# Respondents Brief — E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Co. v. United States (No. 06-726)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1790%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

GET TT PN

|
be (3) OFFICE OF THE CLERK |
No. 06-726 (_SU2°E. = COURT US. |

Jn the Supreme Court of the Giited States

E.I. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY, EFT AL.,
PETITIONERS

v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
SUF ELLEN WOOLDRIDGE
Assistant Attorney General

THOMAS G. HUNGAR
Deputy Solicitor General

KANNON K. SHANMUGAM
Assistant to the Solicitor

General

RONALD M. SPRITZER

ELLEN J. DURKEE
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 314-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a party that is potentially responsible for
the cost of cleaning up property contaminated by hazar-
dous substances under the Comprehensive Environ-
mental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
(CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. 9601 et seq., but that does not
satisfy the requirements for bringing an action for con-
tribution under Section 113(f) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C.
9613(f), may bring an action against another potentially
responsible party under Section 107(a) of CERCLA, 42
U.S.C. 9607(a), or under federal common law.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CI IE So nduo Vs Koodo vneusebveledeaneeer een 1
PE ince Vo rc eudavuecaeeursnes Givens aves 4
NE icc kedusass cbwhas baue tensa ee tee 2
RN 9 ils oak ks Se Ve unsere ian 9g
CIS ecb vice s bvisvte ne bascdkabiatees mie 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Atlantic Research Corp. v. United States, 459 F.3d
827 (2006), petition for cert. pending, No. 06-562
Sem pernerpiay ner guns Are 7,9, 10

Consolidated Edison Co. of N.Y., Inc. v. UGI Utils.,
Inc., 423 F.3d 90 (2005), petition for cert. pending,

No. 05-1323 (filed Apr. 14,2006) .............. 7,9, 10
Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Aviall Servs., Inc., 543 U.S. 157
CED. wk vd ads eh eRak ees eae e eae 2,4, 9

Mardan Corp. v. C.G.C. Music, Ltd., 600 F. Supp.
1049 (D. Ariz. 1984), aff’d, 804 F.2d 1454 (9th Cir.

SEE vnnwidaeoy coavesteeneeinoess Givenausod 5
New Castle County v. Halliburton NUS Corp.,

ibe poh dot oe: | re
Reading Co., In re, 115 F.3d 1111 (8d Cir. 1997) ...... 5,7
United States v. Bestfoods, 524 U.S. 51 (1998) .......... 2
United States v. Rohm & Haas Co., 2 F.3d-1265

PE BONED os £a.05 aw boa beh eee ee 5

(it)

IV

Statutes and regulations: Page

Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980,

Be 0 i bin 0 ch pcs vo bs bed rh 0s aes tier 2
Se CN endo tei he veducas ested ss 4,5
PA, TE UBS. BOOM) oo iin cde cdsccdscveces 3
Oe A 85k eb Kee tadecencncevicczuel
SIG), SE UBL. SET). o6 ccccvccevecsee passim
§ 107(a)(1)-(4)(A), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(A) ...... 3
§ 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(B) ...3, 10
$119) 4S UBS. SOD oi dc ccccecvecac passim
§ 113¢f)(1), 42 U.S.C. 96138(N(1) ... 2.2... 3, 4, 6, 11

§ 113(f)(3)(B), 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(3)(B) ... . 3, 4, 5, 6, 11
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976,

gS er ree tee ear ere rr one en 5
er ROE io kw Ree dO N a eee eaeseeviaes 5
Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of
1986, Pub. L. No. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1613 ............. 2
Miscellaneous:

Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme Court Practice
ES oa ied eurck heehee a See cow ew nena 14

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 06-726

E..I. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1a-75a)
is reported at 460 F.3d 515. The district court’s memo-
randum opinion concerning respondents’ motion for
judgment on the pleadings (Pet. App. 115a-121a) is unre-
ported. The district court’s earlier memorandum opin-
ion concerning respondents’ motion for summary judg-
ment (Pet. App. 76a-112a) is reported at 297 F. Supp. 2d
~ 740.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 29, 2006. A petition for rehearing was denied on
October 30, 2006 (Pet. App. 124a-125a). The petition for
a writ of certiorari was filed on November 21, 2006. The

(1)

2

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT

Like the government’s petition for a writ of certiorari
in United States v. Atlantic Research Corp., No. 06-562
(filed Oct. 24, 2006), the petition in this case presents the
principal question left open by the Court two Terms ago
in Cooper Industries, Inc. v. Aviall Services, Inc., 543
U.S. 157 (2004): Whether a party that is potentially re-
sponsible for the cleanup of property contaminated by
~ hazardous substances under the Comprehensive Envi-
ronmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
(CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. 9601 et seq., but is not eligible to
bring an action for contribution under Section 113(f) of
CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. 9613(f), may nevertheless bring an
action against another potentially responsible party un-
der Section 107(a), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a). In this case, the
court of appeals correctly held that a potentially respon-
sible party cannot pursue such an action under Section
107(a). That decision, however, conflicts with the deci-
sions of two other courts of appeals, including the deci-
sion of the court of appeals in Atlantic Research. For
the reasons stated below, the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be granted.

