# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sambrano v. Heritage Trails Homeowners Association (No. 06-1450)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2313%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

Supreine Court, U.S.
0 FILED
O61450FEB2 52007
No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ATANACIO G. SAMBRANO
and CATHLEEN R. SAMBRANO,

Petitioners

Vv.

HERITAGE TRAILS HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION,
An Illinois not-for-profit corporation,
Respondent

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Appellate Court of Illinois
Second Judicial District

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ATANACIO G. SAMBRANO, PE

CATHLEEN R. SAMBRANO, RN
(Pro se)

532 MADISON LANE

LINDENHURST, ILLINOIS 60046

TEL.NO: (847) 265-6992

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Attorneys Fees and Costs

On May 10, 2005 the circuit court of the 19" circuit, Lake
County, Dhinois, entered an Order in Case Number 00 CH 981
awarding reasonable attorney’s fees and costs in favor of the
respondent to be determined at a hearing on these issues.

On October 17, 2005 the trial court entered a judgment in
favor of the respondent ordering the petitioners to pay the
respondent $48,732.75 in attorneys fees and $4,837.55 in
expenses and costs or a total of $53,570.30.

The Appellate Court of Illinois Second Judicial District
affirmed the judgment of the trial court in its Rule 23 Order
dated July 14, 2006 in Case Gen. Number 2-05-1102.

The question presented for review is whether the
respondent, the trial court, and the appellate court, singly or
jointly, can hold the petitioners legally liable to pay attorneys
fees and costs based solely on a resolution precipitately passed
by the Board of Directors of the respondent in the course of an
ongoing litigation between the petitioners and the respondent.

2. In-Ground Swimming Pool Barrier

The petitioners installed an in-ground swimming pool on
their lot with barriers that conformed to the barrier requirements
of the Village of Lindenhurst but did not conform to the fencing
regulations of the respondent. A conflict exists between the
barrier requirements in the ordinance of the Village and the
fencing regulations of the respondent, including but not limited
to whether a Declaration of Covenants in a subdivision shall
prevail and control the Village ordinance with regard to barrier/
fencing restrictions and requirements.

(i)

The question presented for review is whether the Village
barrier requirements for in-ground swimming pools should give
way to the fencing regulations of a corporate respondent in ways

that such regulations supersede the barrier ordinance of the
Village.

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(Questions Presented For Review....................

I a

PRTIMIONNE TIEVORVOG «55 occ cece ceccsecseonsners

i i nS pauedéauWedeurdaecce

PD denn kondeniancandivsdvecsasconnenitsrecertarts

(iti)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

e Amoco Realty Co. v.

Montalbano. . nen
133 fll. App. 3d 478 N. E. 24 860 an Dist. (1985)

e Board of Directors of 175 East Delaware Homeowners
PO Mi ssc isis ats psscdieatlceats ppees cance aciecastditehanieddas 13
Hinojosa 287 Ul. App. 3d at 890

¢ Brian Campbell v. Lake Hallowell Homeowners

PN isis ined asiacecsiidaiisdisipnnscaistahenk cevisteninnitenies os J
152 Md. App. 139, 331 A.2d 465, (2002)

e Galowich v. Beech Aircraft Corp. .........:.ccccccccseeeees 3
92 Ill. App. 2d 157 N.E. 2d 318 (1982)

e Johnston v. Suckow .......... sive 28
55 Ill. App. 3% 280 N. E. 24 650 oa Dist 1977)

¢ Nagel v. Gerald Dennen & Co. . ioe naeaene

272 I. App. 3d 516, N.E. 2d, 547 as Dist 1995)

¢ State Farm Fire and Cas. Co. v. Miller Electric Co. .....13
231 Ill. App. 3d N.E. 2d 169 (2™ Dist. 1992)

1 > FAI sstlintansa 13
114 Til. App. 3d 527 N.E. 2d 151 (1* Dist 1983)

By-Laws
Article VII — Powers and Duties of the Board ..................2.: 9
PARE FF 1 — FI a g.ciivnin ci vnc ck vencecnssivsveonsssscsscivenc cg A
Ordinance
Village of Lindenhurst Ordinance Section 421.10.1.................5

Resolution
Board of Directors Resolution of December 13, 2000 ..............4

(iv)

Regulations

Declaration of Covenants Article IV, Section 4.01 ..................
Declaration of Covenants Article IV, Section 4.02 .................
Declaration of Covenants Article IV, Section 4.03...................
Declaration of Covenants Article VI, Section 6.02(d) ..............
Declaration of Covenants Article VI, Section 6.04 ...............
Declaration of Covenants Article VIII, Section 8.02 ...............

(v)

AYWAnNnbe bio

CITATIONS

The Llinois Appellate Court Second District, in its Rule 23
Order entered on July 14, 2006, in Appellate Case Number 2-
05-1102, justified the award of attorneys fees and costs in favor
of the respondent citing a portion of Article IV, section 4.02
(Assessments) of the respondent’s Declaration of Covenants
which reads: “Assessments may be levied for the purpose of
paying *** contractual expenses of administering the Association
and enforcing the provisions of this Declaration, including
without limitation, *** fees of attorneys xxx.” (Page A-10, Rule
23 Order).

The Appellate Court also cited Article IV, section 4.03
(Levying of Assessments) of the respondent’s Declaration of
Covenants which reads: “The sums required to pay the costs
described in Section 4.02 above shall be allocated equally
among all the lots or in such other reasonable manner as the
Board may determine.” (Page A-10, Rule 23 Order).

The Appellate Court concluded that the resolution of the
respondent’s Board of Directors dated December 13, 2000 is
within the Board’s power under section 4.03. (Page A-10, Rule
23 Order); that the Board acted within its authority in adopting
the resolution. (Page A-10, Rule 23 Order). The question
presented for review regarding the granting of attorneys fees
and costs based solely on a resolution is a matter of important
public concern that, if decided with finality in this precedent-
setting case, will ultimately establish a rule for future conduct
by intra-state courts as well as inter-state courts. As of now
there is a conflict between the decision rendered by the Appellate
Court of the State of Maryland and the Appellate Court of Ilinois
with respect to the issue of attorneys fees by resolution. In the
case of Brian Campbell v. Lake Hallowell Homeowners

Association, the Maryland Court of Appeals denied the award
of attorneys fees based on a resolution that was improperly
passed for not having complied with the amendment provisions
of the Asso.» .9n’s Declaration of Covenants requiring that the
declaration it.ay be amended within the first 30-year period by
an instrument signed by not-less-than 90% of the Lot Owners
and thereafter by an instrument signed by not-less-than 75% of
the Lot Owners.

The Maryland court held that the resolution was outside
the scope of the Declaration of Covenants of the Association.
The same or similar facts were involved in this case between
the petitioners and the respondent, and yet the Illinois Appellate
Court’s Rule 23 Order of July 14, 2006 granted attorneys fees
to the respondent based on a resolution of the Board of Directors
that was improperly passed as an amendment to the Declaration
of Covenants without an instrument executed by not-less-than
75% of the members as required under Article VIII, 8.02 of the.
respondent’s Declaration of Covenants. Both resolutions in the
Maryland case and the Illinois case were improperly passed and
yet the Maryland court denied the award of attorneys fees while
the Illinois court granted the award of attorneys fees despite the
lack of statute or agreement between the parties. The denial of
attorneys fees by one state court and the granting of attorneys
fees by another state court is a conflict that will continue to
multiply until this issue is resolved with finality by this Court
which is the final arbiter of conflict between and among state
courts.

The Appellate Court went on saying: “Our research has
uncovered no cases in this state or elsewhere in which a
homeowner’s association was permitted to recover attorney’s
fees based solely on a resolution.” This manifestation
corroborates the petitioners’ contention that the matter of

attorneys fees by resolution is a virgin issue in a gray area of
jurisprudence.

With regard to the conflict between the in-ground pool
barrier requirements and respondent’s fencing restrictions, the
Appellate Court ruled that there was no conflict and that the
building code of the Village will control only when it is more
stringent or is in conflict with the respondent’s Declaration.
(Page A-8, Rule 23 Order).

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Illinois Appellate Court Second District
sought to be reviewed was its Rule 23 Order in Case Number 2-
05-1102 which was entered on July 14, 2006. A copy of the
Order appears in Appendix A. The jurisciiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1257.

REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Re: Attorneys Fees and Costs

With regard to the question on attorneys fees and costs,
Article [V (Assessments) section 4.02 should be construed in
teference to section 4.03 and not be taken independently. It
should be interpreted in reference to section 4.03. Pertinent
portion of Article IV section 4.02 provides:

“In addition, assessments may be levied for the purpose of
paying contractual expenses of administering the Association
and enforcing the provisions of this Declaration, including
without limitation xxx attorneys fees. xxx Assessments may be
levied for such other purposes of the Association as the Board
shall from time to time determine upon approval of two-thirds
2/3 of the members.”

Article IV section 4.03 of the respondent’s Declaration of
Covenants (levying of assessments) provides: “The sums
required to pay the cost described in section 4.02 shall
be“allocated equaily among all the lots or in such other
reasonable manner as the Board may determine.”

