# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — First National National Bank of of Ames, Iowa v. Innovative Clinical and Consulting Services, LLC (No. 06-900)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1959%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

a Supreme Court. U.S.
PTL eB

06-900 0c 27 2006

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA,
Petitioner,

Vv.
INNOVATIVE CLINICAL AND CONSULTING SERVICES, LLC

d/b/a TOCO HILLS URGENT CARE,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari To The
Georgia Court of Appeals

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM V. CUSTER, IV
Counsel of Record

JENNIFER B. DEMPSEY

ADWOA W.D. GHARTEY- TAGOE

POWELL GOLDSTEIN LLP

One Atlantic Center

1201 West Peachtree St.. N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309-3488

(404) 5372-6600

Counsel for Petitioner
First National Bank of Ames. lowa

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

May a forum state exercise personal jurisdiction over a non-

\ resident defendant whose contacts with the forum state are

insubstantial and do not “arise out of a relate to” the
plaintiff's cause of action?

4

il
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUES TIS Fae eet a ee atitardbtesreebiciniviesecsesecrsoreesesavescecoose
TALS OF PERF Fae I haiti trsvscesesnenssigeseveesececesecess lil

I. THE COURT SHOULD RESOLVE A
CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS
AND STATES AS TO WHEN A CAUSE
OF ACTION ARISES OUT OF OR
RELATES TO ACTIVITIES IN THE
FORUM STATE FOR THE PURPOSE OF
ASSERTING ‘SPECIFIC’ IN PERSONAM
Pr ee GR tielctbsiedsehati ces sivecenssincesconseceoees

A. The Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment Requires
Certain Minimum Contacts to Support
Long-Arm Jurisdiction. ...............:scccsessesesseeess

B. There Is a Serious Division of
Authority Among State and Federal
Courts Regarding the Interpretation of

the Phrase “Arise Out of or Relate To” .........
c. This Is An Appropriate Case For Resolving
The Question Presented,........................
i ciesneceonecescers 20

Fag ie hn) 2 i, Giant SOEs" O28 A la

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES

Addy v. Club Med., No. 95-0035, 1997 WL 30205 ?

CEA, ER PO: SOE DIOIY vccrscsesiccccicicesepanivniceneeanobanncien 10
Asahi Metal Indus., Co. v. Superior Court, 480 U.S.

CAE COPIED sicvsdicnonisiiuissnokenspencisicetocsieeaseacionictiatpaminianetiel 11
ALS Scan, Inc. v. Digital Service Consultants, Inc.,

Sa De FOE CE OR, TID civis devterkicnshulecnincactsanirdaonts 17
Bertke v. Cartledge, 597 F. Supp. 68 (D.C. Ga.

eg) TN DIOS TR DEAL D So MOONS Ae, ORIN eT NEED {3
Beverly Kuenzle v. HTM Sport-Und Freizeitgerate

AG, 102 F.3d 453 (10th Cir. 1996) ........0000.c.ccsecceseesees 16
Bird v. Parsons, 289 F.3d 865 (6th Cir. 2002) ................. 15
Breckenridge Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. Metabolite

Laboratories, Inc., 444 F.3d 1361 (11th Cir.

ID i cesocosicivceceusdindeaabinalatd states ea duikcspinpoalis atatmbanabdce en 10
Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462

CB TEED cnsvcvsdarenetenieumeickesdbushiamibcees tacdsvemmoiginasil 8, 10, 11, 12
Burnham v. Superior Court, 495 U.S. 604 (1990) ............. 8
Carnival Cruise Line v. Shute, 499 U.S. 585

CRIED: sicis\cincasets casctvcracsseabattaeea maccaaouitneiclantnnadtes 7, 8,9
Chew v. Dietrich, 143 F.3d 24 (2d Cir. 1998) .......00000... 17

Christian Science Bd. of Directors of First Church of
Christ, Scientist v. Nolan, 259 F.3d 209 (4th Cir.

|} anne Reena SON NITIES FO a cle Kae CPE An aE OBER li
Davis v. Baylor University, 976 S.W.2d 5 (Mo. App.

WEEE, FE ckcsnsccdivkblnhinaindussuiecsetteceeaaataincn Memagines. 17
Deluxe Ice Cream Co. v. R.C.H. Tool Corp.; 726

Fe VSe ER, TO titties 15,19

Doe v. Unocal Corp., 248 F.3d 915 (9th Cir. 2001) ........ id

iV

First Mortgage Corp. v. State Street Bank and Trust

Co., 173 F. Supp. 2d 1167 (D. Utah 2001) ........000000.. 16
Fowler Prods. Co., Inc. v. Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of

Tulsa, Inc., 413 F. Supp. 1339 (D.C. Ga. 1976) .......... 10
Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958) .......00.. 12, 13, 20
Helicopteros Nacionales De Colombia, S.A. v. Hall,

A ee FE ERED eiket pac mnicinciplncsoininesinetelenss 7, 8, 11, 13
International Shoe, Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310

ee desilaac baesicd itcaenevenisesebnimeraianaiocboans 8, 10, 12, 19
Kervin v. Red River Ski Area, Inc., 711 F. Supp.

Ee ts BG SIU E citendidenchiaaithaucninceemianisclippttiieniaioas 14
Luna v. Compania Panamena De Aviacion, S.A., 851

F. Supp. $26.(S.D. Tex. 1994) ......cccsicccccsopcecsnnsvees 14, 16
Marino v. Hyatt Corp., 793 F.2d 427 (1st Cir. 1986) ...... 16
Marten v. Silva 200 S.W.3d 297 (Tex. Ct. App.

I Sch hiacphstabins a lndvtiar i stance hal latindneithidas maha cpdeetouciebidins 18
Miller Yacht Sales, Inc. v. Smith, 384 F.3d 93 (3rd

ii dasdichciseccgndavidvabieishdiniscdsdandesopiaderatiauaiss 15
Nowak v. Tak How Investments, Ltd., 94 F.3d 708

al Serica decesrnaisead atemngine Gitcndipdcnatasiess 15

In re Oil Spill by Amoco Cadiz Off Coast of France,
699 F.2d 909 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464

RP ae ME NED sects scicsciaaascistcbleeaatslosbo iaiesalemncnrchomaaiigs 15
Pearrow v. National Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 703 F.2d

ET CIs PD isd ii bwitteccessn tac ses Aiheatdirssicle tn pocgeceoes 15
Perkins v. Benguet Consol. Mining Co., 342 US.

EME isdarsiensttvnescchastd ahve acstee tatiana msec seupstamemeabaloned 8, 11
Pizarro v. Hoteles Concorde Int'l, 907 F.2d 1256

PE FE iii e da ndedecbictanieanoniteehabideet dudes 16
Prejean v. Stonatrach, Inc., 652 F.2d 1260 (Sth Cir.

he 5) eat ere Rea Bes acae ne Rp re eR oT CIE TIT Oe MOE 14
Railcar Ltd. v. Southern Illinois Railcar Co., 42 F.

Supp. 2d 1369 (N.D. Ga 1999) ...............cessecrereseee i0, 11

Rambo v. American So. Ins. Co., 839 F.2d 1415
GE I ee 11

Vv

Republic Credit Corp. I v. Rance, 172 F. Supp. 2d

CEFR, FESS 1: FONG Biases ccersivincerdsasiecsecseeciveiies 12
Sawtelle v. Farrell 70 F.3d 1381 (1st Cir. 1995) .......... ae
Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. 506, 519 at

n. 14, 94 S.C. FOGG, ZAST C1ST4) wicccisccctiscsccscccstecnssine 12
Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977) ‘uc. ceeeeeeeeeeeeees 7,8
Shoppers Food Warehouse v. Moreno, 746 A.2d 320

Bo BNE iia dancccuiessncs ecsvoundninbiaivcinendcaevassdecantpiarcitinioe 17

Shute v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 897 F.2d 377 (9th
Cir. 1990), rev'd on other grounds, 499 U.S. 585

EIIPIE © ciesin dncdpbeigaicsicsouosenouionted sdanaitiascoaecstyateineh 14,19
State of S.C. v. Reeves, 423 §.E.2d 32 (Ga. Ct. App.
OIG Sistkcdintocsttecnslisccasardestedlgvonsassiouanerstivasstiauenaaaren 18

Static Control Components, Inc. v. Intersolution
Ventures Ltd., No. 1:05CV004017, 2006 WL

2042900 (M.D. N.C. July 17, 2006)... eceeeeeees 17
Ticketmaster-N_Y., Inc. v. Alioto, 26 F.3d 201 (lst

Oe NN ae a crcsssenedacancines sieea om 8
United States v. Swiss American Bank, Ltd., 274

FP Re 6, BN kb eis tasserenesine in toapaasnstbnntncctes 11
Vermeulen v. Renault, U.S.A., Inc., 985 F.2d 1534

Re AE sacle res cssechaeatucci ip iuosmesonnnielecrtiatawens 11
Vons. Cos. v. Seabest Foods, Inc., 926 P.2d 1085

(Cal. 1996), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 808 (1997) ........... 17
White v. Roberts, 454 S.E.2d 584 (Ga. Ct. App.

