# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Novak v. United States (No. 06-418)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1508%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2006

## Text

| Supreme Gourt, US.
(1, Sworame Gout

No. 9 6-418 SEP 21 2006

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

CHARLES NOVAK,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit

«

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

e

DIARMUID WHITE
Counsel of Record
BRENDAN WHITE
WHITE & WHITE

148 East 78th Street
New York, NY 10021
(212) 861-9850

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When a union official, unbeknownst to the em-
ployer, extracts kickbacks from employees — in the form of
a portion of their cashed paychecks in return for job
assignments — does the union official violate 29 U.S.C.
§ 186(b)(1), which makes it a crime for a union official to
receive a thing of value from an employer?

2. In holding that Petitioner violated Section
186(b)(1) by extracting kickbacks from employees, did the
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, where half of all
prosecutions for violations of Section 186(b)(1) occur,
create a constructive offense extending the reach of a
criminal] statute to conduct not proscribed by Congress?

3. In holding that Petitioner violated Section
186(b)(1) by extracting kickbacks from employees, did the
court of appeals disregard both the language of the statute
and its purpose, namely, to prevent employers from tam-
pering with the loyalty of union officials and prevent union
officials from extorting employers?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

The parties to the proceeding in the court whose
judgment is sought to be reviewed were as in the caption.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions Presented................::eceeeeeeeeeees iehiiesaaiaie i
Parties to The Proceeding Below ............ steceeesnseoeesees ii
Table of Authorities ee eee aia! suahenadeanesbias iv
RINE SEINE sc conscniivenecsenshusnibintanconeevensebernieenoneinionie 1
a adel enable nnmanen mR IaOne 1
Statutory Provisions Involved ............:csssceecseeeeerereees 2
IE, GE GD Gi iisrscicxiscnvctccravcteviascsinisonseneareietes 2
Reasons for Granting The Petition .................cseseeeee 5
IN scdiscinticteiccntaxkoniséutetendatesmpicenssressnrenivectnanin 11
Appendix
Judgment of The United States Court of Appeals
ae See SE III sepeceitch cae tnscevdcotneceonendacmninnenie App. 1

Opinion of The United States Court of Appeals for
NE EN icciecsnsincctesdrcennntiomdcseieivsvumenbedeioes .App. 4

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. 419 (1959).............. 6, 8,9
Brennan v. United States, 240 F.2d 253 (8th Cir.

BE oiveihcescaccouiidsasaneenash debigakduneadescuaniecdidsniialaccadseuiaaaiotan 6
Dowling v. United States, 473 U.S. 207 (1985).............0 10
Fasulo v. United States, 272 U.S. 620 (1926) .............eee8ee 10
Haley v. Palatnik, 509 F.2d 1038 (2d Cir. 1975)............000 9
Kornholz v. United States, 269 F.2d 897 (10th Cir.

MOND iiscicdiaterilddtindicduisakiniihasdadenip aedeaiiddcmatiaaine 6
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) ........... ee eeeeeeees 10
United States v. Billups, 692 F.2d 320 (4th Cir.

Di sicisiscisslcansieistereateastaicoibitiatiesdnsaaratelmmuadenae 6
United States v.. Bloch, 696 F.2d 1213 (9th Cir.

PE sictisccthakartéhdsiuddasinaiudatiidescesienidetionselsasipmanddinbindees ys 6
United States v. Carlock, 806 F.2d 535 (5th Cir.

MIT scsinh-dhcasSacsdsccisiuastacseasensamecin deemed inna tisiacemmutaaaael 6,7
United States v. Cody, 722 F.2d 1052 (2d Cir.

DE cccisslnhisintniintadaviagpasinasisiadenadediitiamiapanialings 4, 7, 8,9, 10
United States v. Gruttadauro, 818 F.2d 1323 (7th

Re FINED sins ipecstacabaopiakundeteidesedeoddpihbenisistanieadaaniaeduiaai mean 6
United States v. Phillips, 19 F.3d 1565 (11th Cir.

is iicacininsicesd ci ciciiieiiakidénddiapeastabatiancaaeednmeanas rede 6,7
United States v. Schurr, 775 F.2d 549 (3d Cir. 1985)......... 6
United States v. Toney, 527 F.2d 716 (6th Cir. 1975).......... 6

United States v. Walsh, 928 F.2d 7 (1st Cir. 1991) ............. 7

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
STATUTES
Bee APT TOPE chic ienennientnseninienieninisiiendenicaanicabieninaiaiimaimaiaanaen 3
Te ST achciinicicdestniiianihctentebiniiidiciauliedaniadaaitiailieaaiicniala 2
Sa SI SIE svecthceinateienqniiisnsceneakestbiieenietietsasediiannidanidins 2
Se arial TE. UE sx senuisucssaheisicsdiarepiiubbeciaecibaiasinicueiicipiiceabadediaiiie 6
ir NIE A 0 STINE eesisieintienacinanen setetetiadbiidebcidainie eamaimooneiaaaial 3
INP Dat ivissdianvioscidcieneleestianiaiecanatiiciesicisesaeteasielaneiiionial 3
re Oe eel ateirectsaphisecnisnnnaubcinuiscanisastestiaiansatnhamnilealonestabadaize 1
SUPA SITL Eas Ut TE cacontnionsschichiginenigisiiestsiogiiniebsdesiasanipeiiiaitdeaiinelbat passim
MISCELLANEOUS

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, 86th Cong. Ist
Sess. 1959, Vol. II

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner prays for a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit in this case.

¢

OPINION BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit, in an opinion reported at 443 F.3d 150 and repro-
duced in the appendix at App. 4, affirmed in part the
judgment of the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York, convicting Petitioner princi-
pally of unlawful receipt of labor payments by a union
official, in violation of 29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1), and racketeer-
ing, conspiracy and money laundering offenses predicated
on his violation of Section 186(b)(1). The court of appeals
subsequently disposed of unresolved issues on the appeal
in an unpublished summary order reproduced in the
appendix at App. 1. There was no district court opinion.

¢

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was. finally
entered on July 6, 2006, after all issues had been resolved.
(App. 1) This petition for a writ of certiorari is being timely
filed within ninety days of entry of the judgment, in
compliance with Rule 13.3 of this Court’s rules. The
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

¢

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Title 29, United States Code, Section 186(a)(1) pro-
vides:

It shall be unlawful for any employer or as-
sociation of employers or any person who acts as
a labor relations expert, advisor or consultant to
an employer, or who acts in the interest of an
employer, to pay, lend, or deliver, or agree to pay,
lend, or deliver any money, or other thing of
value —

(1) to any representative of any of his employ-
ees who are employed in an industry affecting
commerce.

