# Opposition Brief — Khan v. United States, 127 S. Ct. 2428 (2007) (No. 06-1116)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2162%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

FILED

@ (3) APR 20 2007
OFFI
Nos. 06-1116 and 06-9394 SUPREME oouAT Us

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

MASOUD AHMAD KHAN, PETITIONER
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

SEIFULLAH CHAPMAN AND HAMMAD ABDUR-RAHEFM,
PETITIONERS

v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

PAUL D. CLEMENT

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

KENNETH L. WAINSTEIN

Assistant Attorney General
JOHN F. DEPUE

Attorney

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioners were properly sentenced to
consecutive terms of imprisonment for multiple offenses
of using, carrying, possessing, and discharging firearms,
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(c).

2. Whether petitioners knowingly, intelligently, and
voluntarily waived their right to a jury trial.

3. Whether petitioners were properly denied dis-
covery in support of a claim of selective prosecution.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CL oc écecteccevnnnet can acebesdacelevevedees l
SIO onc dn ccanue vaverekedes sevasaedersscionieee 2
PEE vaneUebdeddeviaesinesesninieetiiieee 2
ME 5 vn 8nd ctinnacreend badtedeereeee nee 13
CS ove cavasedssckaevaubadstscueur ence 30
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932) ...... 1]
Bordenkircher v. Hayes, 434 U.S. 357 (1978) ........... 28
Johnson v. Nix, 763 F.2d 344 (8th Cir. 1985) .....2. 5... 26
Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461 (1997)... ........ 24
Marone v. United States, 10 F.3d 65 (2d Cir. 1993) . . 24, 25
Oyler v. Boles, 368 U.S. 448 (1962) ...... 2. cece eee 28
Reno v. American-Arab Anti-Discrimination
Cs. Ge Us SF8 CR ob oo cdctceusvocteccess 27
United States v. Anderson, 59 F.3d 1323 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 516 U.S. 999 (1995) ...........0000. 14, 18
United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456
CRN bd ceCasbeesdtokuntivunweeiiesnes 11, 27, 28, 29
United States v. Batchelder, 442 U.S. 114 (1979) 2.2.2... 28

United States v. Berrios, 501 F.2d 1207 (2d Cir. 1974) ... 28
United States v. Bishop, 291 F.3d 1100 (9th Cir.

2002), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1176 (2008) ............ 25
United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220 (2005) ........0.... 2
United States v. Camps, 32 F.3d 102 (4th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1158 (1995) .............0 cee 15

(IIT)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page

United States v. Cappas, 29 F.3d 1187 (7th Cir.

EE «cu dunes bests pons se4 ndash aden teea 14,19
United States v. Casiano, 113 F.3d 420 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 522 U.S. 887 (1997) ...............006- 14
United States v. Chemical Found., Ine., 272 U.S.1

8 Ra eras Neha Pan ye Oey ee Benen mre hee ges 27
United States v. Cochran, 770 F.2d 850 (9th Cir.

RR Sh Bere ivan peg Pega etl apie hs pa 25
United States v. Edwards, 994 F.2d 417 (8th Cir.

1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1048 (1994) ............ 14
United States v. Finley, 245 F.3d 199 (2d Cir. 2001),

cert. denied, 534 U.S. 1144 (2002) ............... 15, 16
United States v. Garrett, 727 F.2d 1003 (11th Cir.

1984), aff'd, 471 U.S. T73 (19BB) ow... cece eee 20, 24

United States v. Hamilton, 953 F.2d 1344 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 506 U.S. 871, 506 U.S. 884, and 506

By Me CREE 4 a6 b's Coder Rchedis pemcadnsene eens 14
United States v. Hunt, 413 F.2d 983 (4th Cir.

ST a vipcisciekinkbedenedsuhidredeuaae deers 10, 25
United States v. Johnson, 25 F.3d 1335 (6th Cir.

Re er eee a em ere ie 16,17
United States v. Leja, 448 F.3d 86 (1st Cir.

Se a6 bus odie Po Uda enbWuee ee ceceeieaes 20, 21, 23, 25
United States v. Lindsay, 985 F.2d 666 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 510 U.S. SHZ (1908) 2... ccc cece cccescees 14
United States v. Martinez-Salazar, 528 U.S. 304

EE ic 4 ted Le a ads cua ees cae eae 26

United States v. Morris, 247 F.3d 1080 (10th Cir.
RR Oe hooey ae ors 2 ee era eee oe rare 14

Cases—Continued: Page
United States v. Page, 661 ¥'.2d 1080 (5th Cir.
1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1018 (1982) ...21, 22, 23, 24
United States v. Phipps, 319 F.3d 177 (Sth Cir.

ME ein a heid's ws i GA ee eee 17,18
United States v. Privette, 947 F.2d 1259 (Sth Cir.
1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 912 (1992) .......... 14, 19

United States v. Robertson, 45 F.3d 1423 (10th Cir.),
cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1108, and 516 U.S. 844

CUES nb 0s obo 50 aaa eae RAR Ee eee ae ee 20
United States v. Rodriguez, 888 F.2d 519 (7th Cir.
PE oe neoeeestabecededssiuslesetiel aac reee 25

United States v. Salameh, 261 F.3d 271 (2d Cir.
2001), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 967, and 537 U.S. 847

SE cea wou chva Cin se Caen eee eta steel ey 16
United States v. Taylor, 13 F.3d 986 (6th Cir. 1994) ..... 14
United States v. Vonn, 535 U.S. 55 (2002) ............. 24
United States v. Wallace, 447 F.3d 184 (2d Cir.), cert.

SOR, Fer te Sr Oe GIT vk ne Saeed éxcecedeaass 16
United States v. Wilson, 160 F.3d 732 (D.C. Cir.

1998), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 828 (1999) ............. 16
Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598 (1985) ........ 27, 28

Constitution, statutes and rules:

U.S. Const. Amend. V (Double Jeopardy Clause) ....... 1]
ee Eas RS a Sas Bas Ses ae ok ee eae 2,3
Pe CAE vo kas betwee seeccetcsvustiatee passim
Pr Ges EL UEPUND 5 6 b-n 5'5:.05.0 Chg oh OR ba dabeadeoeen 9
ge ome ey it esrrers reer ere yer poor 14

Se Sa NE A 65's paca Nuaerek ache) tba hehe 2,3

VI

Statutes and rules: Page
a ES 054 b ¥Ax sip doe 0450 owe 4ds6e Fed boebu seis 8, 26
18 U.S.C. 2339A (Supp. I] 2002) .... 2... cece c cece 2,3
i ts clad hae ea'Geae bG0 ue pwd eu hao ceweeee nes 2
rE 2 Vers cian als oe see ta wel eed andes Fan bene 2
Fed. R. Crim. P.:

TEE Rivesndee tv ak bee bs bndndeudnedaruiwuneuee 24
DE deci oyeuas veneers seus eediweur een 10, 20, 24
LED v6 dccdevvusdiserbeceudaaeded seeker ver 20
| Be a ee 7
ED 5d Po eN a oWGike os 64404 oe ee aael er cae eee 24

Miscellaneous:

Memorandum from the Assistant Att’y Gen.,
Criminal Div., DOJ, regarding multiple convictions
and sentences under 18 U.S.C. 924(c) (Aug. 24,
1999), reprinted in U.S. Dep't of Justice, Federal
Firearms Manual, (3d ed. 2001) ..............0006. 14
Press Release, U.S. Att’y C.D. Cal., DOJ, President
of Cambodian Freedom Fighters Arrested in
Alleged Plot to Overthrow Cambodian
Government (June 1, 2005) .............. 29

In the Supreme Court of the Amted States

No. 06-1116
MASOUD AHMAD KHAN, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

No. 06-9398

SEIFULLAH CHAPMAN AND HAMMAD ABDUR-RAHEEM,
PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-34a)
is reported at 461 F.3d 477.' The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 35a-83a) is reported at 309 F. Supp. 2d
789.

