# Opposition Brief — Fairbanks North Star Borough v. United States Army Corps of Engineers (No. 08-1052)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0197%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

No. 08-1052

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

FAIRBANKS NORTH STAR BOROUGH, PETITIONER
U.

UNITED STATES ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS, ET AL.

ON PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

ELENA KAGAN
Solicitor General
Counsel 0} Record
JOHN ©. CRUDEN
Acting A ss7i~Stant Attorie iy
General
AARON P. AVILA
Attorney
De partment of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20580-0007

43 } ry iD
(ZOOS) 214 oe a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Army Corps of Engineers’ determina-
tion that petitioner’s property contains “waters of the
United States” protected by the Clean Water Act consti-
tutes “final agency action” subject to judicial review un-
der the Administrative Procedure Act.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
fd, POPE TER ECC CPR RUSE CLC CTE RT Pee TOC ee ]
UE on ood Se eee bo ee ee eee ae eee l
NIG yo os ova syns bE BAAR ES ee eae ae eee l
PL Faas + sin he OG Rew eee ee R SECURE NRE SS aA 6
NIN is fo ae bre Wo ae we ee Ok ee A ee 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Abbott Labs. v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967) ........... 15
Auer v. Robbins, 619 U.S. 452 (1997) «0... eee eens 13
Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154 (1997) ................ 4,5
Board of Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys. v.

MCGorn Fin., ne., GE U.S. SS CIGBL) oc ckceicccecs 14
Carabell v. United States Army Corps of Eng’rs,

391 F.3d 704 (6th Cir. 2004), vacated on other

grounds, G47 U.S. TIS (OO) «vec cccccccusssvevcoees 3
Child v. United States, 851 F. Supp. 1527 (D. Utah

SIS kes Enos are beta a ee a ae An ee ee Weta ee es D
Commissioners of Pub. Works v. United States,

ee et OR Ge ee) np ko ob es he oe ok eae es 6
Digital Equip. Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc.,

511 ULS. 863 (1994) ee are 1]
FTC v. Standard Oil Co., 449 U.S. 232 (1980) .......... 10
Greater Gulfport Props., LLC v. United States Army

Corps of Eng’rs, 194 Fed. Appx. 250 (5th Cir. 2006) 6
Hoffman Group, Inc. v. HPA, 902 ’.2d 567

(7th Cir. 1990) .... Rte IA Rr rar PL ene roe 15
Leedom v. Kyne, 358 U.S. 184 (1958) 12.13, 14

[I 1)

[V

Cases—Continued Page

National Park Hospitality Ass'n v. Department

of the Interior, 538 U.S. 803 (2003) ..........cccceee 15
OPM v. Richmond, 496 U.S. 414 (1990) ......2.022202... &
Puerto Rico Aqueduct & Sewer Auth. v. Metcalf &

BGay, 1nc., GUS US. LGU (TORS) 2 ccc cceccccuccans 1]
Rochester Tel. Corp. v. United States, 307 U.S. 125

bo ROR Pr eo ae ty ee or ray eee ee 10
Rueth v. United States EPA, 13 F.3d 227 (7th Cir.

RS oe ee ot ee we a eae ee A
Southern Pines Assocs. by Goldmever v. United

Sites, Gis F 2G (ie (40 AG. 10D) onc cece ccaans 15
l/nited States v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698 (4th Cir. 2003),

cert. denied, 641 U.S. 972 (2004) . 5... cc ccc ee cccses 3
Webster v. Fall, 266 U.S. 507 (1925) ............. 2.006 7
Will v. Hallock, 546 U.S. 345 (2006) ...........0.0000- 11

Statutes and regulations:
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 701 et seq. ...... 3
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq.:

NE tek OM BLE EC 0 0) Sr Py ee

go U4). 191Ma)..... a eG = 3

Ke ROR. OTe Gee Bt) ee 3

30 U..C. 1ISIS(d) (§ SOM d)) .........0006. 10

ou U.t.C. 1842(§ 402)... 2... Garg alate: Beat neers ine

33 U.S.C. 1344 (§ 404) Z, 3, 10, di

3 ULS.C. 1344(a) :

bo USC. badd(s) ........ 3

By U.S.C. 13862(7 )

V

Statutes and regulations—Continued:

National Labor Relations Act § 9(b)(1),
29 U.S.C. 159(b)(1)

Rivers and Harbors Appropriations Act of 1899
33 U.S.C. 401 et seq.
28 U.S.C. 1291
33 C.F.R.:
Pt. 320:
oo | ne ee
Pt. 323 ..
Pt. 325
Pt. 326:
Section 326.3(c)
Section 326.5
Pt. 331

a ye 6 i

M iscellaneous:

65 Fed. Reg. 16,488 (2000)

Su the Supreme Court of the Ginited States

No. 08-1052
FAIRBANKS NORTH STAR BOROUGH, PETITIONER
Uv.

