# Opposition Brief — Shurtleff v. Great American Insurance Co. (No. 06-861)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1921%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

No. _.06-8615EC 15 208
Bn thor OE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

HULDA SHURTLEFF, Personal Representative of the
Estate of ROBERT SHURTLEFF, Deceased, and
Assignee of the Estate of CLAIRE G. JUNE, Deceased,

Petitioner,

Va

GREAT AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY,
a Foreign Corporation, and OHIO CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of the State of Iowa

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD M. GOODMAN MarK R. BENDURE
GOODMAN, KALAHAR Counsel of Record

1394 East JEFFERSON AVE. BENDURE & THOMAS
Detroir, MI 48207 645 Griswo_p, Surre 4100
(313) 567-6165 Derroit, MI 48226

(313) 961-1525

Counsel for Petitioner

Becker Gallagher + Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. + 800.890.5001

I.

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER THE FULL FAITH AND CREDIT
CLAUSE OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED
STATES ALLOWS THE IOWA COURTS TO GRANT
JUDGMENT TO RESPONDENTS, IN THIS
INSURANCE COVERAGE DISPUTE, ON THE
GROUND THAT THE VEHICLE IN ISSUE WAS
HIRED BY THE NATIONAL FARMERS
ORGANIZATION (“NFO”), AFTER MICHIGAN
LITIGATION BETWEEN THE SAME PARTIES
CONCLUDED WITH A FINDING THAT THE
VEHICLE WAS NOT HIRED BY THE NFO?

il
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

On May 13, 1985, Robert Shurtleff was killed when the
vehicle in which he was riding was struck by a milk truck
owned by Claire June. The fatal collision occurred in
Michigan. At the time, June’s milk truck was transporting
40,000 pounds of milk for the National Farmers’ Organization
(“NFO”). Shurtleff's widow, Petitioner, HULDA
SHURTLEFF, was appointed Personal Representative of the
Estate of her deceased husband. In earlier legal proceedings,
She obtained an assignment of any rights Claire June had
under applicable insurance policies. As Personal
Representative of the Estate of Robert Shurtleff and Assignee
of the Estate of Claire June, ‘Petitioner filed the suit which
gives rise to this Petition.

Respondent GREAT AMERICAN INSURANCE
COMPANY is an insurer which issued an excess insurance
policy to the NFO. Petitioner has asserted that the Great
American insurance policy covers June’s tort liability to the
Shurtleff Estate. Respondent OHIO CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY is an insurer which, by re-
insurance treaty, has assumed a portion of Great American’s
liability (if any) under the excess policy. Respondents Great
American and Ohio Casualty were Defendants in the
underlying suit commenced by Petitioner.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS
TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINIONS AND ORDER BELOW

SUPREME COURT JURISDICTION

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

THE REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE
GRANTED 7

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

~~ a

Appendix C: 6/8/04 Iowa District Court Ruling on
Defendants Great American Insurance Company’s and
Ohio Casualty Insurance Company’s Motion for
Summary Judgment, and Plaintiffs’ Cross-Motion for
Summary Judgment

Appendix D: 10/01/00 Order of Dismissal of
Michigan Circuit Court for the County of Wayne . 39a

Appendix E: 12/21/99 Jury Verdict Form

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Baker v. General Motors Corp.,
522 U.S. 222 (1998)

Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corp.,
456 U.S. 461 (1982)

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Epstein,
516 U.S. 367 (1996)

Monat v. State Farm Ins. Co., 469 Mich. 679; 677 N.W.2d
~ 843 (2004)

Nummer v. Michigan Department of Treasury,
448 Mich. 534, 533 N.W.2d 250 (1995)

Shurtleff v. Great American Ins. Co.
(No. 6-290/04-1093; opinion released 6/28/06)... . 1
STATUTES, COURT RULES AND
OTHER AUTHORITIES
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)

28 U.S.C. § 1738

Full Faith and Credit Clause, United States Constitution, _
Article VI, Section | Passim

Restatement (2d) of Judgment, § 27 (1982)

l

OPINIONS AND ORDER BELOW

The summary judgment decision of the Iowa District
Court (App. C at 10a - 38a), dated June 8, 2004, is
unpublished. The Opinion of the lowa Court of Appeals
[Shurtleff v. Great American Ins. Co. (No. 6-290/04-1093;
opinion released 6/28/06)] (App. B at 2a - 9a) is available
on-line as 2006 Iowa App. LEXIS 643, but is otherwise
unpublished. The Order of the lowa Supreme Court denying
further review (App. A at 1a) is also unpublished.

Petitioner’s Full Faith and Credit argument is based on a
jury verdict (App. E at 42a) and Order of Dismissal (App. D
at 39a - 41a) issued in earlier litigation in Wayne County,
Michigan in October of 2000. Those documents are
unpublished.

SUPREME COURT JURISDICTION

In earlier Michigan proceedings, the Courts of that State ”
concluded that the milk truck was not hired by the NFO.
When the Iowa Court of Appeals reviewed this case, it
affirmed the decision on a ground not raised by the parties or
addressed by the trial judge - - that the milk truck was hire by
the NFO. That decision, issued on June 28, 2006, by the
Iowa Court of Appeals, gave rise to the Full Faith and Credit
question now presented.

On July 18, 2006, Petitioner filed a timely Application for
Further Review with the lowa Supreme Court, presenting the
Full Faith and Credit issue. The Application was denied by
the Iowa Supreme Court on September 19, 2006. Petitioner
invokes the certiorari jurisdiction conferred on this Court by
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), which provides:

2

“Fini , .dgments or decrees rendered by the highest
court .. « State in which a decision could be had, may
be reviewed by the Supreme Court by writ of
certiorari where the validity_of a treaty or statute of
the United States is drawn in question or where the
validity of a statute of any State is drawn in question
on the ground of its being repugnant to the
Constitution, treaties, or laws of the United States, or
where any title, right, privilege, or immunity is
specially set up or claimed under the Constitution or
the treaties or statutes of, or any commission held or
authority exercised under, the United States.”

This Petition, filed within 90 days of the lowa Supreme
Court Order denying further review, is timely under this
Court’s Rule 13.1.

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This Petition for Certiorari involves the Full Faith and
Credit Clause of the United States Constitution. That Clause,
Article IV, Section 1, states:

“Full Faith and Credit shall be given in each State to
the public Acts, Records, and judicial Proceedings of
every other State. And the Congress may be general
Laws prescribe the Manner in which such Acts,
Records and Proceedings shall be proved, and the
Effect thereof.”

~ The case also involves 28 U.S.C. § 1738, the Full Faith
and Credit statute enacted by Congress:

-
“The Acts of legislature of any State, Territory, or
Possession of the United States, or copies thereof,

shall be authenticated by affixing the seal of such
State, Territory or Possession thereto.

The records and judicial proceedings of any court of
any such State, Territory or Possession, or copies
thereof, shall be proved or admitted in other courts
within the United States and its Territories and
Possessions by the attestation of the clerk and seal of
the court annexed, if a seal exists, together with a
certificate of a judge of the court that the said
attestation is in proper form.

Such Acts, records and judicial proceedings or copies
thereof, so authenticated, shall have the same full faith

_ and credit in every court within the United States and
its Territories and Possessions as they have by law or
usage in the courts of such State, Territory or
Possession from which they are taken.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Claire June was a stockholder and member of the NFO
who operated a wholly-owned corporation, June's Trucking.
He owned a milk truck which was used to collect milk from
NFO farmers for delivery and sale to the dairy.

During the late afternoon of May 13, 1985, while hauling
about 40,000 pounds of milk for the NFO, the June tanker
careened across I-96 in Wayne County, Michigan. It collided
head-on with a car occupied by three employees of the United
States Department of Defense returning home from work,
including Plaintiff's decedent, Robert Shurtleff. All three
were killed.

4

In the resulting Michigan civil litigation, June admitted
liability.' The first damage trial was flawed by erroneous
damage instructions, and the Michigan Court of Appeals
reversed. On retrial, the jury assessed damages for the three
decedent Estates aggregating about $7,000,000. Judgment
was entered for the Shurtleff Estate in the principal amount of
$2,450,000.

By writs of garnishment filed in Michigan, the decedents’
Estates contended that the liability of June was covered by a
group of insurance policies in which the NFO was the
principal or named insured. Among these was the excess
policy sold by Respondent Great American. The Great
American policy defines several categories of persons other
than the NFO who are also insured. The definition of
“Insured” includes two pertinent classes [§ II (d)]: those
using a “hired” auto, and a “stockholder” using an auto not
owned by the NFO used in the NFO’s business:

“Il. Definition of Named Insured and Insured: .
. . The unqualified word ‘Insured’ includes the named
insured and also: * * * (d) with respect to
automobiles, any person while using any automobile
owned by or hired for use by or on behalf of the
named insured, including any person or organization

' Petitioner also sought recovery against the NFO. The jury
found that the milk truck driver was an “independent contractor”
rather than an “agent” of the NFO. Accordingly, the NFO was
absolved of vicarious liability for the driver’s negligence.

* Hartford Insurance Company and Indiana Insurance Company
also issued insurance policies that might cover June’s liability.
Petitioner’s claims against Hartford and Indiana have been
resolved.

5

legally responsible for such use, provided the use is
within the scope of permission granted by the named
insured and any officer, director, stockholder or
partner, of the named insured while using any
automobile not owned by the named insured while
such automobile is being used in the business of the
named insured” (emphasis supplied).

