# Opposition Brief — Berger v. Internal Revenue Service (No. 08-884)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0040%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

1

FS nny

FILED;

6) |) wim

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
|. SUPREME COURT, U.S.

t

No. 08-884

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

LAWRENCES. BERGER, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TOTHE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

ELENA KAGAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
JOHN DICICCO
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
JONATHAN S. COHEN
GRETCHEN M. WOLFINGER
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a court of appeals must review de novo
a district court’s grant of summary judgment on a claim
arising under the Freedom of [Information Act (FOIA),
5 U.S.C. 552.

2. Whether the court of appeals correctly deter-
mined that the employee time sheets of an Internal Rev-
enue Service (IRS) revenue officer are exempt from dis-
closure under FOIA Exemption 6, 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(6).

3. Whether the court of appeals correctly deter-
mined that the employee time sheets of an IRS revenue
officer are Privacy Act records pertaining to the revenue
officer, rather than the subjects of her investigatory
work, which may not be disclosed without the consent of
the revenue officer.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee ND oss -65 opb eka mee tao OE Kee A re ee 1
pO EEE Pe ee TE eT ee ee eer rrr ee tre 1
I es a aye ae ae ae Rae po ee a ae ]
eee er rere er rer rT eT ee ee re ree 4
MII: 5 5 5 atu leu orn ge nch sme uieee a ok wa pao emuee eo aes 14
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Abdelfattah v. Department of Homeland Sec.,
TS Fee Fe ee CE ov hoo oe oho ss Che dee ee 5
Department of Defense v. FL.RA, 510 U.S. 487
¢. Per err rere, reer ener eT es
Department of Justice v. Reporters Comm. for Free-
dom of the Press, 489 U.S. 749 (1989) ............. 8, 10
Department of State v. Washington Post Co., 456 U.S.
et 5. So RE ek ee a 8
Department of the Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352
6 Re ere re eee rere or 8
Lame v. Department of Justice, 767 F.2d 66 (8d Cir.
eusthacd win de an ae ee Ce ee 5, 6
Missouri ex rel. Garstang v. Department of the Inte-
rior, 297 F.3d 745 (8th Cir. 2002) ............ cee eee 5
National Archives & Records Admin. v. Favish,
SOP Ci Sr ee bee a se ie ee ees eee as 8,9
Sheet Metal Workers [nt’l Ass'n v. Department of
Veterans Affairs, 135 F.3d 891 (3d Cir. 1998) ....... 3,6
Voelker v. IRS, 646 F.2d 332 (8th Cir. 1981) ........ 12, 13

(11)

IV

Statutes: Page
Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. 552............... 1
A MD oi a's oh nie x Gadde kav kos thee eae 2
ea, os Go's vin Kae nek vn etewnpe eos 2,8,9
PI a eg cee es eb cn svewscdbnsk een 1
ee EES Sib ak Whee SSS bb eked een eeeeues 4
SR 6 4 fey ecna ce WhO ees ose aeesuunes 4,11

ee eeaas ECR 66 05k 64d beer w se ew eae nee 4,11,13
Pe ID go 4 She Nee eee pee ee ee 14
ies a: 4 5 Chak ha Raw Rh doa wee aS 1]
OE bc ra nosed bss vseeeene ee ssenewnin 2

Jn the Supreme Court of the Guited States

No. 08-884
LAWRENCE S. BERGER, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of th> court of appeals (Pet. App. la-10a)
is not published in the Federal Reporter but is reprinted
in 288 Fed. Appx. 829. The opinion of the district court
(Pet. App. 11a-52a) is reported at 487 F. Supp. 2d 482.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 11, 2008. A petition for rehearing was denied on
October 14, 2008 (Pet. App. 53a). The petition for certio-
rari was filed on January 9, 2009. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
STATEMENT

1. This Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 5
U.S.C. 552, and Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C. 552a, lawsuit aris-
es from a civil tax investigation conducted by the Inter-

(1)

2

nal Revenue Service (IRS). IRS Revenue Officer Mary
Williams was assigned to that investigation, which fo-
cused on whether petitioners had appropriately withheld
federal taxes from employees’ paychecks. Cf. 26 U.S.C.
6672. No action was taken against petitioners as a result
of the investigation. Pet. App. 2a, 12a & n.1, 48a n.1.