UNITED STATES ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-
A20) is reported at 543 I°.3d 586. The opinion of the dis-
tricl court (Pet. App. B1-BS8) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
September 12, 2008. A petition for rehearing was denied
on November 20, 2008 (Pet. App. C1). The petition for
a writ of certiorari was filed on February 13, 2009. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT
l. Section 301(a) of the Clean Water Act (CWA) pro
hibits the “discharge of any pollutant”-—-defined as the
addition of any pollutant to the “waters of the United

>

—

States” from any point source—except “as in compliance
with” specified provision of the CWA. 33 U.S.C. 1311(a),
1362(7), 1362(12). The CWA allows discharges under
two complementary permitting provisions. Section 404
authorizes the Army Corps of Engineers (Corps) to is-
sue a permit “for the discharge of dredged or fill mate
rial into the navigable waters at specified disposal sites.”
33 U.S.C. 1344(a) and (d). Section 402 authorizes the
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to issue a per-
mit for the discharge of any pollutant other than
dredged or fill material. 33 U.S.C. 1342.

The Corps’ regulations authorize (but do not require)
the Corps, upon a Jandowner’s written request, to pro-
vide the agency’s view on whether particular property
contains “waters of the United States” within the agen-
ey’s regulatory jurisdiction under Section 404 of the
CWA. See 33 C.F .R. 320.1(a)(6), 331.2; 33 C.F.R. Pt. 331
App. C. After the Corps issues an “approved” jurisdic-
tional determination, the landowner may pursue an ad-
ministrative appeal of that determination within the
Corps. See 33 C.F.R. Pt. 331. Such jurisdictional deter-
minations “do not include determinations that a particu-
lar activity requires a * * * permit.” 33 C.F.R. 331.2.

Neither the CWA nor its implementing regulations
require that a landowner obtain a jurisdictional determ1
nation. Whether or not it obtains such a determination,
a landowner planning to discharge dredged or fill mate-
rial has two options. First, the landowner may apply for
a Section 404 permit from the Corps. See 338 U.S.C.
1344; 40 C.F.R. Pt. 230; 33 C.F.R. Pts. 323, 325. The
ageneyvs final permitting decision, including the Corps’
determination whether the property at issue contains
waters protected by the CWA, is then subject to judicial
review under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA),

os

5 U.S.C. 701 et seg. See, e.g., Carabell v. United States
Army Corps of Eng’rs, 391 F.3d 704, 706-707 (6th Cir.
2004), vacated on other grounds, 547 U.S. 715 (2006).

Alternatively, the landowner may proceed with its
discharge without a Section 404 permit and risk enforce-
ment proceedings. If the government determines that
a completed or ongoing discharge violates the CWA, it
may take administrative action, including issuance of a
“cease-and-desist” order, a compliance order, or both.
See 33 U.S.C. 1819(a), 13844(s); 33 C.F.R. 326.3(c). In
addition, the government may bring an enforcement
action in district court to obtain injunctive and other
relief. 33 U.S.C. 1319(b); 33 C.F.R. 326.5. At that time,
the discharger may raise any applicable defenses, in-
cluding the contention that its conduct did not violate
the CWA because it did not involve a discharge into
“waters of the United States.” See, e.g., United States
v. Deaton, 332 F.3d 698, 701-702 (4th Cir. 2003), cert.
denied, 541 U.S. 972 (2004).

2. Petitioner owns and wishes to develop approxi-
mately 2.1 acres of property in Fairbanks, Alaska. Pet.
App. A8. In October 2005, petitioner asked the Corps
for the agency’s determination of whether that property
contains waters protected by the CWA. /d. at A3-A4.
The Corps issued a “preliminary” jurisdictional determi-
nation concluding that the property contains “waters of
the United States” subject to the Corps’ regulatory au
thority under the CWA. 7d. at A4. Petitioner then re-
quested an “approved” jurisdictional determination from
the Corps. In response, the Corps explained that, based

on its review of the information available to it, the entire
parcel contained “waters of the United States.” /bid.
Petitioner then filed an administrative appeal of the ju

4

risdictional determination, which the Corps denied on
the merits. /bid.

