# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schneider v. Virginia (No. 06-600)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1675%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

eme Court, U.S.

No.____gg.¢ QQ OCT 27 2006
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States
¢

CHRISTOPHER PAUL SCHNEIDER,

Petitioner,

we

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Virginia

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

KEVIN E. MARTINGAYLE, ESQUIRE
VSB # 33865

STALLINGS & BISCHOFF, P.C.
2101 Parks Avenue, Suite 801
Post Office Box 1687

Virginia Beach, VA 23451

(737) 422-4700

(757) 428-6982 (Facsimile)

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the admission of Christi Schneider’s preliminary
hearing testimony violate Petitioner’s Sixth Amendment
right to confront the witnesses against him?

ii
LIST OF PARTIES

The petitioner is Christopher Paul Schneider, who
was convicted of rape in violation of Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-
61 (1999). The respondent is the Commonwealth of Vir-
ginia.

iil
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
re FE NONE socpineinenstsvessecsvenininnineninnennniianiites i
Be EE IEE scisasesasbcilinccenaniinensmibicbteneenbinchinniisionmbainieteen il
eC FA BIE BB eciciciticcenindvininicrivvinitiensanteanniain iv
Ey MIN TE siniiicaipinitvcncndicsgnnsmtincrvninianmmvnsiiaduninesieies 1
ae a iihicicidiiinihcciieentbinesndsctecvicaiintinnpcabiniecemnneidncwenaiin 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ............... 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.....ccccccosssscsrscccceccssererssscesese 2

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BEGRANTED... 5

I. The Admission of Christi Schneider’s prelimi-
nary hearing testimony violated Petitioner’s
Sixth Amendment right to confront the wit-
SOIT CIE TI vicitcscdessncevicinteetineunicaceidinaresves 5

A. The nature and scope of preliminary hear-
ings do not allow for the full and fair cross
examination necessary to satisfy the re-
quirements of the Confrontation Clause..... 6

B. Since Crawford was decided, a split has
emerged among the states regarding
whether preliminary hearing testimony
satisfies Crawford’s requirement of cross

I sciscnbesenessctcsavcssiiticnssacineiinesisinnns 9
C. Christi was not “unavailable” to testify at
NS iiiscdittndninvadaitodennnasctucdnetielticeinintcddnincilaenianes 11

D. The Court should adopt a uniform s‘an-
dard for determining when a witness is
PUT wibisnsdncsiecesutiiaictesetnbinadibtoisensnees 14

Fe ae aicicsitsiss divsihosiens van nsienasuniaelahiuccedounesven tenth 15

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719 (1968) .............c000008 5, 6, 11, 14
California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970)..........cccccseesesseveees 6
Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004)............. passim
Longshore v. Commonwealth, 530 S.E.2d 146 (Va.

OD assistant sniesibciebinktesaiinicntisinsabinacaniidues Shia tidbentvsdaucedeemeliéiaes 11
Maryland v. Craig, 497 U.S. 836 RE 13
Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237 (1895)............... 6, 14
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) ..........ceeeesessseeseeseeeeees 9
People v. Fry, 92 P.8d 970 (Colo. 2004)... eeeeeeeee 7,10
Schneider v. Commonwealth, 625 S.E.2d 688 (Va.

Se SU, EE Bitar ertsaccitehccensrnsentindestoipiandensierummmmnieindie; 11
State v. Dunn, 359 N.W.2d 151 (Wis. 1984)... eeeeseeeeee 10
State v. Henderson, 136 P.3d 1005 (N.M. Ct. App. |

EE iincsichccnadatennsadinicssicdsidiacanniameasquedaetmabanniataribiadnias 10, 11
State v. Stuart, 695 N.W.2d 259 (Wis. 2005) ............. 7,9, 10
United States v. Oliver, 626 F.2d 254 (2d Cir. 1980) ........ 12
VIRGINIA CODE
SIRO soiciss soknccsetsdsevavipteidicennaseooteedintdiviaveetieeneabaieaaas 2

DFT pccescsrsszescssnspncssvxsimnossidernrsisciessinsnrstantemonmnieins 12

RULES OF THE VIRGINIA SUPREME COURT

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
TLE CCIE DART ITO T TN ROE 1, 2,5

OTHER AUTHORITY
AE Ut UIT viicisksditiedinatidubhdaiieninnscaadibindandediieeeiaiemmumeniaats }

PE” “TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Chrisi. ..ier Paul Schneider (hereinafter “Schneider”
or “Petitioner”) respectfully petitions this Court for a writ
of certiorari to review the judgment of the Court of Ap-
peals of Virginia, which held that Schneider’s Sixth
Amendment right to confront the witnesses against him
was not violated by the introduction at trial of the pre-
liminary hearing testimony of his accuser, Christi Schnei-
der (hereinafter “Christi”).

¢

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals of Virginia held that Petitioner’s
Sixth Amendment right to confront the witnesses against
him was not violated by admitting the preliminary hearing
testimony of Christi Schneider at trial. The court’s opinion
is reprinted in the Appendix at App. 1. By order dated
August 1, 2006, the Supreme Court of Virginia refused
Schneider’s petition for appeal. That order is reprinted in
the Appendix at App. 14.

®

JURISDICTION

The order of the Supreme Court of Virginia refusing
Schneider’s petition for appeal was entered on August 1,
2006. This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257.