In the Michigan insurance coverage litigation, Petitioner
asserted that June was an insured within the coverage afforded
by the clause, “any person while using any automobile . . .
hired for use by or on behalf of the named insured”. This
coverage dispute was delayed by another erroneous ruling
from the Michigan trial judge, who summarily dismissed the
“hired auto” contention on the ground that the verdict for the
NFO in the wrongful death suit was conclusive. The
Michigan Court of Appeals reversed, paving the way for trial
of the “hired auto” coverage question. At trial, the jury
found for the insurer on this point (App. E at 42a), and a
judgment for Great American was entered accordingly {Order
of Dismissal (App. D at 39a - 41a)].

Following the verdict, extensive negotiations took place.
The outgrowth was a stipulation which dismissed other
coverage claims, including those arising under the
“stockholder” clause, without prejudice to re-filing within one
year [Order of Dismissal (App. D at 40a - 41a), p. 2].

The NFO is organized under lowa law and is
headquartered in Iowa. As allowed by the stipulation,
Petitioner filed suit against Great American in Iowa on April
11, 2001. She alleged, in substance, that June was covered
under the “. . . stockholder . . . of the named insured while
using any automobile . . . in the business of the named
insured” clause of § III (d) of the insurance policy.

6.

On June 8, 2004, the Iowa District Court granted
summary judgment to Respondents (App. C at 10a - 38a). In
essence, the trial court concluded that the “stockholder”
clause was inapplicable for two reasons. In the court’s view,
the clause only covered suits against NFO stockholders in
their stockholder capacity, and the milk truck was being
“used” by June’s Trucking, not Claire June. (32a).

Petitioner appealed to the Iowa Court of Appeals, urging
that the district court erred on these two points. The appellate
court affirmed on a different ground not raised by the parties.
It held that Claire June was excluded from coverage under
§ Ill (e)(2), which excludes, “the owner or lessor of a hired
or non-owned automobile”. By its analysis, the milk truck
was “hired” or “not owned” by the NFO [Court of Appeals
Opinion (App. B at 2a - 9a)}:

“The language excludes from coverage as an,
‘insured’ under paragraph III(d) the ‘owner or lessor
of a hired or non-owned automobile.’ In context,
‘hired or non-owned’ can only refer to an automobile
the NFO hired or does not own. The truck involved
in the accident was owned by Claire June or June
Trucking, not the NFO. At the time of the accident,
it was being used to haul milk from the producers to
a dairy. The hauling was done under contact (‘hired’)
with the NFO. Therefore, whether we view the truck
as ‘not owned’ by the NFO or as ‘hired’ by the
organization, it falls within the exception from
coverage in paragraph III(e)(2)._ We agree with the
district court that June is not covered by the Great-
American policy at issue, but for a different reason
than the district court.”

7

Petitioner sought further review from the lowa Supreme
Court. She argued that the Full Faith and Credit Clause
required the Iowa courts to accept, and give preclusive effect
to, the Michigan adjudication that the milk truck was not
hired by the NFO. That Court denied further review by
Order of September 19, 2006 (App. A at 1a). ,

In short, the Michigan litigation ended favorably to Great
American due to the finding that the milk truck was not hired
by the NFO. The Iowa action was decided for the insurer on
the basis that the truck was hired by the NFO. Petitioner now
asks the Court to decide whether the Full Faith and Credit
Clause permits that result.

THE REASONS WHY CERTIORARI
SHOULD BE GRANTED

The Full Faith and Credit Clause (Art. IV, § 1) of the
Constitution provides that:

“Full Faith and Credit shall be given in each State to
the public Acts, Records, and judicial Proceedings of
every other State. And the Congress may be general
Laws prescribe the Manner in which such Acts,
Records and Proceedings shall be proved, and the
Effect thereof.”

As authorized by the Clause, Congress has enacted
supportive legislation. In pertinent part, the Full Faith and
Credit statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1738, accords a Michigan
judgment the same preclusive effect in lowa at it has in
Michigan where issued:

“Such Acts, records and judicial proceedings or copies
thereof, so authenticated, shall have the same full faith

8

and credit in every court within the United States and
its Territories and Possessions as they have by law or
usage in the courts of such State, Territory or
Possession from which they are taken.”

The decisions of this Court have repeatedly recognized
that the essence of the Cla’ se and statute is to give a state
court judgment the same res judicata or collateral estoppel
effect in a federal court or sister state court as it has under the
law of the State where rendered. Baker v. General Motors
Corp., 522 U.S. 222, 233 (1998); Matsushita Electric
Industrial Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S. 367, 373 (1996); Kremer
v. Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S. 461, 481-482
(1982). This Court’s Full Faith and Credit jurisprudence
counsels that, if the Michigan jury’s “no hired auto” finding
has collateral estoppel effect under Michigan law, the Iowa
courts were obligated to accept and apply that finding, and to
refrain from later reaching the opposite conclusion.

The generally accepted principle of collateral estoppel was
described in Baker, 522 U.S. at 233, n. 5, citing
Restatement (2d) of Judgments, § 27 (1982). Under that
principle, “an issue of fact or law, actually litigated and
resolved by a valid final judgment, binds the parties in a
subsequent action, whether on the same or different claim”.
This is the standard embraced by Michigan law as well.
Monat v. State Farm Ins. Co., 469 Mich. 679; 677 N.W.2d
843 (2004); Nummer v. Michigan Department of Treasury,
448 Mich. 534, 542; 533 N.W.2d 250 (1995).

In the Michigan litigation, it was found that the milk truck
was not hired by the NFO (App. E at 42a). Under Michigan
principles of collateral estoppel, this finding precludes another
court from later finding to the contrary. In turn, the Full
Faith and Credit Clause and 28 U.S.C. § 1738 require the

9

lowa courts to give the same effect to the Michigan judgment
in Jowa. The lowa appellate court’s finding that the milk
truck was hired by the NFO can not be squared with the Full
Faith and Credit Clause or 28 U.S.C. § 1738.

With the way the federal issue arose in the lowa courts - -
a sua sponte “hired by NFO” finding by the Court of Appeals
and denial of review by the Supreme Court - - the record is
barren of any explanation why the Michigan “not hired by.
NFO” finding was disregarded. Nor is there any indication
that the Iowa Courts considered the Full Faith and Credit
implications of their rulings.

This Court has not recognized judicially created reasons
for disregarding the command of the Full Faith and Credit
provision of Art. IV, § 1 and 28 U.S.C. § 1738. The lowa
Courts articulated no rationale for doing so. This Court
should grant certiorari to consider whether there is any
plausible basis for the Iowa courts to reach a conclusion
diametrically opposed to that previously established by
Michigan judgment.

With the way the lowa decision unfolded, no lowa Court
has explained how, or why, the Michigan “not hired by
NFO” finding can be disregarded consistent with federal law.
In lieu of granting certiorari, this Court could justifiably
remand to the Iowa Supreme Court, with directions to
consider Petitioner’s arguments under Art. IV, § 1 and 28
U.S.C. § 1738.

CONCLUSION

In the final analysis, Petitioner has lost her imsurance
coverage cases on the basis of two inconsistent findings: the
Michigan “not hired by NFO” finding and the lowa “hired by

10

NFO” ruling. In the process, her invocation of rights arising
under the United States Constitution has fallen on deaf ears.
The guarantees of federal law and the principles they
vindicate are too precious to be ignored. The refusal of the
lowa Courts to respect the Michigan Judgment is
unprecedented and presents important questions of inter-state
comity. The rulings below fail to accord the Full Faith and
Credit Clause its constitutional due. The Court should grant
certiorari or remand for consideration of Petitioner’s federal
arguments.

Respectfully submitted,

GOODMAN KALAHAR

RICHARD M. GOODMAN (P14169)
- 1394 East Jefferson

Detroit, Michigan 48207

(313) 567-6165

BENDURE & THOMAS

MARK R. BENDURE (P23490)
Counsel of Record

645 Griswold, Suite 4100

Detroit, Michigan 48226

(313) 961-1525

Attorneys for Petitioner

Dated: December 15, 2006

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF IOWA

No. 04-1093
Polk County No. CV 86059

[Filed September 19, 2006]

HULDA SHURTLEFF, Personal Representative
of the Estate of ROBERT SHURTLEFF,
Deceased, and Assignee of the Estate of
CLAIRE G. JUNE, Deceased,
Plaintiff-Appellant/Cross-Appellee,

GREAT AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY,
a Foreign Corporation, and OHIO CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendants-A ppellees/Cross-Appellants.

)
)

)

)

)

)

VS. )
)

)

)

)

)

)

After consideration by this court, further review of the
above captioned case is denied.

Dated this 19" day of September, 2006.
THE SUPREME COURT OF IOWA

By /s/
Louis A. Lavorato, Chief Justice

APPENDIX B

COURT OF APPEALS OF IOWA
No. 6-290 / 04-1093

[Filed June 28, 2006]

HULDA SHURTLEFF, Personal Representative
of the Estate of ROBERT SHURTLEFF,
Deceased, and Assignee of the Estate of
CLAIRE G. JUNE, Deceased,

Plaintiff-A ppellant/Cross-Appellee,

GREAT AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY,
a Foreign Corporation, and MICHIGAN
MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY, a
Michigan Corporation,

Defendants-A ppellees/Cross-Appellants.

)
)
)
)
)
)
VS. - )
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Appeal from the Iowa District Court for Polk County, Joel
D. Novak (motions for summary judgment) and D. J. Stovall
(motions to dismiss), Judges.

Plaintiff appeals from the district court’s grant of
defendants’ motion for summary judgment and denial of
plaintiff's motion for summary judgment. Defendants cross-
appeal from the district court’s denial of defendants’ motions
to dismiss. AFFIRMED.