1. The relevant statutory provisions are discussed in
greater detail in the government’s petition in Atlantic
Research. Congress enacted CERCLA in 1980 in re-
sponse to the serious environmental and health dangers
posed by property contaminated by hazardous sub-
stances. United States v. Bestfoods, 524 U.S. 51, 55
(1998). As amended by the Superfund Amendments and
Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), Pub. L. No. 99-499,
100 Stat. 1613, CERCLA provides the President, acting

3

primarily through the Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA), with several alternative means for cleaning up
contaminated property. Most important for present
purposes, Section 106(a) permits EPA to compel, by
means of an administrative order or a request for judi-
cial relief, other persons to undertake response actions,
which EPA then monitors. See 42 U.S.C. 9606(a). Sec-
tion 107(a) imposes liability for cleanup costs on four
categories of “[cJovered persons”—typically known as
potentially responsible parties (PRPs)—associated with
the release or threatened release of hazardous sub-
stances. See 42 U.S.C. 9607(a). Unless they can invoke
a statutory defense or exclusion, persons who qualify as
PRPs are liable for, inter alia, “all costs of removal or
remedial action incurred by the United States Govern-
ment or a State or an Indian tribe not inconsistent with
the national contingency plan,” 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-
(4)(A), and “any other necessary costs of response in-
curred by any other person consistent with the national
contingency plan,” 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(B).

Before CERCLA was amended by SARA in 1986,
lower courts disagreed as to whether one PRP could
bring an action against another PRP for contribution or
cost recovery, and, if so, the source of authority for such
an action. See 06-562 Pet. at 4 (citing cases). With the
enactment of SARA, however, Congress added Section
113(f), which provides PRPs with an express cause of
action against other PRPs in two specific circumstances.
First, Section 113(f)(1) provides that “[a]ny person may
seek contribution from any other person who is liable or
potentially liable under {Section 107(a)], during or fol-
lowing any civil action under [Section 106] or under
{Section 107(a)]}.” 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(1). Second, Section
113(f)(3)(B) provides that “[a] person who has resolved

4

its liability to the United States or a State for some or
all of a response action or for some or all of the costs of
such action in an administrative or judicially approved
settlement may seek contribution from any person who
is not a party to a settlement.” 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(3)(B).

In Cooper Industries, supra, this Court held that, in
order to pursue an action for contribution against an-
other PRP under Section 113(f)(1), a PRP must itself
have been sued under either Section 106 or Sec-
tion 107(a). See 543 U.S. at 165-168. The Court ex-
pressly left open the principal question presented here
—namely, whether a PRP could bring an action against
another PRP for cost recovery under Section 107(a), see
id. at 168-170—but it noted that “numerous decisions of
the Courts of Appeals” had held that an action for cost
recovery under Section 107(a), on a theory of joint and
several liability, was unavailable, zd. at 169.

2. In 1997, petitioners, two major corporations and
a subsidiary, filed suit against respondents, the federal
government and various departments and agencies, in
the United States District Court for the District of New
Jersey, seeking to recover costs that petitioners in-
curred in cleaning up environmental eontamination at 15
industrial facilities they owned in nine different States.
Petitioners contended that, because the federal govern-
ment had previously owned (or exercised substantial
control over) each of those facilities, the United States
was a PRP for purposes of Section 107(a) of CERCLA.
Although petitioners initially brought suit under both
Section 107(a) and Section 113(f), they subsequently
dropped their Section 107(a) claim, on the ground that
the Third Circuit had held, in two intervening cases, that
a PRP could not bring an action against another PRP for
cost recovery under Section 107(a). Pet. App. 19a-20a &

-5

n.13, 77a; see In re Reading Co., 115 F.3d 1111 (1997);
New Castle County v. Halliburton NUS Corp., 111 F.3d
1116 (1997).