The respondent’s Board of Directors resolution of December
13, 2000 provides:
“All reasonable attorneys fees arising out of a default by any
owner, his tenant, invitee, or guest in the performance of the
provisions of the governing documents of the Association, Rules
and Regulations, or any applicable statute or ordinance,
including, but not limited to the collection of assessments and
fines, enforcing the covenants, By-Laws and Rules and
Regulations or representing the Association relative to actions
brought or threatened to be brought against it by the homeowner
shall be added to and deemed a part of said homeowner’s
respective share of the common expense.”

4

Article VIII (Miscellaneous) section 8.02 (Amendment) of
the respondent’s Declaration of Covenants provides:
“The provisions of this Declaration may be amended by an
instrument executed by not less than seventy-five percent (75%)
of the members; provided however, during such time as the
Declarant is an owner of any lot, provisions relating to the rights
and obligations of Declarant and Developer may not be amended
without the written consent of Declarant and Developer. The
responsibility for continued maintenance, operation and
preservation of the Common Area shall not be abrogated by any
such amendment. In addition, any amendment of any part of
Articles fi, VI or VIII shall require the prior written approval
of the Village.”

Article II] refers to property rights, Article VI refers to
restrictions on use of lots, and Article VIII refers to miscellaneous
provisions of the Declaration. Article VIII sections 8.02 refer
to requirements for amending the Declaration.

Re: Fencing Regulations

Article VI (Restrictions on Use of Lots) section 6.02(d)
provides: “The only type of fencing allowed on a lot shall be 5-
foot board-on-board type fencing constructed of cedar with at
least 30% of the fence surface area consisting of open air.”
Article VI section 6.04 (Primacy of Village Ordinances and Plat)
provides: “In the event any ordinances of the Village of
Lindenhurst are more stringent, or if any such ordinances or
the plat conflict with any of the provisions hereof, the
ordinances of the Village and the Plat shall prevail and
control.”

Section 421.10.1 of the BOCA National Building Code of
1996, referring to outdoor private swimming pools, spas and

sacs 5

hot tubs, which was adopted in ordinance of the Village, which
included in-ground, above-ground or on-ground pool, hot tub
or spa enumerates no less than ten (10) requirements for barriex
enclosures on in-ground pools. These ten requirements
sufficiently prove that section 421.10.1 is not only in conflict
with Article VI section 6.02(d) of the respondent’s Declaration
of Covenants but is also more stringent than section 6.02(d).

The conflict between the BOCA Code and Article VI section
6.02(d) of the Declaration of Covenants is best explained by
looking at Section 421.10.1, paragraph 4 of the BOCA Code,
specifically requiring in-ground pool barriers to be composed
of horizontal and vertical members and the distance between
the tops of the horizontal members less than 45 inches (1143
mm) etc. There is no such requirement under the Declaration of
Covenants. Furthermore, the Declaration of Covenants allows
the construction of three horizontal rails in the subdivision which
is a direct violation of the BOCA Code specifically requiring
only two rails. On the stringent issue, the BOCA Code
specifically requires the following under Section 421.10.1,
paragraph 9: paragraph 9.1 requires an alarm which produces
an audible warning; paragraph 9.2 requires that the pool be
equipped with a self-closing and self-latching door/gate device;
paragraph 9.3 requires that the pool be equipped with a power
safety cover. None of these are required under the Declaration
of Covenants which suggests a conclusion that the BOCA Code
barrier requirements are more rigid and more stringent than the
fencing requirements of the subdivision. Based on this
explanation, and since a contract is the law between parties,
Article VI section 6.04 of the Declaration requiring primacy of
Village requirements in case of conflict should have been upheld
by the lower courts. This issue is paramount for it involves
safety issues that may result in injury and even death. The
petitioners had complied with all the BOCA requirements in the
construction and completion of their in ground swimming pool.

6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 18, 2000, the petitioners filed with the circuit
court of the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit, Lake County, Illinois,
an action for injunctive and other relief praying for preliminary
and permanent injunction enjoining the respondent from
attempting to conduct violation hearing scheduled for August
22, 2000. On August 7, 2002, the respondent filed its two-count
Second Amended Counterclaim for declaratory injunctive and
other relief. On May 10, 2005, the trial court entered its final
judgment granting declaratory relief and injunctions requested
by the respondent. The trial court awarded to the respondent
reasonable attorneys fees and costs and ordered the petitioners
to remove the wrought-iron fence constructed around their in-
ground swimming pool by May 22, 2005 or construct a fence
which conforms to the rules of the respondent and the Village of
Lindenhurst ordinances.

The petitioners filed with the Illinois Appellate Court
Second Judicial District a timely appeal from the May 10, 2005
final judgment of the trial court, docketed as Appellate Case
Gen. Number 2-05-0489. On January 26, 2006, the Appellate
Court entered its first of two Rule 23 Orders DISMISSING the
petitioner’s appeal for lack of jurisdiction as the May 10, 2005
order appealed from was not a final and appealable order as it
left open the issue of the amount of attorneys fees the petitioners
would be required to pay.

On October 17, 2005 the trial court issued a judgment in
Case Number 00CH981 directing the petitioners to pay the
respondent $48,732.75 in attorneys fees and $4,837.55 in
expenses for costs, or a total of $53,570.30. The petitioners
filed a timely appeal of this October 17, 2005 judgment of the

circuit court to the Illinois Appellate Court Second District,
docketed as Appellate Case Gen. Number 2-05-1102. On July
14, 2006 the Appellate Court entered its second Rule 23 Order
disposing the case on the merits and affirming the May 10, 2005
and October 17, 2005 orders of the trial court.

On August 16, 2006 the petitioners filed with the Illinois
Supreme Court a Petition for Leave to Appeal from the Appellate
Court’s Rule 23 Order of July 14, 2006 pursuant to Illinois
Supreme Court Rule 315 as amended. This petition was docketed
as Case Number 103228. On November 29, 2006 the Illinois
Supreme Court DENIED the petit’ >ner’s Petition for Leave to
Appeal. A copy of the denial is in Appendix E.

ARGUMENT
I. Attorneys Fees

The award of attorneys fees by board resolution raised a
particularly significant question of law that is not settled by
jurisprudence in Illinois and elsewhere according to the
Illinois Appellate Court. Lack of precedent begs considerable
importance for this Court to grant writ of certiorari. Lack of
precedent imbues inherent significance of the question presented
for review as it calls for a judicial opinion that will ultimately
settle this question of law by precedent. Lack of precedent would
provide strong motivation for numerous boards of directors in
every subdivision and in every state in the entire country to pass
similar resolutions every time confrontations between
homeowners and subdivisions develop into a full-blown
litigation. Lack of case law precedent leaves every homeowner
in a subdivision completely at the mercy of the Board of Directors
of every homeowner association. Lack of case law precedent
will open the door to the proliferation of conflicting non-
precedential Rule 23 Orders with some Appellate Courts granting

8

the award of attorneys fees while others deny the award. It also
grants blanket discretion to State Courts to grant or deny
attorneys fees as they please with or without self serving board
resolutions.

This issue if of importance beyond the particular facts and
parties involved. The decision on this issue had nationwide
impact on all subdivision business in every state in the country
and in all state courts. Whether this foreseeable pattern of
behavior will gain momentum or be avoided depends on the
dispositive action taken by this Court in this instant petition for
writ of certiorari. These broad considerations provide enough
merit for the petition that needs to lay a precedent to preveni
gray areas on questions of law of this magnitude.

Article [V section 4.01 of the respondent’s Declaration of
Covenants refers to personal obligations of lot owners to pay
assessments levied to pay for the various types of common
expenses under Article IV section 4.02 which expenses are
equally allocated among all lots under Article IV section 4.03.
The resolution in question is an amendment to Article IV sections
4.02 and 4.03 of the Declaration of Covenants. The resolution
enlarges the scope of the “common expenses provisions” of
section 4.02. The resolution deletes the allocation clause under
section 4.03.

For a number of reasons the resolution is invalid and
unenforceable:

¢ It was not in a written instrument executed by not less than
75% of the members to be a valid amendment under Article
VIII section 8.02 of the Declaration of Covenants;

¢ It was passed in violation of Article VIII section 8.02;

e It was an ultra vires act of the respondent as it was outside
the powers and duties of the Board of Directors under Article
VII sections 7.01 and 7.02 of the By-Laws of the respondent;

9

e It was not approved by two-thirds 2/3 of the members
required under Article IV section 4.02;

e It was not legally binding upon any homeowner in the
subdivision, including the petitioners for it was never recorded
to be a real covenant with the Register of Recorder to be a valid
amendment of the Declaration;

e It was not a contract and could not be made the basis of
contractual liability binding on the petitioners or any homeowner;
* The Board has no authority to change rules immediately
binding upon any homeowner engaged in litigation with the
respondent;

¢ The resolution was a unilateral novation of the rights of the
respondent and the obligations of the petitioners;

¢ It violated Article XVI amendment provisions of the By-
Laws for it was not ratified in writing by owners representing
no less than 50% of the lots;

¢ The Board has no power to create creditor/debtor relationship
by a mere resolution which is neither a contract nor a statute;
¢ It lacks equity and made a mockery of equal justice under
the law in the sense that the petitioners cannot recover attorneys
fees and costs without a contract or statutory basis, and yet the
resolution which is not a contract allows the respondent to
recover;

¢ The resolution turned the scales of justice upside down as it
held the petitioners liable to pay so much for minor defaults
while the respondent does not have to pay a penny for its major
defaults.

