# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ursini v. Gonzales (No. 06-1400)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2460%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

Supreme Court. US
PPL

({
D 061400 A£e7 1 § 2007

No, OFFICE OF THE CLEtK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

Nadezhda Ursini,
Petitioner,
v.

Alberto Gonzales, Attorney General,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DIANA F. CHAMBERLAIN ELENA E. TSIPRIN
Law Offices of Counsel of Record
Elena E. Tsiprin Law Offices of
14670 NE 8th Street, Elena E. Tsiprin
Suite 210 14670 NE 8th Street,
Bellevue, WA 98007 Suite 210

Bellevue, WA 98607
(425) 614-4744

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Congress has authorized Immigration Courts to
determine if an applicant for asylum has submitted a
frivolous asylum application. Immigration and Nationality
Act § 1158(d)(6). If such a determination is made, the
applicant is forever barred from immigration benefits and
relief in the United States. However, such a finding is
only valid if substantial evidence supports the finding that
the applicant knows her claim is false when she files her
asylum application. Congress imposed this substantial
limitation on frivolous findings because the consequences
are so dire. For this reason, few frivolous findings are
made, and they are only upheld when clear, tangible, and
credible evidence support the finding.

The first issue presented relates to frivolous findings.
Specifically, what is the correct standard to be used by the
Immigration Courts; what is the appropriate time to
evaluate the applicant’s knowledge; and what constitutes
sufficient evidence in properly determining if an asylum
application is frivolous. These interrelated topics pose
novel questions for this Court as well as the Board of
Immigration Appeals (“BIA”) and are the subject of
current circuit splits.

The second issue deals with the lower court’s gross
departure from the accepted and usual course of judicial
proceedings. Specifically, the lower court’s streamlining
in a case of this- magnitude is a gross departure from
accepted judicial proceedings; its choice to evaluate, on
the merits, an unclear and inconsistent BIA decision
abandons its review duties; and its judgment ultimately
conflicts with holdings in sister circuits and precedent.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
STE eee WEN EOD ii ivictncoctenaecesenecvenesissens i
SPR CIE PRAT IIR ED vikcnnccecescccssevovesceern scenic Vv
SIT IEE iieicind ncviaeddinstovncsceusendenavecsedees |
PRT NPI dicpciacu el ese io sssebthccusdeiennaiesenens l
STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND AGENCY
REATULA THINS PIV VED ccc ccecssccocsecersscavesecers 2
REIGNS exh aists ens, i ih peor Hare 3
Pe TY TRIE in cick vib es nrteegneccxeswinnes 7
B. Factual Background. ................ nteadteeneseotapers 7
IN INN i cnictsa ucsivst es deoineupnckeeiess 9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... 10
A. A Uniform Standard That Properly
Embodies The Frivolous Finding
Statute And Regulation Is Required
To Ensure Essential Oversight And
POE III i cicccinveskusdeacmaddcenasa’s 10
B. The Federal Courts Of Appeal Are
Irreconcilably Split On Several Issues
Relevant To Frivolous Findings..................... 13

(111)

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— continued
Page

C. Review Is Also Warranted Because
The Decision Below Is Clearly
Incorrect And Reveals The Panel’s
Gross Departure From Usual Judicial
PUI Sci divas craks tuccuicd an acca bus incirvcehaes 16

1. The Ninth Circuit’s “streamlining”
in a case of this magnitude is a
gross departure from the usual course

i)

The Ninth Circuit’s decision to even
review the BIA’s unclear and

inconsistent decision that did not
explicitly reach the frivolous finding

1s also a gross departure from the usual
course of judicial proceedings............. 19

3. The Ninth Circuit’s decision on the
merits conflicts with decisions in its
sister circuits as well as with its own
SNOEUIE Sus ices ded cai ee jaceet cauesshueceine 20
D. This Issue Is Of Substantial Practical
Importance And Will Affect Many
PTY PCIE io ies sick ctestccocaveiekateeine 22

RP ENGI co cndiccecond toss sandsiass aoe akeuieaaes 24

(iv)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES
Alexandrov v. Gonzales,

442 F.3d 395 (6th Cir. 2006) ................. 4,5, 15, 20, 21
Almaghzar v. Gonzales,

Be Fe GES CU CHE, DOGO oa scrsecicccccsonccesducenss 14
Arulampalam v. Ashcroft,

Se eT CPN EL) DOESD oocncr a vavatdadveevecdssesseiw l
Aziz v. Gonzales,

Fe ce a LE Es SOT) vvcccccvccccsrvescrevness 5.13
Barreto-Claro v. U.S. Attorney General,

rq ef BR Soh fe ae. - | | ne SEL
Efe v. Ashcroft,

295-650 OOP (5ths Cie, JOGZ) i... occ cccsiccccsess an Ft
Ezeagwuna v. Ashcroft,

Kya g wR, Tk Ea Ae) nA 2
Farah v. Ashcroft,

SO ee BE CO, BOGS oc sinvic vi ccescacecnsccces 4,14
Hanaj v. Gonzales,

446 F.3d 694, 699 (7th Cir. 2006) ................ eee 22
Ignatova v. Gonzales.

SID FSG F209 (BGs Cie. ZOOS) ov ccc cicscecacccecesccscdy t2

(v)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page(s)

INS v. Ventura,

SF Wi Be RR oko on cecctecdcbcadcdeduccavecs 15, 19-20
Kifleyesus v. Gonzales,

GGL SS Sar CG, BO) oes ccccccccvecvecetcesdoule U2
Kourski v. Ashcroft,

coed Me. Ty, fe Ay. | Rote eee 22
Lin v. Ashcroft.

83 Fed. Appx. 480 (3rd Cir. 2003) .................0.0. 12
Liu v. U.S. Dept. of Justice.

455 F.3d 106 (2nd Cir. 2006) ...........5, 12. 13, 14, 20
Muhanna v. Gonzales.

399 F.3d 583 (3rd Cir. 2005) 22.2.2... cc ccccc eee e ees 4:5. 73
Paramasamy v. Ashcroft.

295 F.3d 1047 (9th Cir. 2002) ....... Sh eka pace aeee tos |
Rivera v. Ashcroft, 387 F.3d 835 (9th Cir. 2004)

amended by 394 F.3d 1129 (9th Cir. 2005) ............. |
Scheerer v. U.S. Attorney General,

BOS F.Seb £34 4 CLE Cie DOGS oicncincocvncscsecccscessdy 22
Selami v. Gonzales.

OFS FS Gre CO Cir, FID iv ovo vesdexasieescecmiadete
Singh v. Gonzales,

OBS E36 TORE CO Cae, ZOD ooo sick cde ceeccnvcceesesses |

(v1)

TABLE OF 4 * HORITIES — continued

Page(s)
Smolniakova v. Gonzales,
ee ee COT CHING, OD sia odocotdccdcdctcdpevedecces |
Sterkaj v. Gonzales,
BFF FOL ST CR, FD occa tocnsecerecdvevess 6, 15
Yemaine-Berhe v. Ashcroft, -
Be Oe FE OE A BO id ib dkaccckrndivecdsniivains 21
Zolotukhin v. Gonzales,
ee fe A ks. Ta dee.) |.) Reedy Seen ee E Py ]
STATUTES
Immigration and Nationality Act (“INA”), Pub. L.
No. 82-414, 66 Stat. 163 (1952) ...............0... passim
INA § 208(b)(1)(B)(i11),
$ U.S.C. § LESBO IMB) «0006. .cccccccccececcrereseee dd
INA § 208(d)(6),
BUS. S TES oi ircicccaiicccsccvces 2-3, 7, 10, 12
INA § 242(a)(2)(B)(11),
BE Ae A IEDs vs cinbyncdy ede e tac yecvieue 2
Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant
Responsibility Act of 1996 (“IRRIRA”’), Pub. L.
No. 104-208, 110 Stat. 3009 (1996) .............. 2,7, 14,21

REAL ID Act of 2005, Pub. L. No. 109-13, Div. B.,
FE ee OR a0 ie heen dnc ¥asenkusynastshrdendees Pay

(vil)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— continued

Page(s)
PB OE 2
BO ee ce iieseiccdaccccevesecs esos cee 2
REGULATION
S CFR. SG See acciacesaineses | ee, 11

(vin)

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Nadezhda Ursini, respectfully petitions for
a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the Ninth
Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The November 7, 2006, opinion of the court of appeals
(App., infra, la-3a), case number 04-72638, is unreported.
The decision of the BIA (App., infra, 4a-5a), case number
A77-539-697, is unreported. The initial and supplemental
decision of the Immigration Court (App., infra, 6a-18a,
19a-20a), case number A77-539-697, issued by Judge
Kendall Warren (“Judge Warren”) with a handwritten,
post-script frivolous finding order inserted by Judge Anna
Ho (“Anna Ho”),' is unreported.

