# Amicus Curiae Brief — Idaho v. Estrada (No. 06-1410)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2470%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

S me Court, U.S.
A — FILED

No. 06-1410 MAY 2 4 2007

In The OFFICE OF THE CLERK |
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

IDAHO,

Petitioner,
vs.

KRISPEN ESTRADA,
Respondent.

4

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court of Idaho

¢

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE OF THE STATES
OF IOWA, ARKANSAS, COLORADO, MICHIGAN,
MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEVADA,

NEW HAMPSHIRE, NORTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE,
TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, AND WEST VIRGINIA,
AND THE COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO

IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

¢

TIIOMAS J. MILLER
Attorney General of Iowa

MARY TABOR
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record
Hoover State Office Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
Telephone: (515) 281-5976
Fax: (515) 281-4902
E-mail: mtabor@ag.state.ia.us
Counsel for Amici Curiae States

| Additional Counsel Listed On Inside Cover]

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

DUSTIN MCDANIEL
Attorney General
State of Arkansas

DANIEL D. DOMENICO
Solicitor General
State of Colorado

MICHAEL A. Cox
Attorney General
State of Michigan

LORI SWANSON
Attorney General
State of Minnesota

MIKE MCGRATH
Attorney General
State of Montana

CATHERINE CORTEZ MASTO
Attorney General
State of Nevada

KELLY A. AYOTTE
Attorney General
State of New Hampshire

WAYNE STENEHJEM
Attorney General
State of North Dakota

SALVADOR ANTONNETTI
Solicitor General
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

ROBERT E. COOPER, JR.
Attorney General
State of Tennessee

GREG ABBOTT
Attorney General
State of Texas

MARK L. SHURTLEFF
Attorney General
State of Utah

WILLIAM SORRELL
Attorney General
State of Vermont

DARRELL V. MCGRAW, JR.
Attorney General
State of West Virginia

QUESTION PRESENTED

May a sentencing court draw adverse inferences from
a defendant’s refusal to cooperate in a presentencing
evaluation without violating the Fifth Amendment privi-
lege against self-incrimination?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented
Interest of Amici Curiae
Reasons for Granting the Petition

I. Expansive interpretations of Mitchell v. United
States leave convicted defendants with little
incentive to cooperate with court-ordered psy-
chosexual evaluations, curtailing the availabil-
ity of valuable information to assist sentencing
courts in reaching the appropriate disposition
for sexual offenders like Estrada

Because sentence-enhancing facts must be
found by the jury and not the sentencing judge

under the Sixth Amendment, an expansion of
the Fifth Amendment privilege at sentencing
is not necessary to protect defendants from
giving incriminating testimony about the
crime which could increase the maximum pen-

Conclusion

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES
Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000)....4, 14, 16, 17
Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296 (2004)
Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547 (1892)

Cunningham v. California, __ U.S. __, 127 S.Ct.
856 (2007)

Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965)

Lee v. Crouse, 451 F.3d 598 (10th Cir. 2006)

Mitchell v. United States, 526 U.S. 314 (1999)

Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002)

Roberts v. United States, 445 U.S. 552 (1980)

United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220 (2005)....4, 13, 15, 16
United States v. Zucker, 161 U.S. 475 (1896)

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949)

STATE CASES
Estrada v. State, 2005 WL 2436232 (Idaho App.

Estrada v. State, 149 P.3d 833 (Idaho 2006)....2, 3, 7, 10, 11
Hines v. State, 856 N.E.2d 1275 (Ind. App. 2006)

Lee v. State, 36 P.3d 1133 (Wyo. 2001)

State v. Blunt, 71 P.3d 657 (Wash. App. 2003)

State v. Muscari, 807 A.2d 407 (Vt. 2002)

lV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

State v. Palmer, 608 N.W.2d 378, 2004 WL 240012
ET Fh ia icra dincsiledsnéscntichioiemaneassennbionses 10
State v. Thorkelson, 84 P.3d 854 (Utah App. 2004)............ 9

