# Reply Brief — Ohio v. Veney (No. 08-1018)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0164%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2009

## Text

mn Supreme Court, U.S. J
‘ MAY 29 2009
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

THE STATE OF OHIO,
Petitioner,
Vv.

THOMAS L. VENEY,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Ohio

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER
STATE OF OHIO

RON O’BRIEN
FRANKLIN COUNTY

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY
STEVEN L. TAYLOR

Counsel of Record
ASSISTANT PROSECUTING ATTORNEY
373 South High Street, 13th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(614) 462-3555

Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHOR TTB «issccccossccsssscocssssssceeees ll
PET Siniptetesnietcs ssncnchaeiiiigecesuccsssinnsscuncuanaias 1
SID aac dsnisicicusendcdacesnatpuaineeibibaadéacwsnpoade 10

(i)

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Bousley u. United States, 523 U.S. 614
Te cesestewenccscos 10

Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969).... passim
Brigham City v. Stuart, 547 U.S. 398

Neen cc scsanesticns 7
Hawaii v. Office of Hawaiian Affairs, 556

U.S. ___, 129 S.Ct. 1436 (2009)... eee 3
Kansas v. Marsh, 548 U.S. 163 (2006)......... 7,8
Kansas v. Ventris, 556 U.S. __, 129 S.Ct.

Neen lis sscciavesshsserscescees 7
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983)...... 3, 8
Ohio v. Reiner, 532 U.S. 17 (2001)............... 3
Rivera v. Illinois, 556 U.S. ___, 129 S.Ct.

Nee, seccssanevebaseensseoesecs 5
State v. Ballard, 66 Ohio St.2d 473, 423

ess icencscsotensersacccesecscecese 3-4
State v. Colon, 118 Ohio St.3d 26, 2008

Ohio 1624, 885 N.E.2d 917 (2008)............ 4
State v. Wamsley, 117 Ohio St.3d 388,

2008 Ohio 1195, 884 N.E.2d 45 (2008)..... 5
United States v. Dominguez-Benitez, 542

call Nnscepacsedeseeecssocsccsecese 2
United States v. Timmreck, 441 U.S. 780

Nein cscs censkesaseserensscccess 5
Vermont v. Brillon, 556 U.S. ___, 125 S.Ct.

Ces cesecunpesesbonsesses 7

STATUTES
I I ooo evesenconsveccvsvcscescosncces 7
RULES
non. css savowsvnssenscesocssers 8
ore (ren Fe. LAC CIN C)............0ccccccrsccssoees 2,4,5,6

I I csasecenceeorscosacebene 4

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

No. 08-1018

THE STATE OF OHIO,
Petitioner,
Vv.

THOMAS 1. VENEY,
Respondent.

——

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Ohio

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER
STATE OF OHIO

ARGUMENT

At the time respondent pleaded guilty, the Ohio
trial court did not orally advise him that his plea was
waiving his right to require the prosecution to prove
his guilt at a trial beyond a reasonable doubt.
However, the beyond-reasonable-doubt right and res-
pondent’s understanding that he was waiving that
right were set forth in a written Entry of Guilty Plea,
which respondent orally acknowledged approving.
Respondent also orally acknowledged having re-
viewed his constitutional rights with his counsel.

Respondent does not dispute the three major bases
asserted by petitioner Ohio for granting certiorari

2

review. In particular, respondent does not dispute
that the overwhelming majority of case law, includ-
ing almost all federal circuits, has concluded that
federal due process under Boykin v. Alabama, 395
U.S. 238 (1969), does not require any oral advise-
ment. Under Boykin, the record need only affirma-
tively disclose in some way that the defendant was
aware of the Boykin rights he was waiving.

Respondent also does not dispute that a fair num-
ber of courts have concluded that the beyond-
reasonable-doubt right is not a Boykin right.

Respondent also does not dispute that this Court
has previously concluded that the omission of a plea
advisement does not amount to structural error
always requiring reversal. United States v. Dominguez-
Benitez, 542 U.S. 74 (2004). Respondent does not
even address the written Entry of Guilty Plea, which
Entry shows that the omission of the oral advisement
was not prejudicial.