JURISDICTION

Although the opinion of the court of appeals was
entered on November 7, 2006, the Petitioner timely filed a

‘ Judge Warren, now retired, has been specifically reprimanded by the
Ninth Circuit for his frustration and cultural bias in accepting an
asylum applicant’s testimony and in attacking said testimony. Sce¢
Arulampalam v. Ashcroft, 353 F.3d 679, 682 (9th Cir. 2003).

Judge Ho has also been severely admonished by the Ninth Circuit for
denying relief in decisions replete with bias, prejudgment, non-
impartiality, speculation, conjecture, and improper reasoning. See
Smolniakova v. Gonzales, 422 F.3d 1037 (9th Cir. 2005); Zolotukhin
v. Gonzales, 417 F.3d 1073 (9th Cir. 2005); Singh v. Gonzales, 403
F.3d 1081 (9th Cir. 2005); Rivera v. Ashcroft, 387 F.3d 835 (9th Cir.
2004) amended by 394 F.3d 1129 (9th Cir. 2005); Paramasamy_v.

Ashcroft, 295 F.3d 1047 (9th Cir. 2002). Judge Ho is currently under
federal review.

2

petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
banc. The petition for rehearing was denied on January
19, 2007, (App., infra, 21a). The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1254(1) and 2350(a). The
lower court had jurisdiction pursuant to section
242(a)(2)(b)(11) of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND AGENCY
REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Immigration and Nationality Act (“INA”) § 208(d)(6),
Ss USt. § 1158(d)(6),> as enacted by the Illegal
Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of
1996 (“IRRIRA”), Pub. L. No. 104-208, 110 Stat. 3009
(1996), and as amended in 1997,° provides:

Frivolous applications. - If the Attorney General
determines that an alien has knowingly made a
frivolous application for asylum and the alien has
received the notice under paragraph (4)(A), the
alien shall be permanently ineligible for any
benefits under this chapter, effective as of the date
of a final determination on such application.

In 1997, Congress amended section 208(d)(6) so that
the frivolous bar to all immigration relief did not include
withholding of removal.

All citations to INA sections will initially include their
corresponding United States Code sections. Theteafter; they will be
referred to only by their INA numbers.

* As the petitioner applied for asylum long before the enactment of the
REAL ID Act of 2005, H.R. 1268. 109th Cong. (2005) (enacted). Pub.
L. No. 109-13, Div. B.. 119 Stat. 231. the pre-RFAL ID Act
provisions of the INA apply to this case.

3

Because of the severe consequences of a finding of
frivolousness under INA § 208(d)(6), the implementing
federal regulation, § C.F.R. § 208.20 (2000), prescribes
the parameters within which an Immigration Judge (“IJ”)
or the BIA must operate in making these decisions:

For applications filed on or after April 1, 1997, an
applicant is subject to the provisions of section
208(d)(6) of the Act only if a final order by an
immigration judge or the Board of Immigration
Appeals specifically finds that the alien knowingly
filed a frivolous asylum application. For purposes
of this section, an asylum application 1s frivolous if
any of its material elements is deliberately
fabricated. Such finding shall only be made if the
immigration judge or the Board 1s satisfied that the
applicant, during the course of the proceedings, has
had sufficient opportunity to account for any
discrepancies or implausible aspects of the claim.
For purposes of this section, a finding that an alien
filed a frivolous asylum application shall not
preclude the alien from seeking withholding of
removal.

STATEMENT

This case presents the important and recurring
compound question of 1) what comprehensive ~ and
uniform standard should be used by an Immigration Judge
(“IJ”) or the BIA when making a frivolous finding, and 2)
at which point in time should the applicant’s knowledge
be evaluated regarding the frivolous finding. This Court
has not yet reviewed a frivolous finding nor the standards
employed by immigration judges in making such findings.

4

Further, the BIA has not issued a definitive opinion on this
issue.

Only 12 published cases have ever been decided by the
respective courts of appeals regarding frivolous findings.
Although these decisions have begun to formulate three
elements of frivolous findings derived from the federal
regulation, these elements ignore the clear mandate in the
statute and the regulation that the applicant know her
application 1s frivolous at the time she files her
application. Without clear direction regarding the timing
of the applicant’s knowledge and the uniform standard to
be imposed, the factfinder has infinite discretion in
making frivolous findings. This lack of proper standard
and resultant gross discretion has handicapped the courts
of appeals’ ability to engage in fair and serious review.

Further, the courts of appeals have differed widely in
their approaches to this issue, and such disparate courses
of action and ad hoc review of frivolous findings have
caused a significant circuit split on this important and
widely applicable issue.

In the 12 published court of appeals cases addressing
frivolous findings, five have overturned such findings
while seven have upheld the findings. In the five cases
that vacated the frivolous finding and/or remanded
proceedings, such occurred because |) the applicant was
not given a sufficient opportunity to address the issues
identified in support of the frivolous finding;* 2) the only

* See Farah y. Ashcroft. 348 F.3d 1153 (9th Cir. 2003): see also

Alexandroy \.. Gonzales, 442 F.3d 395 (6th Cir. 2006): Muhanna v.
Gonzales. 399 F.3d $83 (3rd Cir. 2005).

evidence supporting the frivolous finding was an adverse
credibility finding. and such was not sufficient;> 3)
consular determination that documents were fraudulent
was based on unreliable and incredible hearsay;° and 4)
evidence consisting of a flawed adverse c. edibility finding
and a suggestion of fraud was not enough to conclusively
determine that the applicant knew the application was
false.

In six of the seven decisions upholding the frivolous
finding, tangible, credible, and undemiable evidence
established the falsity of a material element of the asylum
application. Such evidence consisted of 1) the applicant
admitting that he/she lied on the asylum application and to
the IJ;° 2) dental records conclusively contradicted
applicant’s stated age; 3) a copy of newspaper from
Library of C ongress conclusively showed applicant’s copy
was a forgery;'’ and 4) a medical record determined to be
fraudulent by issuing hospital.'’ In the seventh case, and

: See Scheerer vy. U.S. Attorney General, 445 F.3d 1311 (11th Cir.
2006), Mulia v. Guuzales, 399 F.3d 583, (3rd Cir. 2005).

"See Alexandrov v. Gonzales, 442 F.3d 395 (6th Cir. 2006).

* See Liu v. U.S. Dept. of Justice, 455 F.3d 106 (2nd Cir. 2006).

* See Barreto-Claro v. U.S. Attomey General, 275 F.3d 1334 (11th
Cir. 2001); see also Aziz v. Gonzales, 478 F.3d 854 (8th Cir. 2007);
Kifleyesus v. Gonzales, 462 F.3d 937 (8th Cir. 2006).

” Sce Efe v. Ashcroft. 293 F.3d 899 (Sth Cir. 2002).

’ See Selami +. Gonzales. 423 F.3d 621 (6th Cir. 2005).

' See Ignatova y. Gonzales, 430 F.3d 1209 (8th Cir. 2005).

6

in direct contradiction to the Second circuit and to a case
within its same circuit, the Sixth circuit upheld a frivolous
finding based on solely on a consular determination that
documents were fraudulent.”