DY Site cies inter aidevos tas curenemecesaeradehmsavteeaae ke 18
Woods Intern., Inc. v. McRoy, 436 F. Supp. 2d 744

RN: SE, MMMOND sus kus oe coiececicicdnds acnuubeeaneedanbaulantanigiasins 17
World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444

Oe re CE citadel 12

LAWS

i SOT. MIE, FAY, OE hc circcciijncndadean passim

RC ASA. OTE GOOD crccvedescccevacsseccscassindNisaconsl passim

VI

SECONDARY SOURCES
Lea Brilmayer, How Contacts Count: Due Process
Limitations on State Court Jurisdiction, 1980
Ny Sta BONY FF LP OMNE DY denltlacisisivencisitanniechtinie\cicemsiunoaiohinié 16
Lea Brilmayer, et al., A General Look at General
Jurisdiction, 66 Tex. L. Rev. 721 (1988)... 9
Lea Brilmayer, Related Contacts and Personal
Jurisdiction, 101 Harv. L. Rev. 1444 (1988) .......... 9, 16
Lawrence W. Moore, 7he Relatedness Problem In
Specific Jurisdiction, 37 \daho L. Rev. 583 (2001) ....... 9
William M. Richman, Review Essay, Part 1 Casad's
Jurisdiction in Civil Actions; Part II A Sliding
Scale to Supplement the Distinction Between
General and Specific Jurisdiction, 72 Cal. L. Rev.
De 5 SRR Ea ASR ecre ee eieret aa aaah owt ie OMe A er MEN: 9
Flavio Rose, Comment, Related Contacts and
Personal Jurisdiction: The "But For" Test, 82
ee Oe eR cakiendesiaiccaicansnrcioesiaparemncmcena 14
Linda Sandstrom Simard, Hybrid Personal
Jurisdiction: It’s Not General Jurisdiction, or
Specific Jurisdiction, but Is It Constitutional?, 48
CE Oe. TOR. E.R, Soe a POD vickiveceininsseesseiscccnvesess 10
Mary Twichell, 7he Myth Of General Jurisdiction,
i a, 2. Fey BIO CIS? encnracmnnsan 9

PREVIOUS OPINIONS

The Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia denying the
Petition for Certiorari of First National Bank of Ames, lowa,
to that Court, entered October 2, 2006, Supreme Court Case
No. S06C2001, is not reported and is reproduced at Pet. App.
la.

The Order of the Georgia Court of Appeals denying the
Motion for Reconsideration of First National Bank of Ames,
Iowa, entered July 10, 2006, is not reported and is reproduced
at Pet. App. 2a.

The Memorandum Opinion and Order of the Georgia
Court of Appeals, entered June 20, 2006 is reported at First
National Bank of Ames, lowa v. Innovative Clinical &
Consylting Services, LLC., 280 Ga. App. 337, 634 S.E.2d 88
(2006) and is reproduced at Pet. App. 3a-6a.

The Memorandum Opinion and Order of the Supreme
Court of Georgia, entered October 3, 2005, Supreme Court
Case No. S04C1413 is reported at /nnovative Clinical &
Consulting Services, LLC. v. First National Bank of Ames,
Iowa, 279 Ga. 672, 620 S.E.2d 352 (2005), and is reproduced
at Pet. App. 7a-12a.

The Order of the Georgia Court of Appeals denying the
Motion for Reconsideration of Innovative Clinical &
Consulting Services, LLC, entered April 8, 2004, 1s not
reported and is reproduced at Pet. App. 13a.

The Memorandum Opinion and Order of the Georgia
Court of Appeals, entered March 24, 2004 is reported at First
National Bank of Ames, lowa v. Innovative Clinical &
Consulting Services, LLC., 266 Ga. App. 842, 598 S.E.2d 530
(2004) and is reproduced at Pet. App. 14a-22a.

The Order Denying Motion to Dismiss and Certificate of
Immediate Review of the Superior Court of Fulton County,
entered December 23, 2002, Civil Action File No.

2

2001cv46283, is rot reported and is reproduced at Pet. App.
23a-25a.

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C § 1257 to
review by writ of certiorari the judgment of the Court of
Appeals of Georgia dated June 20, 2006, which 1s the subject -
of this Petition, in which case a petition for certiorari was
denied by the Supreme Court of Georgia on October 2, 2006.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

This case involves the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution and
the Georgia Long-Arm Statute, O.C.G.A. § 9-10-91.

U.S. CONST. amend. XIV, § 1:

All persons born or naturalized in the United States and
subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they reside. No
State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection
of the laws.

0.C.G.A. § 9-10-91:

A court of this state may exercise personal jurisdiction
over any non-resident or his executor or administrator, as
to a cause of action arising from any of the acts,
omissions, ownership, use, Or possession enumerated in
this Code section, in the same manner as if he were a
resident of the state, if in person or through an agent, he:

(1) Transacts any business within this state;

3

(2) Commits a tortious act or omission within this
state, except as to a cause of action for defamation of
character arising from: the act;

(3) Commits a tortious injury in this state caused by an
act or omission outside this state if the tort-feasor
regularly does or solicits business, or engages in any
other persistent course of conduct, or derives
substantial revenue from goods used or consumed or
services rendered in this state;

(4) Owns, uses, or possesses any real property situated
within this state; or

(5) With respect to proceedings for alimony, child
support, or division of property in connection with an
action for divorce or with respect to an independent
action for support of dependents, maintains a
matrimonial domicile in this state at the time of the
commencement of this action or, if the defendant
resided in this state preceding the commencement of
the action, whether cohabiting during that time or not.
This paragraph shall not change the residency
requirement for filing an action for divorce.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves a complaint filed in the State of
Georgia against a non-resident bank alleging that the non-
resident bank committed certain torts and breaches of contract
in the administration and operation of two bank accounts
located wholly in the State of lowa, which were established
by lowa citizens and governed by account agreements
executed and performed wholly in the State of lowa. [R.
005}.

Respondent Innovative Clinical and Consulting Services,
LLC (“ICCS”) filed this suit against Petitioner First National
Bank of Ames, lowa (“First National’) to recover damages tt
claimed as a result of an outsourcing relationship ICCS
entered into with an lowa company that happened to be a

4

customer of First National. [R. 005].

ICCS is a doctor’s office located in Atlanta, Georgia.
[Pet. App. 14a]. In April of 2001, ICCS made the decision to
outsource some of its billing and collection operations. It
outsourced these functions to a company in Iowa where these
functions were to be performed. ICCS entered into two
separate contracts to facilitate this outsourcing. [Pet. App.
15a]. First, ICCS entered into a Services Agreement with two
entities called Med e Fund Corporation and MeF Corporation.
[R. 005; 016-017]. Under this agreement, Med e Fund agreed
to advance money to ICCS for its receivables and agreed to
take charge of the invoicing to and collection from third-party
payors for ICCS. [R. 005; 016-017]. Second, ICCS entered
into a Lease Agreement with an lowa company called A.C.
Financial. [R. 005; 018-024]. Under this agreement, ICCS
leased the hardware and software it needed to facilitate the
_ Invoicing to third-party payors. [R. 005; 018-024]. The
Lease Agreement provided that it would be effective upon
delivery to A.C. Financial’s headquarters in lowa, thus
ensuring that the agreement would be governed by lowa law.
Moreover, the Lease Agreement provided that any dispute
would be resolved in the courts of Iowa. [R. 005; 018-024].

Under the agreements, ICCS and its outsourcing partners
agreed to open bank accounts necessary to facilitate their
relationship in lowa. A.C. Financial went to First National in
Ames, lowa and opened two bank accounts [R. 004; 064].
First National is a bank which provides banking services
wholly within the State of lowa. [R. 063]. First National
does not have offices or employees outside of Ames, lowa.
[R. 063]. Both ICCS and A.C. Financial were permitted to
transact business on these accounts. [R. 064]. Payments
from third-party payors were to be deposited into one of the
bank accounts. [R. 065].

In addition, First National assumed limited responsibility
for servicing the ICCS lease. [R. 065]. This “servicing” was

limited to automatically debiting one of the accounts for lease
payments due and depositing that sum into the second
account. First National invoiced ICCS for the payment due
when, on one occasion, an automated debiting transaction was
rejected. [R. 065].

First National later provided a loan to A.C. Financial. To
secure that loan, First National took a security interest in the
Lease Agreement between A.C. Financial and ICCS. [R.
357]. All actions taken to enforce that security interest have
been taken in Iowa.

It is undisputed that the only contact First National had
with the State of Georgia in connection with this matter was
that the bank statements and correspondence concerning the
account were mailed to ICCS and that First National
responded to an occasional phone call from ICCS regarding
the account. [Pet. App. 16a].

ICCS brought suit against First National on December 6,
2001 in the Superior Court of Fulton County, Georgia.
ICCS’s claims against First National included claims for: a)
fraud and conversion related to the accounts maintained by
First National in the name of ICCS in the State of lowa; b) an
accounting of funds and breach of contract related to those
accounts; c) an injunction concerning funds in those accounts;
and d) a rescission of the Lease Agreement and Services
Agreement.’ [Pet. App. l6a]

Respondent ICCS contended that the Georgia courts had
personal jurisdiction over First National pursuant to the
Georgia Long-Arm Statute. O.C.G.A. § 9-10-91. First

Since the Lease Agreement contains a forum selection clause
providing that actions regarding the Lease Agreement are to be brought in
lowa, the Lease Agreement does not provide a basis for jurisdiction over
First National in Georgia. [R. 005; 018-024].

ey

National moved to dismiss this action'for lack of personal
jurisdiction contending that insufficient minimum contacts
existed on which jurisdiction might be predicated and that the
plaintiff's claims did not arise out of any contacts First
Nationa] did have with the State of Georgia. The Honorable
T. Jackson Bedford, Superior Court of Fulton County, denied
First National’s motion to dismiss. [Pet. App. 23a-25a]. First
National appealed the decision to the Court of Appeals of
Georgia. The Court of Appeals held that First National did
not have the requisite minimum contacts with the State of
Georgia to subject First National to personal jurisdiction in
Georgia and that personal jurisdiction did not exist over First
National pursuant to the ‘transacts business’ prong or the ‘tort
prongs’ of the Georgia Long-Arm Statute. [Pet. App. 14a-22a,
at 19a-20a]. Respondent ICCS petitioned the Supreme Court
of Georgia for a review of the Court of Appeals’ Decision.

The Supreme Court of Georgia elected to hear the
petition. In its opinion, the Supreme Court of Georgia
dramatically altered the pre-existing law of personal
jurisdiction in the State of Georgia, holding that the ‘transacts
business’ prong of the Georgia Long-Arm Statute was no
longer restricted, except by the bounds of procedural due
process. [Pet. App. 7a-12a, at lla]. The Supreme Court of
Georgia affirmed the Court of Appeals’ holding in part,
finding that the trial court could not exercise personal
jurisdiction over First National pursuant to the ‘tort prongs’ of
the Georgia Long-Arm Statute. The Supreme Court of
Georgia vacated the Court of Appeals’ decision as it related to
the ‘transacts business’ prong of the Georgia Long-Arm
Statute and remanded the case for further consideration
consistent with its opinion.