,

' Unless otherwise noted, all references to “Pet. App.” are to the
Appendix filed in No. 06-1116.

(1)

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
September 1, 2006. A petition for rehearing was denied
on September 29, 2006 (Pet. App. 84a-85a). The peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari were filed on December 28,
2006. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a bench trial in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, petitioner
Khan was convicted of conspiring to commit offenses
against the United States, including enlisting with intent
to serve in armed hostility against the United States, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 371 (Count 1); conspiracy to levy
war against the United States, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
2384 (Count 2); conspiracy to contribute services to the
Taliban, in violation of 50 U.S.C. 1705 (Count 4); conspir-
acy to contribute material support to terrorists, in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. 2339A (Supp. IT 2002) (Count 5); con-
spiracy to possess and use a firearm in connection with
a crime of violence, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(0)
(Count 11); and three counts of using, carrying, possess-
ing, and discharging firearms during and in relation to
and in furtherance of crimes of violence, in violation of
18 U.S.C. 924(c) (Counts 24, 25, 27). Pet. App. 35a-36a,
70a. After an initial remand for resentencing of peti-
tioners in light of United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. 220
(2005), see Pet. App. 7a, Khan was sentenced to 60
months of imprisonment on Count 1, a concurrent 120-
month sentence on Count 2, a concurrent 120-month
sentence on Count 4, a concurrent 120-month sentence
on Count 5, a concurrent 120-month sentence on Count
11, a consecutive 120-month sentence on Count 24, a

3

consecutive 300-month sentence on Count 25, and a con-
secutive sentence of life imprisonment on Count 27.
C.A. App. 3451-3453.

Petitioner Chapman was convicted of conspiring to
commit offenses against the United States, including
taking part in a military expedition against a foreign
state with whom the United States was at peace, in vio-
lation of 18 U.S.C. 371 (Count 1); conspiracy to contrib-
ute material support to terrorists, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 2339A (Supp. II 2002) (Count 5); conspiracy to
possess and use a firearm in connection with a crime of
violence, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(0) (Count 11); and
two counts of using, carrying, possessing, and discharg-
ing firearms during and in relation to, and in further-
ance of crimes of violence, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(c)
(Counts 20, 22). Pet. App. 35a-36a, 70a. He was sen-
tenced to 60 months of imprisonment on Count 1, a con-
current 120-month sentence on Count 5, a concurrent
120-month sentence on Count Ll, a consecutive 300-
month sentence on Count 20, and a consecutive 360-
month sentence on Count 22. C.A. App. 3459-3460.

Petitioner Hammad Abdur-Raheem (Hammad) was
convicted of conspiring to commit offenses against the
United States, including taking part in a military expedi-
tion against a foreign state with whom the United States
was at peace, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371 (Count 1); con-
spiracy to contribute material support to terrorists, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 2339A (Supp. II 2002) (Count 5);
and conspiracy to possess and use a firearm in connec-
tion with a crime of violence, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
924(0) (Count 11). Pet. App. 35a-36a, 70a. He was sen-
tenced to 52 months of imprisonment on Count 1, a con-
current 52-month sentence on Count 5, and a concurrent
52-month sentence on Count 11. C.A. App. 3465-3466.

4

The court of appeals affirmed petitioners’ convictions
and the sentences of Khan and Chapman. On the govern-
ment’s cross-appeal, the court of appeals reversed and
remanded Hammad’s sentence as an unreasonable vari-
ance from the advisory range under the Sentencing
Guidelines. Pet. App. la-34a.

1. a. Between 1999 and September 11, 2001, peti-
tioners, and their associates, including Muhammed
Aatique, Randall Todd Royer, Young Ki Kwon, Khwaja
Mahmood Hasan and Caliph Basha Ibn Absur-Raheem
(Caliph), attended Dar al Arqam Islamic Center in Falls
Church, Virginia where Ali Timimi, a religious leader,
preached the necessity of engaging in a violent holy war,
or jihad, against the enemies of Islam. Several of the
attendees, including petitioners Chapman and Hammad,
organized a group to prepare to engage in jihad by simu-
lating combat through paintball exercises and practices
at firing ranges. By the early summer of 2000, the
group met every other weekend. Chapman, Hammad,
and others brought AK 47-style rifles to paintball train-
ing and practiced marksmanship. Pet. App. 2a-3a. Be-
cause Chapman and Hammad had military experience,
they also assisted in leading the paintball exercises and
conducted training that was “out-of-character for a rec-
reational paint-ball pastime.” /d. at 3a.

During this period, members of the group had ties to
Lashkar-e-Taiba (LET), the military arm of a Pakistani
organization which, between 1999 and 2003, focused on
expelling India from Kashmir and advertised free jihad
training in Pakistan. Pet. App. 3a, 52a. Between April
and September 2000, Royer, followed by Hamdi, trav-
eled to Pakistan, where they received military training
at LET camps and acknowledged participation in hostili-
ties. /d. at 53a-d4a. Upon their return, they rejoined

a ‘stil

the paintball group and discussed their jihad experi-
ences with LET with the other paintball participants.
Id. at 3a, 55a. In the summer of 2001, Chapman, who
sought more realistic combat experience, traveled to the
LET camps in Pakistan where he participated in train-
ing that included firing various rifles and handguns, in-
cluding an automatic weapon. /d. at 3a.

On September 16, 2001, Timimi met with a small
group, including petitioners Khan and Hammad, and
stated that the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks
against the United States were justified. He exhorted
those present to defend the Taliban against United
States armed forces who were expected to invade Af-
ghanistan in response to the attack. Several attendees,
including Khan, expressed their intent to train at LET
camps as preparation for serving with the Taliban in
Afghanistan. Pet. App. 4a, 56a-57a.

Following the September 16, 2001, meeting with
Timimi, Khan “exhorted the others to go with him to
Afghanistan because ‘the cowards and the weak hearted
are the first to run away.” Pet. App. 8a (quoting C.A.
App. 1013). Petitioner Khan, along with Kwon, Aatique
and Hasan, agreed to go to Pakistan for jihad training
with the intent to fight in Afghanistan upon its comple-
tion. Pet. App. 8a-9a, 57a. Kwon, Hasan, and Khan
agreed that Khan would be their “emir” or leader. /d.
at 4a, 9a.

Khan, Hasan, and Kwon spent about six weeks in the
LET camps during which they received training in com-
mando tactics, reconnaissance, hand-to-hand combat and
survival. They also received instruction on and used
various firearms, including the AK-47 automatic rifle, an
anti-aircraft gun, a rocket-propelled grenade, and
mines. Pet. App. 4a, 57a-59a.