Two circuit splits have arisen directly because there is
no definitive standard or opinion on frivolous findings
from the BIA or this Court. First, the Second Circuit and
the Ninth Circuit, in closely analogous cases, have dealt
with the fact that there is no definitive standard in wholly
opposite ways. Second. the circuit courts are irrevocably
split regarding consular determinations of alleged fraud
and whether such unreliable decisions alone are sufficient
to support a frivolous finding.

Finally, and to compound the adverse effect of this
circuit split on the petitioner’s specific situation, the lower
decision reveals a gross departure from the accepted and
usual course of judicial proceedings. When faced with an
unclear and inconsistent BIA decision that specifically
vacated Judge Warren’s biased comment “you don’t look
Jewish,” yet summarily affirmed the remainder of the
decision without reaching the issue of frivolousness, the
reviewing court should have remanded for a new BIA
decision. In the alternative, and at the very least, the court
should have heard oral argument because this case
presents such complex and = serious issues. By
streamlining its review, and in fact by engaging in review
at all of the BIA’s inconsistent decision, the court
abdicated its review duties and perpetuated the biased and
unconstitutional handling of petitioner’s case.

Because this circuit split will not be resolved absent
this Court’s intervention, because this issue greatly affects
the lives of countless asylum applicants, and because the
Ninth Circuit’s decision in this case in plainly wrong,
review by this Court is necessary and warranted.

A. Statutory Background

Prior to 1997, the INA did not include provisions
regarding frivolous findings. However, when Congress
engaged in a comprehensive overhaul of immigration law
by enacting IRRIRA in 1996, it added a provision forever
barring an asylum applicant from immigration relief if she
was found to have filed a frivolous asylum application.
The statutory language, although not explicit in defining
“frivolous,” clearly intends that an asylum application
may only be found to be frivolous if the applicant knew
the application was false at the time it was filed. INA §
208(d)(6).

Because Congress did not define “frivolous
application,” the implementing regulation defined such as
meaning when any material element is deliberately
fabricated. § 208.20. The regulation also clarifies
congressional intent on when the material element must
have been deliberately fabricated. An application ts
frivolous only if the applicant deliberately fabricated a
material element at the time of filing the application. Id.
(emphasis added).

B. Factual Background

Petitioner Nadezhda Ursini (‘petitioner’) fled Russia
and sought asylum relief in the United States because of

severe persecution suffered in Russia on account of her
Jewish nationality and ethnicity. Petitioner suffered
severe discrimination throughout her childhood from her
classmates, their parents, and her teachers. As petitioner
grew older, such animosity manifested itself in the form of
physical violence and threats. For example, during
college, petitioner was thrown out of her second floor
dormitory window by the dorm manager and classmates
who had been taunting her earlier that evening because she
is Jewish._ Petitioner suffered a brain concussion, a bone
fracture in her hand, and a broken ankle. She was in the
hospital for two weeks recovering from these injuries.

When petitioner began working, she continued to have
problems. She was followed and received threatening
telephone calls. In 1996, two assailants attacked her at the
entrance of her apartment building. They beat her with a
metal bar and kicked her until she lost consciousness.
They yelled that Hitler was right and “kikes” should be
dead. Petitioner believes these attackers were part of
PAMYAT, a nationalistic group that persecutes Jews.
This group had made threatening telephone calls to
petitioner in the past. When petitioner was released from
the hospital after one week, she immediately moved to
Moscow to avoid more attacks.

In 1998, two individuals approached petitioner, saying
they represent the Russian people and that Jews should not
live in Moscow. They threatened that if she did not leave
immediately, they would kill her. That night, arsonists set
her car on fire. Petitioner did not witness the actual crime,
but because of the close proximity of the arson with the
death threats, she reasonably believed the same two anti-
Semitic people torched her car.

9

Petitioner immediately moved to a new apartment.
She hoped this move would save her from further
persecution and death, but she knew she would continue to
be persecuted because she is Jewish. Petitioner made
plans to flee Russia, and she came to the United States to
seek asylum.

C. Proceedings Below

Petitioner applied for asylum, withholding of removal,
and withholding under the Convention Against Torture
(“CAT”) within three months of entering the United
States. While her application was pending, she was placed
in removal proceedings, and she renewed her application.
Petitioner’s individual hearing commenced on August 30,
2000, and concluded on October 17, 2002, when Judge
Warren found. petitioner not credible, denied her
application for relief, and-ordered her removed to Russia.
The next day, Judge Warren realized that he had forgotten
to include a frivolous finding in his oral decision. He then
dictated an additional paragraph to his oral decision.
Three months later, Judge Ho!’ added a handwritten, post-
script to the order forever barring petitioner from any and
all immigration relief.

Petitioner timely appealed to the BIA. The BIA
specifically vacated the Immigration Judge’s outlandish
statement that petitioner “did not look Jewish.” Despite
vacating this biased statement and Judge Warren’s
reliance on such in his adverse credibility finding, the BIA
nonetheless summarily affirmed Judge Warren's decision
- without reaching the frivolous finding.

Bo
See fn. 1, supra.

10

Petitioner timely filed a petition for review with the
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.'* After extensive briefing
supported by Ninth Circuit case law, petitioner’s case was
scheduled for oral argument on October 23, 2006. Less
than one week before the scheduled argument, the panel
decided the case was suitable for decision without
argument. On November 7, 2006, the panel dismissed the
petition for review affirming both the adverse credibility
finding and the post-script handwritten frivolous finding.

Petitioner timely filed a petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing en banc, identifying a circuit split
between the Ninth and Second circuits and highlighting
the legal and factual errors in the panel’s decision. On
January 19, 2007, the panel denied the petition for
rchearing.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. A Uniform Standard That Properly Embodies
The Frivolous Finding Statute And Regulation
Is Required To Ensure Essential Oversight
And National Uniformity.

When Congress added provisions to the INA in 1996
that permitted frivolous findings, 1 did not define
“frivolous application. Nonetheless, because of the severe
consequences of such a finding, Congress intended that
such findings only be made when the applicant knowingly
makes a frivolous applicant. INA § 208(d)(6).

43 PRY : , = ‘ ‘
'* Petitioner retained undersigned counsel to assist her with her

petition for review. While bricfing was being filed. petitioner's
former counsel was suspended from the practice of law and was
subsequently disbarred.

11

When the corresponding federal regulation was
propounded, it too recognized the serious consequences of
a frivolous finding and undertook to define “frivolous
application” and “knowingly made” so as to provide
parameters within which an IJ and the BIA must operate
in making such determinations. Thus, the regulation
defines “frivolous application” as meaning when “any
material clement is deliberately fabricated.” 8 C.F.R. §
208.20. Although this definition is arguably quite broad,
the overall applicability of this provision is narrowed by
defining when an application is “knowingly made.” The
regulation requires that the applicant knowingly file an
application in which any material element is deliberately
fabricated (emphasis added). As such, a frivolous finding
should cnly flow from a finding that an applicant
deliberately fabricated a material element in the asylum
application at the time of filing said application.

Thus, in making a frivolous finding, the factfinder
must find that the applicant 1) deliberately fabricated, 2)
any material clement, 3) at the time of filing the asylum
application. A fourth requirement, procedural in nature,
requires that the applicant have sufficient opportunity to
address the identified reasons for the frivolous finding.

To date, neither this Court nor the BIA have
specifically addressed the law relevant to frivolous
findings or the standards to be imposed on the factfinder.
Without any guidance, Js have been given immense
discretion to make damaging frivolous findings. Because
of the severity of the consequences of a frivolous finding,
unfettered discretion was not intended to be given to the
factfinder. Yet, without a uniform standard that
implements all safeguarding elements of the statute and

12
regulation, such discretion and resultant ad hoc application
of frivolous findings have created biased bars to relief and
dangerous precedent.