These 12 substantial reasons prove that the respondent
violated specific provisions of its own contract, a take-it-or-leave-
it contract it seeks to enforce against the petitioners but refuses
to enforce against itself.

There are major defaults documented by evidence on record
showing the adamant reluctance of the Board to effectively

10

“enforce the provisions of the Declaration” within the thresholds
of Article IV section 4.02 with the same level of temerity in
meeting the hazards of litigation it had taken against the
petitioners. There is evidence on record that there were no less
than fifty-one (51) existing and pre-existing violations by other
homeowners of one race and not one of them was brought to
court. One violation is minor but fifty-one minor violations
amount to a major default. Selective enforcement of the
provisions of the Declaration of Covenants is a major default by
any tortured definition, not to mention the Board’s breach of
fiduciary duty to all homeowners to act reasonably and fairly
pursuant to the ruling of the court in the case of Wolinski v.
Kadison cited hereunder.

The petitioner’s isolated defaults turned insignificant when
compared to the Board’s insidious breach of fiduciary duty, and
their minor defaults became negligible compared to the
disastrous consequences of selective enforcement practices. The
Board’s timidity in effectively enforcing fifty-one existing and
pre-existing violations of the Declaration it was required to do
under Article TV section 4.02 and its temerity in effectively
enforcing the petitioner’s minor defaults under the same section
are boarded major defaults bordering on breach of fiduciary duty
and selective enforcement practices which are a deadly
combination of business mixed with pleasure. There is nothing
in the resolution, nothing in the governing documents of the
respondent in which any and all homeowners can successfully
hold the respondent liable to pay fines and penalties for its
defaults. And there is nothing in the governing documents
showing that the respondent’s Board of Directors can be held
liable to pay the costs of litigation and attorneys fees for breach
of fiduciary duty or violations of contractual obligations of the
respondent.

ll

The arnount of $53,570.30 in attorneys fees and costs is a
huge amount to be considered “reasonable” under Article IV
section 4.03 of the Declaration of Covenants. This amount could
hardly be justified as a “fair share” of a single homeowner in
the common expense provisions of section 4.02. What is
reasonable under section 4.03 must have been understood by
the Board to mean “unconscionable” on account of its resolution
requiring the petitioners to pay all attorneys fees, win or lose, as
a punitive measure in suing the respondent. For the Board to
make a holy cow of the respondent does not measure up to the
word “reasonable.” The Appellate Court’s conclusion that the
resolution was within the Board’s power, and that the Board
acted within its authority in adopting the resolution had no basis
in fact and in law.

Absent a contractual or statutory basis for liability to pay
attorneys fees and costs, the respondent saw a need to create a
basis for liability through board resolution. No where in the
entire proceedings of the trial court did the judge mention the
words “board resolution.” The attorney for the respondent, who
prepared the draft of the May 10, 2005 Order of the trial court,
saw an opportunity to edit the Order to fit his ends. Item 1 of
the May 10, 2005 Order reads in part: “That Atanacio Sambrano
and Cathleen Sambrano xxx are bound by xxx board resolutions.”
The attorney for the respondent furtively inserted the two words
“board resolutions” to give imprimatur of judicial authority that
laid the predicate for the resolution to justify his post-judgment
petition for attorneys fees and costs. Manufactured evidence
admitted into evidence through sneaky legal engineering tainted
the award of attorneys fees. The attorney for the respondent has
yet to show that he petitioned the court for attorneys fees and
costs with clean hands.

12

The general rule in Illinois provides that a party is not
entitled to recover attorneys fees unless an award is provided
for by statute or an agreement of parties. (Amoco Realty
Company v. Montalbano, 133 Ill. App. 3d 327, 334, 478 N.E.
2d 860, 865 (2™ Dist. 1985)). Absent statute or contractual
agreement, attorneys fees, ordinary expenses and burdens of
litigation are not recoverable costs to the prevailing party.
(Galowich v. Beech Aircraft Corp., 92 Ill. App. 2d 157, 166, 65
Ill. Dec. 405, 409, 441 N.E. 2d 318, 322 (1982)). Attorneys
fees are not taxable costs absent a contractual agreement.
(Johnston v. Suckow, 55 Ill. App. 3% 277, 280 12 Ill. Dec. 846,
849, 370 N.E. 2d 650, 653 (S5® Dist. 1977)). Ordinary litigation
expenses (Nagel v. Gerald Dennen & Co., 272 Ill. App. 3d 516,
525, 208 Ill. Dec. 853, 860 650 N.E. 2d 547, 554 (1* Dist. 1995)),
attorneys fees and trial preparation costs are generally not
recoverable by the prevailing party absent statutory provision.
(State Farm Fire and Cas. Co. v. Miller Elec. Co., 231 Lil. App.
3d 355, 358, 172 Ill Dec. 890, 892 596 N.E. 2d 169, 171 (2d
Dist. 1992)). The Board has a fiduciary duty to all homeowners
to act reasonably and fairly. (Wolinski v. Kadison, 114 Ill. App.
3d 527, 535, 449 N.E. 2d 151, 157 (1* Dist. 1983)). The
respondent must be objective, even-handed and non-
discriminatory and must apply its rules uniformly. (Board of
Directors of 175 East Delaware Place Homeowners Assn. v.
Hinojosa 287 Ll. App. 3d at 890).

Il. Pool Barriers

This question presented for review is one in which
compliance of Village pool barrier requirements constitutes non-
compliance of respondent’s fencing restrictions. Compliance
of respondent’s fencing restrictions constitutes non-compliance
of Village pool barrier requirements. The Village barrier
requirements under section 421.10.1 are not only in conflict with
Article VI section 6.02(d) fencing restrictions of respondent’s

13

2

Declaration of Covenants but are also more stringent than the
fencing regulations of the respondent.

There is no question that the in-ground pool barriers installed
around the petitioner’s pool did not conform to the fencing
regulations of the respondent under Article VI section 6.02(d)
and are in violation of said section. We contend that in light of
the interpretation of the sections of Article VI of the Declaration
of Covenants, one can readily reach a conclusion that there was
no valid reason for the trial court to enjoin the petitioners to
remove their Village-conforming pool barrier in its May 10, 2005
order.

Violation of Article VI section 6.02(d) cannot justify the
Appellate Court’s Rule 23 Order dated July 14, 2006 affirming
the trial court’s order. There was error of judgment on a question
of law in resolving this matter in favor of the respondent by
both the trial court and the Appellate Court who failed to take
into account Article VI section 6.04 of the respondent’s
Declaration of Covenants which is as much an important part of
the contract which is the law between the parties. Article VI
section 6.04 provides: “In the event any ordinances of the Village
of Lindenhurst are more stringent xxx or if any such ordinances
conflict with any of the provisions hereof, the ordinances of the
Village shall prevail and control.” Reading both Article VI
section 6.02(d) and section 421.10.1 of the BOCA Code would
suggest a foregone conclusion that the latter is more stringent
and in conflict with the former. And therefore the primacy of
the Village ordinance, pursuant to Article VI section 6.04, should
have been upheld.

The petitioners were brought to court by the respondent for
enclosing their pool with fencing in violation of Article VI section
6.02(d). They were also brought to court on May 24, 2006 by

14

the Village of Lindenhurst in General Case Number 060V3794
for alleged violation of section 421.10.1 of the Boca National
Building Code of 1996, caused by the respondent’s removal of
their BOCA-conforming barriers in compliance with the May
10, 2005 injunction of the trial court.

Whose barrier/fencing regulation must be recognized or be
followed in the event of conflict was a question of law the court
may not answer as a matter of discretion. It was a question of
law that was authoritatively answered by Article VI section 6.04
of the respondent’s Declaration of Covenants expressly providing
for primacy of Village ordinances. There is no room for
interpretation for the provisions in question are plain and are
free of any doubt. The intention of the parties expressed in the
contract had been thwarted by an incorrect interpretation dealing
with questions of law.

The primacy of the Village ordinance was strengthened by
the respondent itself when on January 7, 2000 its agent, Allan J.
Kalman, wrote a letter addressed to the petitioners stating: “The
fence style of the respondent’s Reference Guide xxx refers to
normal fencing which means perimeter fencing. xxx Fences
enclosing pools only is a Village requirement, not an Association
requirement. xxx The pool enclosure issue is a Village issue.”

Until a writ of certiorari is granted by this Court, an until
this Court sets aside the July 14, 2006 Rule 23 Order of the
Illinois Appellate Court affirming the trial court’s May 10, 2005
injunction order, the petitioners will always be defendants in
actions by the Village or defendants in actions by the respondent
simply because the state court’s decisions on this fencing issue
overruled the Village primacy provisions in Article VI section
6.04 of the respondent’s Declaration of Covenants.

15

These considerations merit the granting of a writ of certiorari
to right the wrongs committed in the proceedings of the lower
courts and it is in the highest public interest to resolve the
question of attorneys fees and costs by resolution to set a
precedent for state courts in deciding similar cases uniformly.