CONSTITUTION
Be Res PIII, F sovessécodbccicededecasaeniocesuunscsasvemiuladd passim
a Re, MN id i niras ccs cntgial adedmmeliigbadulass passim
STATUTES

Rani NA IIs SE RA BUI i. sciis csbinncsaniabesnanlondoesebenedanmnnennts 8
i 7
RUN OF DPR Lalinsdibisndevesehaanecisiastepncipoesinckenssalanmneri 7
Pe Se Re ah ctssussnsnksccasitecainncovonsssvenicnsvicnidenesiahinal 7
SN AE DID oaiiscccstncesciscearcsercscsadisecninunbacauenion 9
Iowa Admin. Code § 201-38.4 (QS03B)..........ccccccccccecereceeeeeees 8
DN Ts OIE pais esei atocasincdorsoniedeaseiyeavecesabebocs 8
Pe IN PS Foo ideiciovesvecivsisstecerenicasednncecassestingningiin 8
Ps BG FF i ribtidtncchnccindousdccsnennieccdcvenidivasisisesumins 8
B.D. Coditied Laws $ 22-22-1.38......cccccscesecorsessscssocssetesoseoeses 9
‘Team. Code Amn, § BO-1B- TOK) ....:ccccccsccccvescecesncorcsncoeesveovss 9
a Se Be Fe aitheisareiuichcitheniioriencnstesteunbasueabiadaniohe 9

Pome. OS Ce S O.GA GD vrccicicccccccievescconevctenetessistsinnbente 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Anthony J. Phelps, Applicability of the Fifth
Amendment Privilege Against Self-Incrimination
at Sentencing: Mitchell v. United States Settles
the Conflict, 38 Brandeis L. J. 107 (1999-2000)

Daniel Macallair, The History of the Presentence
Investigation Report, Center on Juvenile and Crimi-
nal Justice (2002) www.cjcj.org/pubs/index.php, last
visited on May 7, 2007

Douglas A. Berman and Stephanos Bibas, Making
Sentencing Sensible, 4 Ohio St. J. Crim. L. 37

Kyron Huigens, Solving the Williams Puzzle, 105

Colum. L, Hav. 1048 (2006) .......ccosrcescorservveccerveccocoves

Madeline Carter, Kurt Bumby and Thomas Talbot,
Promoting Offender Accountability and Commu-
nity Safety through the Comprehensive Approach
to Sex Offender Management, 34 Seton Hall L.
Rev. 1273 (2004)

Wayne R. LaFave, Jerold H. Israel and Nancy J.
King, 5 Criminal Procedure § 26.4 (2007)

Page

prees 16

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The amici states, through their Attorneys General,
respectfully submit their brief in support of the petitioner.

The states have a substantial interest in ensuring the
accurate sentencing and rehabilitation of defendants
following their criminal convictions. To that end, presen-
tence investigation reports provide a central source of
information for sentencing judges and departments of
corrections. Moreover, psychosexual examinations are an
important tool in evaluating the ongoing risk and treat-
ment needs of sexual offenders. The states’ efforts in
gathering pertinent information about sexual offenders
would be hindered if other state appellate courts were to
follow the lead of the Idaho Supreme Court in broadly
interpreting the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-
incrimination to allow convicted sex offenders to refuse
participation in such evaluations without any worry that
the sentencing court may draw an adverse inference from
that refusal.

A defendant’s willingness to cooperate with presen-
tence investigators provides a good measure of whether he
or she will respond to rehabilitative efforts and pose no
further threat to society. Forcing a sentencing court to
turn a blind eye to a defendant’s lack of cooperation
diminishes the accuracy of sentencing determinations,
while not advancing the purposes of the Fifth Amendment
privilege.

State appellate courts have reached inconsistent
decisions whether sentencing courts may draw adverse
inferences from a convicted defendant’s silence at sentenc-
ing regarding matters other than the facts of the offense.
Such inconsistency leaves the states in doubt about their

ability to enforce court orders regarding participation in
psychosexual evaluations and other presentence investiga-
tions and to argue noncompliance as a factor in their
sentencing recommendations. A consistent and appropri-
ately narrow application of the Fifth Amendment in the
sentencing context is of great importance to the amici
states.