As challenges to frivolous findings have made their
way to appellate review, the respective courts of appeals
have also dealt with such findings in an ad hoc fashion
because they too are operating without a definitive,
uniform standard. Several decisions have formulated
three elements to frivolous findings: 1) deliberate
fabrication, 2) of any material element. 3) so long as the
applicant has sufficient opportunity to address reasons
identified in support of the frivolous finding. See Liu, 455
F.3d at 113. Clearly ignored by the appellate decisions is
the fact that the deliberate fabrication must occur when the
application is filed.'” Without this added safeguard, which
requires that the applicant’s knowledge be evaluated at the
time the application 1s filed, the reach of INA § 208(d)(6)
is much broader than intended by Congress and the
implementing regulation.

Without a definitive decision by either this Court or
the BIA regarding the proper standard to be imposed on
factfinders in making frivolous findings, the Immigration
Courts and the Courts of Appeal will continue to struggle
with frivolous findings, will continue to impose such
findings and review such findings in an ad hoc fashion,
and will continue to perpetuate the circuit split that has
already emerged from the courts’ standardless decisions.

'" In fact. only one decision by a court of appeals, unpublished at that.
identifies the requirement that the applicant know, at the time of
filing, that a material aspect of her claim was untrue. See Lin v.
Ashcroft, 83 Fed. Appx. 480 (3rd Cir. 2003).

13

B. The Federal Courts Of Appeal Are
Irreconcilably Split On Several Issues
Relevant To Frivolous Findings.

There can be no doubt that the federal courts of
appeals are deeply and avowedly split on the questions
presented by this petition, and that this circuit split, in
light of the lack of agency direction or opinion, merits
resolution by this Court. In fact, at least two circuit splits
have arisen in the published opinions addressing frivolous
findings. Both splits stem from the courts’ ad hoc
application of the statute and implementing regulation
resulting in inconsistent review, especially where the
evidence in support of the findings do not provide a clear
answer as to the correct outcome.

Although the courts have begun to formulate a small
body of case law on 1) what clearly does not constitute
sufficient evidence to support a frivolous finding'® and 2)
what clearly constitutes sufficient evidence to support a
frivolous finding,'’ no court has been able to review
frivolous findings with the assistance and guidance of a

'© Three circuits have held that an adverse credibility finding alone is
insufficient to support a frivolous finding. See Liu v. U.S. Dept. of
Justice, 455 F.3d 106 (2nd Cir. 2006); Scheerer v. U.S. Attorney
General, 445 F.3d 1311 (11th Cir. 2006); Muhanna v. Gonzales, 399
F.3d 583, (3rd Cir. 2005).

'" Six decisions in four circuits have only upheld a frivolous finding
when clear, tangible, and credible evidence conclusively established
that an applicant lied and/or engaged in deliberate fabrication. See
Aziz_v. Gonzales, 478 F.3d 854 (8th Cir. 2007); Kifleyesus_v.
Gonzales, 462 F.3d 937 (8th Cir. 2006); Stami v. Gonzales _, 423 F.3d
621 (6th Cir. 2005); Ignatova v. Gonzales, 430 F.3d 1209 (8th Cir.
2005): Efe v. Ashcroft. 293 F.3d 899 (Sth Cir. 2002); Barreto-Claro v.

U.S. Attorney General, 275 F.3d 1334 (11th Cir. 2001).

14

definitive, uniform standard. Without such a standard, the
courts have engaged in ad hoc reviews of frivolous
findings, creating circuit splits on two significant issues.

First, the Second Circuit and the Ninth Circuit have
dealt with the fact that there is no definitive standard in
wholly opposite ways. In Liu, the Second Circuit, dealing
with an issue of first impression in its circuit, properly
remanded to the BIA so that it could decide, in the first
instance. the meaning of “knowingly” and “material
element.” 455 F.3d at 116.

Conversely, the Ninth Circuit, when faced with a
factually analogous case to Liu and the lack of definitive
standard from its own precedent,'* the BIA, or this Court,
nonetheless chose to review the frivolous finding instead
of remanding for a clear agency decision in the first
instance. The Ninth Circuit took such action in
petitioner’s case.

Both cases involved a flawed adverse credibility
finding and questionable evidence of fraud. On _ the
spectrum of “sufficient evidence to support a frivolous
finding,” both cases fell in the middle between mere
adverse credibility findings on the one hand (insufficient)

'* Only two published cases in the Ninth Circuit address a frivolous
finding. The first vacated the finding on procedural grounds, namely
no Opportunity to address the reasons for the finding. See Farah, 348
F.3d at 1158. The second decided an issue regarding the applicability
of the frivolous provision when an application filed prior to IRRIRA
was renewed after the amendments went into effect. See Almaghzar
v. Gonzales, 450 F.3d 415 (9th Cir. 2006). Neither case discusses the
frivolous finding requirements nor facts and evidence which might
meet those requirements.

and tangible, credible evidence on the other (sufficient).
In light of INS _v. Ventura, 537 U.S. 12 (2002), and
insufficient agency attention to the issue at hand, the
courts of appeals must remand to the agency so that the
BIA has the opportunity to decide an issue in the first
instance. The Second Circuit properly followed this
mandate. The Ninth Circuit did not, and its error has
severely prejudiced not only petitioner’s case but also the
cases of all subsequent asylum applicants involving
frivolous findings. The completely inapposite handling of
closely analogous cases requires the attention of and
decision by this Court.

Second, the circuit courts are irrevocably split
regarding consular determinations of alleged fraud. The
Third Circuit has held that unreliable, hearsay-laden
consular determinations of forged documents do not
support a frivolous finding. See Alexandrov, 442 F.3d at
407. Conversely, the Sixth Circuit has upheld a frivolous
finding based solely on a consular determination of fraud.
See Sterkaj, 439 F.3d at 279. The Ninth Circuit, in
petitioner’s case, has also held that a _ consular
determination of fraud alone supports a_ frivolous
finding.'”

The two circuits upholding a frivolous finding based
solely on consular determinations of alleged fraud
contradict not only the Third Circuit’s decision on point
but also contradict every other published case that has
upheld a frivolous finding. In these six other cases, the

‘ The administrative record in the instant case is filled with
unreliable, uncorroborated, and unauthenticated hearsay in the
consular determinations used to support the alleged fraud.

16

frivolous findings were upheld because clear, tangible, and
credible evidence of lying or falsity supported the
finding.”°

Consular determinations have been debunked by
experts for several reasons: unreliable hearsay, double
hearsay, inherent unreliability, lack of opportunity to
cross-examine, nondisclosure of investigators and their
methods, and official fraud and corruption. They are too
intangible to be used as sole support of frivolous findings
and their attendant severe and permanent consequences.

in light of this significant and important circuit split,
this Court and/or the BIA must step in and conclusively
decide how much conclusive and credible evidence of
fraud/deliberate fabrication must be in the record to
support a frivolous finding.

C. Review Is Also Warranted Because The
Decision Below Is Clearly Incorrect And
Reveals The Panel’s Gross Departure From
Usual Judicial Proceedings.

This Court’s review of the lower court’s decision ts
also necessary because the Ninth Circuit plainly erred in
not only its handling of petitioner’s case but also in its
legally and factually erroneous decision. The court's
procedural errors constitute a fundamental

” Such evidence consisted of 1) the applicant admitting that he she
lied on the asylum application and to the IJ; 2) dental records
conclusively contradicted applicant’s stated age; 3) a copy of
newspaper from Library of Congress conclusively showed applicant's
copy was a forgery: and 4) a medical record determined to be
fraudulent by issuing hospital.

17

misunderstanding of its duty as a judicial entity of last
review by right. These errors, which involve a
streamlined review of petitioner's appeal, will have
profound effects on many, if not all, subsequent asylum
cases pending in the Ninth Circuit. The Ninth Circuit’s
gross departure from the accepted and usual course of
judicial proceedings constitutes an issue of grave
importance that warrants this Court's review, especially in
light of the serious and dire consequences at issue in
petitioner’s case.

1. The Ninth Circuit's “streamlining” in a case of
this magnitude is a gross departure from the
usual course of judicial proceedings.