3a

Roxanne Barton Conlin of Roxanne Conlin & Associates,
Des Moines, and Richard M. Goodman and Kathleen J.
Kalahar of Goodman, Lister & Peters, P.C., Detroit,
Michigan, for appellant.

Leonard B. Schwartz of Sommers, Schwartz, Silver &
Schwartz, P.C., Southfiled, Michigan, for appellee/cross-
appellant Great American Insurance Company.

Kent A. Gummert and Frank A. Comito of Gaudineer,
Comito & George, L.L.P., West Des Moines, for
appellees/cross-appellants Great American Insurance
Company and Ohio Casualty Insurance Company.

John R. Monnich of John R. Monnich, P.C., Royal Oak,

Minnesota, for appellee/cross-appellant Ohio Casualty
Insurance Company.

Brian A. Stowe of Finley, Alt, Smith, Scharnberg, Craig,
Hilmes & Gaffney, P.C., Des Moines, for appellee Michigan
Mutual Insurance Company.

Heard by Sackett, C.J., and Huitink and Miller, JJ.

OPINION

-SACKETT, C.J.

Plaintiff appeals from the district court’s order in June of
2004, granting defendants’ motion for summary judgment and
denying plaintiff's motion for summary judgment. The appeal
was transferred to our court in April of 2006. Defendants
cross-appeal from the district court’s denial of their motions
to dismiss and from part of the ruling granting their motion
for summary judgment. We affirm.

4a

I. BACKGROUND AND PROCEEDINGS.

Plaintiff's decedent, a Michigan resident, was killed in
Michigan in a 1985 motor vehicle accident with a truck
owned by Claire June, a Michigan resident. A wrongful death
suit in Michigan against Claire June, his company-June’s
Trucking, the truck driver Richard June, and the National
Farmers Organization’ (“NFO”) resulted in judgment against
Claire June and a jury verdict in favor of the NFO on the
claims of negligence and that it was the employer of June or
his company. Based on the judgment against Claire June,
plaintiff issued a writ of garnishment, which was served on
various insurance carriers. Plaintiff claimed Claire June was
covered under insurance policies issued to the NFO by
defendants.’ At the garnishment trial in 1999, the jury found
for defendant Great American Insurance Company (“Great
American”) on the claims of coverage of Claire June as user
of a vehicle “hired” by or “owned” by the NFO. By
Stipulation of the parties, in October of 2000 the court
dismissed without prejudice the claims that Claire June was
covered as a stockholder and that the organization was
estopped from denying coverage. In September of 2000 the
parties executed a “tolling agreement” that tolled the statute
of limitations for one year from the court’s order, “but only

' Claire June is a member of the National Farmers

Organization. His trucking company hauls bulk milk for the
organization. It was his milk truck that was involved in the
accident.

* Great American Insurance Company and Ohio Casualty
Insurance Company are Ohio corporations that conduct business in
lowa and Michigan. Great American issued a catastrophe liability
policy to the National Farmers Organization.

Sa

to the extent that the statute of limitations has not already
expired.”

In April of 2001 plaintiff filed suit in lowa against
defendants, claiming that Claire June was covered by Great
American’s policy issued to the NFO (1) as a stockholder,
and (2) as owner of the truck being used “in the business of”
the organization at the time of the accident. Great American
unsuccessfully moved to dismiss based on forum non
conveniens grounds. After discovery, Great American moved
for summary judgment in July of 2003. Plaintiff filed a cross-
motion for summary judgment in February of 2004. In June
of 2004, the district court granted defendants’ motion for
summary judgment and denied plaintiff's cross motion. This
appeal and cross-appeal ensued.

Il. SCOPE AND STANDARDS OF REVIEW.

Review of summary judgment rulings is for correction of
errors at law. Hlubek v. Pelecky, 701 N.W.2d 93, 95 (lowa
2005); see Iowa R. App. P. 6.4. Summary judgment is
appropriate where there is no genuine issue of material fact
and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of
law. Iowa R. Civ. P. 1.981. It “is properly granted if the only
controversy concerns the legal consequences flowing from
undisputed facts.” Krause v. Krause, 589 N.W.2d 721, 724
(Iowa 1999). We must determine whether, based on the
undisputed material facts, the moving party is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law. Galbraith v. Allied Mut. Ins.
Co., 698 N.W.2d 325, 327 (lowa 2005). When the facts are
not in dispute, “[oJur role is simply to decide whether we
agree with the district court’s application of the law to the
undisputed facts before us.” Kennedy v. Zimmermann, 601
N.W.2d 61, 64 (lowa 1999) (quoting Goodell v. Humboldt
County, 575 N.W.24 486, 491 (lowa 1998)). Fact findings by

6a

the district court are binding on appeal if supported by
substantial evidence. lowa R. App. P. 6.14(6)(a).

Ill. Discussion.

Appeal. The “only issue” in plaintiff's appeal is whether
Claire June is an “insured” under the Great American
catastrophe liability policy issued to the NFO, so that the
policy provides coverage for liability imposed on him as a
result of the motor vehicle accident in which plaintiff's
decedent was killed. In its ruling on the motions for summary
judgment, the district court analyzed the policy language at
length, concluding Claire June was not an insured for
purposes of coverage for the accident. The pertinent policy
provisions of section III “Definition of Named Insured and
Insured” are as follows:

The unqualified word “Insured” includes the named
insured and also:

(a) any officer, director, employee or stockholder of
the named insured while acting within the scope of the
person’s duties as such;

(d) with respect to automobiles, any person while
using any automobile owned by or hired for use by or
on behalf of the named insured, including any person
of organization legally responsible for such use,
provided the use is within the scope of permission
granted by the named insured and any officer,
director, stockholder or partner of the named insured
while using an automobile not owned by the named

Ta

insured while such automobile is being used in the
business of the named insured;

(e) except as respects the named insured, none of the
following shall be an insured under paragraph (d)

(2) the owner or lessor of a hired or non-owned
automobile, or any agent or employee of such owner
or lessor. This subdivision (2) shall not apply if it
restricts the insurance under sub-division (i) below.

(i) any additional insured(s) included in the underlying
insurance listed in Schedule A, but only to the extent
that such insurance is provided for such additional
insured(s) thereunder.

The NFO is the “named insured” under the policy. The
policy definition of “automobile” includes “semi-trailer, ”
such as the type of vehicle owned by Claire June. The
“underlying insurance” listed in schedule A is a policy issued
by Hartford Insurance Company (“Hartford”) to the NFO.
Hartford was one of the insurance companies served with the
writ of garnishment. It settled with plaintiff for the limits of
its coverage before trial on the garnishment.

Paragraph Ill(d) expands coverage beyond the named
insured to include as “insured” certain classes of persons
“with respect to automobiles.” Paragraph III(c) restricts the
scope and application of HII(d). The applicability of
subdivision Ill(e)(2) is qualified by paragraph III(i).

8a

The district court found Claire June was not an insured in
the underlying Hartford policy because he was not included
explicitly as an “automatic insured” nor added via an
endorsement as an “additional insured,” either specifically or
as part of a class. The court concluded, therefore, the
reference to paragraph III(i) in subdivision III(e)(2) does not
preclude the potential application of subdivision III(e)(2) to
restrict paragraph III(d).

In analyzing subsection III(e)(2) the district court
determined that “the owner of a non-owned automobile” “is
enigmatic in effect because it expresses no clear and specific
meaning” and it “lends itself to a certain degree of
confusion.” The policy excludes from coverage as an insured
“the owner or lessor of a hired or non-owned automobile.”
We believe the problem with the district court’s conclusion
stems from the misquoting of the language to read “owner of
a non-owned automobile.” While we agree with the district
court that “owner of a non-owned automobile” is not clear,
the policy language “owner or lessor of a hired or non-owned
automobile” is not ambiguous or unclear as used in the
policy.

The language excludes from coverage as an “insured”
under paragraph III(d) the “owner or lessor of a hired or non-
owned automobile.” In context, “hired or non-owned” can
only refer to an automobile the NFO hired or does not own.
The truck involved in the accident was owned by Claire June
or June Trucking, not the NFO. At the time of the accident,
it was being used to haul milk from the producers to a dairy.
The hauling was done under contract (“hired”) with the NFO.
Therefore, whether we view the truck as “not owned” by the
NFO or as “hired” by the organization, it falls within the
exception from coverage in paragraph III(e)(2). We agree
with the district court that June is not covered by the Great

9a

American policy at issue, but for a different reason than the
district court.

Having concluded June is excluded from being an insured
by the language of subsection III(e)(2), we do not address the
parties’ arguments concerning coverage under paragraph
IIIl(d) as a “stockholder” or as a person “using” an
automobile. We also affirm the district court’s determination
paragraph III(i) does not preclude the application of
subsection IIl(e)(2) because June is not an insured in the
underlying insurance policy issued by Hartford.

Cross-appeal. Defendants’ contention the district court
erred in finding June did not come within the exception
language of subsection III(e)(2) is addressed in the previous
section of this opinion. Defendants raise two issues on cross
appeal, relating to the district court’s denial of a motion to
dismiss this action as barred by the statute of limitations and
its denial of a motion to dismiss based on forum non
conveniens grounds. Having affirmed the district court's grant
of summary judgment in favor of defendants, we need not
address their claims raised on cross-appeal.

AFFIRMED.