For these reasons, 15 states urge the Court to grant
certiorari and resolve this important question.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

In Mitchell v. United States, 526 U.S. 314 (1999), the
Court expressly left open the question of whether the no-
adverse-inference rule applies at sentencing outside the
judicial fact-finding context. Lower courts, in addressing
that open question, have experienced the “decent period of
confusion” anticipated by the dissent. See Mitchell v.
United States, 526 U.S. at 340 (1999) (Scalia, J., dissent-
ing). Idaho’s petition should be granted to clarify the scope
of the Fifth Amendment privilege as applied to cooperation
with presentence investigations.

This Court has interpreted the Fifth Amendment as
prohibiting a trial court from drawing an adverse infer-
ence based on the defendant’s silence at the sentencing
hearing when determining facts about the crime which
bear upon the severity of the sentence. Mitchell v. United
States, 526 U.S. at 316-17. Although the Idaho Supreme
Court did not cite Mitchell in Estrada v. State, 149 P.3d
833 (Idaho 2006) decision, the state appellate court implic-
itly expanded the no-adverse-inference rule to shield a
convicted rapist from any consequences related to his refusal to

cooperate with a court-ordered psychosexual evaluation. Such
an expansive interpretation of Mitchell will deprive sentencing
courts of valuable information about convicted sex offenders
which can be gathered only through psychosexual evaluations.

The states advance two reasons for granting the
petition. The first reason is a practical one: an expansion
of the no-adverse-inference rule beyond the facts in
Mitchell will reduce the flow of information to sentencing
courts. The second reason is more theoretical: the renais-
sance of the Sixth Amendment jury trial right, whereby no
sentence-enhancing facts may be reserved for determina-
tion by the sentencing judge, should influence this Court’s
view of how broadly to apply the Fifth Amendment privi-
lege against self-incrimination at sentencing.

On the practical side, many state statutes now require
or permit courts to order convicted sex offenders to un-
dergo psychosexual evaluations before sentencing. These
evaluations provide much-needed insight into an of-
fender’s potential for recidivism, treatment amenability,
supervision concerns, potential risk issues and treatment
goals. If the reasoning in Estrada carries the day, con-
victed sex offenders have little incentive to submit to a
court-ordered evaluation. Courts could draw no inference
from their refusal, while submitting to the testing could
reveal damaging facts about their deviant sexual history.
Without access to the information obtained in psychosex-
ual evaluations, sentencing courts will reach less accurate
sentencing decisions. State courts have reached inconsis-
tent decisions when applying Mitchell’s no-adverse-
inference rule to presentencing issues. It is important to
the states that this Court enunciate a clear rule regarding
a sentencing court’s ability to consider a defendant’s non-
compliance with court-ordered presentence evaluations.

4

On the theoretical side, this Court should grant
review to consider whether recent case law reinvigorating
the Sixth Amendment jury trial guarantee also should
inform the Fifth Amendment self-incrimination analysis.
This Court’s Sixth Amendment jurisprudence has begun to
extricate elemental findings from the sentencing realm
and return them to be adjudicated by a jury at trial. See,
e.g., United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220 (2005) (manda-
tory use of federal sentencing guidelines violated right
to jury trial on any fact required to enhance a criminal
sentence); Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 477
(2000) (holding that other than the fact of a prior convic-
tion, any fact that increases the penalty for a crime beyond
the prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted to a
jury, and proved beyond a reasonable doubt). This move to
restore the Sixth Amendment jury trial right requires
reexamination of the extension of the Fifth Amendment
right against self-incrimination into non-capital sentenc-
ing decisions.