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States provides in relevant part that “[iJn all
criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right . . .
to be confronted with the witnesses against him|.]”

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Christopher Paul Schneider was charged with one
_ count of rape in violation of Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-61 (1999).
On October 3, 2002, a preliminary hearing was held in the
Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court of the City
of Virginia Beach. At the hearing, the Commonwealth
called Christi Schneider, the accuser and Schneider’s
stepdaughter, as its only witness. Christi was sworn in
and proceeded to testify regarding the alleged rape.
Defense counsel was allowed to cross examine Christi.
After considering the evidence, the court certified the case.
Preliminary Hearing Transcript (P/H Tr.) at 19:4.

A bench trial was held on December 3, 2002, in the
Circuit Court of the City of Virginia Beach. The Common-
wealth called Christi as its first witness. Trial Transcript
(T. Tr.) at 15:1-3. She was sworn in and answered several
questions regarding her name, age, and background. T. Tr.
at 15:1-16:4. However, when questioned about the rape
allegation, Christi refused to testify. She stated that she
would not testify because “I cannot handle it mentally, I
don’t think I’m capable of handling it.” T. Tr. at 17:17-18.
Christi explained that “[iJt’s stressful, and I just — it’s just
hard; and I’m not going to do it.” T. Tr. at 17:20-21. When
asked why she couldn’t handle the stress, Christi responded

° “fijt’s because I’m just going through a lot of stuff right

now, and this is just one thing I cannot handle and — .” T.
Tr. at 18:1-3. Elaborating on her statement that she was
“going through a lot of stuff right now,” Christi testified
about living without her mom and brother, living in a new
home with someone she had not known for a long time,
and attending a new school. T. Tr. at 18:4-19:12. She
admitted to being hospitalized for mental health issues
when she was nine but denied having been diagnosed with
any stress-related disorders. T. Tr. at 20:21-21:5.

The Commonwealth asked the trial court to order
Christi to testify, which it did. T. Tr. at 22:18-19. However,
Christi again refused. T. Tr. at 22:19-20. Immediately
thereafter, the Commonwealth, obviously aware before
trial that Christi was going to refuse to testify, moved the
court to declare Christi unavailable and to admit her prior
testimony from the preliminary hearing. T. Tr. at 23:10-23.
The Commonwealth stated:

Your Honor, at this point the Commonwealth is
going to request the court to declare Miss
Schneider’s testimony unavailable. She has made
it clear that despite the court order, she refuses
to testify. The Commonwealth has done every-
thing possible. We have gotten her here. I have
met with her in advance. I have explained, as the
court could see from her testimony, ... what the
consequences of not testifying about her stepfa-
ther’s actions would be; and yet she still contin-
ues to refuse.

T. Tr. at 22-23:9. The Commonwealth then referred the
trial court to various Virginia Supreme Court opinions
which it argued supported its assertion that Christi should
be declared unavailable and that her preliminary hearing
testimony be admitted. T. Tr. at 23:10-24:1. Defense

4

counsel, caught completely off guard, stated that “[t]hese
are the [cases] that [the Commonwealth] gave me this
morning, Your Honor. I have not reviewed these, but I
would like to respond to what she stated.” T. Tr. at 24:2-5.
He continued: “[S]ince the preliminary hearing, a lot of
stuff has come to light that I need to have answered by the
witness and — with reference to her direct examination.
And since she is not testifying, I - there’s many more
things that can come out that was not known to me at the
time of preliminary hearing that I need to be able to ask;
and I do not feel that it would be fair to the defendant to
allow that testimony of the preliminary hearing in by itself
without being able to cross-examine her.” T. Tr. at 24:11-
23.

The court recessed in order to review the preliminary
hearing transcript and to allow defense counsel to review
the cases relied upon by the Commonwealth. T. Tr. at 25:6-
11. The court ordered that Christi be placed in lockup
while the court was in recess in order to “give her a chance
to reflect upon what she’s done.” T. Tr. at 25:20-21. Ap-
proximately 30 minutes later, the court reconvened.
Christi still refused to testify. T. Tr. at 26:13-23.

Defense counsel again objected to admitting the
preliminary hearing testimony noting that Christi ap-
peared to be very strong-willed, did not appear fearful of
anybody or anything, and had apparently just decided not
to testify. T. Tr. at 27:15-19. He also continued to argue
that “it’s very important that I be able to cross-examine
her.” He explained: “We have contradictory evidence as to
what she’s told in the preliminary hearing, and I need to
be able to impeach her and to ask her questions about
other people’s statements as to what she’s told them; and I
can’t do that — or it’s going to be difficult to do that without

5

her testifying today.” T. Tr. at 27:23-28:5. Nevertheless, the
trial court granted the Commonwealth’s motion to declare
Christi unavailable and admitted the transcript of
Christi’s testimony from the preliminary hearing. T. Tr. at
29:1-21.

The court found Schneider guilty of rape. The record
reflects that the court’s finding of guilt was based almost
exclusively on Christi’s testimony. T. Tr. at 114:12-15. At
Schneider’s sentencing hearing, defense counsel moved the
court to set aside the finding of guilt on the ground that
admitting Christi’s testimony from the preliminary hear-
ing violated Schneider’s Sixth Amendment right to con-
front the witnesses against him. Sentencing Transcript (S.
Tr.) at 4:1-8. That motion was denied and Schneider was
sentenced to twenty-five years in prison, all but twelve
years suspended, supervised probation for twenty-five
years, and ordered to report as a registered sex offender
pursuant to the Code of Virginia. S. Tr. at 76:19-77:11.