APPENDIX C

IN THE IOWA DISTRICT COURT
IN AND FOR POLK COUNTY

Law No. CL 86059

[Filed June 8, 2004]

HULDA SHURTLEFF, Personal Representative
of the Estate of ROBERT SHURTLEFF,
deceased, and Assignee of the Estate of
CLAIRE G. JUNE, deceased,

Plaintiff,

Ve

GREAT AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY,
a foreign corporation, OHIO CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation,
and MICHIGAN MUTUAL INSURANCE
COMPANY, a Michigan corporation,

Defendants.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

RULING ON DEFENDANTS GREAT AMERICAN
INSURANCE COMPANY’S and OHIO
CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY’S
MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT,
and PLAINTIFFS’ CROSS-MOTION
FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

lla

INTRODUCTION

The above-captioned matter came before the Court for
hearing on April 16, 2004. Attorneys Leonard B. Schwartz,
Frank A. Comito, and Kent A. Gummert represent the
defendant, Great American Insurance Company. Attorney
John R. Monnich represents the defendant, Ohio Casualty
Insurance Company. Plaintiffs are represented by attorneys
Roxanne B. Conlin, Richard M. Goodman, and Kathleen
Kalahar. Upon examining the file and considering the parties’
respective written and oral arguments, the Court now issues
the following ruling:

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Statement of Facts

On May 13, 1985, Robert Shurtleff died in an automobile
accident in Michigan. At the time of the accident, Robert
Shurtleff and his spouse, Plaintiff Hulda Shurtleff, were
domiciled in Michigan. Plaintiff continues to reside in
Michigan. Plaintiff was appointed by the Probate Court for
Livingston County, Michigan, as the personal representative
of her deceased husband’s estate.

The accident which killed Robert Shurtleff involved the
collision of an automobile owned by Mr. Shurtleff and a
tractor-trailer driven by Richard June and owned by Claire
June, both of whom were Michigan residents. Richard June
was operating the tractor-trailer in his capacity as an
employee of June’s Trucking, Inc., which was a Michigan
corporation. Claire June-was the CEO and whole owner of
June’s Trucking, Inc.

12a

The tractor-trailer operated by Richard June and owned by
Claire June was used to haul bulk milk for the National
Farmers Organization (“NFO”), a national agricultural
cooperative headquartered in Iowa. Claire June had been
registered in the NFO’s national membership records as a
stockholder since 1981 and remained a stockholder as of the
date of the subject accident. (See Pl. Ex. 2 at pp. 5, 13.)

At the time of the accident, Claire June’s tractor-trailer
was being used to perform a written milk supply contract
formed between the NFO and the Guernsey Dairy. The
supply contract called for the delivery of 40,000 Ibs. of NFO
milk to Guernsey in fulfillment of that contract. (See Pl. Ex. -
2 at pp. 55, 120.) Walt Albers, an NFO National Officer and
former Membership Director, testified that it was the
“business obligation” of the NFO “to get the milk [to the
Guernsey Dairy)”. (/d. at pp. 120-21.) Under the terms and
provisions of that supply contract, the NFO was obligated to
supply Guernsey with its daily requirements of raw milk by
delivering the milk to their plant near Detroit. (/d. at p. 120.)
Claire June’s truck displayed the NFO trademark. (See Pl.
Ex. 6 at pp. 9-12.) The truck did not exhibit the name of
Claire June, June’s Trucking, or June’s Trucking, Inc. (See
Pl. Ex. 9.)

On May 13, 1985, Claire June instructed Richard June to
drive the tractor-trailer to the Guernsey Dairy. On the way to
the Guernsey Dairy, the left front tire of the truck blew out
and the truck crossed the center-line into the path of the car
occupied by Mr. Shurtleff, and two other passengers, Mr.
Koster and Ms. Munsell. All three passengers were killed.
Claire June’s truck was later found to have bald tires and
defective brakes. (See Pl. Ex. 8; Ex. 9 at p. 2.) Claire June
d/b/a June’s Trucking and Richard June were criminally

l3a

convicted of negligently “operating” an automobile causing
the death of Plaintiff's decedent. (See PI. Ex. 1; Ex. 10.)

2. Statement of Procedure

As a consequence of the accident which killed her
husband, Plaintiff Hulda Shurtleff, as the personal
representative of her late husband’s estate, brought a wrongful
death case against the following defendants: Claire June,
Richard June, June’s Trucking, Inc., and the NFO. Said
action was brought in the Wayne County Circuit Court in
Michigan in 1985. The NFO was included in the wrongful
death suit because it was surmised that the Junes were
operating their truck in the furtherance of NFO business at the
time the accident occurred.

In 1989, the NFO was awarded a jury verdict in its favor,
both as to its negligence and to the contention that it was not
the “employer” of Claire June or his companies. (See Pl. Ex.
11.) The Michigan Court of Appeals later affirmed this
judgment. Judgment was, however, entered against the Junes.
The judgment against Claire June was subsequently reversed
by the Michigan Court of Appeals in 1990 on the issue of
damages only. (See Pl. Ex. 11.) A retrial pertaining to the
damages issue ensued in 1992, and judgments against Claire
June were entered on January 15, 1993. The amounts of those
judgments were as follows: $3,121,167.77 in favor of the
Munsell estate: $5,411,736.29 in favor of the Koster estate,
and $4,708,058.07 in favor of the Shurtleff estate, plus
interest as allowed by M.C.L.A. § 600.6013. (See PI. Ex.
12.)

The defendants, Great American Insurance Company
(“Great American”) and Ohio Casualty Insurance Company
(“Ohio Casualty”) are Ohio corporations which conduct

l4a

business in Iowa and Michigan. Both Great American and
Ohio Casualty are wholly owned subsidiaries of the American
Financial Corporation, an Ohio based insurance holding
company. Great American issued an excess umbrella policy
to the NFO.

In August of 1992, priorto the December of 1992 retrial,
the plaintiffs provided to Great American written notice of
their contention that Great American’s policy issued to the
NFO covered Claire June individually. (See Pl. Ex. 3.) Also,
the plaintiffs offered to set aside the still existing finding of
liability to allow Great American to participate in the case
without having to assume the burden of adverse prior
judgment against the Junes. (See Pl. Ex. 13.) Following the
plaintiffs’ letter dated August 6, 1992, the law firm
representing Claire June on behalf of Defendant Michigan

Mutual wrote Great American and identified the Michigan
Mutual attorney representing Claire June at the upcoming
trial. (See Pl. Ex. 15.) Great American responded to these
communications after the January 15, 1993 final judgment
against Claire June on retrial.

As a result of the judgment against Claire June in Wayne
County, Michigan, the plaintiffs issued a writ of garnishment
in 1993. Said writ of garnishment was served on various
insurance carriers, including Great American. The plaintiffs
claimed coverage under the Great American Policy (policy
no. 6-27-84-59-01) as a user of a vehicle “hired” by the NFO
and/or a vehicle “owned” by the NFO. In addition, the
plaintiffs claimed coverage based on the premise that Claire
June was a stockholder/member of the NFO. Finally, the
plaintiffs claimed Great American was “estopped” from
denying-eoverage. Of course, Great American denied it was
obligated to Claire June individually or June’s Trucking, Inc.,
and therefore not subject to garnishment.

15a

The three plaintiffs’ garnishments were tried together in
November and December of 1999. The Hartford Insurance
Company, the underlying insurer, settled by paying its limits
of liability prior to trial. (See Pl. Ex. 16.) The court orally
granted Great American’s motion for summary judgment as
it concerned the “stockholder” claim. This issue was thus not
submitted to the jury. The “estoppel” issue was severed and
likewise not tried. The two issues which were presented to the
jury, whether Claire June was using a vehicle “hired” and/or
“owned” by the NFO, were decided in favor of Great
American.

‘ Subsequent to the garnishment trial, extensive negotiations
occurred between Great American’s counsel and counsel for
Plaintiff Shurtleff. Because the form of judgment could not be
agreed upon, the parties stipulated_a dismissal of all claims

with prejudice e¢xcept for the “estoppel” and
“member/stockholder” issues. These issues were dismissed
without prejudice. (See P!. Ex. 17.) The parties also executed
a separate, contemporaneous written agreement that provided
that the Plaintiff had one year from the date of entry of the
Order of Dismissal within which to re-file the action. (See PI.
Ex. 18.) On April 11, 2001, Plaintiff filed the instant action.

Any additional facts are recited below as they relate to the
issues presented.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Summary judgment is appropriate only when there is no
genuine issue of material fact and the moving party is entitled
to judgment as a matter of law. Schoff v. Combined Ins. Co.,
604 N.W.2d 43, 45 (lowa 1999); see generally lowA R. Civ.
P. 1.981. An issue is “material” only when the dispute is over
facts that might affect the outcome of the suit, given the

l6a

applicable governing law. Baratta v. Polk Cty. Health Servs.,
588 N.W.2d 107, 109 (lowa 1999) (citing Fees v. Mutual Fire
& Auto Ins. Co., 490 N.W.2d 55, 57 (lowa 1992)).

The moving party has the burden to show the non-
existence of a material fact and the record must be viewed in
the light most favorable to the non-moving party. Schoff, 604
N.W.2d at 45. That determination is made by examining the
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, admissions,
and affidavits incorporated in the motion and any resistance.
IOWA R. Civ, P. 1.981(c); Clinton Nat’l Bank v. Saucier, 580
N.W.2d 717, 719 (lowa 1998). A ‘fact issue is generated if
reasonable minds can differ on how the issue can be resolved.
Schlueter v. Grinell Mut. Reinsurance, 553 N.W.2d 614, 616
(lowa App. 1996). When the facts are undisputed and the only
issue is what consequences flow from the facts, summary
judgment is appropriate. Kennedy vy. Zimmerman, 601
N.W.2d 61, 63 (lowa 1999).