Title 29, United States Code, Section 186(b)(1) pro-
vides:

It shall be unlawful for any person to re-
quest, demand, receive or accept or agree to re-
ceive or accept any payment, loan, or delivery of
any money or other thing of value prohibited by
subsection (a) of this section.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. A superseding indictment in the Eastern District P
of New York charged Petitioner, then a vice-president and
business manager of Local One of the International Union
of Elevator Constructors, with various offenses related to
his position as a union official, including receiving unlaw-
ful labor payments (29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1)), causing false
ERISA statements to be made (18 U.S.C. § 1027), mail
fraud (18 U.S.C. § 1341), money laundering (18 U.S.C.

3

§ 1956(a)), racketeering (18 U.S.C. § 1962(c)) and conspir-
acy (18 U.S.C. §§ 371, 1956(h) and 1962(d)).

2. The relevant offense conduct was succinctly
described by the court of appeals in affirming Petitioner’s
conviction, following a jury trial, for receiving unlawful
labor payments and derivative offenses’: for a variety of
reasons, collective bargaining agreements required con-
tractor-employers to pay union employees for certain
hours not actually worked (“no-show hours”); a time sheet
would be submitted for an employee claiming the hours;
and the contractor-employer would issue a check payable
to that employee. (App. 6)

Novak’s scheme took advantage of the contrac-
tors’ payments by requiring the check’s recipient
to kick back a portion of the wages received for
the no-show hours. These kickback payments to
Novak were made without the contractors’
knowledge.

(App. 6)

3. The Government had conceded in summation that
“the contractors in all these cases didn’t know that the
defendant was getting the money” (COA App. 126), then
argued with respect to the charge of receiving unlawful
labor payments that it did not matter whether or not the
contractor knew the defendant was getting the money:

* Petitioner’s convictions for RICO and RICO conspiracy, conspir-
acy to violate the laws of the United States, money laundering and
money laundering conspiracy are all predicated upon his conviction for
receiving unlawful labor payments. The court of appeals reversed
Petitioner’s conviction for mail fraud — which had provided an alternate
predicate for those offenses — and his conviction for causing false ERISA
statements to be made.

4

If money goes from a construction contractor
to the union vice president who doesn’t work for
the construction contractor, and even if that
money goes indirectly, that’s an unlawful labor
payment, period, as long as the defendant knows
it is coming from a construction contractor. Just
no excuses. Jt doesn’t matter if the construction
contractor knew that the defendant was getting

_the money or didn’t know. That’s the unlawful
labor payment.

* * .

[T]hese construction contractors are not know-
ingly issuing paychecks for the defendant to get
because if they did, they are committing a crime.
This has nothing to do with whether it works out
both for the contractor and for the union for them
to work out a settlement. That may well be true.
It doesn’t work out for the contractor if he is
committing a crime.

So the contractors in all these cases didn’t
know that the defendant was getting the money.
(COA App. 124-26; emphasis added.)

4. On appeal, the court of appeals framed the ques-
tion presented as “whether Novak’s conviction for violating
§ 186(b)(1) can be sustained if the contractors were not
aware that a portion of their payments to their employees
was being received by a union representative” (App. 7-8)
and answered it in the affirmative, rejecting Petitioner’s
claim that he had not received payments from employers,
as required by 29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1). The court of appeals,
relying solely on its interpretation of its own precedent in _
United States v. Cody, 722 F.2d 1052 (2d Cir. 1983), held
that Petitioner received unlawful payments from employ-
ers because “even though the payment does not violate the

statute, its receipt by a labor representative can do so,”
although, the court added, for this to be the case, “we
understand the rule of Cody to be that such conviction
requires a showing that the transfer from the employer to
the employee and the transfer from that employee to the
union official are so closely related as to constitute a single
transaction.” (App. 9)

The court of appeals then concluded that “the employ-
ees’ receipt of paychecks from the contractors, and the
employees’ subsequent payments to Novak, were so closely
related that a jury could conclude that the transfers in this
case, like those in Cody, were actually between an em-
ployer and a union representative.” (App. 11) The court,
however, pointed to nothing in the record indicating that
the employees’ receipt of paychecks from the contractors
and the employees’ subsequent payments to Petitioner
were any more “related” than is typical of an employee’s
receipt of payroll checks and disbursement of their pro-
ceeds.

*

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Since Half of All Prosecutions for Viola-
tions of 29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1) Occur in The
Courts of The Second Circuit, Certiorari
Should Be Granted to Avoid A Court-
Created “Constructive Offense” Extending
The Reach of A Criminal Statute to Con-
duct Not Proscribed by Congress.

1. Petitioner estimates that half of all prosecutions
for violations of 29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1) occur in the district

6
courts of the Second Circuit.’ Since the purpose of 29
U.S.C. §186(a) and (b) is to prevent employers from
tampering with the loyalty of union officials and to pre-
vent union officials from extorting employers, see Arroyo uv.
United States, 359 U.S. 419, 425-26 (1959), neither the
purpose nor the language of the statute is served by
extending its reach, as the Second Circuit has, to a union
official’s receipt of kickback payments from employees
without the employer’s knowledge. Such conduct is no
doubt prosecutable under the Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951,
but not under 29 U.S.C. § 186.

Except for the Second Circuit, no other circuit court of
appeals, so far as research has disclosed, has affirmed a
conviction under 29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1) where the employer
was unaware that a payment or other thing of value was
provided to the union representative.’ Certiorari should be

* A LEXIS search for the term “186(b)(1) & union” in the “US Court
of Appeals-Al] Circuits-Selected Criminal! Material” database disclosed
54 cases, 27 of them in the Second Circuit.

* See, e.g., United States v. Schurr, 775 F.2d 549, 551 (3d Cir. 1985)
(union officials received “secret cash payments” from employers for
labor peace); United States v. Billups, 692 F.2d 320, 331 (4th Cir. 1982)
(employer “passed Billups an envelope containing $2,000 cash”); United
States v. Carlock, 806 F.2d 535, 555 (5th Cir. 1986) (employer, at union
official’s direction, rented equipment from former daughter-in-law of
official); United States-v. Toney, 527 F.2d 716, 718 (6th Cir. 1975)
(defendant requested and received payment from contractor); United
States v. Gruttadauro, 818 F.2d 1323, 1325 (7th Cir. 1987) (employer
paid union official to avoid unionization of employees), Brennan uv.
United States, 240 F.2d 253, 260 (8th Cir. 1957) (employer “circuitously
conveyed” to union officials payments as part of plan to break strike),
United States v. Bloch, 696 F.2d 1213, 1214 (9th Cir. 1982) (union
officials demanded and accepted money from music promoter to ignore
union rule); Kornholz v. United States, 269 F.2d 897, 902 (10th Cir.
1959) (employer made payments on union official’s notes and charged
payments on company books as “labor relations expenses”), United

(Continued on following page)

granted to avoid expanding the reach of the statute beyond
conduct proscribed by Congress.