This Court’s case law has “long recognized a natural
dichotomy between guilt and penalty phases.” Mitchell v.
United States, 526 U.S. at 338 (Scalia, J., dissenting).
Because many facts which increase the penalty for a crime
may not be determined at sentencing under the resur-
gence of the Sixth Amendment jury trial right, Fifth
Amendment self-incrimination concerns at sentencing are
greatly reduced. This Court should grant review to con-
sider the impact of Apprendi and its progeny on the
potential expansion of the no-adverse-inference rule of
Mitchell.

5

I. Expansive interpretations of Mitchell v. United
States leave convicted defendants with little
incentive to cooperate with court-ordered psy-
chosexual evaluations, curtailing the availabil-
ity of valuable information to assist sentencing
courts in reaching the appropriate disposition
for sexual offenders like Estrada.

The states have a keen interest in reducing sex crime
recidivism by imposing appropriate sentences and provid-
ing offenders with the most effective treatment and
supervision. To successfully manage sex offenders, “key
decision makers must have routine access to thorough,
reliable, and individualized assessment data, including
presentence investigations and psychosexual evaluations
conducted by specially trained sex offender management
professionals.” Madeline Carter, Kurt Bumby and Thomas
Talbot, Promoting Offender Accountability and Community
Safety through the Comprehensive Approach to Sex Of-
fender Management, 34 Seton Hall L. Rev. 1273, 1282
(2004). More generally, presentence investigation (PSI)
reports are “critical in assisting judges in rendering
sentencing decisions and providing vital information to
correctional officials in determining classifications and
release decisions” and “remain the most influential docu-
ment in the sentencing of criminal defendants.” Daniel
Macallair, The History of the Presentence Investigation
Report, Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (2002).’

More than 50 years ago, this Court endorsed the work
of presentence investigators and the value of their product
to accurate sentencing determinations:

* This article is available at www.cjcj.org/pubs/index. php, last visited
on May 7, 2007.

6

Under the practice of individualizing punish-
ments, investigation techniques have been given
an important role. Probation workers making re-
ports of their investigations have not been
trained to prosecute but to aid offenders. Their
reports have been given a high value by consci-
entious judges who want to sentence persons on
the best available information rather than on
guesswork and inadequate information. [] To de-
prive sentencing judges of this kind of informa-
tion would undermine modern penological
procedural policies that have been cautiously
adopted throughout the nation after careful con-
sideration and experimentation.

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241, 250 (1949) (rejecting
argument that due process prohibited sentencing court
from considering information obtained outside the court-
room concerning “the convicted person’s past life, health,
habits, conduct, and mental and moral propensities”).

In preparation for sentencing Estrada on his rape
conviction, the Idaho district court ordered him to undergo
a psychosexual evaluation. Idaho state law requires
certain offenders to undergo a psychosexual evaluation
upon conviction if mandated by the court. The statute
provides:

If ordered by the court, an offender convicted of
any offense listed in section 18-8304, Idaho Code,
shall submit to an evaluation to be completed
and submitted to the court in the form of a writ-
ten report from a certified evaluator as defined in
section 18-8303, Idaho Code, for the court’s con-
sideration prior to sentencing and incarceration
or release on probation.

Idaho Code § 18-8316. Idaho state law defines a psycho-
sexual evaluation as “an evaluation which specifically
addresses sexual development, sexual deviancy, sexual

history and risk of reoffense as part of a comprehensive
evaluation of an offender.” Idaho Code § 18-8303(11).

The evaluation did not seek the defendant’s testimony
on any fact regarding the crime the State needed to prove
to increase his punishment. Rather, “[t]he information
provided in the evaluation allowed the district court to
make a more informed, appropriate sentencing decision
that best furthered the sentencing goals set forth in [Idaho
Code] § 19-2521.” Estrada v. State, 2005 WL 2436232
(Idaho App. 2005), reversed by Estrada v. State, 149 P.3d
833 (Idaho 2006).