6

In November 2001, while at an LET camp, Khan,
Hassan, and Kwon learned through radio reports that
American forces were defeating the Taliban in Afghani-
stan and that, because Pakistan had closed the border
with Afghanistan, LET would not facilitate their travel
there. Moreover, Pakistani authorities were aggres-
sively removing foreigners from their camps. As a re-
sult, the three men left the camps without ever reaching
Afghanistan. Pet. App. 5a, 59a.

b. In February 2003, law enforcement authorities
executed a search warrant on Timimi’s residence. On
March 24, 2003, the Federal Bureau of Investigation
approached Caliph, one of the participants in the paint-
ball training. Caliph informed them that the training
was intended as preparation for jihad and that the train-
ees had purchased AK-47-style rifles because they were
the type of rifles used overseas. When Hammad learned
of Caliph’s admissions, he called a colleague “with the
‘bad news’ that Caliph had ‘cracked.’” Pet. App. 5a. In
June 2003, as a result of the investigation, petitioners,
along with eight co-defendants, including Caliph, Kwon,
Aatique, Hasan, and Royer, were indicted for various
offenses, including conspiracy to engage in military ex-
peditions against the United States and India. Four of
the defendants, including Kwon, Aatique, and Hasan,
entered pleas of guilty and agreed to cooperate with the
government. /bid. In September 2003, the government
charged the remaining defendants in a 32-count super-
seding indictment which alleged that petitioner Khan,
but not petitioners Chapman and Hammad, conspired to
levy war against the United States, to provide material

7

support to Al-Qaeda, and to contribute services to the
Taliban. /d. at 5a & n.3.°

2. a. Before trial, Chapman, Hammad, and two co-
defendants moved to sever their trial from that of Kahn
and Royer on the ground that Khan and Rover were the
only defendants charged with conspiring to levy war
against the United States and to support Al-Qaeda and
the Taliban. C.A. App. 186. The district court denied
the motion. /d. at 189.

Chapman later renewed the severance motion in
writing and, in the alternative, requested a bench trial.
C.A. App. 218-221. The motion observed that “[a] bench
trial would likely result in a much shorter trial, and most
certainly, would afford the accused with the opportunity
to receive a fair trial.” /d. at 220-221; Pet. App. 6a. At
a hearing with petitioner Chapman present, the district
court indicated it would deny the renewed severance
motion. C.A. App. 224-226. The court noted Chapman’s
“alternative * * * motion to. waive jury,” and re-
quested the government’s position: “The government
has a right to trial by jury as well as the defendant, and
so both sides have to agree to a waiver.” /d. at 225.

Hammad, through counsel, filed a written motion to
join Chapman’s renewed motion for severance or, in the
alternative, to waive a jury (Docket No. 387; C.A. App.
302; Pet. App. 6a), and Khan, through counsel, filed a
written motion to join Chapman’s motion to waive a jury
(C.A. App. 281). The government filed a written concur-

* In addition to petitioners, the superseding indictment named as
defendants Royer, [brahim Ahmed Al-Hamdi, Caliph, and Sabri Benk-
hala. Royer and Hamdi entered pleas of guilty. Benkhala was tried
separately and acquitted. Pet. App. 5a-fa. Caliph, who was tried with
petitioners, was granted an acquittal under Federal Rule of Criminal
Procedure 29. Pet. App. 6a.

8

rence to a bench trial. /d. at 300. In a written order, the
district court denied the renewed severance motions but
granted the motions for a bench trial. Pet. App. 6a; C.A.
App. 302-303."

b. Petitioners filed a pretrial motion alleging selec-
tive prosecution and seeking dismissal of the indictment
or, in the alternative, discovery to support such a claim.
They alleged that they were targeted for prosecution
because of their Muslim religion and that, before their
indictment, the government had not undertaken any
prosecutions under the Neutrality Act, 18 U.S.C. 960, in
the Eastern District of Virginia in over 100 years. C.A.
App. 189-190. The district court denied the motion, stat-
ing that petitioners “have not identified any similarly
situated persons not prosecuted” and that the inclusion
of information about Islam in the indictment was “rele-
vant to the offenses charged” and “its inclusion dlid] not
show animus by the Government.” /d. at 190. At the
close of trial, petitioners renewed the motion, alleging
that the Cambodian Freedom Fighters (CFF), led by
one Yasith Chhun, and the Irish Republican Army (IRA)
engaged in similar conduct in an open and notorious
manner yet were not prosecuted. /d. at 3234-3240. The
district court again denied the motion, reasoning that
the government had adequately demonstrated that LET
had links to anti-American activity whereas there was no
similar evidence with respect to the other identified
groups. /d. at 3385-3386.

’ Caliph separately moved for a severance. When his motion was
denied at a hearing at which he was the only defendant present. Caliph
orally moved, through counsel, to join Chapman's motion for a bench
trial. Pet. App. 6a n.4; C.A. App. 295-296. At that time, the district
court questioned Caliph directly about his knowledge of his right to a
jury trial. Pet. App. 89a-90a; C.A. App. 296-297.

9

c. Various combinations of petitioners and their co-
defendants were charged in 16 separate counts alleging
the use, discharge, or possession of a firearm during and
in relation to or in furtherance of federal crimes of vio-
lence, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 924(¢)(1)(B)(ii). The sepa-
rate counts were preceded by an introductory paragraph
incorporating by reference the general allegations and
overt acts in Count 1 of the indictment, which included
reference to five separate conspiracy counts. The Sec-
tion 924(c) counts then listed the identities of the partic-
ular petitioners or co-defendants charged with the viola-
tion, the date and location of the offense, the type of fire-
arm involved, and an allegation whether the firearm was
used, possessed, or discharged. C.A. App. 151-152.

At the conclusion of the trial, the district court made
particularized findings concerning each of the counts. It
linked Chapman’s possession of a Saiga .308 rifle
charged in Count 20 to the conspiracy to violate the
Neutrality Act alleged in Count 1 and therefore con-
victed him on that firearms count. Pet. App. 8la. It
likewise convicted him of firing an AK-47, as alleged in
Count 22, observing that such conduct, which occurred
at an LET camp, was during and in relation to both the
conspiracy to violate the Neutrality Act and the conspir-
acy to provide material support to LET. /d. at 82a-83a.
The court found that, at an LET camp, petitioner Khan
fired an AK-47 rifle, as alleged in Count 24; an anti-air-
craft gun, as alleged in Count 25; and a rocket-propelled
grenade, as alleged in Count 27. Ii further found that
“firing these weapons at the LET camp was during and
in relation to the predicate conspiracy crimes of vio-
lence.” /d. at 83a. At sentencing, the district court im-
posed sentences on these counts that, as required by
Section 924(c), were consecutive to both the sentences

10

on the underlying crimes of violence, ’.e., the conspiracy
counts, and to the sentences on the other Section 924(c)
counts. C.A. App. 3451-3453, 3459-3460.

2. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 1a-34a."
It rejected petitioners’ claim that their jury-trial waiv-
ers were invalid because the district court failed to ob-
tain written waivers from petitioners, as opposed to
their counsel, and did not conduct a colloquy directly
with petitioners. Although the court observed that “it
would be ‘better practice’ for a district judge to interro-
gate a defendant who claims through counsel that he
wants to waive his jury trial right,” the court concluded
that neither Rule 23(a) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure nor the Constitution requires it. /d. at l5a
(quoting United States v. Hunt, 413 F.2d 983, 984 (4th
Cir. 1969) (per curiam)). It found that the record here
supported the conclusion that the waivers were volun-
tary, knowing, and intelligent “even though signed by
counsel and in the absence of a colloquy.” /d. at 16a.
The court concluded that the motions for waiver were
made as an alternative to the motions for severance
“as a calculated part of [petitioners’] trial strategy to
prevent ‘inflammatory and prejudicial evidence’ from
biasing a jury.” Jbid. (quoting C.A. App. 220). The
court likewise rejected the arguments of Chapman and
Hammad that their waivers were not knowing and vol-
untary because, by denying their motions to sever, the
district court forced them to relinquish their right to a
jury trial. The court reasoned that the fact that peti-
tioners “would have preferred severed jury trials [did]

* On the government's appeal, the court reversed Hammad's sen-
tence and remanded for resentencing. Pet. App. 26a-30a.

11

not make their choice of a non-severed bench trial” un-
knowing or involuntary. Jbid.

b. The court rejected Khan and Chapman’s argu-
ment that they should not have received separate, con-
secutive sentences on their 18 U.S.C. 924(c) offenses
because the underlying predicate offenses for those con-
victions all related to the same criminal “episode.” The
court reasoned that convictions for separate crimes of
violence can lead to multiple consecutive sentences un-
der Section 924(c) as long as the predicate offenses are
distinct under the Double Jeopardy Clause. Pet. App.
17a-19a. The court explained that, if the predicate of-
fenses are not identical under Blockburger v. United
States, 284 U.S. 299 (1932), consecutive sentences under
Section 924(c) are permissible. Pet. App. 18a-19a.

The court noted that Khan was convicted of “fowr
predicate crimes of violence,” Pet. App. 18a, and that
“each may support a consecutive § 924(c) sentence with-
out requiring the court first to enumerate ‘uses’ of fire-
arms.” /d. at 19a. In the court’s view, it was inconse-
quential that the Section 924(c) counts listed all the
predicate offenses as part of the same general factual
allegation. It reasoned that “there is no housekeeping
requirement” under either Section 924(c) obliging the
government or the district court “to align the use of a
particular firearm with a particular predicate offense.”
Id. at 20a.

ce. The court of appeals rejected petitioners’ claim
that they had been improperly denied discovery on their
selective prosecution claim. The court reasoned that, to
obtain discovery on such a claim, a defendant must make
“a credible showing of different treatment of similarly
situated persons.” Pet. App. 25a (quoting United States
v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456, 470 (1996)). The court con-

12

cluded that petitioners’ claim that the only distinguish-
ing factor between themselves and the other groups
they identified as similarly situated is that they are
“Muslim in a post-9/11 world,” id. at 26a (quoting Pet’rs
C.A. Br. 88), disregarded “the very obvious fact that
[petitioners] were accused of supporting LET, a terror-
ist group that supported the Taliban and Al-Qaeda,
which were in direct conflict with the United States.”
Ibid. The court observed that the Executive has “the
right to focus its prosecutorial energies on alleged ter-
rorist{ | groups that present the most direct threat to the
United States and its interests.” /bid. Accordingly, the
court held that the district court did not err in denying
discovery on petitioners’ selective prosecution claims.
Ibid.”

d. Judge Goodwin dissented in part, stating that he
would merge Khan’s three Section 924(c) convictions
into one 120-month sentence. Pet. App. 30a-34a. In his
view, under the governing law of the Fourth Circuit,
each use of a firearm during and in relation to a qualify-
ing conspiracy offense constitutes a basis for a separate
prosecution and, upon conviction, a consecutive sen-
tence. Judge Goodwin concluded, however, that only

° The court of appeals also considered and rejected petitioners’
claims that thev were entitled to reversal of their convictions because
the evidence was insufficient to support them (Pet. App. Sa-13a); that
the severance motions of Chapman and Hammad were improperly
denied (id. at 13a-14a); that Counts 5 and 11 were invalid as conspira-
cies to conspire (/d. at 16a-17a); that the Section 924(c) sentences were
unconstitutional (7d. at 20a-2la); that the district court improperly
admitted co-defendant Caliph’s out-of-court statements for use against
them (/d. at 22a-23a) and that it improperly admitted Chapman's un-
warned statements to law enforcement authorities against him for the
purpose of impeachment (/d. at 23a-25a). Petitioners do not press these
claims in this Court.

13

uses of a firearm that are distinct from one another jus-
tify multiple sentences. /d. at 3la-34a. Thus, where the
“uses” of “different firearms relate to the same objec-
tive, have the same effect on the predicate crime, and
are used or carried proximately in time,” he would im-
pose only one Section 924(c) sentence. /d. at 32a. In his
view, Khan had only one objective when firing the weap-
ons that supported his three Section 924(c) convic-
tions—enhancement of his training in preparation for
movement to Afghanistan. In addition, he found no evi-
dence establishing the objectives, effects, and proximity
of each such use of a firearm. Accordingly, Judge Good-
win would not have imposed separate sentences. /d. at
34a.
ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners Khan and Chapman contend (06-1116
Pet. 7-15; 06-9398 Pet. 7-14) that the district court erred
in imposing consecutive terms of imprisonment for their
multiple violations of 18 U.S.C. 924(c) because (in their
view) the predicate offenses resulted from a single crim-
inal episode involving a single objective. The court of
appeals correctly rejected that claim, and no further
review is warranted. :

a. Section 924(c) prohibits using or carrying a fire-
arm during and in relation to a federal crime of violence
or drug trafficking crime, or possessing a firearm in fur-
therance of any such crime. It further provides:

no term of imprisonment imposed on a person under
this subsection shall run concurrently with any other
term of imprisonment imposed on the person, includ-
ing any term of imprisonment imposed for the crime
of violence or drug trafficking crime during which
the firearm was used, carried, or possessed.

14

18 U.S.C. 924(c)(1)(D)(ii).

The majority of the courts of appeals that have ad-
dressed the question have held that each underlying
predicate crime of violence or drug trafficking crime can
support a separate Section 924(c) conviction and consec-
utive sentence. See United States v. Morris, 247 F.3d
1080, 1084 (10th Cir. 2001); United States v. Casiano,
113 F.3d 420, 425-426 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 522 U.S.
887 (1997); United States v. Anderson, 59 F.3d 1323,
1334 (D.C. Cir.) (en bane), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 999
(1995); United States v. Cappas, 29 F.3d 1187, 1189 (7th
Cir. 1994); United States v. Taylor, 13 F.3d 986, 992-994
(6th Cir. 1994); United States v. Lindsay, 985 F.2d 666,
674-675 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 882 (1993);
United States v. Hamilton, 953 F.2d 1344, 1346 (9th
Cir.) (per curiam), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 871, 506 U.S.
884, and 506 U.S. 1020 (1992); United States v. Privette,
947 F.2d 1259, 1262-1263 (5th Cir. 1991), cert. denied,
503 U.S. 912 (1992);” but see United States v. Edwards,
994 F.2d 417, 423-424 (8th Cir. 1993) (holding that sepa-
rate uses of different weapons at different times during
the course of a single, continuing predicate offense can
support separate Section 924(c) convictions), cert. de-
nied, 510 U.S. 1048 (1994). The court of appeals applied
the majority approach to petitioners’ multiple Section
924(c) convictions, upholding their consecutive sentences
under that statute on the basis of separate underlying
predicate convictions. See Pet. App. 17a-20a; id. at 19a

" The majority’s position accords with that taken by the Department
of Justice with respect to prosecution of multiple Section 924(¢) counts.
See Memorandum from the Assistant Att’y Gen., Criminal Div. DOJ,
regarding multiple convictions and sentences under 18 U.S.C. 924(¢)
(Aug. 24, 1999), reprinted in U.S. Dep't of Justice, Federal Firearns
Manual App. A at 333-336 (3d ed. 2001).