Respectfully submitted,

Atanacio AY, mean

pease

pae_A127| n7

16

APPENDIX

¢ Appendix D— October 17, 2005 Order of the Trial Coutrt........... A-22
¢ Appendix E — November 29, 2006 letter of denial of.......A-23
Petition for Leave to Appeal by Illinois Supreme Court

¢ Appendix F— Board Resolution, dated December 13, 2000,.... A-24
authorizing attorneys fees by resolution

¢ Appendix G — Article VII of the By-Laws on the powers...A-26
and duties of the Board of Directors

¢ Appendix H — Section421.10.1 of the BOCA National.... A-28
Building Code of 1996

¢ Appendix I— Article VIII of the Declaration.................. A-31
of Covenants dealing with amendments

¢ Appendix J— Violation charge by the Village of ........ A-32
Lindenhurst regarding Section 421.10.1 of the BOCA code

17

This Order Is Not No. 2-05-1102 FILED- JUL 14 2006

Precedential APPELLATE COURT
And Is Not To Be Cited 2% DISTRICT
IN THE

APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS

SECOND DISTRICT

ATANACIO G. SAMBRANO and ) Appeal from the
Circuit Court

CATHLEEN R. SAMBRANO, ) of Lake County
)
Plaintiffs and Counterdefendants- )
Appellants, )
)
v. ) No.00-CH-981
)
HERITAGE TRAILS HOMEOWNERS )
ASSOCIATION, )
) Honorable
Defendant and Counterplainuff- ) David M. Hall,
Appellee ) Judge, Presiding
RULE 23 ORDER

The plaintiffs, Atanacio G. Sambrano and Cathleen R.
Sambrano, appeal from a judgment of the circuit court of Lake
County entered on the counterclaim of the defendant, the
Heritage Trails Homeowners Association (Association).
Among other things, the trial court ordered the Sambranos to

A-]

either remove a swimming pool from their property or enclose
the pool with a fence in compliance with the Association’s
governing documents. The judgment also awarded attorney fees
to the Association. We affirm.

Heritage Trails is a residential subdivision in the Village of
Lindenhurst (Village) that was developed by Westfield Homes
of Illinois, Inc, (the Developer).' The Association is a not-for-
profit corporation established for various purposes, including
the administration of architectural control over the subdivision
and the maintenance of the subdivision’s common areas. In
March 1995, the Developer executed a declaration of covenants,
conditions, restrictions, and easements (Declaration). Under the
Declaration, the Developer retained the right to select the
members of the Association’s Board of Directors (Board) until
the so-called “Turnover Date,” defined as the earlier of the date
when all lots in the subdivision were sold or the date on which
the Developer gave written notice of its election to terminate its
control. After the Turnover Date, homeowners would be entitled
to elect the Board.

The Declaration also established an Architectural Review
Committee (ARC) to advise the Board about proposals by
homeowners for improvements on their properties. With some
exceptions, homeowners must secure approval from the Board
before constructing outdoor improvements. The approval
process entails submitting construction plans to the ARC, which
then reviews the plans and recommends that the Board either
approve or disapprove them. The ARC may base its
recommendation on aesthetic consideration, the proposed
improvement’s suitability to its surroundings, and the effect of
the proposed improvement on the view from adjacent or
neighboring properties. The Declaration provides that, prior to

' Another developer, Ryland Homes, also participated in the development
of the subdivision.

A-2

the Turnover Date, the Developer is the sole member of the ARC
unless the Developer designates additional members. After the
Turnover Date, the ARC was to consist of three members
appointed by the Board.

The Declaration’s architectural controls include restrictions
on the type of fencing that may be constructed on a home site.
Section 6.02(d) of the Declaration states that “(t]he only type of
fencing allowed,*** shall be 5 foot board on board type fencing
constructed of cedar with at least 30% of the fence surface area
consisting of open air.” Section 6.03(a) provides, in pertinent
part, that “[njo*** chain-link or metal fences *** shall be
erected, constructed or placed” on any property in Heritage
Trails. Areference guide prepared for homeowners by the ARC
explains that only “Shadow Box Style” fencing will be permitted.
Section 6.04 of the Declaration provides that “‘[iJn the event any
ordinances of the Village of Lindenhurst are more stringent, or
if any such ordinances *** conflict with any of the provisions
hereof, the ordinances of the Village *** shall prevail and
control.” In addition, section 8.07 of the Declaration provides
that “[t]he failure by the Association*** to enforce any covenants
or restriction herein contained shall in no event be deemed a
waiver of the right to do so thereafter.”

The Sambranos own a home situated on lot 43 in the
subdivision. The recorded plat of the subdivision shows that
the Sambranos’ lot backs up against outlot 255, which the
Declaration designates to be a common area. A pond that
functions as a storm water management facility is located on
outlot 255, but the waterline is not on the border with lot 43.
Rather, there is dry land between the pond and the boundary
line for lot 43.

On November 18, 1999, the Sambranos submitted plans for
an in-ground swimming pool, surrounded by a wrought iron
fence enclosing the pool, a wooden perimeter fence, a concrete
deck, a wooden deck, and an additional driveway composed of
crushed stone. The Association advised the Sambranos that,
under the Declaration, the wood and concrete decks were
excepted from the approval process. However, the Association
refused the Sambranos’ request to build a crushed stone driveway
and a wrought iron fence. Noting that the Declaration permitted
only wooden fencing, the Association asked the Sambranos to
resubmit their plans with the appropriate type of fencing. The
Association also noted that the Sambranos could submit plans
for a paved driveway, but that the ARC had some concerns that
the proposed driveway was too close to a neighboring property.
The Association approved installation of a swimming pool,
provided that the matter of a proper enclosure was resolved.

The Sambranos did not revise and resubmit their construction
plans. Instead they proceeded with construction of the
unapproved driveway, swimming pool, and wrought iron fence.
During the construction of the swimming pool, dirt was dumped
in the common area between the Sambranos’ property and the
pond. The Association sent the Sambranos written notice that
they were in violation of the Declaration. After the pool was
completed, the dirt was removed from the common area.
However, the Sambranos landscaped the common area with trees,
and other plants. The Sambranos also cut down cattails growing
at the edge of the pond. The cattails and other natural vegetation
around the pond helped to preserve the water quality. Indeed,
the Board had previously debated whether to beautify the pond
by removing the cattails and had decided not to do so. In June
2000, the Association’s attorney wrote to Mr. Sambrano
demanding, inter alia, that the landscaping on the common area,
the swimming pool, and the fence be removed. The Sambranos
did not comply, and on July 28, 2000, the Association’s attomey

A4

wrote to the Sambranos to advise them that on August 22, 2000,
the Board would conduct a violation hearing to determine
whether to fine the Sambranos for their infractions.

On August 18, 2000, the Sambranos filed a complaint seeking
to enjoin the Association from conducting the violation hearing.
The trial court refused to grant an injunction, and a violation
hearing took place on September 19, 2000. Neither the
Sambranos nor their attorney attended the hearing. The Board
voted to assess the Sambranos $10 per day for each of five
separate violations unless the violations were remedied within
two weeks from September 27, 2000. On December 13, 2000,
the Board approved a resolution providing, in pertinent part, as
follows:

“All reasonable attorneys’ fees incurred by the Association
arising out of a default by any homeowner *** in the performance
of any provisions of the governing documents of the Association,
Rules and Regulations, or any applicable statute or ordinance,
including, but not limited to the collection of assessments and
fines, enforcing the covenants, By-Laws and Rules and
Regulations or representing the Association relative to actions
brought or threatened to be brought against it by homeowner
shall be added to and deemed a part of said homeowner’s
respective share of the common expense.”

Shortly thereafter, the Association filed a counterclaim for
preliminary injunctive relief. The Association subsequently filed
an amended counterclaim seeking a permanent injunction against
the Sambranos’ violations and ordering them to remove the
unapproved driveway and fence and to restore the common area
behind their home to its proper condition. In addition, the
Association sought an order compelling the Sambranos to pay
the accumulated assessments arising from their violations and
to pay the Association’s attorney fees. The Sambranos raised

A-5

several affirmative defenses including a defense of waiver based
on the Association’s alleged failure to enforce the fencing
restriction against other homeowners with nonconforming
fences. The Sambranos also asserted, as an affirmative defense,
that the fencing restriction conflicted with the Lindenhurst
Building Code, which permitted pool enclosure fences with
vertical members spaces up to 4 inches apart and which permitted
the use of materials other than wood. On the Association’s
motion, the trial court struck the latter affirmative defense.

On September 5, 2002, the trial court dismissed the
Sambranovs’ complaint. The court later entered partial summary
judgment for the Association, ruling that, pursuant to the Board’s
December 13, 2000, resolution, the Association would be entitled
to an award of attorney fees if it prevailed on its counterclaim.