2. The statutory proscription against union repre-
sentatives receiving payments from employers, 29 U.S.C.
§ 186(b)(1), cross-references em loyers making the pay-
ments to union representatives, 29 U.S.C. § 186(a)(1). In
pertinent part, Section 186(b)(1) makes it unlawful “for
any person to request, demand, receive or accept or agree
to receive or accept any payment ... or other thing of
value prohibited by subsection (a),” and Section 186(a)(1)
in turn makes it unlawful “for any employer or [agent of
an employer] to pay, lend, or deliver, or agree to pay, lend,
or deliver any money, or other thing of value ... to any
representative of any of his employees.” The notion that an
employer need not know he or she is making the payment
is not a logical interpretation of the statute’s plain lan-
guage, which cannot reasonably be read to mean that a
union official “reque«t[s], demand[s], receive[s] or accept(s]
any payment” from an employer who does not even know
of any payment.

States v. Phillips, 19 F.3d 1565, 1566 (11th Cir. 1994) (steel producer
paid “kickbacks, in the form of illegal pension payments, to union
officials”).

In cases like United Siates v. Carlock, 806 F.2d 535, and United
States v. Walsh, 928 F.2d 7 (1st Cir. 1991) (while being compensated by
employer, urion member performed work on union official’s home), the
facts set forth in the opinions leave open the possibility that the
employer did not know the union official was receiving the thing of
value, but this circumstance was neither raised nor addressed in those
cases. The Second Circuit's own precedent, United States v. Cody, 722
F.2d 1052, is similar in this respect, as discussed below. In the instant
case, on the other hand, it was conceded by the Government that “the
contractors in all these cases didn’t know that the defendant was
getting the money.” (COA App. 126).

8

3. In Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. 419, which
held that a union representative’s misappropriation of
money lawfully paid by an employer to a union welfare
fund was not a violation of the statute proscribing receipt
of a thing of value by a union representative from an
employer, the Court added the following caveat:

This is not to say that the statute requires mu-
tuality of guilt for the conviction of either the
employer or the representative of employees. An
employer might be guilty under subsection (a) if
he paid money to a representative of employees
even though the latter had no intention of accept-
ing. A representative might be guilty if he co-
erced payments from an innocent and unwilling
employer.

Id. at 423-24.

This eminently logical caveat concerning “mutuality of
guilt” has taken on a life of its own in the Second Circuit,
where in United States v. Cody, 722 F.2d 1055,‘ and now
in this case, the court appears to have interpreted the
caveat to mean that the employer need not know of a

‘ In Cody, the “thing of value” received by the union official was
chauffeuring services by the employer’s fully salaried employees, who
performed no other duties for the employer. 722 F.2d at 1056. In
rejecting Cody’s claim-that the prosecution had failed to prove that “the
employers had intentionally given the services of their employees” to
him, id. at 1059, the court of appeals cited Arroyo for the proposition
that “nothing in the statute ‘requires mutuality of guilt for the convic-
tion of either the employer or the representative of employees.” Jd.,
quoting Arreyo, 359 U.S. at 423. Although the Cody opinion supported
the inference that the employer knew the chauffeuring services were
being provided to the official, the court of appeals in the instant case
stated that nothing in Cody “compels this reading” and that Arroyo
“suggested otherwise.” (App. 10)

9

union official’s receipt of something of value in order for
the official to have received it from the employer, a conclu-
sion not supported by Arroyo’s context or the statute’s text.

An employer who does not know of any payments is
surely not violating Section 186(a)(1) by “payling],
lend[ing], or deliver[ing]” money to a union official. The
employer’s lack of guilt, however, is irrelevant to the
question of the union official’s guilt, because, regardless of
the employer’s liability, the union official is not in any
event receiving any payment from the employer. The court
of appeals, on the other hand, in a sort of inverted analy-
sis, reasoned that a requirement that the employer know
of the payment would conflict with Cody, and by extension
with Arroyo, because “mutuality of guilt” is not a prerequi-
site for conviction. (App. 10). This, as has been shown, is
an erroneous application of the caveat in Arroyo.

The “rule of Cody,” as the court of appeals has re-
ferred to it (App. 9), that transforms kickbacks extorted by
a union official from employees, after they cashed their
paychecks, into payments received from employers, who
had no knowledge of such kickbacks, conflicts with the
terms of statute and with language itself.

4, That a union official “received” a payment from an
employer who did not know of it makes even less sense
when one considers the statute’s purpose, i.e., to “protect
the collective bargaining process by eliminating the
corruptive influence of side payments by employers to
union representatives” and “to prohibit employee repre-
sentatives from engaging in extortion against their em-
ployers.” Haley v. Palatnik, 509 F.2d 1038, 1040-41 (2d
Cir. 1975); see also Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. at
425-26; U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, 86th Cong. Ist

10

Sess. 1959, Vol. Il, p. 2360 (“The intent of these [1959]
amendments to section 302(a) and (b) [of the Taft-Hartley
Act, 29 U.S.C. § 186,] is to forbid any payment or bribe by
an employer ... and to forbid the receipt of any such bribe
by any person, whether an individual, an officer or em-
ployee of a labor organization or a committee representing
employees”). If the employer does not know of a payment
to a union official, it seems plain that the employer can be
neither corrupting the official nor being extorted by him.

Here, the employees, unbeknownst to the employers,
kicked back a portion of their cashed paychecks to Peti-
tioner in order to keep working, conduct no doubt criminal,
but not under 29 U.S.C. § 186.° And the employees cannot
be deemed agents of the employer and conduits for unlaw-
ful payments — by, for example, agreeing with the em-
ployer to pass inflated wages on to a union official — since
the employers did not know of the payments.

5. “There are no constructive offenses; and before
one can be punished, it must be shown that his case is
plainly within the statute.” Fasulo v. United States, 272
U.S. 620, 629 (1926); see also Dowling v. United States,
473 U.S. 207, 213 (1985) (“Federal crimes, of course, ‘are
solely creatures of statute’”) (citation omitted); United
States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 348 (1971) (“legislatures and
not courts should define criminal activity”).

But here the court of appeals has created a construc-
tive offense in concluding that “the employees’ receipt of

* Indeed, even if an employer had mere knowledge that a union
official was extorting kickbacks from an employee, it is doubtful that
the employer would be violating Section 186(aX1) by “payling],
lend{ing], or deliver[{ing]” money to a union official.

11

paychecks from the contractors, and the employees’
subsequent payments to Novak, were so closely related
that a jury could conclude that the transfers in this case,
like those in Cody, were actually between an employer and
a union representative.” (App. 11) In the absence of any
evidence that the employees’ receipt of paychecks from the
contractors and the employees’ subsequent payments to
Petitioner were any more “related” than is typical of the
receipt of payroll checks and disbursement of their pro-
ceeds, the court of appeals, not Congress, has defined a
new crime.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Dated: New York, New York
September, 2006

Respectfully submitted,

DIARMUID WHITE
Counsel of Record
BRENDAN WHITE
WHITE & WHITE

148 East 78th Street
New York, NY 10021
(212) 861-9850

Attorneys for Petitioner

App. 1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

SUMMARY ORDER

THIS SUMMARY ORDER WILL NOT BE PUBLISHED
IN THE FEDERAL REPORTER AND MAY NOT BE
CITED AS PRECEDENTIAL AUTHORITY TO THIS OR
ANY OTHER COURT, BUT MAY BE CALLED TO THE
ATTENTION OF THIS OR ANY OTHER COURT IN A
SUBSEQUENT STAGE OF THIS CASE, IN A RELATED
CASE, OR IN ANY CASE FOR PURPOSES OF COL-
LATERAL ESTOPPEL OR RES JUDICATA.