Finally, respondent does not dispute that petitioner
Ohio’s asserted grounds for seeking certiorari were
fully preserved below.

Instead of directly challenging the strong grounds
for granting certiorari, respondent asserts that the
Ohio Supreme Court’s ruling was only a state-
law ruling determining the reach of Ohio’s Crim.R.
11(C)(2)(c). Respondent asserts that the Ohio
Supreme Court was merely exercising “supervisory
power” in determining that the omission of the oral
advisement under the rule would always require
reversal. For the following reasons, these conten-
tions lack merit.

3
A.

While respondent argues that “[t]he Ohio Supreme
Court’s decision rests entirely upon independent
state grounds,” see Brief in Opposition, at 18, respon-
dent does not address this Court’s “plain statement”
standard. As this Court recently reiterated, “[t]his
Court has jurisdiction whenever ‘a state court
decision fairly appears to rest primarily on federal
law, or to be interwoven with the federal law, and
when the adequacy and independence of any possible
state law ground is not clear from the face of the
opinion.’” Hawaii v. Office of Hawaiian Affairs, 556
U.S. __, 129 S.Ct. 1436, 1442 (2009), quoting
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1040-41 (1983).

At the very least, the Ohio Supreme Court’s ruling
represents an interwoven mixture of federal constitu-
tional law and state criminal procedure. The Ohio
Supreme Court determined the issue of “strict com-
pliance” by reference to whether the plea was “con-
stitutionally infirm.” Such a ruling provides a
sufficient basis for jurisdiction. See, e.g., Ohio v.
Reiner, 532 U.S. 17, 20 (2001) (“We have jurisdiction
over a state-court judgment that rests, as a threshold
matter, on a determination of federal law.”).

The fairest reading is that the Ohio Supreme Court
was primarily basing its ruling on federal constitu-
tional law. The Ohio Supreme Court rejected
the prosecution’s arguments that Boykin was not
violated. The Court cited Boykin eight times in the
key passages from paragraphs 24 through 30 in
reaching the conclusion that the plea was “consti-
tutionally infirm.” In reaching this “constitutionally
infirm” conclusion, the Court also relied heavily on
State v. Ballard, 66 Ohio St.2d 473, 423 N.E.2d 115
(1981), which itself was a federal constitutional rul-

4

ing determining “what does Boykin require of a trial
court.” Id. at 476, 423 N.E.2d at 117.

B.

No part of the ruling shows that the Court based
its ruling solely on “supervisory power” over the
administration of Ohio’s Crim.R. 11(C)(2)(c). The
frequent citations to Boykin and Ballard belie any
narrow “supervisory” holding, as does the fact that
the Court never mentioned a “supervisory” basis for
decision.

In addition, the Court acknowledged that it would
not have adopted an automatic-reversal principle
if the case had involved only a nonconstitutional
error. The Court stated at paragraph 17 that “[ojur
precedent * * * establishes that a defendant must
show prejudice before a plea will be vacated for a
trial court’s error involving Crim.R. 11(C) procedure
when nonconstitutional aspects of the colloquy are at
issue.” If the Court had agreed with the prosecution
that only a “nonconstitutional aspect” was involved
in the failure to give the oral beyond-reasonable-
doubt advisement, the Court would have required a
showing of prejudice, and the prosecution would have
prevailed, since the Entry of Guilty Plea established
the lack of prejudice.

The Court also would not have disregarded Ohio’s
Crim.R. 52(A), which provides that harmless errors
shall be disregarded. Only constitutional error could
amount to error always requiring reversal. State v.
Colon, 118 Ohio St.3d 26, 2008 Ohio 1624, 885
N.E.2d 917, ¥ 21 (2008). Ohio appellate courts have
only a narrow power to reverse. “In Ohio, Crim.R. 52
gives appellate courts narrow power to correct errors
that occurred during the trial court proceedings.”