Petitioner has never applied for a permit from the
Corps to develop its property, nor is there any indication
in the record that it has engaged in discharges without
a permit based on its view that the property does not
contain waters protected by the CWA. Instead, peti
tioner brought suit in federal district court seeking
vacatur of the Corps’ jurisdictional determination. Pet.
App. A4-A5.

3. The district court granted the Corps’ motion for
judgment on the pleadings and dismissed petitioner’s
complaint (without prejudice) for lack of jurisdiction
Pet. App. B1-Bs8.

a. The district court found that the Corps’ jurisdic
tional determination was not subject to judicial review
pursuant to the APA because it was not “final agency
action” under Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 177-178
(1997). Pet. App. B5-B6. The court held that the Corps’
determination neither marked the consummation of the
agency's decisionmaking process nor affected the legal
rights or obligations of the parties. /d. at Bb. The court
explained that the determination “merely informed |pe
titioner] where it stood with respect to potential permit
ting issues,” and that “the legal rights and/or obligations
of the parties were the same the day after the jurisdic
tional determination was issued as they were the day
before.” bid. (citation omitted)

b. The district court held, in the alternative, that pe
tilioner’s lawsuit was not ripe. Pet. App. b6-b7, ‘The
court agreed with the Corps that challenges to the
agency's jurisdictional determinations are not ripe for
judicial review until the property owner who disagree:

with a determination has completed the permitting pro

cess or is subject to an enforcement action. /bid. The
court also explained that both the physical and legal
circumstances on which a jurisdictional determination is
based can change over time. /d. at B7.

ce. The district court held that even if the Corps’ ju
risdictional determination were “final agency action”
and ripe for review, the APA does not apply when an-
other statute precludes judicial review. Pet. App.
B7-B8. The court concluded that the CWA precludes
review of all pre-enforcement actions by the Corps, in-
cluding jurisdictional determinations. /d. at B7-B8 &
n.25 (citing, e.g., Rueth v. United States HPA, 13 F.3d
227, 229 (7th Cir. 1993), and Child v. United States, 851
kK’. Supp. 1527, 1533 (D. Utah 1994) (mem.)).

4. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. Al-A20.
The court held that the Corps’ jurisdictional determina
tion was not “final agency action” subject to judicial re
view under the APA. /d. at AZ. In reaching that conclu
sion, the court applied the two requirements for “final
agency action” identified by this Court in Bennett. bid.

The court of appeals agreed with petitioner that the
Corps’ determination satisfied the first hennett require
ment, because “an approved jurisdictional determination
upheld in the Corps’ administrative appeal process
‘mark|s| the consummation of the agency's decisionmak
ing process’ for determining whether the Corps con
ceives a property as subject to CWA regulatory jurisdic
tion.” Pet. App. A&S (brackets in original) (quoting ben
nell, 520 Us. at 178). The court concluded, however,
that the Corps’ jurisdictional determination did not sat

istvy Bennetts second requirement because it “is not an
‘action by which rights or obligations have been
determined, or trom which ‘legal consequences will

flow” Jd. at AL2 (quoting: Bennett, 520 U.S. at 178

6

The court explained that petitioner’s “rights and obliga-
tions remain unchanged by the approved jurisdictional
determination.” /bid. The court noted that “{iJn any
later enforcement action, | petitioner] would face Jiability
only for noncompliance with the CWA’s underlying stat-
utory commands, not for disagreement with the Corps’
jurisdictional determination.” /d. at Al3. The court also
explained that its holding did not impair petitioner’s
ubility to contest the substance of the Corps’ jurisdic
Lional determination at a later time, either by seeking
judicial review of a subsequent permitting decision or by
asserting the absence of CWA coverage as a defense to
any enforcement action. /d. at Al4-Al15 & n.9.'

