” Id. at 1083
(internal quotation omitted). The court also noted
that the amended law exempted performances in
specified venues, such as “theaters, concert halls, art
centers, museums, or similar establishments,” when
the performances presented in such venues are
“expressing matters of serious literary, artistic,
scientific, or political value.” /d. at 1084.

While Ohio’s Rule 52 does not express its limits
in the same venue-based and artistic-value way that
North Carolina uses, Ohio’s restriction of the sexual-
contact definition to touching “for the sexual arousal
or gratification of either person” serves much the
same function. After all, a ballet dancer does not
seek to sexually arouse the other dancers he or she
lifts, and so on. Thus, the Sixth Circuit’s upholding
of Rule 52 is consistent with the Fourth Cuircuit’s
invalidation of the broader law in Carandola I, and
with its later validation of the narrower law in
Carandola I].

Finally, Spoons is mistaken in claiming that the
decision below “cannot be harmonized” with cases
that upheld similar ordinances against overbreadth

13

challenges on the ground that those ordinances
“confined [their] reach to adult entertainment
establishments.” See Pet. at 21, n. 8 (citing Schultz
v. City of Cumberland, 228 F.3d 831 (7th Cir. 2000);
J&B Entm't, Inc. v. City of Jackson, 152 F.3d 362
(5th Cir. 1998); Carandola JI, 470 F.3d at 1079).
‘True, those cases said that such limits prevented
overbreadth problems, but those cases never said
that such a lhmit was the only way to prevent
overbreadth. ‘Therefore no conflict arises. And as
noted above, the other limits in Rule 52 essentially
serve the same function, so Rule 52 does not restrict
ballets or other performances based on contact
between performers that does not sexually arouse or
gratify the performers.

In sum, Spoons fails to show a real conflict
between the decision below and any decision from
another circuit.

2. The alleged intra-circuit dispute is
also illusory and would not warrant
review if it existed.

Spoons also argues that review is needed to
correct conflicts within the Sixth Cuircuit’s own
precedent, but that claim lacks merit for several
reasons. First, this Court has never indicated that
conflict within a circuit justifies a grant of certiorari.
Rather, resolution of conflict within a circuit “is the
dominant concern” of the en banc process. W. Pac.
R.R. Corp. v. W. Pac. R.R. Co., 345 U.S. 247, 270
(1953) (Frankfurter, J., concurring). Spoons sought
en banc review, but the Sixth Circuit declined. This
Court need not second-guess the Circuit's
assessment of the alleged intra-circuit conflict.

14

Second, even if an intra-circuit split were
worthy of this Court’s attention, the alleged split
here is illusory. As with the alleged circuit split, the
cited Sixth Circuit cases deal with laws that broadly
prohibited nudity and sexual conduct, in contrast to
Rule 52’s narrowly focused regulations.

For example, in Triplett Grille v. City of Akron,
40 F.8d 129 (6th Cir. 1994), the ordinance at issue
prohibited all nudity “in a public place,” not just at
liquor-serving establishments. Id. at 131 n.2.
Equally important, the 7Jriplett Grille court found
that the ordinance at issue made “no attempt to
regulate only those expressive activities associated
with harmful secondary effects and includes no
limiting provisions.” /d. at 136. Indeed, the
ordinance was admittedly enacted because of moral
outrage, rather than to control secondary effects.

Furthermore, Triplett Grille, like Ways and
Carandola I, is analytically distinct because the
panel there addressed overbreadth before Virginia uv.
Hicks, 539 U.S. 113 (2003). The court below also
distinguished Triplett Grille based on its reliance on
the concurrence by Justice Souter in Barnes, since
placed in question by City of #rie. Spoons, 538 F.3d
at 385-86.

The other cited Sixth Circuit cases are similarly
distinguishable. The law at issue in Odle v. Decatur
County, Tenn., 421 F.3d 386 (6th Cir. 2005)
prohibited not only nudity, but also “the performance
of a wide range of arguably sexually suggestive acts,”
421 F.3d at 392, including “simulated acts of sexual
intercourse, masturbation, sodomy, bestiality, oral
copulation, flagellation, or [other] sexual acts,” id. at
394 (emphasis added). By contrast, Rule 52 does not

15

prohibit simulated acts. And Hamilton’s Bogarts v.
Michigan, 501 F.3d 644 (6th Cir. 2007), like Odle,
addressed a law banning simulated sexual acts.
Spoons, 538 F.3d at 386; Hamilton’s Bogarts, 501
F.3d at 648-49. Hamilton’s Bogarts offered only dicta
on overbreadth, indicating that the overbreadth
claim “appear[ed] to” be strong. /d. at 654.

In short, Spoons has not shown a genuine
conflict among the circuits or within the Sixth
Circuit with respect to a narrowly focused law
similar to Rule 52. ‘The Court should not grant
certiorari on the grounds of inter- or intra-circuit
conflict.