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit, held at the Thurgood Marshall
United States Courthouse, at Foley Square, in the City of
New York, on the 6th day of July, two thousand and six.

Present:

HON. SONIA SOTOMAYOR,

HON. ROBERT A. KATZMANN,
Circuit Judges,

HON. RICHARD K. EATON,
Judge.*

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellee,
v. No. 05-0108-cr
CHARLES NOVAK,
Defendant-Appellant.

* The Honorable Richard K. Eaton, Judge of the United States
Court of International] Trade, sitting by designation.

App. 2

Appearing for Appellant: DIARMUID WHITE, White &
White, New York, NY.

Appearing for Appellee: CHARLES S. KLEINBERG,
(Roslynn R. Mauskopf, United
States Attorney for the Eastern
District of New York, on the
brief, Peter A. Norling, of
counsel), Brooklyn, NY.

UPON DUE CONSIDERATION, it is hereby OR-
DERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED that the judgment
of the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of New York (Trager, J.) is AFFIRMED in part and RE-
VERSED in part, and the case is REMANDED for resen-
tencing.

By published opinion dated April 3, 2006, we affirmed
Novak’s convictions for unlawful receipt of labor payments
and for the RICO conspiracy and substantive RICO
violations. United States v. Novak, 443 F.3d 150, 156, 162
(2d Cir. 2006). We also reversed Novak’s convictions for
mail fraud and for making false statements under the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act. Jd. at 159, 162.
Finally, we ordered supplemental briefing on the impact of
our reversals on Novak’s convictions for money laundering,
conspiracy to commit money laundering, and “The No-
Show Jobs Conspiracy.” Jd. at 162. By letter dated May 2,
2006, Novak conceded that our reversals have no effect on
his other convictions, obviating any need for further
consideration of Novak's appeal.

For the foregoing reasons and those stated in our
earlier opinion, the judgment of the district court is AF-
FIRMED in part and REVERSED in part, and the case is
REMANDED for resentencing pursuant to United States v.

App. 3

Fagans, 406 F.3d 138, 140 (2d Cir. 2005). We also VACATE
the mandate that was erroneously issued on July 6, 2006,
and direct the clerk’s office to issue a new mandate, in due
course, consistent with this order.

FOR THE COURT:
ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE,
CLERK

By: Richard Alcantara, Deputy Clerk

App. 4

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Appellee, v.
CHARLES NOVAK, Defendant-Appellant.

Docket No. 05-0108-cr

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

443 F.3d 150; 2006 U.S. App. LEXIS 8187;
152 Lab. Cas. (CCH) P10, 640

November 18, 2005, Argued
April 3, 2006, Decided

COUNSEL: DIARMUID WHITE, White & White, New
York, NY, for Defendant-Appellant.

CHARLES 8S. KLEINBERG (Roslynn R. Mauskopf, United
States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, on
the brief; Peter A. Norling, of counsel), Brooklyn, NY, for
Appellee.

JUDGES: Before: SOTOMAYOR and KATZMANN,
Circuit Judges, and EATON, Judge.*

OPINION BY: Richard K. Eaton
OPINION: EATON, Judge.

Defendant-Appellant Charles Novak (“Novak”) ap-
peals from a January 7, 2005 judgment of conviction
entered in the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of New York (Trager, J.) following a jury trial.
Novak was found guilty of offenses related to his position
as a union official, including the unlawful receipt of labor
payments (29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1) (2000)), making false

* The Honorable Richard K. Eaton, Judge of the United States
Court of International Trade, sitting by designation.

App. 5

statements under the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act (“ERISA”) (18 U.S.C. § 1027 (2000)), mail
fraud (18 U.S.C. § 1341 (2000)), money laundering (18
U.S.C. § 1956(a) (2000)), racketeering (18 U.S.C. § 1962(c)
(2000)), and conspiracy (18 U.S.C. §§ 371, 1956(h) and
1962(d) (2000)). He was sentenced principally to 108
months’ imprisonment. Before us is Novak’s appeal of the
convictions for unlawful receipt of labor payments, mail
fraud, making false ERISA statements, and, consequently,
the conspiracy and Racketeering Influenced and Corrupt
Organization Act (“RICO”) charges. For the reasons set
forth below, we affirm the convictions for unlawful receipt
of labor payments and for the RICO conspiracy and
substantive RICO violations, reverse the convictions for
mail fraud and making false ERISA statements, and order
supplemental briefing regarding Novak’s remaining
convictions.

ie

Novak was the vice-president and business manager
of Local One of the International Union of Elevator Con-
structors (“Local One” or “the Union”). Among other
things, the Union’s members operate the temporary
elevators used to carry workers at construction sites in
New York City. Part of Novak’s job was to ensure that
employers (usually construction contractors) at the sites
complied with the Union’s collective bargaining agree-
ment. Novak received his salary directly from Local One.

At each job site, a “lead operator” supervised the other
Union operators and decided what hours they were to
work. In addition, at the close of each work week, the lead
operator filled out the employees’ time sheets, submitted

App. 6

them to a representative of the employer, and often dis-
tributed the weekly paychecks to the elevator operators.
The lead operator’s salary was paid by the contractor, not
the Union. Nevertheless, Novak determined which Union
members would act as lead operators.

The evidence at trial demonstrated that the submitted
time sheets regularly included hours not actually worked
by Union members. For a variety of reasons, however, the
contractors agreed to the submission of these “no-show”
hours. For example, the discovery that a contractor was
using non-union labor to operate the elevators might lead
to the issuance of a check to a Local One operator for
hours not actually worked. This payment would constitute
a settlement for the contractor’s violation of the collective
bargaining agreement. On other occasions, advance
agreements between the Union and a contractor would
allow the use of non-union labor, or permit a contractor to
employ Union elevator operators for fewer than the
contractually agreed-upon -hours. These agreements
required the contractor to pay the Union operators as if
they had worked those hours. In each case, a time sheet
would be submitted for a Local One member claiming the
hours, and the contractor would issue a check payable to
that member. Novak’s scheme took advantage of the
contractors’ payments by requiring the check’s recipient to
kick back a portion of the wages received for the no-show
hours. These kickback payments to Novak were made
without the contractors’ knowledge.