When Estrada balked at being evaluated, his attorney
advised him to submit to the evaluation: “We would not
want the judge to consider your lack of cooperation to
mean that you are not willing to comply with court or-
ders.” That advice should have been considered sound. A
convicted sex offender’s refusal to comply with a court-
ordered evaluation may inform a sentencing court’s belief
that he did not accept responsibility for his offense, that he
posed a continuing danger to others or that he did not
show much promise for rehabilitation — all traditional,
legitimate sentencing considerations. See Roberts uv.
United States, 445 U.S. 552, 558 (1980) (“By declining to
cooperate, petitioner rejected an ‘obligatio[n] of community
life’ that should be recognized before rehabilitation can
begin.”).

However, the Idaho Supreme Court concluded that
counsel was ineffective for failing to advise the defendant
that he had a Fifth Amendment right to ignore the court

8

order without consequence at sentencing. Such an expan-
sive interpretation of the privilege against self-incrimination
compromises routine access to pertinent information about
the offender gathered by psychosexual evaluations and
compiled in presentence investigation reports. The likeli-
hood that convicted defendants will comply with court-
ordered testing is lessened by an appellate decision that
the Fifth Amendment allows defendants to snub such
evaluations without consequence.

Like Idaho, numerous state legislatures have adopted
statutes either requiring or allowing courts to order a
convicted offender to undergo a psychosexual or other
psychological evaluation to assist them in choosing the
appropriate sentence. See, e.g., Colo. Rev. Stat. § 16-11-102
(“the court, in cases that it deems appropriate, may
require the presentence report to include the findings and
results of a professionally conducted psychiatric examina-
tion of the defendant”); Iowa Admin. Code § 201-38.4
(903B) (“A psychosexual assessment shall be conducted on
all [serious sex] offenders, as a part of the presentence
investigation (PSI) prior to sentencing.”); Minn. Stat.
§ 609.3457 (“When a person is convicted of a sex offense,
the court shall order an independent professional assess-
ment of the offender’s need for sex offender treatment to
be completed before sentencing.”); Mont. Code § 46-18-111
(requiring presentence investigation for sex crimes to
include “psychosexual evaluation of the defendant and a
recommendation as to treatment of the defendant in the
least restrictive environment, considering the risk the
defendant presents to the community and the defendant’s
needs”); Nev. Rev. Stat. § 176.139 (“If a defendant is
convicted of a sexual offense for which the suspension of
sentence or the granting of probation is permitted, the

9

division shall arrange for a psychosexual evaluation of the
defendant as part of the division’s presentence investiga-
tion and report to the court.”); S.D. Codified Laws § 22-22-
1.3 (person convicted of a sex crime “shall have included in
the offender’s presentence investigation report a psycho-
sexual assessment including the following information: the
offender’s sexual history; an identification of precursor
activities to sexual offending; intellectual, adaptive and
academic functioning; social and emotional functioning;
previous legal history; previous treatment history; victim
selection and age; risk to the community; and treatment
options recommended”); Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-13-704(2)
(establishing “sex offender treatment board” which deter-
mined that psychosexual evaluations are useful tools in
the treatment and evaluation of sex offenders); Vt. Stat.
tit. 13 § 5405 (“The court shall order a presentence inves-

tigation which shall include a psychosexual evaluation of
the offender.”); Wash. Rev. Code § 9.944.505 (legislature
authorized trial court discretion to order psychosexual
evaluations).

States without a specific statute authorizing psycho-
sexual evaluations have interpreted their presentence
investigation statutes as allowing a court to order such an
evaluation. See, e.g., Hines v. State, 856 N.E.2d 1275, 1278
n.2 (Ind. App. 2006) (interpreting Indiana Code § 35-38-1-
9); State v. Thorkelson, 84 P.3d 854, 857 (Utah App. 2004)
(“while a psychosexual evaluation may be useful in sen-
tencing, it is not mandatory”).

Despite these legislative efforts to provide sentencing
courts and corrections officials with more accurate infor-
mation about sexual offenders’ placement and treatment
needs, questions about the breadth of Mitchell’s no-
adverse-inference rule leave states with an uncomfortable

10

uncertainty. It is unclear whether courts may enforce their
orders for evaluations. It is unclear whether defense
attorneys may advise their clients to cooperate with
psychosexual evaluations. It is unclear whether prosecu-
tors may urge courts to consider noncompliance for its
relevance to a defendant’s failure to accept responsibility,
future dangerousness, lack of remorse or similar sentenc-
ing factors.