ANALYSIS

Whether potential coverage provided to Claire June
under section III(d) of the Great American
insurance policy is expunged by section II1(e)(2) of
said policy.

The principal issue of contention in the present case is
whether Claire June was insured under Great American’s
policy issued to the named insured, the NFO. Plaintiff
submits that Claire June was clearly an insured under said
policy pursuant specifically to section III(d). Obviously,
Defendants refute Plaintiff’s position.

l7a

Section III(d) provides coverage as follows:

(d) With respect to automobiles, any person while
using any automobile owned by or hired by or on
behalf of the named insured including any person or
organization legally responsible for such use, provided
the use is within the scope of permission granted by
the named insured and any officer, director,
stockholder or partner of the named insured while
using an automobile not owned by the named insured
while such automobile is being used in the business
of the named insured.

Section III(d) may be divided into four sub-parts: (1) whether
Claire June is entitled to coverage based on being “any
stockholder” of the NFO; (2) whether Claire June’s truck was
“not owned by” the NFO; (3) whether the accident occurred
“while” Claire June was “using” the truck; and (4) whether
the truck was “being used in the business of” the NFO when
the accident transpired.

The scope and application of section III(d), however, is
restricted by section III(e)(2). Indeed, section III(e)(2)
provides:

(e) except as respects the named insured, none of the
following shall be an insured under paragraph (d)

(2) the owner or lessor of a hired or non-owned
automobile or any agent or employee of such owner
or lessor. This subdivision (2) shall not apply if it
restricts the insurance under subdivision (i) below

(emphasis added). This language illustrates that any coverage
granted under subsection (d) is eliminated in the event

18a

subsection (e) applies. However, subsection (e)(2) additionally
indicates that this exclusion from coverage under subsection
(d) is offset if it infringes upon section III(i) of the policy. The
Court will recite section III(i) below.

When construing whether Claire June was insured under
the Great American policy issued to the NFO, the Court must
abide by general rules of contract interpretation/construction.
See Farmers Ins. Exchange v. Kurzmann, 668 N.W.2d 199,
203 (Mich. App. 2003). As previously ruled by this Court,
Michigan law applies.

In Michigan, as is ubiquitously held elsewhere, the
interpretation of a contract is a question of law. The Court
must first look to the policy’s plain language in deciphering
the intent of the contracting parties. Indeed, “[a]n insurance
policy is enforced in accordance with its terms.” Twichel v.
MIC General Ins. Corp., 676 N.W.2d 616, 621 (Mich.
2003); see also Wilkie v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 664 N.W.2d
776, 782 (Mich. 2003) (“The parties are free to contact as
they see fit, and the courts are to enforce the agreement as
written absent some highiy unusual circumstances...”); Farm
Bureau Mut. Ins. Co. of Michigan v. Nikkel, 596 N.W.2d 915
(Mich. 1999) (When a clause in an insurance policy is clear
and does not contravene public policy, then it must be
enforced as written). Terms undefined by the insurance policy
are afforded their commonly ascertained meanings. Allstate
Ins. Co. v. McCarn, 645 N.W.2d 20, 22 (Mich. 2002). An
insurance policy shall be read as a whole, and construed so as
to provide a harmonious effect to every word or phrase as far
as practicable. Klapp v. United Ins. Group Agency, Inc., 663
N.W.2d 447, 453 (Mich. 2003) (citations omitted); Singer v.
Goff, 54 N.W.2d 290, 292 (Mich. 1952). Therefore, “[a]
word is not ambiguous merely because different dictionary
definitions exist.” Twichel, 676 N.W.2d at 621. As a general

19a

rule, an insurance policy is clear and unambiguous when its
language leads to only one reasonable interpretation. Wilkie,
664 N.W.2d at 787 (citing Singer v. American States Ins.,
631 N.W.2d 34 (Mich. 2001)).

It logically follows then that an insurance contract is
considered ambiguous in the event its language is subject to
more than one reasonable interpretation. Farmers Ins.
Exchange, 668 N.W.2d at 203 (citation omitted). The
interpretation of an ambiguous contract generally presents a
question of fact for the jury to decide, ordinarily via the
contemplation of extrinsic evidence. Klapp, 663 N.W.2d at
453-54. “The law is clear that where the language of the
contract is ambiguous, the court/[jury] can look to such
extrinsic evidence as the parties’ conduct, the statements of its
representatives, and past practice to aid in interpretation.” /d.
at 454. (quoting Penzien v. Dielectric Products Engineering
Co., Inc., 132 N.W.2d 130 (Mich. 1965)).

Also at play in Michigan is the rule of contra proferentem,
which stands for the proposition that any ambiguities in
insurance contracts should be construed against the insurer.
However, it is important to note that in Klapp the Michigan
Supreme Court recently clarified generally that the rule of
contra proferentem constitutes a rule of “last resort” and “is
only to be applied if all conventional means of contract
interpretation, including consideration of relevant extrinsic
evidence, have left the jury unable to determine what the
parties intended for their contract to mean” (emphasis added).
Id. at 455. Klapp certainly does not undo the long-standing
principle that ambiguous policy language is to be construed
against the insurer; rather, it simply establishes that extrinsic
evidence, if extant, must be considered beforehand.

20a

Because section III(e)(2) may exclude any potential
coverage provided by section III(d), the Court will commence
its analysis with section III(e)(2) and section II(i). If section
III(e)(2) is determined to apply, then Claire June was not
insured by the Great American policy and the Court’s journey
ends there. Recall, however, that operation of section II(e)(2)
is qualified by section III(i). In the event Claire June was
covered under section III(i) of the Great American Policy, the
exclusion set forth in section Ifl(e)(2) becomes void.
Therefore, the Court will first examine whether Claire June
was insured pursuant to section III(i).

A. Section TIiI(i)

Section III(i) of the Great American policy issued to the
NFO expresses an “insured” shall include:

Any additional insured(s) included in the underlying
insurance listed in Schedule A, but only to the extent
that such insurance is provided for such additional
insured(s) thereunder.

The underlying insurance policy listed in Schedule A is the
Hartford policy. (See Pl. Ex. 1; Def. Ex. C.)

Defendants posit that Claire June was not an “insured”
under the Hartford policy given that he was not included as an
“automatic insured” as explicitly defined in the policy; nor
was he added to the policy as an “additional insured” via an
endorsement, i.e. amendment to the policy. Plaintiff, on the
other hand, asserts that Claire June was clearly afforded
coverage by the underlying Hartford policy because Hartford
settled with Plaintiff during the prior garnishment action. (See
Pl. Ex. 16.) Via this settlement, Hartford paid its_policy
limits.

21a

The Court finds that Claire June was not an “insured”
under the Hartford policy. Therefore, the possible
applicability of section III(e)(2) is not thwarted by section
III(i). Before commencing analysis, it is crucial to sort out the
meanings of the varying terms: “named insured”, “insured”,
and “additional insured”. A “named insured” refers solely to
those persons who are named specifically in the policy; it is
a restricted meaning. See 7 COUCH ON INSURANCE
§ 110:1 (3% ed. 2003). The term “named insured” is not
synonymous with “insured”. /d. For instance, the term
“insured” is not limited to the “named insured”, but applies
to anyone who is insured under the policy. /d. Therefore, an
“insured” encompasses the “named insured”, as well as any
“additional insureds” that may also be covered. /d. The term
“additional insured” in an insurance policy means any person
who is an “insured” under the policy in addition to the
“named insured”, even if not named or specified in the

policy.’ 8 COUCH ON INSURANCE § 115:3 (3 ed. 2003).

' For example, a policy may provide coverage to an_ “additional
insured” in the following manners: “anyone for whom the insured
is working”, or “any person or organization to whom the named
insured is obligated by virtue of a written contract to provide
insurance such as is afforded by the policy”, or “any
organization. ..to whom or to which [mine operator] is obligated by
virtue of written contract to provide insurance such as is afforded
by this policy, but only with respect to operations by or on behalf
of [mine operator], or to facilities of or used by [mine operator].”
See 9 COUCH ON INSURANCE § 126.7 (3 ed. 2003). See also
St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. Quintana, 419 N.W.2d 60, 62
(Mich. App., 1988), wherein the following endorsements were used:
(1) “It is understood and agreed that the Professional Liability
Insurance Coverage Form is applicable only to professional
employees of the named insured while acting in their capacity as
employees of the Epilepsy Center of Michigan. It is further agreed

22a

In other words, those “[pJersons falling within one of the
groups or classes specifically referred to in the policy are
additional insureds as distinguished from the named insured
whose name is specifically mentioned as an insured.” Jd.

Claire June was not a “named insured” in the Hartford
policy. Moreover, Claire June was not covered as an
“additional insured” because the Hartford policy fails to
include him as an “additional insured”. “Coverage for such
additional insureds must be accomplished by specific
endorsement to the policy.” 9 COUCH ON INSURANCE
§ 126.7 (3 ed. 2003). As explicated above, this does not
mean that an “additional insured” must be specifically
“named” in the policy, but merely that the generic category
or class of “additional insured” must be concisely delineated.
See 8 COUCH ON INSURANCE § 115:3 (3 ed. 2003)
(“When drafting the terms of an additional insured
endorsement, the parties should be certain that the identifying
language is in plain English and precisely drafted to include
the particular class or group.”).

Section D WHO IS INSURED of the Hartford Policy
extends coverage to the named insured and any “additional
insureds” as set forth herein:

1. YOU are an INSURED for any covered AUTO.

that coverage is not provided for any medical doctors”; (2) “It is
understood and agreed that the Board of Directors and employees
other than medical doctors are included as additional insured but
only as respects their liability in connection with professional
services rendered or which [should] have been rendered.”
(Emphasis added.)