The matter ultimately proceeded to a bench trial on the
counterclaim. In addition to presenting evidence concerning
the violations on the Sambranos’ property, the Association
introduced evidence to refute the Sambranos’ affirmative defense
of waiver. According to the testimony of the Association’s
witnesses, there had been other instances in which homeowners
erected fences that did not comply with the Association’s
governing documents. In most of the cases, the Association had
demanded that the homeowner correct the problem and the
homeowner had voluntarily complied. At the time of trial,
however, there were three nonconforming fences in Heritage
Trails in addition to the Sambranos’. One homeowner on a comer
lot had a split rail fence; a Village ordinance precluded the
construction of a shadow box fence because it would impede
visibility and create a potential traffic hazard. Another
homeowner had a four-foot high picket fence that had been
approved by the Developer prior to the Turnover Date. A third
homeowner was using chicken wire to fence off a vegetable

A-6

garden. The Association had issued a violation notice and had
levied a $10-per-day assessment for the violation.

Peter Chiappori, the Village’s chief building inspector,
testified without objection that he had reviewed the Declaration’s
requirements for fencing and that a swimming pool enclosure
could be constructed that complied with those requirements and
also satisfied the requirements set forth in the Building Officials
and Code Administrators’ (BOCA) National Building Code
(1996 Edition), which the Village had adopted by ordinance (see
Lindenhurst Village Code §150.01 (amended March 9, 1998).
According to Chiappori, several Heritage Trails owners had in
fact built swimming pool enclosures that conformed to both the
Village’s requirements and the Association’s.

The bench trial concluded on April 6, 2005. On May 10,
2005, the trial court entered a written order (1) enjoining the
Sambranos from interfering with the right of the Association to
maintain outlot 255 or the use and enjoyment of outlot 255 by
other homeowners; (2) ordering the Sambranos to remove the
wrought iron fence; (3) ordering the Sambranos to either remove
the swimming pool or construct a fence conforming to the
Association’s rules; and (4) authorizing the Association to restore
outlot 255 to its proper condition at the Sambranos’ expense.
The trial court continued the matter for a hearing to determine
attorney fees and how much to fine the Sambranos for their
violations. On May 16, 2005, the Sambranos filed a notice of
appeal. This court dismissed the appeal for lack of jurisdiction
on the basis that the May 10, 2005, order was not a final
judgment. Heritage Trails Homeowners Ass'n v. Sambrano, No.
2-05-0489 (2006) (unpublished order under Supreme Court Rule
23).

On October 17, 2005, the trial court entered an order awarding
the Association attorney fees and costs in the amount of

A-7

$53,570.30. The trial court also gave the Association leave to
withdraw, without prejudice, its claim for penalties. This appeal
followed.

The Sambranos first argue that they were entitled to construct
a wrought iron enclosure for their pool because it is permissible
under the Village’s building code. According to the Sambranos,
the building code controls over the Declaration. That is true,
however, only when the building code is more stringent than, or
is in conflict with, the Declaration. That is not the case here. As
noted, the Association presented uncontradicted evidence, with
no objection from the Sambranos, that it is possible to build a
wooden pool enclosure that complies both with the Village’s
ordinances and with the Declaration.

The Sambranos also argue that there is a discrepancy between
the Declaration and the homeowners’ reference guide issued by
the ARC. They contend that the Declaration specifically
prohibits metal fences, while the reference guide makes no
reference to metal fences. The argument in unpersuasive. The
reference guide indicates that cedar is the only material that may
used for fencing; thus the reference guide cannot be interpreted
as permitting metal fencing.

According to the Sambranos, the Association is guilty of
selective enforcement of the restrictions set forth in the
Declaration. A party that selectively enforces a particular deed
restriction or restrictive covenant may be found to have waived
that restriction or covenant. See, e.g., VandeLogt v. Brach, 325
fll App. 3d 847, 854 (2001) (“Where there has been acquiescence
in prior violations of a particular restriction, the plaintiff’s
acquiescence will result in the waiver of any right to enforce the
restriction”). However, minor violations do not preclude
subsequent enforcement of the covenant. VandeLogt, 325 Il.
App. 3d at 855. Moreover, courts have generally concluded

A-8

that waiver occurs only after there has been acquiescence in
multiple violations. Knolls Association v. Hinton, 71 Ill App.
3d 205, 209 (1979). Here, the record shows that the Association
was generally vigilant in enforcing the restrictions set forth in
the Declaration. Although it is true that the Board permitted a
split rail fence on a corner lot, that fence was excepted from the
requirements of the Declaration because it was subject to the
more stringent requirements of a Village ordinance. Otherwise,
the record shows that the Association permitted only a single
nonconforming fence to be maintained-a four-foot picket fence
approved by the Developer. This single violation is insufficient
to give rise to a waiver. Moreover, the Declaration expressly
provides that the failure to enforce any covenant or restriction
shall not be deemed a waiver of the covenant or restriction.

The next issue is whether the trial court properly awarded
attorneys fees to the Association. Although not a model of clarity,
the Sambranos’ argument appears to based, in part, on the
premise that the Board exceeded its authority in adopting a
resolution permitting it to collect attorneys fees, and that’the
resolution was tantamount to an amendment of the Declaration.
The Association argues that the resolution is a proper exercise
of the Board’s power under the Declaration. A homeowners,
association may recover attorney fees for enforcing a restrictive
covenant where the instrument creating the restriction so
provides. See, e.g., Forest Glen Community Homeowners Ass’n
v. Bishof, 321 Il. App. 3d 298, 305 (2001); Amoco Realty Co.
v. Montalbano, 133 Ill. App. 3d 327, 334-35 (1985).
Additionally, statues in some states may give rise to the right to
recover attorneys fees. See, e.g., Va. Code Ann. §55-515 (West
____). Our research has uncovered no cases in this state or
elsewhere in which a homeowners’ association was permitted
to recover attorney fees based solely on a resolution. In at least
one case, it was held that such a resolution was outside the scope

A-9

of a provision in a declaration of covenants, conditions, and
restrictions authorizing enforcement of the by any proceedings
at law or in equity. lly ll Homeown

Ass’n, 152 Md. App. 139, 150, 331 A.2d 465, 471 (2002). We
conclude, however, that the Board acted within its authority in
adopting the resolution. Article IV of the Declaration governs
the Association’s right to levy assessments on the homeowners.
Section 4.01 provides that each owner of a lot “by acceptance
of a deed therefore, *** shall be and is deemed to covenant and
hereby agrees to pay to the Association such assessments as are
levied pursuant to the provisions of this Declaration.” Under
section 4.02 of the Declaration,“assessments may be levied for
the purpose of paying *** contractual expenses of administering
the Association and enforcing the provisions of this Declaration,
including without limitation, *** fees of attorneys.” Finally,
section 4.03 of the Declaration provides that “[t}he sums required
to pay the costs described in Section 4.02 above shall be allocated
equally among all the Lots or in such other reasonable manner
as the Board may determine.” (Emphasis added.) Here, the

resolution determined that the cost of legal representation to
enforce the Declaration should be borne by the homeowner
whose violation made it necessary for the Association to obtain
counsel. It is reasonable to allocate the cost of legal
representation in this manner. Accordingly, the resolution is
within the Board’s power under Section 4.03.

The Sambranos complain that the resolution is “persecutory”
because “it impose[s] a burden on the homeowners to pay for
attorney’s fees regardless of which side of the litigation the
[Association] finds itself [sic].” It is true that the resolution
permits the Association to collect attorney fees for actions it
defends as well as those it prosecutes. But in any such case, the
action must arise from a default by the homeowner in the
performance of its obligations. Thus, there is no liability for
attorney fees absent blameworthy conduct.

A-10

The Sambranos complain that the resolution is “persecutory”
because “it impose[s] a burden on the homeowners to pay for
attorney’s fees regardless of which side of the litigation the
{Association} finds itself [sic].” It is true that the resolution
permits the Association to collect attorney fees for actions it
defends as well as those it prosecutes. But in any such case, the
action must arise from a default by the homeowner in the
performance of its obligations. Thus, there is no liability for
attorney fees absent blameworthy conduct.

The Sarnbranos also argue that it is unfair to hold them liable
for attorney fees when Heritage Trails’ governing documents
did not provide for such liability at the time of the alleged
violations. The Sambranos argue that it would be “equitably
unfair” to apply the resolution retroactively. We disagree. We
note that a homeowners association is not invariably forbidden
from modifying rules applicable to existing uses of property.
See Crest Builders, Inc. v. Willow Fall Improvement Ass’n, 74
Ill. App. 3d 420 (1979) (developer had no vested right to continue
posting advertising signs on property after homeowners assumed
control of the homeowners association and voted to prohibit
such advertising). Moreover, any unfairness is significantly
ameliorated because the Association has sought attorney fees
incurred only after the resolution was adopted. At that point,
the Sambranos were on notice that contesting the Association’s
counterclaim exposed them to possible liability for the
Association’s attorney fees. In addition, to the extent the
Sambranos are seeking to invoke the court’s equitable powers,
the maxim that “he who seeks equity must do equity” (Sidwell
v. Sidwell, 102 Ill. App. 3d 56, 59 (1981) is applicable. Here,
by flouting the requirements of the Declaration, the Sambranos
have failed to do equity.