In order to gain the cooperation of the Union members
in his corrupt arrangement, Novak used his power to
assign jobs. Local One maintained hiring lists, which con-
tained the names of members who had been laid off or were
between jobs. According to Union practice, a preference was

App. 7

to be accorded Union members who had been on the list
for the longest period of time. In other words, those who
had been out of work the longest were to be the first hired.
Novak, however, with the assistance of his chosen lead
operators, would often ignore the hiring lists and instead
refer for work favored Union members whom he trusted to
participate in his kickback plan without objection. By
controlling the lead operators and the assigned Union
workers, Novak assured his receipt of the kickback pay-
ments. This activity served as the foundation for Novak’s
indictment and subsequent convictions at trial.

II.

“Tt [is] unlawful for an officer of a labor organization
to receive or accept anything of value from someone who
employs members of that labor organization.” United
States v. Cody, 722 F.2d 1052, 1057 (2d Cir. 1983); 29
U.S.C. § 186(b)(1). Likewise, it is also a crime for an
employer to “pay, lend, or deliver” anything of value to any
representative of his or her employees. 29 U.S.C.
§ 186(a)(1). “[A]Jny person’ who willfully violates this
section shall, upon conviction thereof, be guilty of a fel-
ony.” 29 U.S.C. § 186(d)(2). Novak argues that his convic-
tion under § 186(b)(1) should be overturned because the
contractors were not aware that he was receiving any of
the money paid to the operators. According to Novak, this
absence of knowledge by the contractors is fatal to the
Government’s charge. It is the Government’s position, and
that of the district court, that Novak’s receipt of a portion
of the contractors’ payments as kickbacks was alone
sufficient to justify a conviction under the statute. This
being the case, we must determine whether Novak’s
conviction for violating § 186(b)(1) can be sustained if the

App. 8

contractors were not aware that a portion of their pay-
ments to their employees was being received by a union
representative.

We first note that not all payments from an employer
to a labor representative are prohibited by § 186. For
instance, the statute provides an exception for certain
payments made by an employer for deposit in an employee
trust fund. See 29 U.S.C. § 186(c).’ Indeed, the Supreme
Court in Arroyo v. United States, 359 U.S. 419, 79 S. Ct.
864, 3 L. Ed. 2d 915 (1959), reversed the conviction of a
union official who deposited,-for his own account, checks
from an employer intended for deposit into such a fund.
While acknowledging that the actions of the union repre-
sentative were not devoid of criminality, the Court found
that the conduct did not amount to a violation of § 186.
Justice Stewart explained, “the checks were drawn by the
employers and delivered to the petitioner as payment to a
union welfare fund. Their receipt by [petitioner], therefore,
was not a violation of the federal statute, whether his
intent to misappropriate existed at the time of receipt or
was formed later.” Arroyo, 359 U.S. at 424. Thus, Arreyo
stands for the proposition that a lawful payment, lawfully
received, even if later converted, does not support a
conviction under § 186.

" The statute provides that:

The provisions of [§ 186] shall not be applicable . . . (5) with

- respect to money or other thing of value paid to a trust fund
established by such representative, for the sole and exclu-
sive benefit of the employees of such employer, and their
families and dependents.

29 U.S.C. § 186(c).

App. 9

Where employer payments received by a union repre-
sentative are not within a statutory exception, however,
the result has been different. See Cody, 722 F.2d at 1052.
In Cody, a jury convicted the defendant, the leader of a
local union, of “receiving illegal benefits from employers in
violation of 29 U.S.C. § 186(b)(1).” Jd. at 1055. The basis
for the conviction was defendant’s participation in an
arrangement whereby members of his union were paid by
their employers to perform construction-related work, but
instead spent their working hours acting as his personal
chauffeurs. Jd. at 1056. On appeal, defendant maintained
that the government failed to establish that the employers
intended to provide him with the services and, thus, that
his conviction should be reversed. In upholding the convic-
tion, this Court held “that nothing [in § 186] ‘requires
mutuality of guilt for the conviction of either the employer
or the representative of employees.’” Jd. at 1059 (quoting
Arroyo, 359 U.S. at 423). To convict the defendant, “it was
enough to show that the employers paid, lent or delivered
the chauffeurs and that [defendant] accepted their ser-
vices.” Id. Moreover, the Court rejected defendant’s argu-
ment that his case was outside the scope of the statute
because the services he received were from the employees
as opposed to the employers, by stating that “to hold that
these services came from other than the employers ...
would allow § 186 to be circumvented almost at will.” Jd.
at 1060. Thus, under Cody, even though the payment does
not violate the statute, its receipt by a labor representative
can provide the basis for a conviction under § 186(b)(1).
For this to be the case, however, we understand the rule of
Cody to be that such conviction requires a showing that
the transfer from the employer to the employee and the
transfer from that employee to the union official are so
closely related as to constitute a single transaction.

App. 10

Novak’s central argument is that Cody implicitly
recognizes that the employers knew that their employees
were providing personal chauffeur services. Nothing in
Cody, however, compels this reading. Rather, this Court’s
observation that mutuality of guilt is not a prerequisite for |
the conviction of either an employer or a labor representa-
tive suggests otherwise. Moreover, that observation is
consistent with the statute’s structure. While sections
186(a) and (b) state that the making and receiving of
certain payments are illegal without imposing an intent
requirement, section 186(d) provides that, for a statutory
violation to be found, an individual must have acted
willfully. See 29 U.S.C. § 186(d). Thus, because the em-
ployers in Cody did not willfully transfer something of
value to the union representative, they were not guilty of a
crime. Nonetheless, Cody’s willful receipt of the employees’
services, paid for by their employers, warranted his
conviction.

We find that the facts in Cody are significantly similar
to those presented here. The employers in Cody engaged in
the same conduct as the contractors in this case, i.e., they
issued checks to employees as compensation. In botk
cases, the employees then provided a union representative
with money or something of value resulting from that
compensation. In each case, the employers were the source
of the payment and the recipient was a union representa-
tive. The nature of the arrangements in both cases ren-
dered the transfer of the money or other benefit from the
contractor to the employee and then to the union official a
single transaction. That is, in Cody, this Court found that
there was no difference between the proven arrangement
and one in which the employers “simply paid the salary of
some person Cody had hired to be his chauffeur.” Cody,

App. 11

722 F.2d at 1060. Here, the kickbacks to Novak were
inextricably linked to the employees’ receipt of the pay-
checks from the contractors. Had the employees not
agreed, for whatever reason, to participate in Novak’s
scheme, they would not have received paychecks from the
contractors. Thus, the employees’ receipt of paychecks
from the contractors, and the employees’ subsequent
payments to Novak, were so closely related that a jury
could conclude that the transfers in this case, like those in
Cody, were actually between an employer and a union
representative. Because we find the scenario presented
here to be substantially the same as that found in Cody,
we affirm Novak’s conviction for receipt of unlawful labor
payments under § 186(b)(1).