The district court subsequently designated the claim
by petitioner E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company
(DuPont) concerning a facility it owned in Louisville,
Kentucky, as a “test case” for purposes of pretrial pro-
ceedings. Pet. App. 20a, 77-78a. DuPont manufactures
neoprene, a synthetic rubber product, at the Louisville
facility. Jd. at 79a. Respondents conceded that the fed-
eral government was a PRP with regard to that facility
because a government agency owned the facility from
1942 to 1948. [bid. Because the Louisville facility pro-
duces and disposes of hazardous waste on an ongoing
basis, DuPont was required to obtain a permit for the
facility under the Resource Conservation and Recovery
Act (RCRA), 42 U.S.C. 6901 et seqg.; DuPont incurred the
cleanup costs for which recovery was being sought to
comply with specific provisions of its permit. Pet. 9 n.2;
see 42 U.S.C. 6925(a). Although RCRA contains no pro-
vision allowing a permit holder to recover costs or seek
contribution from other parties, costs incurred in com-
plying with RCRA may qualify as response costs recov-
erable under CERCLA. See, e.g., United States v.
- Rohm & Haas Co., 2 F.3d 1265, 1274-1275 (3d Cir. 1993);
Mardan Corp. v. C.G.C. Music, Ltd., 600 F. Supp. 1049,
1053-1054 (D. Ariz. 1984), aff’d, 804 F.2d 1454 (9th Cir.
1986). With regard to the Louisville facility, it was un-
disputed, first, that DuPont had not been sued under
either Section 106 or Section 107(a), and second, that
DuPont had not entered into a relevant administrative
or judicially approved settlement for purposes of Section
113(f)(3)(B). Pet. App. 20a.

6

3. Respondents moved for summary judgment as to
DuPont’s claim concerning the Louisville facility, con-
tending that, based on the undisputed facts, DuPont had
not satisfied the prerequisites for bringing an action for
contribution with regard to that facility under Section
113(f). The district court granted respondents’ motion.
Pet. App. 76a-112a. In reasoning consistent with that
later adopted by this Court in-Cooper Industries, the
district court held that DuPont could not bring suit un-
der Section 113(f)(1) because “[t]here is no Section 106
or Section 107 action,” id. at 88a; that DuPont could not
bring suit under Section 113(f)(3)(B) because “there is
no prior settlement,” id. at 90a; and that DuPont was
not aided by the savings clause in Section 113¢f)(1),
which provides that “[nJothing in this subsection shall
diminish the right of any person to bring an action for
contribution in the absence of a civil action under [Sec-
tion 106 or Section 107],” because DuPont could not
“meet the requirements of a traditional, common law
contribution action,” zd. at 96a.

4. Respondents then moved for judgment on the
pleadings with regard to the remaining facilities. The
district court granted respondents’ motion and dis-
missed the remainder of petitioners’ claims with preju-
dice. Pet. App. 115a-121a. The court reasoned that
“there is nothing in the record before this Court estab-
lishing or tending to establish with regard to any of the
remaining sites that any Plaintiff * * * either has set-
tleda * * * claim [for purposes of Section 113(f)(3)(B)]
or has been named a defendant in a (prior or on-going)
CERCLA § 106 or CERCLA § 107 action.” /d. at 119a.

5. While the case was pending on appeal, this Court
held in Cooper Industries that, in order to pursue an
action for contribution against another PRP under Sec-

7

tion 113(f)(1), a PRP must itself be sued under Section
106 or Section 107(a). Because Cooper Industries fore-
closed petitioners from arguing that they could bring
suit for contribution under Section 113(f), petitioners
instead argued on appeal that, in the wake of Cooper
Industries, they should be permitted to bring suit in-
stead under Section 107(a) (or under federal common
law). The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 1la-75a.

a. The court of appeals began by recognizing that it
had previously held that a PRP could not bring an action
against another PRP for cost recovery under Section
107(a) (or under federal common law). Pet. App. 10a-14a
(citing Reading, supra, and New Castle County, supra).
In reaffirming its rule that a PRP could not bring an
action against another PRP under Section 107(a), the
_court of appeals expressly rejected the approaches of
the Second Circuit in Consolidated Edison Co. of New
York, Inc. v. UGI Utilities, Inc., 423 F.3d 90 (2005), pe-
tition for cert. pending, No. 05-1323 (filed Apr. 14, 2006),
and the Fighth Circuit in Atlantic Research Corp. v.
United States, 459 F.3d 827 (2006), petition for cert.
pending, No. 06-562 (filed Oct. 24, 2006). Pet. App. 27a-
3la & n.18. The court of appeals reasoned that this
Court’s decision in Cooper Industries “did not explicitly
or implicitly overrule our precedents” but instead “ex-
pressly declined to consider the very questions at issue
here.” /d. at 33a.