15

(holding that Khan’s four predicate crime-of-violence
convictions may each support a consecutive Section
924(c) sentence); id. at 8la-83a.'

Petitioners maintain (06-1116 Pet. 8-9; 06-9398 Pet.
8-9), that several circuits have held that, even when mul-
tiple Section 924(c) counts are based upon different
predicate offenses, consecutive Section 924(c) sentences
are improper if the predicate offenses involve the same
criminal “episode.” Because adoption of that principle
would not have affected petitioners’ sentences, any
inter-circuit conflict on that issue does not warrant this
Court’s review in this case.

In United States v. Finley, 245 F.3d 199, 207-208 (2d
Cir. 2001), the defendant was convicted of possessing
drugs with intent to distribute and drug distribution
after an undercover officer purchased drugs and, imme-

"In United States v. Camps, 32 F.3d 102, 106-109 (1994), cert.
denied, 513 U.S. 1158 (1995), a different panel of the Fourth Circuit
held, contrary to the majority view, that a single, continuing federal
crime of violence can support multiple convictions and consecutive sen-
tences under Section 924(c) when a defendant has used or carried a fire-
arm on separate occasions during the course of the offense. Signifi-
cantly, however, as petitioners acknowledge (06-1116 Pet.3 n.2; 06-9398
Pet. 4 n.2), the panel in this case did not base its affirmance of petition-
ers’ sentences on that principle. See Pet. App. 18a (noting that, because
“Khan was convicted of four predicate crimes of violence, not a ‘single
predicate offense, * * * we therefore [do] not need to count ‘uses’”).
Accordingly, this case provides no occasion for the Court to resolve any
inter-circuit conflict on whether, and under what circumstances, a single
predicate offense can support multiple Section 924(¢) convictions. As
the court below recognized, id. at 18a n.9, Judge Goodwin's dissent was
premised on the mistaken assumption that the majority's holding
rested on Camps and that consequently, under the reasoning of that
case, it Was necessary to determine whether the charged uses of a
’ firearm were sufficiently distinct from one another to justify multiple,
consecutive sentences.

16

diately thereafter, the arresting officers discovered the
remainder of his drug stash along with a firearm that he
had stored near the distribution operation. The defen-
dant was also convicted and sentenced on two counts of
using the firearm, one during and in relation to the
possession-with-intent-to-distribute count and the other
during and in relation to the distribution count. The
court set aside the second Section 924(c) conviction on
the ground that the statute “does not clearly manifest an
intention to punish a defendant twice for continuous pos-
session of a firearm in furtherance of simultaneous pred-
icate offenses consisting of virtually the same conduct.”
Id. at 207. That court has since described the principle
of Finley as requiring that “a defendant who commits
two predicate offenses with a single use of a firearm
may only be convicted of a single violation of
§ 924(¢)(1).” United States v. Wallace, 447 F.3d 184, 188
(2d Cir.) (emphasis added), cert. denied, 127 S. Ct. 541
(2006); see United States v. Salameh, 261 F.3d 271, 278
(2d Cir. 2001) (per curiam), cert. denied, 536 U.S. 967,
and 537 U.S. 847 (2002).

Similarly, in United States v. Wilson, 160 F.3d 732,
749 (D.C. Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 828 (1999),
the court vacated the second of two Section 924(c) con-
victions, where there was “only one firearm and one
use,” in the course of two simultaneous violent felonies
on a single victim, first degree murder and killing a wit-
ness. The court distinguished those facts, where “there
was only one use of the firearm,” from cases involving
“distinct conduct giving rise to multiple crimes.” /bid.
In United States v. Johnson, 25 F.3d 1335, 1336-1338
(6th Cir. 1994) (en banc), the court held that multiple
convictions for violations of Section 924(c) were im-
proper when the defendant used two firearms while “si-

17

- multaneously” possessing two different controlled sub-
stances. /d. at 1336. And, in United States v. Phipps,
319 F.3d 177, 189 (5th Cir. 2003), the court held that
multiple Section 924(c) convictions were unwarranted
when defendants used “a single firearm a single time for
a dual criminal purpose, then immediately discarded it.”
Ibid. It stressed the limited nature of its holding, noting
that the result might have been different if the offenses
were not virtually simultaneous or had involved differ-
ent firearms. /d. at 188-189.

The analysis in those cases does not aid petitioners.
As Chapman acknowledges (06-9398 Pet. 13), his first
Section 924(c) conviction (Count 20) was predicated on
his possession of a Saiga .3U8 caliber rifle and its trans-
fer to a co-conspirator in December 2000. Pet. App. 81a.
The purpose of the pessession and transfer was to fur-
ther the conspiracy to violate the Neutrality Act. /bid.
Chapman’s second Section 924(c) conviction was predi-
cated on the use and discharge of an AK-47 automatic
rifle in September 2001, during his attendance at the
LET camp in Pakistan, which the district court found to
be not only in furtherance of a conspiracy to violate the
Neutrality Act but also in furtherance of a conspiracy to
provide material support to LET. /d. at 82a-83a. Thus,
Chapman’s Section 924(c) offenses plainly did not in-
volve the use of a firearm on a single occasion during the
simuitaneous commission of multiple predicate offenses.

Similarly, the three Section 924(c) counts on which
Khan was convicted and consecutively sentenced in-
volved three different types of firearms—an AK-47 au-
tomatic rifle, a rocket-propelled grenade, and an anti-
aircraft gun—each of which he possessed at different
LET training camps in Pakistan. Pet. App. 82a-83a;
C.A. App. 1033-1034, 1036, 1397-1598, 1400, 1619, 1624.