23a

2. Anyone else is an INSURED while using with
YOUR permission a covered AUTO YOU own, hire
or borrow except:

3. Anyone liable for the conduct of an INSURED
described above is an INSURED but only to the extent
of that liability. However, the owner or anyone else
from YOU hire or borrow a covered AUTO is an
INSURED only if that AUTO is a TRAILER
connected to a covered AUTO YOU own.

The Hartford policy defines “you” as the person or
organization shown as the “named insured in number | of the
declarations”. The “named insured”, of course, was the
NFO. Accordingly, it was the NFO alone that was insured
under paragraph “1” of the Hartford policy as the “named
insured”. Nor is Claire June granted coverage under
paragraphs “2” or “3”. As it concerns paragraph “2”, the
Junes were not using an automobile owned, hired or
borrowed by the NFO. Rather, Claire June owned the
automobile invoived in the accident and the truck was being
used in furtherance of the business of Junes’ Trucking, Inc.
Furthermore, Claire June certainly did not require permission
from the NFO in order to put his truck into service. Finally,
Claire June was not insured under paragraph “3” because
even assuming for the sake of argument that the NFO hired or
borrowed Claire June’s truck, he was not entitled to coverage
since the NFO did not own the truck, or the trailer attached
thereto. Also, Claire June was not otherwise included as an
“additional insured” via any other endorsement.

Plaintiff's assertions in refute are unconvincing. First,
Plaintiff cites a plethora of precedence standing for the
proposition that an “additional insured” need not be
specifically named in the policy in order to be insured. This

24a

is quite true. However, there obviously must be a clause or
endorsement explicitly defining the class or group insured as
“additional insureds”. There is no such endorsement in the
Hartford policy including Claire June. Secondly, Plaintiff
cites Federal Kemper Ins. Co. v. American Bankers Ins. Co..,
357 N.W.2d 834, 839 (Mich. App. 1984) as support for the
premise that an insurer’s settlement alone establishes that the
claimant was insured under the insurer’s policy. This
argument is unpersuasive, as Plaintiff failed to mention in its
brief that there were several other, far more important
factors, at play in Federal Kemper. The crucial issue in
Federal Kemper was whether the potential insured was
driving his own automobile while using said automobile in the
business of the named insured. Jd. The most influential
evidence presented showing that the potential insured was
indeed using his vehicle in the course of the named insured’s
business was an affidavit affirming such. Jd. There is absent
any evidence of the like here and, in fact, the settlement
expresses that Hartford has “consistently denied that the
policy of insurance issued to the National Farmers
Organization ...provides coverage or indemnification to
Claire G. June.” (See Pl. Ex. 16.) In Federal Kemper, The
Michigan Court of Appeals did by no means hold that
evidence of a prior settlement alone proved that the person
was insured by the policy.

Accordingly, because Claire June was not an “insured”
under the Hartford policy, section III(i) does not preclude the
potential applicability of section Il(e)(2). Therefore, the
Court will now discuss section III(e)(2).

B. Section III(e)(2)

Section III(e)(2) denies any coverage given under section
Iil(d) if Claire June was the “owner” of a “non-owned”

25a

automobile. Section III(e)(2) is essentially an “exclusionary
clause”. Exclusionary clauses in insurance policies must be
given effect if clear and specific, but are to be strictly
construed in favor of the insured. Zurich-American Ins. Co.
v. Amerisure Ins. Co., 547 N.W.2d 52, 55 (Mich. App.
1996); McKusick v. Travelers Indem. Co., 632 N.W.2d 525,
528 (Mich. App. 2001). The burden is upon the insurance
company to clearly express the limitations of coverage. U.S.
Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. Group Health Plan of Southeast
Michigan, 345 N.W.2d 683, 686 (Mich. App. 1983).

Plaintiff asseverates that even if Claire June was not an
“additional insured” under the Hartford policy and thus not
insured under section III(i) of Defendant Great American’s
policy, section III(e)(2) still does not exclude Claire June from
coverage. The following four premises underpin Plaintiff's
stance: (1) the language “owner of a non-owned automobile”
is so ambiguous as to make section IH(e)(2) invalid; (2)
Defendants’ interpretation of section III(e)(2) fails because it:
(a) does not give effect to important policy terms, (b) renders
illusory the coverage provided by section III(d), and (c) shows
that Great American did not intend for “non-owned auto” to
mean an “auto not owned by the named insured”; (3) even if
section HI(e)(2) were not hopelessly ambiguous, and even if
there were a reasonable interpretation of section II(e)(2) that
excluded Claire June, other reasonable interpretations of the
provision exist that do not exclude him; and (4) when
harmonized with plain language of the policy, the ambiguous
terminology “the owner of a non-owned automobile” must be
interpreted to mean “an automobile not owned by Claire
June.”

In contravention, Defendants contend the term “non-
owned auto” unambiguously refers to an automobile not
owned by the named insured, the NFO. Under this

26a

interpretation, Claire June would be excluded from coverage
under section III(e)(2) because he, and not the NFO, owned
the truck involved in the accident. Defendants avow that this
interpretation comports with the commonly understood
meaning of “non-owned automobile” and harmonizes with
section III(d).

The Court finds that section IlI(e)(2) does not restrict
Claire June from alleged coverage due him under section
III(d). In concluding such, the Court need not address each of
Plaintiff's arguments. The Court is in agreement with
Plaintiff's position that the language encompassed within
section III(e)(2) is enigmatic in effect because it expresses no
clear and specific meaning, and must therefore be construed
in favor of Plaintiff.

First and foremost, the verbiage “owner of a non-owned
automobile” lends itself to a certain degree of confusion. In
order for the reader of section III(e)(2) to establish who is
excluded from coverage, the reader must decipher which
party the automobile is not owned by. The Great American
policy, however, fails to define the parameters of “non-owned
automobile” , leaving the reader of the policy to ponder as will
be discussed infra. Although undefined terminology does not
necessarily mean an insurance policy is ambiguous in effect,
the insurer is responsible for clearly expressing the limitations
on coverage, and therefore “bears the burden of any
confusion which arises as a result of its failure to state clearly
the limitations of coverage purchased.” Norgan v. American
Way Life Ins. Co., 469 N.W.2d 23, 26 (Mich. App. 1991);
see also Automobile Club Ins. Assoc. v. Page, 413 N.W.2d
472, 474 (Mich. 1987) (“Owned vehicle exclusion clauses are
valid so long as they are clear and unambiguous, employing
easily understood terms and plain language.”).

27a

The exclusionary language “owner of a non-owned
automobile” found in section III(e)(2) is primarily ambiguous
because it fails to mesh with the plain language set forth in the
rest of the provision. For instance, section III(e)(2) begins by
stating that “except as respects the named insured” (NFO),
before ultimately stipulating that an “owner of a non-owned
automobile” is not covered by section III(d) of the policy.
This preliminary “except for the named insured” language
becomes irreconcilable and superfluous when Defendants’
propounded interpretation that “non-owned automobile”
means “an automobile not owned by the NFO” is applied.
Indeed, it is gratuitous for the clause to ostensibly convey that
the NFO is insured even if it is the “owner of a non-owned
auto”, when under Defendants’ interpretation, it is impossible
for the NFO to be the owner of an automobile the NFO does
not own. Furthermore, the existence of the “except as
respects the named insured” language appears even more
strange when one contemplates that section III(e)(2) could not
possibly “exclude” the NFO from coverage under section
III(d) in any event given that the NFO is the “named insured”
under the policy, meaning that the NFO’s insured status is not
contingent on section II1(d) applicability, which merely grants
coverage to other “insureds” above and beyond the “named
insured”. (See Pl. Ex. 1.) In other words, the “except as
respects the named insured” language is seemingly
unnecessary. No matter, it is well known that contracts must
be “construed so as to give effect to every word or phrase as
far as practicable” , and “courts cannot simply ignore portions
of a contract in order to avoid a finding of ambiguity or in
order to declare an ambiguity” (emphasis added). Klapp, 663
N.W.2d at 453.

Moreover, section [II(e)(2) is also ambiguous for the more
subtle reason that it is prone to more than one interpretation.
Plaintiff espouses that in addition to any interpretation offered

28a

by Defendants, “owner of non-owned auto” may be
reasonably read to mean “the owner of an automobile not
owned by the insured claiming coverage under section III(d)”,
i.e., Claire June. The Court agrees that section III(e){2) could
be reasonably construed in this manner. In fact, unlike
Defendants’ proffered interpretation, this interpretation does
not conflict with the “except as respects the named insured”
phraseology discussed above. Quite simply, the phrase
“owner of a non-owned automobile”, without being defined,
is not capable of a common meaning given the surrounding
context. See Pennsylvania National Mutual Cas. Co. v.
Travelers Ins. Co., 592 A.2d 51 (Pa. App. 1991).

Defendants’ cited authority adverse to Plaintiff's position
is unimpressive. First, Defendants rely upon a statement made
by Justice Levin in State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins. Co. v.
Ruuska, 314 N.W.2d 184 (Mich. 1982). In Ruuska, Justice
Levin opined in his concurring opinion that “[t}he term ‘non-
owned automobile’ has an obvious and clear meaning...it
means simply a vehicle is not owned by the insured”
(emphasis added). Ruuska, however, does not sufficiently
yield itself to Defendants’ side. In Ruuska, the term “non-
owned automobile” was actually defined by the insurance
policy, so the Michigan Supreme Court’s interpretation of
“non-owned automobile” was not even the determinative
issue.” More importantly, Justice Levin expressed that “non-
owned automobile” means an “automobile not owned by the
insured”, as opposed to a vehicle “not owned by the named

? Instead, the Michigan Supreme Court held that State Farm’s
“non-owned automobile” exclusionary clause was unenforceable
because it was repugnant to Michigan’s No-Fault Act. Therefore,
the majority opinion declined to address whether the clause was
ambiguous. Ruuska, 314 N.W.2d at 189.