4

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED

I. The admission of Christi Schneider’s prelimi-

: nary hearing testimony violated Petitioner’s
Sixth Amendment right to confront the wit-
nesses against him.

The Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment to
the U.S. Constitution provides that “[iJn all criminal
prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right ... to be
confronted with the witnesses against him.” This right
“is basically a trial right.” Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719,
725 (1968). Testimonial statements of witnesses who do
not appear at trial are barred unless “that witness was

6

unavailable to testify, and the defendant had a prior

opportunity for cross-examination.” Crawford v. Washing-
ton, 541 U.S. 36, 68 (2004).

A. The nature and scope of preliminary hear-
ings do not allow for the full and fair cross
examination necessary to satisfy the re-
quirements of the Confrontation Clause.

The “primary object” of the Confrontation Clause is to
prevent evidence from being used against a defendant
without the defendant having the opportunity to cross
examine the witness. Cross examination serves “not only
... [to test] the recollection and [to sift] the conscience of
the witness, but [to compel] him to stand face to face with
the jury in order that they may look at him, and judge by
his demeanor upon the stand the manner in which he
gives his testimony whether he is worthy of belief.” Mattox
uv. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 242-43 (1895). It is, as the
Court has stated, “the greatest legal engine ever invented
for the discovery of truth.” California v. Green, 399 U.S.
149, 158 (1970).

The Court has recognized that “[a] preliminary hear-
ing is ordinarily a much less searching exploration into the
merits of a case than a trial, simply because its function is
the more limited one of determining whether probable
cause exists to hold the accused for trial.” Barber, 390 U.S.
at 725, Additionally, one of the main objectives of the
Confrontation Clause, to allow the fact finder to observe
the witness and to weigh his or her demeanor, see, Mattox,
156 U.S. at 242-43, is entirely absent in a preliminary
hearing which is typically held in a different court and
before a different judge than the actual trial. For these
reasons, some state courts have excluded preliminary

hearing testimony even when the witness is unavailable to
testify at trial. See, e.g., State v. Stuart, 695 N.W.2d 259,
265 (Wis. 2005) (finding that because cross examination at
preliminary hearings tests “plausibility, not credibility,”
the opportunity to cross examine at that time does not
satisfy Crawford); People v. Fry, 92 P.3d 970 (Colo. 2004)
(finding that because of the limited nature of preliminary
hearings in Colorado, the d fendant does not enjoy ade-
quate motive or opportunity to cross examine during
preliminary hearings).

Moreover, in states such as Virginia that allow for
extremely limited discovery prior to the preliminary
hearing, the ability to cross examine a witness at trial
rather than during the preliminary hearing is particularly
important. In Virginia, the only discovery available to an
accused prior to the preliminary hearing is the ability to
hear, inspect, or copy “any relevant written or recorded
statements made by the accused ... to any law enforce-
ment officer,” and “any criminal record of the accused.”
Rule 7C:5 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia.
The result of this limited discovery is that the preliminary
hearing is often the first look a defendant, and his attor-
ney, has at the evidence against him or even the true
nature of the case. Therefore, any opportunity a defendant
or defense counsel may have to cross examine a witness at
that time is handicapped by an obvious inability to pre-
pare adequately for that examination. Following the
preliminary hearing, however, the defendant is entitled to
expanded, albeit still quite limited, discovery. See, Rule
3A:11 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia.
Further, information garnered during the preliminary
hearing, through the discovery process, or independent
investigation often yields evidence which calls into question

the evidence presented against the defendant during the
preliminary hearing. That new information may include
evidence which discredits testimony given by witnesses
during the preliminary hearing. Because that information
was not known to the defendant or his attorney during the
preliminary hearing, the witness could not be cross exam-
ined on that point. If the preliminary hearing testimony is
admitted as evidence at trial, the witness can avoid cross
examination on those points altogether. Not only is the
defendant deprived of his opportunity to confront the
witness regarding the new information, the fact finder is
deprived of its opportunity to observe the witness’s de-
meanor when presented with the new information; there-
fore, the fact finder cannot adequately ascertain the
witness's credibility.

This concern is clearly illustrated in the present case.
Following the preliminary hearing, defense counsel be-
came aware of evidence that called into question Christi’s
testimony during the preliminary hearing. It was revealed
that Christi had made similar accusations against Peti-
tioner and another man three times before but had re-
canted each time. T. Tr. at 46:6-9, 91:24-92:7. Further,
defense counsel uncovered a witness, Sheila Richards,
Christi’s mother’s best friend, who testified at trial that
Christi bragged to her two weeks after the alleged rape
that she had “set him up” and that she had voluntarily
performed oral sex on the Petitioner on the night of the
alleged rape. T. Tr. at 84:8-14, 87:6-14, 88:17-22. Although
this testimony was presented at trial, by refusing to
testify, Christi avoided ever having to answer any ques-
tions regarding this new evidence and avoided having her
prior testimony impeached. The trier of fact, in this case
the judge, did not have the opportunity to observe Christi’s

demeanor when faced with this new evidence and there-
fore could not properly judge her credibility.