In December 2003, petitioners submitted a FOIA and
Privacy Act request to the IRS, seeking documents asso-
ciated with the investigation, including Officer Williams’
employee time records. The IRS released numerous
documents in response to petitioners’ request, but it
withheld the time records and certain other responsive
documents no longer at issue in this case. Pet. App. 2a-
3a, 12a-15a.

2. In August 2005, petitioners filed the present suit
in district court seeking the disclosure of documents
withheld by the IRS. Respondents moved for summary
judgment, arguing, as is relevant here, that Williams’
employee time records were exempt from disclosure
under FOIA Exemptions 3 and 6, 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(3) and
(6), and that petitioners were not entitled to receive Wil-
liams’ time records under the Privacy Act.

On May 22, 2007, the district court granted summary
judgment to respondents. Pet. App. lla-52a. The court
held, exter alia, that Williams’ time records were prop-
erly withheld in full under Exemption 6. /d. at 43a-45a;
ef. id. at 47a n.10, 52a n.10 (finding it unnecessary to
address Exemption 3). The court explained that disclo-
sure “would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of
personal privacy,” 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(6), because Williams’
“privacy interest outweighs the relatively minimal public
interest in the manner in which Williams spent her time
during the investigation.” Pet. App. 48a, 45a. The court
noted that “disclosure would primarily serve {petition-

3

ers’] particular private interests” and would not mean-
ingfully advance the public’s understanding of the gov-
ernment’s operations or activities. /d. at 44a. The court
further held that the time sheets could not “be disclosed
under the Privacy Act without Williams’[] consent” be-
cause they reflected time Williams spent on “all of [her]
job functions,” were created as part of her “conditions of
employment with the IRS,” and “do not constitute ‘re-
cords about [petitioners].’” /d. at 45a.

3. The court of appeals affirmed in an unpublished,
non-precedential opinion. Pet. App. la-10a. The court
of appeals held that, based on its “balance |of] the public
interest in disclosure against the privacy interest” at
stake, FOIA Exemption 6 exempted Williams’ employee
time records from mandatory disclosure. /d. at 5a-7a.
The court reasoned that “Williams has a privacy interest
in her records as a whole because they are a personal
recording of how she spent her time at work.” /d. at 6a.
On the other side of the balance, the court concluded
that public disclosure of the time sheets “would not ‘con-
tribute significantly’ to the public understanding of the
operations of the IRS or ‘appreciably further the citi-
zens|’| right to be informed about what their govern-
ment is up to.’” /d. at 7a (quoting Sheet Metal Workers
Int'l Ass'n v. Department of Veterans Affairs, 135 F.3d
891, 900 (3d Cir. 1998), and Department of Defense v.
FLRA, 510 U.S. 487, 497 (1994) (DoD)). “Indeed, disclo-
sure of her records would only serve [petitioners’| nar-
row interest in knowing how she investigated their par-
ticular case.” /bid. The court accordingly held that,

even if “Williams’[] privacy interest” in her time sheets
were “slight,” that interest “outweighs thle] weak public

:

j n terest in Ps er

disclosure.” /bid.

4

The court of appeals further held that disclosure was
inappropriate under the Privacy Act. Pet. App. 7a-8a.
The court explained that the Privacy Act permits an
individual to request access to his records or “any infor-
mation pertaining to him” contained in a system of re-
cords in which such information is retrieved by the indi-
vidual’s name or other identifier, and that the Privacy
Act normally prohibits disclosure of such records “ex-
cept pursuant to a written request by, or with the prior
written consent of, the individual to whom the record
pertains.” /d. at 8a (quoting 5 U.S.C. 552a(b) and
(d)(1)). Those provisions, the court concluded, prohib-
ited disclosure of Officer Williams’ time sheets to peti-
tioner Lawrence Berger.’ It explained that the “records
were created pursuant to the conditions of | Williams’ |
employment, not * * * ‘in connection with’ her investi-
gation of [petitioners]”; they document “the time Wil-
liams spent performing her job duties,” which extend far
beyond her investigation of petitioners; and they include
such matters as Williams’ “vacation time and sick leave.”
Ibid. The court accordingly held that “the time records
pertain to Williams, not Berger, and cannot, absent the
consent of Williams, be released under the Privacy Act.”
Ibid.