5

State v. Wamsley, 117 Ohio St.3d 388, 2008 Ohio
1195, 884 N.E.2d 45, 9 19 (2008). Only an error of
purported constitutional dimension requiring auto-
matic reversal could countermand the Ohio Supreme

Court’s otherwise-extant need to comply with Ohio’s
Crim.R. 52.

To be sure, the Ohio Supreme Court could have
confined itself to the issue of how it would enforce its
mere criminal-rule requirement. If the Court had
done so, the prosecution could not seek certiorari
review here. But if the Court had done so, the
prosecution would have no need to seek review, since
the prosecution would have prevailed under the stan-
dards of “substantial compliance” and harmless-error
review that Ohio law otherwise recognizes.

It bears emphasis that “errors of state law do not
automatically become violations of due process.”
Rivera v. Illinois, 556 U.S. __, 129 S.Ct. 1446, 1455
(2009). “The Due Process Clause * * * safeguards not
the meticulous observance of state procedural pre-
scriptions, but the fundamental elements of fairness
in a criminal trial.” 129 S.Ct. at 1454 (internal
quotation marks omitted). Ohio’s Crim.R. 11 could
not amend the Constitution. See United States v.
Timmreck, 441 U.S. 780, 783-84 (1979).

C.

The constitutional nature of the Ohio Supreme
Court’s ruling should have come as no surprise to
respondent, who specifically argued for such a ruling.
Respondent repeatedly cited Boykin and argued that
“{clourts must strictly comply with the constitutional
requirements of Crim.R. 11(C)(2)(c) * * *.” (Defense
Merit Brief, at p. 3) As the defense argued below:

6

The criminal rules state that a judge shall not
accept a plea without informing the defendant
and determining that he understands that, by
entering the plea, he is waiving his right to
require the state to prove the defendant’s guilt
beyond a reasonable doubt at a trial. This is
unquestionably a federal constitutional right that
applies to the states through the Due Process
Clause. It is a right that one must be aware of
before any guilty plea can be knowingly and
intelligently made.

(Id. at p. 11; emphasis added) As the defense further
argued below:

The judge has an express duty to make a proper
record and to inform the defendant that the state
is required to prove his guilt beyond a reasonable
doubt at trial and to determine that the defen-
dant understands this right. The trial court
completely failed to abide by the Constitution and
the law in this regard and it cannot be concluded
that the defendant’s guilty plea was knowingly
and voluntarily entered.

(Id. at p. 17; emphasis added)

The Ohio Supreme Court naturally took these
arguments to mean that respondent was secking a
constitutional ruling. In paragraph six of its opinion,
the Court summarized respondent’s argument as
contending “that the trial court’s failure to orally
advise him of the state’s burden of proof as required
by Crim.R. 11(C)(2)(c) is constitutional error affecting
a substantial right that automatically invalidates his
plea.” (Emphasis added)

While respondent accuses petitioner Ohio of
“obfuscatling]” the basis for the Ohio Supreme

7

Court’s ruling, respondent himself is the party who
insisted that the error was of constitutional dimen-
sion. The Ohio Supreme Court adopted that argu-
ment, and this Court now has jurisdiction to review
these constitutional issues.

D.

Respondent errs in claiming that petitioner Ohio is
asserting its own due-process rights and that peti-
tioner can have no objection when the Ohio Supreme
Court provides greater protection to criminal defen-
dants. Petitioner is not claiming any due-process
right of its own, but, rather, petitioner is claiming
that the Ohio Supreme Court went too far by finding
due-process error. Respondent set up a constitutional/
due-process claim, and the Ohio Suprime Court
sustained that claim. This Court has jurisdiction to
address whether the state court correctly sustained
respondent’s constitutional claim. 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)
(review allowed “where any title, right, privilege, or
immunity is specially set up or claimed under the
Constitution”).

As for the contention that the Ohio Supreme Court
could have provided greater protection to respondent
as a matter of state law, the problem is that the
Court did not purport to do so. Instead, the Court
provided greater protection based at least in substan-
tial part on its view of what the federal constitution
required. This Court can and will review state-court
rulings that err in a criminal defendant’s favor vis-a-
vis a federal constitutional issue. See, e.g., Kansas v.
Ventris, 556 U.S. ___, 129 S.Ct. 1841 (2009); Vermont
v. Brillon, 556 U.S. __, 129 S.Ct. 1283 (2009);
Kansas v. Marsh, 548 U.S. 163 (2006); Brigham City
v. Stuart, 547 U.S. 398 (2006).