Finally, allowing preliminary hearing testimony to be
admitted in lieu of actual testimony at trial sets a danger-
ous precedent ripe for abuse. Witnesses, or even some
unscrupulous prosecutors, may use this as a trial strategy
in order to avoid having prior testimony impeached or
having to answer to evidence uncovered after the prelimi-
nary hearing. At a minimum, the Court should limit the
admissibility of preliminary hearing testimony to cases
where the witness, due to death or some other meritorious
reason, is truly unavailable at trial. Such testimony
should be barred in cases, like the present one, where the
witness simply refuses to testify.

B. Since Crawford was decided, a split has
emerged among the states regarding whether
preliminary hearing testimony satisfies
Crawford’s requirement of cross examination.

In Crawford, the Court interpreted the Confrontation
Clause to require a showing of unavailability of the wit-
ness and a prior opportunity for cross examination. Since
that decision, a split has emerged among the courts of
various states as to whether testimony given during a
preliminary hearing satisfies Crawford’s, and the Confron-
tation Clause’s, requirement of cross examination.

The Supreme Court of Wisconsin considered the issue
in State v. Stuart, 695 N.W.2d 259 (Wis. 2005). The Court
reversed its prior holding in the case, decided under the
reliability analysis of Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980),
and found that the defendant’s cross examination of the
witness during the preliminary hearing was insufficient to

10

satisfy his right of confrontation as interpreted by Craw-
ford. Id. at 265. The Court based its decision on the
limited nature of cross examination during preliminary
hearings. Jd. at 265-66. The Court noted that “the prelimi-
nary hearing ‘is intended to be a summary proceeding to
determine essential or basic facts’ relating to probable
cause, net. a ‘full evidentiary trial on the issue of guilt
beyond a reasonable doubt.’” Jd. at 266 (quoting State v.
Dunn, 359 N.W.2d 151 (Wis. 1984)). The Court further
neted that any cross examination attacking the “general
trustworthiness” of a witness is “off limits” during a
preliminary hearing. Jd. (citations omitted). Similarly,
since the Court’s decision in Crawford, the Supreme Court
of Colorado has affirmed previous decisions of that court
holding that cross examination during preliminary hear-
ings does not satisfy the requirements of the Confronta-
tion Clause. People v. Fry, 92 P.3d 970 (Colo. 2004).

However, in State v. Henderson, 136 P.3d 1005 (N.M.
Ct. App. 2006), the Court of Appeals of New Mexico de-
clined to follow the example set by Wisconsin and Colo-
rado.' The court concluded that “the admission of a
‘testimonial’ statement given by a witness under oath in a
preliminary hearing does not violate the Confrontation
Clause under Crawford where: (1) the witness is unavail-
able; and (2) the defendant had a prior opportunity to
cross examine.” Jd. at 1010. Because the defendant was
given an opportunity to cross examine the statements

" The Court of Appeals stated that it believed its decision was “not
contrary” to those decisions because both Stuart and Fry relied upon
the limited nature of the applicable procedural rules governing
preliminary hearing testimony to find that Crawford had not been
satisfied. Jd.

11

made during the preliminary hearing, that testimony
satisfied Crawford and the Confrontation Clause. Jd. at
1010-11. This is essentially the same rationale relied upon
by the Court of Appeals of Virginia in the present case.
The court found that Virginia law regarding the admissi-
bility of preliminary hearing testimony has always
required both unavailability and an opportunity for cross
examination. Schneider v. Commonwealth, 625 S.E.2d
688, 613 (Va. Ct. App. 2006) (citing Longshore v. Com-
monwealth, 530 S.E.2d 146, 146 (Va. 2000)). Thus, under
both New Mexico and Virginia law, Crawford is satisfied
so long as the defendant had the opportunity for cross
examination during the preliminary hearing. Neither
state requires a showing that the opportunity for cross
examination was adequate.

Because there is a split among the states regarding
whether Crawford precludes the admission of preliminary
hearing testimony, guidance is needed from the Court in
order to resolve this conflict. The Court should resolve the
conflict by holding that cross examination during prelimi-
nary hearings does not satisfy the Confrontation Clause’s
cross examination requirement as outlined in Crawford.

C. Christi was not “unavailable” to testify at
trial.

Even assuming that cross examination of a witness
during a preliminary hearing satisfies the requirements of
the Confrontation Clause, that testimony is only admissi-
ble when that witness is unavailable to testify at trial.
Barber, 390 U.S. at 725-26. Christi Schneider was not
“unavailable” at trial. Not only did she appear, but she
answered several questions regarding her name, age, and

12

background. It was only after the questioning turned to
her allegations against the defendant that she refused to
testify.