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals’ decision is correct and does not
conflict with any decision of this Court or any other
court of appeals. As the district court correctly held,
moreover, the Corps’ jurisdictional determination would
not be ripe for judicial review even if it constituted “final
agency action.” Further review is not warranted

1. The decision below does not conflict with any de
cision of this Court or another court of appeals. Two
other courts of appeals appear to have considered the
issue in unpublished opinions, and both reached the

sume conclusion as the Ninth Circuit did in this case
Pet \pp Aj n. ° citing Create? Gulfport Props LLA
Vv. lnited States Army ( ‘Orp, of Ena'vs, 194 Fed Appx
7°50 (oth Cir. 2006) (per curiam) and Commissioners of
Pub. Works v. United States. 30 le 8d 129 (4th Cir. 1994

7

(table)). Petitioner identifies no conflicting decision of
this Court or another court of appeals.”

2. Petitioner argues (Pet. 13-15) that the Corps’ ju-
risdictional determination constituted “final agency ac-
tion” that is reviewable under the APA. But petitioner
does not dispute the court of appeals’ articulation of the
governing legal standard, including its reliance on the
Bennett framework for identifying “final agency action.”
Rather, petitioner argues only that the court erred in its
application of that standard (specifically, Bennett’s sec-
ond requirement) and in its ultimate conclusion that the
Corps’ jurisdictional determination does not have legal
consequences.”

~ Amicus National Association of Home Builders contends (at 9-12)
that the decision below conflicts with court of appeals decisions concern-
ing jurisdictional determinations under the Rivers and Harbors Appro-
priations Act of 1899, 33 U.S.C. 401 et seg. Those decisions are inap-
posite for at least two reasons. First, those cases deal with a different
statute. Second, none of those decisions explicitly addressed the ques
tion whether the Corps’ determination under the Rivers and Harbors
Act constituted “final agency action” within the meaning of the APA.
Rather, amicus relies on the fact that the courts in those cases decided
the plaintiffs’ challenges on the merits. Cf. Webster v. Fall, 266 U.S.
HOT, SLL (1925) (“Questions which merely lurk in the record, neither
brought to the attention of the court nor ruled upen, are not to be
considered as having been so decided as to constitute precedents.”)

The court of appeals held that the Corps’ jurisdietional determina
tion marks the consummation of the agency's decisionmaking process
and therefore satisfies the first prong of Bennett's test for “final apenes
uetion.” See Pet. App. AX. But while a jurisdictional determination may
represent the Corps’ concluded view on a particular issue of CWA cov
erage atu particular tine, the agen \ ‘'s determination that specie
property is oris not protected by the ¢ ‘WA is subject to reconsideration
if, for example, the physical conditions on the site have changed by th

tirve that ,pern it | soueht ot wal charge occu See two hed Ki i

lh ISS (ZOU When prart apples fora permit wthe Corps brings an

8

That argument lacks merit. As the court of appeals
correctly recognized, petitioner’s “rights and obligations
remain unchanged by the approved jurisdictional deter-
mination. It does not itself command [petitioner] to do
or forbear from anything; as a bare statement of the
agency's opinion, it can be neither the subject of ‘immedi-
ate compliance’ nor of defiance.” Pet. App. Al2. A prop-
erty does not become more or less subject to the CWA
simply because the Corps states its view on the coverage
issue at a landowner’s request in advance of any permit
procecdings.

Petitioner identifies three potential legal conse-
quences of a Corps jurisdictional determination that, in
its view, satisfy the second prerequisite to “final agency
action” identified by this Court in Bennett. First, peti-
tioner contends (Pet. 11, 13) that the Corps’ determina-
tion that a property does not contain waters of the
United States could provide the basis of an estoppel de-
fense. The premise of petitioner’s argument—that a
negative jurisdictional determination provides an es-
toppel defense against the government—is dubious.
This Court has never held that such an estoppel claim
could succeed against the government. See OPM vy.
Richmond, 496 U.S. 414, 419, 423 (1990). In any event,
that is not the sort of legal consequence that Bennett's
second prong contemplates. The possibility that “fair-
ness and due process” (Pet. App. Al8 n.12) may ulti-
mately prohibit the government from punishing an indi-
vidual for unlawful conduct where an individual reason-
ably relied on a statement of a government officer that

enforcement action, the Corps assesses the issue of CWA Coveraye
mased on the conditions at the time of the permit application or the al

red Viokation

Q

turns out to be incorrect is not a direct legal conse-
quence of the agency action.