On remand, the Court of Appeals of Georgia held that
First National’s isolated contacts with the State of Georgia
were sufficient to confer personal jurisdiction over First
National, even though the claims asserted did not arise out of

“4d

/

those isolated contacts. The Court of Appeals then affirmed
the Superior Court’s denial of First National’s motion to
dismiss. [Pet. App. 3a-6a, at Sa-6a].

Following the Georgia Court of Appeals’ second opinion,
First National petitioned the Supreme Court of Georgia for a
writ of certiorari. The Supreme Court of Georgia denied First
National’s petition. [Pet. App. la].

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT SHOULD RESOLVE A CONFLICT
AMONG THE CIRCUITS AND STATES AS TO
WHEN A CAUSE OF ACTION ARISES OUT OF OR
RELATES TO ACTIVITIES IN THE FORUM
STATE FOR THE PURPOSE OF ASSERTING
‘SPECIFIC’ IN PERSONAM JURISDICTION.

This case presents the question of what relationship must
exist between a plaintiff's cause of action and a defendant’s
contacts with the forum state to support the assertion of
“specific” in personam jurisdiction consistent with the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. This Court
has previously considered this issue, but has yet to resolve it.
See Helicopteros Nacionales de Colombia, S.A. v. Hall, 466
U.S. 408, 415 n.10 (1984); Carnival Cruise Line v. Shute, 499
U.S. 585 (1991).

A finding of specific jurisdiction requires a degree of
relatedness among the “defendant, the forum and _ the
litigation” in order to satisfy the requirements of due process.
Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 204 (1977). More
specifically, the plaintiff's claim must “arise out of or relate
to” the non-resident defendant's contacts with the forum state.
Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414 n. 8. This requirement

As this Court noted in Helicopteros, “When a controversy is related
to or arises out of a defendant's contacts with the forum, the Court has
said that a relationship among the defendant, the forum and the litigation

8

originated with this Court in International Shoe Co. vy.
Washington, but has never been defined. 326 U.S. 310, 319
(1945).- In both Helicopteros and Shute, this Court declined
to settle the issue of how the “arise out of or relate to”
requirement should be interpreted. In Helicopteros, this
Court declined to address the issue because the parties did not
make arguments based upon the “arise out of or relate to”
requirement and thus, conceded tat the cause of action did
not “arise out of or relate to” the defendant’s activities.
Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 415."

The issue surfaced again in Shute where the petitioner
raised the question of whether a negligence action could
“arise out of or relate to” the defendant’s advertising and
ticket sales in the forum state for cruise vacations. Shute, 499

is the essential foundation of in personam jurisdiction.” 466 U.S. at 414
(citing Shaffer, 433 U.S. at 204).

> Burnham v. Superior Court, 495 U.S. 604, 618 (1990) (noting that the
“arise out of or relate to” language originated in /nternational Shoe and
reaffirming the standard requiring that a cause of action must “arise out of
or relate to” the defendant's contacts with the forum state); Burger King v.
Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 472 (1985) (same); Helicopteros,.466 U.S. at
414 (same); Perkins v. Benguet Consol. Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437, 444-45
(1952) (same). See also Ticketmaster-N.Y., Inc. v. Alioto, 26 F.3d 201,
206 (ist Cir. 1994) (noting that the “arise out of or relate to” analysis is
the icast developed prong of the specific jurisdiction inquiry).

4

Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 415 n. 10. (“Absent any briefing on the
issue we decline to reach the questions (1) whether the terms ‘arising out
of and ‘related to’ describe different connections between a cause of
action and a defendant’s contacts with a forum, and (2) what sort of tie
between a cause of action and a defendant's contacts with a forum is
necessary to a determination that either connection exists. Nor do we
reach the question whether, if the two types of relationship differ, a
forum’s exercise of personal jurisdiction in a situation where the cause of
action ‘relates to,’ but does not ‘arise out of.’ the defendant's contacts
with the forum should be analyzed as an assertion of specific
jurisdiction.”’).

9

U.S. at 588-89. The Court declined to address the issue of
whether the Ninth Circuit’s expansive interpretation of the
“arise out of or relates to” standard was appropriate in that

case, and instead disposed of the case on other grounds. /d. at
589.

The question of how the “arise out of or relate to”
_requirement should be interpreted is now ripe for decision.°
The issue is one that frequently arises and has been resolved
in many conflicting ways by the state courts and lower federal
courts. Those courts have developed their own differing and
inconsistent judicial constructs on how far the scope of the
relatedness requirement should extend. Legal commentators
have debated this issue for years.’ Thus, the issue has been

> The Court in Shute held that because a decision on the forum

selection clause issue was dispositive of the case, the Court need not
address the constitutional question of what “arise out of or relate to”
means. /d.

° — See Lea Brilmayer, et al., A General Look at General Jurisdiction, 66
Tex. L. Rev. 721, 737 (1988) (“Just what courts mean when they speak of
this amorphous concept of relatedness, however, is simply unclear.
Practically any contact might appear to be related to the cause of action
and thus support specific jurisdiction. In short, such a vague term offers a
state an apparently boundless jurisdictional reach — a result out of step
with our notions of due process.”).

See, ¢.g., Lawrence W. Moore, The Relatedness Problem In Specific
Jurisdiction, 37 Idaho L. Rev. 583, 591-93 (2001) (discussing the debate
amongst scholars concerning the degree of relatedness required to find
specific jurisdiction); Mary Twichell, The Myth Of General Jurisdiction,
101 Harv. L. Rev. 610, 653 -54 (1988) (arguing for a looser definition of
the relatedness requirement); Lea Brilmayer, Related Contacts and
Personal Jurisdiction, 101 Harv. L. Rev. 1444 (1988) (arguing for a more
narrow definition of the relatedness requirement); Wilham M. Richman,
Review Essay, Part 1 Casad's Jurisdiction in Civil Actions; Part I A
Sliding Scale to Supplement the Distinction Between General and Specific
Jurisdiction, 72 Cal. L. Rev. 1328, 1345 (1984) (advocating a “sliding
scales” approach to the relatedness requirement): Linda Sandstrom
Simard, Hybrid Personal Jurisdiction. It's Not General Jurisdiction, or

10

sufficiently developed for a resolution by the Court and this
case presents an excellent context for deciding it.

A. The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment Requires Certain Minimum Contacts
to Support Long-Arm Jurisdiction. -

For jurisdiction to exist over a defendant in accordance
with a state’s long-arm statute, including Georgia’s long-arm
statute, the requirements of the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment must be met. Burger King Corp. v.
Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 474-76 (1985); Breckenridge
Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. Metabolite Laboratories, Inc., 444
F.3d 1361 (11th Cir. 2006); Railcar Ltd. v. Southern Illinois
Railcar Co., 42 F. Supp. 2d 1369, 1371-72 (N.D. Ga 1999).*
“The Due Process Clause protects an individual’s liberty
interest in not being subject to the binding judgments of a
forum with which he has established no meaningful ‘contacts,
ties or relations’.” Burger King, 471 U.S. at 471-72 (citing
International Shoe, 326 U.S. at 319). Thus, a key tenet of the
due process analysis is that a defendant must have certain
“minimum contacts with [the forum state] such that the
maintenance of the suit does not offend ‘traditional notions of
fair play and substantial justice.” %/nternational Shoe, 326
U.S. at 316 (citations omitted).

Specific Jurisdiction, but Is It Constitutional?, 48 Case W. Res. L. Rev.
559, 580-82 (1998) (calling for a hybrid approach for in-between cases).

* — See also Fowler Prods. Co., Inc. v. Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of Tulsa,
Iné., 413 F. Supp. 1339, 1341-42 (D.C. Ga. 1976) (holding that minimum
contacts did not exist for purposes of due process where defendant did
nothing within forum state except accept goods under a FOB contract and
address mail to a Georgia address concerning partial payment under the
contract); Addy v. Club Med.. No. 95-0035, 1997 WL 30205, at *4 (E.D.
La. Jan. 23, 1997).(holding that simply conducting business with someone
residing in the forum state is insufficient to support jurisdiction).

1]

A due process analysis contemplates two types of
personal jurisdiction — general or specific jurisdiction.
Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 414-15 nn. 8-9.

General jurisdiction arises only from “continuous and
systematic” contacts between the non-resident defendant and
the forum state. The non-resident’s activities must be
“continuous and systematic” for general jurisdiction to exist
over the non-resident. Perkins v. Benguet Consol. Mining
Co., 342 U.S. 437, 438 (1952); Railcar, 42 F. Supp. 2d at
1371-72, 1377 (citing Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 410-18). In
order to assert general jurisdiction, the non-resident’s contacts
with the forum must be more than “random and fortuitous.”
Helicopteros, 466 U.S. at 416-17.

For specific jurisdiction to exist, however, a non-
resident’s activities need not be continuous and systematic.
Instead, the defendant must have Bigger directed’ his
activities at residents of the forum . . . and the litigation [must
result] from alleged injuries that ‘arise out of or relate to’
those activities.” Burger King, 471 U.S. at 471-72.”

* — Courts have delineated the specific jurisdiction due process test into a

three-part inquiry: (1) the non-resident defendant must purposely avail
himself of the privilege of conducting activities in the forum state (2) the
claim must be one which “arises out of or relates to” the defendant's
forum-related activities; and (3) the exercise of jurisdiction must be
reasonable. See, e.g., Christian Science Bd. of Directors of First Church
of Christ, Scientist v. Nolan, 259 F.3d 209, 216 (4th Cir. 2001); United
States v. Swiss American Bank, Litd., 274 F.3d 610, 621 (Ist Cir. 2001);
Vermeulen v. Renault, U.S.A., Inc., 985 F.2d 1534, 1546 (11th Cir. 1993);
and Rambo v. American So. Ins. Co., 839 F.2d 1415, 1419 n. 6 (10th
Cir.1988). The test applies the principles of Asahi Metal Indus., Co. v.
Superior Court, 480 U.S. 102, 113 (1987) (considering several factors to
determine whether the exercise of jurisdiction is so unreasonable as to
violate “fair play and substantial justice”); Burger King, 471 U.S. at 474-
76 (finding that a non-resident defendant must purposely avail himself of
the privilege of conducting activities in the forum state and that
defendant's contacts must be related to the plaintiff's cause of action or

12

Regardless of whether a due process analysis
contemplates general or specific jurisdiction, a defendant
must meet the criteria of purposeful availment for a court to
exercise jurisdiction over it. See, e.g., Burger King, 471 U.S.
at 475-76.