The court had various tools, including contempt, that
it could have used to convince Christi to testify. Jt used
none of them. Holding reluctant witnesses in contempt is
perhaps the strongest tool a court has at its disposal for
compelling a witness to comply with the court’s order to
testify. Witnesses who refuse to comply with an order to
_ testify can be held in custody until they agree to testify.
See, Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-457 (1999) (authorizing impris-
onment upon finding of contempt). The trial court in this
case merely asked Christi to testify and, when she refused,
placed her in solitary confinement for approximately 30
minutes. The court did not even inform Christi of the
possible consequences of refusing to testify. Christi testi-
fied that she believed the worst that would happen is that
she would be fined or sent to a juvenile detention center. T.
Tr. at 21:14-23. She did not indicate that she knew the
length of incarceration she may face if found in contempt.
Virginia Code § 18.2-457 allowed the court to confine
Christi for up to ten days upon a finding that she was in
contempt. If she still refused to testify, she could have been
found in contempt again and been confined for an addi-
tional period. Faced with this knowledge, it is possible
that Christi would have agreed to testify. See, United
States v. Oliver, 626 F.2d 254, 261 (2d Cir. 1980) (stating
that “[iJt is always possible that a recalcitrant witness who
does not respond to judicial pressure will testify when
ordered to do so rather than face contempt proceedings for
refusal to obey the court’s order”). Further, it is possible
that had Christi actually been placed in custody for any

13

meaningful period of time she would have reconsidered
her refusal to testify.

The court had other options, short of incarceration,
that it could have used to compel Christi to testify. Had
the court inquired further into the reasons for Christi’s
refusal, it is possible that some arrangement could have
been made that would have alleviated Christi’s concerns
and may have satisfied Petitioner’s constitutional rights.
While not all substitutes for face-to-face confrontation will
suffice, this Court has approved, for example, the use of
testimony via close circuit television in cases involving
child victims of abuse. Maryland v. Craig, 497 U.S. 836
(1990). Although Christi, who was seventeen at the time of
trial, is not a young child, Craig is instructive because it
illustrates one option available to courts when a witness
cannot testify because a face-to-face confrontation with the
accused would be too traumatic.

Christi Schneider was not “unavailable” to testify. She
was present during the trial and even took the stand and
answered questions regarding her name, age, and back-
ground. She refused to testify, however, regarding the
allegations she had made against the petitioner. The
record reflects that Christi’s decision was her own and
that it was not the result of any threats to her safety or
the assertion of any privilege. Rather, her refusal was
based entirely on her belief that testifying was “stressful,
and I just — it’s just hard; and I’m not going to do it.” The
court did little to inquire as to the reasons for her refusal
or to compel her testimony. Instead, the court merely
accepted Christi’s decision and found her to be unavail-
able. Prior to making this determination, however, the
court should have explored the various options available to
it including holding Christi in contempt or, if Christi could

14

not be convinced to testify under normal conditions,
fashioning an arrangement that would have permitted
Christi to testify while preserving Petitioner’s rights
to confrontation and cross examination of the witnesses
against him.

D. The Court should adopt a uniform standard
for determining when a witness is “unavail-
able.”

Although the Court has held that the Confrontation
Clause demands a showing of unavailability before prior
testimonial statements can be admitted at trial, Crawford,
541 U.S. at 68, it has never stated the standard by which
courts should determine unavailability. The Court appears
to have based its determination of unavailability on a
case-by-case basis, never actually articulating a governing
standard. See, Mattox, 156 U.S. at 244 (unavailability
established where witness died prior to trial); Barber, 390
U.S. at 724-25 (unavailability not established where
prosecutor made no “good faith effort” to obtain incarcer-
ated prisoner’s presence at trial). The Court should clarify
exactly how courts are to determine unavailability and
should adopt a clear standard for making that determina-
tion.

15

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
CHRISTOPHER PAUL SCHNEIDER
Of Counsel

October 27, 2006

App. 1

Schneider v. Commonwealth,
47 Va. App. 609, 625 S.E.2d 688 (2006)

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF VIRGINIA
ARGUED AT CHESAPEAKE, VIRGINIA

CHRISTOPHER PAUL SCHNEIDER
v.
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Record No. 0628-05-1
Decided: February 7, 2006*

Present: Judges Elder, Clements and Haley

FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY OF
VIRGINIA BEACH, A. Bonwill Shockley, Judge

Affirmed.
COUNSEL

Brandon H. Zeigler (Wolcott Rivers Gates, on brief),
for appellant.

Susan L. Parrish, Assistant Attorney General (Judith
Williams Jagdmann, Attorney General; Denise C. Ander-
son, Assistant Attorney General, on brief), for appellee.

OPINION

HALEY, J. — The sole issue here for determination is
whether the trial court erred in finding a witness was
“unavailable” and in consequently admitting into evidence
a transcript of her preliminary hearing testimony at trial.
Finding no error, we affirm appellant’s conviction of a
violation of Code § 18.2-61.

* [Editor’s Note: Appealed to the Supreme Court of Virginia]

App. 2

) #

Appellant was charged with raping his stepdaughter,
C.S., in violation of Code § 18.2-61. At the October 3, 2002
preliminary hearing in the juvenile and domestic relations
district court, the Commonwealth called only C.S. to
testify. She stated that on April 25, 2002, while her mother
was away from the house on an errand, appellant called
her upstairs to his bedroom, fondled her, ordered her to
take off all of her clothes, and had sexual intercourse with
her. Because this pattern had occurred in the past, C.S.
testified, she made efforts to preserve physical evidence of
the encounter. She then ran to a neighbor’s house and
called her therapist, who called the police. After the
Commonwealth completed its direct examination, appel-
lant’s counsel (who represented appellant at both the
preliminary hearing and at trial) cross-examined C.S. Two
rounds of re-direct and re-cross examination took place
during the preliminary hearing. At the close of the hear-
ing, the court certified the case.