III.
A.

Novak next disputes his conviction for mail fraud
under 18 U.S.C. § 1341. The foundation for the mail fraud
charge lay in Novak’s receipt, through the mail, of portions
of the money that the contractors paid Local One members
for the no-show hours. That is, the indictment charged
Novak with using the mail to defraud and to obtain the
property of the contractors. The statute prohibits using the
mail in furtherance of “any scheme or artifice to defraud,
or for obtaining money or property by means of false or
fraudulent pretenses, representations, or promises.” 18
U.S.C. § 1341. This Court has interpreted this statutory
language as requiring the government to show “proof of a
‘scheme or artifice to defraud,” which itself demands a
showing that the defendant possessed a fraudulent intent.
United States v. Starr, 816 F.2d 94, 98 (2d Cir. 1987)
(quoting 29 U.S.C. §§ 1341, 1343). While this language

App. 12

does not require the government to prove that the victims
of the fraud were actually injured, the government “must,
at a minimum, prove that defendants contemplated some
actual harm or injury to their victims.” Jd. (emphasis in
original). Indeed, “[o]nly a showing of intended harm will
satisfy the element of fraudulent intent.” Jd. Thus, the
question presented on this appeal is whether Novak, as a
part of the kickback scheme, contemplated harming the
contractors.

B.

According to the Government, the element of fraudu-
lent intent is satisfied by the contractors’ unwitting
participation in Novak’s plan. The Government’s conten- _
tion is that the contractors would never have issued
checks for the no-show hours had they known that a
portion of the money would be received by Novak, since
doing so would have exposed them to criminal liability for
unlawful payments to an employee representative under
29 U.S.C. § 186(a). Novak counters that no such harm to
the contractors was ever intended. Rather, the money
came from the Union members, thus suggesting that, if
any harm was intended, it was to the property rights of
the operators and not the contractors.

While not explicitly set out, Novak’s argument is that
there was insufficient evidence to find that he intended to
defraud the contractors. See Starr, 816 F.2d at 97. “We
review a claim of insufficient evidence de novo.” United
States v. Lewter, 402 F.3d 319, 321 (2d Cir. 2005) (citations
and internal quotation marks omitted). A defendant
seeking a reversal of the jury’s verdict on this ground,
however, “ ‘faces a heavy burden, because we must view

App. 13

the evidence in the light most favorable to the government
and ask only whether a rational jury could find beyond a
reasonable doubt’ that the appellant intended or contem-
plated some harm to the [contractors].” United States v.
Frank, 156 F.3d 332, 335 (2d Cir. 1998) (quoting United
States v. LaBarbara, 129 F.3d 81, 84 (2d Cir. 1997)).

~ While Novak’s burden is indeed heavy, when faced
with similar facts this Court has found the position urged
by the Government to be untenable. In Starr, the defen-
dants were owners of a bulk mail service. Customers of the
service would calculate the postage for their mail and then
issue a check to the defendants in that amount. Defen-
dants’ plan involved burying those pieces subject to higher
postage rates under the lower-priced bulk mail, thus
ensuring that the higher-priced mail would be sent at the
bulk rate and allowing the defendants to keep for them-
selves the difference in postage. See Starr, 816 F.2d at 96.
Given the relatively brief searches undertaken by Postal
Officials, the defendants’ scheme was, for a time, success-
ful. Once their plan was uncovered, the government
charged them with having violated the mail fraud statute
by defrauding their customers. Jd. at 95. In reversing the
jury's guilty verdict, this Court found that, although the
customers were unquestionably deceived, no evidence
indicated that the defendants intended to defraud them.
Id. at 99. In other words, while the customers’ assumption
that the money they paid to defendants would be directed
toward a lawful purpose did “implicitly constitute a part of
the bargain between the parties, that defeated expectation
alone [did] not affect the nature or quality of the services
{sic} that was the basis of the customers’ bargain.” Id. at
99-100. Therefore, this Court found that defendants
possessed no intent to defraud their customers because

App. 14

“the customers received exactly what they paid for.” Jd. at
98.

The Government argues that the holding in Starr has
been modified by this Court’s subsequent opinions in
United States v. Schwartz, 924 F.2d 410 (2d Cir. 1991),
United States v. Frank, 156 F.3d 332 (2d Cir. 1998), and
United States v. Walker, 191 F.3d 326 (2d Cir. 1999). For
the Government, these opinions permit a conviction under
the mail fraud statute if the victims would not have
entered into the transaction had they known of the decep-
tion. We examine each cited case in turn.

In United States v. Schwartz, the defendants bought
night vision goggles by falsely promising to abide by the
manufacturer’s explicit conditions that: (1) the merchan-
dise not leave the United States until the proper export
certificates were obtained; (2) the identity of the end user
be revealed; and (3) the merchandise not be sold in viola-
tion of the applicable arms export laws. See Schwartz, 924
F.2d at 414, 420-21. Despite their promises to fulfill these
conditions, the defendants smuggled the merchandise into
Argentina, provided the manufacturer with a false end
user, and sold the merchandise in violation of the arms
exports laws. Id. at 414. The defendants were then
charged with wire fraud under 18 U.S.C. § 1343’ for
“falsely representing, over interstate wires, that proper
arms export licenses would be obtained before the goggles
were shipped outside the United States.” United States v.

* The Schwartz Court noted that “[blecause the mail fraud and the
wire fraud statutes use the same relevant language, we analyze them
the same way.” Schwartz, 924 F.2d at 416 (citation omitted).

App. 15

Berg, 710 F. Supp. 438, 439 (E.D.N.Y. 1989).* Upon appeal
of the conviction, this Court found that the receipt of full
monetary compensation for the goods, and thus the avoid-
ance of pecuniary harm, did not necessarily mean that the
manufacturer, a government contractor, “received all it
bargained for.” Schwartz, 924 F.2d at 421. Indeed, the
Court found that the illegal export and sale of the mer-
chandise “deprived [the manufacturer] of the right to
define the terms for the sale-of its property,” and resulted
in a loss of business good will. Jd. Given the central nature
of the promises to the completion of the sale, the Court
held that defendants’ “misrepresentations went to an
essential element of the bargain.” Jd. Thus, even though
full payment was made for the merchandise, an intent to
harm the manufacturer was shown by the defendants’ acts
and the conviction was affirmed. Jd.

In United States v. Frank, the transaction involved a
contract between a sewage transport company and various
New York State municipalities for the removal of raw
sewage and its subsequent disposal at sea. Newly enacted
federal regulations required that the raw sewage be
disposed of 106 miles from the shore, a significant increase
from the previous distance of twelve miles. See Frank, 156
F.3d at 334-35. The contract called for the municipalities
to be charged based on the operating costs incurred for
moving the sewage the full distance. Id. at 335. The
evidence indicated that the municipalities “paid a pre-
mium for that service.” Jd. Nevertheless, the transport
company continually dumped the waste at distances far
less than those contracted for, thereby resulting in a

* When tried by the district court, the case appealed in Schwartz
was referred to as United States v. Berg.