Second, petitioner asserts (Pet. 13-14) that a jurisdic-
tional determination has legal consequences because it
“directly and immediately alters a landowner’s course of
conduct” by requiring it to seek a CWA permit to con-
tinue a project. That is incorrect. As the court of ap-
peals correctly explained, although the jurisdictional
determination may have put manages on — Corps’
radar sereen,” petitioner retains the ability either to
proceed with construction or to apply for a ote 4 and
“it will be no more or less in violation of the CWA than
if it had never requested an approved jurisdictional de-
termination.” Pet. App. Al7-A18. Thus, petitioner may
apply for a permit and contest the issue of CWA cover-
age if the Corps denies the application, or it may engage
in pollutant discharges and raise the coverage question
as a defense to any enforcement action that the govern-
ment may bring. To be sure, petitioner will be subject
to penalties if it proceeds without a permit and its view
of CWA coverage is ultimately rejected by the courts;
but that would be equally true if the Corps had never
rendered a jurisdictional determination. Petitioner’s
obligation to obtain a permit before discharging pollut-
ants into the “waters of the United States” is imposed by
the CWA and implementing regulations, not by the
Corps’ jurisdictional determination.

Petitioner's mere desire to avoid the permitting pro-
cess cannot transform the jurisdictional determination
into judicially reviewable agency action. Petitioner does
not dispute that it has the option of applying for a per-
mit: it simply prefers not to do so. A non-final agency
order, however, is one that “does not of itself adversely
affect complainant but onty affects his mghts adversely

10

on the contingency of future administrative action.’
Rochester Tel. Corp. v. United States, 307 U.S. 125, 130
(1939). This Court has recognized, for ex ample, that an
agency's complaint requiring a compeny te respond in
an administrative adjudication was not final agency ac-
tion. See FTC v. Standard Oil Co., 449 U.S. 232, 239-243
(1980). The burden of participating in an administrative
process, even where “substantial,” is different in kind
and legal effect from the burden attending “final agency
action.” /d. at 242. The jurisdictional determination
here does not require petitioner te de anything at ali and
therefore is even less final than the administrative com-
plaint involved in Standard Oil.

Third, petitioner contends (Fet. 14-15) that the ju-
risdictional determination has legal consequences be-
cause it “substantially increases the likelihood that any
civil fine assessed against the landowner will be greater
than otherwise would be the case.” The CWA directs a
court In assessing an appropriate civil penalty to con-
sider, inter alia, any good-faith efforts to comply with
the CWA’s requirements. 38 U.S.C. 1319(d). But the
CWA's civil-penalty provision does not mention, much
less assign any particular evidentiary weight to, the
Corps’ prior issuance of a jurisdictional determination.
“{T)Jhus, any difficulty [petitioner] might face in estab
lishing good faith flows not from the legal status of the
Corps’ determination as agency action, but instead from
the practical effect of [petitioner] having been placed on
notice that construction might require a Section 404 per-
mit.” Pet. App. Al6. As the court of appeals explained,
petitioner would be in essentially the same position if it
had obtained a report from a private consultant that

1]

concluded that the property contained waters protected
by the CWA. 7d. at A16-A17."

3. Petitioner also asserts (Pet. 12, 15-18) that the
court of appeals’ “decision conflicts with the settled rule
that CWA permit decisions are judicially reviewable.”
The distinction between permitting decisions and juris-
dictional determinations, however, is readily apparent.
The grant or denial of a permit, unlike a jurisdictional
determination, determines rights or obligations and has
legal consequences. The CWA makes unlawful the “dis-
charge of any pollutant by any person” except as in com-

Tee sie hs ; ; =e ee se a oe.
puahce with other secrviens of the CWA. includ if SEL

tion 404. 33 U.S.C. 1311(a), 1344. When the Corps
grants a Section 404 permit, the permit sets the condi-
tions under which a discharge into waters of the United
States may lawfully oceur. If the discharger complies
with the terms of the permit, it does not violate the
CWA. Similarly, the denial of a Section 404 permit by