The court of appeals then rejected the argument
that a rule precluding one PRP from suing another un-
der Section 107(a) would be “in direct opposition
to CERCLA’s broad remedial purpose.” Pet. App.
36a. The court observed that, “[wJhile it is clear that
CERCLA’s drafters intended common law principles to
govern liability, we have not found evidence in the legis-

8

lative history that Congress contemplated this would
extend a contribution right to PRPs engaged in entirely
voluntary cleanups.” Jd. at 40a. Moreover, the court
noted, “SARA’s legislative history * * * reveals an
express bent toward encouraging settlements.” /d. at
42a. The court concluded that “SARA’s settlement
scheme is inconsistent with * * * aright” to recover
costs for a PRP’s voluntary cleanup. /d. at 47a. Instead,
the court reasoned, “Congress intended to allow contri-
bution for settling or sued PRPs as a way to encourage
them to admit their liability, settle with the Government,
and begin expeditious cleanup operations pursuant to a
consent decree or other agreement.” /d. at 56a.

The court of appeals acknowledged that “it could be
that encouraging sua sponte voluntary cleanups by ca- ~
pable PRPs is in the public’s interest, and would be a
better way to protect health and the environment than
pressuring them into settlement agreements.” Pet. App.
58a-59a. The court reasoned, however, that “[t]his is not
self-evident.” Jd. at 59a. Instead, the court concluded,
“the debate over whether our national environmental
cleanup laws should favor prompt and effective cleanups
in any manner * * * or should favor settlements and
other enforcement actions * * * is a matter for Con-
gress, not our Court.” Jd. at 59a-60a.

b. Judge Sloviter dissented. She noted that “[t}]wo
of our sister circuits have recently considered the same
issue presented here and both have decided, contrary to
the majority, that section 107(a) can be used by a re-
sponsible party to-seek contribution from another re-
sponsible party.” Pet. App. 69a.

6. The court of appeals denied a petition for rehear-
ing en banc, with Judge Sloviter indicating that she
would have granted the petition. Pet. App. 124a-125a.

DISCUSSION

In the wake of this Court’s decision in Cooper Indus-
tries, Inc. v. Aviall Services, Inc., 543 U.S. 157 (2004),
there is a clear conflict among the courts of appeals on
the principal question left open in that case: i.e.,
whether a potentially responsible party can pursue an
action against ancther PRP under Section 107(a). The
government has filed a petition for a writ of certiorari in
United States v. Atlantic Research Corp., No. 06-562
(filed Oct. 24, 2006), in which it has asked this Court to
grant review to resolve that circuit conflict. Although
the court of appeals here, unlike the court of appeals in
Atlantic Research, correctly held that a PRP cannot
bring suit under Section 107(a), this case would also con-
stitute a suitable vehicle for resolution of the circuit con-
flict. Because the petition in this case will likely be ripe
for consideration before the petition in Atlantic Re-
search, and in light of the need for expeditious resolu-
tion of the recurring question presented by these cases
concerning the remedies available under CERCLA, the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

1. As the government explained in its petition in
Atlantic Research (at 9-14), and as petitioners correctly
note (Pet. 11-13), the decision of the court of appeals in
this case conflicts with the earlier decisions of the Sec-
ond Circuit in Consolidated Edison Co. of New York,
Inc. v. UGT Utilities, Inc., 423 F.3d 90 (2005), and the
Eighth Circuit in Atlantic Research, 459 F.3d 827
(2006). In Consolidated Edison, the Second Circuit held
that “section 107(a) permits a party that has not been
sued or made to participate in an administrative pro-
ceeding, but that, if sued, would be held liable under
section 107(a), to recover necessary response costs in-

10

curred voluntarily.” 423 F.3d at 100. And in Atlantic
Research, the Eighth Circuit held that Section 107(a)
provides a PRP with an express right of cost recovery
against another PRP, 459 F.3d et 834-835, and, in the
alternative, that “a right of contribution may be fairly
implied from the text of [Section 107(a)],” id. at 835. In
reaffirming its pre-Cooper Industries decisions holding
to the contrary, the court of appeals in this case ex-
pressly rejected the approaches of the Second and
Eighth Circuits. See Pet. App. 27a-3la & n.18. On the
other hand, the decision of the court of appeals is consis-
tent with numerous pre-Cooper Industries decisions
from other courts of appeals, which held that one PRP
could not bring an action against another under Section
107(a) in various circumstances in which the plaintiff
PRP could not avail itself of Section 113(f). See 06-562
Pet. at 5 n.2 (citing cases).