First National has not purposefully availed itself of the
laws of the State of Georgia and has not had the requisite
minimum contacts with the State of Georgia for personal
jurisdiction to exist in Georgia. The present dispute involves
bank accounts that. were established at an lowa bank through
actions taken wholly in Iowa and controlled by contracts
executed and to be performed in Iowa.'® Such contacts are
not sufficient to constitute ‘minimum contacts’ with the State

give rise to it); World Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286,
291-92, 297 (1980) (finding that the exercise of jurisdiction must be
reasonable); Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235, 253 (1958) (finding
contacts must involve “some act by which the defendant purposefully
avails itself of the privilege of conducting activities within the forum”);
and /nternational Shoe, 326 U.S. at 319 (requiring that a claim arise out of
or relate to defendant’s contacts with the forum).

'° While the plaintiff has also sought the rescission of the Lease

Agreement, the venue for disputes involving that contract is governed by a
choice of venue clause and thus not germane to the jurisdictional dispute
here. (R. 005; 018-024]. Even when a party seeks rescission of a
contract, the forum selection clause in that contract stands. See, e.g.,
Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. 506, 519 at n. 14, 94 S.Ct. 2449,
2457 (1974) (rejecting the notion that “any time a dispute arising out of a
transaction is based upon an allegation of fraud ... the [forum-selection]
clause is unenforceable,” and holding that rather, a “forum-selection
clause im a contract is not enforceable if the inclusion of that clause in the
contract was the product of fraud or coercion.”); Republic Credit Corp. |
v. Rance, 172 F. Supp. 2d 1178, 1183 (S.D. lowa 2001) (same).

13

of Georgia for purposes of personal jurisdiction. See Hanson
v, Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958).'!

B. There Is a Serious Division of Authority Among
State and Federal Courts Regarding the
interpretation of the Phrase “Arise Out of or
Relate To.”

Since this Court decided Helicopteros, the lower federal
and state courts have varied widely in their interpretation of
how the “arise out of or relate to” requirement for specific
personal jurisdiction should be interpreted. The courts have
essentially developed two main conflicting tests, with various
interpretations of those tests and names for those tests, to
address the issue of what relationship must exist between the
litigation and the defendant’s activities in the forum state so

'! “In Hanson v. Denckla, this Court held that a Florida court did not

have specific personal jurisdiction over a Delaware trustee in an action
concerning the parties’ rights to a trust. The controversy in Hanson
involved the validity of a trust agreement that was executed in Delaware
by a trust company incorporated in Delaware and by a settler domiciled in
Pennsylvania. /d. at 252. The defendant’s only contacts with Florida
involved the remittance by mail of trust income to beneficiaries who
moved to that state after the trust was formed. /d. Analyzing these facts,
this Court held that the lawsuit “[could] not be said to be one to enforce an
obligation that arose from a privilege the defendant exercised in Florida.”
Jd. Rather, “it is essential in each case that there be some act by which the
defendant purposefully avails itself of the privilege of conducting
activities within the forum State, thus invoking the benefits and
protections of its laws.” /d. at 253. Accordingly, because the cause of
action was not one that arose out of an act done or consummated in
Florida, jurisdiction over the defendant did not exist. /d. at 251.

See also Bertke v. Cartledge, 597 F. Supp. 68, 71-72 (D.C. Ga. 1984)
(finding Georgia defendant whose business was located solely in Georgia
did not purposefully avail himself of the privileges of the forum State of
Kentucky, where the defendant had never visited or done business in
Kentucky, the contract at issue was to be performed wholly in Georgia
and the plaintiff was the first to initiate contact with the defendant).

14

as to support the assertion of specific jurisdiction.
Essentially, the debate is split between those courts who
advocate that a weak connection to the forum is sufficient,
and those courts who advocate that a stronger connection to
the forum is warranted to exercise personal jurisdiction over
an out-of-state defendant.

The primary conflicting tests developed by courts include:
the “but for” test and the “substantive relevance-proximate
cause” test, although the courts may use different terms to
identify the test used.'*

Many courts have adopted the “but for” test. The “but
for” test considers whether a plaintiff's claims would have
arisen ‘but for’ the defendant’s contacts with the forum state.
Doe v. Unocal Corp., 248 F.3d 915, 924 (9th Cir. 2001);
Shute v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 897 F.2d 377 (9th Cir. 1990),
rev'd on other grounds, 499 U.S. 585 (1991).'° The “but for”

'2 Several different tests have been promoted by various courts and

scholars, but all roughly fall into either the “but for” or “proximate cause”
category or are a derivative of the two tests. See, e.g., Flavio Rose,
Comment, Related Contacts and Personal Jurisdiction: The "But For"
Test, 82 Cal. L. Rev. 1545, 1579-84 (1994) (identifying the following
possible relatedness tests as an alternative to the “but for” test: (1) the
“substantive relevance” test, (2) the “could have been causation” test or
(3) the “sliding scales” theory).

'S See also Prejean v. Stonatrach, Inc., 652 F.2d 1260, 1270 n. 21(5th
Cir. 1981) (suggesting that specific jurisdiction can be found in situations
where ‘but for’ the parties entering into a contract, a tort action would not
have arisen), but see Luna v. Compania Panamena De Aviacion, S.A., 851
F. Supp. 826, 832-33 (S.D. Tex. 1994) (“The question of whether a cause
of action arises out of or relates to a defendant's forum contact is
analogous to the issue of proximate cause in tort law.”) (citation omitted);
Kervin v. Red River Ski Area, Inc., 711 F. Supp. 1383, 1389-90 (E.D. Tex.
1989) (noting that courts were inclined to take a more restrictive view of
what the phrase ‘arise out of and relate to” requires).

15

test 1s considered an expansive test because there is no limit
on how far the test can logically extend. Conceivably, almost
any remote contact that a defendant has with a forum state
can be the basis for specific jurisdiction if it can be couched
as, “but for” the defendant’s contact with the forum state, no
matter how remote, the plaintiff's cause of action would not
have occurred.'* Other courts have employed the substantive
relevance-proximate cause test, which provides a more strict
interpretation of the phrase “arises out of or relates to.”
Under this test, some courts and scholars believe that it
requires that the cause of action be “substantially related” to
the defendant’s contacts with the forum state. See Bird v.
Parsons, 289 F.3d 865, 875 (6th Cir. 2002).'° See also Lea

The Seventh Circuit applies a ‘but for’ test but generally uses the term
‘lies in the wake’ to describe it. See Deluxe Ice Cream Co. v. R.C.H. Tool
Corp., 726 F.2d 1209, 1215-16 (7th Cir. 1984) (finding the pre-contractual
negotiations between the parties in the forum state “lies in the wake” of
the breach of warranty action and thus, specific jurisdiction may be
found); Jn re Oil Spill by Amoco Cadiz Off Coast of France, 699 F.2d 909
(7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 864 (1983) (the contract
negotiations and signing of contract in the forum state “lies in the wake”
of the action ior damages related to an oil spill caused by the break-up of
an oil tanker).

'* In rejecting the “but for” test, the First Circuit has described this test
as follows: “A ‘but for’ requirement . . . has tn itself no limiting principle;
it literally embraces every event that hindsight can logically identify in the
causative chain ...”. Nowak v. Tak How Investments, Lid., 94 F.3d 708,
715 (Ist Cir. 1996).

1S See also Sawtelle v. Farrell 70 F.3d 1381, 1389 (1st Cir. 1995) (“The
relatedness requirement is not met merely because a plaintiff's cause of
action arose out of the general relationship between the parties; rather, the
action must directly arise out of the specific contacts between the
defendant and the forum state.”); Miller Yacht Sales, Inc. v. Smith, 384
F.3d 93, 104 (3rd Cir. 2004) (The Third Circuit held that, “[a]lthough we
have not expressly articulated our view on the “arise out of or relate to”
requirement, our cases implicitly apply an immediate or proximate cause
standard.”); Pearrow v. National Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 703 F.2d 1067,

16

Brilmayer, How Contacts Count: Due Process Limitations on
State Court Jurisdiction, 1980 Sup. Ct. Rev. 77, 82 (1981)
(“A contact is related to the controversy if it is the
geographical qualification of a fact relevant to the merits.”);
Lea Brilmayer, Related Contacts and Personal Jurisdiction,
101 Harv. L. Rev. 1444, 1451-58 (1988) (using the term
“substantive relevance”).

Some courts analogize the proximate cause test to the
proximate cause requirement under tort law. See Luna v.
Compania Panamena De Aviacion, S.A., 851 F. Supp. 826,
832-33 (S.D. Tex. 1994).'° Courts have suggested that under
the proximate cause test, the forum contacts must be a
material proof of an element of the cause of action. Marino v.
Hyatt Corp., 793 F.2d 427, 430 (1st Cir. 1986) (interpreting
Massachusetts long arm statute, which employs a proximate
cause analysis to the relatedness requirement, and finding
plaintiffs’ hotel reservations were not “a material element of
proof in their slip and fall case”).

1069 (8th Cir. 1983) (The Eighth Circuit appears to employ a proximate
cause analysis in interpreting Arkansas’ long arm statute and finding the
defendant’s connection to the forum too tenuous to find that plaintiff's
cause of action for negligence “arose out of” activity in the state); First
Mortgage Corp. v. State Street Bank and Trust Co., 173 F. Supp. 2d 1167,
1175 (D. Utah 2001) (“A ‘nexus’ must exist between the plaintiff's claims
and the defendant’s acts or contacts.”), but see, Beverly Kuenzle v. HTM
Sport-Und Freizeitgerate AG, 102 F.3d 453, 456-57 (10th Cir. 1996)
(holding that the ‘arise out of requirement for specific jurisdiction was
not satisfied where the plaintiff's accident would have occurred in the
forum state even if the defendant had not made the contacts relied upon by
the plaintiff).