ARGUMENT

The unpublished, non-precedential decision of the
court of appeals is correct and does not conflict with the
decisions of this Court or any other court of appeals.

Because the Privacy Act permits an “individual” to have access to
his own records, 5 U.S.C. 552a(a)(2) and (d)(1), the Privacy Act claim for
Williams’ time sheets is pressed only on behalf of petitioner Berger and
not petitioner Realty Research Corporation. Pet. 31 n.9; cf. Pet. App.
8a n.4, 10a n.4:

5

Although the court’s decision articulates a standard of
appellate review for factual determinations in FOIA
cases that is the subject of a division of authority among
the courts of appeals, that language did not influence the
court’s own evaluation of the balance of interests under
FOIA Exemption 6. The court’s resolution of that legal
question, like its resolution of petitioner’s Privacy Act
claim, is correct and raises no issue meriting certiorari.
Further review is therefore unwarranted.

1. Petitioners contend (Pet. 5-18) that this Court
should grant review to resolve a conflict among the
courts of appeals regarding the proper standard of ap-
pellate review for FOIA cases decided at summary judg-
ment. The court of appeals described the prevailing
standard in the Third Circuit for reviewing factual de-
terminations in the FOIA context, namely, that a district
court’s factual finding is reviewed to ensure that it has
an “adequate factual basis” and is not “clearly errone-
ous.” Pet. App. 4a-5a (citing Abdelfattah v. Department
of Homeland Sec., 488 F.3d 178, 182 (3d Cir. 2007) (per
curiam), and Lame v. Department of Justice, 767 F.2d
66, 70 (3d Cir. 1985)). While other courts apply more
traditional de novo review to all questions at summary
judgment in FOIA cases, see, ¢.g., Missouri ex rel.
Garstang v. Department of the Interior, 297 F.3d 745,
749 & n.2 (8th Cir. 2002), the appropriate standard was
irrelevant to the court of appeals’ decision, which turned
on its own Exemption 6 balancing of the public interest
in disclosure against the privacy interest at stake. Fur
ther review is unwarranted because resolution of the
proper appellate standard of review of factual issues
would have no impact on this Court’s disposition of this
CASe.

6

Petitioners correctly concede that a court’s Exemp-
tion 6 balancing is a question of law, Pet. 13-14, and that
the Third Circuit itself conducts de novo review of such
legal questions under FOIA. Pet. 11 (citing Sheet Metal
Workers Int'l Ass'n v. Department of Veterans Affairs,
135 F.3d 891, 896 (3d Cir. 1998)). Nothing indicates that
the court of appeals’ unpublished, non-precedential deci-
sion in this case disregarded its own binding precedent
in this regard. The court’s standard-of-review discus-
sion cites its prior decision in Lame, which makes clear
that such legal questions are reviewed de novo and that
the Third Circuit’s standard for reviewing factual deter-
minations applies when a district court makes factual
findings based on an in camera review of the underlying
documents. See Lame, 767 F.2d at 69-70. The court of
appeals’ Exemption 6 balancing likewise relies heavily
on, and repeatedly cites, its earlier decision in Sheet
Metal Workers, see Pet. App. 6a, which (as petitioners
note) confirms that the Third Circuit conducts such bal-
ancing de novo on appeal. Skeet Metal Workers, 135
F.3d at 896-897, 902-905. Both parties also advised the
court that non-factual determinations are reviewed de
novo, Pet. C.A. Br. 3; Gov’t C.A. Br. 15, and the court’s
decision reflects that it conducted its own Exemption 6
balancing afresh. See Pet. 6a-7a.