Emblematic of the uncertainty are the contradictory
conclusions regarding the reach of the Fifth Amendment
privilege adopted by appellate courts in the neighboring
states of Idaho and Wyoming. As it now stands, sentencing
courts in Wyoming may consider a convicted defendant’s
refusal to submit to a psychological evaluation in deter-
mining the appropriate penalty (Lee v. State, 36 P.3d 1133
(Wyo. 2001), but sentencing courts in Idaho may not
(Estrada v. State, 149 P.3d 833 (Idaho 2006)). The Wyo-
ming Supreme Court held: “A defendant’s failure to coop-
erate in the PSI is certainly a valid factor for a trial court
to consider in contemplating the appropriate sentence.”
Lee v. State, 36 P.3d at 1141.’ In reviewing this state court
decision on habeas, the Tenth Circuit noted: “it remains
unanswered by the Supreme Court whether a sentencing
court in a non-capital case may, for purposes other than
determining the facts. of the offense of conviction, draw an
adverse inference from a criminal defendant’s refusal to
testify or cooperate.” ive v. Crouse, 451 F.3d 598, 605 (10th

* Other state courts have reached similar post-Mitchell decisions.
See, e.g., State v. Palmer, 608 N.W.2d 378, 2004 WL 240012 (Iowa Ct.
App. 2004); State v. Muscari, 807 A.2d 407, 416 (Vt. 2002); State v.
Blunt, 71 P.3d 657, 662 (Wash. App. 2003) (sentencing court did not
violate Fifth Amendment in noting defendant’s failure to challenge
State’s proof of prior convictions).

11

Cir. 2006). The federal court therefore concluded that the
Wyoming court’s decision was not contrary to or an unrea-
sonable application of clearly established federal law. Id.
at 606.

The lack of clearly established federal law on this
issue calls for resolution by this Court. The states need a
definitive answer whether the privilege against self-
incrimination allows defendants to skip court-ordered
evaluations without suffering any consequence for -their
recalcitrance. The states’ efforts to provide sentencing courts
with the best possible information about sexual offenders
will be thwarted by the continuing uncertainty posed by
cases like Estrada.

Il. Because sentence-enhancing facts must be

found by the jury and not the sentencing judge
under the Sixth Amendment, an expansion of
the Fifth Amendment privilege at sentencing is
not necessary to protect defendants from giv-
ing incriminating testimony about the crime
which could increase the maximum penalty.

In delivering the majority opinion in Mitchell v.
United States, Justice Kennedy acknowledged: “It is true,
as a general rule, that where there can be no further
incrimination, there is no basis for assertion of the privi-
lege.” Mitchell v. United States, 526 U.S. 314, 326 (1999).
The majority reasoned, however, that “[wlhere the sen-
tence has not yet been imposed a defendant may have a
legitimate fear of adverse consequences from further
testimony.” Jd. In Mitchell, the “further testimony” sought
from the defendant at sentencing involved the quantity of
drugs she conspired to distribute. Jd. at 320.

12

The Mitchell Court rejected the government’s argu-
ment that the district court was entitled, based on her
silence, to draw an adverse inference with regard to the
amount of drugs attributable to her. Jd. at 329. The Court
then cited Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965) for the
proposition that “in a criminal case ... no negative infer-
ence from the defendant’s failure to testify is permitted.”
Id. The Court declined to adopt an exception for “the
sentencing phase of a criminal case with regard to factual
determinations respecting the circumstances and details of
the crime.” Jd.

Justice Kennedy, however, emphasized the narrow-
ness of Mitchell’s holding:

Whether silence bears upon the determination of
a lack of remorse, or upon acceptance of respon-
sibility for purposes of the downward departure
in [the federal sentencing guidelines] is a sepa-
rate question. It is not before us, and we express
no view on it.

Id. at 330.