During appellant’s trial on December 3, 2002, the
Commonwealth called C.S. to testify. C.S. was age 17 at
the time. She answered background questions but refused
.o testify further once the topic turned to appellant. The
Commonwealth reminded her that she was under a
subpoena, but she still would not talk about the rape. C.S.
said she did not “feel comfortable testifying,” that she
could not “handle it mentally,” and that she was “going
through a lot of stuff right now.” After exploring her
mental diagnoses and living situation, the Commonwealth
asked if C.S. was aware of the consequences of refusing to
testify. C.S. responded that possible punishments included
fines and being sent to a detention home, but still would
not testify.

App. 3

At this point, the Commonwealth asked the trial court
to order C.S. to testify. The trial court impressed upon her
the seriousness of the charge, and then ordered her to
testify. C.S. declined to follow the order, and the Common-
wealth immediately moved to admit the preliminary
hearing testimony into evidence. The court recessed to
consider the Commonwealth’s arguments, review the case
law, and allow appellant’s counsel to consider counter-
arguments. During this approximately half hour recess,
C.S. was placed in the lockup in an attempt to change her
mind. After the break, C.S. still refused to testify, and both
sides declined to ask her questions. After hearing the
additional argument of counsel, the trial court found that
C.S. was unavailable and admitted her preliminary
hearing testimony.

The bench trial continued, including the testimony of
Connie Andrews, a sexual assault nurse examiner. An-
drews collected a sample of a dried substance from C.S.’s
stomach, which was the evidence C.S. preserved from the
encounter. An analysis of the sample revealed it to be
appellant’s semen.

Appellant’s defense consisted of only one witness:
Sheila Richards, C.S.’s guardian at the time of trial.
Richards testified about a conversation she had with C.S.
about two weeks after the incident in question. Richards
said that C.S. talked of having “set him [appellant] up”
and gave a different explanation for the origin of the
semen sample.

After the defense rested, the trial court found appel-
lant guilty of rape. Appellant appeals from this conviction.

App. 4

Il.

Appellant contends that the trial court’s admission of
C.S.’s preliminary hearing testimony violated his Sixth
Amendment right to confront witnesses against him.

In Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004), the
United States Supreme Court recently addressed the
conditions necessary, under the Sixth Amendment’s
Confrontation Clause, for the admission at trial of “testi-
monial” evidence given outside of trial. The Court held
that two conditions were necessary to satisfy constitu-
tional demands: the unavailability of the witness and the
defendant’s prior opportunity to cross-examine the wit-
ness. Jd. at 68. Although stated in dicta, Crawford clearly
considers preliminary hearing testimony to be “testimo-
nial.” Jd. For preliminary hearing testimony to be admis-
sible, then, it must meet Crawford’s dual requirements of
unavailability and opportunity for cross-examination.

More specifically, the Virginia Supreme Court has
stated:

The preliminary hearing testimony of a witness
who is absent at a subsequent criminal trial may
be admitted into evidence if the following condi-
tions are satisfied: (1) that the witness is pres-
ently unavailable; (2) that the prior testimony of
the witness was given under oath (or in a form
of affirmation that is legally sufficient); (3) that
the prior testimony was accurately recorded or
that the person who seeks to relate the testi-
mony of the unavailable witness can state the
subject matter of the unavailable witness’s tes-
timony with clarity and in detail; and (4) that
the party against whom the prior testimony is
offered was present, and represented by counsel,

App. 5

at the preliminary hearing and was afforded the
opportunity of cross-examination when the wit-
ness testified at the preliminary hearing.

Longshore v. Commonwealth, 260 Va. 3, 3-4, 530 S.E.2d
146, 146 (2000) (citing Shifflett v. Commonwealth, 218 Va.
25, 28, 235 S.E.2d 316, 318 (1977)).

Thus, our law regarding the admissibility of prelimi-
nary hearing testimony has always required unavailability
and an opportunity for cross-examination and complies
with the new requirements of Crawford without altera-
tion.

Within the test set forth by Longshore, appellant
challenges only the finding of unavailability.’

iil,

We review a trial court’s determination that a witness
is unavailable in the context of admitting preliminary
hearing testimony under an abuse of discretion standard.
Sapp v. Commonwealth, 263 Va. 415, 423, 559 S.E.2d 645,
649 (2002).

In Sapp, the Supreme Court of Virginia set forth the
minimum requirements for declaring a witness who is
present but unwilling to testify to be unavailable. The
party offering the hearsay testimony “must demonstrate a
‘sufficient reason’” for the witness’ unavailability. Jd. at
425, 559 S.E.2d at 650 (quoting Wise Terminal Co. v.
McCormick, 107 Va. 376, 379, 58 S.E. 584, 585 (1907)). The

' At oral argument, appellant admitted that he had a
prior opportunity to cross-examine the witness.

App. 6

trial court must question the witness on why he will not
testify. Jd. The court should at least order the witness to
testify, and “[a]lthough use of contempt powers is clearly
subject to the discretion of the trial court, a contempt
order in response to continued refusal to testify after being
ordered to do so should be carefully considered.” Jd.