Moreover, the division of authority upon which peti-
tioners rely concerns an issue that is not frequently dis-
positive in FOIA litigation. Most summary judgments
under FOLIA do not rest on a district court’s factual find-
ings resolving a genuine issue of material fact in favor of
one litigant based on an in camera review of the under-
lying documents. This case is no different. The district
court here concluded that the “general summary judg-
ment standards appllied]” to its decision, that it would

7

be “inappropriate for [the] district court to resolve fac-
tual disputes,” and that “[s}lummary judgment may be
granted only if” there is “no genuine issue of material
fact” in dispute. Pet. App. 18a-20a (emphasis added;
citation omitted). The district court accordingly did not
base its Exemption 6 analysis on findings concerning
disputed facts. /d. at 43a-45a. Indeed, it would not have
done so on the summary judgment record, which in-
cluded declarations from [RS employees regarding the
records at issue and a Vaughn index, see, e.g., C.A. App.
208-319, 378-890, but did not contain the underlying re-
cords for the court’s in camera review. See Pet. App.
22a-24a. Not only have petitioners failed to challenge in
their petition—and have therefore abandoned—the dis-
trict court’s discretionary decision not to conduct an 2n
camera review, cf. id. at 8a-Ya, they also fail to identify
any record evidence giving rise to a genuine issue of
material fact concerning the Exemption 6 analysis con-
ducted by the courts below. In short, the proper stan-
dard of appellate review for factual findings in FOLA
cases had no bearing on the proper disposition of this
case. That issue therefore does not merit further review
in this case, especially since the decision below is unpub-
lished and recited the standard of appellate review of
factual issues only in passing.

2. Petitioners contend (Pet. 18-31) that the court of
appeals erred in its FOIA analysis by according too
much weight to Officer Williams’ privacy interest in her
daily time sheets under FOIA Exemption 6 and in con-
cluding that her privacy interest outweighed the public
interest in disclosure. Those contentions are without
merit.

a. The court of appeals correctly concluded that Wil-
liams has a cognizable privacy interest in her time re-

8

cords. Although petitioners argue (Pet. 19-22) that
“purely work-related information” cannot implicate per-
sonal privacy, that contention is inconsistent with
the text of Exemption 6 and the decisions of this Court.
This Court has repeatedly emphasized taat FOIA’s
“concept of personal privacy” does not reflect a “limi-
ted or ‘cramped notion’ of that idea.” See National Ar-
chives & Records Admin. v. Favish, 541 U.S. 157, 165
(2004) (quoting Department of Justice v. Reporters
Comm. for Freedom of the Press, 489 U.S. 749, 768
(1989) (Reporters Comm.)). Indeed, FOIA affords broad
protection to a wide range of privacy interests that pro-
mote “the individual’s control of information concerning
his or her person,” Keporters Comm., 489 U.S. at
763-764, and that extend well beyond merely “intimate”
or “highly personal” details, Department of State v.
Washington Post Co., 456 U.S. 595, 600 (1982) (citation
omitted).

kixemption 6 by its terms applies to “personnel and
medical files and similar files” the disclosure of which
would constitute a “clearly unwarranted invasion of per-
sonal privacy.” 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(6) (emphasis added).
This Court has thus recognized that “[{iJnformation such
as * * * employment history[] and comparable data”
may be exempt from disclosure under Exemption 6 even
though such information “is not normally regarded as
highly personal.” Washington Post Co., 456 U.S. at 600.
The Court has likewise held that Exemption 6 contem-
plates redaction of purely work-related information in
the form of case summaries of honor ecde violations by
Air Force Academy cadets to protect the personal pri-
vacy of those government employees. Department of the
Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352, 376-377, 380-381 (1976).

9

Those decisions reflect the understanding that the
privacy interest at stake must be analyzed in light of the
fact that a FOIA release requires disclosure to the pub-
lic generally, which “must have the same access under
FOIA” as any particular requester. Department of De-
fense v. FLRA, 510 U.S. 487, 501 (1994); see zd. at 496;
Favish, 541 U.S. at 174. The public disclosure of an em-
ployee’s time sheets detailing the specifics of her daily
activities certainly implicates a non-trivial privacy inter-
est. At the very least, an individual like Officer Williams
has an interest in avoiding the potential harassment
from disgruntled subjects of IRS investigations pursu-
ing her employment records. And, while the court of
appeals expressed the view that that privacy interest
might be “slight,” it nevertheless outweighs the relevant
public interest in disclosing such records. Pet. App. 7a.