A-I1

The Sambranos’ remaining arguments require only brief
discussion. First, the Sambranos argue that the Developer
conveyed outlot 255 to them. Suffice it to say that there is nothing
in the record support this assertion, the plat of the subdivision
shows that their lot does not extend to the waterline of the pond.
Second, the Sambranos complain that the violation notices
introduced into evidence by the Association were copies that
had been altered and that contained handwriting that did not
appear on the original notices they received. However, they fail
to explain how the alleged alterations are of any significance to
the outcome of the case. Third, the Sambranos assert that the
trial court’s written order of May 10, 2005, drafted by the
Association’s counsel, contains certain language that is different
from the trial court’s ruling. We find that the additional language
is consistent with the oral ruling and is not erroneous. Fourth,
the Sambranos contend that another Heritage Trails homeowner
had submitted a request for approval of an improvement prior
to the date the homeowner purchased the property. In support
of the contention, the Sambranos cite an exhibit which is not
part of the record. Matters outside the record cannot be
considered on appeal. Skrypek v. Mazzocchi, 227 Ill. App. 3d
1,4 (1992). In any event, it not at al] clear what significance
this discrepancy has to this case. Finally, the Sambranos accuse
the Association of discriminating against them on the basis of
their race or national origin. There is simply no evidence in the
record whatsoever to support the charge.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the circuit court
of Lake County is affirmed.

Affirmed.

GILLERAN JOHNSON, J., with BYRNE and KAPALA, JJ.,
concurring.

A-12

This Order Is Not No. 2-05-0489 FILED- JAN 26 2006
Precedential And APPELLATE COURT
Is Not To Be Cited 204 DISTRICT

IN THE

APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS

SECOND DISTRICT

HERITAGE TRAILS HOMEOWNERS ) Appeal from the Circuit
Court
ASSOCIATION, an Illinois not for profit, ) of Lake County

Corporation )
Plaintiff- Appellee )
)
v. ) No.00-CH-981
)
ATANACIO SAMBRANO and )
CATHLEEN SAMBRANO, ) Honorable
) David M. Hall
Defendants- Appellants ) Judge, Presiding
RULE 23 ORDER

The defendants, Atanacio Sambrano and Cathleen Sambrano,
appeal, pro se, from the May 10, 2005, order of the circuit court
of Lake County finding them in violation of various rules of the
plaintiff, the Heritage Trails Homeowners Association, and
ordering them to remedy those violations. The trial court also
found that the defendants were required to pay certain fines and

A-13

the plaintiff’s attorney fees, but reserved determining how much
the defendants would be obligated to pay until it conducted a
hearing on that issue. On May 16, 2005, the defendants filed a
notice of appeal. Because the order the defendants are appealing
from is a non-final order, we dismiss this appeal for lack of
jurisdiction.

The instant controversy arose after the defendant installed
an in-ground swimming pool on their property without the
approval of their Homeowners Association, the plaintiff. The
defendants also installed a wrought-iron fence, a crushed stone
driveway, and cut down vegetation and planted trees in acommon
area. All of this was done without the plaintiff’s approval.
Pursuant to the provisions of the Homeowners Association’s
agreement, if a member violated the rules of the agreement, that
member would be subject to per diem fines and penalties and
would obligated to pay the plaintiff’s attorney fees incurred in
enforcing its rules.

On April 6, 2005, following a trial and nearly five years of
litigation, the trial court orally found that the defendants had
violate the Homeowners Association’s agreement by installing
a wrought-iron fence and an in-ground swimming pool and using
common area without the plaintiff’s approval. The trial court
found that the plaintiff had the right to remove all the
improvements the defendants had made to common area. The
trial court ordered that the defendants remove their fence within
45 days. The trial court also ordered that the defendants were to
remove their swimming pool or to construct a fence that was in
conformance with the plaintiff’s rules and the ordinances of
Lindenhurst.

The trial court additionally found that the plaintiff was entitled
to its attorney fees for its seeking to have the defendants comply
with the rules of the Homeowners Association. The trial court

A-14

further found that the plaintiff was entitled to fines for the
defendants’ violations of the Homeowners Association rules. The
trial court explained that it would continue the matter for further
hearing to determine the amount of attorney fees and fines that
it would order the defendants to pay the plaintiff. The trial court
explained that its order was “a final one in this stage of the
proceeding.” However, because it was continuing the matter
for a hearing on the attorneys fees, the trial court explained that
its order was not “a final order that would trigger a deadline for
filing an appeal.” In entering its order, the trial court did not
enter any findings pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 304(a)
(Official Reports Advance Sheet No. 22 (October 26, 2005),
effective January |, 2006).

On May 10, 2005, the trial court entered a written order
consistent with its oral findings. On May 16, 2005, the
defendants filed a notice of appeal.

Before addressing the merits of the defendants’ appeal, we
first consider our jurisdiction to consider the defendants’ appeal.
See Revolution Portfolio, LLC v. Beale, 341 Ill. App. 3d 1021,
1024-25 (2003) (reviewing court has a duty to consider sua
sponte its jurisdiction and to dismiss an appeal if jurisdiction is
wanting). For this court to have jurisdiction, the order of the
trial court must be a final order unless it comes within the
exceptions set forth by the Supreme Court Rules. Pottorf v.
Clark, 134 Ill. App. 3d 349, 351 (1985). A final order terminates
the litigation on the merits and settles all rights and obligations
of the parties without leaving any matters of substantial
controversy for subsequent resolution. Lincoln Towers Insurance
Agency, Inc. v. Boozell, 291 Ill. App. 3d 965, 968 (1997). A
claim for attorney fees must be resolved before appellate
jurisdiction attaches unless the claim is collateral to the

A-15

underlying action. Cannon v. William Chevrolet/GEO, Inc., 341
Ill. App. 3d 674, 679 (2003).

Here, we do not believe that the order the defendants are
appealing from is a final appealable order. The order did not
settle all the substantial matters between the parties as it left
open the issue of the amount of fines and attorneys fees that the
defendant would be required to pay. The trial court specifically
held that the defendants would be obligated to pay attorney fees
and fines, but reserved determining how much the defendants
would be obligated to pay until it conducted a hearing on those
issues. The trial court also specifically informed the parties that
its order was not final for appeal purposes.

Moreover, the issue of attorney fees was not collateral to the
underlying action. The plaintiff’s action against the defendants
was based on the defendants violating the Homeowners
Association agreement. This agreement included provisions
requiring the payment of fines and the plaintiff’s attorney fees
if a member violated the agreement. The plaintiff requested its
attorney fees and fines from nearly the outset of the litigation.
Thus, the issue of the attorney fees was concomitant with the
underlying action. Therefore, any judgment entered in the case
before the claim for fees was ruled upon was nonfinal and
nonappealable. Cannon, 341 Ill. App. 3d at 679. Because the
order the defendants are appealing from is not final, we lack
jurisdiction to consider the merits of their appeal. See Pottorf,
134 Ill. App. 3d at 351.

For the foregoing reasons, we dismiss the defendants’ appeal.
Appeal dismissed.

GILLERAN JOHNSON, J., with BYRNE and KAPALA, JJ.,
concurring.

A-16

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE NINETEENTH CIRCUIT
LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS

FILED- MAY 10 2005
CIRCUIT CLERK

“s/Sally D. Coffelt”

HERITAGE TRAILS HOMEOWNERS )

ASSOCIATION, an Illinois not for )

profit corporation ) No.00CH 981

Plaintiff

V. Judge Hall

ATANACIO SAMBRANO and CATHLEEN
SAMBRANO,

Defendants,

ORDER

This matter coming to be heard for Trial, the Court having heard

evidence, and after fully considering the evidence and arguments
presented, the Court rules as follows and as per its Oral Ruling
in open Court on April 6, 2005:

1. That Atanacio Sambrano’s and Cathleen Sambrano’s
(hereinafter the “Sambrano’s”) property (Lot 43, 532 N. Madison
Lane, Lindenhurst, IL) and the Sambranos, as members of the
Heritage Trails Homeowners Association (hereinafter the
Association’), are bound by the terms of the Declaration, By-
Laws, Rules and Regulations and Board Resolutions;

2. That by constructing their wrought-iron fence and
additional crushed stone driveway in contravention of the
Association’s Architectural Review Board, and by using the
common area identified as Outlot 255 to deposit fill, removing

A-17

cattail and other natural vegetation there from and by planting
trees and other plant material thereon, the Sambranos have
violated the Declaration and By-Laws, Rules and Regulations,
and continue to violate the Declaration and By-Laws, Rules and
Regulations, as long as the offending fence and appropriation
of the common area continue;

3. That by paving the additional drive way, the Sambranos
have complied with the terms of the Association’s Declaration,
By-Laws, Rules and Regulations;

4. That by installing and constructing the in-ground
swimming pool on their property without ‘receiving approval
from the Association and the Architectural Review Board, the
Sambranos are in violation of the Association’s Declaration, By-
Laws and Rules and Regulations;

5. That the Association shall be awarded its reasonable
attorney’s fees and costs, to be determined at a hearing on these
issues;

6. That the amount of the Association’s per diem fines and
penalties against the Sambranos will be determined at a hearing
on this issue;

7. That Atanacio Sambrano and Cathleen Sambranos are
permanently enjoined from continuing to violate the
Association’s Declaration, By-Laws and Rules and Regulations;