8

“Turning a blind eye to federal constitutional error
that benefits criminal defendants, allowing it to per-
meate in varying fashion each State Supreme Court’s
jurisprudence, would change the uniform ‘law of the
land’ into a crazy quilt.” Marsh, 548 U.S. at 185
(Scalia, J., concurring). “[I]t cannot be doubted that
there is an important need for uniformity in federal
law, and that this need goes unsatisfied when we fail
to review an opinion that rests primarily upon federal
grounds and where the independence of an alleged
state ground is not apparent from the four corners of
the opinion.” Long, 463 U.S. at 1040 (emphasis sic),

E.

While respondent contends that the case is unim-
portant because it will merely result in Ohio trial-
court judges complying with an oral-advisement re-
quirement imposed by state law, respondent unwit-
tingly concedes the importance of this case by em-
phasizing that the vast majority of cases are disposed
through plea-based proceedings. Issues regarding
the exact reach of Boykin and the availability of
harmless-error review therefore potentially affect the
vast majority of cases. The Boykin issues are recur-
ring, and courts throughout the nation could poten-
tially benefit from a ruling by this Court. This Court
could also benefit, since, if an oral beyond-reasonable-
doubt advisement is constitutionally required, then
Fed.R.Crim.P. 11 would need amendment, as it does
not currently require such an advisement.

F.

Respondent’s claim that the case is in danger of
becoming “moot” is perplexing. There is no danger of
mootness. The issues of whether the plea proceeding
was invalid and/or requires reversal both create a

]

live controversy, as decisions on those issues would
directly affect whether respondent’s conviction will
be reinstated or whether the case must be reprose-
cuted in the trial court.

Respondent errs in contending that his present
detention in the county jail somehow might result in
a mooting of the case while certiorari review remains
pending. Respondent assumes that he is serving a
five-year sentence and that the five-year term might
run out before this Court rules. But there is no five-
year sentence in place at this point, since that sen-
tence has been vacated and respondent has heen
returned to the county jail to await further trial-court
proceedings. The original five-year sentence could be
reinstated only if this Court accepts review. The trial
court is properly awaiting word on whether this
Court will accept review. Petitioner Ohio agrees that
respondent potentially faces a total of up to twenty-
one years on the reinstated charges at this point.

Respondent is being held without bail because his
bail was revoked due to his failure to appear in the
case for over one year from November 2004 to
January 2006 when the case was originally pending
in the trial court.

Even if a five-year sentence were being served now,
that sentence still would not run out before this
Court could be expected to rule. The five-year sen-
tence would not have been expected to expire until
December 2010. If this Court grants review by the
end of June 2009 or at the start of the October 2009
term, a ruling could be expected by June 2010, well
before a five-year sentence would expire.

Respondent’s mootness argument also ignores the
fact that he had received a mandatory three-year

10

term of “post-release control” under Ohio law, which
is a special parole term that must be served after
service of the five-year sentence.

Respondent’s suggestion that he might abandon
defense of the Ohio Supreme Court’s ruling is also
easily addressed. If such abandonment occurs, this
Court could appoint a counsel as special amicus for
this Court to defend the lower-court ruling. See, e.g.,
Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614, 618 (1998).
Abandonment by respondent would not “moot” the
case.

CONCLUSION

In light of the foregoing arguments, petitioner Ohio
stands by its petition for writ of certiorari and res-
pectfully requests that this Court grant the petition.

Respectfully submitted,

RON O’BRIEN
FRANKLIN COUNTY

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY
STEVEN L. TAYLOR

Counsel of Record
ASSISTANT PROSECUTING ATTORNEY
373 South High Street, 13th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(614) 462-3555

Counsel for Petitioner

May 29, 2009

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0164%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