29a

insured” as championed by Defendants. This is significant for
the reason that if indeed Claire June is an “insured” under
section III(d), then according to Justice Levin’s definition,
section III(e)(2) could be properly defined as an “automobile
not owned by the insured, i.e. Claire June.

Defendants also more generically argue that any other
interpretation of “owner of a non-owned auto” besides the
one presented by them is untenable. As already addressed,
this is not the case. Furthermore, Defendants submit that their
interpretation reconciles and harmonizes with section III(d).
Defendants postulate that because section III(d) explicitly
specifies that “non-owned” automobile refers to an
automobile not owned by the NFO, then the “non-owned
automobile” language found in section III(e)(2) must provide
analogous meaning. According to steadfast legal principles,
the Court should strive to harmonize varying insurance policy
clauses within reason. Notwithstanding, the Court does not
deem that the terminology “non-owned automobile” in section
IlI(e)(2) must necessarily constitute an automobile not owned
by the NFO for the sole reason that section III(d) does so.
This is because if construed in such a manner, then section
III(e)(2) considered on the whole becomes ambiguous, as
discussed prior. Additionally, in light of section III(d),
wherein Defendant Great American specified that a “non-
owned automobile” meant an auto not owned by the NFO, it
is apparent that Great American “could have easily inserted
clearer language” in section HI(e)(2). See Norgan, 469
N.W.2d at 26. }

Because section I[l(e)(2), an exclusionary clause, is
ambiguous, it must be strictly construed in favor of the
insured, Claire June. To reiterate, exclusionary clauses in
Michigan are strictly construed in favor of the insured and
against the insurer. See McKusick, 632 N.W.2d at 528.“[I]t

30a

is the insurer’s responsibility to clearly express limits on
coverage.” Norgan, 469 N.W.2d at 26. As shown previously,
section III(e)(2) is clearly ambiguous and must therefore be
construed against Defendants.* Therefore, Claire

> Defendants contend that any ambiguities found in section
I1l(e)(2) cannot be construed against them on the basis that Claire
June is a non-party to the Great American policy issued to the
NFO: See Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Unites States, 543 F.2d 71,
74 (90" Cir. 1976) (“Another maxim of interpretation applicable
here is that a third party who is not a party to the contract is not
usually entitled to strict construction in his favor in determining
whether the contract was made for his benefit.”); McBroome-
Bennett Plumbing, Inc. v. Villa France, Inc., 515 S.W.2d 32, 37
(Tex. Civ. App. 1974) (“a third person who is not a party to a
contract of insurance usually is not entitled to a strict construction
in his favor in determining whether the contract was made for his
benefit.”), but cf Toops v. Gulf Coast Marine, Inc., 72 F.3d
483,486 (S" Cir. 1996).

Defendants’ contention is devoid of merit. Under Michigan
law, the rules of construction apply irrespective of whether the
person seeking coverage is a “party” to the insurance contract. See,
e.g. Engle, 583 N.W.2d at 485-86 (affirmatively answering the
question of whether the plaintiff satisfied the definition of a “person
insured” under a policy issued to another, and rejecting insurer’s
“strained interpretation” of provision, based on rule that
“exclusionary clauses in insurance contracts are to be strictly
construed against the insurer.); Zurich-American Ins. Co. Vv.
Amerisure Ins. Co., 547 N.W.2d 52, 55 (Mich. App. 1996) (same);
Federal Mut. Ins. Co. v. Casey, 167 N.W.2d 905,905-906 (Mich.
App. 1969) (applying rule that ambiguity in an insurance policy is
construed against the insured who wrote it, and holding that the
driver was entitled to recover as a “permissive user” under the
omnibus clause of the policy).

Also, the rule provided in Klapp that ambiguous contractual
language is to be construed against the insurer only after extrinsic
evidence is considered does not seemingly disrupt the general rule

3la

June is not barred from coverage under section II(d) pursuant
to section III(e)(2).

Il. Whether Claire June was insured under section
I1l(d) of the Great American policy.

Because the Court found that section III(e)(2) does not
exclude Claire June from coverage, the Court must now
examine whether section III(d) provided Claire June
coverage. Plaintiff submits that Claire June was clearly an
insured under said provision. Obviously, Defendants refute
Plaintiff's position.

To reiterate, section III(d) reads as follows:

(d) With respect to automobiles, any person while

using any automobile owned or hired by or on behalf
of the named insured including any person or
organization legally responsible for such use, provided
the use is within the scope of permission granted by
the named insured and any officer, director,
stockholder or partner of the named insured while

that exclusionary clauses are to be strictly construed in favor of the
insured. Klapp did not involve insurance contract exclusionary
clauses. Therefore, the Court does not feel that extrinsic evidence
as it concerns section II!(e)(2) need be considered.

Even if Klapp were applicable to exclusionary clauses
specifically, Defendants proffer no pertinent extrinsic evidence
addressing the meaning of section I[(e)(2). The affidavits of John
Jensen and Benjamin Yale speak to the intent of section III(d), but
not to section III(e)(2) in particular. This being so, it is proper to
construe section IIl(e)(2) against Defendants. See Klapp, 663
N.W.2d at 457-58; Wilkie, 664 N.W.2d at 787.

32a

using an automobile not owned by the named insured
while such automobile is being used in the business
of the named insured.

As provided earlier, section III(d) may be divided into four
components: (1) whether Claire June was entitled to coverage
based on being “any stockholder” of the NFO; (2) whether
Claire June’s truck was “not owned by” the NFO; (3)

~whether the accident occurred “while” Claire June was

“using” his truck; and (4) whether the truck was “being used
in the business of” the NFO at the time the accident occurred.
The Court previously noted that Michigan’s general rules of
contract interpretation/construction are applicable to the
present case.

The Court finds that Claire June was net provided
coverage pursuant to section III(d) of the Great American
policy as a matter of law based on two of the requirements not
being met. First, the Court concludes that although Claire
June was a “stockholder” of the NFO, liability was not sought
against him as a “stockholder”, and therefore Defendant
Great American was not required to indemnify Claire June as
“any stockholder” of the NFO. Secondly, the Court deduces
that Junes’ Trucking, Inc. was “using” the automobile
involved in the accident, as opposed to Claire June
personally. Said findings are discussed below.

A. Whether Claire June was entitled to coverage based
on being “any stockholder” of the NFO.

Section III(d) grants coverage to “any...stockholder...” of
the NFO. While conceding that Claire June was a stockholder
of the NFO at the time of the accident, Defendants argue that
Claire June’s liability did not arise out of his “stockholder”
status. Defendants expound that “Plaintiff seeks to gain

33a

coverage for Claire June in a capacity other than the one in
which he was sued.” (See Def. G.A. Brief, p. 17.)
Conversely, Plaintiff contends that section IIi(d) does not
contain any such “scope of duties” requirement. Plaintiff
points out that section III(d) merely says
“any...stockholder...” , which connotes a broad scope without
limitation.

The Court concurs with Defendants’ position that “[iJt is
the claims made against the putative insured that determines
whether or not that person comes within the definition of
‘insured’ and obtains coverage.” (See Def. Brief, p. 15.) See
North River Ins. Co. v. Endicott, 391 N.W.2d 454, 457
(Mich. App. 1986) (“plaintiff was not obligated to indemnify
or defend Endicott because the allegations in the underlying
lawsuit involved a claim arising from defendant's activities as
a trustee, they did not involve defendant’s performance of
‘professional accounting services’ as defined in the policy
....); Continental Ins. Co. v. Bones, 596 N.W.2d 552, 56]
(lowa 1999) (“We start with the observation that coverage is
controlled by the actual claim asserted against the insured, not
the label the claimant chooses to put in his or her claim.”).
This is problematic for Plaintiff, as there was no underlying
claim challenging Claire June’s liability as “any stockholder”
of the NFO. Rather, the unamended complaint filed in 1985
in the Wayne County Court (Def. Ex. A), upon which Claire
June was found liable, alleges that Claire June owned the
truck involved in the accident. (/d., ¢ 10.) In addition, the
underlying petition alleges that Claire June personally
conducted the business of June’s Trucking, Inc, including
repair and maintenance of the trucks owned and operated by
June’s Trucking, Inc., and that the repairs were negligently
performed. (/d., 44 29, 31.)

34a

Plaintiff contests Defendants’ argument on the basis that
nowhere in section III(d) does it state that “any stockholder”
claiming coverage must have been acting within their scope
as an NFO stockholder in order to enjoy coverage. Plaintiff
draws attention to those cases cited by Defendants and
clarifies that each of those cases involved specific language
requiring that the insureds act “within the scope of their
duties” as stockholders, etcetera, in order to be provided
coverage. See, e.g., Hack v. Standard Accident Ins. Co., 88
N.W.2d 424, 425 (Mich. 1958) (“...any.. stockholder. ..while
acting within the scope of his duties as such”); Bowie v.
Home Ins. Co., 923 F.2d 705, 707 (9" Cir. 1991) (any...
stockholder...while acting within the scope of their duties as
such”); North River, 391 N.W.2d at 456 (accountant’s policy
covered liability “caused by acts, errors, Or omissions in the
insured’s performance of professional accounting services for
others”). Phrased aphoristically , Plaintiff espouses that Claire
June was an NFO stockholder and is included under Section
111(d), irrespective of whether he was sued in his capacity as
an NFO stockholder.