Amicus State of Alaska argues (at 16-24) that the Corps’ jurisdic-
tional determination should be appealable under the collateral order
doctrine. That argument was neither pressed nor passed upon below,
and it is meritless. The collateral order doctrine permits appellate
courts to exercise jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1291 over “‘a narrow
class of [federal district court] decisions that do not terminate the liti-
gation, but are sufficiently important and collateral to the merits that
they should ‘nonetheless be treated as final."” Well v. Hallock, 546 US.
345, 347 (2006) (quoting Digatal Equip. Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc.,
511 US. 863, 867 (1994)). Amicus cites no case in which this Court has
invoked the doctrine to allow an APA suit in district court challenging
an administrative agency decision. In any event, for the reasons ex-
plained above, the jurisdictional determination is not suffictently sep-
arate from the ultimate permitting deeision, nev is it “effectively unre-
viewable” ata later time (because petitioner could dispute the question
of CWA coverage after a final permitting decision or during a subse-

quent enforcement action). 7d. at 549 (quoting Puerto Rico Aqueduct
& Newer Avedh. v. Metcalf & kdd /, > |. 106 UES 139, 144 (1993

12

the Corps has operative legal consequences because it
forecloses that avenue by which an individual can dis-
charge pollutants into “waters of the United States”
without violating the CWA. Tue Corps’ issuance of a
jurisdictional determination entails no similar binding
consequences. Rather, it is in substance an advisory
opinion that reflects the agency’s current assessment of
the manner in which one issue bearing on a future per-
mit application or enforcement action would likely be
resolved.

4. Petitioner contends (Pet. i&-21) that the court of
apneals reiected sub silentio its additional argument
that “even ii a Jurisdictionai Determination would noi-
mally not be subject to judicial review, any such bar
should be removed given the magnitude of regulatory
overreach produced by the Corps’ theory justifying reg-
ulation of [petitioner’s| property.” Relying on dicta ina
Seventh Circuit case (Rueth v. United States EPA, 13
F.3d 227 (1993)) and on this Court’s decision in Leedom
v. Kyne, 358 U.S. 184 (1958), petitioner asserts (Pet. 19)
that judicial review of the Corps’ jurisdictional determi-
nation is available because the Corps’ action “implicates
the fundamental right to use and enjoy property.” That
argument is incorrect.

a. Asan initial matter, petitioner’s argument in the
court of appeals was not that the Rueth dicta and the so-
ealled Leedom doctrine provide an independent basis for
judicial review. Instead, petitioner relied on Rueth and
Leedom to assert that the district court’s alternative
holding—that even if the Corps’ jurisdictional determi-
nation was “final agency action” for purposes of the
APA, the CWA precluded judicial review (Pet. App. B7-
BsS)—was erroneous. See Pet. C.A. Br. 23-33; Pet. C.A.
Reply Br. 21-30. Because the court of appeals rested its

13

decision solely on the ground that the Corps’ jurisdic-
tional determination was not “final agency action,” it had
no occasion to address petitioner’s argument based on
Rueth and Leedom. And because petitioner’s current
formulation of the argument was neither pressed nor
passed on below, it is not properly before this Court.
See, e.g., Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452, 464 (1997) (de-
clining to consider argument because it “was inade-
quately preserved in the prior proceedings”).

b. In any event, neither the Rueth dicta nor the deci-
sion in Leedom supports petitioner’s effort to obtain
judicial review of the Corps’ jurisdictional determina-
tien. The Seventh Cireuit in Rueth rejected a challenge
to pre-enforcement activities (EX PA’Ss issuance of a Goim-
plianece order) under the CWA. 13 F.3d at 229-231. Pe-
titioner relies on the Rueth court’s statement that “it is
not inconceivable that the EPA or the Corps of Engi-
neers might completely overextend their authority. In
such a case, we suggest to those agencies that we will
not hesitate to intervene in pre-enforcement activity.”
fd. at 231. Nothing in Rueth suggests, however, that the
Seventh Circuit would regard the Corps’ jurisdictional
determination in this case as the sort of ultra vires con-
duct that would justify pre-enforcement review.