As discussed above, the consequences of a frivolous
finding are serious and dire. Such consequences become
even more severe when the decision implementing them
and those upholding them are fraught with errors and bias.
Consequences of this magnitude require full and impartial
judicial review. The Ninth Circuit’s “streamlining”
approach to the petitioner’s petition for review denied her
full and impartial judicial review and constituted a gross
departure from the accepted and usual course of judicial
proceedings.

The petitioner’s asylum case, encompassing removal
proceedings and her appeals, is one of significant
magnitude. Her merits hearings alone spanned over two
years, and the administrative records comprises 747 pages.
Several related findings and holdings are at issue: a
biased Judge Warren, an unsupported adverse credibility
finding, establishment of past persecution and
presumption of future persecution, fear of future

18

persecution, and Judge Warren’s latent frivolous
finding/Judge Ho’s handwritten, post-script frivolous
order. Although the court had extensive briefing before it,
it properly recognized that oral argument would provide
necessary and beneficial exposition of these important
issues. Oral argument was scheduled for October 23,
2006.

Thereafter, the panel assigned to this case inexplicably
decided that the case could be decided without oral
argument. This decision was made on October 17, 2006,
less than one week before the oral argument.“' Two
weeks later, the pane! dismissed petitioner’s case in a one
and one-half page, unpublished decision that purported to
address both the adverse credibility finding and the
arbitrary frivolous finding.

This handling of petitioner's case cannot be suffered.
BIA streamlining has been held to be constitutional
precisely because further federal review 1s available. If
the circuit courts are permitted to themselves engage in
streamlines, such action will eliminate this important
safeguard. Such action is even more harmful because of
the senous findings and circumstances at issue in
petitioner's case. The courts of appeal represent the final
review by right for an asylum applicant. If these courts
are permitted to streamline their review of agency findings
and decisions, gross injustice will occur.

*! The exact same procedural! handling was imposed in another case
on which undersigned is an attorney of record. After canceling oral
argument, the Ninth Circuit cursorly dismissed that individual's
appeal. Once is an anomaly. Twice is a coincidence. Any more, and
the Ninth Circuit is streamlining its caseload to the detnment of
asylum applicants.

19

2. The Ninth Circuit's decision to even review the
BIA’s unclear and inconsistent decision that
did not explicitly reach the frivolous finding is
also a gross departure from the usual course of
judicial proceedings.

In her petition for panel rehearing and suggestion for
rehearing en banc, petitioner highlighted as error the fact
that the Ninth Circuit even chose to review the BIA’s
unclear and inconsistent decision. In its decision, the BIA
specifically vacated Judge Warren’s biased statements
regarding petitioner’s appearance and Judge Warren’s
own prejudicial stereotypes—“you don’t look Jewish.”
Nonetheless, the BIA then summarily affirmed the
remainder of Judge Warren’s decision, including the
handwritten, post-script frivolous finding. Although the
BIA recognized Judge Warren’s inherent bias towards
petitioner, it then failed to take the next step and review -
his frivolous finding. These inapposite actions create an
unclear decision. What exactly was the BIA affirming in
light of its disaffirmance of Judge Warren’s biased
statements? The lower court should have recognized the
deficiencies in the BIA’s decision and remanded to the
agency so that it would have the opportunity to reach the
frivolous issue in the first instance. INS v. Ventura, 537
U.S. 12 (2002).

The courts of appeal are reviewing courts. Each
court’s duty is to review the holdings, findings, and the
record within the parameters of applicable standards of
review. If a lower decision is unclear and internally
inconsistent, it is the reviewing court’s duty to remand for
a clear and consistent decision. Without a clear and

20

consistent decision, full and fair review is meaningless and
borders on constitutional violation. Id.

In the instant case, the Ninth Circuit’s review of the
BIA’s unclear and inconsistent decision constitutes a gross
departure from the accepted and usual course of judicial
proceedings. Such departure, and resultant violation of
petitioner's night to full and fair judicial review, warrants
this Court’s review.

3. The Ninth Circuit's decision on the merits
conflicts with decisions in its sister circuits as
well as with its own precedent.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit’s one and one-half page
decision upholding Judge Warren’s adverse credibility
finding and frivolous finding clearly conflicts with its own
precedent as_well as published decisions from its sister
circuits.

Regarding the frivolous finding, two cases from the
Second and Third circuits are closely factually analogous
to the petitioner's case. One case involved documents
found to be fraudulent by consular officials. Alexandrov,
442 F.3d at 397. This determination was based on
unreliable hearsay, and the Third Circuit correctly held
that such consular determination alone was insufficient to
establish that the applicant had knowingly filed a frivolous
asylum application. Id. at 407. Another case involved a
flawed adverse-eredibility finding and a suggestion of
fraud. Liu, 455 F.3d at 115. The Second Circuit,
recognizing that this case presented an issue of first
impression in its circuit, and recognizing the lack of
uniform standard for what constitutes “knowingly” and

2]
“material element,” remanded to the BIA so that the
agency could make a decision in the first instance. Id, at
116.

Despite these factually analogous cases, and despite
the lack of a published decision directly on point within
the Ninth Circuit,’ the lower decision upheld Judge
Warren’s biased and arbitrary frivolous finding based
solely on the consular determination that the arson reports
were fraudulent. As several circuits and experts have
recognized, these consular determinations are fraught with
errors, unreliable bearsay, incredible and unidentified
sources, unidentified investigators, and wnavailability jor
cross-examination. See Alexandrov, 442 F.3d at 404-07.
Despite such unreliability, consular determinations have
become the Achilles heel in countless meritorious claims
for asylum. Permitting these determinations to be the sole
basis for a frivolous finding is ethically wrong and
unconstitutional. The lower court’s decision upholding
Judge Warren’s frivolous finding, based solely on a
consular determination of fraud, conflicts with decisions
in other circuits and defies the intent of the statute and
regulation.

Regarding the adverse credibility finding, the Ninth
Circuit itself has held that a fraudulent document cannot
support an adverse credibility finding if the applicant did
not know it was fraudulent. See Yemaine-Berhe_ v.
Ashcroft, 393 F.3d 907, 911 (9th Cir. 2004) (holding that
an allegedly fraudulent document, even if it went to the
heart of any asylum claim, is not automatically
determinative of an adverse credibility finding). Other

se _ “.
~ See fn. 18, supra.

to
to

circuits have also held that allegedly fraudulent documents
cannot support an adverse credibility finding it the
applicant did not know it was a forgery. See Hanaj v.
Gonzales, 446 F.3d 694, 699 (7th Cir. 2006); Kourski v.
Ashcroft, 355 F.3d 1038, 1039-40 (7th Cir. 2004).

Finally, consular determinations of fraud, when such
unreliable, hearsay determinations are the sole basis for an
adverse credibility finding, have been held to not be
substantial evidence sufficient to support an adverse
credibility finding. See Ezeagwuna v. Ashcroft, 325 F.3d
396 (3rd Cir. 2003). The seminal holding of this case was
specifically identified to the Ninth Circuit. Yet the latter
ignored the Third Circuit’s reasoned analysis vacating on
the issue of credibility and unreliable consular
determinations.

The lower court’s errors of law and fact constitute a
gross departure from the accepted and usual course of
judicial proceedings. Such departure requires review by
this Court to correct the significant errors committed by
the lower court.

D. This Issue Is Of Substantial Practical
Importance And Will Affect Many Asylum
Applicants.

The courts of appeals began reviewing frivolous
findings in 2001. However, over the next four years, the
courts issued only three published decisions on frivolous
findings. That number doubled in 2005, and there have
been six such decisions since then. We can only expect
that number to continue to increase exponentially.

23

Not only will Ws and the BIA continue to make
frivolous findings, but such findings will only become
more commonplace in light of the INA amendments made
in the REAL ID Act of 2005. In this act, Congress
instituted heightened credibility and corroborating
evidence standards and requirements. See INA §
208(b)(1)(B)(iii). Any inconsistency will now result in an
adverse credibility finding. Applicants are also expected
to submit reasonably attainable corroborating evidence.
Such corroborating evidence will likely be sent to the
respective consulates for verification and fraud findings.
Frivolous findings will then ensue.