‘© See. e.g., Pizarro v. Hoteles Concorde Int'l, 907 F.2d 1256, 1259 (Ist
Cir. 1990) (interpreting Puerto Rico's long arm statute, which is akin to
the due process specific jurisdiction analysis, and determining, “[w]hether
certain events arise out of a non-resident defendant’s actions within the
forum state is comparable or analogous to whether certain actions can be
said to be the legal, or proximate cause of injuries suffered by a plaintiff’).

17

Other courts have, instead of specifically adopting either
of the main two tests, developed thcir own definition of what
“arise out of or relates to” means.’’ Some state courts have
declined to adopt either the “but for” or the proximate cause
standard. Instead, these state courts apply their own
interpretation of what the “arise out of or relate to” phrase
means.'* Other state courts decline to articulate any test and

17

See, e.g., Woods Intern., Inc. v. McRoy, 436 F. Supp. 2d 744, 749
(M.D. N.C. 2006) (citing ALS Scan, Inc. v. Digital Service Consultants,
Inc., 293 F.3d 707, 713-14 (4th Cir. 2002) (noting that the Fourth Circuit
has adopted a “sliding scales” approach to analyzing internet based
contacts); Chew v. Dietrich, 143 F.3d 24, 29-30 (2d Cir. 1998) (“Where
the defendant has had only limited contacts with the state it may be
appropriate to say that he will be subject to suit in that state only if the
plaintiff's injury was proximately caused by those contacts.”); Static
Control Components, Inc. vv. Intersolution Ventures Ltd., No.
1:05CV004017, 2006 WL 2042900, at *8-9 (M.D. N.C. July 17, 2006)
(“In determining whether a claim is sufficiently related to forum-related
activities, circuits have applied different tests . . . In this case, there is a
sufficient connection between the claims and contacts under either test to
support personal] jurisdiction.”).

'* California: Vons. Cos. v. Seabest Foods, Inc., 926 P.2d 1085, 1093-
97, (Cal. 1996), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 808 (1997) (addressing the
strengths and weakness of both tests and finding the “but for” test to be
overly broad and the “proximate cause” test too narrow and instead,
reaffirming a test that it had already articulated in earlier California case
law: “The crucial inquiry concerns the character of defendant's activity in
the forum, whether the cause of action arises out of or has a substantial
connection with that activity, and upon the balancing of the convenience
of the partics and the interests of the state in assuming jurisdiction.”);
Missouri: Davis v. Baylor University, 976 S.W.2d 5, 8-9 (Mo. App.
W.D. 1998) (also refusing to adopt either fest and instead instituting “a
balancing test that is akin to the ‘sliding scale’ approach” where the court
considers five factors: “(1) the nature and quality of the contacts with the
forum state, (2) the quantity of contacts with the forum state, (3) the
relation of the cause of action to the contacts, (4) the interest of the forum
state in providing a forum for its residents, and (5) the convenience to the
parties”); District of Columbia: Shoppers Food Warehouse v. Moreno,

18

instead employ a factual analysis or decide the jurisdictional
question on another prong of the specific jurisdiction
analysis.”

In this case, the Court of Appeals of Georgia has taken the
analysis one step further. Although the Court of Appeals is
silent on the precise test employed to determine relatedness
(to the extent it employs any test at all) the holding of the
Georgia Court of Appeals represents a vast expansion of the
‘but for’ test adopted by other courts. The Court of Appeals
has effectively held that a plaintiff's cause of action need not
necessarily ‘arise out’ of the non-resident’s contacts with the
state at all. Under the Georgia Court of Appeals’ decision,
contacts that have an ephemeral connection to a cause of
action can be sufficient to support specific personal

746 A.2d 320, 335-36 (D.C. 2000) (“Based upon our review of nexus tests
used in other jurisdictions, the criticisms leveled at some of them, and the
Supreme Court’s admonition that there are no “mechanica] tests” or
“talismanic formulas” for the determination of personal jurisdiction, we
see no reason to deviate from-- and thus we reaffirm--our past decisions
which have interpreted the “arise from” language of [our long arm statute]
flexibly and synonymously with “relate to” or having a “substantial
connection with,” in the same way that the Supreme Court’s due process
analysis has used these terms interchangeably. This means that, for the
Superior Court to have jurisdiction over [the plaintiff's] claim, the claim
had to be related to or substantially connected with [the defendant’s]
advertising activity in the District . . . that is [] it had to have some
“discernible relationship” to [the defendant's] advertising activity.”)
(internal citations omitted). :

'9 See, e.g., White v. Roberts, *%* §.E.2d 584, 586 (Ga. Ct. App. 1995)
(recognizing the “arise out of or relate to” relatedness requirement, but
focusing only on the ‘purposeful availment’ prong of the specific
jurisdiction analysis); Marten v. Silva 200 S.W.3d 297, 301-302 (Tex. Ct.
App. 2006) (same); State of S.C. v. Reeves, 423 S.E.2d 32, 34 (Ga. Ct.
App. 1992) (failing to employ any relatedness test but rather, perfunctorily
holding that plaintiff's claims “neither arise out of or results from”
defendant's contacts with the forum State of Georgia).

19

jurisdiction over a non-resident defendant. [Pet. App. 5a].
Even the ‘but for’ analysis requires some causal connection
between the defendant's contacts and the cause of action.””

The Georgia Court of Appeals’ decision raises important
questions on just how far courts can stretch the relatedness
requirement embodied in the “arise out of or relate to”
language of /nternational Shoe without violating the Due
Process Clause. 366 U.S. at 319.

C. This Is An Appropriate Case For Resolving
The Question Presented.

The case presently before the Court presents an excellent
context for deciding this issue. This case illustrates how,
without guidance on how to construe the phrase “arise out of
or relate to,” a court can extend specific in personam
jurisdiction over a defendant when the defendant’s contacts
with the forum have little to do with the plaintiff's cause of
action. What is clear is that due process demands that a
defendant’s contacts “arise out of or relate to” the plaintiff's
claims. /nternational Shoe, 326 U.S. at 319. What is not
clear is the precise nexus required in order to satisfy due
process. |

If this Court declines to review and reverse the decision of
the Georgia Court of Appeals, absurd and necessarily
unconstitutional results will follow. Under the Georgia Court
of Appeals’ current holding, a Georgia citizen could travel to
Alaska, establish a bank account at a bank there, and when

20 Shute v. Carnival Cruise Lines, 897 F.2d 377, 383-86 (9th Cir. 1990),
rev'd on other grounds, 499 U.S. 585 (1991) (‘but for’ the advertising,
plaintiff would not have gone on a cruise and been injured); Deluxe Ice
Cream Co. v. R.C.H. Tool Corp., 726 F.2d 1209 (7th Cir. 1984) (“but for’
preliminary negotiations of a contract in the forum state, the contract
would not have been entered and the breach would not have occurred).

20

disputes over the account arose, assert personal jurisdiction
over the bank in Georgia solely on the basis that statements
were routinely mailed to the Georgia citizen at his address in
Georgia. The due process clause simply does not contemplate
the assertion of jurisdiction under such circumstances. See
Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958).

The federal and state courts need a decision by this Court
as to which analysis of the ‘arise out of or relate to’
requirement must be used to determine whether jurisdiction
may be constitutionally exercised over a _ non-resident
defendant.

CONCLUSION

First National respectfully submits that this Petition for
Certiorari should be accepted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM V. CUSTER, IV
Counsel of Record

JENNIFER B. DEMPSEY

ADWOA W.D. GHARTEY-TAGOE

POWELL GOLDSTEIN LLP

One Atlantic Center

1201 West Peachtree St., N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309-3488

(404) 572-6600

Counsel for Petitioner
First National Bank of Ames, lowa

APPENDIX

ia
wi
i Poe

oy,

.
an
pide
Cee eh

ihe

la

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA
CLERK’S OFFICE
ATLANTA

Date: October 02, 2006

William V. Custer IV

POWELL GOLDSTEIN LLP

One Atlantic Center, Fourteenth Floor
1201 West Peachtree Street, N.W.
Atlanta, GA 303093488

Case No. S06C2001

FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA v.
INNOVATIVE CLINICAL AND CONSULTING
SERVICES, LLC, d/b/a TOCO HILLS URGENT CARE

COURT OF APPEALS CASE NO. A03A1767

The Supreme Court today denied the petition for
certiorari in this case.

All the Justices concur.

Therese S. Barnes, Clerk

2a

Court of Appeals
of the State of Georgia

ATLANTA, JULY 10, 2006

The Court of Appeals passed the following order
Case No. A03A1767
FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA V.

INNOVATIVE CLINICAL AND CONSULTING
SERVICES, LLC. D/B/A TOCO HILLS URGENT CARE

Upon consideration of the motion for reconsideration

filed in this case, it is ordered that it be hereby denied.

Court of Appeals of the State of Georgia

Clerk's Office, Atlanta JUL 10, 2006

! certify that the above is a true extract from the
minutes of the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court
hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

Clerk.

3a

FOURTH DIVISION
RUFFIN, C.J.,
SMITH, P.J., MILLER, J.

NOTICE: Motions for reconsideration must be
physically received in our clerk’s office within ten
days of the date of decision to be deemed timely filed.
(Court of Appeals Rules 4 and 37, September 5, 2002)
http://www.gaappeals.us/rules/

June 20, 2006

In the Court of Appeals of Georgia

A03A1767. FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA
v. Sm-079 INNOVATIVE CLINICAL &
CONSULTING SERVICES, LLC.

SMITH, Presiding Judge.