B. Review is not needed to apply overbreadth
doctrine to laws upheld against different
challenges in Barnes and City of Erie.

All agree that Rule 52 copied, nearly verbatim,
the nudity definitions from the ordinances upheld
against as-applied challenges in Barnes and City of
Erie. And all agree that those as-applied decisions
do not preclude Spoons or any other party from
attacking Rule 52 or similar nudity restrictions
under the alternate theory of an overbreadth claim.
Spoons accordingly urges the Court to grant its
Petition to complement Barnes and City of Erie by
applying overbreadth to such laws. But no such
complementary assessment is needed— not because
Barnes and City of Erie have answered the question
(they did not), but because the Court’s general
overbreadth law provides ample guidance. And even
if it did not, this case does not justify a new look.

This Court recently clarified when a law’s
overbreadth is substantial enough to warrant facial

16

invalidity. In Virginia v. Hicks, 539 U.S. 113, 122
(2003), the Court reiterated that the overbreadth
claimant bears the burden of demonstrating that the
law, taken as a whole, is substantially overbroad,
judged in relation to its plainly legitimate sweep.
Other recent cases provide guidance for applying the
same overbreadth rule in various contexts. United
States v. Williams, 128 S. Ct. 1830 (2008) (statute
criminalizing sale of child pornography not
overbroad); Wash. State Grange v. Wash. State
Republican Party, 128 S. Ct. 1184, 1195 (2008)
(ballot language law not overbroad); McConnell v.
FEC, 540 U.S. 93, 206 (2003) (campaign finance law
not facially overbroad).

The circuits have recognized the importance of
Hicks and other recent cases and have, for the most
part, correctly navigated the overbreadth doctrine in
analyzing a wide range of laws and fact situations.
See, e.g., United States v. Schales, 546 F.3d 965 (9th
Cir. 2008) (federal laws regarding child exploitation
and pornography not overbroad), cert. denied, 129 S.
Ct. 1397 (Feb. 23, 2009); United States v. Calimlim,
538 F.3d 706, 713 (7th Cir. 2008) (forced labor law
not overbroad), cert. denied, 129 S. Ct. 935 (2009);
Fla. Ass’n of Profil Lobbyists Inc. v. Div. of Legislative
Info. Serus., 525 F.3d 1073, 1079 (11th Cir. 2008)
(lorida lobbying law not overbroad); Preminger uv.
Sec’y of Veterans’ Admin., 517 F.8d 1299, 1318 (Fed.
Cir. 2008) (law prohibiting demonstrations on VA
property not overbroad); Conchatta, 458 F.3d 258 (3d
Cir.); austin v. City and County of Denver, 423 F.3d
1192 (10th Cir, 2005) (Denver ordinance prohibiting
signs on highway overpasses not overbroad); Brazos
Valley Coal. for Life, Inc. v. City of Bryan Texas, 421
F.3d 314 (5th Cir. 2005) (Texas city sign ordinance

17

not overbroad); /nitiative and Referendum Inst. v.
United States Postal Serv., 417 F.3d 1299 (D.C. Cir.
2005) (regulation preventing speech activities
outside post office overbroad); United States ov.
Hammoud, 381 F.3d 316 (4th Cir. 2004) (federal law
prohibiting material support to terrorists not
overbroad); United States v. Nenninger, 351 F.3d 340
(Sth Cir. 2003) (National Forest Service permit
requirement not overbroad),

For its part, the Sixth Circuit has faithfully and
properly applied the overbreadth doctrine in several
recent decisions, including the decision helow. See,
e.g., Connection Distrib. v. Holder, 557 F.3d 321 (6th
Cir. 2009) (en banc) (Child Protection and Obscenity
Enforcement Act is not overbroad), petition for cert.
pending, No. 08-1449 (filed May 20, 2009); Phelps-
Roper v. Strickland, 539 F.3d 356 (6th Cir. 2008)
(Ohio funeral-procession law not overbroad, citing
Hicks); Blau v. Fort Thomas Pub. Sch. Dist., 401
F.3d 381, 393 (6th Cir. 2005) (Kentucky school dress
code not overbroad, citing Hicks). In this case, the
Sixth Circuit specifically analyzed both the anti-
nudity and the sexual conduct provisions of Rule 52
under Hicks. The court correctly recognized that the
sexual conduct provision of Rule 52 is not overbroad
because it has no application in “high culture”
venues, as the prohibited touching “does not apply to
contact done in furtherance of legitimate works of art
for the purpose of conveying artistic meaning.” Pet.
App. at 10. And the court further found that the
hypothetical “high culture” applications of Rule 52’s
anti-nudity provision do not constitute substantial
overbreadth. dd.