8. That the Sambranos do not have any ownership interest
in the property between their lot line and the edge of the pond
on Outlot 255, except for those interests as members the
Association who own a proportionate share of all of the
Association’s Common Elements;

9. That the Sambranos are permanently enjoined from in
any way interfering with the Association’s right to maintain,
repair, use, enter upon otherwise be in control of the property
between their lot line and the edge of the pond on Outlot 255;

10. That the Sambranos are permanently enjoined from in
any way interfering or preventing each Owner (as defined in the

A-18

Heritage Trails Declaration) or member of employees from using
and enjoying the Outlot 255, and specifically the property
between the Sambranos lot line and the edge of the pond on
Outlot 255;

11. That the Association has the right to remove the
improvements installed on the property between the Sambranos
lot line and the edge of the pond on Outlot 255 and the
Association has the right to restore said area in their discretion.
The Association will petition the Court for a determination of
the reasonable costs of removing the improvements and restoring
said property, and the Sambranos will be ordered to pay those
amounts to be determined by this Court;

12. That the Sambranos are ordered to either remove the
wrought iron metal fence constructed around their in-ground
swimming pool by May 22, 2005, which is 45 days after April
6, 2005;

13. That the Sambranos are ordered to either remove the in-
ground swimming pool on their property or construct a fence
which conforms to the rules of the Association and the
Lindenhurst Village ordinances. The Sambranos are further order
to submit to the Architectural Review Board for the Association
a request for either the removal of the in-ground swimming pool
on their property or the construction of a fence which conforms
to the rules and regulations of the Association and the
Lindenhurst Village ordinances by May 22, 2005, which is 45
days after April 6, 2005;

14. That the Association shall have until June 1, 2005 to
file its Petition For Attorney’s Fees and Petition for Fines to Be
Imposed. The Sambranos shall have until June_22_to respond
thereto. Hearing on Plaintiff’s Petition is set for _July 7, 2005

at 1:45 p.m.

A-19

Prepared by:

Jason E. Orth (#06304256)
KOVITZ SHIFRIN NESBIT
750 Lake Cook Rd/#350
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
(847) 537-0500

A-20

ENTERED
“‘s/ David M. Hall”

Judge

STATE OF ILLINOIS ) FILED- OCT 17 2005

) ss CIRCUIT CLERK
COUNTY OF LAKE ) “s/Sally D. Coffelt”
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE NINETEENTH JUDICIAL
CIRCUIT
LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS
. _Hentage Trails )
Homeowners Assoc, )
) Gen. No. 00 CH 981
VS )
)
Atanacio Sambrano and __ )
Cathleen Sambrano )
ORDER

This matter coming to be heard for hearing on Plaintiff’s First
Interim Petition For Attorneys Fees and Costs and Expenses,
due notice having been given to all parties, and Plaintiff’s
Counsel and Steve Cipolla appearing, and Atanacio Sambrano
and Cathleen Sambrano not being present in Court and after the
Court Conducted a hearing, heard evidence from Steven Cipolla,
and considered Defendants’ Response to Plaintiff’s Petition it is
hereby ordered that:

1. The Court Finds that the hourly rates charged by Kovitz
Shifrin Nesbit are reasonable, and consistent with the hourly
rates charged by law firms to Associations in the Northern Illinois
area.

A-2]

2. The work performed by Kovitz Shifrin Nesbit was
reasonable and necessary.

3. The legal fees and costs incurred by the Association in
this matter are both reasonable and necessary and they are
customary for performance of similar types of tasks in the
Northern Illinois legal Community.

4. That pursuant to this Court’s April 6, 2005 and May 10,
2005 orders, the Association has the right and ability to recover
its attorneys fees and costs from the Sambranos.

5. Judgment is entered in favor of the Association and against
Atanacio Sambrano, Cathleen Sambrano and the premises
commonly known as 532 Madison Lane, Lindenhurst, Illinois
in the amounts of:

A) $48,732,75 in attorney’s fees;
B) $ 4,837.55 in expenses and costs.

6. Plaintiff is given leave to withdraw w/out prejudice its
claim for fines and penalties.
7. This order is enforceable instanter.

Dated at Waukegan, Illinois this ENTER:
17® day of October, 2005. “‘s/ David M. Hall”
Judge

ORDER PREPARED BY: J. Orth/KSN
750 Lake Cook Rd/#350
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089

103228 SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS
CLERK OF THE COURT
SUPREME COURT BUILDING
SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62701
(217) 782-2035

November 29, 2006

Mr. Atanacio G. Sambrano
532 Madison Lane
Lindenhurst, IL 60046

No. 103228 — Atanacio G. Sambrano et al., petitioners, v.
Heritage Trails Homeowners Association,
respondent. Leave to appeal, Appellate Court,
Second District.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition for
leave to appeal in the above entitled cause.

The mandate of this Court will issue to the Appellate
Court on January 4, 2007.

RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS
OF THE HERITAGE TRAILS HOMEOWNERS

ASSOCIATION

We, the undersigned, representing a majority of the Directors
of the Heritage Trails Homeowners Association, do hereby adopt
the following Resolution and Rule and Regulation:

WHEREAS, the Heritage Trails Homeowners Association
is empowered to enact Rules and Regulations relative to the
conduct of its members; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the Heritage Trails
Homeowners Association is charged with the responsibility of
enforcing the aforesaid Rules and Regulations, together with
the Declaration and By-Laws of the Association; and

WHEREAS, it is frequently necessary for the Board of
Directors to utilize the services of legal counsel in order to
facilitate the accomplishment of these tasks and duties; and

WHEREAS, the resulting attorneys’ fees constitute an
additional financial burden upon the resources of the Association;
and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the Heritage Trails
Homeowners Association feel that it is reasonable for the
individual whose conduct, necessitates the utilization of legal
counsel to pay the costs of same;

NOW, THEREFORE, in furtherance of the above-stated

determinations, objectives and goals, the Board, by Resolution,
does hereby adopt the following:

A-24

1. All reasonable attorneys’ fees incurred by the Association
arising out of a default by any homeowner, his tenant, invitee or
guest in the performance of any of the provisions of the governing
documents of the Association, Rules and Regulations, or any
applicable statute or ordinance, including, but not limited to the
collection of assessments and fines, enforcing the covenants,
By-Laws and Rules and Regulations or representing the
Association relative to actions brought or threatened to be
brought against it by the homeowner shall be added to and
deemed a part of said homeowner’s respective share of the
common expense.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE HERITAGE
TRAILS HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION

“‘s/ Sheldon Haltermann’”’, Pres. 12/13

—“s/ Jennifer D. Andrew”, 1 ~ Vice-Pres
“s/ Secretary “— 12/13/00

BY-LAWS ARTICLE VII
EXHIBIT B
Mar 15 1995

POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE BOARD
7.01 POWERS. The Board shall have power to:

(a) Adopt and publish rules and regulations governing the
use, maintenance, repair, reconstruction, conservation and
administration of the Common Area in accordance with all
applicable codes, ordinances and regulations, and to establish
and impose penalties for the infraction thereof, including, but
not limited to, the penalties provided for in subsection (b) hereof:

(b) Suspend the voting rights of a Member for the period
during which any assessment against his Lot remains unpaid
and, after notice and hearing, for a reasonable period not to
exceed sixty (60) days, for any infraction of published rules
and regulations;

(c) Employ such employees as they deem necessary, and to
prescribe their duties;

(d) Procure and maintain policies of public liability
insurance in an amount that the Board in its discretion
determines to be necessary and appropriate; and

(e) Exercise for the Association all other powers, duties
and authority vested in the Association and not reserved to the
membership by other provisions of these By-Laws or the
Declaration.

7.02 DUTIES. It shall be the duty of the Board to:

(a) Cause to be kept a complete record of all its acts and
corporate affairs and to present a statement thereof to the
Members at the annual meeting , or at any special meeting when
such statement is requested in writing by one-fourth (1/4) of
the Members;

A-26

(b) Supervise all officers, agents and employees of the
Association, and see that their duties are properly performed;
(c) As more fully provided in the Declaration, to:
(1) Fix the amount of the annual assessment against each
Lot at least thirty (30) days in advance of each annual assessment
period:

B-5
Document No. 3654002

A-27

BOCA NATIONAL BUILDING CODE/1996

421.10.1 Outdoor private swimming pool: An outdoor private
swimming pool, including an in-ground, above-ground or on-
ground pool, hot tub or spa shall be provided with a barrier
which shall comply with the following.

1. The top of the barrier shall be at least 48 inches (1219
mm) above finished ground level measured on the side of the
barrier which faces away from the swimming pool. The
maximum vertical clearance between finished ground level and
the barrier shall be 2 inches (51 mm) measured on the side of
the barrier which faces away from the swimming pool. Where
the top of the pool structure is above finished ground level,
such as above-ground pool, the barrier shal! be at finished
ground level, such as the pool structure, or shall be mounted on
top of the pool structure. Where the barrier is mounted on the
pool structure, the opening between the top surface of the pool
frame and the bottom of the barrier shall not allow passage of
a 4-inch (102 mm) diameter sphere.

2. Openings in the barrier shall not allow passage of a 4-
inch (102 mm) diameter sphere.

3. Solid barriers shall not contain indentations or
protrusions except for normal construction tolerances and tooled
masonry joints.