b. Petitioners argue (Pet. 23-28) that a “slight” pri-
vacy interest cannot justify withholding under Exemp-
tion 6 and that only a “significant” interest can be suffi-
cient to establish a “clearly unwarranted invasion of per-
sonal privacy,” 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(6)._ That contention is
meritless. The court of appeals not only applied Exemp-
tion 6’s “clearly unwarranted” standard, Pet. App. 5a
(quoting 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(6)); this Court itself has made
clear that “a very slight privacy interest would suffice”
under Exemption 6 when the public interest in disclo-
sure is sufficiently small. DoD, 510 U.S. at 500 (empha-
sis added).

c. Petitioners thus ultimately challenge the Exemp-
tion 6 balance struck by the court of appeals by assert-
ing that there is a “strong” public interest in disclosure
of Williams’ time sheets. Pet. 28-31. The court of ap-
peals, however, correctly concluded that “disclosure of
| Williams’} records would only serve [petitioners’] nar-

10

row interest in knowing how she investigated their par-
ticular case.” Pet. App. 7a (emphasis added).

It is well settled that “the only relevant public inter-
est in the FOIA balancing analysis” is “the extent to
which disclosure of the information sought would ‘she[d]
light on an agency’s performance of its statutory duties’
or otherwise let citizens know ‘what their government
is up to.” DoD, 510 U.S. at 497 (quoting Reporters
Comm., 489 U.S. at 773) (brackets in original). A FOIA
requester’s own private interest in disclosure—like
that at issue here—has “no bearing” in the relevant
analysis. /d. at 496 (“identity of the requesting party”
and the “purposes for which the request for information
is made” are irrelevant) (quoting Reporters Comm., 489
U.S. at 771). Instead, the disclosure must “appreciably
further” public knowledge of the government’s opera-
tions or otherwise open up agency action to the light of
public scrutiny in a “meaningful way.” /d. at 497-478
(citation omitted).

Disclosure of Williams’ time sheets would serve no
such public interest. Petitioners seek only those time
entries relating to the petitioners’ own tax investigation,
Pet. 19, yet they claim that such a disclosure would
“shed light on the manner in which the [RS conducts
civil tax investigations,” reveal whether [RS employees
are “carry[ing] out their duties in an efficient and law-
abiding manner,” and show whether the “investigation
[of petitioners] was comprehensive” and cost-effective.
Pet. 29-30 (citations omitted). Employee time sheets de-
tailing the “total hours [Williams] spent on the investi-
gation”—even assuming those records generally reflect
the “tasks she performed,” Pet. 30—would not reveal
anything meaningful to the public about the IRS gener-
ally or the investigation of petitioners specifically. To

1]

make a meaningful assessment of that investigation, the
public would need to have a more detailed understand-
ing of what was investigated than might be reflected in
daily time records. At the very least, the public would
also need access to petitioners’ relevant tax and other
records at issue in the investigation in order to evaluate
meaningfully Williams’ performance and reasonably
assess whether the investigation was comprehensive
or cost-effective. Such taxpayer-specific materials, of
course, are specifically protected from public disclosure
by statute. See, e.g., 26 U.S.C. 6108.

In the end, petitioners request this Court to review
the court of appeals’ Exemption 6 holding without iden-
tifying any decision of this Court or any other court of
appeals with which that holding is in conflict. No fur-
ther review of that holding is warranted.

3. Petitioners’ Privacy Act contentions (Pet. 31-36)
are equally unavailing. The court of appeals concluded
that the Privacy Act did not permit petitioner Berger to
obtain access to Williams’ employee time records be-
cause those records pertained to Williams, not Berger.
Pet. App. 7a-8a. That fact-bound determination pres-
ents no issue justifying this Court’s review.

The Privacy Act generally provides that “[eJach
agency that maintains a system of records shall,” upon
“request by any individual to gain access to his record or
to any information pertaining to him which is contained
in the system, permit [the individual} * * * to review
the record.” 5 U.S.C. 552a(d)(1). However, the Act fur-
ther requires that, subject to exceptions not relevant
here, “[n]Jo agency shall disclose any record which is con-
tained in a system of records” without the written con-
sent of “the individual to whom the record pertains.” 5
U.S.C. 552a(b).