The Court concludes that because there is no reference to
Claire June as “any stockholder” of the NFO in the
underlying claim, then Defendant Great American has no
obligation to indemnify Claire June. While section II1(d) does
not possess “scope of duties” language, it does conspicuously
depict that coverage is extended to “any...stockholders” .
Quite simply, Claire June was not sued as an NFO
stockholder, and therefore does not come within the coverage
provided under section III(d). Instead, liability was sought
against Claire June as the sole shareholder of June’s
Trucking, Inc., owner of the truck involved in the accident,
and as the performer of faulty maintenance. Said contentions
do not fall under the coverage provided by section III(d) to
“any stockholder” of the NFO. Claire June was an NFO

35a

stockholder, but there are no claims raised against Claire June
as an NFO “stockholder” in the underlying petition. As subtly
phrased by Defendants, “[t]o permit Plaintiff to invoke II(d)
is to permit Plaintiff to go beyond the claims that were made
against Mr. June upon which his liability was bottomed and
which claims determined whether or not coverage was
afforded to Mr. June.” (Def. Brief, p. 18.)

B. Whether the accident occurred “while” Claire June
was “using” his truck.

Section III(d) provides coverage to “any
stockholder. ..using an automobile...while such automobile is
being used....” Defendants opine that Claire June was not
“using” his truck; instead, the truck was being “used” by
June's Trucking, Inc. Defendants also more basically contend

Claire June was not “using” the truck at the time of the
accident because he was not exercising any dominion or
control over the truck. In juxtaposition, Plaintiff elicits the
following four bases: (1) Claire June was “using” the truck
when the accident occurred because he was “operating” the
truck; (2) Claire June was “using” the truck because he put
the truck into service and the accident occurred while that
service was being performed; (3) Claire June was “using” the
truck because a corporate manager/principal who directs an
employee to use an automobile is “using” the automobile: and
(4) Claire June was “using” the truck since a vehicle is
“used” by both its owner and those driving it with the
owner's permission.

The Court finds that Claire June could not have been
“using” the automobile in his personal capacity, as it was
being “used” in furtherance of Junes Trucking, Inc. “As a
general proposition, the law treats a corporation as an entirely
separate entity from its stockholders, even where one person

36a

owns all the corporation’s stock” (emphasis added). Foodland
Distributors v. Al-Naimi, 559 N.W.2d 379, 381 (Mich. App.
1997) (citing Kline v. Kline, 305 N.W.2d 297 (Mich. 1981)).
Claire June owned the truck giving rise to the accident
causing the pending litigation; however, the truck was “used”
in furtherance of his corporation, June’s Trucking, Inc. as
opposed to being “used” by Claire June in his personal
capacity. (See Def. Ex. K.) The truck was hauling NFO milk,
which constituted part of the business of June’s Trucking, Inc.
Accordingly, the invoices were from June’s Trucking, Inc.,
and the checks were made payable to June’s Trucking, Inc.
(See Def. Exs. L; M.) These facts indicate that the truck was
“used” by the corporate entity and not by Claire June
personally. In fact, the underlying suit alleged it was June’s
Trucking, Inc. that was liable in allowing a negligent
employee to operate the truck in the course of its business.
(See Def. Ex. A, {4 18-24.) The only claim against Claire
June in his individual capacity involved maintenance and
repair he performed on the truck, but it was never asserted
that Claire June was personally “using” the truck. (/d., 4§ 25-
31.)

The Court finds no evidence that June’s Trucking was a
“mere instrumentality” of Claire June’s or that Claire June
abused the corporate form to facilitate engaging in fraudulent
or wrongful conduct. See Soloman v. Western Hills
Development Co., 312 N.W.2d 428, 431 (Mich. 1981)
(discussing “piercing the corporate veil”). Therefore, there
are absent any justifications to disregard the “use” of the
truck by the corporate entity. The Court thus does not deem
that Claire June was personally “using” the automobile.
involved in the accident.

The authority cited by Plaintiff does not disavow the
above conclusion. Plaintiff proffers numerous cases

37a

propounding that Claire June was “using” the truck on
grounds that he “put the truck into service”. However, these
cases to not involve the utilization of automobiles by
corporate entities. See Bowman vy. Preferred Risk Mut. Ins.
Co., 83 N.W.2d 434, 437 (Mich. 1957); Michigan Mutual
Ins. Co. v. Dowell, 514 N.W.2d 185 (Mich. App. 1994):
Samuels v. American Auto Ins. Co., 150 F.2d 221 (10" Cir.
1945); Budget Rent-A-Car Systems, Inc. v. State Farm Mutual
ins. Co., 727 So.2d 287 (Fla. App. 1999); Rogers v. MFA
Mutual Ins. Co., 554 §.W.2d 327 (Ark. 1977). Moreover, the
Court does not deem Atlantic Mutual Ins. Co. v. Palisades
Safety & Ins. Assoc., 837 A.2d 1096 (N.J. Super. Ct. App.
Div. 2003) analogous to the present case. Plaintiff cited
Atlantic Mutual Ins. Co. to establish that a corporate manager
is “using” an automobile when allowing and instructing an
employee to utilize said automobile. Atlantic Mutual Ins. Co..
however, is dissimilar to the present scenario, in that the
fighting issue in establishing coverage was not whether it was
the corporate entity or the manager/supervisor that was
“using” the automobile. In fact, the entire purpose of the
insurance policy at issue in Atlantic Mutual Ins. Co. was to
provide coverage to anyone, managers and employees
included, found to be “using” the automobile with the
permission of the corporate entity. Id. at 1099. Due to the
disparate circumstances, this precedence is unpersuasive.

Accordingly, Claire June was not covered under section
III(d) because (1) although an NFO “stockholder”, he was not
sued as “any stockholder” of the NEO, ar’ (2) he was not
“using” the truck in his individual capacity. k ther, the truck
was being “used” by Junes’ Trucking, Inc.

38a

ORDER

IT IS THEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND
DECREED that Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment is
hereby DENIED, and Defendants’ Motion for Summary
Judgment is hereby GRANTED.

Any costs associated with this action are therefore taxed
to Plaintiff.

IT IS SO ODERED this 8 day of June, 2004.

/s/
JOEL D. NOVAK, JUDGE
Fifth Judicial District of lowa

APPENDIX D

STATE OF MICHIGAN
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
FOR THE COUNTY OF WAYNE
Case No. 85-527157-NI

[Filed October 1, 2000]

HULDA N. SHURTLEFF, Personal

Representative of the Estate of

ROBERT C. SHURTLEFF, Deceased,
Plaintiff,

Ve

GREAT AMERICAN INSURANCE
COMPANY,
Garnishee/Defendant.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

ORDER OF DISMISSAL

At a session of said Court, held in the
City-County Building, Detroit, Michigan,
on Oct 1, 2000

PRESENT: THE HONORABLE _ Paul S. Teranes
Circuit Court Judge

40a

This matter having regularly come before the Court for
trial, and the Court having precluded certain claims under the
pleadings, and the Court having granted directed verdicts as
to certain of the claims, and the jury having returned a verdict
in favor of garnishee/defendant as to other claims, and the
claim for equitable estoppel having been severed;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that all claims of plaintiff,
Hulda N. Shurtleff, Personal Representative of the Estate of
Robert C. Shurtleff, deceased, as against garnishee/defendant,
which were alleged in the above-captioned cause, except as to
those referred to in the next paragraph hereof, are dismissed
with prejudice and without costs.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that pursuant to the
Stipulation of the parties, the claim of equitable estoppel
(defendant should be estopped from denying coverage) and
the claim that the primary defendant, Claire June, was entitled
to coverage under Great American Insurance Company
excess/umbrella policy (no. PRO6-27-84-59-01 issued to the
NFO) under the theory of “stockholder/member” may be and
are hereby dismissed, pursuant to the Stipulation of the
parties, and said dismissal is voluntary, without prejudice and
without costs, pursuant to MCR 2.504(a).

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that pursuant to the parties’
stipulation, plaintiff waives any right of post-judgment
proceedings and/or appeal with regard to those claims
dismissed with prejudice.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that nothing herein shall be
deemed to impair plaintiff's Judgment against the primary
defendants, which Judgment shall remain in full force and
effect except with reference to any partial satisfactions and/or
setoffs as a result of settkements with any other parties or

4la

garnishee/defendants or any credits which
garnishee/defendant Great American is entitled to, if any, by
reason of plaintiff’s settling with primary carriers for less than
their full obligation.

/s/ Paul S. Teranes
Circuit Court Judge

I HEREBY STIPULATE TO ENTRY
OF THE ABOVE ORDER:

/s/

RICHARD M. GOODMAN (P14169)
Attorney for Plaintiff

/s/
LEONARD B. SCHWARTZ(P20132)
Attorney for Garnishee/Defendant

APPENDIX E

STATE OF MICHIGAN
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
FOR THE COUNTY OF WAYNE
[Filed December 21, 1999]

VERDICT FORM

We, the Jury, make the following answers to the questions
submitted by the Court:

Question No. 1: Was the truck or trailer a hired auto as
used in the insurance policies in question
under the facts and the law applicable in
this case?

Answer: No J¥

Question No. 2: Was the truck and trailer an owned auto as
used in the insurance policies in question
under the facts and the law applicable in
this case?

Answer: No 4

Date: Dec. 21, 1999
Foreperson Signature: /s/ Shelly McKenzie Wilson

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1921%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