In Leedom, this Court indicated that a statutory pre-
clusion of review may be subject to a narrow exception
when the plaintiff asserts legal rights for which there is
no alternative means of vindication. 358 U.S. at 189-191.
Leedom involved a National Labor Relations Board
(Board) order that included professional and non-
professional employees in the same collective bargaining
unit —netwithstanding the fact that the professionals
had not been permitted to vote—in clear contravention
of Section 9(b)(1) of the National Labor Relations Act

14

29 U.S.C. 159(b)(1) (providing that the Board “shall not”
approve a mixed unit for collective bargaining purposes
unless a majority of professional employees vote for in-
clusion). Leedom, 358 U.©. at 184-186. The question
presented was whether the district court could review
the Board’s order given tnis Ccurt’s prior ruling that
such orders were not subject to judicial review wider
the Act (except in circumstances ina;plicable in Lee-
dom). Id. at 187. The Court held that the district court
had jurisdiction, explaining that a contrary decision
“would mean a sacrifice or obliteration of a right which
Congress has given professional employees for there is
no other means within their control to protect and en-
force thut right.” /4. at 190 (internal quotetion marke
and citation omitted); see Board of Governors of the Fed.
Reserve Sys. v. MCorp Fin., Inc., 502 U.S. 32, 42-44
(1991) (Leedom exception does not apply where plaintiff
has meaningful and adequate alternative opportunity for
judicial review of his claims).

The Rueth dicta and Leedom’s narrow exception are
inapplicable here. First, the Corps expressed its view,
at petitioner’s request, as to the scope of the agency’s
CWA jurisdiction. The Corps has not asserted, let alone
overextended, its authority in a binding manner. Sec-
ond, the lack of judicial review at this stage does not
entail “a sacrifice or obliteration” of any statutory right.
As explained above (p. 9, supra), petitioner may proceed
without obtaining a permit and, if the Corps brings an
enforcement action, petitioner may then press its argu-
ment that the site at issue is not covered by the CWA.
Petitioner will also have an opportunity for judicial re-
view of the Corps’ jurisdictional determination if it ap-
phes for a permit and the Corps demes the application
or imposes conditions that petitioner finds unacceptable.

ld

Third, unlike in Leedom, petitioner cannot show that
the agency acted contrary to an unambiguous statutory
provision. The Corps’ regulations expressly authorize,
but do not require, the Corps to issue jurisdictional de-
terminations. 33 C.F.R. 320.1(a)(6); see C.A. Supp. E.R.
19. And the CWA neither requires nor prohibits such
determinations. Although petitioner disagrees with the
Corps’ conclusion that the relevant property contains
waters protected by the CWA, the agency’s alleged er-
ror in applving the governing legal standards to a par-
ticular parcel would not involve the sort of manifest
overreaching on which the Leedom exception is pre-
mised.

5. Even if the Corps’ jurisdictional determination
constituted “linal agency aclion” ander the APA, und
assuming the CWA does not preclude judicial review,”
that determination would not be ripe for judicial review.
The ripeness doctrine is intended “to prevent courts
* * * from entangling themselves in abstract disagree-
ments over administrative policies, and also to protect
the agencies from judicial interference until an adminis-
trative decision has been formalized and its effects felt
in a concrete way by the challenging parties.” Abbott
Labs. v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 148-149 (1967). Deter-
mining whether an agency action is ripe for judicial re
view generally requires a court to evaluate the fitness of
the issues for judicial decision and the hardship to the
parties of withholding court consideration. /d. at
148-152. Agency action may ve final without being ripe.
See National Park Hospitality Ass‘nv. Department of
the Interror, 5388 U.S. 803, 812 (2008).

see. eog., Nowthern Pines Assocs hha (roldmerer vo United Ntat

O12 F.2d 713. 715 717 (4th Cir. 1990); Hoffman Group, Ine. v. EPA, 902
BFP 567, 564 7th Cir. 1990): see also Pet. App b7-BS

16

As the district court explained (Pet. App. B6-B7), the
Corps’ jurisdictional determination is not ripe for judi-
cial review. The jurisdictional determination noted that
petitioner may apply for a permit if it wishes to dis-
charge fill material in developing its property. /d. at A4.
Petitioner has not yet applied for such a permit, how-
ever, nor has it been subject to any enforcement action.
Depending on the nature and circumstances of the pro-
posed discharges, it is entirely possible that petitioner
could receive a permit entitling it to develop its property
without restrictions or that no enforcement action would
be initiated. Those uncertainties, in addition to the pos-
sibility that changes to the property’s condition might
effect its status under the CWA (see note 38, supra),

“ : i H + 4
ehestroaj ri ate f ee Fhe tT layt Fi ics i<>
Udeinwnsti @vue Uline PeLiIviViss Oe Git {8 isU

eo

ripe.
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

ELENA KAGAN
Solicitor General
JOHN C. CRUDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
AARON P. AVILA
Attorrce if

MAY 2009

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0197%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