Commentators have concluded that “[b]y limiting its
opinion to inferences about facts alone, the Court left open
the possibility that a valid assertion of the privilege could
be considered for some purposes (assessing the defendant’s
character or willingness to cooperate, for example), but not
other purposes (assessing the existence of particular
historical facts relevant to sentence).” Wayne R. LaFave,
Jerold H. Israel and Nancy J. King, 5 Criminal Procedure
§ 26.4 (2007); see also Anthony J. Phelps, Applicability of
the Fifth Amendment Privilege Against Self-Incrimination
at Sentencing: Mitchell v. United States Settles the Con-
flict, 38 Brandeis L. J. 107, 128 (1999-2000) (“The Court’s

13

holding still allows a court’s broad query into sentencing-
related matters; it simply requires prosecutors to bear the
burden of establishing essential sentencing-based facts,
thereby preventing defendants from becoming witnesses
against themselves.”).

The Mitchell Court’s holding that the Fifth Amend-
ment prevents the government from relying on a convicted
defendant’s silence at sentencing to prove additional facts
about the crime which could elevate the punishment
predated significant changes in Sixth Amendment juris-
prudence which limit the type of facts which may be left to
a sentencing judge. A year after issuing Mitchell, this
Court decided Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 490
(2000), holding that other than the fact of a prior convic-
tion, any fact that increases the penalty for a crime beyond
the prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted to a
jury, and proved beyond a reasonable doubt.

Apprendi ushered in a line of cases strengthening the
Sixth Amendment jury trial right. In Ring v. Arizona, 536
U.S. 584, 610 (2002), this Court expanded Apprendi’s
reach by holding that capital defendants are “entitled to a
jury determination of any fact on which the legislature
conditions an increase in their maximum punishment.” In
Blakely v. Washington, 542 U.S. 296, 303 (2004), this
Court clarified that the “statutory maximum” for Apprendi
purposes is the maximum sentence a judge may impose
solely on the basis of the facts reflected in the jury verdict
or admitted by the defendant. In United States v. Booker,
543 U.S. 220 (2005), this Court declared that the manda-
tory use of federal sentencing guidelines violated the right
to jury trial on any fact required to enhance a criminal
sentence. Finally, in Cunningham v. California, __ U.S.
__, 127 S. Ct. 856 (2007), this Court found that California’s

14

determinate sentencing law violated the Sixth Amend-
ment, as understood in Apprendi, by granting the judge
rather than the jury the power to find facts which raise
the maximum lawful sentence.

In the wake of Apprendi and its progeny, a question
arises whether the new constitutional rules for modern
sentencing schemes should include an expansive reading
of the Fifth Amendment privilege against self incrimina-
tion. Justice Kennedys reasoning for the majority in
Mitchell suggested a dichotomy between factual determi-
nations respecting the circumstances and details of the
crime and factors exhibited by the defendant, such as
acceptance of responsibility or lack of remorse. Mitchell v.
United States, 526 U.S. at 330.° Now that facts essential to
the punishment must be determined by the jury’s verdict
alone, the Mitcheli majority’s concern about a convicted
defendant’s risk of giving incriminating testimony before
the sentencing judge is abated.

This Court has interpreted the Fifth Amendment
guarantee that no person be compelled in “any criminal
case” to be a witness against himself as broader than the
Sixth Amendment guarantee of a jury trial “in all criminal
prosecutions.” See Counselman v. Hitchcock, 142 U.S. 547,
563 (1892). However, the Fifth Amendment’s object is “to

* The majority in Cunningham rejected Justice Kennedy's distinc-
tion between facts concerning the offense and facts concerning the
offender for jury trial purposes. Cunningham v. California, 127 S. Ct. at
869 n.14.

* In his Mitchell dissent, Justice Scalia did not adhere to the
Counselman observation, instead asserting that the phrase “in all
criminal prosecutions” from the Sixth Amendment was “indistinguish-
able” from the “in any criminal case” terminology in the Fifth Amend-
ment. Mitchell v. United States, 526 U.S. at 338 (Scalia, J., dissenting).