App. 16

windfall equal to the difference between the contract price
and the actual operating costs. Jd. As in Starr, the defen-
dant argued that the municipalities had received exactly
what they bargained for, i.e., sewage removal. This Court
found the argument to be without merit given the pre-
mium paid by the municipalities for disposal of the waste
at the federally required distance. Jd. That is, compliance
with the regulations was an essential part of the bargain
and thus, unlike in Starr, the municipalities did not get
what they paid for. This Court, therefore, found the
evidence sufficient to establish that the transport company
possessed an intent to harm the municipalities. Jd.

Finally, in United States v. Walker, the defendants, an
immigration attorney and a language interpreter, chal-
lenged their convictions for mail fraud based on a scheme
in which they filed fraudulent work authorization and
asylum applications with the Immigration and Naturaliza-
tion Service on behalf of their clients. See Walker, 191 F.3d
at 331-32. As part of the plan, the clients signed blank
forms, which the defendants subsequently completed with
one of a series of stories previously found to garner a
successful result in the application process. Jd. Acknowl-
edging that “[the] case [bore] a surface resemblance to
United States v. Starr,” this Court went on to distinguish it
on its facts. Jd. at 335. Unlike the defendants in Starr, the
defendants in Walker “consistently misrepresented to their
clients the nature and quality of the legal services they
were providing.” Jd. This Court further noted that “in
Starr, the clients dealt with the defendants just as they
would have dealt with an honest business. [In Walker], the
clients were obliged to become parties to a dishonest scheme
and were required to sign false statements themselves.” Id.
at 336. Indeed, “the applications embroiled several of [the

App. 17

clients] in legal difficulty, forcing them to sign cooperation
agreements to avoid prosecution.” Jd. at 336 n.1. As a
result, this Court found that “there was sufficient proof
that Walker intended to harm his clients by charging
substantial fees for dishonest legal representation.” Jd. at
336. Thus, because the clients did not get what they
bargained for, this Court found that the defendants in-
tended to cause them harm. Jd.

We find unconvincing the Government’s argument
that the instant case falls within the ambit of Schwariz,
Frank, and Walker. An intent to harm a party to a transac-
tion cannot be found where the evidence merely indicates
that the services contracted for were dishonestly com-
pleted. That is the teaching in Starr. In Schwartz, Frank,
and Walker, an intent to harm was found because the
defendants’ compliance with the law in carrying out their
contractual obligations was a fundamental part of the
bargain between the parties. Although the Government
insists that the contractors would not have paid for the no-
show hours had they been aware that Novak would receive
a portion of the money, that hypothetical contention is
inadequate to support a finding of fraudulent intent. To
support a mail fraud claim, “the harm contemplated [in a
scheme to defraud] must affect the very nature of the
bargain itself. Such harm is apparent where there exists a
‘discrepancy between benefits reasonably anticipated
because of the misleading representations and the actual
benefits which the defendant delivered, or intended to
deliver.’” Starr, 816 F.2d at 98 (quoting United States v.
Regent Office Supply Co., 421 F.2d 1174, 1182 (2d Cir.
1970)). Here, as in Starr, the contractors received all they
bargained for, and Novak’s conduct did not affect an
essential element of those bargains. Without more, the

App. 18

evidence is insufficient to show the requisite intent to
harm. Because the Government failed to carry its burden
of establishing that Novak intended to harm the contrac-
tors, we find the evidence insufficient to support the jury’s
verdict regarding the mail fraud charge, and thus reverse
Novak’s conviction on that count.

IV.
A.

Next, Novak asserts that his convictions under 18
U.S.C. § 1027° on three counts of making false ERISA
statements should be overturned because the Eastern
District of New York was not a proper venue for these
charges. The statements that were the basis of these
counts were reports made pursuant to Title I of ERISA
relating to employee welfare and benefit plans. Specifi-
cally, it was alleged that Novak knowingly and intention-
ally reported in ERISA documents false information
regarding the no-show hours attributed to several Union

* Section 1027 provides that:

Whoever, in any document required by title I of the Em-
ployee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (as amended
from time to time) to be published, or kept as part of the re-
cords of any employee welfare benefit plan or employee pen-
sion benefit plan, or certified to the administrator of any
such plan, makes any false statement or representation of
fact, knowing it to be false, or knowingly conceals, covers
up, or fails to disclose any fact the disclosure of which is re-
quired by such title or is necessary to verify, explain, clarify
or check for accuracy and completeness any report required
by such title to be published or any information required by
such title to be certified, shall be fined under this title, or
imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1027.

App. 19

members. At the close of the Government’s case, Novak
made a motion pursuant to Rule 29 of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure’ for a judgment of acquittal on these
counts, asserting that venue in the Eastern District of
New York was improper because the evidence demon-
strated that the conduct on which the charges were based
took place solely in the Southern District of New York.’
The Government concedes that the Eastern District was
not a proper venue for the charges, but argues that the
venue defect was apparent on the face of the indictment,
and that Novak thus waived his right to contest venue by
failing to object prior to trial. The district court agreed and
denied Novak’s motion.

B.

“Both Rule 18 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Proce-
dure and the Constitution require that a person be tried

* Under the Federal Rules of Criminal! Procedure:

After the government closes its evidence or after the close of
all the evidence, the court on the defendant’s motion must
enter a judgment of acquittal of any offense for which the
evidence is insufficient to sustain a conviction. The court
may on its own consider whether the evidence is insufficient
to sustain a conviction. If the court denies a motion for a
judgment of acquittal at the~close of the government’s evi-
dence, the defendant may offer evidence without having re-
served the right to do so.

Fed. R. Crim. P. 29(a).

* Novak, having been acquitted of the other charges included in the
Rule 29(a) motion, the only offenses contained.in the motion relevant to
this appeal are those regarding the false ERISA statements.

App. 20

for an offense where that offense is committed.” United
States v. Cabrales, 524 U.S. 1, 5, 118 S.Ct. 1772, 141
L. Ed. 2d 1 (1998) (citations and internal quotation marks
omitted); see also United States v. Anderson, 328 U.S. 699,
703, 66 S. Ct. 1213, 90 L. Ed. 1529 (1946) (“The locus
delicti must be determined from the nature of the crime
alleged and the location of the act or acts constituting it.”).
Indeed, the Constitution protects a criminal defendant’s
right to proper venue in two places: Article III; and the
Sixth Amendment.® An example of the strength of that
protection is manifested in the principle that, when an
indictment charges a defendant with multiple counts,
“yenue must be proper with respect to each count.” United
States v. Beech-Nut Nutrition Corp., 871 F.2d 1181, 1188
(2d Cir. 1989).