18

He received instruction involving the use of such fire-
arms, during which he discharged such firearms, over a
period of several weeks in September and October 2001.
Pet. App. 82a-83a; C.A. App. 1397-1400, 1618-1625.
Thus, Khan’s Section 924(c) convictions likewise did not
grow out of the use of a firearm on a single occasion dur-
ing the commission of simultaneous predicate offenses:
he therefore cannot benefit from the reasoning of Finiey
and similar cases. This case, therefore, presents no oc-
casion to resolve any variation among the courts of ap-
peals on this issue.”

b. Petitioners Khan and Chapman further maintain
(06-1116 Pet. 9, 15; 06-9398 Pet. 9, 14) that “the Fourth
Circuit’s refusal to require that each firearm use be tied
to a particular predicate is contrary to the rule in other
circuits.” That claim does not warrant this Court’s re-
view. As discussed above, the majority of the courts of
appeals that have addressed the question have con-
cluded that Section 924(c) requires that each firearm
conviction be predicated on a different predicate crime
of violence or drug trafficking offense. Consistent with
that principle, the court below concluded that separate

* Petitioners also invoke the rule of lenity as a justification for setting
aside their multiple, consecutive Section 924(c) sentences. 06-1116 Pet.
14; 06-9398 Pet. 14. That principle has been applied by some courts of
appeals where a single use of a firearm results in more than one Section
924(c) conviction (see Anderson, 59 F.3d at 1333) or where multiple Sec-
tion 924(¢) counts are based upon the continuing possession of a single
firearm in furtherance of simultaneous predicate offenses consisting of
virtually the same conduct. See Phipps, 319 F.3d at 187-189. The
purported statutory ambiguity that has prompted the application of the
rule of lenity in such situations has never been held to extend to situa-
tions where, as in this case, the Section 924(c) violations involved dif-
ferent firearms with respect to multiple predicate offenses that are not
virtually coterminous with one another.

19

predicate convictions supported each Section 924(c) con-
viction. Pet. App. 18a-20a; see id. at 82a-83a.

Petitioners’ reliance upon Cappas, supra, is mis-
placed. In Cappas, a jury instruction permitted convic-
tion on one of the Section 924(c) counts on the basis of
either a predicate drug conspiracy count or a predicate
extortion count. The drug conspiracy count was also the
predicate offense for a second Section 924(c) conviction.
29 F.3d at 1191. Given the jury instruction, the court
concluded that it was unable to determine whether the
jury based the first Section 924(c) conviction on that
same drug conspiracy. /d. at 1195. See Privette, 947
F.2d at 1262-1263 (holding that, because it could not
determine whether the jury had based two Section
924(c) counts on the same predicate conviction, one Sec-
tion 924(c) conviction must be vacated).

Here, in contrast, the district court was the fact-
finder. The court of appeals thus had no need to parse
the jury instructions to ensure that the factfinder ap-
plied the correct law. With respect to Chapman’s Sec-
tion 924(c) convictions, the district court expressly found
that each conviction was supported by a different predi-
cate offense. Pet. App. 82a-83a. Although the findings
were less explicit for Khan’s Section 924(c) convictions,
the court found that they were during and in relation to
“the predicate conspiracy crimes of violence,” id. at 83a,
and Khan was convicted of sufficient predicate offenses
to separately support each of his Section 924(c) convic-
tions. /d. at 18a-20a. As the court of appeals concluded,
because the district court was the factfinder, it did “not
have to worry that the fact finder did not understand the
law simply because she did not spell it out in detail.” /d.
at 20a n.11.

20

2. a. Petitioners claim (06-1116 Pet. 15-24; 06-9398
Pet. 15-24) that the trial court erred in failing to obtain
written jury-trial waivers signed personally by petition-
ers, as opposed to their counsel, and by failing to inquire
directly of petitioners whether they wished to waive a
jury trial. Rule 23(a) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure provides that “[i]f the defendant is entitled to
a jury trial, the trial must be by jury unless: (1) the de-
fendant waives a jury trial in writing; (2) the govern-
ment consents; (3) the court approves.” Here, petition-
ers, through counsel, filed written motions to waive the
right to a jury trial, the government concurred in those
requests, and the court approved the motions. Pet. App.
6a; see pp. 7-8, supra.

Even assuming that written motions by counsel do
not comply with the writing requirement of Rule
23(a)(1), see United States v. Robertson, 45 F.3d 1423,
1430-1431 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1108, and
516 U.S. 844 (1995), the courts are in accord that no re-
lief is warranted for failure to comply with Rule 23(a)’s
formal requirements when the circumstances demon-
strate that the defendant was not ignorant of his right to
a jury trial and consented to the waiver. See, ¢.g.,
United States v. Leja, 448 F.3d 86, 93-94 (1st Cir. 2006)
(the absence of a personally-signed waiver or a colloquy
relating to such waiver “does not require reversal where
the evidence establishes that the defendant’s waiver was
knowingly and intelligently made”) (collecting cases);
Robertson, 45 F.3d at 1431 (“strict compliance wit’ ule
23(a) is not justified * * * where the recor. clearly
reflects a defendant’s waiver of the right is voluntary”);
United States v. Garrett, 727 F.2d 1003, 1012 (11th Cir.
1984) (purely technical violations of Rule 23(a) not a ba-
sis for relief if the government demonstrates that, at the

21

time of the waiver, the defendant was not ignorant of his
jury right), aff'd, 471 U.S. 773 (1985); United States v.
Page, 661 F.2d 1080, 1083 (5th Cir. 1981) (where, despite
non-compliance with Rule 23(a), it is apparent from the
record that the defendant intentionally waived his right
to a jury for tactical reasons, “[a defendant] cannot
claim [on appeal] of the manner in which the trial court
carried out his wishes”), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1018
(1982).

In determining whether the trial record demon-
strates that the waiver of the right to a jury trial was
made knowingly, voluntarily, and intentionally, the
courts consider a variety of factors circumstantially
demonstrating that a waiver was validly given. These
include: the defendant’s education, background, and
intellect (Leja, 448 F.3d at 94; Page, 661 F.2d at 1082);
his presence in court when the trial judge’s comments
make it clear that the trial will be to the bench and the
absence of surprise or objection with respect to such
remarks (e.g., Leja, 448 F.3d at 94; Page, 661 F.2d at
1083); and circumstances demonstrating a considered
and deliberate “tactical decision that a bench trial would
be to [the defendant's] advantage.” Page, 661 F.2d at
1083 & n.d.

In this case, the record demonstrates, by similar cir-
cumstances, that petitioners knowingly and voluntarily
consented to the waiver of their right to a jury trial.
First, as the court below observed (Pet. App. 16a), it is
apparent that petitioners’ written requests for a bench
trial, which were signed by counsel, were the product of
a calculated trial strategy. The request by Chapman
and joined by Hammad was presented as an alternative
to a severance of their trial from that of Khan, against
whom they maintained “inflammatory and prejudicial

22

evidence” would be presented that would be inadmissi-
ble in a trial involving only themselves. /bid. Conse-
quently, as in Page, 661 F.2d at 1083 n.5, “there was
* * * 4 plausible reason for [these petitioners] and the
experienced counsel who then represented [them] to
conclude that a judge might approach the case more
objectively and dispassionately than a jury.”