In /nnovative Clinical and Consulting Svcs. v. First
Nat. Bank., 279 Ga. 672 (620 SE2d 352)(2005), the Georgia
Supreme Court affirmed Division 2, disapproved language in
Division 3, and reversed Division | of our opinion in First
Nat. Bank v. Innovative Clinical and Consulting Svcs., 266
Ga. App. 842 (598 SE2d 530)(2004). The Supreme Court
remanded the case to this court for action not inconsistent
with its opinion. On remand, applying our Supreme Court’s
more expansive construction of OCGA § 9-10-01(1), we
conclude that the trial court correctly exercised personal
jurisdiction over the lowa bank. We therefore affirm the trial
court’s denial of the bank’s motion to dismiss.

4a

In Division | of our prior opinion, we concluded that
the trial court had no personal jurisdiction over the bank
under subsection (1) of Georgia’s Long Arm statute, OCGA §
9-10-91(1).7' In its opinion, the Georgia Supreme Court
recognized that “no explicit legislative limiting conditions”
were placed upon subsection | of OCGA § 9-10-91. It held
that just as we may not expand subsection 3 of the statute in
conflict with the express limitations placed upon it by the
Georgia General Assembly, so we may not constrict
subsection | of the statute by engrafting upon it limitations
the legislature has not enacted. First Nat. Bank, supra, 279
Ga. at 675. The Supreme Court therefore expressly overruled
prior decisions “that fail to accord the appropriate breadth to .
the construction of the “transacting any business’ language of
OCGA § 9-10-91(1).” Id. at 676.

In so doing, the Supreme Court also recognized that
this court, believing “it was bound by prior precedent,...did
not fully consider whether the trial court had personal
jurisdiction over the lowa bank under OCGA § 9-10-91(1).”
Id. The Supreme Court therefore vacated Division | of our
opinion and remanded the case to this court for action
consistent with the now-broader scope of OCGA §
9-10-91(1). Id.

Divisions | and 3 of our opinion are hereby vacated
and the opinion of the Supreme Court made the opinion of
this court. As directed, we now consider whether consistent
with the maximum extent permitted by procedural due
process, the trial court has personal jurisdiction over the lowa
bank.

We conclude, as did the trial court, that it does.
Although the bank did not have a physical presence in this

*! The facts of this case are fully set forth in First Nat. Bank, supra,
266 Ga. App. at 842-843.

Sa

state, it is undisputed that the bank had both telephone and
written communication with ICCS with regard to the lowa
bank accounts. Without question, those bank accounts were a
part of the bank’s “business.” In the course of that business,
when the bank’s customer, Med e Fund, failed to make
payments on the lease agreement, the bank sought to hold
ICCS, a Georgia entity with no connection to lowa,
responsible. Even if the bank did not “regularly” conduct
business or engage in a “persistent course of conduct” in
Georgia, OCGA § 9-10-91(3), no doubt exists that the bank
sought to derive economic benefit from its interstate business
activity involving ICCS. To that end, its postal, telephone,
and other intangible Georgia contacts suffice to bring it
within the purview of OCGA § 9-10-91 (1). See generally
Aero Toy Store, LLC v. Grieves, ___ Ga. App. (case
no. A06A0741, decided May 23, 2006).

[2] We must also consider whether these acts meet the
constitutional standard for minimum contacts. See Coe &
Payne Co. v. Wood-Mosaic Corp., 230 Ga. 58, 60 (195 SE2d
399)(1973). Clearly, the bank’s “business” was not brought
to Georgia through a “unilateral action” of ICCS. See Burger
King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 474-475 (105 SC
2174, 85 LE2d 528) (1985). The bank sought out ICCS when
its lowa customer defaulted, and Georgia has an interest, as
does every state, in providing its own citizens with a
convenient forum for redressing injuries wrought by non-
residents who have sought the state’s citizens out for the
purpose of business gain. Id. at 473-474

Because the bank transacted some business in
Georgia, even if only with this one customer, and because that
business was sufficient to meet the constitutional standard for
minimum contacts with this state, we conclude that the trial
court did not err in denying the bank’s motion to dismiss for
lack of personal jurisdiction.

6a

Judgment affirmed. C. J., and Miller, J., concur

7a

In the Supreme Court of Georgia

Decided: Oct — 3 2005

S04G1413. INNOVATIVE CLINICAL AND
CONSULTING SERVICES, LLC v. FIRST
NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA.

HUNSTEIN, Presiding Justice.

We granted certiorari from the holding in First
National Bank of Ames, lowa v. Innovative Clinical and
Consulting Services, LLC., 266 Ga. App. 842 (598: SE2d 530)
(2004) to address perceived inconsistencies in our precedents
defining the scope of personal jurisdiction that Georgia courts
may exercise over non-residents pursuant to OCGA § 9-10-
91, the Georgia long-arm statute. We reiterate our holding in
Gust v. Flint, 257 Ga. 129 (356 SE2d 513) (1987), that “[t]he
rule that controls is our statute, which requires that an out-of-
state defendant must do certain acts within the State of
Georgia before he can be subjected to personal jurisdiction.”
Id. at 130. However, because as set forth below we conclude
that our earlier opinions have unduly limited the literal
language of OCGA § 9-10-91, we reverse in part the holding
of the Court of Appeals and remand this case for further
consideration by that court.

OCGA § 9-10-91 provides in pertinent part that a
court of this State

may exercise personal jurisdiction over any non-
resident..., as to a cause of action arising from
any of the acts, omissions, ownership, use, or
possession enumerated in this Code section, in the
same manner as if he were a resident of the state,
if in person or through an agent, he:

8a

(1) Transacts any business within this state;

(2) Commits a tortious act or omission within
this state;

(3) Commits a tortious injury in this state caused
by an act or omission outside this state if the tort-
feasor regularly does or solicits business, or engages
in any other persistent course of conduct, or derives
substantial revenue from goods used or consumed
or services rendered in this state;....

Prior to our holding in Gust, this Court in Clarkson Power
Flow_v. Thompson, 244 Ga. 300, 301 (260 SE2d 9) (1979)
expanded subsection (2) to encompass non-residents in those
situations where the cause of action arising from injury in
Georgia resulted from a tortious act or omission occurring
outside this State, see also Shellenberger v. Tanner, 138 Ga.
App. 399(2) (227 SE2d 266) (1976), holding that there was
“no essential difference” between subsection (2) and (3).
Clarkson Power Flow, supra at 301. Because subsection (2),
unlike subsection (3), contained no explicit legislative limiting
conditions, we held that subsection (2) was constrained only
by, and thus was co-extensive with, the Fourteenth
Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. Coe & Payne Co. v.
Wood-Mosaic Corp., 230 Ga. 58, 61-62 (195 SE2d 399)
(1973). See also First United Bank of Miss. v. First Nat. Bank
of Atlanta, 255 Ga. 505, 506 (340 SE2d 597) (1986). In Gust
the Court rejected these cases and returned to a “literal
construction” of OCGA § 9-10-91, Gust, supra, 257 Ga. at
130, thus holding that a non-resident “must do certain acts” as
delineated by the statute before the non-resident could be
subjected to personal jurisdiction in Georgia. Id. This
holding reinstated the difference between subsections (2) and
(3) established by the literal language of the statute. Thus,
under subsection (2) a Georgia court may exercise personal
jurisdiction over a non-resident who commits a tortious act or

9a

omission within this State,”* insofar as the exercise of that
personal jurisdiction comports with constitutional due process;
and under subsection (3) a Georgia court may exercise
personal jurisdiction over a non-resident who commits a
tortious injury in Georgia caused by an act or omission outside
Georgia only if the tortfeasor “regularly does or solicits
business, or engages in any other persistent course of conduct,
or derives substantial revenue from goods used or consumed
or services rendered in this state,” notwithstanding that these
limiting conditions may preclude a Georgia court from
exercising personal jurisdiction over the non-resident to the
fullest extent permitted by constitutional due process. Gust,

supra.”°

*? The Legislature provided only one exception to subsection (2),
namely, actions for defamation of character arising from the tortious act.

** Dicta in footnote | in Allstate Ins. Co. v. Klein, 262 Ga. 599 (422
SE2d 863) (1992), a case involving jurisdiction over a defendant who was
a Georgia resident so that OCGA § 9-10-91 was wholly inapplicable, does
not support a different conclusion because that footnote cited only to cases
rendered prior to Gust, supra. Although the Federal courts persist in
reiterating the language from First United Bank of Mississippi, supra, that
Georgia’s long arm statute confers in personam jurisdiction to the
maximum extent allowed by the due process clause of the US.
Constitution, e.g., Francosteel Corp. v. M/V_Charm, 19 F3d 624(1V) (11th
Cir. 1994), the First United holding was superseded by Gust, supra. The
Eleventh Circuit’s interpretation of OCGA § 9-10-91 is not binding on
this Court and it is not necessary for this Court to correct erroneous
Federal interpretations of our State’s statutes for the precedential value of
our opinions to remain the controlling authority on the proper
interpretation of those statutes. See contra CareKeeper Software Dev. Co.

v. Silver, 46 F.Supp.2d 1366, 1369 fn. | (N.D.Ga.1999) (following the
erroncous interpretation given OCGA § 9-10-91 by Francosteel, supra,
because the district court “has not found any contrary Georgia Supreme
Court authority decided since the Eleventh Circuit’s decision” in that
case).

10a

For over 17 years the justices of this Court and the
judges of the Court of Appeals have urged the Legislature to
amend Georgia’s long-arm statute so as to provide the
maximum protection for Georgia residents damaged by the
out-of-state acts or omissions committed by non-resident
tortfeasors. See Gust, supra, 257 Ga. at 130 (Gregory, J.,
concurring); Phears v. Doyne, 220 Ga. App. 550, 552 (470
SE2d 236) (1996) (Beasley, C.J., concurring). Despite the
eloquence of these pleas, the Legislature has chosen to retain
the statutory limitations on in personam jurisdiction set forth
in OCGA § 9-10-91(3). In our system of checks and
balances, it is as inappropriate for the judicial branch to
encroach upon the powers of the legislative or executive
branches as it would be for either of those branches to
encroach upon the powers of the judicial branch. Thus,
contrary to the statements in Division 3 of the Court of
Appeals’ opinion below, the fact that Georgians damaged by
non-residents are deprived of a forum in this State to the
fullest extent permitted by due process is not the result of
court decisions interpreting OCGA § 9-10-91(3) but the result
of the plain and unambiguous language of OCGA § 9-10-91.
The courts cannot reject the plain language of a statute unless
it will result in unreasonable consequences or absurd results
not contemplated by the Legislature. See generally Haugen v.
Henry County, 277 Ga. 743(2) (594 SE2d 324) (2004);
Hollowell v. Jove, 247 Ga. 678, 681 (279 SE2d 430) (1981).
Accordingly, under these circumstances, the courts may not
interpret OCGA § 9-10-91 to provide what the Legislature
chose to omit.