Without a uniform standard that embodies al] elements
of the statute and implementing regulation, there can be no
hope for national uniformity in issuing and reviewing
frivolous findings. Further, the immigration courts must
be given specific and clear standards within which to
make frivolous findings. Unless such standards are
definitively provided by either this Court or the BIA, the
immigration courts will continue to use their unfettered
discretion is making unsupported and arbitrary frivolous
findings. The courts of appeal. in turn. will be flooded
with cases involving frivolous findings and will continue
to review such findings in an ad hoc fashion. A definite
opinion on the issue of frivolous findings must be issued.
The severe and permanent consequences of such findings
evidence the importance of this issue. This Court must
Step in to provide or remand for a uniform, comprehensive
standard in making and reviewing frivolous findings.

24
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioner respectfully
requests that this writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

DIANA F. CHAMBERLAIN ELENA E. TSIPRIN
Law Offices of Counsel of Record
Elena E. Tsiprin Law Offices of
14670 NE 8th Street, Elena E. Tsiprin
Suite 210 14670 NE Sth Street,
Bellevue, WA 98007 Suite 210

Bellevue, WA 98007
(425) 614-4744

Counsel for Petitioner

APRIL 2007

la

APPENDIX A

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

NADEZHDA URSINI, FILED November 7, 2006
Cathy A. Catterson, Clerk
U.S. Court of Appeals
Petitioner, No. 04-72638

V. INS No. A77-539-697

ALBERTO R. GONZALES, Attorney
General,

Respondent.

MEMORANDUM”

On Petition for Review of an Order of the
Board of Immigration Appeals

“This disposition is not appropriate for publication and
may not be cited to or by the courts of this circuit except
as provided by 9th Cir. R. 36-3.

2a

Submitted October 23, 2006"
Seattle, Washington

Before: KOZINSKI and FERNANDEZ, Circuit
Judges, and WINMILL,””” District Judge.

1. The WJ correctly found that petitioner lacked
credibility, because she submitted two false documents
that went to the heart of her asylum claim. After
submission of the first false document, petitioner was
afforded an opportunity § to submit additional
documentation. In response, she submitted another
document that the IJ determined to be fraudulent. It was
thus more than “reasonable to infer that a[n applicant]
with a legitimate claim does not usually find it necessary
to invent or fabricate documents in order to establish
asylum eligibility.” Matter of O-D-, 21 L&N. Dec. 1079,
1083 (BIA 1998). Because substantial evidence supports
the adverse credibility finding and no other evidence
submitted compels us to conclude to the contrary, her
asylum claim necessarily fails. eee § U.S.C.
1252(b)(4)(B). Petitioner thus similarly fails to qualify for

ae

This panel unanimously finds this case suitable for
decision without oral argument. See Fed. R. App. P.
34(a)(2).

ee

The Honorable Lynn B. Winmill, Chief United States
District Judge for the District of Idaho, sitting by
designation.

3a

withholding of removal. See Acewicz v.INS, 984-¥.2d
1056, 1062 (9th Cir. 1993).

2. An asylum application may be found frivolous if:
(1) petitioner received notice of the consequences of filing
a frivolous application, 8 U.S.C. 1158(d)(4)(A); (2) “any
of its material elements is deliberately fabricated,” 8
C.F.R. § 208.20; and (3) petitioner was given “an
opportunity to explain any discrepancies in the testimony
before a finding of frivolousness—permanently barring
immigration relief—is entered.” Farah v. Ashcroft, 348
F.3d 1153, 1157 (9th Cir. 2003). Substantial evidence
supports the IJ’s frivolousness finding. First, the record
shows, and Ursini does not dispute, that she was given
notice. Second, the IJ reasonably concluded that the false
documents were material and went to the heart of
petitioner’s claim, because the alleged arson incident was
the tipping point in her decision to leave Russia. Finally,
petitioner was given ample opportunity to respond. She
responded to the first false document by submitting
another false document. When the IJ determined that
petitioner affirmatively submitted a second forged
document, she was given three more weeks to explain the
discrepancy. Because she failed to respond, it was
reasonable for the iJ to conclude that Ursint knowingly
filed a frivolous application.

PETITION DENIED.

4a

U.S. DEPARTMENTOF JUSTICE

EXECUTIVE OFFICE FOR IMMIGRATION
REVIEW

FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA 22041

DECISION OF THE BOARD
OF IMMIGRATION APPEALS

File: A77 539 697 — Seattle Date: May 4, 2004
Inre;: NADEZHDA RATMINOVNA URSINI

IN REMOVAL PROCEEDINGS

APPEAL

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT: Dennis F. Olsen.
Esquire
CHARGE:

Notice: Sec. 237(a)(1)(B), I&N Act [8 U.S.C. §
1227(a)(1)(B)]—In the United States

violation of law

APPLICATION: Asylum, withholding of removal;
Convention Against Torture

Sa
ORDER:

PER CURIAM. The respondent, a citizen of Russia, is
appealing the October 17, 2002, decision of the
Immigration Judge denying her application for asylum and
withholding of removal under sections 208 and 241(b)(3)
of the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U,.S.C. §§
1158, 1231 (b)(3), as well as her request for the protection
under the United Nations Convention Against Torture, &
C.F.R. § 1208.16(c). The Department of Homeland
Security (the “DHS,” formerly the Immigration and
Naturalization Service) has not filed an appeal brief.

We adopt and affirm the Immigration Judge’s
decision, except for the Immigration Judge’s statement
made in passing at page 11 of the decision regarding the
respondent’s lack of Jewish “features.” The appeal is
otherwise dismissed. Matter of Burbano, 20 1&N Dec.
872, 874 (BIA 1994) (noting that adoption or affirmance
of a decision of an Immigration Judge, in whole or in part,
is “simply a statement that the Board’s conclusions upon
review of the record coincide with those which the
[1]mmigration [J]udge articulated in his or her decision’).

Is/
FOR THE BOARD

6a

U.S. DEPARTMENTOF JUSTICE

EXECUTIVE OFFICE FOR IMMIGRATION
REVIEW

UNITED STATES IMMIGRATION COURT |
Seattle, Washington

IN REMOVAL PROCEEDINGS

File: A77539697-Seattle Date: October 17, 2002

In the Matter of NADEZHDA RATMINOVNA URSINI
Respondent

CHARGE: Section 237(a)(1)(B) INA — non-immigrant
who remained longer than permitted.

APPLICATIONS: Section 208(a) INA — asylum;
Section 241(b)(3) INA - withholding of
removal; Relief under Torture
Convention; Section 240B INA-
voluntary departure.

ON BEHALF OF ON BEHALF OF
RESPONDENT: SERVICE:

Dennis F. Olsen Gregory E. Fehlings
Attorney at Law Trial Attorney

2707 Colby Avenue, 1000 2nd Avenue
Suite 901 Suite 2900

Everett. WA 98201 Seattle. WA 98104

Ta

ORAL DECISION OF THE
IMMIGRATION JUDGE

The respondent is a 32-year-old unmarried female.
native and citizen of Russia, who entered the United States
at Seattle, Washington on March 21, 1999 as a Class B-I
non-immigrant visitor authorized to remain until June 20,
1999. She was apprehended by the Immigration and
Naturalization Service on October 23, 1999 accerding to
the Form I-213 prepared by an Immigration agent which is
marked Exhibit 2. The respondent was residing with a
boyfriend, Pavel Vorbievy who was involved in buying
stolen vehicles. The respondent was not indicated to be
involved in any illegal activity, however, it was
determined that she was unlawfully in the United States
and was placed in removal proceedings by the issuance of
a Notice to Appear (NTA) on August 23, 1999.