The Supreme Court found in Sapp that the trial court
abused its discretion in declaring the witnesses to be
unavailable. There, two witnesses refused to testify, citing
“maybe one or two verbal threats” and “just hearing talk
here and there in the streets.” Jd. at 420-21, 559 S.E.2d at
647-48. The trial court told the two reluctant witnesses
that it would not force them to testify despite the vague-
ness of these threats and even assured one witness that he
would not “be put in jail for refusing to testify.” Jd. at 420-
21, 559 S.E.2d at 648. Finding the witnesses to be un-
available, the trial court then admitted their preliminary
hearing testimony.

The Supreme Court reversed the decision, however,
stating that only “[ulpon persistent refusal to testify
despite judicial pressures and an order to testify ... [may]
the testimony of a witness [ ] be declared unavailable.” Id.
at 427, 559 S.E.2d at 651. By assuring one witness “that
nothing would happen to him as a result of his refusal {9
testify and that his prior testumony would be utilized,” the
trial court had removed “any semblance of judicial pres-
sure.” Jd. at 426-27, 559 S.E.2d at 651.

In this instance, the trial court did order C.S. to
testify and placed sufficient judicial pressure upon her to
justify the decision declaring her unavailable. Before
involving the trial court, the Commonwealth’s attorney
questioned her as to why she did not feel comfortable

App. 7

testifying and outlined her mental situation resulting in
the decision. The Commonwealth reminded her she was
under subpoena and made certain she knew the potential
consequences of her actions. Appellant argues that be-
cause the trial court did not affirm the witness’ statement
of the potential consequences or independently state the
consequences, the witness was improperly declared un-
available. However, we decline to hold that a trial court
abuses its discretion in failing to affirm a witness’ correct
understanding of the situation.

The trial court stressed the importance of the proceed-
ings to C.S. and ordered her to testify. After she again
refused to testify, the court placed her in the “lockup”
while it considered whether to declare her unavailable.
After half an hour, the court again attempted to elicit the
testimony and again was rebuffed.

Although the trial court declined to use its contempt
power, this does not constitute an abuse of discretion
under Sapp. The trial court met the requirement of Sapp
when it ordered C.S. to testify. Further, the court placed
C.S. in its “lockup” for at least half an hour, probably the
strongest step short of contempt the court could take.
Moreover, unlike the trial court in Sapp, the court here
never acted to remove the “judicial pressure” to testify.
Specifically, the court did not tell C.S. that it would not
force her to testify, assure her she would not be punished if
she continued to refuse to testify, or reveal that it could
admit her preliminary hearing testimony. Because we will
not require a trial court to use its contempt power to
compel testimony, neither will we reverse a court when it
has taken other reasonable actions to pressure a witness.
Here, the trial court never acted to remove the “judicial
pressure” that the Supreme Court has emphasized. Thus,

App. 8

the trial court did not abuse its discretion when it found
C.S.’s testimony was unavailable.

IV.

Having concluded the trial court did not abuse its
discretion in finding C.S.’s testimony to be unavailable, we
hold the preliminary hearing testimony was properly
admitted at trial. Accordingly, we affirm appellant’s
conviction.

Affirmed.

App. 9

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
OF THE CITY OF VIRGINIA BEACH

HEARING DATE ~ : 12-03-02

JUDGE : SHOCKLEY
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
vs. CASE NO.: CR02-3990

CHRISTOPHER PAUL SCHNEIDER, DEFENDANT
SSN: 089-56-3009

DOB: 07-23-62
INDICTMENT FOR: OFFENSE DATE:
Rape Divers days 4-25-99-4-25-02

Court Reporter: Fiduciary Reporting, Inc.

This day came J. Shirey, attorney for the Common-
wealth, the defendant, in person, and L. Cardon, attorney
for the defendant.

NOT GUILTY PLEA

The defendant plead NOT GUILTY. With the consent
of the defendant, concurred in by the court and the attor-
ney for the Commonwealth, the court heard and deter-
mined the case without a jury.

The Commonwealth called the victim in this case as
its first witness of the presentation of their evidence. The
witness having refused to give testimony, was remanded
temporarily into the custody of the sheriff. With the
witness again refusing to testify, the court took no action
and released the witness into the custody of her guardian.

The Commonwzalth’s evidence was presented.

App. 10

At the conclusion of the Commonwealth’s evidence,
the Court denied defendant’s motion to strike the Com-
monwealth’s evidence.

The defendant’s evidence was presented.

After hearing all the evidence, the Court found the
defendant GUILTY of Rape, as charged, in violation of
§ 18.2-61.

REFERRAL TO PROBATION

The Court directed the probation officer of this Court
to prepare a presentence report.

The Court continued further proceedings to 02-10-03
for sentencing.

The Clerk shall send a copy of this Order to the:
Probation Office of this Court.
Sheriff of this City.

ENTERED: __ 12/5/02

/s/ A. Bonwill Shockley
JUDGE

App. 11

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT

OF VIRGINIA BEACH
HEARING DATE ~ : MAY 28, 2003
JUDGE : SHOCKLEY

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

vs

CHRISTOPHER PAUL SCHNEIDER, DEFENDANT
SSN : 089-56-3009

DOB : 07-23-62

SEX : MALE

SENTENCING ORDER — CASE NO.: CR02-3990

Attorney for the Commonwealth: J. Shirey
Attorney for the Defendant: M. Stallings & B. Ziegler
Court Reporter: Fiduciary Reporting, Inc.