However, our holding in Gust necessarily affects the
construction heretofore applied to subsection (1) of OCGA §
9-10-91. That subsection authorizes a Georgia court to
exercise personal junsdiction over a non-resident who
“(t]ransacts any business within” Georgia. As is the case with
subsection (2), there are no explicit legislative limiting

lla

conditions on this language. Nothing in subsection (1) limits
its application to contract cases, but see Whitaker _v.
Krestmark of Alabama, Inc., 157 Ga. App. 536(1) (278 SE2d
116) (1981); nothing in subsection (1) requires the physical
presence of the non-resident in Georgia or minimizes the
import of a non-resident’s intangible contacts with the State.
But see Wise v. State Board &c., of Architects, 247 Ga. 206,
209 (274 SE2d 544) (1981). Although Georgia courts have
engrafted these and other requirements onto subsection (1),
such requirements conflict with the literal language of the
statute. To be consistent with Gust and the well-established
rules of statutory interpretation that preclude judicial
construction of plain and unambiguous statutory language,
Six Flags Over Ga. Il v. Kull, 276 Ga. 210, 211 (576 SE2d
880) (2003), we must give the same literal construction to
subsection (1) of OCGA § 9-10-91 that we give to the other
subsections. Accordingly, under that literal construction,
OCGA § 9-10-91(1) grants Georgia courts the unlimited
authority to exercise personal jurisdiction over any non-
resident who transacts any business in this State. Of course,
because this statutory language would expand the personal
jurisdiction of Georgia courts beyond that permitted by
constitutional due process, we accordingly construe
subsection (1) as reaching only “to the maximum extent
permitted by procedural due process.” Coe & Payne Co.,
‘supra, 230 Ga. at 60. See generally Beasley v. Beasley, 260
Ga. 419, 421 (396 SE2d 222) (1990) (explicating the
minimum contacts required for proper exercise of long arm
jurisdiction). See also Asahi Metal Indus. Co. v. Superior
Court of California, 480 U.S. 102(II)A) (107 SC 1026, 94

LE2d 92 (1987) (due process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment constrains states’ exercise of personal
jurisdiction over non-residents). We hereby overrule all prior
cases that fail to accord the appropriate breadth to the

construction of the “transacting any business” language of
OCGA § 9-10-91(1).

12a

The Court of Appeals in this case correctly recognized
that the trial court did not have personal jurisdiction over the
lowa bank under subsections (2) and (3) of OCGA § 9-10-91
because no question of fact remains” that the Iowa bank did
not commit a tortious aci within Georgia and that the lowa
bank does not regularly conduct or solicit business in
Georgia, engage in any other persistent course of conduct in
Georgia or otherwise derive substantial revenue from goods
used or consumed or services rendered in Georgia.””
However, because it was bound by prior precedent, the Court
of Appeals did not fully consider whether the trial court had
personal jurisdiction over the lowa bank under OCGA
§ 9-10-91(1), limiting its review to ICCS’s breach of contract
claim and that evidence establishing the lack of physical
contacts (i.e., the presence of only postal and telephonic
contacts) to connect the lowa bank with Georgia. That
limited review is no longer appropriate. Therefore, we affirm
Division 2 of the Court of Appeals’ opinion; disapprove the
language in Division 3; and vacate and remand Division | to
the Court of Appeals for action not inconsistent with this
opinion.

Judgment affirmed in part, vacated in part and case
remanded with direction. Al] the Justices concur.

** The facts of this case are more fully set forth in First National
Bank of Ames, lowa, supra, 266 Ga. App. at 842-843.

** While OCGA § 9-10-91(1) requires only that the non-resident
transact any business in Georgia, subsection (3) requires “regular,”
“persistent” or “substantial” contact with this State in order for Georgia
courts to exercise personal jurisdiction over non-resident tortfeasors.

13a

Court of Appeals
of the State of Georgia

ATLANTA, APRIL 08, 2004

The Court of Appeals passed the following order
Case No, A03A1767
FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA V.

INNOVATIVE CLINICAL AND CONSULTING
SERVICES, LLC. D/B/A TOCO HILLS URGENT CARE

Upon consideration of the motion for reconsideration

filed in this case, it is ordered that it be hereby denied.

Court of Appeals of the State of Georgia

Clerk's Office, Atlanta APR 08, 2004

/ certify that the above is a true extract from the
minutes of the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court
hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

Clerk.

/s/ 7

l4a

FOURTH DIVISION
SMITH, C.J.,
RUFFIN, P.J., MILLER, J.

NOTICE: Motions for reconsideration must be
physically received in our clerk’s office within ten
days of the date of decision to be deemed timely filed.
(Court of Appeals Rules 4 and 37, September 5, 2002)
http://www.gaappeals.us/rules/

March 24, 2004

In the Court of Appeals of Georgia

A03A1767. FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF AMES, IOWA
v. Sm-079 INNOVATIVE CLINICAL &
CONSULTING SERVICES, LLC.

SMITH, Chief Judge.

We granted the application of First National Bank of
Ames, Iowa (the bank) for an interlocutory appeal. The bank
appeals from the trial court’s denial of its motion to dismiss
for lack of personal jurisdiction the action brought against it
by Innovative Clinical & Consulting Services, LLC, d/b/a
Toco Hills Urgent Care (ICCS). Because we find that the
bank proved lack of jurisdiction under the Georgia Long-Arm
statute, OCGA § 9-10-91, and the trial court should have
granted its motion to dismiss, we reverse.

The record shows without dispute that ICCS 1s a
medical facility in Atlanta managed in part by Health Care
Network Solutions (HNS). HNS entered into two agreements

1Sa

to outsource some of its billing and collection operations.
Under one agreement (the servicing agreement), a company
called Med e Fund” agreed to advance funds to HNS for its
receivables, and to invoice and collect from third-party
payors. The other agreement, between ICCS and A.C.
Financial Corporation, an affiliate of Med e Fund, was a lease
agreement covering certain hardware and software to be
installed in ICCS’s office to facilitate processing the
receivables.

A.C. Financial is based in Ames, Iowa, and it was a
customer of the bank. It had several accounts at the bank, and
the bank had made secured loans to it. The bank was not a
party to either of the agreements in issue. But as collateral for
one loan to A.C. Financial, the bank took a security interest
in the lease agreement between ICCS and A.C. Financial and
ICCS.

After A.C. Financial entered into the lease agreement
with ICCS, it opened two bank accounts at the bank’s branch
in Ames, lowa. According to Med e Fund’s representations
to ICCS, one of these accounts was supposed to be a
“lockbox” account, where third party payors would send their
payments to ICCS. Med e Fund also represented to ICCS that
it would advance funds against the receivables and that no
funds would be withdrawn from the “lockbox” account
without the express approval of ICCS after a periodic
accounting. No advances were ever made, no accounting
ever took place, and neither account opened at the bank was a
“lockbox” account. Instead, A.C. Financial arranged for the
bank to debit automatically one of the accounts, into which
funds from the third-party payors had been deposited, for the
lease payments owed under the agreements. The bank
automatically debited these payments through the Automated

“° Med f Financial, an affiliated company, was also involved.

l6a

Clearing House process. These transactions took place
entirely within the State of Iowa.

The equipment leased under the agreement with A.C.
Financial was installed in ICCS’s office, and ICCS
experienced problems with the equipment from the outset. In
addition, Med e Fund did not make the lease payments.
Because of these problems, when the bank sent signature
cards to ICCS for the accounts, ICCS did not sign or return
the cards. ICCS sought to resolve difficulties with the bank
through various telephone calls and letters, to no avail.

ICCS brought suit against Med e Fund, Med f
Financial Corp., and A.C. Financial Corp. in Fulton County
Superior Court. The bank was not joined in that action
because negotiations with it were still ongoing. This suit
against the bank was instituted when negotiations failed and
the bank demanded that ICCS make lease payments.

In its complaint, ICCS claimed fraud and conversion,
breach of contract, and sought an accounting, injunctive
relief, and rescission of both agreements. The bank moved to
dismiss on the ground that it was not subject to personal
jurisdiction in Georgia because it did not transact business
here, nor did it regularly do or solicit business or engage in
any other persistent course of conduct here. The trial court
denied the motion but granted a certificate of immediate
review, and we granted this appeal.

Personal jurisdiction of state courts over non-residents
has long been the subject of case law, invoking constitutions
and statutes at both the federal and state levels. The United
States Supreme Court has held that “[a] State generally has a
manifest interest in providing its residents with a convenient
forum for redressing injuries inflicted by out-of-state actors,”
particularly when these actors “purposefully derive benefit
from their interstate activities. [Cits.]” Burger King v.

17a

Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 473 (105 SC 2174, 85 LEd2d 528)
(1985). But the state’s interest must be bounded by the Due
Process clause of the U.S. Constitution.

[T]he constitutional touchstone remains whether
the defendant purposefully established ‘minimum
contacts’ in the forum State. The unilateral
activity of those who claim some relationship with
a non-resident defendant cannot satisfy the
requirement of contact with the forum State. The
application of that rule will vary with the quality
and nature of the defendant’s activity, but it is
essential in each case that there be some act by
which the defendant purposefully avails itself of
the privilege of conducting activities within the
forum State, thus invoking the benefits and
protections of its laws.

Id. at 474-475.