12

Petitioners do not contest that Williams’ employee
time records pertain to Williams. They instead suggest
that the time sheets also pertain to Berger. Pet. 32-33,
34-35; see Pet. 31 n.9. The evidentiary record, however,
does not support that contention. The time sheets them-
selves are not in the record, cf. Pet. App. 23a (declining
to conduct 72n camera review), and the declaration that
describes them states that the documents are Williams’
“personal recording of the time [she] expended)as [an
IRS] employee over a particular period of time,” includ-
ing the time that she spent “examining various taxpay-
ers” and the time she “reported as sick leave, vacation
time, training, and for other administrative purposes.”
C.A. App. 388. Those records, the declaration adds,
“were created as a result of and in accordance with her
term of employment” and “are not records about [peti-
tioner Berger].” Jd. at 389. The court of appeals re-
viewed the summary judgment record de novo and, like
the district court, concluded that the evidence showed
that Williams’ time records did not pertain to Berger.
Pet. App. 8a, 45a.*

Relying on Voelker v. IRS, 646 F.2d 332 (8th Cir.
1981), petitioners argue that, “if a record concerns two
people, the record may be retrieved [under the Privacy
Act] by either person without the consent of the other.”
Pet. 35. The summary judgment record, however, does
not show that Williams’ time sheets actually pertain to
petitioner Berger, and that factual shortcoming alone
makes this case a poor vehicle to review petitioners’
fact-bound contentions.

- The court of appeals based its ruling on a de novo review of the
Privacy Act claim, applying the same summary judgment standard as
the district court. Pet. App. 7a.

13

Moreover, even if Williams’ time sheets included ref-
erences to Berger, this Court’s review would not be war-
ranted because the court of appeals’ decision does not
conflict with Voelker. In Voelker, the IRS completed an
investigation of Voelker and Voelker sought access to
his investigatory record under the Privacy Act. 646
F.2d at 333. The IRS redacted those portions of the rec-
ord that involved “personal information pertaining to a
third party” because it reasoned that such information
did not “pertain” to Voelker. /bid. The court concluded
that such redaction was improper because Section
552a(d)(1) “clearly states that an individual is entitled to
his record” and, therefore, does not require that the
individual “meet some separate ‘pertaining to’ standard”
when seeking to access information in his own file. /d.
at 334. Voelker thus holds that “information contained
in a requesting individual’s record” cannot be withheld
“on the ground that the [particular] information does not
pertain to that individual.” /bid. The records at issue
here, in contrast, are Williams’ time records, which doc-
ument the time spent by Williams on various job-related
matters. Even if a portion of those records refers to
Berger, Voelker merely supports the proposition that
Williams (not Berger) would be entitled to have access
to all of her time records, even if portions mention other
individuals. Voelker does not speak to the distinct ques-
tion whether an individual referred in Williams’ time
records would also be entitled to access to those re-
cords.”

’ Petitioners make two additional arguments, neither of which sug-
gests that certiorari is warranted. First, petitioners contend (Pet. 33-
34) that Williams’ daily time sheets may be retrieved by Berger’s name
from an IRS “system of records” based on an assertion that the records
are actually part of the “ENT!TY Case Management System.” Second,

14

The court of appeals’ conclusion that Williams’ time
records do not pertain to petitioner is fact-bound, and
petitioners identify no conflict of authority that would
justify review of the court of appeals’ unpublished, non-
precedential decision. No further review is warranted.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

ELENA KAGAN
Solicitor General
JOHN DICICCO
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
JONATHAN S. COHEN
GRETCHEN M. WOLFINGER
Attorneys

MAY 2009

they argue (Pet. 35-36) that Williams’ time sheets are not exempt from
diselusure under Section 552a(k)(2). The government disputed those
contentions, Gov't C.A. Br. 17-19, which petitioners raised for the first
time on appeal, and the court of appeals found it unnecessary to resolve
either question in light of its determination that the tirne sheets did not
pertain to Berger. See Pet. App. 8a & n.5, 10a n.5.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386017_0040%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