18

The Sixth Circuit’s overbreadth analysis was
also correct—and Spoons and the dissent below are
wrong—in assessing the number of non-“adult” Ohio
venues that Rule 52 could affect. The dissenting
judge and Spoons” speculate, without concrete
evidence, that 12,000-12,300 non-adult venues in
Ohio would be “subject to” or “affected by” Rule 52.
Pet. App. at 16-17 (Cole, J., dissenting); Pet. at 2,
10-11. Including in this estimated number, however,
are countless venues—Progressive Field (née Jacobs
Field). the Beachland Ballroom, and the Great Lakes
Science Center, to name just three—that are
unlikely, to say the least, to present live
performances featuring nudity. See Pet. at 10-11;
Pet. App. at 17. Instead, the real number of “high
culture” venues in Ohio that might present live
performances involving nudity is likely a_ tiny
fraction of Spoons’s asserted number. !

More to the point, Spoons and the dissent
consider the wrong variable in the overbreadth
analysis. Under the substantiality requirement, the
relevant consideration is the universe of the law's
applications, not of venues. In other words, courts
must “compar[e] the number of valid applications to
the likelihood and frequency of impermissible
applications,” Gibson v. Mayor & Council of
Wilmington, 355 F.3d 215, 228 (3d Cir. 2004). As the
Sixth Circuit itself recently noted, “{s]ubstantial
overbreadth involves not just an inquiry into the

! Spoons also exaggerates, without support, the application of a
prior version of Rule 52 to high culture. The Commission's
executive director testified that he “underst{ood] that there was
a citation against the production O! Calcutta back in the 1980s
sometime,” Pet. at 11, but he apparently had no _ personal
knowledge of this citation.

19

legitimate and illegitimate sweep of a statute; it also
involves an inquiry into the ‘absolute’ nature of a
law’s suppression of speech.” Connection Distrib.
Co., 557 F.3d at 340. In other words, a court should
not look to venues where a certain type of speech
might occur, but to the absolute amount of speech
that is in danger of being suppressed.

Here, the permissible applications of Rule 52’s
anti-nudity provision overwhelm any _ arguably
impermissible applications. The denominator here is
large: Adult establishments feature nude
performances on virtually every night of the year.
The numerator, by contrast, is small: High-culture
venues might host performances that contain
nudity—such as the play Equus—for a week or two
every five or ten years. These hypothetically
impermissible applications of Rule 52 are too few and
far between to constitute substantial overbreadth.
Any “high culture” disputes under Rule 52, if they
ever arise, should be resolved through concrete, as-
apphed challenges.

In short, the Sixth Circuit correctly analyzed
both of Rule 52’s provisions under the Court’s
jurisprudence, and the circuits have sufficient
guidance from the Court on overbreadth analysis in
a wide variety of contexts. The Court need not take
this case simply because it did not analyze the anti-
nudity laws in City of Erie and Barnes under the
overbreadth doctrine.

Moreover, the Court should refrain from review
of Rule 52’s sexual conduct provision under the
overbreadth doctrine until the lower courts have had
more time to analyze similar laws. No other law
analyzed by any of the circuits has the same limiting

20

provisions as Rule 52, that is, a law that prohibits
sexual contact only when conducted for’ the
gratification of parties to the contact, as opposed to
an observer. The uniqueness of Rule 52’s sexual
conduct provision would make this a case of first
impression, and the Court should therefore refrain
from review at this time.

C. The Court should not grant certiorari to
“revive” Spoons’s as-applied challenge for
remand, because that challenge remains
alive—even if doomed by Erie—in the
district court.

Spoons curiously insists that the Court needs to
grant review so that it may revive its alternate as-
applied challenge, whether in this Court or on
remand in the district court. But that challenge
seems to be alive and well, and Spoons points to no
evidence that the Sixth Circuit cut it off.

Although the Sixth Circuit did not expressly
include remand language noting the issue, no such
express reservation was required. The district court
enjoined Rule 52 based solely on the overbreadth
challenge. Pet. App. at 53. As a result, the Sixth
Circuit had before it only the overbreadth claim, on
which it reversed. Such an unadorned reversal, with
no comment either way as to the remaining,
unadjudicated claims, by its nature returns the case
to the district court to resume where it left off. Put
another way. the Sixth Circuit did not instruct the
district court to enter judgment for Ohio; it simply
reversed an injunction.

Consequently, the as-applied claim is alive, if
Spoons wishes to revive it. ‘To be sure, it may be

21

uphill sledding, in light of City of Erie and Ohio’s use
of near-identical language. But procedurally, Spoons
is free to try, and that is enough to rule this item out
as a basis for this Court’s review.

CONCLUSION
The Court should deny the Petition.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD CORDRAY
Ohio Attorney General

BENJAMIN C. MIZER*
Solicitor General
*Counsel of Record
STEPHEN P. CARNEY
Deputy Solicitor
ELISE PORTER
Assistant Solicitor
30 EE. Broad Street, 17th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-466-8980
benjamin.mizer
@ohioattorneygeneral.gov

Counse! for Respondents

June 12, 2009

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0283%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