Georgia’s Long Arm statute, OCGA § 9-10-91,
provides in pertinent part:

A court of this state may exercise personal jurisdiction
over any non-resident . . . as to a cause of action
arising from any of the acts, omissions, ownership,
use, Or possession enumerated in this Code section, in
the same manner as if he were a resident of the state,
if in person or through an agent, he

(1) Transacts any business within this state;

(2) Commits a tortious act or omission within
this state, except as to a cause of action for
defamation of character arising from the act;

(3) Commits a tortious injury in this state caused
by an act or omission outside this state if the tort-

18a

feasor regularly does or solicits business, or engages
in any other persistent course of conduct, or derives
substantial revenue from goods used or consumed
or services rendered in this state;

The question we address in this case is whether the
bank’s conduct is covered under any of these three
subsections of OCGA § 9-10-91.

1. We first address whether jurisdiction over the bank
for ICCS’s contract claims is established under subsection (1)
of the Act.

(a) The existence of the bank accounts does not show
that the bank purposefully availed itself of the privilege of
doing business in Georgia. The bank must have purposely
done some act in Georgia to be subject to our courts. Stuart
v. Peykan, Inc., 261 Ga. App. 46, 48(1) (581 SE2d 609)
(2003). The bank’s contacts with Georgia must have been
such that it should have reasonably anticipated that it would
be haled into court here. Id. Here, the bank accounts were
opened by an Iowa resident at an lowa bank. The bank’s only
contacts with Georgia were the exchanged letters and
telephone calls with ICCS regarding the accounts, and mail
and telephone contact alone have been held to be insufficient
to establish the purposeful activity necessary for personal
jurisdiction. Id.

(b) The Act provides that the requisite contacts may
be made by an agent, as well, and ICCS argues that A.C.
Financial was the bank’s agent for purposes of this lawsuit. It
is clear that A.C. Financial, although based in_ lowa,
“transacted business” in Georgia. It solicited ICCS’s business
in this state, and the contracts were signed here. But we
cannot agree with ICCS that A.C. Financial was the bank’s
agent. In support of its motion to dismiss, the bank presented
the affidavits of its president showing that the bank’s

19a

relationship with A.C. Financial was nothing more than that
of bank and customer and that A.C. Financial was not its
agent. ICCS has not presented any evidence to rebut these
sworm statements. The bank’s affidavits denying an agency
relationship cannot be overcome by the bare conclusory
allegation made by ICCS. Coopers & Lybrand vy.
Cocklereece, 157 Ga. App. 240, 245 (2), (276 SE2d 845)
(1981).

(c) ICCS maintains that jurisdiction under subsection
(1) of the Act is established because it asserted a right to
rescind the two contracts it entered into with other parties.
But the bank was not a party to either of these contracts, and
it follows that the bank’s conduct is not covered under
subsection (1).

(d) ICCS also argues that the bank’s security interest
in the lease contract constitutes the purposeful conduct
required under the Act. But not one of ICCS’s causes of
action sounding in contract is remotely related to the security
interest taken by the bank, nor has the bank foreclosed its
interest, so as to become a party to the contract. For personal
jurisdiction to be asserted over a non-resident, the litigation
must result from alleged injuries that arose out of the non-
resident’s activities. Stuart, supra, 261 Ga. App. at 48 (1).
We conclude that personal jurisdiction over the bank may not
be asserted under subsection (1) of the Act.

2. The bank also contends that it cannot be subject to
personal jurisdiction in Georgia under subsections (2) and (3)
of the Act, which address tortious conduct. We agree. Under
these subsections, a non-resident may be required to litigate in
a Georgia forum if it has either committed a tortious act
within this state or committed an act or omission outside this
state that causes an injury in this state, but only “if the
tortfeasor regularly does or solicits business, or engages in
any other persistent course of conduct, or derives substantial

20a

revenue from goods used or consumed or services rendered in
this state.” OCGA § 9-10-91(3).

_ The bank’s affidavits also show that the bank “does
not regularly conduct or solicit business in the State of
Georgia; does not engage in any other persistent course of
conduct in the State of Georgia; and does not derive
substantial revenue from goods used or consumed or services
rendered in the State of Georgia.” Even were we to find that
the bank committed a tortious act, it would be subject to
personal jurisdiction only if it regularly does or solicits
business here. The undisputed evidence shows that it does
not.

National Egg Co. v. Bank Leumi le-Israel, 514 FSupp.
- 1125 (N.D. Ga. 1981), relied upon by ICCS, is similar in
some ways to this case. In National Egg Co., the district
court applied Georgia law to find personal jurisdiction under
the Long Arm statute when a bank committed a tort to protect
a security interest. But there, the record showed the bank’s
“intentional contact [with] three Georgia agricultural
companies besides” National Egg Co., as well as the physical
presence in Georgia of a bank vice-president. Id. at 1128.
The district court concluded that because of these additional
contacts, the Act was satisfied and the due process clause of
the U.S. Constitution was not offended. Here, however, no
“additional contacts” are shown by the record, the bank did
not do or solicit business regularly in Georgia, and we
conclude that the requirements of the Act were not satisfied.

Because the record does not show the requisite
minimum contacts, we need not address ICCS’s position that
the bank is subject to personal jurisdiction in Georgia because
of an alleged conspiracy to defraud. We note, however, that
more than a mere allegation of conspiracy with a Georgia
resident is required to support personal jurisdiction under the

2la

Act. Compare Rudo v. Stubbs, 221 Ga. App. 702, 704 (472
SE2d 515) (1996).

3. Finally, we also note that the stated policy of our
courts has long been to interpret the Act so as to exercise
“jurisdiction over non-residents to the maximum extent
permitted by [procedural] due process. [Cit.]” First United
Bank v. First Nat. Bank, 255 Ga. 505, 506, (340 SE2d 597)
(1986); Bradlee Mgmt. Svcs. Inc. v. Cassells, 249 Ga. 614,
617, (292 SE2d 717) (1982); Yukon Partners, Inc. v. Lodge
Keeper Group, Inc. 258 Ga. App. 1, 4, (572 SE2d 647)
(2002). Our Supreme Court attempted to interpret the Act
broadly in Coe & Payne Co. v. Wood-Mosaic Corp., 230 Ga.
58 (195 SE2d 399) (1973) and Clarkson Power Flow v.
Thompson, 244 Ga. 300 (260 S.E.2d 9) (1979). But it is
apparent that since the Supreme Court’s decision in Gust v.
Flint, 257 Ga. 129 (356 SE2d 513) (1987), the decisions of
our courts have consistently adopted a narrower interpretation
of the Act.

In Gust, the Supreme Court refused to enter into a
discussion of the merits of other states’ “rules” governing
minimum contacts, holding unequivocally that “[t]he rule that
controls is our statute, which requires that an out-of-state
defendant must do certain acts within the State of Georgia
before he can be subjected to personal jurisdiction. Where, as
here, it is shown that no such acts were committed, there is no
jurisdiction.” Id. at 130. Subsequent cases have held to the
standard that mail, telephone, or facsimile machine contact
was insufficient to confer personal jurisdiction. See, e.g.,
Stuart, supra; ETS Payphone v. TK Indus., 236 Ga. App. 713,
715 (1), 513 SE2d 257) (1999); Phears v. Doyvne, 220 Ga.
App. 550, 551(1) (470 SE2d 236) (1996).

We agree with some critics that 1f indeed Georgia’s
policy is to exercise jurisdiction over non-residents to the full
extent permitted by due process, given today’s commercial

22a

practices our courts’ interpretations of the Act have not met
its intended and declared policy. Certainly, our decisions
may not provide Georgians who are damaged by non-
residents a forum in this state to the fullest extent permitted
by the due process clause of the U.S. Constitution. As an
intermediate appellate court for the correction of errors,
however, we are bound to follow Gust and its progeny in
finding in this case that mail and telephone contact is
insufficient to satisfy the minimum contact required under the
statute, even in fraud claims. We do not mean to declare that
a broader interpretation of the Act would in this case provide
ICCS with redress for the bank’s actions or omissions. We
hold only that it is clear under binding precedent that because
the bank engaged in contact with ICCS only by mail and
telephone and did not regularly do business in this state,
redress may not be sought in a Georgia court.

Judgment reversed. RUFFIN, P.J., and MILLER, J.,

concur.

23a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF FULTON COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

Innovative Clinical
and Consulting
Services, LLC d/b/a/
Toco Hills Urgent Care,
Civil Action File No.
Plaintiff, 2001CV 46283
V.

First National Bank
of Ames, lowa,

Defendant.

ee ee ee ee

ORDER DENYING MOTION TO DISMISS

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss on jurisdictional
grounds having come on for a regularly scheduled hearing,
and after hearing arguments of counsel and considering the
record (there being no new evidence introduced at the
hearing), the Court hereby denies said Motion.

This 23 day of December, 2002, nunc pro tunc
November 21, 2002.

a I
iS;

Judge T. Jackson Bedford, Jr.

24a

Prepared by:

Tyler C. Dixon

Raiford & Dixon, LLP
201 Allen Road, Suite 310
Atlanta, Georgia 30325
(404) 847-0860

25a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF FULTON COUNTY
STATE OF GEORGIA

Innovative Clinical

and Consulting
Services, LLC d/b/a/
Toco Hills Urgent Care,
CIVIL ACTION FILE
Plaintiff, NO. 2001CV46283
V.

First National Bank
of Ames, lowa,

Defendant.

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

CERTIFICATE OF IMMEDIATE REVIEW

The Court having entered an Order in this case
denying Defendant First National Bank of Ames, lowa’s
Motion to Dismiss for Lack of Personal Jurisdiction on the
23rd day of December, 2002, nunc pro tunc to Nov. 21, 2002,
which is not subject to direct appeal, it is hereby certified that
the Order denying said Motion, in accordance with the
provisions of O.C.G.A. § 5-6-34(b), is of such importance
that immediate review should be had by the Court of Appeals.

This 23" day of December, 2002.
/s/

T. Jackson Bedford, Jr.
Judge, Fulton Superior Court

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1959%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