2. For the reasons discussed in greater detail in the
Atlantic Research petition (at 15-23), and contrary
to the arguments advanced by petitioners here, the
court of appeals in this case correctly held that one PRP
cannot bring an action against another under Section
107(a). The relevant language in that section provides
that PRPs shall be liable for “any other necessary
costs of response incurred by any other person consis-
tent with the national contingency plan.” CERCLA
§ 107(a)(1)-(4)(B), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a)(1)-(4)(B) (emphasis
added). The most natural reading of the phrase “any
other person” is that it excludes the persons who are the
subject of the sentence: 7.e., PRPs. And even if Section
107(a) could be construed to contain an implied right to
contribution, as petitioners suggest (Pet. 25-27), it would
at most contain a right to “contribution” in its tradi-
tional sense: that is, a right by one party to recover an

11

amount from a jointly liable party after the first party
has extinguished a disproportionate share of their com-
mon liability to a third party. Such an implied right to
contribution would not help petitioners, which have not
extinguished any liability to a third party and are thus
not seeking “contribution” as that term is traditionally
defined.

Even assuming, moreover, that Section 107(a), stand-
ing on its own, could be construed to confer on a PRP a
cause of action against another PRP for cost recovery,
that provision must be read in light of Section 113(f),
which provides a PRP with an express cause of action
against another PRP in two enumerated circumstances.
See CERCLA § 113(f)(1) and (8)(B), 42 U.S.C. 9613(f)(1)
and (3)(B). The better view is that the subsequently
enacted Section 113(f) specifies the exclusive circum-
stances in which one PRP may bring suit against an-
other under CERCLA. Allowing a PRP to bring suit
under Section 107(a) would render Section 113(f) effec-
tively superfluous and undermine CERCLA’s settle-
ment scheme, because a PRP that has not yet been sued
under Section 106 or Section 107(a) might refuse to set-
tle with the government in order to preserve its right to
sue under Section 107(a) (and thereby take advantage of
the substantially more generous provisions applicable to
such an action).

3. Although the court of appeals here (unlike the
court of appeals in Atlantic Research) correctly held
that one PRP cannot bring an action against another
under Section 107(a), this case would provide a suitable
vehicle for resolution of the circuit conflict on that ques-
tion. As this case comes to the Court, it is clear that
petitioners would not be entitled to proceed with their
claims under Section 113(f). See Pet. App. 61a-62a (af-

12

firming the district court’s decision to grant judgment
on the pleadings on the ground that, “based solely on the
pleadings, appellants have not set out facts sufficient to
demonstrate, even by inference, that they could possibly
prevail on their claim for contribution under § 113”).'
Like Atlantic Research, therefore, this case squarely
presents the question whether a PRP that is not eligible
to bring an action for contribution under Section 113(f)
may nevertheless bring an action against another PRP
under Section 107(a).

Petitioners suggest in passing (Pet. 2, 13) that this
case would constitute a better vehicle for the Court’s
review than Atlantic Research because the court of ap-
peals here held that one PRP could not bring suit
against another either under Section 107(a) or under
federal common law. That suggestion is erroneous.
Once a PRP moves beyond arguing that Section 107(a)
provides an express cause of action under these circum-
stances, it makes no material difference whether the
non-textual contribution right is claimed to be implicit in
Section 107(a) or instead to emanate from federal com-
mon law. Petitioners’ claim that federal common law
provides a right to contribution would fail for the same
reason as their claim (also advanced by the respondent
in Atlantic Research) that Section 107(a) contains an
implied right to contribution. Even assuming that Sec-
tion 107(a) or Section 113(f) did not displace such a
common-law right to contribution, it would at most con-

' While the case was on appeal, counsel for the government learned
that EPA had previously brought suit against DuPont under Section
107(a) with regard to one of the other facilities at issue. Upon the gov-
ernment’s recommendation, the court of appeals converted the district
court’s dismissal of DuPont’s claim with regard to that facility into a
dismissal without prejudice. See Pet. App. 62a n.33, 63a.