4. Where the barrier is composed of horizontal and vertical
members and the distance between the tops of the horizontal
members is less than 45 inches (1143 mm), the horizontal
members shall be located on the swimming pool side of the
fence. Spacing between vertical members shall not exceed 1-3/
4 inches (44 mm) in width. Decorative cutouts shall not exceed
1-3/4 inches (44 mm) in width.

5. Where the barrier is composed of horizontal and vertical
members and the distance between the tops of the horizontal
members is 45 inches (1143 mm) or more, spacing between

A-28

vertical members shall not exceed 4 inches (102 mm). Decorative
cutouts shall not exceed 1/3/4” (44 mm) in width.

6. Maximum mesh size for chain link fences shall be a 1-1/
4 inch (32 mm) square unless the fence is provided with slats
fastened at the top or the bottom which reduce the openings to
not more than 1 -/3/4 inches (44 mm).

7. Where the barrier is composed of diagonal members,
such as a lattice fence, the maximum opening formed by the
diagonal members shall be not more than 1-3/4 inches (44 mm).

8. Access gates shall comply with the requirements of items
] through 7 of Section 421.10.1, and shall be equipped to
accommodate a locking device. Pedestrian access gates shall
open outwards away from the pool and shall be self-closing and
have a self-latching device. Gates other than pedestrian access
gates shall have a self-latching device. Where the release
mechanism of the self-latching device is located less than 54
inches (1372 mm) from the bottom of the gate: (a) the release
mechanism shall be located on the pool side of the gate at least
3 inches (76 mm) below the top of the gate; and (b) the gate and
barrier shall not have an opening greater than 1/2 inch (13 mm)
within 18 inches (457 mm) of the release mechanism.

9. Where a wall of a dwelling unit serves as part of the
barrier and contains a door that provides direct access to the
pool, one of the following shall apply:

9.1 All doors with direct access to the pool through that wall
shall be equipped with an alarm which produces an audible
warning when the door and its screen, if present, are opened.
The audible warning shall commence not more than 7 seconds
after the door and door screen, if present, are opened and shall
sound continuously for a minimum of 30 seconds. The alarm
shall have a minimum sound pressure rating of 85 dBA at 10
feet (3048 rmm) and the sound of the alarm shall be distinctive
from other household sounds such as smoke alarms, telephones
and door bells. The alarm shall automatically reset

A-29

under all conditions. The alarm shall be equipped with manual

means, such as touchpads or switches, to deactivate temporarily
the alarm for a single opening from either direction. Such
deactivation shall last for not more than 15 seconds. The
deactivation touchpads or switches shall be located at least 54
inches (1372 mm) above the threshold of the door.

9.2 All doors with direct access to the pool through that wall
shall be equipped with a self-closing and self-latching device
with the release mechanism located a minimum of 54 inches
(1372 mm) above the floor. Swinging doors shall open away
from the pool area.

9.3 The pool shall be equipped with a power safety cover.
Where in a closed position, the cover shall be capable of holding
a weight of 485 pounds (2157 N), shall not have any openings
that allow passage of a 4-1/2 inch (114 mm) sphere and shall
incorporate a system to drain standing water that collects on the
cover. The cover control switch shall be permanently installed
in accordance with NFPA 70 listed in Chapter 35, and be key-
operated and of a spring loaded or momentary-contact type.
Where the switch is released, the operation of the cover shall
stop instantly and be capable of reversing direction immediately.
The switch shall be in the line of sight of the complete pool
cover.

10. Where an above-ground pool structure is used as a
barrier or where the barrier is mounted on top of the pool
structure, and the means of access is a fixed or removable ladder
or steps, the ladder or steps shall be surrounded by a barrier
which meets the requirements of items | through 9 of Section
421.10.1. Aremovable ladder shall not constitute an acceptable
alternative to enclosure requirements.

A-30

DECLARATION ARTICLE VIII

F NANTS
Mar 15 1995

Miscellaneous

8.01 Severability: Invalidation of all or any portion of any
of the covenants, restrictions, easements, conditions,
reservations, liens and charges imposed by this Declaration, by
legislation, judgment or court order shall in no way affect any
other provisions of this Declaration which shall remain in full
force and effect.

8.02 Amendment: The provisions of this Declaration may
be amended by an instrument executed by not less than seventy-
five percent (75%) of the Members; provided, however, during
such time as the Declarant is an Owner of any Lot, provisions
relating to the rights and obligations of Declarant and Developer
may not be amended without the written consent of Declarant
and Developer. The responsibility for continued maintenance,
operation and preservation of the Common Area shall not be
abrogated by any such amendment. In Addition, any amendment
of any part of Articles Il, VI, or VIE shall require the prior
written approval of the Village.

-14-

A-31

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE NINETEENTH
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS
VILLAGE OF LINDENHURST

Case. No. 060V3794
FILED- May 24 2005
CIRCUIT CLERK

46 3 It’

OMPL N APPEAR

Complaint and information by PETER CHIAPPORI, the
Building Inspector of the Village of Lindenhurst, hereinafter
called the Complainant, being duly sworn, on oath says that on
or prior to the 12" day of May, 2006, in the Village of
Lindenhurst, Lake County, hereinafter called the Defendant,
committed the following violation:

COUNT |: Failed to construct a barrier around his in-ground
swimming pool in violation of Section 421.10.1 of the BOCA
National Building Code.

THE DEFENDANT MUST APPEAR FOR TRIAL ON THE
ABOVE RECITED VIOLATION ON JUNE 7, 2006 AT 1:30
P.M. AT THE LAKE COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT LOCATED
AT 1792 NICOLE LANE IN ROUND LAKE BEACH,
ILLINOIS.

NOTICE: IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR IN COURT ON THE
ABOVE DATE ANDTIME, THE VILLAGE WILL REQUEST
THAT THE COURT ISSUE A WARRANT FOR YOUR
ARREST FOR FAILING TO APPEAR PURSUANT TO
THIS COMPLAINT AND NOTICE TO APPEAR.

A-32

Under penalties as provided by law for oral certification
pursuant to Section 1-109 of the Code of Civil Procedure and
perjury pursuant to Section 32-2 of the Criminal Code of 1961,
the undersigned certifies that the statements set forth in this

instrument are true and correct.

“s/ PETER CHIAPPORI’, Complainant

Building Inspector for the
Village of Lindenhurst
2301 East Sand Lake Road
Lindenhurst, Llinois 60046
847-356-8252

“s/Cindy Spangler”

Subscribed and sworn to before me

this 12th day of May, 2006.
NOTARY PUBLIC

STATE OF ILLINOIS
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE NINETEENTH
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
LAKE COUNTY

(Name all parties)

VILLAGE OF LINDENHURST,
No .060V3794

Plainuff
VS.

A a an a

ATANACIO SAMBRANO, )
) Amount Claimed $
Defendant )

SUMMONS

To each defendant:

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED and required to appear
before the court at the Round Lake Beach Courthouse, 1792
Round Lake, Illinois at_1:30 P.M., on June 7, 2006 to answer
the complaint in this case, a copy of which is hereto attached. IF
YOU FAIL TO DO SO, A JUDGMENT BY DEFAULT MAY
BE TAKEN AGAINST YOU FOR THE RELIEF ASKED IN
THE COMPLAINT.

To the officer:

This summons must be returned by the officer or other person
to whom it was given for service, with endorsement of service
and if any, immediately after service and not less that 3 days
before the day for appearance. If service cannot be made, this
summons be returned so endorsed.

This summons may not be served later than 3 days before the
day for appearance,

WITNESS ;2006
(Seal of Court) *s/Salley D. Coffelt”
Clerk of the Circuit Court
”s/Tracie P.”
(Deputy)

(Plaintiff’s attorney or plaintiff if he or she is not represented
by an attorney)

Name JEFFREY J. NUTSCHNIG/SOFFIETTI, JOHNSON,
TEEGEN, PHILLIPS, MOROZIN & ARGUETA, LTD.

Attorney for Plaintiff

Address 74 E. Grand Ave., P.O. Box 86

City Fox Lake, IL 60020-0086
Telephone 847-587-2551

A-35

NOTICE TO DEFENDANT

IF YOU WISH TO CONTEST THIS CLAIM, you must do the
following:

(A) Pay the statutory appearance fee (NO PERSONAL CHECKS
ACCEPTED).

(B) File a written appearance (forms may be obtained at the
main office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court) on or before the
day and time specified for appearance, hereinafter called the
return day.

(C) Mail or otherwise deliver to the plaintiff’s attorney or the
plaintiff if there is no attorney, a copy of your appearance.

(D) If the appearance is timely filed and the fee paid, you are
NOT required to appear in court in person on the return day,
instead you should be present in court at the specified address
prepared to proceed to trial at the same time on the 14" day after
the stated return day.

In the event the trial day falls on a court holiday, the trial shall
be held on the next earliest court day following said court holiday.

IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO CONTEST THIS CLAIM, you
need not appear in person or file a written appearance and a
judgment will be entered against you on the return day for the
amount claimed by the plaintiff in the complaint plus court costs.

A-36

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2313%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