The defendant was present and represented by counsel.

On December 3, 2002, the defendant was found
GUILTY of the following offense(s):

OFFENSE (F/M) DATE SECTION
RAPE (F) DIVERS DAYS FROM 18.2-61
04-25-99 THRU 04-25-02

The presentence report was considered and filed as
part of the record in accordance with the provisions of
Code § 19.2-299,

The Court denied defendant’s motion to set aside the
verdict and for a new hearing.

The Court reviewed and considered the applicable
discretionary sentencing guidelines and made the com-
pleted worksheet a part of the record of the case pursuant
to the provisions of Code § 192-298.01.

App. 12

Before pronouncing the sentence, the Court inquired if
the defendant desired to make a statement and if the
defendant desired to advance any reason why judgment
should not be pronounced.

The Court SENTENCES the defendant to:

Incarceration in the Virginia Department of Corrections
for the term of: 25 years.

The Court SUSPENDS 13 years of the sentence
conditioned on the following:

1. Good behavior. The defendant shall be of good
behavior for 25 years.

2. Supervised Probation. The defendant is placed .
on Supervised Probation and the defendant shall
comply with all the rules and requirements set by
the Probation Officer. Probation shall include sex-
ual offender abuse counseling and/or testing as
prescribed by the Probation Officer. LENGTH OF
PROBATION: Until released by the Probation Of-
ficer. PROBATION TO BEGIN: Upon release from
confinement.

3. Other. The defendant shall register as a Sex
Offender.

4. SOAP. The defendant shall participate in the
Sex Offender Awareness Program (SOAP), if
available, while housed at the Virginia Beach
Correctional Center; however defendant shall be
released from custody upon completion of jail
sentence and/or transport to DOC facility.

Distribution of Copies. The Clerk shall send a copy of
this order to the: Sheriff

Director of the Department of Corrections

Probation Office of this Court

App. 13

Payment after release. $ 805.00 Costs. Payment to be
made after defendant’s release from confinement.

Credit provision when time to be served. The defen-
dant shall be given credit for time spent in confinement
while awaiting trial pursuant to § 53.1-187.

Substance abuse screening and assessment for
felony convictions pursuant to § 18.2-251.01 If the
defendant has been convicted of a felony offense, not a
capital offense, committed on or after January 1, 2000, the
defendant shall complete any substance abuse screening, .
assessment, testing, and treatment as directed by the
Department of Corrections as part of the defendant’s
sentence. The defendant is subject to payment of al] or
part of the costs of the program or treatment, excluding
the costs of the screening and assessment, based upon the
defendant’s ability to pay.

The court recommends that the defendant be
screened to serve the active period of incarceration

at a DOC facility that provides Sex Offender Treat-
ment.

ENTERED: __ 5/30/03

/s/_A. Bonwill Shockley
JUDGE

Clerk: vbh

App. 14

VIRGINIA:

In the Supreme Court of Virginia held at the Supreme
Court Building in the City of Richmond on Tuesday the 1st
day of August, 2006.

Christopher Paul Schneider, Appellant,

against Record No. 060470
Court of Appeals No. 0628-05-1

Commonwealth of Virginia, Appellee.
From the Court of Appeals of Virginia

Upon review of the record in this case and considera-
tion of the argument submitted in support of the granting
of an appeal, the Court refuses the petition for appeal.

The Circuit Court of the City of Virginia Beach shall
allow court-appointed counsel! the fee set forth below and
also counsel’s necessary direct out-of-pocket expenses. And
it is ordered that the Commonwealth recover of the appel-
lant the costs in this Court and in the courts below.

Costs due the Commonwealth
by appellant in Supreme
Court of Virginia:

Attorney’s fee $950.00 plus costs and expenses
A Copy,
Teste:
Patricia L. Harrington, Clerk
By: /s/ Douglas B. Robelen

Deputy Clerk

App. 15

VIRGINIA:

In the Court of Appeals of Virginia on Tuesday the 7th
day of February, 2006.

Christopher Paul] Schneider, Appellant,
against Record No. 0628-05-1

Circuit Court No. CR02-3990
Commonwealth of Virginia, Appellee.

From the Circuit Court of the City of Virginia Beach
Before Judges Elder, Clements and Haley

For reasons stated in writing and filed with the
record, the Court is of opinion that there is no error in the
judgment appealed from. Accordingly, the judgment is
affirmed. The appellant shall pay to the Commonwealth of
Virginia thirty dollars damages.

It is ordered that the trial court allow counsel for the
appellant a fee of $725 for services rendered the appellant
on this appeal, in addition to counsel’s costs and necessary
direct out-of-pocket expenses.

The Commonwealth shall recover of the appellant the
amount paid court-appointed counsel to represent him in
this proceeding, counsel’s costs and necessary direct out-of-
pocket expenses, and the fees and costs to be assessed by
the clerk of this Court and the clerk of the trial court.

This order shal] be certified to the trial court.

Costs due the Commonwealth by
appellant in Court of Appeals of Virginia:

Attorney’s fee § $725.00 plus costs and expenses

App. 16

A Copy,
Teste:

Cynthia J. McCoy, Clerk
By: /s/ Marty Ring

Deputy Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1675%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