Further, during a pretrial hearing involving Chap-
man, the district court announced that it had before it
his renewed motion for prejudicial joinder or, in the al-
ternative, a motion to waive a jury. Addressing the mo-
tion, the court further observed that “if [the proceeding}
continues as a jury trial as to Mr. Chapman, | will in-
struct the jury to try to segregate the information.
However, vou do have as the alternative a motion to
waive jury, and | don’t know what the government’s
view ison that * * *. The government has a right to
trial by jury as well as the defendant, and so both sides
have to agree on a waiver.” C.A. App. 224-225 (emphasis
added). The court then explained that, even if the co-
defendants did not waive a jury, as to those who did, it
would decide the question of guilt or innocence. /d. at
226. Chapman never suggested that he did not person-

“ Khan's written motion sought to join Chapman's motion for a bench
trial. C.A. App. 281. Chapman's motion averred that trial to the court
would “afford the accused with the opportunity to receive a fair trial.”
Id. at 221. It therefore appears that Khan also sought a bench trial for
tactical reasons—avoidance of a trial by a jury which was not as likely
Lo possess the same measure of objectivity as the court. Khan now sug-
gests (06-1116 Pet. 25) that either the government or his co-defendants
may have coerced him into waiving a jury and that, consequently. the
district court should have conducted a separate inquiry to ensure that
his waiver of a jury trial was truly voluntary. Khan has, however, failed
to claim coercion, present evidence supporting such a claim, or other-
wise demonstrate a particularized need for such an inquiry.

23

ally participate in the motion to waive a jury or that a
bench trial, in which the court would return the verdict,
was not in accordance with his wishes.

During a second pretrial hearing, in which all three
petitioners and their attorneys participated, the court
observed that, because the proceeding would be without
a jury, counsel would no longer need to prepare jury
questionnaires and would therefore have additional time
to prepare for trial. C.A. App. 307. Thereafter, when
the trial commenced, the court repeatedly stated that
the proceeding would be a bench trial. See id. at 311-
312, 314. Despite petitioners’ presence on these occa-
sions, none indicated that such proceedings were not in
accord with their wishes. Cf. Leja, 448 F.3d at 94-Y5
(noting defendant’s presence and lack of disagreement
when, at the start of the trial, the court reiterated that
the parties had waived a jury); Page, 661 F.2d at 1082
(noting that defendant, “a highly educated and articulate
man, * * * inno manner exhibit|ed] objection or sur-
prise as his counsel waive|d] jury trial”).

Petitioners, who were all American-born and native
English speakers, were well educated and fully capable
of comprehending the trial judge’s courtroom references
to the absence of a jury and to the fact that the proceed-
ing would be a bench trial.'” Thus, the court of appeals
properly concluded that the record sufficiently reflected
that their waiver of a jury was knowing, intelligent, and
voluntary.

Chapman held a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice, had taken
a course in criminal litigation, and had worked for the Virginia State
Police. C.A. App. 258-260. Hammad excelled in junior college, and ob-
tained an associate's degree. /d. at 2288, 2242, 2245. Khan, the son of
a physies professor and a legal secretary, had also attended a commu-
nity college. /d. at 2122-2123, 3525.

24

Indeed, to the extent that petitioners, with counsel,
made a deliberate tactical decision to waive a jury in
favor of a bench trial and asked the judge for that proce-
dure, they invited any error and cannot complain of the
procedure on appeal. See Page, 661 F.2d at 1083; see
Garrett, 727 F.2d at 1012-1013. In this case, neither
petitioners nor their counsel objected to a bench trial
and petitioners expressed no surprise at such a proceed-
ing. Significantly, petitioners do not claim that they
were ignorant of their right to a trial by jury or that, if
properly advised, {hey would have elected a jury trial.
At the very least, the failure of petitioners to object to a
bench trial at any point in the district court subjects
their claim to review only for plain error. Fed. R. Crim.
P. 52(b); Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461, 466
(1997) (all claims raised for the first time on appellate
review are subject to the plain error rule); see United
States v. Vonn, 535 U.S. 55, 73 (2002) (plain error rule
applies to failure to object to deficient guilty plea collo-
quy under Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 11). Pe-
titioners have made no effort to meet that standard and,
in any event, cannot show that it seriously affects the
fairness, integrity, and public reputation of judicial pro-
ceedings (as is required to show reversible plain error)
for a judge to grant a jury-trial waiver that petitioners
requested for strategic reasons."

" Petitioners also maintain that this Court should grant review to
direct district courts to conduct a colloquy with the defendant in each
case to ensure that he understands his right to a jury trial and is volun-
tarily and knowingly waiving that right. See 06-1116 Pet. 19-20. That
claim does not warrant this Court's review. Neither the Constitution
nor Rule 23(a) contains a requirement that, when a jury waiver is
proffered, the district court must conduet such a colloquy. See, ¢.¢.,
Marone v. United States, 10 F.3d 65, 67 (2d Cir. 1993). Some courts of

25

b. Petitioners’ contention (06-1116 Pet. 17-19; 06-
9398 Pet. 16-18) that the decision below conflicts with
that of the Tenth Circuit in Robertson is incorrect. The
holding in that case—that the absence of a written jury
waiver signed by the defendant “is not necessarily fatal
to the validity of that waiver” (45 F.3d at 1433)—is not
materially different from the holding of the court below
and the decisions of the other courts of appeals that
have addressed the issue. Instead, reversal of the con-
viction in Robertson was based on the particular facts in
that case, i.e., that, where the district court not only
failed to inquire concerning the defendant’s decision as
to the circumstances surrounding the waiver, but also
never discussed, in the defendant’s presence, the deci-
sion to waive the right to a jury, “there is nothing in the
record * * * indicating [the defendant] personaliy un-
derstood her right and knowingly waived it.” Jbid.
Here, in contrast, the court below concluded that “the
record reflects that [petitioners’} Rule 23 waivers were

appeals (including the Fourth Circuit) have adopted such a colloquy
requirement under their supervisory power or have suggested conduct-
ing such colloquies as a matter of prudence. See e¢.g., Leja, 448 F.3d at
93 (collecting cases); Marone, 10 F.3d at 67 (“suggest[ing] the district
courts inform each defendant, on the record, of the fundamental
attributes of a jury trial before aceepting a waiver”); United States v.
Cochran, 770 F.2d 850, 852-8 (9th Cir. 1985) (“implor|ing]” district
courts to conduct jury waiver collequies but declining to adopt a
mandatory supervisory rule regaining them); United States v. Hunt,
413 F.2d 983, 984 (4th Cir. 19%) “per curiam). Indeed, the court here
reiterated that such colloquies “would be ‘better practice.” Pet. App.
15a (quoting Hunt, 413 F 2d at 984). But even courts of appeals that
have adopted a supervisory rule requiring district courts te conduct
waiver colloquies do not reverse convictions for failure to do so when
the waiver is otherwise shown to he valid. See United States v. Bishop,
291 F.3d 1100, 1113-1114 (9th Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 5387 U.S. 1176
(2003); United States v. Rodriguez, 888 F.2d 519, 527 (7th Cir. 1989).