13

stitute a right to “contribution” in its traditional sense:
that is, a right by one party to recover an amount from
a jointly liable party after the first party has extin-
guished a disproportionate share of their common liabil-
ity to athird party. Thus, if the Court were to hold (ei-
ther in this case or in Atlantic Research) that a PRP
could not bring suit against another PRP based on an
implied right to contribution in Section 107(a), it would
necessarily mean that a PRP could not bring suit based _
on any analogous right under federal common law. This
ease and Atlantic Research therefore would constitute
equally suitable vehicles for this Court’s review.”

4. The petition for a writ of certiorari in this case
was filed after the petition in Atlantic Research. It ap-
pears, however, that the petition in this case will be ripe
for consideration before the petition in Atlantic Re-
search.® Although the government believes that there

* Athird case presenting the same question as this case and Atlantic
Research is currently pending, in which the Court invited the Solicitor
General to file a brief expressing the views of the United States. See
UGI Utilities, Inc. v. Consolidated Edison Co. of New York, Inc., peti-
tion for cert. pending, No. 05-1323 (filed Apr. 14, 2006). For the reasons
stated in that brief, which is being filed contemporaneously with this
one, the United States believes that UG/ Utilities would constitute a
less suitable vehicle for resolution of the common question presented
than either this case or Atlantic Research. In particular, that case,
unlike this case or Atlantic Research, does not present the question of
whether one PRP could bring an action against another on a non-
textual basis.

* The government filed its petition in Atlantic Research on October
24, 2006; the petition in this case was filed on November 21. Counsel for
the government informed counsel for the respondent in Atlantic Re-
search that the government would object to any extension of time that
would foreclose the Court’s ability to grant certiorari and hear that case
this Term, and counsel for the respondent indicated that he did not
anticipate needing to seek such an extension. On November 22, how-

14

are no material differences between the two cases in
terms of their appropriateness for review, the Court
may wish to grant review both in this case and in Atlan-
tic Research.’ In the event that the Court does so, it
should consolidate the cases for oral argument. If the
Court determines, however, that it cannot grant review
in Atlantic Research in time to allow both cases to be
heard and decided this Term, it should grant review in
this case and then hold the petition in Atlantic Re-
search. As the government explained in the Atlantic
Research petition (at 24-26), prompt review is desirable
in order to end the ongoing uncertainty in the lower
courts and provide definitive resolution of the question
presented by these cases concerning the remedies avail-
able under CERCLA.® ‘

ever—two days before the response to the petition would have been
due—counsel for the respondent informed counsel for the government
that the respondent would be waiving its response. The respondent did
not file either a response or a waiver form before the due date. The
Court subsequently requested a response, which is due on January 8.

* Inthis case, DuPont incurred the cleanup costs for which recovery
is being sought in order to comply with the specific terms of its permit
under RCRA, whereas, in Atlantic Research, there appears to be
no evidence concerning the respondent’s motivation in incurring its
cleanup costs. In the government’s view, however, a PRP is unable to
sue another PRP under Section 107(a) regardless of the plaintiff PRP’s
motivation in incurring the cleanup costs at issue. In any event,
petitioners in this case treat DuPont’s cleanup as a “voluntary” one (see
Pet. 9 n.2, 10, 13) and then argue that a PRP can sue another PRP
under Section 107(a) for the costs of any voluntary cleanup. See Pet.
17-18.

° The practical effect of the respondent’s failure to file a response or
a prompt waiver in Atlantic Research, see note 3, supra, would
ordinarily be to disable the Court from hearing that case in the current
Term, because the Court’s “{uJsual{]” practice is to call for and await a
response before granting review. See Robert L. Stern et al., Supreme

15

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted. In the event that the Court also grants the
petition in United States v. Atlantic Research Corp., No.
06-562, the cases should be consolidated for oral argu-
ment.

Respectfully submitted.

PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General

SUE ELLEN WOOLDRIDGE
Assistant Attorney General
THOMAS G. HUNGAR-
Deputy Solicitor General
KANNON K. SHANMUGAM
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
RONALD M. SPRITZER

ELLEN J. DURKEE
Attorneys

DECEMBER 2006

Court Practice 461 (8th ed. 2002); ef. id. at 462 (additionally noting that
“waivers should be filed promptly, in order to speed up the distribution
of the petition and the disposition of the case”). In light of the respon-
dent’s conduct and the obvious circuit conflict on (and importance of)
the question presented by these cases, however, it would be appropriate
for the Court to grant review in Atlantic Research, should it wish to do
so, without awaiting a response or, at a minimum, without waiting for
the case to be conferenced in the ordinary course. A copy of this brief
is being furnished to counsel for the respondent in Atlantic Research.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1790%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