15

insure that a person should not be compelled, when acting
as a witness in any investigation, to give testimony which
might tend to show that he himself had committed a
crime.” See United States v. Zucker, 161 U.S. 475, 482
(1896). Thus, testimony about facts of the crime or the
government’s attempt to use the offender’s silence to “infer
commission of disputed criminal acts,” even at sentencing,
would implicate the Fifth Amendment. See Mitchell, 526
U.S. at 329. On the contrary, the results of an offender’s
psychosexual evaluation, or the use of the offender’s
refusal to submit to an evaluation to infer he is not ame-
nable to treatment, would not implicate the Fifth Amend-
ment. Where the fact considered by the sentencing court
does not increase the punishment beyond its statutory
maximum, the defendant would have neither a jury trial
right under the Sixth Amendment nor would he be com-

pelled to be a witness against himself under the Fifth
Amendment.

In United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. at 233, this Court
reiterated that the Sixth Amendment permits only the
jury to find those facts which have fixed and predictable
sentencing consequences, but also recognized that judges
may consider factors not adjudicated at trial when making
discretionary sentencing decisions. See Douglas A. Berman
and Stephanos Bibas, Making Sentencing Sensible, 4 Ohio
St. J. Crim. L. 37, 57-58 (2006). Professors Berman and
Bibas describe this fact/judgment distinction as follows:
“Booker safeguards the notion of sentencing as a distinct
criminal justice enterprise that requires the exercise of
reasoned judgment, not just offense fact-finding.” Jd. at 58.

This distinct enterprise of sentencing and the role of
judicial discretion in reaching a “more enlightened and
just sentence” was recognized in Williams v. New York, 337

16

U.S. 241, 251 (1949). In Booker, this Court cited Williams
right beside Apprendi to support the statement: “We have
never doubted the authority of a judge to exercise broad
discretion in imposing a sentence within a statutory
range.” United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. at 233. As such,
Apprendi’s limit on judicial fact-finding at sentencing
under the Sixth Amendment did not undermine Williams’
approval of discretionary sentencing against a due process
challenge. Kyron Huigens, Solving the Williams Puzzle,
105 Colum. L. Rev. 1048, 1056 (2005). Sentencing judges
will be less able to carry out their specialized role if they
are prohibited under the Fifth Amendment from consider-
ing a defendant’s failure to cooperate with presentencing
evaluations, a fact not reserved for the jury under Ap-
prendi.

Under the regime started in Apprendi, fewer “factual
determinations respecting the circumstances and details of
the crime” are left to the sentencing court. As such, sen-
tencing courts are focused on traditional factors influenc-
ing what penalty to assign based on the characteristics of
a particular defendant, such as acceptance of responsibil-
ity, lack of remorse, risk of re-offending and amenability to
rehabilitation. A defendant’s decision whether to comply
with a psychosexual evaluation or other aspects of the
presentencing investigation bears on these traditional
sentencing factors. Ordering the defendant to submit to a
psychosexual evaluation does not compel him to be a
witness against himself in a criminal case. It compels him
to reveal facts about himself which are independent of the
crime already adjudicated and useful to the discretionary
assessment entrusted to the sentencing judge.

The reinvigoration of the jury trial right in criminal
prosecutions allays the concern underlying Mitchell that a

17

defendant’s decision to remain silent about a fact of the
offense which the government sought to prove at sentenc-
ing should not give rise to an adverse inference by the
sentencing court. The Idaho Supreme Court’s decision
failed to recognize the impact of Apprendi on the scope of
the privilege against self-incrimination at sentencing.
Granting the petition would provide this Court an oppor-
tunity to consider the interplay between Fifth Amendment
and Sixth Amendment case law governing sentencing
jurisprudence.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the amici curiae states respectfully
request that the petition for writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS J. MILLER
Attorney General of lowa

MARY TABOR
Assistant Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

Hoover State Office Building
Des Moines, lowa 50319
May 24, 2007 515-281-5976

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2470%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