In proceedings before an Immigration Judge, the
respondent was represented by counsel. She conceded
proper service of the NTA and it was marked Exhibit No.
The factual allegations admitted in the NTA _ were
admitted and the respondent conceded that she was subject
to removal as a non-immigrant who had remained for a
longer time than permitted. The respondent declined to
designate a country for removal if that ever became
necessary, and the Court therefore designates Russia, the
country of her birth and citizenship. -

The respondent expressed fear of persecution if she
must return to Russia and submitted an application for
asylum before the Immigration Judge. It is determined

8a

that she is eligible to apply for asylum under Section
208(a)(2)(B) which establishes a requirement that aliens
apply for asylum within one year of admission. The Court
notes that the application was actually filed a s few days
short, but she had formally stated her intention to apply for
asylum in less than one year and has substantially
complied with the statute 1s the finding of the Court.

The respondent also applied for withholding of
removal and relief under the Convention against Torture.
She is not eligible for voluntary departure because she
arrived Jess than one year before the NTA was issued,
Section 240B(b)(1)(A), and she 1s not taking voluntary
departure at the beginning of the proceeding but rather at
the conclusion of the proceeding.

Other pleadings and evidence were submitted and
marked as follows. Exhibit No. 4 is a response from the
Department of State. The application had been sent to the
Department of State pursuant to 8 C.F.R. 208.11. The
Department of State responded by simply attaching a-copy
of the November 1997 Profile of Asylum Claims and
Country Conditions relating to Russia.

Exhibit No. 5 1s the Immigration Service pre-hearing
statement. This includes news articles, a copy of the
respondent’s Form I-94 showing her admission as a non-
immigrant on page 6, also identification relating to the
respondent on page 7. Pages 8 through 32 are copies from
three different passports. Pages 33 through 43 consist of
the World Fact Book relating to Russia, and page 44 and
forward is the Country Report on Human Rights Practices

relating to Russia for the year 1999 dated February 25,
2000.

9a

Exhibit No. 6 is the respondent’s pre-hearing
statement which includes articles concerning the
respondent’s application for asylum, her hospitalization
records in 1996, a birth certificate, photographs of Russian
fascists and anti-somatic [sic in original] groups in
military dress in Russia and various other articles
concerning right wing factions in Russia, and harassment
of Jews in Russia.

Exhibit No. 7 1s an objection of the Immigration and
Naturalization Service objecting to certain medical] records
submitted by the respondent, certain photographs, and
there was an objection to the translation of two news
articles.

Exhibit No. 8 is a certified copy of a report from a fire
department in Moscow, the Department of State fire
fighting service of the northwest administrative district of
the second regional department of the state fire
supervision, Moscow, Palnernaya Street, 4-A. It indicates
that the certificate confirms that on September 7, 1998, a
fire took place in a Volkswagen automobile on the parking
lot at an address which is indicated. As a result of the fire,
the automobile burned up completely. The most probably
cause for the fire was arson.

Exhibit No. 9 is the Immigration Service supplemental
document which is a copy of the respondent’s original
asylum application. The application which was
adjudicated in these proceedings was marked Exhibit No.
3 but this exhibit is an application prepared by the
respondent earlier and it indicates receipt by the
Immigration Service on June 14, 1999. It appears to have
been signed by the respondent on June 9, 1999.

10a

Exhibit No. 10 is a statement in support of the
respondent’s application signed by Alexander Ravikovich
on behalf of the respondent.

Exhibit No. 11 is an article concerning Alexander
Ravikovich indicating that he is a 40-year-old doctor from
the former Soviet Union who operates the European
Health Center, a Russian style spa out of a 1,000 square
foot strip mall office in the Overlake area in Bellevue,
Washington.

Exhibit No. 12 is a consent of the respondent for the
Immigration Service to investigate the fire report
contained in Exhibit No. 8. This was executed after
completion of testimony in this matter. The proceedings
were delayed for quite some period of time awaiting for
this investigation to be concluded.

Exhibit No. 13 is a memorandum from the Service
attorney indicating that the embassy in Moscow needed
more time in order to make the necessary inquiry.

Exhibit No. 14 is supplemental documentation from
the Immigration Service. This contains an investigative
report from the U.S. Embassy in Moscow. It indicates that
the writer of the report contacted officials from the fire
department including Galina Vasilyevna Druz, head of the
records department. According to these officials, this
document is fraudulent. First, they pointed out that the
location of this fire (Profsoyuznaya) is well outside the
jurisdiction of their department. In addition, the
numbering system (located directly under the date) used
on the document in question has never been used by this
department. Finally, they stated that the signature on this

lla

document is a forgery. Attached [to] the memo is a copy
of the Russian version of the report with certain portions
of the report circled and notations made to explain the
parts of the document to which the report refers.

Following these revelations, the respondent sought
permission from the Court to make further investigations
and obtain further documentation as she did not concede
that the documents was fraudulent, and tndicated that by
getting another document from the fire department, this
confusion could be cleared up. Accordingly, the matter
was continued further for that purpose and the respondent
did obtain another report which purports to be from the
Department of State fire fighting service of the northwest
administrative district of the city of Moscow, 123481
Moscow, Painernaya Street, 4-1. The report indicates that
they confirm that on September 7, 1998, a fire took place
in a Volkswagen vehicle (license numbers omitted)
located at the parking lot at a specified address in
Moscow. As a result of the fire, the automobile burned up
completely. The most probable cause for the fire was
arson.

Upon receipt of Exhibit No. 15, the Service sought
leave to further investigate this report and on September
17, 2002 the Service submitted another report from an
Immigration assistant in the embassy in Moscow. It reads
“on July 25, 2002, a memorandum was received from
Gregory Fehlings, Assistant District Counsel, Office of
the District Counsel, Scattle, Washington, requesting that
INS, Moscow verify a certificate submitted by Nadezhda
Ursini in support of her asylum application. [End
quotation omitted]. This certificate dated December 10,
2001 was purportedly issued by the fire department of the

northwest administrative district located on Palnernaya
Street in Moscow, Russia.

On August 14, 2002, the writer visited this fire
department and spoke to the deputy chief of the
department. According to this official, this document is
fraudulent. First, he pointed out that the signature on the
document is a forgery. Furthermore, he stated that Mr.
Gvozdev was no longer working at the fire department at
the time that the document was purportedly issued. On
receipt of this information, the Court concluded that no
further inquiry need be made into that document and the
Court was satisfied that it was a counterfeit or fraudulent
document.

Testimony was taken in this matter. The first
testimony occurred on August 30, 2000. When the direct
examination was completed, the testimony was concluded
on December 6, 2000. The respondent testified that she is
Jewish, although her internal passport does not say she 1s
Jewish. She indicated that she sometimes celebrated
Jewish holidays but not on a regular basis. When she was
with her father, he opposed the Jewish celebrations since
she was Jewish through her mother’s side of the family.
She indicated that the family moved to Moscow when she
was in the seventh grade in 1985. In 1986, her father was
discharged from the army and taught school. From 1986
through 1988, the respondent lived in St. Petersburg and
during that time she would attend synagogue with her
mother. In 1989, her father died. That same year the
respondent began attending Tevr University. She
descnbed in some detail the manner in which she was
rudely and poorly treated at the school. The most severe
and dramatic which she described involved a man by the

l3a

name of Bilov who she stated was especially hateful
towards Jewish people, and on one occasion when she was
in her room, he and his roommates came into her room
and threw her out of the window where she landed on hard
packed snow and was_ injured. This required
hospitalization. In June 1994, she graduated from the
university and started working as an accountant in July of
the same year. In November 1995, she began getting calls
and threats from people who were aware that she was
Jewish and wanted her to leave the neighborhood.
However, she was not harmed during this period of time.
In August of 1996, she made a trip to the United States
and remained about ten days. She then returned to Russia
and in November of 1996, she was attached and severely
beaten which resulted in hospitalization for her according
to her testimony. A report of this is contained in Exhibit 6
on page 11.