“The constitutional underpinning and importance of
proper venue dictate that waiver of objections to venue
should not be readily inferred.” United States v. Price, 447
F.2d 23, 27 (2d Cir. 1971). That being the case, this Court
has found a waiver of the right to challenge venue in a

” Pursuant to Rule 18 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:

Unless a statute or these rules permit otherwise, the gov-
ernment must prosecute an offense in a district where the
offense was committed. The court must set the place of trial
within the district with due regard for the convenience of
the defendant and the witnesses, and the prompt admini-
stration of justice.

Fed. R. Crim. P. 18.

* Article III, § 2, cl. 3 of the Constitution provides that “the Trial of
all Crimes ... shall be held in the State where the said Crimes shall
have been committed.” Similarly, the Sixth Amendment requires that
“in all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a
speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district
wherein the crime shall have been committed.”

App. 21

criminal trial only under extraordinary circumstances.
One such circumstance is “when the indictment or state-
ments by the prosecutor clearly reveal [a venue] defect but
the defendant fails to object.” Id.; see also United States v.
Khan, 821 F.2d 90, 93 (2d Cir. 1987) (finding waiver in
light of a clear defect in venue apparent on the face of the
indictment); United States v. Levasseur, 816 F.2d 37, 45 (2d
Cir. 1987) (agreeing with the district court that defendant
had waived his right to contest venue at the close of
evidence where “the indictment gave clear notice of venue
defects.”). Therefore, even though it is afforded significant
Constitutional protection, a defendant’s right to proper
venue is a personal defense subject to waiver. See United
States v. Calderon, 243 F.3d 587, 590 (2d Cir. 2001).

These cases establish a clear rule concerning the
timeliness of a defendant’s objection to venue in a criminal
action. When the defect in venue is apparent on the face of
the indictment, a defendant waives the right to contest the
issue if he or she fails to object prior to trial. It follows
that, when a venue defect is not clear on the face of the
indictment, a defendant may raise the objection for the
first time in a motion for acquittal at the close of the
government’s evidence.

With respect to the ERISA charges, Novak’s indict-
ment contained a narrative paragraph stating that the
unlawful activity took place “within the federal judicial
districts listed below and elsewhere.” In addition, this
portion of the indictment contained a grid, with a column
headed “Federal Judicial District.” For each charge, the
grid listed the Southern District of New York as the
Federal Judicial District. Thus, a fair reading of the Novak
indictment, taking into account the information contained
in the narrative as well as that contained in the grid, is

App. 22

that the filing of the false reports took place in “the South-
ern District of New York and elsewhere.”

In support of its contention that this language demon-
strated an obvious venue defect, the Government points to
a Ninth Circuit case, United States v. Johnson, 297 F.3d
845 (9th Cir. 2002). In Johnson, the indictment bore some
similarity to that charging Novak. There, a narrative
paragraph and a grid were used to charge the defendant
with wire fraud under 18 U.S.C. § 1543. Johnson, 297 F.3d
at 876. The narrative paragraph stated that the acts
constituting the wire fraud took place “in the District of
Arizona and elsewhere.” Jd. The grid then set out the
origin and destination of each offending telephone call
under columns marked “Call From,” and “Call To.” Jd. As
to eight of the counts, an examination of the information
in these columns revealed that the acts constituting the
crimes charged took place entirely outside the District of
Arizona. Jd. Under these facts, the Ninth Circuit held that
the venue defect was apparent on the face of the indict-
ment and noted that “[i]t is clear from [the] grid that
certain counts did not involve any activity within the
District of Arizona, as certain counts did not list Arizona
as either the site of origination or the site of destination.”
Id. at 861. Put another way, because the indictment
contained all of the facts relating to the situs of the crimes
charged, it was evident that there was no relation between
the alleged acts and the District of Arizona.

There are important differences between the indict-
ment in Johnson and the one at issue here. In Johnson, all
of the information relating to the location of the alleged
acts was contained in the “Call From” and “Call To”
columns in the indictment. Here, there was no such
clarity. That is, nothing in Novak’s indictment precluded

App. 23

the conclusion that at least some of the charged criminal
activity occurred in the Eastern District of New York.
Indeed, because Novak’s Union activities included conduct
in both the Southern and Eastern Districts of New York,”
he could have reasonably believed that the “and else-
where” language meant that the Government intended to
produce some evidence at trial linking the ERISA crimes
to both the Southern and Eastern Districts. Thus, the
venue defect was not evident on the face of the indictment.

As a result, we hold that Novak’s venue objection
made at the close of the Government’s evidence was timely ©
and, as the Government concedes, meritorious. We thus
reverse, for improper venue, Novak’s convictions for
making false ERISA statements in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 1027.

V.

Novak was also convicted of conspiracy to violate the
RICO statute, as well as substantive RICO violations. The
mail fraud conviction, and the convictions for receipt of
unlawful labor payments, served as the predicate acts
required to prove a pattern of racketeering activity under
18 U.S.C. § 1962(c). See 18 U.S.C. § 1961(5) (defining a
“pattern of racketeering activity” as requiring “at least two
acts of racketeering activity.”). Because we affirm Novak’s
multiple convictions for receiving unlawful labor payments,
the RICO conspiracy and substantive RICO convictions are

* Novak was responsible for territory that included the East Side of
Manhattan, Staten Island, and part of Queens. Thus, part of his job
was in the Eastern District of New York, and part of it was in the
Southern District of New York.

App. 24

unaffected by the mail fraud reversal. We therefore affirm
these convictions.

VI.

The briefing before the Court as to how our reversals
may affect Novak’s convictions on other counts was neces-
sarily limited. Therefore, we direct the parties to submit
supplemental briefs addressing the question of whether
our reversals have eliminated the underlying acts required
for Novak’s convictions for money laundering (Count 29),
conspiracy to commit money laundering (Count 36), and
“The No-Show Jobs Conspiracy” (Count 3).

VII.

Novak was sentenced on December 1, 2004, prior to
the Supreme Court’s decision in United States v. Booker,
543 U.S. 220, 125 S. Ct. 738, 160 L. Ed. 2d 621 (2005). At
sentencing, Novak objected under Blakely v. Washington,
542 U.S. 296, 124 S. Ct. 2531, 159 L. Ed. 2d 403 (2004), to
the compulsory application of the Sentencing Guidelines
and thus preserved the error. See United States v. Fagans,
406 F.3d 138, 140 (2d Cir. 2005). Although we agree with
the parties that this case must ultimately be returned to
the district court for resentencing, we await ordering
remand until we have considered the parties’ supplemen-
tal briefs.

————=—————EEE

Vil.

We have considered Novak’s remaining claims and
find them to be without merit.

App. 25

IX.

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM Novak’s
convictions for unlawful receipt of labor payments, RICO
conspiracy, and substantive RICO violations. We RE-
VERSE the convictions for mail fraud and for making false
ERISA statements. Finally, the Office of the Clerk of Court
will issue a scheduling order for the submission of the
supplemental briefs referenced above.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386016_1508%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