26

a knowing, voluntary, and intelligent part of their trial
strategy.” Pet. App. 16a. Such factbound distinctions
do not merit this Court’s review."*

3. Petitioners maintain (06-1116 Pet. 26-29; 06-9398
Pet. 24-27) that the district court erred in failing to or-
der discovery concerning their claims that their indict-
ments for violations involving the Neutrality Act, 18
U.S.C. 960 (Counts 7-10), constituted impermissible se-
lective prosecution. In the first place, petitioners were
not convicted on the substantive Neutrality Act counts
(Pet. App. 70a-71a, 78a, 83a). Although one of the con-
spiracy counts on which they were convicted (Count 1)
included a Neutrality Act violation as an object offense
(in which both Chapman and Hammad were found to be
implicated), that count also included other object of-
fenses, including conspiracy to provide material support
to a terrorist group (LET) knowing and intending that
the support was to be used to carry out crimes of vio-

'* Chapman and Hammad further maintzin (06-9398 Pet. 22) that
their election to proceed without a jury was the product of an impermis-
sible “Hobson’s choice * * * between a biased jury and a fair judge.”
But instead of conducting a voir dire examination of the venire to
determine whether a jury could segregate the evidence, and independ-
ently and impartially assess the culpability of each defendant, these
petitioners decided to forgo such an examination in favor of opting for
a bench trial. Under such circumstances, a “purely subjective fear of
inability to select an impartial jury, manifested by jthe defendant's]
waiver of a jury trial before even attempting voir dire, does not make
[the defendant’s| waiver involuntary in a constitutional sense.” Johnson
v. Nix, 763 F.2d 344, 348 (8th Cir. 1985). Defendants frequently must
choose between options, even when electing one of the options may
entail submitting to a factfinder believed to lack impartiality (with a
consequent ability to raise such a claim on appeal). L'vited States v.
Martinez-Salazar, 528 U.S. 304, 315 (2000). - Nothing would have
foreclosed petitioners from going to trial before a jury, thereby pre-
serving any claim they believed they had that a jury would be biased.

at

lence (Count 5), on which they were all convicted and
which is not subject to a similar challenge. Thus, the
question whether petitioners were prejudiced by the
district court’s failure to order discovery concerning
selective prosecution with respect to the Neutrality Act
is of limited significance.’ In any event, the claim was
properly rejected by the court of appeals and that fact-
bound determination does not warrant this Court’s re-
view.

“The Attorney General and United States Attorneys
retain ‘broad discretion’ to enforce the nation’s criminal
laws.” United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456, 464
(1996) (quoting Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598,
607 (1985)). “‘The presumption of regularity supports’
their prosecutorial decisions and, ‘in the absence of clear
evidence to the contrary, courts presume that they have
properly discharged their official duties.’” /bid. (quot-
ing United States v. Chemical Found., Inc., 272 U.S. 1,
14-15 (1926)); see Reno v. American-Arab Anti-Dis-
crimination Comm., 525 U.S. 471, 489 (1999) (“Because
[selective prosecution] claims invade a special province
of the Executive * * * we have emphasized that the
standard for proving them is particularly demanding,
requiring a criminal defendant to introduce ‘clear evi-
dence’ displacing the presumption that the prosecutor
has acted lawfully.”) (quoting Armstrong, 517 U.S. at
465). Thus, “so long as the prosecutor has probable

'* The district court, however, predicated ene of petitioner Chapman's
Section 924(¢) convictions on his conspiracy canvietion (Count 1) insofar
as it embraced a conspiracy to violate the Neutrality Act. Pet. App. 81a.
That conspiracy count also constituted a basis (albeit unnecessary) for
one of Khan's Section 924(c) convictions, but the district court deter-
mined that his participation in the conspiracy did not include the
Neutrality Act. Jd. at 70a-71a.

28

cause to believe that the accused committed an offense
defined by statute, the decision whether or not to prose-
cute, and what charge to file or bring before a grand
jury generally rests entirely in his discretion.” Borden-
kircher v. Hayes, 434 U.S. 357, 364 (1978).
Nonetheless, “‘[s]electivity in the enforcement of
criminal laws is . . . subject to constitutiona! con-
straints.’ In particular, the decision to prosecute may
not be ‘deliberately based upon an unjustifiable stan-
dard such as race, religion, or other arbitrary classifica-
tion,’ including the exercise of protected statutory and
constitutional rights.” Wayte, 470 U.S. at 607-608 (quot-
ing United States v. Batchelder, 442 U.S. 114, 125
(1979), and Hayes, 434 U.S. at 364); see Oyler v. Boles,
368 U.S. 448, 456 (1962). As a consequence, to establish
a claim alleging impermissible selective prosecution,
“(t]he claimant must demonstrate that the federal prose-
cutorial policy ‘had a discriminatory effect and that it
was motivated by a discriminatory purpose.’” Arn-
strong, 517 U.S. at 465 (quoting Wayte, 470 U.S. at 608).
Because a demand for discovery to support a selec-
tive prosecution claim “imposes many of the costs pres-
ent when the Government must respond to a prima facie
case of selective prosecution” (Armstrong, 517 U.S. at
468), “the showing necessary to obtain discovery should
itself be a significant barrier to the litigation of insub-
stantial claims.” /d. at 464. In particular, “{t|he Courts
of Appeals ‘require some evidence tending to show the
existence of the essential] elements of the defense,’ dis-
criminatory effect and discriminatory intent.” /d. at 468
(quoting L/nited States v. Berrios, 501 F.2d 1207, 1211
(2d Cir. 1974)). As to the element of “discriminatory
effect,” the courts require the production of “some evi-
dence that similarly situated defendants * * * could

29

have been prosecuted but were not, * * * [a] require-
ment * * * consistent with [the Court’s] equal protec-
tion case law.” /d. at 469 (collecting cases).

Petitioners identify two groups, the CFF and the
IRA, as “similarly situated” to them by virtue of the fact
that their members also traveled from the United States
to foreign nations for the specific purpose of engaging in
armed conflict with a friendly government. Neither
group, however, was “similarly situated” to LET, with
which petitioners aligned themselves, because neither
was in direct conflict with the United States. Shortly
after the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack on the
United States, LIST proclaimed that, if the United
States attacked Afghanistan, its members would “not
leave |their] Afghanistan brethren in the lurch [but
would} sacrifice their lives along with other Muslims
against America and other disbelievers.” C.A. App.
L867. On October 7, 2001, LET proclaimed that America
had launched a war against Islam as part of a plan to
massacre all Muslims in the world, and shortly thereaf-
ter, it called on the Muslim world to support the Taliban
against the Americans. /d. at 1867-1869. Petitioners
presented no similar evidence on the part of either CFF
or the IRA of overt hostility against the United States
or expressions of intent to support other terrorist
groups in undertaking military action against it.'' Thus,

'' Furthermore, petitioners err in their assertion that members of
CFF have not been the subject of Neutrality Act prosecutions for their
activities. Yasith Chhun, the President of that group, who petitioners
have identified as a similarly situated but not charged person (C.A.
App. 3235), has been charged in the Central District of California with
a Violation of the Neutrality Act and related offenses. See United
States v. Chhiun, No. 2:05-cr-00519-DDP-ALL (C.D. Cal. filed May
31, 2005); Press Release, U.S. Att'y C.D. Calif., DOJ, President of

30

as the court below observed (Pet. App. 26a), because
LET presented a direct threat to the United States and
its interests, it was a perfectly proper exercise “of the
Government’s enforcement priorities” (Armstrong, 517
U.S. at 465), to charge petitioners with supporting it.

CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be de-
nied.
Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
KENNETH L. WAINSTEIN
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN F. DEPUE
Attorney

APRIL 2007

Cambodian Freedom Fighters Arrested in Alleged Plot to Overthrow
Cambodian Government (June 1, 2005) .

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_2162%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