In September 1997, the respondent made a second trip
to the United States and remained approximately two
weeks. She then returned to Russia where she lived
without incident until July 1998 when she made a third
trip to the United States. Upon her return to Russia in
September 1998, some people visited her and told her to
leave the neighborhood or they would kill her. The
incident concerning the arson of her car allegedly occurred
in July of 1998. It was her testimony that her car was
burned by anti-sematic people and that was why she
submitted the report contained in Exhibit No.8. Her last
arrival in the United States was on March 21, 1999.

Aiiens who seek asylum and withholding of removal
bear the burden of establishing eligibility under Sections
208(a) and 241(b)(3) of the Act respectively. To establish

l4a

eligibility for withholding of removal, an alien's facts
must show a clear probability of persecution in the country
designated for removal on account of race, religion,
nationality, membership in a particular social group, or
political opinion. The clear probability standard requires a
showing that it is more likely than not that an alien would
be subject to persecution if returned to the country from
which she seeks withholding of removal.

The burden of proof required to establish eligibility for
asylum is lower than that required for withholding of
removal. An applicant for asylum has established that her
fear is well-founded if she shows that a reasonable person
may well fear persecution even where the likelihood is
significantly less than clearly probable but there must be a
reasonable possibility of actually suffering such
persecution. Therefore, the applicant must show that a
fear of persecution is both subjective{ly] genuine and
objectively reasonable.

The objective component requires a showing by
credible, direct, and specific evidence in the record of
facts that would support a reasonable fear that the
applicant faces persecution based on one of the five
grounds alleged.

To be granted withholding of removal to a country
under the Convention against Torture, she must show that
it is more likely than not that she would be tortured in that
country. For an act to be considered torture, it must be an
extreme form of crucl and inhuman treatment which
causes severe physical or mental pain and suffering and
must be so intended. Torture must be inflicted by or at the
instigation of a public official or someone acting in an

official capacity or with the consent or acquiescence of
such an official.

The alien bears the evidentiary burden of proof and
persuasion. The facts underlying the claim must be
established by a preponderance of credible, probative
evidence. An alien’s own testimony without corroborative
evidence may be sufficient proof if the testimony is
believable, consistent, and sufficiently detailed to provide
a plausible and coherent account of the basis for her fear
of persecution. ‘

- A witness’s testimony may be discredited for a variety
of reasons. For instance, there may be other facts of
record which cast a doubt on the claim or the claim may
be internally inconsistent and may lack the ring of truth.
Testimony may be discredited by the witness’s demeanor,
by contradictory evidence or by inherent improbability, or
because the witness has an admitted history of dishonesty.
In the instant case, the Court has concluded that the
respondent ts not credible. Initially, before learning of the
counterfeit document, the Court only had some suspicions
as to her lack of credibility. For example, the fact that it
seemed very unusual that people were always able to find
out that she was Jewish considering she had an Italian last
name and she did not have any features that would suggest
that she was Jewish to the extent that that 1s possible to
detect from visual inspection, and her internal passport did
not indicate that she was Jewish. Nonetheless, there was
always a possibility that there were other means of finding
out although it would not [have] been probably from
attending synagogues since she indicated that she rarely
went. One of the aspects that made the Court wonder ts
that many of the problems that she had preceded her trips

l6a

to the United States without ever applying for asylum,
suggesting that she felt no particular peril or that her life
was in danger. She had already been hospitalized at least
twice according to her testimony before the 1997 and 1998
trips to the United States. However, it was the false
documents submitted in support of her claim in the form
of the fire department report that has caused the Court to
conclude that the respondent is not credible. As noted by
the Board of Immigration Appeals in Matter of O-D-, 21
I&N Dec. 1079 (BIA 1998). Quoting from U.S. v.
Strother, 49 F.3d 869 (2nd Cir. 1995), “ordinarily it 1s
reasonable to infer that an innocent person does not
usually find it necessary to invent or fabricate an
explanation or a statement to establish his innocence”.
That quotation is taken from a criminal case which refers
to guilt and innocence but the same principle applies here.
If an asylum applicant is proceeding in good faith, there
should be no reason to submit even one false document
much less two. The Court, therefore, finds that the
respondent has submitted a fraudulent document in
support of her application with the intention of deceiving
the Court. She is, therefore, found not to be credible and it
has been determined by this Court that her application
lacks veracity. An application which lacks veracity cannot
satisfy the burdens of proof and persuasion necessary to
demonstrate eligibility for asylum and related relief. See 8
C.F.R. 208.13(a), 208.16(b); Demirovsky v. INS, 39 F. 3d
177 (7th Cir. 1994); see also Matter of Mogharrabi, 19
I&N Dec. 439 (BIA 1987).

Accordingly the Court finds that the respondent has
not met her burden of establishing that she has a well-
founded fear of persecution for purposes of asylum or that
there is a clear probability that she would be persecuted

17a

for purposes of withholding of removal or relief under the
Torture Convention.

Accordingly, the applications will be denied. As
previously stated, the respondent is not eligible for
voluntary departure because she had not been physically
present in the United States for a period of one year at the
time that the NTA was issued. Accordingly, the voluntary
departure cannot be granted.

The Court has further concluded that the respondent
deliberately tried to deceive the Court by offering into
evidence two false documents for the purpose of
convincing the Court that her car had been burned by her
alleged tormentors in Russia, and the Court concludes that
because of her attempt to deceive the Court through this
false document, her application must be deemed as
frivolous and the Court, accordingly, so finds. The
respondent was warmed at the outset of the consequences
for filing a frivolous asylum claim.

The following orders will, therefore, be entered:
ORDERS

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the respondent’s
application for asylum is denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the respondent's
application for withholding of removal is denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the respondent's
application for relief under the Convention against Torture
is denied.

l&a

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the respondent be
removed from the United States to Russia on the charge
contained in the NTA.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the respondent be
barred forever from seeking any relief under the
Immigration + Nationality Act for filing a frivolous
asylum application. KW by AH 1-9-03 (Handwritten post-
script)

[Signed] Kendall Warren by lJ Anna Ho
KENDALL WARREN
U.S. Immigration Judge

A77 539 697 October 17, 2002

19a

U.S. Department of Justice
Executive Office for Immigration Review

Office of the Immigration Judge

IN REMOVAL PROCEEDINGS

File: A 77 539 697

In the Matter of
Nadezhda Ratminovna URSINI

Respondent

ORDER OF THE
IMMIGRATION JUDGE

Yesterday, before entering the Court’s oral decision,
the undersigned advised the parties that he intended to
make a finding that the asylum claim was frivolous,
pursuant to § 208(d)(6). In the oral decision, however, the
undersigned forgot to mention it, which was merely an
oversight, not a deliberate omission. After the parties left,
the undersigned rernembered this finding and dictated it
into the decision, so that it will be included in the oral
decision when it is transcribed.

20a

If either party x objects to the inclusion of xxxxx this
additional paragraph after the parties had left, they may
notify the Court within 5 days (no later than October 25,
2002), and the matter will be reconvened. The Court will
then reopen the matter on it’s [sic] ows motion and dictate
the paragraph in the presence of the partics. If no
objection is received, the paragraph, in which the finding
is made under § 208(d)(6) will remain in the decision as a
part of it, and will be deemed to have been properly
included in the decision, per consent of the parties.

It is so ordered

Date: __ 10-18-02

Place: Seattle, WA /s/
(Immigration Judge)
1 RECORD FILE COPY Form EOQIR-23

Mar. 84

2la

NOT FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

NADEZHDA URSINI, FILED January 19, 2007
Cathy A. Catterson, Clerk
U.S. Court of Appeals
Petitioner, No: 04-72638

v. INS No. A77-539-697

ALBERTO R. GONZALES, Attorney
General,

Respondent.

ORDER

Betore KOZINSKI and FERNANDEZ, Circuit
Judges, and WINMILL, District Judge.

The petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc is
DENIED. Sce Fed. R. App. P. 35; Fed. R. App. P. 40.

The Honorable Lynn B. Winmill, Chief United States
Distnct Judge for the District of Idaho, sitting by
designation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2460%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
